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ORDERS OF THE DAY 

ACTION CALENDAR 

Third Reading 

H. 757 

An act relating to exemptions to the Public Records Act  

H. 888 

An act relating to approval of amendments to the charter of the Town of 

Milton  

J.R.S. 47 

Joint resolution relating to the approval of State land transactions  

Favorable with Amendment 

H. 552 

An act relating to raising the Vermont minimum wage 

Rep. O'Sullivan of Burlington, for the Committee on General, Housing 

and Military Affairs, recommends the bill be amended by striking all after the 

enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following: 

Sec. 1.  21 V.S.A. § 384 is amended to read: 

§ 384.  EMPLOYMENT; WAGES 

(a)  An employer shall not employ an any employee at a rate of less than 

$7.25, $10.10, and, beginning January 1, 2007, 2016 and on each subsequent 

January 1, the minimum wage rate shall be increased by five percent or 

the percentage increase of the Consumer Price Index, CPI-U, U.S. city 

average, not seasonally adjusted, or successor index, as calculated by the 

U.S. Department of Labor or successor agency for the 12 months preceding the 

previous September 1, whichever is smaller, but in no event shall the minimum 

wage be decreased.  The minimum wage shall be rounded off to the nearest 

$0.01.  An employer in the hotel, motel, tourist place, and restaurant industry 

shall not employ a service or tipped employee at a basic wage rate less than 

$3.65 an hour, and beginning January 1, 2008, and on each January 1 

thereafter, this basic tip wage rate shall be increased at the same percentage 

rate as the minimum wage rate one-half the minimum wage.  For the purposes 

of As used in this subsection, ―a service or tipped employee‖ means an 

employee of a hotel, motel, tourist place, or restaurant who customarily and 

regularly receives more than $120.00 per month in tips for direct and personal 
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customer service.  If the minimum wage rate established by the United States 

U.S. government is greater than the rate established for Vermont for any year, 

the minimum wage rate for that year shall be the rate established by the United 

States U.S. government. 

* * * 

Sec. 2.  MINIMUM WAGE STUDY 

On or before January 15, 2016, the Joint Fiscal Office shall submit a report 

to the General Assembly detailing the impact that raising the minimum wage 

to the livable wage would have on: 

(1)  low-wage working Vermonters; 

(2)  Vermont businesses and jobs;  

(3)  State and federal benefits; and 

(4)  Vermont’s economy as a whole. 

Sec. 3.  EFFECTIVE DATES 

(a)  This section and Sec. 2 shall take effect on passage. 

(b)  Sec. 1 shall take effect on January 1, 2015.  

( Committee Vote: 6-2-0) 

Rep. Keenan of St. Albans City, for the Committee on Appropriations, 

recommends the bill ought to pass when amended as recommended by the 

Committee on General, Housing and Military Affairs. 

(Committee Vote: 7-4-0) 

Amendment to be offered by Rep. Wright of Burlington to H. 552 

By striking out Sec. 1 in its entirety and inserting in lieu thereof a new Sec. 1 

to read: 

Sec. 1.  21 V.S.A. § 384 is amended to read: 

§ 384.  EMPLOYMENT; WAGES 

 (a)  An employer shall not employ an any employee at a rate of less than 

$7.25, $9.19.  Beginning January 1, 2016, an employer shall not employ any 

employee at a rate of less than $9.64.  Beginning January 1, 2017, an employer 

shall not employ any employee at a rate of less than $10.10, and, beginning 

January 1, 2007, 2018 and on each subsequent January 1, the minimum wage 

rate shall be increased by five percent or the percentage increase of the 

Consumer Price Index, CPI-U, U.S. city average, not seasonally adjusted, or 

successor index, as calculated by the U.S. Department of Labor or successor 

agency for the 12 months preceding the previous September 1, whichever is 
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smaller, but in no event shall the minimum wage be decreased.  The minimum 

wage shall be rounded off to the nearest $0.01.  An employer in the hotel, 

motel, tourist place, and restaurant industry shall not employ a service or 

tipped employee at a basic wage rate less than $3.65 an hour, and beginning 

January 1, 2008, and on each January 1 thereafter, this basic tip wage rate shall 

be increased at the same percentage rate as the minimum wage rate one-half 

the minimum wage.  For the purposes of As used in this subsection, ―a service 

or tipped employee‖ means an employee of a hotel, motel, tourist place, or 

restaurant who customarily and regularly receives more than $120.00 per 

month in tips for direct and personal customer service.  If the minimum wage 

rate established by the United States U.S. government is greater than the rate 

established for Vermont for any year, the minimum wage rate for that year 

shall be the rate established by the United States U.S. government. 

* * *  

Amendment to be offered by Rep. Donahue of Northfield to H. 552 

By striking out all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the 

following: 

Sec. 1.  FINDINGS 

The General Assembly finds that: 

(1)  The value of a day’s work should merit enough pay to live above the 

poverty line, and investing to achieve such wages is superior to providing State 

subsidy programs for those who do not. 

(2)  The Joint Fiscal Office estimates that the cost in wages to achieve a 

minimum wage rate of $10.10 in January 2015 is $30,000,000.00, and that 

there can be negative consequences if a minimum wage is substantially higher 

than in surrounding states. 

(3)  Vermont currently has the third highest minimum wage in the 

country, and the highest in New England, with a rate that is at least $0.75 

higher than all but one of the other New England states. 

(4)  In January 2015, Connecticut and New York will increase their 

minimum wage rates to $9.00 and $8.75, respectively.  In January 2016, New 

York will raise its minimum wage to $9.00. 

(5)  Vermont should remain in the forefront of working toward a 

minimum wage above the poverty line that protects business sustainability, but 

that continues at a significant margin ahead of other New England states.   

Sec. 2.  21 V.S.A. § 384 is amended to read: 

§ 384.  EMPLOYMENT; WAGES 
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(a)  An employer shall not employ an any employee at a rate of less than 

$7.25, and, beginning $9.25.  Beginning on January 1, 2016, an employer shall 

not employ any employee at a rate of less than $9.75.  Beginning on January 1, 

2007, 2017 and on each subsequent January 1, the minimum wage rate shall be 

increased by five percent or the percentage increase of the Consumer Price 

Index, CPI-U, U.S. city average, not seasonally adjusted, or successor index, as 

calculated by the U.S. Department of Labor or successor agency for the 

12 months preceding the previous September 1, whichever is smaller, but in no 

event shall the minimum wage be decreased.  If the federal minimum wage 

adjusts to at least $10.10 on or before January 1, 2017, then beginning on 

January 1, 2017, the minimum wage rate shall adjust to $10.50.  If, on or 

before January 1, 2017, the federal minimum wage rate adjusts to a rate less 

than $10.10, then beginning on January 1, 2017, the minimum wage rate shall 

adjust to the federal minimum wage rate plus $0.75, but shall not be a rate 

greater than $10.50 or $9.75 plus the percentage increase of the Consumer 

Price Index, CPI-U, U.S. city average, not seasonally adjusted, or successor 

index, as calculated by the U.S. Department of Labor or successor agency for 

the 12 months preceding the previous September 1, whichever is higher.  The 

minimum wage shall be rounded off to the nearest $0.01.  An employer in the 

hotel, motel, tourist place, and restaurant industry shall not employ a service or 

tipped employee at a basic wage rate less than $3.65 an hour, and beginning 

January 1, 2008, and on each January 1 thereafter, this basic tip wage rate shall 

be increased at the same percentage rate as the minimum wage rate one-half 

the minimum wage.  For the purposes of As used in this subsection, ―a service 

or tipped employee‖ means an employee of a hotel, motel, tourist place, or 

restaurant who customarily and regularly receives more than $120.00 per 

month in tips for direct and personal customer service.  If the minimum wage 

rate established by the United States U.S. government is greater than the rate 

established for Vermont for any year, the minimum wage rate for that year 

shall be the rate established by the United States U.S. government. 

* * * 

Sec. 3.  MINIMUM WAGE STUDY 

On or before January 15, 2016, the Joint Fiscal Office shall submit a report 

to the General Assembly detailing the impact that raising the minimum wage 

to the livable wage would have on: 

(1)  low-wage working Vermonters; 

(2)  Vermont businesses and jobs;  

(3)  State and federal benefits; and 

(4)  Vermont’s economy as a whole. 
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Sec. 4.  EFFECTIVE DATES 

(a)  This section and Secs. 1 and 3 shall take effect on passage. 

(b)  Sec. 2 shall take effect on January 1, 2015.  

