House Calendar

Wednesday, April 28, 2010 114th DAY OF ADJOURNED SESSION

House Convenes at 10:00 A.M.

TABLE OF CONTENTS	
Page No. ACTION CALENDAR	
Action Postponed Until April 28, 2010	
Favorable with Amendment	
S. 58 Electronic payment of wages	
Senate Proposal of Amendment	
H. 524 Interference with or cruelty to a guide dog	
NEW BUSINESS	
Called Up	
S. 122 Recounts in elections for statewide offices	
Third Reading	
S. 97 A Vermont state employees' cost-savings incentive program1979	
S. 295 The creation of an agricultural development director	
J.R.S. 54 Related to the payment of dairy hauling costs	
Favorable with amendment	
S. 161 National Crime Prevention and Privacy Compact	
NOTICE CALENDAR	
Favorable with Amendment	
S. 103 The study and recommendation of ignition interlock device legislation 2001 Rep. French for Judiciary	

S. 138 Unfair business practices of credit card companies and fraudulent uscanning devices and re-encoders		
S. 222 Recognition of Abenaki tribes	2016	
S. 263 The Vermont Benefit Corporations Act	2023	
S. 278 The department of banking, insurance, securities, and health care administration		
S. 292 Term probation, the right to bail, medical care of inmates, and a reduction in the number of nonviolent prisoners, probationers, and detaine Rep. Myers for Corrections and Institutions		
S. 297 Miscellaneous changes to education law	2064	
Favorable		
S. 187 Municipal financial audits	2073	
Senate Proposal of Amendment		
H. 507 Fostering connections to success in guardianships	2073	
H. 590 Mediation in foreclosure proceedings	2076	
H. 772 Alcoholic beverage tastings and other liquor licensing issues	2086	
Ordered to Lie		
H.R. 19 Urging the agency of natural resources to retain delegated authorized administer the federal Clean Water Act in Vermont	•	

ORDERS OF THE DAY

ACTION CALENDAR

Action Postponed Until April 28, 2010

Favorable with Amendment

S. 58

An act relating to electronic payment of wages

Rep. Moran of Wardsboro, for the Committee on General, Housing and Military Affairs, recommends that the House propose to the Senate that the bill be amended by striking all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 21 V.S.A. §§ 342 and 343 are amended to read:

§ 342. WEEKLY PAYMENT OF WAGES

- (a)(1) Any person having employees in his or her service doing and transacting business within the state shall pay each week, in lawful money or checks, each of his or her employees, the wages earned by such each employee to a day not more than six days prior to the date of such payment.
- (b)(2) After giving written notice to his or her the employees, any person having employees in his or her service doing and transacting business within the state may, notwithstanding subsection (a) of this section subdivision (1) of this subsection, pay bi-weekly or semi-monthly in lawful money or checks, each of his or her employees, employee the wages earned by the employee to a day not more than six days prior to the date of the payment. If a collective bargaining agreement so provides, the payment may be made to a day not more than 13 days prior to the date of payment.

(c)(1)(b) An employee who voluntarily:

- (1) Voluntarily leaves his employment shall be paid on the last regular pay day, or if there is no regular pay day, on the following Friday.
- (2) An employee who is <u>Is</u> discharged from employment shall be paid within 72 hours of his discharge.
- (3) If an employee is <u>Is</u> absent from his <u>or her</u> regular place of employment on the employer's regular scheduled date of wages or salary payment <u>such employee</u> shall be entitled to <u>such</u> payment upon demand.
- (d)(c) With the written authorization of an employee, an employer may pay wages due the employee by deposit any of the following methods:

- (1) Deposit through electronic funds transfer or other direct deposit systems to a checking, savings, or other deposit account maintained by or for the employee in any financial institution within or without the state.
- (2) Credit to a payroll card account directly or indirectly established by an employer in a federally insured depository institution to which electronic fund transfers of the employee's wages, salary, or other employee compensation is made on a recurring basis, other than a checking, savings, or other deposit account described in subdivision (1) of this subsection, provided all the following:
- (A) The employer provides the employee written disclosure in plain language, in at least 10-point type of both the following:
 - (i) All the employee's wage payment options.
- (ii) The terms and conditions of the payroll card account option, including a complete list of all known fees that may be deducted from the employee's payroll card account by the employer or the card issuer and whether third parties may assess fees in addition to the fees assessed by the employer or issuer.
- (B) Copies of the written disclosures required by subdivisions (A) and (F) of this subsection and by subsection (d) of this section shall be provided to the employee in the employee's primary language or in a language the employee understands.
- (C) The employee voluntarily consents in writing to payment of wages by payroll card account after receiving the disclosures described in subdivision (A) of this subdivision (2), and this consent is not a condition of hire or continued employment.
- (D) The employer provides that during each pay period the employee has at least three free withdrawals from the payroll card, one of which permits withdrawal of the full amount of the balance at a federally insured depository institution or other location convenient to the place of employment.
- (E) None of the employer's costs associated with the payroll card account are passed on to the employee, and the employer shall not receive any financial remuneration for using the pay card at the employee's expense.
- (F)(i) At least 21 days before any change takes effect, the employer provides the employee with written notice in plain language, in at least 10 point type, of the following:
- (I) any change to any of the terms and conditions of the payroll card account, including any changes in the itemized list of fees;

- (II) the employee's right to discontinue receipt of wages by a payroll card account at any time and without penalty.
- (ii) The employer may not charge the employee any additional fees until the employer has notified the employee in writing of the changes.
- (G) The employer provides the employee the option to discontinue receipt of wages by a payroll card account at any time and without penalty to the employee.
- (H) The payroll card issued to the employee shall be a branded-type payroll card that complies with both the following:
 - (i) Can be used at a PIN-based or a signature-based outlet.
- (ii) The payroll card agreement prevents withdrawals in excess of the account balance and to the extent possible protects against the account being overdrawn.
- (I) The employer agrees to provide a replacement payroll card at no cost to the employee before the card's expiration date. A replacement card need not be provided if the card has been inactive for a period of at least 12 months or the employee is no longer employed by the employer.
- (J) A nonbranded payroll card may be issued for temporary purposes and shall be valid for no more than 60 days.
- (K) The payroll card account shall not be linked to any form of credit, including a loan against future pay or a cash advance on future pay.
- (L) The employer shall not charge the employee an initiation, loading, or other participatory fee to receive wages payable in an electronic fund transfer to a payroll card account, with the exception of the cost required to replace a lost, stolen, or damaged payroll card.
- (M) The employer shall provide to the employee, upon the employee's written or oral request, one free written transaction history each month which includes all deposits, withdrawals, deductions, or charges by any entity from or to the employee's payroll card account for the preceding 60 days. An employee may elect to receive the monthly transaction history by electronic mail.
- (d)(1) If a payroll card account is established with a financial institution as an account that is individually owned by the employee, the employer's obligations and the protections afforded under subsection (c) of this section shall cease 30 days after the employer-employee relationship ends and the employee has been paid his or her final wages.
 - (2) Upon the termination of the relationship between the employer and

the employee who owns the individual payroll card account:

- (A) the employer shall notify the financial institution of any changes in the relationship between the employer and employee; and
- (B) the financial institution holding the individually owned payroll card account shall provide the employee with a written statement in plain language describing a full list of the fees and obligations the employee might incur by continuing a relationship with the financial institution.
- (e) The department of banking, insurance, securities, and health care administration may adopt rules to implement subsection (c) of this section.

§ 343. FORM OF PAYMENT

<u>Such An</u> employer shall not pay <u>its</u> employees with any form of evidence of indebtedness, including, <u>without limitation</u>, all scrip, vouchers, due bills, or store orders, unless <u>the employer is in compliance with one or both of the following:</u>

- (1) the <u>The</u> employer is a cooperative corporation in which the employee is a stockholder. However, such , in which case, the cooperative corporation shall, upon request of any such shareholding employee, pay him the shareholding employee as provided in section 342 of this title; or .
- (2) payment Payment is made by check as defined in Title 9A or by an electronic fund transfer as provided in section 342 of this title.
- Sec. 2. 8 V.S.A. § 2707(6) is added to read:
- (6) A payroll card account issued pursuant to and in full compliance with 21 V.S.A. § 342(c).

Sec. 3. LEGISLATIVE INTENT; REPORT

The intent of this act is to provide employees with a convenient, safe, and flexible way to receive wages and to reduce employers' payroll costs by allowing for the transfer of wages to a payroll card account. The general assembly recognizes that unforeseen issues regarding the use of payroll accounts may arise. The department of banking, insurance, securities, and health care administration and the department of labor shall report to the house committee on general, housing and military affairs and the senate committee on economic development, housing and general affairs if they identify any problems associated with the use of payroll card accounts.

Sec. 4. EFFECTIVE DATE

This act shall take effect upon passage.

(Committee vote: 8-0-0)

(For text see Senate Journal 3/31 - 4/02/09)

Senate Proposal of Amendment

H. 524

An act relating to interference with or cruelty to a guide dog

The Senate proposes to the House to amend the bill by striking all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 13 V.S.A. § 355 is added to read:

§ 355. INTERFERENCE WITH OR CRUELTY TO A GUIDE DOG

(a) As used in this section:

- (1) "Custody" means the care, control, and maintenance of a dog.
- (2) "Guide dog" means a dog, with visible identification of its status, individually trained to do work or perform tasks for the benefit of an individual with a disability for purposes of guiding an individual with impaired vision, alerting an individual with impaired hearing to the presence of people or sounds, assisting an individual during a seizure, pulling a wheelchair, retrieving items, providing physical support and assistance with balance and stability, and assisting with navigation.

(3) "Notice" means:

- (A) a verbal or otherwise communicated warning regarding the behavior of another person and a request that the person stop the behavior; and
- (B) a written confirmation submitted to the local law enforcement agency, either by the owner of the guide dog or another person on his or her behalf, which shall include a statement that the warning and request was given and the person's telephone number.
- (b) No person shall recklessly injure or cause the death of a guide dog, or recklessly permit a dog he or she owns or has custody of to injure or cause the death of a guide dog. A person who violates this subsection shall be imprisoned not more than two years or fined not more than \$3,000.00, or both.
- (c) No person who has received notice or has knowledge that his or her behavior, or the behavior of a dog he or she owns or has custody of, is interfering with the use of a guide dog shall recklessly continue to interfere

with the use of a guide dog, or recklessly allow the dog he or she owns or has custody of to continue to interfere with the use of a guide dog, by obstructing, intimidating, or otherwise jeopardizing the safety of the guide dog user or his or her guide dog. A person who violates this subsection shall be imprisoned not more than one year or fined not more than \$1,000.00, or both.

- (d) No person shall recklessly interfere with the use of a guide dog, or recklessly permit a dog he or she owns or has custody of to interfere with a guide dog, by obstructing, intimidating, or otherwise jeopardizing the safety of the guide dog user or his or her guide dog. A person who violates this subsection commits a civil offense and shall be:
 - (1) for a first offense, fined not more than \$100.00.
 - (2) for a second or subsequent offense, fined not more than \$250.00.
- (e) A violation of subsection (d) of this section shall constitute notice as defined in subdivision (a)(3) of this section.
- (f) As provided in section 7043 of this title, restitution shall be considered by the court in any sentencing under this section if the victim has suffered any material loss. Material loss for purposes of this section means uninsured:
 - (1) veterinary medical expenses;
- (2) costs of temporary replacement assistance services, whether provided by a person or guide dog;
- (3) replacement value of an equally trained guide dog without any differentiation for the age or experience of the dog;
 - (4) loss of wages; and
- (5) costs and expenses incurred by the person as a result of the injury to the guide dog.
- Sec. 2. 4 V.S.A. § 1102 is amended to read:
- § 1102. JUDICIAL BUREAU; JURISDICTION

* * *

(b) The judicial bureau shall have jurisdiction of the following matters:

* * *

- (12) Violations of 13 V.S.A. § 352(3), (4), and (9), relating to cruelty to animals, and 13 V.S.A. § 355(d), relating to interference with a guide dog.
- Sec. 3. 20 V.S.A. § 3621 is amended to read:
- § 3621. ISSUANCE OF WARRANT TO IMPOUND, DESTROY;

COMPLAINT

- (a) The legislative body of a municipality may at any time issue a warrant to one or more police officers or constables, or pound keepers, or elected or appointed animal control officers, directing them to proceed forthwith to destroy in a humane way or cause to be destroyed in a humane way impound all dogs or wolf-hybrids within the town or city not licensed according to the provisions of this subchapter, except as exempted by section 3587 of this title, and to enter a complaint against the owners or keepers thereof. A dog or wolfhybrid impounded by a municipality under this section may be transferred to an animal shelter or rescue organization for the purpose of finding an adoptive home for the dog or wolf-hybrid. If the dog or wolf-hybrid cannot be placed in an adoptive home or transferred to a humane society or rescue organization within ten days, or a greater number of days established by the municipality, the dog or wolf-hybrid may be destroyed in a humane way. The municipality shall not be liable for expenses associated with keeping the dog or wolf-hybrid at the animal shelter or rescue organization beyond the established number of days.
- (b) A municipality may waive the license fee for the current year upon a showing of current vaccinations and financial hardship. In the event of waiver due to financial hardship, the state shall not receive its portion of a dog license fee.

Sec. 4. 13 V.S.A. § 351(4) is amended to read:

(4) "Humane officer" or "officer" means any law enforcement officer as defined in 23 V.S.A. § 4(11), auxiliary state police officers, deputy game wardens, humane society officer, animal control officer elected or appointed by the legislative body of a municipality, employee or agent, local board of health officer or agent, or any officer authorized to serve criminal process.

Sec. 5. FINDINGS

The general assembly finds that:

- (1) Cebus appella monkeys, commonly known as capuchin monkeys, are used, when highly trained, by the group Helping Hands: Monkey Helpers for the Disabled, a national nonprofit based in Boston, to serve people who are paralyzed, suffer from multiple sclerosis, are quadriplegic, or have other severe spinal cord injuries or mobility impairments by providing assistance with daily activities.
- (2) By breeding these monkeys in captivity, raising, and specially training these monkeys to act as live-in companions over the course of 20–30 years, these groups provide independence and companionship to the people

they help.

- (3) Many states allow capuchin monkeys to be imported, by permit, for purposes of this service. States that have laws exempting the monkeys from their wild animal importation ban include Georgia and California.
- (4) According to Helping Hands: Monkey Helpers for the Disabled, their monkeys reside in a closed colony under tight security in a specialized facility in the Boston area. The monkeys do not have exposure to other non-colony primates. The monkeys receive thorough and comprehensive veterinary care while at the training center and after placement, including regular testing for tuberculosis and intestinal parasites. No recipients or care giver has been injured or contracted an infectious disease from these monkeys.
- (5) Helping Hands: Monkey Helpers for the Disabled's monkeys are New World primates which originate in South America. All monkeys are bred specifically for the program and none are taken from the wild. The monkeys are not infected with the well-known pathogens Herpes B or SIV, which are carried exclusively by Asian and African (Old World) primates. The capuchin monkeys are significantly smaller and more docile than Old World primates.

Sec. 6. PILOT PROGRAM FOR IMPORT OF ASSISTANCE ANIMALS; CAPUCHIN MONKEYS

- (a) A pilot program, for importing highly trained Cebus appella monkeys into Vermont, is established for the purpose of providing animals for assistance of persons with a permanent disability or disease.
- (b) The commissioner shall issue a permit under 10 V.S.A. § 4709 to two different Vermont residents for the import into the state of an animal in the genus Cebus appella (capuchin monkeys), provided that the applicant for the permit establishes that:
- (1) the applicant has a permanent disability or disease which interferes with the person's ability to perform one or more routine daily living activities;
- (2) the animal for which the permit is to be issued has been trained to assist the person in performing his or her daily living activities;
- (3) the animal will be humanely treated and will not present a threat to public health or safety;
- (4) the animal for which the permit is sought is the only wild animal to be possessed by that person;
- (5) the applicant does not have a history of animal cruelty under chapter 8 of Title 13;
 - (6) the animal is being provided by a nonprofit charity or organization

dedicated to providing animals for assistance of persons with permanent disability or disease; and

- (7) the applicant provides an official health certificate from a veterinarian licensed in the state of the animal's origin certifying that the animal is free of visible signs of infections or contagious or communicable disease.
 - (c) An animal imported under a permit issued under this section shall:
 - (1) be treated humanely; and
- (2) be kept only in the residence of the permittee except as necessary for veterinary services.
- (d) When transported into the state, an animal imported under a permit issued under this section shall be transported in a U.S. Department of Agriculture-approved animal carrier.
- (e) When an animal imported under a permit issued under this section is no longer in service to the applicant, the animal shall be returned within seven days of the end of service to the nonprofit charity or organization that provided the animal.
- (f) Report. On or before January 15, 2014, the commissioner shall report to the senate committee on judiciary on all aspects of the pilot program's implementation, including public health and safety concerns, and on recommendations for legislative proposals or permitting processes, if any.

Sec. 7. EFFECTIVE DATE

This act shall take effect upon passage.

and that after passage the title of the bill be amended to read: "An act relating to interference with or cruelty to a guide dog, warrants to impound a dog or wolf-hybrid, and the definition of 'humane officer'"

(For text see House Journal 2/18/2010 & 2/19/2010)

NEW BUSINESS

Called Up

S. 122

An act relating to recounts in elections for statewide offices

Pending Question: Shall the report of the Committee on Government Operations be amended as offered by Rep. Haas of Rochester?

Rep. Hubert of Milton, for the Committee on Government Operations,

recommends that the House propose to the Senate that the bill be amended by striking all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 17 V.S.A. § 2370 is amended to read:

§ 2370. WRITE-IN CANDIDATES

A write-in candidate shall not qualify as a primary winner unless he or she has filed a declaration of candidacy for that office with the office as set forth in section 2414 of this title and unless he or she receives at least one-half the number of votes required for his the office on a primary petition, except that if a write-in candidate receives more votes than a candidate whose name is printed on the ballot, he or she may qualify as a primary winner. The write-in candidate who qualifies as a primary winner under this section must still be determined a winner under section 2369 of this title before he or she becomes the party's candidate in the general election.

Sec. 2. Secs. 6, 7, and 8 of No. 73 of the Acts of 2009 Adj. Sess. (2010) are amended to read:

Sec. 6. 17 V.S.A. § 2386 is amended to read:

§ 2386. TIME FOR FILING STATEMENTS

- (a) Statements pursuant to this subchapter, except for vacancies created by the death or withdrawal of a candidate after the primary and statements for minor party candidates and independent candidates, shall be filed not earlier than the second Thursday after the first Monday in June before the day of the general election and not later than 5:00 p.m. on the Tuesday following the primary election as set forth in section 2356 of this title.
- (b) In the case of the death or withdrawal of a candidate after the primary election, the party committee shall have seven days from the date of the withdrawal to nominate a candidate. In no event, shall a statement be filed later than 60 days prior to the election.
 - Sec. 7. 17 V.S.A. § 2402(d) is amended to read:
- (d) A statement of nomination and a completed and signed consent form shall be filed not sooner than the second Thursday after the first Monday in June and not later than the third day after the primary election as set forth in section 2356 of this title. No public official receiving nominations shall accept a petition unless a completed and signed consent form is filed at the same time.
 - Sec. 8. 17 V.S.A. § 2413 is amended to read:

§ 2413. NOMINATION OF JUSTICES OF THE PEACE

(a) The party members in each town, on or before the fourth first Tuesday

of August in each even numbered year, upon the call of the town committee, may meet in caucus and nominate candidates for justice of the peace. The committee shall give notice of the caucus as provided in subsection (d) of this section and the chairman and secretary shall file the statements required in sections section 2385 through 2387 of this title not later than 5:00 p.m. on the third day following the primary election.

- (b) If it does not hold a caucus as provided in subsection (a) of this section, the town committee shall meet and nominate candidates for justices of the peace as provided in sections 2381 through 2387 2385 of this title.
- (c) In any town in which a political party has not formally organized, any three members of the party who are voters in the town may call a caucus to nominate candidates for justice of the peace by giving notice as required in subsection (d) of this section. Upon meeting, the caucus shall first elect a chairman and a secretary. Thereafter the caucus shall nominate its candidates for justice of the peace, and cause its chairman and secretary to file the statements required in sections section 2385 through 2387 of this title not later than 5:00 p.m. on the third day following the primary election.

* * *

Sec. 3. 17 V.S.A. § 2414 is added to read:

§ 2414. WRITE-IN CANDIDATES; DECLARATION OF CANDIDACY

- (a) A person who has not been nominated by any other procedure set forth in this chapter and whose name will not appear on the ballot for a particular office may be written in on a ballot for any office in a primary, general, or special election. However, a "write-in" candidate shall file a declaration of candidacy for an office with the office of the secretary of state not later than 5 p.m. on the Friday preceding the election if the candidate wishes to have the votes cast for his or her name counted by name for that office. The secretary of state shall prepare and make available a declaration of candidacy form to be completed, signed, and filed by a "write-in candidate" before the deadline.
- (b) The secretary of state shall notify all town clerks of each write-in candidate who has filed a declaration of candidacy prior to the deadline. Each candidate who has filed a declaration of candidacy shall have votes cast recorded next to his or her write-in name in the vote counting process and shall have his or her votes reported by name on the official return of votes. If a declaration of candidacy has not been filed, the name of the write-in candidate shall not be recorded, but the vote cast shall be recorded as a "scattered write-in" on all counting forms and on the official return of votes.

Sec. 4. 17 V.S.A. § 2587(e) is amended to read:

(e) In the case of "write-in" votes, the act of writing in the name of a candidate, or pasting a label containing a candidate's name upon the ballot, without other indications of the voter's intent, shall constitute a vote for that candidate, even though no cross is placed or no oval is filled in after such name. The If a declaration of candidacy was timely filed and the office of the secretary of state has notified the town, the election officials counting ballots and tallying results must shall list the name of the candidate on the tally sheet and record the number of votes received next to the candidate's name. For every other person who receives a "write-in" vote and the number of votes received, but who did not file a declaration of candidacy, the election officials shall record the vote next to "scattered write-ins". On each tally sheet, the counters shall add together the names of candidates who have filed a declaration of candidacy that are clearly the same person, even though a nickname or only a last name is used. Names of candidates who did not file a declaration of candidacy and names of fictitious persons shall not be listed individually by name, but each vote shall be recorded and counted as a scattered write-in vote on tally sheets, summary sheets, and the official return of votes.

Sec. 5. 17 V.S.A. § 2601 is amended to read:

§ 2601. RECOUNTS

If In an election for statewide office, county office, or state senator, if the difference between the number of votes cast for a winning candidate and the number of votes cast for a losing candidate is less than two percent of the total votes cast for all the candidates for an office, that losing candidate shall have the right to have the votes for that office recounted. In an election for all other offices, if the difference between the number of votes cast for a winning candidate and the number of votes cast for a losing candidate is less than five percent of the total votes cast for all the candidates for an office, divided by the number of persons to be elected, that losing candidate shall have the right to have the votes for that office recounted.

Sec. 6. 17 V.S.A. § 2681(f) and (g) are added to read:

(f) A person who has not been nominated by any other procedure described in this chapter and whose name will not appear on the ballot for a particular office may be written in on a ballot in any municipal election for any office. However, a write-in candidate shall file a declaration of candidacy with the office of the town clerk not later than 5 p.m. on the Friday preceding the election if the candidate wishes to have the votes cast for his or her name counted by name for an office. The town clerk shall make available the declaration of candidacy form prepared by the secretary of state to be completed, signed, and filed by the "write-in" candidate before the deadline.

(g) The town clerk shall prepare a list of write-in candidates for each office who have filed a declaration of candidacy prior to the deadline. Each candidate who has filed a declaration of candidacy shall have votes cast recorded by his or her write-in name in the vote-counting process and reported by name on the official return of votes. If a declaration of candidacy has not been filed, the name of the write-in candidate shall not be recorded, and the vote cast shall be recorded as a "scattered write-in" on all counting forms and on the official return of votes.

Sec. 7. 17 V.S.A. § 2682(c) is amended to read:

(c) In a municipal election controlled by this subchapter, the person receiving the greatest number of votes for an office shall be declared elected to that office; a certificate of election need not be issued. However, in order to have a write-in candidate counted by name and to be elected as a write-in candidate must, the write-in candidate shall have filed a declaration of candidacy with the town clerk as set forth in subsection 2681(f) of this title and shall receive 30 votes or the votes of one percent of the registered voters in the municipality, whichever is less.

Sec. 8. EFFECTIVE DATE

This act shall take effect upon passage.

(Committee vote: 10-0-1)

(For text see Senate Journal 4/07 - 4/10/09)

Amendment to be offered by Rep. Hubert of Milton to S. 122

By striking out all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. Secs. 6, 7, and 8 of No. 73 of the Acts of 2009 Adj. Sess. (2010) are amended to read:

Sec. 6. 17 V.S.A. § 2386 is amended to read:

§ 2386. TIME FOR FILING STATEMENTS

- (a) Statements pursuant to this subchapter, except for vacancies created by the death or withdrawal of a candidate after the primary and statements for minor party candidates and independent candidates, shall be filed not earlier than the second Thursday after the first Monday in June before the day of the general election and not later than 5:00 p.m. on the Tuesday following the primary election as set forth in section 2356 of this title.
- (b) In the case of the death or withdrawal of a candidate after the primary election, the party committee shall have seven days from the date of the

withdrawal to nominate a candidate. In no event, shall a statement be filed later than 60 days prior to the election.

Sec. 7. 17 V.S.A. § 2402(d) is amended to read:

(d) A statement of nomination and a completed and signed consent form shall be filed not sooner than the second Thursday after the first Monday in June and not later than the third day after the primary election as set forth in section 2356 of this title. No public official receiving nominations shall accept a petition unless a completed and signed consent form is filed at the same time.

Sec. 8. 17 V.S.A. § 2413 is amended to read:

§ 2413. NOMINATION OF JUSTICES OF THE PEACE

- (a) The party members in each town, on or before the <u>fourth first</u> Tuesday of August in each even numbered year, upon the call of the town committee, may meet in caucus and nominate candidates for justice of the peace. The committee shall give notice of the caucus as provided in subsection (d) of this section and the chairman and secretary shall file the statements required in <u>sections section</u> 2385 <u>through 2387</u> of this title <u>not later than 5:00 p.m. on the third day following the primary election.</u>
- (b) If it does not hold a caucus as provided in subsection (a) of this section, the town committee shall meet and nominate candidates for justices of the peace as provided in sections 2381 through 2387 2385 of this title.
- (c) In any town in which a political party has not formally organized, any three members of the party who are voters in the town may call a caucus to nominate candidates for justice of the peace by giving notice as required in subsection (d) of this section. Upon meeting, the caucus shall first elect a chairman and a secretary. Thereafter the caucus shall nominate its candidates for justice of the peace, and cause its chairman and secretary to file the statements required in sections section 2385 through 2387 of this title not later than 5:00 p.m. on the third day following the primary election.

* * *

Sec. 2. 17 V.S.A. § 2601 is amended to read:

§ 2601. RECOUNTS

If In an election for statewide office, county office, or state senator, if the difference between the number of votes cast for a winning candidate and the number of votes cast for a losing candidate is less than two percent of the total votes cast for all the candidates for an office, that losing candidate shall have the right to have the votes for that office recounted. In an election for all other offices, if the difference between the number of votes cast for a winning

candidate and the number of votes cast for a losing candidate is less than five percent of the total votes cast for all the candidates for an office, divided by the number of persons to be elected, that losing candidate shall have the right to have the votes for that office recounted.

Sec. 3. EFFECTIVE DATE

This act shall take effect upon passage.

Third Reading

S. 97

An act relating to a Vermont state employees' cost-savings incentive program

S. 295

An act relating to the creation of an agricultural development director

J.R.S. 54

Joint resolution related to the payment of dairy hauling costs

Favorable with amendment

S. 161

An act relating to National Crime Prevention and Privacy Compact

Rep. Lippert of Hinesburg, for the Committee on Judiciary, recommends that the House propose to the Senate that the bill be amended as follows:

By adding Secs. 2 - 13 to read:

* * * Providing Complete Out-of-State Conviction Records for School Employees * * *

- Sec. 2. 16 V.S.A. § 252(1) is amended to read:
 - (1) "Criminal record" means the record of:
- (A) convictions in Vermont, including whether any of the convictions is an offense listed in 13 V.S.A. § 5401(10) (sex offender definition for registration purposes); and
- (B) convictions in other jurisdictions recorded in other state repositories or by the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) for the following erimes or for crimes of an equivalent nature:
 - (i) Crimes listed in subdivision 5301(7) of Title 13.
- (ii) Contributing to juvenile delinquency under section 1301 of Title 13.

