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ORDERS OF THE DAY 

ACTION CALENDAR 

UNFINISHED BUSINESS OF TUESDAY, MARCH 10, 2015 

House Proposal of Amendment 

S. 6. 

An act relating to technical corrections to civil and criminal procedure 

statutes. 

The House proposes to the Senate to amend the bill by striking out all after 

the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following: 

Sec. 1.  13 V.S.A. § 1501 is amended to read: 

§ 1501.  ESCAPE AND ATTEMPTS TO ESCAPE 

* * * 

(b)(1)  A person who shall not, while in lawful custody: 

(1)  fails (A)  fail to return from work release to the correctional facility 

at the specified time, or visits other than the specified place, as required by the 

order issued in accordance with 28 V.S.A. § 753; 

(2)  fails (B)  fail to return from furlough to the correctional facility at 

the specified time, or visits other than the specified place, as required by the 

order issued in accordance with 28 V.S.A. § 808, 808a, 808b, or 808c; 

(3)  escapes or attempts (C)  escape or attempt to escape while on release 

from a correctional facility to do work in the service of such facility or of the 

Department of Corrections in accordance with 28 V.S.A. § 758; or 

(4)  escapes or attempts (D)  escape elope or attempt to escape elope 

from the Vermont State Hospital, or its successor in interest  Psychiatric Care 

Hospital or a participating hospital, when confined by court order pursuant to 

chapter 157 of this title, or when transferred there pursuant to 28 V.S.A. § 703 

and while still serving a sentence, shall be imprisoned for not more than five 

years or fined not more than $1,000.00, or both. 

(2)  A person who violates this subsection shall be imprisoned for not 

more than five years or fined not more than $1,000.00, or both. 

* * * 

(d)  As used in this section: 

* * * 
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(3)  “Successor in interest” shall mean the mental health hospital owned 

and operated by the State that provides acute inpatient care and replaces the 

Vermont State Hospital.  [Repealed.] 

Sec. 2.  13 V.S.A. § 5321 is amended to read: 

§ 5321.  APPEARANCE BY VICTIM 

* * * 

(c)  In accordance with court Court rules, at the sentencing hearing, the 

court Court shall ask if the victim is present and, if so, whether the victim 

would like to be heard regarding sentencing.  in In imposing sentence, the 

court Court shall consider any views offered at the hearing by the victim.  if If 

the victim is not present, the court Court shall ask whether the victim has 

expressed, either orally or in writing, views regarding sentencing and shall take 

those views into consideration in imposing sentence. 

(d)  At or before the sentencing hearing, the prosecutor’s office shall 

instruct the victim of a listed crime, in all cases where the court Court imposes 

a sentence which includes a period of incarceration, that a sentence of 

incarceration is to the custody of the commissioner of corrections 

Commissioner of Corrections and that the commissioner of corrections 

Commissioner of Corrections has the authority to affect the actual time the 

defendant shall serve in incarceration through good time credit, furlough, 

work-release, and other early release programs.  in In addition, the prosecutor’s 

office shall explain the significance of a minimum and maximum sentence to 

the victim and shall also explain the function of parole and how it may affect 

the actual amount of time the defendant may be incarcerated. 

* * * 

Sec. 3.  13 V.S.A. § 5574 is amended to read: 

§ 5574.  BURDEN OF PROOF; JUDGMENT; DAMAGES 

(a)  A claimant shall be entitled to judgment in an action under this 

subchapter if the claimant establishes each of the following by clear and 

convincing evidence: 

* * * 

(2)(A)  The the complainant’s conviction was reversed or vacated, the 

complainant’s information or indictment was dismissed, or the complainant 

was acquitted after a second or subsequent trial.; or 

(B)  The the complainant was pardoned for the crime for which he or 

she was sentenced. 
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* * * 

Sec. 4.  33 V.S.A. § 5308(a)(4) is amended to read: 

(4)  The custodial parent, guardian, or guardian custodian has abandoned 

the child. 

