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ORDERS OF THE DAY

ACTION CALENDAR

Action Postponed Until March 16, 2010

Favorable with Amendment

S. 280

An act relating to prohibiting texting while operating on a highway

Rep. Grad of Moretown, for the Committee on Judiciary, recommends
the bill be amended by striking all after the enacting clause and inserting in
lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. SHORT TITLE

This act shall be known as and may be cited as the “Highway Traffic Safety
Act of 2010.”

* * * Legislative Findings * * *

Sec. 2. LEGISLATIVE FINDINGS

The general assembly finds that:

* * * General Findings * * *

(1) In December 2006, the governor transmitted to the Division
Administrator of the Federal Highway Administration the Strategic Highway
Plan for Vermont that stated “The first half of 2006 was trending toward a near
record-breaking year for highway deaths and incapacitating injuries.” In
response to this trend, the Strategic Highway Safety Plan for Vermont was
created with the mission to “minimize the occurrence and severity of crashes,
related human suffering, and economic losses on the Vermont transportation
network.”

(2) According to the governor’s highway safety office, traffic crashes
cost the nation about $230 billion each year in medical expenses, lost
productivity, property damage, and related costs. Vermont pays $221 million
of those costs. In 2008, workplace traffic crash injuries cost Vermonters more
than $39 million.

(3) According to the governor’s highway safety program, each highway
fatality cost the state of Vermont more than $900,000.00.

(4) In recognition of the terrible toll in terms of human suffering and
financial loss resulting from motor vehicle crashes, on July 6, 2006, the
Vermont department of health’s injury prevention program hosted the 2006
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Symposium on Preventing Crashes Among Young Drivers at the Inn at Essex,
Vermont. The symposium brought together key leaders in highway safety,
transportation, public health, and youth development for an in-depth
multidisciplinary exploration of the causes of crashes among young drivers and
opportunities for prevention.

* * * Teen Driving Safety * * *

(1) The Strategic Highway Safety Plan for Vermont of 2006, signed by
the governor and endorsed by state agencies, stated that “new language”
should be added to the existing graduated driver license legislation to achieve:

(A) Restrictions on passengers in cars driven by young drivers.

(B) Nighttime limitations for young drivers.

(C) Primary safety belt enforcement to the age of 18.

(D) No cell phone or electronic device use by junior operators.

(2) From a public health perspective, “motor vehicle crashes are among
the most serious problems facing teenagers.” (Anatomy of Crashes Involving
Young Drivers–Preventing Teen Motor Crashes.) According to the Centers for
Disease Control and Prevention, highway injuries and deaths constitute the
largest reason for youth injuries and deaths, and therefore constitute a public
health risk warranting remedial action.

(3) According to these sources, the 2002 cost of crashes involving
drivers ages 20 through 25 was $40.8 billion (National Center for Injury
Prevention and Control, 2006).

(4) According to the Vermont Safety Education Center (VSEC), junior
operator passenger restrictions are essential components of graduated
licensing. Crash risks for teenage drivers increase incrementally with one,
two, three, or more passengers. With three or more passengers, fatal crash risk
is about three times higher than if a beginner were driving alone.

(5) According to VSEC, the presence of passengers is a major
contributor to the teenage death toll. About two-thirds of all crash deaths of
teens that involve 16-year-old drivers occur when the beginners were driving
with teen passengers. Studies indicate that passenger restrictions can reduce
this problem.

(6) According to VSEC, four out of every 10 deaths of teens in motor
vehicles occur between 9:00 p.m. and 6:00 a.m. Nighttime is one of the
riskiest times of day for junior operators due to DUI, darkness, and sleep
deprivation in teens. Midnight to 2:00 a.m. is the most dangerous nighttime
period.
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* * * Cell Phones and Electronic Devices * * *

(1) The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration policy on cell
phones states, “The primary responsibility of the driver is to operate a motor
vehicle safely. The task of driving requires full attention and focus. Cell
phone use can distract drivers from this task, risking harm to themselves and
others. Therefore, the safest course of action is to refrain from using a cell
phone while driving.”

(2) Teens, driving, and cell phones are a dangerous mix due to teens’
vulnerability to distractions and accidents (“Most Wanted Transportation
Safety Improvements,” National Transportation Safety Board, November
2008).

(3) In 2008, the National Safety Council called for a ban on cell phones
while driving, stating that “drivers talking on a cell phone are four times as
likely to have an accident as drivers who are not.”

* * * Safety Belts * * *

(1) States with primary enforcement average 10-percent higher usage
than states with secondary enforcement.

(2) A crash involving an unrestrained person costs 55 percent more than
one involving someone who was restrained.

(3) Approximately 74 percent of the costs associated with crashes are
paid for by society; the victim pays the balance.

(4) Traffic crashes are not just an enforcement issue.

* * * Nighttime Restrictions * * *

Sec. 3. 23 V.S.A. § 614(c) and (d) are added to read:

(c) A person operating with a junior operator’s license shall not operate a
motor vehicle between midnight and 5:00 a.m. except when accompanied by a
parent or guardian or when carrying the signed and dated written permission of
a parent or guardian that contains the parent’s or guardian’s home and work
addresses and telephone numbers.

(d) A person in violation of subsection (c) of this section shall be allowed
to drive home, on a direct route, following issuance of a traffic ticket by a law
enforcement officer.

* * * Safety Restriction on the Use of Wireless Telephones and Handheld
Electronic Devices * * *

Sec. 4. 23 V.S.A. § 1095a is added to read:
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§ 1095a. USE OF WIRELESS TELEPHONES AND HANDHELD
ELECTRONIC DEVICES

(a)(1) For the purposes of this section, “wireless telephone” shall mean a
telephone that is:

(A) capable of sending or receiving telephone communications
without being physically connected to a telephone wire or cord; and

(B) used pursuant to a subscription with a commercial entity that
provides wireless telephone service.

(2) “Wireless telephone” shall not be construed to include:

(A) a two-way radio that is operated by using a push-to-talk feature
and does not require proximity to the ear of the user; or

(B) a communication feature of a voice-activated global positioning
or navigation system that is affixed within the passenger compartment of a
motor vehicle.

(b) For the purposes of this section, “hands-free use” shall refer to the use
of a mobile telephone or electronic communication device that has an internal
feature or function, or that is equipped with an attachment or addition, whether
or not permanently part of the mobile telephone or electronic communication
device, by which a user engages in a conversation without the use of either
hand; provided, however, this definition shall not preclude the use of either
hand to activate, deactivate, or initiate a function of the telephone or device.

(c) Subject to the exceptions set forth in subsection (b) of this section, for
the purposes of this section, the term “use,” when referring to the utilization of
a wireless telephone or handheld electronic device, shall include telephone
calls, texting, and all other functions.

(d) A person under 18 years of age shall not use any wireless telephone or
handheld electronic device while operating a moving motor vehicle on a
highway. This prohibition shall not apply if it is necessary to place an
emergency 911 call.

(e) A person 18 years of age or older shall not use a wireless telephone or
electronic communication device while operating a moving motor vehicle on a
highway. This prohibition shall not apply to:

(1) hands-free use;

(2) placement of an emergency 911 call; or

(3) use by the following persons for the purpose of and during the
course of performing their official duties:
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(A) law enforcement officers;

(B) firefighters;

(C) operators of authorized emergency vehicles as defined in section
4 of this title; and

(D) state or municipal employees and their contractors who are
actively engaged in road maintenance activities.

Sec. 5. WIRELESS TELEPHONE AND HANDHELD ELECTRONIC
DEVICE REPORT

By July 1, 2012, the Vermont League of Cities and Towns, Inc., the
Vermont state firefighters association, and the Vermont department of public
safety, after consulting with their constituents and other appropriate entities
whether or not under their direct control, shall submit to the house committee
on judiciary a report regarding their constituents’ progress toward utilization of
hands-free communications technology in the course of motor vehicle
operation.

* * * Texting Prohibition, Penalties, and Educational Campaign * * *

Sec. 6. 23 V.S.A. § 1099 is added to read:

§ 1099. TEXTING PROHIBITED

(a) As used in this section, “texting” means the composing, reading, or
sending of electronic communications including text messages, instant
messages, or e-mails using a portable electronic device. As used in this
section, “portable electronic device” means a portable electronic or computing
device including a cellular telephone, personal digital assistant (PDA), or
laptop computer.

(b) A person operating a moving motor vehicle, electric personal mobility
device, or farm tractor on a highway; or operating a moving snowmobile,
all-terrain vehicle (as defined in section 3501 of this title), or all-surface
vehicle on or off a highway; or operating a moving motorboat (as defined in
section 3302 of this title) shall not engage in texting.

(c) A person who violates this section commits a traffic violation as defined
in section 2302 of this title and shall be subject to a penalty of $100.00 upon
adjudication of a first violation and $250.00 upon adjudication of a second or
subsequent violation within any two-year period.

Sec. 7. 23 V.S.A. § 607a is amended to read:

§ 607a. RECALL OF LEARNER’S PERMIT OR JUNIOR OPERATOR’S
LICENSE
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(a) A learner’s permit or junior operator’s license shall contain an
admonition that it is recallable and that the later procurement of an operator’s
license is conditional on the establishment of a record which is satisfactory to
the commissioner and showing compliance with the motor vehicle laws of this
and other states. The commissioner may recall any license issued to a minor
whenever he or she is satisfied, from information provided by a credible person
and upon investigation, that the operator is mentally or physically unfit or,
because of his or her habits or record as to accidents or convictions, is unsafe
to be trusted with the operation of motor vehicles. On recommendation of a
diversion or reparative board, the commissioner may recall the learner’s permit
or junior operator’s license of a person in a diversion or reparative program for
up to 30 days. The commissioner shall also recall any learner’s permit or
junior operator’s license for 30 days when an operator is adjudicated of a
single texting violation under section 1099 of this title, 90 days following
adjudication of a single speeding violation resulting in a three-point assessment
or, 90 days when a total of six points has been accumulated, or 90 days when
an operator is convicted for adjudicated of a violation of section 678 of this
title. When a learner’s permit or junior operator’s license is so recalled, it shall
be reinstated upon expiration of a specific term, and, if required by the
commissioner, when the person has passed a reexamination approved by the
commissioner.

* * *

Sec. 8. 23 V.S.A. § 2502 are amended to read:

§ 2502. POINT ASSESSMENT; SCHEDULE

(a) Any person operating a motor vehicle shall have points assessed against
his or her driving record for convictions for moving violations of the indicated
motor vehicle statutes in accord with the following schedule: (All references
are to Title 23 of the Vermont Statutes Annotated.)

(1) Two points assessed for:

* * *

(LL) § 1095. Operating with television set installed;

(MM) § 1099. Texting prohibited—first offense;

(MM)(NN) § 1113. Illegal backing;

(NN)(OO) § 1114. Illegal riding on motorcycles;

(OO)(PP) § 1115. Illegal operation of motorcycles on

roadways laned for traffic;
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(PP)(QQ) § 1116. Clinging to other vehicles;

(QQ)(RR) § 1117. Illegal footrests and handlebars;

(RR)(SS) § 1118. Obstructing the driver’s view;

(SS)(TT) § 1119. Improper opening and closing vehicle

doors;

(TT)(UU) § 1121. Coasting prohibited;

(UU)(VV) § 1122. Following fire apparatus prohibited;

(VV)(WW) § 1123. Driving over fire hose;

(WW)(XX) § 1124. Position of operator;

(XX)(YY) § 1127. Unsafe control in presence of horses and

cattle;

(YY)(ZZ) § 1131. Failure to give warning signal;

(ZZ)(AAA) § 1132. Illegal driving on sidewalk;

(AAA)(BBB) § 1243. Lighting requirements;

(BBB)(CCC) § 1256. Motorcycle headgear;

(CCC)(DDD) § 1257. Face protection;

(DDD)(EEE) § 800. Operating without financial

responsibility;

(EEE)(FFF) All other moving violations which have

no specified points;

* * *

(4) Five points assessed for:

(A) § 1050. Failure to yield to emergency vehicles;

(B) § 1075. Illegal passing of school bus;

(C) § 1099. Texting prohibited—second and

subsequent offenses;

(C)(D) § 676. Operating after suspension, revocation or

refusal—civil violation;

* * *
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Sec. 9. EDUCATIONAL CAMPAIGN

The commissioner of motor vehicles, in consultation with the commissioner
of education, shall formulate a plan to educate operators as to the dangers of
operating while texting and the penalties that may be imposed pursuant to this
act.

* * * Primary Enforcement of Safety Belt Law; Federal Funds * * *

Sec. 10. REPEAL; PRIMARY ENFORCEMENT OF SAFETY BELT LAW;
ACCEPTANCE OF FEDERAL FUNDS

(a) 23 V.S.A. § 1259(e) (secondary enforcement of safety belt law) is
repealed.

(b) The state is authorized to accept any additional funding available from
the federal government attributable to the passage of this section.

* * * Operation by a Junior Operator after Recall is a Civil Violation * * *

Sec. 11. 23 V.S.A. § 676 is amended to read:

§ 676. OPERATION AFTER SUSPENSION, REVOCATION, OR
REFUSAL, OR RECALL - CIVIL VIOLATION

(a) A person whose license or privilege to operate a motor vehicle has been
revoked, suspended or, refused, or recalled by the commissioner of motor
vehicles for any reason other than a violation of sections 1091(b), 1094(b),
1128(b) or (c), or 1201 or a suspension under section 1205 of this title and who
operates or attempts to operate a motor vehicle upon a public highway before
the license or privilege of the person to operate a motor vehicle has been
reinstated by the commissioner commits a civil traffic violation.

(b) In establishing a prima facie case against a person accused of violating
this section, the judicial bureau shall accept as evidence, a printout attested to
by the law enforcement officer as the person’s motor vehicle record showing
convictions and resulting license suspensions. The admitted motor vehicle
record shall establish a permissive inference that the person was under
suspension or had his or her license revoked or recalled on the dates and time
periods set forth in the record. The judicial bureau shall not require a certified
copy of the person’s motor vehicle record from the department of motor
vehicles to establish the permissive inference.

Sec. 12. EFFECTIVE DATE

This act shall take effect on July 1, 2010.



- 428 -

and that after passage, the title of the bill be amended to read: “An act relating
to the operation of motor vehicles by junior operators, operating with wireless
or handheld devices, prohibiting texting, and primary safety belt enforcement”

( Committee Vote: 10-0-1)

ACTION CALENDAR

Third Reading

H. 555

An act relating to youth hunting

Amendment to be offered by Rep. Marcotte of Coventry to H. 555

By adding Sec 5a to read as follows:

Sec. 5a. FISH AND WILDLIFE BOARD REPORT ON YOUTH DEER

HUNTING LIMITS

On or before January 15, 2011, the fish and wildlife board shall submit to
the house committee on fish, wildlife and water resources and the senate
committee on natural resources and energy a recommendation as to whether a
youth that hunts deer under 10 V.S.A. § 4742a should be limited to the taking
of one deer prior to the youth turning 16 years of age.

H. 600

An act relating to permitted investments by the state treasurer

Amendment to be offered by Rep. Bissonnette of Winooski to H. 600

First: In Sec.1, 32 V.S.A. § 433(a)(2), by striking “section 30101 of this
title” and inserting in lieu thereof “8 V.S.A. § 30101”.

Second: By striking Sec. 2 in its entirety, and renumbering Sec. 3 to be
Sec. 2.

Favorable with amendment

H. 132

An act relating to residential electrical installations

Rep. Stevens of Waterbury, for the Committee on General, Housing and
Military Affairs, recommends the bill be amended by striking all after the
enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 26 V.S.A. § 894 is amended to read:

§ 894. ENERGIZING INSTALLATIONS; REENERGIZING AFTER
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EMERGENCY DISCONNECTION

(a) A new electrical installation in or on a complex structure; or an
electrical installation used for the testing or construction of a complex structure
shall not be connected or caused to be connected, to a source of electrical
energy unless prior to such connection, either a temporary or a permanent
energizing permit is issued for that installation by the commissioner or an
electrical inspector.

(b) An existing electrical installation in any structure, including a
single-family owner-occupied freestanding residence, that was disconnected as
the result of an emergency that affects the internal electrical circuits, shall not
be reconnected to a source of electrical energy until the electrical installation
has been inspected and determined to be safe by a licensed journeyman or
licensed master electrician.

(c) This section shall not be construed to limit or interfere with a
contractor's right to receive payment for electrical work for which a certificate
of completion has been granted.

Sec. 2. 26 V.S.A. § 904(a) is amended to read:

(a) To be eligible for licensure as a type-S journeyman an applicant shall:

(1) complete an accredited training and experience program recognized
by the board; or

(2) have had training and experience, within or without this state,
acceptable to the board; and

(3) pass an examination to the satisfaction of the board in one or more of
the following fields:

(A) Automatic gas or oil heating;

(B) Outdoor advertising;

(C) Refrigeration or air conditioning;

(D) Appliance and motor repairs;

(E) Well pumps;

(F) Farm equipment;

(G) Renewable energy systems for one- and two-family dwellings;

(H) Any miscellaneous specified area of specialized competence.

Sec. 3. 26 V.S.A. § 910 is amended to read:

§ 910. LICENSE NOT REQUIRED
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A license shall not be required for the following types of work:

(1) Any electrical work, including construction, installation, operation,
maintenance, and repair of electrical installations in, on or about equipment or
premises, which are owned or leased by the operator of any industrial or
manufacturing plant, if the work is done under the supervision of an electrical
engineer or master electrician in the employ of the operator;

(2) Installation in laboratories of exposed electrical wiring for
experimental purposes only;

(3) Any electrical work by an the owner or his or her regular employees
in the owner’s owner-occupied freestanding single unit residence, in and
outbuildings accessory to such the freestanding single unit residence or any
structure on owner-occupied farms;

(4) Electrical installations performed as a part of a training project of a
vocational school or other educational institution. However, the installation
shall be inspected if the building in which the installation is made, is to be used
as a “complex structure”;

(5) Electrical work performed by an electrician’s helper under the direct
supervision of a person who holds an appropriate license issued under this
chapter;

(6) Any electrical work in a building used for dwelling or residential
purposes which contains no more than two dwelling units Installation of solar
electric modules and racking and erection of residential wind turbines and
towers to the point of connection to field-fabricated wiring.

Sec. 4. EFFECTIVE DATE; TRANSITIONAL PROVISIONS

(a) This act shall take effect on passage.

(b) In order to provide time for the electrical licensing board to develop
and conduct a test for a type-S journeyman’s license for renewable energy
installation and for renewable energy installers to complete the licensing
requirements, a license shall not be required for renewable energy installations
until 12 months after the electrical licensing board adopts this test and
licensing procedure.

( Committee Vote: 8-0-0)
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H. 408

An act relating to improving nutrition programs

Rep. Mrowicki of Putney, for the Committee on Human Services,
recommends the bill be amended by striking all after the enacting clause and
inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. FEDERAL OPTIONS IN THE SUPPLEMENTAL NUTRITION

PROGRAM

(a)(1) It is the intent of the general assembly that the department for
children and families will implement the federal options described in this
subsection by July 1, 2012.

(2) The department for children and families may implement federal
options in 3SquaresVT or seek federal waivers in the supplemental nutrition
program to:

(A) expand participation in 3SquaresVT by individuals applying for
and receiving Supplemental Security Income (SSI), such as through the
combined application project (CAP), through direct communication with
potentially eligible individuals known to the department, or through other
methods designed to simplify the application process or facilitate access to the
program; and

(B) increase participation in 3SquaresVT by individuals age 60 or
older through a simplified application process.

(b) Annually, by March 1, the department for children and families shall
provide a progress report through testimony to the house committee on human
services and the senate committee on health and welfare on implementation of
any federal options or waivers that would simplify the administration of
3SquaresVT, simplify the application or recertification process, or increase
enrollment in the program. The department’s progress report shall include an
explanation of any legislative, administrative, or technical challenges
encountered that may affect timely implementation.

Sec. 2. AFTER-SCHOOL SNACK PROGRAM

(a) By October 1, 2010, the department of education shall require that
every after-school program funded in whole or in part by a grant under the 21st
Century Community Learning Center program create an after-school snack
program using federal funds from the national school lunch after-school snack
program or the child and adult care food program.

(b) By October 1, 2010, the department of education shall require that one
or more schools in districts with organizations receiving a grant under the 21st
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Century Community Learning Center program for an after-school snack
program provide fiscal sponsorship of the national school lunch

after-school snack program for these organizations. The department shall only
require the school to provide fiscal sponsorship if requested by the
organization in the district providing an after-school snack program.

(c) The school board or the after-school program may apply to the
department of education for a waiver of the requirements in this section. The
commissioner shall grant the requested waiver if he or she finds that it is
unduly difficult for the school district or after-school program to provide a
snack, and if he or she finds that the school district or after-school program has
exercised due diligence in its efforts to avoid the situation that gives rise to the
need for the requested waiver. In no event shall the waiver extend for a period
to exceed a school year.

Sec. 3. AFTER-SCHOOL SNACK PROGRAM; WORKGROUP

(a) By July 1, 2010, the interagency council on hunger established by
Executive Order No. 11-09 shall convene a meeting, including interested
parties, in order to create a plan to maximize the availability of after-school
snack programs using federal funds from the national school lunch after-school
snack program or the child and adult care food program. The council shall
focus its efforts to expand after-school snack programs in areas where at least
50 percent of the students in a school were eligible for free or reduced-price
meals under 16 V.S.A. § 1264 for at least one month in the preceding academic
year.

(b) The council shall report to the house committees on education and on
human services and the senate committees on education and on health and
welfare on January 15, 2011, on its progress in expanding availability of
after-school snack programs.

Sec. 4. 16 V.S.A. § 1264 is amended to read:

§ 1264. FOOD PROGRAM

(a)(1) Each school board actually operating a public school shall cause to
operate within the school district a food program which that makes available a
school lunch, as provided in the National School Lunch Act as amended, and a
school breakfast, as provided in the National Child Nutrition Act as amended,
to each attending pupil every school day.

(2) Each school board operating a public school shall offer a summer
snack or meals program funded by the Summer Food Service program or the
National School Lunch Program for participants in a summer educational or
recreational program or camp if:
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(A) At least 50 percent of the students in a school were eligible for
free or reduced-price meals under subdivision (1) of this subsection for at least
one month in the preceding academic year;

(B) The district operates or funds the summer educational or
recreational program or camp; and

(C) The summer educational or recreational program or camp is
offered 15 or more hours per week.

(b) In the event of an emergency, the school board may apply to the
department for a temporary waiver of this daily operating requirement the
requirements in subsection (a) of this section. The commissioner shall grant
the requested waiver if he or she finds that it is unduly difficult for the school
district to serve provide a school lunch or, breakfast, or both summer meals
program, or any combination of the three, and if he or she finds that the school
district has exercised due diligence in its efforts to avoid the emergency
situation which that gives rise to the need for the requested waiver. In no event
shall the waiver extend for a period to exceed 20 school days or, in the case of
a summer meals program, the remainder of the summer vacation.

(b)(c) The state shall be responsible for the student share of the cost of
breakfasts provided to all students eligible for a reduced price breakfast under
the federal school breakfast program.

Sec. 5. DIRECT CERTIFICATION FOR SCHOOL MEALS PROGRAMS

The department for children and families and the department of education
shall continue to improve the monthly direct certification process through the
use of automated data matches in order to certify children receiving
3SquaresVT as eligible for school breakfast, lunch, and summer meals
programs.

Sec. 6. EFFECTIVE DATE

This act shall take effect on passage.

( Committee Vote: 10-0-1)

Rep. Zenie of Colchester, for the Committee on Education, recommends
the bill ought to pass when amended as recommended by the Committee on
Human Services.

(Committee Vote: 10-0-1)
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H. 648

An act relating to harassment and hazing policies at independent colleges

Rep. Kilmartin of Newport City, for the Committee on Education,
recommends the bill be amended by striking all after the enacting clause and
inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 16 V.S.A. § 178 is added to read:

§ 178. HARASSMENT AND HAZING PREVENTION POLICIES;
POSTSECONDARY SCHOOLS

(a) The board of trustees or other governing body of each postsecondary
school, as defined in subdivision 140a(1) of this title, operating in Vermont
shall adopt and ensure enforcement of a policy establishing that harassment as
defined in subdivision 11(a)(26) of this title is a form of unlawful
discrimination and therefore prohibited. The board shall also require the
establishment of procedures to address complaints of discriminatory
harassment and to initiate educational programs designed to prevent such
conduct.

(b) The board of trustees or other governing body of each postsecondary
school, as defined in subdivision 140a(1) of this title, operating in Vermont
shall adopt and ensure enforcement of a policy prohibiting hazing, which shall
define hazing in a manner that is at least as stringent as the definition contained
in subdivision 11(a)(30) of this title. The policy shall include penalties or
sanctions or both for organizations that or individuals who engage in hazing;
revocation or suspension of an organization’s permission to operate or exist
within the institution’s purview if that organization knowingly permits,
authorizes, or condones hazing; and clear delineation of circumstances under
which hazing will be reported to a law enforcement agency. A summary of the
policy shall be distributed to all students at least annually.

Sec. 2. 16 V.S.A. § 178a is added to read:

§ 178a. POSTSECONDARY SCHOOLS; HARASSMENT, HAZING, AND
BULLYING; STATE POLICY

It is the policy of the state of Vermont that all Vermont postsecondary
schools provide safe, orderly, civil, and positive learning environments.
Harassment, hazing, and bullying have no place and will not be tolerated in
Vermont schools. No Vermont postsecondary student should feel threatened
or be discriminated against while enrolled in a Vermont postsecondary school.

Sec. 3. 16 V.S.A. § 565(b) is amended to read:

(b) Each school board shall develop, adopt, ensure the enforcement of, and
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make available in the manner described under subdivision 563(1) of this title
harassment and hazing prevention policies which shall be at least as stringent
as model policies developed by the commissioner. In this section, the
definitions of educational institution, organization, pledging, and student shall
be the same as those in section 140a subdivisions 140a(2), (3), and (4) of this
title. In this section, educational institution means public schools and
independent schools as defined in section 11 of this title.

* * *

Sec. 4. EFFECTIVE DATE

This act shall take effect on passage. Independent postsecondary schools
shall develop and adopt the policies and procedures required by this act no
later than July 1, 2010.

( Committee Vote: 10-0-1)

Action Postponed Until May 28, 2010

Governors Veto

H. 436

An act relating to decommissioning funds of nuclear energy generation
plants.

Pending Question: Shall the House sustain the Governor's veto?

NOTICE CALENDAR

Committee Bill for Second Reading

H. 772

An act relating to alcoholic beverage tastings and other liquor licensing
issues.

(Rep. Baker of West Rutland will speak for the Committee on General,
Housing and Military Affairs.)

Favorable with Amendment

H. 243

An act relating to the creation of an apprentice hunting license

Rep. Adams of Hartland, for the Committee on Fish, Wildlife & Water
Resources, recommends the bill be amended by striking all after the enacting
clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 10 V.S.A. § 4256 is added to read:
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§ 4256. MENTORED HUNTING LICENSES

(a) An individual who holds a mentored hunting license shall be entitled to
hunt only when accompanied by an individual, 21 years of age or older, who
holds a valid hunting license under subsection 4254(b) of this title. A resident
or nonresident mentored hunting license may be issued to any person who has
not taken a hunter safety course as required under subdivisions 4254(b)(1) and
(2) of this title, provided that:

(1) A mentored hunting license shall only be issued twice to any one
individual, and each license shall last until December 31 of the year for which
the license was issued.

(2) A mentored hunting license shall not be issued to any individual who
has held a valid hunting license under subsection 4254(b) of this title or an
equivalent license in any other state.

(3) The mentored hunting license shall not be issued to a person under
16 years of age without the written consent of the applicant’s parent or legal
guardian given in the presence of the agent issuing the license.

(b) Having held a valid mentored hunting license does not exempt an
individual from meeting all the requirements for a hunting license under
subsection 4254(b) of this title.

(c) At the time of licensing, the department shall provide each mentored
hunter a document to explain the details of the mentored hunting license
program and to educate the mentored hunter about hunting safety and
responsibility. The applicant shall certify, according to department procedure,
that he or she has read the document. The department shall provide copies of
this document to all locations authorized to sell licenses pursuant to subsection
4254(e) of this title.

(d) For the purposes of this section, “accompany,” “accompanied,” or
“accompanying” means direct control and supervision, including the ability to
see and communicate with the mentored hunter without the aid of artificial
devices such as radios or binoculars, except for medically necessary devices
such as hearing aids or eyeglasses. While hunting, an individual who holds a
valid hunting license under subsection 4254(b) of this title shall accompany
only one mentored hunter at a time. The individual accompanying the
mentored hunter while hunting shall sign and date the license of the mentored
hunter.

(e) An individual who holds a mentored hunting license is not eligible to
hunt moose pursuant to subsection 4254(b) of this title.

(f) An individual who holds a mentored hunting license shall be subject to
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the bag limit of the fully licensed accompanying hunter. When game is taken
by a mentored hunter, it shall be deemed taken by the fully licensed
accompanying hunter.

