
2014 Tax Filing and the ACA

 Individual Shared Responsibility (Individual
Penalty)

 Exemptions

 Payments

 Premium Tax Credit

 The 1095A and Tax Filing

 Preparing for 2015

 How VHC can help

 Where to go for tax help
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Shared Responsibility
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Starting in 2014, everyone in U.S. required to file
taxes must:

 Have health care coverage: includes private insurance plans,

Medicaid, Medicare, all major medical coverage

OR

 Have a health care coverage exemption: special exemption in

2014 for those who did not get health care coverage until May 1st

https://www.healthcare.gov/fees-exemptions/exemptions-from-the-fee/

OR

 Make a shared responsibility payment



Shared Responsibility Fee

If no exemptions or health care coverage in 2014,
you must pay the following through taxes:

 The greater of:

 $95 per adult and $47.50 per child under age 18 (up to
$285 per family) OR

 1% of household income in excess of filing threshold
$0 $95 1% $2,448

Individual/Family of Four
threshold: $10,150/$20,300

$19,650/
$48,800

$254,950/
$999,500



Premium Tax Credit

 VHC calculated APTC when the customer first
applied for a QHP.

 If circumstances changed after that, that may affect
the correct amount of the credit.

 Big life changes affecting household structure or
income may change the PTC.

 If CoCs were reported but not processed, customers
may have received a different amount than what they
should have received.
 The process of tax filing will reconcile the amount the

customer owes or is owed.
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Advanced Premium Tax Credit

 If a customer got too much APTC, do not panic

 There is a cap on repayment (see next slide)

 If they owe money to the IRS and can’t pay, they can
call the IRS and request an installment plan or even
hardship status.
 www.irs.gov

 They will receive an IRS bill with a phone number to call

 If they have problems with the IRS, you can refer to:
 IRS Taxpayer Advocate Service, 802-859-1052

 Vermont Low Income Taxpayer Project, 800-889-2047
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Advanced Premium Tax Credit
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Limits on APTC repayment
according to income



1095-A: Update from VHC
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 Vermonters enrolled directly in a Vermont Health
Connect qualified health plan will get a 1095-A
to help determine if they owe or are owed
money.

 Does not apply to Vermonters VHC plans through
their employers or to catastrophic plans

 VHC expects to mail 1095-As on January 26 &
January 27



Where to go for help

 Vermonters should call the VHC Call Center if:

 they have a question about their 1095-A

 need a copy of the 1095-A

 need their 1095-A corrected

 Vermonters should contact a tax resource about:

 the shared responsibility payment (individual penalty) and
its exemptions

 APTC reconciliation

 Vermonters should call an Assister or the VHC call
center for help with enrollment
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Where to go for help
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Vermont Health Connect

Customer Service Center:

(855) 899-9600 Toll Free
www.vermonthealthconnect.com

IRS Local Taxpayer Advocate
- Vermont (or call 802-859-

1052)

Vermont Legal Aid, Office of
the Healthcare Advocate:
www.vtlawhelp.org/health

1-800-917-7787

1-800-889-2047

Vermont Low Income Tax
Program:
http://www.irs.gov/Individuals/Free-
Tax-Return-Preparation-for-You-by-
Volunteers



Contact Us

 For more information :

 Jacqueline M. Rose, MPH

 Education and Outreach Manager, Vermont Health
Connect

 Jacqueline.rose@state.vt.us

 Devon Green, J.D.

 Special Counsel for Tax Legislation

 Devon.Green@state.vt.us
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