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ORDERS OF THE DAY

ACTION CALENDAR

CONSIDERATION POSTPONED

House Proposal of Amendment

S. 77.

An act relating to the disposal of electronic waste.

Pending Question: Shall the Senate concur in the House proposal of
amendment with a further proposal of amendment as moved by Senator
Lyons?

(For text of proposal see Senate Journal of March 17, 2010, page 257)

UNFINISHED BUSINESS OF WEDNESDAY, MARCH 17, 2010

Second Reading

Favorable with Recommendation of Amendment

S. 103.

An act relating to ignition interlock drivers’ licenses.

Reported favorably with recommendation of amendment by Senator
Kitchel for the Committee on Transportation.

The Committee recommends that the bill be amended by striking out all
after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. LEGISLATIVE INTENT

It is the intent of the general assembly to require the commissioner of motor
vehicles to conduct an in-depth study of the most effective and efficient
mechanisms for promoting the use of ignition interlock devices or other
devices that prevent impaired driving and implementing legislation related to
such devices in Vermont. The commissioner also is directed to formulate
recommended legislation by January 15, 2011, to advance the general
assembly’s goal to pass ignition interlock legislation.

Sec. 2. LEGISLATIVE FINDINGS

The general assembly finds that:

(1) In 2008, nearly 12,000 people were killed in crashes attributed to
alcohol-impaired driving, which accounted for 32 percent of all traffic fatalities
in the United States. Impaired driving is a significant public safety concern.
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(2) As a tool to combat impaired driving, 47 states have laws concerning
the use of ignition interlock devices. Ignition interlock devices are installed in
motor vehicles to prevent them from being started unless the operator blows
into the device and the device detects that the operator’s alcohol concentration
is below a pre-set limit. Devices may be programmed to require periodic
retesting while the car is running. About 146,000 ignition interlock devices
currently are in use in the United States.

(3) Vermont is one of just three states that has not enacted ignition
interlock legislation.

(4) Research shows that ignition interlock devices reduce subsequent
arrest rates among both first-time and repeat DUI offenders by 50 to 90 percent
while such devices are installed.

(5) Research estimating the costs versus the benefits of ignition
interlock programs suggests a $3.00 benefit for each $1.00 in program costs for
first-time DUI offenders and a $4.00 to $7.00 benefit for each $1.00 in
program costs for other DUI offenders.

Sec. 3. IGNITION INTERLOCK DEVICE STUDY

(a) The commissioner of motor vehicles, in consultation with the
commissioner of corrections, the court administrator, the department of public
safety, state’s attorneys and sheriffs, the defender general, the attorney general,
the Vermont bar association, and any other organizations or entities the
commissioners deem appropriate, shall study and formulate recommended
legislation authorizing use of ignition interlock devices or other devices that
prevent impaired driving in Vermont. In carrying out this directive, the
commissioner shall:

(1) Review current laws, rules, and regulations, and practices regarding
use of ignition interlock devices in other states and attempt to ascertain the
factors that contribute to the varying success of states in promoting use of
ignition interlock devices.

(2) Consider whether legislation should:

(A) require installation of ignition interlock devices by some or all
DUI offenders as a condition of license reinstatement;

(B) authorize operation during a suspension period, and, if so, the
period of “hard” suspension that must be served prior to such authorization for
different classes of DUI offenders;

(C) authorize or require that some or all DUI offenders, at their
request, be allowed to install ignition interlock devices in exchange for a
reduced period of license suspension;
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(D) authorize or require judges to order installation of ignition
interlock devices as a condition of probation for some or all DUI offenders;

(E) authorize or require judges to provide incentives (such as reduced
fines) to some or all DUI offenders to encourage installation of such devices;

(F) require devices to be installed for a period in excess of usual
suspension periods for some or all offenders;

(G) supplement, or operate as an alternative to, the state’s abstinence
program for persons whose license has been suspended for life;

(H) apply to all impaired driving offenders (i.e., include those whose
violations involve operating under the influence of drugs) or only to those
whose offense involved operating under the influence of intoxicating liquor;

(I) limit eligibility to certain classes of DUI offenders (i.e., those
whose offense did not result in death of another); or

(J) authorize or require installation of ignition interlock devices under
any other circumstances.

(3) Consider how any recommended use of ignition interlock devices
should be coordinated with the use of electronic monitoring equipment such as
global position monitoring equipment, automated voice recognition telephone
equipment, and transdermal alcohol monitoring equipment.

(4) Study the costs of ignition interlock devices, including installation,
monthly lease charges, periodic recalibration, and data downloads and the
relative merits of having such costs borne entirely by DUI offenders or
partially borne by the state.

(5) Study whether conditions or restrictions (such as hours of operation
or limitation to travel to or from work, school, or a treatment program) should
be imposed on some or all DUI offenders operating subject to an ignition
interlock device requirement.

(6) Study the administrative tasks that must be performed to implement
and carry out ignition interlock legislation and the costs associated with them;
which agency or agencies are best suited to perform these tasks; and what
additional authority or resources this agency or these agencies will need to
perform these tasks.

(7) Consider appropriate penalties for DUI offenders required to operate
vehicles equipped with ignition interlock devices who tamper with or
otherwise circumvent such devices, or operate a vehicle not equipped with
such a device, or whose attempt to operate a vehicle is prevented through the
functioning of such device, and the due process to which DUI offenders cited
for such activities shall be entitled.
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(8) Consider appropriate penalties for third parties who tamper with or
otherwise circumvent ignition interlock devices or knowingly provide vehicles
not equipped with such devices for DUI offenders required to operate vehicles
equipped with such devices, and the due process to which persons cited for
such activities shall be entitled.

(9) Consider the degree to which the state should monitor, utilize, and
impose sanctions based on data obtained from ignition interlock devices.

(10) Consider and study any other issues deemed relevant to ignition
interlock device policy and legislation.

(b) The commissioner shall report his or her findings and recommended
legislation to the senate and house committees on transportation, the senate and
house committees on judiciary, and the joint corrections oversight committee
no later than January 15, 2011.

Sec. 4. EFFECTIVE DATE

This act shall take effect on passage.

And that after passage, the title of the bill be amended to read:

“An act relating to the study and recommendation of ignition interlock
device legislation”

(Committee vote: 5-0-0)

S. 153.

An act relating to preventing conviction of innocent persons.

Reported favorably with recommendation of amendment by Senator
Sears for the Committee on Judiciary.

The Committee recommends that the bill be amended by striking out all
after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. LEGISLATIVE INTENT; FORENSIC LABORATORY
OVERSIGHT

The general assembly finds that at this time, there is not sufficient need for
a forensic laboratory oversight commission, provided the Vermont crime
laboratory continues to be properly accredited.

Sec. 2. PRESERVATION OF EVIDENCE

(a)(1) It is the intent of the general assembly that on and after July 1, 2012,
notwithstanding any other provision of law, any item of physical evidence
containing biological material that is secured in connection with a criminal
case or investigation shall be retained by the government entity having custody
of the evidence for the period of time that:
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(A) the statute of limitations has not expired for a crime that remains
unsolved; and

(B) a person remains incarcerated, on probation or parole, or subject
to registration as a sex offender in connection with a criminal case.

(2) For purposes of this section, criminal case or investigation shall
include only the following offenses:

(A) arson causing death as defined in 13 V.S.A. § 501;

(B) assault and robbery with a dangerous weapon as defined in
13 V.S.A. § 608(b);

(C) assault and robbery causing bodily injury as defined in 13 V.S.A.
608(c);

(D) aggravated assault as defined in 13 V.S.A. § 1024;

(E) aggravated murder as defined in 13 V.S.A. § 2311 and murder as
defined in 13 V.S.A. § 2301;

(F) manslaughter as defined in 13 V.S.A. § 2304;

(G) kidnapping as defined in 13 V.S.A. § 2405;

(H) unlawful restraint as defined in 13 V.S.A. § 2406 or 2407;

(I) maiming as defined in 13 V.S.A. § 2701;

(J) sexual assault as defined in 13 V.S.A. § 3252(a)(1) or (a)(2);

(K) aggravated sexual assault as defined in 13 V.S.A. § 3253.

(L) burglary into an occupied dwelling as defined in 13 V.S.A.
§ 1201(c); and

(M) lewd and lascivious conduct with a child as defined in 13 V.S.A.
§ 2602.

(3) For purposes of this section, “biological evidence” means:

(A) a sexual assault forensic examination kit; or

(B) semen, blood, saliva, hair, skin tissue, or other identified
biological material.

(b) The Vermont law enforcement advisory board shall develop a proposal
for implementation of this section and present it to the senate and house
committees on judiciary no later than January 15, 2011.

(c) The department of public safety, the department of buildings and
general services, the police chiefs’ association, and the sheriffs’ association
shall develop a proposal for establishing one or more facilities for retention of
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items of physical evidence containing biological material that is secured in
connection with a criminal case or investigation. Such facilities would be
available for use by all Vermont law enforcement agencies. The proposal shall
be presented to the senate and house committees on judiciary, the house
committee on corrections and institutions, and the senate committee on
institutions no later than January 15, 2011.

Sec. 3. RECORDING CUSTODIAL INTERROGATIONS;
ADMISSIBILITY OF DEFENDANT’S STATEMENT

(a) It is the intent of the general assembly that on and after July 1, 2012, a
law enforcement agency shall make an audio or an audio and visual recording
of any custodial interrogation of a person when it is conducted in a place of
detention after the person is arrested in relation to the investigation or
prosecution of a felony.

(b) The Vermont law enforcement advisory board shall develop a proposal
for implementation of this section and present it to the senate and house
committees on judiciary, the house committee on corrections and institutions,
and the senate committee on institutions no later than January 15, 2011. The
proposal shall address the costs associated with purchasing, installing, and
maintaining audio and visual recording as required by this section.

Sec. 4. EYEWITNESS IDENTIFICATION BEST PRACTICES

(a) The general assembly finds that eyewitness misidentification remains
the single largest contributing factor to wrongful conviction. According to the
Innocence Project, there are currently 249 DNA exonerations across the nation,
and in nearly 80 percent of them, there was at least one misidentification.

(b) A statewide study committee created by No. 60 of the Acts of 2007
reported that the Vermont police academy currently teaches best practices
regarding eyewitness identification.

(c) To ensure that law enforcement agencies statewide are employing best
practices with regard to eyewitness identification, the Vermont law
enforcement advisory board shall develop a proposal to establish best practices
that are well suited for Vermont and its many, small rural law enforcement
agencies, including consideration of conditions for the use and administration
of show-ups, use of blind administrators for lineups, proper filler selection in
live or photo lineups, instructions for eyewitnesses prior to a live or photo
lineup, and confidence statements from eyewitnesses. The Vermont law
enforcement advisory board shall present its proposal to the senate and house
committees on judiciary, the house committee on corrections and institutions,
and the senate committee on institutions no later than January 15, 2011. The
proposal shall address the costs associated with purchasing, installing, and
maintaining audio and visual recording as required by this section.
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Sec. 5. 13 V.S.A. § 4010 is amended to read:

§ 4010. GUN SILENCERS

A person who manufactures, sells or, uses, or possesses with intent to sell or
use, an appliance known as or used for a gun silencer shall be fined $25.00 for
each offense. The provisions of this section shall not prevent the use or
possession of gun silencers for military purposes when so used or possessed
under proper military authority and restriction by:

(1) a certified, full-time law enforcement officer in connection with his
or her duties and responsibilities and in accordance with the policies and
procedures of that officer’s agency or department; or

(2) the Vermont National Guard in connection with its duties and
responsibilities.

Sec. 6. EFFECTIVE DATE

This act shall take effect upon passage.

(Committee vote: 5-0-0)

AMENDMENT TO S. 153 TO BE OFFERED BY SENATOR SEARS

Senator Sears on behalf of the Committee on Judiciary moves to amend the
bill as amended as follows:

First: In Sec. 2, by striking out (a)(1) and inserting in lieu thereof the
following:

(a)(1) The general assembly finds that it is in the interest of justice that
Vermont establish a system for the preservation of any item of physical
evidence containing biological material that is secured in connection with a
criminal case or investigation by the government entity having custody of the
evidence for the period of time that:

Second: In Sec. 3, by adding a subsection (c) to read as follows:

(c) In the first year of the 2011–2012 biennium, the senate and house
committees on judiciary shall consider the proposal required by subsection (b)
of this section for the purpose of enacting statutes by the date of adjournment
in 2012 to implement a plan for audio and visual recording of any custodial
interrogation of a person when it is conducted in a place of detention after the
person is arrested in relation to the investigation or prosecution of a felony.

AMENDMENT TO S. 153 TO BE OFFERED BY SENATOR SEARS

Senator Sears moves to amend the bill in Sec. 5, 13 V.S.A. § 4010, in
subdivision (1) after the words “law enforcement officer” by adding the
following: or department of fish and wildlife employee and after the word
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“officer’s” by adding or employee’s

S. 171.

An act relating to nutritional labeling of food by chain restaurants.

Reported favorably with recommendation of amendment by Senator
Mullin for the Committee on Health and Welfare.

The Committee recommends that the bill be amended by striking out all
after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. STATUTORY REVISION

18 V.S.A. §§ 4051–4071 shall be recodified as subchapter 1 (labeling for
marketing and sale) of chapter 82 of Title 18.

Sec. 2. 18 V.S.A. chapter 82, subchapter 2 is added to read:

Subchapter 2. Menu Labeling

§ 4086. MENUS AND MENU BOARDS

(a) Except as otherwise provided in 4091 of this title, in the case of food
that is a standard menu item that is offered for sale in a restaurant or similar
retail food establishment that is part of a chain with 20 or more locations doing
business under the same name, regardless of the type of ownership of the
locations. and offering for sale substantially the same menu items, the
restaurant or similar retail food establishment shall disclose the information
described in subsection (b) of this section.

(b) Except as otherwise provided in section 4091 of this title, the restaurant
or similar retail food establishment shall disclose in a clear and conspicuous
manner:

(1) On a menu listing an item for sale:

(A) in a nutrient content disclosure statement adjacent to the name of
the standard menu item, so as to be clearly associated with the standard menu
item, the number of calories contained in the standard menu item, as usually
prepared and offered for sale; and

(B) a succinct statement concerning suggested daily caloric intake, as
specified by federal regulation or, in the absence of an applicable federal
regulation, by the commissioner of health by rule, posted prominently on the
menu and designed to enable the public to understand, in the context of a total
daily diet, the significance of the caloric information that is provided on the
menu.

(2) On a menu board, including a drive-through menu board:
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(A) in a nutrient content disclosure statement adjacent to the name of
the standard menu item, so as to be clearly associated with the standard menu
item, the number of calories contained in the standard menu item, as usually
prepared and offered for sale; and

(B) a succinct statement concerning suggested daily caloric intake, as
specified by federal regulation or, in the absence of an applicable federal
regulation, by the commissioner of health by rule, posted prominently on the
menu board, designed to enable the public to understand, in the context of a
total daily diet, the significance of the nutrition information that is provided on
the menu board.

(3)(A) In a written form, available on the premises of the restaurant or
similar retail establishment and to the consumer upon request, the following
nutrition information:

(i) the total number of calories in each serving size or other unit of
measure of the food that are:

(I) derived from any source; and

(I) derived from the total fat; and

(ii) the amount of each of the following nutrients: Total fat,
saturated fat, cholesterol, sodium, total carbohydrates, complex carbohydrates,
sugars, dietary fiber, and total protein contained in each serving size or other
unit of measure;

(B) To the extent that federal statutes or regulations require
disclosure of different or additional nutrition information, a restaurant or
similar retail establishment that follows the federal law shall be deemed to be
in compliance with the requirements of this subdivision (3).

(4) On the menu or menu board, a prominent, clear, and conspicuous
statement regarding the availability of the information described in subdivision
(3) of this subsection.

§ 4087. SELF-SERVICE FOOD AND FOOD ON DISPLAY

Except as otherwise provided in section 4091 of this title, in the case of
food sold at a salad bar, buffet line, cafeteria line, or similar self-service
facility, and for self-service beverages or food that is on display and that is
visible to customers, a restaurant or similar retail food establishment shall
place adjacent to each food offered a sign that lists calories per displayed food
item or per serving.

§ 4088. REASONABLE BASIS

For the purposes of this chapter, a restaurant or similar retail food
establishment shall have a reasonable basis for its nutrient content disclosures,
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including nutrient databases, cookbooks, laboratory analyses, and other
reasonable means, as described in Section 101.10 of Title 21, Code of Federal
Regulations, or any successor regulation, or in a related guidance of the United
States Food and Drug Administration.

§ 4089. MENU VARIABILITY AND COMBINATION MEALS

Except as otherwise provided by federal law or regulation, the
commissioner of health shall establish by rule, pursuant to chapter 25 of
Title 3, standards for determining and disclosing the nutrient content for
standard menu items that come in different flavors, varieties, or combinations,
but which are listed as a single menu item, such as soft drinks, ice cream,
pizza, doughnuts, or children's combination meals, through means determined
by the commissioner, including ranges, averages, or other methods.

§ 4090. ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Except as otherwise provided by federal law or regulation, if the
commissioner of health determines that a nutrient, other than a nutrient
required under subdivision 4086(b)(3) of this title, should be disclosed for the
purpose of providing information to assist consumers in maintaining healthy
dietary practices, the commissioner may require, by rule, disclosure of such
nutrient in the written form required under subdivision 4086(b)(3).

§ 4091. NONAPPLICABILITY TO CERTAIN FOOD

Sections 4086 through 4090, inclusive, of this chapter shall not apply to:

(1) items that are not listed on a menu or menu board, such as
condiments and other items placed on the table or counter for general use;

(2) daily specials, temporary menu items appearing on the menu for less
than 60 days per calendar year, or custom orders; or

(3) such other food that is part of a customary market test appearing on
the menu for less than 90 days, under terms and conditions established by
federal law or regulation, if applicable; if not applicable, then under terms and
conditions established by the commissioner of health by rule.

§ 4092. VOLUNTARY PROVISION OF NUTRITION INFORMATION

(a) An authorized official of any restaurant or similar retail food
establishment not subject to the requirements of this chapter may elect to be
subject to such requirements by registering biannually the name and address of
such restaurant or similar retail food establishment with the Secretary of the
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and the commissioner of
health, as specified by the Secretary by regulation and the commissioner by
rule.
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(b) To the extent allowed by federal law, within 120 days following the
effective date of this chapter, the commissioner of health shall engage in
rulemaking pursuant to chapter 25 of Title 3 specifying the terms and
conditions for implementation of subsection (a) of this section.

(c) Nothing in this section shall be construed to authorize the commissioner
of health to require an application, review, or licensing process for any entity
to register with the Secretary pursuant to subsection (a) of this section.

§ 4093. RULEMAKING

(a) To the extent permitted under federal law, within one year after the
effective date of this chapter, the commissioner of health shall adopt rules
pursuant to chapter 25 of Title 3 to carry out the purposes of this chapter.

(b) In adopting rules, the commissioner shall:

(1) consider standardization of recipes and methods of preparation,
reasonable variation in serving size and formulation of menu items, space on
menus and menu boards, inadvertent human error, training of food service
workers, variations in ingredients, and other factors, as the commissioner shall
determine;

(2) specify the format and manner of the nutrient content disclosure
requirements under this chapter; and

(3) reasonably align the rules, to the extent practicable, with federal and
other states’ laws on menu labeling.

(c) No later than January 15, 2011, the commissioner shall report to the
house committee on human services and the senate committee on health and
welfare a report on the commissioner’s progress toward adopting rules under
this section.

§ 4094. DEFINITIONS

To the extent not inconsistent with federal law, as used in this chapter:

(1) “Menu” or “menu board” means the primary writing of the
restaurant or other similar retail food establishment from which a consumer
makes an order selection.

(2) “Restaurant” or “other similar retail food establishment” means an
establishment from which food or beverage of the type for immediate
consumption is sold, whether such food is consumed on the premises or not.

(A) “Restaurant” shall not include any school, hospital, nursing
home, assisted living facility, or any restaurant-like facility operated by or in
connection with a school, hospital, medical clinic, nursing home, or assisted
living facility providing food for students, patients, visitors, and their families.
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(B) “Restaurant” shall not include grocery stores, except for
separately owned food facilities to which this section otherwise applies that are
located in a grocery store. For purposes of this subdivision, “grocery store”
means a store primarily engaged in the retail sale of canned food, dry goods,
fresh fruits and vegetables, and fresh meats, fish, and poultry. The term
“grocery store” includes convenience stores.

(C) “Restaurant” shall not include any fraternal organization or any
organization whose members consist solely of veterans of the armed forces of
the United States.

§ 4095. ENFORCEMENT; LIABILITY; PENALTY

(a) The commissioner of health or duly authorized agents or employees
who inspect restaurants and food establishments on behalf of the department of
health shall be required to determine that the nutrition information required
under this subchapter is listed on the menu or menu board, and that any
additional required information is available for customers upon request. If,
upon inspection, the required information is not clearly visible on a menu or
menu board or the additional required information is not available upon
request, the commissioner or inspector shall note such fact on the inspection
report and cause a corresponding reduction in points from the restaurant’s or
other food establishment’s rating score.

(b) Nothing in this section shall be construed to create or enhance any
claim, right of action, or civil liability that did not previously exist under state
or federal law or to limit any claim, right of action, or civil liability that
otherwise exists under state or federal law.

(c) No private right of action shall arise from this subchapter. The sole
enforcement authority for this subchapter shall be the state of Vermont.

§ 4096. RELATION TO OTHER LAWS

(a) To the extent any provision of this chapter is inconsistent with or
preempted by federal law or regulation, the federal provision shall apply.

(b) To the extent permitted by federal law, nothing in this chapter shall be
construed to restrict the ability of cities or towns to impose labeling
requirements in excess of those required by this chapter.