- (iii) Cruelty to children under section 1304 of Title 13.
- (iv) Cruelty by person having custody under section 1305 of Title 13.
 - (v) Prohibited acts under sections 2632 and 2635 of Title 13.
- (vi) Displaying obscene materials to minors under section 2804b of Title 13.
 - (vii) Sexual exploitation of children under chapter 64 of Title 13.
- (viii) Drug sales, including selling or dispensing under sections 4230(b), 4231(b), 4232(b), 4233(b), 4234(b), 4235(c), 4235a(b), and 4237 of Title 18.
- (ix) Sexual activity by a caregiver, under subsection 6913(d) of Title 33.
- Sec. 3. 16 V.S.A. § 255 is amended to read:
- § 255. PUBLIC AND INDEPENDENT SCHOOL EMPLOYEES; CONTRACTORS

* * *

- (d)(1) Upon completion of a criminal record check, the Vermont criminal information center shall send to the superintendent or headmaster a notice that no record exists or, if a record exists;
 - (1) a copy of any criminal record for Vermont convictions; and
- (2) if the requester is a superintendent, a notice of any criminal record which is located in either another state repository or FBI records, but not a record of the specific convictions except those relating to crimes of a sexual nature involving children.
 - (3) if the requester is a headmaster, a

<u>Upon completion of a criminal record check, the Vermont criminal information center shall send to the headmaster a notice that no record exists or, if a record exists:</u>

- (A) A copy of Vermont criminal convictions.
- (B) A notice of any criminal record which is located in either another state repository or FBI records, but not a record of the specific convictions. However, if there is a record relating to any crimes of a sexual nature involving children, the Vermont criminal information center shall send this record to the commissioner who shall notify the headmaster in writing, with a copy to the

person about whom the request-was made, that the record includes one or more convictions for a crime of a sexual nature involving children.

- (f) Information sent to a person by the commissioner, a headmaster, a superintendent or a contractor under subsections (d)(3) and subsection (e) of this section shall be accompanied by a written notice of the person's rights under subsection (g) of this section, a description of the policy regarding maintenance and destruction of records, and the person's right to request that the notice of no record or record be maintained for purposes of using it to comply with future criminal record check requests pursuant to section 256 of this title.
- (g)(1) Following notice that a <u>headmaster was notified that a criminal</u> record <u>which is located in either another state repository or FBI records</u> exists, a person may:
- (1)(A) Sign a form authorizing the Vermont criminal information center to release a detailed copy of the criminal record to a superintendent or to the person.
 - (B) Decline or resign employment.
- (2) Challenge Any person subject to a criminal record check pursuant to this section may challenge the accuracy of the record by appealing to the Vermont criminal information center pursuant to rules adopted by the commissioner of public safety.
 - (3) Decline or resign employment.
- Sec. 4. Sec. 5 of No. 1 of the Acts of 2009 is amended to read:
 - Sec. 5. 16 V.S.A. § 255 is amended to read:
- § 255. PUBLIC AND INDEPENDENT SCHOOL EMPLOYEES;

CONTRACTORS

* * *

- (d)(1) Upon completion of a criminal record check, the Vermont criminal information center shall send to the superintendent a notice that no record exists or, if a record exists, a copy of any criminal record
- (2) Upon completion of a criminal record check, the Vermont criminal information center shall send to the headmaster a notice that no record exists or, if a record exists:
 - (A) A copy of Vermont criminal convictions.
 - (B) A notice of any criminal record which is located in either another

state repository or FBI records, but not a record of the specific convictions. However, if there is a record relating to any crimes of a sexual nature involving children, the Vermont criminal information center shall send this record to the commissioner who shall notify the headmaster in writing, with a copy to the person about whom the request-was made, that the record includes one or more convictions for a crime of a sexual nature involving children.

* * *

* * * Commercial Driver License Disqualifiers * * *

Sec. 5. 23 V.S.A. § 4108 is amended to read:

§ 4108. COMMERCIAL DRIVER LICENSE QUALIFICATION STANDARDS

- (a) Before issuing a commercial driver license, the commissioner shall request the applicant's complete operating record from any state in which the applicant was previously licensed to operate any type of motor vehicle in the past 10 years and conduct a check of the applicant's operating record by querying the national driver register established under 49 U.S.C. § 30302 and the commercial driver's license information system established under 49 U.S.C. § 31309 to determine if:
 - (1) the applicant has already been issued a commercial driver license;
- (2) the applicant's commercial driver license has been suspended, revoked, or canceled; or
- (3) the applicant has been convicted of any offense listed in Section 205(a)(3) of the National Driver Register Act of 1982 (49 U.S.C. § 30304(a)(3)).
- (b) Except as otherwise provided, the <u>The</u> commissioner shall not issue a commercial driver license <u>and</u> <u>or</u> commercial driver instruction permit to any person:
 - (1) under the age of 21 years except as otherwise provided.
- (b)(2) who, within three years of the license application and for initial applicants only, has been convicted of an offense listed in subsection 4116(a) of this title (or a comparable offense in any jurisdiction), or convicted of an offense listed in 49 U.S.C. § 30304(a)(3) in any jurisdiction.
- (3) No person may be issued a commercial driver license unless that person is a resident of this state and has passed a knowledge and skills test for driving a commercial motor vehicle which complies with minimum federal standards established by federal regulation enumerated in 49 C.F.R. part 383,

subparts G and H and has satisfied all other requirements of Title XII of Public Law 99 570 the Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 1986, as amended, in addition to other requirements imposed by state law or federal regulation. The tests shall be prescribed and conducted by the commissioner.

* * *

Sec. 6. 23 V.S.A. § 4110(a) is amended to read:

(a) The application for a commercial driver license or commercial driver instruction permit shall include the following:

* * *

(6) Certifications that:

* * *

- (C) the applicant is not subject to any disqualification under 49 C.F.R. part 385.51 section 383.51, or any license suspension, revocation, or cancellation under state law the law of any jurisdiction; and
- (D) the applicant does not have a driver's license from more than one state or jurisdiction; and
- (E) for initial applicants only, the applicant has not been convicted of an offense listed in subsection 4116(a) of this title (or a comparable offense in any jurisdiction) or an offense listed in 49 U.S.C. § 30304(a)(3) in any jurisdiction within three years of the license application.

Sec. 7. 23 V.S.A. § 4111(c) is amended to read:

- (c) Before issuing a commercial driver license, the commissioner shall request the applicant's complete operating record from any state in which the applicant was previously licensed to operate any type of motor vehicle in the past 10 years, conduct a check of the applicant's operating record by querying the national driver register, established under 49 U.S.C. § 30302 and the commercial driver's license information system, established under 49 U.S.C. § 31309, to determine if:
- (1) the applicant has already been issued a commercial driver license; and the applicant's commercial driver license has been suspended, revoked, or canceled;
- (2) the applicant had been convicted of any offenses contained in Section 205(a)(3) of the National Driver Register Act of 1982 (23 U.S.C. § 401 note). [Repealed.]

* * * Conditioning Motor Vehicle Registration on Proof of

Financial Responsibility * * *

Sec.8. PROOF OF FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY AS A

CONDITION OF MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION;

IMPLEMENTATION; REPORTING

The commissioner of motor vehicles shall examine the administrative tasks that would be needed to implement legislation requiring issuance of an initial or renewal motor vehicle registration to be conditional on the commissioner's receipt of proof of liability insurance or financial responsibility required under 23 V.S.A. § 800(a). The commissioner also shall examine the costs associated with and earliest feasible time frame for implementing such legislation so that the general assembly may advance the goal of bringing more operators of motor vehicles into compliance with their legal obligation to maintain financial responsibility. The commissioner shall report his or her findings to the senate and house committees on judiciary and on transportation by January 15, 2011.

* * * Municipality Exemption to Records Law * * *

Sec. 9. 20 V.S.A. § 2056c is amended to read:

§ 2056c. DISSEMINATION OF CRIMINAL CONVICTION RECORDS TO THE PUBLIC

* * *

(c) Criminal conviction records shall be disseminated to the public by the center under the following conditions:

* * *

(10) No person entitled to receive a criminal conviction record pursuant to this section shall require an applicant to obtain, submit personally, or pay for a copy of his or her criminal conviction record, except that this subdivision shall not apply to a local governmental entity with respect to criminal conviction record checks for licenses or vendor permits required by the local governmental entity.

* * * Consider Expanding Out-of-state Criminal Record Checks * * *

Sec. 10. VERMONT CRIMINAL INFORMATION CENTER

No later than December 1, 2010, the Vermont criminal information center and the defender general shall report to the house and senate committees on judiciary on the legal, policy, and procedural issues involved with broadening access to fingerprint-supported national record checks.

* * * Constable Training * * *

Sec. 11. Sec. 13 of No. 195 of the 2007 Adj. Sess. (2008) is amended to read:

Sec. 13. EFFECTIVE DATE

Secs. 8 and 9 of this act shall take effect July 1, 2010 July 1, 2012.

* * * Interstate Compact for Juveniles * * *

Sec. 12. 33 V.S.A. chapter 57 is amended by repealing sections 5701–5715 and adding sections 5721–5733 to read:

§ 5721. PURPOSE

- (a) The compacting states to this Interstate Compact recognize that each state is responsible for the proper supervision or return of juveniles, delinquents, and status offenders who are on probation or parole and who have absconded, escaped, or run away from supervision and control and in so doing have endangered their own safety and the safety of others. The compacting states also recognize that each state is responsible for the safe return of juveniles who have run away from home and in so doing have left their state of residence. The compacting states also recognize that Congress, by enacting the Crime Control Act, 4 U.S.C. Section 112 (1965), has authorized and encouraged compacts for cooperative efforts and mutual assistance in the prevention of crime.
- (b) It is the purpose of this compact, through means of joint and cooperative action among the compacting states, to:
- (1) ensure that the adjudicated juveniles and status offenders subject to this compact are provided adequate supervision and services in the receiving state as ordered by the adjudicating judge or parole authority in the sending state;
- (2) ensure that the public safety interests of the citizens, including the victims of juvenile offenders, in both the sending and receiving states are adequately protected;
- (3) return juveniles who have run away, absconded, or escaped from supervision or control or have been accused of an offense to the state requesting their return;
- (4) make contracts for the cooperative institutionalization in public facilities in member states for delinquent youth needing special services;
 - (5) provide for the effective tracking and supervision of juveniles;
- (6) equitably allocate the costs, benefits, and obligations of the compacting states;
 - (7) establish procedures to manage the movement between states of

juvenile offenders released to the community under the jurisdiction of courts, juvenile departments, or any other criminal or juvenile justice agency which has jurisdiction over juvenile offenders;

- (8) ensure immediate notice to jurisdictions where defined offenders are authorized to travel or to relocate across state lines;
- (9) establish procedures to resolve pending charges (detainers) against juvenile offenders prior to transfer or release to the community under the terms of this compact;
- (10) establish a system of uniform data collection on information pertaining to juveniles subject to this compact that allows access by authorized juvenile justice and criminal justice officials, and regular reporting of compact activities to heads of state, executive, judicial, and legislative branches, and juvenile and criminal justice administrators;
- (11) monitor compliance with rules governing interstate movement of juveniles and initiate interventions to address and correct noncompliance;
- (12) coordinate training and education regarding the regulation of interstate movement of juveniles for officials involved in such activity; and
- (13) coordinate the implementation and operation of the compact with the Interstate Compact for the Placement of Children, the Interstate Compact for Adult Offender Supervision, and other compacts affecting juveniles, particularly in those cases where concurrent or overlapping supervision issues arise.
- (c) It is the policy of the compacting states that the activities conducted by the Interstate Commission created in this chapter are the formation of public policies and therefore are public business. Furthermore, the compacting states shall cooperate and observe their individual and collective duties and responsibilities for the prompt return and acceptance of juveniles subject to the provisions of this compact. The provisions of this compact shall be reasonably and liberally construed to accomplish the purposes and policies of the compact.

§ 5722. DEFINITIONS

As used in this chapter, unless the context clearly requires a different construction:

- (1) "Bylaws" means those bylaws established by the Interstate Commission for its governance, or for directing or controlling its actions or conduct.
- (2) "Commissioner" means the voting representative of each compacting state appointed pursuant to section 5723 of this title.

- (3) "Compact administrator" means the individual in each compacting state appointed pursuant to the terms of this compact responsible for the administration and management of the state's supervision and transfer of juveniles subject to the terms of this compact, the rules adopted by the Interstate Commission, and policies adopted by the state council under this compact.
- (4) "Compacting state" means any state which has enacted the enabling legislation for this compact.
- (5) "Court" means any court having jurisdiction over delinquent, neglected, or dependent children.
- (6) "Deputy compact administrator" means the individual, if any, in each compacting state appointed to act on behalf of a compact administrator pursuant to the terms of this compact responsible for the administration and management of the state's supervision and transfer of juveniles subject to the terms of this compact, the rules adopted by the interstate commission, and policies adopted by the state council under this compact.
- (7) "Interstate commission" means the Interstate Commission for juveniles created by section 5723 of this title.
- (8) "Juvenile" means any person defined as a juvenile in any member state or by the rules of the Interstate Commission, including:
- (A) an accused delinquent (a person charged with an offense that, if committed by an adult, would be a criminal offense);
- (B) an adjudicated delinquent (a person found to have committed an offense that, if committed by an adult, would be a criminal offense);
- (C) an accused status offender (a person charged with an offense that would not be a criminal offense if committed by an adult);
- (D) an adjudicated status offender (a person found to have committed an offense that would not be a criminal offense if committed by an adult); and
- (E) a nonoffender (a person in need of supervision who has not been accused or adjudicated a status offender or delinquent).
- (9) "Noncompacting state" means any state which has not enacted the enabling legislation for this compact.
- (10) "Probation or parole" means any kind of supervision or conditional release of juveniles authorized under the laws of the compacting states.
- (11) "Rule" means a written statement by the Interstate Commission promulgated pursuant to section 5726 of this title that is of general

applicability; implements, interprets, or prescribes a policy or provision of the compact, or an organizational, procedural, or practice requirement of the commission; and has the force and effect of statutory law in a compacting state, and includes the amendment, repeal, or suspension of an existing rule.

(12) "State" means a state of the United States, the District of Columbia (or its designee), the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, Guam, American Samoa, and the Northern Marianas Islands.

§ 5723. INTERSTATE COMMISSION FOR JUVENILES

- (a) The compacting states hereby create the Interstate Commission for Juveniles. The commission shall be a body corporate and joint agency of the compacting states. The commission shall have all the responsibilities, powers, and duties set forth in this chapter, and such additional powers as may be conferred upon it by subsequent action of the respective legislatures of the compacting states in accordance with the terms of this compact.
- (b) The Interstate Commission shall consist of commissioners appointed by the appropriate appointing authority in each state pursuant to the rules and requirements of each compacting state and in consultation with the state council for interstate juvenile supervision created in this chapter. The commissioner shall be the compact administrator, deputy compact administrator, or designee from that state who shall serve on the Interstate Commission in such capacity under or pursuant to the applicable law of the compacting state.
- (c) In addition to the commissioners who are the voting representatives of each state, the Interstate Commission shall include individuals who are not commissioners, but who are members of interested organizations. The noncommissioner members shall include a member of the National Organizations of Governors, legislators, state chief justices, attorneys general, Interstate Compact for Adult Offender Supervision, Interstate Compact for the Placement of Children, juvenile justice and juvenile corrections officials, and crime victims. All noncommissioner members of the Interstate Commission shall be ex-officio (nonvoting) members. The Interstate Commission may provide in its bylaws for such additional ex-officio members, including members of other national organizations, in such numbers as shall be determined by the commission.
- (d) Each compacting state represented at any meeting of the commission is entitled to one vote. A majority of the compacting states shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business, unless a larger quorum is required by the bylaws of the Interstate Commission.
 - (e) The commission shall meet at least once each calendar year. The

chairperson may call additional meetings and, upon the request of a simple majority of the compacting states, shall call additional meetings. Public notice shall be given of all meetings, and meetings shall be open to the public.

- (f) The Interstate Commission shall establish an executive committee, which shall include commission officers, members, and others as determined by the bylaws. The executive committee shall have the power to act on behalf of the Interstate Commission during periods when the Interstate Commission is not in session, with the exception of rulemaking or amending the compact. The executive committee shall: oversee the day-to-day activities of the administration of the compact, managed by an executive director and Interstate Commission staff; administer enforcement and compliance with the provisions of the compact, its bylaws, and rules; and perform such other duties as directed by the Interstate Commission or set forth in the bylaws.
- (g) Each member of the Interstate Commission shall have the right and power to cast a vote to which that compacting state is entitled and to participate in the business and affairs of the Interstate Commission. A member shall vote in person and shall not delegate a vote to another compacting state. However, a commissioner, in consultation with the state council, shall appoint another authorized representative, in the absence of the commissioner from that state, to cast a vote on behalf of the compacting state at a specified meeting. The bylaws may provide for members' participation in meetings by telephone or other means of telecommunication or electronic communication.
- (h) The Interstate Commission's bylaws shall establish conditions and procedures under which the Interstate Commission shall make its information and official records available to the public for inspection or copying. The Interstate Commission may exempt from disclosure any information or official records to the extent they would adversely affect personal privacy rights or proprietary interests.
- (i) Public notice shall be given of all meetings and all meetings shall be open to the public, except as set forth in the rules or as otherwise provided in the compact. The Interstate Commission and any of its committees may close a meeting to the public where it determines by two-thirds vote that an open meeting would be likely to:
- (1) relate solely to the Interstate Commission's internal personnel practices and procedures;
 - (2) disclose matters specifically exempted from disclosure by statute;
- (3) disclose trade secrets or commercial or financial information which is privileged or confidential;

- (4) involve accusing any person of a crime, or formally censuring any person;
- (5) disclose information of a personal nature where disclosure would constitute a clearly unwarranted invasion of personal privacy;
- (6) disclose investigative records compiled for law enforcement purposes;
- (7) disclose information contained in or related to examination, operating, or condition reports prepared by or on behalf of or for the use of the Interstate Commission with respect to a regulated person or entity for the purpose of regulation or supervision of such person or entity;
- (8) disclose information, the premature disclosure of which would significantly endanger the stability of a regulated person or entity; or
- (9) specifically relate to the Interstate Commission's issuance of a subpoena, or its participation in a civil action or other legal proceeding.
- (j) For every meeting closed pursuant to this provision, the Interstate Commission's legal counsel shall publicly certify that, in the legal counsel's opinion, the meeting may be closed to the public, and shall reference each relevant exemptive provision. The Interstate Commission shall keep minutes which shall fully and clearly describe all matters discussed in any meeting and shall provide a full and accurate summary of any actions taken, and the reasons therefore, including a description of each of the views expressed on any item and the record of any roll call vote (reflected in the vote of each member on the question). All documents considered in connection with any action shall be identified in such minutes.
- (k) The Interstate Commission shall collect standardized data concerning the interstate movement of juveniles as directed through its rules which shall specify the data to be collected, the means of collection, and data exchange and reporting requirements. Such methods of data collection, exchange, and reporting shall, insofar as is reasonably possible, conform to up-to-date technology and coordinate its information functions with the appropriate repository of records.

§ 5724. POWERS AND DUTIES

- (a) The commission shall have the following powers and duties:
 - (1) To provide for dispute resolution among compacting states.
- (2) To promulgate rules to effect the purposes and obligations as enumerated in this compact, which shall have the force and effect of statutory law and shall be binding in the compacting states to the extent and in the

manner provided in this compact.

- (3) To oversee, supervise, and coordinate the interstate movement of juveniles subject to the terms of this compact and any bylaws adopted and rules promulgated by the Interstate Commission.
- (4) To enforce compliance with the compact provisions, the rules promulgated by the Interstate Commission, and the bylaws, using all necessary and proper means, including the use of judicial process.
- (5) To establish and maintain offices which shall be located within one or more of the compacting states.
 - (6) To purchase and maintain insurance and bonds.
 - (7) To borrow, accept, hire, or contract for services of personnel.
- (8) To establish and appoint committees and hire staff which it deems necessary for the carrying out of its functions, including an executive committee as required by section 5723 of this title which shall have the power to act on behalf of the Interstate Commission in carrying out its powers and duties hereunder.
- (9) To elect or appoint such officers, attorneys, employees, agents, or consultants, and to fix their compensation, define their duties, and determine their qualifications; and to establish the Interstate Commission's personnel policies and programs relating to, inter alia, conflicts of interest, rates of compensation, and qualifications of personnel.
- (10) To accept any and all donations and grants of money, equipment, supplies, materials, and services, and to receive, utilize, and dispose of it.
- (11) To lease, purchase, accept contributions or donations of, or otherwise to own, hold, improve, or use any property, real, personal, or mixed.
- (12) To sell, convey, mortgage, pledge, lease, exchange, abandon, or otherwise dispose of any property, real, personal, or mixed.
- (13) To establish a budget and make expenditures and levy dues as provided in section 5728 of this title.
 - (14) To sue and be sued.
- (15) To adopt a seal and bylaws governing the management and operation of the Interstate Commission.
- (16) To perform such functions as may be necessary or appropriate to achieve the purposes of this compact.
 - (17) To report annually to the legislatures, governors, judiciary, and

state councils of the compacting states concerning the activities of the Interstate Commission during the preceding year. Such reports shall also include any recommendations that may have been adopted by the Interstate Commission.

- (18) To coordinate education, training, and public awareness regarding the interstate movement of juveniles for officials involved in such activity.
- (19) To establish uniform standards of the reporting, collecting, and exchanging of data.
- (b) The Interstate Commission shall maintain its corporate books and records in accordance with the bylaws.

§ 5725. ORGANIZATION AND OPERATION

- (a) Bylaws. The Interstate Commission shall, by a majority of the members present and voting, within 12 months after the first Interstate Commission meeting, adopt bylaws to govern its conduct as may be necessary or appropriate to carry out the purposes of the compact, including:
 - (1) establishing the fiscal year of the Interstate Commission;
- (2) establishing an executive committee and such other committees as may be necessary;
- (3) providing for the establishment of committees governing any general or specific delegation of any authority or function of the Interstate Commission;
- (4) providing reasonable procedures for calling and conducting meetings of the Interstate Commission, and ensuring reasonable notice of each such meeting;
- (5) establishing the titles and responsibilities of the officers of the Interstate Commission;
- (6) providing a mechanism for concluding the operations of the Interstate Commission and the return of any surplus funds that may exist upon the termination of the compact after the payment or reserving of all of its debts and obligations.
 - (7) providing start-up rules for initial administration of the compact; and
- (8) establishing standards and procedures for compliance and technical assistance in carrying out the compact.
 - (b) Officers and staff.
 - (1) The Interstate Commission shall, by a majority of its members, elect

annually from among its members a chairperson and a vice chairperson, each of whom shall have such authority and duties as may be specified in the bylaws. The chairperson or, in the chairperson's absence or disability, the vice chairperson, shall preside at all meetings of the Interstate Commission. The officers so elected shall serve without compensation or remuneration from the Interstate Commission, provided that, subject to the availability of budgeted funds, the officers shall be reimbursed for any ordinary and necessary costs and expenses incurred by them in the performance of their duties and responsibilities as officers of the Interstate Commission.

(2) The Interstate Commission shall, through its executive committee, appoint or retain an executive director for such period, upon such terms and conditions, and for such compensation as the Interstate Commission may deem appropriate. The executive director shall serve as secretary to the Interstate Commission, but shall not be a member and shall hire and supervise such other staff as may be authorized by the Interstate Commission.

(c) Qualified immunity, defense, and indemnification.

- (1) The commission's executive director and employees shall be immune from suit and liability, either personally or in their official capacity, for any claim for damage to or loss of property or personal injury or other civil liability caused or arising out of or relating to any actual or alleged act, error, or omission that occurred, or that such person had a reasonable basis for believing occurred within the scope of commission employment, duties, or responsibilities, provided, that any such person shall not be protected from suit or liability for any damage, loss, injury, or liability caused by the intentional or willful and wanton misconduct of any such person.
- (2) The liability of any commissioner, or the employee or agent of a commissioner, acting within the scope of such person's employment or duties for acts, errors, or omissions occurring within such person's state may not exceed the limits of liability set forth under the Constitution and laws of that state for state officials, employees, and agents. Nothing in this subsection shall be construed to protect any such person from suit or liability for any damage, loss, injury, or liability caused by the intentional or willful and wanton misconduct of any such person.
- (3) The Interstate Commission shall defend the executive director or the employees or representatives of the Interstate Commission and, subject to the approval of the attorney general of the state represented by any commissioner of a compacting state, shall defend such commissioner or the commissioner's representatives or employees in any civil action seeking to impose liability arising out of any actual or alleged act, error, or omission that occurred within the scope of Interstate Commission employment, duties, or responsibilities, or

that the defendant had a reasonable basis for believing occurred within the scope of Interstate Commission employment, duties, or responsibilities, provided that the actual or alleged act, error, or omission did not result from intentional or willful and wanton misconduct on the part of such person.

(4) The Interstate Commission shall indemnify and hold the commissioner of a compacting state, or the commissioner's representatives or employees, or the Interstate Commission's representatives or employees, harmless in the amount of any settlement or judgment obtained against such persons arising out of any actual or alleged act, error, or omission that occurred within the scope of Interstate Commission employment, duties, or responsibilities, or that such persons had a reasonable basis for believing occurred within the scope of Interstate Commission employment, duties, or responsibilities, provided that the actual or alleged act, error, or omission did not result from intentional or willful and wanton misconduct on the part of such persons.

§ 5726. RULEMAKING

- (a) The Interstate Commission shall promulgate and publish rules in order to effectively and efficiently achieve the purposes of the compact.
- (b) Rulemaking shall occur pursuant to the criteria set forth in this section and the bylaws and rules adopted under it. Such rulemaking shall substantially conform to the principles of the "Model State Administrative Procedures Act," 1981 Act, Uniform Laws Annotated, Vol. 15, p.1 (2000), or such other administrative procedures act as the Interstate Commission deems appropriate, consistent with due process requirements under the United States and Vermont Constitutions. All rules and amendments shall become binding as of the date specified, as published with the final version of the rule as approved by the Commission.
- (c) When promulgating a rule, the Interstate Commission shall, at a minimum:
- (1) publish the proposed rule's entire text, stating the reason for the proposed rule;
- (2) allow and invite any and all persons to submit written data, facts, opinions, and arguments, which information shall be added to the record and made publicly available;
- (3) provide an opportunity for an informal hearing if petitioned by 10 or more persons; and
- (4) promulgate a final rule and its effective date, if appropriate, based on input from state or local officials, or interested parties.

- (d) The Interstate Commission shall allow any interested person to file a petition for judicial review of a rule not later than 60 days after the rule is promulgated. The petition shall be filed in the United States District Court for the District of Columbia or in the Federal District Court where the Interstate Commission's principal office is located. If the court finds that the Interstate Commission's action is not supported by substantial evidence in the rulemaking record, the court shall hold the rule unlawful and set it aside. For purposes of this subsection, evidence is substantial if it would be considered substantial evidence under the Model State Administrative Procedures Act.
- (e) If a majority of the legislatures of the compacting states rejects a rule, those states may, by enactment of a statute or resolution in the same manner used to adopt the compact, cause that such rule shall have no further force and effect in any compacting state.
- (f) The existing rules governing the operation of the Interstate Compact on Juveniles superseded by this chapter shall be null and void 12 months after the second meeting of the Interstate Commission created by section 5723 of this title.
- (g) Upon determination by the Interstate Commission that a state-of-emergency exists, it may promulgate an emergency rule which shall become effective immediately upon adoption, provided that the usual rulemaking procedures of this section shall be retroactively applied to said rule as soon as reasonably possible, but no later than 90 days after the effective date of the emergency rule.

§ 5727. OVERSIGHT; ENFORCEMENT; DISPUTE RESOLUTION

(a) Oversight.

- (1) The Interstate Commission shall oversee the administration and operations of the interstate movement of juveniles subject to this compact in the compacting states and shall monitor such activities being administered in noncompacting states which may significantly affect compacting states.
- (2) The courts and executive agencies in each compacting state shall enforce this compact and shall take all actions necessary and appropriate to effectuate the compact's purposes and intent. The provisions of this compact and the rules promulgated hereunder shall be received by all the judges, public officers, commissions, and departments of the state government as evidence of the authorized statute and administrative rules. All courts shall take judicial notice of the compact and the rules. In any judicial or administrative proceeding in a compacting state pertaining to the subject matter of this compact which may affect the powers, responsibilities or actions of the Interstate Commission, it shall be entitled to receive all service of process in

any such proceeding, and shall have standing to intervene in the proceeding for all purposes.

(b) Dispute resolution.

- (1) The compacting states shall report to the Interstate Commission on all issues and activities necessary for the administration of the compact as well as issues and activities pertaining to compliance with the provisions of the compact and its bylaws and rules.
- (2) The Interstate Commission shall attempt, upon the request of a compacting state, to resolve any disputes or other issues which are subject to the compact and which may arise among compacting states and between compacting and noncompacting states. The commission shall promulgate a rule providing for both mediation and binding dispute resolution for disputes among the compacting states.
- (3) The Interstate Commission, in the reasonable exercise of its discretion, shall enforce the provisions and rules of this compact using any or all means set forth in section 5731 of this title.

