# JOURNAL OF THE JOINT ASSEMBLY of the STATE OF VERMONT BIENNIAL SESSION, 2009

# IN JOINT ASSEMBLY, JANUARY 8, 2009

### 10:00 A.M.

The Senate and the House of Representatives met in the Hall of the House of Representatives pursuant to a Joint Resolution which was read by the Clerk and is as follows:

**J.R.S. 2.** Joint resolution to provide for a Joint Assembly to receive the report of the committee appointed to canvass votes for state officers.

### Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the two Houses meet in Joint Assembly on Thursday, January 8, 2009, at ten o'clock in the forenoon to receive the report of the Joint Canvassing Committee appointed to canvass votes for Governor, Lieutenant Governor, State Treasurer, Secretary of State, Auditor of Accounts and Attorney General, and if it shall be declared by said Committee that there had been no election by the freemen of any of said state officers, then to proceed forthwith to elect such officers as have not been elected by the freemen.

### **Presiding Officer**

Honorable Brian E. Dubie, President of the Senate, in the Chair.

### Clerk

David A. Gibson, Secretary of the Senate, Clerk.

### **Report of the Joint Canvassing Committee**

Senator White, Co-Chair, then presented the report of the Joint Canvassing Committee, which was as follows:

The Joint Canvassing Committee appointed to canvass the votes for Governor, Lieutenant Governor, State Treasurer, Secretary of State, Auditor of Accounts, and Attorney General respectfully reports:

That having been duly sworn, it has attended to the duties of its trust and finds the number of votes to have been:

| For GOVERNOR                                | 319,085 |
|---|---------|
| Necessary to have a major part of the votes | 159,543 |
| Peter Diamondstone, Liberty Union           | 1,710   |
| James H. Douglas, Republican                | 170,492 |
| Cris Ericson, Independent                   | 1,704   |
| Tony O'Connor, Cheap Renewable Energy       | 3,106   |
| Anthony Pollina, Indpendent                 | 69,791  |
| Gaye Symington, Democratic                  | 69,534  |
| Sam Young, Independent                      | 2,490   |
| Scattering (write-in votes)                 | 258     |
| Majority for James H. Douglas               | 10,949  |

Pursuant to the Constitution of the State of Vermont, the Committee hereby declares that

### JAMES H. DOUGLAS

received a major part of the votes, and therefore was elected Governor of the State of Vermont for the two years next ensuing.

| For LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR                     | 311,792 |
|---|---------|
| Necessary to have a major part of the votes | 155,897 |
| Thomas W. Costello, Democratic              | 121,953 |
| Brian E. Dubie, Republican                  | 171,744 |
| Richard Kemp, Progressive                   | 14,249  |
| Ben Mitchell, Liberty Union                 | 3,639   |
| Scattering (write-in votes)                 | 207     |
| Majority for Brian E. Dubie                 | 15,847  |

Pursuant to the Constitution of the State of Vermont, the Committee hereby declares that

### **BRIAN E. DUBIE**

received a major part of the votes, and therefore was elected Lieutenant Governor of the State of Vermont for the two years next ensuing.

| For STATE TREASURER                              | 297,078 |
|--|---------|
| Necessary to have a major part of the votes      | 148,540 |
| Murray Ngoima, Liberty Union                     | 6,423   |
| Don Schramm, Progressive                         | 22,811  |
| George B. "Jeb" Spaulding, Democratic/Republican | 267,338 |
| Scattering (write-in votes)                      | 506     |
| Majority for George B. "Jeb" Spaulding           | 118,798 |

Pursuant to the Constitution of the State of Vermont, the Committee hereby declares that

### GEORGE B. "JEB" SPAULDING

received a major part of the votes, and therefore was elected Treasurer of the State of Vermont for the two years next ensuing.

| For SECRETARY OF STATE                               | 302,223 |
|--|---------|
| Plurality, not a major part of the vote, is required |         |
| Eugene J. Bifano, Repbulican                         | 70,114  |
| Deborah Markowitz, Democratic                        | 214,197 |
| Leslie Marmorale, Liberty Union                      | 3,871   |
| Marjorie Power, Progressive                          | 13,856  |
| Scattering (write-in votes)                          | 185     |

Pursuant to the Constitution of the State of Vermont, the Committee hereby declares that

### **DEBORAH MARKOWITZ**

received the greatest number of the votes, and therefore was elected Secretary of State of the State of Vermont for the two years next ensuing.

| For AUDITOR OF ACCOUNTS                              | 288,581 |
|--|---------|
| Plurality, not a major part of the vote, is required |         |
| Martha Abbott, Progressive                           | 35,232  |
| Jerry Levy, Liberty Union                            | 10,788  |
| Thomas M. Salmon, Democratic                         | 241,825 |
| Scattering (write-in votes)                          | 736     |

Pursuant to the Constitution of the State of Vermont, the Committee hereby declares that

### THOMAS M. SALMON

received the greatest number of the votes, and therefore was elected Auditor of Accounts of the State of Vermont for the two years next ensuing.

| For ATTORNEY GENERAL                                 | 296,027 |
|--|---------|
| Plurality, not a major part of the vote, is required |         |
| Charlotte Dennett, Progressive                       | 17,730  |
| Rosemarie Jackowski, Liberty Union                   | 7,505   |
| Karen Kerin, Republican/Libertarian                  | 55,268  |
| William H. Sorrell, Democratic                       | 214,980 |
| Scattering (write-in votes)                          | 544     |

Pursuant to 3 V.S.A. §151, the Committee hereby declares that

### WILLIAM H. SORRELL

received the greatest number of the votes, and therefore was elected Attorney General of the State of Vermont for the two years next ensuing.

All of which is respectfully submitted.

### JEANETTE K. WHITE

Chair of the Joint Canvassing Committee on the part of the Senate

## JOHN W. MALCOLM

Chair of the Joint Canvassing Committee on the part of the House

### Report of the Joint Canvassing Committee Adopted

Upon motion of Representative Malcolm, Co-Chair, the report of the Joint Canvassing Committee was adopted.

### **Dissolution**

Thereupon, the President declared that the Joint Assembly was dissolved.

DAVID A. GIBSON Secretary of the Senate Clerk of the Joint Assembly