Sec. 5.  2014 Acts and Resolves No. 126, Sec. 7 is amended to read:  

Sec. 7.  EFFECTIVE DATE 

This act shall take effect on July 1, 2014, and shall apply to restitution 

orders issued after that date; provided, however, that notwithstanding 1 V.S.A. 

§ 214, Secs. 1, 3, 4, 5, and 6 shall also apply retroactively to restitution orders 

issued on or before July 1, 2014. 

Sec. 6.  EFFECTIVE DATE 

This act shall take effect on passage. 

NEW BUSINESS 

Third Reading 

S. 108. 

An act relating to repealing the sunset on provisions pertaining to patient 

choice at end of life. 

Second Reading 

Favorable with Recommendation of Amendment 

S. 73. 

An act relating to State regulation of rent-to-own agreements for 

merchandise. 

Reported favorably with recommendation of amendment by Senator 

Balint for the Committee on Economic Development, Housing & General 

Affairs. 

The Committee recommends that the bill be amended by striking out all 

after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following: 

Sec. 1.  9 V.S.A. § 41b is amended to read:   

§ 41b.  RENT-TO-OWN AGREEMENTS; DISCLOSURE OF TERMS 

(a)  The attorney general shall adopt by rule standards for the full and 

conspicuous disclosure to consumers of the terms of rent-to-own agreements.  

For purposes of this section a rent-to-own agreement means an agreement for 

the use of merchandise by a consumer for personal, family, or household 
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purposes, for an initial period of four months or less, that is renewable with 

each payment after the initial period and that permits the lessee to become the 

owner of the property.  An agreement that complies with this article is not a 

retail installment sales contract, agreement or obligation as defined in this 

chapter or a security interest as defined in section 1-201(37) of Title 9A. 

(b)  The attorney general, or an aggrieved person, may enforce a violation 

of the rules adopted pursuant to this section as an unfair or deceptive act or 

practice in commerce under section 2453 of this title.  

(a)  Definitions.  In this section: 

(1)  “Advertisement” means a commercial message that solicits a 

consumer to enter into a rent-to-own agreement for a specific item of 

merchandise that is conveyed: 

(A)  at a merchant’s place of business; 

(B)  on a merchant’s website; 

(C)  on television or radio.   

(2)  “Cash price” means the price of merchandise available under a 

rent-to-own agreement that the consumer may pay in cash to the merchant at 

the inception of the agreement to acquire ownership of the merchandise. 

(3)  “Clear and conspicuous” means that the statement or term being 

disclosed is of such size, color, contrast, or audibility, as applicable, so that the 

nature, content, and significance of the statement or term is reasonably 

apparent to the person to whom it is disclosed.  

(4)  “Consumer” has the same meaning as in subsection 2451a(a) of this 

title. 

(5)  “Merchandise” means an item of a merchant’s property that is 

available for use under a rent-to-own agreement.  The term does not include: 

(A)  real property; 

(B)  a mobile home, as defined in section 2601 of this title; 

(C)  a motor vehicle, as defined in 23 V.S.A. § 4; 

(D)  an assistive device, as defined in section 41c of this title; or 

(E)  a musical instrument intended to be used primarily in an 

elementary or secondary school. 

(6)  “Merchant” means a person who offers, or contracts for, the use of 

merchandise under a rent-to-own agreement. 
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(7)  “Merchant’s cost” means the documented actual cost, including 

actual freight charges, of merchandise to the merchant from a wholesaler, 

distributor, supplier, or manufacturer and net of any discounts, rebates, and 

incentives that are vested and calculable as to a specific item of merchandise at 

the time the merchant accepts delivery of the merchandise. 

(8)(A)  “Rent-to-own agreement” means a contract under which a 

consumer agrees to pay a merchant for the right to use merchandise until:  

(i)  the consumer returns the merchandise to the merchant; 

(ii)  the merchant retakes possession of the merchandise; or 

(iii)  the consumer pays the total cost and acquires ownership of 

the merchandise. 