S. 314 

An act relating to miscellaneous amendments to laws related to motor 

vehicles 

Rep. Brennan of Colchester, for the Committee on Transportation, 

recommends that the House propose to the Senate that the bill be amended by 

striking all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following: 

* * * Nondriver Identification Cards * * * 

Sec. 1.  23 V.S.A. § 115 is amended to read: 

§ 115.  NONDRIVER IDENTIFICATION CARDS 

(a)  Any Vermont resident may make application to the Commissioner and 

be issued an identification card which is attested by the Commissioner as to 

true name, correct age, residential address unless the listing of another address 

is requested by the applicant or is otherwise authorized by law, and any other 

identifying data as the Commissioner may require which shall include, in the 

case of minor applicants, the written consent of the applicant’s parent, 

guardian, or other person standing in loco parentis.  Every application for an 

identification card shall be signed by the applicant and shall contain such 

evidence of age and identity as the Commissioner may require, consistent with 

subsection (l) of this section.  New and renewal application forms shall include 

a space for the applicant to request that a ―veteran‖ designation by placed on 

his or her identification card.  If a veteran, as defined in 38 U.S.C. § 101(2), 

requests a veteran designation and provides a Department of Defense 

Form 214 or other proof of veteran status specified by the Commissioner, and 

the Office of Veterans Affairs confirms his or her status as an honorably 

discharged veteran or a veteran discharged under honorable conditions, the 

identification card shall include the term ―veteran‖ on its face.  The 

Commissioner shall require payment of a fee of $20.00 at the time application 

for an identification card is made, except that an initial nondriver identification 

card shall be issued at no charge to a person who surrenders his or her license 

in connection with a suspension or revocation under subsection 636(b) of this 

title due to a physical or mental condition. 

(b)  Except as provided in subsection (l) of this section, every Every 

identification card shall expire, unless earlier canceled, on the fourth birthday 

of the applicant following the date of original issue, and may be renewed every 

four years upon payment of a $20.00 fee.  At least 30 days before an 



 

- 1849 - 

identification card will expire, the Commissioner shall mail first class to the 

cardholder an application to renew the identification card. 

* * * 

(l)(1)  The Commissioner shall issue identification cards to Vermont 

residents who are not U.S. citizens but are able to establish lawful presence in 

the United States if an applicant follows the procedures and furnishes 

documents as required under subsection 603(d) of this title and any policies or 

rules adopted thereunder, and otherwise satisfies the requirements of this 

section.  The identification cards shall expire consistent with subsection 603(d) 

of this title. 

* * * 

(4)  A non-REAL ID compliant identification card issued under 

subdivision (2) or (3) of this subsection shall: 

(A)  bear on its face text indicating that it is not valid for federal 

identification or official purposes; and 

(B)  expire at midnight on the eve of the second birthday of the 

applicant following the date of issuance. 

* * * Vehicles Eligible to Display Vanity Plates * * * 

Sec. 2.  23 V.S.A. § 304(b) is amended to read: 

(b)  The authority to issue vanity motor vehicle number plates or special 

number plates for safety organizations and service organizations shall reside 

with the Commissioner.  Determination of compliance with the criteria 

contained in this section shall be within the discretion of the Commissioner. 

Series of number plates for safety and service organizations which are 

authorized by the Commissioner shall be issued in order of approval, subject to 

the operating considerations in the Department as determined by the 

Commissioner.  The Commissioner shall issue vanity and special organization 

number plates in the following manner: 

(1)  Vanity plates.  Subject to the restrictions of this section, vanity plates 

shall be issued at the request of the registrant of a motor vehicle registered at 

the pleasure car rate or of a truck registered for less than 26,001 pounds (but 

excluding trucks unless the vehicle is registered under the International 

Registration Plan), upon application and upon payment of an annual fee of 

$45.00 in addition to the annual fee for registration.  The Commissioner shall 

not issue two sets of plates bearing the same initials or letters unless the plates 

also contain a distinguishing number.  Vanity plates are subject to 

reassignment if not renewed within 60 days of expiration of the registration. 

* * * 

(c)  The Commissioner shall issue registration numbers 101 through 9999, 
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which shall be known as reserved registration numbers, for pleasure cars or, 

motor trucks that are registered at the pleasure car rate, and motorcycles in the 

following manner: 

(1)  A person holding a reserved registration number between 101 and 

9999 may retain the number for the ensuing registration period, provided 

application is made prior to or within at least 60 days of the prior to expiration 

of the registration. 

(2)  If the registrant does not renew the registration, the number may be 

reassigned to a member of the immediate family if application is made within 

at least 60 days of the prior to expiration of the registration.  As used herein, 

―immediate family‖ means the spouse, household member, grandparents, 

parents, siblings, children, or grandchildren of the registrant. 

(3)  The Commissioner shall restrict the issuance of these registrations to 

residents of this State and may restrict issuance to applicants who do not 

already have such a registration issued to them. 

(4)  A person holding a reserved registration number between 101 and 

9999 on a pleasure car may also have the same number on a, a truck that is 

registered at the pleasure car rate, and vice versa or a motorcycle may be 

issued the same reserved registration number for the other authorized vehicle 

types, provided that the person receives no more than one such plate or set of 

plates for each authorized vehicle type. 

* * * 

* * * Registration Validation Stickers; Proof of Temporary Registration * * * 

Sec. 3.  23 V.S.A. § 305 is amended to read: 

§ 305.  REGISTRATION PERIODS 

(a)  The Commissioner of Motor Vehicles shall issue registration 

certificates, validation stickers, and number plates upon initial registration, and 

registration certificates and validation stickers for the each succeeding renewal 

period of registration, upon payment of the registration fee.  Except as 

otherwise provided, number Number plates so issued will become void one 

year from the first day of the month following the month of issue unless a 

longer initial registration period is authorized by law, or unless this period is 

extended through renewal.  Registrations issued for motor trucks shall become 

void one year from the first day of the month following the month of issue.  

The fees for annual special excess weight permits issued to these vehicles 

pursuant to section 1392 of this title shall be prorated so as to coincide with 

registration expiration dates. 

(b)  The Commissioner of Motor Vehicles shall issue a registration 
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certificate, validation sticker, and number plates for each motor vehicle owned 

by the State, that shall be valid for a period of five years.  Such motor vehicle 

shall be considered as properly registered while the plates so issued are 

attached thereto.  The Commissioner may replace such number plates when in 

his or her discretion their condition requires.  

(c)  The Commissioner may issue number plates to be used for a period of 

two or more years.  One validating sticker shall be issued by the Department of 

Motor Vehicles upon payment of the registration fee for the second and each 

succeeding year the plate is used.  Except as otherwise provided in subsection 

(d) of this section, no plate is valid for the second and succeeding years unless 

the validation sticker is affixed to the rear plate in the manner prescribed by the 

Commissioner in section 511 of this title. 

(d)  When a registration for a motor vehicle, snowmobile, motorboat, or 

all-terrain vehicle is processed electronically, a receipt shall be available 

electronically and for printing.  The An electronic or printed receipt shall serve 

as a temporary registration.  To be valid, the temporary registration shall be in 

the possession of the operator at all times, and it shall expire for ten days after 

the date of the transaction.  An electronic receipt may be shown to an 

enforcement officer using a portable electronic device.  Use of a portable 

electronic device to display the receipt does not in itself constitute consent for 

an officer to access other contents of the device. 

Sec. 4.  23 V.S.A. § 511 is amended to read: 

§ 511.  MANNER OF DISPLAY 

(a)  A motor vehicle operated on any highway shall have displayed in a 

conspicuous place either one or two number plates as the commissioner of 

motor vehicles Commissioner may require.  Such number plates shall be 

furnished by the commissioner of motor vehicles, showing Commissioner and 

shall show the number assigned to such vehicle by the commissioner 

Commissioner.  If only one number plate is furnished, the same shall be 

securely attached to the rear of the vehicle.  If two are furnished, one shall be 

securely attached to the rear and one to the front of the vehicle.  The number 

plates shall be kept entirely unobscured, and the numerals and the letters 

thereon shall be plainly legible at all times.  They shall be kept horizontal, shall 

be so fastened as not to swing, excepting however, there may be installed on a 

motor truck or truck tractor a device which would, upon contact with a 

substantial object, permit the rear number plate to swing toward the front of the 

vehicle, provided such device automatically returns the number plate to its 

original rigid position after contact is released, and the ground clearance of the 

lower edges thereof shall be established by the commissioner Commissioner 

pursuant to the provisions of 3 V.S.A. chapter 25 of Title 3. 
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(b)  A registration validation sticker shall be unobstructed, and shall be 

affixed as follows: 

(1)  for vehicles issued registration plates with dimensions of 

approximately 12 × 6 inches, in the lower right corner of the rear registration 

plate; and 

(2)  for vehicles issued a registration plate with a dimension of 

approximately 7 × 4 inches, in the upper right corner of the rear registration 

plate. 

(c)  A person shall not operate a motor vehicle unless number plates and a 

validation sticker are displayed as provided in this section. 

* * * Reciprocal Recognition of Learner’s Permits * * * 

Sec. 5.  23 V.S.A. § 411 is amended to read: 

§ 411.  RECIPROCAL PROVISIONS 

As determined by the commissioner of motor vehicles Commissioner, a 

motor vehicle owned by a nonresident, shall be considered as registered and a 

nonresident operator shall be considered as licensed or permitted in this state, 

State if the nonresident owner or operator has complied with the laws of the 

foreign country or state of his or her residence relative to the registration of 

motor vehicles and the granting of operators’ licenses or learner’s permits.  