(Committee vote: 6-0-0)

AMENDMENT TO RECOMMENDATION OF AMENDMENT OF THE
COMMITTEE ON HEALTH AND WELFARE TO S. 171 TO BE

OFFERED BY SENATORS AYER AND GIARD

Senators Ayer and Giard move to amend the recommendation of
amendment of the Committee on Health and Welfare as follows
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First: In Sec. 2, by striking out § 4091 in its entirety and inserting in lieu
thereof a new § 4091 to read as follows:

§ 4091. NONAPPLICABILITY TO CERTAIN FOOD

Sections 4086 through 4090, inclusive, of this chapter shall not apply to:

(1) items that are not listed on a menu or menu board, such as
condiments and other items placed on the table or counter for general use;

(2) daily specials, temporary menu items appearing on the menu for less
than 60 days per calendar year, or custom orders;

(3) such other food that is part of a customary market test appearing on
the menu for less than 90 days, under terms and conditions established by
federal law or regulation, if applicable; if not applicable, then under terms and
conditions established by the commissioner of health by rule; or

(4) alcoholic beverages.

Second: In Sec. 2, in § 4094 by inserting a new subsection (3) to read as
follows:

(3) “Standard menu item” means any item listed on a menu or menu
board by a restaurant, but excluding alcoholic beverages.

S. 182.

An act relating to determining unemployment compensation experience
rating for successor businesses.

Reported favorably with recommendation of amendment by Senator
Illuzzi for the Committee on Economic Development, Housing and
General Affairs.

The Committee recommends that the bill be amended by striking out all
after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 21 V.S.A. § 1325 is amended to read:

§ 1325. EMPLOYERS’ EXPERIENCE-RATING RECORDS;
DISCLOSURE TO SUCCESSOR ENTITY

* * *

(b)(1) Disclosure of contribution rate to successor entity. Any
individual or employing unit who in any manner succeeds to or acquires the
organization, trade, or business or substantially all of the assets of any
employer who has been operating his or her the business within two weeks
prior to the acquisition, except any assets retained by the employer incident to
the liquidation of his or her the employer’s obligations, and who thereafter
continues the acquired business shall be considered to be a successor to the
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predecessor from whom the business was acquired and, if not already an
employer before the acquisition, shall become an employer on the date of the
acquisition. The commissioner shall transfer the experience-rating record of
the predecessor employer to the successor employer. If the successor was not
an employer before the date of acquisition, his or her the successor’s rate of
contribution for the remainder of the rate year shall be the rate applicable to the
predecessor employers with respect to the period immediately preceding the
date of acquisition if there was only one predecessor or there were only
predecessors with identical rates. If the predecessors’ rates were not identical,
the commissioner shall determine a rate based on the combined experience of
all the predecessor employers. If the successor was an employer before the
date of acquisition, the contribution rate which was assigned to the successor
for the rate year in which the acquisition occurred will remain assigned to the
successor for the remainder of the rate year, after which the experience-rating
record of the predecessor shall be combined with the experience rating of the
successor to form the single employer experience-rating record of the
successor. At any time prior to the issuance of the certificate required by
subsection 1322(b) of this chapter, an employing unit shall, upon request of a
potential successor, disclose to the potential successor its current experience
rating record.

* * *

(Committee vote: 5-0-0)

S. 205.

An act relating to the Revised Uniform Anatomical Gift Act.

Reported favorably with recommendation of amendment by Senator
Ayer for the Committee on Government Operations.

The Committee recommends that the bill be amended by striking out all
after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 18 V.S.A. chapter 151 is added to read:

CHAPTER 151. REVISED UNIFORM ANATOMICAL GIFT ACT

§ 6001. SHORT TITLE

This chapter may be cited as the “Revised Uniform Anatomical Gift Act.”

§ 6002. DEFINITIONS

As used in this chapter:

(1) “Adult” means an individual who is at least 18 years of age.

(2) “Agent” means an individual:
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(A) authorized to make health care decisions on the principal’s behalf
by an advance directive executed pursuant to chapter 231 of this title or by a
health care power of attorney executed pursuant to the laws of this or another
state; or

(B) expressly authorized to make an anatomical gift on the
principal’s behalf by any other record signed by the principal.

(3) “Anatomical gift” means a donation of all or part of a human body to
take effect after the donor’s death for the purpose of transplantation, therapy,
research, or education.

(4) “Decedent” means a deceased individual whose body or part is or
may be the source of an anatomical gift. The term includes a stillborn infant
and, subject to restrictions imposed by law other than this chapter, a fetus.

(5) “Disinterested witness” means a witness other than the spouse,
reciprocal beneficiary, child, parent, sibling, grandchild, grandparent, or
guardian of the individual who makes, amends, revokes, or refuses to make an
anatomical gift, or another adult who exhibited special care and concern for the
individual. The term does not include a person to which an anatomical gift
could pass under section 6011 of this title.

(6) “Document of gift” means a donor card or other record used to make
an anatomical gift. The term includes a statement or symbol on a driver’s
license or nondriver identification card or an inclusion in a donor registry.

(7) “Donor” means an individual whose body or part is the subject of an
anatomical gift.

(8) “Donor registry” means a database that identifies donors and
complies with the provisions of section 6020 of this title.

(9) “Driver’s license” means a license or permit issued by the Vermont
department of motor vehicles to operate a vehicle, whether or not conditions
are attached to the license or permit.

(10) “Eye bank” means a person that is licensed, accredited, or regulated
under federal or state law to engage in the recovery, screening, testing,
processing, storage, or distribution of human eyes or portions of human eyes.

(11) “Guardian” means a person appointed by a court to make decisions
regarding the support, care, education, health, or welfare of an individual. The
term does not include a guardian ad litem.

(12) “Hospital” means a facility licensed as a hospital under the law of
any state or a facility operated as a hospital by the United States, a state, or a
subdivision of a state.

(13) “Know” means to have actual knowledge.
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(14) “Minor” means an individual who is under 18 years of age.

(15) “Nondriver identification card” means a nondriver identification
card issued by the Vermont department of motor vehicles pursuant to
23 V.S.A. § 115.

(16) “Organ procurement organization” means a person designated by
the Secretary of the United States Department of Health and Human Services
as an organ procurement organization.

(17) “Parent” means a parent whose parental rights have not been
terminated.

(18) “Part” means an organ, an eye, or tissue of a human being. The
term does not include the whole body.

(19) “Person” means an individual, corporation, business trust, estate,
trust, partnership, limited liability company, association, joint venture, public
corporation, government or governmental subdivision, agency, or
instrumentality, or any other legal or commercial entity.

(20) “Physician” means an individual authorized to practice medicine or
osteopathy under the law of any state.

(21) “Procurement organization” means an eye bank, an organ
procurement organization, or a tissue bank.

(22) “Prospective donor” means an individual who is dead or near death
and has been determined by a procurement organization to have a part that
could be medically suitable for transplantation, therapy, research, or education.
The term does not include an individual who has made a refusal.

(23) “Reasonably available” means able to be contacted by a
procurement organization without undue effort and willing and able to act in a
timely manner consistent with existing medical criteria necessary for the
making of an anatomical gift.

(24) “Recipient” means an individual into whose body a decedent’s part
has been or is intended to be transplanted.

(25) “Record” means information that is inscribed on a tangible medium
or that is stored in an electronic or other medium and is retrievable in
perceivable form.

(26) “Refusal” means a record created under section 6007 of this title
that expressly states an intent to bar other persons from making an anatomical
gift of an individual’s body or part.

(27) “Sign” means, with the present intent to authenticate or adopt a
record:
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(A) to execute or adopt a tangible symbol; or

(B) to attach to or logically associate with the record an electronic
symbol, sound, or process.

(28) “State” means a state of the United States, the District of Columbia,
Puerto Rico, the United States Virgin Islands, or any territory or insular
possession subject to the jurisdiction of the United States.

(29) “Technician” means an individual determined to be qualified to
remove or process parts by an appropriate organization that is licensed,
accredited, or regulated under federal or state law. The term includes an
enucleator.

(30) “Tissue” means a portion of the human body other than an organ or
an eye. The term does not include blood unless the blood is donated for the
purpose of research or education.

(31) “Tissue bank” means a person that is licensed, accredited, or
regulated under federal or state law to engage in the recovery, screening,
testing, processing, storage, or distribution of tissue.

(32) “Transplant hospital” means a hospital that furnishes organ
transplants and other medical and surgical specialty services required for the
care of transplant patients.

§ 6003. APPLICABILITY

This chapter applies to an anatomical gift or amendment to, revocation of,
or refusal to make an anatomical gift, whenever made.

§ 6004. WHO MAY MAKE ANATOMICAL GIFT BEFORE DONOR’S
DEATH

Subject to section 6008 of this title, an anatomical gift of a donor’s body or
part may be made during the life of the donor for the purpose of
transplantation, therapy, research, or education in the manner provided in
section 6005 of this title by:

(1) the donor, if the donor is an adult or if the donor is a minor and is
either:

(A) emancipated; or

(B) authorized under state law to apply for a driver’s license or
nondriver identification card and is at least 16 years of age;

(2) an agent of the donor, unless the advance directive or other record
prohibits the agent from making an anatomical gift;

(3) a parent of the donor, if the donor is an unemancipated minor; or
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(4) the donor’s guardian.

§ 6005. MANNER OF MAKING ANATOMICAL GIFT BEFORE
DONOR’S DEATH

(a) A donor may make an anatomical gift:

(1) by authorizing a statement or symbol indicating that the donor has
made an anatomical gift to be imprinted on the donor’s driver’s license or
nondriver identification card;

(2) in a will;

(3) during a terminal illness or injury of the donor, by any form of
communication addressed to at least two adults, at least one of whom is a
disinterested witness; or

(4) as provided in subsection (b) of this section.

(b) A donor or other person authorized to make an anatomical gift under
section 6004 of this title may make a gift by a donor card or other record
signed by the donor or other person making the gift or by authorizing that a
statement or symbol indicating that the donor has made an anatomical gift be
included on a donor registry. If the donor or other person is physically unable
to sign a record, the record may be signed by another individual at the direction
of the donor or other person and must:

(1) be witnessed by at least two adults, at least one of whom is a
disinterested witness, who have signed at the request of the donor or the other
person; and

(2) state that it has been signed and witnessed as provided in
subdivision (1) of this subsection.

(c) Revocation, suspension, expiration, or cancellation of a driver’s license
or nondriver identification card upon which an anatomical gift is indicated
does not invalidate the gift.

(d) An anatomical gift made by will takes effect upon the donor’s death
whether or not the will is probated. Invalidation of the will after the donor’s
death does not invalidate the gift.

§ 6006. AMENDING OR REVOKING ANATOMICAL GIFT BEFORE
DONOR’S DEATH

(a) Subject to section 6008 of this title, a donor or other person authorized
to make an anatomical gift under section 6004 of this title may amend or
revoke an anatomical gift by:

(1) a record signed by:
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(A) the donor;

(B) the other person; or

(C) subject to subsection (b) of this section, another individual acting
at the direction of the donor or the other person if the donor or other person is
physically unable to sign; or

(2) a later-executed document of gift that amends or revokes a previous
anatomical gift or portion of an anatomical gift, either expressly or by
inconsistency.

(b) A record signed pursuant to subdivision (a)(1)(C) of this section must:

(1) be witnessed by at least two adults, at least one of whom is a
disinterested witness, who have signed at the request of the donor or the other
person; and

(2) state that it has been signed and witnessed as provided in
subdivision (1) of this subsection.

(c) Subject to section 6008 of this title, a donor or other person authorized
to make an anatomical gift under section 6004 of this title may revoke an
anatomical gift by the destruction or cancellation of the document of gift, or
the portion of the document of gift used to make the gift, with the intent to
revoke the gift.

(d) A donor may amend or revoke an anatomical gift that was not made in
a will by any form of communication during a terminal illness or injury
addressed to at least two adults, at least one of whom is a disinterested witness.

(e) A donor who makes an anatomical gift in a will may amend or revoke
the gift in the manner provided for amendment or revocation of wills or as
provided in subsection (a) of this section.

§ 6007. REFUSAL TO MAKE ANATOMICAL GIFT; EFFECT OF
REFUSAL

(a) An individual may refuse to make an anatomical gift of the individual’s
body or part by:

(1) a record signed by:

(A) the individual; or

(B) subject to subsection (b) of this section, another individual acting
at the direction of the individual if the individual is physically unable to sign;

(2) the individual’s will, whether or not the will is admitted to probate or
invalidated after the individual’s death; or

(3) any form of communication made by the individual during the
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individual’s terminal illness or injury addressed to at least two adults, at least
one of whom is a disinterested witness.

(b) A record signed pursuant to subdivision (a)(1)(B) of this section must:

(1) be witnessed by at least two adults, at least one of whom is a
disinterested witness, who have signed at the request of the individual; and

(2) state that it has been signed and witnessed as provided in
subdivision (1) of this subsection.

(c) An individual who has made a refusal may amend or revoke the refusal:

(1) in the manner provided in subsection (a) of this section for making a
refusal;

(2) by subsequently making an anatomical gift pursuant to section 6005
of this title that is inconsistent with the refusal; or

(3) by destroying or canceling the record evidencing the refusal, or the
portion of the record used to make the refusal, with the intent to revoke the
refusal.

(d) Except as otherwise provided in subsection 6008(h) of this title, in the
absence of an express, contrary indication by the individual set forth in the
refusal, an individual’s unrevoked refusal to make an anatomical gift of the
individual’s body or part bars all other persons from making an anatomical gift
of the individual’s body or part.

§ 6008. PRECLUSIVE EFFECT OF ANATOMICAL GIFT, AMENDMENT,
OR REVOCATION

(a) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (g) of this section and
subject to subsection (f) of this section, in the absence of an express, contrary
indication by the donor, a person other than the donor is barred from making,
amending, or revoking an anatomical gift of a donor’s body or part if the donor
made an anatomical gift of the donor’s body or part under section 6005 of this
title or an amendment to an anatomical gift of the donor’s body or part under
section 6006 of this title.

(b) A donor’s revocation of an anatomical gift of the donor’s body or part
under section 6006 of this title is not a refusal and does not bar another person
specified in section 6004 or 6009 of this title from making an anatomical gift
of the donor’s body or part under section 6005 or 6010 of this title.

(c) If a person other than the donor makes an unrevoked anatomical gift of
the donor’s body or part under section 6005 of this title or an amendment to an
anatomical gift of the donor’s body or part under section 6006 of this title,
another person may not make, amend, or revoke the gift of the donor’s body or
part under section 6010 of this title.
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(d) A revocation of an anatomical gift of a donor’s body or part under
section 6006 of this title by a person other than the donor does not bar another
person from making an anatomical gift of the body or part under section 6005
or 6010 of this title.

(e) In the absence of an express, contrary indication by the donor or other
person authorized to make an anatomical gift under section 6004 of this title,
an anatomical gift of a part is neither a refusal to give another part nor a
limitation on the making of an anatomical gift of another part at a later time by
the donor or another person.

(f) In the absence of an express, contrary indication by the donor or other
person authorized to make an anatomical gift under section 6004 of this title,
an anatomical gift of a part for one or more of the purposes set forth in that
section is not a limitation on the making of an anatomical gift of the part for
any of the other purposes by the donor or any other person under section 6005
or 6010 of this title.

(g) If a donor who is an unemancipated minor dies, a parent of the donor
who is reasonably available may revoke or amend an anatomical gift of the
donor’s body or part.

(h) If an unemancipated minor who signed a refusal dies, a parent of the
minor who is reasonably available may revoke the minor’s refusal.

§ 6009. WHO MAY MAKE ANATOMICAL GIFT OF DECEDENT’S
BODY OR PART

(a) Subject to subsections (b) and (c) of this section and unless barred by
section 6007 or 6008 of this title, an anatomical gift of a decedent’s body or
part for purpose of transplantation, therapy, research, or education may be
made by any member of the following classes of persons who is reasonably
available, in the order of priority listed:

(1) an agent of the decedent at the time of death who could have made
an anatomical gift under subdivision 6004(2) of this title immediately before
the decedent’s death;

(2) the spouse of the decedent;

(3) the decedent’s reciprocal beneficiary, as defined in 15 V.S.A.
§ 1302;

(4) adult children of the decedent;

(5) parents of the decedent;

(6) adult siblings of the decedent;

(7) adult grandchildren of the decedent;
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(8) grandparents of the decedent;

(9) an adult who exhibited special care and concern for the decedent;

(10) the persons who were acting as the guardians of the person of the
decedent at the time of death; and

(11) any other person having the authority to dispose of the decedent’s
body.

(b) If there is more than one member of a class listed in subdivision (a)(1),
(4), (5), (6), (7), (8), or (10) of this section entitled to make an anatomical gift,
an anatomical gift may be made by a member of the class unless that member
or a person to which the gift may pass under section 6011 of this title knows of
an objection by another member of the class. If an objection is known, the gift
may be made only by a majority of the members of the class who are
reasonably available.

(c) A person may not make an anatomical gift if, at the time of the
decedent’s death, a person in a prior class under subsection (a) of this section is
reasonably available to make or to object to the making of an anatomical gift.

§ 6010. MANNER OF MAKING, AMENDING, OR REVOKING
ANATOMICAL GIFT OF DECEDENT’S BODY OR PART

(a) A person authorized to make an anatomical gift under section 6009 of
this title may make an anatomical gift by a document of gift signed by the
person making the gift or by that person’s oral communication that is
electronically recorded or is contemporaneously reduced to a record and signed
by the individual receiving the oral communication.

(b) Subject to subsection (c) of this section, an anatomical gift by a person
authorized under section 6009 of this title may be amended or revoked orally
or in a record by any member of a prior class who is reasonably available. If
more than one member of the prior class is reasonably available, the gift made
by a person authorized under section 6009 of this title may be:

(1) amended only if a majority of the reasonably available members
agree to the amending of the gift; or

(2) revoked only if a majority of the reasonably available members
agree to the revoking of the gift or if they are equally divided as to whether to
revoke the gift.

(c) A revocation under subsection (b) of this section is effective only if,
before an incision has been made to remove a part from the donor’s body or
before invasive procedures have begun to prepare the recipient, the
procurement organization, transplant hospital, or physician or technician
knows of the revocation.
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§ 6011. PERSONS THAT MAY RECEIVE ANATOMICAL GIFT;
PURPOSE OF ANATOMICAL GIFT

(a) An anatomical gift may be made to the following persons named in the
document of gift:

(1) a hospital; accredited medical school, dental school, college, or
university; organ procurement organization; or other appropriate person, for
research or education;

(2) subject to subsection (b) of this section, an individual designated by
the person making the anatomical gift if the individual is the recipient of the
part;

(3) an eye bank or tissue bank.

(b) If an anatomical gift to an individual under subdivision (a)(2) of this
section cannot be transplanted into the individual, the part passes in accordance
with subsection (g) of this section in the absence of an express, contrary
indication by the person making the anatomical gift.

(c) If an anatomical gift of one or more specific parts or of all parts is made
in a document of gift that does not name a person described in subsection (a) of
this section but identifies the purpose for which an anatomical gift may be
used, the following rules apply:

(1) If the part is an eye and the gift is for the purpose of transplantation
or therapy, the gift passes to the appropriate eye bank.

(2) If the part is tissue and the gift is for the purpose of transplantation
or therapy, the gift passes to the appropriate tissue bank.

(3) If the part is an organ and the gift is for the purpose of
transplantation or therapy, the gift passes to the appropriate organ procurement
organization as custodian of the organ.

(4) If the part is an organ, an eye, or tissue and the gift is for the purpose
of research or education, the gift passes to the appropriate procurement
organization.

(d) For the purpose of subsection (c) of this section, if there is more than
one purpose of an anatomical gift set forth in the document of gift but the
purposes are not set forth in any priority, the gift shall be used for
transplantation or therapy, if suitable for those purposes. If the gift cannot be
used for transplantation or therapy, the gift may be used for research or
education.

(e) If an anatomical gift of one or more specific parts is made in a
document of gift that does not name a person described in subsection (a) of this
section and does not identify the purpose of the gift, the gift shall pass in
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accordance with subsection (g) of this section, and the parts shall be used for
transplantation or therapy, if suitable for those purposes; if not suitable for
transplantation or therapy, the gift may be used for research or education.

(f) If a document of gift specifies only a general intent to make an
anatomical gift by words such as “donor,” “organ donor,” or “body donor,” or
by a symbol or statement of similar import, the gift shall pass in accordance
with subsection (g) of this section, and the parts shall be used for
transplantation or therapy, if suitable for those purposes; if not suitable for
transplantation or therapy, the gift may be used for research or education.

(g) For purposes of subsections (b), (e), and (f) of this section, the
following rules apply:

(1) If the part is an eye, the gift passes to the appropriate eye bank.

(2) If the part is tissue, the gift passes to the appropriate tissue bank.

(3) If the part is an organ, the gift passes to the appropriate organ
procurement organization as custodian of the organ.

(h) An anatomical gift of an organ for transplantation or therapy, other than
an anatomical gift under subdivision (a)(2) of this section, passes to the organ
procurement organization as custodian of the organ.

(i) If an anatomical gift does not pass pursuant to subsections (a)
through (h), inclusive, of this section, or the decedent’s body or part is not used
for transplantation, therapy, research, or education, custody of the body or part
passes to the person under obligation to dispose of the body or part.

(j) A person may not accept an anatomical gift if the person knows that the
gift was not effectively made under section 6005 or 6010 of this title or if the
person knows that the decedent made a refusal under section 6007 of this title
that was not revoked. For purposes of this subsection, if a person knows that
an anatomical gift was made on a document of gift, the person is deemed to
know of any amendment or revocation of the gift or any refusal to make an
anatomical gift on the same document of gift.

(k) Except as otherwise provided in subdivision (a)(2) of this section,
nothing in this chapter affects the allocation of organs for transplantation or
therapy.

§ 6012. SEARCH AND NOTIFICATION

(a) The following persons shall make a reasonable search of an individual
who the person reasonably believes is dead or near death for a document of gift
or other information identifying the individual as a donor or as an individual
who made a refusal:

(1) a law enforcement officer, firefighter, paramedic, or other
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emergency rescuer finding the individual; and

(2) if no other source of the information is immediately available, a
hospital, as soon as practical after the individual’s arrival at the hospital.

(b) If a document of gift or a refusal to make an anatomical gift is located
by the search required by subdivision (a)(1) of this section and the individual
or deceased individual to whom it relates is taken to a hospital, the person
responsible for conducting the search shall send the document of gift or refusal
to the hospital.

(c) A person is not subject to criminal or civil liability for failing to
discharge the duties imposed by this section but may be subject to
administrative sanctions.

§ 6013. DELIVERY OF DOCUMENT OF GIFT NOT REQUIRED; RIGHT
TO EXAMINE

(a) A document of gift need not be delivered during the donor’s lifetime to
be effective.