(B)  A “rent-to-own agreement” as defined in subdivision (7)(A) of 

this subsection is not: 

(i)  a sale subject to 9A V.S.A. Article 2; 

(ii)  a lease subject to 9A V.S.A. Article 2A; 

(iii)  a security interest as defined in section 9A V.S.A. 

§ 1-201(a)(35); or 

(iv)  a retail installment contract or retail charge agreement as 

defined in chapter 61 of this title.  

(9)  “Rent-to-own charge” means the difference between the total cost 

and the cash price of an item of merchandise. 

(10)  “Total cost” means the sum of all payments, charges, fees, and 

taxes that a consumer must pay to acquire ownership of merchandise under a 

rent-to-own agreement.  The term does not include charges for optional 

services or charges due only upon the occurrence of a contingency specified in 

the agreement. 

(b)  General requirements.   

(1)  Prior to execution, a merchant shall give a consumer the opportunity 

to review a written copy of a rent-to-own agreement that includes all of the 

information required by this section for each item of merchandise covered by 

the agreement and shall not refuse a consumer’s reasonable request to review 

the agreement with a third party, either inside the merchant’s place of business 

or at another location. 

(2)  A disclosure required by this section shall be clear and conspicuous.   

(3)  In an advertisement or rent-to-own agreement, a merchant shall state 
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a numerical amount or percentage as a figure and shall print or legibly 

handwrite the figure in the equivalent of 12-point type or greater.  

(4)  A merchant may supply information not required by this section with 

the disclosures required by this section, but shall not state or place additional 

information in such a way as to cause the required disclosures to be misleading 

or confusing, or to contradict, obscure, or detract attention from the required 

disclosures.  

(5)  A merchant shall preserve an advertisement, or a digital copy of the 

advertisement, for not less than two years after the date the advertisement 

appeared.  In the case of a radio, television, or Internet advertisement, a 

merchant may preserve a copy of the script or storyboard. 

(6)  A merchant shall make merchandise available to all consumers on 

the terms and conditions that appear in the advertisement. 

(7)  A rent-to-own agreement that is substantially modified, including a 

change that increases the consumer’s payments or other obligations or 

diminishes the consumer’s rights, shall be considered a new agreement subject 

to the requirements of this chapter.  

(8)  For each item of merchandise available under a rent-to-own 

agreement, a merchant shall keep an electronic or hard copy for a period of six 

years following the date the merchant ceases to own the merchandise:  

(A)  each rent-to-own agreement covering the item; and 

(B)  a record that establishes the merchant’s cost for the item. 

(9)  A rent-to-own agreement executed by a merchant doing business in 

Vermont and a resident of Vermont shall be governed by Vermont law. 

(10)  If a rent-to-own agreement includes a provision requiring mediation 

or arbitration in the event of a dispute, the mediation or arbitration shall occur 

within Vermont. 

(c)  Cash price; total cost; maximum limits. 

(1)  The maximum cash price for an item of merchandise shall not 

exceed: 

(A)  for an appliance, 1.75 times the merchant’s cost; 

(B)  for an item of electronics that has a merchant’s cost of less than 

$150.00, 1.75 times the merchant’s cost; 

(C)  for an item of electronics that has a merchant’s cost of $150.00 or 

more, 2.00 times the merchant’s cost; 
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(D)  for an item of furniture or jewelry, 2.50 times the merchant’s 

cost; and 

(E)  for any other item, 2.00 times the merchant’s cost. 

(2)  The total cost for an item of merchandise shall not exceed two times 

the maximum cash price for the item. 

(d)  Disclosures in advertising.  An advertisement shall state:  

(1)  the cash price of the item; 

(2)  that the merchandise is available under a rent-to-own agreement;  

(3)  the amount, frequency, and total number of payments required for 

ownership;  

(4)  the total cost for the item;  

(5)  the rent-to-own charge for the item; and 

(6)  that the consumer will not own the merchandise until the consumer 

pays the total cost for ownership. 

