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Act 58 Report Summary-2013 

 
The Department of Liquor Control conducted tobacco compliance tests as required by 

Act No. 58 of 1997 for the calendar year of 2013.  The overall percentage of those 

licensees who did not sell tobacco to minors was 91%.   It should be noted that the total 

number of licensees checked for compliance are made up of individual clerks who are 

trained by DLC, trained by their employer, or not trained at all. Also, Vermont is one of 

a few states to use 17–year-olds exclusively for compliance tests.  Vermont’s compliance 

data is statistically incomparable to that of other states using 15 and 16 year old minors.   

 

As of July 1, 2008, the Department of Liquor Control is issuing tobacco licenses after the 

Legislature passed (H149).  This will allow the department to have a more accurate 

database of information for licensing and compliance testing. 

 

Some national studies indicate that aggressive enforcement programs that have raised 

compliance rates in the mid-to-high 80% range have had no impact upon teenage 

tobacco use rates (in part because of a shift to social sources when commercial sources 

are less plentiful).  The Vermont Department of Liquor Control (DLC) has observed a 

strong correlation between education of licensees and their employees and increased 

success in compliance testing rates.  For licensees educated by Vermont Department of 

Liquor Control’s Education Division, rates of tobacco compliance have consistently 

(over the past 12 months) exceeded a 90% success rate, with an average of 93% (see 

attachments).   

The need to encourage licensees and their employees to attend DLC seminars is 

underscored by this data.   
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Tobacco Compliance Tests 

Conducted During Calendar Year 2013 

 

This report is called for by section 13 (c), Act No. 58 of 1997. 

 

1.  BACKGROUND:  TOBACCO COMPLIANCE TESTS  
 

“Federal law requires that all states, as a condition of receiving substance abuse 

prevention and treatment block grant funding, comply with section 1926 of the Public 

Health Service Act, otherwise known as the "Synar Amendment."  In order to meet this 

requirement, states must have demonstrated a measurable reduction in retail tobacco 

sales to underage youth in the years subsequent to the “Synar Amendment” and to 

demonstrate a continuation of the reductions in sales.  

 
One major component of the federal requirement is that states must conduct a 

statewide retail "compliance check" survey.  The purpose of this survey is to gather 

information regarding the prevalence of illegal retail sales of tobacco products to 

underage youth.  This survey is conducted on an annual basis as an ongoing measure to 

gauge progress in decreasing the incidence of such sales.  The information gathered in 

the survey is reported annually to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 

in compliance with the federal Synar legislation.”   (1997 Synar, State of Wisconsin 

Website) 

 
"In July 1992, Congress enacted the Alcohol, Drug Abuse and Mental Health 

Administration Reorganization Act (P.L. 103-321), which includes an amendment 

(Section 1926) aimed at decreasing access to tobacco products among individuals under 

the age of 18.  Named for its sponsor, Congressman Mike Synar of Oklahoma, the Synar 

Regulation requires states to enact and enforce laws prohibiting any manufacturer, 

retailer, or distributor from selling or distributing tobacco products to individuals 

under the age of 18.  The goal of the amendment is to reduce the number of successful 
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illegal purchases by minors to no more than 20% in each state within a negotiated time 

period.”  (Synar Regulation: Sample Design Guidance, Center for Substance Abuse 

Prevention, 1996) 

 

Funding for Compliance Checks in Vermont 

1997 

Section 12, Act No. 58 of 1997 directed the Department of Liquor Control (DLC)  to 

carry out “compliance tests of tobacco licensees as frequently and as comprehensively 

as necessary to assure consistent statewide compliance with the prohibition on sales to 

minors of at least 90 percent for 17-year old buyers.”  Prior to Act 58, the Department of 

Liquor Control conducted tobacco compliance tests that met the Federal Synar 

requirements.  The Department of Liquor Control funded these tests. 

1998 

Section 71 of the FY98 Appropriations Act (Act No. 61 of 1997) appropriated $80,000 

to the Department “to purchase contract services to provide compliance checks and 

enforcement relating to the sale of tobacco products to minors.”  Pursuant to this 

authority and appropriation, the Department issued a request for proposals to carry out 

these tests.  After going through the RFP process, Thomas Radecki, doing business as 

Doctors  & Lawyers for a Drug Free Youth in Carbondale, Illinois, was the sole bidder.   

 
The Department entered into a contract, for an amount not to exceed $50,000, to 

carry out these tests in calendar year 1998.  February-September 1998 compliance tests 

also conformed to protocols and sampling methods, supplied to the Liquor Control 

Department by the Vermont Department of Health, to comply with the requirements of 

the Federal Government’s Synar regulations.  The contract with Mr. Radecki terminated 

Oct. 31, 1998.  The cost for contract services totaled $20,034.   

1999 

The Legislature declined to make any appropriation for fiscal year 1999 compliance 

tests and indicated the Department should accept a contract from the Federal Food & 

Drug Administration under which Department of Liquor Control employees would 
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carry out tobacco compliance checks for the FDA.  Pursuant to the Legislature’s 

directive, the Department entered into such a contract with the FDA. 

 

In September 1998, DLC applied for the FDA grant.  The grant period was initially 

for 9-98 to 9-99.  In November 1998 the FDA Grant was delayed by the Joint Fiscal 

Committee for Legislative review in the 1999 Legislative session.  The Legislature 

approved the grant in May 1999 and the Department conducted its first FDA Grant 

compliance test that month.  The Department conducted 1,184 tests from May to 

December 1999.  Of that amount, 243 licensees sold tobacco products to minors, 

resulting in a 79% compliance rate. 