Any exemptions provided in this section shall, however, be operative as to an 

owner or operator of a motor vehicle only to the extent that under the laws of 

the foreign country or state of his residence like exemptions and privileges are 

granted to operators duly licensed or permitted and to owners of motor 

vehicles duly registered under the laws of this state State.  If the owner or 

operator is a resident of a country not adjoining the United States, such 

exemptions shall be operative for a period of 30 days for vacation purposes, 

notwithstanding that such country does not grant like privileges to residents of 

this state State.  Such exemptions shall not be operative as to the owner of a 

motor truck used for the transportation of property for hire or profit between 

points within the state State or to the owner of any motor vehicle carrying an 

auxiliary fuel tank or tanks providing an additional supply of motor fuel over 

and above that provided in the standard equipment of such vehicle. 

Sec. 6.  23 V.S.A. § 615 is amended to read: 

§ 615.  UNLICENSED OPERATORS 

(a)(1)  An unlicensed person 15 years of age or older may operate a motor 

vehicle if he or she possesses a valid learner’s permit issued to him or her by 

the Commissioner, or by another jurisdiction in accordance with section 411 of 

this title, and if his or her licensed parent or guardian, licensed or certified 
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driver education instructor, or licensed person at least 25 years of age rides 

beside him or her.  Nothing in this section shall be construed to permit a person 

against whom a revocation or suspension of license is in force, or a person less 

younger than 15 years of age, or a person who has been refused a license by 

the Commissioner to operate a motor vehicle. 

* * * Out-of-state Junior Operators * * * 

Sec. 7.  23 V.S.A. § 614 is amended to read: 

§ 614.  RIGHTS UNDER LICENSE 

* * * 

(b)  A junior operator’s license shall entitle the holder to operate a 

registered motor vehicle with the consent of the owner, but shall not entitle 

him or her to operate a motor vehicle in the course of his or her employment or 

for direct or indirect compensation for one year following issuance of the 

license, except that the holder may operate a farm tractor with or without 

compensation upon a public highway in going to and from different parts of a 

farm of the tractor’s owner or to go to any repair shop for repair purposes.  A 

junior operator’s license shall not entitle the holder to carry passengers for hire. 

(c)  During the first three months of operation, the holder of a junior 

operator’s license is restricted to driving alone or with a licensed parent or 

guardian, licensed or certified driver education instructor, or licensed person at 

least 25 years of age.  During the following three months, a junior operator 

may additionally transport family members.  No person operating with a junior 

operator’s license shall transport more passengers than there are safety belts 

unless he or she is operating a vehicle that has not been manufactured with a 

federally approved safety belt system.  A person convicted of operating a 

motor vehicle in violation of this subsection shall be subject to a penalty of not 

more than $50.00, and his or her license shall be recalled for a period of 

90 days.  The provisions of this subsection may be enforced only if a law 

enforcement officer has detained the operator for a suspected violation of 

another traffic offense. 

(d)  A nonresident under 18 years of age who is privileged to operate on 

Vermont highways under section 411 of this title shall be subject to the 

restrictions of subsections (b) and (c) of this section. 

* * * Driving Privilege Cards * * * 

 Sec. 8.  23 V.S.A. § 603(h) is amended to read: 

(h)  A privilege card issued under this section shall: 

* * * 

(2)  expire at midnight on the eve of the second birthday of the applicant 
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following the date of issuance or, at the option of an applicant for an operator’s 

privilege card and upon payment of the required four-year fee, at midnight on 

the eve of the fourth birthday of the applicant following the date of issuance. 

Sec. 9.  23 V.S.A. § 608 is amended to read: 

§ 608.  FEES 

(a)  The four-year fee required to be paid the Commissioner for licensing an 

operator of motor vehicles or for issuing an operator’s privilege card shall be 

$48.00.  The two-year fee required to be paid the Commissioner for licensing 

an operator or for issuing an operator’s privilege card shall be $30.00 and the 

two-year fee for licensing a junior operator or for issuing a junior operator’s 

privilege card shall be $30.00. 

Sec. 10.  CREDIT FOR PRICE PREMIUM OF TWO-YEAR PRIVILEGE  

    CARDS; SUBSTITUTION OF PRIVILEGE CARDS FOR  

    LICENSES AND PERMITS 

(a)  If a person issued a two-year operator’s privilege card from January 1, 

2014 to June 30, 2014 applies and qualifies for a four-year REAL 

ID-compliant operator’s license or a four-year operator’s privilege card upon 

expiration of the two-year privilege card, he or she shall be entitled upon 

request to a credit of $6.00 toward the fee of the four-year operator’s license or 

four-year operator’s privilege card. 

(b)  If a person issued a two-year operator’s privilege card from January 1, 

2014 to June 30, 2014 applies and qualifies for a four-year REAL 

ID-compliant operator’s license prior to expiration of his or her privilege card, 

the Department of Motor Vehicles shall issue him or her the four-year REAL 

ID-compliant license at a charge of $18.00.  The four-year REAL-ID 

compliant license shall expire at midnight on the eve of the fourth birthday of 

the applicant following the date of issuance of the privilege card.  

(c)(1)  If a person issued a two-year operator’s privilege card, junior 

operator’s privilege card, or learner’s privilege card from January 1, 2014 to 

December 31, 2015 applies and qualifies for a two-year REAL ID-compliant 

operator’s license, junior operator’s license, or learner’s permit prior to 

expiration of his or her privilege card, the Department of Motor Vehicles shall 

issue the applicant at no charge a REAL ID-compliant license or permit that 

expires on the same date as the applicant’s privilege card. 

(2)  If a person issued a four-year operator’s privilege card from July 1, 

2014 to December 31, 2015 applies and qualifies for a four-year REAL 

ID-compliant operator’s license prior to expiration of his or her privilege card, 

the Department of Motor Vehicles shall issue at no charge a REAL 
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ID-compliant license that expires on the same date as the applicant’s 

privilege card.  

* * * Driver’s Training School Licensees * * * 

Sec. 11.  23 V.S.A. § 704 is amended to read: 

§ 704.  QUALIFICATIONS FOR TRAINING SCHOOL LICENSE 

Each applicant in order to To qualify for a driver’s training school license, 

each new and renewal applicant shall meet the following requirements: 

* * * 

(3)  provide evidence that he or she maintains maintain bodily injury and 

property damage liability insurance on each motor vehicle being used in driver 

training, insuring the liability of the driver training school and the operator of 

each motor vehicle for each instructor and of any person while using any such 

motor vehicle with the permission of the named insured in at least the 

following amount:  $300,000.00 for bodily injury or death of one person in any 

one accident and, subject to said limit for one person, $500,000.00 for bodily 

injury or death of two or more persons in any one accident, and $100,000.00 

for damage to property of others in any one accident.  Evidence of such 

insurance coverage shall be in the form of a certificate from an insurance 

company authorized to do business in this state filed with the commissioner 

setting forth the amount of coverage and providing that the policy of insurance 

shall be noncancelable except after 15 days’ written notice to the commissioner 

A carrier who insures an applicant under this subdivision shall provide the 

Commissioner and the insured with proof of insurance at the beginning of each 

policy period.  A cancellation or nonrenewal of such insurance may take effect 

only after notice to the Commissioner and the insured at least 15 days prior to 

the cancellation or nonrenewal. 

* * * 

* * * Definition of Business Day or Working Day * * * 

Sec. 12.  23 V.S.A. § 4 is amended to read: 

§ 4.  DEFINITIONS 

Except as may be otherwise provided herein, and unless the context 

otherwise requires in statutes relating to motor vehicles and enforcement of the 

law regulating vehicles, as provided in this title and 20 V.S.A. part 5, the 

following definitions shall apply: 

* * * 

(83)  ―Business day‖ or ―working day‖ means any calendar day except 

Saturday, Sunday, or any day classified as a holiday under 1 V.S.A. § 371. 

* * * Proof of Financial Responsibility * * * 
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Sec. 13.  23 V.S.A. § 800 is amended to read: 

§ 800.  MAINTENANCE OF FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY 

(a)  No owner of a motor vehicle required to be registered, or operator 

required to be licensed or issued a learner’s permit, shall operate or permit the 

operation of the vehicle upon the highways of the State without having in 

effect an automobile liability policy or bond in the amounts of at least 

$25,000.00 for one person and $50,000.00 for two or more persons killed or 

injured and $10,000.00 for damages to property in any one accident crash.  In 

lieu thereof, evidence of self-insurance in the amount of $115,000.00 must be 

filed with the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles, and shall be maintained and 

evidenced in a form prescribed by the Commissioner.  The Commissioner may 

require that evidence of financial responsibility be produced before motor 

vehicle inspections are performed pursuant to the requirements of section 1222 

of this title. 