(e)  Disclosures on site.  In addition to the information required in 

subsection (d) of this section, an advertisement at a merchant’s place of 

business shall include:  

(1)  whether the item is new or used; 

(2)  when the merchant acquired the item; and 

(3)  the number of times a consumer has taken possession of the item 

under a rent-to-own agreement. 

(f)  Disclosures in rent-to-own agreement.   

(1)  The first page of a rent-to-own agreement shall include: 

(A)  a heading in bold-face type that reads: “IMPORTANT 

INFORMATION ABOUT THIS RENT-TO-OWN AGREEMENT.  

Do Not Sign this Agreement Before You Read It or If It Contains any Blank 

Spaces”; and 

(B)  the following information in the following order: 

(i)  the name, address, and contact information of the merchant; 

(ii)  the name, address, and contact information of the consumer; 

(iii)  the date of the transaction; 

(iv)  a description of the merchandise sufficient to identify the 

merchandise to the consumer and the merchant, including any applicable 
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model and identification numbers; 

(v)  a statement whether the merchandise is new or used, and in the 

case of used merchandise, a description of the condition of, and any damage to, 

the merchandise. 

(2)  A rent-to-own agreement shall include the following cost 

disclosures, printed and grouped as indicated below, immediately preceding 

the signature lines: 

(1)  Cash Price:       $   

(2)  Payments required to become owner: 

$     /(weekly)(biweekly)(monthly) ×     (# of payments) =  $   

(3)  Mandatory charges, fees, and taxes required to become owner (itemize): 

            $   

            $   

            $   

   Total required taxes, fees, and charges:    $   

(4)  Total cost:      (2) + (3)  =  $   

(5)  Rent-to-Own Charge:    (4) - (1)  =   $   

(g)  Required provisions of rent-to-own agreement.  A rent-to-own 

agreement shall provide:  

(1)  a statement of payment due dates;  

(2)  a line-item list of any other charges or fees the consumer could be 

charged or have the option of paying in the course of acquiring ownership or 

during or after the term of the agreement; 

(3)  that the consumer will not own the merchandise until he or she 

makes all of the required payments for ownership;  

(4)  that the consumer has the right to receive a receipt for a payment 

and, upon reasonable notice, a written statement of account; 

(5)  who is responsible for service, maintenance, and repair of an item of 

merchandise; 

(6)  that, except in the case of the consumer’s negligence or abuse, if the 

merchant must retake possession of the merchandise for maintenance, repair, 

or service, or the item cannot be repaired, the merchant is responsible for 

providing the consumer with a replacement item of equal quality and 

comparable design; 



 

- 229 - 

(7)  the maximum amount of the consumer’s liability for damage or loss 

to the merchandise in the case of the consumer’s negligence or abuse;  

(8)  a description of a manufacturer’s warranty or other warranty on the 

merchandise, which may be in a separate document furnished to the consumer;  

(9)  a description of any insurance required of the consumer, or a 

statement that the consumer is not required to purchase insurance and a 

description of any insurance purchased by the consumer;  

(10)  an explanation of the consumer’s options to purchase the 

merchandise;  

(11)  an explanation of the merchant’s right to repossess the 

merchandise; and 

(12)  an explanation of the parties’ respective rights to terminate the 

agreement, and to reinstate the agreement. 

(h)  Prohibited provisions of rent-to-own agreement.  A rent-to-own 

agreement shall not contain a provision: 

(1)  requiring a confession of judgment; 

(2)  requiring a garnishment of wages; 

(3)  authorizing a merchant or its agent to enter unlawfully upon the 

consumer’s premises or to commit any breach of the peace in the repossession 

of property; 

(4)  requiring the consumer to waive any defense, counterclaim, or right 

of action against the merchant or its agent in collection of payment under the 

agreement or in the repossession of property; or 

(5)  requiring the consumer to purchase insurance from the merchant to 

cover the property. 