2000 

The Department continued its tobacco compliance program in 2000, funded by 

the FDA grant.  Beginning in 2000, during compliance tests, an additional 

enforcement officer now accompanies the minor and functions as a witness for the 

attempted purchase of tobacco products.  Minors working with DLC for these 

“stings” are also now required to sign a form that explains the procedures for the 

compliance tests (see attachments). Additionally, tobacco education is now funded 

as part of the Alcohol Server Training Program provided to those licensees that hold 

both alcohol and tobacco licenses.  The Department’s Education Unit also offers 

Tobacco Education to those licensees who request it.   

 

On March 21, 2000, the U.S. Supreme Court ruled that the FDA lacks the 

authority to regulate tobacco products.  The FDA grant ended abruptly.  DLC 

complied with Act 58, and the Department began using monies appropriated from 

the National Master Tobacco Settlement.  These monies continue to fund our tobacco 

compliance program and ongoing education efforts for tobacco and alcohol. 

 

The tobacco compliance tests were conducted from January 2000 through 

December 2000.  The number of licensees sampled was 1320.  Those selling to 17-
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year-old minors totaled 298, or 23%.  Those not selling to 17 year old minors totaled 

1,022, or 77%.  The results were further drilled down revealing how many sellers 

asked purchasers for an ID and how many did not, results are as follows.  Of the 298 

licensees who failed the compliance test by selling to a minor, 227 asked for ID and 

71 did not.   

2001 

DLC complied with Act 58, and the Department again used monies appropriated 

from the National Master Tobacco Settlement.  These monies continue to fund our 

tobacco compliance program and ongoing education efforts for tobacco and alcohol. 

The tobacco compliance tests were conducted from January 2001 through 

December 2001.  The numbers of licensees sampled were 1,279.  Those selling to 17-

year-old minors totaled 231, or 18%.  Those not selling to 17 year old minors totaled 

1,048, or 82%.  The results were further drilled down revealing how many sellers 

asked purchasers for an ID and how many did not, results are as follows.  Of the 230 

licensees who failed the compliance test by selling to a minor, 164 asked for ID and 

66 did not.  

 

2002 

DLC complied with Act 58, and the Department again used monies appropriated 

from the National Master Tobacco Settlement.  These monies continue to fund our 

tobacco compliance program and ongoing education efforts for tobacco and alcohol. 

The tobacco compliance tests were conducted from January 2002 through 

December 2002.  The numbers of licensees sampled were 1,086.  Those selling to 17-

year-old minors totaled 155, or 14%.  Those not selling to 17 year old minors totaled 

931, or 86%.  The results were further drilled down revealing how many sellers 

asked purchasers for an ID and how many did not, results are as follows.  Of the 155 

licensees who failed the compliance test by selling to a minor, 112 asked for ID and 

43 did not.  
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2003 

        DLC complied with Act 58, and the Department began using monies appropriated 

from the National Master Tobacco Settlement.  These monies continue to fund our 

tobacco compliance program and ongoing education efforts for tobacco and alcohol. 

The tobacco compliance tests were conducted from January 2003 through December 

2003.  The number of licensees sampled was 1,111.  Those who sold to 17-year-old 

minors were 172 or 15%.  Those not selling to 17 year old minors were   939 or 85%.  The 

results were further drilled down revealing how many sellers asked purchasers for an 

ID and how many did not, results are as follows.  Of the 172 licensees who failed the 

compliance test by selling to a minor, 124 asked for ID and 48 did not.  

  

2004 

DLC complied with Act 58, and the Department began using monies appropriated from 

the National Master Tobacco Settlement.  These monies continue to fund our tobacco 

compliance program and ongoing education efforts for tobacco and alcohol. 

The tobacco compliance tests were conducted from January 2004 through December 

2004.  The number of licensees sampled was 1,614.  Those who sold to 17-year-old 

minors were 179 or 11%.  Those not selling to 17 year old minors were 1,435 or 89%.  

The results were further drilled down revealing how many sellers asked purchasers for 

an ID and how many did not, results are as follows.  Of the 179 licensees who failed the 

compliance test by selling to a minor, 110 asked for ID and 69 did not.   

 

2005 

DLC complied with Act 58, and the Department began using monies appropriated from 

the National Master Tobacco Settlement.  These monies continue to fund our tobacco 

compliance program and ongoing education efforts for tobacco and alcohol. 

The tobacco compliance tests were conducted from January 2005 through December 

2005.  The number of licensees sampled was 1,421.  Those who sold to 17-year-old 

minors were 179 or 13%.  Those not selling to 17 year old minors were 1,242 or 87%.  

The results were further drilled down revealing how many sellers asked purchasers 
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for an ID and how many did not, results are as follows.  Of the 179 licensees who failed 

the compliance test by selling to a minor, 108 asked for ID and 71 did not.   

 

2006 

DLC complied with Act 58, and the Department began using monies appropriated from 

the National Master Tobacco Settlement.  These monies continue to fund our tobacco 

compliance program and ongoing education efforts for tobacco and alcohol. 

The tobacco compliance tests were conducted from January 2006 through December 

2006.  The number of licensees sampled was 1,523.  Those who sold to 17-year-old 

minors were 177 or 12%.  Those not selling to 17 year old minors were 1,346 or 88%.  

The results were further drilled down revealing how many sellers asked purchasers for 

an ID and how many did not, results are as follows.  Of the 177 licensees who failed the 

compliance test by selling to a minor, 108 asked for ID and 69 did not.   

 

2007 

DLC complied with Act 58, and the Department began using monies appropriated from 

the National Master Tobacco Settlement.  These monies continue to fund our tobacco 

compliance program and ongoing education efforts for tobacco and alcohol. 

The tobacco compliance tests were conducted from January 2007 through December 

2007.  The number of licensees sampled was 1,434.  Those who sold to 17-year-old 

minors were 188 or 13%.  Those not selling to 17 year old minors were 1,246 or 87%.  

