WE ARE HERE TO

Bridging gaps, building futures.

VERMONT TENANTS

1-802-864-0099
1-800-287-7971

Or on the web at CVOEO.ORG

VERMONT
APARTMENT
OWNERS
ASSOCIATION

VERMONT

APARTMENT
OWNERS
SERVICES, LLC*
1-802-985-2764
1-888-569-7368

Or on the web at vtlandlord.com

*Affiliated with Vermont Apartment Owners
Association, LLC

ADDITIONAL RESOURCES

VERMONT LANDLORD / TENANT LAW

http://www.leg.state.vt.us/
statutesmain.cfm

(Title 9 Chapter 137)

VERMONT'S RENTAL HOUSING
HEALTH CODE

http://healthvermont.gov/regs/
Rental_Housing_Code.pdf

LISTING OF VERMONT'S TOWN
HEALTH OFFICERS

http://healthvermont.gov/local/tho/
tho_list.aspx

INFORMATION ON LEAD PAINT

http://healthvermont.gov/enviro/
index.aspx

INFORMATION ON FIRE SAFETY

http://www.firesafety.vermont.gov/
resources/code_sheets

FAIR HOUSING PROGRAM - cvoeo.org

RENTING 101




A TENANT’S
RESPONSIBILITES

Pay rent on time. Avoid paying in cash. If
you must pay in cash, request that the
landlord give you a receipt.

Keep apartment clean and safe.
Immediately notify landlord of any problems.

Take care not to cause damage. Do not fix or
change things without the landlord's
permission.

You are responsible for your guest’s
behavior. If your guest causes damage, the
landlord can hold you responsible.

Act in a respectful manor that will not
disturb neighbors.

Never cook over an open fire inside or on a
porch.

Do not put cloth furniture on a porch or
outside to give away. Itis a fire hazard and
against the law in some areas.

Put trash only in containers provided for it.
Recycle all appropriate materials.

Never store toxic or hazardous chemicals in
your apartment.

It is illegal and dangerous for a tenant to
disable a smoke or carbon monoxide
detector.

Your lease is a legal contract, if you move
before it ends, you are still financially bound
to it.

Give proper, written notice before you move.

RENTING IS A TWO WAY
STREET

The best way for landlords and tenants to
have a successful experience is to work
together.

Our organizations; Vermont Tenants and
Vermont Apartment Owners Services,
LLC., believe that a landlord - tenant
relationship does not have to
be contentious.

Experience has shown us that problems in
a rental situation most often stem from
both parties not understanding their legal
rights and responsibilities.

This flier is just one in a series of
Education and Outreach Materials we
have created. If you need additional
information, would like to arrange a

workshop, or have questions, our contact
information can be found on the reverse
side of this brochure.

A LANDLORD’S
RESPONSIBILITIES

The landlord is responsible for ALL repairs,
even if the tenant broke it or is not paying
rent. You can charge your tenant or deduct
from the deposit for repairs if they caused the
damage.

You have 14 days from the date a tenant va-
cates to send a written itemization of dam-
ages deducted from the security deposit,
along with any balance owed to tenant. De-
ductions include: damages, cleaning costs,
unpaid rent and unpaid utilities. (In Burling-
ton, the notice must be sent by certified mail
and inform the tenant of their options to con-
test deductions with the Housing Board of
Review.)

The landlord must make sure that each apart-
ment has adequate heating and hot water
systems.

The landlord must allow tenants full use and
enjoyment of their apartment (i.e. it is their
space), including not interfering with tenant’s
guests.

The landlord must give a tenant 48 hour no-
tice before entering the apartment without the
tenant’s consent unless there is an emergency
such as fire, flooding or gas leak.

You must give tenants no less than 2 full
rental periods written notice of a rent in-
crease. (Burlington city ordinances require a
3 rental period notice.)

In Burlington apartments, the landlord must
pay for trash removal. Statewide, landlords
must provide a trash receptacle and ensure
that tenant does not allow trash to accumu-
late.



