Journal of the Joint Assembly

IN JOINT ASSEMBLY, FEBRUARY 20, 2014 10:30 A.M.

The Senate and House of Representatives met in the Hall of the House of Representatives pursuant to a joint resolution which was read by the Clerk and is as follows:

J.R.S. 40. Joint resolution providing for a Joint Assembly for the election of two legislative Trustees of the Vermont State Colleges Corporation.

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the two Houses meet in Joint Assembly on Thursday, February 20, 2014, at ten o'clock and thirty minutes in the forenoon to elect two legislative Trustees of the Vermont State Colleges Corporation to serve a four year term commencing March 1, 2014, and expiring on March 1, 2018. In case election of all such Trustees shall not be made on that day, the two Houses shall meet in Joint Assembly at ten o'clock and thirty minutes in the forenoon, on each succeeding day, Saturdays and Sundays excepted, and proceed in such election, until all such Trustees are elected.

Presiding Officer

Honorable Philip B. Scott, President of the Senate, in the Chair.

Clerk

John H. Bloomer, Jr., Secretary of the Senate, Clerk.

Statement by Presiding Officer

Pursuant to our statutes we are assembled here today in Joint Assembly for the election of two legislative trustees for the Vermont State Colleges Corporation, who are to be elected as trustees for four-year terms commencing on March 1, 2014, and expiring on March 1, 2018. The Chair now cautions you with respect to two statutory conditions imposed by that law for this election:

First: No candidate for election to the Vermont State Colleges Corporation can presently be serving as a member of the Board of Trustees of the University of Vermont.

Second: Consideration shall be given to the *geographic* distribution of those elected in order to "prevent an unfair focus on any single college".

The procedure for the election of these two legislative trustees of the Vermont State Colleges Corporation will be similar to the procedure which we followed in past years. The candidates will be nominated from the floor and elected by plurality vote.

In the event that more than two candidates are nominated, the procedure for the election of these two legislative trustees of the Vermont State Colleges Corporation will be different from the procedure which we would normally follow under the Joint Rules.

J.R.S. 41 sets up a special procedure for this particular election. In the event that more than two candidates are nominated, the adoption of J.R.S. 41 permits us to determine the winners of this election by means of a *plurality vote*, so that two candidates can be elected on the *same* ballot.

In the event that more than two candidates are nominated, you will be instructed to vote for not more than two candidates on the same ballot.

Accordingly, we will need tellers, and the Chair will now make these appointments.

Tellers Appointed

The Chair appointed the following tellers:

Senator Jeanette K. White, of Windham District, as chief teller

Senator Margaret K. Flory, of Rutland District

Senator Mark A. MacDonald, of Orange District

Representative Maida F. Townsend, of South Burlington

Representative Bernard C. Juskiewicz, of Cambridge

Representative Marjorie Q. Ryerson, of Randolph

Representative Cynthia A. Weed, of Enosburg Falls

Election of Trustees of Vermont State Colleges Corporation

The Joint Assembly then proceeded to the election of two legislative trustees of the Vermont State Colleges Corporation, each for a term of four years, from and including the first day of March, 2014.

Nominations for Both Vacancies

Representative Martha A. Feltus of Lyndonville nominated *Representative Timothy Jerman* of Essex Junction.

Representative Carolyn, W. Branagan, of Georgia then nominated *Representative James W. Masland* of Thetford.

There being no other nominations, the Chair declared that nominations were closed.

Accordingly, those names placed in nomination and on the ballot for the office of Trustee of the Vermont State Colleges Corporation were as follows:

Representative Timothy Jerman of Essex Junction Representative James W. Masland of Thetford

Suspension of the Rules

The Chair then recognized the Senator from Windsor District, Senator Campbell, who made the following motion for suspension of the rules.

"Mr. President:

"Since we are now left solely with just two (2) candidates to fill a total of only two (2) vacancies for the office of Trustee of the Vermont State Colleges Corporation, it is my intention now to suspend our Joint Rules in order to save this body the time of taking ballots for these offices and then proceeding to count these ballots.

"Accordingly, Mr. President, I now move to suspend Joint Rule No. 10, so that:

- (a) We (this Joint Assembly) can vote on these two (2) offices jointly, rather than singly, and, further, so that
- (b) We can direct the Clerk of this Joint Assembly to cast one ballot for these two (2) candidates, namely:

Timothy Jerman James W. Masland

to be elected to the office of Trustee of the Vermont State Colleges Corporation, each to fill a separate vacancy, for a term of four (4) years, commencing March 1, 2014."

Which was agreed to.

Vermont State Colleges Corporation Trustees Declared Elected

The Chair then took judicial/parliamentary notice of the fact that: "This Joint Assembly has now suspended the rules and has directed the Clerk to cast one ballot for the two (2) named candidates."

Whereupon, the Chair declared that

Timothy Jerman, of Essex Junction

having received a majority of the total votes cast, was duly elected a Trustee of the Vermont State Colleges Corporation, for a term of four years, commencing March 1, 2014.

Whereupon, the Chair declared that

James W. Masland, of Thetford

having received a majority of the total votes cast, was duly elected a Trustee of the Vermont State Colleges Corporation, for a term of four years, commencing March 1, 2014.

Dissolution

The purposes for which the Joint Assembly was convened having been accomplished, the Chair then declared the Joint Assembly dissolved.

JOHN H. BLOOMER, JR. Secretary of the Senate Clerk of the Joint Assembly