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Statutory Provisions Related to the Governance and Operation of the  

New Hampshire Liquor Commission 

 

 

New Hampshire Revised Statutes Annotated Chapter 176: The Liquor Commission 

 

N.H. R.S.A. § 176:1. Commission. 

There shall be a state liquor commission under the executive direction of a liquor 

commissioner, who shall also be known as the chairman of the liquor commission, 

appointed by the governor with the consent of the council. The commissioner shall have 

significant business management experience and shall complete a criminal history 

records check prior to confirmation by the council. The liquor commissioner shall hold 

office for a term of 4 years. If a vacancy shall occur, it shall be filled for the remainder of 

the term. The commissioner may be removed by the governor and council for cause. 

 

N.H. R.S.A. § 176:2. Liquor Commissioner; Compensation. 

The annual salary of the commissioner shall be as specified in RSA 94:1-a, and the 

commissioner shall receive his or her reasonable expenses while traveling in the 

performance of his or her duties, provided that the commissioner shall not be allowed as 

expenses, travel between his or her place of residence and the commissioner's office in 

Concord, nor shall the commissioner be allowed board or lodging while in Concord. The 

commissioner shall serve as the representative to the National Alcoholic Beverage 

Control Association. 

 

N.H. R.S.A. § 176:2-a. Deputy Commissioner. 

I. The commissioner shall nominate a deputy commissioner for appointment by the 

governor with the consent of the council who shall be qualified to hold that position by 

reason of education and experience. The deputy commissioner shall hold office for a term 

of 4 years and may be reappointed. The deputy commissioner shall be subject to a 

background check by the state police prior to appointment. 

II. If a vacancy shall occur in said office, it shall be filled for the remainder of the 

term. The deputy commissioner may be removed by the governor and council for cause. 

III. The annual salary of the deputy commissioner shall be as specified in RSA 94:1-

a. 

IV. The deputy commissioner shall perform such duties as are assigned by the 

commissioner. The deputy commissioner shall assume the duties of the commissioner in 

the event that the commissioner is unable for any reason to perform such duties. 

V. The deputy commissioner shall, subject to the supervision of the commissioner, 

exercise authority as required to ensure that the divisions and their directors are 

implementing the organizational goals and managing the work of the commission in an 

effective and efficient manner. 
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N.H. R.S.A. § 176:3. Duties. 

The primary duties of the liquor commission shall be to: 

I. Optimize the profitability of the commission. 

II. Maintain proper controls. 

III. Assume responsibility for the effective and efficient operation of the commission. 

IV. Provide service to the customers of the commission, pursuant to this title. 

 

N.H. R.S.A. § 176:4. Requirements. 

The commissioner and deputy commissioner shall devote their entire time to the 

service of the commission. The commissioner and deputy commissioner shall not have 

any financial interest, direct or indirect, in the liquor or beverage business. The 

compensation and expenses of the commissioner and deputy commissioner and the 

expenses of the administration of this chapter shall be paid by the state on the warrant of 

the governor with the approval of the council. 

 

N.H. R.S.A. § 176:6. Offices; Seal. 

The commission shall be provided with suitable offices in the city of Concord. It shall 

adopt a proper seal. 

 

N.H. R.S.A. § 176:7. Assistants and Employees. 

The state liquor commission may employ such assistants as are, in its opinion, 

necessary for the proper transaction of its business, and fix their compensation, subject to 

the rules of the director of personnel. It may secure any necessary technical or 

professional assistance. 

 

N.H. R.S.A. § 176:8. Divisions and Directors. 

The commission shall have 3 divisions under the direction of unclassified division 

directors. The directors shall be nominated by the commissioner for appointment by the 

governor with the consent of the council and shall serve for terms of 4 years dependent 

upon maintaining good behavior and competence. There shall be a division of marketing, 

merchandising, and warehousing, a division of administration, and a division of 

enforcement and licensing. The director of the division of enforcement and licensing 

shall be subject to a background check by the state police prior to appointment. 
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N.H. R.S.A. § 176:9. Liquor Investigator; Training. 

I. The commission may, subject to rules adopted by the director of personnel, employ 

and dismiss liquor investigators. Liquor investigators shall, under the direction of the 

commission, investigate any or all matters arising under this title. 

II. Any new liquor investigator employed by the commission under this section after 

August 13, 1985, shall, within 6 months of employment, satisfactorily complete a 

preparatory police training program as provided by RSA 188-F:27, unless he has already 

completed such a program. 

III. The commissioner, deputy commissioner, assistant, or liquor investigator may 

enter any place where liquor, beverages, or tobacco products are sold or manufactured, at 

any time, and may examine any license or permit issued or purported to have been issued 

under the terms of this title. They shall make complaints for violations of this title. 

 

N.H. R.S.A. § 176:10. Preference Given. 

