
Who Is a Member of Your Household? 

Household members may include: 
• Yourself 
• Your spouse or civil union partner 
• Roommates/housemates 
• Family members, including children, even if they file their own 

income tax returns and are not considered dependents 

The Social Security Number of all household members is required. 

TIP . 
If a person living with you Is planning to move, 

be sure to get the person's Social Security Number 
and income information you'll need 

to complete the HI-144 before they move. 

Household members do not include: 
• A person not related to any household member and living in 

the household under a written homesharing agreement with an 
authorized program 

• A person living in the household who is a bona fide employee 
hired to provide personal care to a member of the household 
and who is not related to the person for whom the care is 
provided 

• A person who resides with you to provide attendant care 
services, homemaker, or companionship services, with or 
without compensation, that allows you to remain in your home 
or avoid institutionalization. However, you must be disabled 
or at least 62 years of age as of December 31 of the tax year. 
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Vermont Schedule HI-144: 
How to Determine Household Income 

This fact sheet will help you prepare your household income information when filing Schedule HI-144, which must 
be submitted with Property Tax Adjustment and Renter Rebate claims. This fact sheet covers a general overview of 
common HI-144 factors only. 
• Be sure to refer to the instructions for the schedule to get more details, and contact the Department when 

complex scenarios and questions arise. Please note this fact sheet is continued on a second page. 
• Household Income is "Modified Adjusted Gross Income" and is not the same as Federal taxable income. 
• Household Income includes all income, taxable and nontaxable, of everyone who resided with you at any time 

during the tax year, including children and non-related individuals. If an individual resided with you for fewer 
than 12 months, include that individual's income only for the time s/he resided with you. 

What is Household Income? 

For Vermont tax purposes, Household 
Income includes all the funds available to 
support a household, even if you did not 
receive any financial contribution from the 
members of the household. 

• It includes both taxable and 
nontaxable income. See Income 
Sources section on page 2. 

• It includes all sources of income of 
any persons living in your household. 
This refers to individuals, including 
children, who lived in your home for 
any period of time during the year and 
who may or may not be related to you 

• Note that unless you are separated 
with a final decree signed by a judge 
or divorced with a final decree signed 
by a judge, your spouse/civil union 
partner's income must be included 
(unless they were at least 62 years old 
and permanently residing in a nursing 
home or other care facility) 

• Include income of your spouse/civil 
union partner, whether or not you 
were living in the same household, 
from Jan. 1 until the date the final 
divorce decree or final legal separation 
decree was signed by a judge. 

Need Help? Contact the Taxpayer Services Division at 802-828-2865. 

Disclaimer: This fact sheet is intended to provide an overview only. 
Vermont tax statutes, regulations, Vermont Department of Taxes rulings, 
or court decisions supersede information provided in this fact sheet. 
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Income Sources That Are 
Household Income 

 

Income Sources That Are Not 
Household Income 

The sources of income that you are required to report include 
all shown in this section. Many of these figures can be taken 
from the Federal Form(s) 1040 and related schedules. Refer to 
line-by-line instructions on Schedule I-11-144 for more details. 
Consultation with a tax preparer may also be helpful. 

TIP 
Allow time to collect all the Income sources, 
any proofs of payment, and forms you need 

for everyone In your household. 
CIT1 

• Cash public assistance and public relief* 
• Social security/SSI/SSDI/railroad retirement/veteran's benefits, 

taxable and nontaxable* 
• Unemployment compensation/worker's compensation 
• Wages, salaries, tips, etc. 
• Interest and dividends** 
• Interest on U.S., state, and municipal obligations, taxable and 

nontaxable 
• Alimony, support money, child support, cash gifts 
• Business income*** 
• Capital gains, taxable and nontaxable. Include nontaxable 

gains from sale of primary residence*** 
• Taxable pensions, annuities, IRA and other retirement fund 

distributions. Include ROTH IRA earnings distributions 
• Rental and royalty income*** 
• Income from farms, partnerships, S corporations, LLCs, 

estates, or trusts*** 
• Other income including prizes and awards, gambling or 

lottery winnings, director's fees, employers allowances, 
taxable refunds from Federal return 1040, Line 10, allowances 
by dependents of armed services personnel and military 
subsistence payments (BAH, FSA), loss of time insurance, cost 
of living adjustment (COLA) paid to federal employees 

• Income exceeding $6,500 for exceptions involving dependents 

• There may be exceptions, so refer to "Income Sources That Are Not 
Household Income" (next column) for more information 
** If you are under the age of 65 as of December 31 of the tax year and 
the total interest and dividend income reported are in excess of $10,000, 
your household income is increased by the total interest and dividend 
income greater than $10,000 
• If losses, see instructions for limits 

The following income sources are not 
considered to be Household Income: 

• Foster care payments 
• Payments received for the care of 

eligible persons with developmental 
disabilities (formerly Difficulty of Care) 

• In-kind relief by a government agency, 
such as fuel assistance 

• Food from a governmental agency 
• Gifts from nongovernmental sources, 

such as assistance for fuel, utilities, and 
rent 

• The first $6,500 of cash gifts received 
by the entire household unless used for 
support 

• The first $6,500 of income received by a 
person who qualifies as your dependent 
and who is your parent or adult child 
with a disability 

• The first $6,500 of income earned by a 
full-time student who qualifies as your 
dependent 

For further clarification, refer to 
section above Who Is a 

Member of your Household? 

Allowable Adjustments to 
Reduce Household Income 

• Social Security and Medicare tax 
withheld on wages 

• Self-employment tax 
• Child support paid—be prepared to 

provide proof of payment 
• Business expense for Reservists 
• Alimony paid 
• Tuition and Fees deduction 
• Self-employed health insurance 

deduction 
• Health Savings Account deduction 

Need Help? Contact the Taxpayer Services Division at 802-828-2865. 

For more information about household income, 

refer to Vermont Statute 32 V.S.A. § 6061. 
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