§ 5728. FINANCE

- (a) The Interstate Commission shall pay or provide for the payment of the reasonable expenses of its establishment, organization, and ongoing activities.
- (b) The Interstate Commission shall levy on and collect an annual assessment from each compacting state to cover the cost of the internal operations and activities of the Interstate Commission and its staff which must be in a total amount sufficient to cover the Interstate Commission's annual budget as approved each year. The aggregate annual assessment amount shall be allocated based upon a formula to be determined by the Interstate Commission, taking into consideration the population of each compacting state and the volume of interstate movement of juveniles in each compacting state, and the Interstate Commission shall promulgate a rule binding upon all compacting states which governs said assessment.
- (c) The Interstate Commission shall not incur any obligations of any kind prior to securing the funds adequate to meet them. The Interstate Commission shall not pledge the credit of any of the compacting states, except by and with the authority of the compacting state.
- (d) The Interstate Commission shall keep accurate accounts of all receipts and disbursements. The receipts and disbursements of the Interstate Commission shall be subject to the audit and accounting procedures established under its bylaws, provided that all receipts and disbursements of funds handled by the Interstate Commission shall be audited yearly by a

certified or licensed public accountant, and the report of the audit shall be included in and become part of the annual report of the Interstate Commission.

§ 5729. STATE COUNCIL

Each member state shall create a state council for Interstate Juvenile Supervision. Each state may determine the membership of its own state council, provided that its membership must include at least one representative from the legislative, judicial, and executive branches of government, victims groups, and the compact administrator, deputy compact administrator, or designee. Each compacting state retains the right to determine the qualifications of the compact administrator or deputy compact administrator. Each state council shall advise and may exercise oversight and advocacy concerning that state's participation in Interstate Commission activities and other duties as may be determined by that state, including development of policy concerning operations and procedures of the compact within that state.

§ 5730. COMPACTING STATES; EFFECTIVE DATE; AMENDMENT

- (a) Any state as defined in subdivision 5722(12) of this title is eligible to become a compacting state.
- (b) The compact shall become effective and binding upon legislative enactment of the compact into law by no less than 35 of the states. The initial effective date shall be the later of July 1, 2004, or upon enactment into law by the 35th jurisdiction. Thereafter it shall become effective and binding as to any other compacting state upon enactment of the compact into law by that state. The governors of nonmember states or their designees shall be invited to participate in the activities of the Interstate Commission on a nonvoting basis prior to adoption of the compact by all states and territories of the United States.
- (c) The Interstate Commission may propose amendments to the compact for enactment by the compacting states. No amendment shall become effective and binding upon the Interstate Commission and the compacting states unless and until it is enacted into law by unanimous consent of the compacting states.

§ 5731. WITHDRAWAL; DEFAULT; TERMINATION; JUDICIAL

ENFORCEMENT

(a) Withdrawal.

(1) Once effective, the compact shall continue in force and remain binding upon each and every compacting state, provided that a compacting state may withdraw from the compact by specifically repealing the statute which enacted the compact into law.

- (2) The effective date of withdrawal is the effective date of the repeal.
- (3) The withdrawing state shall immediately notify the chairperson of the Interstate Commission in writing upon the introduction of legislation repealing this compact in the withdrawing state. The Interstate Commission shall notify the other compacting states of the withdrawing state's intent to withdraw within 60 days of its receipt thereof.
- (4) The withdrawing state is responsible for all assessments, obligations, and liabilities incurred through the effective date of withdrawal, including any obligations, the performance of which extend beyond the effective date of withdrawal.
- (5) Reinstatement following withdrawal of any compacting state shall occur upon the withdrawing state reenacting the compact or upon such later date as determined by the Interstate Commission
 - (b) Technical assistance, fines, suspension, termination, and default.
- (1) If the Interstate Commission determines that any compacting state has at any time defaulted in the performance of any of its obligations or responsibilities under this compact, or the bylaws or duly promulgated rules, the Interstate Commission may impose any or all of the following penalties:
- (A) remedial training and technical assistance as directed by the Interstate Commission;
 - (B) alternative dispute resolution;
- (C) fines, fees, and costs in such amounts as are deemed to be reasonable as fixed by the Interstate Commission; or
- (D) suspension or termination of membership in the compact, which shall be imposed only after all other reasonable means of securing compliance under the bylaws and rules have been exhausted and the Interstate Commission has determined that the offending state is in default. Immediate notice of suspension shall be given by the Interstate Commission to the governor, the chief justice or the chief judicial officer of the state, the majority and minority leaders of the defaulting state's legislature, and the state council. The grounds for default include failure of a compacting state to perform such obligations or responsibilities imposed upon it by this compact, the bylaws, or duly promulgated rules, and any other grounds designated in commission bylaws and rules. The Interstate Commission shall immediately notify the defaulting state in writing of the penalty imposed by the Interstate Commission and of the default pending a cure of the default. The commission shall stipulate the conditions and the time period within which the default within the time period

specified by the commission, the defaulting state shall be terminated from the compact upon an affirmative vote of a majority of the compacting states, and all rights, privileges, and benefits conferred by this compact shall be terminated from the effective date of termination.

- (2) Within 60 days of the effective date of termination of a defaulting state, the commission shall notify the governor, the chief justice or chief judicial officer, the majority and minority leaders of the defaulting state's legislature, and the state council of such termination.
- (3) The defaulting state is responsible for all assessments, obligations, and liabilities incurred through the effective date of termination, including any obligations the performance of which extends beyond the effective date of termination.
- (4) The Interstate Commission shall not bear any costs relating to the defaulting state unless otherwise mutually agreed upon in writing between the Interstate Commission and the defaulting state.
- (5) Reinstatement following termination of any compacting state requires both a reenactment of the compact by the defaulting state and the approval of the Interstate Commission pursuant to the rules.
- (c) Judicial enforcement. The Interstate Commission may, by majority vote of the members, initiate legal action in the United States District Court for the District of Columbia or, at the discretion of the Interstate Commission, in the federal district where the Interstate Commission has its offices, to enforce compliance with the provisions of the compact its duly promulgated rules and bylaws against any compacting state in default. In the event judicial enforcement is necessary, the prevailing party shall be awarded all costs of such litigation, including reasonable attorney's fees.

(d) Dissolution of compact.

- (1) The compact dissolves effective upon the date of the withdrawal or default of the compacting state which reduces membership in the compact to one compacting state.
- (2) Upon the dissolution of this compact, the compact becomes null and void and shall be of no further force or effect, and the business and affairs of the Interstate Commission shall be concluded and any surplus funds shall be distributed in accordance with the bylaws.

§ 5732. SEVERABILITY; CONSTRUCTION

(a) The provisions of this compact shall be severable, and if any phrase, clause, sentence, or provision is deemed unenforceable, the remaining provisions of the compact shall be enforceable.

(b) The provisions of this compact shall be liberally construed to effectuate its purposes.

§ 5733. BINDING EFFECT; OTHER LAWS

- (a) Other laws.
- (1) Nothing in this chapter prevents the enforcement of any other law of a compacting state that is not inconsistent with this compact.
- (2) All compacting states' laws other than state Constitutions and other interstate compacts conflicting with this compact are superseded to the extent of the conflict.
 - (b) Binding effect of compact.
- (1) All lawful actions of the Interstate Commission, including all rules and bylaws promulgated by the Interstate Commission, are binding upon the compacting states.
- (2) All agreements between the Interstate Commission and the compacting states are binding in accordance with their terms.
- (3) Upon the request of a party to a conflict over meaning or interpretation of Interstate Commission actions, and upon a majority vote of the compacting states, the Interstate Commission may issue advisory opinions regarding such meaning or interpretation.
- (4) In the event any provision of this compact exceeds the constitutional limits imposed on the legislature of any compacting state, the obligations, duties, powers, or jurisdiction sought to be conferred by such provision upon the Interstate Commission shall be ineffective, and such obligations, duties, powers, or jurisdiction shall remain in the compacting state and shall be exercised by the agency thereof to which such obligations, duties, powers, or jurisdiction are delegated by law in effect at the time this compact becomes effective.

Sec. 13. EFFECTIVE DATE

Secs. 5-7 shall take effect July 1, 2011, and the remainder of the act shall take effect July 1, 2010.

(Committee vote: 9-0-2)

(No Senate Amendments)

Action Postponed Until May 28, 2010 Governors Veto H. 436

An act relating to decommissioning funds of nuclear energy generation plants.

Pending Question: Shall the House sustain the Governor's veto?

NOTICE CALENDAR

Favorable with Amendment

S. 103

An act relating to the study and recommendation of ignition interlock device legislation

Rep. French of Shrewsbury, for the Committee on Judiciary, recommends that the House propose to the Senate that the bill be amended by striking all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 23 V.S.A. § 674 is amended to read:

§ 674. OPERATING AFTER SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION OF LICENSE;

PENALTY; REMOVAL OF REGISTRATION PLATES; TOWING

* * *

(b) A Except as authorized in section 1213 of this title, a person whose license or privilege to operate a motor vehicle has been suspended or revoked for a violation of section 1201 of this title or has been suspended under section 1205 of this title and who operates or attempts to operate a motor vehicle upon a public highway before reinstatement of the license shall be imprisoned not more than two years or fined not more than \$5,000.00, or both. The sentence shall be subject to the following mandatory minimum terms:

* * *

Sec. 2. 23 V.S.A. § 1130 is amended to read:

§ 1130. PERMITTING EMPLOYING AN UNLICENSED PERSON TO OPERATE:

PERMITTING UNAUTHORIZED OPERATION

No person shall knowingly employ, as operator of a motor vehicle, a person not licensed as provided in this title. No person shall knowingly permit a motor vehicle owned by him or her or under his or her control to be operated by a person who has no legal right to do so, or in violation of a provision of this title.

Sec. 3. 23 V.S.A. § 1200 is amended to read:

§ 1200. DEFINITIONS

As used in this subchapter:

* * *

- (8) "Ignition interlock device" means a device that is capable of measuring a person's alcohol concentration and that prevents a motor vehicle from being started by a person whose alcohol concentration is 0.02 or greater.
- (9) "Ignition interlock restricted driver's license" or "ignition interlock RDL" or "RDL" means a restricted license or privilege to operate a motor vehicle issued by the commissioner allowing a person whose license or privilege to operate has been suspended or revoked for operating under the influence of intoxicating liquor or in excess of legal limits of alcohol concentration to operate a motor vehicle, other than a commercial motor vehicle as defined in section 4103 of this title, installed with an approved ignition interlock device.
- Sec. 4. 23 V.S.A. § 1205 is amended to read:

§ 1205. CIVIL SUSPENSION; SUMMARY PROCEDURE

(a) Refusal; alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more; suspension periods.

For a first suspension under this subchapter:

- (1) Upon affidavit of a law enforcement officer that the officer had reasonable grounds to believe that the person was operating, attempting to operate, or in actual physical control of a vehicle in violation of section 1201 of this title and that the person refused to submit to a test, the commissioner shall suspend the person's operating license, or nonresident operating privilege, or the privilege of an unlicensed operator to operate a vehicle for a period of six months and until the person complies with section 1209a of this title.
- (2) Upon affidavit of a law enforcement officer that the officer had reasonable grounds to believe that the person was operating, attempting to operate, or in actual physical control of a vehicle in violation of section 1201 of this title and that the person submitted to a test and the test results indicated that the person's alcohol concentration was 0.08 or more at the time of operating, attempting to operate or being in actual physical control, the commissioner shall suspend the person's operating license, or nonresident operating privilege, or the privilege of an unlicensed operator to operate a vehicle for a period of 90 days and until the person complies with section 1209a of this title. However, a person may operate under the terms of an

ignition interlock RDL issued pursuant to section 1213 of this title, notwithstanding the 90-day suspension unless the alleged offense involved a collision resulting in serious bodily injury or death to another.

* * *

- (d) Form of notice. The notice of intention to suspend and of suspension shall be in a form prescribed by the supreme court. The notice shall include an explanation of rights, a form to be used to request a hearing, and, if a hearing is requested, the date, time and location of the district court where the person must appear for a preliminary hearing. The notice shall also contain, in boldface print, the following:
- (1) You have the right to ask for a hearing to contest the suspension of your operator's license.
- (2) This notice shall serve as a temporary operator's license and is valid until 12:01 a.m. of the date of suspension. If this is your first violation of section 1201 of this title and if you do not request a hearing, your license will be suspended as provided in this notice. If this is your second or subsequent violation of section 1201 of this title, your license will be suspended on the 11th day after you receive this notice. It is a crime to drive while your license is suspended unless you have been issued an ignition interlock restricted driver's license.

* * *

(m) Second and subsequent suspensions. For a second suspension under this section-subchapter, the period of suspension shall be 18 months and until the person complies with section 1209a of this title. However, a person may operate under the terms of an ignition interlock RDL issued pursuant to section 1213 of this title after 90 days of this 18-month period unless the alleged offense involved a refusal to consent to a law enforcement officer's reasonable request for an evidentiary test or a collision resulting in serious bodily injury or death to another. For a third or subsequent suspension under this section subchapter, the period of suspension shall be life. However, a person may operate under the terms of an ignition interlock RDL issued pursuant to section 1213 of this title after one year of this lifetime suspension unless the alleged offense involved a refusal to consent to a law enforcement officer's reasonable request for an evidentiary test or a collision resulting in serious bodily injury or death to another.

* * *

Sec. 5. 23 V.S.A. § 1206 is amended to read:

§ 1206. SUSPENSION OF LICENSE FOR DRIVING WHILE UNDER

INFLUENCE, REINSTATEMENT; FIRST CONVICTIONS

- (a) First conviction First conviction—generally. Except as otherwise provided, upon conviction of a person for violating a provision of section 1201 of this title, or upon final determination of an appeal, the court shall forward the conviction report forthwith to the commissioner of motor vehicles. The commissioner shall immediately suspend the person's operating license, or nonresident operating privilege, or the privilege of an unlicensed operator to operate a vehicle for a period of 90 days and until the defendant complies with section 1209a of this title. However, a person may operate under the terms of an ignition interlock RDL issued pursuant to section 1213 of this title, notwithstanding the 90-day suspension unless the offense involved a refusal to consent to a law enforcement officer's reasonable request for an evidentiary test or a collision resulting in serious bodily injury or death to another.
- (b) Extended suspension <u>Extended suspension—fatality</u>. In cases resulting in a fatality, the period of suspension shall be one year and until the defendant complies with section 1209a of this title.
- (c) Extended suspension—refusal; serious bodily injury. Upon conviction of a person for violating a provision of subsection 1201(b) or (c) of this title involving a collision in which serious bodily injury resulted, or upon final determination of an appeal, the court shall forward the conviction report forthwith to the commissioner of motor vehicles. The commissioner shall immediately suspend the person's operating license or nonresident operating privilege or the privilege of an unlicensed operator to operate a vehicle for a period of six months, and until the defendant complies with section 1209a of this title.

Sec. 6. 23 V.S.A. § 1208 is amended to read:

§ 1208. SUSPENSIONS FOR SUBSEQUENT CONVICTIONS

(a) Second conviction. Upon a second conviction of a person violating a provision of section 1201 of this title and upon final determination of an appeal, the court shall forward the conviction report forthwith to the commissioner of motor vehicles. The commissioner shall immediately suspend the person's operating license, or nonresident operating privilege or the privilege of an unlicensed operator to operate a vehicle for 18 months and until the defendant complies with section 1209a of this title. However, a person may operate under the terms of an ignition interlock RDL issued pursuant to section 1213 of this title after 90 days of this 18-month period unless the offense involved a refusal to consent to a law enforcement officer's reasonable request for an evidentiary test or a collision resulting in serious bodily injury or death to another.

- (b) Third conviction. Upon a third or subsequent conviction of a person violating a provision of section 1201 of this title and upon final determination of any appeal, the court shall forward the conviction report forthwith to the commissioner of motor vehicles. The commissioner shall immediately revoke the person's operating license, or nonresident operating privilege or the privilege of an unlicensed operator to operate a motor vehicle for life. However, a person may operate under the terms of an ignition interlock RDL issued pursuant to section 1213 of this title after one year of this lifetime suspension unless the offense involved a refusal to consent to a law enforcement officer's reasonable request for an evidentiary test or a collision resulting in serious bodily injury or death to another.
 - Sec. 7. 23 V.S.A. § 1209a is amended to read:
- § 1209a. CONDITIONS OF REINSTATEMENT; ALCOHOL AND DRIVING

EDUCATION: SCREENING: THERAPY PROGRAMS

- (a) Conditions of reinstatement. No license suspended or revoked under this subchapter, except a license suspended under section 1216 of this title, shall be reinstated except as follows:
- (1) In the case of a first suspension, a license shall not be reinstated until the person has <u>only</u>:
- (A) <u>after the person has</u> successfully completed an alcohol and driving education program, at the person's own expense, followed by an assessment of the need for further treatment by a state designated counselor, at the person's own expense, to determine whether reinstatement should be further conditioned on satisfactory completion of a therapy program agreed to by the person and the drinking driver rehabilitation program director; and
- (B) if the screening indicates that therapy is needed, <u>after the person</u> <u>has</u> satisfactorily completed or shown substantial progress in completing a therapy program at the person's own expense agreed to by the person and the driver rehabilitation program director;
- (C) if electing to operate under an ignition interlock RDL, after the person has operated under a valid RDL for a period of six months, or if the RDL is permanently revoked, after one year from the date of suspension; and
- (D) if the person has no pending criminal charges, civil citations, or unpaid civil penalties for a violation under this chapter.
- (2) In the case of a second suspension, a license shall not be reinstated until the person has successfully completed an alcohol and driving rehabilitation program and; has completed or shown substantial progress in

completing a therapy program at the person's own expense agreed to by the person and the driver rehabilitation program director; if electing to operate under an ignition interlock RDL, has operated under the terms of a valid ignition interlock RDL for 18 months; and has no pending criminal charges, civil citations, or unpaid civil penalties for a violation under this chapter. However, if the RDL is permanently revoked, the person shall not be eligible for license reinstatement until two years from the date of suspension.

(3) In the case of a third or subsequent suspension <u>or a revocation</u>, a license shall not be reinstated until the person has <u>successfully completed an alcohol and driving rehabilitation program; has</u> completed or shown substantial progress in completing a therapy program at the person's own expense agreed to by the person and the driver rehabilitation program director; has satisfied the requirements of subsection (b) of this section; if electing to operate under an <u>ignition interlock RDL</u>, has operated under the terms of a valid <u>ignition interlock RDL</u> for a period of three years; and has no pending criminal <u>charges</u>, civil citations, or unpaid civil penalties for a violation under this chapter. However, if the RDL is permanently revoked, the person shall not be eligible for license reinstatement until four years from the date of suspension.

* * *

Sec. 8. 23 V.S.A. § 1212 is amended to read:

§ 1212. CONDITIONS OF RELEASE; ARREST UPON VIOLATION

(a) At the first appearance before a judicial officer of a person charged with violation of section 1201 of this title, the court, upon a plea of not guilty, shall consider whether to establish conditions of release. Those conditions may include a requirement that the defendant not operate a motor vehicle if there is a likelihood that the defendant will operate a motor vehicle in violation of section 1201 or section 1213 of this title. The court may consider all relevant evidence, including whether the defendant has a motor vehicle or criminal record indicating prior convictions for one or more alcohol-related offenses. Prior convictions may be established for this purpose by a noncertified photocopy of a motor vehicle record, a computer printout or an affidavit. Nothing in this section limits the authority of a judicial officer to impose other conditions of release, nor does it limit or modify other statutory provisions concerning license suspension or revocation or the right of a person to operate a motor vehicle.

* * *

Sec. 9. 23 V.S.A. § 1213 is amended to read:

§ 1213. [RESERVED FOR FUTURE USE.] IGNITION INTERLOCK

RESTRICTED

DRIVER'S LICENSE; PENALTIES

- (a) First offense. A person whose license or privilege to operate is suspended for a first offense under this subchapter shall be permitted to operate a motor vehicle, other than a commercial motor vehicle as defined in section 4103 of this title, if issued a valid ignition interlock RDL. The commissioner shall issue an ignition interlock RDL to a person eligible under sections 1205(a)(2), 1206(a), or 1216(a)(1) of this title and upon receipt of satisfactory proof of installation of an approved ignition interlock device in any motor vehicle to be operated, financial responsibility as provided in section 801 of this title, and enrollment in an alcohol and driving education program. An ignition interlock RDL shall expire upon reinstatement of a person's regular license or privilege to operate or shall expire unless renewed yearly. The commissioner shall send by first class mail an application for renewal of the RDL at least 30 days prior to the day renewal is required and shall impose the same conditions for renewal as are required for initial issuance of an ignition interlock RDL.
- (b) Second offense. A person whose license or privilege to operate is suspended for a second offense under this subchapter shall be permitted to operate a motor vehicle, other than a commercial motor vehicle as defined in section 4103 of this title, if issued a valid ignition interlock RDL. The commissioner shall issue an ignition interlock RDL to a person eligible under subsections 1205(m), 1208(a), or 1216(a)(2) of this title and upon receipt of satisfactory proof of installation of an approved ignition interlock device in any motor vehicle to be operated, financial responsibility as provided in section 801 of this title, and enrollment in an alcohol and driving rehabilitation program. The RDL shall be valid after expiration of the applicable shortened period specified in subsections 1205(m), 1208(a), or 1216(a)(2) of this title. An ignition interlock RDL shall expire upon reinstatement of a person's regular license or privilege to operate or shall expire unless renewed yearly. The commissioner shall send by first class mail an application for renewal of the RDL at least 30 days prior to the day renewal is required and shall impose the same conditions for renewal as are required for initial issuance of an ignition interlock RDL.
- (c) Third or subsequent offense. A person whose license or privilege to operate is suspended or revoked for a third or subsequent offense under this subchapter shall be permitted to operate a motor vehicle, other than a commercial motor vehicle as defined in section 4103 of this title, if issued a valid ignition interlock RDL. The commissioner shall issue an ignition interlock RDL to a person eligible under subsections 1205(m), 1208(b), or

- 1216(a)(2) of this title and upon receipt of satisfactory proof of installation of an approved ignition interlock device in any motor vehicle to be operated, financial responsibility as provided in section 801 of this title, and enrollment in an alcohol and driving rehabilitation program. The RDL shall be valid after expiration of the applicable shortened period specified in subsections 1205(m), 1208(b), or 1216(a)(2) of this title. An ignition interlock RDL shall expire upon reinstatement of a person's regular license or privilege to operate or shall expire unless renewed yearly. The commissioner shall send by first class mail an application for renewal of the RDL at least 30 days prior to the day renewal is required and shall impose the same conditions for renewal as are required for initial issuance of an ignition interlock RDL.
- (d) If a fine is to be imposed for a conviction of a violation of section 1201 of this title, upon receipt of proof of installation of an approved ignition interlock device the court shall order that the fine conditionally be reduced by one-half to defray the costs of the ignition interlock device, subject to the person's ongoing operation under, and compliance with the terms of, a valid ignition interlock RDL as set forth in this section.
- (e) The holder of an ignition interlock RDL shall pay the costs of installing, purchasing or leasing, and removing the ignition interlock device as well as calibrating the device and retrieving data from it periodically as may be specified by the commissioner. The holder of an ignition interlock RDL shall notify the commissioner and the department of corrections in writing if the device is removed or if the vehicle in which the device is installed is sold, repossessed, or otherwise conveyed. Notice shall be provided within 10 days of such removal or conveyance, and the commissioner shall cancel the person's ignition interlock RDL upon receipt of notice under this subsection.
- (f) The holder of an ignition interlock RDL shall operate only motor vehicles equipped with an ignition interlock device until his or her license or privilege to operate is reinstated, shall not attempt or take any action to tamper with or otherwise circumvent the holder's ignition interlock device, and shall not continue to drive after failing a retest.
- (g) A person who violates any provision of subsection (f) of this section before reinstatement of a license or privilege to operate suspended under this subchapter commits a criminal offense, shall be subject to the sanctions and procedures provided for in subsections 674(b)–(i) of this title, and upon conviction shall have his or her ignition interlock RDL permanently revoked. A person convicted of a separate criminal offense under this title also shall have his or her ignition interlock RDL permanently revoked.
- (h) A person who violates a rule adopted by the commissioner pursuant to subsection (l) of this section commits a civil traffic violation subject to the

jurisdiction of the judicial bureau and shall be subject to a civil penalty of up to \$500.00 and up to a one-year recall of the person's ignition interlock RDL.

- (i) Upon receipt of notice that the holder of an ignition interlock RDL has been adjudicated of a separate civil offense under this title that would result in suspension, revocation, or recall of a license or privilege to operate, the commissioner shall recall the person's ignition interlock RDL for the same period that the license or privilege to operate would have been suspended, revoked, or recalled.
- (j) Upon expiration of a recall imposed under subsection (h) or (i) of this section and receipt of satisfactory proof of installation of an approved ignition interlock device, financial responsibility as provided in section 801 of this title, and enrollment in or completion of an alcohol and driving education or rehabilitation program, the commissioner shall reinstate the ignition interlock RDL. The commissioner may charge a fee for reinstatement in the amount specified in section 675 of this title.
- (k) A person shall not knowingly and voluntarily tamper with an ignition interlock device on behalf of another person or otherwise assist another person to circumvent an ignition interlock device. A person adjudicated of a violation of this subsection shall be subject to a civil penalty of \$500.00.
- (l)(1) The commissioner, in consultation with the commissioner of corrections and any individuals or entities the commissioner deems appropriate, shall adopt rules and may enter into agreements to implement the provisions of this section.
- (2) The commissioner shall establish uniform performance standards for ignition interlock devices including required levels of accuracy in measuring blood alcohol concentration, efficacy in distinguishing valid breath samples, the occurrence of random retests while the vehicle is running, and automatic signaling by the vehicle if the operator fails such a retest. The commissioner shall certify devices that meet these standards, specify any periodic calibration that may be required to ensure accuracy of the devices, and specify the means and frequency of the retrieval and sharing of data collected by ignition interlock devices.
- Sec. 10. 23 V.S.A. § 1216 is amended to read:
- § 1216. PERSONS UNDER 21; ALCOHOL CONCENTRATION OF 0.02 OR MORE
- (a) A person under the age of 21 who operates, attempts to operate or is in actual physical control of a vehicle on a highway when the person's alcohol concentration is 0.02 or more, commits a civil traffic violation subject to the

jurisdiction of the judicial bureau and subject to the following sanctions:

- (1) For a first violation, the person's license or privilege to operate shall be suspended for six months and until the person complies with <u>subdivision</u> 1209a(a)(1) of this title. <u>However, a person may operate under the terms of an ignition interlock RDL issued pursuant to section 1213 of this title, notwithstanding the six-month suspension unless the offense involved a refusal to consent to a law enforcement officer's reasonable request for an evidentiary test or a collision resulting in serious bodily injury or death to another.</u>
- (2) For a second or subsequent violation, the person's license or privilege to operate shall be suspended until the person reaches the age of 21 or for one year, whichever is longer, and complies with section subdivision 1209a(a)(2) of this title. However, a person may operate under the terms of an ignition interlock RDL issued pursuant to section 1213 of this title after 90 days of the applicable suspension period unless the offense involved a refusal to consent to a law enforcement officer's reasonable request for an evidentiary test or a collision resulting in serious bodily injury or death to another.
- (b) Notwithstanding the provisions in subsection (a) of this section to the contrary, a A person's license or privilege to operate that has been suspended under this section shall not be reinstated until:
- (1) the commissioner has received satisfactory evidence that the <u>person</u> has complied with section 1209a of this title and the provider of the therapy program has been paid in full;
- (2) the person has no pending criminal charges, civil citations, or unpaid civil penalties for a violation under this chapter; and
- (3)(A) a person operating under an ignition interlock RDL for a first offense has operated under a valid RDL for a period of nine months or, if the RDL is permanently revoked, after one year from the date of suspension; or
- (B) a person operating under an ignition interlock RDL for a second or subsequent offense has operated under a valid RDL for a period of 18 months or until the person is 21, whichever is longer, or if the RDL is permanently revoked, after two years from the date of suspension or until the person is 21, whichever is longer.

* * *

Sec. 11. TRANSITION RULE

On July 1, 2011, ignition interlock restricted driver's licenses shall be available to persons suspended for a violation of 23 V.S.A. §§ 1201 or 1216 or pursuant to 23 V.S.A. § 1205 prior to July 1, 2011, if such persons otherwise would be eligible for an ignition interlock RDL under this act. Persons who

elect to obtain an ignition interlock RDL pursuant to this section shall be subject to all of the provisions of this act but shall not be eligible for the reduced fine specified in subsection (d) of Sec. 9, and shall be so notified by the commissioner in advance of obtaining an ignition interlock RDL.

