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Employer Responsibility under the Affordable Care Act and Current Vermont Law:
A comparison of Vermont’s Employer Assessment and the ACA Penalty

Under the Affordable Care Act (ACA) larger employers who don’t provide “affordable” coverage
could face penalties starting 2014. Under current Vermont state law, employers pay an
assessment for every uncovered employee in excess of four full-time equivalents (FTEs).
Although the two laws are very different, there have been legitimate questions about the
potential overlap and impacts of the two. The purpose of this document is to help provide
clarity on this issue.

It should be noted that Act 48 of 2011 required the Secretary of Administration to consider the
Vermont employer assessment when developing the financing plan.! Given its inherent
relationship to the Catamount Health program, and a reasonable assumption that the
Catamount Health program will cease to exist after 2014, there is a strong likelihood the
legislature and administration may consider changes. However, at this time we cannot
speculate as to what recommendations will be made concerning the future of the employer
assessment — such as whether to make revisions or repeal it altogether. Given this
acknowledgement, the following document speaks to the employer assessment as it exists in
current law, with the understanding that it may change in the 2013 legislative session.

Who pays and how much?

The Vermont employer assessment and the ACA penalty have different formulas for
determining who pays and how much. For instance, under the ACA, only “large employers”
(defined as an employer with more than 50 FTEs) are subject to the penalty, whereas under the
Vermont assessment there are no employer size requirements. The following tables provide
further information concerning who pays and how much under both the state assessment? and
the ACA penalty.?

! Act 48 of 2011, Sec. 9(b)(1).
221V.SA. §2003
% See Congressional Research Service Report R41159, “Summary of Potential Penalties under the Patient Protection

and Afforable Care Act (PPACA)”, June 2, 2010.
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Who pays?

Vermont Employer Assessment

ACA Penalty

Employers who:

e Do not offer to pay any part of the
costs of health coverage for employees

e Have employees who are not eligible
for employer-sponsored health
coverage

e Offers insurance but employee does
not accept coverage and has no other
health coverage

Note: No employer size requirements, but first
four “uncovered” FTE’s excluded.

Employers who:

e Employ at least 50 FTE’s

e Have at least one full-time employee
that obtains a premium tax credit in
the exchange.

e Does not offer coverage to its workers,
or

e Does offer but plan does not pay at
least 60% of covered health care
expenses for a typical population, or

e Does offer but employee has to pay
more than 9.5% of family income for
the employee’s premium for coverage.

How much?

Vermont Employer Assessment

ACA Penalty

e Employers currently pay $119.12
quarterly (476.48 annually) for every
“uncovered” FTE in excess of four
FTE’s.

e Assessment is indexed to increase at
the same percent as increases in the
Catamount Health product.

e Paid quarterly

e A useful diagram from the VT DOL can
be found in Appendix A.

Penalty depends on circumstance:

e An employer that does not offer
coverage for its employees will pay:

» Number of FTEs minus 30
multiplied by $2,000.*

e An employer that does offer coverage
but doesn’t meet minimum coverage
or affordability requirements will pay
the lesser of the following:

» Number of FTEs minus 30
multiplied by $2,000.”

» Number of FTEs who receive tax
credits for exchange multiplied by
$3,000.

e The penalty is increased each year by
the growth of insurance premiums.

e Paid monthly (penalty + 12 months)

e A useful diagram from the Henry J.
Kaiser Family Foundation can be found
in Appendix B.

* Thefirst 30 FTEs are exempt from the penalty.
® Thefirst 30 FTEs are exempt from the penalty.
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Will employers be required to pay both the Vermont employer assessment and the ACA
penalty?

Under current Vermont law (making no assumptions of potential changes prior to 2014) there
may be some large employers who could be subject to both the Vermont employer assessment
and the ACA penalty but at this time it is difficult to estimate how many.

According to the Vermont Department of Labor (VTDOL), the majority of businesses in Vermont
are small businesses with approximately 96% of businesses employing less than 50 people. Of
the large businesses, 98% of businesses with 50-249 employers offer health insurance and
100% businesses with 250 or more employees offer insurance.® However, the data also shows
that while the number of large businesses offering health insurance is extremely high, take-up
is a bit more modest. However, take-up in employer-sponsored plans will likely increase once
the individual mandate takes effect in 2014.