(i)  Option to purchase.  Notwithstanding any other provision of this 

section, at any time after the first payment a consumer who is not in violation 

of a rent-to-own agreement may acquire ownership of the merchandise covered 

by the agreement by paying an amount equal to the cash price of the 

merchandise minus 50 percent of the value of the consumer’s previous 

payments. 

(j)  Collections; repossession of merchandise; prohibited acts.  When 

attempting to collect a debt or enforce an obligation under a rent-to-own 

agreement, a merchant shall not: 

(1)  call or visit a consumer’s workplace after a request by the consumer 

or his or her employer not to do so; 
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(2)  use profanity or any language to abuse, ridicule, or degrade a 

consumer; 

(3)  repeatedly call, leave messages, knock on doors, or ring doorbells; 

(4)  ask someone, other than a spouse, to make a payment on behalf of a 

consumer; 

(5)  obtain payment through a consumer’s bank, credit card, or other 

account without authorization; 

(6)  speak with a consumer more than six times per week to discuss an 

overdue account; 

(7)  engage in violence; 

(8)  trespass; 

(9)  call or visit a consumer at home or work after receiving legal notice 

that the consumer has filed for bankruptcy; 

(10)  impersonate others; 

(11)  discuss a consumer’s account with anyone other than a spouse of 

the consumer; 

(12)  threaten unwarranted legal action; or 

(13)  leave a recorded message for a consumer that includes anything 

other than the caller’s name, contact information, and a courteous request that 

the consumer return the call. 

(k)  Reinstatement of agreement. 

(1)  A consumer who fails to make a timely payment may reinstate a 

rent-to-own agreement without losing any rights or options that exist under the 

agreement by paying all past-due charges, the reasonable costs of pickup, 

redelivery, and any refurbishing, and any applicable late fee: 

(A)  within five business days of the renewal date of the agreement if 

the consumer pays monthly; or  

(B)  within three business days of the renewal date of the agreement if 

the consumer pays more frequently than monthly. 

(2)  If a consumer promptly returns or voluntarily surrenders  

merchandise upon a merchant’s request, the consumer may reinstate a 

rent-to-own agreement during a period of not less than 180 days after the date 

the merchant retakes possession of the merchandise. 
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(3)  In the case of a rent-to-own agreement that is reinstated pursuant to 

this subsection, the merchant is not required to provide the consumer with the 

identical item of merchandise and may provide the consumer with a 

replacement item of equal quality and comparable design.   

(l)  Reasonable charges and fees.  Any charge or fee assessed under a 

rent-to-own agreement shall be reasonably related to the actual cost to the 

merchant of the service or hardship for which it is charged. 

(m)  Prohibition on rent-to-own businesses and licensed lenders.  A person 

engaged in the business of selling merchandise under a rent-to-own agreement 

subject to this section shall not engage in any conduct or business at the same 

physical location that would require a license under 8 V.S.A. chapter 73 

(licensed lenders). 

(n)  Enforcement; remedies; damages.  A person who violates this section 

commits an unfair and deceptive act in commerce in violation of section 2453 

of this title.  

Sec. 2.  EFFECTIVE DATE   

This act shall take effect on July 1, 2015.  

(Committee vote: 5-0-0) 

S. 115. 

An act relating to expungement of convictions based on conduct that is no 

longer criminal. 

Reported favorably with recommendation of amendment by Senator 

Benning for the Committee on Judiciary. 