(b) Upon or after an individual’s death, a person in possession of a
document of gift or a refusal to make an anatomical gift with respect to the
individual shall allow examination and copying of the document of gift or
refusal by a person authorized to make or object to the making of an
anatomical gift with respect to the individual or by a person to which the gift
could pass under section 6011 of this title.

§ 6014. RIGHTS AND DUTIES OF PROCUREMENT ORGANIZATION
AND OTHERS

(a) When a hospital refers an individual at or near death to a procurement
organization, the organization shall make a reasonable search of the records of
the Vermont donor registry and any other donor registry that it knows exists
for the geographical area in which the individual resides to ascertain whether
the individual has made an anatomical gift.

(b) A procurement organization must be allowed reasonable access to the
Vermont donor registry established pursuant to section 6020 of this title to
ascertain whether an individual at or near death is a donor.

(c) When a hospital refers an individual at or near death to a procurement
organization, the organization may conduct any reasonable examination
necessary to assess the medical suitability of a part that is or could be the
subject of an anatomical gift for transplantation, therapy, research, or education
from a donor or a prospective donor. During the examination period, measures
necessary to maintain the potential medical suitability of the part may not be
withdrawn unless the hospital or procurement organization knows that the
individual expressed a contrary intent.
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(d) Unless prohibited by law other than this chapter, at any time after a
donor’s death, the person to which a part passes under section 6011 of this title
may conduct any reasonable examination necessary to assess the medical
suitability of the body or part for its intended purpose.

(e) Unless prohibited by law other than this chapter, an examination under
subsection (c) or (d) of this section may include serological and blood and
tissue compatibility testing, as well as an examination of all medical and dental
records of the donor or prospective donor.

(f) Upon the death of a minor who was a donor or had signed a refusal,
unless a procurement organization knows the minor is emancipated, the
procurement organization shall conduct a reasonable search for the parents of
the minor and provide the parents with an opportunity to revoke or amend the
anatomical gift or revoke the refusal.

(g) Upon referral by a hospital under subsection (a) of this section, a
procurement organization shall make a reasonable search for any person listed
in section 6009 of this title having priority to make an anatomical gift on
behalf of a prospective donor. If a procurement organization receives
information that an anatomical gift to any other person was made, amended, or
revoked, it shall promptly advise the other person of all relevant information.

(h) Subject to subsection 6011(i) and section 6023 of this title, the rights of
the person to which a part passes under section 6011 are superior to the rights
of all others with respect to the part. The person may accept or reject an
anatomical gift in whole or in part. Subject to the terms of the document of
gift and this chapter, a person that accepts an anatomical gift of an entire body
may allow embalming, burial or cremation, and use of remains in a funeral
service. If the gift is of a part, the person to which the part passes under
section 6011 of this title, upon the death of the donor and before embalming,
burial, or cremation, shall cause the part to be removed without unnecessary
mutilation.

(i) Neither the physician who attends the decedent at death nor the
physician who determines the time of the decedent’s death may participate in
the procedures for removing or transplanting a part from the decedent. As
used in this section, “procedures” include actual physical removal and
transplantation of a part but do not include the consent, process, disposal,
preservation, quality measures, storage, transportation, or research involving a
part.

(j) A physician or technician may remove a donated part from the body of a
donor that the physician or technician is qualified to remove.

§ 6015. COORDINATION OF PROCUREMENT AND USE
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Each hospital in this state shall enter into agreements or affiliations with
procurement organizations for coordination of procurement and use of
anatomical gifts.

§ 6016. SALE OR PURCHASE OF PARTS PROHIBITED

(a) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (b) of this section, no
person shall, for valuable consideration, knowingly purchase or sell a part for
transplantation or therapy if removal of a part from an individual is intended to
occur after the individual’s death.

(b) A person may charge a reasonable amount for the removal, processing,
preservation, quality control, storage, transportation, implantation, or disposal
of a part.

(c) A person who violates subsection (a) of this section shall be imprisoned
not more than five years or fined not more than $50,000.00 or both.

§ 6017. OTHER PROHIBITED ACTS

(a) No person shall, in order to obtain a financial gain, intentionally falsify,
forge, conceal, deface, or obliterate a document of gift, an amendment or
revocation of a document of gift, or a refusal.

(b) A person who violates subsection (a) of this section shall be imprisoned
not more than five years or fined not more than $50,000.00 or both.

§ 6018. IMMUNITY

(a) A person who acts in accordance with this chapter or with the
applicable anatomical gift law of another state or attempts in good faith to do
so is not liable for the act in a civil action, criminal prosecution, or
administrative proceeding. An act that relies upon a document of gift in a
donor registry, a signed statement by a donor in an advance directive, or a
donor card shall be presumed to be in good faith.

(b) Neither the person making an anatomical gift nor the donor’s estate is
liable for any injury or damage that results from the making or use of the gift.

(c) In determining whether an anatomical gift has been made, amended, or
revoked under this chapter, a person may rely upon representations of an
individual listed in subdivision 6009(a)(2), (3), (4), (5), (6), (7), (8), or (9) of
this title relating to the individual’s relationship to the donor or prospective
donor unless the person knows that the representation is untrue.

§ 6019. LAW GOVERNING VALIDITY; CHOICE OF LAW AS TO
EXECUTION OF DOCUMENT OF GIFT; PRESUMPTION OF VALIDITY

(a) A document of gift is valid if executed in accordance with:

(1) this chapter;
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(2) the laws of the state or country where it was executed; or

(3) the laws of the state or country where the person making the
anatomical gift was domiciled, has a place of residence, or was a national at
the time the document of gift was executed.

(b) If a document of gift is valid under this section, the law of this state
governs the interpretation of the document of gift.

(c) A person may presume that a document of gift or amendment of an
anatomical gift is valid unless that person knows that it was not validly
executed or was revoked.

§ 6020. DONOR REGISTRY

(a) The department of health shall ensure that a registry is developed and
maintained to identify people who have authorized a document of gift and shall
oversee the operation of the registry.

(b) The department of motor vehicles is authorized to enter into a data use
agreement with an organ procurement organization for the purpose of
transmitting information identifying persons who have authorized a document
of gift at the time of issuance of a driver’s license or driver’s license renewal
and incorporating such information into a donor registry maintained by the
organ procurement organization. Such information shall constitute the
Vermont donor registry. The department of motor vehicles may secure grants
from public and private sources, and receive and disburse funds that are
assigned, donated, or bequeathed to the department to cover the costs of
receiving and transmitting the document of gift data. As funds become
available, documents of gift may be accepted and data forwarded from persons
16 and 17 years of age and persons being issued nondriver identification cards.

(c) The Vermont donor registry shall:

(1) contain a database that includes donors who have authorized an
anatomical gift and provide a mechanism for an anatomical gift to be removed
from the database;

(2) be accessible to other organ procurement organizations to allow
them to obtain relevant information from the donor registry to determine, at or
near the time of the death of the donor or a prospective donor, whether the
donor or prospective donor has authorized an anatomical gift; and

(3) be accessible 24 hours per day, seven days per week for the purposes
specified in subdivisions (1) and (2) of this subsection.

(d) No later than January 15, 2011, the department of motor vehicles shall

submit a report on its implementation of a data use agreement with a qualified
organ procurement organization to the house and senate committees on
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government operations, the house committee on human services, and the
senate committee on health and welfare.

(e) Personally identifiable information contained in a donor registry about a
donor or prospective donor may not be used or disclosed by any organ
procurement organization except with the express consent of the donor,
prospective donor, or other person making the anatomical gift for any purpose
other than to determine, at or near the time of the death of the donor or
prospective donor, whether such donor or prospective donor has made,
amended, or revoked an anatomical gift.

(f) Nothing in this section shall be construed to prohibit any person from
creating or maintaining a donor registry that is not established under this
section, provided that any such registry shall comply with the provisions of
subsections (c) and (e) of this section.

§ 6021. [Reserved.]

§ 6022. COOPERATION BETWEEN MEDICAL EXAMINER AND
PROCUREMENT ORGANIZATION

The chief medical examiner shall cooperate with procurement organizations
to maximize the opportunity to recover anatomical gifts for the purpose of
transplantation, therapy, research, or education.

§ 6023. [Reserved.]

§ 6024. HONORING DONOR INTENT

A person’s decision to make a donation of that person’s own organ or tissue
after death shall be honored. In the absence of a revocation or amendment of
an anatomical gift, health care providers and procurement organizations shall
act in accordance with the donor’s decision and may take appropriate actions
to effect the anatomical gift.

§ 6025. UNIFORMITY OF APPLICATION AND CONSTRUCTION

In applying and construing this uniform act, consideration must be given to
the need to promote uniformity of the law with respect to its subject matter
among states that enact it.

§ 6026. RELATION TO ELECTRONIC SIGNATURES IN GLOBAL AND
NATIONAL COMMERCE ACT

This act modifies, limits, and supersedes the Electronic Signatures in Global
and National Commerce Act, 15 U.S.C. Section 7001 et seq., but does not
modify, limit, or supersede Section 101(a) of that act, 15 U.S.C. Section 7001,
or authorize electronic delivery of any of the notices described in Section
103(b) of that act, 15 U.S.C. Section 7003(b).
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Sec. 2. 15 V.S.A. § 1204(e) is amended to read:

(e) The following is a nonexclusive list of legal benefits, protections, and
responsibilities of spouses, which shall apply in like manner to parties to a civil
union:

* * *

(19) laws relating to the making, revoking and objecting to anatomical
gifts by others under 18 V.S.A. § 5240 18 V.S.A. § 6009;

* * *

Sec. 3. 15 V.S.A. § 1301(a) is amended to read:

(a) The purpose of this chapter is to provide two persons who are
blood-relatives or related by adoption the opportunity to establish a consensual
reciprocal beneficiaries relationship so they may receive the benefits and
protections and be subject to the responsibilities that are granted to spouses in
the following specific areas:

(1) Hospital visitation and medical decision-making under 18 V.S.A.
§ 1853;

(2) Decision-making relating to anatomical gifts under 18 V.S.A. § 5240
18 V.S.A. § 6009;

* * *

Sec. 4. 18 V.S.A. § 9701 is amended to read:

§ 9701. DEFINITIONS

As used in this chapter:

* * *

(3) “Anatomical gift” shall have the same meaning as provided in
subdivision 5238(1) 6002(3) of this title.

* * *

Sec. 5. 18 V.S.A. § 9702 is amended to read:

§ 9702. ADVANCE DIRECTIVE

(a) An adult may do any or all of the following in an advance directive:

* * *

(15) make, limit, or refuse to make an anatomical gift pursuant to
chapter 109 151 of this title;

* * *



- 540 -

Sec. 6. 18 V.S.A. § 9715(b) is amended to read:

(b) Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to limit or abrogate an
individual’s ability to create a document of anatomical gift pursuant to chapter
109 151 of this title.

Sec. 7. 23 V.S.A. § 618a is amended to read:

§ 618a. ANATOMICAL GIFT ACT; DONOR; FORM

The commissioner shall provide a form which, upon the licensee’s
execution, shall serve as a document of an anatomical gift under chapter 109
151 of Title 18. An indicator shall be placed on the license of any person who
has executed an anatomical gift form in accordance with this section.

Sec. 8. 33 V.S.A. § 2302(a) is amended to read:

(a) When requested in writing by a practicing physician, licensed and
resident in this state, the officer having charge of the burial shall deliver the
body of a deceased person to be buried under section 2301 of this title to the
physician to be used by him or her for the advancement of anatomical science,
unless:

* * *

(6) The deceased person is known to have executed an anatomical gift
document in accordance with the provisions of the Revised Uniform
Anatomical Gift Act.

Sec. 9. REPEAL

Chapter 109 of Title 18 (Uniform Anatomical Gift Act) is repealed.

Sec. 10. EFFECTIVE DATE

This act shall take effect July 1, 2010.

(Committee vote: 5-0-0)

S. 237.

An act relating to operational standards for salvage yards.

Reported favorably with recommendation of amendment by Senator
Snelling for the Committee on Natural Resources and Energy.

The Committee recommends that the bill be amended by striking out all
after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 24 V.S.A. §§ 2248 and 2249 are added to read:

§ 2248. SALVAGE YARD OPERATIONAL STANDARDS
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(a) Beginning July 1, 2010, a salvage yard shall meet the following
operational standards:

(1) The salvage yard shall comply with the screening and fencing
requirements of section 2257 of this title.

(2) Vehicles shall be drained of all fluids prior to crushing and within 14
days of receipt by the salvage yard. Fluids shall be drained, collected, and
stored according to standards established by the secretary in order to prevent
release to the environment. Fluids that shall be drained, collected, and stored
include antifreeze, oil, brake fluid, fuel, refrigerants, and transmission fluid.

(3) Vehicles shall be drained and crushed on a nonporous surface that is
not subject to flooding and that is sheltered from or not exposed to rain or
snow.

(4) A salvage yard shall not be sited or operated within 100 feet of a
Class I or Class II wetland as those terms are defined on 10 V.S.A. § 902.

(5) A salvage yard shall not be sited or operated within 300 feet of a
potable water supply, as that term is defined in 10 V.S.A. § 1972, unless:

(A) the water supply provides water to the salvage yard; or

(B) the agency of natural resources approves management practices
or remedial measures to prevent contamination of the potable water supply.

(b) On or before February 15, 2011, the secretary shall adopt by rule
requirements for the siting, operation, and closure of salvage yards. The rules
shall establish requirements for:

(1) financial responsibility in amounts necessary to remediate potential
environmental contamination caused by the salvage yard;

(2) removal of solid waste or tires from the salvage yard for proper
disposal;

(3) establishment and maintenance of screening or fencing of salvage
yards from public view;

(4) assuring proper closure of a salvage yard facility;

(5) postclosure environmental monitoring of a salvage yard;

(6) classes or categories of salvage yards, including those handling total
loss vehicles from insurance; and

(7) additional measures that the secretary determines necessary for the
protection of public health, safety, and the environment.

(c) The secretary may issue a general permit for the regulation of salvage
yards under this subchapter. The general permit may include a provision
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allowing a holder of a valid certificate of registration issued under this
subchapter to self-certify compliance with the applicable standards of this
subchapter and rules adopted under this subchapter. A general permit issued
under this section shall be adopted by rule and may be incorporated into the
rule required under subsection (b) of this section.

(d) No person may deliver salvage vehicles or operate a mobile salvage
vehicle crusher at a salvage yard that does not hold a certificate of registration
under this subchapter. A salvage yard holding a certificate of registration
under this subchapter shall post a copy of its current certificate in a clearly
visible location in the proximity of each entrance to the salvage yard.

(e) The requirement under subdivision (a)(2) of this section or rules
adopted under this section to drain a vehicle within 14 days of receipt shall not
apply to a salvage yard holding a certificate of registration under this
subchapter that, as of January 1, 2010, is conducting business, the primary
activity of which is the handling of total loss vehicles from insurance
companies.

§ 2249. SALVAGE YARD OPERATOR TRAINING

At least annually, the owner or operator of a salvage yard shall attend a
training workshop conducted by the agency of natural resources regarding the
requirements of this subchapter, best management practices, existing and
proposed environmental standards, and other applicable federal, state, or
municipal requirements.

Sec. 2. 24 V.S.A. § 2241(7) is amended to read:

(7) “Salvage yard” means any place of outdoor storage or deposit for
storing, keeping, processing, buying, or selling junk or as a scrap metal
processing facility. “Salvage yard” also means any place of outdoor storage or
deposit, not in connection with a business which is maintained or used for
storing or keeping four or more junk motor vehicles which are visible from any
portion of a public highway or navigable water, as that term is defined in
section of Title 10 outdoor area where four or more junk motor vehicles or
uninspected motor vehicles are placed, kept, or stored. It does not mean a
garage where wrecked or disabled motor vehicles are stored for less than 90
days for inspection or repairs.

Sec. 3. 24 V.S.A. § 4454(a) is amended to read:

(a) An action, injunction, or other enforcement proceeding relating to the
failure to obtain or comply with the terms and conditions of any required
municipal land use permit may be instituted under sections section 1974a,
4451, or 4452 of this title against the alleged offender if the action, injunction,
or other enforcement proceeding is instituted within 15 years from the date the
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alleged violation first occurred and not thereafter, except that the 15-year
limitation for instituting an action, injunction, or enforcement proceeding shall
not apply to any action, injunction, or enforcement proceeding instituted for a
violation of chapter 61 of this title. The burden of proving the date the alleged
violation first occurred shall be on the person against whom the enforcement
action is instituted.

Sec. 4. 27 V.S.A. § 612(a) is amended to read:

(a) Notwithstanding the majority decision in Bianchi v. Lorenz (1997), for
land development, as defined in 24 V.S.A. § 4303(3)(10), no encumbrance on
record title to real estate or effect on marketability shall be created by the
failure to obtain or comply with the terms or conditions of any required
municipal land use permit as defined in 24 V.S.A. § 4303(24)(11).

Sec. 5. 24 V.S.A. § 4303(11) is amended to read:

(11) “Municipal land use permit” means any of the following whenever
issued:

(A) A zoning, subdivision, site plan, or building permit or approval,
any of which relate to “land development” as defined in this section, that has
received final approval from the applicable board, commission, or officer of
the municipality.

(B) A wastewater system permit issued under any municipal
ordinance adopted pursuant to chapter 102 of this title.

(C) Final official minutes of a meeting that relate to a permit or
approval described in subdivision (11)(A) or (B) of this section that serve as
the sole evidence of that permit or approval.

(D) A certificate of occupancy, certificate of compliance, or similar
certificate that relates to the permits or approvals described in subdivision
(11)(A) or (B) of this section, if the bylaws so require.

(E) An amendment of any of the documents listed in subdivisions
(11)(A) through (D) and (F) of this section.

(F) A certificate of approved location for a salvage yard issued under
chapter 61 of this title.

Sec. 6. REPEAL

24 V.S.A. § 2248(a) (statutory operational standards for salvage yards) is
repealed February 15, 2011.

Sec. 7. EFFECTIVE DATE

This act shall take effect July 1, 2010.
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(Committee vote: 5-0-0)

S. 247.

An act relating to bisphenol A.

Reported favorably with recommendation of amendment by Senator
Lyons for the Committee on Health and Welfare.

The Committee recommends that the bill be amended as follows:

First: In Sec. 1, by adding a subdivision (7) to read:

(7) Alternatives to BPA exist, including glass, stainless steel, and
aluminum bottles; BPA-free plastic containers, some of which are already used
by several manufacturers of infant formula; foil packets; and powdered foods
stored in cardboard boxes.

Second: In Sec. 2, 18 V.S.A. § 1512, in subdivision (a)(4), by adding a
third sentence to read as follows: The term shall not include water jugs with a
capacity of five or more gallons until such time as a reasonable alternative is
identified by the office of the attorney general.

Third: In Sec. 3, 18 V.S.A. § 1512, by striking out subsection (c) in its
entirety and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

(c)(1) Beginning July 1, 2012, no person or entity shall manufacture, sell,
or distribute in commerce in this state any infant formula or baby food stored
in a plastic container or jar that contains bisphenol A.

(2) Beginning July 1, 2014, no person or entity shall manufacture, sell,
or distribute in commerce in this state any infant formula or baby food stored
in a can that contains bisphenol A.

(Committee vote: 4-2-0)

S. 262.

An act relating to insurance coverage for autism diagnosis and treatment.

Reported favorably with recommendation of amendment by Senator
Carris for the Committee on Finance.

The Committee recommends that the bill be amended by striking out all
after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. FINDINGS

The general assembly finds that:

(1) Many individuals with an autism spectrum disorder require lifelong
supports at an estimated cost of $3.2 million per person.

(2) A national survey of parents in 2005–2006 found that:
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(A) 31 percent of children with an autism spectrum disorder had
unmet needs for specific health care services;

(B) 14 percent of children with an autism spectrum disorder had
forgone care;

(C) 31 percent of children with an autism spectrum disorder had
difficulty receiving referrals;

(D) 38 percent of families of children with an autism spectrum
disorder had financial problems caused by their child’s health care;

(E) 35 percent of families of children with an autism spectrum
disorder found that they needed additional income to cover their child’s
medical expenses;

(F) 57 percent of families of children with an autism spectrum
disorder had a family member who needed to reduce or stop employment
because of the child’s condition;

(G) 27 percent of families of children with an autism spectrum
disorder spent 10 or more hours per week providing or coordinating the child’s
care; and

(H) 31 percent of families of children with an autism spectrum
disorder had paid at least $1,000.00 for their child’s medical care during the
preceding year.

(3) Information gathered through a 2008 online survey indicates similar
challenges for families of children with autism spectrum disorders in Vermont,
including high rates of stress, depression, economic hardship, social isolation,
marital difficulties, sibling issues, impacts on extended family relationships,
and job loss.

(4) Two studies in other states have documented cost savings associated
with early intensive behavioral intervention, predicting savings near or above
$200,000.00 per child over the course of the child’s educational career.

(5) Special education information provided to the office of special
education in the Vermont department of education in December 2009 included
94 early essential education students (ages three to five years) and 14 family,
infant, and toddler children (ages birth to three years). Using the predicted
savings from the studies in other states, the projected savings in Vermont if
those 108 children received early intensive behavioral intervention would be
over $20 million.

(6) Special education directors currently report spending an average of
$42,500.00 per child per year for students with an autism spectrum disorder,
which would total $765,000.00 per child over 18 years of education.
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(7) A 2008 report to the Vermont general assembly estimated that
$57 million was spent within the agency of human services and the department
of education during fiscal year 2007, which the office of the Vermont state
auditor found to be a fair estimate of state spending for autism services.

(8) Research strongly indicates that early detection, diagnosis, and
treatment of children with autism spectrum disorders result in significant
improvements in functioning for a substantial subset of young children, from
birth to age eight, who receive intensive, early intervention and treatment.
Examples from studies have found:

(A) For a group of children receiving 40 hours per week of intensive,
early behavioral intervention for two or more years, 47 percent achieved
successful first grade performance, only 40 percent were assigned to special
classes, and only 10 percent required continued, ongoing support;

(B) When the children described in subdivision (A) of this
subdivision (8) were followed up on at the age of 11 and one-half years, only
one child who had been in the 47 percent successful group in the first grade
required more support; others were indistinguishable from their peers; and

(C) For a group of children in a separate study who received an
average of 38 hours per week of intensive, early behavioral intervention for
two years, 48 percent succeeded in regular first and second grade classes,
demonstrated generally average academic abilities, spoke fluently, and had
peers with whom they played regularly.