(b)  A person who violates subsection (a) of this section shall be assessed a 

civil penalty of not more than $500.00, and such violation shall be a traffic 

violation within the meaning of chapter 24 of this title. 

(c)  Every operator of a vehicle required to be registered shall have proof of 

financial responsibility as required by subsection (a) of this section when 

operating such vehicle on the highways of this State.  A person may prove 

financial responsibility using a portable electronic device; however, use of a 

device for this purpose does not in itself constitute consent for an enforcement 

officer to access other contents of the device.  An operator cited for violating 

this subsection shall not be convicted if he or she sends or produces to the 

issuing enforcement agency within seven business days of the traffic stop proof 

of financial responsibility that was in effect at the time of the traffic stop. 

(d)  A person who violates subsection (c) of this section shall be subject to a 

fine of not more than $100.00. 

* * * Possession of License Certificate; Grace Period * * * 

Sec. 14.  23 V.S.A. § 611 is amended to read: 

§ 611.  POSSESSION OF LICENSE CERTIFICATE 

Every licensee shall have his or her operator’s license certificate in his or 

her immediate possession at all times when operating a motor vehicle.  

However, no a person charged cited with violating this section or section 610 

of this title shall not be convicted if he or she sends a copy of or produces in 

court or to the enforcement officer to the issuing enforcement agency within 

seven business days of the traffic stop an operator’s license certificate 

theretofore issued to him or her which, at the time of his or her citation, that 
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was valid or had expired within the prior 14 days prior to the traffic stop. 

* * * Out-of-State Fuel User’s License; Repeal * * * 

Sec. 15.  23 V.S.A. § 415 is amended to read: 

§ 415.  NONDIESEL FUEL USER’S LICENSE 

* * * 

(c)  In addition to any other provision of law relating to registration of 

motor vehicles, or fees paid for registration, a person owning or operating upon 

the highways of this state a motor truck with a gross weight of 18,000 pounds 

or over, powered by gasoline or other nondiesel fuel and not base registered in 

this state, shall apply to the commissioner for a nondiesel fuel user’s license 

for each motor truck to be so operated.  Application shall be made upon a form 

prescribed by the commissioner and shall set forth such information as he or 

she may require.  The application shall be accompanied by a license fee of 

$6.50 for each motor truck listed in the application, the fee being for the 

purpose of paying the cost of issuing the license, cab card and sticker.  The 

commissioner shall issue a license, cab card and identification tag, plate, or 

sticker for each motor truck, which tag, plate or sticker shall be of the size and 

design and contain such information as the commissioner shall prescribe.  

Except as otherwise provided, any license, cab card and tag, plate or sticker 

shall become void on January 1 next following the date of issue or, when 

determined by the commissioner, 12 months from the first day of the month of 

issue.  Licenses and cab cards shall be carried in the motor truck and the tag, 

plate or sticker shall be affixed to the motor truck and at all times be visible 

and legible.  For emergency purposes, the commissioner may by telegram, 

identifying the motor truck, authorize its operation without the attachment of a 

tag, plate or sticker for a period not to exceed 21 days from the date of issue of 

the license.  The telegram must be kept with the truck while being so operated.  

This section shall not apply to motor trucks owned by federal, state, provincial, 

or municipal governments.  [Repealed.] 

* * * 

Sec. 16.  23 V.S.A. § 3007 is amended to read:   

§ 3007.  DIESEL FUEL USER’S LICENSE 

(a)  In addition to any other provision of law relating to registration of 

motor vehicles, or fees paid therefore, a person owning or operating upon the 

highways of the state State a motor truck, which that is registered in the state, 

using State and uses fuel as defined in section 3002 of this title, shall, for each 

motor truck to be so operated, apply to the commissioner Commissioner for a 

diesel fuel user license, which shall be renewed at the time of renewal of the 

truck’s registration.  Application shall be made upon a form prescribed by such 

commissioner the Commissioner and shall set forth such information as the 
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commissioner Commissioner may require.  Applications filed at the time of the 

initial registration or renewal of a registration shall be accompanied by a $6.50 

annual license fee for each motor truck listed in the application, except that no 

fee shall be required for motor trucks with a gross weight of less than 26,001 

pounds. 

(b)  In addition to any other provisions of law relating to registration of 

motor vehicles, or fees paid for registration, a person owning or operating upon 

the highways of the state a motor truck which is not base registered in this 

state, using fuel as defined in section 3002 of this title shall for each such 

motor truck apply to the commissioner for a diesel fuel user license.  

Application shall be made upon a form prescribed by the commissioner and 

shall set forth such information as the commissioner may require.  Except for 

motor trucks with a gross weight of less than 26,001 pounds, and vehicles 

licensed under section 415 of this title, the application for issuance of initial 

and renewal licenses shall be accompanied by a $6.50 license fee for each 

motor truck listed in the application, the fee being for the cost of the license, 

cab card and tag, plate or sticker.  The commissioner shall issue a license, cab 

card and an identification tag, plate or sticker for each motor truck which tag, 

plate or sticker shall be of the size and design and contain such information as 

the commissioner shall prescribe.  Except as otherwise provided any license, 

cab card and tag, plate or sticker shall become void on each January 1 

thereafter or, when determined by the commissioner, 12 months from the first 

day of the month of issue. Licenses and cab cards shall be carried in the motor 

vehicle and the tag, plate or sticker shall be affixed to the motor vehicle and at 

all times be visible and legible.  [Repealed.] 

(c)  This section shall not apply to users’ vehicles exempt from reporting 

requirements under section 3014 of this title or to users’ vehicles exempt from 

taxation under subdivisions subdivision 3003(d)(3) and (5)(1)(C) of this title, 

or to users’ vehicles that are being operated under the provisions of sections 

section 463 or 516 of this title. 

* * * Total Abstinence; Out-of-State Applicants * * * 

Sec. 17.  23 V.S.A. § 1209a(b) is amended to read: 

(b)  Abstinence. 

(1)  Notwithstanding any other provision of this subchapter, a person 

whose license has been suspended for life under this subchapter may apply to 

the Driver Rehabilitation School Director and to the Commissioner for 

reinstatement of his or her driving privilege.  The person shall have completed 

three years of total abstinence from consumption of alcohol or drugs, or both.  

The beginning date for the period of abstinence shall be no sooner than the 
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effective date of the suspension from which the person is requesting 

reinstatement and shall not include any period during which the person is 

serving a sentence of incarceration to include furlough.  The application to the 

Commissioner shall be accompanied by a fee of $500.00.  The Commissioner 

shall have the discretion to waive the application fee if the Commissioner 

determines that payment of the fee would present a hardship to the applicant. 

(2)  If the Commissioner, or a medical review board convened by the 

Commissioner, is satisfied by a preponderance of the evidence that the 

applicant has abstained for the required number of years immediately 

preceding the application and hearing, has successfully completed a therapy 

program as required under this section, and the person appreciates that he or 

she cannot drink any amount of alcohol and drive safely, the person’s license 

shall be reinstated immediately, subject to the condition that the person’s 

suspension will be put back in effect in the event any further investigation 

reveals a return to the consumption of alcohol or drugs and to such additional 

conditions as the Commissioner may impose and, if the person has not 

previously operated for three years under an ignition interlock RDL, subject to 

the additional condition that the person shall operate under an ignition 

interlock restricted driver’s license for a period of at least one year following 

reinstatement under this subsection.  However, the Commissioner may waive 

this one-year requirement to operate under an ignition interlock restricted 

driver’s license if the person furnishes proof as prescribed by the 

Commissioner that he or she is incapable of using an ignition interlock device 

because of a medical condition that will persist permanently or at least for 

one year.  

* * * 

(5)  A person shall be eligible for reinstatement under this subsection 

only once following a suspension for life. 

(6)(A)  If an applicant for reinstatement under this subsection resides in a 

jurisdiction other than Vermont, the Commissioner may elect not to conduct an 

investigation.  If the Commissioner elects not to conduct an investigation, he or 

she shall provide a letter to the applicant’s jurisdiction of residence stating that 

Vermont does not object to the jurisdiction issuing the applicant a license if the 

applicant is authorized to operate only vehicles equipped with an ignition 

interlock device and is required to complete any alcohol rehabilitation or 

treatment requirements of the licensing jurisdiction.  

(B)  If the applicant’s jurisdiction of residence is prepared to issue or 

has issued a license in accordance with subdivision (A) of this subdivision (6) 

and the applicant satisfies the requirements of section 675 of this title, the 

Commissioner shall update relevant State and federal databases to reflect that 

the applicant’s lifetime suspension or revocation in Vermont under chapter 13, 
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subchapter 13 of this title has terminated.  

* * * Single Trip Permits * * * 

Sec. 18.  23 V.S.A. § 1400 is amended to read: 

§ 1400.  PERMIT TO OPERATE IN EXCESS OF WEIGHT AND SIZE    

   LIMITS; STATE HIGHWAYS 

(a)  A person or corporation owning or operating a traction engine, tractor, 

trailer, motor truck, or other motor vehicle that desires to operate it over state 

State highways or class 1 town highways in excess of the weight and size 

limits provided by this subchapter shall make application for such a permit to 

the commissioner of motor vehicles apply to the Commissioner for a permit.  