Sec. 12. INDIGENT FUND AND DMV FEE STUDY

- (a) The commissioner of motor vehicles, in consultation with any individuals or entities the commissioner deems appropriate, shall study whether creation of a fund to assist indigent persons in defraying the costs associated with ignition interlock devices is likely to promote the use of ignition interlock devices, as well as potential funding sources and mechanisms. In conducting this study, the commissioner shall review ignition interlock laws and practices and usage of ignition interlock devices in other states.
- (b) The commissioner also shall study the costs associated with issuing and renewing ignition interlock RDLs and the minimum fees that will be required to defray the costs of issuing and renewing ignition interlock RDLs.
- (c) The commissioner shall report the findings of these studies and any recommendations concerning creation of an ignition interlock indigent fund or minimum fees to the senate and house committees on judiciary and transportation by January 15, 2011.

Sec. 13. EFFECTIVENESS STUDY

The commissioner of motor vehicles shall monitor and calculate the rate of use of ignition interlock devices in Vermont by those suspended for a violation of 23 V.S.A. §§ 1201 or 1216 or pursuant to 23 V.S.A. § 1205 on or after July 1, 2011. The commissioner, in consultation with any individuals or entities the commissioner deems appropriate, shall study whether changes to this act, including mandating installation of ignition interlock devices, are likely to promote usage. The commissioner shall report the findings of this study and any recommendations to the senate and house committees on judiciary and transportation by January 15, 2013.

Sec. 14. EFFECTIVE DATES

- (a) This section, Sec. 12, and subsection 1213(1) of Sec. 9 (ignition interlock rulemaking) shall take effect on passage.
 - (b) All other sections of this act shall take effect on July 1, 2011.

and that after passage, the title of the bill be amended to read: "An act relating to ignition interlock restricted drivers' licenses"

(Committee vote: 10-0-1)

(For text see Senate Journal 3/18 - 3/19/10)

An act relating to unfair business practices of credit card companies and fraudulent use of scanning devices and re-encoders

Rep. Marcotte of Coventry, for the Committee on Commerce and Economic Development, recommends that the House propose to the Senate that the bill be amended by striking all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. FINDINGS

- (a) While credit card use offers benefits to consumers and merchants, including safety of financial information, convenience, and guaranteed payment to merchants, courts have found that Visa and MasterCard and their member banks have major market power.
- (b) Electronic payment system networks, such as those incorporated by Visa and MasterCard, set the level of credit and debit card interchange fees charged by their member banks, even though those banks are supposed to be competitors.
- (c) Credit and debit card interchange fees inflate the prices consumers pay for goods and services. Competitors should set their own prices and compete on that basis.
- (d) Consumers are increasingly using credit and debit card electronic payment systems to purchase goods and services.
- (e) In order to provide the desired convenience to consumers, most merchants agree to accept credit and debit cards.
- (f) Some electronic payment system networks market themselves as currency and promote use of their products as though they were a complete substitution for legal tender.
- (g) Due to the market power of the two largest electronic payment system networks, merchants do not have negotiating power with regard to the contract for acceptance of credit and debit cards and the cost of the interchange fees for such acceptance.
- (h) Merchants are subject to contracts that allow the electronic payment system networks to change the terms without notice, subject merchants to substantial fines, or reinterpret the rules and hold the merchant responsible.
- (i) Merchants have expressed interest in working with customers to give customers the types of pricing options they would like but that are currently blocked by the terms or interpretations of contracts necessary to accept credit and debit cards.

- (j) Businesses in Vermont are also consumers. The protections of this bill are intended to apply to all consumers, including businesses, in Vermont.
- Sec. 2. 9 V.S.A. chapter 63, subchapter 4 is added to read:

Subchapter 4. Prevention of Credit Card Company Unfair

Business Practices

§ 2480o. DEFINITIONS

For purposes of this subchapter:

- (1) "Electronic payment system" means an entity that directly or through licensed members, processors, or agents provides the proprietary services, infrastructure, and software that route information and data to facilitate transaction authorization, clearance, and settlement, and that merchants are required to access in order to accept a specific brand of general-purpose credit cards, charge cards, debit cards, or stored-value cards as payment for goods and services.
 - (2) "Merchant" means a person or entity that, in Vermont:
 - (A)(i) does business; or
 - (ii) offers goods or services for sale; and
 - (B) has a physical presence.

§ 2480p. ELECTRONIC PAYMENT SYSTEMS

With respect to transactions involving Vermont merchants, no electronic payment system may directly or through any agent, processor, or member of the system:

- (1) Impose any requirement, condition, penalty, or fine in a contract with a merchant to inhibit the ability of any merchant to provide a discount or other benefit for payment through the use of a card of another electronic payment system, cash, check, debit card, stored-value card, charge card, or credit card rather than another form of payment.
- (2) Impose any requirement, condition, penalty, or fine in a contract with a merchant to prevent the ability of any merchant to set a minimum dollar value of no more than \$10.00 for its acceptance of a form of payment, provided that if a minimum dollar value is set by a merchant, it shall be prominently displayed and printed in not less than 16-point boldface type at the point of sale.
- (3) Impose any requirement, condition, penalty, or fine in a contract with a merchant to inhibit the ability of any merchant to decide to accept an

electronic payment system at one or more of its locations but not at others.

§ 2480q. PENALTIES

- (a) The following penalties shall apply to violations of this subchapter:
- (1) Any electronic payment system found to have violated section 2480p of this subchapter shall reimburse all affected merchants for all fines related to the prohibitions described in section 2480p which were collected from affected merchants directly or through any agent, processor, or member of the system during the period of time in which the electronic payment system was in violation and shall be liable for a civil penalty of \$10,000.00 per fine levied in violation of section 2480p of this subchapter.
- (2) Any merchant whose rights under this subchapter have been violated may maintain a civil action for damages or equitable relief as provided for in this section, including attorney's fees, if any.
- (3) A violation of section 2480p of this subchapter shall be deemed a violation of chapter 63 of this title, the Consumer Fraud Act. The attorney general has the same authority to conduct civil investigations, enter into assurances of discontinuance, and bring civil actions as provided under subchapter 1 of chapter 63 of this title.
- (b) These penalties shall not apply to entities acting exclusively as agents, processors, or members that are not electronic payment systems.

§ 2480r. SEVERABILITY

If any provision of this subchapter or its application to any person or circumstance is held invalid, the invalidity does not affect other provisions or applications of this subchapter which can be given effect without the invalid provision or application, and, to this end, the provisions of this subchapter are severable.

Sec. 3. 13 V.S.A. § 1816 is added to read:

§ 1816. POSSESSION OR USE OF CREDIT CARD SKIMMING DEVICES AND REENCODERS

- (a) A person who knowingly, wittingly, and with the intent to defraud possesses a scanning device, or who knowingly, wittingly, and with intent to defraud uses a scanning device to access, read, obtain, memorize, or store, temporarily or permanently, information encoded on the computer chip or magnetic strip of a payment card without the permission of the authorized user of the payment card shall be imprisoned not more than 10 years and fined not more than \$10,000.00, or both.
 - (b) A person who knowingly, wittingly, and with the intent to defraud

possesses a reencoder, or who knowingly, wittingly, and with the intent to defraud uses a reencoder to place encoded information on the computer chip or magnetic strip or stripe of a payment card or any electronic medium that allows an authorized transaction to occur without the permission of the authorized user of the payment card from which the information is being reencoded shall be imprisoned not more than 10 years or fined not more than \$10,000.00, or both.

- (c) Any scanning device or reencoder described in subsection (e) of this section allegedly possessed or used in violation of subsection (a) or (b) of this section shall be seized and upon conviction shall be forfeited. Upon forfeiture, any information on the scanning device or reencoder shall be removed permanently.
- (d) Any computer, computer system, computer network, or any software or data owned by the defendant which are used during the commission of any public offense described in this section or any computer owned by the defendant which is used as a repository for the storage of software or data illegally obtained in violation of this section shall be subject to forfeiture.

(e) For purposes of this section:

- (1) "Payment card" means a credit card, debit card, or any other card that is issued to an authorized user and that allows the user to obtain, purchase, or receive goods, services, money, or anything else of value.
- (2) "Reencoder" means an electronic device that places encoded information from the computer chip or magnetic strip or stripe of a payment card onto the computer chip or magnetic strip or stripe of a different payment card or any electronic medium that allows an authorized transaction to occur.
- (3) "Scanning device" means a scanner, reader, or any other electronic device that is used to access, read, scan, obtain, memorize, or store, temporarily or permanently, information encoded on the computer chip or magnetic strip or stripe of a payment card.
- (f) Nothing in this section shall preclude prosecution under any other provision of law.

Sec. 4. STUDY; REPORT

On or before December 15, 2011, the department of banking, insurance, securities, and health care administration shall:

(1) collect, examine, organize, and categorize by author entity, such as government or private, the available studies that have been performed on credit card interchange fees; and

(2) report to the senate committees on judiciary and finance and the house committees on commerce and economic development and judiciary its findings, recommendations, and legislative proposals, if any, relating to its findings.

Sec. 5. EFFECTIVE DATES

- (a) Secs. 1, 2, and 4 of this act shall take effect January 1, 2011.
- (b) This section and Sec. 3 of this act shall take effect upon passage.

(Committee vote: 10-1-0)

(For text see Senate Journal 3/30 - 3/31/10)

S. 222

An act relating to recognition of Abenaki tribes

Rep. Ram of Burlington, for the Committee on General, Housing and Military Affairs, recommends that the House propose to the Senate that the bill be amended by striking all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 1 V.S.A. § 851 is amended to read:

§ 851. FINDINGS

The general assembly finds that:

- (1) At least 1,700 Vermonters claim to be direct descendants of the several indigenous Native American peoples, now known as Western Abenaki tribes, who originally inhabited all of Vermont and New Hampshire, parts of western Maine, parts of southern Quebec, and parts of upstate New York for hundreds of years, beginning long before the arrival of Europeans.
- (2) There is ample archaeological evidence that demonstrates that the Missisquoi Abenaki were indigenous to and farmed the river floodplains of Vermont at least as far back as the 1100s A.D.
- (3) The Western Abenaki, including the Missisquoi, have a very definite and carefully maintained oral tradition that consistently references the Champlain valley in western Vermont.
- (4) State recognition confers official acknowledgment of the longstanding existence in Vermont of Native American Indians who predated European settlement and enhances dignity and pride in their heritage and community.
- (4) (5) Many contemporary Abenaki families continue to produce traditional crafts and intend to continue to pass on these indigenous traditions

to the younger generations. In order to create and sell Abenaki crafts that may be labeled as Indian- or Native American-produced, the Abenaki must be recognized by the state of Vermont <u>in order to gain approval by the Indian Arts</u> and Crafts Board (IACB) of the Bureau of Indian Affairs.

- (5) Federal programs may be available to assist with educational and cultural opportunities for Vermont Abenaki and other Native Americans who reside in Vermont
- (6) State recognition will also increase access to federal programs and resources to Vermont tribes that support culture and language preservation, social services, education, and other benefits.
- (7) In May 2006, the general assembly passed S.117, Act No. 125, which created the Vermont Commission on Native American affairs and recognized the Abenaki and all other Native American people living in Vermont as a minority population. According to Indian case law, recognition as a racial minority population prevents the group from being recognized as a tribal political entity, a designation that would provide the group with access to federal resources.
- (8) According to a public affairs specialist with the U.S. Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA), state recognition of Indian tribes plays a very small role with regard to federal recognition. The only exception is when a state recognized a tribe before 1900.
- (9) At least 15 other states have recognized their resident indigenous people as Native American Indian tribes without any of those tribes previously or subsequently acquiring federal recognition.
- (10) State-recognized Native American Indian tribes and their members will continue to be subject to all laws of the state, and recognition shall not be construed to create any basis or authority for tribes to establish or promote any form of prohibited gambling activity or to claim any interest in land or real estate in Vermont.
- Sec. 2. Chapter 23 of Title 1 is amended to read:

Chapter 23. Abenaki Native American Indian People

- Sec. 3. 1 V.S.A. § 852 is amended to read: § 852. VERMONT COMMISSION ON NATIVE AMERICAN AFFAIRS ESTABLISHED; AUTHORITY
- (a) In order to recognize the historic and cultural contributions of Native Americans to Vermont, to protect and strengthen their heritage, and to address their needs in state policy, programs, and actions, there is hereby established the Vermont commission on Native American affairs (the "commission").

- (b) The commission shall <u>comprise seven</u> <u>be composed of nine</u> members appointed by the governor for <u>staggered</u> two-year terms from a list of candidates compiled by the division for historic preservation. The <u>governor shall appoint a chair from among the members of the commission.</u> The governor shall appoint members who reflect a diversity of affiliations and <u>geographic locations in Vermont.</u> A member may serve for no more than two <u>consecutive terms.</u> The division shall compile a list of <u>candidates' recommendations from the following:</u>
- (1) Recommendations from the Missisquoi Abenaki and other Abenaki and other Native American regional tribal councils and communities in Vermont.
- (2) Applicants <u>candidates</u> who apply <u>in response to solicitations</u>, <u>publications</u>, <u>and website notification by to</u> the division <u>of historical preservation</u> <u>are residents of Vermont</u>, <u>and of documented Native American ancestry</u>.
- (c) The commission shall have the authority to assist Native American tribal councils, organizations, and individuals to:
- (1) Secure social services, education, employment opportunities, health care, housing, and census information.
- (2) Permit the creation, display, and sale of Native American arts and crafts and legally to label them as Indian or Native American produced as provided in 18 U.S.C. § 1159(c)(3)(B) and 25 U.S.C. § 305e(d)(3)(B).
- (3) Receive assistance and support from the federal Indian Arts and Crafts Board, as provided in 25 U.S.C. § 305 et seq.
- (4) Become eligible for federal assistance with educational, housing, and cultural opportunities.
- (5) Establish and continue programs offered through the U.S. Department of Education Office on Indian Education pursuant to Title VII of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act established in 1972 to support educational and cultural efforts of tribal entities that have been either state or federally recognized.
 - (1) Elect a chair each year.
- (2) Participate in protecting unmarked burial sites and to designate appropriate repatriation of remains in any case in which lineal descendants cannot be ascertained.
- (3) Provide technical assistance and an explanation of the process to applicants for state recognition.

- (4) Compile and maintain a list of individuals for appointment to a review panel.
- (5) Appoint a three-member panel to review supporting documentation of an application for recognition to advise the commission of its accuracy and relevance.
- (6) Review each application, supporting documentation, and findings of the review panel and make recommendations for or against state recognition.
 - (7) Assist Native American Indian tribes recognized by the state to:
- (A) Secure assistance for social services, education, employment opportunities, health care, and housing.
- (B) Develop and market Vermont Native American fine and performing arts, craft work, and cultural events.
- (8) Develop policies and programs to benefit Vermont's Native American Indian population.
- (d) The commission shall meet at least three times a year and at any other times at the request of the chair. The <u>division of historic preservation within the</u> agency of commerce and community development and the department of education shall provide administrative support to the commission, <u>including providing communication and contact resources</u>.
- (e) The commission may seek and receive funding from federal and other sources to assist with its work.
- Sec. 4. 1 V.S.A. § 853 is amended to read:

§ 853. <u>CRITERIA AND PROCESS FOR STATE</u> RECOGNITION OF ABENAKI PEOPLE NATIVE AMERICAN INDIAN TRIBES

- (a) The state of Vermont recognizes the Abenaki people and recognizes all Native American people who reside in Vermont as a minority population.
- (b) Recognition of the Native American or Abenaki people provided in subsection (a) of this section shall be for the sole purposes specified in subsection 852(c) of this title and shall not be interpreted to provide any Native American or Abenaki person with any other special rights or privileges that the state does not confer on or grant to other state residents.
- (c) This chapter shall not be construed to recognize, create, extend, or form the basis of any right or claim to land or real estate in Vermont for the Abenaki people or any Abenaki individual and shall be construed to confer only those rights specifically described in this chapter.
 - (a) For the purposes of this section:

- (1) "Applicant" means a group or band seeking formal state recognition as a Native American Indian tribe.
- (2) "Legislative committees" means the house committee on general, housing and military affairs and the senate committee on economic development, housing and general affairs.
- (3) "Recognized" or "recognition" means acknowledged as a Native American Indian tribe by the Vermont general assembly or the commission.
- (4) "Tribe" means an assembly of Native American Indian people who are related to each other by kinship and who trace their ancestry to a kinship group which has historically maintained influence and authority over its members.
- (b) In order to be eligible for recognition, an applicant must file an application with the commission and demonstrate compliance with subdivisions (1) through (8) of this subsection which may be supplemented by subdivision (9) of this subsection:
- (1) A majority of the applicant's members currently reside in a specific geographic location within Vermont.
- (2) A substantial number of the applicant's members are related to each other by kinship and trace their ancestry to a kinship group through genealogy.
- (3) The applicant has maintained a connection with Native American Indian tribes and bands that have historically inhabited Vermont.
- (4) The applicant has historically maintained influence and authority over its members that is supported by documentation of their structure, membership criteria, the tribal roll that indicates the members' names and residential addresses, and the methods by which the applicant conducts its affairs.
- (5) The applicant has an enduring community presence within the boundaries of Vermont that is documented by archaeology, ethnography, physical anthropology, history, folklore, or any other applicable scholarly research and data.
 - (6) The applicant is organized in part:
- (A) To preserve, document, and promote its Native American Indian culture and history, and this purpose is reflected in its bylaws.
- (B) To address the social, economic, or cultural needs of the members with ongoing educational programs and activities.
 - (7) The applicant can document traditions, customs, oral stories, and

histories that signify the applicant's Native American heritage and connection to their historical homeland.

- (8) The applicant has not been recognized as a tribe in any other state, province, or nation.
 - (9) Submission of letters, statements, and documents from:
- (A) Municipal, state or federal authorities that document the applicant's history of tribe-related business and activities.
- (B) Tribes in and outside Vermont that attest to the Native American Indian heritage of the applicant.
- (c) The commission shall consider the application pursuant to the following process established by the commission which shall include at least the following requirements:
 - (1) The commission shall:
- (A) Provide public notice of receipt of the application and supporting documentation.
 - (B) Hold at least one public hearing on the application.
- (B) Provide written notice of completion of each step of the recognition process to the applicant.
- (2) Established appropriate time frames that include a requirement that the commission complete review of the application and issue a determination regarding recognition within one year after an application and all the supporting documentation have been filed, and if a recommendation is not issued, the commission shall provide written explanation to the applicant and the legislative committees of the reasons for the delay and the expected date that a decision will be issued.
- (3) A process for appointing a three-member review panel for each application to review the supporting documentation and determine its sufficiency, accuracy, and relevance. The review panel shall provide a detailed written report of its findings and conclusions to the commission, the applicant, and legislative committees. Members of each review panel shall be appointed cooperatively by the commission and the applicant from a list of professionals and academic scholars with expertise in cultural or physical anthropology, Indian law, archeology, Native American Indian genealogy, history, or another related Native American Indian subject area. No member of the review panel may be a member of the commission or affiliated with or on the tribal rolls of the applicant.
 - (4) The commission shall review the application, the supporting

documentation, the report from the review panel, and any other relevant information to determine compliance with the subsection (b) of this section and make a determination to recommend or deny recognition. The decision to recommend recognition shall require a majority vote of all eligible members of the commission. A member of the commission who is on the tribal roll of the applicant is ineligible to participate in any action regarding the application. If the commission denies recognition, the commission shall provide the applicant and the legislative committees with written notice of the reasons for the denial, including specifics of all insufficiencies of the application.

- (5) The applicant may file additional supporting documentation for reconsideration within one year after receipt of the notice of denial.
- (6) An applicant may withdraw an application any time before the commission issues a decision, and may not file a new application for two years following withdrawal. A new application and supporting documentation shall be considered a de novo filing, and the commission shall not consider the withdrawn application or its supporting documentation.
- (7) If the commission recommends that the applicant be recognized as a Native American Indian tribe, the commission shall provide a detailed written report of its findings and conclusions to the applicant and the legislative committees along with a recommendation that the general assembly recognize the applicant as a Native American Indian tribe.
- (8) All proceedings, applications, and supporting documentation shall be public except material exempt pursuant to subsection 317 of this title.
 - (d) An applicant for recognition shall be recognized as follows:
 - (1) By approval of the general assembly.
- (2) Two years after a recommendation to recognize a tribe by the commission is filed with the legislative committees, provided the general assembly took no action on the recommendation.
- (e) A decision by the commission to recommend denial of recognition is final unless an applicant or a successor of interest to the applicant that has previously applied for and been denied recognition under this chapter provides new and substantial documentation and demonstrates that the new documentation was not reasonably available at the time of the filing of the original application.
- (f) Vermont Native American Indian bands and tribes and individual members of those bands and tribes remain subject to all the laws of the state.
- (g) Recognition of a Native American Indian tribe shall not be construed to create, extend, or form the basis of any right or claim to land or real estate in

Vermont or right to conduct any gambling activities prohibited by law, but confers only those rights specifically described in this chapter.

Sec. 5. EFFECTIVE DATE

This act shall take effect on passage.

and that the bill title be amended to read: "An act relating to state recognition of Native American Indian tribes in Vermont"

(Committee vote: 7-1-0)

(For text see Senate Journal 3/18/10)

S. 263

An act relating to the Vermont Benefit Corporations Act

Rep. Smith of Mendon, for the Committee on Commerce and Economic Development, recommends that the House propose to the Senate that the bill be amended by striking all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 11A V.S.A. chapter 21 is added to read:

CHAPTER 21. BENEFIT CORPORATIONS

§ 21.01. SHORT TITLE

§ 21.02. LAW APPLICABLE

§ 21.03. DEFINITIONS

§ 21.04. INCORPORATION OF A BENEFIT CORPORATION

§ 21.05. ELECTION OF EXISTING CORPORATION TO BECOME A BENEFIT CORPORATION

§ 21.06. MERGER AND SHARE EXCHANGE

§ 21.07. TERMINATION OF BENEFIT CORPORATION STATUS BY

AMENDMENT OF ARTICLES OF INCORPORATION; VOTE

REQUIRED

§ 21.08. CORPORATE PURPOSE

§ 21.09. STANDARD OF CONDUCT FOR DIRECTORS

§ 21.10. BENEFIT DIRECTOR

§ 21.11. STANDARD OF CONDUCT FOR OFFICERS

§ 21.12. BENEFIT OFFICER

§ 21.13. RIGHT OF ACTION

§ 21.14. ANNUAL BENEFIT REPORT

§ 21.01. SHORT TITLE

This chapter shall be known and may be cited as the "Vermont Benefit Corporations Act."

§ 21.02. LAW APPLICABLE

- (a) This chapter shall apply only to a domestic corporation meeting the definition of a benefit corporation in subdivision 21.03(a)(1) of this title. The provisions of this title other than those set forth in this chapter shall apply to a benefit corporation in the absence of a contrary or inconsistent provision in this chapter. A corporation whose status as a benefit corporation terminates shall immediately become subject to the obligations and rights of a general corporation as provided in this title.
- (b) The existence of a provision of this chapter does not of itself create any implication that a contrary or different rule of law is or would be applicable to a corporation that is not a benefit corporation. This chapter does not affect any statute or rule of law as it applies to a corporation that is not a benefit corporation.
- (c) A provision of the articles of incorporation or bylaws of a benefit corporation may not be inconsistent with any provision of this chapter.
- (d) Terms that are defined in other chapters of this title shall have the same meaning when used in this chapter, except that in this chapter, "corporation" shall have the meaning set forth in section 1.40 of this title.

§ 21.03. DEFINITIONS

(a) As used in this chapter:

- (1) "Benefit corporation" means a corporation as defined in section 1.40 of this title whose articles of incorporation include the statement "This corporation is a benefit corporation."
- (2) "Benefit director" means a director designated as a benefit director of a benefit corporation as provided in section 21.10 of this title.
- (3) "Benefit officer" means the officer of a benefit corporation, if any, designated as the benefit officer as provided in section 21.12 of this title.
- (4) "General public benefit" means a material positive impact on society and the environment, as measured by a third-party standard, through activities that promote some combination of specific public benefits.

- (5) "Independent" means that a person has no material relationship with a benefit corporation or any of its subsidiaries (other than the relationship of serving as the benefit director or benefit officer), either directly or as an owner or manager of an entity that has a material relationship with the benefit corporation or any of its subsidiaries. A material relationship between a person and the benefit corporation or any of its subsidiaries will be conclusively presumed to exist if:
- (A) the person is, or has been within the last three years, an employee of the benefit corporation or any of its subsidiaries, other than as a benefit officer;
- (B) an immediate family member of the person is, or has been within the last three years, an executive officer, other than a benefit officer, of the benefit corporation or any of its subsidiaries; or
- (C) the person, or an entity of which the person is a manager or in which the person owns beneficially or of record five percent or more of the equity interests, owns beneficially or of record five percent or more of the shares of the benefit corporation.
 - (6) "Specific public benefit" includes:
- (A) providing low income or underserved individuals or communities with beneficial products or services;
- (B) promoting economic opportunity for individuals or communities beyond the creation of jobs in the normal course of business;
 - (C) preserving or improving the environment;
 - (D) improving human health;
 - (E) promoting the arts or sciences or the advancement of knowledge;
- (F) increasing the flow of capital to entities with a public benefit purpose; and
- (G) the accomplishment of any other identifiable benefit for society or the environment.
- (7) "Subsidiary" of a person means an entity in which the person owns beneficially or of record 50 percent or more of the equity interests.
- (8) "Third-party standard" means a recognized standard for defining, reporting, and assessing corporate social and environmental performance that:
- (A) is developed by a person that is independent of the benefit corporation; and

- (B) is transparent because the following information about the standard is publicly available:
- (i) the factors considered when measuring the performance of a business;
 - (ii) the relative weightings of those factors; and
- (iii) the identity of the persons who developed and control changes to the standard and the process by which those changes are made.
- (b) For purposes of subdivisions (a)(5)(C) and (7), a percentage of ownership in an entity shall be calculated as if all outstanding rights to acquire equity interests in the entity had been exercised.

§ 21.04. INCORPORATION OF A BENEFIT CORPORATION

A benefit corporation shall be formed in accordance with sections 2.01, 2.02, 2.03, and 2.05 of this title, except that its articles of incorporation shall also contain the provision required by subdivision 21.03(a)(1) of this title to meet the definition of a benefit corporation.

§ 21.05. ELECTION OF EXISTING CORPORATION TO BECOME A BENEFIT CORPORATION

Any corporation organized under this title may become a benefit corporation by amending its articles of incorporation to add the statement required by subdivision 21.03(a)(1) of this title to meet the definition of a benefit corporation. The amendment shall be adopted and shall become effective in accordance with sections 10.01 through 10.09 of this title, except that:

- (1) the notice of the meeting of shareholders that will approve the amendment shall include a statement from the board of directors of the reasons why the board is proposing the amendment and the anticipated effect on shareholders of becoming a benefit corporation; and
 - (2) the amendment shall be approved by the higher of:
 - (A) the vote required by the articles of incorporation; or
- (B) two-thirds of the votes entitled to be cast by the outstanding shares of the corporation, provided that if any class of shares is entitled to vote as a group, approval shall also require the affirmative vote of the holders of at least two-thirds of the votes entitled to be cast by the outstanding shares of each voting group.

§ 21.06. MERGER AND SHARE EXCHANGE

(a) A plan of merger or share exchange that if effected would terminate the

benefit corporation status of a corporation shall be adopted and shall become effective in accordance with chapter 11 of this title, except that:

- (1) the notice of the meeting of shareholders that will approve the plan shall include a statement from the board of directors of the reasons why the board is proposing that the surviving corporation should not be a benefit corporation and the anticipated effect on the shareholders of the surviving corporation ceasing to be a benefit corporation; and
 - (2) the plan shall be approved by the higher of:
 - (A) the vote required by the articles of incorporation; or
- (B) two-thirds of the votes entitled to be cast by the outstanding shares of the corporation, provided that if any class of shares is entitled to vote as a group, approval shall also require the affirmative vote of the holders of at least two-thirds of the votes entitled to be cast by the outstanding shares of each voting group.
- (b) If a corporation that is not a benefit corporation is a party to a plan of merger or share exchange in which the surviving corporation is a benefit corporation, the plan of merger shall be adopted and shall become effective in accordance with chapter 11 of this title, except that:
- (1) the notice of the meeting of shareholders that will approve the plan shall include a statement from the board of directors of the reasons why the board is proposing that the surviving corporation should become a benefit corporation and the effect on the shareholders of the surviving corporation becoming a benefit corporation; and
- (2) the plan shall be approved in the case of the corporation that is not a benefit corporation by the higher of:
 - (A) the vote required by the articles of incorporation; or
- (B) two-thirds of the votes entitled to be cast by the outstanding shares of the corporation, provided that if any class of shares is entitled to vote as a group, approval shall also require the affirmative vote of the holders of at least two-thirds of the votes entitled to be cast by the outstanding shares of each voting group.