The results were further drilled down revealing how many sellers asked purchasers for 

an ID and how many did not, results are as follows.  Of the 188 licensees who failed the 

compliance test by selling to a minor, 86 asked for ID and 102 did not.   
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2008 

DLC complied with Act 58, and the Department began using monies appropriated from 

the National Master Tobacco Settlement.  These monies continue to fund our tobacco 

compliance program and ongoing education efforts for tobacco and alcohol. 

The tobacco compliance tests were conducted from January 2008 through December 

2008.  The number of licensees sampled was 1,436.  Those who sold to 17-year-old 

minors were 165 or 11%.  Those not selling to 17 year old minors were 1,271or 89%.  The 

results were further drilled down revealing how many sellers asked purchasers for an 

ID and how many did not, results are as follows.  Of the 165 licensees who failed the 

compliance test by selling to a minor, 86 asked for ID and 79 did not.   

 

2009 

DLC complied with Act 58, and the Department began using monies appropriated from 

the National Master Tobacco Settlement.  These monies continue to fund our tobacco 

compliance program and ongoing education efforts for tobacco and alcohol. 

The tobacco compliance tests were conducted from January 2009 through December 

2009.  The number of licensees sampled was 742.  Those who sold to 17-year-old minors 

were 79 or 10.7%. Those not selling to 17 year old minors were 663 or 89.3%.  The results 

were further drilled down revealing how many sellers asked purchasers for an ID and 

how many did not, results are as follows.  Of the 79 licensees who failed the compliance 

test by selling to a minor, 43 asked for ID and 36 did not.   

 

2010 

DLC complied with Act 58, and the Department began using monies appropriated from 

the National Master Tobacco Settlement.  These monies continue to fund our tobacco 

compliance program and ongoing education efforts for tobacco and alcohol. 

The tobacco compliance tests were conducted from January 2010 through December 

2010.  The number of licensees sampled was 909.  Those who sold to 17-year-old minors 

were 106 or 11.6%. Those not selling to 17 year old minors were 803 or 88.4%.  The 
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results were further drilled down revealing how many sellers asked purchasers for an 

ID and how many did not, results are as follows.  Of the 106 licensees who failed the 

compliance test by selling to a minor, 83 asked for ID and 23 did not.   

 

2011 

DLC complied with Act 58, and the Department began using monies appropriated from 

the National Master Tobacco Settlement.  These monies continue to fund our tobacco 

compliance program and ongoing education efforts for tobacco and alcohol. 

The tobacco compliance tests were conducted from January 2011 through December 

2011.  The number of licensees sampled was 899.  Those who sold to 17-year-old minors 

were 89 or 9%. Those not selling to 17 year old minors were 899 or 91%.  The results 

were further drilled down revealing how many sellers asked purchasers for an ID and 

how many did not, results are as follows.  Of the 89 licensees who failed the compliance 

test by selling to a minor, 57 asked for ID and 32 did not.   

 

2012 

DLC complied with Act 58, and the Department began using monies appropriated from 

the National Master Tobacco Settlement.  These monies continue to fund our tobacco 

compliance program and ongoing education efforts for tobacco and alcohol. 

The tobacco compliance tests were conducted from January 2012 through December 

2012.  The number of licensees sampled was 968.  Those who sold to 17-year-old minors 

were 94 or 10%. Those not selling to 17 year old minors were 874 or 90%.  The results 

were further drilled down revealing how many sellers asked purchasers for an ID and 

how many did not, results are as follows.  Of the 94 licensees who failed the compliance 

test by selling to a minor, 73 asked for ID and 21 did not.   

 

2.  COMPLIANCE TESTS RESULTS, BEFORE 2013 

 

The Department of Liquor Control conducted its first tobacco compliance tests in 

December 1994 and January 1995. 
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Four other compliance tests were carried out in 1996, two tests in 1997, eight in 1998, 

seven in 1999, twelve in 2000-2012.  The results of these compliance tests were as 

follows: 

SURVEY #1 – December 1994-December 1996 

# Licensees Sampled 1389 100% 

# Licensees who sold tobacco products   435    31% 

# Licensees not selling   954    69% 

SURVEY #2 – June 1997 (SYNAR) 

# Licensees Sampled   465 100% 

# Licensees who sold tobacco products     36      8% 

# Licensees not selling   429    92% 

SURVEY #3 – November 1997 (Chewing Tobacco) 

# Licensees Sampled   222  100% 

# Licensees who sold tobacco products     17      8% 

# Licensees not selling  205    92% 

SURVEY #4 – February-September 1998 (Radecki) 

# Licensees Sampled 2007 100% 

# Licensees who sold tobacco products   155        8% 

# Licensees not selling 1852          92% 

SURVEY #5 – May- December 1999 (FDA Grant) 

# Licensees Sampled 1184  100% 

# Licensees who sold tobacco products   243    21% 

# Licensees not selling   941    79% 

SURVEY #6 –Jan-December 2000( Master Settlement Monies) 

# Licensees Sampled  1320  100% 

# Licensees who sold tobacco products    298    23% 

# Licensees not selling   1022     77% 

SURVEY #7 –Jan –December 2001 ( Master Settlement Monies) 

# Licensees Sampled  1279  100% 

# Licensees who sold tobacco products    231    18% 
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# Licensees not selling   1048     82% 

SURVEY #8 Jan-December 2002 (Master Settlement Monies) 

# Licensees Sampled  1086  100% 

# Licensees who sold tobacco     155    14% 

# Licensees not selling    931     86% 

SURVEY #9 Jan-December 2003 (Master Settlement Monies) 

# Licensees Sampled  1111  100% 

# Licensees who sold tobacco     172    15% 

# Licensees not selling    939     85% 

SURVEY #10 Jan-December 2004 (Master Settlement Monies) 