Sec. 2. STUDY OF COVERAGE OF APPROPRIATE SERVICES FOR
CHILDREN WITH AUTISM SPECTRUM DISORDERS

(a) The department of banking, insurance, securities, and health care
administration shall convene a work group to consider insurance coverage and
other treatment options for children diagnosed with an autism spectrum
disorder. The work group shall comprise:

(1) the commissioner of banking, insurance, securities, and health care
administration or designee;

(2) the commissioner of health or designee;

(3) the commissioner of education or designee;

(4) the commissioner of mental health or designee;

(5) the commissioner for children and families or designee;

(6) the commissioner of disabilities, aging, and independent living or
designee;

(7) one member of the autism task force;
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(8) three parents of children with autism spectrum disorders, to be
appointed by groups representing families of children with autism spectrum
disorders, including:

(A) one parent of a child under the age of six;

(B) one parent of a child between the ages of six and 21; and

(C) one parent of an adult child;

(9) one provider of services to individuals with autism spectrum
disorders, to be appointed by the Vermont interagency autism spectrum
disorders planning advisory committee; and

(10) one representative from each of the three largest health insurers
doing business in Vermont.

(b) The work group shall propose options, using insurance coverage, other
means, or a combination thereof, to ensure that children who are diagnosed
with an autism spectrum disorder receive the services they need at the earliest
appropriate age. The work group shall identify the pros and cons and a cost
estimate for each option and shall provide its recommendation to the senate
committees on finance, on health and welfare, and on education and the house
committees on human services, on health care, and on education by January
15, 2011.

and by changing the name of the bill to read “An act relating to a study of
coverage of appropriate services for children with autism spectrum disorders”

(Committee vote: 6-0-1)

S. 263.

An act relating to job creation and economic development.

Reported favorably with recommendation of amendment by Senator
Miller for the Committee on Economic Development, Housing and
General Affairs.

The Committee recommends that the bill be amended by striking out all
after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 11A V.S.A. chapter 21 is added to read:

CHAPTER 21. BENEFIT CORPORATIONS

§ 21.01. SHORT TITLE

§ 21.02. LAW APPLICABLE

§ 21.03. DEFINITIONS

§ 21.04. INCORPORATION OF A BENEFIT CORPORATION
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§ 21.05. ELECTION OF EXISTING CORPORATION TO BECOME A
BENEFIT CORPORATION

§ 21.06. MERGER AND SHARE EXCHANGE

§ 21.07. TERMINATION OF BENEFIT CORPORATION STATUS BY
AMENDMENT OF ARTICLES OF INCORPORATION; VOTE
REQUIRED

§ 21.08. CORPORATE PURPOSE

§ 21.09. STANDARD OF CONDUCT FOR DIRECTORS

§ 21.10. BENEFIT DIRECTOR

§ 21.11. STANDARD OF CONDUCT FOR OFFICERS

§ 21.12. BENEFIT OFFICER

§ 21.13. RIGHT OF ACTION

§ 21.14. ANNUAL BENEFIT REPORT

§ 21.01. SHORT TITLE

This chapter shall be known and may be cited as the “Vermont Benefit
Corporations Act.”

§ 21.02. LAW APPLICABLE

(a) This chapter shall apply only to a domestic corporation meeting the
definition of a benefit corporation in subdivision 21.03(a)(1) of this title. The
provisions of this title other than those set forth in this chapter shall apply to a
benefit corporation in the absence of a contrary or inconsistent provision in this
chapter. A corporation whose status as a benefit corporation terminates shall
immediately become subject to the obligations and rights of a general
corporation as provided in this title.

(b) The existence of a provision of this chapter does not of itself create any
implication that a contrary or different rule of law is or would be applicable to
a corporation that is not a benefit corporation. This chapter does not affect any
statute or rule of law as it applies to a corporation that is not a benefit
corporation.

(c) A provision of the articles of incorporation or bylaws of a benefit
corporation may not be inconsistent with any provision of this chapter.

(d) Terms that are defined in other chapters of this title shall have the same
meaning when used in this chapter, except that in this chapter, “corporation”
shall have the meaning set forth in section 1.40 of this title.

§ 21.03. DEFINITIONS
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(a) As used in this chapter:

(1) “Benefit corporation” means a corporation as defined in section 1.40
of this title whose articles of incorporation include the statement “This
corporation is a benefit corporation.”

(2) “Benefit director” means the director designated as the benefit
director of a benefit corporation as provided in section 21.10 of this title.

(3) “Benefit officer” means the officer of a benefit corporation, if any,
designated as the benefit officer as provided in section 21.12 of this title.

(4) “General public benefit” means a material positive impact on society
and the environment, as measured by a third-party standard, through activities
that promote some combination of specific public benefits.

(5) “Independent” means that a person has no material relationship with
a benefit corporation or any of its subsidiaries (other than the relationship of
serving as the benefit director or benefit officer), either directly or as an owner
or manager of an entity that has a material relationship with the benefit
corporation or any of its subsidiaries. A material relationship between a person
and the benefit corporation or any of its subsidiaries will be conclusively
presumed to exist if:

(A) the person is, or has been within the last three years, an employee
of the benefit corporation or any of its subsidiaries, other than as a benefit
officer;

(B) an immediate family member of the person is, or has been within
the last three years, an executive officer, other than a benefit officer, of the
benefit corporation or any of its subsidiaries; or

(C) the person, or an entity of which the person is a manager or in
which the person owns beneficially or of record five percent or more of the
equity interests, owns beneficially or of record five percent or more of the
shares of the benefit corporation.

(6) “Specific public benefit” includes:

(A) providing low income or underserved individuals or communities
with beneficial products or services;

(B) promoting economic opportunity for individuals or communities
beyond the creation of jobs in the normal course of business;

(C) preserving the environment;

(D) improving human health

(E) promoting the arts or sciences or the advancement of knowledge;
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(F) increasing the flow of capital to entities with a public benefit
purpose; and

(G) the accomplishment of any other identifiable benefit for society
or the environment.

(7) “Subsidiary” of a person means an entity in which the person owns
beneficially or of record 50 percent or more of the equity interests.

(8) “Third-party standard” means a recognized standard for defining,
reporting, and assessing corporate social and environmental performance that:

(A) is developed by a person that is independent of the benefit
corporation; and

(B) is transparent because the following information about the
standard is publicly available:

(i) the factors considered when measuring the performance of a
business;

(ii) the relative weightings of those factors; and

(iii) the identity of the persons who developed and control changes
to the standard and the process by which those changes are made.

(b) For purposes of subdivisions (a)(5)(C) and (7), a percentage of
ownership in an entity shall be calculated as if all outstanding rights to acquire
equity interests in the entity had been exercised.

§ 21.04. INCORPORATION OF A BENEFIT CORPORATION

A benefit corporation shall be formed in accordance with sections 2.01,
2.02, 2.03, and 2.05 of this title, except that its articles of incorporation shall
also contain the provision required by subdivision 21.03(a)(1) of this title to
meet the definition of a benefit corporation.

§ 21.05. ELECTION OF EXISTING CORPORATION TO BECOME A
BENEFIT CORPORATION

Any corporation organized under this title may become a benefit
corporation by amending its articles of incorporation to add the statement
required by subdivision 21.03(a)(1) of this title to meet the definition of a
benefit corporation. The amendment shall be adopted and shall become
effective in accordance with sections 10.01 through 10.09 of this title and shall
be approved by the higher of:

(1) the vote required by the articles of incorporation; or

(2) two-thirds of the votes entitled to be cast by the outstanding shares
of the corporation, provided that if any class of shares is entitled to vote as a
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group, approval shall also require the affirmative vote of the holders of at least
two-thirds of the votes entitled to be cast by the outstanding shares of each
voting group.

§ 21.06. MERGER AND SHARE EXCHANGE

(a) A plan of merger or share exchange that if effected would terminate the
benefit corporation status of a corporation shall be adopted and shall become
effective in accordance with chapter 11 of this title and shall be approved by
the higher of:

(1) the vote required by the articles of incorporation; or

(2) two-thirds of the votes entitled to be cast by the outstanding shares
of the corporation, provided that if any class of shares is entitled to vote as a
group, approval shall also require the affirmative vote of the holders of at least
two-thirds of the votes entitled to be cast by the outstanding shares of each
voting group.

(b) If a corporation that is not a benefit corporation is a party to a plan of
merger or share exchange in which the surviving corporation is a benefit
corporation, the plan of merger shall be adopted and shall become effective in
accordance with chapter 11 of this title, except that the plan shall be approved
in the case of the corporation that is not a benefit corporation by the higher of:

(1) the vote required by the articles of incorporation; or

(2) two-thirds of the votes entitled to be cast by the outstanding shares
of the corporation, provided that if any class of shares is entitled to vote as a
group, approval shall also require the affirmative vote of the holders of at least
two-thirds of the votes entitled to be cast by the outstanding shares of each
voting group.

§ 21.07. TERMINATION OF BENEFIT CORPORATION STATUS BY
AMENDMENT OF ARTICLES OF INCORPORATION; VOTE REQUIRED

A corporation may terminate its status as a benefit corporation and cease to
be subject to this chapter by amending its articles of incorporation to delete the
provision required by subdivision 21.03(a)(1) of this title to meet the definition
of a benefit corporation, in addition to the provisions required by section 2.02
of this title to be stated in the articles of incorporation of a benefit corporation.
The amendment shall be adopted and shall become effective in accordance
with sections 10.01 through 10.09 of this title and shall be approved by the
higher of:

(1) the vote required by the articles of incorporation; or

(2) two-thirds of the votes entitled to be cast by the outstanding shares
of the corporation, provided that if any class of shares is entitled to vote as a



- 552 -

group, approval shall also require the affirmative vote of the holders of at least
two-thirds of the votes entitled to be cast by the outstanding shares of each
voting group.

§ 21.08. CORPORATE PURPOSE

(a) A benefit corporation shall have the purpose of creating general public
benefit. This purpose is in addition to, and may be a limitation on, the
purposes of the benefit corporation under subsection 3.01(a) of this title.

(b) The articles of incorporation of a benefit corporation may identify one
or more specific public benefits that are the purpose of the benefit corporation
to create in addition to its purposes under subsection 3.01(a) of this title and
subsection (a) of this section. The adoption of a specific public benefit
purpose under this subsection does not limit the obligation of a benefit
corporation to create general public benefit.

(c) The creation of general and specific public benefit as provided in
subsections (a) and (b) of this section is in the best interests of the benefit
corporation.

(d) A benefit corporation may amend its articles of incorporation to add,
amend, or delete a specific public benefit. The amendment shall be adopted
and shall become effective in accordance with sections 10.01 through 10.09 of
this title and shall be approved by the higher of the vote required by the articles
of incorporation or by subsection (e) of this section.

(e) An amendment of the articles of incorporation of a benefit corporation
to add, amend, or delete a specific public benefit in the articles of incorporation
shall be adopted by a vote of at least two-thirds of the votes entitled to be cast
by the outstanding shares of the corporation, provided that if any class of
shares is entitled to vote as a group, approval shall also require the affirmative
vote of the holders of at least two-thirds of the votes entitled to be cast by the
outstanding shares of each voting group.

§ 21.09. STANDARD OF CONDUCT FOR DIRECTORS

(a) Each director of a benefit corporation, in discharging his or her duties as
a director, including the director’s duties as a member of a committee:

(1) shall, in determining what the director reasonably believes to be in
the best interests of the benefit corporation, consider the effects of any action
or inaction upon:

(A) the shareholders of the benefit corporation;

(B) the employees and workforce of the benefit corporation and its
subsidiaries and suppliers;
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(C) the interests of customers to the extent they are beneficiaries of
the general or specific public benefit purposes of the benefit corporation;

(D) community and societal considerations, including those of any
community in which offices or facilities of the benefit corporation or its
subsidiaries or suppliers are located;

(E) the local and global environment; and

(F) the long-term and short-term interests of the benefit corporation,
including the possibility that those interests may be best served by the
continued independence of the benefit corporation;

(2) may consider any other pertinent factors or the interests of any other
group that the director determines are appropriate to consider;

(3) shall not be required to give priority to the interests of any particular
person or group referred to in subdivisions (1) or (2) of this subsection over the
interests of any other person or group unless the benefit corporation has stated
its intention to give priority to interests related to its specific public benefit
purpose in its articles of incorporation; and

(4) shall not be subject to a different or higher standard of care when an
action or inaction might affect control of the benefit corporation.

(b) The consideration of interests and factors in the manner described in
subsection (a) of this section shall not constitute a violation of section 8.30 of
this title.

(c) A director is not liable for the failure of a benefit corporation to create
general or specific public benefit.

(d) A director is not liable to the benefit corporation or any person entitled
to bring a benefit enforcement proceeding under section 21.13 of this title for
any action or failure to take action in his or her official capacity if the director
performed the duties of his or her office in compliance with section 8.30 of this
title and with this section.

(e) A director of a benefit corporation shall have a fiduciary duty only to
those persons entitled to bring a benefit enforcement proceeding against the
benefit corporation under section 21.13 of this title. A director of a benefit
corporation shall not have any fiduciary duty to a person who is a beneficiary
of the general or specific public benefit purposes of the benefit corporation
arising only from the person’s status as a beneficiary.

§ 21.10. BENEFIT DIRECTOR

(a) The board of directors of a benefit corporation shall include one director
who shall be designated the “benefit director” and shall have, in addition to all
of the powers, duties, rights, and immunities of the other directors of the
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benefit corporation, the powers, duties, rights, and immunities provided in this
section.

(b) The benefit director shall be elected and may be removed in the manner
provided by subchapter 1 of chapter 8 of this title and shall be an individual
who is independent of the benefit corporation. The benefit director may serve
as the benefit officer at the same time as serving as the benefit director. The
articles of incorporation or bylaws of a benefit corporation may prescribe
additional qualifications of the benefit director not inconsistent with this
subsection.

(c)(1) The benefit director shall be responsible for the preparation of the
annual benefit report required under section 21.14 of this title.

(2) The benefit director may retain an independent third party to audit
the annual benefit report or conduct any other assessment of the benefit
corporation’s social and environmental performance.

(3) The benefit director shall prepare and shall include in the annual
benefit report a statement whether, in the opinion of the benefit director:

(A) the benefit corporation acted in accordance with its general
public benefit purpose and any specific public benefit purpose in all material
respects during the period covered by the report; and

(B) the directors and officers acted in accordance with the
requirements of subsection 21.09(a) and section 21.11 of this title,
respectively.

(4) If in the opinion of the benefit director the benefit corporation failed
to act in accordance with its general and any specific public benefit purposes or
if its directors or officers failed to act in accordance with the requirements of
subsection 21.09(a) and section 21.11 of this title, respectively, then the
statement of the benefit director shall include a description of the ways in
which the benefit corporation or its directors or officers failed to so act.

(d) The acts and omissions of an individual in the capacity of a benefit
director shall constitute for all purposes acts and omissions of that individual in
the capacity of a director of the benefit corporation.

(e) If the articles of incorporation of a benefit corporation that is a close
corporation dispense with a board of directors pursuant to sections 20.08 and
20.09 of this title, then the articles of incorporation shall provide that the
persons who perform the duties of a board of directors shall include a person
with the powers, duties, rights, and immunities of a benefit director.

(f) Regardless of whether the articles of incorporation of a benefit
corporation include a provision eliminating or limiting the personal liability of
directors authorized by subdivision 2.02(b)(4) of this title, a benefit director
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shall not be personally liable for any act or omission taken in his or her official
capacity as a benefit director unless the act or omission is not in good faith,
involves intentional misconduct or a knowing violation of law, or involves a
transaction from which the director directly or indirectly derived an improper
personal benefit.

§ 21.11. STANDARD OF CONDUCT FOR OFFICERS

(a) An officer of a benefit corporation shall consider the interests and
factors described in subsection 21.09(a) of this title in the manner provided in
that subsection when:

(1) the officer has discretion in how to act or not act with respect to a
matter; and

(2) it reasonably appears to the officer that the matter may have a
material effect on:

(A) the creation of general or specific public benefit by the benefit
corporation; or

(B) any of the interests or factors referred to in section 21.09(a)(1) of
this title.

(b) The consideration of interests and factors in the manner described in
subsection (a) of this section shall not constitute a violation of the fiduciary
duty of an officer to the benefit corporation.

(c) An officer is not liable to the benefit corporation or any person entitled
to bring a benefit enforcement proceeding under section 21.13 of this title for
any action or failure to take action in his or her official capacity if the officer
performed the duties of the position in compliance with section 8.41 of this
title and with this section.

(d) An officer is not liable for the failure of a benefit corporation to create
general or specific public benefit.

(e) An officer of a benefit corporation shall have a fiduciary duty only to
those persons entitled to bring a benefit enforcement proceeding against the
benefit corporation under section 21.13 of this title. An officer of a benefit
corporation shall not have any fiduciary duty to a person that is a beneficiary
of the general or specific public benefit purposes of the benefit corporation
arising only from the person’s status as a beneficiary.

§ 21.12. BENEFIT OFFICER

A benefit corporation may have an officer designated the “benefit officer”
who shall have the authority and shall perform the duties in the management of
the benefit corporation relating to the purpose of the corporation to create
public benefit as set forth with respect to the office in the bylaws or, to the
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extent not inconsistent with the bylaws, prescribed with respect to the office by
the board of directors or by direction of an officer authorized by the board of
directors to prescribe the duties of the office.

§ 21.13. RIGHT OF ACTION

(a) The duties of directors and officers under this chapter and the general
and specific public benefit purposes of a benefit corporation may be enforced
only in a benefit enforcement proceeding, and no person may bring such an
action or claim against a benefit corporation or its directors or officers except
as provided in this section.

(b) A benefit enforcement proceeding may be commenced or maintained
only by:

(1) a shareholder that would otherwise be entitled to commence or
maintain a proceeding in the right of the benefit corporation on any basis;

(2) a director of the corporation;

(3) a person or group of persons that owns beneficially or of record 10
percent or more of the equity interests in an entity of which the benefit
corporation is a subsidiary; or

(4) such other persons as may be specified in the articles of
incorporation of the benefit corporation.

(c) As used in this chapter, “benefit enforcement proceeding” means a
claim or action against a director or officer for:

(1) failure to pursue the general public benefit purpose of the benefit
corporation or any specific public benefit purpose set forth in its articles of
incorporation; or

(2) violation of a duty or standard of conduct under this chapter.

§ 21.14. ANNUAL BENEFIT REPORT

(a) A benefit corporation shall deliver to each shareholder, in a format
approved by the directors, an annual benefit report, which shall include:

(1)(A) a statement of the specific goals or outcomes identified by the
benefit corporation for creating general public benefit and any specific public
benefit for the period of the benefit report;

(B) a description of the actions taken by the benefit corporation to
attain the identified goals or outcomes and the extent to which the goals or
outcomes were attained;

(C) a description of any circumstances that hindered the attainment of
the identified goals or outcomes and the creation of general public benefit or
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any specific public benefit; and

(D) specific actions the benefit corporation can take to improve its
social and environmental performance and attain the goals or outcomes
identified for creating general public benefit and any specific public benefit.

(2) an assessment of the social and environmental performance of the
benefit corporation prepared in accordance with a third-party standard that has
been applied consistently with prior benefit reports or accompanied by an
explanation of the reasons for any inconsistent application;

(3) a statement of specific goals or outcomes identified by the benefit
corporation and approved by the shareholders for creating general public
benefit and any specific public benefit for the period of the next benefit report.

(4) the name of the benefit director and the benefit officer, if any, and
the address to which correspondence to each of them may be directed;

(5) the compensation paid by the benefit corporation during the year to
each director in that capacity;

(6) the name of each person that owns beneficially or of record five
percent or more of the shares of the benefit corporation; and

(7) the statement of the benefit director described in subsection 21.10(c)
of this title.

(b) A benefit corporation shall annually deliver the benefit report to each
shareholder within 120 days following the end of the fiscal year of the benefit
corporation or at the same time that the benefit corporation delivers any other
annual report to its shareholders.

(c) After reasonable opportunity for review, the shareholders of the benefit
corporation shall approve or reject the annual benefit report by majority vote at
the annual meeting of shareholders or at a special meeting held for that
purpose.

(d) A benefit corporation shall post its most recent benefit report endorsed
by its shareholders on the public portion of its website, if any, except that the
compensation paid to directors and any financial or proprietary information
included in the benefit report may be omitted from the benefit report as posted.
If a benefit corporation does not have a public website, it shall deliver a copy
of its most recent benefit report on demand and without charge to any person
who requests a copy.

Sec. 2. 11A V.S.A. § 2.02(a) is amended to read:

(a) The articles of incorporation shall set forth:

* * *
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(6) one or more classes of shares that together have unlimited voting
rights; and

(7) one or more classes of shares (which may be the same class or
classes as those with voting rights) that together are entitled to receive the net
assets of the corporation upon dissolution; and

(8) whether the corporation is a benefit corporation under chapter 21 of
this title.

Sec. 3. EFFECTIVE DATE

This act shall take effect on July 1, 2011.

and that the title of the bill be amended to read: “An act relating to the
Vermont Benefit Corporations Act”

(Committee vote: 5-0-0)

S. 266.

An act relating to rights of workers’ compensation claimants.

Reported favorably with recommendation of amendment by Senator
Ashe for the Committee on Economic Development, Housing and General
Affairs.

The Committee recommends that the bill be amended by striking out all
after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. DEPARTMENT OF LABOR MISCLASSIFICATION;
ENFORCEMENT PERSONNEL; FUNDING

(a) No later than August 1, 2010, the department of labor shall have a total
of four limited service workers’ compensation fraud investigator employees to
investigate classifications and enforce the laws relating to worker, business,
and job duty classifications.

(b) In addition to the percentage of premiums to be paid by employers into
the workers’ compensation administration fund pursuant to 21 V.S.A. § 711,
employers shall pay an additional 0.055 percent to fund one of the investigator
positions required pursuant to subsection (a) of this section.