§ 21.07. TERMINATION OF BENEFIT CORPORATION STATUS BY AMENDMENT OF ARTICLES OF INCORPORATION; VOTE REOUIRED

A corporation may terminate its status as a benefit corporation and cease to be subject to this chapter by amending its articles of incorporation to delete the provision required by subdivision 21.03(a)(1) of this title to meet the definition

of a benefit corporation, in addition to the provisions required by section 2.02 of this title to be stated in the articles of incorporation of a benefit corporation. The amendment shall be adopted and shall become effective in accordance with sections 10.01 through 10.09 of this title, except that:

- (1) the notice of the meeting of shareholders that will approve the plan shall include a statement from the board of directors of the reasons why the board is proposing the amendment and the effect of terminating the status of the corporation as a benefit corporation; and
 - (2) the amendment shall be approved by the higher of:
 - (A) the vote required by the articles of incorporation; or
- (B) two-thirds of the votes entitled to be cast by the outstanding shares of the corporation, provided that if any class of shares is entitled to vote as a group, approval shall also require the affirmative vote of the holders of at least two-thirds of the votes entitled to be cast by the outstanding shares of each voting group.

§ 21.08. CORPORATE PURPOSE

- (a) A benefit corporation shall have the purpose of creating general public benefit. This purpose is in addition to, and may be a limitation on, the purposes of the benefit corporation under subsection 3.01(a) of this title.
- (b) The articles of incorporation of a benefit corporation may identify one or more specific public benefits that are the purpose of the benefit corporation to create in addition to its purposes under subsection 3.01(a) of this title and subsection (a) of this section. The adoption of a specific public benefit purpose under this subsection does not limit the obligation of a benefit corporation to create general public benefit.
- (c) The creation of general and specific public benefit as provided in subsections (a) and (b) of this section is in the best interests of the benefit corporation.
- (d) A benefit corporation may amend its articles of incorporation to add, amend, or delete a specific public benefit. The amendment shall be adopted and shall become effective in accordance with sections 10.01 through 10.09 of this title and shall be approved by the higher of the vote required by the articles of incorporation or by subsection (e) of this section.
- (e) An amendment of the articles of incorporation of a benefit corporation to add, amend, or delete a specific public benefit in the articles of incorporation shall be adopted by a vote of at least two-thirds of the votes entitled to be cast by the outstanding shares of the corporation, provided that if any class of shares is entitled to vote as a group, approval shall also require the affirmative

vote of the holders of at least two-thirds of the votes entitled to be cast by the outstanding shares of each voting group.

§ 21.09. STANDARD OF CONDUCT FOR DIRECTORS

- (a) Each director of a benefit corporation, in discharging his or her duties as a director, including the director's duties as a member of a committee:
- (1) shall, in determining what the director reasonably believes to be in the best interests of the benefit corporation, consider the effects of any action or inaction upon:
 - (A) the shareholders of the benefit corporation;
- (B) the employees and workforce of the benefit corporation and its subsidiaries and suppliers;
- (C) the interests of customers to the extent they are beneficiaries of the general or specific public benefit purposes of the benefit corporation;
- (D) community and societal considerations, including those of any community in which offices or facilities of the benefit corporation or its subsidiaries or suppliers are located;
 - (E) the local and global environment; and
- (F) the long-term and short-term interests of the benefit corporation, including the possibility that those interests may be best served by the continued independence of the benefit corporation;
- (2) may consider any other pertinent factors or the interests of any other group that the director determines are appropriate to consider;
- (3) shall not be required to give priority to the interests of any particular person or group referred to in subdivisions (1) or (2) of this subsection over the interests of any other person or group unless the benefit corporation has stated its intention to give priority to interests related to its specific public benefit purpose in its articles of incorporation; and
- (4) shall not be subject to a different or higher standard of care when an action or inaction might affect control of the benefit corporation.
- (b) The consideration of interests and factors in the manner described in subsection (a) of this section shall not constitute a violation of section 8.30 of this title.
- (c) A director is not liable for the failure of a benefit corporation to create general or specific public benefit.
 - (d) A director is not liable to the benefit corporation or any person entitled

- to bring a benefit enforcement proceeding under section 21.13 of this title for any action or failure to take action in his or her official capacity if the director performed the duties of his or her office in compliance with section 8.30 of this title and with this section.
- (e) A director of a benefit corporation shall have a fiduciary duty only to those persons entitled to bring a benefit enforcement proceeding against the benefit corporation under section 21.13 of this title. A director of a benefit corporation shall not have any fiduciary duty to a person who is a beneficiary of the general or specific public benefit purposes of the benefit corporation arising only from the person's status as a beneficiary.

§ 21.10. BENEFIT DIRECTOR

- (a) The board of directors of a benefit corporation shall include at least one director who shall be designated a "benefit director" and shall have, in addition to all of the powers, duties, rights, and immunities of the other directors of the benefit corporation, the powers, duties, rights, and immunities provided in this section.
- (b) A benefit director shall be elected and may be removed in the manner provided by subchapter 1 of chapter 8 of this title and shall be an individual who is independent of the benefit corporation. A benefit director may serve as the benefit officer at the same time as serving as a benefit director. The articles of incorporation or bylaws of a benefit corporation may prescribe additional qualifications of a benefit director not inconsistent with this subsection.
- (c)(1) A benefit director shall be responsible for the preparation of the annual benefit report required under section 21.14 of this title.
- (2) A benefit director may retain an independent third party to audit the annual benefit report or conduct any other assessment of the benefit corporation's social and environmental performance.
- (3) A benefit director shall prepare and shall include in the annual benefit report a statement whether, in the opinion of the benefit director:
- (A) the benefit corporation acted in accordance with its general public benefit purpose and any specific public benefit purpose in all material respects during the period covered by the report; and
- (B) the directors and officers acted in accordance with the requirements of subsection 21.09(a) and section 21.11 of this title, respectively.
- (4) If in the opinion of the benefit director the benefit corporation failed to act in accordance with its general and any specific public benefit purposes or

- if its directors or officers failed to act in accordance with the requirements of subsection 21.09(a) and section 21.11 of this title, respectively, then the statement of the benefit director shall include a description of the ways in which the benefit corporation or its directors or officers failed to so act.
- (d) The acts and omissions of an individual in the capacity of a benefit director shall constitute for all purposes acts and omissions of that individual in the capacity of a director of the benefit corporation.
- (e) If the articles of incorporation of a benefit corporation that is a close corporation dispense with a board of directors pursuant to sections 20.08 and 20.09 of this title, then the articles of incorporation shall provide that the persons who perform the duties of a board of directors shall include at least one person with the powers, duties, rights, and immunities of a benefit director.
- (f) Regardless of whether the articles of incorporation of a benefit corporation include a provision eliminating or limiting the personal liability of directors authorized by subdivision 2.02(b)(4) of this title, a benefit director shall not be personally liable for any act or omission taken in his or her official capacity as a benefit director unless the act or omission is not in good faith, involves intentional misconduct or a knowing violation of law, or involves a transaction from which the director directly or indirectly derived an improper personal benefit.

§ 21.11. STANDARD OF CONDUCT FOR OFFICERS

- (a) An officer of a benefit corporation shall consider the interests and factors described in subsection 21.09(a) of this title in the manner provided in that subsection when:
- (1) the officer has discretion in how to act or not act with respect to a matter; and
- (2) it reasonably appears to the officer that the matter may have a material effect on:
- (A) the creation of general or specific public benefit by the benefit corporation; or
- (B) any of the interests or factors referred to in section 21.09(a)(1) of this title.
- (b) The consideration of interests and factors in the manner described in subsection (a) of this section shall not constitute a violation of the fiduciary duty of an officer to the benefit corporation.
- (c) An officer is not liable to the benefit corporation or any person entitled to bring a benefit enforcement proceeding under section 21.13 of this title for

any action or failure to take action in his or her official capacity if the officer performed the duties of the position in compliance with section 8.41 of this title and with this section.

- (d) An officer is not liable for the failure of a benefit corporation to create general or specific public benefit.
- (e) An officer of a benefit corporation shall have a fiduciary duty only to those persons entitled to bring a benefit enforcement proceeding against the benefit corporation under section 21.13 of this title. An officer of a benefit corporation shall not have any fiduciary duty to a person that is a beneficiary of the general or specific public benefit purposes of the benefit corporation arising only from the person's status as a beneficiary.

§ 21.12. BENEFIT OFFICER

A benefit corporation may have an officer designated the "benefit officer" who shall have the authority and shall perform the duties in the management of the benefit corporation relating to the purpose of the corporation to create public benefit as set forth with respect to the office in the bylaws or, to the extent not inconsistent with the bylaws, prescribed with respect to the office by the board of directors or by direction of an officer authorized by the board of directors to prescribe the duties of the office.

§ 21.13. RIGHT OF ACTION

- (a) The duties of directors and officers under this chapter and the general and specific public benefit purposes of a benefit corporation may be enforced only in a benefit enforcement proceeding, and no person may bring such an action or claim against a benefit corporation or its directors or officers except as provided in this section.
- (b) A benefit enforcement proceeding may be commenced or maintained only by:
- (1) a shareholder that would otherwise be entitled to commence or maintain a proceeding in the right of the benefit corporation on any basis;
 - (2) a director of the corporation;
- (3) a person or group of persons that owns beneficially or of record 10 percent or more of the equity interests in an entity of which the benefit corporation is a subsidiary; or
- (4) such other persons as may be specified in the articles of incorporation of the benefit corporation.
- (c) As used in this chapter, "benefit enforcement proceeding" means a claim or action against a director or officer for:

- (1) failure to pursue the general public benefit purpose of the benefit corporation or any specific public benefit purpose set forth in its articles of incorporation; or
 - (2) violation of a duty or standard of conduct under this chapter.

§ 21.14. ANNUAL BENEFIT REPORT

- (a) A benefit corporation shall deliver to each shareholder, in a format approved by the directors, an annual benefit report, which shall include:
- (1)(A) a statement of the specific goals or outcomes identified by the benefit corporation for creating general public benefit and any specific public benefit for the period of the benefit report;
- (B) a description of the actions taken by the benefit corporation to attain the identified goals or outcomes and the extent to which the goals or outcomes were attained;
- (C) a description of any circumstances that hindered the attainment of the identified goals or outcomes and the creation of general public benefit or any specific public benefit; and
- (D) specific actions the benefit corporation can take to improve its social and environmental performance and attain the goals or outcomes identified for creating general public benefit and any specific public benefit.
- (2) an assessment of the social and environmental performance of the benefit corporation prepared in accordance with a third-party standard that has been applied consistently with prior benefit reports or accompanied by an explanation of the reasons for any inconsistent application;
- (3) a statement of specific goals or outcomes identified by the benefit corporation and approved by the shareholders for creating general public benefit and any specific public benefit for the period of the next benefit report.
- (4) the name of each benefit director and the benefit officer, if any, and the address to which correspondence to each of them may be directed;
- (5) the compensation paid by the benefit corporation during the year to each director in that capacity;
- (6) the name of each person that owns beneficially or of record five percent or more of the shares of the benefit corporation; and
- (7) the statement of a benefit director described in subsection 21.10(c) of this title.
- (b) A benefit corporation shall annually deliver the benefit report to each shareholder within 120 days following the end of the fiscal year of the benefit

corporation or at the same time that the benefit corporation delivers any other annual report to its shareholders.

- (c) After reasonable opportunity for review, the shareholders of the benefit corporation shall approve or reject the annual benefit report by majority vote at the annual meeting of shareholders or at a special meeting held for that purpose.
- (d) A benefit corporation shall post its most recent benefit report endorsed by its shareholders on the public portion of its website, if any, except that the compensation paid to directors and any financial or proprietary information included in the benefit report may be omitted from the benefit report as posted. If a benefit corporation does not have a public website, it shall deliver a copy of its most recent benefit report on demand and without charge to any person who requests a copy.

Sec. 2. EFFECTIVE DATE

This act shall take effect on July 1, 2011.

(Committee vote: 8-3-0)

(For text see Senate Journal 3/18/10)

S. 278

An act relating to the department of banking, insurance, securities, and health care administration

Rep. Bissonnette of Winooski, for the Committee on Commerce and Economic Development, recommends that the House propose to the Senate that the bill be amended as follows:

First: By adding Sec. 1a to read as follows:

Sec. 1a. 8 V.S.A. § 2201(c) is amended to read:

(c) A person licensed pursuant to subdivision (a)(1) of this section may engage in mortgage brokerage and sales finance if such person informs the commissioner in advance that he or she intends to engage in sales finance and mortgage brokerage. Such person shall inform the commissioner of his or her intention on the original license application under section 2202 of this title, any renewal application under section 2209 of this title, or pursuant to section 2208 of this title, and shall pay the applicable fees required by subsection 2202(b) of this title for a mortgage broker license or sales finance company license.

Second: By adding Sec. 1b to read as follows:

Sec. 1b. 8 V.S.A. § 2500(2) is amended to read:

(2) "Authorized delegate" means a person <u>located in this state</u> that a licensee designates to provide money services on behalf of the licensee.

<u>Third</u>: In Sec. 4, subdivision (b)(3), by striking out the word "<u>serves</u>" and by inserting in lieu thereof "<u>served</u>"

Fourth: By adding Sec. 4a to read as follows:

Sec. 4a. 8 V.S.A. § 3577 is amended to read:

§ 3577. REQUIREMENTS FOR ACTUARIAL OPINIONS

- (a) Each licensed insurance company shall include on or attached to its annual statement submitted under section 3561 of this title a statement of a qualified actuary, entitled "statement of actuarial opinion," setting forth an opinion on life and health policy and claim reserves and an opinion on property and casualty loss and loss adjustment expenses reserves.
- (b) The "statement of actuarial opinion" shall be treated as a public document and shall conform to the Standards of Practice promulgated by the Actuarial Standards Board of the American Academy of Actuaries, the standards of the Casualty Actuarial Society, and such additional standards as the commissioner may establish by rule. The commissioner by rule shall establish minimum standards applicable to the valuation of health disability, sickness and accident plans.
- (c) Opinions required by this section shall apply to all business in force, and shall be stated in form and in substance acceptable to the commissioner as prescribed by rule.
- (1) In the case of property and casualty insurance companies domiciled in this state, every company that is required to submit a statement of actuarial opinion shall annually submit an actuarial opinion summary, written by the company's appointed actuary. This actuarial opinion summary shall be filed in accordance with the appropriate Property and Casualty Annual Statement Instructions of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) and shall be considered as a document supporting the actuarial opinion required in subsection (a) of this section. A property and casualty insurance company licensed but not domiciled in this state shall provide the actuarial opinion summary upon request.
- (2) In the case of property and casualty insurance companies, an actuarial report and underlying work papers, as required by the appropriate Property and Casualty Annual Statement Instructions of the NAIC, shall be prepared to support each actuarial opinion. If the property and casualty insurance company fails to provide a supporting actuarial report or work papers at the request of the commissioner or if the commissioner determines

that the supporting actuarial report or work papers provided by the insurance company is otherwise unacceptable to the commissioner, the commissioner may engage a qualified actuary at the expense of the company to review the opinion and the basis for the opinion and prepare the supporting actuarial report or work papers.

(3) In the case of property and casualty insurance companies, the appointed actuary shall not be liable for damages to any person other than the insurance company and the commissioner for any act, error, omission, decision, or conduct with respect to the actuary's opinion, except in cases of fraud or willful misconduct on the part of the appointed actuary.

* * *

- (l) Actuarial reports, actuarial opinion summaries, work papers, and any other documents, information, or materials provided to the department in connection with the actuarial report, work papers, or actuarial opinion summary shall be confidential by law and privileged, shall not be subject to inspection and copying under 1 V.S.A. § 316, shall not be subject to subpoena, and shall not be subject to discovery or admissible in evidence in any private litigation.
- (1) This subsection shall not be construed to limit the commissioner's authority to release documents to the Actuarial Board for Counseling and Discipline, provided the material is required for the purpose of professional disciplinary proceedings and further provided that procedures satisfactory to the commissioner are established for preserving the confidentiality of the documents, nor shall this subsection be construed to limit the commissioner's authority to use the documents, materials, or other information in furtherance of any regulatory or legal action brought as part of the commissioner's official duties.
- (2) Neither the commissioner nor any person who receives documents, materials, or other information while acting under the authority of the commissioner shall be permitted or required to testify in any private civil action concerning any confidential documents, materials, or information under this subsection.
- (3) In order to assist in the performance of the commissioner's duties, the commissioner may:
- (A) Share documents, materials, or other information, including the confidential and privileged documents, materials, or information subject to subsection (d) of this section, with other state, federal, and international regulatory agencies, with the NAIC and its affiliates and subsidiaries, and with state, federal, and international law enforcement authorities, provided that the

recipient agrees to maintain the confidentiality and privileged status of the document, material, or other information and has the legal authority to maintain confidentiality.

- (B) Receive documents, materials, or information, including otherwise confidential and privileged documents, materials, or information, from the NAIC and its affiliates and subsidiaries, and from regulatory and law enforcement officials of other foreign or domestic jurisdictions, and shall maintain as confidential or privileged any document, material, or information received with notice or the understanding that it is confidential or privileged under the laws of the jurisdiction that is the source of the document, material, or information.
- (4) No waiver of any applicable privilege or claim of confidentiality in the documents, materials, or information shall occur as a result of the disclosure to the commissioner under this section or as a result of sharing as authorized by subdivision (3) of this subsection.

Fifth: By adding Sec. 4b to read as follows:

Sec. 4b. 8 V.S.A. § 3634a(j) is added to read:

- (j)(1) If reinsurance is ceded to an assuming insurer not meeting the requirements of this subsection and subsections (a) through (i) of this section, the commissioner may allow in his or her discretion full or reduced credit for the reinsurance, provided the commissioner has determined that the assuming insurer is an eligible reinsurer in accordance with this subsection, and the assuming insurer:
 - (A) Holds surplus in excess of \$100,000,000.00.
- (B) Has a secure financial strength rating from at least two nationally recognized statistical rating organizations deemed acceptable by the commissioner. The commissioner shall give appropriate consideration to insurer group ratings that may have been issued.
- (2) The commissioner may, in lieu of granting full credit under this subsection, reduce the amount required to be held in trust under subsection (h) of this section.
- (3) In determining whether credit should be allowed, the commissioner shall consider the following:
 - (A) The domiciliary regulatory jurisdiction of the assuming insurer.
- (B) The structure and authority of the domiciliary regulator with regard to solvency regulation requirements and the financial surveillance of the reinsurer.

- (C) The substance of financial and operating standards for reinsurers in the domiciliary jurisdiction.
- (D) The form and substance of financial reports required to be filed by the reinsurers in the domiciliary jurisdiction or other public financial statements filed in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles.
- (E) The domiciliary regulator's willingness to cooperate with United States regulators in general and the department in particular.
- (F) The history of performance by reinsurers in the domiciliary jurisdiction.
- (G) Any documented evidence of substantial problems with the enforcement of valid United States judgments in the domiciliary jurisdiction.
 - (H) Any other matters deemed relevant by the commissioner.
- (4) The commissioner's determination that an assuming insurer is an eligible reinsurer shall include such measures as the commissioner determines are necessary and sufficient to assure market stability and the solvency of ceding insurers and to ensure the payment of valid claims against the eligible reinsurer, including:
- (A) The execution of a memorandum of understanding with the domicile insurance regulator of the eligible reinsurer providing for communication between insurance regulators and the sharing of information relating to the eligible reinsurer;
- (B) the filing of financial and other information by the eligible reinsurer satisfactory to the commissioner;
- (C) the eligible reinsurer's submission to the jurisdiction of the courts of the United States of America;
- (D) the eligible reinsurer's appointment of an agent for service of process in Vermont;
- (E) one or more conditions imposed on the determination of eligibility such that inadequate performance on the payment of valid claims against the reinsurer, or a material change in the financial condition of the eligible reinsurer, or failure to comply with one or more of the terms and conditions of the commissioner's determination may result in the withdrawal of the commissioner's approval of reduced collateral, an increase in the collateral required, or the termination of the reinsurer's status as an eligible reinsurer, or some similarly effective enforcement measure; and
- (F) the expiration of the commissioner's initial determination no later than three years following its issuance. During such period of time a ceding

insurer may take 100 percent credit on account of reinsurance ceded to the eligible reinsurer only if the eligible reinsurer's collateral is reduced to no less than 20 percent.

Sixth: By adding Sec. 4c to read as follows:

Sec. 4c. REINSURANCE COLLATERAL; REPORT REQUIRED

The commissioner of banking, insurance, securities and health care administration shall submit in electronic format an annual report to the house committee on commerce and economic development and the senate committee on finance beginning January 15, 2011, and for the next succeeding four years. The report shall include an assessment of the implementation of, and experience with the reinsurance collateral provision enacted in Sec. 4b of this act. It shall describe the department's activities in implementing the reinsurance collateral provision, the assuming insurers that the commissioner has determined to be eligible reinsurers, and after implementation, the department's experience in administrating the reinsurance collateral provision.

<u>Seventh</u>: By striking out Sec. 7 in its entirety and by inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 7. 8 V.S.A. § 3810a(c) is added to read:

(c) The lives of individuals insured under a group policy authorized by this subchapter may continue to be insured following termination of employment, membership, or other affiliation of the individual with the group under a portability group approved by the commissioner, provided that the group policy complies with all the applicable requirements of this subchapter.

Eighth: By adding Sec. 7a to read as follows:

Sec. 7a. 8 V.S.A. § 4153 is amended to read:

§ 4153. SCOPE

- (a) This subchapter shall provide coverage for the policies and contracts specified in subsection (b) of this section:
- (1) to <u>To</u> persons who, regardless of where they reside (except for nonresident certificate holders under group policies or contracts <u>and except for payees and beneficiaries of structured settlement annuities as specified in subdivision (3) of this subsection</u>), are the beneficiaries, assignees, or payees of the persons covered under subdivision (2) of this subsection, and.
- (2) to <u>To</u> persons who are owners of or certificate holders under such policies or contracts or, in the case of unallocated annuity contracts, to the persons who are the contract holders; and who

- (A) are residents of this state, or
- (B) are not residents of this state, but only if all of the following conditions are met:
- (i) the insurers which issued such policies or contracts are domiciled in this state;
- (ii) such insurers never held a license or certificate of authority in the states in which such persons reside;
- (iii) such states have associations similar to the association created by this subchapter; and
- (iv) such persons are not eligible for coverage by such associations.
- (3) To persons who are a payees under structured settlement annuities, or beneficiaries of such deceased payees, but only if the payees:
- (A) are residents of this state, regardless of where the contract owners reside; or
- (B) are not residents of this state, but only if both of the following conditions are met:
- (i)(I) the contract owners of such structured settlement annuities are residents of this state; or
- (II) the contract owners of such structured settlement annuities are not residents of this state, but only if:
- (aa) the insurers which issued such structured settlement annuities are domiciled in this state; and
- (bb) the states in which such contract owners reside have associations similar to the association created by this subchapter; and
- (ii) Neither the payees, beneficiaries, nor the contract owners are eligible for coverage by the associations of the states in which such payees or contract owners reside.

Ninth: By adding Sec. 7b to read as follows:

- Sec. 7b. 8 V.S.A. § 4153(b)(2) is amended to read:
 - (2) This subchapter shall not provide coverage for:

* * *

(C) any portion of a policy or contract to the extent that the rate of interest on which it is based, or the interest rate, crediting rate, or similar factor

determined by use of an index or other external reference stated in the policy or contract employed in calculating returns or changes in value:

* * *

(G) any unallocated annuity contract issued to an employee benefit plan protected under the federal Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation; and

* * *

- (I) any portion of a policy or contract to the extent it provides for interest or other changes in value to be determined by the use of an index or other external reference stated in the policy or contract, but which has not been credited to the policy or contract, or as to which the policy or contract owner's rights are subject to forfeiture, as of the date the member insurer becomes an impaired or insolvent insurer under this chapter, whichever is earlier. If a policy's or contract's interest or changes in value are credited less frequently than annually, then for purposes of determining the values that have been credited and are not subject to forfeiture under this subdivision, the interest or change in value determined by using the procedures defined in the policy or contract will be credited as if the contractual date of crediting interest or changing values was the date of impairment or insolvency, whichever is earlier, and will not be subject to forfeiture; and
- (J) any policy or contract providing any hospital, medical, prescription drug, or other health care benefits pursuant Medicare Part C or Part D of subchapter XVIII, Chapter 7 of Title 42 of the United States Code, or any regulations issued pursuant thereto.

Tenth: By adding Sec. 7c to read as follows:

Sec. 7c. 8 V.S.A. § 4155 is amended to read:

§ 4155. DEFINITIONS

* * *

- (7) "Impaired insurer" means:
- (A) an insurer which after April 27, 1972, becomes insolvent and is placed under a final order of liquidation, rehabilitation, or conservation by a court of competent jurisdiction, or
- (B) an insurer determined by the commissioner after April 27, 1972 to be unable or potentially unable to fulfill its contractual obligations a member insurer which, after the effective date of this subchapter, is not an insolvent insurer and who is placed under an order of rehabilitation or conservation by a court of competent jurisdiction.

- (8) "Insolvent insurer" means a member insurer which, after the effective date of this subchapter, is placed under an order of liquidation by a court of competent jurisdiction with a finding of insolvency.
- (8)(9) "Member insurer" means any person authorized to transact in this state any kind of insurance to which this subchapter applies under section 4153 of this title.
- (9)(10) "Premiums" means amounts received on covered policies or contracts less premiums, considerations and deposits returned thereon, and less dividends and experience credits thereon. "Premiums" does not include any amounts received for any policies or contracts or for the portions of any policies or contracts for which coverage is not provided under subsection 4153(b) of this title except that assessable premium shall not be reduced on account of subdivisions 4153(b)(2)(C), relating to interest limitations, and 4158(8) of this title relating to limitations with respect to any one individual, any one participant and any one contract holder; provided that "premiums" shall not include any premiums in excess of one million dollars \$5,000,000.00 on any unallocated annuity contract not issued under a governmental retirement plan established under section 401, subsection 403(b) or section 457 of the United States Internal Revenue Code.
- (11)(10) "Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, association or voluntary organization.
- (11)(12) "Resident" means any person who resides in this state at the time the impairment is determined on the date of entry of a court order that determines a member insurer to be an impaired insurer or of a court order that determines a member insurer to be an insolvent insurer, and to whom contractual obligations are owed. A person may be a resident of only one state, which in the case of a person other than a natural person shall be its principal place of business.
- (12)(13) "Moody's Corporate Bond Yield Average" means the Monthly Average Corporates as published by Moody's Investors Service, Inc., or any successor thereto.
- (13)(14) "Supplemental contract" means any agreement entered into for the distribution of policy or contract proceeds.
- (14)(15) "Unallocated annuity contract" means any annuity contract or group annuity certificate which is not issued to and owned by an individual except to the extent of any annuity benefits guaranteed to an individual by an insurer under such contract or certificate and shall include guaranteed investment contracts, guaranteed interest contracts, guaranteed accumulation contracts, deposit administration contracts, and unallocated funding

agreements.