The Committee recommends that the bill be amended by striking out all 

after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following: 

Sec. 1.  13 V.S.A. § 7601 is amended to read:  

§ 7601. DEFINITIONS 

As used in this chapter: 

* * * 

(4)  “Qualifying crime” means: 

(A)  a misdemeanor offense which is not a listed crime as defined in 

subdivision 5301(7) of this title, an offense involving sexual exploitation of 

children in violation of chapter 64 of this title, an offense involving violation 

of a protection order in violation of section 1030 of this title, a prohibited act 

as defined in section 2632 of this title, or a predicate offense; 
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(B)  a violation of subsection 3701(a) of this title related to criminal 

mischief; or 

(C)  a violation of section 2501 of this title related to grand larceny; or 

(D)  a violation of section 1201 of this title related to burglary, 

excluding any burglary into an occupied dwelling, as defined in subdivision 

1201(b)(2) of this title. 

Sec. 2.  13 V.S.A. § 7602 is amended to read: 

§ 7602.  EXPUNGEMENT AND SEALING OF RECORD,  

              POSTCONVICTION; PROCEDURE 

(a)(1)  A person who was convicted of a qualifying crime or qualifying 

crimes arising out of the same incident or occurrence may file a petition with 

the Court requesting expungement or sealing of the criminal history record 

related to the conviction.  The State’s Attorney or Attorney General shall be 

the respondent in the matter. if: 

(A)  the person was convicted of a qualifying crime or qualifying 

crimes arising out of the same incident or occurrence; or 

(B)(i)  the person was convicted of:  

(I)  an offense for which the underlying conduct is no longer 

prohibited by law or the criminal sanctions have been repealed; or  

(II)  possession of a regulated drug under 18 V.S.A. chapter 84, 

subchapter 1 in an amount that is no longer prohibited by law or for which 

criminal sanctions have been repealed; and 

(ii)  at least one year has elapsed since the completion of any 

sentence or supervision for the offense, whichever is later.  

(2)  The State’s Attorney or Attorney General shall be the respondent in 

the matter. 

(3)  The Court shall grant the petition without hearing if the petitioner 

and the respondent stipulate to the granting of the petition.  The respondent 

shall file the stipulation with the Court, and the Court shall issue the petitioner 

a certificate and provide notice of the order in accordance with this section. 

(b)(1)  The Court shall grant the petition and order that the criminal history 

record be expunged pursuant to section 7606 of this title if the following 

conditions are met: 

(A)  At least 10 years have elapsed since the date on which the person 

successfully completed the terms and conditions of the sentence for the 

conviction, or if the person has successfully completed the terms and 
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conditions of an indeterminate term of probation that commenced at least 

10 years previously. 

(B)  The person has not been convicted of a crime arising out of a new 

incident or occurrence since the person was convicted for the qualifying crime. 

(C)  Any restitution ordered by the Court has been paid in full. 

(D)  The Court finds that expungement of the criminal history record 

serves the interest of justice. 

(E)  For petitions filed pursuant to subdivision 7601(4)(D) of this title, 

the Court finds that the conduct underlying the conviction under section 1201 

of this title did not constitute a burglary into an occupied dwelling, as defined 

in subdivision 1201(b)(2) of this title.  The petitioner shall bear the burden of 

establishing this fact. 

(2)  The Court shall grant the petition and order that all or part of the 

criminal history record be sealed pursuant to section 7607 of this title if the 

conditions of subdivisions (1)(A), (B), and (C), and (E) of this subsection are 

met and the Court finds that: 

(A)  sealing the criminal history record better serves the interest of 

justice than expungement; and 

(B)  the person committed the qualifying crime after reaching 

19 years of age. 

(c)(1)  The Court shall grant the petition and order that the criminal history 

record be expunged pursuant to section 7606 of this title if the following 

conditions are met: 

(A)  At least 20 years have elapsed since the date on which the person 

successfully completed the terms and conditions of the sentence for the 

conviction. 

(B)  The person has not been convicted of a felony arising out of a 

new incident or occurrence since the person was convicted of the qualifying 

crime. 

(C)  The person has not been convicted of a misdemeanor during the 

past 15 years. 

(D)  Any restitution ordered by the Court for any crime of which the 

person has been convicted has been paid in full. 

