
Summary of State Regimes Taxing Marijuana/Cannabis

State
Placement in 

statute
Excise tax Sales tax Licensing fees Fund allocation Exemptions & Deductions

Colorado

Professions & 

Occupations – 

Health Care 

(12 C.R.S.A., 

ArtS. 43.3, 

43.4)

15% Retail Marijuana Excise Tax 

(C.R.S.A. § 39-28.8-302)

Fund Allocation

• Public School Capital 

Construction Assistance Fund 

(C.R.S.A. §§ 39-28.8-302; 39-28.8-

305)

     • first $40 million collected 

annually

     • the rest to public school fund

10% Retail Marijuana Sales 

Tax (C.R.S.A. § 39-28.8-202)

• Can be reduced by ballot vote 

(C.R.S.A. § 39-28.8-202)

Fund Allocation

• 15% local governments 

(C.R.S.A. § 39-28.8-203(a)(I))

• 85% to marijuana tax cash fund 

(C.R.S.A. § 39-28.8-203(b)(I))

2.9% Sales Tax (C.R.S.A. § 39-

26-106(1)(II))

Fund Allocation

• to marijuana tax cash fund

Types of licenses (C.R.S.A. §§ 12-43.3-

401, 12-43.4-401))

• Cultivation

• Manufacturing

• Research/Testing

• Related occupations 

• Dispensaries (medical marijuana only, 

C.R.S.A. § 12-43.3-401) 

• Retailers (retail marijuana only, 

C.R.S.A. § 12-43.4-401)

Fees

Both state and local fees (C.R.S.A. §§  

12-43.4-501; 12-43.3-301)

Application fees (C.R.S.A. § 12-43.4-

501)

• Medical $500

• Retail $5,000

Annual renewal fees (C.R.S.A. § 12-

43.4-310)

See individual taxes

Marijuana Tax Cash Fund 

(C.R.S.A. § 39-28.8-501)

• General Assembly annually 

appropriates money for any purpose, 

BUT prioritizes certain public health 

and safety uses. (C.R.S.A. § 39-28.8-

501(b)(I), (b)(III), (b)(III))

Exemption

No sales or excise tax on medical 

marijuana or medical marijuana 

centers. (C.R.S.A. §§ 39-28.8-

202(2); 39-28.8-302)(2))

Deduction

Repealed conformity to 26 U.S.C. § 

280E. (C.R.S.A. § 39-22-

304(2)(m), (n))

Washington 

State

Food, Drugs, 

Cosmetics, and 

Poisons – 

Controlled 

Substances (69 

R.C.W.A., ch. 

69.50); Excise 

taxes (82 

R.C.W.A., ch. 

82.12)

37% Marijuana Excise Tax 

(R.C.W.A. 69-50-535(1)(a))

• Levied on selling price of retail 

sales

• Separate & in addition to general 

state & local sales & use taxes

• Tax must be separately itemized 

from state & local retail sales tax on 

receipt provided to buyer

• Retail sale of bundled transaction 

including marijuana products is 

subject to marijuana excise tax 

(R.C.W.A. 69.50.570)

General state and local sales and 

use taxes that apply to sales of 

tangible personal property also 

apply to retail sales of marijuana. 

(R.C.W.A. 69-50-535(1)(a), 

82.08.020)

Marijuana excise tax is not part of 

the total retail price to which these 

general sales & use taxes apply 

(Id.)

Types of licenses 

(R.C.W.A. 69.50.325)

• Production

• Processor

• Retail 

(R.C.W.A. 69.50.372)

• Research

Fees

Liquor Control Commission Temporary 

Rules on Recreational Marijuana, sec. 

845-025-1060

Dedicated Marijuana Account

Annual appropriations to:

(R.C.W.A. 69.50.530; 69.50.540)

• Dept. of Social & Health Services

• University of Washington, 

Washington State University

• Liquor & Cannabis Board

• Local distributions

• General fund

Exemption

(not from excise tax)

• Marijuana for medical use 

(R.C.W.A. 82.12.9998 (from use 

tax), R.C.W.A. 82.08.9998 (from 

retail sales tax))

Deduction

WA does not levy income tax. 

(http://dor.wa.gov/content/FindTaxe

sAndRates/IncomeTax/)

HOWEVER, WA has helped reduce 

the fed. tax burden on businesses by 

requiring excise tax to be clearly 

noted on receipts as local tax, & 

thus not subject to fed. taxation.

Current state regimes taxing cannabis
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Alaska

Food and 

Drugs (17 AK 

ST ch. 38); 

Revenue and 

Taxation (43 

AK ST ch. 61)

Excise tax on marijuana

$50 per ounce on sales or transfer 

from cultivation facility to a retail 

store or manufacturing facility 

(A.S.A. § 43.61.010)

No statewide sales tax, although 

local jurisdictions do have taxation 

power. (A.S. § 29.45.650; AK ST 

§ 29.45.700)

Types of licenses (3 AAC 306.005)

• Cultivation

• Manufacturing

• Retail 

• Testing

Fees

Marijuana Control Board  (A.S. § 

17.38.080)

Schedule of annual licensing fees (also 

application & renewal fees) (3 AAC 

306.100)

• Retail $5,000

• Limited cultivation $5,000

• Manufacturing $1,000-5,000

• Testing 

None specified

Exemption

None specified

Deduction

AS does not impose income tax. 

(http://www.tax.alaska.gov/program

s/programs/index.aspx?10001)

Oregon
Undesignated 

at end of 2015
None

17% Retail sales tax on 

marijuana (H.B. 2041, 2015, sec. 

2)

• Customer pays at point of sale

 

Up to 3% Local Option Tax 

(House Bill 3400, sec. 34a)

• General rules is taxation 

authority vests solely in 

Legislative Assembly.

• But a city may impose a tax or 

fee in its jurisdiction, if it gets 

legislative approval.

25% Retail tax by dispensaries 

after Jan. 1, 2016 

•Tax-free sales by medical 

dispensaries from Oct. 1, 2015-

Jan. 1, 2016 S.B. 460)

Types of licenses (Measure 91, secs. 18-

22)

• Production

• Processor

• Wholesale

• Retail 

Fees

Liquor Control Commission Temporary 

Rules on Recreational Marijuana (845-

025-1060)

Oregon Marijuana Account (H.B. 

2041, 2015, sec. 14, Measure 91, 

secs. 43, 44)

• 40% Common School Fund

• 20 % Mental Health Alcoholism & 

Drug Services

• 15 % State Police

• 20 % Cities & Counties

• 5 % Oregon Health Authority 

Exemptions

• Homegrown plants and marijuana 

or marijuana products or liquid for 

noncommercial purposes  (Measure 

91, sec. 6(1)(a)-(f))

• Medical uses (Measure 91, sec. 

6(2)(a))

Deduction

OR has eliminated conformity to 26 

U.S.C. § 280E. (Measure 91, secs. 

71, 74, amending ORS 

316.680(1)(i))

OR, like WA, requires amount of 

tax to be separately stated on 

invoices. (H.B. 2041, 2015, sec. 

2(4))

Washington, 

D.C.

New regimes

Growing, possessing, gifting and using (but neither selling nor buying) small amounts of marijuana are now legal in D.C. after ballot vote, but the city has been blocked from taxing or regulating marijuana 

sales by Congressional action via the budget bill. (Washington D.C. Marijuana Legalization, Initiative 71 (November 2014); Consolidated and Further Continuing Appropriations Act, 2015, Pub. L. No. 

113-235, 128 Stat. 2394, sec. 809.)  
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