Sec. 2. 13 V.S.A. § 2024 is amended to read:

§ 2024. WORKERS’ COMPENSATION FRAUD; CRIMINAL PENALTIES

Any person, including an employee, employer, medical case manager,
health care provider, vocational rehabilitation provider, or workers’
compensation insurance carrier who, knowingly and with intent to defraud
makes a false statement or representation for the purpose of obtaining,
affecting, or denying any benefit or payment under the provisions of chapter 9
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of Title 21, either for her herself or himself or for any other person, shall forfeit
all benefits or payments obtained as a result of the false statement or
representation and all or a portion of any right to compensation under the
provisions of chapter 9 of Title 21 as determined by the commissioner and:

(1) For fraud involving $10,000.00 or more, be fined not more than
$100,000.00 or imprisoned not more than three years, or both.

(2) For fraud involving less than $10,000.00, be fined not more than
$10,000.00 or imprisoned not more than two years, or both.

Sec. 3. 21 V.S.A. § 692 is amended to read:

§ 692. PENALTIES; FAILURE TO INSURE; STOP WORK ORDERS

(a) Failure to insure. If after hearing under section 688 of this title, the
commissioner determines that an employer has failed to comply with the
provisions of section 687 of this title, the employer shall be assessed an
administrative penalty of not more than $100.00 for every day the employer
neglected to secure liability.

(b) Stop work orders. Additionally, If an employer who fails to comply
with the provisions of section 687 of this title for a period of five days after
notice from investigation by the commissioner, the commissioner shall issue an
emergency order to that employer to stop work until the employer has secured
workers’ compensation insurance, unless the commissioner determines that
immediate closure would cause immediate threat to the safety or health of the
public, in which case the commissioner may permit work to continue for up to
72 hours after the order is issued. In addition, the employer shall be assessed
an administrative penalty of not more than $250.00 for every day after five
days that the employer fails to secure workers’ compensation coverage as
required in section 687 of this title. The When a stop work order is issued, the
commissioner may, after giving notice and after the expiration of the five-day
period, shall post a notice at a conspicuous place on the premises worksite of
the employer informing the employees that their employer has failed to comply
with the provisions of section 687 of this title and ordering the premises closed
that work at the worksite has been ordered to cease until workers’
compensation insurance is secured. The stop work order shall be rescinded as
soon as the commissioner determines that the employer is in compliance with
section 687 of this title.

(c) If any employer fails to secure or retain workers’ compensation
insurance within two years after receiving an order to obtain insurance or a
notice that the commissioner intends to order the premises closed as described
in subsection (b) of this section, without further notice, the commissioner shall
order the premises of that employer closed and that all business operations
cease until the employer has secured workers’ compensation insurance.
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Penalty for violation of stop work order. An employer who violates a stop
work order described in subsection (b) of this section is subject to

(1) A civil penalty of not more than $5,000.00 for the first violation and
a civil penalty of not more than $10,000.00 for a second or subsequent
violation; or

(2) A criminal fine of not more than $10,000.00 or imprisonment for not
more than 30 days, or both.

Sec. 4. 4 V.S.A. § 1102(b) is amended to read:

(b) The judicial bureau shall have jurisdiction of the following matters:

* * *

(19) Violations of 21 V.S.A. § 692(c)(1).

Sec. 5. 21 V.S.A. § 708 is amended to read:

§ 708. PENALTY FOR FALSE REPRESENTATIONS

(a) Action by the commissioner of labor. A person who willfully makes a
false statement or representation, for the purpose of obtaining any benefit or
payment under the provisions of this chapter, either for her herself or himself
or for any other person, after notice and opportunity for hearing, may be
assessed an administrative penalty of not more than $5,000.00 total, and shall
forfeit all or a portion of any right to compensation under the provisions of this
chapter, as determined to be appropriate by the commissioner after a
determination by the commissioner that the person has willfully made a false
statement or representation of a material fact.

(b) When the department of labor has sufficient reason to believe that an
employer has made a false statement or representation for the purpose of
obtaining a lower workers’ compensation premium, the department shall refer
the alleged violation to the commissioner of banking, insurance, securities, and
health care administration for the commissioner’s consideration of
enforcement pursuant to 8 V.S.A. § 3661(c).

(c) Any penalty assessed or order issued under this chapter or 8 V.S.A.
§ 3661 shall continue in effect against any successor employer that has one or
more of the same principals or corporate officers as the employer against
which the penalties were assessed or order issued and is engaged in the same
or similar business.

(d) Notwithstanding the assessment of an administrative penalty under this
section, a person may be prosecuted under 13 V.S.A. § 2024.

Sec. 6. 21 V.S.A. § 1314 is amended to read:

§ 1314. —REPORTS AND RECORDS; FAILURE TO REPORT
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EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

* * *

(h) Any employing unit which that fails to report employment and
separation information with respect to a claimant and wages paid to a claimant
required under subsection (b) of this section shall be subject to a penalty of
$35.00 $100.00 for each such report not received by the prescribed due date,
which penalty shall be collected in the manner provided for the collection of
contributions in section 1329 of this title and shall be paid into the contingent
fund provided in section 1365 of this title. If the employing unit demonstrates
that its failure was due to a reasonable cause, the commissioner may, in his or
her discretion, waive the penalty.

Sec. 7. DEPARTMENT OF LABOR; EMPLOYEE MISCLASSIFICATION
REPORTING SYSTEM

The department of labor shall create and maintain an online employee
misclassification reporting system. The system shall be designed to allow
individuals to report suspected cases of employee misclassification, failure to
have appropriate insurance coverage, and claimant fraud to the department to
ensure that this information is distributed to appropriate departments and
agencies.

Sec. 8. 21 V.S.A. § 710 is amended to read:

§ 710. UNLAWFUL DISCRIMINATION

* * *

(c) At the request of an individual who has alleged that an employer has
made a false statement or misclassified one or more employees, the department
shall not include the individual’s name or contact information in any
publication or public report, unless it is required by law or necessary to enable
enforcement of this chapter.

(d) An employer shall not retaliate or take any other negative action against
an individual because the employer knows or suspects that the individual has
filed a complaint with the department or other authority, or reported a violation
of this chapter, or cooperated in an investigation of misclassification,
discrimination, or other violation of this chapter.

(e) The attorney general or a state’s attorney may enforce the provisions of
this section by restraining prohibited acts, seeking civil penalties, obtaining
assurance and conducting civil investigations in accordance with the
procedures established in sections 2458-2461 of Title 9 9 V.S.A.
§§ 2458–2461 as though discrimination under this section were an unfair act in
commerce.
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Sec. 9. 21 V.S.A. § 1314a is amended to read:

§ 1314a. —QUARTERLY WAGE REPORTING REQUIRED

* * *

(f)(1) Any employing unit or employer which that fails to file:

(A) File any report required by this section shall be subject to a
penalty of $35.00 $100.00 for each such report not received by the prescribed
due dates, which.

(B) Properly classify an individual regarding the status of
employment is subject to a penalty of not more than $5,000.00.

(2) Penalties under this subsection shall be collected in the manner
provided for the collection of contributions in section 1329 of this title and
shall be paid into the contingent fund provided in section 1365 of this title. If
the employing unit demonstrates that its failure was due to a reasonable cause,
the commissioner may waive the penalty.

* * *

Sec. 10. 21 V.S.A. § 1328 is amended to read:

§ 1328. FILING EMPLOYER QUARTERLY TAX CONTRIBUTION
REPORTS; FAILURE

The commissioner shall impose a penalty of $35.00 $100.00 for each failure
by an employer to file any contribution report required under section 1322 of
this title on or before the date on which the report is due, which shall be
collected in the manner provided for the collection of contributions in section
1329 of this title and shall be paid into the contingent fund provided in section
1365 of this title. If the employer demonstrates that its failure was due to a
reasonable cause, the commissioner may waive the penalty.

Sec. 11. 21 V.S.A. § 1369 is amended to read:

§ 1369. FALSE STATEMENTS TO AVOID CHAPTER
UNEMPLOYMENT PROGRAM OBLIGATIONS

A person shall not who wilfully and intentionally make makes a material
false statement or representation to avoid becoming or remaining subject to
this chapter, or to avoid or reduce a contribution or other payment required of
an employer under this chapter for either herself or himself or for any other
person, after notice and opportunity for hearing, may be assessed an
administrative penalty of not more than $5,000.00.

Sec. 12. 21 V.S.A. § 1373 is amended to read:

§ 1373. GENERAL PENALTY; CIVIL
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A person who violates a provision of this chapter or any lawful rule or
regulation of the board, for which no other penalty is provided, shall be fined
assessed an administrative penalty of not more than $50.00 or be imprisoned
not more than 30 days, or both $5,000.00.

Sec. 13. EMPLOYEE MISCLASSIFICATION; INVESTIGATION AND
ENFORCEMENT; INTERAGENCY REPORT

The department of banking, insurance, securities, and health care
administration and the department of labor shall report on or before
January 15, 2011, and again on January 15, 2012, to the house committee on
commerce and economic development and the senate committee on economic
development, housing and general affairs regarding their investigation and
enforcement efforts as they relate to employee misclassification and the
enforcement of Vermont labor standards, including all the following:

(1) The number and outcome of departmental audits and investigations.

(2) An assessment of the efficacy of the new workers’ compensation
fraud staff positions created in Sec. 106 of No. 54 of the Acts of 2009.

(3) The financial costs of misclassification and miscoding.

(4) The success of the employee misclassification public education and
outreach program.

Sec. 14. 21 V.S.A. § 643a is amended to read:

§ 643a. DISCONTINUANCE OF BENEFITS

Unless an injured worker has successfully returned to work, an employer
shall notify both the commissioner and the employee prior to terminating
benefits under either section 642 or 646 of this title. The notice of intention to
discontinue payments shall be filed on forms prescribed by the commissioner
and shall include the date of the proposed discontinuance and, the reasons for
it, and, if the employee has been out of work for 90 days, a verification that the
employer offered vocational rehabilitation screening and services as required
under this chapter. All relevant evidence, including evidence that does not
support discontinuance in the possession of the employer not already filed,
shall be filed with the notice. The liability for the payments shall continue for
seven days after the notice is received by the commissioner and the employee.
Those payments shall be made without prejudice to the employer and may be
deducted from any amounts due pursuant to section 648 of this title if the
commissioner determines that the discontinuance is warranted or if otherwise
ordered by the commissioner. Every notice shall be reviewed by the
commissioner to determine the sufficiency of the basis for the proposed
discontinuance. If, upon after review of all the evidence in the file, the
commissioner finds that a preponderance of all the evidence in the file does not
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reasonably support the proposed discontinuance, the commissioner shall order
that payments continue until a hearing is held and a decision is rendered. Prior
to a formal hearing, an injured worker may request reinstatement of benefits by
providing additional new evidence to the department that establishes that a
preponderance of all evidence now supports the claim. If the commissioner’s
decision, after a hearing, is that the employee was not entitled to any or all
benefits paid between the discontinuance and the final decision, upon request
of the employer, the commissioner may order that the employee repay all
benefits to which the employee was not entitled. The employer may enforce
such a repayment order in any court of law having jurisdiction of the amount
involved.

Sec. 15. 21 V.S.A. § 650 is amended to read:

§ 650. PAYMENT; AVERAGE WAGE; COMPUTATION

* * *

(e) If weekly compensation benefits or weekly accrued benefits are not paid
within 21 days after becoming due and payable pursuant to an order of the
commissioner, or in cases in which the overdue benefit is not in dispute,
10 percent of the overdue amount shall be added and paid to the employee, in
addition to interest and any other penalties. In the case of an initial claim,
benefits are due and payable upon entering into an agreement pursuant to
subsection 662(a) of this title, upon issuance of an order of the commissioner
pursuant to subsection 662(b) of this title, or if the employer has not denied the
claim within 21 days after the claim is filed. Benefits are in dispute if the
claimant has been provided actual written notice of the dispute within 21 days
of the benefit being due and payable and the evidence reasonably supports the
denial. Interest shall accrue and be paid on benefits that are found to be
compensable during the period of nonpayment. The commissioner shall
promptly review requests for payment under this section and, consistent with
the criteria in department rule 10.13 subsection 678(d) of this title, shall allow
for the recovery of reasonable attorney fees associated with an employee’s
successful request for payment under this subsection.

(f) When benefits have been awarded or are not in dispute as provided in
subsection (e) of this section, the employer shall establish a weekday on which
payment shall be mailed or deposited and notify the claimant and the
department of that day. The employer shall ensure that each weekly payment
is mailed or deposited on or before the day established. If the benefit payment
is not mailed or deposited on the day established, the employer shall pay to the
claimant a late fee of $10.00 or five percent of the benefit amount, whichever
is greater, for each weekly payment that is made after the established day. For
the purposes of this subsection, “paid” means the payment is mailed to the
claimant’s mailing address or, in the case of direct deposit, transferred into the
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designated account. In the event of a dispute, proof of payment shall be
established by affidavit.

Sec. 16. 21 V.S.A. § 655 is amended to read:

§ 655. PROCEDURE IN OBTAINING COMPENSATION; MEDICAL
EXAMINATION; VIDEO AND AUDIO RECORDING

After an injury and during the period of disability, if so requested by his or
her employer, or ordered by the commissioner, the employee shall submit
himself or herself to examination, at reasonable times and places, to by a duly
licensed physician or surgeon designated and paid by the employer. The
employee shall have the right to may make a video or audio recording of any
examination performed by the insurer’s physician or surgeon or have a
physician or surgeon licensed health care provider designated and paid by
himself or herself the employee present at such the examination. Such The
employer may make an audio recording of the examination. The right,
however, of the employee to record the examination shall not be construed to
deny to the employer’s physician the right to visit the injured employee at all
reasonable times and under all reasonable conditions during total disability. If
an employee refuses to submit himself or herself to or in any way obstructs
such the examination, his or her the employee’s right to take or prosecute any
proceeding under the provisions of this chapter shall be suspended until such
the refusal or obstruction ceases, and compensation shall not be payable for the
period during which such the refusal or obstruction continues.

Sec. 17. Sec. 32 of No. 54 of the Acts of 2009 is amended to read:

Sec. 32. WORKERS’ COMPENSATION; STATE CONTRACTS;
COMPLIANCE WITH DAVIS-BACON

(a) The agencies of administration and transportation shall establish
procedures to assure that state contracting procedures and contracts are
designed to minimize the incidents of miscoding of employees in NCCI job
codes and misclassification of the status of workers as independent contractors
rather than employees by state contractors on projects with a total project cost
of more than $250,000.00 by requiring those contractors to provide, at a
minimum, all the following:

* * *

(3) For construction and transportation projects over $250,000.00, a
payroll process by which during every pay period the contractor collects from
the subcontractors or independent contractors a list of all workers who were on
the jobsite during the pay period, the work performed by those workers on the
jobsite, and a daily census of the jobsite. This information, including
confirmation that contractors, subcontractors, and independent contractors
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have the appropriate workers’ compensation coverage for all workers at the
jobsite, and similar information for the subcontractors regarding their
subcontractors shall also be provided to the department of labor and to the
department of banking, insurance, securities, and health care administration,
upon request, and shall be available to the public.

* * *

(c) The agencies shall assure that any state contract funded in whole or in
part with American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (ARRA) monies
or any project for which the state granted, allocated, or awarded ARRA monies
shall comply with the payment of Davis-Bacon wages when required by
ARRA. However, in the event the applicable Davis-Bacon wages in any
county have not been updated in the previous three years, the minimum state
required wage for a state contract subject to Davis-Bacon wages under ARRA
shall be that of the Vermont county that has most recently updated its
applicable Davis-Bacon wages, provided this provision does not result in the
loss of ARRA funds and is not otherwise contrary to federal law. In the event
that the most recently updated Davis-Bacon wages cannot be determined due
to the simultaneous updating by two or more counties, the agencies may select
the minimum state-required wage for a state contract subject to Davis-Bacon
wages under ARRA from among those counties.

Sec. 18. EFFECTIVE DATES

This act shall take effect on July 1, 2010, except for this section and Secs. 1,
7, 8, 14, and 17, which shall take effect on passage.

and the title shall be amended to read: “An act relating to improving
compliance with workers’ compensation program requirements”

(Committee vote: 4-0-1)

S. 279.

An act relating to nonunanimous jury verdicts in civil actions.

Reported favorably with recommendation of amendment by Senator
Campbell for the Committee on Judiciary.

The Committee recommends that the bill be amended by striking out all
after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 12 V.S.A. § 1950 is added to read:

§ 1950. NUMBER OF JURORS REQUIRED FOR A VERDICT IN A CIVIL
ACTION

(a) In a civil action, the verdict or finding of at least eleven jurors out of the
twelve jurors serving on a jury shall constitute the verdict or finding of the jury
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(b) This section shall not affect the ability of the parties to stipulate that the
jury may consist of any number less than twelve or that a verdict or a finding
of a stated majority of the jurors shall be taken as the verdict or finding of the
jury as provided by Rule 48 of the Vermont Rules of Civil Procedure.

Sec. 2. REPORT FROM COURT ADMINISTRATOR

On or before January 15, 2014, the office of the court administrator shall
report to the senate and house committees on judiciary on the implementation
and identifiable effects of this act. The report shall address whether the
number of hung juries or the average amount of damages awarded has changed
since adoption of this act, whether there are any discernable impacts on the
frequency and duration of medical malpractice litigation, whether there are any
positive or negative impacts on the court system itself, and any appropriate
recommendations, including whether this act should be repealed as provided in
Sec. 3 of this act.

Sec. 3. SUNSET

On January 15, 2015, Sec. 1 of this act (nonunanimous jury verdicts in civil
actions) is repealed.

(Committee vote: 4-1-0)

AMENDMENT TO S. 279 TO BE OFFERED BY SENATOR
CAMPBELL ON BEHALF OF THE COMMITTEE ON JUDICIARY

Senator Campbell, on behalf of the Committee on Judiciary, moves to
amend the bill by striking out all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu
thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 12 V.S.A. § 1950 is added to read:

§ 1950. NUMBER OF JURORS REQUIRED FOR A VERDICT IN A CIVIL
ACTION

(a) In a civil action, unless the parties stipulate otherwise, the verdict or
finding of the jury shall be unanimous or with not more than one juror
dissenting.

(b) This section shall not affect the ability of the parties to stipulate that the
jury may consist of any number less than twelve or that a verdict or a finding
of a stated majority of the jurors shall be taken as the verdict or finding of the
jury as provided by Rule 48 of the Vermont Rules of Civil Procedure.

Sec. 2. REPORT FROM COURT ADMINISTRATOR

On or before January 15, 2014, the office of the court administrator shall
report to the senate and house committees on judiciary on the implementation
and the identifiable effects of this act. The report shall address whether the
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number of hung juries or the average amount of damages awarded has changed
since adoption of this act, whether there are any discernible impacts on the
frequency and duration of medical malpractice litigation, whether there are any
positive or negative impacts on the court system itself, and any appropriate
recommendations, including whether this act should be repealed as provided in
Sec. 3 of this act.

Sec. 3. SUNSET

On January 15, 2015, Sec. 1 of this act (nonunanimous jury verdicts in civil
actions) is repealed.

S. 285.

An act relating to authorizing a health insurance purchasing association for
farmers.

Reported favorably with recommendation of amendment by Senator
Kittell for the Committee on Agriculture.

The Committee recommends that the bill be amended by striking out all
after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. PROMOTING HEALTH CARE COVERAGE OPTIONS FOR
FARMERS

(a) In order to ensure access to affordable health care options for farmers,
the agency of agriculture, food and markets, the department of banking,
insurance, securities, and health care administration, and the office of Vermont
health access shall develop information about the available health coverage
options for farmers, including Catamount Health with assistance, the Vermont
Health Access Plan, and health insurance plans available through an
association. The information shall include a specific list of associations that a
farmer may join, which also provide health insurance.

(b) Within 45 days from passage of this act, the agency of agriculture, food
and markets shall provide information on health insurance options for farmers
on its website in a prominent location, which may be through a link to the
department of banking, insurance, securities, and health care administration’s
website.

Sec. 2. EFFECTIVE DATE

This act shall take effect upon passage.

And the title shall be amended to read “An act relating to promoting health
care coverage for farmers”

(Committee vote: 5-0-0)
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UNFINISHED BUSINESS OF THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 25, 2010

House Proposal of Amendment

S. 117

An act relating to the date of the primary election.

The House proposes to the Senate to amend the bill by striking out all after
the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 17 V.S.A. § 2351 is amended to read:

§ 2351. PRIMARY ELECTION

A primary election shall be held on the second fourth Tuesday of September
in August in each even numbered year for the nomination of candidates of
major political parties for all offices to be voted for at the succeeding general
election, except candidates for president and vice-president of the United
States, their electors, and justices of the peace.

Sec. 2. 17 V.S.A. § 2352 is amended to read:

§ 2352. NOMINATION OF CANDIDATES PRIOR TO SPECIAL
ELECTION

When the governor or any court, pursuant to law, orders a special election
to be held for any of the offices covered by section 2351 of this title, a special
primary election shall be held on the Tuesday which falls not less than 40 60
days nor more than 46 66 days prior to the date set for the special election. The
nomination of candidates prior to a special election, including nomination both
by primary and by other means, shall be governed by the rules applicable to
nomination of candidates prior to the general election, except as may be
specifically provided in this chapter. The term "general election", as used in
this chapter, shall be deemed to include a special election, unless the context
requires a different interpretation.

Sec. 3. 17 V.S.A. § 2353(a) is amended to read:

(a) The name of any person shall be printed upon the primary ballot as a
candidate for nomination by any major political party for any office indicated,
if petitions containing the requisite number of signatures made by legal voters,
in substantially the following form, are filed with the proper official, together
with the person's written consent to having his or her name printed on the
ballot:

I join in a petition to place on the primary ballot of the .................... party
the name of ...................., whose residence is in the (city), (town) of
.................... in the county of ...................., for the office of .................... to be
voted for on Tuesday, the ............... day of September August, 20 .......; and I
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certify that I am at the present time a registered voter and am qualified to vote
for a candidate for this office.

Sec. 4. 17 V.S.A. § 2356 is amended to read:

§ 2356. TIME FOR FILING PETITIONS

Primary petitions and statements of nomination from minor party candidates
and independent candidates shall be filed no sooner than the first Monday in
June second Monday in May and not later than 5:00 p.m. on the third Monday
of July second Thursday after the first Monday in June preceding the primary
election prescribed by section 2351 of this title, and not later than 5:00 p.m. of
the 42nd 62nd day prior to the day of a special primary election.

