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This act summary is provided for the convenience of the public and members of the 

General Assembly.  It is intended to provide a general summary of the act and may not be 

exhaustive.  It has been prepared by the staff of the Office of Legislative Council without 

input from members of the General Assembly.  It is not intended to aid in the 

interpretation of legislation or to serve as a source of legislative intent.  

 

Act No. 160 (H.526).  Professions and occupations; Office of Professional 

Regulation; notaries public 

An act relating to regulating notaries public 

This act overhauls the State’s regulation of notaries public.  Prior to this act, 

the assistant judges of each county were permitted to “appoint as many notaries 

public for the county as the public good requires,” with the appointments running 

until 10 days after the expiration of the assistant judges’ four-year term of office.  

Qualifications for a notary public commission were based on a notary applicant’s 

being at least 18 years of age and either being a resident of the assistant judges’ 

county or being a resident of an adjoining state and being employed in Vermont.  

The law empowered commissioned notaries to take acknowledgements, 

administer oaths and affirmations, and certify copies of documents, but did not 

provide professional standards for notaries to perform those acts nor provide the 

assistant judges with regulatory authority over notaries, such as the authority to 

revoke a commission previously granted. 

This act revises Vermont’s notary laws and is based on the Uniform Law 

Commission’s Revised Uniform Law on Notarial Acts.  It moves regulation of the 

profession to the Secretary of State’s Office of Professional Regulation (OPR) as 

an advisor profession with a two-year renewal cycle.  In addition to age and 

Vermont residence or employment requirements, the act requires notary public 

applicants to meet professional conduct standards and to pass a basic examination 

for an initial commission and complete no more than two hours of continuing 

education for commission renewal.  The act further provides standards for notarial 

acts, including standards for taking acknowledgements and verifications, attesting 

signatures, and identifying individuals; requires a notarial act to be evidenced by a 

certificate; and defines notarial unprofessional conduct, which could result in 

disciplinary action. 

The act provides exemptions for some of its requirements:  Specified 

Judiciary- and public safety-related employees acting within the scope of their 

official duties are only required to apply for a commission and pay a fee (unless 

also exempted from the fee); attorneys are not required to take the initial 

examination or continuing education; and specified public officers are exempted 

from paying the commission fee.  Moreover, the act requires certain State officers 

to provide a one-time report on whether certain notarial acts should instead be 

regulated under a law similar to the Uniform Unsworn Declarations Act.   
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While the main provisions take effect on July 1, 2019, the act requires OPR to 

take over the assistant judges’ application duties beginning on December 1, 2018 

and delays the examination and continuing education requirements until 

February 1, 2021. 

Multiple effective dates, beginning on May 22, 2018  