In his or her discretion, with or without hearing, the commissioner 

Commissioner may issue to the person or corporation a permit authorizing the 

person to operate the traction engine, tractor, trailer, motor truck, or other 

motor vehicle upon state State highways and class 1 town highways as he or 

she may designate and containing the regulation subject to which the traction 

engine, tractor, trailer, motor truck, or other motor vehicle is to be operated.  

The permit shall not be granted until satisfactory proof is furnished to the 

commissioner Commissioner that the traction engine, tractor, trailer, motor 

truck, or other motor vehicle has been registered and the prescribed fee paid 

for a gross weight equal to a maximum legal load limit for its class.  No 

additional registration fee shall be payable to authorize the use of the traction 

engine, tractor, trailer, motor truck, or other motor vehicle in accordance with 

the terms of the permit.  The approval may be given for a limited or unlimited 

length of time, may be withdrawn for cause, and may be withdrawn without 

cause any time after March 31 next following the date of issuance.  When 

approval is withdrawn for cause or on March 31, the commissioner of motor 

vehicles Commissioner shall forthwith revoke the permit; when approval is 

withdrawn otherwise he or she shall revoke the permit within one month. 

* * * 

Sec. 19.  23 V.S.A. § 1402 is amended to read: 

§ 1402.  OVERWEIGHT, WIDTH, HEIGHT, AND LENGTH PERMITS; 

   FEES 

(a)  Overweight, overwidth, indivisible overlength, and overheight permits.  

Overweight, overwidth, indivisible overlength, and overheight permits shall be 

signed by the Commissioner or by his or her agent and a copy shall be kept in 

the Office of the Commissioner or in a location approved by the 

Commissioner.  Except as provided in subsection (c) of this section, a copy 

shall also be available in the towing vehicle and must be available for 

inspection on demand of a law enforcement officer.  Before operating a 
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traction engine, tractor, trailer, motor truck, or other motor vehicle, the person 

to whom a permit to operate in excess of the weight, width, indivisible 

overlength, and height limits established by this title is granted shall pay a fee 

of $35.00 for each single trip permit or $100.00 for a blanket permit, except 

that the fee for a fleet blanket permit shall be $100.00 for the first unit and 

$5.00 for each unit thereafter.  At the option of a carrier, an annual permit for 

the entire fleet, to operate over any approved route, may be obtained for 

$100.00 for the first tractor and $5.00 for each additional tractor, up to a 

maximum fee of $1,000.00.  The fee for a fleet permit shall be based on the 

entire number of tractors owned by the applicant.  An applicant for a fleet 

permit may apply for any number of specific routes, each of which shall be 

reviewed with regard to the characteristics of the route and the type of 

equipment operated by the applicant.  When the weight or size of the 

vehicle-load are considered sufficiently excessive for the routing requested, the 

Agency of Transportation shall, on request of the Commissioner, conduct an 

engineering inspection of the vehicle-load and route, for which a fee of 

$300.00 will be added to the cost of the permit if the load is a manufactured 

home.  For all other loads of any size or with gross weight limits less than 

150,000 pounds, the fee shall be $800.00 for any engineering inspection that 

requires up to eight hours to conduct.  If the inspection requires more than 

eight hours to conduct, the fee shall be $800.00 plus $60.00 per hour for each 

additional hour required.  If the vehicle and load weigh 150,000 pounds or 

more but not more than 200,000 pounds, the engineering inspection fee shall 

be $2,000.00.  If the vehicle and load weigh more than 200,000 pounds but not 

more than 250,000 pounds, the engineering inspection fee shall be $5,000.00.  

If the vehicle and load weigh more than 250,000 pounds, the engineering 

inspection fee shall be $10,000.00.  The study must be completed prior to the 

permit being issued.  Prior to the issuance of a permit, an applicant whose 

vehicle weighs 150,000 pounds or more, or is 15 or more feet in width or 

height, shall file with the Commissioner a special certificate of insurance 

showing minimum coverage of $250,000.00 for death or injury to one person, 

$500,000.00 for death or injury to two or more persons, and $250,000.00 for 

property damage, all arising out of any one accident crash. 

(b)  Overlength permits.  Except as provided in subsections 1432(c) and (e) 

of this title, it shall be necessary to obtain an overlength permit as follows: 

(1)  For vehicles with a trailer or semitrailer longer than 75 feet 

anywhere in the State on highways approved by the Agency of Transportation.  

In such cases, the vehicle may be operated with a single trip overlength permit 

issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles for a fee of $25.00.  If the vehicle 

is 100 feet or more in length, the permit applicant shall file with the 

Commissioner of Motor Vehicles, a special certificate of insurance showing 
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minimum coverage of $250,000.00 for death or injury to one person, 

$500,000.00 for death or injury to two or more persons, and $250,000.00 for 

property damage, all arising out of any one accident crash. 

(2)  Notwithstanding the provisions of this section, the Agency of 

Transportation may erect signs at those locations where it would be unsafe to 

operate vehicles in excess of 68 feet in length. 

* * * 

(d)  Permit for shipment of mobile or manufactured homes.  The 

Commissioner may from time to time designate a specific route as being 

pre-approved for the shipment of mobile or manufactured homes which are 

greater than 14 feet but not greater than 16 feet in overall width.  Any person to 

whom a permit is issued under subsection (a) of this section, to transport a 

mobile or manufactured home which is greater than 14 feet but not greater than 

16 feet overall width, over routes that have been pre-approved shall pay in lieu 

of the fees established in that subsection, a single trip permit fee of $40.00.  

[Repealed.] 

* * * 

(f)  A single trip permit issued under this section shall be valid for seven 

business days. 

* * * Diesel Fuel Sales Reporting * * * 

Sec. 20.  23 V.S.A. § 3014(a) is amended to read: 

(a)  Every distributor or dealer, on or before the last 25th day of each 

month, shall file with the commissioner Commissioner on forms prescribed by 

him or her a report for the preceding month which shall include the number of 

gallons of fuel sold or delivered.  A distributor’s report shall also include the 

identity of the person to whom the fuel was sold or delivered, the amount of 

the tax collected and by whom, and the monthly total of fuel sold or delivered. 

The report shall be filed even though no fuel was sold or delivered. 

* * * Gasoline Distributor Bond Requirement * * * 

Sec. 21.  23 V.S.A. § 3102 is amended to read: 

§ 3102.  LICENSING AND BONDING OF DISTRIBUTORS 

(a)  Before commencing business, on application, a distributor shall first 

procure a license from the commissioner of motor vehicles Commissioner 

permitting him or her to continue or to engage in business as a distributor.  

Before the commissioner Commissioner issues a license, the distributor shall 

file with the commissioner Commissioner a surety bond in a sum and form and 

with sureties as the commissioner Commissioner may require in for a sum 

based on an estimate of the tax liability for a two-month period, but not to 

exceed $400,000.00 $700,000.00, conditioned upon the issuance of the report, 
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and the payment of the tax and, penalties, and fines provided in this 

subchapter.  Upon approval of the application and bond, the commissioner 

Commissioner shall issue to the distributor a nonassignable license which shall 

continue in force until surrendered or revoked. 

(b)(1)  The amount of the surety bonds required shall be reviewed annually 

in September.  The minimum If the Commissioner retains or reimposes a bond 

requirement, the amount required shall be the sum of the highest two months’ 

payment during the preceding year or $1,000.00, whichever is greater, but in 

no case shall it exceed $400,000.00 $700,000.00.  For new licenses, the bond 

amount shall be based on an estimate of the tax liability for a two-month 

period. 

(2)  A distributor may request release or reduction of the bond if the 

distributor has complied with all licensing and reporting requirements for at 

least the last three consecutive years.  If the Commissioner determines that 

release or reduction of the bond will not unreasonably jeopardize State 

revenues, the bond shall be released or reduced, notwithstanding subdivision 

(1) of this subsection.  Upon a finding to the contrary, the Commissioner shall 

retain the bond.  If a bond is released or reduced under this subdivision, the 

Commissioner may reimpose a bond or increase the bond in accordance with 

subdivision (1) of this subsection if he or she determines that a material change 

in circumstances has occurred and State revenues will be unreasonably 

jeopardized without the reimposition or increase.  A distributor aggrieved by a 

decision of the Commissioner to retain, reimpose, or increase a bond may 

request a hearing, which shall be conducted in accordance with sections  

105–107 of this title, and appeals shall be governed by section 3115 of this 

chapter.   

(c)  The amount of the bonds as established in accordance with subsection 

(b) of this section shall be increased whenever the commissioner deems it 

necessary to protect the revenues of the state.  In addition Notwithstanding the 

limits established in subsection (b) of this section, if payments and reports are 

delinquent for more than 10 days for more than one reporting period in a 

calendar year, the bond amount shall be increased to be the sum of the tax 

liability for the highest four months of the year.  A distributor aggrieved by a 

decision of the Commissioner to increase the bond under this subsection may 

request a hearing, which shall be conducted in accordance with sections  

105–107 of this title, and appeals shall be governed by section 3115 of this 

chapter.   