Sec. 5. 17 V.S.A. § 2369 is amended to read:

§ 2369. DETERMINING WINNER; TIE VOTES

Persons who receive a plurality of all the votes cast by a party in a primary
shall be candidates of that party for the office designated on the ballot. If two
or more candidates of the same party are tied for the same office, the choice
among those tied shall be determined:

(1) Upon five days' notice and not later than 10 days following the
primary election, by the state committee of a party, for a state or congressional
office; the senatorial district committee for state senate; the county committee
for county office; or the representative district committee for a representative
to the general assembly shall meet to nominate a candidate from among the
tied candidates.

(2) By run-off election for a county office, for a state senator, or for a
representative to the general assembly. The run-off election shall be held on
the fourth Tuesday of September and shall be conducted in the same manner as
the primary election. The committee chair shall certify the candidate
nomination for the general election to the secretary of state within 48 hours of
the nomination.

Sec. 6. 17 V.S.A. § 2386 is amended to read:

§ 2386. TIME FOR FILING STATEMENTS

(a) Statements pursuant to this subchapter, except for vacancies created by
the death or withdrawal of a candidate after the primary and statements for
minor party candidates and independent candidates, shall be filed not more
than 60 days earlier than the second Thursday after the first Monday in June
before the day of the general election and not later than 5:00 p.m. on the third
day Tuesday following the primary election.

(b) In the case of the death or withdrawal of a candidate after the primary
election, the party committee shall have seven days from the date of the
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withdrawal to nominate a candidate. In no event, shall a statement be filed later
than 40 60 days prior to the election.

Sec. 7. 17 V.S.A. § 2402(d) is amended to read:

(d) A statement of nomination and a completed and signed consent form
shall be filed not sooner than the first Monday in June second Thursday after
the first Monday in June and not later than the third day after the primary
election. No public official receiving nominations shall accept a petition unless
a completed and signed consent form is filed at the same time.

Sec. 8. 17 V.S.A. § 2413(a) is amended to read:

(a) The party members in each town, on or before the first Tuesday of
September fourth Tuesday of August in each even numbered year, upon the
call of the town committee, may meet in caucus and nominate candidates for
justice of the peace. The committee shall give notice of the caucus as provided
in subsection (d) of this section and the chairman and secretary shall file the
statements required in sections 2385 through 2387 of this title.

Sec. 9. 17 V.S.A. § 2479 is amended to read:

§ 2479. MANNER OF DISTRIBUTION

Not later than 30 45 days before the election, the secretary of state shall
furnish the prepared ballots to the clerk of each town. Ballots shall be sent in
securely fastened packages by mail or in some other safe manner, with marks
on the outside clearly designating the polling place for which they are intended
and the number of ballots enclosed. The town clerk shall store the ballots,
except for ballots used as early or absentee voter or sample ballots, in a secure
place until the day of the election, at which time the town clerk shall deliver
them in sufficient quantities to the presiding officer in each polling place,
together with any ballots prepared by the town clerk.

Sec. 10. 17 V.S.A. § 2811 is amended to read:

§ 2811. CAMPAIGN REPORTS; CANDIDATES FOR STATE OFFICE,
THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY, POLITICAL COMMITTEES, AND
POLITICAL PARTIES

(a) Each candidate for state office, each candidate for the general assembly
who has made expenditures or received contributions of $500.00 or more, and
each political committee and each political party required to register under
section 2831 of this title shall file with the secretary of state campaign finance
reports 40 days before the primary election and on the 25th on July 15th and on
the 15th of each month thereafter and continuing to the general election and 10
days after the general election until and including December 15th.
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(b) At any time, but not later than 40 days December 15th following the
general election, a candidate for state office and each candidate for the general
assembly who has made expenditures or received contributions of $500.00 or
more shall file with the secretary of state a "final report" which lists a complete
accounting of all contributions and expenditures, and disposition of surplus,
and which shall constitute the termination of his or her campaign activities.

* * *

NEW BUSINESS

Third Reading

S. 64.

An act relating to growth center designations and appeals of such
designations.

S. 222.

An act relating to recognition of Abenaki tribes.

S. 283.

An act relating to amending miscellaneous motor vehicle laws, eliminating
the motorcycle rider training program advisory committee, and repealing the
interstate compact for motor vehicle safety equipment.

H. 761.

An act relating to authorization of High-Speed Intercity Passenger Rail
Program grants.

J.R.H. 34.

Joint resolution in support of the New England Secondary School
Consortium.

Committee Bill for Second Reading

S. 293.

An act relating to state standards for boilers and pressure vessels.

By the Committee on Economic Development, Housing and General
Affairs.

S. 294.

An act relating to identification in electioneering communications and
penalties for campaign finance violations.

By the Committee on Government Operations.
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S. 295.

An act relating to the creation of an agricultural development director.

By the Committee on Agriculture.

S. 296.

An act relating to sale or lease of the John H. Boylan state airport.

By the Committee on Institutions.

S. 297.

An act relating to miscellaneous changes to education law.

By the Committee on Education.

NOTICE CALENDAR

Second Reading

Favorable

H. 598.

An act relating to sorting early voter absentee ballots.

Reported favorably by Senator White for the Committee on
Government Operations.

(Committee vote: 5-0-0)

Favorable with Recommendation of Amendment

S. 226.

An act relating to medical marijuana dispensaries.

Reported favorably with recommendation of amendment by Senator
White for the Committee on Government Operations.

The Committee recommends that the bill be amended by striking out all
after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 18 V.S.A. chapter 86, subchapter 2 is amended to read:

Subchapter 2. Marijuana for Medical Symptom Use by Persons
with Severe Illness

§ 4472. DEFINITIONS

For the purposes of this subchapter:

(1) “Bona fide physician-patient relationship” means a treating or
consulting relationship of not less than six months duration, in the course of
which a physician has completed a full assessment of the registered patient’s
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medical history and current medical condition, including a personal physical
examination.

(2) “Compassion center” means a nonprofit entity registered under
section 4475 of this title which acquires, possesses, cultivates, manufactures,
delivers, transfers, transports, supplies, sells, or dispenses marijuana, and
marijuana-related supplies and educational materials for or to a registered
patient who has designated it as his or her center, and to his or her registered
caregiver, for the registered patient’s medical use.

(3) “Criminal history record” means all information documenting an
individual’s contact with the criminal justice system, including data regarding
identification, arrest or citation, arraignment, judicial disposition, custody, and
supervision.

(4) “Debilitating medical condition,” provided that, in the context of the
specific disease or condition described in subdivision (A) or (B) of this
subdivision (2)(4), reasonable medical efforts have been made over a
reasonable amount of time without success to relieve the symptoms, means:

(A) cancer, multiple sclerosis, positive status for human
immunodeficiency virus, acquired immune deficiency syndrome, or the
treatment of these conditions, if the disease or the treatment results in severe,
persistent, and intractable symptoms; or

(B) a disease, medical condition, or its treatment that is chronic,
debilitating, and produces severe, persistent, and one or more of the following
intractable symptoms: cachexia or wasting syndrome; severe pain; severe
nausea; or seizures.

(5) “Immature marijuana plant” means a marijuana plant, whether male
or female, that has not yet flowered and which does not yet have buds that
may be readily observed by unaided visual examination.

(3)(6) “Marijuana” shall have the same meaning as provided in
subdivision 4201(15) of this title.

(7) “Mature marijuana plant” means a marijuana plant, whether male or
female, that has flowered and which has buds that may be readily observed by
unaided visual examination.

(4)(8) “Physician” means a person who is:

(A) licensed under chapter 23 or chapter 33 of Title 26, and is
licensed with authority to prescribe drugs under Title 26; or

(B) a physician, surgeon, or osteopathic physician licensed to
practice medicine and prescribe drugs under comparable provisions in New
Hampshire, Massachusetts, or New York.
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(5)(9) “Possession limit” means the amount of marijuana collectively
possessed between the registered patient and the patient’s registered caregiver
which is no more than two mature marijuana plants, seven immature plants,
and two ounces of usable marijuana.

(6)(10) “Registered caregiver” means a person who is at least 21 years
old who has never been convicted of a drug-related crime and who has agreed
to undertake responsibility for managing the well-being of a registered patient
with respect to the use of marijuana for symptom relief.

(7)(11) “Registered patient” means a person who has been issued a
registration card by the department of public safety identifying the person as
having a debilitating medical condition pursuant to the provisions of this
subchapter.

(8)(12) “Secure indoor facility” means a building or room equipped with
locks or other security devices that permit access only by a registered caregiver
or, registered patient, or compassion center principal officer, board member,
agent, volunteer, or employee.

(9)(13) “Usable marijuana” means the dried leaves and flowers of
marijuana, and any mixture or preparation thereof, and does not include the
seeds, stalks, and roots of the plant.

(10)(14) “Use for symptom relief” means the acquisition, possession,
cultivation, use, transfer, or transportation of marijuana or paraphernalia
relating to the administration of marijuana to alleviate the symptoms or effects
of a registered patient’s debilitating medical condition which is in compliance
with all the limitations and restrictions of this subchapter. For the purposes of
this definition, “transfer” is limited to the transfer of marijuana and
paraphernalia between a registered caregiver and a registered patient.

§ 4473. REGISTERED PATIENTS; QUALIFICATION STANDARDS AND
PROCEDURES

(a) To become a registered patient, a person must be diagnosed with a
debilitating medical condition by a physician in the course of a bona fide
physician-patient relationship.

(b) The department of public safety shall review applications to become a
registered patient using the following procedures:

(1) A patient with a debilitating medical condition shall submit, under
oath, a signed application for registration to the department. If the patient is
under the age of 18, the application must be signed by both the patient and a
parent or guardian. The application shall require identification and contact
information for the patient and the patient’s registered caregiver applying for
authorization under section 4474 of this title, if any, and the patient’s
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designated compassion center under section 4475 of this title, if any. The
applicant shall attach to the application a medical verification form developed
by the department pursuant to subdivision (2) of this subsection.

(2) The department of public safety shall develop a medical verification
form to be completed by a physician and submitted by a patient applying for
registration in the program. The form shall include:

(A) A cover sheet which includes the following:

(i) A statement of the penalties for providing false information.

(ii) Definitions of the following statutory terms:

(I) “Bona fide physician-patient relationship” as defined in
subdivision 4472(1) of this title.

(II) “Debilitating medical condition” as defined in subdivision
4472(2) 4472(4) of this title.

(III) “Physician” as defined in subdivision 4472(4) 4472(8) of
this title.

(B) A verification sheet which includes the following:

(i) A statement that a bona fide physician-patient relationship
exists under subdivision 4472(1) of this title, or that under subdivision (3)(A)
of this subsection (b), the debilitating medical condition is of recent or sudden
onset, and the patient has not had a previous physician who is able to verify the
nature of the disease and its symptoms.

(ii) A statement that reasonable medical efforts have been made
over a reasonable amount of time without success to relieve the symptoms.

(iii) A statement that the patient has a debilitating medical
condition as defined in subdivision 4472(2) 4472(4) of this title, including the
specific disease or condition which the patient has and whether the patient
meets the criteria under subdivision 4472(2)(A) or (B) 4472(4)(A) or (B).

(iv) A signature line which provides in substantial part: “I certify
that I meet the definition of “physician’ under 18 V.S.A. § 4472(4)(A) or
4472(4)(B) § 4472(8)(A) or 4472(8)(B) (circle one), that I am a physician in
good standing in the state of ............................., and that the facts stated above
are accurate to the best of my knowledge and belief.”

(v) The physician’s contact information.

(3)(A) The department of public safety shall transmit the completed
medical verification form to the physician and contact him or her for purposes
of confirming the accuracy of the information contained in the form. The
department may approve an application, notwithstanding the six-month
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requirement in subdivision 4472(1) of this title, if the department is satisfied
that the medical verification form confirms that the debilitating medical
condition is of recent or sudden onset, and that the patient has not had a
previous physician who is able to verify the nature of the disease and its
symptoms.

(B) If the physician is licensed in another state as provided by
subdivision 4472(4)(B) 4472(8)(B) of this title, the department shall contact
the state’s medical practice board and verify that the physician is in good
standing in that state.

(4) The department shall approve or deny the application for registration
in writing within 30 days from receipt of a completed registration application.
If the application is approved, the department shall issue the applicant a
registration card which shall include the registered patient’s name and
photograph, as well as a unique identifier for law enforcement verification
purposes under section 4474d of this title the registered patient’s designated
compassion center, if any, and a unique identifier for law enforcement
verification purposes under section 4474d of this title.

(5)(A) A review board is established. The medical practice board shall
appoint three physicians licensed in Vermont to constitute the review board. If
an application under subdivision (1) of this subsection is denied, within seven
days the patient may appeal the denial to the board. Review shall be limited to
information submitted by the patient under subdivision (1) of this subsection,
and consultation with the patient’s treating physician. All records relating to
the appeal shall be kept confidential. An appeal shall be decided by majority
vote of the members of the board.

(B) The board shall meet periodically to review studies, data, and any
other information relevant to the use of marijuana for symptom relief. The
board may make recommendations to the general assembly for adjustments
and changes to this chapter.

(C) Members of the board shall serve for three-year terms, beginning
February 1 of the year in which the appointment is made, except that the first
members appointed shall serve as follows: one for a term of two years, one for
a term of three years, and one for a term of four years. Members shall be
entitled to per diem compensation authorized under section 1010 of Title 32
32 V.S.A. § 1010. Vacancies shall be filled in the same manner as the original
appointment for the unexpired portion of the term vacated.

§ 4474. REGISTERED CAREGIVERS; QUALIFICATION STANDARDS
AND PROCEDURES

(a) A person may submit a signed application to the department of public
safety to become a registered patient’s registered caregiver. The department
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shall approve or deny the application in writing within 30 days. The
department shall approve a registered caregiver’s application and issue the
person an authorization card, including the caregiver’s name, photograph, and
a unique identifier, after verifying:

(1) the person will serve as the registered caregiver for one registered
patient only; and

(2) the person has never been convicted of a drug-related crime.

(b) Prior to acting on an application, the department shall obtain from the
Vermont criminal information center a Vermont criminal record, an
out-of-state criminal record, and a criminal record from the Federal Bureau of
Investigation for the applicant. For purposes of this subdivision, “criminal
record” means a record of whether the person has ever been convicted of a
drug-related crime. Each applicant shall consent to release of criminal records
to the department on forms substantially similar to the release forms developed
by the center pursuant to section 2056c of Title 20 20 V.S.A. § 2056c. The
department shall comply with all laws regulating the release of criminal history
records and the protection of individual privacy. The Vermont criminal
information center shall send to the requester any record received pursuant to
this section or inform the department of public safety that no record exists. If
the department disapproves an application, the department shall promptly
provide a copy of any record of convictions and pending criminal charges to
the applicant and shall inform the applicant of the right to appeal the accuracy
and completeness of the record pursuant to rules adopted by the Vermont
criminal information center. No person shall confirm the existence or
nonexistence of criminal record information to any person who would not be
eligible to receive the information pursuant to this subchapter.

(c) A registered caregiver may serve only one registered patient at a time,
and a registered patient may have only one registered caregiver at a time.

§ 4474a. REGISTRATION; FEES

(a) The department shall collect a fee of $50.00 for the application
authorized by sections 4473 and 4474 of this title. The fees received by the
department shall be deposited into a registration fee fund and used to offset the
costs of processing applications under this subchapter.

(b) A registration card shall expire one year after the date of issue, with the
option of renewal, provided the patient submits a new application which is
approved by the department of public safety, pursuant to section 4473 or 4474
of this title, and pays the fee required under subsection (a) of this section.
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§ 4474b. EXEMPTION FROM CRIMINAL AND CIVIL PENALTIES;
SEIZURE OF PROPERTY

(a) A person who has in his or her possession a valid registration card
issued pursuant to this subchapter and who is in compliance with the
requirements of this subchapter, including the possession limits in subdivision
4472(4) 4472(9) of this title, shall be exempt from arrest or prosecution under
subsection 4230(a) of this title.

(b) A physician who has participated in a patient’s application process
under subdivision 4473(b)(2) of this title shall not be subject to arrest,
prosecution, or disciplinary action under chapter 23 of Title 26, penalized in
any manner, or denied any right or privilege under state law, except for giving
false information, pursuant to subsection 4474c(f) of this title.

(c) No person shall be subject to arrest or prosecution for constructive
possession, conspiracy, or any other offense for simply being in the presence
or vicinity of a registered patient or registered caregiver engaged in use of
marijuana for symptom relief.

(d) A law enforcement officer shall not be required to return marijuana or
paraphernalia relating to its use seized from a registered patient or registered
caregiver.

(e) A registered patient, a compassion center, or a registered caregiver may
donate marijuana to a compassion center provided that no consideration is paid
for the marijuana and that the recipient does not exceed the possession limits
specified in this chapter.

§ 4474c. PROHIBITIONS, RESTRICTIONS, AND LIMITATIONS
REGARDING THE USE OF MARIJUANA FOR SYMPTOM RELIEF

(a) This subchapter shall not exempt any person from arrest or prosecution
for:

(1) Being under the influence of marijuana while:

(A) operating a motor vehicle, boat, or vessel, or any other vehicle
propelled or drawn by power other than muscular power;

(B) in a workplace or place of employment; or

(C) operating heavy machinery or handling a dangerous
instrumentality.

(2) The use or possession of marijuana by a registered patient or a
registered caregiver:

(A) for purposes other than symptom relief as permitted by this
subchapter; or
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(B) in a manner that endangers the health or well-being of another
person.

(3) The smoking of marijuana in any public place, including:

(A) a school bus, public bus, or other public vehicle;

(B) a workplace or place of employment;

(C) any school grounds;

(D) any correctional facility; or

(E) any public park, public beach, public recreation center, or youth
center.

(b) This chapter shall not be construed to require that coverage or
reimbursement for the use of marijuana for symptom relief be provided by:

(1) a health insurer as defined by section 9402 subdivision 9402(7) of
this title, or any insurance company regulated under Title 8;

(2) an employer; or

(3) for purposes of workers’ compensation, an employer as defined in
subdivision 601(3) of Title 21 21 V.S.A. § 601(3).

(c) A registered patient or registered caregiver who elects to grow
marijuana to be used for symptom relief by the patient may do so only if the
marijuana is cultivated in a single, secure indoor facility.

(d) A registered patient or registered caregiver may not transport marijuana
in public unless it is secured in a locked container.

(e) Within 72 hours after the death of a registered patient, the patient’s
registered caregiver shall return to the department of public safety for disposal
any marijuana or marijuana plants in the possession of the patient or registered
caregiver at the time of the patient’s death. If the patient did not have a
registered caregiver, the patient’s next of kin shall contact the department of
public safety within 72 hours after the patient’s death and shall ask the
department to retrieve such marijuana and marijuana plants for disposal.

(f) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, a person who knowingly gives
to any law enforcement officer false information to avoid arrest or prosecution,
or to assist another in avoiding arrest or prosecution, shall be imprisoned for
not more than one year or fined not more than $1,000.00 or both. This penalty
shall be in addition to any other penalties that may apply for the possession or
use of marijuana.

§ 4474d. LAW ENFORCEMENT VERIFICATION OF INFORMATION;
RULEMAKING
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(a) The department of public safety shall maintain and keep confidential,
except as provided in subsection (b) of this section and except for purposes of
a prosecution for false swearing under section 2904 of Title 13 13 V.S.A.
§ 2904, the records of all persons registered under this subchapter or registered
caregivers in a secure database accessible by authorized department of public
safety employee’s employees only.

(b) In response to a person-specific or property-specific inquiry by a law
enforcement officer or agency made in the course of a bona fide investigation
or prosecution, the department may verify the identities and registered property
addresses of the registered patient and the patient’s registered caregiver, a
compassion center, or a compassion center principal officer, board member,
agent, volunteer, or employee.

(c) The department shall maintain a separate secure electronic database
accessible to law enforcement personnel 24 hours a day that uses a unique
identifier system to allow law enforcement to verify that a person or entity is a
registered patient or registered caregiver, compassion center, or compassion
center principal officer, board member, agent, volunteer, or employee.

(d) The department of public safety shall implement the requirements of
this act within 120 days of its effective date. The department may adopt rules
under chapter 25 of Title 3 and shall develop forms to implement this act.

§ 4475. COMPASSION CENTERS

(a)(1) A compassion center registered under this section may:

(A) acquire, possess, cultivate, manufacture, deliver, transfer,
transport, supply, sell, and dispense marijuana and marijuana-related supplies
and educational materials for or to a registered patient who has designated it as
his or her center and, to his or her registered caregiver, for the registered
patient’s medical use.

(B) acquire marijuana seeds or parts of the marijuana plant capable of
regeneration from registered patients or their caregivers or from other
registered compassion centers in Vermont.

(2) A compassion center may cultivate and possess whichever of the
following quantities is greater:

(A) 98 immature marijuana plants, 28 mature marijuana plants, and
28 ounces of useable marijuana; or

(B) seven immature marijuana plants, two mature marijuana plants,
and two ounces of useable marijuana for each registered patient who has
designated the compassion center to provide him or her with marijuana for
medical use. A compassion center may also possess marijuana seeds, stalks,
and unusable roots.
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(b)(1) Not later than 180 days after the effective date of this section, the
department of health shall adopt rules governing compassion centers and
related marijuana facilities and the manner in which it shall consider
applications for registration certificates for compassion centers, including rules
governing:

(A) The form and content of registration and renewal applications.

(B) Minimum oversight requirements for compassion centers.

(C) Minimum record-keeping requirements for compassion centers.

(D) Minimum security requirements for compassion centers which
shall include a fully operational security alarm system. This provision shall
apply to each compassion center location and any second facility separate from
the compassion center where medical marijuana will be grown, cultivated,
harvested, or otherwise prepared for distribution by the compassion center.

(E) Procedures for suspending or terminating the registration of
compassion centers that violate the provisions of this section or the rules
adopted pursuant to this section.

(F) The ability of compassion centers to advertise in any appropriate
medium or manner.

(G) Procedures to guide reasonable determinations as to whether an
applicant would pose a demonstrable threat to public safety if he or she were to
be associated with a compassion center.