Health Insurance Benefits Offered 50-249 employees | 250+ employees
Health insurance offered 98% 100%
Workers offered insurance as % of total workers in firm 75% 65%
Enrolled workers as a % of those workers offered insurance 69% 64%
Enrolled workers as a % of total workers in firm 52% 46%

Source: VT Department of Labor 2011 Fringe Benefit Study

It should be noted that the VTDOL survey measured by employer size and not by FTE’s which
differ in that total employer size includes part-time employees. That said it is still safe to
assume that the overwhelming majority of employers with 50 or more FTEs offer health
insurance, and yet could still be subject to the ACA penalty if:

e theinsurance plan does not pay for at least 60% of covered health expenses

e any employees have to pay more than 9.5% of family income for the employer coverage

e any of these businesses decide to completely drop their insurance coverage

According to data provided by the VTDOL, which collects the Vermont employer assessment, of
the employers that paid the assessment in SFY 2012, only 8% were large businesses with 50 or
more employees yet they accounted for 64% of the “uncovered employees” subject to the
employer assessment. This is an indicator that while a high percentage of large employers offer
health insurance, it is plausible there will be large businesses that may have to pay both the
Vermont employer assessment (under current Vermont law) and the ACA penalty if their health
coverage is not considered affordable or comprehensive enough as laid out in the table on page
one labeled “Who Pays?”.

The following scenarios are designed to illustrate circumstances where large employers may or
may not have to pay both the Vermont employer assessment and the ACA penalty.

® 2011 Fringe Benefit Survey, April 2012. Vermont Department of Labor, Economic and Labor Market Information
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Sample Scenarios Subject to VT Subject to ACA
(Large employer = at least 50 FTE's) Employer Assessment? Penalty?

Large Employer does not offer coverage, and Yes No
no full-time employees receive premium tax
credits for exchange coverage.

Large Employer does not offer coverage, and Yes Yes
one or more full-time employees receive
premium tax credits for exchange coverage.

Large Employer offers coverage, has no No No
“uncovered” employees’, and no full-time
employees receive premium tax credits for
exchange coverage.

Large Employer offers coverage, has no No Yes
“uncovered” employees by state definition?,
but at least one or more full-time employees
receive premium tax credits for exchange
coverage.

Further analysis would be required to determine how many businesses might be subject to
both. In addition, we make no speculation of whether employers might drop coverage as to
allow their employees to collect federal premium tax credits in the exchange or enroll in Green
Mountain Care in 2017 and beyond.

Further discussion

As mentioned, this comparison uses the employer assessment as it exists in current law and
does not speculate on what future legislative changes may occur, only that it is likely there will
be some changes. For instance, the employer assessment increases are indexed to increases in
Catamount premiums. If Catamount Health ceases to exist, but the employer assessment
remains, then it would have to be indexed to something else or not indexed at all.

In addition, it is difficult to speculate if or how many employers might drop their coverage once
the exchanges go into effect. Some employers who offer insurance may decide that it is in the
best interest of their business and/or their employees to drop their insurance and pay the
penalty (if they are subject to it) so their employees can receive federal tax credits in the
exchange.’

Finally, as mentioned earlier, take-up in employer-sponsored plans will likely increase once the
individual mandate takes effect in 2014. However, how many more people will enroll in their
employer-sponsored insurance plan and what impact that might have on the current employer
assessment revenues is difficult to determine at this time.

" Asdefined in 21 V.SA. § 2003
®1bid 7
° Only peoplein the exchange under 400% FPL will be digible for the federal premium tax credits.
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Attachments

Appendix A — Diagram produced by the Vermont Department of Labor to help employers
determine which employees are subject to the Vermont employer assessment as it currently
exists.

Appendix B — Diagram produced by Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation showing how penalties

will be determined for employers not offering “affordable coverage” as defined under the
Affordable Care Act beginning in 2014.
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Appendix A

How to determine if an employee should be included in the calculation for “Full Time Equivalent” (FTE)
Basic Definitions (see detailed definitions in the Rules and FAQ’s):

Emplovee: An individual providing services to your business; this will be the same individuals currently being reported on your unemployment contributions report, provided they were 18 for the entire quarter.