(g) Notwithstanding subdivision 5101(a)(1) of this title, after tagging and
reporting game pursuant to fish and wildlife regulations, a person who holds a
mentored hunting license may, unaccompanied by the fully licensed
accompanying hunter, transport game the mentored hunter has taken.

(h) The scheduled amount of a fine under section 4555 of this title shall be
doubled for a violation of this section, and the fine shall be assessed against the
licensed adult accompanying the mentored hunter.

(i) On demand of a game warden or other officer authorized by law to
make arrests, or of the owner of the land on which a person is hunting, the
individual who holds a mentored hunting license shall exhibit the license.

Sec. 2. 10 V.S.A. § 4252 is amended to read:

§ 4252. ACTIVITIES PERMITTED UNDER LICENSES

Subject to provisions of this part and regulations of the board:

(1) A fishing license shall entitle the holder to take fish.

(2) A hunting license shall entitle the holder to take wild animals, except
those that require a separate big game license, and to shoot pickerel.

* * *

(13) A mentored hunting license shall entitle the holder to the same
privileges as permitted by the fully licensed accompanying hunter’s hunting
license under subdivision (2) of this section.

Sec. 3. 10 V.S.A. § 4255 is amended to read:

§ 4255. LICENSE FEES

(a) Vermont residents may apply for licenses on forms provided by the
commissioner. Fees for each license shall be:

* * *

(12) Mentored hunting license $ 10.00

(b) Nonresidents may apply for licenses on forms provided by the
commissioner. Fees for each license shall be:

* * *

(16) Mentored hunting license $ 10.00

* * *
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Sec. 4. 10 V.S.A. § 4502(b) is amended to read:

(b) A person violating provisions of this part shall receive points for
convictions in accordance with the following schedule (all sections are in
Title 10 of Vermont Statutes Annotated):

(1) Five points shall be assessed for any violation of statutes or rules
adopted under this part except those listed in subdivisions (2) and (3) of this
subsection.

(2) Ten points shall be assessed for:

* * *

(CC) Appendix § 22E. Turkey reporting

* * *

(II) Appendix § 37, as it applied applies to annual deer limits

(JJ) § 4256. Mentored hunting license, and the points shall be
assessed against the licensed adult who is accompanying the individual holding
the mentored hunting license.

* * *

and that upon passage, the title of the bill be amended to read:

“An act relating to the creation of a mentored hunting license”

( Committee Vote: 8-1-0)

Rep. Branagan of Georgia, for the Committee on Ways and Means,
recommends the bill ought to pass when amended as recommended by the
Committee on Fish, Wildlife & Water Resources.

(Committee Vote: 11-0-0)

H. 462

An act relating to encroachments on public waters

Rep. Bohi of Hartford, for the Committee on Fish, Wildlife & Water
Resources, recommends the bill be amended by striking all after the enacting
clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 29 V.S.A. § 401 is amended to read:

§ 401. POLICY

Lakes and ponds which are public waters of Vermont and the lands lying
thereunder are a public trust, and it is the policy of the state that these waters
and lands shall be managed to serve the public good, as defined by section 405
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of this title, to the extent authorized by statute. For the purposes of this
chapter, the exercise of this management shall be limited to encroachments
subject to section 403 of this title. The management of these waters and lands
shall be exercised by the department of environmental conservation in
accordance with this chapter and the rules of the board. For the purposes of
this chapter, jurisdiction of the department shall be construed as extending to
all lakes and ponds which are public waters and the lands lying thereunder,
which lie beyond the shoreline or shorelines delineated by the mean water
level of any lake or pond which is a public water of the state, as such mean
water level is determined by the board. For the purposes of this chapter,
jurisdiction shall include encroachments of docks and piers on the boatable
tributaries of Lake Champlain and Lake Memphremagog upstream to the first
barrier to navigation, and encroachments of docks and piers on the Connecticut
River impoundments and boatable tributaries of such impounds upstream to
the first barrier to navigation. No provision of this chapter shall be construed
to permit trespass on private lands without the permission of the owner.

Sec. 2. 29 V.S.A. § 403 is amended to read:

§ 403. ENCROACHMENT PROHIBITED

(a)(1) Except as provided in subsection (b) of this section, no person shall
encroach on any of those waters and lands of lakes and ponds under the
jurisdiction of the board without first obtaining a permit under this chapter.

(2) Except as provided in subsection (b) of this section, no person shall
encroach on the following waters with a dock or pier without first obtaining a
permit under this chapter:

(A) boatable tributaries of Lake Champlain and Lake
Memphremagog upstream to the first barrier to navigation; and

(B) Connecticut River impoundments and boatable tributaries of such
impoundments upstream to the first barrier to navigation.

(3) No permit shall be granted if the encroachment adversely affects the
public good.

(b) A permit shall not be required for the following uses provided that
navigation or boating is not unreasonably impeded:

(1) Wooden or metal docks for noncommercial use mounted on piles or
floats provided that:

(A) the combined horizontal distance of the proposed encroachment
and any existing encroachments located within 100 feet thereof which are
owned or controlled by the applicant do not exceed 50 feet and their aggregate
surface areas do not exceed 500 square feet; and
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(B) concrete, masonry, earth or rock fill, sheet piling, bulkheading,
cribwork, or similar construction does not form a part of the encroachment;

(2) A water intake pipe not exceeding two inches inside diameter;

(3) Temporary extensions of existing structures added for a period not to
exceed six months, if required by low water;

(4) Ordinary repairs and maintenance to existing commercial and
noncommercial structures;

(5) Duck blinds, floats, rafts, and buoys.

(c) Existing encroachments shall not be enlarged, extended, or added to
without first obtaining a permit under this chapter, except as provided in
subsection (b) of this section.

(d) This chapter shall not apply to encroachments subject to the provisions
of chapter 43 of Title 10, concerning dams, or regulations adopted under the
provisions of 10 V.S.A. § 1424 concerning public waters.

(e) This section shall not apply to the installation on lake bottoms of small
filtering devices not exceeding nine square feet of disturbed area on the end of
water intake pipes less than two inches in diameter for the purpose of zebra
mussel control.

( Committee Vote: 9-0-0)

H. 470

An act relating to restructuring of the judiciary

Rep. Lippert of Hinesburg, for the Committee on Judiciary, recommends
the bill be amended by striking all after the enacting clause and inserting in
lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 4 V.S.A. § 1 is amended to read:

§ 1. SUPREME COURT UNIFIED COURT SYSTEM ESTABLISHED

There shall be a supreme court for the state, which shall be held at the times
and places appointed by law. The judiciary shall be a unified court system
under the administrative control of the supreme court. It shall consist of an
appellate division, which shall be the supreme court, and a trial division, which
shall consist of a trial court of general jurisdiction to be known as the superior
court, and a judicial bureau.

Sec. 2. 4 V.S.A. § 2 is amended to read:

§ 2. SUPREME COURT ESTABLISHED; JURISDICTION
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(a) The supreme court shall have exclusive jurisdiction of appeals from
judgments, rulings, and orders of the superior court, the district court and all
other courts, administrative agencies, boards, commissions, and officers unless
otherwise provided by law.

* * *

Sec. 3. 4 V.S.A. § 21a is amended to read:

§ 21a. DUTIES OF THE ADMINISTRATIVE JUDGE

(a) The administrative judge shall assign and specially assign superior and
district judges, including himself or herself, and environmental judges to the
superior, environmental, district, and family courts court. If the administrative
judge determines that additional judicial time is needed to address cases filed
in environmental court, the judge may assign or specially assign up to four
judges on a part-time basis to the environmental court. When assigning or
specially assigning judges to the environmental court, the administrative judge
shall give consideration to experience and expertise in environmental and
zoning law, and shall assign or specially assign judges in a manner to provide
appropriate attention to all geographic areas of the state. All superior judges
except environmental judges shall be subject to the requirements of rotation as
ordered by the supreme court. Assignments made pursuant to the rotation
schedule shall be subject to the approval of the supreme court.

(b) In making any assignment under this section, the administrative judge
shall give consideration to the experience, temperament, and training of a
judge and the needs of the court. In making an assignment to the
environmental court division, the administrative judge shall give consideration
to experience and expertise in environmental and land use law and shall assign
or specially assign judges in a manner to provide appropriate attention to all
geographic areas of the state.

(c) In making any assignments to the environmental court division under
this section, the administrative judge shall regularly assign both environmental
judges through August 2008 and a minimum of two judges thereafter, at least
one of whom shall be an environmental judge. An environmental judge may
be assigned to another other divisions in the superior court only with the
judge’s consent and for a period of time not exceeding two years. When
assigned to other divisions in the superior court, the environmental judge shall
have all the powers and responsibilities of a superior judge.

Sec. 4. 4 V.S.A. § 22(a) and (b) are amended to read:

(a) The chief justice may appoint and assign a retired justice or judge with
his or her consent or a superior judge or district judge to a special assignment
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on the supreme court. The chief justice may appoint, and the administrative
judge shall assign, an active or retired justice or a retired judge, with his or her
consent, to any special assignment in the district, family, environmental or
superior courts court or the judicial bureau. The administrative judge shall
assign a judge to any special assignment in the district, family, environmental
or superior court. Preference shall be given to superior judges to sit in superior
courts. Preference shall be given to district judges to sit in district courts.

(b) The administrative judge may appoint and assign a member of the
Vermont bar residing within the state of Vermont to serve temporarily as:

(1) an acting judge in a district, family, environmental, or superior court;

(2) an acting magistrate; or

(3) an acting hearing officer to hear cases in the judicial bureau.

Sec. 5. 4 V.S.A. § 25(c) is amended to read:

(c) The supreme court may allow supreme court justices, superior court
judges, district court judges, environmental court judges, magistrates, hearing
officers, probate court judges, superior court clerks, or any state compensated
state-compensated employees of the judicial branch not covered by a collective
bargaining agreement to take an administrative leave of absence without pay,
or with pay if the person is called to active duty in support of an extended
national or state military operation. These judicial officers and state
employees shall be entitled to be compensated in the same manner as judicial
branch employees covered by a collective bargaining agreement called to
active duty. The court administrator, at the direction of the supreme court,
shall include provisions in the personnel rules of the judiciary to administer
these leaves of absence.

Sec. 6. 4 V.S.A. § 26 is amended to read:

§ 26. HALF-TIME JUDGES

Of the superior and district judge positions authorized by this title, up to
two may be shared, each by two half-time judges. Of the magistrate positions
authorized by this title, one may be shared by two half-time magistrates. Of
the hearing officer positions authorized by this title, one may be shared by two
half-time hearing officers. Half-time superior and district judges, magistrates,
and hearing officers shall be paid proportionally and shall receive the same
benefits as state employees who share a job. Half-time judges, magistrates,
and hearing officers shall not engage in the active practice of law for
remuneration.

Sec. 7. 4 V.S.A. § 30 is added to read:
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§ 30. SUPERIOR COURT

(a)(1) A superior court having statewide jurisdiction is created. The
superior court shall have the following divisions:

(A) A civil division, which shall have jurisdiction over the matters
described in section 31 of this title. The Vermont Rules of Civil Procedure
shall apply in the civil division.

(B) A criminal division, which shall have jurisdiction over the
matters described in section 32 of this title. The Vermont Rules of Criminal
Procedure shall apply to criminal matters in the criminal division, and the
Vermont Rules of Civil Procedure shall apply to civil matters in the criminal
division.

(C) A family division, which shall have jurisdiction over the matters
described in section 33 of this title. The Vermont Rules of Family Procedure
shall apply in the family division.

(D) An environmental division, which shall have jurisdiction over the
matters described in section 34 of this title. The Vermont Rules for
Environmental Proceedings shall apply in the environmental division.

(2) The supreme court shall promulgate rules, subject to review by the
legislative committee on judicial rules under chapter 1 of Title 12, which
establish criteria for the transfer of cases between divisions.

(b) The supreme court shall by rule divide the superior court into 14
geographical units which shall follow county lines, except that, subject to the
venue requirements of subsection 1001(e) of this title, the environmental
division shall be a court of statewide jurisdiction and shall not be otherwise
divided into geographical units. The superior court shall be held in each unit
of the state.

(c) Terms of the superior court shall be stated by administrative orders of
the supreme court. The court administrator shall provide appropriate security
services for each court in the state.

* * * Delayed Effective Date * * *

Sec. 7a. 4 V.S.A. § 30 is amended to read:

§ 30. SUPERIOR COURT

(a)(1) A superior court having statewide jurisdiction is created. The
superior court shall have the following divisions:

* * *

(E) A probate division, which shall have jurisdiction over the matters
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described in section 35 of this title. The Vermont Rules of Probate Procedure
shall apply in the probate division.

* * *

Sec. 7b. 4 V.S.A. § 31 is added to read:

§ 31. JURISDICTION; CIVIL DIVISION

The civil division shall have:

(1) original and exclusive jurisdiction of all original civil actions, except
as otherwise provided in sections 2, 32, 33, 34, 35, and 1102 of this title;

(2) appellate jurisdiction of causes, civil and criminal, appealable to the
court; and

(3) original jurisdiction, concurrent with the supreme court, of
proceedings in certiorari, mandamus, prohibition, and quo warranto;

(4) exclusive jurisdiction to hear and dispose of any requests to modify
or enforce orders in civil cases previously issued by the superior or district
court other than orders relating to those actions listed in sections 437 and 454
of this title; and

(5) any other matter brought before the court pursuant to law that is not
subject to the jurisdiction of another division.

Sec. 7c. 4 V.S.A. § 32 is added to read:

§ 32. JURISDICTION; CRIMINAL DIVISION

(a) The criminal division shall have jurisdiction to try, render judgment,
and pass sentence in prosecutions for felonies and misdemeanors.

(b) The criminal division shall have jurisdiction to try and finally determine
prosecutions for violations of bylaws or ordinances of a village, town, or city
except as otherwise provided.

(c) The criminal division shall have jurisdiction of the following civil
actions:

(1) Appeals of final decisions of the judicial bureau.

(2) DUI license suspension hearings filed pursuant to chapter 24 of
Title 23.

(3) Extradition proceedings filed pursuant to chapter 159 of Title 13.

(4) Drug forfeiture proceedings under subchapter 2 of chapter 84 of
Title 18.
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(5) Fish and wildlife forfeiture proceedings under chapter 109 of
Title 10.

(6) Liquor forfeiture proceedings under chapter 19 of Title 7.

(7) Hearings relating to refusal to provide a DNA sample pursuant to
20 V.S.A. § 1935.

(8) Automobile forfeiture and immobilization proceedings under
chapters 9 and 13 of Title 23.

(9) Sex offender proceedings pursuant to 13 V.S.A. §§ 5411(e) and
5411d(f).

(10) Restitution modification proceedings pursuant to 13 V.S.A.
§ 7043(h).

(11) Municipal parking violation proceedings pursuant to 24 V.S.A.
§ 1974a(e), if the municipality has established an administrative procedure
enabling a person to contest the violation, and the person has exhausted the
administrative procedure.

(12) Proceedings to enforce chapter 74 of Title 9, relating to energy
efficiency standards for appliances and equipment.

(13) Proceedings to enforce 21 V.S.A. § 268, relating to commercial
building energy standards.

Sec. 7d. 4 V.S.A. § 33 is added to read:

§ 33. JURISDICTION; FAMILY DIVISION

Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary, the family
division shall have exclusive jurisdiction to hear and dispose of the following
proceedings filed or pending on or after October 1, 1990:

(1) All desertion and support proceedings and all parentage actions filed
pursuant to chapter 5 of Title 15.

(2) All rights of married women proceedings filed pursuant to chapter 3
of Title 15.

(3) All enforcement of support proceedings filed pursuant to Title 15B.

(4) All annulment and divorce proceedings filed pursuant to chapter 11
of Title 15.

(5) All parent and child proceedings filed pursuant to chapter 15 of
Title 15.
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(6) All grandparents’ visitation proceedings filed pursuant to chapter 18
of Title 15.

(7) All uniform child custody proceedings filed pursuant to chapter 19
of Title 15.

(8) All juvenile proceedings filed pursuant to chapters 51, 52, and 53 of
Title 33, including proceedings involving “youthful offenders” pursuant to
33 V.S.A. § 5281 whether the matter originated in the district or the family
court.

(9) All enforcement of support proceedings filed pursuant to chapter 39
of Title 33.

(10) All protective services for developmentally disabled persons
proceedings filed pursuant to chapter 215 of Title 18.

(11) All mental health proceedings filed pursuant to chapters 179, 181,
and 185 of Title 18.

(12) All involuntary sterilization proceedings filed pursuant to chapter
204 of Title 18.

(13) All care for mentally retarded persons proceedings filed pursuant to
chapter 206 of Title 18.

(14) All abuse prevention proceedings filed pursuant to chapter 21 of
Title 15. Any superior judge may issue orders for emergency relief pursuant to
15 V.S.A. § 1104.

(15) All abuse and exploitation proceedings filed pursuant to
subchapter 2 of chapter 69 of Title 33.

(16) All proceedings relating to the dissolution of a civil union.

(17) All requests to modify or enforce orders previously issued by the
district or superior court relating to any of the proceedings identified in
subdivisions (1)–(16) of this section.

Sec. 7e. 4 V.S.A. § 34 is added to read:

§ 34. JURISDICTION; ENVIRONMENTAL DIVISION

The environmental division shall have:

(1) jurisdiction of matters arising under chapters 201 and 220 of Title
10;

(2) jurisdiction of matters arising under chapter 117 and subchapter 12
of chapter 61 of Title 24; and
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(3) original jurisdiction to revoke permits under chapter 151 of Title 10.

Sec. 7f. 4 V.S.A. § 35 is added to read:

§ 35. JURISDICTION; PROBATE DIVISION

The probate division shall have jurisdiction of:

(1) the probate of wills;

(2) the settlement of estates;

(3) the administration of trusts created by will pursuant to Title 14A;

(4) trusts of absent persons’ estates;

(5) charitable, cemetery, and philanthropic trusts;

(6) irrevocable trusts created by inter vivos agreements solely for the
purpose of removal and replacement of trustees pursuant to 14 V.S.A.
§ 2314(c);

(7) the appointment of guardians, and of the powers, duties, and rights
of guardians and wards;

(8) proceedings concerning chapter 231 of Title 18;

(9) accountings of attorneys-in-fact where no guardian has been
appointed and the agent has reason to believe the principal is incompetent;

(10) adoptions and relinquishment for adoption;

(11) uniform gifts to minors;

(12) changes of name;

(13) issuance of new birth certificates and amendment of birth
certificates;

(14) correction or amendment of civil marriage certificates and death
certificates;

(15) emergency waiver of premarital medical certificates;

(16) proceedings relating to cemetery lots;

(17) trusts relating to community mausoleums or columbaria;

(18) civil actions brought under subchapter 3 of chapter 107 of Title 18,
relating to disposition of remains;

(19) proceedings relating to the conveyance of a homestead interest of a
spouse under a legal disability;

(20) the issuance of declaratory judgments;
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(21) issuance of certificates of public good authorizing the civil
marriage of persons under 16 years of age;

(22) appointment of administrators to discharge mortgages held by
deceased mortgagees;

(23) appointment of trustees for persons confined under sentences of
imprisonment;

(24) fixation of compensation and expenses of boards of arbitrators of
death taxes of Vermont domiciliaries;

(25) emancipation of minors proceedings filed pursuant to chapter 217
of Title 12; and

(26) other matters as provided by law.

Sec. 8. 4 V.S.A. § 36 is added to read:

§ 36. COMPOSITION OF THE COURT

Unless otherwise specified by law, the superior court is composed of one
superior judge sitting alone.

Sec. 9. 4 V.S.A. § 37 is added to read:

§ 37. VENUE

(a) The venue for all actions filed in the superior court, whether heard in
the civil, criminal, family, environmental, or probate division, shall be as
provided in law.

(b) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the supreme court may
promulgate venue rules, subject to review by the legislative committee on
judicial rules under chapter 1 of Title 12, which are consistent with the
following policies:

(1) Proceedings involving a case should be heard in the unit in which the
case was brought, subject to the following exceptions:

(A) when the parties have agreed otherwise;

(B) status conferences, minor hearings, or other nonevidentiary
proceedings; or

(C) when a change in venue is necessary to ensure access to justice
for the parties or required for the fair and efficient administration of justice.

(2) The electronic filing of cases on a statewide basis should be
facilitated, and the court is authorized to promulgate rules establishing an
electronic case filing system.
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(3) The use of technology to ease travel burdens on citizens and the
courts should be promoted. For example, venue requirements should be
deemed satisfied for some court proceedings when a person, including a judge,
makes an appearance via video technology, even if the judge is not physically
present in the same location as the person making the appearance.

Sec. 10. 4 V.S.A. § 71(a) and (e) are amended to read:

(a) There shall be 15 32 superior judges, whose terms of office shall,
except in the case of an appointment to fill a vacancy or unexpired term, begin
on April 1 in the year of their appointment or retention, and continue for six
years.

(e) The supreme court shall designate one of the superior or district judges
to serve as administrative judge. The administrative judge shall serve at the
pleasure of the supreme court.

Sec. 11. 4 V.S.A. § 73 is amended to read:

§ 73. ASSIGNMENT

(a) The supreme court may establish no more than three geographic
divisions for the assignment of superior judges. In accordance with the
direction of the supreme court, the administrative judge shall assign the
superior judges among the geographic units and divisions and shall establish a
rotation schedule, both within and outside the division to which the judges are
regularly assigned. The rotation schedule shall be on file in the office of the
clerk of each superior court, and copies shall be furnished upon request of the
superior court. The administrative judge shall assign a presiding judge to each
unit and may assign a judge to preside in more than one unit. Only in In a case
where a superior judge is disqualified or unable to attend any term of court or
part thereof to which he or she has been assigned may, the administrative judge
may assign another superior judge to act as presiding judge at that term or part
thereof and only for that period during which the assigned judge is disqualified
or unable to attend. If during a term of the superior court the court in a unit is
unable to complete all or part of the work before it in a reasonable time, the
administrative judge, with the approval of the supreme court, may modify
judge assignments to reduce delays in that unit.

(b) Pursuant to section 21a of this title, the administrative judge shall
specially assign superior judges to hear and determine family court matters.
The administrative judge shall insure that such hearings are held promptly.
Any contested divorce case which has been pending for more than one year
shall be advanced for prompt hearing upon the request of any party.

(c) Notwithstanding subsection (b) of this section, the administrative judge
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may, pursuant to section 21a of this title, specially assign a district court judge
to family court to hear matters specified in subsection (b). As necessary to
ensure the efficient operation of the superior court, the presiding judge of the
unit may specially assign a superior judge assigned to a division in the unit,
including the presiding judge, to preside over one or more cases in a different
division. As the administrative judge determines necessary for the operation of
the superior court throughout the state, and with the approval of the supreme
court, the administrative judge may additionally assign for a specified period
of time a superior judge to preside over a particular type of case, or over a
particular type of motion or other judicial proceeding, in all or part of the units
in the state.

Sec. 12. 4 V.S.A. § 75 is amended to read:

§ 75. POWERS OF JUSTICE, OR SUPERIOR JUDGE OR DISTRICT
JUDGE AFTER EXPIRATION OF TERM OR VACATION OF
OFFICE

Whenever the term of office of a justice, superior judge or district judge,
environmental judge, magistrate, or hearing officer expires or he or she
otherwise vacates the office, he the justice, judge, magistrate, or hearing officer
shall have the same authority to conclude causes he or she has partly or fully
heard before him that he or she would have had if he had remained remaining
in that office. He The justice, judge, magistrate, or hearing officer may make
and sign findings and orders for judgments or decrees in causes pending before
him and or her, may make interlocutory orders and decrees. He, and shall be
paid compensation commensurate with that paid specially assigned judicial
officers as provided by section 23 of this title.

Sec. 13. 4 V.S.A. § 111 is amended to read:

§ 111. SUPERIOR COURT SESSIONS

(a) A superior court shall be held in each county at the times and places
appointed by law.

(b) When the business of a superior court cannot otherwise be disposed of
with reasonable dispatch, by direction of the administrative judge there may be
held additional sessions of that superior court simultaneously with the regular
session consisting of a presiding judge and one or more assistant judges, if
available.

(c)(b) A superior court may be temporarily recessed or adjourned from the
place designated for holding a regular term or session to another place in the
county having adequate facilities, when the regular facilities at the county
designated courthouse are not adequate.
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(d) A superior court may be temporarily recessed or adjourned from the
place designated for holding a regular term or session to another place outside
the county having adequate facilities, when the regular facilities at the county
courthouse are not adequate and when the court and all litigants in the case
agree to said transfer.

(e) The administrative judge may assign assistant judges, with their
consent, to a special assignment in a court where they have jurisdiction in
another county when assistant judges of that county are unavailable or the
business of the courts so require.

Sec. 14. 4 V.S.A. § 112 is amended to read:

§ 112. COMPOSITION OF COURT CASES INVOLVING BOTH LEGAL
AND EQUITABLE CLAIMS

(a) The superior court shall consist of one presiding judge and two assistant
judges, if available.

(b) Questions of law and fact. In all proceedings, questions of law shall be
decided by the presiding judge. In cases not tried before a jury, questions of
fact shall be decided by the court. Mixed questions of law and fact shall be
deemed to be questions of law. The presiding judge alone shall decide which
are questions of law, questions of fact, and mixed questions of law and fact.
Written or oral stipulations of fact submitted by the parties shall establish the
facts related therein, except that the presiding judge, in his discretion, may
order a hearing on any such stipulated fact. Neither the decision of the
presiding judge under this subsection nor participation by an assistant judge in
a ruling of law shall be grounds for reversal unless a party makes a timely
objection and raises the issue on appeal.

(c) Availability of assistant judges. If two assistant judges are not
available, the court shall consist of one presiding judge and one assistant judge.
In the event that court is being held by the presiding judge and one assistant
judge, and they do not agree on a decision, a mistrial shall be declared. If
neither assistant judge is available, the court shall consist of the presiding
judge alone, and the unavailability of an assistant judge shall not constitute
reversible error.

(d) Method of determining availability. Before commencing a hearing in
any matter in which the court by law may consist of the presiding judge and
assistant judges, the assistant judges physically present in the courthouse shall
determine whether they are available for the case. If two or more cases are
being heard at one time, and assistant judges may by law participate in either,
each assistant judge may determine in which case he will participate.
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(e) Duty to complete hearing or trial. After an assistant judge has decided
to participate in a hearing or trial, he shall not withdraw therefrom except for
cause. However, if he is not available for a scheduled hearing or trial or
becomes unavailable during trial, the matter may continue without his
participation, and he may not return to participate.

(f) Emergency relief. A presiding judge may hear a petition for emergency
relief when the court is not sitting, and may issue temporary orders as
necessary.

(g) Jury trial. In order to preserve the right to trial by jury, when the claims
of one party sound in equity and the claims of the opposing party sound in law,
the latter party may demand that the claims be tried separately. Where a party
has a right to trial by jury, that party does not waive the right by also seeking
temporary or preliminary injunctive relief in the same action issues sounding in
law and in equity are presented in the same action, the supreme court shall
provide by rule for trial by jury, when demanded, of issues sounding in law.

Sec. 15. 4 V.S.A. § 115 is amended to read:

§ 115. STATED TERMS OF SUPERIOR COURT

Terms of the superior court shall be stated by the administrative orders of
the supreme court. The superior court shall operate continuously irrespective
of the term in which events occur. Terms are designated for purposes of
determining the rotation schedule of superior judges and the responsibility of a
superior judge once a term has expired. When at the expiration of a term a
superior judge is no longer assigned to a specified unit, the judge shall
complete any matters that have been heard or taken under advisement for that
unit. The administrative judge, pursuant to rules of the supreme court, may
specially assign a superior judge to continue to preside over one or more cases
even though the judge is no longer assigned to the unit of origin of the case or
cases. In the absence of such a direction or of an assignment made pursuant to
subsection 73(c) of this title, a judge who at the end of a term is no longer
assigned to a unit shall have no further responsibility for cases in that unit.

Sec. 16. 4 V.S.A. § 219 is amended to read:

§ 219. POWERS OF CHANCELLOR

The powers and jurisdiction of the courts that were heretofore vested in the
courts of chancery are vested in the superior court. District Superior,
environmental, and probate judges have the powers of a chancellor in passing
upon all civil matters which may come before them.

Sec. 17. 4 V.S.A. § 272 is added to read:

§ 272. PROBATE DISTRICTS; PROBATE JUDGES
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(a) For the purpose of the election of probate judges, the state is divided
into eight probate districts: the northeastern district, the northwestern district,
the central district, the Chittenden district, the Addison district, the Rutland
district, the eastern district, and the southern district. The northeastern district
shall contain the counties of Caledonia, Essex, and Orleans. The northwestern
district shall contain the counties of Franklin and Grand Isle. The central
district shall contain the counties of Lamoille and Washington. The
Chittenden district shall contain the county of Chittenden. The Addison
district shall contain the county of Addison. The Rutland district shall contain
the county of Rutland. The eastern district shall contain the counties of Orange
and Windsor. The southern district shall contain the counties of Bennington
and Windham.