(2) The department of health shall adopt rules with the goal of
protecting against diversion and theft, without imposing an undue burden on
the registered compassion centers or compromising the confidentiality of
registered patients and their registered caregivers. The department of health
may deny an application for a compassion center if it determines that an
applicant’s criminal history record indicates that the person’s association with
a compassion center would pose a demonstrable threat to public safety, and the
department of health shall be entitled to receive a criminal history record from
the department of public safety for such determination. Any dispensing
records that a registered compassion center is required to keep shall track
transactions according to registered patients’, registered caregivers’, and
registered compassion centers’ registry identification numbers, rather than their
names, to protect their confidentiality.

(3) Within 30 days of the adoption of rules, the department shall begin
accepting applications for the operation of compassion centers.

(4) Within 230 days of the effective date of this section, the department
shall grant registration certificates to five compassion centers, provided at least
five applicants apply and meet the requirements of this section.
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(5) Any time a compassion center registration certificate is revoked, is
relinquished, or expires, the department shall accept applications for a new
compassion center.

(6) If at any time after one year after the effective date of this section
fewer than five compassion centers hold valid registration certificates in
Vermont, the department of health shall accept applications for a new
compassion center. No more than five compassion centers may hold valid
registration certificates at one time.

(c)(1) Each application for a compassion center registration certificate shall
include all of the following:

(A) A nonrefundable application fee in the amount of $250.00 paid to
the department of health.

(B) The legal name, articles of incorporation, and bylaws of the
compassion center.

(C) The proposed physical address of the compassion center, if a
precise address has been determined or, if not, the general location where it
would be located. This may include a second secured location where medical
marijuana will be grown, cultivated, harvested, or otherwise prepared for
distribution by the compassion center.

(D) A description of the enclosed, locked facility where medical
marijuana will be grown, cultivated, harvested, or otherwise prepared for
distribution by the compassion center.

(E) The name, address, and date of birth of each principal officer and
board member of the compassion center, and a complete set of fingerprints for
each of them.

(F) Proposed security and safety measures, which shall include at
least one security alarm system for each location and planned measures to
deter and prevent the unauthorized entrance into areas containing marijuana
and the theft of marijuana.

(G) Proposed procedures to ensure accurate record keeping.

(2) Any time one or more compassion center registration applications
are being considered, the department of health shall also allow for comment
in writing by the public and shall solicit input from registered patients,
registered caregivers, and the towns or cities where the applicants would be
located.

(3) Each time a compassion center certificate is granted, the decision
shall be based on the overall health needs of qualified patients and the safety of
the public, including the following factors:
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(A) Geographic convenience to patients from throughout the state of
Vermont to compassion centers if the applicant were approved.

(B) The entity’s ability to provide an adequate supply to the
registered patients in the state.

(C) The entity’s ability to demonstrate its board members’ experience
running a nonprofit organization or business.

(D) The comments, if any, of qualifying patients regarding which
applicant should be granted a registration certificate.

(E) The sufficiency of the applicant’s plans for record keeping, which
records shall be considered confidential health care information under Vermont
law and are intended to be deemed protected health care information for
purposes of the federal Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of
1996, as amended.

(F) The sufficiency of the applicant’s plans for safety and security,
including the proposed location and security devices employed.

(4) After a compassion center is approved, but before it begins
operations, it shall submit the following to the department of health:

(A) A registration fee in the amount of $5,000.00 paid to the
department of health.

(B) The legal name and articles of incorporation of the compassion
center.

(C) The physical address of the compassion center and the address of
any related secured facility where medical marijuana will be grown, cultivated,
harvested, or otherwise prepared for distribution by the compassion center. If
location of the related secured facility is different from the location of the
compassion center, the department of health shall provide the address of the
related secured facility to the department of public safety and to local law
enforcement agencies, including sheriffs, of towns where such facilities will
be located. However, such information and any other records identifying such
location shall be confidential and not subject to public disclosure, except that
such information may be disclosed to a law enforcement agency upon request
for the purpose of enforcement of this chapter.

(D) The name, address, and date of birth of each principal officer and
board member of the compassion center, along with a complete set of
fingerprints for each.

(E) The name, address, and date of birth of any person who will be an
agent of or employed by the compassion center at its inception, along with a
complete set of fingerprints for each such person.
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(5) Each time a compassion center registration is granted, the
department of health shall notify the department of public safety and provide a
copy of its registration. Each time a compassion center registration is revoked
or expires, the department of health shall notify the department of public
safety. The department of public safety shall track the number of registered
patients who have designated each compassion center and issue a monthly
written statement to the compassion center, identifying the number of
registered patients who have designated that compassion center along with the
registry identification numbers of each patient and each patient’s designated
caregivers, if any.

(6) In addition to the monthly reports, the department of public safety
shall also provide written notice to a compassion center which identifies the
names and registration identification numbers of a qualifying patient and his or
her designated caregivers whenever any of the following events occur:

(A) A qualifying patient designates the compassion center to serve
his or her needs under this chapter;

(B) An existing registered patient revokes the designation of the
compassion center because he or she has designated a different compassion
center instead; or

(C) A registered patient who has designated the compassion center
loses his or her status as a registered patient under this chapter.

(7) Except as provided in subdivision (8) of this subsection, the
department of public safety shall issue each principal officer, board member,
agent, volunteer, and employee of a compassion center a registry
identification card or renewal card within 10 days of receipt of the person’s
name, address, and date of birth and a fee in an amount established by the
department of public safety. A person may not serve as principal officer,
board member, agent, volunteer, or employee of a compassion center until that
person has received a registry identification card issued under this section.
Each card shall specify that the cardholder is a principal officer, board
member, agent, volunteer, or employee of a compassion center and shall
contain the following:

(A) The name, address, and date of birth of the principal officer,
board member, agent, volunteer, or employee.

(B) The legal name of the compassion center with which the
principal officer, board member, agent, volunteer, or employee is affiliated.

(C) A random identification number that is unique to the cardholder.

(D) The date of issuance and the expiration date of the registry
identification card.
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(E) A photograph, if the department decides to require one.

(8)(A)(i) Prior to acting on an application, the department of public
safety shall obtain a Vermont criminal history record, an out-of-state criminal
history record, and a criminal history record from the Federal Bureau of
Investigation for each principal officer, board member, agent, volunteer, or
employee of a compassion center. Each applicant shall consent to the release
of criminal history records to the department on forms substantially similar to
the release forms developed by the center pursuant to 20 V.S.A. § 2056c.

(ii) When the department of public safety obtains a criminal
history record, the department shall promptly provide a copy of the record to
the applicant principal officer, board member, agent, volunteer, or employee,
and to the principal officer and board, if the applicant is an agent, volunteer, or
employee. The department of public safety shall inform the applicant of the
right to appeal the accuracy and completeness of the record pursuant to rules
adopted by the department of public safety.

(iii) The department shall comply with all laws regulating the
release of criminal history records and the protection of individual privacy. No
person shall confirm the existence or nonexistence of criminal history record
information to any person who would not be eligible to receive the information
pursuant to this subchapter.

(B)(i) The department of public safety shall not issue a registry
identification card to any principal officer, board member, agent, volunteer, or
employee of a compassion center who has been convicted of a drug-related
offense or a violent felony. For purposes of this subchapter, “violent felony”
means a listed crime as defined in 13 V.S.A. § 5301(7), or an offense involving
sexual exploitation of children in violation of chapter 64 of Title 13.

(ii) The department of public safety shall adopt rules for the
issuance of a registry identification card and set forth standards for determining
whether an applicant should be denied a registry identification card because his
or her criminal history record indicates that the person’s association with a
compassion center would pose a demonstrable threat to public safety. The
rules shall consider whether a person who has a conviction for an offense not
listed in subdivision (B)(i) of this subdivision (c)(8) has been rehabilitated. A
conviction for an offense not listed in subdivision (B)(i) of this subdivision
(c)(8) shall not automatically disqualify a person for a registry identification
card.

(iii) A compassion center may deny a person the opportunity to
serve as a board member, agent, volunteer, or employee based on his or her
criminal history record.

(C) An applicant who is denied a registry identification card may
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appeal the department of public safety’s determination in superior court in
accordance with Rule 75 of the Vermont Rules of Civil Procedure.

(9) A registration identification card of a principal officer, board
member, agent, volunteer, or employee shall expire one year after its issuance
or upon the expiration of the registered organization’s registration certificate,
whichever occurs first.

(10) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, information required
to be submitted to the department of health or department of public safety on
an application for a compassion center identifying the locations where
marijuana is proposed to be grown, cultivated, harvested, and otherwise
prepared for distribution to qualifying patients, registered caregivers, and
compassion centers, if such location is different from the location of the
compassion center, and any other department records identifying such location
shall be considered to be confidential information and not subject to disclosure,
provided that such information may be disclosed to a law enforcement agency
upon request for purposes of enforcement under this chapter.

(d)(1) A compassion center’s registration shall expire two years after its
registration certificate is issued. The compassion center may submit a renewal
application beginning 60 days prior to the expiration of its registration
certificate.

(2) The department shall grant a compassion center’s renewal
application within 30 days of its submission if the following conditions are all
satisfied:

(A) The compassion center submits the materials required under
subdivision (c)(4) of this section, including the required fee, which shall be
refunded within 30 days if the renewal application is rejected.

(B) The department has not suspended the compassion center’s
registration for violations of this chapter or rules adopted pursuant to this
chapter.

(C) The compassion center is complying with the requirements in
subsection (g) of this section.

(D) The inspections authorized by subsection (e) of this section and
the report provided pursuant to subdivision (f)(8) of this section do not raise
serious concerns about the continued operation of the compassion center
applying for renewal.

(3) If the department of health determines that any of the conditions
listed in subdivisions (2)(A)–(D) of this subsection do not exist, the department
shall begin an open application process for the operation of a compassion
center. In granting a new registration certificate, the department shall consider
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factors listed in subdivision (c)(3) of this section.

(4) The department of health shall issue a compassion center one or
more 30-day temporary registration certificates after that compassion center’s
registration would otherwise expire if all the following conditions are satisfied:

(A) The compassion center previously applied for a renewal, but the
department had not yet come to a decision.

(B) The compassion center requested a temporary registration
certificate.

(C) The compassion center has not had its registration certificate
revoked due to violations of this chapter or rules adopted pursuant to this
chapter.

(e) Compassion centers shall be subject to reasonable inspection by the
department of health. During an inspection, the department may review the
compassion center’s confidential records, including its dispensing records,
which shall track transactions according to registered patients’ registry
identification numbers to protect their confidentiality. The department may
also review training materials, safety inserts, and other materials that are
required to be maintained or distributed pursuant to this chapter and the rules
adopted pursuant to it.

(f)(1) A compassion center shall be operated on a nonprofit basis for the
mutual benefit of its patients. A compassion center need not be recognized as
a tax-exempt organization by the Internal Revenue Service.

(2) A compassion center may not be located within 1,000 feet of the
property line of a preexisting public or private school.

(3) A compassion center shall notify the department of public safety
within 10 days of when a principal officer, board member, agent, volunteer, or
employee ceases to be associated with or work at the compassion center. His
or her registry identification card shall be deemed null and void, and the person
shall be liable for any other penalties that may apply to the person’s
nonmedical use of marijuana.

(4) A compassion center shall notify the department of public safety in
writing of the name, address, and date of birth of any proposed new principal
officer, board member, agent, volunteer, or employee and shall submit a fee in
an amount established by the department for a new registry identification card
before a new agent, volunteer, or employee begins working at the compassion
center, and shall submit a complete set of fingerprints for the prospective
principal officer, board member, agent, volunteer, or employee.

(5) A compassion center shall implement appropriate security measures
to deter and prevent the unauthorized entrance into areas containing marijuana
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and the theft of marijuana, and shall ensure that each location has an
operational security alarm system.

(6) The operating documents of a compassion center shall include
procedures for the oversight of the compassion center and procedures to ensure
accurate record keeping.

(7) A compassion center is prohibited from the following:

(A) Acquiring, possessing, cultivating, manufacturing, delivering,
transferring, transporting, supplying, selling, and dispensing marijuana for any
purpose except to assist patients who are allowed to use marijuana pursuant to
this chapter with the medical use of marijuana directly or through the
qualifying patients’ designated caregiver.

(B) Acquiring usable marijuana or marijuana plants from any source
other than registered compassion center principal officers, board members,
agents, volunteers, or employees who cultivate marijuana in accordance with
this subchapter.

(C) Acquiring medical marijuana from any source other than
registered patients or their caregivers, or other registered compassion centers in
Vermont.

(8) A compassion center shall provide to each registered patient and
registered caregiver receiving marijuana a safety insert, which the department
of health may, at its discretion, inspect and approve, which shall include:

(A) methods for administration of medical marijuana; and

(B) a description of potential side-effects qualified patients could
experience while using medical marijuana.

(9) A compassion center shall include labels on all marijuana that is
dispensed. The labels shall identify the particular strain of marijuana
contained therein. Cannabis strains shall be either pure breeds or hybrid
varieties of cannabis and shall reflect properties of the plant.

(10) Each compassion center shall develop, implement, and maintain on
the premises employee and agent policies and procedures to address the
following requirements:

(A) A job description or employment contract developed for all
employees and a volunteer agreement for all volunteers, which includes duties,
authority, responsibilities, qualification, and supervision; and

(B) Training in and adherence to confidentiality laws.
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(11) Each compassion center shall maintain a personnel record for each
employee and each volunteer that includes an application for employment or to
volunteer and a record of any disciplinary action taken.

(12) Each compassion center shall develop, implement, and maintain
on-site training curricula, or enter into contractual relationships with outside
resources capable of meeting employee training needs, which include the
following topics:

(A) Professional conduct, ethics, and patient confidentiality; and

(B) Informational developments in the field of the medical use of
marijuana.

(13) Each compassion center entity shall provide each employee and
each volunteer, at the time of his or her initial appointment, training in the
following:

(A) The proper use of security measures and controls that have been
adopted; and

(B) Specific procedural instructions on how to respond to an
emergency, including robbery or violent accident.

(14) All compassion centers shall prepare training documentation for
each employee and have employees sign a statement indicating the date, time,
and place the employee received the training and topics discussed, including
the name and title of presenters. The compassion center shall maintain
documentation of an employee’s and a volunteer’s training for a period of at
least six months after termination of an employee’s employment or the
volunteer’s volunteering.

(g)(1) A compassion center or principal officer, board member, agent,
volunteer, or employee of a compassion center shall not dispense more than
two ounces of usable marijuana to a registered patient directly or through the
qualifying patient’s registered caregiver during a 10-day period. A compassion
center or principal officer, board member, agent, volunteer, or employee of a
compassion center may dispense seeds or cuttings to a registered patient. For
purposes of this subsection, a “cutting” is defined as a plant section originating
from the stem, leaf, or root of a marijuana plant and which is capable of
developing into a new plant.

(2) A compassion center or principal officer, board member, agent,
volunteer, or employee of a compassion center shall not dispense an amount of
usable marijuana to a qualifying patient or a designated caregiver that the
compassion center, principal officer, board member, agent, volunteer, or
employee knows would cause the recipient to possess more marijuana than is
permitted under this chapter.
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(h)(1) No registered compassion center shall be subject to the following:

(A) Prosecution for the acquisition, possession, cultivation,
manufacture, delivery, transfer, transport, supply, sale, or dispensing of
marijuana, paraphernalia, or related supplies for medical purposes in
accordance with the provisions of this chapter and any rule adopted by the
department of health pursuant to this chapter.

(B) Inspection and search, except pursuant to subsection (e) of this
section or upon a search warrant issued by a court or judicial officer.

(C) Seizure of marijuana, except upon valid order issued by a court
or judicial officer.

(D) Imposition of any penalty or denied any right or privilege,
including imposition of a civil penalty or disciplinary action by an
occupational or professional licensing board or entity, solely for acting in
accordance with this chapter to assist registered patients or registered
caregivers with the medical use of marijuana.

(2) No principal officers, board members, agents, volunteers, or
employees of a compassion center shall be subject to arrest, prosecution,
search, seizure, or penalty in any manner, or denied any right or privilege,
including civil penalty or disciplinary action by a business, occupational, or
professional licensing board or entity, solely for working for or with a
compassion center to engage in acts permitted by this chapter.

(i)(1)(A) A compassion center shall not possess an amount of marijuana for
medical use that exceeds whichever of the following quantities is greater:

(i) 98 immature marijuana plants, 28 mature marijuana plants, and
28 ounces of useable marijuana; or

(ii) seven immature marijuana plants, two mature marijuana
plants, and two ounces per patient.

(B) A compassion center may possess marijuana seeds, stalks, and
unusable roots.

(2) A compassion center shall not dispense, deliver, or otherwise
transfer marijuana to a person other than a registered patient who has
designated it or such patient’s registered caregiver.

(3) A person found to have violated subdivision (2) of this subsection
shall not be an employee, volunteer, agent, principal officer, or board member
of any compassion center, and such person’s registry identification card shall
be immediately revoked.

(4) No person who has been convicted of a drug-related offense shall be
a principal officer, board member, agent, volunteer, or employee of a
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compassion center unless the department has determined that the person’s
conviction was for the medical use of marijuana or assisting with the medical
use of marijuana and issued the person a registry identification card as
provided under subdivision (c)(7) of this section. A person who is employed
by or is an agent, volunteer, principal officer, or board member of a
compassion center in violation of this subdivision shall be guilty of a civil
violation punishable by a fine of up to $1,000.00. A subsequent violation of
this subdivision shall be a misdemeanor.

(5) All cultivation of marijuana shall take place in an enclosed, locked
facility, which can only be accessed by principal officers, board members,
agents, volunteers, or employees of the registered compassion center who are
cardholders.

(j) Nothing shall prohibit local governments from enacting ordinances or
regulations regarding compassion centers, provided they are not in conflict
with this section or with department of health rules adopted pursuant to this
section.

§ 4476. ANNUAL REPORT

(a)(1) The legislature shall appoint a seven-member oversight committee
comprising one member of the house of representatives; one member of the
senate; one physician; one nurse; and three registered patients.

(2) The oversight committee shall meet at least two times per year for
the purpose of evaluating and making recommendations to the general
assembly regarding:

(A) The ability of qualifying patients and registered caregivers in all
areas of the state to obtain timely access to medical marijuana.

(B) The effectiveness of the registered compassion centers
individually and together in serving the needs of qualifying patients and
registered caregivers, including the provision of educational and support
services.

(C) Sufficiency of the regulatory and security safeguards contained in
this chapter and adopted by the department of health to ensure that access to
and use of cultivated marijuana is provided only to cardholders authorized for
such purposes.

(D) The definition of “qualifying medical condition.”

(E) Research studies regarding health effects of medical marijuana
for patients.

(b) On or before January 1 of each year, beginning in 2012, the oversight
committee shall provide a report to the department of health, the house
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committee on health care, and the senate committee on health and welfare on
its findings.

and that after passage, the title of the bill be amended to read: “An act relating
to medical marijuana compassion centers”

(Committee vote: 3-2-0)

Reported favorably by Senator Cummings for the Committee on
Finance.

(Committee vote: 5-0-2)

S. 264.

An act relating to the Vermont dairy industry stabilization and health
(DISH) program.

Reported favorably with recommendation of amendment by Senator
Giard for the Committee on Agriculture.

The Committee recommends that the bill be amended by striking out all
after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. PURPOSE

(a) Sec. 4 of No. 50 of the Acts of 2007 directed that the “Vermont milk
commission shall establish by rule. . .a minimum producer price that is
designed to achieve a price by which the cost of picking up the milk and
hauling the milk from the farm to the purchaser will be paid by the purchaser.”

(b) Under Sec. 6(c) of Act 50 (2007), the milk commission was directed to
“commence the rulemaking process necessary to implement the provisions of
Sec. 4. . .within 60 days of the effective date of the act,” which became
effective on May 26, 2007. Also under Sec. 6(c), the rule itself “shall take
effect when, by rule, legislation, or other agreement, New York and one other
state in the Northeast Marketing Area, Federal Order 1, have accomplished the
purpose of this act or on January 15, 2009, whichever comes first.”

(c) Sec. 4 of Act 50 (2007) was amended the following year by Sec. 1. of
No. 157 of the Acts of the 2007 Adj. Sess. (2008), which split Sec. 4 into two
subsections. Subsection (a) directed the Vermont milk commission to
establish “by order. . .a minimum producer price that is designed to reflect the
cost of production.” Subsection (b) mandated that “The cost of picking up the
milk and hauling the milk from the farm to the purchaser will be paid by the
purchaser.” Sec. 6(c) of Act 50 (2007) was also amended to change the date
certain for the effective date of the milk commission’s order from January 15,
2009 to July 1, 2010.
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(d) Despite the mandate to the Vermont milk commission to adopt an order
governing the minimum producer price and stop and hauling charges, no order
was ever adopted. Furthermore, legal opinions differ as to the force and effect
of the amendments made by Act 157 (2007 Adj. Sess.), and consequently, it
remains uncertain whether and when the buyer of cows’ milk, rather than the
dairy producer, is responsible for paying dairy hauling costs.

(e) The purpose of this act is to express the general assembly’s intent that
dairy hauling costs should be paid by the buyer of the cows’ milk, rather than
the dairy farmer.

Sec. 2. 6 V.S.A. § 2676 is amended to read:

§ 2676. TITLE TO MILK IN TANK TRUCK; COST OF HAULING

(a) When milk is sampled, measured, and transferred from a farm tank to a
tank truck, the milk collector shall be deemed to be the agent of the buyer and
title to the milk shall be deemed to pass to the buyer at the time of such
transfer.

(b)(1) In this section, “hauling costs” means stop charges, hauling charges,
fuel surcharges, and any other costs incurred to transport cows’ milk from a
farm to the buyer.

(2) Notwithstanding subdivision 2925(d) of this title, hauling costs shall
be paid by the buyer and shall not be charged back to the selling producer,
either directly or indirectly. No additional charges shall be made, and no costs
may be shifted from other benefits the producer receives to contravene the
purpose of this subsection. No funds shall be transferred away from the
producer in paid producer differentials or premiums the producer would
receive but for this subsection.

