# Administration's Proposal for 2.35% Provider Tax on Independent Physicians and Practicing Dentists

Steven Costantino, Commissioner of DVHA, AHS
Robin Lunge, Director of Health Care Reform, AoA

January 26, 2016



#### **Provider Tax Overview**

Provider taxes must follow federal law including:

- Must be broad based
- Must be uniformly imposed
- Cannot violate hold harmless provisions— tax paid is not returned to providers to make them whole
  - There is a presumption of meeting this requirement if the tax is less than or equal to 6% of net patient revenue

Monies from provider taxes are deposited into the State Health Care Resources Fund



#### **Revenue from Current Provider Taxes**

Class of Provider	FY16 (Gov Rec for eboard BAA Jan. 2016)	FY17 (Gov Rec for eboard January 2016)
Hospital 6% of net patient revenue	129,647,755	133,570,285
Nursing Home per bed assessment	15,644,925	15,245,623
Home Health Agencies 19.3% of net operating revenue Intermediate Care Facilities	4,487,950	4,521,602
5.9% of total annual and indirect expenses	73,308	73,708
Pharmacy \$0.10/script	780,000	780,000
TOTAL	150,633,938	154,191,218



#### **Administration's Proposal**

 The Administration is proposing a 2.35% provider tax on independent physician practices and practicing dentists

Proposed Tax at 2.35%	Calendar Year 2016, Collected 2017
Physicians	\$10,944,023
Dentists	\$6,074,214
Total Revenue	\$17,018,237

- Numbers based on 2014 UMass update of 2012 Pacific Health Policy Group Report for DVHA: "Health Care Related Tax Study"
- Adjusted for: trend and calendar year as applied to state fiscal year



# **Administration's Proposal: Revenue**

Initiative Focus	Description	Financial In	npact
Medicaid Support	Support deficit in Medicaid program in order to provide affordable quality health care to Vermonters.	State share: Fed. match: Total:	\$12M \$14.3M \$26.3M
Primary Care	Restore Medicaid primary care provider rates to Medicare levels as required under the ACA in 2013-2014 to ensure retention of primary care providers	State share: Fed. match: Total:	\$3.9M \$4.5M \$8.4M
Dental Services	Increase Medicaid reimbursement by 18% for preventive dental services including routine care such as restorations, fluoride treatment and cleanings to improve access to dental care	State share: Fed. match: Total:	



## **Administration's Proposal: Tax Base**

Subject to 2.35% tax:	Not included:
Independent entities made up of one or more:  Dentists Dental Hygienists Dental Assistants Dental Therapists if S.20 passes Primary care physicians Physician assistants Specialists Osteopaths Psychiatrists Ophthalmologists Naturopaths	<ul> <li>Chiropractors</li> <li>Radiologists</li> <li>Podiatrists</li> <li>Optometrists</li> <li>Psychologists</li> <li>Drug and Alcohol Counselors</li> <li>Physical Therapists</li> <li>Occupational Therapists</li> <li>Speech Therapists</li> <li>Acupuncturists</li> <li>Dieticians</li> <li>Midwives</li> <li>Nursing Homes</li> <li>Hospitals</li> <li>Home Health Agency</li> <li>Ambulatory surgical center</li> <li>Free-standing lab</li> <li>Free-standing x-ray facility</li> </ul>
	Free-standing x-ray facility



#### **Administration's Proposal: Rate**

- Federal law prohibits getting federal match for provider tax revenue that exceeds 25% of State Medicaid expenditures
- Proposal brings Vermont close to the cap

% to Cap	97.565%
Remaining Cap Space	\$4,272,269
Provider Tax w/Proposal	\$171,209,455
FY 17 Budget Proposal	\$17,018,237
Provider Tax Current Law	\$154,191,218
Provider Tax Cap	\$175,481,723

#### **Administration's Proposal**

#### Administration of Tax

- Calendar year, starts retroactively on 1/1/16
- Collected by DVHA
- Providers fill out form annually and send in by 4/15
- Cost to administer: 3.5 FTEs at \$530,871 GC



## **Questions?**