“Covered” Emplovee: 4n employee whose hours do NOT need to be included in the FTE health care calculation.

“Uncovered™ Emplovee: .4n employee who is not covered by any plan OR an employee whe works for an employer who does not offer to pay a portion of a health plan, OR a “seasonal” or “part-time” employee who has worked weeks
(in the case of a seasonal) or hours (in the case of a part-time) in excess of what is allowable fo be considered “covered”.

“Seasonal™ or “part-time™ emplovee: 4 “ seasonal” employee and “part-time” employee MUST: 1) work for an employer who offers a health care plan to ALL of its full-time employees, and 2) HAVE health care coverage other than
VHAP or Medicaid. Additionally, a “seasonal” employee works 30 or more hours a week, for 20 or fewer weeks, in a job scheduled to last 20 or less weeks during a calendar YEAR; a “part-time” employee works less than an average
of 30 hours per week with total hours fewer than 390 during the reporting QUARTER.

Full Time Equivalent: The total hours warked by all UNCOVERED employees in the reporting quarter, divided by 520.

Declaration of Coverage: 4n employ d stat t regarding health care coverage status; needed only from employees who are nof enrolled in the plan the employer offers to pay some portion of. If no plan is offered by the
employer, declarations are moot, as ALL employees wounld be “uncovered”, regardless of health care coverage from another source.

Health Care Plan: Health care coverage plans incinde: Medicare, Medicaid, VHAP, or private/employer sponsored insurance plan that INCLUDES both hospital and physicians services.

Start Here -Do you have 9*
or more employees? *This

Do you offer to pay some

Consider EACH individual ree i
portion of a health care plan Employee is

Does the employee opt

number changes to 7 an to at least some of your el:l:lplnye: frol:l;c:]u s point INTO the plan? " w"i‘:e“;ld
07/01/08 and to 5 on 07/01/09. employees? . es w:::rked_nreours
u EXCLUDED from
FTE calculations.

Is the employee eligible to

enroll in the employer’s Have empluv complete VDOL

Calculation of FTEs is health care plan? DECLARATION OF COVERAGE

NOT necessary af tfis e em]_)};g:;s . FORM.

fime, as the number nf “:ll;t;::’;: a” and A\ Did employee indicate s/he has
e e NO NjastPreessesssnssssnisnibunnasscsiinnsinnsdn, HC coverage?
equal to or below the ALL hours worked s e,

amount exempted by i I\EI'U‘ST BE Can th\eiﬁ’pﬁyee be Have employee complete VDOL ."'A,
law. Report “zero” on included in FTE classified as “seasonal” | Yes DECLARATION OF COVERAGE .,

C-101 lines 16 and 17. calculation. or “part-time”, as FORM.

defined above? u
Employee is

Y »
Did employee check box on declaration: I do considered
Yes ]f emp]uyt_ae checked box on declaration in_dicaling s’/he NOT have HC coverage OR I have coverage “uncovered” and
& | is“part-time” and has HC coverage.... Did s/he work through VHAP or Medicaid”? ALL hours worked
390 hours or more during this reporting quarter? MUST BE included
All hours worked by ~ -~ in FTE calculation.
employee during
THIS quarter are
“u:::'n:?:;fdm d Employee is If employee checked box on :“ FO:;;;ET:::X ANDI !tl‘:
7 q considered declaration indicating s/he is emninder of THIS calendar = - .
MUST BE included in =yl “seasonal” and has HC . s s:demd " ndmd”ye:; Additional information about
Leame L are EXCLUDED coverage..... Did s/he work the ATUST BE mcluded i the FIE Health Care reporting is
from FTE 21" week during the calendar alculati m provided on form HC-3.
i year? ¢ o
calculation. year.:

http://labor.vermont.gov/Portals/0/Ul/Covered-Uncovered%20Tree%20-%20June%202007.pdf
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Appendix B

Penalties for Employers Not Offering Affordable Coverage
Under the Affordable Care Act Beginning in 2014
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healthreform.kff.org

http://healthreform.kff.org/the-basics/employer-penalty-flowchart.aspx
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