# Licensees Sampled  1614  100% 

# Licensees who sold tobacco     179    11% 

# Licensees not selling   1435     89% 

SURVEY #11 Jan-December 2005 (Master Settlement Monies) 

# Licensees Sampled  1421  100% 

# Licensees who sold tobacco     179    13% 

# Licensees not selling   1242     87% 

SURVEY #12 Jan-December 2006 (Master Settlement Monies) 

# Licensees Sampled  1523  100% 

# Licensees who sold tobacco     177    12% 

# Licensees not selling   1346     88% 

SURVEY #13 Jan-December 2007 (Master Settlement Monies) 

# Licensees Sampled  1434  100% 

# Licensees who sold tobacco     188    13% 

# Licensees not selling   1246     87% 

SURVEY #14 Jan-December 2008 (Master Settlement Monies) 

# Licensees Sampled  1436  100% 

# Licensees who sold tobacco     165    11% 

# Licensees not selling   1271     89% 

SURVEY #15 Jan-December 2009 (Master Settlement Monies) 
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# Licensees Sampled    742     100% 

# Licensees who sold tobacco       79    10.7% 

# Licensees not selling    663     89.3% 

SURVEY #16 Jan-December 2010 (Master Settlement Monies) 

# Licensees Sampled    909     100% 

# Licensees who sold tobacco     106    11.6% 

# Licensees not selling    803     88.4% 

SURVEY #17 Jan-December 2011 (Master Settlement Monies) 

# Licensees Sampled    988     100% 

# Licensees who sold tobacco     89         9% 

# Licensees not selling    899         91% 

SURVEY #18 Jan-December 2012 (Master Settlement Monies) 

# Licensees Sampled    968     100% 

# Licensees who sold tobacco     94         10% 

# Licensees not selling    874         90% 

 

3.  METHODOLOGY AND PROCEDURES 

All compliance tests are carried out using procedures approved by the Vermont 

Attorney General’s Office.  With written parental permission, youth (minors) 

participate with the Department to help perform the compliance checks, also called 

“stings.” 

 

 The selection of retailers to be tested is made by the Department of Liquor 

Control, utilizing software designed to randomly select retailers for testing from a 

database that is updated the first of every month.  The following procedures are 

used in conducting tobacco compliance surveys: 

 

 

 

Tobacco Compliance Test Procedures 



Report on Tobacco Compliance Tests Conducted 2013 
 
 
 
 

15

DLC Requires: 
 That written parental permission be obtained for participating youth (minors). 

 
 A copy of the participating youth’s birth certificate and a photograph for DLC’s 

file. 
 

 That participating youth will be supervised at all times by a Liquor Control 
Investigator.  The Liquor Control Investigator will remain outside the 
establishment and in close proximity, or may enter shortly after the youth enters. 
An additional enforcement officer enters the establishment as a witness to verify 
the events taking place and also to assist in case the minor is threatened in any 
way.  

 
 That participating youth will be given the money for the attempted purchase by 

a Liquor Control Investigator.  The Investigator notes the amount of money 
given to the youth prior to entering the establishment. 

 
 That participating youth will be instructed not to misrepresent their age or 

pressure the clerk to sell tobacco products. 
 

 That participating youth will present valid photographic identification, if asked, 
when attempting to purchase tobacco products.  

 
 That if asked about his/her age, the youth will admit to their correct age. 

 
 That upon entering the tobacco-selling establishment the youth will attempt to 

observe the clerk selling the tobacco products to obtain a good physical 
description.  

 
 That after the purchase attempt, the youth will exit with or without the tobacco 

products. 
 

 That if tobacco products are purchased, an identifying sticker will be placed on 
the product to identify it with the tobacco compliance report, to be completed 
immediately. 

 
 That after conducting tobacco stings (immediately afterward or at least within 

three days), the Liquor Control Investigator will inform licensees who sold 
tobacco products to youths.  A citation is issued to the clerk by the Liquor 
Control Investigator who is then available to explain any penalties the licensee 
has incurred. 

 
 That payment for assisting with the tobacco compliance check will be delivered 

to participating minor at a later date. 
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NOTES ON THE AGES OF THE MINORS USED IN THE COMPLIANCE TESTS 

When the Department began conducting tobacco compliance tests, the age of the 

minors ranged from 14 to 17, with most minors being 15 or 16. 

 

Section 13 (a), Act No. 58 of 1997 directs the Department to carry out 

“compliance tests of tobacco licensees as frequently and as comprehensively as 

necessary to assure consistent statewide compliance with the prohibition on sales to 

minors of at least 90 percent for 17-year old buyers.” 

 

Section 13 (a) took effect on July 1, 1997, after the 1997 cigarette compliance test 

had been completed.  This test was carried out to comply with the Federal 

Government’s Synar mandate.  The Federal Government recommends that 15 and 

16-year olds be used in the Synar tests, and most, but not all, of the minors in this 

test were 15 and 16. 

 

The majority of minors used in the Department’s first chewing tobacco sting, 

November 1997, consisted of 15 and 16-year olds.  This was done so the chewing 

tobacco results could be compared with the cigarette tests without the distortion in 

comparative results that might occur if only 17-year olds were used. 

      The Department currently uses 17-year old minors exclusively.   

 

4. TEST RESULTS FOR CALENDAR 2013:  The Department is using monies 

appropriated from the National Master Tobacco Settlement to comply with Act 

58.  These monies continue to fund our tobacco compliance program and 

ongoing education efforts for tobacco and alcohol. 

The tobacco compliance tests were conducted from January 2013 through 

December 2013. The number of licensees sampled was 1,265.  Those who sold 

to 17-year-old minors were 118 or 9%.   Those not selling to 17 year old minors 

were 1147 or 91%.  The results were further drilled down revealing how 



Report on Tobacco Compliance Tests Conducted 2013 
 
 
 
 

17

many sellers asked purchasers for an ID and how many did not, results are as 

follows (See Attachments for details).  Of the 118 licensees who failed the 

compliance test by selling to a minor, 92 asked for ID and 26 did not. 