* * * 

* * * Trails Maintenance Assessments * * * 

Sec. 22.  23 V.S.A. § 3202 is amended to read: 
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§ 3202.  REGISTRATION AND TMA DECAL REQUIRED; EXCEPTIONS 

(a)  Registration and decal required.  A person shall not operate a 

snowmobile in this State unless it is registered and numbered by the State of 

Vermont or another state or province and displays a valid Vermont trails 

maintenance assessment (―TMA‖) Trails Maintenance Assessment (TMA) 

decal adjacent to the registration decal on the left side of the snowmobile in 

accordance with this chapter, except when operated: 

(1)  on On the property of the owner of the snowmobile; or. 

(2)  off Off the highway, in a ski area while being used for the purpose of 

packing snow, or in rescue operations; or. 

(3)  for For official use by a federal, state State, or municipal agency and 

only if the snowmobile is identified with the name or seal of the agency in a 

manner approved by the Commissioner; or. 

(4)  solely Solely on privately owned land when the operator has the 

written consent of the owner, or his or her agent, of the property; or. 

(5)  on On frozen bodies of water as designated by the Agency of Natural 

Resources under the provisions of 10 V.S.A. § 2607.  For purposes of this 

subdivision, a snowmobile shall not be required to display a trails maintenance 

assessment TMA decal if not operating on a portion of the Statewide 

Snowmobile Trail System.  Liability insurance as provided for in subdivision 

3206(b)(19) of this title and a valid registration decal are required; or. 

(6)  for For emergency use by fire service personnel. 

(7)  By a person who possesses a completed TMA form processed 

electronically and either printed out or displayed on a portable electronic 

device.  The printed or electronic TMA form shall be valid for 10 days after 

the electronic transaction.  Use of a portable electronic device to display a 

completed TMA form does not in itself constitute consent for an enforcement 

officer to access other contents of the device. 

* * * 

* * * Allocation of Snowmobile Registration Proceeds * * * 

Sec. 23.  23 V.S.A. § 3214 is amended to read: 

§ 3214.  ALLOCATION OF FEES AND PENALTIES; LIABILITY 

   INSURANCE; AUTHORITY TO CONTRACT FOR LAW 

   ENFORCEMENT SERVICES 

(a)  The amount of $5.00 from the sale of every resident and nonresident 

snowmobile registration shall be allocated to the transportation fund 
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Transportation Fund.  The balance of fees and penalties collected under this 

subchapter, except interest, shall be remitted to the agency of natural resources 

Agency of Natural Resources, which may retain for its use up to $11,500.00 

during each fiscal year for the oversight of the state snowmobile trail program 

State Snowmobile Trail Program, and the remainder shall be allocated to 

VAST for: 

(1)  development Development and maintenance of the state snowmobile 

trail program State Snowmobile Trail Program (SSTP),. 

(2)  procuring Procuring trails’ liability insurance in accordance with 

subsection (b) of this section, and. 

(3)  contracting Contracting for law enforcement services with any 

constable, sheriff’s department, municipal police department, the department 

of public safety Department of Public Safety, and or the department of fish and 

wildlife for purposes of trail compliance pursuant to Department of Fish and 

Wildlife to ensure compliance with the provisions of this chapter.  The 

allocation for snowmobile law enforcement services shall be an amount equal 

to $5.00 from the sale of every resident and nonresident snowmobile 

registration, and.  If this allocation for law enforcement services is not fully 

expended, the unexpended amount carried forward may be used to purchase 

capital equipment to aid law enforcement in the provision of services.  VAST 

shall be included include proposed spending on law enforcement services and 

on capital equipment as a part of the annual expenditure plan required by 

section 3215 of this chapter.  The departments of public safety and fish and 

wildlife Departments of Public Safety and of Fish and Wildlife are authorized 

to contract with VAST to provide these law enforcement services. 

* * * 

(d)  Any fees and penalties allocated pursuant to subsection (a) of this 

section shall not revert but shall be available until spent.  Any accrued interest 

shall be deposited in the transportation fund Transportation Fund. 

* * * Commercial Motor Vehicles; Serious Traffic Violations * * * 

Sec. 24.  23 V.S.A. § 4103(16) is amended to read: 

(16)  ―Serious traffic violation‖ means a conviction, when operating a 

commercial motor vehicle, or, if applicable, when operating a noncommercial 

motor vehicle when the conviction results in the revocation, cancellation, or 

suspension of the operator’s license or operating privilege, of: 

* * * 

(J)  using a handheld mobile telephone while driving a commercial 

motor vehicle in violation of section 4125 of this chapter. 
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* * * Commercial Motor Vehicles; Disqualifications * * * 

Sec. 25.  23 V.S.A. § 4116(k) is amended to read: 

(k)  A person shall be disqualified for a term concurrent with any 

disqualification or suspension issued by the administrator of the Federal Motor 

Carrier Safety Administration pursuant to 49 C.F.R. § 383.52. 

* * * Vermont Strong Plates * * * 

Sec. 26.  2012 Acts and Resolves No. 71, Sec. 1, as amended by 2012 Acts and 

Resolves No. 143, Sec. 13, is amended to read: 

Sec. 1.  VERMONT STRONG MOTOR VEHICLE PLATES 

* * * 

(c)  Use.  An approved Vermont Strong commemorative plate may be 

displayed on a motor vehicle registered in Vermont as a pleasure car or on a 

motor truck registered in Vermont for less than 26,001 pounds (but excluding 

vehicles registered under the International Registration Plan) by covering the 

front registration plate with the commemorative plate any time from the 

effective date of this act until June 30, 2014 2016.  The regular front 

registration plate shall not be removed.  The regular rear registration plate shall 

be in place and clearly visible at all times. 

(d)  Price and allocation of revenue.  The retail price of the plate shall be 

$25.00, except that on or after July 1, 2016, plates may be sold by the 

Commissioner for $5.00.  Funds received from the sale of plates for $5.00 shall 

be allocated to the Department; funds received from the sale of the plates for 

$25.00 shall be allocated as follows: 

(1)  $5.00 to the department Department;  

(2)  $18.00 to the Vermont Disaster Relief Fund; and 

(3)  $2.00 to the Vermont Foodbank. 

* * * 

* * * Nonresident Registration; Repeals * * * 

Sec. 27.  REPEAL 

The following sections of Title 23 are repealed: 

(1)  § 417 (motor truck trip permits); 

(2)  § 418 (collection of tax; regulations); 

(3)  § 419 (reciprocal agreements for waiver of motor truck permit fees); 

(4)  § 422 (motor bus identification marker). 
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Sec. 28.  23 V.S.A. § 421 is amended to read: 

§ 421.  PENALTIES 

(a)  It shall be unlawful for any person: 

(1)  to operate a motor truck subject to the provisions of this chapter 

upon any public highway in the state State without first obtaining the license, 

emergency telegram, or single trip license and tag, plate, or marker required 

under section 415 of this title or to so operate without carrying the license, 

emergency telegram or single trip license and displaying the tag, plate, or 

marker if issued; 

(2)  to violate any regulation issued by the commissioner pursuant to the 

authority granted hereunder;  [Repealed.] 

(3)  to fail to file any return or report required by said commissioner the 

Commissioner; or 

(4)  to make a false return or fail to keep records of operations as may be 

required by the commissioner; or 

(5)  to operate a motor bus subject to the provisions of this chapter upon 

any public highway in the state without first obtaining the marker or single trip 

permit required under section 422 of this title or to so operate without 

displaying said marker or without the single trip permit with the vehicle 

Commissioner. 

* * * 

* * * Dealer Plates * * * 

Sec. 29.  23 V.S.A. § 453 is amended to read: 

§ 453.  FEES AND NUMBER PLATES 

(a)(1)  An application for dealer’s registration shall be accompanied by a fee 

of $370.00 for each certificate issued in such dealer’s name.  The 

Commissioner shall furnish free of charge with each dealer’s registration 

certificate five sets of three number plates showing the distinguishing number 

assigned such dealer.  In his or her discretion, he or she The Commissioner 

may furnish further sets of additional plates at a fee of $40.00 per set according 

to the volume of the dealer’s sales in the prior year or, in the case of an initial 

registration, according to the dealer’s reasonable estimate of expected sales, as 

follows: 

(A)  under 20 sales:  0 additional plates; 

(B)  20–49 sales:  1 additional plate; 

(C)  50–99 sales:  up to 5 additional plates; 
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(D)  100–249 sales:  up to 12 additional plates; 

(E)  250–499 sales:  up to 17 additional plates; 

(F)  500–749 sales:  up to 27 additional plates; 

(G)  750–999 sales:  up to 37 additional plates; 

(H)  1,000–1,499 sales:  up to 47 additional plates; 

(I)  1,500 or more:  up to 57 additional plates. 