Eleventh: By adding Sec. 7d to read as follows:

Sec. 7d. 8 V.S.A. § 4158 is amended to read as follows:

§ 4158. POWERS AND DUTIES OF THE ASSOCIATION

In addition to the powers and duties enumerated in other sections of this subchapter:

- (1) If a domestic insurer is an impaired insurer, the association,
- (A) may, prior to an order of liquidation or rehabilitation, and subject to any conditions imposed by the association other than those which impair the contractual obligations of the impaired insurer and approved by the impaired insurer and the commissioner: or
- (B) shall, after entry of an order of liquidation or rehabilitation, subject to any conditions imposed by the association and approved by the commissioner, guarantee, assume, or reinsure, or cause to be guaranteed, assumed, or reinsured, the covered policies of the impaired insurer, and shall make or cause to be made prompt payment of the contractual obligations of the impaired insurer member insurer is an impaired insurer, the association, in its discretion and subject to any conditions imposed by the association that do not impair the contractual obligations of the impaired insurer and that are approved by the commissioner, may:
- (A) guarantee, assume, or reinsure, or cause to be guaranteed, assumed, or reinsured, any or all of the policies or contracts of the impaired insurer; and
- (B) provide such monies, pledges, loans, notes, guarantees, or other means as are proper to effectuate subdivision (A) of this subdivision (1) and assure payment of the contractual obligations of the impaired insurer pending action under subdivision (A) of this subdivision (1).
- (2) If a foreign or alien insurer is an impaired insurer under an order of liquidation, rehabilitation, or conservation, the association shall, subject to any conditions imposed by the association and approved by the commissioner, guarantee, assume, or reinsure, or cause to be guaranteed, assumed, or reinsured, the covered policies of residents, and shall make or cause to be made prompt payment of the impaired insurer's contractual obligations to residents member insurer is an insolvent insurer, the association, in its discretion, shall either:
- (A)(i)(I) Guarantee, assume, or reinsure, or cause to be guaranteed, assumed, or reinsured, the policies or contracts of the insolvent insurer; or

- (II) Assure payment of the contractual obligations of the insolvent insurer; and
- (ii) Provide monies, pledges, loans, notes, guarantees, or other means reasonably necessary to discharge the association's duties; or
- (B) Provide benefits and coverages in accordance with the following provisions:
- (i) With respect to life and health insurance policies and annuities, assure payment of benefits for premiums identical to the premiums and benefits, except for terms of conversion and renewability, that would have been payable under the policies or contracts of the insolvent insurer, for claims incurred:
- (I) With respect to group policies and contracts, not later than the earlier of the next renewal date under those policies or contracts or 45 days, but in no event less than 30 days, after the date on which the association becomes obligated with respect to the policies and contracts.
- (II) With respect to nongroup policies, contracts, and annuities, not later than the earlier of the next renewal date (if any) under the policies or contracts or one year, but in no event less than 30 days, from the date on which the association becomes obligated with respect to the policies or contracts.
- (ii) Make diligent efforts to provide all known insureds or annuitants (for nongroup policies and contracts), or group policy owners with respect to group policies and contracts, 30 days notice of the termination, pursuant to subdivision (i) of this subdivision (B), of the benefits provided.
- (iii) With respect to nongroup life and health insurance policies and annuities covered by the association, make available to each known insured or annuitant, or owner if other than the insured or annuitant, and with respect to an individual formerly insured or formerly an annuitant under a group policy who is not eligible for replacement group coverage, make available substitute coverage on an individual basis in accordance with the provisions of subdivision (iv) of this subdivision (B), if the insureds or annuitants had a right under law or the terminated policy or annuity to convert coverage to individual coverage or to continue an individual policy or annuity in force until a specified age or for a specified time, during which the insurer had no right unilaterally to make changes in any provision of the policy or annuity or had a right only to make changes in premium by class.
- (iv)(I) In providing the substitute coverage required under subdivision (iii) of this subdivision (B), the association may offer either to reissue the terminated coverage or to issue an alternative policy.

- (II) Alternative or reissued policies shall be offered without requiring evidence of insurability, and shall not provide for any waiting period or exclusion that would not have applied under the terminated policy.
- (III) The association may reinsure any alternative or reissued policy.
- (v)(I) Alternative policies adopted by the association shall be subject to the approval of the domiciliary insurance commissioner and the receivership court. The association may adopt alternative policies of various types for future issuance without regard to any particular impairment or insolvency.
- (II) Alternative policies shall contain at least the minimum statutory provisions required in this state and provide benefits that shall not be unreasonable in relation to the premium charged. The association shall set the premium in accordance with a table of rates that it shall adopt. The premium shall reflect the amount of insurance to be provided and the age and class of risk of each insured, but shall not reflect any changes in the health of the insured after the original policy was last underwritten.
- (III) Any alternative policy issued by the association shall provide coverage of a type similar to that of the policy issued by the impaired or insolvent insurer, as determined by the association.
- (vi) If the association elects to reissue terminated coverage at a premium rate different from that charged under the terminated policy, the premium shall be set by the association in accordance with the amount of insurance provided and the age and class of risk, subject to approval of the domiciliary insurance commissioner and the receivership court;
- (vii) The association's obligations with respect to coverage under any policy of the impaired or insolvent insurer or under any reissued or alternative policy shall cease on the date the coverage or policy is replaced by another similar policy by the policy owner, the insured, or the association;
- (viii) When proceeding under subdivision (B) with respect to a policy or contract carrying guaranteed minimum interest rates, the association shall assure the payment or crediting of a rate of interest consistent with subdivision 4153(b)(2)(C) of this title.

* * *

(6) The association shall have standing to appear before any court in this state with jurisdiction over an impaired <u>or insolvent</u> insurer concerning which the association is or may become obligated under this subchapter. Such standing shall extend to all matters germane to the powers and duties of the

association.

- (7)(A) Any person receiving benefits under this subchapter shall be deemed to have assigned his rights under the covered policy to the association to the extent of the benefits received because of this subchapter whether the benefits are payments of contractual obligations or continuation of coverage. The association may require an assignment to it of such rights by any payee, policy or contract owner, beneficiary, insured, or annuitant as a condition precedent to the receipt of any rights or benefits conferred by this subchapter upon such person. The association shall be subrogated to these rights against the assets of any impaired or insolvent insurer.
- (B) The subrogation rights of the association under this subdivision shall have the same priority against the assets of the impaired <u>or insolvent</u> insurer as that possessed by the person entitled to receive benefits under this subchapter.
- (8) The benefits for which the association may become liable shall in no event exceed the lesser of:
- (A) The contractual obligations for which the insurer is liable or would have been liable if it were not an impaired <u>or insolvent</u> insurer; or
- (B)(i) With respect to any one life, regardless of the number of policies or contracts:
- (I) \$300,000.00 in life insurance death benefits, but not more than \$100,000.00 in net cash surrender and net cash withdrawal values for life insurance;

(II) In health insurance benefits:

- (aa) \$100,000.00 for coverages not defined as disability insurance or basic hospital, medical, and surgical insurance, or major medical insurance, or long-term care insurance, including any net cash surrender and net cash withdrawal values;
- (bb) \$300,000.00 for disability insurance and \$300,000.00 for long-term care insurance;
- (cc) \$500,000.00 for basic hospital, medical, and surgical insurance, or major medical insurance; or
- (III) \$250,000.00 in the present value of annuity benefits, including net cash surrender and net cash withdrawal values; or
- (ii) With respect to each individual participating in a governmental retirement plan established under Section 401, 403(b), or 457 of the U.S. Internal Revenue Code covered by an unallocated annuity contract or the

beneficiaries of each such individual if deceased, in the aggregate, \$250,000.00 in present value annuity benefits, including net cash surrender and net cash withdrawal values; or

- (iii) With respect to each payee of a structured settlement annuity (or beneficiary or beneficiaries of the payee if deceased) for which coverage is provided under subdivision 4153(a)(3) of this title, \$ 250,000.00 in present value annuity benefits, in the aggregate, including net cash surrender and net cash withdrawal values, if any;
- (iv) With respect to any one contract holder covered by any unallocated annuity contract not included in subdivision (B)(ii) of this subdivision (8), \$5,000,000.00 in benefits, irrespective of the number of such contracts held by that contract holder; and
- (iv) Provided, however, that in no event shall the association be liable to expend more than \$300,000.00 in the aggregate with respect to any one individual under subdivisions (B)(i)(I), (B)(i)(II)(aa) and (bb), B(i)(III), (B)(ii), and (B)(iii) of this subdivision (8); and provided further, however, that in no event shall the association be liable to expend more than \$500,000.00 in the aggregate with respect to any one individual under subdivision (B)(i)(II)(cc) of this subdivision (8).

* * *

- (10)(A)(i) At any time within 180 days of the date of the order of liquidation, the association may elect to succeed to the rights and obligations of the ceding member insurer that relate to policies or annuities covered, in whole or in part, by the association, in each case under any one or more reinsurance contracts entered into by the insolvent insurer and its reinsurers and selected by the association. Any such assumption shall be effective as of the date of the order of liquidation. The election shall be effected by the association or the National Organization of Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Associations (NOLHGA) on its behalf sending written notice, return receipt requested, to the affected reinsurers.
- (ii) To facilitate the earliest practicable decision about whether to assume any of the contracts of reinsurance, and in order to protect the financial position of the estate, the receiver and each reinsurer of the ceding member insurer shall make available upon request to the association or to NOLHGA on its behalf as soon as possible after commencement of formal delinquency proceedings: copies of in-force contracts of reinsurance and all related files and records relevant to the determination of whether such contracts should be assumed; and notices of any defaults under the reinsurance contacts or any known event or condition which with the passage of time could become a

default under the reinsurance contracts.

- (iii) The following subdivisions (I) through (IV) shall apply to reinsurance contracts so assumed by the association:
- (I) The association shall be responsible for all unpaid premiums due under the reinsurance contracts for periods both before and after the date of the order of liquidation, and shall be responsible for the performance of all other obligations to be performed after the date of the order of liquidation, in each case which relate to policies or annuities covered, in whole or in part, by the association. The association may charge policies or annuities covered in part by the association, through reasonable allocation methods, the costs for reinsurance in excess of the obligations of the association and shall provide notice and an accounting of these charges to the receiver.
- (II) The association shall be entitled to any amounts payable by the reinsurer under the reinsurance contracts with respect to losses or events that occur in periods after the date of the order of liquidation and that relate to policies or annuities covered, in whole or in part, by the association, provided that, upon receipt of any such amounts, the association shall be obliged to pay to the beneficiary under the policy or annuity on account of which the amounts were paid a portion of the amount equal to the lesser of:

(aa) The amount received by the association; and

(bb) The excess of the amount received by the association over the amount equal to the benefits paid by the association on account of the policy or annuity less the retention of the insurer applicable to the loss or event.

(III) Within 30 days following the association's election (the "election date"), the association and each reinsurer under contracts assumed by the association shall calculate the net balance due to or from the association under each reinsurance contract as of the election date with respect to policies or annuities covered, in whole or in part, by the association, which calculation shall give full credit to all items paid by either the insurer or its receiver or the reinsurer prior to the election date. The reinsurer shall pay the receiver any amounts due for losses or events prior to the date of the order of liquidation, subject to any set-off for premiums unpaid for periods prior to the date, and the association or reinsurer shall pay any remaining balance due the other, in each case within five days of the completion of the aforementioned calculation. Any disputes over the amounts due to either the association or the reinsurer shall be resolved by arbitration pursuant to the terms of the affected reinsurance contracts or, if the contract contains no arbitration clause, as otherwise provided by law. If the receiver has received any amounts due the

association pursuant to subdivision (iii)(II) of this subdivision (A), the receiver shall remit the same to the association as promptly as practicable.

- (IV) If the association or receiver, on the association's behalf, within 60 days of the election date, pays the unpaid premiums due for periods both before and after the election date that relate to policies or annuities covered, in whole or in part, by the association, the reinsurer shall not be entitled to terminate the reinsurance contracts for failure to pay premium insofar as the reinsurance contracts relate to policies or annuities covered, in whole or in part, by the association, and shall not be entitled to set off any unpaid amounts due under other contracts, or unpaid amounts due from parties other than the association, against amounts due the association.
- (B) During the period from the date of the order of liquidation until the election date (or, if the election date does not occur, until 180 days after the date of the order of liquidation):
- (i)(I) Neither the association nor the reinsurer shall have any rights or obligations under reinsurance contracts that the association has the right to assume under subdivision (A) of this subdivision (10), whether for periods prior to or after the date of the order of liquidation; and
- (II) The reinsurer, the receiver, and the association shall, to the extent practicable, provide each other data and records reasonably requested;
- (ii) Provided that once the association has elected to assume a reinsurance contract, the parties' rights and obligations shall be governed by subdivision (A) of this subdivision (10).
- (C) If the association does not elect to assume a reinsurance contract by the election date pursuant to subdivision (A) of this subdivision (10), the association shall have no rights or obligations, in each case for periods both before and after the date of the order of liquidation, with respect to the reinsurance contract.
- (D) When policies or annuities, or covered obligations with respect thereto, are transferred to an assuming insurer, reinsurance on the policies or annuities may also be transferred by the association, in the case of contracts assumed under subdivision (A) of this subdivision (10), subject to the following:
- (i) Unless the reinsurer and the assuming insurer agree otherwise, the reinsurance contract transferred shall not cover any new policies of insurance or annuities in addition to those transferred;
- (ii) The obligations described in subdivision (A) of this subdivision (10) shall no longer apply with respect to matters arising after the

effective date of the transfer; and

- (iii) Notice shall be given in writing, return receipt requested, by the transferring party to the affected reinsurer not less than 30 days prior to the effective date of the transfer.
- (E) The provisions of this subdivision (10) shall supersede the provisions of any law or of any affected reinsurance contract that provides for or requires any payment of reinsurance proceeds, on account of losses or events that occur in periods after the date of the order of liquidation, to the receiver of the insolvent insurer or any other person. The receiver shall remain entitled to any amounts payable by the reinsurer under the reinsurance contracts with respect to losses or events that occur in periods prior to the date of the order of liquidation, subject to applicable setoff provisions.
- (F) Except as otherwise provided in this section, nothing in this subdivision (10) shall alter or modify the terms and conditions of any reinsurance contract. Nothing in this section shall abrogate or limit any rights of any reinsurer to claim that it is entitled to rescind a reinsurance contract. Nothing in this section shall give a policyholder or beneficiary an independent cause of action against a reinsurer that is not otherwise set forth in the reinsurance contract. Nothing in this section shall limit or affect the association's rights as a creditor of the estate against the assets of the estate. Nothing in this section shall apply to reinsurance agreements covering property or casualty risks.

Twelfth: By adding Sec. 7e to read as follows:

Sec. 7e. CONFORMING AMENDMENTS

The legislative council, when codifying the amendments enacted by this act to chapter 112 of Title 8, Vermont Statutes Annotated, shall also amend chapter 112 as follows:

- (1) In 8 V.S.A. §§ 4158(3), (5) and (9), 4159, 4161(1) and (4), 4164, and 4169, by striking the word "impaired" wherever it appears and inserting in lieu thereof the words "impaired or insolvent"; and
- (2) In 8 V.S.A. §§ 4152, 4161(1)(C), and 4162, by striking out the word "impairment" wherever it appears and inserting in lieu thereof the words "impairment or insolvency."

<u>Thirteenth</u>: By adding Sec. 7f to read as follows:

Sec. 7f. 8 V.S.A. § 8204 is amended to read:

§ 8204. ASSUMPTION, TRANSFER AND NOTICE REQUIREMENTS

(a) The Except as provided in, and subject to subsection 8207(d) of this - 2050 -

title, the transferring insurer shall provide or cause to be provided to each policyholder a notice of transfer by first-class mail, addressed to the policyholder's last known address or to the address to which premium notices or other policy documents are sent or, with respect to home service business, by personal delivery with receipt acknowledged by the policyholder. A notice of transfer shall also be sent to the transferring insurer's agents or brokers of record on the affected policies.

* * *

(j) The Except as provided in, and subject to subsection 8207(d) of this title, the commissioner may modify the notice requirements of this chapter if the commissioner determines that the transfer is between affiliates or that the transfer is not contemplated within the purposes of this chapter.

Fourteenth: By adding Sec. 7g to read as follows:

Sec. 7g. 8 V.S.A. § 8207(d) is amended to read:

(d) In the case of policyholders who do not reside in this state, and where the insurance regulatory authority in such other state has approved or intends to approve the notice requirements and other policyholder rights with respect such policyholders, the commissioner shall defer to the decisions of such other insurance regulatory authority. In the case of policyholders who do not reside in this state, and where the insurance regulatory authority in such other state has not established an obligation to file forms used by an insurer in a transaction under this subchapter, the commissioner may modify notice requirements and other policyholder rights when in his or her judgment it appears that the interests of the policyholders and insurers are best served by the exercise of such discretion. Factors to be considered in making this determination shall include the following:

* * *

<u>Fifteenth</u>: By striking out Sec. 8 in its entirety and by inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 8. 8 V.S.A. § 4800(4) is added to read:

(4) In order to assist in the performance of the commissioner's duties under this chapter, the commissioner may:

(A) contract with nongovernmental entities, including the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) or any affiliates or subsidiaries that the NAIC oversees, to perform any ministerial functions, including the collection of fees, and the collection of system charges related to producer licensing or to any other activities which require a license under this chapter that the commissioner and the nongovernmental entity may deem

appropriate;

- (B) participate, in whole or in part, with the NAIC, or any affiliates or subsidiaries the NAIC oversees, in a centralized producer license registry to effect the licensure and appointment of producers and other persons required to be licensed under this chapter;
- (C) adopt by rule any uniform standards and procedures as are necessary to participate in a centralized registry. Such rules may include the central collection of all fees and system charges for license or appointments that are processed through the registry, and the establishment of uniform license and appointment renewal dates;
- (D) require persons engaged in activities which require a license under this chapter to make any filings with the department in a digital, electronic manner approved by the commissioner for applications, renewal, amendments, notifications, reporting, appointments, terminations, the payment of fees and system charges, and such other activities relating to licensure under this chapter as the commissioner may require, subject to such hardship circumstances demonstrated by the applicant or licensee which the commissioner deems appropriate for the utilization of the central registry in a nondigital and nonelectronic manner; and
- (E)(i) authorize the centralized producer license registry to collect fingerprints on behalf of the commissioner in order to receive or conduct criminal history background checks;
- (ii) use the centralized producer license registry as a channeling agent for requesting information from and distributing information to the U.S. Department of Justice or any governmental agency, in order to reduce the points of contact which the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) or the commissioner may have to maintain for purposes of this subsection; and
- (iii) require persons engaged in activities that require a license under this chapter to submit fingerprints, and the commissioner may utilize the services of the centralized producer license registry to process the fingerprints and to submit the fingerprints to the FBI, the Vermont state police, or any equivalent state or federal law enforcement agency for the purpose of conducting a criminal history background check. The licensee or applicant shall pay the cost of such criminal history background check, including any charges imposed by the centralized producer licensing system.

Sixteenth: By adding a Sec. 9a to read as follows:

Sec. 9a. REPEAL

8 V.S.A. § 4807(b) (surplus lines broker; requirement of one year's

experience) is repealed.

<u>Seventeenth</u>: By striking out Sec. 24 in its entirety and by inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 24. 8 V.S.A. § 4081 is amended to read:

§ 4081. BLANKET HEALTH INSURANCE

- (a) Blanket health insurance is hereby declared to be that form of health insurance which is supplemental to comprehensive health insurance, or which provides coverage other than the payment of all or a portion of the cost of health care services or products, and covering special groups of persons set forth as follows:
- (1) Under a policy or contract issued to any common carrier, which shall be deemed the policyholder, covering a group defined as all persons who may become passengers on such common carrier;
- (2) Under a policy or contract issued to an employer, who shall be deemed the policyholder, covering any group of employees defined by reference to exceptional hazards incident to such employment;
- (3) Under a policy or contract issued to a college, school, or other institution of learning or to the head or principal thereof, who or which shall be deemed the policyholder, covering students or teachers;
- (4) Under a policy or contract issued in the name of any volunteer fire department, first aid, or other such volunteer group, which shall be deemed the policyholder, covering all of the members of such department or group <u>in</u> <u>connection with their department or group activities</u>; or
- (5) Under a policy or contract issued to any other substantially similar group which, in the discretion of the commissioner and after the prior approval by the commissioner of the group, may be subject to the issuance of a blanket health policy or contract.

<u>Eighteenth</u>: By striking out Sec. 25 in its entirety and by inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 25. 8 V.S.A. § 4082 is amended to read:

§ 4082. BLANKET INSURANCE; POLICY CONTENTS

1) (a) No such <u>blanket health insurance</u> policy shall contain any provision relative to notice of claim, proofs of loss, time of payment of claims, or time within which legal action must be brought upon the policy which, in the opinion of the commissioner, is less favorable to the persons insured than would be permitted by the provisions set forth in section 4065 of this title. An

individual application shall not be required from a person covered under a blanket health policy or contract, nor shall it be necessary for the insurer to furnish each person a certificate. All benefits under any blanket health policy shall, unless for hospital and physician service or surgical benefits, be payable to the person insured, or to his or her designated beneficiary or beneficiaries, or to his or her estate, except that if the person insured be a minor, such benefits may be made payable to his or her parent, guardian, or other person actually supporting him or her. Nothing contained in this section or section 4081 of this title shall be deemed to affect the legal liability of policyholders for the death of, or injury to, any such members of such group.

(b) No such blanket health insurance policy which provides coverage for the payment of all or a portion of the cost of health care services or products shall contain any provision not in compliance with a requirement of this title, or a rule adopted pursuant to this title applicable to health insurance, other than those requirements applicable to nongroup health insurance or small group health insurance. The commissioner may waive the application to a blanket insurance policy of one or more of the health insurance requirements of this title, or a rule adopted pursuant to this title, if such requirement is not relevant to the types of risks and duration of risks insured against in such blanket insurance policy.

Nineteenth: By adding Sec. 26a to read as follows:

Sec. 26a. Sec. 51(h) of No. 61 of the Acts of 2009 is amended to read:

(h) The summary disclosure form required by 18 V.S.A. § 9418c(b), shall be included in all contracts entered into or renewed renegotiated on or after July 1, 2009, and shall be provided for all other existing contracts no later than July 1, 2014.

Twentieth: By adding Sec. 28a to read as follows:

Sec. 28a. 32 V.S.A. § 8557(b) is added to read:

(b) The executive director of the division of fire safety shall, at the end of each fiscal quarter, prepare a comprehensive written report on the status of training programs and expenditures to date. The report shall be submitted to the commissioner of public safety, the chairperson of the legislative joint fiscal committee when the legislature is not in session and the chairperson of the house appropriations committee when the legislature is in session. The department of public safety shall continue to provide budgeting, accounting and administrative support to the Vermont division of fire safety as such was originally described in Sec. 98 of Act No. 245 of the Acts of 1992.

Twenty-first: In Sec. 29, by striking out subsection (a) in its entirety and by

inserting in lieu thereof the following:

- (a) This act shall take effect on July 1, 2010, except that this section, Secs. 16 through 23 (captive insurance companies), 26a (fair contract standards; summary disclosure form), and 27 (health information technology assessment) shall take effect on passage.
- (b) Sec. 4 (registered agent for financial institutions) shall take effect on October 1, 2010.

and by relettering the remaining subsections to be alphabetically correct

(Committee vote: 11-0-0)

(For text see Senate Journal 2/4/10)

Rep. Masland of Thetford, for the Committee on **Ways and Means,** recommends the bill ought to pass when amended as recommended by the Committee on **Commerce and Economic Development.**

(Committee Vote: 10-0-1)

S. 292

An act relating to term probation, the right to bail, medical care of inmates, and a reduction in the number of nonviolent prisoners, probationers, and detainees

- **Rep. Myers of Essex,** for the Committee on Corrections and Institutions, recommends that the House propose to the Senate that the bill be amended by striking all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:
- Sec. 1. PROBATION; LEGISLATIVE FINDINGS AND INTENT
- (a) It is the intent of the general assembly that term probation be the standard, the default, for misdemeanors and nonviolent felonies and that the exception in the law that allows a court to deviate from this standard in the interest of justice should be used judiciously and sparingly.
- (b) Similarly, it is the intent of the general assembly that administrative probation be the standard, the default, for qualifying offenses for which probation is ordered and that the exception in the law that allows a court to deviate from this standard in the interest of justice should be used judiciously and sparingly.
- Sec. 2. OFFENDERS WITH SERIOUS FUNCTIONAL IMPAIRMENT; LEGISLATIVE FINDING

The general assembly finds that successful community discharge for

offenders with serious functional impairment requires community planning with appropriate departments of the agency of human services and community organizations, including law enforcement, designated agencies, and housing providers and that the state interagency team and local interagency teams for persons with serious functional impairment offer the best model for such planning.

Sec. 3. 13 V.S.A. § 5411a is amended to read:

§ 5411a. ELECTRONIC POSTING OF THE SEX OFFENDER REGISTRY

- (a) Notwithstanding sections 2056a-2056e of Title 20, the department shall electronically post information on the Internet in accordance with subsection (b) of this section regarding the following sex offenders, upon their release from confinement:
 - (1) Sex offenders who have been convicted of:

* * *

(a)(1). (M) an attempt to commit any offense listed in this subdivision

* * *

(b) The department shall electronically post the following information on sex offenders designated in subsection (a) of this section:

* * *

(6) <u>except as provided in subsection (1) of this section,</u> the offender's address or, if the offender does not have a fixed address, other information about where the offender habitually lives, if:

* * *

(I) A sex offender's street address shall not be posted electronically if the offender has a developmental disability, receives funding from the department of disabilities, aging, and independent living (DAIL) for 24-hour supervision and treatment, and resides in a residence that is equipped with alarms. However, this information shall be otherwise available pursuant to this section. An agency designated pursuant to 18 V.S.A. § 8907 to provide mental health and developmental disability services (DA), or a specialized service agency (SSA) operating under an agreement entered into pursuant to 18 V.S.A. § 8912 which is providing supervision for the offender shall immediately notify the administrator of the sex offender registry and local law enforcement if the individual's level of supervision is decreased from 24 hours or if the offender leaves his or her residence without authorization, and thereafter this subsection shall cease to apply to that offender. If after notice and hearing, the

commissioner of DAIL finds that the DA or SSA has failed to notify the administrator of the sex offender registry and local law enforcement of a decrease from 24-hour supervision or absence without authorization by the offender within 24 hours of the change in status, the commissioner may impose an administrative penalty of not more than \$1,000.00 for each day of the violation. A DA or SSA shall have the right to a de novo appeal of a decision under this subsection pursuant to rule 75 of the Vermont rules of civil procedure.

Sec. 4 24 V.S.A. § 290(b) is amended to read:

(b) Full-time deputy sheriffs whose primary responsibility is transportation of prisoners and mentally ill persons shall be paid by the state of Vermont. The appointment of such deputies and their salary shall be approved by the governor, or his <u>or her</u> designee. The executive committee of the Vermont sheriffs association and the executive director of the department of state's attorneys and sheriffs shall jointly have authority for the assignment of position locations in the counties of state-paid deputy sheriffs and shall review the county location assignments periodically for efficient use of resources.

Sec. 5. 28 V.S.A. § 301 is amended to read:

§ 301. SUMMONS OR ARREST OF PROBATIONER

* * *

- (4) Detention pending hearing for probationer. Pending arraignment for any charge of violation, the probationer shall continue to be detained at a correctional facility. Thereafter, the court may release the probationer pursuant to section 7554 of Title 13 13 V.S.A. § 7554. There shall be no right to bail or release, unless the person is on probation for a nonviolent misdemeanor or nonviolent felony and the probation violation did not constitute a new crime. For purposes of this subdivision:
- (A) "Nonviolent felony" means a felony offense which is not a listed crime as defined in 13 V.S.A. § 5301(7) or an offense involving sexual exploitation of children in violation of chapter 64 of Title 13.
- (B) "Nonviolent misdemeanor" means a misdemeanor offense which is not a listed crime as defined in 13 V.S.A. § 5301(7) or an offense involving sexual exploitation of children in violation of chapter 64 of Title 13 or 13 V.S.A. § 1030.
- Sec. 6. 28 V.S.A. § 801(e) and (f) are added to read:
- (e) Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, an offender who is admitted to a correctional facility while under the medical care of a licensed physician, a licensed advanced practice registered nurse, or a licensed nurse

practitioner and who is taking medication at the time of admission pursuant to a valid prescription as verified by the inmate's pharmacy of record, primary care provider, other licensed care provider, or as verified by the Vermont prescription monitoring system or other prescription monitoring or information system shall be entitled to continue that medication and to be provided that medication by the department pending an evaluation by a licensed physician, a licensed physician's assistant, a licensed nurse practitioner, or a licensed advanced practice registered nurse. However, the department may defer provision of medication in accordance with this subsection if, in the clinical judgment of a licensed physician, a physician's assistant, a nurse practitioner, or an advanced practice registered nurse, it is not in the inmate's best interest to continue the medication at that time. The licensed practitioner who makes the clinical judgment shall enter the reason for the discontinuance into the inmate's permanent medical record. It is not the intent of the general assembly that this subsection shall create a new or additional private right of action.

(f) Any contract between the department and a provider of physical or mental health services shall establish policies and procedures for continuation and provision of medication at the time of admission and thereafter, as determined by an appropriate evaluation, which will protect the mental and physical health of inmates.

Sec. 7. 28 V.S.A. § 808(a) is amended to read:

§ 808. FURLOUGHS GRANTED TO INMATES

- (a) The department may extend the limits of the place of confinement of an inmate at any correctional facility if the inmate agrees to comply with such conditions of supervision the department, in its sole discretion, deems appropriate for that inmate's furlough. The department may authorize furlough for any of the following reasons:
 - (1) To visit a critically ill relative; or.
 - (2) To attend a funeral of a relative; or.
 - (3) To obtain medical services; or.
 - (4) To contact prospective employers; or.
 - (5) To secure a suitable residence for use upon discharge; or.
- (6) To continue the process of reintegration initiated in a correctional facility. The inmate may be placed in a program of conditional reentry status by the department upon the inmate's completion of the minimum term of sentence. While on conditional reentry status, the inmate shall be required to participate in programs and activities that hold the inmate accountable to victims and the community pursuant to section 2a of this title; or.