 

 Tobacco Compliance Tests   (January 2013- December 2013)-Calendar 

# Licensees Sampled 1265  100% 

# Licensees who sold tobacco  118     9% 

# Licensees not selling 1147     91% 

 

 

The Department of Liquor Control, as mentioned above, has a dedicated 

Education Unit that travels all over the state conducting seminars on tobacco and 

alcohol laws.  Tobacco Law is also a part of our overall Alcohol Servers Program.  

The Department issues signage for stores stating the law regulating the sale of 

tobacco products (VSA Title 7 Chapter 40).  Colored stickers are issued as well, to 

help clerks calculate the date for tobacco and alcohol sales after reviewing birth 

dates on driver’s licenses.  DLC recommends that these stickers be prominently 

placed on or near the licensee’s cash register to support and assist compliance 

efforts.  Books are available showing all 50 states driver’s licenses, as well as tear off 

sheets with dates for age calculation and various wall and counter posters on sales 

of tobacco to minors, to aid clerks in carrying out the laws regulating the sale of 

tobacco and alcohol. 

 

5. LEGISLATIVE CHANGES 

 MANDATORY TOBACCO EDUCATION 

The 2001-2002 legislature enacted mandatory tobacco education:  

Sec. 2.  7 V.S.A. § 1002a is added to read: 
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§ 1002a.  LICENSEE EDUCATION   

(a)  An applicant for a tobacco license that does not hold a liquor license issued under 

this title shall be granted a tobacco license pursuant to section 1002 of this title only after 

the applicant has met with a liquor control investigator for the purpose of being 

informed about the Vermont tobacco laws pertaining to the purchase, storage and sale 

of tobacco products.  A corporation, partnership or association shall designate a 

director, partner or manager to comply with the requirements of this subsection.    

(b)  The holder of a tobacco license that does not also hold a liquor license issued 

pursuant to this title for the same premises shall: 

(1) Complete the department’s enforcement seminar at least once every three 

years.  A corporation, partnership or association shall designate a director, partner or 

manager to comply with this subdivision.    

(2) Ensure that every employee involved in the sale of tobacco products completes 

a training program approved by the department of liquor control before the employee 

begins selling or providing tobacco products, and at least once every 24 months 

thereafter.  A licensee may comply with this subdivision by conducting its own training 

program on its premises using information and materials furnished by the department 

of liquor control.  A licensee who fails to comply with the requirements of this 

subsection shall be subject to suspension of the tobacco license for no less than one day. 

Approved:  June 21, 2002 

 

 COMPLIANCE TEST WARNING TO TOBACCO LICENSEES FOR 1ST 
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OFFENSE 

Sec. 1.  7 V.S.A. § 236(b) is amended to read: 

(b) As an alternative to and in lieu of the authority to suspend or revoke any permit 

or license, the liquor control board shall also have the power to impose an 

administrative penalty of up to $2,500.00 per violation against a holder of a 

wholesale dealer's license or a holder of a first, second or third class license for a 

violation of the conditions under which the license was issued or of this title or of 

any rule or regulation adopted by the board.  The administrative penalty may be 

imposed after a hearing before the board or after the licensee has been convicted by 

a court of competent jurisdiction of violating the provisions of this title.  The board 

may also impose an administrative penalty under this subsection against a holder of 

a tobacco license for up to $100.00 for a first violation and up to $1,000.00 for 

subsequent violations.  For the first violation during a tobacco or alcohol compliance 

check during any three-year period, a licensee shall receive a warning and be 

required to attend a department server training class. 

 

Newly adopted regulations: Effective September 1, 2005 

Regulation 15: No person under sixteen years of age shall be permitted to sell 

alcoholic liquor or tobacco on a paid or voluntary basis within or in connection with 

the establishment of any licensee holding a second-class license. 

As of July 1, 2008, the Department of Liquor Control is issuing tobacco licenses after the 

Legislature passed (H149).  This will allow the department to have a more accurate 

database of information for licensing and compliance testing. 



 

The department has started on-line training effective December 2010. 

 

 As of July 1, 2013, see new laws relating to tobacco products. (Act 14- H.71) 

 

6.  COMPLIANCE TEST PLANS FOR CALENDAR YEAR 2014   The Department of 

Liquor Control will test licensees as frequently as necessary to assure statewide 

compliance with the prohibition on sales to minors of at least 90% for 17-year old 

buyers.  DLC will also continue its mandated education program to licensees and their 

employees.  The effectiveness of this program can be seen in recent statistics that 

show a 93% success rate for those licensee’s employees who attend DLC seminars. 

The Department will be contracting with the FDA to do compliance testing.  The 

contract has been approved and the training by the federal government will start in 

2014.  The data from these tests will be used to meet the requirements of Act 58 and 

the Federal Synar requirement.  

  Respectfully submitted, 

  
 MICHAEL J. HOGAN 

 Commissioner of Liquor Control 

 January 15, 2014 

 

 

 

 

 

ATTACHMENTS: 
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 Tobacco Compliance Survey Results- January-December 2013 

 

 Monthly Results- January- December 2013 

 

 Breakdown of how many tobacco licensees asked for ID’s and 

how many did not ask for ID’s. 

