115 STATE STREET MONTPELIER, VT 05633 TEL: (802) 828-2228

FAX: (802) 828-2228



REP. AMY SHELDON, CHAIR
SEN. CHRISTOPHER A. PEARSON, VICE
CHAIR
SEN. BRIAN CAMPION
REP. DAVID L. DEEN
REP. PAUL LEFEBVRE
SEN. DICK MCCORMACK

STATE OF VERMONT

General Assembly Commission on Act 250: the Next 50 Years

MINUTES – June 27, 2018

Pursuant to 2017 Acts and Resolves No. 47 (Act 47), Rep. David Deen convened the Commission on Act 250: the Next 50 Years (Commission) on Wednesday, June 27, 2018 at 6:08 p.m. in the Nolin-Murray Center in Springfield, Vermont. The Commission conducted a public engagement forum.

Commission members present

Rep. David Deen Sen. Brian Campion Rep. Paul Lefebvre Sen. Christopher A. Pearson, Vice Chair

Sen. Richard McCormack

Advisors to the Commission or designees of advisors present

Donna Barlow Casey, NRB

Billy Coster, ANR

Staff present

Rebecca Wasserman, Legislative Counsel

Others present

Paula and Nicole Cope, Dana Gulley, and Scout Precourt, all of Cope and Associates Greg Boulbol and Hannah Dean, NRB

Please see attached sign-in sheets for additional attendees

The public engagement forum consisted of the following components:

- Rep. Deen played a "welcome" video from Chair Rep. Amy Sheldon and Diane Snelling, Chair of the Natural Resources Board (NRB).
- Rep. Deen presented on the purpose of the forum and on the background of Act 250.
- Ms. Casey provided an explanation of the Act 250 process.
- Ms. Cope explained the priority setting tool used by her firm, called the "Big Deal."
- Facilitators led groups of forum participants in engagement on Act 250 using that tool.

• After completing the use of the tool and a short survey, Rep. Deen answered questions from participants submitted using index cards and announced the upcoming forums and their dates.

The Commission adjourned at approximately 8:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Aaron Adler Legislative Counsel¹

enc.

(sign-in sheets)

¹ These minutes are prepared based on information received.