115 STATE STREET MONTPELIER, VT 05633 TEL: (802) 828-2228 FAX: (802) 828-2424



REP. ANTHONY KLEIN, CHAIR
SEN. CHRISTOPHER BRAY, VICE CHAIR
REP. MARY SULLIVAN, CLERK
REP. ROBIN CHESNUT-TANGERMAN
SEN. VIRGINIA "GINNY" LYONS
SEN. MARK A. MACDONALD
SEN. DIANE SNELLING
REP. WARREN VAN WYCK

STATE OF VERMONT GENERAL ASSEMBLY JOINT ENERGY COMMITTEE

Wednesday, Feb. 3, 2016, 8:00a.m. BGS conf. room, 133 State St.

Members Present: Sens. Bray, Lyons, and MacDonald; Reps Klein, Chesnut-Tangerman, Sullivan,

and Van Wyck

Staff Present: Aaron Adler, Legislative Counsel

Agatha Kessler, Committee Assistant

Chair Rep. Klein convened the meeting.

On motion of Rep. Klein, the committee unanimously approved the minutes of its meeting of Jan. 13, 2015 with a correction.

The committee discussed the public comments received and its charge under 2015 Acts and Resolves, Sec. 14b. On motion of Sen. Lyons, the committee voted 6-0-1 to recommend no legislative changes at this time with respect to the issues listed in Sec. 14b(a), based on the analysis from the Department of Public Service dated Jan. 8, 2016 and the public comments and testimony received by the committee. Rep. Van Wyck abstained.

The committee also directed staff to prepare a draft letter to the Department of Public Service, with a copy to the Public Service Board, stating support for the present implementation of the statutory authority for energy efficiency utilities and requesting more information to understand the distribution of program benefits and charges between commercial and residential customers.

Staff will distribute to the members, for their review, a draft a recommendation in response to Sec. 14b and a draft letter as described above.

The committee will meet again on February 3, 2016 at 8 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Aaron Adler, Committee Counsel