(b) Each of the probate judges shall be elected from districts as provided in
subsection (a) of this section.

(c) To hold the position of probate judge, a person shall be admitted by the
supreme court to practice law. This subsection shall not apply to any person
who holds the office of probate judge on July 1, 2010.

(d) The administrative judge may specially assign a probate judge to hear a
case in a geographical district other than the district for which the probate
judge was elected, and may specially assign a probate judge to hear small
claims cases under chapter 187 of Title 12.

Sec. 18. DELETED

Sec. 18a. 4 V.S.A. § 311a is amended to read:

§ 311a. VENUE GENERALLY

For proceedings authorized to the probate courts division of superior court,
venue shall lie as provided in Title 14A for the administration of trusts, and
otherwise in a probate district of the court as follows:

* * *

(26) Declaratory judgments (unless otherwise provided in Title 14A for
proceedings relating to the administration of trusts):

(A) if any related proceeding is then pending in any probate division
of the superior court, in that district;

(B) if no proceeding is pending:

(i) in the district where the petitioner resides; or

(ii) if a decedent’s estate, a guardian or ward, or trust governed by
Title 14 is the subject of the proceeding, in any district where venue lies for a
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proceeding thereon.

(27) Issuance of certificates of public good authorizing the civil
marriage of persons under 16 years of age: in the district or county unit where
either applicant resides, if either is a resident of the state; otherwise in the
district or county unit in which the civil marriage is sought to be consummated.

(28) Appointment of a trustee for a person confined under a sentence of
imprisonment: in the district or county unit in which the person resided at the
time of sentence, or in the district or county unit in which the sentence was
imposed.

* * *

Sec. 19. 4 V.S.A. § 354 is amended to read:

§ 354. DISQUALIFICATION OF JUDGE OR REGISTER; PENALTY

A probate judge or register shall not act as guardian, executor,
administrator, trustee, or in any other fiduciary capacity or as attorney in any
probate matter pending in any court in the state while holding either office. A
judge or register who violates a provision of this section shall be imprisoned
not more than six months, or fined not more than $500.00, or both.

Sec. 20. 4 V.S.A. § 355 is amended to read:

§ 355. DISQUALIFICATION OR DISABILITY OF JUDGE

When a probate judge is incapacitated for the duties of his office by
absence, removal from the district, resignation, sickness, death, or otherwise or
if he, his wife the judge or the judge’s spouse or child is heir or legatee under a
will filed in his the judge’s district, or if he the judge is executor or
administrator of the estate of a deceased person in his or her district, or is
interested as a creditor or otherwise in a question to be decided by the court, he
or she shall not act as judge. His The judge’s duties shall be performed by the
register, if not disqualified, or a judge of another district or an assistant judge
of the superior court of the county in which such district is situated. The
register or judge shall have jurisdiction to act while such disqualification,
incapacity or vacancy exists a superior judge assigned by the presiding judge
of the unit.

Sec. 21. 4 V.S.A. § 356 is amended to read:

§ 356. AUTHORITY OF JUDGE AFTER END OF TERM

(a) A probate judge whose term of office has expired, or who has vacated
such office, shall have authority to act in the capacity of probate judge to
conclude causes and proceedings partly or fully heard before him the judge as
probate judge as fully and effectively as he or she could had if he or she
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remained in such office. He or she may make, sign, and enter findings,
decisions, orders, and decrees in causes or proceedings so pending before him
or her as probate judge, and all such acts so performed by him the judge shall
have as full force and effect as they would have had if he or she had remained
in office.

(b) The jurisdiction conferred by subsection (a) of this section shall not be
exercised unless the successor to the retiring judge shall file and cause to be
recorded in such cause or proceeding within 30 days from the time of assuming
office a certificate stating that such cause or proceeding was partly or fully
heard before such retiring judge and that jurisdiction thereof shall be retained
by such retiring judge if the presiding judge of the unit determines that the
successor to the probate judge will assume jurisdiction for all or part of the
cases.

(c) A probate judge who exercises the jurisdiction conferred by
subsection (a) of this section shall receive compensation at a rate fixed by the
successor judge, and the compensation and necessary expenses allowed by the
successor judge shall be paid by the state court administrator.

Sec. 22. 4 V.S.A. § 357 is amended to read:

§ 357. REGISTERS OF PROBATE; APPOINTMENT AND REMOVAL;
COMPENSATION; CLERKS

(a) The probate judge shall appoint and remove registers of probate and
clerical assistants for the probate courts, who shall be paid by the state and
shall be state employees and shall be entitled to all fringe benefits and
compensation accorded classified state employees who are similarly situated,
as determined by the court administrator subject to any applicable statutory
limits, unless otherwise covered by the provisions of a collective bargaining
agreement setting forth the terms and conditions of employment, negotiated
pursuant to chapter 28 of Title 3 court administrator shall appoint a register of
probate for each unit. The register of probate, subject to the approval of the
court administrator, may designate one or more staff persons as additional
registers.

(b) Subject to the approval of the court administrator, more than one
register of probate may be appointed in any probate district as the business of
the court requires.

Sec. 23. 4 V.S.A. § 362 is amended to read:

§ 362. OATHS

A probate judge or register may administer oaths necessary in the
transaction of business before the probate court and oaths required to be
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administered to persons executing trusts under the appointment of such court.

Sec. 24. 4 V.S.A. § 364 is amended to read:

§ 364. COMMITMENT TO ENFORCE ORDERS

If a person does not comply with an order, sentence, or decree of the
probate division of the superior court in a proceeding formerly within the
jurisdiction of the probate court, the court may issue a warrant committing the
person to the custody of the commissioner of corrections until compliance is
given.

Sec. 25. 4 V.S.A. § 369 is amended to read:

§ 369. NONRESIDENT’S ESTATE; NOTICE TO COMMISSIONER OF
TAXES; INFORMATION TO BANKS

(a) When an executor or administrator is appointed to administer within
this state an estate of a deceased person who resided in another state or country
at the time of his or her death, the judge of probate so appointing who issued
the appointment shall forthwith notify in writing forthwith the commissioner of
taxes in writing of such the appointment, giving the name and residence of
such the deceased person at the time of his or her death, the name and
residence of the executor or administrator, the date of his or her appointment,
and identifying the probate court making such the appointment.

(b) The commissioner shall keep a full record in each case and upon
inquiry made of him or her by any savings bank or savings institution in the
state shall at once notify such the bank or institution whether, as shown by his
or her record, an executor or administrator has been appointed by any probate
court in the state to administer the estate of the deceased person named in such
the inquiry. If there has been such an appointment, the commissioner shall
furnish the above information to such the bank or institution forthwith.

Sec. 26. DELETED

Sec. 27. 4 V.S.A. § 436a is amended to read:

§ 436a. —SPECIAL CIRCUIT AT WATERBURY

There is hereby established a special unit of the district family division of
the superior court to hold sessions in the town of Waterbury for the sole
purpose of exercising jurisdiction over applications for treatment of mentally
ill individuals under Title 18. That unit shall have exclusive jurisdiction of any
application for involuntary hospitalization arising under the provisions of
18 V.S.A. §§ 7801, 7803, and 8001 where the proposed patient is confined to
the Vermont State Hospital at Waterbury. The special unit shall not exercise
any other civil or criminal jurisdiction otherwise exercised by the district court
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created under section 436 of this title superior court. A district superior judge
shall be assigned by the administrative judge to the special unit, who need not
be a resident of the town of Waterbury or of the territorial unit in which the
town of Waterbury is otherwise located. The district judge assigned to the
special unit may be assigned by the administrative judge to serve temporarily
in another unit where he may exercise the same jurisdiction as any district
judge. If another district judge is assigned to the special unit temporarily, he
shall exercise only the jurisdiction conferred on that unit.

Sec. 28. DELETED

Sec. 28a. 4 V.S.A. § 455 is amended to read:

§ 455. TRANSFER OF PROBATE PROCEEDINGS

(a) Any guardianship action filed in the probate division of the superior
court pursuant to chapter 111, subchapter 2, article 1 of Title 14 and any
adoption action filed in the probate court division pursuant to chapter 9 of
Title 15 may be transferred to the family division of the superior court as
provided in this section.

(b) The family court division shall order the transfer of the proceeding on
motion of a party or on its own motion if it finds that the identity of the parties,
issues, and evidence are so similar in nature to the parties, issues, and evidence
in a proceeding pending in the family court division that transfer of the probate
action to the family court division would expedite resolution of the issues or
would best serve the interests of justice.

Sec. 29. 4 V.S.A. § 461 is amended to read:

§ 461. OFFICE OF MAGISTRATE; JURISDICTION; SELECTION; TERM

(a) The office of magistrate is created within the family division of the
superior court. Except as provided in section 463 of this title, the office of
magistrate shall have nonexclusive jurisdiction concurrent with the family
court to hear and dispose of the following cases and proceedings:

(1) Proceedings for the establishment, modification, and enforcement of
child support.

(2) Cases arising under the Uniform Interstate Family Support Act.

(3) Child support in parentage cases after parentage has been
determined.

(4) Cases arising under section 33 V.S.A. § 5533 of Title 33, when
delegated by the family a presiding judge of the superior court.

(5) Proceedings to establish, modify, or enforce temporary orders for
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spousal maintenance in accordance with sections 15 V.S.A. §§ 594a and 752 of
Title 15.

(6) Proceedings to modify or enforce temporary or final parent-child
contact orders issued pursuant to this title.

(7) Proceedings to establish parentage.

(8) Proceedings to establish temporary rights and responsibilities and
parent-child contact.

(b) A magistrate shall be an attorney admitted to practice in Vermont with
at least four years of general law practice. Magistrates shall be nominated,
appointed, and confirmed in the manner of superior judges.

(c) The term of office of a magistrate shall be six years. Any appointment
to fill a vacancy shall be for the unexpired portion of the term vacated. A
magistrate may be reappointed by the governor under this section without
review by the judicial nominating board, but a reappointment shall require the
consent of the senate.

(1) Terms of office of magistrates, except in the case of an appointment
to fill a vacancy or unexpired term, shall be for a term of six years from and
including September 30 in the year of their appointment or retention. A
magistrate shall remain in office until a successor is appointed and qualified,
unless sooner removed for cause or unless he or she resigns.

(2) A magistrate may file in the office of the secretary of state, on or
before September 1 of the year during the expiration of the term for which he
or she was appointed or retained, a declaration that he or she will be a
candidate to succeed himself or herself. However, a magistrate appointed and
having taken the oath of office after September 1 of the year preceding the
expiration of the term of office shall automatically be a candidate for retention
without filing notice. When a magistrate files such a declaration his or her
name shall be submitted to the general assembly for a vote on retention. The
general assembly shall vote upon one ballot on the question: “Shall the
following magistrates be retained in office?” The names of the magistrates
shall be listed followed by “Yes__ No__.” If a majority of those voting on the
question vote against retaining a magistrate in office, upon the expiration of the
term a vacancy shall exist which shall be filled in accordance with the
constitution and chapter 15 of this title. If the majority vote is in favor of
retention, the magistrate shall, unless removed for cause, remain in office for
another term, and at its end, shall be eligible for retention in office in the
manner herein prescribed.

(3) The court administrator shall notify the secretary of state whenever a
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magistrate is appointed and takes the oath of office after September 1 of the
year preceding the expiration of the term of office to which the magistrate has
succeeded, thereby resulting in automatic notification of an intention to
continue in office. Whenever a magistrate files a declaration under subsection
(a) of this section or when notification occurs automatically, the secretary of
state shall notify the president of the senate, the speaker of the house, and the
legislative council forthwith.

(d) Magistrates shall be exempt employees of the judicial branch, subject to
the Code of Judicial Conduct, and, except as provided in section 26 of this title,
shall devote full time to their duties. The supreme court shall prescribe training
requirements for magistrates.

(e) A magistrate shall have received training on the subject of parent-child
contact before being assigned to hear and determine motions filed pursuant to
subdivision (a)(6) of this section.

(f) [Repealed.]

Sec. 30. 4 V.S.A. § 462 is amended to read:

§ 462. FINDINGS; ORDERS; STIPULATIONS

(a) The magistrate shall make findings of fact, conclusions, and a decision
and shall issue an order. An order issued by a magistrate may be enforced by
the family division of the superior court in the county unit in which the
magistrate hearing was held. A motion for contempt of a magistrate’s order
shall be heard as expeditiously as possible by the family court judge upon
motion of either party or upon motion of the family court judge or magistrate.

(b) A magistrate may issue an order based on a stipulation regarding any
preliminary matter necessary to issue a child support order.

(c) If the stipulation of the parties regarding child support includes matters
other than preliminary matters necessary to issue a child support order, the
stipulation may be accepted and approved by the magistrate in respect to those
preliminary matters and signed by the magistrate as an order of the family
division of the superior court.

(d) A magistrate shall issue an order for child support based upon the actual
physical living arrangements of the children during the prior three months if
the parties have not stipulated concerning parental rights and responsibilities.
If parental rights and responsibilities are contested, the family division of the
superior court shall make an order allocating parental rights and
responsibilities.

Sec. 31. 4 V.S.A. § 463 is amended to read:
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§ 463. JURISDICTION OF FAMILY DIVISION OF SUPERIOR COURT

OVER CHILD SUPPORT

Upon motion of either party, upon motion of the magistrate, or upon the
family court’s own motion, a judge of the family division of the superior court
may hear and determine the issue of child support, provided there is a prior
existing support order in effect or an interim or temporary order and the court
finds one of the following:

* * *

(4) Such good and substantial cause as the family court may find,
consistent with the principle that support cases shall be heard in a timely
manner.

Sec. 32. 4 V.S.A. § 601 is amended to read:

§ 601. JUDICIAL NOMINATING BOARD CREATED; COMPOSITION

(a) A judicial nominating board is created for the nomination of supreme
court justices, and superior and district judges, magistrates, the chair of the
public service board, and members of the public service board.

* * *

(d) The judicial nominating board shall adopt rules under chapter 25 of
Title 3 which shall establish criteria and standards for the nomination of
qualified candidates for judicial appointment including justices of the supreme
court, superior judges, magistrates, the chair of the public service board, and
members of the public service board. The criteria and standards shall include,
but not be limited to, such factors as integrity, legal knowledge and ability,
judicial temperament, impartiality, health, experience, diligence, administrative
and communicative skills, social consciousness, and public service.

* * *

Sec. 33. 4 V.S.A. § 602 is amended to read:

§ 602. —DUTIES

(a) Prior to submission of names of qualified candidates for justices of the
supreme court, superior judges and district judges, magistrates, the chair of the
public service board, and members of the public service board to the governor
or general assembly as set forth in subsection (b) of this section, the board shall
submit to the court administrator of the supreme court a list of all candidates,
and he the administrator shall disclose to the board information solely about
professional disciplinary action taken or pending concerning any candidate.
From the list of candidates presented, the judicial nominating board shall select
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by majority vote, provided that a quorum is present, qualified candidates as set
forth in subsection (b) for the position to be filled.

(b) Whenever a vacancy occurs in the office of a supreme court justice, or a
superior or district judge, or when an incumbent does not declare that he or she
will be a candidate to succeed himself or herself, the judicial nominating board
shall submit to the governor the names of as many persons as it deems
qualified to be appointed to the office. There shall be included in the
qualifications for appointment that the person shall be an attorney at law who
has been engaged in the practice of law or a judge in the state of Vermont for a
period of at least five out of the ten years preceding his appointment, and with
respect to a candidate for superior or district judge particular consideration
shall be given to the nature and extent of his the candidate’s trial practice.

* * *

Sec. 34. 4 V.S.A. § 603 is amended to read:

§ 603. JUDGES; APPOINTMENT OF JUSTICES, JUDGES,

MAGISTRATES, PUBLIC SERVICE BOARD CHAIRS AND

MEMBERS

Whenever the governor appoints a supreme court justice or, a superior or
district judge, a magistrate, a chair of the public service board, or a member of
the public service board, he shall do so or she shall select from the list of
names of qualified persons submitted to him by the judicial nominating board
pursuant to law. The names of candidates submitted and not selected shall
remain confidential.

Sec. 35. 4 V.S.A. § 605 is amended to read:

§ 605. POLITICAL ACTIVITY BY JUDGES PROHIBITED

Superior and district judges shall not make any contribution to or hold any
office in a political party or organization or take part in any political campaign.

Sec. 36. 4 V.S.A. § 608 is amended to read:

§ 608. FUNCTIONS

(a) Declarations submitted to the general assembly by a supreme court
justice under subsection 4(c) of this title, by a superior court judge under
subsection 71(b) of this title, or by a district court judge under subsection
604(a) of this title magistrate under subsection 461(c) of this title shall be
referred immediately to the joint committee on judicial retention. The
declarations shall be accompanied by a supporting statement by the judge or,
the justice, or the magistrate seeking retention. In the case of a district or
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superior court judge or magistrate, the declaration shall also be accompanied
by information on the next succeeding rotation schedule for the judge seeking
retention.

(b) The joint committee responsible for the recommendation of retention
shall review the candidacies of those justices, superior judges, and district
judges magistrates desiring to succeed themselves. In conducting its review
the committee shall evaluate judicial performance, including but not limited to
such factors as integrity, judicial temperament, impartiality, health, diligence,
legal knowledge and ability, and administrative and communicative skills.

* * *

(d) A judge or, a justice, or a magistrate seeking retention has the right to
present oral or written testimony to the committee relative to his or her
retention, may be represented by counsel, and may present witnesses to testify
in his or her behalf. Copies of written comments received by the committee
shall be forwarded to the judge or, the justice, or the magistrate. A judge or, a
justice, or a magistrate seeking retention has the right to a reasonable time
period to prepare and present to the committee a response to any testimony or
written complaint adverse to his or her retention and has the right to be present
during any public hearing conducted by the committee.

* * *

(g) The votes on retention under subsections 4(c), 71(b), and 604(a) 461(c)
of this title shall be conducted in one joint assembly of the general assembly,
except that in the event that the joint committee reports to the general assembly
that it is not able to make its recommendation on a particular justice, or judge,
or magistrate under subsection (b) of this section on or before the date set for
such joint assembly, the vote on such individual or individuals shall be
deferred to a subsequent joint assembly, and separate ballots shall be used
despite any other statutory provisions relating to the votes on retention.

Sec. 37. 4 V.S.A. § 651 is amended to read:

§ 651. COUNTY CLERK AS CLERK CLERKS OF COURTS

Each county clerk shall be clerk of the superior court for the county. The
court administrator shall act as clerk of the supreme court as provided in
section 8 of this title. The court administrator shall appoint a superior court
clerk for each unit. The court administrator may appoint the same person to be
clerk in more than one unit. With approval of the court administrator, the clerk
shall hire office staff. The clerk shall have the powers and responsibilities
formerly held by the clerk of the district court or the family court or the
register of the probate court and may delegate specific powers and
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responsibilities to assigned staff. Unless so designated by the assistant judges
of a specific county, with the approval of the court administrator, a superior
court clerk shall not also serve as a county clerk.

Sec. 38. 4 V.S.A. § 652 is amended to read:

§ 652. RECORDS OF JUDGMENTS AND OTHER PROCEEDINGS;
DOCKETS; CERTIFIED COPIES

The clerk shall:

* * *

(4) Except as provided in section 454 of Title 22, he shall keep on file
and preserve all process, pleadings, and papers relating to causes in superior
court which together with the records of the court, he or she shall give to any
person, on demand and tender of the legal fees, certified copies of any of the
records, proceedings or minutes in his or her office, and all proper certificates,
under the seal of the court. However, the clerk shall not disclose the filing of
an action or release any records, proceedings, or minutes pertaining to it until
service of process has been completed; nor shall he the clerk disclose any
materials or information required by law to be kept confidential. Original
court records shall be maintained for two years after final court action and
thereafter may be maintained on microfilm or electronic media.

Sec. 39. 4 V.S.A. § 657 is amended to read:

§ 657. TRANSCRIBING DAMAGED RECORDS

When records in the court clerk’s office become faded, defaced, torn, or
otherwise injured, so as to endanger the permanent legibility or proper
preservation of the same, by an order in writing recorded in the court clerk’s
office, the court administrator shall direct the court clerk to provide suitable
books and transcribe such records therein. At the end of a transcript of record
so made, he the clerk shall certify under his official signature and the seal of
the court that the same is a true transcript of the original record. Such
transcript or a duly certified copy thereof shall be entitled to the same faith and
credit and have the same force as the original record. The expense of making
such transcript shall be paid by the county state.

Sec. 40. 4 V.S.A. § 658 is amended to read:

§ 658. SUPREME COURT RECORDS

Whenever the records of the supreme court are transcribed by the county
superior court clerk, he the clerk shall forthwith transmit the original of such
record to the court administrator for safekeeping, together with a certified copy
thereof. The county superior court clerk shall keep on file an additional
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certified copy of such transcription in place of the original so transmitted. A
copy of such original record certified by the court administrator from the
original or a copy certified by the county superior court clerk from the
transcript retained on file by him shall be entitled to the same faith and credit
and have the same force as the original record. The expense of making such
transcript and of transmittal of the original record shall be paid by the state.

Sec. 41. 4 V.S.A. § 659 is amended to read:

§ 659. MICROFILMING PRESERVATION OF COURT RECORDS

(a) The supreme court by administrative order may provide for permanent
preservation of all court records by microfilming, or by any other photographic
or electronic process which will provide compact records in reduced size, in
accordance with standards established by the department of buildings and
general services of the Vermont agency of administration secretary of state
which take into account the quality and security of the microphotographed
records, and ready access to the micrographic record of any cause so recorded.

(b) After microfilming preservation in accordance with subsection (a) of
this section, the supreme court by administrative order may provide for the
disposition of original court records by destruction or in cases where the
original court record may have historical or intrinsic value by transfer to an
appropriate institutional facility such as the archives of the secretary of state,
the department of buildings and general services of the agency of
administration, the Vermont historical society, or the university University of
Vermont.

Sec. 42. 4 V.S.A. § 691 is amended to read:

§ 691. CLERKS AND ASSISTANTS; APPOINTMENT; COMPENSATION

The superior court clerk, with the approval of the court administrator, with
the advice of the district judge concerned, may appoint hire and remove clerks
and assistant clerks staff for the district superior court subject to the terms of
any applicable collective bargaining agreement. The clerks and assistant clerks
staff shall be state employees and shall be entitled to all fringe benefits and
compensation accorded classified state employees who are similarly situated,
subject to any applicable statutory limits, unless covered by a collective
bargaining agreement that sets forth the terms and conditions of employment
negotiated pursuant to the provisions of chapter 28 of Title 3.

Sec. 43. 4 V.S.A. § 740 is amended to read:

§ 740. COURT RECORDS; DOCKETS; CERTIFIED COPIES

The supreme court by administrative order shall provide for the preparation,
maintenance, recording, indexing, docketing, preservation, and storage of all
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family court records and the provision, subject to confidentiality requirements
of chapter 55 of Title 33 law or court rules, of certified copies of those records
to persons requesting them.

Sec. 44. 4 V.S.A. § 798 is amended to read:

§ 798. PROBATIVE FORCE OF TRANSCRIPTS

All transcripts of evidence or proceedings in a cause or hearing tried in
superior court, probate court or district court or before an auditor, referee, or
commissioner, ordered to be reported by the presiding judge, a probate or
district superior judge, and made by or under the direction of the reporter and
duly certified by him or her to be a verbatim transcript of his the verbatim
stenographic notes of such evidence or proceedings, shall be received as
evidence in any action, civil or criminal, if relevant thereto.

Sec. 45. 4 V.S.A. § 803(a) and (b) are amended to read:

(a) Subject to any rules prescribed by the supreme court pursuant to law,
electronic sound or sound and video recording equipment may be used for the
recording of any civil, criminal, or probate proceedings, testimony, objections,
rulings, exceptions, arraignments, pleas, sentences, statements, and remarks
made by any attorney or judge, oral instructions given by the judge, and any
other judicial proceedings to the same extent as any recording by a
stenographer or reporter permitted or required under existing statutes.

(b) For the purpose of operating the sound recording equipment, the judge
may appoint or designate the official reporter of that court, a special reporter,
the clerk of the court, any assistant clerks staff of the court, the court officer, or
any other designated court personnel. The person operating the sound
recording equipment shall subscribe to an oath that the operator will well and
truly operate it to record all matters and proceedings.

Sec. 46. 4 V.S.A. § 952(a) is amended to read:

(a) The court administrator, subject to the approval of the supreme court,
shall make rules regarding the qualifications, lists, and selection of all jurors
and prepare questionnaires for prospective jurors. Each jury commission
superior court clerk shall, in conformity with said rules, prepare a list of jurors
from residents of its county unit. The rules shall be designed to assure that the
list of jurors prepared by the jury commission shall be representative of the
citizens of its county unit in terms of age, sex, occupation, economic status,
and geographical distribution.

Sec. 47. 4 V.S.A. § 953(a), (b), and (e) are amended to read:

(a) The jury commission clerk, in order to ascertain names of persons
eligible as jurors, may consult the latest census enumeration, the latest
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published city, town, or village telephone or other directory, the listers’
records, the elections records, and any other general source of names.

(b) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, the court administrator may
obtain the names, addresses, and dates of birth of persons which are contained
in the records of the department of motor vehicles, the department of labor, the
department of taxes, the department of health, and the department for children
and families. The court administrator may also obtain the names of voters
from the secretary of state. After the names have been obtained, the court
administrator shall compile them and provide the names, addresses, and dates
of birth to the jury commission clerk in a form that will not reveal the source of
the names. The jury commission clerk shall include the names provided by the
court administrator in the list of potential jurors.

(e) All public officers shall, on request, furnish the jury commission clerk
or the court administrator without charge, any information it may require to
enable it to select eligible persons, ascertain their qualifications, or determine
the number needed.

Sec. 48. 4 V.S.A. § 954 is amended to read:

§ 954. DEPOSIT OF LIST

Prior to the first day of July in each biennial year, the jury commission clerk
shall prepare and file a current master list of jurors in the office of the county
clerk and certify its completion and filing to the court administrator. The
current master lists shall contain the number of names necessary adequately to
serve the needs of the courts involved for a two-year period beginning July 1.

Sec. 49. 4 V.S.A. § 955 is amended to read:

§ 955. QUESTIONNAIRE

The jury commission clerk shall send a jury questionnaire prepared by the
court administrator to each person selected. When returned, it shall be retained
in the county superior court clerk’s office, except that those questionnaires
submitted by prospective jurors for service in the district court of Vermont
shall be deposited with the clerk of the district court concerned. The
questionnaire shall at all times during business hours be open to inspection by
the court and attorneys of record of the state of Vermont.

Sec. 50. 4 V.S.A. § 957 is amended to read:

§ 957. DRAWING AND SUMMONING JURORS

The manner of drawing and summoning jurors from the lists provided shall
be in accordance with the rules of the court in which they are called to serve
and all applicable statutes, including section 952 of this title, requiring that the
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panel shall be representative of the citizens of the county unit in terms of age,
sex, occupation, economic status, and geographical distribution.

Sec. 51. 4 V.S.A. § 959 is amended to read:

§ 959. GRAND JURORS; VENIRE

The jury commission clerk, as directed by the judges of each superior court,
shall summon 18 judicious persons within the county unit to appear at any
stated or special term of that court to serve as grand jurors of the county unit.
The clerk of the court shall issue a venire accordingly.

Sec. 52. 4 V.S.A. § 961(a) is amended to read:

(a) Any person who fails to return a completed questionnaire within ten
days of its receipt may be summoned by the county superior court clerk
forthwith to appear forthwith before the clerk to fill out a jury questionnaire.
Any person so summoned who fails to appear as directed shall be ordered
forthwith by the presiding judge to appear and show cause for his or her failure
to comply with the summons. Any person who fails to appear pursuant to such
order or who fails to show good cause for noncompliance may be found in
contempt of court and shall be subject to the penalties for contempt.

Sec. 53. 4 V.S.A. § 1001 is amended to read:

§ 1001. ENVIRONMENTAL COURT DIVISION

(a) An environmental court having statewide jurisdiction is created as a
court of record subject to the authority granted to the supreme court. The
environmental court division shall consist of two judges, each sitting alone.

(b) Two environmental judges shall be appointed within the judicial branch
who shall to hear matters arising under 10 V.S.A. chapters 201 and 220 and
matters arising under 24 V.S.A. chapter 117 and chapter 61, subchapter 12. In
addition, the judges shall have original jurisdiction to revoke permits under
10 V.S.A. chapter 151 in the environmental division and to hear other matters
in the superior court when so assigned by the administrative judge pursuant to
4 V.S.A. § 21a(c).

(c) An environmental judge shall be an attorney admitted to practice before
the Vermont supreme court. An environmental judge shall be nominated,
appointed, confirmed, paid, and retained, and shall receive all benefits in the
manner of a superior court judge.

(d) An environmental judge shall be appointed on April 1, for a term of six
years or the unexpired portion thereof.