(E)  After considering the particular nature of any subsequent offense, 

the Court finds that expungement of the criminal history record for the 

qualifying crime serves the interest of justice. 
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(F)  For petitions filed pursuant to subdivision 7601(4)(D) of this title, 

the Court finds that the conduct underlying the conviction under section 1201 

of this title did not constitute a burglary into an occupied dwelling, as defined 

in subdivision 1201(b)(2) of this title.  The petitioner shall bear the burden of 

establishing this fact. 

(2)  The Court shall grant the petition and order that all or part of the 

criminal history record be sealed pursuant to section 7607 of this title if the 

conditions of subdivisions (1)(A), (B), (C), and (D), and (F) of this subsection 

are met and the Court finds that: 

(A)  sealing the criminal history record better serves the interest of 

justice than expungement; and 

(B)  the person committed the qualifying crime after reaching 19 

years of age. 

(d)  For petitions filed pursuant to subdivision (a)(1)(B) of this section, the 

Court shall grant the petition and order that the criminal history record be 

expunged pursuant to section 7606 of this title if the following conditions 

are met:  

(1)  At least one year has elapsed since the completion of any sentence or 

supervision for the offense, whichever is later.  

(2)  Any restitution ordered by the Court has been paid in full. 

(3)  The Court finds that expungement of the criminal history record 

serves the interest of justice. 

(e)  For petitions filed pursuant to subdivision (a)(1)(B)(i)(II) of this 

section:  

(1)  The petitioner shall bear the burden of establishing that his or her 

conviction was based on possessing a quantity of regulated drug that is no 

longer prohibited by law or for which criminal sanctions have been repealed.  

(2)  There shall be a rebuttable presumption that the weight of the 

regulated drug specified in the affidavit of probable cause associated with the 

petitioner’s conviction was the amount possessed by the petitioner. 

Sec. 3.  EFFECTIVE DATE 

This act shall take effect on passage.  

(Committee vote: 4-0-1) 
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NOTICE CALENDAR 

Second Reading 

Favorable with Recommendation of Amendment 

S. 60. 

An act relating to payment for medical examinations for victims of sexual 

assault. 

Reported favorably with recommendation of amendment by Senator 

McCormack for the Committee on Health & Welfare. 

The Committee recommends that the bill be amended as follows: 

First:  In Sec. 1, 8 V.S.A. § 4089, by striking out subsection (a) in its 

entirety and inserting in lieu thereof a new subsection (a) to read as follows: 

(a)  A health insurer shall not impose any co-payment or coinsurance or, to 

the extent permitted under federal law, deductible or other cost-sharing 

requirement for the sexual assault examination of a victim of alleged sexual 

assault for health care services associated with specific procedure codes 

identified in a memorandum of understanding between the health insurer and 

the Vermont Center for Crime Victim Services. 

Second:  In Sec. 4, confidentiality; memorandum of understanding, by 

striking out the introductory paragraph in its entirety and inserting in lieu 

thereof the following: 

On or before August 1, 2015, the Department of Vermont Health Access, 

the three private insurers with the greatest number of covered lives in this 

State, and the Vermont Center for Crime Victim Services shall enter into a 

memorandum of understanding to ensure that: 

Third:  By striking out Sec. 5, effective date, in its entirety and inserting in 

lieu thereof a new Sec. 5 to read as follows: 

Sec. 5.  EFFECTIVE DATES 

(a)  Secs. 1 (insurance coverage for victims of sexual assault) and 3 (costs 

borne by the State) shall take effect on October 1, 2015, except that the 

Victims’ Compensation Fund shall reimburse health care facilities and health 

care providers at 60 percent of billed charges beginning on the date of passage 

of this act. 

(b)  Secs. 2 (health care services for uninsured crime victims) and 4 

(confidentiality; memorandum of understanding) and this section shall take 

effect on passage. 

