No. R-418. House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2011 Fair Haven Union High School Slaters Division II championship football team.

(H.C.R.220)

Offered by: Representatives Canfield of Fair Haven, Helm of Fair Haven, Buxton of Tunbridge, McNeil of Rutland Town and Stevens of Shoreham

Offered by: Senators Ayer, Carris, Flory, Giard and Mullin

Whereas, the 2011 Division II football championship game played at

Castleton State College was a high-scoring game featuring the third-seeded

Fair Haven Union High School Slaters and the fourth-seeded Bulldogs of Burr and Burton Academy, and

Whereas, the Slaters' offensive prowess was especially on display in this exciting capstone to their 2011 football season as they rushed on the ground for 320 yards and gained a total offensive yardage of 506, and

Whereas, these impressive statistics were hardly evident as the Bulldogs held a 14–8 lead in the opening moments of the second quarter, but shortly thereafter, the Slaters evened the score, and

Whereas, then a Slater recovered a Burr and Burton fumble, threw it for a long pass that briefly passed through the fingers of a Bulldog but that a second Slater captured who then ran 65 yards to score a touchdown to give Fair Haven the lead which it retained for the balance of the game, and

Whereas, to assure their triumph, the Slaters then commenced an uninterrupted 28–0 scoring campaign, including an impressive 71-yard touchdown featuring a screen pass, and

No. R-418 Page 2

Whereas, although the Bulldogs did resume scoring, the Slaters' commanding lead proved insurmountable as Fair Haven won the game 57–34, claiming its first Division II football championship in a decade, and

Whereas, every player on the team, including Dakota Euber, Austin Amery, Levi Ellis, Andrew Reid, Forest Maynard, Jacob Alexander, Robert Coloutti, Nate Bowen, Justin Maynard, Matt Briere, Derick Hernandez, Nick Brooks, Jarrett McMahon, Alex Fontaine, Lukas Kreitchner, Cameron Hughes, Nick Hill, Michael LaPlaca, Dylan Welch, Cody Bradish, Dillon Young, Mack Tomasi, Tyler Gammell, Steve Marcoux, Mike Scott, Greg Pritchard, Justin Colomb, Brian Buehler, Neil Hier, Luke Joyal, Daniel Pelkey, Cody Begnoche, Pierce Manley, Parker Lamoureux, and Ian Misencik, was enthusiastic as were Head Coach Ryan Audet; assistant coaches Matt Kent, Keith Alexander, Jamie Matta, Sam Cummings, Chris Halnon, DJ Perry, and Adam Perry; student liaison Katherine Pouliot; team managers Cole Tupper and Dylan Ellis; athletic trainers Mike Finnegan, Tarryn Bolognani, and Sean Leggett; and videographer John Alexander, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

resolution to Fair Haven Union High School.

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2011 Fair Haven Union High School Slaters Division II championship football team, and be it further Resolved: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this