 

 Effectiveness of DLC Educational Training 

 

 Procedures for Tobacco Purchase Compliance Survey 

 

 Penalty Schedule For Tobacco Compliance Tests 
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Tobacco Compliance Survey Results by Month 
 January 2013 thru December 2013 
 Licensees  Licensees That  
Month Sampled Licensees That Sold Did Not Sell 
January 2013 116 12 10% 104 90% 
 
February 2013 118 5 4% 113 96% 
 
March 2013 118 10 8% 108 92% 
 
April 2013 102 7 7% 95 93% 
 
May 2013 109 13 12% 96 88% 
 
June 2013 105 9 9% 96 91% 
 
July 2013 93 13 14% 80 86% 
 
August 2013 98 12 12% 86 88% 
 
September 2013 95 4 4% 91 96% 
 
October 2013 92 10 11% 82 89% 
 
November 2013 105 9 9% 96 91% 
 
December 2013 114 14 12% 100 88% 
 
TOTAL 1265 118 9% 1147 91% 
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 Tobacco Compliance Survey Results by County 
 January 2013 

 Licensees  Licensees That  
County Sampled Licensees That Sold Did Not Sell 
Bennington 9 0 0% 9 100% 
Caledonia 10 0 0% 10 100% 
Chittenden 38 2 5% 36 95% 
Lamoille 11 2 18% 9 82% 
Rutland 20 1 5% 19 95% 
Washington 10 0 0% 10 100% 
Windham 9 5 56% 4 44% 
Windsor 9 2 22% 7 78% 
TOTAL 116 12 10% 104 90% 

 Of the 12 tobacco licensees who sold tobacco products to a minor (17 years old), 8  
 requested valid photographic identification from the minor and made the sale.  4 did  
 not ask for identification. 
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Tobacco Compliance Survey Results by County 
 February 2013 

 Licensees  Licensees That  
County Sampled Licensees That Sold Did Not Sell 
Addison 9 0 0% 9 100% 
Bennington 10 1 10% 9 90% 
Caledonia 8 0 0% 8 100% 
Chittenden 30 0 0% 30 100% 
Franklin 4 0 0% 4 100% 
Lamoille 5 0 0% 5 100% 
Orange 13 0 0% 13 100% 
Orleans 11 2 18% 9 82% 
Rutland 10 0 0% 10 100% 
Windham 8 1 13% 7 88% 
Windsor 10 1 10% 9 90% 
TOTAL 118 5 4% 113 96% 

 Of the 5 tobacco licensees who sold tobacco products to a minor (17 years old), 3  
 requested valid photographic identification from the minor and made the sale.  2 did  
 not ask for identification. 
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 Tobacco Compliance Survey Results by County 
 March 2013 

 Licensees  Licensees That  
County Sampled Licensees That Sold Did Not Sell 
Bennington 10 2 20% 8 80% 
Chittenden 29 2 7% 27 93% 
Franklin 3 0 0% 3 100% 
Grand Isle 6 0 0% 6 100% 
Lamoille 10 1 10% 9 90% 
Orleans 10 3 30% 7 70% 
Rutland 20 0 0% 20 100% 
Washington 10 0 0% 10 100% 
Windham 10 2 20% 8 80% 
Windsor 10 0 0% 10 100% 
TOTAL 118 10 8% 108 92% 

 Of the 10 tobacco licensees who sold tobacco products to a minor (17 years old), 10  
 requested valid photographic identification from the minor and made the sale.  0 did  
 not ask for identification. 
. 
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Tobacco Compliance Survey Results by County 
 April 2013 

 Licensees  Licensees That  
County Sampled Licensees That Sold Did Not Sell 
Addison 8 1 13% 7 88% 
Bennington 10 1 10% 9 90% 
Caledonia 3 0 0% 3 100% 
Chittenden 26 1 4% 25 96% 
Essex 1 0 0% 1 100% 
Franklin 10 0 0% 10 100% 
Orange 1 0 0% 1 100% 
Orleans 5 0 0% 5 100% 
Rutland 11 0 0% 11 100% 
Windham 7 3 43% 4 57% 
Windsor 20 1 5% 19 95% 
TOTAL 102 7 7% 95 93% 

 Of the 7 tobacco licensees who sold tobacco products to a minor (17 years old), 6  
 requested valid photographic identification from the minor and made the sale.  1 did  
 not ask for identification. 
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Tobacco Compliance Survey Results by County 
 May 2013 

 Licensees  Licensees That  
County Sampled Licensees That Sold Did Not Sell 
Bennington 9 0 0% 9 100% 
Caledonia 10 1 10% 9 90% 
Chittenden 23 1 4% 22 96% 
Franklin 9 1 11% 8 89% 
Rutland 19 1 5% 18 95% 
Washington 20 4 20% 16 80% 
Windham 9 4 44% 5 56% 
Windsor 10 1 10% 9 90% 
TOTAL 109 13 12% 96 88% 

 Of the 13 tobacco licensees who sold tobacco products to a minor (17 years old), 12  
 requested valid photographic identification from the minor and made the sale.  1 did  
 not ask for identification. 
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 Tobacco Compliance Survey Results by County 
 June 2013 

 Licensees  Licensees That  
County Sampled Licensees That Sold Did Not Sell 
Addison 14 1 7% 13 93% 
Bennington 7 3 43% 4 57% 
Caledonia 3 0 0% 3 100% 
Chittenden 9 0 0% 9 100% 
Grand Isle 6 0 0% 6 100% 
Orange 10 0 0% 10 100% 
Orleans 11 0 0% 11 100% 
Rutland 11 3 27% 8 73% 
Washington 13 1 8% 12 92% 
Windham 9 1 11% 8 89% 
Windsor 12 0 0% 12 100% 
TOTAL 105 9 9% 96 91% 

 Of the 9 tobacco licensees who sold tobacco products to a minor (17 years old), 7  
 requested valid photographic identification from the minor and made the sale.  2 did  
 not ask for identification. 
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Tobacco Compliance Survey Results by County 
 July 2013 

