No. R-141. House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2015 Mill River Union High School Minutemen Division II championship girls' basketball team.

(H.C.R.105)

Offered by: Representatives Potter of Clarendon, Burditt of West Rutland, Canfield of Fair Haven, Carr of Brandon, Chesnut-Tangerman of Middletown Springs, Cupoli of Rutland City, Devereux of Mount Holly, Eastman of Orwell, Fagan of Rutland City, Haas of Rochester, Helm of Fair Haven, McCoy of Poultney, Russell of Rutland City, Shaw of Pittsford, Tate of Mendon, and Terenzini of Rutland Town

Whereas, the Mill River Union High School girls' basketball team had never won a state championship, and

<u>Whereas</u>, the 2014–2015 Minutemen set out to prove that this season would be one for the supporters of girls' basketball at Mill River to remember and cherish, and

<u>Whereas</u>, this disciplined squad earned a third seed in the Division II playoffs and dribbled and shot its way forward into the championship game in Barre, where Mill River met the top-seeded Lake Region Rangers, and

<u>Whereas</u>, the two equally skilled teams were tied at 46 with 1:21 remaining in regulation play, when Mill River took advantage of a foul line opportunity that sealed its 50–46 win and gave the Minutemen their long-sought girls' basketball Division II championship, and

<u>Whereas</u>, this outstanding Mill River team compiled a great 19–5 season record and included Chelsea Congdon, Ella Bankert, Maggie Turco, Jessica Audy, Taylor Worcester, Rachel Reynolds, Olivia McPhee, Adrienne Bartlett, Melissa Fay, Mariz Mangundayao, Haley Hull, Carly Ward, Rylee Perron, Rylee Nichols, and Tessa Davenport, and

<u>Whereas</u>, the support of head coach Ken Webb, assistant coaches Darren Badgley and Jo Jo Valente, athletic trainer Matt Howland, and team managers Chelsea Blanchard and Hannah Sheehe was an important contribution to the Minutemen's memorable season, now therefore be it

<u>Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives</u>: That the General Assembly congratulates the 2015 Mill River Union High School Division II championship girls' basketball team, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Mill River High School.