(2)  If the issuance of additional plates is authorized under subdivision 

(1) of this subsection, up to two plates shall be provided free of charge, and the 

Commissioner shall collect $40.00 for each additional plate thereafter. 

Sec. 30.  TRANSITION PROVISION; DEALER PLATES 

The Commissioner may enforce compliance with Sec. 29 of this act on a 

rolling basis as dealer registrations expire over the 24-month period following 

the effective date of Sec. 29 of this act.  Over this 24-month period, upon 

receiving the renewal application of a dealer who has been issued plates in 

excess of the limits established in 23 V.S.A. § 453(a)(1), the Commissioner 

shall require the dealer to return plates that exceed the limits established in 

23 V.S.A. § 453(a)(1). 

Sec. 31.  MORATORIUM ON ISSUANCE OF DEALER PLATES; REPEAL 

(a)  Except for replacement of damaged dealer plates, no dealer registration 

plates may be issued under 23 V.S.A. § 453(a) to an existing dealer in addition 

to the number of plates already issued to that dealer, unless the dealer would be 

eligible for additional plates under 23 V.S.A. § 453(a) as amended by Sec. 29 

of this act. 

(b)  This section shall be repealed on July 1, 2014.   

Sec. 32.  STUDY OF USE OF DEALER PLATES ON TOWING VEHICLES 

(a)  The Commissioner of Motor Vehicles shall study the use of dealer 

plates on towing service vehicles and formulate recommendations as to 

whether the existing law authorizing such use should be repealed, amended, or 

retained in its existing form.  In conducting this study, the Commissioner shall 

review the laws of other jurisdictions and consult with interested persons, 

including a cross-section of dealers.   

(b)  On or before January 15, 2015, the Commissioner shall report his or her 

findings and recommendations to the House and Senate Committees on 

Transportation.    

* * * Recognition of Licenses Issued by Foreign Jurisdictions * * * 
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Sec. 33.  23 V.S.A. § 601(a)–(c) are amended to read: 

(a)(1)  A resident who intends to operate motor vehicles shall procure a 

proper license  Except as otherwise provided by law, a resident shall not 

operate a motor vehicle on a highway in Vermont unless he or she holds a 

valid license issued by the State of Vermont.  A new resident who has moved 

into the State from another jurisdiction with and who holds a valid license to 

operate motor vehicles under section 411 of this title shall procure a Vermont 

license within 60 days of moving into to the State.  Operators’  Except as 

provided in subsection 603(d) of this title, licenses shall not be issued to 

nonresidents.   

(2)  In addition to any other requirement of law, a nonresident as defined 

in section 4 of this title shall not operate a motor vehicle on a Vermont 

highway unless: 

(A)  he or she holds a valid license or permit to operate a motor 

vehicle issued by another U.S. jurisdiction; or 

(B)  he or she holds a valid  license or permit to operate a motor 

vehicle from a jurisdiction outside the United States and: 

(i)  is 18 or more years of age, is lawfully present in the United 

States, and has been in the United States for less than one year; 

(ii)  the jurisdiction that issued the license is a party to the 1949 

Convention on Road Traffic or the 1943 Convention on the Regulation of 

Inter-American Motor Vehicle Traffic; and 

(iii)  he or she possesses an international driving permit. 

(b)  All operator licenses issued under this chapter shall expire every four 

years at midnight on the eve of the second or fourth anniversary of the date of 

birth of the applicant at the end of the term for which following the date they 

were issued.  All junior operator licenses shall expire at midnight on the eve of 

the second anniversary of the date of birth of the applicant at the end of the 

term for which following the date they were issued.  A person born on 

February 29 shall, for the purposes of this section, be considered as born on 

March 1.  

(b)(c)  The Commissioner shall, at At least 30 days before the birth 

anniversary of each operator licenseholder on which the a license is scheduled 

to expire and biennially for each junior operator licenseholder, the 

Commissioner shall mail first class, to the licensee an application for renewal 

of the license.  A person shall not operate a motor vehicle unless properly 

licensed. 

(c)  Notwithstanding the provisions of this section, a licensee may request a 
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two-year license renewal. 

* * * Autocycles * * * 

Sec. 34.  23 V.S.A. § 4(18) is amended to read: 

(18)(A)  ―Motorcycle‖ shall mean any motor driven vehicle having a seat 

or saddle for the use of the rider and designed to travel on not more than three 

wheels in contact with the ground, and shall include autocycles but excluding  

exclude motor-driven cycles, golf carts, track driven vehicles, tractors, and 

electric personal assistive mobility devices, and vehicles on which the operator 

and passengers ride within an enclosed cab, except that a vehicle which is fully 

enclosed, has three wheels in contact with the ground, weighs less than 1,500 

pounds, has the capacity to maintain posted highway speed limits, and which 

uses electricity as its primary motive power shall be registered as a motorcycle 

but the operator of such vehicle shall not be required to have a motorcycle 

endorsement nor to comply with the provisions of section 1256 of this title 

(motorcycles-headgear) in the operation of such a vehicle. 

(B)  ―Autocycle‖ means a three-wheeled motorcycle: 

(i)  in which the occupants sit with their legs forward; 

(ii)  designed to be controlled with a steering wheel and 

pedals; and 

(iii)  equipped with safety belts for all occupants. 

(C)  ―Fully enclosed autocycle‖ means an autocycle equipped with a 

windshield and that has full top and side enclosures capable of supporting the 

vehicle’s weight and protecting the occupants when the vehicle is resting on 

the enclosures. 

Sec. 35.  23 V.S.A. § 601(f) is added to read: 

(f)  Operators of autocycles shall be exempt from the requirements to obtain 

a motorcycle learner’s permit or a motorcycle endorsement. 

Sec. 36.  23 V.S.A. § 1114(b) is amended to read: 

(b)  A person shall ride upon a motorcycle or motor-driven cycle only while 

sitting astride the seat, facing forward, with one leg on each side of the 

motorcycle or motor-driven cycle.  The requirement of this subsection shall not 

apply to occupants of autocycles or of side-cars. 

Sec. 37.  23 V.S.A. § 1256 is amended to read: 

§ 1256.  MOTORCYCLES—HEADGEAR 

A person may not operate or ride upon a motorcycle upon a highway unless 
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he or she properly wears protective headgear of a type that conforms to the 

federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards contained in 49 C.F.R. § 571.218 and 

any amendment or addition to the regulations that may be adopted by the U.S. 

Secretary of Transportation, as may be amended.  The requirement of this 

section shall not apply to occupants of fully enclosed autocycles. 

* * * Inspection Mechanics * * * 

Sec. 38.  23 V.S.A. § 1227 is amended to read: 

§ 1227.  CERTIFIED INSPECTION MECHANICS 

(a)  Periodic inspections may be performed only by mechanics who have 

been certified by the commissioner Commissioner; provided that an uncertified 

person employed as an inspection mechanic may perform inspections during 

the first 30 days that he or she is employed by the inspection station. 

(b)  A person who applies for certification under this section shall:  

(1)  complete an application form prescribed by the commissioner, shall 

Commissioner;  

(2)  be at least 18 years of age, and shall; and  

(3)  pass an examination based on the official inspection manual for each 

type of vehicle to be inspected. 

(c)  Applicants for certification under this section shall be examined and on 

the inspection requirements for each type of vehicle to be inspected.   

(c)  Upon satisfactory completion of the examination, the commissioner an 

applicant’s satisfaction of the requirements of subsection (b) of this section, the 

Commissioner shall issue a certification which shall remain in effect for a 

period of five years or until surrendered, suspended, or revoked.  Inspection 

mechanics certified by their employer as competent to perform inspections and 

who were continuously employed by one or more designated inspection 

stations for a period of at least one year at any time prior to July 1, 1998 shall 

not be required to take the examination. 

(d)  To inspect a school bus, a certified inspection mechanic shall not be 

required to have a commercial driver license if he or she: 

(1)  uses approved automated brake testing equipment in lieu of an 

inspection road test; or 

(2)  only operates the school bus at a safe location that is not a highway 

as defined in 19 V.S.A. § 1(12) as necessary to conduct an inspection road test. 

* * * Effective Dates * * * 
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Sec. 39.  EFFECTIVE DATES 

(a)  This section, Sec. 10 (credits for and substitution of privilege cards), 

and Sec. 31 (moratorium on issuance of dealer plates) shall take effect on 

passage. 

(b)  Sec. 11 shall take effect on January 1, 2015.  The obligation to provide 

proof of insurance shall apply to all policies delivered, issued for delivery, or 

renewed in this State on or after January 1, 2015.  The obligation to provide 

notice of cancellation or nonrenewal shall apply to all cancellations or 

nonrenewals on or after January 1, 2015.   

(c)  All other sections shall take effect on July 1, 2014.  

(Committee vote: 11-0-0 ) 

(For text see Senate Journal March 18 and 19, 2014 ) 

Favorable 

H. 878 

An act relating to prevailing wages. 