- (7) When recommended by the department and ordered by a court.
- (A) Treatment furlough. The inmate may be sentenced to serve a term of imprisonment but placed by a court on furlough to participate in such programs administered by the department in the community that reduce the offender's risk to reoffend or that provide reparation to the community in the form of supervised work activities; or
- (B)(i) Home confinement furlough. The inmate may be sentenced to serve a term of imprisonment but placed by a court on home confinement furlough that restricts the defendant to a preapproved place of residence continuously, except for authorized absences, enforced by appropriate means of supervision, including electronic monitoring and other conditions such as limitations on alcohol, visitors, and access to firearms imposed by the court or the department or both. A sentence to home confinement furlough shall not exceed a total of 180 days and shall require the defendant:
- (I) to remain at a preapproved residence at all times except for scheduled and preapproved absences for work, school, treatment, attorney appointments, court appearances, and other obligations as the court may order; or
- (II) to remain at a preapproved residence 24 hours a day on lock-down status except for medical appointments and court appearances.
- (ii) In determining whether a home confinement furlough sentence is appropriate and whether a place of residence is suitable for such a sentence, the court shall consider:
- (I) the nature of the offense with which the defendant was charged and the nature of the offense with which the defendant was convicted;
- (II) the defendant's criminal history record, history of violence, medical and mental health needs, history of supervision, and risk of flight; and
- (III) any risk or undue burden to other persons who reside at the proposed residence or risk to third parties or to public safety that may result from such placement.

* * *

Sec. 8. 28 V.S.A. § 808(h) is added to read:

(h) While appropriate community housing is an important consideration in release of inmates, the department of corrections shall not use lack of housing as the sole factor in denying furlough to inmates who have served at least their minimum sentence for a nonviolent misdemeanor or nonviolent felony provided that public safety and the best interests of the inmate will be served

by reentering the community on furlough.

Sec. 9. Sec. 49 of No. 1 of the Acts of 2009 is amended to read:

Sec. 49. AUDIT OF THE STATE'S SEXUAL ABUSE RESPONSE SYSTEM

- (a) On or before November 15, 2011, and every five years thereafter, the auditor of accounts shall submit to the house and senate committees on judiciary, the house committees on corrections and institutions, on appropriations, on education, and on human services, and the senate committee on health and welfare an independent audit which assesses the status of the state's sexual abuse response system, including prevention, criminal investigations, presentence investigations and sentencing of offenders, supervision and treatment of offenders, victim and family assistance and treatment, and training for those working in the system.
- (b) The audit shall be conducted in consultation with the center for the prevention and treatment of sexual abuse.

The auditor of accounts and the Vermont network against domestic and sexual violence shall collaborate as to the best approach to conducting an audit of the state's sexual abuse response system while protecting confidentiality of victims and shall report their recommendations to the senate and house committees on judiciary no later than February 1, 2011.

Sec. 10. REINTEGRATION INTO THE COMMUNITY FROM THE CUSTODY OF THE DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS

(a) For purposes of this section:

- (1) "Nonviolent felony" means a felony offense which is not a listed crime as defined in 13 V.S.A. § 5301(7) or an offense involving sexual exploitation of children in violation of chapter 64 of Title 13.
- (2) "Nonviolent misdemeanor" means a misdemeanor offense which is not a listed crime as defined in 13 V.S.A. § 5301(7) an offense involving sexual exploitation of children in violation of chapter 64 of Title 13 or 13 V.S.A. § 1030.
- (b) The department of corrections shall request that the court discharge from probation offenders who on July 1, 2010:
- (1) have served at least two years of an unlimited term of probation for a nonviolent misdemeanor and have completed any court-ordered services or programming designed to reduce the risk of recidivism; and
- (2) have less than six months of term probation remaining for a nonviolent misdemeanor or a nonviolent felony, except those who are on

probation pursuant to 23 V.S.A. § 1210(d) and who have completed any courtordered services or programming designed to reduce the risk of recidivism.

- (c) During the first three months of the fiscal year, pursuant to 28 V.S.A. § 808 including subsection 808(h), the department of corrections shall release to furlough inmates who on July 1, 2010, are incarcerated for nonviolent misdemeanors and nonviolent felonies, except those who are serving a sentence pursuant to 23 V.S.A. § 1210(d) who have served at least their minimum sentence and who:
 - (1) have not been released because of lack of housing; and
- (2) have completed or are not required to complete a program designed to ensure successful reintegration into the community.
- (d) Consistent with subdivisions (1) and (3) of Sec. 29 of H.792 of 2010, a portion of the money saved through implementation of this section shall be used to provide grants to community justice centers and similar programs to support offenders who are released pursuant to subsection (c) of this section to reintegrate into the community and to community providers for transitional beds, support services, and residential treatment services for offenders reentering the community. It is the intent of the general assembly that these grants shall be paid for from the amounts appropriated to the department of corrections and prior to actually realizing the savings from the provisions of this section. Support for offenders released pursuant to subsection (c) of this section may include helping them to seek employment, pursue an education, or engage in community service while they are on furlough. As appropriate, the department shall facilitate the offenders' engagement in such meaningful endeavors by removing barriers that impede offenders' participation in these activities. This may include removing unnecessary driving restrictions and changing workday-timed probation appointments and programs that inhibit regular employment.
- (e) Offenders who are discharged from probation or released from incarceration pursuant to this section shall be eligible to continue voluntary attendance at the community high school of Vermont.
- (f) In his or her monthly reports to the corrections oversight committee, the commissioner of corrections shall report on progress made in implementing subsections (b) and (c) of this section as well as in reductions in the number of detainees realized pursuant to Sec. 11 of this act.

Sec. 11. REDUCTION IN NUMBER OF PERSONS DETAINED

(a) The general assembly finds that the number of persons detained in Vermont's correctional system is rising. The average number of detainees has

been reported by the department of corrections as follows:

- (1) 336 for fiscal year 2008.
- (2) 370 for fiscal year 2009.
- (3) 402 for the first six months of fiscal year 2010.
- (b) The court administrator, the administrative judge of the trial courts, the commissioner of the department of corrections, the executive director of the department of state's attorneys and sheriffs, and the defender general shall work cooperatively to reduce, to the extent possible, the average daily number of incarcerated detainees to 300 persons or less and to maintain the average daily number at this level. The group shall attempt to reach this level by January 1, 2011.
- (c) Improvement in and greater implementation of existing strategies such as term probation, administrative probation, graduated sanctions, alternative sentences, home detention, and electronic monitoring shall be considered, in addition to new approaches and best practices employed in other states. Consideration shall be given to victim and community safety.

Sec. 12. STRATEGIES TO REDUCE NUMBER OF PEOPLE IN CUSTODY OF COMMISSIONER OF CORRECTIONS; REPORT

- (a) The commissioner of corrections, the administrative judge of the trial courts, the court administrator, the executive director of the department of state's attorneys and sheriffs, and the defender general shall collaborate on strategies to reduce the number of people entering the custody of the commissioner of corrections and to minimize the time served of those who do enter the commissioner's custody, consistent with public safety.
- (b) On or before March 15, 2011, the group described in subsection (a) of this section shall jointly report to the senate and house committees on judiciary, the senate committee on institutions, and the house committee on corrections and institutions on potential strategies including, but not limited to, the following:
- (1) methods for increasing compliance with Sec. 1 of this act regarding term and administrative probation.
- (2) strategies employed and success in reducing the average daily detainee population to 300 persons by January 1, 2011.
- (3) a plan to coordinate efficient scheduling of court hearings and transportation of persons in the custody of the commissioner of corrections.
- Sec. 13. OFFICE OF ALCOHOL AND DRUG ABUSE PROGRAMS; SUPERVISED BEDS; PUBLIC INEBRIATE SCREENING TOOL

- (a) The office of alcohol and drug abuse programs shall develop a uniform screening tool which can be used to determine whether or not an inebriated person is incapacitated or in need of medical or other treatment or some combination of these. The screening tool shall be used by public inebriate screeners under contract with the office. To the extent practicable, the tool shall be based on evidence-based practices and standard emergency department policies and procedures.
- (b) The office of alcohol and drug abuse programs shall develop supervised two-bed units for location of incapacitated persons taken into custody pursuant to 33 V.S.A. § 708. Units shall be developed as funding is available and placed in counties in which no bed space for incapacitated persons exists. Priority shall be based on population density and on demonstrated collaboration between stakeholders.
- Sec. 14. Sec. 22(a) of No. 179 of the Acts of the 2007 Adj. Sess. (2008) is amended to read:
- (a) Secs. 11 and 12 of this act shall take effect on July 1, 2011 <u>2012</u>.
- Sec. 15. 24 V.S.A. § 1940(c) is amended to read:
- (c) A specialized investigative unit grants board is created which shall be comprised of the attorney general, the secretary of administration, the executive director of the department of state's attorneys, the commissioner of the department of public safety, the commissioner of the department of children and families, a representative of the Vermont sheriffs' association, a representative of the Vermont association of chiefs of police, the executive director of the center for crime victim services, and the executive director of the Vermont League of Cities and Towns, Inc. Specialized investigative units organized and operating under this section for the investigation of sex crimes, child abuse, elder abuse, domestic violence, or crimes against those with physical or developmental disabilities may apply to the board for a grant or grants covering the costs of salaries and employee benefits to be expended during a given year for the performance of unit duties as well as unit operating costs for rent, utilities, equipment, training, and supplies. Grants under this section shall be approved by a majority of the entire board and shall not exceed 50 percent of the yearly salary and employee benefit costs of the unit. Preference shall be given to grant applications which include the participation of the department of public safety, the department for children and families, sheriffs' departments, community victims' advocacy organizations, and municipalities within the region.

Sec. 16. EFFECTIVE DATE

This act shall take effect on July 1, 2010.

(Committee vote: 11-0-0)

(For text see Senate Journal 3/16/ - 3/17/10)

S. 297

An act relating to miscellaneous changes to education law

Rep. Mook of Bennington, for the Committee on Education, recommends that the House propose to the Senate that the bill be amended by striking all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

* * * Distance Learning; Out-of-State Programs * * *

Sec. 1. 16 V.S.A. § 166(b)(6) is amended to read:

- Vermont which that offers a distance learning program of elementary or secondary education through correspondence, electronic mail, satellite communication, or other means and which that, because of its structure, does not meet some or all the rules of the state board for approved independent schools. In order to be approved under this subdivision, a school shall meet the standards adopted by rule of the state board for approved independent schools which that can be applied to the applicant school and any other standards or rules adopted by the state board regarding these types of schools. A school approved under this subdivision shall not be eligible to receive tuition payments from public school districts under chapter 21 of this title. However, a school district may enter into a contract or contracts with a school approved under this subdivision for provisions of some education services for its students.
- Sec. 2. 16 V.S.A. § 563(32) is added to read:
- (32) May enter into a contract or contracts with a school offering a distance learning program that is approved by one or more accrediting agencies recognized by the U.S. Department of Education or is approved in Vermont pursuant to subdivision 166(b)(6) of this title.
 - * * * Supervisory Unions; Special Education; Early Intervention * * *
- Sec. 3. 16 V.S.A. § 261a(6) is amended to read:
- (6) provide or, if agreed upon by unanimous vote at a supervisory union meeting, coordinate provision of the following educational services on behalf of member districts:

(A) special education;

- (B) except as provided in section 144b of this title, compensatory and remedial services; and
- (C) other services as directed by the state board and local boards provide special education services on behalf of member districts and, except as provided in section 144b of this title, compensatory and remedial services; provided, however, the supervisory union may obtain a waiver from the commissioner based on a demonstration that any of the services would be provided more efficiently and effectively in another manner; and
- (B) engage in negotiations with special education employees pursuant to chapter 57 of this title and chapter 22 of Title 21, as appropriate, at the supervisory union level, provided that contract terms may vary by district;

Sec. 4. TRANSITION

Each supervisory union shall provide for any transition of employment of special education staff by member districts to employment by the supervisory union, pursuant to Sec. 3 of this act, 16 V.S.A. § 261a(6), by:

- (1) providing that the supervisory union assumes all obligations of each existing collective bargaining agreement in effect between the member districts and their special education employees until the agreement's expiration, subject to employee compliance with performance standards and any lawful reduction in force, layoff, nonrenewal, or dismissal;
- (2) providing, in the absence of an existing recognized representative of its employees, for the immediate and voluntary recognition by the supervisory union of the recognized representatives of the employees of the member districts as the recognized representatives of the employees of the supervisory union;
- (3) ensuring that no nonprobationary employee of a member district shall be considered a probationary employee upon transition to the supervisory union; and
- (4) containing an agreement with the recognized representatives of the employees of the member districts that is effective on the day the supervisory union assumes obligations of existing agreements regarding how the supervisory union, prior to reaching its first collective bargaining agreement with its special education employees, will address issues of seniority, reduction in force, layoff, and recall.
- Sec. 5. SPECIAL EDUCATION; BEST PRACTICES; MATERIALS AND GUIDELINES

On or before July 1, 2011, the department of education, in collaboration with the Vermont Superintendents Association, Vermont Principals' Association, and the Vermont Council of Special Education Administrators, shall:

- (1) identify and publish on its website Internet links to current information regarding best practices for implementing:
- (A) tiered levels of educational support, including positive behavioral supports and response to intervention; and
 - (B) co-teaching and differentiated instruction.
- (2) develop and publish on its website guidelines to assist individualized education plan ("IEP") team decision-making for necessary services, paraeducator services, and placement.

Sec. 6. TRAINING; EDUCATION SERVICES AGENCIES

On or before July 1, 2011, the department of education, working with education service agencies ("ESAs") and other external partners, shall develop training modules and arrange for the availability of ongoing training to:

- (1) encourage co-teaching positive behavioral supports; differentiated instruction, and response to intervention in Vermont public schools;
- (3) assist IEP teams to implement the decision-making guidelines developed pursuant to Sec. 5(2) of this act.

Sec. 7. LOCAL EDUCATION AGENCIES; REPRESENTATIVES; TRAINING

- (a) On or before July 1, 2011, the department of education shall develop training materials for local education agency ("LEA") representatives on IEP teams regarding roles, requirements, prerequisite knowledge, and procedures for making service and placement decisions.
- (b) On or before July 1, 2011, and no less than annually thereafter, each superintendent shall arrange for each LEA representative within the supervisory union to receive training pursuant to the materials prepared under subsection (a) of this section.

Sec. 8. SPECIAL EDUCATION; FUNDING MECHANISMS

On or before July 1, 2012, the joint fiscal office, in consultation with the department of education, shall examine block grants and other special education funding mechanisms used by other states, shall evaluate which mechanisms would be effective in Vermont, and shall provide its conclusions and recommendations to the house and senate committees on education and on

appropriations, the house committee on ways and means, and the senate committee on finance.

- * * * Designation of Public and Approved Independent High Schools * * *
- Sec. 9. 16 V.S.A. § 827 is amended to read:
- § 827. DESIGNATION OF A PUBLIC HIGH SCHOOL OR AN APPROVED INDEPENDENT HIGH SCHOOL AS THE SOLE PUBLIC HIGH SCHOOL OF A SCHOOL DISTRICT

* * *

- (d) The school board may pay tuition to another approved high school as requested by the parent or legal guardian if in its judgment that will best serve the interests of the pupil. Its decision shall be final in regard to the institution the pupil may attend. If the board approves the parent's request, the board shall pay tuition for the pupil in an amount not to exceed the least of:
- (1) The statewide average announced tuition of Vermont union high schools, provided the parent shall pay the balance of the tuition charged by the nondesignated school.
- (2) The per-pupil tuition the district pays to the designated school in the year in which the pupil is enrolled in the nondesignated school, provided the parent shall pay the balance of the tuition charged by the nondesignated school.
- (3) The tuition charged by the approved nondesignated school in the year in which the pupil is enrolled.
- (e) Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary, the school districts of Pawlet, Rupert, and Wells may designate a public high school located in New York as the public high school of the district pursuant to the provisions of this section.
- Sec. 10. 16 V.S.A. § 827(b) is amended to read:
- (b) Except as otherwise provided in this section, if the board of trustees or the school board of the designated school votes to accept this designation the school shall be regarded as a public school for tuition purposes under subsection 824(b) of this title and the and for special education and technical education purposes. The sending school district shall pay tuition to that school only, until such time as the sending school district or the designated school votes to rescind the designation.

* * * Driver Education * * *

Sec. 11. 16 V.S.A. § 1045 is amended to read:

§ 1045. DRIVER TRAINING COURSE

- (a) A driver education and training course, approved by the department of education and the department of motor vehicles shall be made available to pupils whose parent or guardian is a resident of Vermont and who have reached their fifteenth 15th birthday and who are regularly enrolled in a public or independent high school approved by the state board.
- (b) After June 30, 1984, all driver education courses shall include a course of instruction, approved by the state board and the council on the effects of alcohol and drugs on driving.
- (c) All driver education courses shall include instruction on motor vehicle liability insurance and the motor vehicle financial responsibility laws of the state.

Sec. 12. DRIVER EDUCATION; RESTRUCTURING

- (a) The department of education, in consultation with the department of motor vehicles, the Vermont Driver and Traffic Safety Education Association, the Vermont Superintendents Association, and other interested entities, shall explore options for restructuring the delivery of driver education to Vermonters between the ages of 15 and 20, including consideration of:
- (1) the development, implementation, evaluation, and enforcement of standards for teen driver education programs and instructors;
- (2) the development and public dissemination of information regarding teen driver education issues;
- (3) the creation of an advisory board to oversee all teen driver education programs, program instructors, and public communication efforts; and
- (4) available funding sources for driver education programs and advisory board responsibilities.
- (b) On or before January 15, 2011, the department shall present a detailed restructuring proposal to the house and senate committees on education and on transportation.
 - * * * School Food Programs; Supervisory Unions * * *

Sec. 13. 16 V.S.A. § 1262a is amended to read:

§ 1262a. AWARD OF GRANTS

(a) The state board of education may, from funds appropriated for this subsection to the department of education, award grants to school boards which supervisory unions that establish and operate food programs, provided the amount of any grant shall not be more than the amount necessary, in addition to the charge made for the meal and any reimbursement from federal

funds, to pay the actual cost of the meal.

- The state board may, from funds available to the department of education for this subsection, award grants to school districts which supervisory unions that need to initiate or expand food programs in order to meet the requirements of section 1264 of this title and which that seek assistance in meeting the cost of initiation or expansion. The amount of the grants shall be limited to seventy-five percent of the cost deemed necessary by the commissioner to construct, renovate or acquire additional facilities and equipment to provide lunches to all pupils, and shall be reduced by the amount of funds available from federal or other sources, including those funds available under section 3448 of this title. The state board, upon recommendation of the commissioner, shall direct school districts supervisory unions seeking grants under this section to share facilities and equipment within the supervisory union and with other supervisory unions for the provision of lunches wherever more efficient and effective operation of food programs can be expected to result.
- (c) On a quarterly basis, from state funds appropriated to the department of education for this subsection, the state board shall award to each school district supervisory unions a sum equal to the amount that would have been the student share of the cost of all breakfasts actually provided in the district during the previous quarter to students eligible for a reduced price breakfast under the federal school breakfast program.

Sec. 14. 16 V.S.A. § 1262b is amended to read:

§ 1262b. REGULATIONS

The state board of education shall adopt regulations governing grants under section 1262a of this title. Such regulations shall provide for grants to local school programs supervisory unions from state funds in accordance with guidelines of food programs as defined under federal law. The state board of education may adopt such other rules and regulations as are necessary to carry out the provisions of this subchapter.

Sec. 15. 16 V.S.A. § 1264 is amended to read:

§ 1264. FOOD PROGRAM

(a) Each school board actually operating a public school shall cause to operate within the school district supervisory union shall ensure that there is a food program which that makes available a school lunch, as provided in the National School Lunch Act as amended, and a school breakfast, as provided in the National Child Nutrition Act as amended, available to each attending pupil every school day in all public schools within the supervisory union. In the

event of an emergency, the school board a supervisory union may apply to the department for a temporary waiver of this daily operating requirement for one or more schools within the supervisory union. The commissioner shall grant the requested waiver if he or she finds that it is unduly difficult for the school district or schools to serve a school lunch or breakfast, or both, and if he or she finds that the school district supervisory union has exercised due diligence in its efforts to avoid the emergency situation which that gives rise to the need for the requested waiver. In no event shall the waiver extend for a period to exceed 20 school days.

(b) The state shall be responsible for the student share of the cost of breakfasts provided to all students eligible for a reduced price breakfast under the federal school breakfast program.

Sec. 16. 16 V.S.A. § 1265 is amended to read:

§ 1265. EXEMPTION; PUBLIC DISCUSSION

- (a) The school board of a school district which that wishes to be exempt from the provisions of section 1264 of this title may vote at a meeting warned and held for that purpose to exempt itself from the requirement to operate either the school lunch program or the school breakfast program, or both, for a period of one year.
- (b) If a school board is exempt from operating a breakfast or lunch program, annually it the school board shall conduct a discussion annually on whether to continue the exemption. The pending discussion shall be included on the agenda at a regular or special school board meeting publicly noticed in accordance with subsection 1 V.S.A. § 312(c) of Title 1, and citizens shall be provided an opportunity to participate in the discussion. The school board shall send a copy of the notice to the commissioner and to the superintendent of the supervisory union at least ten days prior to the meeting. Following the discussion, the school board shall vote on whether to continue the exemption for one additional year.
- (c) On or before <u>the</u> November 1, previous <u>prior</u> to the date on which an exemption voted under this section is due to expire, the commissioner shall notify the school board <u>boards</u> of the <u>affected school district and supervisory union</u> in writing that the exemption will expire.
- (d) Following a meeting held pursuant to subsection (b) of this section, the school board shall send a copy of the agenda and minutes to the commissioner and the superintendent of the supervisory union.
- (e) The commissioner may grant a supervisory union a waiver from duties required of it under this subchapter if the supervisory union demonstrates that

the duties would be performed more efficiently and effectively by individual school districts or in another manner.

* * * Technical Centers; Periodic Review * * *

Sec. 17. 16 V.S.A. § 1533(a) is amended to read:

(a) At least once in each period of five years, and in coordination with the Vermont advisory council on technical education, the <u>The</u> commissioner or his designee shall <u>arrange</u> for the Commission on <u>Career and Technical Institutions of the New England Association of Schools and Colleges to evaluate the effectiveness of each technical center in the state <u>according to the schedule established by that organization</u>. The state board by rule shall prescribe the method for conducting these evaluations.</u>

* * * Data Errors * * *

Sec. 18. 16 V.S.A. § 4030 is amended to read:

§ 4030. DATA SUBMISSION; CORRECTIONS

- (a) Upon discovering an error or change in data submitted to the commissioner for the purpose of determining payments to or from the education fund, a school district shall report the error or change to the commissioner as soon as possible. Any budget deficit or surplus due to the error or change shall be carried forward to the following year.
- (b) The commissioner shall use data submitted on or before January 15 prior to the fiscal year which begins the following July 1, in order to calculate the amounts due each school district for any fiscal year for the following:
 - (1) the adjusted education payments due under section 4011 of this title;
- (2) transportation aid due under Sec. 98 of Act No. 71 of 1998 section 4016 of this title; and
 - $\frac{(3)(2)}{(3)}$ the small school support grant due under section 4015 of this title.
- (c) The commissioner shall use data corrections regarding local education budget amounts submitted on or before June 15 prior to the fiscal year which begins the following July 1, in order to calculate the amounts due each school district education payments due under section 4027 4011 of this title. However, the commissioner may use data submitted after June 15 and prior to July 15 due to unusual or exceptional circumstances as determined by the commissioner.
- (d) The commissioner shall not use data corrected due to an error submitted following the deadlines to recalculate the equalized pupil ratio under subdivision 4001(3) of this title. The commissioner shall not adjust payments

to or from the education fund average daily membership counts if an error or change is reported more than three fiscal years following the date that the original data was due. Adjustments to payments to or from the education fund under this section shall be made on the earliest date possible after the fiscal year in which the error was reported, and in accordance with the schedules set forth in subsection 4028(a) of this title and section 5402 of Title 32, and after the necessary appropriation by the general assembly.

- (e) The board may adopt rules as necessary to implement the provisions of this section..
 - * * * Integrated Statewide Student Information System * * *
- Sec. 19. Sec. 3(3) of No. 38 of the Acts of 2009 is amended to read:
- (3) To the extent funds are available, begin phased implementation of the data system no later than January 1, 2010, to be complete in all districts in the state by January 1, 2017 2013.
 - * * * Secondary Completion; Postsecondary Aspirations * * *
- Sec. 20. ADVANCED PLACEMENT COURSES; DUAL ENROLLMENT AND OTHER POSTSECONDARY COURSES; POSTSECONDARY CREDIT

On or before January 15, 2011, each Vermont postsecondary institution that receives general fund or capital appropriations from the state shall consider and provide recommendations to the house and senate committees on education regarding ways in which it could improve secondary completion and postsecondary aspiration rates by awarding postsecondary academic credit for the successful completion of one or more of the following:

- (1) An advanced placement course at a Vermont secondary school and a score of 3 or higher on the advanced placement examination.
 - (2) A postsecondary-level course in a dual enrollment program.
- (3) A postsecondary-level course offered online or by correspondence with an accredited college or university.
 - * * * Blue Ribbon Tax Commission; Education Finance * * *

Sec. 21. EDUCATION FINANCE; BLUE RIBBON TAX COMMISSION

(a) To advance the purpose for which it was formed and any education-related purpose with which it is charged during the 2009-2010 biennium, the Blue Ribbon Tax Structure Commission, created in Sec. H.56 of No. 1 of the Acts of the Special Session of 2009, shall also examine and propose an appropriate balance between education funding from education property taxes

and education funding from the general fund and other sources and analyze and recommend alternative means of maintaining that balance. In fiscal year 2011, the balance will be 68.2 percent of education funding from education property tax revenues and 31.8 percent of education funding from the general fund and other education funding sources. In comparison, in fiscal year 2005 the balance was 60.8 percent and 39.2 percent respectively.

- (b) The commission shall report its analysis and recommendations to the house and senate committees on education and on appropriations, the house committee on ways and means, and the senate committee on finance on or before July 1, 2011.
 - * * * Effective Dates * * *

Sec. 22. EFFECTIVE DATES

- (a) Secs. 3 and 4 of this act shall take effect on July 1, 2012.
- (b) Sec. 10 of this act shall take effect on July 1, 2013.
- (c) Secs. 13 through 16 of this act shall take effect on passage and apply beginning in the 2011-2012 academic year.
 - (d) This section and all other section of this act shall take effect on passage.

(Committee vote: 10-0-1)

(For text see Senate Journal 3/23/10)

Favorable

S. 187

An act relating to municipal financial audits

Rep. Townsend of Randolph, for the Committee on **Government Operations**, recommends that the bill ought to pass in concurrence.

(Committee Vote: 9-0-2)

(For text see Senate Journal 2/2/10)

Senate Proposal of Amendment

H. 507

An act relating to fostering connections to success in guardianships

The Senate proposes to the House to amend the bill as follows:

<u>First</u>: Before Sec. 6, by striking out the heading "* * * Technical Corrections * * *"

<u>Second</u>: By striking out Sec. 8 in its entirety and inserting in lieu thereof a - 2073 -

new Sec. 8 to read as follows:

- Sec. 8. 33 V.S.A. § 5307(h) is added to read as follows:
- (h) The department shall provide information to relatives and others with a significant relationship with the child about options to take custody or participate in the care and placement of the child, about the advantages and disadvantages of the options, and about the range of available services and supports.