 Licensees  Licensees That  
County Sampled Licensees That Sold Did Not Sell 
Addison 11 3 27% 8 73% 
Bennington 6 2 33% 4 67% 
Chittenden 6 0 0% 6 100% 
Essex 1 0 0% 1 100% 
Franklin 7 0 0% 7 100% 
Lamoille 9 0 0% 9 100% 
Orleans 8 0 0% 8 100% 
Rutland 16 4 25% 12 75% 
Washington 9 2 22% 7 78% 
Windham 12 1 8% 11 92% 
Windsor 8 1 13% 7 88% 
TOTAL 93 13 14% 80 86% 

 Of the 13 tobacco licensees who sold tobacco products to a minor (17 years old), 10  
 requested valid photographic identification from the minor and made the sale.  3 did  
 not ask for identification 
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Tobacco Compliance Survey Results by County 
 August 2013 

 Licensees  Licensees That  
County Sampled Licensees That Sold Did Not Sell 
Addison 9 0 0% 9 100% 
Bennington 5 1 20% 4 80% 
Caledonia 7 2 29% 5 71% 
Chittenden 18 4 22% 14 78% 
Franklin 6 2 33% 4 67% 
Lamoille 7 1 14% 6 86% 
Orleans 1 0 0% 1 100% 
Rutland 19 0 0% 19 100% 
Washington 10 2 20% 8 80% 
Windham 9 0 0% 9 100% 
Windsor 7 0 0% 7 100% 
TOTAL 98 12 12% 86 88% 

 Of the 12 tobacco licensees who sold tobacco products to a minor (17 years old), 8  
 requested valid photographic identification from the minor and made the sale.  4 did  
 not ask for identification. 
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 Tobacco Compliance Survey Results by County 
 September 2013 

 Licensees  Licensees That  
County Sampled Licensees That Sold Did Not Sell 
Addison 10 0 0% 10 100% 
Bennington 10 0 0% 10 100% 
Caledonia 4 0 0% 4 100% 
Chittenden 29 3 10% 26 90% 
Essex 4 1 25% 3 75% 
Franklin 9 0 0% 9 100% 
Lamoille 8 0 0% 8 100% 
Orleans 2 0 0% 2 100% 
Rutland 10 0 0% 10 100% 
Windham 9 0 0% 9 100% 
TOTAL 95 4 4% 91 96% 

 Of the 4 tobacco licensees who sold tobacco products to a minor (17 years old), 4  
 requested valid photographic identification from the minor and made the sale.  0 did  
 not ask for identification. 
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 Tobacco Compliance Survey Results by County 
 October 2013 

 Licensees  Licensees That  
County Sampled Licensees That Sold Did Not Sell 
Bennington 10 1 10% 9 90% 
Caledonia 6 0 0% 6 100% 
Chittenden 26 3 12% 23 88% 
Franklin 8 1 13% 7 88% 
Orange 1 0 0% 1 100% 
Rutland 10 1 10% 9 90% 
Washington 15 2 13% 13 87% 
Windham 8 1 13% 7 88% 
Windsor 8 1 13% 7 88% 
TOTAL 92 10 11% 82 89% 

 Of the 10 tobacco licensees who sold tobacco products to a minor (17 years old), 9  
 requested valid photographic identification from the minor and made the sale.  1 did  
 not ask for identification. 
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 Tobacco Compliance Survey Results by County 
 November 2013 

 Licensees  Licensees That  
County Sampled Licensees That Sold Did Not Sell 
Bennington 9 1 11% 8 89% 
Chittenden 30 3 10% 27 90% 
Franklin 7 1 14% 6 86% 
Lamoille 9 1 11% 8 89% 
Orange 11 2 18% 9 82% 
Rutland 20 0 0% 20 100% 
Washington 1 0 0% 1 100% 
Windham 9 0 0% 9 100% 
Windsor 9 1 11% 8 89% 
TOTAL 105 9 9% 96 91% 

 Of the 9 tobacco licensees who sold tobacco products to a minor (17 years old), 5  
 requested valid photographic identification from the minor and made the sale.  4 did  
 not ask for identification. 
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 Tobacco Compliance Survey Results by County 
 December 2013 

 Licensees  Licensees That  
County Sampled Licensees That Sold Did Not Sell 
Addison 2 0 0% 2 100% 
Bennington 7 2 29% 5 71% 
Caledonia 3 0 0% 3 100% 
Chittenden 30 5 17% 25 83% 
Franklin 10 1 10% 9 90% 
Lamoille 4 0 0% 4 100% 
Orange 2 0 0% 2 100% 
Orleans 8 1 13% 7 88% 
Rutland 18 1 6% 17 94% 
Washington 12 1 8% 11 92% 
Windham 8 2 25% 6 75% 
Windsor 10 1 10% 9 90% 
TOTAL 114 14 12% 100 88% 

 Of the 14 tobacco licensees who sold tobacco products to a minor (17 years old), 10  
 requested valid photographic identification from the minor and made the sale.  4 did  
 not ask for identification. 
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2013 Compliance Breakdown-Who Asked For ID and Who Did Not Ask For ID. 
 

January of the 12 tobacco licensees who sold tobacco products to the 17 year old minor working for 

DLC, 8 asked for valid photo identification and made the sale.  4 did not ask for any type of identification 

and made the sale. 

February of the 5 tobacco licensees who sold tobacco products to the 17 year old minor working for DLC, 

3 asked for valid photo identification and made the sale.  2 did not ask for any type of identification and 

made the sale. 

March of the 10 tobacco licensees who sold tobacco products to the 17 year old minor working for DLC, 

10 asked for valid photo identification and made the sale.  

April of the 7 tobacco licensees who sold tobacco products to the 17 year old minor working for DLC, 6 

asked for valid photo identification and made the sale. 1 did not ask for any type of identification and 

made the sale. 