Sec. 3. REGIONAL COLLABORATION ON TRANSITION OF PAYMENT
OF HAULING COSTS

(a) The secretary of the agency of agriculture, food and markets shall
collaborate with his or her counterparts in states within the Northeast
Marketing Area to advocate for a transition within each state, and within the
Area, to a legally enforceable framework under which the purchaser pays stop
and hauling charges.

(b) The secretary shall provide information and support as is practicable to
aid other states in effecting this transition through legislative or administrative
enactments at the state level to ensure the contemporaneous adoption of a
statewide, mandatory framework, under which a purchaser of cows’ milk shall
be responsible for the payment of dairy hauling costs.
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(c) The secretary shall further collaborate with other northeast states to
implement a shift in responsibility for payment of dairy hauling costs through a
milk marketing order petition or other means available at the federal level.

(d) Beginning in 2011, on or before January 15 of each year, the secretary
shall submit a report to the house and senate committees on agriculture
detailing progress made on accomplishing the transition at the state level
within each state in the Northeast Marketing Area, and on progress made on a
petition or other means to implement a cost shift in stop and hauling charges at
the federal level.

Sec. 4. REPEAL

Sec. 1(b) of No. 157 of the Acts of the 2007 Adj. Sess. (2008) is repealed.

Sec. 5. EFFECTIVE DATE

This bill shall take effect upon passage, except that Sec. 2. (amendment to
6 V.S.A. § 2676, mandating that cost of hauling to be paid by buyer) shall take
effect when New York requires, by legislative or administrative enactment of
statewide applicability and enforcement, that dairy hauling costs be paid by the
purchaser of cows’ milk rather than the producer of the milk.

and that the title of the bill be amended to read: “An act relating to stop and
hauling charges”

(Committee vote: 4-0-1)

Reported without recommendation by Senator Giard for the
Committee on Finance.

(Committee vote: 7-0-0)

Favorable with Proposal of Amendment

H. 456.

An act relating to seasonal fuel assistance.

Reported favorably with recommendation of proposal of amendment
by Senator Bartlett for the Committee on Appropriations.

recommends that the bill be amended by striking out all after the enacting
clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 33 V.S.A. § 2601 is amended to read:

§ 2601. POLICY AND PURPOSE

(a) It is the purpose of this chapter to secure the safety and health of low
income Vermont households by providing needy Vermonters with assistance
for the purchase of essential home heating fuel. To further this purpose,
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application acceptance, processing, and eligibility determination should as
much as is practical be coordinated with other economic benefit programs
administered by the agency of human services.

(b) This chapter establishes a home heating fuel assistance program in the
agency of human services with both a seasonal fuel assistance component for
very low income households and a crisis component to supply fuel assistance
to low income households in crisis situations.

Sec. 2. 33 V.S.A. § 2603 is amended to read:

§ 2603. HOME HEATING FUEL ASSISTANCE FUND

(a) There is created in the state treasury a fund to be known as the home
heating fuel assistance fund.

(b) The fund shall consist of the receipts from any taxes dedicated to the
fund and such other state funds as may be appropriated to it by the general
assembly. Funds from the home heating fuel assistance fund and the federal
Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP). These funds shall
be expended by the director secretary of human services or designee in
accordance with this chapter, rules adopted pursuant to this chapter, and other
relevant federal laws and rules adopted pursuant thereto law.

* * *

(d) The secretary or designee may spend, in anticipation of federal receipts
into the home heating fuel assistance fund established under this section, a sum
no greater than 75 percent of the federal block grant funds allocated to
Vermont for the current federal fiscal year under the Low Income Home
Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP), for the purpose of permitting
preseason purchases of fuel and other cost-effective purchasing practices
authorized by subsection 2602(c) of this title, in accordance with rules adopted
by the secretary.

Sec. 3. 33 V.S.A. § 2604 is amended to read:

§ 2604. ELIGIBLE BENEFICIARIES; REQUIREMENTS

(a) Household income eligibility requirements. The secretary of human
services or designee, by rule, shall establish household income and asset
eligibility requirements of beneficiaries in the seasonal fuel assistance program
including the income and assets of all residents of the household.

(1) The income eligibility requirements shall require that households
have a net gross household income no greater than 125 185 percent of the
federal poverty level in order to be potentially eligible for benefits. Net
income shall be derived by making the following deductions from gross
income: 20 percent of household members’ gross earned income; 100 percent
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of federal or state earned income credits received by household members;
dependent care expenses that are within an allowable maximum, paid by a
household member, and necessary to support a household member’s
employment or training for employment, according to criteria established by
the secretary by rule; child support or alimony payments made by a household
member on behalf of a nonhousehold member that meet criteria established by
the secretary by rule; $250.00 for each household member who is 60 years of
age or older or disabled according to criteria established by the secretary by
rule; any deductions or exclusions required by federal law or regulations; and
any other deduction or exclusion established by the secretary by rule. To the
extent allowed by federal law, the secretary of human services or designee
shall establish by rule a calculation of gross income based on the same rules
used in 3SquaresVT, except that the secretary or designee shall include
additional deductions or exclusions from income required by LIHEAP.

(2) In order to be eligible, a household shall have net household assets
no greater than $5,000.00, or $10,000.00 if one member of the household is 60
years of age or older. The secretary shall establish exclusions from the asset
limit by rule.

(b) Fuel cost requirements. The secretary shall adopt rules that specify the
responsibility of the applicant households and their certified fuel supplier in
providing the office of home heating fuel assistance with information that the
office will use to establish an applicant household’s heating fuel consumption
for the previous year. The secretary of human services or designee shall by
rule procedure establish a table that contains amounts that will function as a
proxy for applicant households’ annual heating fuel cost for the previous year.
The seasonal fuel expenditure estimates contained within such table shall
closely approximate the actual home heating costs experienced by participants
in the home heating fuel assistance program. Such table shall be revised no
less frequently than every three years based on data supplied by certified fuel
suppliers, the department of public service, and other industry sources to the
office of home heating fuel assistance, as required by rule. The secretary shall
also establish by rule minimum amounts of annual home heating fuel costs that
vary based on the household’s size and annual income.

(c) In determining heating fuel costs of households:

(1)(A) Households that make undesignated payments for energy for
home heat in the form of rent and are not participating in a public, subsidized
or Section 8 housing program shall be eligible for an annual home heating fuel
assistance benefit in an amount equal to 30 percent of the benefit the household
would have received if the household were purchasing energy for home
heating fuel directly, or in the amount of $50.00, whichever amount is greater.
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(B) Households that make undesignated payments for energy for
home heat in the form of rent and are participating in a public, subsidized or
Section 8 housing program shall be eligible for a nominal annual home heating
fuel assistance benefit of $5.00. This benefit amount is effective beginning
with the 1999-2000 program year.

(C) Residents of the dwelling unit who make reasonable
compensation in the form of room rent and who are not members of the same
household shall be eligible for an annual home heating fuel assistance benefit
in the amount of $50.00.

(2) Residents of housing units subsidized by the federal, state, or local
government shall be deemed to have incurred no annual home heating fuel
costs, except to the extent required by any federal law or regulation if federal
funds are utilized for the home heating fuel assistance program, and with the
following additional exception. Housing unit residents who participate in
Reach Up under chapter 11 of this title, or who receive Supplemental Security
Income/Aid to the Aged, Blind, or Disabled (SSI/AABD), emergency
assistance, or general assistance benefits that are used in whole or in part to
pay for their housing or utility costs and do not receive other federal, state, or
local government assistance targeted specifically to their housing or utility
needs shall, with the exception of households for which the cost of heat is
supplied by the landlord, be assumed to incur annual home heating fuel costs
and their eligibility for annual heating fuel assistance shall not be limited by
this subsection.

(3)(2) The annual heating fuel cost for a household unit shall be only for
the cost of the primary heating fuel source of the unit, which may be for wood,
electricity, or any other fuel source, but annual heating fuel costs shall be only
for the cost of heat and not include the cost of the fuel for any other uses of the
household.

Sec. 4. 33 V.S.A. § 2605 is amended to read:

§ 2605. BENEFIT AMOUNTS

(a) The secretary shall by rule establish a table that specifies for households
for which the cost of heat is not supplied by the landlord, maximum annual
home heating fuel assistance benefit amounts. The maximum benefit amounts
contained within this table shall vary by household size and annual household
income. The annual home heating fuel assistance benefit for households that
make undesignated payments for energy for home heat in the form of rent, and
for households that pay room rent and who are not members of the same
household with other residents of the dwelling unit, shall be the amounts
established in section 2604(c)(1) of this title.
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(b) The secretary of human services or designee shall by rule establish a
table that specifies maximum percentages of applicant households’ annual
heating fuel costs, based on the proxy table established pursuant to section
2604(b) of this title, that can be authorized for payment as annual home
heating fuel assistance benefits for the following year. The maximum
percentages contained within this table shall vary by household size and annual
household income. In no instance shall the percentage exceed 90 percent.

(b) The maximum percentages of annual heating fuel costs table
established in subsection (a) of this section shall provide proportionally higher
benefit percentages to households with a gross income of 154 percent of the
federal poverty guidelines or less and proportionally lower benefit percentages
to households with a gross income of 155 to 185 percent of the federal poverty
guideline.

(c) Annually, based on the number of eligible households that have applied
and for which the cost of heat is not supplied by the landlord, these
households’ individual incomes and individual annual heating fuel cost, based
on the proxy table established pursuant to subsection 2604(b) of this title, the
number of eligible households that have applied and for which the cost of heat
is supplied by the landlord, the cost of benefits for these households, and the
amount of funds available in the home heating fuel assistance fund for the
purpose of providing annual home heating fuel assistance benefits or are
projected to apply, and on the eligibility of households in the benefit categories
established in this section, the secretary of human services or designee shall,
by procedure, set the payment rate that shall be used to determine the amount
of annual home heating fuel assistance for which each eligible household for
which the cost of heat is not supplied by the landlord qualifies. In no event
shall the payment rate be greater than 100 percent of the maximum percentage
established by rule as required by subsection (b)(a) of this section.

(d) In the case of a household for which the cost of heat is not supplied by
the landlord, the household’s annual home heating fuel assistance benefit is the
household’s annual heating fuel cost for the previous year as defined in section
2604(b) of this title, multiplied by the maximum percentage for that household
found in the table established by subsection (b)(a) of this section, multiplied by
the payment rate established in subsection (c) of this section. In no event,
however, shall the benefit paid for these households exceed the maximum
benefit for a household of its income and size as established by rule as required
in subsection (a) of this section. The annual home heating fuel assistance
benefit for households that make undesignated payments for energy for home
heat in the form of rent, and for households that pay room rent and who are not
members of the same household with other residents of the dwelling unit, shall
be the amounts established in subdivision 2604(c)(1) of this title.
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(e) [Repealed.] Households that make undesignated payments for energy
for home heat in the form of rent and that are not participating in a public,
subsidized, or Section 8 housing program shall be eligible for an annual home
heating fuel assistance benefit in an amount equal to 30 percent of the benefit
the household would have received if the household were purchasing energy
for home heating fuel directly or in the amount of $50.00, whichever amount is
greater.

(f) Households that make undesignated payments for energy for home heat
in the form of rent and are participating in a public, subsidized, or Section 8
housing program shall be eligible for a nominal annual home heating fuel
assistance benefit of $5.00.

(g) Residents of the dwelling unit who make reasonable compensation in
the form of room rent and who are not members of the same household shall be
eligible for an annual home heating fuel assistance benefit in the amount of
$50.00.

(h) Households receiving benefits from 3SquaresVT whose head of
household is not otherwise eligible for a fuel benefit under this section shall be
eligible for a nominal annual home heating fuel assistance benefit of $3.00.

Sec. 5. 33 V.S.A. § 2606 is amended to read:

§ 2606. APPLICATION PERIOD; ASSISTANCE

(a) In order to make a timely determination of benefit levels, there shall be
an application period during which all beneficiaries shall apply for home
heating fuel assistance for the ensuing heating season. The application period
shall be from July 15 through August 31. The secretary of human services or
designee may accept applications on an ongoing basis beginning on April 1,
2010. The secretary or designee may establish by rule the procedure for
accepting applications and determining eligibility under this subsection.

(b) The secretary shall accept applications after the application period has
closed, but no later than the last day of February. No qualified applicant shall
be penalized through a reduction of benefits for a late-filed application, except
that such applicant shall not be entitled to receive benefits for any period prior
to the month of application.

(c) The director of home energy assistance secretary of human services or
designee shall supply or contract for staff to carry out application-processing
process applications and related tasks including assisting households in
applying and providing required information, and locating and contacting fuel
suppliers certified under section 2607 of this title.

(d) Notwithstanding subsections (a) and (b) of this section, the secretary
may accept applications on an ongoing basis for the 2010-2011 heating season
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beginning on March 1, 2010 and may establish by rule the procedure for
accepting applications and determining eligibility under this subsection. No
later than January 15, 2010, the secretary shall provide draft legislation to
modify the process for application, eligibility, and calculation and issuance of
benefits under the seasonal fuel assistance program using a new eligibility
system to the house committee on human services and the senate committee on
health and welfare.

Sec. 6. 33 V.S.A. § 2607 is amended to read:

§ 2607. PAYMENTS TO FUEL SUPPLIERS

(a) The director secretary of human services or designee shall certify fuel
suppliers, excluding firewood and wood pellet suppliers, to be eligible to
participate in the home heating fuel assistance program, and beneficiaries.
Beneficiaries may obtain assistance for fuel deliveries use their seasonal fuel
assistance benefit to obtain home heating fuel or energy only from a fuel
supplier certified by the director, except that beneficiaries who heat with
firewood or wood pellets may obtain their firewood or wood pellets from any
supplier they choose.

(b) Certified fuel suppliers shall agree to conduct reasonable efforts in
order to inform and assist beneficiaries in their service areas, maintain records
of amounts and costs of all fuel deliveries, send periodic statements to
customers receiving home heating fuel assistance informing them of their
account’s credit or debit balance as of the last statement, deliveries or usage
since that statement and the charges for such, payments made or applied,
indicating their source, since that statement, and the ending credit or debit
balance. Certified fuel suppliers shall also agree to provide the director
secretary of human services or designee such information deemed necessary
for the efficient administration of the program, including information required
to pay beneficiary’s benefits to the certified supplier after fuel is delivered or,
for metered fuel and regulated utilities, after the beneficiary’s account has been
billed.

(c) Certified fuel suppliers shall not disclose the beneficiary status of
recipients of home heating fuel assistance benefits, the names of recipients, or
other information pertaining to recipients to anyone, except for purposes
directly connected with administration of the home heating fuel assistance
program or when required by law.

(d) A supplier of wood fuel may be certified by the director only if the
supplier is, in the normal course of business, a supplier of wood fuel; maintains
a Social Security number or a federal tax identification number for such
business; and provides that number to the director.
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(e) Certified fuel suppliers shall also agree to enter into budget agreements
with beneficiaries for annualized monthly payments for fuel supplies provided
the beneficiary meets accepted industry credit standards, and shall grant
program beneficiaries such cash discounts, preseason delivery savings,
automatic fuel delivery agreements, and any other discounts granted to any
other heating fuel customer or as the secretary of human services or designee
may negotiate with certified fuel suppliers.

(f)(e) The office of home heating fuel assistance secretary of human
services or designee shall provide each certified fuel supplier with a list of the
households who are its customers and have been found eligible for annual
home heating fuel assistance for the current year, the total amount of annual
home heating fuel assistance that has been authorized for each household, and
how the total amount has been allocated over the heating season. Each
authorized amount shall function as a line of credit for each eligible household.
The office of home heating fuel assistance secretary or designee shall disburse
authorized home heating fuel assistance benefits to certified fuel suppliers on
behalf of eligible households in accordance with the allocation schedule after
fuel is delivered or, for metered fuel and regulated utilities, after the
beneficiary’s account has been billed.

(g) In the event that on April 30 of any year a credit balance exists in a
certified fuel supplier’s account for a household that has received annual home
heating fuel assistance during the previous 12 months, that certified fuel
supplier is required to pay the amount of this credit balance to the office of
home heating fuel assistance no later than May 31 of the same year.

(h)(f) The director secretary of human services or designee shall negotiate
with one or more certified fuel suppliers to obtain the most advantageous
pricing and, payment terms, and delivery methods possible for eligible
households.

Sec. 7. 33 V.S.A. § 2609 is amended to read:

§ 2609. CRISIS RESERVES

Annually, the secretary of human services or designee shall determine by
rule an appropriate amount of funds in the home heating fuel assistance fund to
be set aside for expenditure for the crisis reserve fuel assistance component of
the home heating fuel program. The secretary or designee shall also adopt
rules to define crisis situations for the expenditure of the home heating fuel
crisis reserve funds, and to establish the income and asset eligibility
requirements of households for receipt of crisis reserve home heating fuel
assistance, provided that no household shall be eligible whose gross household
income is greater than 150 200 percent of the federal poverty level based on
the income of all persons residing in the household. To the extent allowed by
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federal law, the secretary or designee shall establish by rule a calculation of
gross income based on the same rules used in 3SquaresVT, except that the
secretary or designee shall include additional deductions or exclusions from
income required by LIHEAP.

Sec. 8. EXPEDITED RULES

Notwithstanding the provisions of chapter 25 of Title 3, the agency of
human services shall adopt rules to implement this act pursuant to the
following:

(1) The secretary of human services or designee shall file final proposed
rules with the secretary of state and the legislative committee on administrative
rules under 3 V.S.A. § 841, after publication in three daily newspapers with the
highest average circulation in the state of a notice that lists the rules to be
adopted pursuant to this process and a seven-day public comment period
following publication.

(2) The secretary of human services or designee shall file final proposed
rules with the legislative committee on administrative rules no later than
28 days after the effective date of this act.

(3) The legislative committee on administrative rules shall review, and
may approve or object to, the final proposed rules under 3 V.S.A. § 842, except
that its action shall be completed no later than 14 days after the final proposed
rules are filed with the committee.

(4) The secretary of human services or designee may adopt a properly
filed final proposed rule after the passage of 14 days from the date of filing
final proposed rules with the legislative committee on administrative rules or
after receiving notice of approval from the committee, provided the secretary
or designee:

(A) has not received a notice of objection from the legislative
committee on administrative rules; or

(B) after having received a notice of objection from the committee,
has responded pursuant to 3 V.S.A. § 842.

(5) Rules adopted under this section shall be effective upon being filed
with the secretary of state and shall have the full force and effect of rules
adopted pursuant to chapter 25 of Title 3. Rules filed by the secretary of
human services or designee with the secretary of state pursuant to this section
shall be deemed to be in full compliance with 3 V.S.A. § 843, and shall be
accepted by the secretary of state if filed with a certification by the secretary of
human services or designee that the rule is required to meet the purposes of
this section.

Sec. 9. IMPLEMENTATION
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No later than September 1, 2011, the secretary of human services or
designee shall implement a payment system to pay fuel benefits to certified
fuel suppliers after the fuel is delivered or, for metered fuel and regulated
utilities, after the beneficiary’s account has been billed.

Sec. 10. EFFECTIVE DATE

This act shall take effect on passage.

And the title shall be amended to read “An act relating to fuel assistance”

(Committee vote: 7-0-0)

(No House amendments)

ORDERED TO LIE

S. 99.

An act relating to amending the Act 250 criteria relating to traffic, scattered
development, and rural growth areas.

S. 110.

An act relating to sheltering livestock.

H. 331.

An act relating to technical changes to the records management authority of
the Vermont State Archives and Records Administration.

CONFIRMATIONS

The following appointments will be considered by the Senate, as a group,
under suspension of the Rules, as moved by the President pro tempore, for
confirmation together and without debate, by consent thereby given by the
Senate. However, upon request of any senator, any appointment may be
singled out and acted upon separately by the Senate, with consideration given
to the report of the Committee to which the appointment was referred, and with
full debate; and further, all appointments for the positions of Secretaries of
Agencies, Commissioners of Departments, Judges, Magistrates, and members
of the Public Service Board shall be fully and separately acted upon.

Robert Kelley of Brandon - Member of the Board of Education - By Senator
Flory for the Committee on Education. (1/14/10)

Steven Gurin of Barre - Member of the Vermont Educational & Health
Buildings Financing Agency - By Senator Cummings for the Committee on
Finance. (2/3/10)

Kenneth Gibbons of Hyde Park - Member of the Vermont Educational &
Health Buildings Financing Agency - By Senator McCormack for the
Committee on Finance. (2/17/10)
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Sandi Murphy of Enosburg Falls - Member of the Valuation Appeals Board
- By Senator Giard for the Committee on Finance. (2/24/10)

Jonathan Wood of Cambridge - Secretary of the Agency of Natural
Resources - By Senator Lyons for the Committee on Natural Resources and
Energy. (3/10/10)

Jonathan Wood of Cambridge - Secretary of the Agency of Natural
Resources - By Senator Lyons for the Committee on Natural Resources and
Energy. (3/10/10)

Justin Johnson of Barre - Commissioner of the Department of
Environmental Conservation - By Senator Lyons for the Committee on Natural
Resources and Energy. (3/10/10)

Wayne Allen Laroche of Franklin - Commissioner of the Department of
Fish & Wildlife - By Senator Lyons for the Committee on Natural Resources
and Energy. (3/10/10)

Peter F. Young, Jr. of Northfield - Chair of the Natural Resources Board -
By Senator Lyons for the Committee on Natural Resources and Energy.
(3/10/10)

Jason Gibbs of Duxbury - Commissioner of the Department of Forests,
Parks & Recreation - By Senator Lyons for the Committee on Natural
Resources and Energy. (3/10/10)

Jason Gibbs of Duxbury – Commissioner of the Department of Forests,
Parks & Recreation – By Senator Lyons for the Committee on Natural
Resources and Energy. (3/10/10)

Richard A. Westman of Cambridge – Commissioner of the Department of
Taxes – By Senator MacDonald for the Committee on Finance. (3/16/10)

Robert Alberts of Bridport – Member of the Vermont Housing Finance
Agency – By Senator Ayer for the Committee on Finance. (3/17/10)

John W. Valente of Rutland – Director of the Vermont Municipal Bond
Bank – By Senator Carris for the Committee on Finance. (3/17/10)

NOTICE OF JOINT ASSEMBLY

March 18, 2010 - 10:30 A.M. - Retention of Superior Court Judges: David
A. Howard and Helen Toor.

Retention of Environmental Judge: Thomas S. Durkin.