<u>Third</u>: By inserting a new section to be numbered Sec. 9 to read as follows:

Sec. 9. 14 V.S.A. § 2671 is amended to read:

§ 2671. VOLUNTARY GUARDIANSHIP

- (a) Any person of at least eighteen <u>18</u> years of age, who desires assistance with the management of his or her affairs, may file a petition with the probate court requesting the appointment of a guardian.
 - (b) The petition shall:
- (1) state that the petitioner is not mentally ill or mentally retarded understands the nature, extent, and consequences of the guardianship;

* * *

- (d) A petition for voluntary guardianship shall be granted if the court finds that:
 - (1) the petitioner is not mentally ill or mentally retarded; and
 - (2) the petitioner is uncoerced; and
- (3) the petitioner understands the nature, extent and consequences of the guardianship requested and the procedures for revoking the guardianship.
- (1) The court shall hold a hearing on the petition, with notice to the petitioner and the proposed guardian.
- (2) At the hearing, the court shall explain to the petitioner the nature, extent, and consequences of the proposed guardianship and determine if the petitioner agrees to the appointment of the named guardian.
- (3) At the hearing, the court shall explain to the petitioner the procedures for terminating the guardianship.
- (4) After the hearing, the court shall make findings on the following issues:
 - (A) whether the petitioner is uncoerced;
 - (B) whether the petitioner understands the nature, extent, and 2074 -

consequences of the proposed guardianship; and

- (C) whether the petitioner understands the procedures for terminating the guardianship.
- (e) <u>In its discretion, the The</u> court may order that the petitioner be evaluated by <u>a qualified mental health professional a person who has specific training and demonstrated competence to evaluate the petitioner</u>. The scope of the evaluation shall be limited to:
 - (1) whether the petitioner is mentally ill or mentally retarded; and
- (2) the capacity of the petitioner to understand understands the nature, extent and consequences of the guardianship requested and the procedures for revoking the guardianship.
- (f) If <u>after the hearing</u> the court finds that the petitioner <u>meets the criteria</u> set forth in subsection (d) of this section is uncoerced, understands the nature, extent and consequences of the proposed guardianship, and understands the <u>procedures for terminating the guardianship</u>, it shall enter judgment specifying the powers of the guardian as requested in the petition. <u>The court shall mail a copy of its order to the petitioner and the guardian</u>, and it shall attach to the <u>order a notification to the petitioner setting forth the procedures for terminating</u> the guardianship.
- (g) If the court finds that the petitioner does not meet the criteria set forth in subsection (d) of this section, it shall dismiss the petition; provided, however, that if the court finds that the petitioner is mentally ill or mentally retarded does not understand the nature, extent, and consequences of the guardianship and in the court's opinion requires assistance with the management of his or her personal or financial affairs, the court may treat the petition as if filed pursuant to section 3063 of this title.
- (h) The ward person under guardianship may, at any time, file a motion to revoke the guardianship. Upon receipt of the motion, the court shall give notice as provided by the rules of probate procedure. Unless the guardian files a motion pursuant to section 3063 of this title within ten days from the date of the notice, the court shall enter judgment revoking the guardianship and shall provide the ward and the guardian with a copy of the judgment.
- (i)(1) Any person interested in the welfare of the ward person under guardianship, as defined by section 3061 of this chapter, may petition the court where venue lies for termination of the guardianship. Grounds for termination of the guardianship shall be:
- (1)(A) failure to render an account after having been duly cited by the court;

- (2)(B) failure to perform an order or decree of the court;
- (3)(C) a finding that the guardian has become incapable of or unsuitable for exercising his <u>or her</u> powers; or
 - (4)(D) the death of the guardian.
- (2) The court may also consider termination of the guardianship on the court's own motion.
- (j) The guardian shall file an annual report with the appointing court on within 30 days of the anniversary date of appointment containing the information required by section 3076 of this title.
- (k) The court shall mail an annual notice on the anniversary date of the appointment of the guardian to the person under a guardianship setting forth the procedure for terminating the guardianship and the right of the person under guardianship to receive and review the annual reports filed by the guardian.
- (1) At the termination of a voluntary guardianship, the guardian shall render a final accounting as required by section 2921 of this title.
- (1)(m) The guardian shall not be paid any fees to which the guardian may be entitled from the estate of the ward person under guardianship until the annual reports or final accounting required by this section have been filed with the court.

and that after passage, the title of the bill be amended to read: "An act relating to voluntary guardianship and children in foster care"

(For text see House Journal 2/9 - 2/10/10)

H. 590

An act relating to mediation in foreclosure proceedings

The Senate proposes to the House to amend the bill by striking all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. Rule 80.1 of the Vermont Rules of Civil Procedure is amended to read:

RULE 80.1. FORECLOSURE OF MORTGAGES AND JUDGMENT LIENS

* * *

(b) Complaint; Process.

(1) Complaint. The complaint in an action for foreclosure shall set forth the name of the mortgager and mortgagee, the date of the mortgage deed, the description of the premises, the debt or claim secured by the mortgage, any attorney's fees claimed under an agreement in the mortgage or other instrument evidencing indebtedness, any assignment of the mortgage, the condition contained in the mortgage deed alleged to have been breached, the names of all parties in interest and, as to each party in interest, the date of record of the instrument upon which the interest is based, shall pray that defendants' equity of redemption in the premises be foreclosed and explain that the defendant or defendants must enter their appearance in order to receive notice of the foreclosure judgment which will set forth the amount of money they must deposit to redeem the premises and the period of time allowed them to deposit this amount. The plaintiff shall attach to the complaint copies of the original note and mortgage deed and proof of ownership thereof, including copies of all original endorsements and assignments of the note and mortgage deed. The plaintiff shall plead in its complaint that the originals are in the possession and control of the plaintiff or that the plaintiff is otherwise entitled to enforce the mortgage note pursuant to the Uniform Commercial Code. All parties in interest shall be joined as parties defendant. Failure to join any party in interest shall not invalidate the action nor any subsequent proceedings as to those joined. A claim for foreclosure in an action under this paragraph may not be joined with a claim for a deficiency except when a defendant in the answer has requested foreclosure pursuant to a power of sale in the mortgage.

* * *

Sec. 2. 12 V.S.A. § 4523(b) is amended to read:

(b) The plaintiff shall file a copy of the complaint, without supporting attachments, in the town clerk's office in each town where the mortgaged property is located. The clerk of the town shall minute on the margin of the record of the mortgage that a copy of foreclosure proceedings on the mortgage is filed. The filing shall be sufficient notice of the pendency of the action to all persons who acquire any interest or lien on the mortgaged premises between the dates of filing the copy of foreclosure and the recording of the final judgment in the proceedings. Without further notice or service, those persons shall be bound by the judgment entered in the cause and be foreclosed from all rights or equity in the premises as completely as though they had been parties in the original action.

Sec. 3. 12 V.S.A. § 4531a is amended to read:

§ 4531a. FORECLOSURE; POWER OF SALE

(a) When a power of sale is contained in a mortgage and the plaintiff in the foreclosure complaint, or the defendant in his or her answer requests a sale, the court may upon entry of judgment of foreclosure order that if the property is not redeemed within the time period allowed by the court, the property be sold

pursuant to such power and the court may further determine the time and manner of the sale. If a sale is ordered with respect to any property other than farmland or a dwelling house of two four units or less when currently occupied by the owner as his or her principal residence, the redemption period shall be eliminated or reduced by the court to no more than 30 days. If the property is not redeemed, the plaintiff shall thereupon execute the power of sale and do all things required by it or by the court. No sale of a dwelling house of two four units or less when currently occupied by the owner as his or her principal residence may take place within seven months of service of the foreclosure complaint, unless the court finds that the occupant is making waste of the property or the parties mutually agree after suit to a shorter period.

(b) When a power of sale is contained in a mortgage relating to any property except for a dwelling house of two four units or less that is occupied by the owner as a principal residence, or farmland, instead of a suit and decree of foreclosure, the mortgagee or assignee may, upon breach of mortgage condition, exercise the power of sale without first commencing a foreclosure action or obtaining a foreclosure decree, and may give notices and do all such acts as are authorized or required by the power, including the giving of a foreclosure deed upon the completion of the foreclosure sale; but no sale under and by virtue of a power of sale shall be valid and effectual to foreclose the mortgage unless the conditions of sections 4532 and 4533a of this title are complied with.

* * *

Sec. 4. 12 V.S.A. chapter 163, subchapter 9 is added to read:

Subchapter 9. Mediation in Foreclosure Actions

§ 4701. MEDIATION PROGRAM ESTABLISHED

- (a) This subchapter establishes a program to assure the availability of mediation and application of the federal Home Affordable Modification Program ("HAMP") requirements in actions for foreclosure of a mortgage on any dwelling house of four units or less that is occupied by the owner as a principal residence.
- (b) The requirements of this subchapter shall apply only to foreclosure actions involving loans that are subject to the federal HAMP guidelines.
- (c) To be qualified to act as a mediator under this subchapter, an individual shall be licensed to practice law in the state and shall be required to have taken a specialized, continuing legal education training course on foreclosure prevention or loss mitigation approved by the Vermont Bar Association.

§ 4702. OPPORTUNITY TO MEDIATE

- (a) In an action for foreclosure of a mortgage on any dwelling house of four units or less that is occupied by the owner as a principal residence, whenever the mortgagor enters an appearance in the case or requests mediation prior to four months after judgment is entered, the court shall refer the case to mediation pursuant to this subchapter, except that the court may:
- (1) for good cause, shorten the four-month period or thereafter decline to order mediation; or
- (2) decline to order mediation if the mortgagor requests mediation after judgment has been entered and the court determines that the mortgagor is attempting to delay the case, or the court may for good cause decline to order mediation if the mortgagor requests mediation after judgment has been entered.
- (b) Unless the mortgagee agrees otherwise, all mediation shall be completed prior to the expiration of the redemption period. The redemption period shall not be stayed on account of pending mediation.
- (c) In an action for foreclosure of a mortgage on any dwelling house of four units or less that is occupied by the owner as a principal residence, the mortgagee shall serve upon the mortgagor two copies of the notice described in subsection (d) of this section with the summons and complaint. The supreme court may by rule consolidate this notice with other foreclosure-related notices as long as the consolidation is consistent with the content and format of the notice under this subsection.
 - (d) The notice required by subsection (c) of this section shall:
 - (1) be on a form approved by the court administrator;
- (2) advise the homeowner of the homeowner's rights in foreclosure proceedings under this subchapter;
- (3) state the importance of participating in mediation even if the homeowner is currently communicating with the mortgagee or servicer;
 - (4) provide contact information for legal services; and
- (5) incorporate a form that can be used by the homeowner to request mediation from the court.
- (e) The court may, on motion of a party, find that the requirements of this subchapter have been met and that the parties are not required to participate in mediation under this subchapter if the mortgagee files a motion and establishes to the satisfaction of the court that it has complied with the applicable requirements of HAMP and supports its motion with sworn affidavits that:
- (1) include the calculations and inputs required by HAMP and employed by the mortgagee; and

(2) demonstrate that the mortgagee or servicer met with the mortgagor in person or via videoconferencing or made reasonable efforts to meet with the mortgagor in person.

§ 4703. MEDIATION

- (a) During all mediations under this subchapter:
- (1) the mortgagee shall use and consider available foreclosure prevention tools, including reinstatement, loan modification, forbearance, and short sale, and the calculations, assumptions, and forms established by the HAMP guidelines, including all HAMP-related "net present value" calculations in considering a loan modification conducted under this subchapter;
- (2) the mortgagee shall produce for the mortgagor and mediator documentation of its consideration of the options available in this subdivision and subdivision (1) of this subsection, including the data used in and the outcome of any HAMP-related "net present value" calculation; and
- (3) where the mortgagee claims that a pooling and servicing or other similar agreement prohibits modification, the mortgagee shall produce a copy of the agreement. All agreement documents shall be confidential and shall not be included in the mediator's report.
- (b) In all mediations under this subchapter, the mortgagor shall make a good faith effort to provide to the mediator 20 days prior to the first mediation, or within a time determined by the mediator to be appropriate in order to allow for verification of the information provided by the mortgagee, information on his or her household income and any other information required by HAMP unless already provided.
- (c) The parties to a mediation under this subchapter shall cooperate in good faith under the direction of the mediator to produce the information required by subsections (a) and (b) of this section in a timely manner so as to permit the mediation process to function effectively.
- (d)(1) The following persons shall participate in any mediation under this subchapter:
- (A) the mortgagee, or any other person, including the mortgagee's servicing agent, who meets the qualifications required by subdivision (2) of this subsection;
 - (B) counsel for the mortgagee; and
 - (C) the mortgagor, and counsel for the mortgagor, if represented.
 - (2) The mortgagee or mortgagee's servicing agent, if present, shall have:

- (A) authority to agree to a proposed settlement, loan modification, or dismissal of the foreclosure action;
- (B) real time access during the mediation to the mortgagor's account information and to the records relating to consideration of the options available in subdivisions (a)(1) and (2) of this section, including the data and factors considered in evaluating each such foreclosure prevention tool; and
- (C) the ability and authority to perform necessary HAMP-related "net present value" calculations and to consider other options available in subdivisions (a)(1) and (2) of this section during the mediation.
- (e) The mediator may permit a party identified in subdivision (d)(1) of this section to participate in mediation by telephone or videoconferencing.
- (f) The mediator may include in the mediation process under this subchapter any other person the mediator determines would assist in the mediation.
- (g) All mediations under this subchapter shall take place in the county in which the foreclosure action is brought pursuant to subsection 4523(a) of this title.

§ 4704. MEDIATION REPORT

- (a) Within seven days of the conclusion of any mediation under this subchapter, the mediator shall report in writing the results of the process to the court and both parties. The mediation report shall be confidential.
- (b) The report required by subsection (a) of this section shall not disclose the mediator's assessment of any aspect of the case or substantive matters discussed during the mediation, except as is required to report the information required by this section. The report shall contain all of the following items:
- (1) The date on which the mediation was held, including the starting and finishing times.
- (2) The names and addresses of all persons attending, showing their role in the mediation and specifically identifying the representative of each party who had decision-making authority.
- (3) A summary of any substitute arrangement made regarding attendance at the mediation.
- (4) All HAMP-related "net present value" calculations and other foreclosure avoidance tool calculations performed prior to or during the mediation and all information related to the requirements in subsection 4703(a) of this title.

- (5) The results of the mediation, stating whether full or partial settlement was reached and appending any agreement of the parties.
- (6)(A) A statement as to whether any person required by subsection (d) of this section to participate in the mediation failed to:
 - (i) attend the mediation;
 - (ii) make a good faith effort to mediate; or
- (iii) supply documentation, information, or data as required by subsections 4703(a)–(c) of this title.
- (B) If a statement is made under subdivision (6)(A) of this subsection (b), it shall be accompanied by a brief description of the applicable reason for the statement.

§ 4705. COMPLIANCE WITH OBLIGATIONS

- (a) Upon receipt of a mediator's report required by subsection 4704(a) of this title, the court shall determine whether the servicer has complied with all of its obligations under subsection 4703(a) of this title, and, at a minimum, with any modification obligations under HAMP.
- (b) If the mediator's report includes a statement under subdivision 4704(b)(6) of this title, or if the court makes a determination of noncompliance with the obligations under subsection 4705(a) of this title, the court may impose appropriate sanctions, including prohibiting the mortgagee from selling or taking possession of the property that is the subject of the action with or without opportunity to cure as the court deems appropriate.
- (c) No mediator shall be required to testify in an action subject to this subchapter.

§ 4706. EFFECT OF MEDIATION PROGRAM ON FORECLOSURE ACTIONS FILED PRIOR TO EFFECTIVE DATE

The court shall, on request of a party prior to judgment or on request of a party and showing of good cause after judgment, require mediation in any foreclosure action on a mortgage on any dwelling house of four units or less that is occupied by the owner as a principal residence that was commenced prior to the effective date of this subchapter but only up to 30 days prior to the end of the redemption period.

§ 4707. NO WAIVER OF RIGHTS; COSTS OF MEDIATION; EXEMPTIONS

(a) The parties' rights in a foreclosure action are not waived by their participation in mediation under this subchapter.

- (b) The mortgagee shall pay the required costs for any mediation under this subchapter. The mortgagor shall be responsible for mortgagor's own costs, including the cost of mortgagor's attorney, if any, and travel costs.
- (c) No mortgagee may shift to the mortgagor the costs of the mortgagee's or the servicing agent's attorney's fees or travel costs related to mediation or more than one-half of the costs of the mediator unless judgment in foreclosure is granted, in which case the full cost of the mediation shall be recoverable to the extent there is a surplus after the sale of the property.
- Sec. 5. 12 V.S.A. § 4532a is amended to read:

§ 4532a. NOTICE TO COMMISSIONER OF BANKING, INSURANCE, SECURITIES, AND HEALTH CARE ADMINISTRATION

- (a) At the same time the mortgage holder files an action to foreclose owner occupied, one-to-four-family residential property, the mortgage holder shall file a notice of foreclosure with the commissioner of the department of banking, insurance, securities, and health care administration. The commissioner may require that the notice of foreclosure be sent in an electronic format. The notice of foreclosure shall include:
- (1) the name and, current mailing address, and current telephone number, if any, of the mortgagor;
 - (2) the address of the property being foreclosed;
- (3) the name of the current mortgage holder, along with the address and telephone number of the person or entity responsible for workout negotiations concerning the mortgage;
 - (4) the name of the original lender, if different;
- (5) the name, address, and telephone number of the mortgage servicer, if applicable; and
 - (6) any other information the commissioner may require.
- (b) The court clerk shall not accept a foreclosure complaint for filing without a certification by the plaintiff that the notice of foreclosure has been sent to the commissioner of banking, insurance, securities, and health care administration in accordance with subsection (a) of this section.
- (c) Acceptance of a foreclosure complaint by the court clerk that, due to a good faith error or omission by the plaintiff or the clerk, does not contain the certification required in subsection (a) of this section, shall not invalidate the foreclosure proceeding, provided that the plaintiff files the required notice with the commissioner within 10 days of obtaining knowledge of the error or omission.

- (d) The commissioner may disclose the information from the notice of foreclosure to the office of the attorney general.
- Sec. 6. 27 V.S.A. § 305 is amended to read:

§ 305. CONVEYANCES EFFECTED THROUGH POWER OF ATTORNEY

- (a) A deed or other conveyance of lands or of an estate or interest therein, made by virtue of a power of attorney, shall not be of any effect or admissible in evidence, unless such power of attorney is signed, witnessed by one or more witnesses, acknowledged and recorded in the office where such deed is required to be recorded.
- (b) Nothing in subsection (a) of this section shall limit the enforceability of a power of attorney which is executed in another state or jurisdiction in compliance with the law of that state or jurisdiction. This subsection shall apply retroactively, except that it shall not affect a suit begun or pending as of July 1, 2010.
- Sec. 7. 27 V.S.A. § 348 is amended to read:

§ 348. INSTRUMENTS CONCERNING REAL PROPERTY VALIDATED

(a) When an instrument of writing shall have been on record in the office of the clerk in the proper town for a period of 15 years, and there is a defect in the instrument because it omitted to state any consideration therefor or was not sealed, witnessed, acknowledged, validly acknowledged, or because a license to sell was not issued or is defective, the instrument shall, from and after the expiration of 15 years from the filing thereof for record, be valid. Nothing herein shall be construed to affect any rights acquired by grantees, assignees or encumbrancers under the instruments described in the preceding sentence, nor shall this section apply to conveyances or other instruments of writing, the validity of which is brought in question in any suit now pending in any courts of the state.

* * *

Sec. 8. 12 V.S.A. § 506 is amended to read:

§ 506. JUDGMENTS

Actions on judgments and actions for the renewal or revival of judgments shall be brought by filing a new and independent action on the judgment within eight years after the rendition of the judgment, and not after.

Sec. 9. 12 V.S.A. § 2903 is amended to read:

§ 2903. DURATION AND EFFECTIVENESS

(a) A judgment lien shall be effective for eight years from the issuance of a

final judgment on which it is based except that a petition for foreclosure filed an action to foreclose the judgment lien during the eight-year period shall extend the period until the termination of the foreclosure suit if a copy of the complaint is filed in the land records on or before eight years from the issuance of the final judgment.

- (b) A judgment which is renewed or revived pursuant to section 506 of this title shall constitute a lien on real property for eight years from the issuance of the renewed or revived judgment if recorded in accordance with this chapter.
- (c) Interest on a judgment lien shall accrue at the rate of 12 percent per annum.
- (e)(d) If a judgment lien is not satisfied within 30 days of recording, it may be foreclosed and redeemed as provided in this title and V.R.C.P. 80.1. Unless the court finds that as of the date of foreclosure the amount of the outstanding debt exceeds the value of the real property being foreclosed, section 4531 of this title shall apply to foreclosure of a judgment lien.

Sec. 10. 19 V.S.A. § 1111 is amended to read:

§ 1111. PERMITTED USE OF THE RIGHT-OF-WAY

* * *

(h) Restraining prohibited acts. Whenever the secretary believes that any person is in violation of the provisions of this chapter he or she may also bring an action in the name of the agency in a court of competent jurisdiction against the person to collect civil penalties as provided for in subsection (j) of this section and to restrain by temporary or permanent injunction the continuation or repetition of the violation. The selectmen have the same authority for town highways. The court may issue temporary or permanent injunctions without bond, and any other relief as may be necessary and appropriate for abatement of any violation. An action, injunction, or other enforcement proceeding by a municipality relating to the failure to obtain or comply with the terms and conditions of any permit issued by a municipality pursuant to this section shall be instituted within 15 years from the date the alleged violation first occurred and not thereafter. The burden of proving the date on which the alleged violation first occurred shall be on the person against whom the enforcement action is instituted.

* * *

Sec. 11. 14A V.S.A. § 102 is amended to read:

§ 102. SCOPE

(a) This title applies to express trusts, charitable or noncharitable, and trusts

created pursuant to a statute, judgment, or decree that requires the trust to be administered in the manner of an express trust. This Except as provided in subsection (b) of this section, this title shall not apply to trusts described in the following provisions of Vermont Statutes Annotated: chapter 16 of Title 3, chapter 151 of Title 6, chapters 103, 204, and 222 of Title 8, chapters 11A, 12, and 59 of Title 10, chapter 7 of Title 11A, chapter 11 of Title 15, chapters 55, 90, and 131 of Title 16, chapters 121, 177, and 225 of Title 18, chapter 9 of Title 21, chapters 65, 119, 125, and 133 of Title 24, chapters 5 and chapter 7 of Title 27, chapter 11 of Title 28, chapter 16 of Title 29, and chapters 84 and 91 of Title 30.

(b) Section 1013 of this title (certification of trust) shall apply to all trusts described in subsection (a) of this section.

Sec. 12. EFFECTIVE DATE

- (a) Secs. 1–5 and 13 of this act shall take effect on July 1, 2010.
- (b) This section and Secs. 6–11 of this act shall take effect upon passage.

Sec. 13. SUNSET

Secs. 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5 of this act shall be repealed on the same day as the expiration date of the federal Home Affordability Modification Program ("HAMP").

(For text see House Journal 3/17 - 3/18/10)

H. 772

An act relating to alcoholic beverage tastings and other liquor licensing issues The Senate proposes to the House to amend the bill as follows:

<u>First</u>: in Sec. 1, in 7 V.S.A. §(2), by striking out subdivision (15) in its entirety and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

(15) "Manufacturer's or rectifier's license": a license granted by the liquor control board that permits the holder to manufacture or rectify, as the ease may be, spirituous liquors for export and sale to the liquor control board, or malt beverages and vinous beverages for export and for sale to bottlers or wholesale dealers, or spirituous liquors for export and for sale to the liquor control board, upon application of a manufacturer or rectifier and the payment to the liquor control board of the license fee as required by subdivision 231(1) of this title for either license. This license permits a manufacturer of vinous beverages to receive from another manufacturer licensed in or outside this state bulk shipments of vinous beverages to rectify with the licensee's own product, provided that the vinous beverages produced by a Vermont manufacturer may contain no more than 25 percent imported vinous beverage. The liquor control

board may grant to a licensed manufacturer or rectifier a first class restaurant or cabaret license or first and third class restaurant or cabaret license permitting the licensee to sell alcoholic beverages to the public only at the manufacturer's premises, which for the purposes of a manufacturer of malt beverages, includes up to two licensed establishment that are located on the contiguous real estate of the holder of the manufacturer's license, provided the manufacturer owns or has direct control over those establishments. manufacturer of malt beverages who also holds a first class restaurant or cabaret license may serve to a customer malt beverage by the glass, not to exceed eight glasses at one time and not to exceed four ounces in each glass. The liquor control board may grant to a licensed manufacturer or a rectifier of malt or vinous beverages a second class license permitting the licensee to sell alcoholic beverages to the public only at anywhere on the manufacturer's or rectifier's premises , which for the purposes of a manufacturer of malt beverages, includes up to two licensed establishment that are located on the contiguous real estate of the holder of the manufacturer's license, provided the manufacturer owns or has direct control over those establishments. A licensed manufacturer or rectifier of vinous beverages may serve, with or without charge, at an event held on premises of the licensee or the vineyard property, spirits and vinous and malt beverages, provided the licensee gives the department written notice of the event, including details required by the department, at least 15 five days before the event. Any beverages not manufactured by the licensee and served at the event shall be purchased on invoice from a licensed manufacturer or wholesale dealer or liquor control Upon application and payment of the license fee as required by subdivision 231(11) of this title, the liquor control board may grant to a licensed manufacturer or rectifier of vinous beverages fourth class or farmers' market licenses permitting the licensee to sell fortified wines and vinous beverages by the bottle to the public at the licensed premises or at a farmers' market, provided that the beverages were produced by the manufacturer or rectifier. No more than a combined total of ten fourth class and farmers' market licenses may be granted to any licensed manufacturer or rectifier. An application for a farmers' market license shall include copies of the farmers' market regulations, the agreement between the farmers' market and the applicant, and the location and dates of operation of the farmers' market. A farmers' market license shall be valid for all dates of operation for a specific farmers' market location. However, in no case may a person with an interest in more than one manufacturer's or rectifier's license have an interest in more than four fourth class licenses. The manufacturer or rectifier shall pay directly to the commissioner of taxes the sum of \$0.265 cents per gallon for every gallon of malt beverage and the sum of \$0.55 cents per gallon for each gallon of vinous beverage manufactured by the manufacturer or rectifier and provided

for sale pursuant to the first class license or the second class license or the fourth class license or combination thereof held by the manufacturer or rectifier. Holders of a manufacturer's or rectifier's second class license for malt beverages may distribute, with or without charge, malt beverages by the glass, not to exceed two ounces per product and eight ounces in total, to all persons of legal drinking age. The malt beverages must be consumed upon the premises of the holder of the license. At the request of a person holding a first class or second class license, a holder of a manufacturer's or rectifier's license for malt beverages may distribute without charge to the management and staff of the license holder, provided they are of legal drinking age, no more than four ounces per person of a malt beverage for the purpose of promoting the beverage. Written notice shall be provided to the department of liquor control at least 10 days prior to the date of the tasting. A licensed manufacturer or rectifier of spirits may do either or both of the following only on the manufacturer's or rectifier's premises:

(A) Sell by the glass or bottle to the public spirits manufactured by the licensee.

(B) Dispense by the glass, with or without charge, spirits manufactured by the licensee, provided that no more than one quarter ounce per product and no more than one ounce in total is dispensed to each individual of legal age.

<u>Second</u>: In Sec. 1, 7 V.S.A. § 2, by striking out subdivision (28) in its entirety and inserting in lieu thereof a new subdivision (28) to read as follows:

(28) "Fourth class license" or "farmers' market license": the license granted by the liquor control board permitting a manufacturer or rectifier of malt or vinous beverages or spirits to sell fortified wines manufactured by the licensed manufacturer or rectifier and vinous beverages by the bottle unopened container and distribute, by the glass with or without charge, those beverages by the glass manufactured by the licensee. No more than a combined total of ten fourth class and farmers' market licenses may be granted to a licensed manufacturer or rectifier. At only one fourth class license location, a manufacturer or rectifier of vinous beverages may sell by the unopened container and distribute by the glass, with or without charge, vinous beverages produced by no more than three additional manufacturers or rectifiers, provided these beverages are purchased on invoice from the manufacturer or rectifier. A manufacturer or rectifier of vinous beverages may sell its product to no more than three additional manufacturers or rectifiers. A fourth class licensee may distribute by the glass no more than two ounces of malt or vinous beverage with a total of eight ounces to each retail customer and no more than one-quarter ounce of spirits with a total of one ounce to each retail customer

for consumption on the manufacturer's premises or at a farmers' market. A farmers' market license is valid for all dates of operation for a specific farmers' market location.

<u>Third</u>: In Sec. 3, 7 V.S.A. § 67(a) by striking subdivisions (1) and (2) in their entirety and inserting in lieu thereof new subdivision (1) and (2) to read as follows:

- (1) A second class licensee. The permit authorizes the employees of the permit holder to dispense vinous or malt beverages to retail customers of legal age on the licensee's premises vinous or malt beverages by the glass not to exceed two ounces of each vinous or malt beverage with a total of eight ounces of vinous or malt beverages. Vinous or malt beverages for the tasting shall be from the inventory of the licensee or purchased from a wholesale dealer. Pursuant to this permit, a second class licensee may conduct no more than 30 48 tastings a year. In addition to the 48 tastings, a second class licensee may conduct no more than five beverage tastings per week provided the tastings are conducted as part of an educational food preparation class or course conducted by the licensee on the licensee's premises and the provided licensee has acquired a permit for each tasting.
- (2) A licensed manufacturer or rectifier of vinous or malt beverages. The permit authorizes the permit holder to dispense beverages produced by the manufacturer or rectifier to retail customers of legal age for consumption on the premises of a second class licensee or at a farmers' market beverages produced by the manufacturer or rectifier by the glass not to exceed two ounces of each beverage with a total of eight ounces of vinous or malt beverages. Pursuant to this permit, a A manufacturer or rectifier may conduct no more than one tasting a day on the premises of a second class licensee. No more than four tasting permits per month for a tasting event held on the premises of second class licensees shall be permitted 48 tastings per year.

<u>Fourth</u>: In Sec. 6, 7 V.S.A. § 231(a)(21), by striking out the following: "\$200.00" and inserting in lieu thereof the following: \$15.00

(For text see House Journal 3/18/10)

Ordered to Lie H.R. 19

House resolution urging the agency of natural resources to retain delegated authority to administer the federal Clean Water Act in Vermont.

Pending Question: Shall the House adopt the resolution?

Public Hearings

Thursday, April 29, Room 11 - 5:00 - 7:00 PM - House Committee on Commerce and Economic Development - Draft Telecom Plan