Any person who served for not less than 90 days in the armed forces of the United 

States during “any war in which the United States was engaged, and received an 

honorable discharge from such service,” shall be given preference in appointment under 

the provisions of RSA 176:7, RSA 176:9, RSA 177:4, and RSA 179:59, if qualified for 

such positions. 

 

N.H. R.S.A. § 176:11. Commission to Sell. 

I. It shall be the duty of the commission to buy and have in its possession liquor for 

sale in the manner provided in this title. Such liquors shall be free from adulteration and 

misbranding within the meaning of the provisions of RSA 146. All liquors sold for 

medicinal use shall conform to the standards and tests for such liquors as laid down in the 

United States Pharmacopoeia, official at the time of sale. All purchases of liquor shall be 

made by the commission directly and not through the department of administrative 

services. The commission shall be subject to all the provisions so far as applicable of 

RSA 9. 

II. In the event that the commission determines New Hampshire liquor revenues are 

being diverted by actions taken by persons holding either liquor and wine representative 

or liquor and wine vendor licenses who compete directly or indirectly with the 

commission for market share in this or other states, the commission may take such 

marketing or merchandising action, or both, as it deems necessary, including sanctions 

against products supplied by the competing entities. 

 

N.H. R.S.A. § 176:12. New Hampshire Products. 

The commission, wherever feasible, shall purchase and list for sale in all state stores 

the domestic liquor and wines manufactured or bottled in this state by a manufacturer. 
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N.H. R.S.A. § 176:13. Listing and Delisting of Products. 

I. All decisions regarding listing and delisting of products for sale shall be made by 

the commission. 

II. The commission shall adopt rules under RSA 541-A establishing procedures and 

criteria for listing and delisting of products for sale. These rules shall include procedures 

for appeal of commission decisions. 

III. All requests for action regarding listing or delisting from vendors or their 

representatives shall be submitted to the commission, to the attention of the chairman. 

 

N.H. R.S.A. § 176:14. Rulemaking. 

The commission shall adopt rules, under RSA 541-A, relative to: 

I. Procedures for regular and special meetings of the commission. 

II. Procedures for responses to petitions on rulemaking. 

III. Methods of complying with requests for information under RSA 91-A, including 

copying fees sufficient to cover the cost of copies. 

IV. Declaratory ruling procedures. 

V. Procedures for handling petitions from municipalities to revoke a liquor license. 

VI. Listing and delisting products for sale. 

VII. Liquor licenses, including: 

(a) Requirements and restrictions for each type of license. 

(b) Procedures and forms to apply for or renew a license. 

(c) Safekeeping of licenses. 

(d) Authorized expansion of a licensed facility and procedures for authorization. 

(e) Procedures to approve exceptions of license requirements, restrictions, and 

limitations. 

(f) Training and continuing education required or recommended for licensees. 

VIII. Licensee operations, including: 

(a) Procedures for on-premises and off-premises licensees to purchase wines and 

liquor. 

(b) Credit and billing procedures, including fees for late payment. 

(c) Bailment requirements, including fees. 

(d) Restrictions on packaging, promotions, signage, and operating hours. 

(e) Relations between types of licensees. 

(f) Procedures for public sampling of liquor, wine, or beverages pursuant to RSA 

179:44. 
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(g) Collection of additional fees required under RSA 178:6, VI, RSA 178:8, IV, and 

RSA 178:26. 

IX. Requirements and procedures for direct shipments. 

X. Any other matters necessary to implement their duties under this title. As a 

condition of the commission invoking its rulemaking authority under this paragraph, the 

liquor commission shall provide a written report detailing the necessity for the proposed 

rule as set forth in the rulemaking notice, to include any fiscal impact or policy 

implications related to the adoption of the proposed rule, to the chairpersons of the house 

and senate executive departments and administration committees, the chairpersons of the 

house and senate standing committees with jurisdiction over revenue collection, the joint 

legislative committee on administrative rules, and the chairperson of the fiscal committee 

of the general court. 

 

N.H. R.S.A. § 176:15. Insurance. 

The commission shall have power to insure the state liquor warehouse or warehouses 

and contents against fire and sprinkler damage and such insurance shall be purchased 

through the department of administrative services. 

 

N.H. R.S.A. § 176:16. Funds. 

I. Except as provided in paragraph II, the state treasurer shall credit all gross revenue 

derived by the commission from the sale of liquor, or from license fees, and interest 

received on such moneys, to a special fund, to be known as the liquor commission fund, 

from which the treasurer shall pay all expenses of the commission incident to the 

administration of this title. Any balance left in such fund after such expenses are paid 

shall be deposited in the general fund on a daily basis. 

