No. R-255. House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2015 U.S. Women's World Cup championship soccer team.

(H.C.R.191)

Offered by: Representatives Jewett of Ripton and Copeland-Hanzas of Bradford

<u>Whereas</u>, the 2015 Women's World Cup was a much anticipated sporting event with a talented American team sparking avid attention in the United States, and

<u>Whereas</u>, the American squad more than met U.S. soccer fans' expectations as superior offensive and defensive playing enabled the team to secure a championship game berth against Japan, and

<u>Whereas</u>, a crowd of 53,341 spectators, many of whom were Americans cheering for the U.S. team, including Vice President Joseph R. Biden Jr., witnessed an historic and memorable game, and

<u>Whereas</u>, the U.S. team scored the earliest goal ever in a Women's World Cup final and defeated Japan 5–2, clinching the 2015 Women's World Cup championship and becoming the first team to win this coveted athletic award three times, and

<u>Whereas</u>, these remarkable athletes were honored in a rare New York City ticker tape parade, and they included Shannon Boxx, Morgan Brian, Lori Chalupny, Whitney Engen, Ashlyn Harris, Tobin Heath, Lauren Holiday, Julie Johnston, Meghan Klingenberg, Ali Krieger, Sydney Leroux, Carli Lloyd, Alex Morgan, Alyssa Naeher, Kelly O'Hara, Heather O'Reilly, Christen Press, Christie Rampone, Megan Rapinoe, Amy Rodriguez, Becky Sauerbrunn, Hope Solo, and Abby Wambach, and

<u>Whereas</u>, the coaching staff included Head Coach Jill Ellis, assistant coaches Tony Gustavsson and Steve Swanson, goalkeeper coach Graeme Abel, and strength and fitness coach Dawn Scott, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2015 U.S. Women's World Cup championship soccer team, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to the U.S. Soccer Federation in Chicago.