JOURNAL OF THE JOINT ASSEMBLY of the STATE OF VERMONT BIENNIAL SESSION, 2015

IN JOINT ASSEMBLY, JANUARY 8, 2015 10:00 A.M.

The Senate and the House of Representatives met in the Hall of the House of Representatives pursuant to a Joint Resolution which was read by the Clerk and is as follows:

J.R.S. 2. Joint resolution to provide for a Joint Assembly to receive the report of the committee appointed to canvass votes for state officers.

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the two Houses meet in Joint Assembly on Thursday, January 8, 2015, at ten o'clock in the forenoon to receive the report of the Joint Canvassing Committee appointed to canvass votes for Governor, Lieutenant Governor, State Treasurer, Secretary of State, Auditor of Accounts and Attorney General, and if it shall be declared by said Committee that there had been no election by the freemen and freewomen of any of said state officers, then to proceed forthwith to elect such officers as have not been elected by the freemen and freewomen.

Presiding Officer

Honorable Philip B. Scott, President of the Senate, in the Chair.

Clerk

John H. Bloomer, Jr., Secretary of the Senate, Clerk.

Report of the Joint Canvassing Committee

Senator White, Co-Chair, then presented the report of the Joint Canvassing Committee, which was as follows:

The Joint Canvassing Committee appointed to canvass the votes for Governor, Lieutenant Governor, State Treasurer, Secretary of State, Auditor of Accounts, and Attorney General respectfully reports:

That having been duly sworn, it has attended to the duties of its trust and finds the number of votes to have been:

For GOVERNOR	193,087
Necessary to have a major part of the votes	96,544
Peter Diamondstone, Liberty Union	1,673
Cris Ericson, Independent	1,089
Dan Feliciano, Libertarian	8,428
Scott Milne, Republican	87,075
Bernard Peters, Indpendent	1,434
Emily Peyton, Indpendent	3,157
Peter Shumlin, Democratic	89,509
Scattering (write-in votes)	722

And agreeable to the Constitutional provisions, it hereby declares that no person has received the major part of the votes cast for Governor, and that there is no election for Governor by the voters.

For LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR	191,416
Necessary to have a major part of the votes	95,708
Marina Brown, Liberty Union	3,347
Dean Corren, Democratic/Progressive	69,005
Philip B. Scott, Republican	118,949
Scattering (write-in votes)	115

Pursuant to the Constitution of the State of Vermont, the Committee hereby declares that

PHILIP B. SCOTT

received a major part of the votes, and therefore was elected Lieutenant Governor of the State of Vermont for the two years next ensuing.

For STATE TREASURER	167,592
Necessary to have a major part of the votes	83,796
Murray Ngoima, Liberty Union	13,456
Elizabeth A. "Beth" Pearce, Democrat	124,119
Don Schramm, Progress	28,990
Scattering (write-in votes)	1,027

Pursuant to the Constitution of the State of Vermont, the Committee hereby declares that

ELIZABETH A. "BETH" PEARCE

received a major part of the votes, and therefore was elected Treasurer of the State of Vermont for the two years next ensuing.

For SECRETARY OF STATE	169,135
Plurality, not a major part of the vote, is required	
James C. Condos, Democratic	126,427
Ben Eastwood, Progressive	24,518
Mary Alice "Mal" Herbert, Liberty Union	17,460
Scattering (write-in votes)	730

Pursuant to the Constitution of the State of Vermont, the Committee hereby declares that

JAMES C. CONDOS

received the greatest number of the votes, and therefore was elected Secretary of State of the State of Vermont for the two years next ensuing.

For AUDITOR OF ACCOUNTS	148,227
Plurality, not a major part of the vote, is required	
Douglas R. Hoffer, Democratic/Progressive	146,836
Scattering (write-in votes)	1,391

Pursuant to the Constitution of the State of Vermont, the Committee hereby declares that

DOUGLAS R. HOFFER

received the greatest number of the votes, and therefore was elected Auditor of Accounts of the State of Vermont for the two years next ensuing.

186,399
7,342
69,489
109,305
263

Pursuant to 3 V.S.A. §151, the Committee hereby declares that

WILLIAM H. SORRELL

received the greatest number of the votes, and therefore was elected Attorney General of the State of Vermont for the two years next ensuing.

All of which is respectfully submitted.

JEANETTE K. WHITE

Chair of the Joint Canvassing Committee on the part of the Senate

DEBBIE EVANS

Chair of the Joint Canvassing
Committee on the part of the House

Report of the Joint Canvassing Committee Adopted

Upon motion of Representative Evans, Co-Chair, the report of the Joint Canvassing Committee was adopted.

Statement By Presiding Officer

The report of the Joint Canvassing Committee which was just adopted by this Joint Assembly declares that no person was elected to the Office of Governor, since a majority vote was not attained as required by the Vermont Constitution.

Pursuant to the provisions of the Joint Resolution which set up this Joint Assembly (JRS-2) and the provisions of the Vermont Constitution, we will now proceed to the election of a Governor.

Under the provisions of the Constitution, chapter II, section 47, the voting for this office is to be done by joint ballot of this Assembly, from the *three* candidates for the office who received the greater numbers of votes for that particular office.

Accordingly, for the office of Governor you must choose among:

Dan Feliciano (Libertarian Party) Scott Milne (Republican Party) Peter E. Shumlin (Democratic Party)

Paper ballots containing these three names have been prepared by the Secretary of State for election of the Governor.

Tellers Appointed

The Chair appointed the following tellers for the distribution and counting of the ballots:

Senator Jeanette K. White, of Windham District, as chief teller

Senator Mark A. MacDonald, of Orange District

Senator Margaret K. Flory, of Rutland District

Representative Maureen Dakin, of Colchester

Representative Linda J. Martin, of Wolcott

Representative Robin Chesnut-Tangerman, of Middletown Springs

Representative Larry Cupoli, of Rutland City

Results of Balloting for Governor

The ballots were taken and counted, and the result of the balloting for Governor was as follows:

Total votes cast	179
Necessary for election	90
Dan Feliciano	
Scott Milne	69
Peter E. Shumlin	110

Whereupon, the Chair declared that

PETER E. SHUMLIN, of Putney

having received a majority of the total votes cast was duly elected to the office of Governor for the two years next ensuing.

Dissolution

Thereupon, the President declared that the Joint Assembly was dissolved.

JOHN H. BLOOMER, JR. Secretary of the Senate Clerk of the Joint Assembly