No. R-356. House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2016 St. Johnsbury Academy State championship girls' indoor track team.

(H.C.R.271)

Offered by: Representatives Beck of St. Johnsbury, Willhoit of St. Johnsbury, Feltus of Lyndon, Lawrence of Lyndon, Martel of Waterford, Quimby of Concord, and Toll of Danville

Offered by: Senators Benning and Kitchel

Whereas, the St. Johnsbury Academy girls' indoor track team excelled in 2014–2015 winning the State championship, and

Whereas, the 2015–2016 season proved equally exciting, starting with the team winning first-place honors at four regular season track meets, and

Whereas, 31 of the team's members qualified for the championship competition, held primarily on January 30 at Norwich University, and

Whereas, St. Johnsbury won nine of 16 events; placed at least two scorers in each individual event; scored a record 229 points, to become the first championship team to achieve the 200-point threshold; and, most importantly, won the 2016 State championship, and

Whereas, this superb team included Allison Peck, Bettina Hammer, Desiree Taylor, Grace Desrochers, Jess Brink, Kristin Baldauf, Athena Hendrick-Kelly, Hannah Ryan, Jillian Brochu, Julia Ash, Lauren Green, Quinnae Outerbridge, Viktoria Ishaque, Annie Cunningham, Bridget Webber, Grace Cooke, Hannah Wescott, Kateri Gibson, Katherine Cowan, Siniah Yates-Moses, Breanna Fearon, Callahan Beck, Emily Langham, Jen Rotti, Kaelynn Silver, Kaitlynn Girouard, Lia Rotti, Lizzy Gilmartin, Riley Higgs, and Taryn Tremblay, and

Whereas, Coach Chip Langmaid was an ideal mentor for the girls, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2016 St. Johnsbury Academy State championship girls' indoor track team, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to St. Johnsbury Academy.