(Committee vote: 5-0-0) 
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CONCURRENT RESOLUTIONS FOR NOTICE 

S.C.R. 5-12 (For text of Resolutions, see Addendum to Senate Calendar for 

March 12, 2015) 

H.C.R. 60-67 (For text of Resolutions, see Addendum to House Calendar for 

March 12, 2015) 

CONFIRMATIONS 

The following appointments will be considered by the Senate, as a group, 

under suspension of the Rules, as moved by the President pro tempore, for 

confirmation together and without debate, by consent thereby given by the 

Senate.  However, upon request of any senator, any appointment may be 

singled out and acted upon separately by the Senate, with consideration given 

to the report of the Committee to which the appointment was referred, and with 

full debate; and further, all appointments for the positions of Secretaries of 

Agencies, Commissioners of Departments, Judges, Magistrates, and members 

of the Public Service Board shall be fully and separately acted upon. 

Robert Ide of Peacham – Commissioner, Department of Motor Vehicles – 

By Sen. Kitchel for the Committee on Transportation.  (3/12/15) 

Sue Minter of Waterbury Center – Secretary, Agency of Transportation – 

By Sen. Westman for the Committee on Transportation.  (3/13/15) 

William Hoser of Chester – Member of the Vermont Board of Medical 

Practice – By Sen. McCormack for the Committee on Health and Welfare.  

(3/13/15) 

Sarah Flynn of Burlington – Member of the Community High School of 

Vermont Board – By Sen. Zuckerman for the Committee on Education.  

(3/13/15) 

Churchill Hindes of Colchester – Member, Vermont State Colleges Board 

of Trustees – Sen. Zuckerman for the Committee on Education.  (3/13/15) 

Michael Pieciak of Winooski – Member, Vermont State Colleges Board of 

Trustees – Sen. Zuckerman for the Committee on Education.  (3/13/15) 

Nancy Waples of Hinesburg – Superior Court Judge – Sen. Ashe for the 

Committee on Judiciary.  (3/13/15) 
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PUBLIC HEARINGS 

Thursday, March 12, 2015 – Room 11 – 1:00 P.M. – 3:00 P.M. – Re: 

Further Reductions to the Governor’s Proposed FY2016 Budget - House 

Committee on Appropriations. 

REPORTS ON FILE 

Reports 2015 

Pursuant to the provisions of 2 V.S.A. §20(c), one (1) hard copy of the 

following report is on file in the office of the Secretary of the Senate.  

Effective January 2010, pursuant to Act No. 192, Adj. Sess. (2008) §5.005(g) 

some reports will automatically be sent by electronic copy only and can be 

found on the State of Vermont Legislative webpage.   

1. Working Lands Enterprise Initiative Annual Report: Fiscal Year 2014. 

(Vermont Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets) (March 2015) 

FOR INFORMATION ONLY 

CROSSOVER DEADLINES 

The Senate Rules Committee established the following Crossover 

deadlines: 

(1)   All Senate bills must be reported out of the last committee of reference 

(including the Committees on Appropriations and Finance, except as provided 

below in (2) and the exceptions listed below) on or before Friday, March 13, 

2015, and filed with the Secretary of the Senate so that they may be placed on 

the Calendar for Notice the next legislative day. 

(2)  All Senate bills referred pursuant to Senate Rule 31 to the Committees 

on Appropriations and Finance must be reported out by the last of those 

committees on or before Friday, March 20, 2015, and filed with the Secretary 

of the Senate so that they may be placed on the Calendar for Notice the next 

legislative day. 

These deadlines may be waived for any bill or committee only with the 

consent of the Committee on Rules. 

Note:  Pursuant to Senate Rule 44A, the Senate will not act on House bills 

that do not meet these crossover deadlines, without the consent of the Senate 

Rules Committee. 
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Exceptions to the foregoing deadlines include the major money bills 

(Appropriations “Big Bill”, Transportation Spending Bill, Capital 

Construction Bill, and Miscellaneous Tax Bill). 