(Rep. Moran of Wardsboro will speak for the Committee on General, 

Housing and Military Affairs.) 

Rep. Keenan of St. Albans City, for the Committee on Appropriations, 

recommends the bill ought to pass when amended as recommended by the 

Committee on General, Housing and Military Affairs. 

(Committee Vote: 7-4-0) 

Amendment to be offered by Reps. Emmons of Springfield, Davis of 

Washington, Hooper of Montpelier, Larocque of Barnet, Lenes of 

Shelburne, Macaig of Williston, Myers of Essex, Shaw of Pittsford, and 

South of St. Johnsbury to H. 878 

First:  By adding a new Sec. 2 to read as follows: 

Sec. 2.  STATE CONSTRUCTION PROJECTS; CONTRACTS SUBJECT  

             TO STATE PREVAILING WAGE 

(a)  It is the intent of the General Assembly that the transition to the use of 

the prevailing wage determinations as have been made by the Secretary of the 

U.S. Department of Labor in accordance with the Davis-Bacon Act, 40 U.S.C. 

§ 276a, as may be amended, in State construction projects shall not change the 

scope of State construction projects that are subject to the requirements of 29 

V.S.A. § 161(b).   
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(b)  Notwithstanding Sec. 1 of this act, the following contracts shall remain 

subject to the mean prevailing wage published periodically by the Vermont 

Department of Labor in its occupational employment and wage survey: 

(1)  contracts for State construction projects executed prior to July 1, 

2015; 

(2)  any change orders or amendments to contracts for State construction 

projects executed prior to July 1, 2015; and 

(3)  contracts for State construction projects that result from instructions 

to bidders posted by the State of Vermont prior to July 1, 2015.      

Second:  By adding a Sec. 3 to read as follows: 

Sec. 3.  PREVAILING WAGE; UNIVERSITY OF VERMONT AND 

VERMONT STATE COLLEGES 

The University of Vermont and State Agricultural College and the Vermont 

State Colleges shall pay no less than the prevailing wage determinations as 

have been made by the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Labor in 

accordance with the Davis-Bacon Act, 40 U.S.C. § 276a, as may be amended, 

for any new construction or major renovation project that receives funding in 

any capital construction act.   

and by renumbering the remaining section to be numerically correct.  

H. 886 

An act relating to approval of the adoption and the codification of the 

charter of the Town of Panton 

Rep. Mook of Bennington, for the Committee on Government 

Operations, recommends the bill ought to pass. 

( Committee Vote: 11-0-0) 

H. 890 

An act relating to approval of amendments to the charter of the City of 

Burlington regarding the redistricting of City election areas 

Rep. Cole of Burlington, for the Committee on Government Operations, 

recommends the bill ought to pass. 

( Committee Vote: 10-1-0) 

H.R. 18 

House resolution relating to passenger rail service to Montreal 

Rep. Bissonnette of Winooski, for the Committee on Transportation, 

recommends the bill ought to pass. 

( Committee Vote: 10-0-1) 
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H.R. 19 

House resolution relating to intercity passenger rail connecting New York 

to the Western Corridor of Vermont 

Rep. Bissonnette of Winooski, for the Committee on Transportation, 

recommends the bill ought to pass. 

( Committee Vote: 10-0-1) 

H.R. 20 

House resolution relating to support of Agency of Transportation’s TIGER 

grant application for Western Corridor rail improvements 

Rep. Bissonnette of Winooski, for the Committee on Transportation, 

recommends the bill ought to pass. 

( Committee Vote: 10-0-1) 

Senate Proposal of Amendment 

H. 543 

An act relating to records and reports of the Auditor of Accounts 

The Senate proposes to the House to amend the bill as follows: 

First:  By striking Sec. 1 in its entirety and inserting in lieu thereof: 

Sec. 1.  REPEAL 

2012 Acts and Resolves No. 155, Sec. 24 (auditor website; audit findings) is 

repealed.  

Second:  In Sec. 2, 32 V.S.A. § 163, by striking subdivision (3) in its 

entirety and inserting in lieu thereof a new subdivision (3) to read: 

(3)  [Repealed.]  (A)  Prominently post and retain on his or her official 

State website, and update at least annually on or before July 1, the following 

information: 

(i)  All reports with findings that result from audits conducted 

under subdivision (1) of this section. 

(ii)  A summary of significant recommendations contained in audit 

reports issued since January 1, 2012 arising from audits conducted under 

subdivision (1) of this section, and the dates on which corrective actions were 

taken related to those recommendations. 

(iii)  A summary of all embezzlement convictions, and false claim 

convictions as described in 13 V.S.A. § 3016, against any agency or 

department of the State, since July 1, 2007.  The summary shall include the 
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names of all persons convicted of those offenses.    

    (B)  Follow up on recommendations described in subdivision (A)(ii) 

of this subdivision (3) at least biennially and for at least four years from the 

date of the audit report.  

(For text see House Journal No House Amendments ) 

NOTICE CALENDAR 

Favorable 

H. 887 

An act relating to approval of the adoption and the codification of the 

charter of the Town of East Montpelier 

Rep. Devereux of Mount Holly, for the Committee on Government 

Operations, recommends the bill ought to pass. 

( Committee Vote: 11-0-0) 

S. 223 

An act relating to regulating the making of pension loans 

Rep. Cross of Winooski, for the Committee on Commerce and Economic 

Development, recommends that the bill ought to pass in concurrence. 

(Committee Vote: 10-0-1) 

Senate Proposal of Amendment 

H. 799 

An act relating to the importation of firewood 

The Senate proposes to the House to amend the bill as follows: 

First:  In Sec. 1, in 10 V.S.A. § 2681, by inserting a subsection (c) to read: 

(c)  Penalties.  Any person who violates a provision of this subchapter or the 

rules adopted under this subchapter shall be subject to a civil citation under 

section 8019 of this title. 

Second:  By striking out Sec. 2 in its entirety and inserting in lieu thereof 3 

new sections to be Secs. 2, 3, and 4 to read: 

Sec. 2.  10 V.S.A. § 8003 is amended to read: 

§ 8003. APPLICABILITY 

(a)  The Secretary may take action under this chapter to enforce the 

following statutes and rules, permits, assurances, or orders implementing the 
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following statutes: 

* * * 

(17)  10 V.S.A. § 2625, relating to heavy cutting of timber; 

* * * 

(22)  10 V.S.A. chapter 164A, collection and disposal of 

mercury-containing lamps; and 

(23)  24 V.S.A. § 2202a, relating to a municipality’s adoption and 

implementation of a solid waste implementation plan that is consistent with the 

State Solid Waste Plan; and 

(24)  10 V.S.A. chapter 83, subchapter 8, relating to the importation of 

firewood. 

* * * 

Sec. 3.  10 V.S.A. § 8503 is amended to read: 

§ 8503. APPLICABILITY 

(a)  This chapter shall govern all appeals of an act or decision of the 

Secretary, excluding enforcement actions under chapters 201 and 211 of this 

title and rulemaking, under the following authorities and under the rules 

adopted under those authorities: 

(1)  The following provisions of this title: 

* * * 

(L)  section 2625 (regulation of heavy cutting). 

* * * 

(R)  chapter 32 (flood hazard areas). 

(S)  chapter 83, subchapter 8 (importation of firewood). 

(2)  29 V.S.A. chapter 11 (management of lakes and ponds). 

(3)  24 V.S.A. chapter 61, subchapter 10 (relating to salvage yards). 

* * * 

Sec. 4.  EFFECTIVE DATE 

This act shall take effect on July 1, 2014.  

(For text see House Journal 3/11/2014 & 3/13/2014 ) 

Public Hearings 

April 9 2014 - Room 11 - 5:00pm-7:00 pm - H.883 - Expanded Pre K-Grade 

12 School Districts - House Ways and Means and Education Committees 
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Information Notice 

 On Wednesday, April 9, 2014 beginning at 9:30 am, the Senate 

Appropriations Committee will be taking testimony from advocates regarding 

the Fiscal Year 2015 Budget (H.885) in Room 10 of the State House.  To 

schedule time before the Committee contact Becky Buck at the Legislative 

Joint Fiscal Office located at 1 Baldwin Street (phone:  828-5969). 

Joint Assembly 

Thursday, April 10, 2014 - 10:30 A.M. - Election of one (1) successor 

legislative Trustee of the University of Vermont and State Agricultural 

College. 

Candidates for the position of trustee must notify the Secretary of State in 

writing not later than Thursday, April 3, 2014, by 5:00 P.M. pursuant to the 

provisions of 2 V.S.A. § 12(b). Otherwise their names will not appear on the 

ballots for this position. 

The following rules shall apply to the conduct of these elections: 

First: All nominations for these offices will be presented in alphabetical order 

prior to voting. 

Second: There will be only one nominating speech of not more than three (3) 

minutes and not more than two seconding speeches of not more than one (1) 

minute each for each nominee. 

 

 