(e) Evidentiary proceedings in the environmental court division shall be
held in the county in which all or a portion of the land which is the subject of
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the appeal is located or where the violation is alleged to have occurred, unless
the parties agree to another location; provided, however, that the
environmental judge shall offer expeditious evidentiary hearings so that no
such proceedings are moved to another county to obtain an earlier hearing.
Unless otherwise ordered by the court, all nonevidentiary hearings may be
conducted by telephone using an audio or video record. If a party objects to a
telephone hearing, the court may require a personal appearance for good cause.

(f) The environmental court shall be provided with a dedicated minimum of
one court manager, two law clerks, one case manager, and two docket clerk-
courtroom operators. These positions shall not be subject to any rotation with
other courts. The environmental court shall receive the same funding and
provisions for security as provided to county courthouses. [Repealed.]

(g) The supreme court may enact rules and develop procedures consistent
with this chapter to govern the operation of the environmental court division
and proceedings in the court it. In adopting these rules, the supreme court shall
ensure that the rules provide for:

(1) expeditious proceedings that give due consideration to the needs of
pro se litigants;

(2) the ability of the judge to hold pretrial conferences by telephone;

(3) the use of scheduling orders under the Vermont Rules of Civil
Procedure in order to limit discovery to that which is necessary for a full and
fair determination of the proceeding; and

(4) the appropriate use of site visits by the presiding judge to assist the
court in rendering a decision.

Sec. 53a. 4 V.S.A. § 1002 is amended to read:

§ 1002. CONDUCT OF HEARINGS

Hearings before the environmental court division shall be conducted in an
impartial manner subject to rules of the supreme court providing for a
summary, expedited proceeding.

Sec. 53b. 4 V.S.A. § 1004 is amended to read:

§ 1004. ACCESS TO INFORMATION

(a) In connection with any proceedings under chapter 201 of Title 10, each
party shall provide all other parties with all written statements and information
in the possession, custody, or control of the party relative to the violation,
including any technical studies, tests and reports, maps, architectural and
engineering plans and specifications, drawings, graphs, charts, photographs,
and other data compilations from which information can be obtained, the
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names and addresses of the party’s witnesses, and any other information which
the environmental court division deems necessary, in its sole discretion, to a
fair and full determination of the proceeding.

(b) No other discovery or depositions, written interrogatories or requests to
admit shall be permitted except that which is necessary for a full and fair
determination of the proceeding.

Sec. 53c. 10 V.S.A. § 8002 is amended to read:

§ 8002. DEFINITIONS

As used in this chapter:

* * *

(12) “Environmental court” means the environmental division of the
superior court established by 4 V.S.A. § 30.

Sec. 53d. 10 V.S.A. § 8221 is amended to read:

§ 8221. CIVIL ENFORCEMENT

(a) The secretary, or the land use panel of the natural resources board with
respect to matters relating to land use permits under chapter 151 of this title
only, may bring an action in the civil division of the superior court to enforce
the provisions of law specified in subsection 8003(a) of this title, to ensure
compliance, and to obtain penalties in the amounts described in subsection (b)
of this section. The action shall be brought by the attorney general in the name
of the state.

* * *

Sec. 53e. 10 V.S.A. § 8502 is amended to read:

§ 8502. DEFINITIONS

As used in this chapter:

* * *

(3) “Environmental court” means the environmental court established
under 4 V.S.A. chapter 27 division of the superior court established by
4 V.S.A. § 30.

* * *

Sec. 54. 4 V.S.A. § 1103 is amended to read:

§ 1103. VENUE

Venue for violation hearings in the judicial bureau shall be in the unit of the
district superior court where the violation is alleged to have occurred.
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Sec. 55. 4 V.S.A. § 1104 is amended to read:

§ 1104. APPOINTMENT OF HEARING OFFICERS

The administrative judge shall appoint members of the Vermont bar to serve
as hearing officers to hear cases. Hearing officers shall be subject to the Code
of Judicial Conduct. At least one hearing officer shall reside in each territorial
unit of the district court.

Sec. 55a. 4 V.S.A. § 1108 is amended to read:

§ 1108. CIVIL ORDINANCE AND TRAFFIC VIOLATIONS;

JURISDICTION OF ASSISTANT JUDGES

(a) Subject to the limits of this section and notwithstanding any provision
of law to the contrary, an assistant judge sitting alone shall have the same
jurisdiction, powers, and duties to hear and decide civil ordinance and traffic
violations as a hearing officer has under the provisions of this chapter.

(b)(1) An assistant judge who elects to All assistant judges shall hear and
decide civil ordinance and traffic violations. Prior to hearing traffic violations
pursuant to this subsection, an assistant judge shall:

(A) have served in that office for a minimum of two years;
[Repealed.]

(B) have successfully completed at least 40 hours a course of training
which shall be provided by the bureau court administrator’s office; and

(C) annually complete eight hours of continuing education every year
supervised by the court administrator’s office relating to jurisdiction exercised
under this section.

(2) Training shall be paid for by the county, which expenditure is hereby
authorized. Law clerk assistance shall be available to the assistant judges.
[Repealed].

(c) The administrative judge may assign or direct assignment of an
assistant judge with his or her consent to hear a civil ordinance or traffic
violation case cases within the county in which the assistant judge presides or
in a county other than the county in which the assistant judge presides if the
assistant judge has elected to hear and decide civil ordinance and traffic
violations under this section.

Sec. 56. 5 V.S.A. § 43 is amended to read:

§ 43. REVIEW BY SUPERIOR COURT

A party to a cause who feels aggrieved by the final order, judgment, or
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decree of the board may appeal to a superior court under Rule 74 of the
Vermont Rules of Civil Procedure. However, the board, before final judgment,
may permit an appeal to be taken by any party to a superior court for
determination of questions of law in the same manner as the supreme court
may by rule provide for appeals before final judgment from a superior court or
a district court. Notwithstanding the provisions of the Vermont Rules of Civil
Procedure or the Vermont Rules of Appellate Procedure, neither the time for
filing a notice of appeal nor the filing of a notice of appeal, as provided in this
section, shall operate as a stay of enforcement of an order of the board unless
the board or a superior court grants a stay under the provisions of section 44 of
this title.

Sec. 57. 5 V.S.A. § 3535 is amended to read:

§ 3535. RIGHT OF ACTION ON NONPAYMENT OF DAMAGES

When a railroad corporation has entered upon and used land and real estate
for the construction and accommodation of its railroad, and has, by its
engineers, agents, or servants, entered upon land contiguous to the railroad or
the works connected therewith, and taken materials to use in the construction
of its road, and has not paid the owner therefor, nor, within two years from
such entry, had the damages appraised by commissioners, and an award made
and delivered, a person claiming damages, within six years after such entry,
may bring an action therefor before a district superior court, if the claim is not
over $200.00, otherwise in the superior court. An answer justifying the entry
under the act incorporating the company shall not bar the action, but the
plaintiff shall recover only his or her actual damages.

Sec. 58. 6 V.S.A. § 484(b) is amended to read:

(b) The secretary or his or her inspector may enter upon the premises of a
licensed dealer or processor, at reasonable times, for purposes of inspecting the
premises, records, equipment, and inventory in a reasonable manner to
determine whether the provisions of this chapter and the rules adopted
hereunder are being observed. If entry is refused, the secretary may apply to a
superior or district court judge for an administrative search warrant.

Sec. 59. 6 V.S.A. § 3316(b) is amended to read:

(b) Washington County superior court, or any other The superior court, has
legal and equitable jurisdiction to enforce, prevent, and restrain violations of
this chapter and has legal and equitable jurisdiction in all other cases arising
under this chapter. The superior and district courts are granted jurisdiction to
handle criminal matters arising under this chapter and rules.

Sec. 60. 9 V.S.A. § 2154 is amended to read:
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§ 2154. ASSIGNEE’S BOND

The assignee shall execute to the superior court for the county unit in which
the assignor resides a bond with sureties to the satisfaction of such court and
conditioned for the faithful performance of such trust. The assignee shall
execute such bond at the time of making such assignment, and the same may
be prosecuted by parties aggrieved as provided in chapter 101 of Title 14,
relative to bonds taken to the probate court governed by that chapter.

Sec. 61. 10 V.S.A. § 497 is amended to read:

§ 497. REMOVAL OF SIGNS

The owner of a sign which is not licensed under this chapter and which is
not a legal on-premise or exempt sign meeting the requirements set forth in this
chapter, other than a sign which was lawfully erected and maintained prior to
March 23, 1968, shall be in violation of this chapter until it is removed. The
travel information council, or the secretary of transportation or his designee
pursuant to authority delegated by the council, may, upon failure of the owner
to remove such sign, order its removal by the agency of transportation, and the
agency of transportation shall thereupon remove the sign without notice or
further proceeding, at the expense of the owner. The expense may be
recovered by the state in an action on this statute, which shall be instituted in
the superior court or Vermont district court having jurisdiction in the unit for
the area in which the sign is located. A copy of the notice of removal shall be
sent by certified mail to the owner at the last known address. If an illegal sign
is re-erected after the initial removal notice is executed, the agency of
transportation shall have the authority to remove that illegal sign without
additional prior notice to the owner. The agency of transportation or the
legislative body of a municipality shall have the authority to remove or
relocate, or both, without prior notice, any sign, device, or display which is
temporary in nature and not affixed to a substantive structure which is erected
within 24.75 feet of the actual centerline of any highway under its jurisdiction
and within the public highway right-of-way.

Sec. 62. 10 V.S.A. § 6205(c) is amended to read:

(c) A leaseholder may bring an action against the park owner for a
violation of sections 6236–6243 of this title. The action shall be filed in
district superior court for the district unit in which the alleged violation
occurred. If the leaseholder’s claim against the owner exceeds the
jurisdictional limit of the district court, an action may be brought in superior
court in the county in which the alleged violation occurred. No action may be
commenced by the leaseholder unless the leaseholder has first notified the park
owner of the violation by certified mail at least 30 days prior to bringing the



- 473 -

action. During the pendency of an action brought by a leaseholder, the
leaseholder shall pay rent in an amount designated in the lease, or as provided
by law, which rental amount shall be deposited in an escrow account as
directed by the court.

Sec. 63. 10 V.S.A. § 8014(a) and (b) are amended to read:

(a) The secretary may seek enforcement of a final administrative order or a
landfill extension order in the civil, criminal, or environmental division of the
superior or district court or before the environmental court.

(b) If a penalty is assessed and the respondent fails to pay the assessed
penalty within the time prescribed, the secretary may bring a collection action
in any civil or criminal division of the superior or district court. In addition,
when a respondent, except for a municipality, fails to pay an assessed penalty
or fails to pay a contribution under subdivision 8007(b)(2) of this title within
the prescribed time period, the secretary or the land use panel shall stay the
effective date or the processing of any pending permit application or renewal
application in which the respondent is involved until payment in full of all
outstanding penalties has been received. When a municipality fails to pay an
assessed penalty or fails to pay a contribution under subdivision 8007(b)(2) of
this title within the prescribed time period, the secretary or the land use panel
may stay the effective date or the processing of any pending permit application
or renewal application in which the municipality is involved until payment in
full of all outstanding penalties has been received. For purposes of this
subsection, “municipality” shall mean a city, town, or village. The secretary or
the land use panel may collect interest on an assessed penalty that a respondent
fails to pay within the prescribed time. The secretary or the land use panel
shall collect interest on a contribution under subdivision 8007(b)(2) of this title
that a respondent fails to pay within the prescribed time.

Sec. 64. 11 V.S.A. § 441 is amended to read:

§ 441. CORPORATION TO PRODUCE BOOKS ON NOTICE

(a) A corporation doing business within this state, whether organized under
the laws of this or any other state or country, when notice therefor is served
upon it according to the provisions of section 442 of this title, shall produce
before any court, magistrate, grand jury, tribunal, or commission, acting under
the authority of this state, all books, documents, correspondence, memoranda,
papers, and data which may contain any information concerning any suit,
proceedings, action, charge, or subject of inquiry pending before or to be
determined by the court, magistrate, grand jury, tribunal, or commission,
except a civil action in a superior court or the district court, and which have
been made or kept at any time within this state, and are in the custody or
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control of the corporation in this state or elsewhere at the time of service of the
notice upon it.

(b) When notice therefor is served upon it according to the provisions of
section 442 of this title, the corporation shall produce before any court,
magistrate, grand jury, tribunal, or commission acting under the authority of
this state, all books, documents, correspondence, memoranda, papers, and data
which may contain any information concerning any suit, proceedings, action,
charge, or subject of inquiry pending before or to be determined by the court,
magistrate, grand jury, tribunal, or commission, except a civil action in a
superior court or the district court, and which in any way relate to or contain
entries, data, or memoranda concerning any transaction within this state or
with any party residing or having a place of business within this state, and
which are in the custody or control of the corporation in this state or elsewhere
at the time of service of notice upon it.

Sec. 65. 12 V.S.A. § 5 is amended to read:

§ 5. DISSEMINATION OF ELECTRONIC CASE RECORDS

(a) The court shall not permit public access via the Internet to criminal or
family case records or family court case records. The court may permit
criminal justice agencies, as defined in 20 V.S.A. § 2056a, Internet access to
criminal case records for criminal justice purposes, as defined in section 2056a.

(b) This section shall not be construed to prohibit the court from providing
electronic access to:

(1) court schedules of the district or family superior court, or opinions of
the district criminal division of the superior court; or

(2) state agencies in accordance with data dissemination contracts
entered into under Rule 6 of the Vermont Rules of Electronic Access to Court
Records.

Sec. 66. 12 V.S.A. § 122 is amended to read:

§ 122. SUPERIOR JUDGE, OR SUPERIOR COURT AND DISTRICT
COURT

When a party violates an order made against him or her in a cause brought
to or pending before a superior judge or a superior court or the district court
after service of the order upon that party, contempt proceedings may be
instituted against him or her before the court or any superior judge. When, in a
cause no longer on the docket of the court, the proceedings are brought before
a superior judge, that judge forthwith shall order forthwith the cause to be
brought forward on the docket of the court and may issue concurrently with the
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order a summons or capias against the party. The issuing of the summons or
capias and any further proceedings thereon shall be minuted on the docket.

Sec. 67. 12 V.S.A. § 402 is amended to read:

§ 402. SUPERIOR COURT ACTIONS, VENUE GENERALLY;
RAILROADS

(a) An action before a superior court shall be brought in the county unit in
which one of the parties resides, if either resides in the state; otherwise, on
motion, the complaint shall be dismissed. If neither party resides in the state,
the action may be brought in any county unit. Actions concerning real estate
shall be brought in the county unit in which the lands, or some part thereof, lie.

(b) An action brought by a domestic railroad corporation to the superior
court may be brought either in the county unit in which the corporation has its
principal office for the transaction of business, or in the county unit in which a
defendant resides. An action or suit brought to the superior court, in which the
corporation is defendant, may be brought in any county unit in which a road
owned or operated by the corporation is located.

Sec. 67a. 12 V.S.A. § 403 is amended to read:

§ 403. PATENT RIGHTS

An action to recover a debt or demand, arising from the sale of or license to
use a patent right, whether such demand is in the form of a promissory note or
otherwise, shall be brought and tried in the county unit where the defendant
resides or where such patent right was sold when such note or obligation
purports to be given for a patent right, unless otherwise provided by law.

Sec. 68. 12 V.S.A. § 404 is amended to read:

§ 404. REMOVAL TO ANOTHER COUNTY UNIT

(a) When it appears to a presiding judge of a superior court that there is
reason to believe that a civil action pending in such court cannot be impartially
tried in the county unit where it is pending, on petition of either party, such
judge shall order the cause removed to the superior court in another county unit
for trial.

(b) Such petition shall be verified by affidavit and served upon the adverse
party like a writ of summons, at least twelve days before the time of hearing.
If the adverse party resides without the state, it may be served upon his
attorney of record in the cause.

(c) When an order is made to remove a cause from one superior court to
another and such order is filed with the clerk of the court in which the cause is
pending, he shall forthwith transmit to the clerk of the court to which such
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cause is removed, the original papers with a certified copy of the docket entries
therein and of the order of removal. He shall thereupon enter the same upon
the docket and further proceedings shall be had as if the cause had been
originally brought to and entered in such court.

(d) Attachments, recognizances, bonds, and orders in such cause, made
before such removal, shall have the same validity as if the cause had continued
in the court to which it was originally brought.

Sec. 69. 12 V.S.A. § 654(b) is amended to read:

(b) The signing of original writs is a ministerial act and may be done in
advance of issuance. The signature of an attorney, except when he or she is the
plaintiff, to a writ, pleading, notice of appeal, or other form, constitutes and
shall be deemed security, by way of recognizance, for the issuance of such writ
or the filing of such pleading, notice of appeal, or other form, and such
attorney shall be liable to each defendant in the sum of $10.00 for writs
returnable before the district court and in the sum of $50.00 for writs
returnable to a superior court.

Sec. 70. 12 V.S.A. § 1644 is amended to read:

§ 1644. WITNESSES MAY BE EXAMINED SEPARATELY

On the trial of a civil cause, in its discretion, upon the application of either
party, the superior court or district court may order the witnesses of the adverse
party examined separately and apart from each other.

Sec. 71. 12 V.S.A. § 1691(a) is amended to read:

(a) In the trial of actions at law, and on motion and due notice thereof
given, supreme, and superior and district courts may require the parties to
produce any books or writings in their possession or power, which contain
evidence pertinent to the issue or relative to the action, and if the party fails to
comply with the order, the court may render judgment against such party by
nonsuit or default.

Sec. 72. 12 V.S.A. § 2136 is amended to read:

§ 2136. COSTS IN SUPREME, COUNTY, AND DISTRICT SUPERIOR
COURTS WHEN NOMINAL DAMAGES ARE RECOVERED

When the plaintiff in an action in district, superior or supreme court
recovers judgment for a nominal sum for debt or damages, in its discretion, the
court may make such order in respect to plaintiff’s costs as is equitable, but not
to exceed his or her taxable costs.

Sec. 73. 12 V.S.A. § 2357 is amended to read:
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§ 2357. APPEALS FROM PROBATE COURT IN PROBATE
PROCEEDINGS–FRAUD, ACCIDENT, OR MISTAKE

When the petitioner has been prevented from taking or entering an appeal in
a probate proceeding by fraud, accident, or mistake, on petition and proof
thereof, the supreme or superior court in its discretion may grant leave to file a
notice of appeal from an order, sentence, decree, or denial of a the probate
division of the superior court or from a determination of commissioners on the
estate of a deceased person in those cases which are by law appealable.

Sec. 74. 12 V.S.A. § 2386 is amended to read:

§ 2386. PASSING CAUSES BEFORE FINAL JUDGMENT

(a) Before final judgment in civil actions or proceedings in the superior
courts, or the probate courts, or the district court, an appeal to the supreme
court for the determination of questions of law may be taken in such manner
and under such conditions as the supreme court may by rule provide.

(b) In its discretion and before final judgment, a superior court or the
district court may permit an appeal to be taken by the respondent or the state in
a criminal cause to the supreme court for determination of questions of law.
The supreme court shall hear and determine the questions and render final
judgment thereon or remand the proceedings as justice and the state of the
cause may require.

Sec. 74a. 12 V.S.A. § 2386 is amended to read:

§ 2386. PASSING CAUSES BEFORE FINAL JUDGMENT

(a) Before final judgment in civil actions or proceedings in the superior
courts or the probate courts, an appeal to the supreme court for the
determination of questions of law may be taken in such manner and under such
conditions as the supreme court may by rule provide.

* * *

Sec. 75. 12 V.S.A. § 2551 is amended to read:

§ 2551. SUPREME COURT JURISDICTION OF PROBATE
PROCEEDINGS IN SUPERIOR AND PROBATE COURTS

The supreme court shall have jurisdiction of questions of law arising in the
course of the proceedings of the superior and probate courts in probate matters,
as in other causes.

Sec. 76. 12 V.S.A. § 2556(a) is amended to read:

(a) In the two following cases, an executor, administrator, or creditor may
appeal to the superior court from the decision and report of the commissioners,
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if notice of appeal is filed with the clerk of the superior court appealed to and
the register of the probate court within thirty 30 days after the return of the
commissioner’s report:

* * *

Sec. 77. 12 V.S.A. § 3011 is amended to read:

§ 3011. ACTIONS

Trustee process may be used in any civil action commenced in a superior
court or the district court except in actions for malicious prosecution, libel,
slander, or alienation of affections.

Sec. 78. 12 V.S.A. § 3087 is amended to read:

§ 3087. —RECOGNIZANCE FOR TRUSTEE’S COSTS

The plaintiff in a trustee process shall give security for costs to the trustee
by way of recognizance by some person other than the plaintiff. The security
shall be in the sum of $10.00 for a summons returnable before the district court
and in the sum of $50.00 for a summons returnable to a superior court. If
trustee process issues without a minute of the recognizance, with the name of
the surety and the sum in which he or she is bound, signed by the clerk,
thereon, the trustee shall be discharged.

Sec. 79. 12 V.S.A. § 3151 is amended to read:

§ 3151. —TRUSTEE MAY FILE BOND AND SELL PROPERTY

When such action is pending in the supreme, or superior, or district court,
the trustee may sell the property, and the purchaser shall hold the same
released from the mortgage and attachment, if such trustee files with the clerk
of such the court or with the judge of such district court:

* * *

Sec. 80. 12 V.S.A. § 4251 is amended to read:

§ 4251. ACTIONS FOR ACCOUNTING—JURY

The superior courts court shall have original jurisdiction, exclusive of the
district court, in actions for an accounting other than accountings involved in
the administration of trusts under Title 14A. When the defendant in such an
action brought in one of the following ways pleads in defense an answer
which, if true, makes him or her not liable to account, the issue thus raised may
be tried to a jury:

* * *

Sec. 81. 12 V.S.A. § 4711 is amended to read:



- 479 -

§ 4711. DECLARATORY JUDGMENT; SCOPE

Superior courts and probate courts within their respective jurisdictions shall
have power to declare rights, status, and other legal relations whether or not
further relief is or could be claimed. An action or proceeding shall not be open
to objection on the ground that a declaratory judgment or decree is prayed for.
The declaration may be either affirmative or negative in form and effect. Such
declarations shall have the force and effect of a final judgment or decree.

Sec. 82. 12 V.S.A. § 5136(c) is amended to read:

(c) The office of the court administrator shall ensure that the superior court
and the district court have has procedures in place so that the contents of orders
and pendency of other proceedings can be known to both all courts for cases in
which an order against stalking or sexual assault proceeding is related to a
criminal proceeding.

Sec. 83. 12 V.S.A. § 5531(c) is amended to read:

(c) In small claims actions where the plaintiff makes a claim for relief
greater than $3,500.00, the defendant shall have the right to request a special
assignment of a judicial officer. Upon making this request, a superior judge, a
district judge, or a member of the Vermont bar appointed pursuant to 4 V.S.A.
§ 22(b) shall be assigned to hear the action. [Repealed.]

Sec. 84. 12 V.S.A. § 5538 is amended to read:

§ 5538. APPEALS

Any party may appeal from a small claims judgment to superior court. The
administrative judge shall assign the appeal to a district or superior judge who
shall not have participated in any way in the decision being appealed. The
appeal shall be heard and decided, based on the record made in the small
claims court procedure. No appeal as of right exists to the supreme court. On
motion made to the supreme court by a party to the action, the supreme court
may allow an appeal from the superior court.

Sec. 85. 12 V.S.A. § 5541 is amended to read:

§ 5541. COMPOSITION OF SMALL CLAIMS COURT IN SMALL

CLAIMS CASES

For the purposes of this chapter, the superior court shall consist of the
presiding judge sitting alone, an assistant judge sitting alone pursuant to
section 5540 of this chapter, or an acting judge assigned pursuant to section
22(b) of Title 4 V.S.A. § 22(b), or a probate judge assigned pursuant to
4 V.S.A. § 272(d).
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Sec. 86. 12 V.S.A. § 5702 is amended to read:

§ 5702. JURISDICTION AND VENUE

The Vermont district superior court shall have exclusive jurisdiction over
proceedings under this chapter, any provision of any statute, municipal charter,
or ordinance to the contrary notwithstanding, except as provided in chapter 24
of Title 23. Venue for adjudicating offenses prosecuted by use of the uniform
snowmobile/boating complaint shall be in the unit of the district superior court
having jurisdiction over the geographical area where the offense is alleged to
have occurred.

Sec. 87. 12 V.S.A. § 5705(b) and (d) are amended to read:

(b) Three district superior court judges appointed by the court administrator
shall establish schedules, within the limits prescribed by law, of the amounts of
fines to be imposed. The court administrator shall appoint three persons who
shall meet with the district superior judges and recommend a fine schedule.
One person appointed shall be a member of the department of public safety,
one shall be a delegate from the Vermont association of snow travelers, and
one shall be a member of the general public who has an interest in boating and
boating safety.

(d) If a defendant fails to answer or appear as directed on a uniform
snowmobile/boating complaint or by the district superior court judge, or fails
to pay the fine imposed after judgment, the court may proceed under section
5704 of this title.

Sec. 88. 12 V.S.A. § 5852 is amended to read:

§ 5852. OATHS OF OFFICE; BY WHOM ADMINISTERED

When other provision is not made by law, oaths of office may be
administered by any justice of the supreme court, superior judge, assistant
judge, justice of the peace, judge of the district court, notary public, or the
presiding officer, secretary, or clerk of either house of the general assembly, or
by the governor.

Sec. 89. 12 V.S.A. § 7105 is amended to read:

§ 7105. RULES OF PROCEDURE

Windsor county court diversion, in conjunction with the Windsor county
youth court advisory board established pursuant to section 7109 of this title,
and after consultation with the youth court officers, the Windsor county state’s
attorney, the office of the public defender for Windsor county, and the
presiding judges in Windsor family and district courts the unit of the superior
court that includes Windsor County, shall adopt rules of procedure for the
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youth court prior to its first hearing.

Sec. 90. 12 V.S.A. § 7109(a) is amended to read:

(a) The Windsor county County youth court advisory board is created. The
board shall consist of the presiding family court superior judge in for the unit
that includes Windsor county County or designee, the Windsor county County
state’s attorney or designee, the superintendents of the Hartford, Springfield,
and Windsor southeast supervisory union school districts or their designees,
three youth court officers, three persons to be appointed by the Vermont
supreme court, and the chair of the Windsor county court diversion or
designee. All members of the board shall be appointed or designated by
August 15, 1995, for terms expiring on June 30, 1999. The supreme court
appointees shall each be licensed to practice law in this state, and at least one
of the supreme court appointees shall have at least three years’ experience in
representing delinquent children. The members of the board shall serve on a
voluntary basis without compensation.

Sec. 91. 12 V.S.A. § 7152 is amended to read:

§ 7152. JURISDICTION

The probate division of the superior court shall have exclusive jurisdiction
over all proceedings concerning the emancipation of minors.

Sec. 92. 12 V.S.A. § 7153(a) is amended to read:

(a) A minor may petition the probate division of the superior court in the
probate district in which the minor resides at the time of the filing for an order
of emancipation. The petition shall state:

(1) The minor’s name and date of birth.

(2) The minor’s address.

(3) The names and addresses, if known, of the minor’s parents.

(4) The names and addresses of any guardians or custodians, including
the commissioner of social and rehabilitation services, appointed for the minor,
if appropriate.

(5) Specific facts in support of the emancipation criteria in section
7151(b) of this chapter.

(6) Specific facts as to the reasons why emancipation is sought.

Sec. 93. 12 V.S.A. § 7155(d) is amended to read:

(d) Any order of guardianship or custody shall be vacated before the court
may issue an order of emancipation. Other orders of any division of the family
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or probate superior court may be vacated, modified, or continued in this
proceeding if such action is necessary to effectuate the order of emancipation.
Child support orders relating to the support of the minor shall be vacated,
except for the duty to make past-due payments for child support, which, under
all circumstances, shall remain enforceable.

Sec. 94. 13 V.S.A. § 4 is amended to read:

§ 4. ACCESSORY BEFORE THE FACT

A person who is accessory before the fact by counseling, hiring, or
otherwise procuring an offense to be committed may be informed against or
indicted, tried, convicted, and punished as if he or she were a principal
offender in the criminal division of the superior court in the county or in the
district court in the territorial unit where the principal might be prosecuted.

Sec. 95. 13 V.S.A. § 6 is amended to read:

§ 6. —PROSECUTION AND VENUE

Such An accessory after the fact may be prosecuted, convicted, and
punished whether the principal has or has not been previously convicted, or is
or is not amenable to justice, in the criminal division of the superior court in
the county or in the district court in the territorial unit where such person
became an accessory or where the principal offense is committed.

Sec. 96. 13 V.S.A. § 901 is amended to read:

§ 901. DUTIES OF OFFICERS

A district superior judge, sheriff, deputy sheriff, or constable having notice
or knowledge of the unlawful, tumultuous, or riotous assemblage of three or
more persons within his or her jurisdiction, among or as near as he or she can
safely come to such rioters, shall command them in the name of the state of
Vermont immediately and peaceably to disperse. If after such command such
the rioters do not disperse, such officer or magistrate and such any other person
as he or she commands to assist him or her shall apprehend and forthwith take
them before a district criminal division of a superior court.