II. Notwithstanding any provision of law, or the designation of the funds allocated by 

the state to the liquor commission as the liquor commission fund, the general court shall 

retain budgeting authority and control over the liquor commission. 

III. Fifty percent of the amount by which the current year gross profits exceed fiscal 

year 2001 actual gross profit, but not more than 5 percent of the current year gross profits 

derived by the commission from the sale of liquor and other revenues, shall be deposited 

into the alcohol abuse prevention and treatment fund established by RSA 176-A:1. 

IV. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, if the expenditure of additional funds 

over budget estimates is necessary for the proper funding of retirement and health 

benefits for commission employees, the commission may request, with prior approval of 

the fiscal committee of the general court, that the governor and council authorize the 

transfer of funds from the liquor commission fund. 

V. The commission may transfer funds totaling up to 5 percent of the operating 

budget in any fiscal year for any specific purposes to funds for other purposes within and 

among the appropriations for the operation of the commission. The commission shall 

report annually 60 days after the close of each fiscal year to the fiscal committee of the 
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general court all transfers accomplished under the provisions of this section. The 

provisions of this section shall not be subject to RSA 9:16-a, RSA 9:17-a, and RSA 9:17-

c. 

 

N.H. R.S.A. § 176:17. Purchases by the Liquor Commission. 

The liquor commission shall purchase all liquor, wine, and beverages from primary 

sources. For the purposes of this title, primary source means the manufacturer or 

producer, whether or not it is within the state. If a primary source is not available, the 

commissioner may, if he or she feels it is in the best interests of the state, allow an 

exemption and shall explain why such exemption has been allowed. 

 

N.H. R.S.A. § 176:18. Contracts Entered into by the Liquor Commission. 

Contracts in excess of $10,000 made or entered into by the liquor commission, 

including but not limited to contracts for warehousing, transportation, and advertising, 

shall be competitively bid, reviewed by the attorney general, and approved by the 

governor and council before becoming effective. This section shall not apply to leases of 

retail stores. If the commission uses competitive bidding, this section shall not apply to 

design, construction, renovation, relocation, and property management of retail stores, 

purchase of products for sale in retail stores, purchase of products for sale on a wholesale 

basis, or purchase of supplies pursuant to RSA 21-I:18, I(b). 

 

New Hampshire Revised Statutes Annotated Chapter 177: State Liquor Stores 

 

N.H. R.S.A. § 177:1. State Stores. 

The commission may lease, purchase, and equip, in the name of the state, such stores, 

state-owned warehouses, supplies as defined in RSA 21-I:11, II(a), and other materials, 

goods, and services as are necessary for, incidental to, or related to the operation of the 

liquor commission retail and wholesale operations. The commission may lease, in the 

name of the state, space in state stores for the purpose of installing automated teller 

machines. No newly established state store shall be operated within 200 feet of any 

public or private school, church, chapel, or parish house. 

 

N.H. R.S.A. § 177:3. Store Plan. 

The state liquor commission shall develop and maintain a formal written store plan for 

its retail liquor stores. This plan shall establish goals and policies related to the number, 

size, and staffing patterns of state operated retail liquor stores to ensure the efficient and 

effective operation of the state store system. The plan shall be reviewed and revised as 

necessary and shall include, but not be limited to, policies related to: 

I. The operational definition of a marginal store, identification of such stores, and 

specific plans to consolidate or otherwise improve the profitability of such stores. 
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II. The optimum size, location, and staffing pattern of stores to maximize their 

profitability. This shall include a plan to increase use of part-time employees to reduce 

store personnel costs and a formula for determining appropriate rental payments for 

leased stores. 

III. Plans for the expansion of the existing store system where such expansion is 

justified. 

 

N.H. R.S.A. § 177:4. Operation of State Stores; Salespersons. 

The commission may in its discretion operate stores for the sale of liquor in such cities 

and towns as shall have accepted the provisions hereof as hereinafter provided, and, 

subject to the rules of the director of personnel, and within the limits of available 

appropriations and funds, may employ salespersons to sell liquor in said stores. Any 

salesperson employed for any store shall have been a resident of the state for at least 6 

months prior to such employment. The salaries of such salespersons shall not be 

governed by the amount of sales. No salesperson employed to sell liquor under the 

provisions of this chapter shall sell liquor except such as may be legally obtained under 

the provisions of this title. 

 

N.H. R.S.A. § 177:6. Liquor Dispensed Only Through Commission. 

Except as provided in RSA 178:8, II and RSA 178:27, no liquor shall be sold in any 

state store, nor by any sales agent, nor by any person holding an on-premises or off-

premises retail license under RSA 178, except that obtained from the commission. 

 

N.H. R.S.A.  §177:9. Agency Liquor Stores. 

The commission may license persons to operate agency liquor stores on an annual or 

seasonal basis for the purposes of selling liquor in sealed bottles, containers or original 

packages to be consumed off the premises. 