May Of the 13 tobacco licensees who sold tobacco products to the 17 year old minor working for DLC, 12 

asked for valid photo identification and made the sale.  1 did not ask for any type of identification and 

made the sale. 

June of the 9 tobacco licensees who sold tobacco products to the 17 year old minor working for DLC, 7 

asked for valid photo identification and made the sale.  2 did not ask for any type of identification and 

made the sale. 

July of the 13 tobacco licensees who sold tobacco products to the 17 year old minor working for DLC, 10 

asked for valid photo identification and made the sale. 3 did not ask for any type of identification and 

made the sale. 

August of the 12 tobacco licensees who sold tobacco products to the 17 year old minor working for DLC, 

8 asked for valid photo identification and made the sale.  4 did not ask for any type of identification and 

made the sale. 

September of the 4 tobacco licensees who sold tobacco products to the 17 year old minor working for 

DLC, 4 asked for valid photo identification and made the sale.   

October of the 10 tobacco licensees who sold tobacco products to the 17 year old minor working for 

DLC, 9 asked for valid photo identification and made the sale.  1 did not ask for any type of identification 

and made the sale. 

November of the 9 tobacco licensees who sold tobacco products to the 17 year old minor working for 

DLC, 5 asked for valid photo identification and made the sale.  4 did not ask for any type of identification 

and made the sale. 

December of the 14 tobacco licensees who sold tobacco products to the 17 year old minor working for 

DLC, 10 asked for valid photo identification and made the sale. 4 did not ask for any type of 

identification and made the sale. 

Who Asked:  92 78% 

Did Not Ask:  26 22% 

Total:   118  
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Vermont Department of Liquor Control 

 Education, Licensing and Enforcement  

January 2013 thru December 2013 Employee Training  

 Number of  
 Employees Sold Did Not Sell % 
First Class 
Attended seminars 71 4 67 94 
Online seminars 21 1 20 95 
Trained in-house 42 5 37 88 
Not trained 16 5 11 69 

Second Class 
Attended seminars 132 7 125 95 
Online seminars 40 5 35 88 
Trained in-house 247 18 229 93 

Not trained 7 2 5 71 

Tobacco 
Attended seminars 405 30 375 93 
Online seminars 124 11 113 91 
Trained in-house 687 63 624 91 
Not trained 49 14 35 71 

Total 
Attended seminars 608 41 567 93 
Online seminars 185 17 168 91 
Trained in-house 976 86 890 91 

Not trained 72 21 51 71 
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Education, Licensing & Enforcement Division 

 
PROCEDURES FOR TOBACCO PURCHASE COMPLIANCE SURVEY 

 
 
1. Written parental permission must be obtained. 
 
2. Copy of participating youth’s birth certificate and photograph for file. 
 
3. Participating youth will be supervised at all times by a Liquor Control Investigator.  Liquor 

Control Investigator will remain outside the establishment and in close proximity, or may 
enter shortly after youth enters.  

 
4. Participating youth will be given the money for the attempted purchase.  Investigator to 

note amount of money given to the youth prior to entering the establishment. 
 
5. Participating youth will be instructed not to misrepresent their age or pressure clerk to sell 

tobacco products. 
 
6. Participating youth will present valid photographic identification if asked when attempting 

to purchase tobacco products.  
 
7. If asked about his/her age, the youth will admit to their correct age. 
 
8. Upon entering the tobacco selling establishment the youth will attempt to observe the clerk 

selling the tobacco products to obtain a good description.  
 
9. After the purchase attempt, the youth will exit with or without the tobacco products. 
 
10. If tobacco products are purchased, an identifying sticker will be placed on the product to 

identify it with the alcohol compliance report, which will be completed immediately. 
 
11. After conducting tobacco stings (immediately afterward or at least within three days), the 

Liquor Control Investigator will inform licensees who sold tobacco products to youths. 
 
12. Payment will be delivered to participating minor at a later date.   
 
13. The minor information sheet for each participating minor will need to be submitted to the 

Montpelier office in order for payment to be remitted. 
 
 
I,       , acknowledge that I have read and have had these 
procedures  
 
explained to me by Investigator      and that I understand them. 
 
 
             
   Signature      Date 
 
Enf. Div. 6/00 
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   TOBACCO COMPLIANCE VIOLATION PENALTY SCHEDULE 

 
Compliance penalty schedule for tobacco licensees, for failing a  

State conducted "compliance check" operation. 

 
1st Offense:   Warning 

2nd Offense:  $ 100 fine 

3rd Offense:  $ 250 fine 

4th Offense:  $ 500 fine 

5th Offense:  $ 750 fine 

6th Offense:  Mandatory Hearing 

Any violation by a tobacco licensee (7 V.S.A. 1003a) after a first sale violation or during a compliance test 

conducted within six months of a previous violation shall be considered a multiple violation and shall 

result in the minimum license suspension in addition to any other penalties available under this title.  

Minimum license suspensions for multiple violations shall be assessed as follows: (1) Two violations- One 

weekday, (2) Three violations- Two weekdays, (3) Four violations- Three weekdays, (4) Five violations- 

Three weekend days, Friday through Sunday. 

 

Or the Licensee may appeal to the Board at any time for a hearing on the merits, at which time, if 

the Board determines that a violation has occurred, it will impose such penalty as in its discretion it 

deems appropriate.  The Board will also take into account any mitigating circumstances such as the 

licensee’s history of compliance. 

 

Note1: Mandatory training for the licensee, and its employees including the person who sold is 

required under the first and second offense for fine, suspension, or warning.  The Department of 

Liquor Control will require that a list of all employees attending the mandatory training be sent to its 

offices in Montpelier. 

Note2: If no compliance test violation occurs during a 3-year period, the oldest compliance test 

violation will be removed from the licensee’s history record of compliance.  VSA 236(b) 

DLC   
July 1, 2002 
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