Sec. 97. 13 V.S.A. § 2502 is amended to read:

§ 2502. PETIT LARCENY

Superior and district courts shall have concurrent jurisdiction of the For
offenses mentioned in section 2501 of this title where the money or other
property stolen does not exceed $900.00 in value, and the court may sentence
the person convicted to imprisonment for not more than one year or to pay a
fine of not more than $1,000.00, or both.
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Sec. 98. 13 V.S.A. § 2561(c) is amended to read:

(c) A buyer, receiver, seller, possessor, or concealer under subsection (a)
or (b) of this section may be prosecuted and punished in the criminal division
of the superior court in the county or in the district court in the territorial unit
where the person stealing the property might be prosecuted, although such
property is bought, received, or concealed in another county or territorial unit.

Sec. 99. 13 V.S.A. § 3011 is amended to read:

§ 3011. OFFICERS IN CHARGE OF JURY

An officer, sworn to take charge of a jury impaneled by the superior or
district court for the trial of a cause, who, after they have been charged by the
court, suffers a person to speak to them upon matters submitted to their charge,
or speaks to them himself or herself about the same, except to ask if they are
agreed upon a verdict, before they deliver their verdict in court, or are
discharged, shall be fined not more than $500.00. The constable or other
person having charge of a jury impaneled by a justice, who in like manner
offends, shall be fined not more than $200.00.

Sec. 100. 13 V.S.A. § 3256(a) is amended to read:

(a) The victim of an offense involving a sexual act may obtain an order
from the district criminal or family division of the superior court in which the
offender was convicted of the offense, or was adjudicated delinquent, requiring
that the offender be tested for the presence of the etiologic agent for acquired
immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS) and other sexually-transmitted diseases,
including gonorrhea, herpes, chlamydia, and syphilis. If requested by the
victim, the state’s attorney shall petition the court on behalf of the victim for an
order under this section. For the purposes of this section, “offender” includes a
juvenile adjudicated a delinquent.

Sec. 101. 13 V.S.A. § 4601 is amended to read:

§ 4601. GENERAL RULE

When not otherwise provided, criminal causes shall be tried in the criminal
division of the superior court in the county, or in the district court in the
territorial unit, where an offense within the jurisdiction of such court is
committed.

Sec. 101a. 13 V.S.A. § 4602 is amended to read:

§ 4602. WHEN ACT IN ONE COUNTY OR TERRITORIAL UNIT

CAUSES DEATH IN ANOTHER

A person feloniously wounding or poisoning a person in one county or
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territorial unit of the district superior court, whose death results therefrom in
another county or territorial unit, may be tried in the criminal division of the
superior court in either county or in the district court in either territorial unit, if
the offense is within the jurisdiction of such court.

Sec. 101b. 13 V.S.A. § 4603 is amended to read:

§ 4603. OFFENSE ON BOUNDARY

If an offense is committed on the boundary of two or more counties or
territorial units of the district superior court, or within 100 rods of such
boundary, such offense may be alleged in the information or indictment to
have been committed and may be prosecuted in the criminal division of the
superior court in any of such counties or in the district criminal division of the
superior court in any of such territorial units, if the offense is within the
jurisdiction of such court.

Sec. 102. 13 V.S.A. § 4631 is amended to read:

§ 4631. AUTHORITY

The supreme court may by rule provide for change of venue in criminal
prosecutions in the superior and district courts upon motion, for the prevention
of prejudice to the defendant or for the convenience of parties and witnesses
and in the interests of justice. The court to which a prosecution is transferred
shall thereby have jurisdiction of the cause, and the same proceedings shall be
had therein as though such court were in the county or territorial unit in which
the offense was committed the venue had not been changed.

Sec. 103. 13 V.S.A. § 4635 is amended to read:

§ 4635. ORDER FOR REMOVAL OF DEFENDANT

When a motion for change of venue has been granted and the defendant is
in custody, the judge granting the motion shall issue an order in writing to the
officer having the defendant in custody, commanding him or her to deliver the
defendant to the keeper of the jail serving the county or territorial unit of the
district court in which the trial is further proceedings are ordered to be had.

Sec. 104. 13 V.S.A. § 4638 is amended to read:

§ 4638. WHICH STATE’S ATTORNEY TO PROSECUTE

The state’s attorney of the county in which the respondent is informed or
complained against or indicted shall appear in behalf of the state at the trial of
the respondent in the court to which the trial case is removed, and in
proceedings relating thereto he or she shall have the same powers and be
subject to the same duties and liabilities as though the trial were had in the
county for which he or she is such the attorney.
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Sec. 105. 13 V.S.A. § 4903 is amended to read:

§ 4903. TRANSPORTING PRISONER THROUGH STATE

Whenever an offender is apprehended in a neighboring state, and it may be
necessary to transport him or her through this state to the place where the
offense was committed, the superior court, a presiding judge thereof, a superior
judge or a judge of a district court, upon application and proof that lawful
process has issued against such the offender, shall issue a warrant under his or
her hand and seal, directed to a sheriff or his or her deputy, or to a person by
name who shall be sworn to the faithful performance of his or her duty,
authorizing such conveyance.

Sec. 106. 13 V.S.A. § 4953 is amended to read:

§ 4953. ARREST PRIOR TO REQUISITION

Whenever any person within this state shall be charged on the oath of any
credible person before any judge or magistrate of this state with the
commission of any crime in any other state, and, except in cases arising under
section 4946 of this title, with having fled from justice, or with having been
convicted of a crime in that state and having escaped from confinement, or
having broken the terms of his or her bail, probation, or parole, or whenever
complaint shall have been before a superior judge, assistant judge of the
superior court, or judge of a district court within this state, setting forth on the
affidavit of a credible person in another state that a crime has been committed
in such other state and that the accused has been charged in such that state with
the commission of a crime, and, except in cases arising under section 4946, has
fled from justice, or with having been convicted of a crime in that state and
having escaped from confinement, or having broken the terms of his or her
bail, probation, or parole and is believed to have been found in this state, such
judge shall issue a warrant directed to any sheriff or constable directing him or
her to apprehend the person charged, wherever he or she may be found in this
state, and bring him or her before the same or any other superior judge,
assistant judge of the superior court or judge of a district court who may be
available in or convenient of access to the place where the arrest may be made,
to answer the charge or complaint and affidavit; and a certified copy of the
sworn charge or complaint and affidavit upon which the warrant is issued shall
be attached to the warrant.

Sec. 107. 13 V.S.A. § 4954 is amended to read:

§ 4954. ARREST WITHOUT A WARRANT

The arrest of a person may be lawfully made by an officer or a private
citizen without a warrant upon reasonable information that the accused stands
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charged in the courts of another state with a crime punishable by death or
imprisonment for a term exceeding one year. When so arrested, the accused
shall be taken before a superior judge, assistant judge of the superior court, or
judge of a district court as soon as may be, and complaint shall be made
against him or her under oath setting forth the ground for the arrest as in
section 4953 of this title; and thereafter his or her answer shall be heard as if he
or she had been arrested on a warrant.

Sec. 108. 13 V.S.A. § 5043 is amended to read:

§ 5043. HEARING, COMMITMENT, DISCHARGE

If an arrest is made in this state by an officer of another state in accordance
with the provisions of section 5042 of this title, he or she shall without
unnecessary delay take the person arrested before a superior judge, assistant
judge of the superior court, or a judge of a district court of the county unit in
which the arrest was made, who shall conduct a hearing for the purpose of
determining the lawfulness of the arrest. If such the judge determines that the
arrest was lawful, he or she shall commit the person arrested to await for a
reasonable time the issuance of an extradition warrant by the governor of this
state or admit such person to bail pending the issuance of such warrant. If such
the judge determines that the arrest was unlawful, he or she shall discharge the
person arrested.

Sec. 109. 13 V.S.A. § 5131 is amended to read:

§ 5131. APPLICATION FOR INQUEST

Upon the written application of the state’s attorney, a judge of the superior
court, or of a district court, may institute and conduct an inquest upon any
criminal matter under investigation by the state’s attorney.

Sec. 109a. 13 V.S.A. § 5317 is amended to read:

§ 5317. GENERAL REQUIREMENTS FOR INFORMATION

(a) The information required to be furnished to victims under this chapter
shall be provided upon request of the victim and, unless otherwise specifically
provided, may be furnished either orally or in writing.

(b) A person responsible for furnishing information may rely upon the most
recent name, address, and telephone number furnished by the victim.

(c) The court, state’s attorneys, public defenders, law enforcement
agencies, and the departments of corrections and of public safety may develop
and implement an automated notification system to deliver the information
required to be furnished to victims under this chapter.

Sec. 110. 13 V.S.A. § 6642 is amended to read:
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§ 6642. SUMMONING WITNESSES IN THIS STATE TO TESTIFY IN
ANOTHER STATE

If a judge of a court of record in any state which by its laws has made
provision for commanding persons within that state to attend and testify in an
action in this state, certifies under the seal of such court that there is such an
action pending in such that court, that a person being within this state is a
material witness in such the action, and that his or her presence will be
required for a specified number of days, upon presentation of such the
certificate to any superior judge or a judge of a district court in the county unit
in which such the person is, such the judge shall fix a time and place for a
hearing in such county the unit and shall notify the witness thereof by an order
stating the purpose of the hearing and directing him or her to appear therefor at
a time and place certain.

Sec. 111. 13 V.S.A. § 6646 is amended to read:

§ 6646. WITNESS FROM ANOTHER STATE SUMMONED TO TESTIFY
IN THIS STATE

If a person in any state, which by its laws has made provision for
commanding persons within its borders to attend and testify in an action in this
state, is a material witness in such an action pending in a court of record in this
state, a superior judge or a judge of a district court may issue a certificate
under the seal of the court stating these facts and specifying the number of
days the witness will be required. Such The certificate may include a
recommendation that the witness be taken into immediate custody and
delivered to an officer of this state to assure his or her attendance in this state.
Such The certificate shall be presented to a judge of a court of record of the
state in which the witness is found.

Sec. 112. 13 V.S.A. § 7004 is amended to read:

§ 7004. RECORD OF CONVICTIONS; REPORT TO COMMISSIONER OF
PUBLIC SAFETY

In all cases of felony or misdemeanor in which a conviction or plea of
guilty is had in their respective courts, clerks of the superior and district courts
court shall forthwith forward to the commissioner of public safety, on
quadruplicate forms to be furnished by him or her, for file in the identification
and records division of the department of public safety, a certified report of
such the conviction, together with the sentence and such any other facts as
which may be required by the commissioner. A fee of 50 cents $0.50 for such
certified report shall be allowed by the commissioner of finance and
management in settlement of the accounts of such courts.
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Sec. 113. 13 V.S.A. § 7034 is amended to read:

§ 7034. —WHEN APPEALS FROM SEVERAL JUSTICE’S JUSTICES’
JUDGMENTS ARE NOT ENTERED

If such person appeals to the county or district superior court from two or
more judgments by the same justice at different times, and fails to enter his or
her appeals within the time required, the justice may issue a single mittimus to
carry his or her judgments into effect, as provided in section 7033 of this title,
and the 24 hours shall commence from the time of signing the mittimus, and
such time shall be indorsed thereon. [Repealed.]

Sec. 114. 13 V.S.A. § 7043(i) is amended to read:

(i) The restitution unit may bring an action, including a small claims
procedure, to enforce a restitution order against an offender in the civil division
of the superior or small claims court of the county unit where the offender
resides or in the county unit where the order was issued. In an action under
this subsection, a restitution order issued by the district criminal division of the
superior court shall be enforceable in the civil division of the superior court or
in a small claims court procedure in the same manner as a civil judgment.
Superior and small claims court filing fees shall be waived for an action under
this subsection, and for an action to renew a restitution judgment.

Sec. 115. 13 V.S.A. § 7178 is amended to read:

§ 7178. SUSPENSION OF FINES

A superior or district court judge, in his or her discretion, may suspend all
or any part of the fine assessed against a respondent.

Sec. 116. 13 V.S.A. § 7401 is amended to read:

§ 7401. APPEAL

In criminal actions or proceedings in the superior courts or the district court,
the defendant may appeal to the supreme court as of right all questions of law
involved in any judgment of conviction and in any other order or judgment as
to which the state has appealed, provided that if the state fails to perfect or
prosecute such appeal, the appeal of the defendant shall not be heard.

Sec. 117. 13 V.S.A. § 7403 is amended to read:

§ 7403. APPEAL BY THE STATE

(a) In a prosecution for a misdemeanor, questions of law decided against
the state by a superior or district court shall be allowed and placed upon the
record before final judgment. The court may pass the same to the supreme
court before final judgment. The supreme court shall hear and determine the
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questions and render final judgment thereon, or remand the cause to such
superior or district court for further trial or other proceedings, as justice and the
state of the cause may require.

(b) In a prosecution for a felony, the state shall be allowed to appeal to the
supreme court any decision, judgment, or order of a district or superior court
dismissing an indictment or information as to one or more counts.

(c) In a prosecution for a felony, the state shall be allowed to appeal to the
supreme court from a decision or order of a district or superior court:

* * *

Sec. 118. 13 V.S.A. § 7554(d) and (f) are amended to read:

(d)(1) A person for whom conditions of release are imposed and who is
detained as a result of his or her inability to meet the conditions of release or
who is ordered released on a condition that he or she return to custody after
specified hours shall, within 48 hours of application, be entitled to have the
conditions reviewed by a judge in the court having original jurisdiction over
the offense charged. A person applying for review shall be given the
opportunity for a hearing. Unless the conditions of release are amended as
requested, the judge shall set forth in writing or orally on the record a
reasonable basis for continuing the conditions imposed. In the event that a
judge in the court having original jurisdiction over the offense charged is not
available, any district or superior judge may review such conditions.

(2) A person for whom conditions of release are imposed shall, within
five working days of application, be entitled to have the conditions reviewed
by a judge in the court having original jurisdiction over the offense charged. A
person applying for review shall be given the opportunity for a hearing.
Unless the conditions of release are amended as requested, the judge shall set
forth in writing or orally on the record a reasonable basis for continuing the
conditions imposed. In the event that a judge in the court having original
jurisdiction over the offense charged is not available, any district or superior
judge may review such conditions.

(f) The term “judicial officer” as used in this section and section 7556 of
this title shall mean a clerk of a superior or district court or a superior or
district court judge.

Sec. 119. 13 V.S.A. § 7560a(a) is amended to read:

(a) If a person who has been released on a secured or unsecured appearance
bond or a surety bond fails to appear in court as required:

(1) The court may:
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(A) issue a warrant for the arrest of the person; and

(B) upon hearing and notice thereof to the bailor or surety, forfeit any
bail posted on the person.

(2)(A) The state’s attorney may file a motion to forfeit the amount of the
bond against the surety in the civil or criminal division of the superior or
district court where the bond was executed.

(B) A motion filed under this subdivision shall:

(i) include a copy of the bond;

(ii) state the facts upon which the motion is based; and

(iii) be served upon the surety.

Sec. 120. 14 V.S.A. § 101 is amended to read:

§ 101. WILL NOT EFFECTIVE UNTIL ALLOWED

A will shall not pass either real or personal estate unless it is proved and
allowed in the probate division of the superior court, or by appeal in the
superior or supreme court.

Sec. 121. 14 V.S.A. § 203 is amended to read:

§ 203. PROBATE PROCEEDINGS WITHIN THE EXCLUSIVE
JURISDICTION OF PROBATE COURT; SERVICE; JURISDICTION
OVER PERSONS

In proceedings within the exclusive jurisdiction of the probate division of
the superior court where notice is required, interested persons may be bound by
the orders of the court in respect to property in or subject to the laws of this
state by notice in conformity with law or the rules of probate procedure. An
order is binding as to all who are given notice of the proceeding though less
than all interested persons are notified.

Sec. 122. 14 V.S.A. § 1728 is amended to read:

§ 1728. COURT TO DETERMINE QUESTIONS OF ADVANCEMENT

Questions as to an advancement made, or alleged to have been made by the
deceased to an heir, may be heard and determined by the probate division of
the superior court and shall be specified in the decree assigning the estate. The
final decree of the probate court division, or of the superior or supreme court
on appeal, shall be binding on the persons interested in the estate.

Sec. 123. 14 V.S.A. § 2664 is amended to read:

§ 2664. CREATION OF PERMANENT GUARDIANSHIP
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(a) The family division of the superior court may establish a permanent
guardianship at a permanency planning hearing or at any other hearing in
which a permanent legal disposition of the child can be made, including a child
protection proceeding pursuant to 33 V.S.A. § 5528, or a delinquency
proceeding pursuant to 33 V.S.A. § 5529. The court shall also issue an order
permitting or denying visitation, contact, or information with the parent at the
same time the order of permanent guardianship is issued. Before issuing an
order for permanent guardianship, the court shall find by clear and convincing
evidence all of the following:

* * *

(c) After the family division of the superior court issues a final order
establishing permanent guardianship, the case shall be transferred to the
appropriate probate court in the district in which the permanent guardian
resides. Jurisdiction shall continue to lie in the probate court. Appeal of any
decision by the probate court shall be de novo to the family court.

Sec. 123a. 14 V.S.A. § 2664 is amended to read:

§ 2664. CREATION OF PERMANENT GUARDIANSHIP

* * *

(c) After the family division of the superior court issues a final order
establishing permanent guardianship, the case shall be transferred to the
appropriate probate division of the superior court in the district in which the
permanent guardian resides. Jurisdiction shall continue to lie in the probate
court division. Appeal of any decision by the probate court shall be de novo to
the family court.

Sec. 124. 14 V.S.A. § 2927 is amended to read:

§ 2927. REMEDY, AFTER GUARDIAN’S DISCHARGE,
REEXAMINATION OF ACCOUNTS

After the trust of a guardian is terminated, if the ward or the ward’s legal
representatives are dissatisfied with the account as allowed by the probate
division of the superior court during the continuance of the trust, within two
years, and if the ward or the legal representatives do not at the time of the
termination of the trust reside in this state, within four years thereafter, they
may file a motion to reopen the estate for a reexamination of the account.
After notice as provided by the rules of probate procedure, the court shall
reexamine accounts previously allowed. A party may appeal from the decision
of the probate court division to the superior supreme court. The final
allowance of accounts in these proceedings shall be conclusive between the
parties.
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Sec. 125. 14 V.S.A. § 3062 is amended to read;

§ 3062. JURISDICTION; REVIEW OF GUARDIAN’S ACTIONS

(a) The probate division of the superior court shall have exclusive original
jurisdiction over all proceedings brought under the authority of this chapter or
pursuant to section 18 V.S.A. § 9718 of Title 18.

(b) The probate division of the superior court shall have supervisory
authority over guardians. Any interested person may seek review of a
guardian’s proposed or past actions by filing a motion with the court.

Sec. 126. 15 V.S.A. § 658(d) and (e) are amended to read:

(d) The family superior court judge or magistrate may order a parent who is
in default of a child support order, to participate in employment, educational,
or training related activities if the court finds that participation in such
activities would assist in addressing the causes of the default. The court may
also order the parent to participate in substance abuse or other counseling if the
court finds that such counseling may assist the parent to achieve stable
employment. Activities ordered under this section shall not be inconsistent
with any requirements of a state or federal program in which the parent is
participating. For the purpose of this subsection, “employment, educational, or
training related activities” shall mean:

* * *

(e) A consent to the adoption of a child or the relinquishment of a child, for
the purpose of adoption, covered by a child support order shall terminate an
obligor’s duty to provide future support for the adopted child without further
order of the family court. Unpaid support installments accrued prior to
adoption are not discharged and are subject to the jurisdiction of the family
court. In a case involving a child covered by a Vermont child support order,
the probate division of the superior court shall file the consent or
relinquishment with the family division of the superior court that issued in the
case in which the support order was issued and shall notify the office of child
support of any order terminating parental rights and of the final adoption
decree. Upon receipt of the consent or relinquishment, the office of child
support shall terminate the obligor’s duty to provide further support.

Sec. 126a. 15 V.S.A. § 658(e) is amended to read:

* * *

(e) A consent to the adoption of a child or the relinquishment of a child, for
the purpose of adoption, covered by a child support order shall terminate an
obligor’s duty to provide future support for the adopted child without further
order of the court. Unpaid support installments accrued prior to adoption are
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not discharged and are subject to the jurisdiction of the court. In a case
involving a child covered by a Vermont child support order, the probate
division of the superior court shall also file the consent or relinquishment with
the family division of the superior court in the case in which the support order
was issued and shall notify the office of child support of any order terminating
parental rights and of the final adoption decree. Upon receipt of the consent or
relinquishment, the office of child support shall terminate the obligor’s duty to
provide further support.

Sec. 127. 15 V.S.A. § 1011(a) is amended to read:

(a) A superior, juvenile or probate court which has considered or is
considering the custody or visitation of a minor child may award visitation
rights to a grandparent of the child, upon written request of the grandparent
filed with the court, if the court finds that to do so would be in the best interest
of the child.

Sec. 128. 15 V.S.A. § 1101 is amended to read:

§ 1101. DEFINITIONS

The following words as used in this chapter shall have the following
meanings:

* * *

(3) A “foreign abuse prevention order” means any protection order
issued by the court of any other state that contains provisions similar to relief
provisions authorized under this chapter, the Vermont Family Court Rules for
Family Proceedings, chapter 69 of Title 33, or chapter 178 of Title 12.

* * *

Sec. 129. 15 V.S.A. § 1102 is amended to read:

§ 1102. JURISDICTION AND VENUE

(a) The family division of the superior court shall have jurisdiction over
proceedings under this chapter.

(b) Emergency orders under section 1104 of this title may be issued by a
judge of the district, criminal, civil, or family division of the superior or family
court.

* * *

Sec. 130. 15 V.S.A. § 1106 is amended to read:

§ 1106. PROCEDURE

(a) Except as otherwise specified in this chapter, proceedings commenced
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under this chapter shall be in accordance with the family court rules Vermont
Rules for Family Proceedings and shall be in addition to any other available
civil or criminal remedies.

(b) The court administrator shall establish procedures to insure access to
relief after regular court hours, or on weekends and holidays. The court
administrator is authorized to contract with public or private agencies to assist
plaintiffs to seek relief and to gain access to district, superior and family
courts. Law enforcement agencies shall assist in carrying out the intent of this
section.

(c) The office of the court administrator shall ensure that the family court
and the district superior court have has procedures in place so that the contents
of orders and pendency of other proceedings can be known to both all courts
for cases in which an abuse prevention proceeding is related to a criminal
proceeding.

Sec. 131. 15A V.S.A. § 6-102(c) is amended to read:

(c) Within 30 days after a decree of adoption becomes final, the register
clerk of the probate superior court or the clerk of the family court shall send to
the registry a copy of any document signed pursuant to section 2-105 of this
title.

Sec. 132. 17 V.S.A. § 2103 is amended to read:

§ 2103. DEFINITIONS

As used in this title, unless the context or a specific definition requires a
different reading:

* * *

(10) “County officer” means judge of probate, assistant judge of the
superior court, state’s attorney, sheriff, high bailiff, and justice of the peace.

* * *

(43) “Probate district clerk” means, in a probate district as defined in
4 V.S.A. § 272, the clerk of the county having the largest population in the
district.

Sec. 133. 17 V.S.A. § 2323 is amended to read:

§ 2323. PROBATE DISTRICT COMMITTEE

The “probate district committee” of a party shall consist of those members
of the each county committee residing in a probate district. Such a committee
shall elect its own officers when called upon to meet, but it need not meet
unless required to perform some function under this title. The chair of the
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county committee in the county having the largest population within the
district may call the first meeting by giving at least five days’ written notice to
all other members; thereafter the committee shall meet at the call of the probate
district chair.

Sec. 134. 17 V.S.A. § 2355 is amended to read:

§ 2355. NUMBER OF SIGNATURES REQUIRED

The number of signatures on primary petitions shall be not less than:

(1) For state and congressional officers, five hundred 500;

(2) For county officers, probate judges, or state senator, one hundred
100;

(3) For representative to the general assembly, fifty 50.

Sec. 135. 17 V.S.A. § 2357(a) is amended to read:

(a) Primary petitions and consent forms shall be filed as follows:

(1) For state and congressional officers, with the secretary of state;

(2) For county officers with the county clerk;

(3) For probate judge, with the probate district clerk;

(4) For state senator, with the senatorial district clerk;

(4)(5) For representative to the general assembly, with the representative
district clerk.

Sec. 136. 17 V.S.A. § 2368 is amended to read:

§ 2368. CANVASSING COMMITTEE MEETINGS

After the primary election is conducted, the canvassing committee for state
and national offices and statewide public questions shall meet at 10 a.m. one
week after the day of the election. The canvassing committee for county
offices and, probate judge, countywide public questions, and state senator shall
meet at 10 a.m. on the third day following the election. The canvassing
committees for local offices and local public questions, including state
representative, shall meet at 10 a.m. on the day after the election, except that in
the case of canvassing committees for state representative in multi-town
multitown representative districts, the committees shall meet at 10 a.m. on the
third day after the election.

Sec. 137. 17 V.S.A. § 2382 is amended to read:

§ 2382. WHICH COMMITTEE TO NOMINATE

Nominations of party candidates pursuant to this subchapter shall be made
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by the following political committee of the party:

(1) By the state committee in the case of state or congressional officers;

(2) By the county committee in the case of county officers;

(3) By the probate district committee in the case of probate judges;

(4) By the senatorial district committee in the case of the office of state
senator;

(4)(5) By the representative district committee in the case of the office
of representative to the general assembly;

(5)(6) By the town committee in the case of the office of justice of the
peace.

Sec. 138. 17 V.S.A. § 2402(b) is amended to read:

(b)(1) To constitute a valid nomination, a statement shall contain signatures
of voters qualified to vote in an election for the office in question, equal in
number to at least:

(1)(A) For presidential and vice presidential offices, 1,000;

(2)(B) For state and congressional offices, 500;

(3)(C) For county officers, probate judges, or state senators, 100;

(4)(D) For representative to the general assembly, 50;

(5)(E) For justice of the peace, 30 or one percent of the legal voters of
the municipality, whichever is less.

(2) Signatures need not all be contained on one paper.

Sec. 139. 17 V.S.A. § 2592 is amended to read:

§ 2592. CANVASSING COMMITTEES; CANVASS OF VOTES IN
GENERAL OR SPECIAL ELECTIONS

* * *

(c) For probate judge, the probate district clerk and the county chair of each
major party in the county having the largest population within the district, or
the chair’s designee, shall constitute a canvassing committee to receive and
tally returns and issue certificates.

(d) For state senator, the senatorial district clerk, and the chair of the
county committee of each major political party (or designee) in the county for
which the senatorial district clerk is clerk shall constitute a canvassing
committee to receive and tally returns and issue certificates.
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(d)(e) For state representative, the representative district clerk, and one
other election official from the district shall serve as a canvassing committee to
receive and, if necessary, tally returns and issue certificates.

(e)(f) In the case of the canvassing committees in subsections (b) and (c)
through (d) of this section, if there is no party organization or party chair in the
county, the state committee chairman chair may designate a person to serve on
the appropriate canvassing committee.

(f)(g) In the case of primary elections, the canvass of votes shall be made as
provided in subchapter 1 of chapter 49 of this title.

(g)(h) In the case of general or special elections, each canvassing
committee shall meet at 10:00 a.m. one week after the day of the election and
proceed to canvass the votes as provided in subsections (h)(i) through (m)(n)
of this section. The canvassing committee may recess from time to time until
it has completed its work.

(h)(1)(i)(1) The canvassing committee shall declare the person receiving
the largest number of votes for each office to be elected, and it shall issue a
certificate of election, signed by a majority of the canvassing committee, in
substantially the following form:

State of Vermont )

) s.s.

................ County )

At ...................., on the ............ day of .................... 20 .........., a
canvassing committee appointed by law completed a canvass of the returns
cast at a general election held on the ................ day of ...................., 20 ........
for the office of ..................... The committee hereby certifies that
.................... of .................... was duly elected to the office by the voters
present and voting.

……………………………….......

……………………………….......

(2) The committee shall send or deliver the certificate to the candidate
elected. In the case of representatives to the general assembly, the committee
shall also send or deliver a copy of each certificate to the secretary of state.

(i)(j) In the case of justices of the peace, the town clerk shall send or
deliver a certificate signed by the town clerk and one other election official to
each candidate elected. The secretary of state shall provide certificate forms
for this purpose. The town clerk shall also file with the secretary of state a list
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of the names and addresses of justices of the peace and shall notify the
secretary of state of any changes in the list as filed.

(j)(k) The certificate shall be a sufficient credential of such person’s
election, unless superseded by a court order as provided by subchapter 9 of this
chapter.

(k)(l) In the case of the offices of governor, lieutenant governor, treasurer,
secretary of state, attorney general, and auditor of accounts, the canvassing
committee shall prepare a certificate of election but shall not sign it. The
prepared certificate shall be presented to the official canvassing committee
appointed by the general assembly, pursuant to chapter II, section 47 of the
Vermont constitution, for their use if they desire.