 

N.H. R.S.A. § 177:10. Rulemaking. 

The commission shall adopt rules approved, under RSA 541-A, relative to the 

selection and operation of agency liquor stores. These rules shall apply equally to all 

stores, except those generally licensed under RSA 177:14 and shall include, but shall not 

be limited to the following: 

I. Location of agency liquor stores. 

II. The handling and sale of liquor. 

III. Storage facilities for liquor. 

IV. Hours of operation. 

V. The separation of liquor from other merchandise in the agency liquor stores. 



VT LEG #310388 v.1 

VI. The size and nature of the facilities of agency liquor stores for different quantities 

of liquor to be sold. 

VII. The definition of terms used in rulemaking for agency liquor stores. 

VIII. Operation of agency liquor stores. 

IX. Discount and compensation. 

X. Closure and vacancy of agency liquor stores. 

XI. Advertising and promotion. 

XII. Pricing of liquor. 

XIII. Selection of agency liquor stores. 

XIV. Selection of applicant for agency liquor stores. 

XV. Renewal of agency liquor stores. 

XVI. Industry interest. 

XVII. Applicants, stores, and employees. 

XVIII. Special seasonal agency liquor stores. 

 

N.H. R.S.A. § 177:11. Location of Agency Liquor Stores. 

I. The commission may license an agency liquor store only when the following 

requirements are met: 

(a) The proposed agency liquor store is located in a municipality which has voted 

in favor of the operation of state liquor stores under RSA 175:7. 

(b) The proposed agency liquor store is located in a municipality where there is no 

state liquor store. 

(c) The proposed agency liquor store shall not be within 10 road miles of an 

existing state liquor store or an existing agency liquor store. 

II. The commission may not replace a state liquor store which closes with an agency 

liquor store, unless the state liquor store was closed under the provisions of RSA 177:2. 

III. In the event that a proposed agency liquor store will replace a state liquor store, the 

commission shall make reasonable efforts to provide state employees other positions, if 

available. 

III-a. In determining the location of a proposed agency store, the commission shall 

consider its effect on the economy, availability of liquor, and customers within the 

surrounding relevant market. For the purposes of this section, “surrounding relevant 

market” means the geographic area that is reasonably intended to be served by the agency 

store. 

IV. The commission shall issue a license for an agency liquor store within a 

municipality by the following procedure: 
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(a) The commission shall, in accordance with RSA 541-A, give public notice that 

agency liquor stores may be established in a particular municipality to serve persons 

located in that municipality and in the surrounding relevant market. The public notice 

shall identify the surrounding relevant market that the agency store is intended to serve 

and all municipalities, or portions thereof, included therein. A copy of the public notice 

shall at the same time be forwarded by certified mail by the commission to the governing 

body of the municipality in which the agency store may be established and to the 

governing bodies of any additional municipalities located, in whole or in part, in the 

surrounding relevant market that the agency store is intended to serve. The commission 

shall request all parties in the municipality, interested in establishing an agency liquor 

store there, to apply to the commission. 

(b) The commission shall provide all applicants with the necessary information for 

the establishment of agency liquor stores. 

(c) Upon receipt of all applications for agency liquor stores licenses in a 

municipality, the commission shall notify the governing body of that municipality and the 

governing bodies of any additional municipalities located, in whole or in part, in the 

surrounding relevant market of the proposed location of each applicant and shall suspend 

all action on such applications for 30 days in order to allow the affected municipalities 

and any other interested person to submit written comments to the commission on the 

proposed location of a new agency store in a municipality. 

(d) Upon the written request of the governing body of the municipality in which the 

proposed agency store may be located, or of the governing body of any municipality 

located in the surrounding relevant market as identified by the commission, that is 

received by the commission within 14 days of the date of the public notice forwarded to 

such a municipality under subparagraph (a), the commission shall in accordance with 

RSA 541-A publish notice and schedule a hearing on the proposed location of an agency 

store in such municipality. Any public hearing shall be held within 45 days of the close of 

the public comment period in the municipality in which the agency store may be located. 

(e) The commission shall provide written notice by certified mail to all applicants, 

to the governing body of the municipality in which the agency store is to be located, and 

to the governing body of any other municipality located in the surrounding relevant 

market of the final selection of an applicant or applicants, and shall provide any applicant 

denied a license written notification of the reasons for the denial by certified mail to the 

mailing address given by the applicant in the application for an agency liquor store 

license. 

(f) The commission shall issue a license to all persons qualifying under the 

commission's rules. 

V. Any applicant aggrieved by a decision made by the commission may appeal the 

decision in accordance with RSA 541. For purposes of rehearing and appeal, the date of 

the written notice of final selection of an applicant or applicants shall constitute the 

decision of the commission. 


