Journal of the Joint Assembly

IN JOINT ASSEMBLY, JANUARY 6, 2011 10:00 A.M.

The Senate and the House of Representatives met in the Hall of the House of Representatives pursuant to a Joint Resolution which was read by the Clerk and is as follows:

By Senator White,

J.R.S. 3. Joint resolution to provide for a Joint Assembly to receive the report of the committee appointed to canvass votes for state officers.

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the two Houses meet in Joint Assembly on Thursday, January 6, 2011, at ten o'clock in the forenoon to receive the report of the Joint Canvassing Committee appointed to canvass votes for Governor, Lieutenant Governor, State Treasurer, Secretary of State, Auditor of Accounts and Attorney General, and if it shall be declared by said Committee that there had been no election by the freemen and freewomen of any of said state officers, then to proceed forthwith to elect such officers as have not been elected by the freemen and freewomen.

Presiding Officer

Senator Campbell, President *pro tempore* of the Senate, in the Chair.

Clerk

John H. Bloomer, Jr., Secretary of the Senate, Clerk.

Report of the Joint Canvassing Committee

Senator White, Co-Chair, then presented the report of the Joint Canvassing Committee, which was as follows:

The Joint Canvassing Committee appointed to canvass the votes for Governor, Lieutenant Governor, State Treasurer, Secretary of State, Auditor of Accounts, and Attorney General respectfully reports:

That having been duly sworn, it has attended to the duties of its trust and finds the number of votes to have been:

For GOVERNOR	241,605
Necessary for a choice	120,803
Brian E. Dubie, Republican, had	115,212
Cris Ericson, United States Marijuana, had	1,819
Dan Feliciano, Independent, had	1,341
Ben Mitchell, Liberty Union, had	429
Em Peyton, Independent, had	684
Peter E. Shumlin, Democrat/Working Families, had	119,543
Dennis Steele, Independent, had	1,917
Scattering	660

And agreeable to the Constitutional provisions, it hereby declares that no person has received the major part of the votes cast for Governor, and that there is no election for Governor by the voters.

For LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR	235,330
Necessary for a choice	117,666
Peter Garritano, Independent, had	8,627
Steven J. Howard, Democrat, had	99,843
Marjorie Power, Progressive, had	8,287
Philip B. Scott, Republican, had	116,198
Boots Wardinski, Liberty Union, had	2,228
Scattering	

And agreeable to the Constitutional provisions, it hereby declares that no person has received the major part of the votes cast for Governor, and that there is no election for Governor by the voters.

For TREASURER	226,704
Necessary for a choice	113,353
Murray Ngoima, Liberty Union, had	4,832
Don Schramm, Progressive, had	17,332
George B. "Jeb" Spaulding, Democrat/Republican h	ad 204,048
Scattering	492
Majority for George B. "Jeb" Spaulding	

Pursuant to the Constitution of the State of Vermont, the Committee hereby declares that

GEORGE B. "JEB" SPAULDING

received a major part of the votes, and therefore was elected Treasurer of the State of Vermont for the two years next ensuing.

For SECRETARY OF STATE	229,280
Plurality, not a major part of the vote, is required	
James C. Condos, Democrat, had	122,599
Jason Gibbs, Republican, had	101,144
Leslie Marmorale, Liberty Union, had	5,315
Scattering	222

Pursuant to the Constitution of the State of Vermont, the Committee hereby declares that

JAMES C. CONDOS

received a greater number of the votes, and therefore was elected Secretary of State of the State of Vermont for the two years next ensuing.

For AUDITOR OF ACCOUNTS	231,221
Plurality, not a major part of the vote, is required	
Doug Hoffer, Democrat/Progressive, had	105,081
Jerry Levy, Liberty Union, had	5,736
Thomas M. Salmon, Republican, had	120,237
Scattering	167

Pursuant to the Constitution of the State of Vermont, the Committee hereby declares that

THOMAS M. SALMON

received a greater number of the votes, and therefore was elected Auditor of Accounts of the State of Vermont for the two years next ensuing.

For ATTORNEY GENERAL	230,973
Plurality, not a major part of the vote, is required	
Charlotte Dennett, Progressive, had	10,158
Rosemarie Jackowski, Liberty Union, had	3,576
Karen Kerin, Libertarian, had	6,171
William H. Sorrell, Democratic, had	143,031
Aaron Michael Toscano, Republican, had	67,900
Scattering	137

Pursuant to 3 V.S.A. §151, the Committee hereby declares that

WILLIAM H. SORRELL

received a greater number of the votes, and therefore was elected Attorney General of the State of Vermont for the two years next ensuing.

JEANETTE K. WHITE

Chair of the Joint Canvassing Committee on the part of the Senate

FLOYD W. NEASE

Chair of the Joint Canvassing Committee on the part of the House

Report of the Joint Canvassing Committee Adopted

Upon motion of Representative Nease, Co-Chair, the report of the Joint Canvassing Committee was adopted.

Statement By Presiding Officer

The report of the Joint Canvassing Committee which was just adopted by this Joint Assembly declares that no person was elected to the Office of Governor or to the Office of Lieutenant Governor, since a majority vote was not attained as required by the Vermont Constitution.

Pursuant to the provisions of the Joint Resolution which set up this Joint Assembly (JRS-3) and the provisions of the Vermont Constitution, we will now proceed to the election of a Governor and a Lieutenant Governor.

Under the provisions of the Constitution, chapter II, section 47, the voting for these offices is to be done separately by joint ballot of this Assembly, from the *three* candidates for each office who received the greater numbers of votes for that particular office.

Accordingly, for the office of Governor you must choose among:

Brian E. Dubie (Republican Party)
Peter E. Shumlin (Democratic Party)
Dennis Steele (Independent)

Paper ballots containing these three names have been prepared by the Secretary of State for election of the Governor.

And for the office of Lieutenant Governor you must choose among:

Peter Garritano (Independent Party) Steven J. Howard (Democratic Party) Philip B. Scott (Republican Party)

Paper ballots containing these three names have been prepared by the Secretary of State for election of the Lieutenant Governor.

Tellers Appointed

The Chair appointed the following tellers for the distribution and counting of the ballots:

Senator Jeanette K. White, of Windham District, as chief teller Senator Robert M. Hartwell, of Bennington District Senator Margaret K. Flory, of Rutland District Representative Diane Lanpher, of Vergennes Representative Howard Crawford, of East Burke Representative Chris Pearson, of Burlington Representative Linda Martin, of Wolcott

Results of Balloting for Governor

The ballots were taken and counted, and the result of the balloting for Governor was as follows:

Total votes cast	173
Necessary for election	87
Brian E. Dubie	
Peter E. Shumlin	145
Dennis Steele	

Whereupon, the Chair declared that

PETER E. SHUMLIN, of Putney

having received a majority of the total votes cast was duly elected to the office of Governor for the two years next ensuing.

Results of Balloting for Lieutenant Governor

The ballots were taken and counted, and the result of the balloting for Lieutenant Governor was as follows:

Total votes cast	
Necessary for election	
Peter Garritano1	
Steven J. Howard22	
Philip B. Scott	

Whereupon, the Chair declared that

PHILIP B. SCOTT, of Berlin

having received a majority of the total votes cast was duly elected to the office of Lieutenant Governor for the two years next ensuing.

Dissolution

Thereupon, the President declared that the Joint Assembly was dissolved.

JOHN H. BLOOMER Secretary of the Senate Clerk of the Joint Assembly