(l)(m) In the case of a tie vote, the canvassing committee shall forthwith
petition the appropriate superior court for a recount pursuant to section 2602 of
this title.

(m)(n) Each canvassing committee shall file a report of its findings with the
secretary of state, who shall preserve the reports as permanent records.

Sec. 140. 17 V.S.A. § 2602(b) is amended to read:

(b) In the case of recounts other than specified in subsection (a) of this
section, the following procedure shall apply. A petition for a recount shall be
filed within 10 days after the election. The petition shall be filed with the civil
division of the superior court, Washington County, in the case of candidates
for state or congressional office, or for a presidential election; the petition shall
be filed with the superior court in any the county with the largest population in
which votes were cast for the office to be recounted, in the case of any other
office. The petition shall be supported, if possible, by a certified copy of the
certificate of election prepared by the canvassing committee, verifying the total
number of votes cast and the number of votes cast for each candidate.

Sec. 141. 17 V.S.A. § 2603(c) is amended to read:

(c) The complaint shall be filed within 15 days after the election in
question, or if there is a recount, within 10 days after the court issues its
judgment on the recount. In the case of candidates for state or congressional
office, for a presidential election, or for a statewide public question, the
complaint shall be filed with the civil division of the superior court,
Washington county County. In the case of any other candidate or public
question, the complaint shall be filed with the superior court in any the county
with the largest population in which votes were cast for the office or question
being challenged.

Sec. 142. DELETED
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Sec. 143. 17 V.S.A. § 2821 is amended to read:

§ 2821. CAMPAIGN REPORTS; COUNTY OFFICE AND PROBATE
JUDGE CANDIDATES

(a) Each candidate for county office or probate judge who has made
expenditures or accepted contributions of $500.00 or more shall file campaign
finance reports with the officer with whom his or her nomination papers are
filed as follows:

(1) 10 days before the primary election;

(2) 10 days before the general election;

(3) further campaign reports shall be filed on the 15th day of July and
annually thereafter or until all contributions and expenditures have been
accounted for and any indebtedness and surplus have been eliminated.

(b) Within 40 days after the general election, each candidate for county
office or probate judge who has made expenditures or accepted contributions
of $500.00 or more shall file a “final report” which lists a complete accounting
of all contributions and expenditures, and disposition of surplus, and which
shall constitute the termination of his or her campaign activities.

(c) Copies of reports filed under this section shall be forwarded by the
officer to the secretary of state within five days of receipt.

Sec. 144. 18 V.S.A. § 1055 is amended to read:

§ 1055. TUBERCULOSIS-COMPULSORY EXAMINATIONS

When the commissioner of health has reasonable cause to believe that any
person has tuberculosis in an active stage or in a communicable form, he the
commissioner may request the person to undergo an examination at a clinic or
hospital approved by the secretary of the agency of human services for that
purpose at the expense of the state by a physician qualified in chest diseases.
If the person refuses the examination, the commissioner may petition the
district superior court for the district unit where the person resides for an order
requiring the person to submit to examination. When the court finds that there
is reasonable cause to believe that the person has tuberculosis in an active stage
or in a communicable form, it may order the person to be examined.

Sec. 145. 18 V.S.A. § 4053(b) is amended to read:

(b) In addition to the other remedies provided in this chapter, the board is
hereby authorized through the attorney general or state’s attorneys to apply to
the civil or criminal division of any superior or district court to apply for, and
the court shall have jurisdiction upon hearing and for cause shown, to grant a
temporary or permanent injunction restraining any person from violating any
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provision of this chapter, irrespective of whether or not there exists an
adequate remedy at law.

Sec. 146. 18 V.S.A. § 4055 is amended to read:

§ 4055. MARKING; NOTICE

(a) Whenever a duly authorized agent of the board finds or has probable
cause to believe that any food, drug, device, or cosmetic is adulterated, or so
misbranded as to be dangerous or fraudulent, within the meaning of this
chapter, he or she shall affix to such article a tag or other appropriate marking,
giving notice that the article is, or is suspected of being, adulterated or
misbranded and has been detained or embargoed, and warning all persons not
to remove or dispose of the article by sale or otherwise until permission for
removal or disposal is given by the agent or the court. It shall be unlawful for
any person to remove or dispose of the detained or embargoed article by sale
or otherwise without that permission.

(b) When an article detained or embargoed under subsection (a) has been
found by the agent to be adulterated, or misbranded, he or she shall petition the
presiding judge civil or criminal division of the superior court or district court
in whose jurisdiction the unit where the article is detained or embargoed, for a
libel for condemnation of the article. When the agent has found that an article
so detained or embargoed is not adulterated or misbranded, he or she shall
remove the tag or other marking.

(c) If the court finds that a detained or embargoed article is adulterated or
misbranded, the article shall, after entry of the decree, be destroyed at the
expense of the claimant thereof, under the supervision of the agent, and all
court costs and fees, and storage and other proper expenses, shall be taxed
against the claimant of the article or his or her agent; provided, that when the
adulteration or misbranding can be corrected by proper labeling or processing
of the article, the court, after entry of the decree and after the costs, fees, and
expenses have been paid and a good and sufficient bond, conditioned that the
article shall be so labeled or processed, has been executed, may by order direct
that the article be delivered to the claimant thereof for such labeling or
processing under the supervision of an agent of the board. The expense of the
supervision shall be paid by the claimant. The bond shall be returned to the
claimant of the article on representation to the court by the board that the
article is no longer in violation of this chapter and that the expenses of
supervision have been paid.

* * *

Sec. 147. 18 V.S.A. § 5144(a) is amended to read:
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(a) Marriages may be solemnized by a supreme court justice, a superior
court judge, a district judge, a judge of probate, an assistant judge, a justice of
the peace, an individual who has registered as an officiant with the Vermont
secretary of state pursuant to section 5144a of this title, a member of the clergy
residing in this state and ordained or licensed, or otherwise regularly
authorized thereunto by the published laws or discipline of the general
conference, convention, or other authority of his or her faith or denomination,
or by such a clergy person residing in an adjoining state or country, whose
parish, church, temple, mosque, or other religious organization lies wholly or
in part in this state, or by a member of the clergy residing in some other state
of the United States or in the Dominion of Canada, provided he or she has first
secured from the probate court of the district division of the superior court in
the unit within which the marriage is to be solemnized a special authorization,
authorizing him or her to certify the marriage if such the probate judge
determines that the circumstances make the special authorization desirable.
Marriage among the Friends or Quakers, the Christadelphian Ecclesia, and the
Baha’i Faith may be solemnized in the manner heretofore used in such
societies.

Sec. 148. 18 V.S.A. § 5231(a) and (f) are amended to read:

(a) Any individual who is a near relative of the decedent or the custodian of
the decedent’s remains may file an action in the probate division of the
superior court requesting the court to appoint an individual to make decisions
regarding the disposition of the decedent’s remains or to resolve a dispute
regarding the appropriate disposition of remains, including any decisions
regarding funeral goods and services. The court or the individual filing the
action may move to join any necessary person under the jurisdiction of the
court as a party. The agency of human services may also be joined as a party if
it is suggested on the record that there will be insufficient financial resources to
pay for funeral goods and services.

(f) Any appeal from the probate court shall be on the record to the superior
court. There shall be no appeal as a matter of right to the supreme court.
[Repealed.]

Sec. 149. 18 V.S.A. § 5531(c) is amended to read:

(c) The probate division of the superior court shall have jurisdiction to
determine all questions arising under the provisions of this section.

Sec. 150. 18 V.S.A. § 7106 is amended to read:

§ 7106. NOTICE OF HOSPITALIZATION AND DISCHARGE

Whenever a patient has been admitted to a hospital or training school other
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than upon his or her own application, the head of the hospital or school shall
immediately notify the patient’s legal guardian, spouse, parent or parents, or
nearest known relative or interested party, if known. If the involuntary
hospitalization or admission was without court order, notice shall also be given
to the district superior court judge for the district unit wherein the hospital is
located. If the hospitalization or admission was by order of any court, the head
of the hospital or training school admitting or discharging an individual shall
forthwith make a report thereof to the commissioner and to the court which
entered the order for hospitalization or admission.

Sec. 151. 18 V.S.A. § 8010(b) is amended to read:

(b) In that event and if the head of the hospital determines that the patient is
a patient in need of further treatment, the head of the hospital may detain the
patient for a period not to exceed four days from receipt of the notice to leave.
Before expiration of the four-day period the head of the hospital shall either
release the patient or apply to the district superior court in the district unit in
which the hospital is located for the involuntary admission of the patient. The
patient shall remain in the hospital pending the court’s determination of the
case.

Sec. 152. 18 V.S.A. § 8845(a) and (b) are amended to read:

(a) A person committed under this subchapter may be discharged from
custody by a district superior judge after judicial review as provided herein or
by administrative order of the commissioner.

(b) Procedures for judicial review of persons committed under this
subchapter shall be as provided in section 8834 of this title except that
proceedings shall be brought in the district superior court in the unit in which
the person resides or, if the person resides out of state, in the unit which issued
the original commitment order.

Sec. 153. 18 V.S.A. § 9052 is amended to read:

§ 9052. TRANSFER OF PATIENTS

The compact administrator shall consult with the immediate family of any
person whom he or she proposes to transfer from a state institution to an
institution in another state which is a party to this compact and shall take final
action as to the transfer of such person only with the approval of the district
superior court of the district unit of original commitment.

Sec. 154. 18 V.S.A. § 9303 is amended to read:

§ 9303. JURISDICTION AND VENUE

(a) The family division of the superior court shall have exclusive
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jurisdiction over all proceedings brought under the authority of this chapter.
Proceedings under this chapter shall be commenced in the family division of
the superior court for the county in which the person with developmental
disabilities is residing.

* * *

Sec. 154a. 18 V.S.A. § 9303 is amended to read:

§ 9303. JURISDICTION AND VENUE

(a) The superior court shall have exclusive jurisdiction over all proceedings
brought under the authority of this chapter. Proceedings under this chapter
shall be commenced in the superior court for the county unit in which the
person with developmental disabilities is residing.

(b)(1) The probate division of the superior court shall have concurrent
jurisdiction to appoint the commissioner to serve as a temporary guardian for a
person in need of guardianship when:

(A) a petition has been filed pursuant to section 14 V.S.A. § 3063 of
Title 14;

(B) the probate division of the superior court finds that the
respondent is a person in need of guardianship as defined in subdivision
9302(5) of this title; and

(C) no suitable private guardian can be located.

(2) Within 60 days after appointment as a temporary guardian, the
commissioner shall file a petition in the family division of the superior court
for appointment under this chapter and for modification or termination of the
probate court division order.

Sec. 155. 18 V.S.A. § 9316(a) and (b) are amended to read:

(a) The commissioner shall provide guardianship services in accordance
with the order of the probate or family division of the superior court until
termination or modification thereof by the court.

(b) The commissioner, the person with developmental disabilities, or any
interested person may petition the appointing court, if it exists, or the family
superior court for the district unit where the person resides to modify or
terminate the judgment pursuant to which the commissioner is providing
guardianship. The petitioner, or the commissioner as petitioner, and the
respondent shall be the parties to a petition to modify or terminate
guardianship.

Sec. 155a. 18 V.S.A. § 9316(a) is amended to read:
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(a) The commissioner shall provide guardianship services in accordance
with the order of the probate or superior court until termination or modification
thereof by the court.

Sec. 156. 20 V.S.A. § 26 is amended to read:

§ 26. CHANGE OF VENUE BECAUSE OF ENEMY ATTACK

In the event that the place where a civil action or a criminal prosecution is
required by law to be brought, has become and remains unsafe because of an
attack upon the United States or Canada, such action or prosecution may be
brought in or, if already pending, may be transferred to the superior or district
court as appropriate in an unaffected county or territorial unit and there tried in
the place provided by law for such court.

Sec. 157. 20 V.S.A. § 1882 is amended to read:

§ 1882. SUBPOENAS

In connection with any investigation into the internal affairs of the
department, the commissioner may request subpoenas for the testimony of
witnesses or the production of evidence. The fees for travel and attendance of
witnesses shall be the same as for witnesses and officers before a district
superior court. The fees in connection with subpoenas issued on behalf of the
commissioner or the department shall be paid by the state, upon presentation of
proper bills of costs to the commissioner. Notwithstanding 3 V.S.A. §§ 809a
and 809b, subpoenas requested by the commissioner shall be issued and
enforced by the district superior court of the district unit in which the person
subpoenaed resides in accordance with the Vermont District Court Civil Rules
of Civil Procedure.

Sec. 158. 20 V.S.A. § 1935 is amended to read:

§ 1935. PROCEDURE IF PERSON REFUSES TO GIVE SAMPLE

(a) If a person who is required to provide a DNA sample under this
subchapter refuses to provide the sample, the commissioner of the department
of corrections or public safety shall file a motion in the district superior court
for an order requiring the person to provide the sample.

* * *

(f) Venue for proceedings under this section shall be in the territorial unit
of the district superior court where the conviction occurred. Hearings under
this section shall be conducted by the district superior court without a jury and
shall be subject to the District Court Civil Rules Vermont Rules of Civil
Procedure as consistent with this section. The state has the burden of proof by
a preponderance of the evidence. Affidavits of witnesses shall be admissible
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evidence which may be rebutted by witnesses called by either party. The
affidavits shall be delivered to the other party at least five days prior to the
hearing.

(g) A decision of the district superior court under this section may be
appealed as a matter of right to the supreme court. The court’s order shall not
be stayed pending appeal unless the respondent is reasonably likely to prevail
on appeal.

Sec. 159. 20 V.S.A. § 2056 is amended to read:

§ 2056. CERTIFIED RECORDS

Upon the request of a superior or district court judge, the attorney general,
or a state’s attorney, the center shall prepare the record of arrests, convictions,
or sentences of a person. The record, when duly certified by the commissioner
of public safety or the director of the center, shall be competent evidence in the
courts of this state. Such other information as is contained in the center may
be made public only with the express approval of the commissioner of public
safety.

Sec. 160. 23 V.S.A. § 1205 is amended to read:

§ 1205. CIVIL SUSPENSION; SUMMARY PROCEDURE

* * *

(d) Form of notice. The notice of intention to suspend and of suspension
shall be in a form prescribed by the supreme court. The notice shall include an
explanation of rights, a form to be used to request a hearing, and, if a hearing is
requested, the date, time, and location of the district criminal division of the
superior court where the person must appear for a preliminary hearing. The
notice shall also contain, in boldface print, the following:

* * *

(3) If you wish to request a hearing before the district superior court,
you must mail or deliver your request for a hearing within seven (7) days after
(date of notice).

* * *

(f) Review by district superior court. Within seven days following receipt
of a notice of intention to suspend and of suspension, a person may make a
request for a hearing before the district superior court by mailing or delivering
the form provided with the notice. The request shall be mailed or delivered to
the commissioner of motor vehicles, who shall then notify the district criminal
division of the superior court that a hearing has been requested and who shall
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then provide the state’s attorney with a copy of the notice of intention to
suspend and of suspension and the officer’s affidavit.

* * *

(h) Final hearing.

* * *

(2) No less than seven days before the final hearing, and subject to the
requirements of District Court Civil Rule Vermont Rule of Civil Procedure 11,
the defendant shall provide to the state and file with the court a list of the
issues (limited to the issues set forth in this subsection) that the defendant
intends to raise. Only evidence that is relevant to an issue listed by the
defendant may be raised by the defendant at the final hearing. The defendant
shall not be permitted to raise any other evidence at the final hearing, and all
other evidence shall be inadmissible.

* * *

(j) Venue and conduct of hearings. Venue for proceedings under this
section shall be in the territorial unit of the district superior court where the
offense is alleged to have occurred. Hearings under this section shall be
summary proceedings conducted by the district criminal division of the
superior court without a jury and shall be subject to the District Court Civil
Rules Vermont Rules of Civil Procedure only as consistent with this section.
The state has the burden of proof by a preponderance of the evidence.
Affidavits of law enforcement officers, chemists of either party, or expert
witnesses of either party shall be admissible evidence which may be rebutted
by witnesses called by either party. The affidavits shall be delivered to the
other party at least five days prior to the hearing.

(k) Appeal. A decision of the district criminal division of the superior
court under this section may be appealed as a matter of right to the supreme
court. The suspension shall not be stayed pending appeal unless the defendant
is reasonably likely to prevail on appeal.

* * *

Sec. 161. 23 V.S.A. § 1213c(c) is amended to read:

(c) Service of notice. The notice of hearing shall be served as provided for
in the District Court Civil Rules Vermont Rules of Civil Procedure on the
registered owner or owners and any lienholders as shown on the certificate of
title for the vehicle as shown in the records of the department of motor vehicles
in the state in which the vehicle is registered or titled.

Sec. 162. 23 V.S.A. § 3021(b) and (d) are amended to read:
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(b) In addition to the powers specifically granted to the commissioner in
this chapter, he or she may:

* * *

(5) compel the attendance of witnesses and order the production of any
relevant books, records, papers, vouchers, accounts, or other documents of any
person the commissioner has reason to believe is liable for the payment of a
tax or of any person believed to have information pertinent to any matter under
investigation by the commissioner at any hearing held under this chapter. The
fees for travel and attendance of witnesses summoned or used by the
commissioner and fees for officers shall be the same as for witnesses and
officers before a district the criminal division of the superior court and shall be
paid by the state upon presentation of proper bills of cost to the commissioner
of finance and management, but no fees or expenses shall be payable to a
witness charged with a use tax liability.

(d) Any superior or district judge upon application of the commissioner
may compel the attendance of witnesses, the giving of testimony, and the
production of any books, records, papers, vouchers, accounts, or documents
before the commissioner in the same manner, to the same extent, and subject to
the same penalties as if before a superior or district court.

Sec. 163. 24 V.S.A. § 71a is amended to read:

§ 71a. COURTHOUSES

(a) Except as provided herein, each county shall provide and own a suitable
courthouse, pay all utility and custodial services, and keep such courthouse
suitably furnished and equipped for use by the superior court and probate
court, together with suitable offices for the county clerk, assistant judges, and
probate judges. Office space for the probate court may be provided elsewhere
by the county. Each county shall provide fireproof safes or vaults for the
safekeeping of the official files and records required to be kept by county
officials, including the files and records of a justice of the peace who has
vacated his or her office. Use of the county courthouse by the supreme court,
district court, family court or the judicial bureau may be permitted by the
assistant judges when such use does not conflict with the use of the building by
the superior court, provided that the office of court administrator shall pay the
cost of any such use should the assistant judges choose not to pay the cost by
use of county funds. The county shall provide at least the facilities for judicial
operations, including staff, that it provided on July 1, 2009.

(b) If the state provides a building in which the superior court is held all
judicial operations in a county are contained in one court building owned by
the state, the county clerk and assistant judges may also be located in the same
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building. The assistant judges, the court administrator and the commissioner
of buildings and general services shall be the superintendents of the building.
They shall make decisions regarding building construction, space allocations,
and use of the facility after consulting with the district court and the superior
court presiding judges judge and the probate judge if housed in the building
assistant judges. The county shall no longer be required to maintain a
courthouse.

(c) The court administrator, in consultation with the presiding judge of the
superior court, shall determine what judicial operations will occur in the
county courthouse.

Sec. 163a. 24 V.S.A. § 71a is amended to read:

§ 71a. COURTHOUSES

(a) Except as provided herein, each county shall provide and own a suitable
courthouse, pay all utility and custodial services, and keep such courthouse
suitably furnished and equipped for use by the superior court and probate
court, together with suitable offices for the county clerk, assistant judges and
probate judges. Office space for the probate division of the superior court may
be provided elsewhere by the county. The county shall provide at least the
facilities for judicial operations, including staff, that it provided on July 1,
2009.

* * *

Sec. 164. 24 V.S.A. § 72 is amended to read:

§ 72. —EXPENSES OF THE SUPERIOR COURT

(a) The expenses connected with the superior court, unless otherwise
provided, shall be paid by the state.

(b) All filing fees in small claims actions, including postjudgment fees,
shall be held by the county in which they are filed.

Sec. 165. 24 V.S.A. § 75 is amended to read:

§ 75. TELEPHONE

Each county shall provide adequate telephone service for the county
courthouse, the offices of the county clerk, probate judge or register thereof,
and the sheriff.

Sec. 166. 24 V.S.A. § 77 is amended to read:

§ 77. COUNTY LANDS; PURCHASE; CONDEMNATION

(a) Each county may acquire and own such lands and rights in lands as in
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the opinion of the assistant judges are needful for county purposes.

(b) A county may condemn land in situations similar to those in which a
municipality may condemn under section 2805 of this title by complying with
the procedures established in sections 2805 through 2812 of this title, with the
assistant judges performing the duties assigned by those sections to the
selectmen.

(c) In any proceeding brought by a county under subsection (b) of this
section, the assistant judges shall be disqualified, and the proceeding shall be
heard by the presiding judge, sitting alone.

Sec. 167. 24 V.S.A. § 131 is amended to read:

§ 131. POWERS AND DUTIES

The assistant judges of the superior court shall have the care and
superintendence of county property, may take deeds and leases of real estate to
the county, rent or sell and convey unused lands belonging to the county, keep
the courthouse, jail, and other county buildings insured, and make needed
repairs and improvements in and around the same.

Sec. 168. 24 V.S.A. § 137 is amended to read:

§ 137. JURISDICTION

District and superior Superior courts, within their respective jurisdictions,
may take cognizance of actions in favor of or against the county.

Sec. 169. 24 V.S.A. § 171 is amended to read:

§ 171. APPOINTMENT

The assistant judges of the superior court, with the concurrence of the
presiding judge of such court, shall appoint a county clerk who shall be sworn
and hold his or her office during the pleasure of such judges and until his or
her successor is appointed and has qualified.

Sec. 170. 24 V.S.A. § 175 is amended to read:

§ 175. BOND TO COUNTY

Before entering upon the duties of his or her office, a county clerk shall
become bound to the county in the sum of $3,000.00, with sufficient sureties,
by way of recognizance, before two of the judges of the superior court the
assistant judges, or give a bond to the county executed by principal and
sureties in like sum to be approved by two of the judges of the superior court
the assistant judges, conditioned for the faithful performance of his or her
duties. Such bonds of county clerks shall be taken biennially in the month of
February and recorded in the office of the county clerk.



- 510 -

Sec. 171. 24 V.S.A. § 176 is amended to read:

§ 176. DEPUTY CLERK

A county clerk may, subject to the approval of the assistant judges, appoint
one or more deputies who may perform the duties of clerk for whose acts he or
she shall be responsible and whose deputations he or she may revoke at
pleasure. A record of the appointments shall be made in the office of the clerk.
In case of the death of the clerk or his or her inability to act, the deputy or
deputies in order of appointment shall perform the duties of the office until a
clerk is appointed. In case of the suspension of the clerk’s duties as a
condition of release pending trial for violating 13 V.S.A. § 2537, the assistant
judges of the county shall appoint a person to perform the duties of the office
until the charge of violating 13 V.S.A. § 2537 is resolved. If the assistant
judges cannot agree upon appointing a person, the judge of the superior court
of the county shall make the appointment. The compensation for the clerk and
deputy clerk shall be fixed by the assistant judges and paid for by the county.
Such compensation may include such employment benefits as are presently
provided to state employees, including, but not limited to, health insurance, life
insurance, and pension plan, the expense for which shall be borne by the
county and the employees.

Sec. 172. 24 V.S.A. § 178 is amended to read:

§ 178. RECORD OF SHERIFF’S COMMISSION; COPIES; EVIDENCE

Such The county clerk shall record, in a book kept for that purpose, sheriffs’
commissions with the oath of office indorsed thereon, and recognizances taken
by the judges of the superior court, out of court, for the appearance of
criminals confined in jail. In case of loss or destruction of an original
commission or recognizance, a certified copy of the record may be used in
court as evidence of the facts therein contained.

Sec. 173. 24 V.S.A. § 183 is amended to read:

§ 183. CERTIFICATE OF APPOINTMENT OF NOTARY PUBLIC
OR MASTER

Immediately after the appointment of a notary public or master, the county
clerk shall send to the secretary of state a certificate of such appointment, on
blanks furnished by such the secretary, containing the name, signature, and
legal residence of the appointee, and the term of office of each notary public.
Such The secretary shall cause such certificates to be bound in suitable
volumes and to be indexed. Upon request, such the secretary may certify the
appointment, qualification and signature of such a notary public or master on
tender of his or her legal fees.
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Sec. 174. 24 V.S.A. § 211 is amended to read:

§ 211. APPOINTMENT; VACANCY

Biennially, on February 1, the assistant judges of the superior court shall
appoint a treasurer for the county who shall hold office for two years and until
his or her successor is appointed and qualified. If such the treasurer dies or in
the opinion of the assistant judges becomes disqualified, they may appoint a
treasurer for the unexpired term. If the treasurer has his or her duties
suspended as a condition of release pending trial for violating 13 V.S.A.
§ 2537, the assistant judges of the county shall appoint a person to perform the
duties of the treasurer until the charge of violating 13 V.S.A. § 2537 is
resolved. If the assistant judges cannot agree upon whom to appoint, the
auditor of accounts shall make the appointment.

Sec. 175. 24 V.S.A. § 212 is amended to read:

§ 212. BOND

Before entering upon the duties of his or her office, a county treasurer shall
become bound to the county in the sum of $5,000.00, with sufficient sureties,
by way of recognizance, before two of the judges of the superior court the
assistant judges, or give a bond to the county executed by principal and
sureties in like sum to be approved by two of the judges of the superior court
the assistant judges, conditioned for the faithful performance of his or her
duties. Such The recognizance or bond shall be lodged with and recorded by
the county clerk. Such bond shall be and renewed annually in the month of
February.

Sec. 176. 24 V.S.A. § 291 is amended to read:

§ 291. BOND; OATH

Before entering upon the duties of his or her office, a sheriff shall become
bound to the treasurer of the county in the sum of $100,000.00, with two or
more sufficient sureties by way of recognizance, before a justice of the
supreme court or the two assistant judges of the superior court in such county,
or give a bond to the treasurer executed by such sheriff with sufficient sureties
in like sum to be approved by a justice of the supreme court or by the two
assistant judges of the superior court, conditioned for the faithful performance
of his or her duties and shall take the oath of office before one of such the
judges, who shall certify the same on the sheriff’s commission. Such
recognizance or bond and the commission shall be forthwith recorded in the
office of the county clerk.

Sec. 177. 24 V.S.A. § 294 is amended to read:

§ 294. SHERIFF IMPRISONED



- 512 -

If a sheriff is confined in prison by legal process, his or her functions as
sheriff shall be suspended. When he the sheriff is released from imprisonment
during his or her term of office, he or she shall file a certificate of his or her
discharge signed by one of the judges of the superior court, in the office of the
county clerk, and deliver a like certificate to the high bailiff. Thereupon he or
she shall resume the powers and execute the duties of sheriff.

Sec. 178. 24 V.S.A. § 361(a) is amended to read:

(a) A state’s attorney shall prosecute for offenses committed within his or
her county, and all matters and causes cognizable by the supreme, and superior
and district courts in behalf of the state;, file informations and prepare bills of
indictment, deliver executions in favor of the state to an officer for collection
immediately after final judgment, taking duplicate receipts therefor, one of
which shall be sent to the commissioner of finance and management, and take
measures to collect fines and other demands or sums of money due to the state
or county.

Sec. 179. 24 V.S.A. § 441 is amended to read:

§ 441. APPOINTMENT; JURISDICTION; EX OFFICIO NOTARIES;
APPLICATION

(a) The assistant judges of the superior court may appoint as many notaries
public for the county as the public good requires, to hold. Notaries public so
appointed shall hold office until ten days after the expiration of the term of
office of such judges, whose and their jurisdiction shall extend throughout the
state.

(b) The clerk of the supreme court, county clerks, district superior court
clerks, family deputy superior court clerks, justices of the peace, and town
clerks and their assistants shall be ex officio notaries public.

(c) Every applicant for appointment and commission as a notary public
shall complete an application to be filed with the county clerk of the superior
court stating that the applicant is a resident of the county and has reached the
age of majority, giving his or her business or home address and providing a
handwritten specimen of the applicant’s official signature.

(d) An ex officio notary public shall cease to be a notary public when he or
she vacates the office on which his or her status as a notary public depends.

Sec. 180. 24 V.S.A. § 441a is amended to read:

§ 441a. NONRESIDENT NOTARY PUBLIC

A nonresident may be appointed as a notary public, provided the individual
resides in a state adjoining this state and maintains, or is regularly employed in,
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a place of business in this state. Before a nonresident may be appointed as a
notary public, the individual shall file with the assistant judges of the superior
court in the county where the individual’s place of employment is located an
application setting forth the individual’s residence and the place of
employment in this state. A nonresident notary public shall notify the assistant
judges of the superior court, in writing, of any change of residence or of place
of employment in this state.

Sec. 181. 24 V.S.A. § 442 is amended to read:

§ 442. OATH; CERTIFICATE OF APPOINTMENT RECORDED; FORM

(a) A person appointed as notary public shall cause the certificate of his or
her appointment to be filed and recorded in the office of the county clerk
where issued. Before entering upon the duties of his office, he or she, as well
as an ex officio notary, shall take the oath prescribed by the constitution, and
shall duly subscribe the same with his or her correct signature, which oath thus
subscribed shall be kept on file by the county clerk as a part of the records of
such county.

(b) The certificate of appointment shall be substantially in the following
form:

STATE OF VERMONT, ss.

__________________ County

This is to certify that A.B. of __________________ in such county, was, on
the ____________ day of ____________, 20 ______, appointed by the
assistant judges of the superior court for such county a notary public for the
term ending on February 10, 20 ______.

__________________________________________ Assistant Judges of the
__________________________________________ superior court.
__________________________________________

And at ____________ in such county, on this ____________ day of
________________, 20 ______ personally appeared A.B.
__________________ and took oath of office prescribed in the constitution.

Before me,

C. D. _______________________________________

(Designation of the officer administering the oath).

Sec. 182. 24 V.S.A. § 1974(c) is amended to read:

(c) Prosecutions of criminal ordinances shall be brought before the district
superior court pursuant to section 4 V.S.A. § 441 of Title 4.
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Sec. 183. 24 V.S.A. § 3117 is amended to read:

§ 3117. APPEAL FROM ORDER

An owner or person interested who is aggrieved by such order may appeal
as provided in the case of a person aggrieved by an order of a building
inspector. However, the provisions of this section shall not prevent such the
municipality from recovering the forfeiture provided in section 3116 of this
title from the date of the service of the original notice, unless such the order is
annulled by the board of arbitration, district court or a superior judge, as the
case may be.

Sec. 184. 24 V.S.A. § 3808 is amended to read:

§ 3808. LIABILITY OF PERSON BOUND TO BUILD FENCE

When a person bound to support a portion of the division fence does not
make or maintain his or her portion, he or she shall be liable for damages done
to or suffered by the opposite party in consequence of such neglect. An owner
or occupant of adjoining lands, after 10 days from the time notice is given to
the opposite party, may make or put in repair the fence and recover from the
opposite party damages arising from the neglect, with the expense of building
or repairing the fence. Actions under this section may be brought before a
district court when the amount claimed does not exceed $200.00.

Sec. 185. 28 V.S.A. § 103 is amended to read:

§ 103. INQUIRIES AND INVESTIGATIONS INTO THE
ADMINISTRATION OF THE DEPARTMENT

* * *

(c) In any inquiry or investigation conducted by the commissioner, he or
she shall have the same powers as are possessed by district court or superior
judges in chambers, and which shall include the power to:

(1) Administer oaths;

(2) Compel the attendance of witnesses;

(3) Compel the production of documentary evidence.

(d) If any person disobeys any lawful order or subpoena issued by the
commissioner pursuant to this section or refuses to testify to any matter
regarding which he or she may be questioned lawfully, any district court or
superior judge, upon application by the commissioner, shall order the
obedience of the person in the same manner as if the person had disobeyed an
order or subpoena of the district court or superior judge.

(e) The fees and traveling expenses of witnesses shall be the same as are
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allowed witnesses in the district or superior courts of the state and shall be
reimbursed by the commissioner out of any appropriation or funds at the
disposal of the department.

Sec. 186. 28 V.S.A. § 1531 is amended to read:

§ 1531. APPROPRIATE COURT

The phrase “appropriate court” as used in the agreement on detainers, with
reference to the courts of this state, means the superior court where the
Vermont charge is pending or the district court.

Sec. 187. 29 V.S.A. § 1158 is amended to read:

§ 1158. —ACTS AND RESOLVES; VERMONT STATUTES
ANNOTATED; DISTRIBUTION

(a) The state librarian shall deliver the acts and resolves as follows: to the
secretary of state, six copies; to the clerk of the United States supreme court for
the use of the court, one copy; to the governor’s office and to the governor and
lieutenant governor, one copy each; to the library Library of Congress, four
copies; to each county clerk, three copies; one to each of the following officers
and institutions: each department of the United States government and upon
request to federal libraries, elective and appointive state officers, the clerk of
each state board or commission, superintendent of each state institution, the
library of the university University of Vermont, the libraries of Castleton,
Johnson, and Lyndon state colleges State Colleges, Vermont technical college
Technical College, Middlebury college College, Norwich university
University, St. Michael’s college College, senators and representatives of this
state in Congress, members of the general assembly during the session at
which such laws were adopted, the secretary and assistant secretary of the
senate, clerk and assistant clerks of the house of representatives, the judges,
attorney, marshall, and clerk of the United States district court in this state, the
judge of the second circuit United States court of appeals from Vermont,
justices and ex-justices of the supreme court, superior judges, district court
judges, the reporter of decisions, judges and registers of probate, sheriffs,
state’s attorneys, town clerks; one each, upon request and as the available
supply permits, to assistant judges of the superior court, justices of the peace,
chairman of the legislative body of each municipality and town treasurers; one
within the state, to the Vermont historical society, to each county or regional
bar law library, and one copy to each state or territorial library or supreme
court library, and foreign library which makes available to Vermont its
comparable publication, provided that if any of these officials hold more than
one of the offices named, that official shall be entitled to only one copy.

(b) The state librarian shall distribute the copies of Vermont Statutes
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Annotated and cumulative pocket part supplements thereto, when issued, as
follows: one each to the governor, lieutenant governor, speaker of the house of
representatives, the state treasurer, secretary of state, auditor of accounts,
adjutant general, commissioner of buildings and general services,
commissioner of taxes, sergeant at arms, and the head of each administrative
department; four copies to the attorney general; one to each town clerk, three
to each county clerk; one to each probate judge and two to the clerk of the
supreme court; one to each ex-justice and justice of the supreme court, each
superior judge, district judge, and state’s attorney; two to the judge of the
second circuit United States court of appeals from Vermont and four to the
United States district judges for the district of Vermont. One copy shall be
given to each state institution, each county or regional bar law library, each
university, college, and public library, as requested, and as many sets as are
needed to effect exchange with state libraries and state law libraries. Current
copies of the Vermont Statutes Annotated and supplements shall be kept for
use in the offices of the officers and institutions mentioned. One copy shall be
given to each member of the commission established by chapter 3 of Title 1
and counsel therefor, unless they are authorized to receive one in another
capacity, and one to each of the fifteen 15 members of the joint special
committee on revision of the laws authorized by No. 86 of the Acts of 1959.
Additional copies may be sold to parties identified in this subsection at a price
to be fixed by the state librarian.

Sec. 188. 30 V.S.A. § 12 is amended to read:

§ 12. REVIEW BY SUPREME COURT

A party to a cause who feels himself or herself aggrieved by the final order,
judgment, or decree of the board may appeal to the supreme court. However,
the board, in its discretion and before final judgment, may permit an appeal to
be taken by any party to the supreme court for determination of questions of
law in such manner as the supreme court may by rule provide for appeals
before final judgment from a superior court or the district court.
Notwithstanding the provisions of the Vermont rules of civil procedure Rules
of Civil Procedure or the Vermont rules of appellate procedure Rules of
Appellate Procedure, neither the time for filing a notice of appeal nor the filing
of a notice of appeal, as provided herein, shall operate as a stay of enforcement
of an order of the board unless the board or the supreme court grants a stay
under the provisions of section 14 of this title.

Sec. 189. 32 V.S.A. § 467 is amended to read:

§ 467. ACCOUNTS WITH COUNTY SUPERIOR COURT CLERKS

The commissioner of finance and management shall issue his or her a
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warrant in favor of each county superior court clerk when such the clerk
requires money for election or court expenses, and the state treasurer shall
charge the same to the clerk. The clerk shall be credited for moneys properly
disbursed by him or her, and the balance shall be paid by the clerk into the
treasury.

Sec. 190. 32 V.S.A. § 469 is amended to read:

§ 469. REQUISITION FOR COURT EXPENSES

With the approval of the court administrator, the supreme court, the
environmental court, the judicial bureau, the probate court, and the superior
court, the district court and the family court may requisition money from the
state to pay fees and expenses related to grand and petit jurors, fees and
expenses of witnesses approved by the judge, expenses of guardians ad litem,
expenses of elections, and other expenses of court operations. The cash
advances shall be administered under the provisions of section 466 of this title.

Sec. 191. 32 V.S.A. § 503 is amended to read:

§ 503. PAYMENT OF MONEYS INTO TREASURY

Quarterly and oftener if the commissioner of finance and management so
directs, county superior court clerks and other collectors and receivers of
public money, except justices, shall pay all such money collected or held by
them into the state treasury.

Sec. 192. 32 V.S.A. § 504 is amended to read:

§ 504. FINES PAID COUNTY SUPERIOR COURT CLERK

Damages and costs received in actions to which the state is a party, and
fines and the amount of bonds and recognizances to the state taken in any
county, shall be paid to the county superior clerk. His or her receipt shall be
the only valid discharge thereof and he or she shall pay the same into the state
treasury.

Sec. 193. 32 V.S.A. § 506 is amended to read:

§ 506. FAILURE OF COUNTY SUPERIOR COURT CLERK TO PAY
OVER

If a county superior court clerk neglects to make a return or pay into the
state treasury any money as provided in this chapter, the commissioner of
finance and management shall forthwith notify the state’s attorney, who shall
immediately prosecute the clerk and the sureties on his or her official bond.

Sec. 194. 32 V.S.A. § 508 is amended to read:

§ 508. RECEIPTS GIVEN BY STATE OFFICERS
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State officers, except county superior court clerks and district superior
judges, and every person in the employ of the state under salary or per diem
established by statute, receiving money belonging to or for the use of the state,
shall give the person paying such money a receipt therefor in such form as
shall be prescribed by the state treasurer.

Sec. 195. 32 V.S.A. § 541 is amended to read:

§ 541. COLLECTION OF FINES AND COSTS

All fines, costs, including costs taxed as state’s attorneys’ and court fees,
bail, and unclaimed fees collected by judges of district courts shall be paid into
the proper treasury.

Sec. 196. 32 V.S.A. § 581 is amended to read:

§ 581. UNCLAIMED COSTS TO REVERT TO STATE

Fees allowed in a bill of costs to a justice or judge which are not demanded
by the party to whom such fees are due within six months after such bill is
allowed, shall revert to the use of the state and, in the case of a justice, shall be
paid by the justice to the county clerk within 30 days from the expiration of
such period of six months;, and such justice or the judge, after the expiration of
six months, shall be relieved from all liability to parties to whom such the fees
were due.

Sec. 197. 32 V.S.A. § 809 is amended to read:

§ 809. AUDITING OF COURT CLERK ACCOUNTS OF PROBATE

JUDGES

The auditor shall examine the accounts of the judges of probate superior
court clerks and ascertain whether their fees are properly and uniformly
charged and rendered, and if he or she the auditor finds they are not, he or she
shall direct the proper corrections to be made. He or she The auditor shall
endeavor to obtain a uniform practice in the probate superior courts in that
respect.

Sec. 198. 32 V.S.A. § 1141 is amended to read:

§ 1141. ASSISTANT JUDGES OF SUPERIOR COURTS

(a) The compensation of each assistant judge of the superior court, which
shall be paid by the state, shall be $136.28 a day as of July 9, 2006 and
$142.04 a day as of July 8, 2007 for time spent in the performance of official
duties and necessary expenses as allowed to classified state employees.
Compensation under this section shall be based on a half-day minimum and
hourly thereafter.
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(b) Assistant judges of the superior court shall receive pay for such days as
they attend court when it is in actual session, or during a court recess when
engaged in the special performance of official duties.

Sec. 199. 32 V.S.A. § 1142 is amended to read:

§ 1142. JUDGES OF PROBATE JUDGES

(a) The annual salaries of the judges of probate judges in the several
probate districts, which shall be paid by the state in lieu of all fees or other
compensation, shall be as follows:

Annual Salary

as of

July 8, 2007

(1) Addison $59,321

(2) Bennington/Windham 59,321 91,402

(3) Caledonia/Essex/Orleans 59,321 91,402

(4) Chittenden 91,402

(5) Essex 28,853

(6) Fair Haven 43,594

(7)(5) Franklin/Grand Isle 59,321

(8) Grand Isle 28,853

(9) Hartford 59,321

(10)(6) Lamoille/Washington 53,594 91,402

(11) Marlboro 51,559

(12)(7) Orange/Windsor 51,559 91,402

(13) Orleans 51,559

(14)(8) Rutland 75,859 91,402

(15) Washington 75,859

(16) Westminster 43,594

(17) Windsor 51,559

(b) Judges of probate Probate judges shall be paid by the state their actual
and necessary expenses under the rules and regulations pertaining to classified
state employees.
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Sec. 200. 32 V.S.A. § 1143 is amended to read:

§ 1143. –COMPENSATION OF APPOINTEES

Persons acting under the authority of the probate division of the superior
court shall be paid as follows:

(1) For each day’s attendance by executor, administrator, trustee, agent,
or guardian, on the business of their appointment, $4.00;

(2) For each day’s attendance of commissioners, appraisers, or
committee, $4.00; and

(3) The probate division of the superior court may allow in cases of
unusual difficulty or responsibility, such further sum as it judges reasonable.

Sec. 201. 32 V.S.A. § 1144 is amended to read:

§ 1144. –COMPENSATION OF APPRAISERS

An appraiser appointed in accordance with the provisions of chapters 181
and 183 of this title shall receive $4.00 a day and his or her necessary expenses
shall be paid by the state on the certificate of the judge of probate. But in cases
requiring the appointment of an expert, the judge of probate may allow such
further sum as he or she deems reasonable. [Repealed.]

Sec. 202. 32 V.S.A. § 1145 is amended to read:

§ 1145. —ILLEGAL FEES

A probate judge or register of probate who directly or indirectly accepts or
receives, under color of his or her office, money or other valuable thing, by
way of fees, remuneration, or compensation for the performance of an act as
such judge or register, except as provided in this title, shall be fined not more
than $500.00 nor less than $200.00.

Sec. 203. 32 V.S.A. § 1431 is amended to read:

§ 1431. FEES IN SUPREME, AND SUPERIOR, DISTRICT, FAMILY, AND
ENVIRONMENTAL COURTS

(a) Prior to the entry of any cause in the supreme court, there shall be paid
to the clerk of the court for the benefit of the state a fee of $250.00 in lieu of all
other fees not otherwise set forth in this section.

(b)(1) Prior Except as provided in subdivisions (2)–(5) of this subsection,
prior to the entry of any cause in the superior court or environmental court,
there shall be paid to the clerk of the court for the benefit of the state a fee of
$250.00 in lieu of all other fees not otherwise set forth in this section.

(2) Prior to the entry of any divorce or annulment proceeding in the
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family superior court, there shall be paid to the clerk of the court for the benefit
of the state a fee of $250.00 in lieu of all other fees not otherwise set forth in
this section; however, if the divorce or annulment complaint is filed with a
stipulation for a final order acceptable to the court, the fee shall be $75.00.

(3) Prior to the entry of any parentage or desertion and support
proceeding brought under chapter 5 of Title 15 in the family superior court,
there shall be paid to the clerk of the court for the benefit of the state a fee of
$100.00 in lieu of all other fees not otherwise set forth in this section; however,
if the parentage or desertion and support complaint is filed with a stipulation
for a final order acceptable to the court, the fee shall be $25.00.

(4) Prior to the entry of any motion or petition to enforce an order for
parental rights and responsibilities, parent-child contact, or maintenance in the
family superior court, there shall be paid to the clerk of the court for the benefit
of the state a fee of $75.00 in lieu of all other fees not otherwise set forth in
this section. Prior to the entry of any motion or petition to vacate or modify an
order for parental rights and responsibilities, parent-child contact, or
maintenance in the family superior court, there shall be paid to the clerk of the
court for the benefit of the state a fee of $100.00 in lieu of all other fees not
otherwise set forth in this section. However, if the motion or petition is filed
with a stipulation for an order acceptable to the court, the fee shall be $25.00.
All motions or petitions filed by one party at one time shall be assessed one
fee.

(5) Prior to the entry of any motion or petition to vacate or modify an
order for child support in the family superior court, there shall be paid to the
clerk of the court for the benefit of the state a fee of $35.00 in lieu of all other
fees not otherwise set forth in this section; however, if the motion or petition is
filed with a stipulation for an order acceptable to the court, there shall be no
fee. A motion or petition to enforce an order for child support shall require no
fee. All motions or petitions filed by one party at one time shall be assessed
one fee; if a simultaneous motion is filed by a party under subdivision (4) of
this subsection, the subdivision (4) fee under subdivision (4) shall be the only
fee assessed.

* * *

(d) Prior to the entry of any subsequent pleading which sets forth a claim
for relief in the supreme court or the superior, environmental, or district court,
there shall be paid to the clerk of the court for the benefit of the state a fee of
$100.00 for every appeal, cross-claim, or third-party claim and a fee of $75.00
for every counterclaim in the superior or environmental court in lieu of all
other fees not otherwise set forth in this section. The fee for an appeal of a
magistrate’s decision in the family superior court shall be $100.00. The filing
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fee for civil suspension proceedings filed pursuant to 23 V.S.A § 1205 shall be
$75.00, which shall be taxed in the bill of costs in accordance with sections
1433 and 1471 of this title.

(e) Prior to the filing of any postjudgment motion in the superior,
environmental, or district court, including motions to reopen civil suspensions,
there shall be paid to the clerk of the court for the benefit of the state a fee of
$75.00 except for small claims actions.

(f) The filing fee for all actions filed in the judicial bureau shall be $50.00;
the state or municipality shall not be required to pay the fee; however, if the
respondent denies the allegations on the ticket, the fee shall be taxed in the bill
of costs in accordance with sections 1433 and 1471 of this title and shall be
paid to the clerk of the bureau for the benefit of the state.

(g) Prior to the filing of any postjudgment motion in the judicial bureau
there shall be paid to the clerk of the bureau, for the benefit of the state, a fee
of $35.00. Prior to the filing of any appeal from the judicial bureau to the
district superior court, there shall be paid to the clerk of the court, for the
benefit of the state, a fee of $100.00.

(h) Pursuant to Vermont Rules of Civil Procedure 3.1, or Vermont Rules of
Appellate Procedure 24(a), or District Court Civil Rules 3.1, part or all of the
filing fee may be waived if the court finds that the applicant is unable to pay it.
The clerk of the court or the clerk’s designee shall establish the in forma
pauperis fee in accordance with procedures and guidelines established by
administrative order of the supreme court.

Sec. 203a. 32 V.S.A. § 1431 is amended to read:

§ 1431. FEES IN SUPREME, AND SUPERIOR, AND
ENVIRONMENTAL COURTS

* * *

(c) Prior to the entry of a small claims action, there shall be paid to the
clerk for the benefit of the county superior court for the benefit of the state in
lieu of all other fees not otherwise set forth in this section, a fee of $75.00 if
the claim is for more than $1,000.00 and $50.00 if the claim is for $1,000.00 or
less. Prior to the entry of any postjudgment motion in a small claims action,
there shall be paid to the clerk for the benefit of the county superior court for
the benefit of the state a fee of $50.00. The fee for every counterclaim in small
claims proceedings shall be $25.00, payable to the county superior court for
the benefit of the state, if the counterclaim is for more than $500.00, and
$15.00 if the counterclaim is for $500.00 or less.

* * *
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Sec. 204. 32 V.S.A. § 1434 is amended to read:

§ 1434. PROBATE COURTS CASES

(a) The following entry fees shall be paid to the probate division of the
superior court for the benefit of the state, except for subdivision (17) of this
subsection which shall be for the benefit of the county in which the fee was
collected:

* * *

(b) For economic cause, the probate judge may waive this fee. No fee shall
be charged for necessary documents pertaining to the opening of estates, trusts,
and guardianships, including the issuance of two certificates of appointment
and respective letters. No fee shall be charged for the issuance of two certified
copies of adoption decree and two certified copies of instrument changing
name.

(c) A fee of $5.00 shall be paid for each additional certification of
appointment of a fiduciary.

Sec. 205. 32 V.S.A. § 1436(b) is amended to read:

(b) Notwithstanding any statute to the contrary, fees collected as a result of
this section shall be in lieu of any payments by the state to the county for the
use of the county courthouse by the supreme, district, family, and
environmental and superior courts or by the judicial bureau.

Sec. 206. 32 V.S.A. § 1471 is amended to read:

§ 1471. TAXATION OF COSTS

(a) There shall be taxed in the bill of costs to the recovering party in the
supreme, and superior, family, district, or environmental courts or the judicial
bureau a fee equal to the entry fees, the cost of service fees incurred, and the
total amount of the certificate of witness fees paid.

(b) Any costs taxed to the respondent in any action filed by the office of
child support shall be paid to the clerk of the court for deposit in the general
fund.

Sec. 207. 32 V.S.A. § 1511 is amended to read:

§ 1511. GRAND AND PETIT JURORS IN SUPERIOR AND DISTRICT
COURT

There shall be allowed to grand and petit jurors in the superior and district
court the following fees and expenses:

(1) For attendance, $30.00 a day, on request, unless the jurors were



- 524 -

otherwise compensated by their employer;

(2) For each talesman, $30.00 a day, on request, unless the talesmen
were otherwise compensated by their employer;

(3) Upon request and upon a showing of hardship, reimbursement for
expenses necessarily incurred for travel from home to court, and return, at the
rate of reimbursement allowed state employees for travel under the terms of
the prevailing collective bargaining agreement.

Sec. 208. 32V.S.A. § 1514 is amended to read:

§ 1514. BOARD AND LODGING OF JURORS

When in a grand jury investigation or in the trial of a criminal or civil cause
jurors are kept together by order of the court, their board and lodging and that
of the officers having such jurors in charge shall be paid by the state. This
provision shall apply only to grand jurors and petit jurors in superior courts
and petit jurors in district courts.

Sec. 209. 32 V.S.A. § 1518 is amended to read:

§ 1518. TOWN GRAND JURORS

In criminal causes before a district court, the grand juror or other
prosecuting officer shall be paid:

(1) If the cause is disposed without trial, $1.50;

(2) For trial by court, $2.00;

(3) For trial by jury, $2.50;

(4) For each subsequent day, $2.00 additional;

(5) Ten cents a mile travel one way for one trip for each cause, provided
a separate trip for such cause has been made; but if a separate trip has not been
made, then at $0.05 a mile one way for each cause;

(6) No grand juror shall receive in fees more than $400.00 in any one
year.

Sec. 210. 32 V.S.A. § 1551 is amended to read:

§ 1551. ATTENDANCE FEES

There shall be allowed to witnesses the following fees:

(1) For attendance before a district or superior court or court of jail
delivery, or to give a deposition before a notary public, $30.00 a day;

(2) For attendance before an appraiser appointed by the commissioner of
taxes, $30.00 a day; such fees to be apportioned as the appraiser may direct;
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(3) For attendance on other courts or tribunals, $30.00 a day;

(4) For travel in the state, all witnesses shall receive mileage at the rate
of reimbursement allowed state employees for travel under the terms of the
prevailing collective bargaining agreement.

Sec. 211. 32 V.S.A. § 1596 is amended to read:

§ 1596. FEES FORBIDDEN

Fees shall not be allowed to an officer for the service of a capias, bench
warrant, or other writ for the arrest of a person who is under a recognizance
taken before a district court judge or other an officer authorized by law to take
such recognizance, requiring the appearance of such person before the superior
court.

Sec. 212. 32 V.S.A. § 1631 is amended to read:

§ 1631. TRUSTEES’ FEES

The person summoned as trustee shall be allowed $0.06 a mile for his or her
travel, and $1.50 for each day’s attendance before the superior court, the same
for travel and $0.75 for each day’s attendance before a commissioner or district
court.

Sec. 213. 32 V.S.A. § 1751 is amended to read:

§ 1751. FEES WHEN NOT OTHERWISE PROVIDED

(a)(1) Officers and persons whose duty it is to record deeds, proceedings,
depositions, or make copies of records, proceedings, docket entries, or minutes
in their offices, when no other provision is made, shall be allowed:

(1)(A) The sum of $0.60 a folio therefor with a minimum fee of $1.00;

(2)(B) The sum of $2.00 for each official certificate;

(3)(C) For the authentication of documents, $2.00;

(4)(D) For other services such sum as is in proportion to the fees
established by law.

(2) Provided, however, that no fees shall be charged to honorably
discharged veterans of the armed forces of the United States, or to their
dependents or beneficiaries, for copies of records required in the prosecution of
any claim for benefits from the United States government, or any state agency,
and fees for copies of records so furnished at the rates provided by law shall be
paid such officers by the town or city wherein such record is maintained.

(b)(1) Whenever probate, district, environmental, family, or superior court
officers and employees or officers and employees of the judicial bureau furnish
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copies or certified copies of records, the following fees shall be collected for
the benefit of the state:

(1)(A) The sum of $0.60 a folio with a minimum fee of $1.00 when a
copy is reproduced by typewriter or hand;

(2)(B) The sum of $0.25 a page with a minimum fee of $1.00 when a
copy is reproduced photographically;

(3)(C) For each official certificate, $5.00; however, one conformed copy
of any document issued by a court shall be furnished without charge to a party
of record to the action;

(4)(D) For the authentication of documents, $5.00;

(5)(E) For a response to a request for a record of criminal history of a
person based upon name and date of birth, $30.00.

(6)(F) For appointment as an acting judge pursuant to 4 V.S.A § 22(b)
for the purpose of performing a civil marriage, $100.00.

(2) However, the fees provided for in this subsection shall not be
assessed by these officers and employees in furnishing copies or certified
copies of records to any agency of any municipality, state, or federal
government or to veterans honorably discharged from the armed forces of the
United States, their dependents or beneficiaries, in the prosecution of any claim
for benefits from the United States government, or any state agency.

Sec. 214. 32 V.S.A. § 1753 is amended to read:

§ 1753. INQUESTS

The fees and expenses of inquests on the dead, and buildings burned shall
be the same as in criminal causes before a district court.

Sec. 215. 32 V.S.A. § 1760 is amended to read:

§ 1760. FEES OF COUNTY CLERKS FOR INDEX OF DEEDS AND
INDEX OF RECORDS

The county clerks shall receive from the county, for making the general
index of existing land records under section 27 V.S.A. § 401 of Title 27, $1.00
for each 100 entries upon such index; and for making an index as provided in
section 4 V.S.A. § 656 of Title 4, such sum as the assistant judges of the
superior court certify to be reasonable, to be allowed by the commissioner of
finance and management in the accounts of the clerks.

Sec. 216. 32 V.S.A. § 5932 is amended to read:

§ 5932. DEFINITIONS
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As used in this chapter:

* * *

(8) “Court” means a superior court, a district court, or the judicial
bureau.

* * *

Sec. 217. 32 V.S.A. § 5936(b) is amended to read:

(b) The final determination of any claimant agency regarding the validity
and amount of any debt may be appealed within 30 days to the civil division of
the superior court of the county unit in which the taxpayer resides, except that
if the claimant agency is the office of child support the appeal shall be to the
family division of the superior court. Upon appeal, the provisions of the
Vermont Rules of Civil Procedure or the Vermont Rules for Family
Proceedings, as appropriate, shall apply, and the court shall proceed de novo to
determine the debt owed.

Sec. 218. 32 V.S.A. § 7449 is amended to read:

§ 7449. REGISTER OF PROBATE CLERK OF SUPERIOR COURT TO
SEND COMMISSIONER NOTICE OF ESTATE

The register of the probate clerk of the superior court shall send to the
commissioner by mail at the time of granting letters of administration in any
estate and upon forms to be furnished by the commissioner, the name of the
decedent, the date of his or her death, and the name and address of the
administrator or executor.

Sec. 219. 32 V.S.A. § 8171 is amended to read:

§ 8171. RECOVERY OF TAXES AND PENALTIES

Taxes imposed by this chapter may be recovered in the name of the state in
a civil action, on the statute imposing them, returnable to any superior or
district court. The penalties so imposed may be so recovered in a civil action
on the statute imposing them. The amount of taxes assessed or penalties
accrued up to the time of trial may be recovered in such suit; but a court
wherein an action is pending to recover a forfeiture, in its discretion, may remit
such part thereof as it shall deem just and equitable in the circumstances. The
state shall not be required in any proceeding under this chapter to furnish
recognizance or bond for costs, nor injunction bonds. Upon final judgment,
the court may make such order relating to the payment of costs, by the state or
the defendant, as it shall deem just and equitable.

Sec. 220. 32 V.S.A. § 10102(a) is amended to read:
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(a) In addition to any other powers granted to the commissioner and the
secretary in this chapter, they may:

* * *

(5) require the attendance of, the giving of testimony by, and the
production of any books and records of any person believed to be liable for the
payment of tax or to have information pertinent to any matter under
investigation by the commissioner or the secretary. The fees of witnesses
required to attend any hearing shall be the same as those allowed witnesses
appearing in the superior court, but no fees shall be payable to a person
charged with a tax liability under this chapter. Any superior or district judge
may, upon application of the commissioner or the secretary, compel the
attendance of witnesses, the giving of testimony, and the production of books
and records before the commissioner or the secretary in the same manner, to
the same extent, and subject to the same penalties as if before a superior or
district court.

Sec. 221. 33 V.S.A. § 4916a(c)(2) is amended to read:

(2) The administrative review may be stayed upon request of the person
alleged to have committed abuse or neglect if there is a related criminal or
family court case pending in the criminal or family division of the superior
court which arose out of the same incident of abuse or neglect for which the
person was substantiated. During the period the review is stayed, the person’s
name shall be placed on the registry. Upon resolution of the superior court
criminal or family court case, the person may exercise his or her right to
review under this section.

Sec. 222. 33 V.S.A. § 4916b(c) is amended to read:

(c) A hearing may be stayed upon request of the petitioner if there is a
related criminal or family court case pending in the criminal or family division
of the superior court which arose out of the same incident of abuse or neglect
for which the person was substantiated.

Sec. 223. 33 V.S.A. § 5102 is amended to read:

§ 5102. DEFINITIONS AND PROVISIONS OF GENERAL APPLICATION

As used in the juvenile judicial proceedings chapters, unless the context
otherwise requires:

* * *

(8) “Custodian” means a person other than a parent or legal guardian to
whom legal custody of the child has been given by order of a Vermont family
or probate superior court or a similar court in another jurisdiction.
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* * *

(12) “Guardian” means a person who, at the time of the commencement
of the juvenile judicial proceeding, has legally established rights to a child
pursuant to an order of a Vermont probate superior court or a similar court in
another jurisdiction.

Sec. 224. 33 V.S.A. § 5103(a) and (b) are amended to read:

(a) The family division of the superior court shall have exclusive
jurisdiction over all proceedings concerning a child who is or who is alleged to
be a delinquent child or a child in need of care or supervision brought under
the authority of the juvenile judicial proceedings chapters, except as otherwise
provided in such chapters.

(b) Orders issued under the authority of the juvenile judicial proceedings
chapters shall take precedence over orders in other family court division
proceedings and any order of another court of this state, to the extent they are
inconsistent. This section shall not apply to child support orders in a divorce,
parentage, or relief from abuse proceedings until a child support order has been
issued in the juvenile proceeding.

Sec. 225. 33 V.S.A. § 5104(a) is amended to read:

(a) The family division of the superior court may retain jurisdiction over a
youthful offender up to the age of 22.

Sec. 226. 33 V.S.A. § 5203(e) is amended to read:

(e) Motions to transfer a case to the family division of the superior court for
youthful offender treatment shall be made under section 5281 of this title.

Sec. 227. 33 V.S.A. § 5281 is amended to read:

§ 5281. MOTION IN DISTRICT CRIMINAL DIVISION OF SUPERIOR

COURT

(a) A motion may be filed in the district criminal division of the superior
court requesting that a defendant under 18 years of age in a criminal
proceeding who had attained the age of 10 but not the age of 18 at the time the
offense is alleged to have been committed be treated as a youthful offender.
The motion may be filed by the state’s attorney, the defendant, or the court on
its own motion.

(b) Upon the filing of a motion under this section and the entering of a
conditional plea of guilty by the youth, the district court criminal division shall
enter an order deferring the sentence and transferring the case to the family
court division for a hearing on the motion. Copies of all records relating to the
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case shall be forwarded to the family court division. Conditions of release and
any department of corrections supervision or custody shall remain in effect
until the family court division approves the motion for treatment as a youthful
offender and orders conditions of juvenile probation pursuant to section 5284
of this title.

(c) A plea of guilty entered by the youth pursuant to subsection (b) of this
section shall be conditional upon the family court division granting the motion
for youthful offender status.

(d)(1) If the family court division denies the motion for youthful offender
treatment pursuant to subsection 5284 of this title, the case shall be returned to
the district court criminal division, and the youth shall be permitted to
withdraw the plea. The conditions of release imposed by the district court
criminal division shall remain in effect, and the case shall proceed as though
the motion for youthful offender treatment had not been made.

(2) Subject to Rule 11 of the Vermont Rules of Criminal Procedure and
Rule 410 of the Vermont Rules of Evidence, the family court’s division’s
denial of the motion for youthful offender treatment and any information
related to the youthful offender proceeding shall be inadmissible against the
youth for any purpose in the subsequent criminal division proceeding in district
court.

Sec. 228. 33 V.S.A. § 5282 is amended to read:

§ 5282. REPORT FROM THE DEPARTMENT

(a) Within 30 days after the case is transferred to the family court division,
unless the court extends the period for good cause shown, the department shall
file a report with the family court.

(b) A report filed pursuant to this section shall include the following
elements:

(1) A recommendation as to whether youthful offender status is
appropriate for the youth.

(2) A disposition case plan including proposed services and proposed
conditions of juvenile probation in the event youthful offender status is
approved.

(3) A description of the services that may be available for the youth
when he or she reaches 18 years of age.

(c) A report filed pursuant to this section is privileged and shall not be
disclosed to any person other than the department, the court, the state’s
attorney, the youth, the youth’s attorney, the youth’s guardian ad litem, the
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department of corrections, or any other person when the court determines that
the best interests of the youth would make such a disclosure desirable or
helpful.

Sec. 229. 33 V.S.A. § 5283 is amended to read:

§ 5283. HEARING IN FAMILY COURT DIVISION

(a) Timeline. A hearing on the motion for youthful offender status shall be
held no later than 35 days after the transfer of the case from district court the
criminal division.

(b) Notice. Notice of the hearing shall be provided to the state’s attorney;
the youth; the youth’s parent, guardian, or custodian; the department; and the
department of corrections.

(c) Hearing procedure.

(1) If the motion is contested, all parties shall have the right to present
evidence and examine witnesses. Hearsay may be admitted and may be relied
on to the extent of its probative value. If reports are admitted, the parties shall
be afforded an opportunity to examine those persons making the reports, but
sources of confidential information need not be disclosed.

(2) Hearings under subsection 5284(a) of this title shall be open to the
public. All other youthful offender proceedings shall be confidential.

(d) The burden of proof shall be on the moving party to prove by a
preponderance of the evidence that a child should be granted youthful offender
status. If the court makes the motion, the burden shall be on the youth.

(e) Further hearing. On its own motion or the motion of a party, the court
may schedule a further hearing to obtain reports or other information necessary
for the appropriate disposition of the case.

Sec. 230. 33 V.S.A. § 5285 is amended to read:

§ 5285. MODIFICATION OR REVOCATION OF DISPOSITION

(a) If it appears that the youth has violated the terms of juvenile probation
ordered by the court pursuant to subdivision 5284(c)(1) of this title, a motion
for modification or revocation of youthful offender status may be filed in the
family division of the superior court. The court shall set the motion for hearing
as soon as practicable. The hearing may be joined with a hearing on a
violation of conditions of probation under section 5265 of this title. A
supervising juvenile or adult probation officer may detain in an adult facility a
youthful offender who has attained the age of 18 for violating conditions of
probation.
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(b) A hearing under this section shall be held in accordance with section
5268 of this title.

(c) If the court finds after the hearing that the youth has violated the terms
of his or her probation, the court may:

(1) maintain the youth’s status as a youthful offender, with modified
conditions of juvenile probation if the court deems it appropriate;

(2) revoke the youth’s status as a youthful offender status and return the
case to the district court criminal division for sentencing; or

(3) transfer supervision of the youth to the department of corrections.

(d) If a youth’s status as a youthful offender is revoked and the case is
returned to the district court criminal division under subdivision (c)(2) of this
section, the district court shall hold a sentencing hearing and impose sentence.
When determining an appropriate sentence, the district court may take into
consideration the youth’s degree of progress toward rehabilitation while on
youthful offender status. The district court criminal division shall have access
to all family court division records of the proceeding.

Sec. 231. 33 V.S.A. § 5286(a) and (c) are amended to read:

(a) The family court division shall review the youth’s case before he or she
reaches the age of 18 and set a hearing to determine whether the court’s
jurisdiction over the youth should be continued past the age of 18. The hearing
may be joined with a motion to terminate youthful offender status under
section 5285 of this title. The court shall provide notice and an opportunity to
be heard at the hearing to the state’s attorney, the youth, the department, and
the department of corrections.

(c) The following reports shall be filed with the court prior to the hearing:

(1) The department shall report its recommendations, with supporting
justifications, as to whether the family court division should continue
jurisdiction over the youth past the age of 18 and, if continued jurisdiction is
recommended, whether the department or the department of corrections should
be responsible for supervision of the youth.

* * *

Sec. 232. 33 V.S.A. § 5287(a) and (c) are amended to read:

(a) A motion may be filed at any time in the family court division
requesting that the court terminate the youth’s status as a youthful offender and
discharge him or her from probation. The motion may be filed by the state’s
attorney, the youth, the department, or the court on its own motion. The court
shall set the motion for hearing and provide notice and an opportunity to be
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heard at the hearing to the state’s attorney, the youth, and the department.

(c) If the court finds that the youth has successfully completed the terms of
the probation order, it shall terminate youthful offender status, discharge the
youth from probation, and file a written order dismissing the family court
division case. The family court division shall provide notice of the dismissal
to the district court criminal division, which shall dismiss the district court
criminal case.

Sec. 233. 33 V.S.A. § 6932(a) and (b) are amended to read:

(a) The family division of the superior court shall have jurisdiction over
proceedings under this subchapter.

(b) Emergency orders under section 6936 of this title may be issued by a
judge of the district, criminal, civil, or family division of the superior or family
court.

Sec. 234. 33 V.S.A. § 6938(a) and (c) are amended to read:

(a) Except as otherwise provided in this subchapter, proceedings
commenced under this subchapter shall be in accordance with the Rules for
Family Court Rules Proceedings and shall be in addition to any other available
civil or criminal remedies.

(c) The court administrator shall establish procedures to insure access to
relief after regular court hours, or on weekends and holidays. The court
administrator is authorized to contract with public or private agencies to assist
persons to seek relief and to gain access to district, superior and family court
judges. Law enforcement agencies shall assist in carrying out the intent of this
section.

Sec. 235. Sec. 121(a) of No. 4 of the Acts of 2009 is amended to read:

(a) The probate courts of the probate districts of Bennington and
Manchester are consolidated as of the effective date of this act to form the
probate court of the probate district of Bennington, which is deemed to be a
continuation of the probate courts of the probate districts of Bennington and
Manchester. The current probate judge for the probate court of the probate
district of Manchester shall become the probate judge for the probate court of
the probate district of Bennington. The current probate registers of the probate
districts of Bennington and Manchester shall become the registers for the
probate district of Bennington and shall be allowed to maintain their
employment status that was in effect on January 31, 2009 until
January 31, 2011, at which time the probate judge taking office
February 1, 2011 shall appoint a single probate register for the district. The
records of the probate courts of the probate districts of Bennington and
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Manchester shall become the records of the probate court of the probate district
of Bennington. The newly consolidated probate court of the probate district of
Bennington shall have jurisdiction over all proceedings, records, orders,
decrees, judgments and other acts of the probate courts of the probate districts
of Bennington and Manchester, including all pending matters and appeals. The
probate court of the probate district of Bennington shall have full authority to
do all acts concerning all such proceedings and other matters as if they had
originated in that court. The assistant judges of Bennington County shall
maintain offices for the newly formed district in the former districts which may
be used by the probate court full or part time to provide access to probate
services. The judge of the newly formed district with the approval of the court
administrator shall establish the hours of operation and staffing for each office.

Sec. 235a. AMERICANS WITH DISABILITIES ACT; COURT

FACILITIES; REPORT

(a) Intent. It is the intent of the general assembly that judicial proceedings
occur in facilities that meet the accessible facility standards of the Americans
with Disability Act (ADA).

(b) Report. The commissioner of the department of buildings and general
services and the court administrator shall study the county courthouses to
evaluate whether the courthouses comply with ADA accessibility standards,
and shall report the results of the study to the general assembly, along with any
recommendations and estimates of the costs of bringing courthouses into
compliance, on or before December 15, 2010. Where it is necessary that
expenses be incurred in order to bring a courthouse into compliance with the
ADA, the judiciary shall submit a capital budget request to the commissioner
of buildings and general services for consideration in the capital budget request
process.

Sec. 236. LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL STATUTORY REVISION
AUTHORITY

The staff of the legislative council, in its statutory revision capacity, is
authorized and directed to make such amendments to the Vermont Statutes
Annotated as are necessary to effect the purpose of this act, including where
applicable, substituting the words “superior court,” “civil division,” “criminal
division,” “family division,” environmental division,” or “probate division,” as
appropriate, for the words “district court,” “family court,” “probate court,” and
environmental court.” These amendments shall be made when new legislation
is proposed or there is a republication of a volume of the Vermont Statutes
Annotated.

Sec. 237. TRANSITIONAL PROVISIONS
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(a) The judicial office of district judge is eliminated. On the effective date
of Sec. 9 of this act, each district judge shall become a superior judge and have
all of the powers and duties of a superior judge. The term of each superior
judge who reached the office by virtue of this subsection shall be the same as if
the person had remained a district judge.

(b) On July 1, 2010:

(1) the superior court as it formerly existed shall be redesignated as the
civil division of the superior court, and all cases and files of the former
superior court shall be transferred to the civil division of the superior court;

(2) the family court as it formerly existed shall be redesignated as the
family division of the superior court, and all cases and files of the former
family court shall be transferred to the family division of the superior court;

(3) the district court as it formerly existed shall be redesignated as the
criminal division of the superior court, and all cases and files of the former
district court shall be transferred to the criminal division of the superior court;
and

(4) the environmental court as it formerly existed shall be redesignated
as the environmental division of the superior court, and all cases and files of
the former environmental court shall be transferred to the environmental
division of the superior court.

(c) On February 1, 2011, the probate court shall be redesignated as the
probate division of the superior court, and all cases and files of the former
probate court shall be transferred to the probate division of the superior court.

(d) Until February 1, 2011, each county clerk shall provide each superior
clerk with deputies to work in the superior court. The number of deputies
provided shall be equal to the number of deputies working in the superior court
on July 1, 2009.

(e)(1) The court administrator shall assign, from the positions currently
authorized for the judicial branch, the positions that will provide staff support
to the divisions of the superior court. The court administrator shall establish
the organizational structure of the positions assigned to the units of the court.
In the transition from the existing courts to the superior court, hiring preference
shall be given to current state and county judiciary employees. Where the
position of an incumbent permanent state judiciary employee is reassigned to
the superior court, the employee may choose to continue in the position or
exercise reduction in force rights.

(2) Upon passage of this act and until February 1, 2011, the salaries of
county employees working as chief deputy clerks, deputy clerks, assistant
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clerks, office clerks, docket clerks, office assistants, assistant deputy clerks,
senior deputy clerks, senior accounting clerks, or court recorders for the
superior court shall be frozen at the employee’s current level, unless a
collective bargaining agreement in effect on the date of passage of this act
requires otherwise. Also upon passage, no change may be made to leave
policies covering the county positions described in this subdivision except if a
collective bargaining agreement in effect on that date requires otherwise.

(3) Upon passage of this act and until February 1, 2011, vacancies that
occur in positions listed in subdivision (2) of this subsection may not be filled
without the authorization of the court administrator.

(4) By December 31, 2010, the county shall report to the court
administrator the current employees of the county who serve the superior
court, each employee’s hire date with the county, hourly rate, and leave
balances, and a description of the employee’s benefits.

(5) Any county employee who becomes a state employee pursuant to
this act shall be immediately eligible to enroll in the state health plan.

Sec. 238. REPEALS AND REPLACEMENTS

(a) The following sections are hereby repealed:

(1) 4 V.S.A. §§ 24 (designation and special assignment of district or
superior judge to hear child support enforcement actions), 111a (designation
and jurisdiction of superior court), 113 (jurisdiction of superior court),
114 (criminal jurisdiction of superior court), 116 (special sessions of superior
court), 117 (special hearings of superior court), 119 (completion of cases
commenced in superior court), 151 (opening and adjournment of court by
judge or sheriff), 152 (adjournment of court to another day), 153 (change in
time of holding sessions), 154 (designation of time of commencement of term),
275 (Fair Haven and Rutland probate districts), 276 (Marlboro and
Westminster probate districts), 277 (Hartford and Windsor probate districts),
436 (district court created), 437 (civil jurisdiction of district court), 439
(jurisdiction of district court in felony cases), 440 (jurisdiction of district court
in misdemeanor cases), 441 (jurisdiction of district court with respect to
violations of bylaws or ordinances), 442 (powers of the district court), 443
(appeals from district court), 444 (number, appointment, and assignment of
district judges), 444a (powers of Essex County assistant judges in district
court), 446 (court officer in district court), 451 (family court created),
452 (composition of family court), 453 (powers of family court),
454 (jurisdiction of family court), 456 (appeals from family court),
457 (participation and availability of assistant judges in family court), 459
(powers of assistant judges not restricted), 461a (powers of Essex County
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assistant judges and magistrates in family court proceedings), 461b (powers of
Essex and Orleans County assistant judges in parentage proceedings), 461c
(powers of assistant judges in divorce proceedings), 604 (district judge
declaration of intent to continue office), 651a (county clerk to be superior court
clerk), 693 (district court docket and records), 694 (filing of process with judge
or clerk in district court), 799 (assignment of reporters to probate court), and
951 (office of jury commission established).

(2) 12 V.S.A. §§ 1949 (district court jury), 5540a (assistant judges’
jurisdiction over small claims), 5805 (contents of juror’s oath for civil cases in
district court), and 5809 (contents of jury officer’s oath in district court);

(3) 24 V.S.A. §§ 76 (county law library), 139 (assistant judge judicial
education), 174 (superior court seal may be used as county seal), 182 (county
clerk’s return of fees to commissioner of finance and management),
401 (superior court judges to appoint commissioners of jail delivery),
402 (vacancy in office of commissioner of jail delivery), 403 (quorum for
transaction of business by commission of jail delivery), and 404 (procedure
when commissioners of jail delivery disqualified); and

(4) 32 V.S.A. §§ 526 (fees disallowed when justice has not filed return
with county clerk), 527 (bill of costs disallowed when justice has not filed
returns with county clerk), 528 (penalty when justice fails to make returns),
1146 (expenses and fees for district judges), 1181 (salaries of county clerks),
and 1474 (costs and fees allowed in district courts).

(b) In the following sections, the phrase “district court,” wherever it
appears, is replaced with “criminal division of the superior court”:

(1) 3 V.S.A. §§ 965 and 1030;

(2) 4 V.S.A. §§ 23, 1107, 1109, and 1110;

(3) 7 V.S.A. §§ 563, 572, and 657;

(4) 9 V.S.A. § 2575;

(5) 10 V.S.A. §§ 2671, 2674, 4552, and 4555;

(6) 12 V.S.A. §§ 5717 and 5854;

(7) 13 V.S.A. §§ 353, 354, 1460, 4822, 4823, 5132, 5411, 5411d, 6504,
6606, 7002, and 7573;

(8) 17 V.S.A. § 2616;

(9) 18 V.S.A. §§ 1060, 7312, 7510, 7612, 7615, 7801, 7802, 8403, and
8840;

(10) 19 V.S.A. §§ 5, 7a, and 726;
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(11) 20 V.S.A. §§ 2056c and 2864;

(12) 21 V.S.A. §§ 1352, 1622, and 1727;

(13) 23 V.S.A. §§ 105, 304a, 1209a, 1215, 2202, 2205, and 3318;

(14) 24 V.S.A. §§ 299, 1311, 1932, 1936a, 1981, 1983, and 3109;

(15) 28 V.S.A. §§ 373, 374, 504, and 705;

(16) 32 V.S.A. §§ 542, 543, 544, and 7781; and

(17) 33 V.S.A. §§ 5203, 5204, and 5293.

(c) In the following sections, the phrase “family court,” wherever it
appears, is replaced with “family division of the superior court”:

(1) 3 V.S.A. § 476a;

(2) 4 V.S.A. §§ 458, 465, and 466;

(3) 14 V.S.A. §§ 2663 and 2667;

(4) 15 V.S.A. §§ 293, 303, 606, 653, 668a, 782, 787, 798, 799, 1108,
and 1206;

(5) 15A V.S.A. §§ 1-112, 2-407, 3-101, and 3-207;

(6) 15B V.S.A. § 102;

(7) 16 V.S.A. § 1946b;

(8) 18 V.S.A. §§ 5004, 7624, 9305, 9306, 9309, 9314, and 9315;

(9) 24 V.S.A. § 5066a; and

(10) 33 V.S.A. §§ 3901, 4102, 4103, 4105, 4108, 4916, 5102, 5117,
5118, 5252, 5301, and 6940.

Sec. 238a. REPEALS AND REPLACEMENTS

(a) The following sections are hereby repealed:

(1) 4 V.S.A. §§ 271 (probate districts), § 311 (probate court
jurisdiction), 314 (probate court retention of jurisdiction over estate once
taken), 315 (contest of probate court jurisdiction), 351 (record and seal of
probate court), 352 (impression of probate court seal to be kept by governor),
353 (probate court always open), 358 (duties of probate court register), 359
(judge may perform probate court register’s duties), 360 (card index required
in probate court), 361 (maintenance of ledger in probate court), 363 (powers of
probate court), 366 (costs taxed to witnesses in probate court), and 367
(security for costs taxed to witnesses in probate court);

(2) 12 V.S.A. §§ 2553 (appellate jurisdiction of superior court in probate
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matters) and 2555 (standing to appeal probate matter to superior court);

(3) 14 V.S.A. § 905 (appeal to superior court of probate court order
appointing administrator);

(4) 24 V.S.A. § 71b (assistant judge and sheriff responsible for county
courthouse security);

(5) 32 V.S.A. § 1558 (costs for witnesses in probate court); and

(6) the following sections of No. 4 of the Acts of 2009: Secs. 122
(single probate districts in each county), 123 (salaries of probate judges), 124
(repeal of multiple probate district counties), 125 (transitional provisions), and
130(c) (February 1, 2011 effective date of Secs. 122–125).

(b) In the following sections, the phrase “probate court,” wherever it
appears, is replaced with “probate division of the superior court”:

(1) 3 V.S.A. §§ 465 and 468;

(2) 8 V.S.A. §§ 2201, 2407, 12602, 14205, and 14405;

(3) 9 V.S.A. §§ 2480n and 4359;

(4) 12 V.S.A. §§ 2358, 5136(c), 7154, and 7159;

(5) 14 V.S.A. §§ 2, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 113, 114, 116, 202, 312,
313, 314, 315, 681, 684, 902, 903, 904, 906, 907, 909, 917, 917a, 919, 921,
922, 923, 924, 928, 929, 931, 961, 962, 963, 964, 965, 1051, 1054, 1056, 1059,
1065, 1066, 1068, 1201, 1204, 1206, 1210, 1410, 1416, 1455, 1492, 1551,
1554, 1557, 1558, 1559, 1611, 1612, 1613, 1614, 1615, 1651, 1652, 1653,
1655, 1656, 1657, 1658, 1659, 1660, 1661, 1662, 1665, 1721, 1729, 1730,
1731, 1736, 1737, 1739, 1741, 1742, 1743, 1801, 1804, 1952, 2101, 2102,
2103, 2104, 2105, 2106, 2107, 2108, 2201, 2202, 2203, 2303, 2305, 2306,
2307, 2318, 2327, 2402, 2403, 2501, 2502, 2602, 2603, 2645, 2650, 2653,
2654, 2656, 2658, 2665, 2666, 2667, 2671, 2684, 2687, 2711, 2712, 2751,
2752, 2753, 2754, 2791, 2792, 2794, 2795, 2800, 2802, 2803, 2804, 2841,
2843, 2846, 2881, 2882, 2886, 2887, 2890, 2921, 2923, 2924, 2925, 2928,
2961, 2963, 2964, 3001, 3004, 3011, 3063, 3064, 3069, 3075, 3076, 3076,
3081, 3091, 3093, 3094, 3095, 3101, 3201, and 3509;

(6) 15 V.S.A. §§ 811, 812, 813, and 816;

(7) 15A V.S.A. §§ 1-101, 1-105, 1-110, 1-113, 2-105, 2-206, 3-101,
3-102, 5-104, 6-102, 6-103, and 6-105;

(8) 16 V.S.A. §§ 1940 and 1941;

(9) 18 V.S.A. §§ 5075, 5076, 5077, 5150, 5151, 5168, 5169, 5202a,
5212, 5212a, 5219, 5227, 5228, 5230, 5232, 5308, 5438, 5534, 5537, 5576,
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7401, 9701, 9703, 9707, 9711, 9714, and 9718;

(10) 24 V.S.A. §§ 5059 and 5061;

(11) 27 V.S.A. §§ 105, 106, 143, 145, 184, 185, 465, 466, and 1270;

(12) 28 V.S.A. § 814;

(13) 32 V.S.A. §§ 7109, 7303, 7304, 7450, 7451, and 745; and

(14) 33 V.S.A. §§ 102, 123, 302, and 4921.

Sec. 239. EFFECTIVE DATES

(a) Except as provided in subsection (b) or (c) of this section, this act shall
take effect on July 1, 2010.

(b) Sec. 42 of this act shall take effect on July 1, 2010, except that the
power to hire and remove staff, which is currently performed by county
employees, as set forth in 4 V.S.A. § 491 as amended by Sec. 42 of this act,
shall take effect on February 1, 2011.

(c) The following sections of this act shall take effect on February 1, 2011:
Secs. 7a, 7f, 18, 18a, 19, 20, 21, 23, 24, 25, 28a, 73, 74a, 75, 76, 81, 91, 92,
120, 121, 122, 124, 125, 126a, 148, 149, 154a, 155a, 163a, 165, 197, 199, 200,
201, 203a, 204, and 238a.

( Committee Vote: 10-0-1)

H. 509

An act relating to pollution control measures for Lake Champlain

Rep. Deen of Westminster, for the Committee on Fish, Wildlife & Water
Resources, recommends the bill be amended by striking all after the enacting
clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 6 V.S.A. § 4821(a) is amended to read:

(a) Program created. A program is created to provide state financial
assistance to Vermont farmers in support of their voluntary construction of
on-farm improvements and maintenance of acceptable operating standards
designed to abate nonpoint source agricultural waste discharges into the waters
of the state of Vermont, consistent with goals of the federal Water Pollution
Control Act and with state water quality standards. The program shall be
conducted in a manner which makes maximum use of federal financial aid for
the same purpose, as provided by this subchapter, and which seeks to use the
least costly methods available to accomplish the abatement required. The
construction of temporary fencing intended to exclude livestock from entering
surface waters of the state shall be an on-farm improvement eligible for
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assistance under this subchapter when subject to a maintenance agreement
entered into with the agency of agriculture, food and markets.

Sec. 2. 6 V.S.A. § 4900 is amended to read:

§ 4900. VERMONT AGRICULTURAL BUFFER PROGRAM

(a) The secretary of agriculture, food and markets is authorized to develop
a Vermont agricultural buffer program in addition to the federal conservation
reserve enhancement program in order to compensate farmers for establishing
and maintaining harvestable perennial vegetative buffers and installing
conservation practices in ditch networks on annual cropland agricultural land
adjacent to the surface waters of the state.

(b) The establishment and annual incentive payments from the agency of
agriculture, food and markets under the Vermont agricultural buffer program
shall not exceed 40 percent of the combined federal and state payment that the
relevant cropland agricultural land or conservation practice would be eligible
for under the federal conservation reserve enhancement program or another
approved conservation program. The incentive payment shall be made
annually at the end of the cropping season for a nonrenewable five-year period.

(c) The secretary of agriculture, food and markets may establish by
procedure financial and technical criteria for the implementation and operation
of the Vermont agricultural buffer program.

(d) Land enrolled in the Vermont agricultural buffer program shall be
considered to be in “active use” as that term is defined in 32 V.S.A.
§ 3752(15).

(e) As used in this section, “surface waters” means all rivers, streams,
ditches, creeks, brooks, reservoirs, ponds, lakes, and springs which are
contained within, flow through, or border upon the state or any portion of it.

Sec. 3. 6 V.S.A. § 4951 is amended to read:

§ 4951. FARM AGRONOMIC PRACTICES PROGRAM

(a) The farm agronomic practices assistance program is created in the
agency of agriculture, food and markets to provide the farms of Vermont with
state financial assistance for the implementation of soil-based practices that
improve soil quality and nutrient retention, increase crop production, minimize
erosion potential, and reduce agricultural waste discharges. The following
practices shall be eligible for assistance to farms under the grant program:

(1) conservation crop rotation;

(2) cover cropping;
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(3) strip cropping;

(4) cross-slope tillage;

(5) zone or no-tillage;

(6) pre-sidedress nitrate tests;

(7) annual maintenance of a nutrient management plan that is no longer
receiving funding under a state or federal contract, provided the maximum
assistance provided to a farmer under this subdivision shall be $1,000.00 per
year; and

(8) educational and instructional activities to inform the farmers and
citizens of Vermont of:

(A) the impact on Vermont waters of agricultural waste discharges;

(B) the federal and state requirements for controlling agricultural
waste discharges;

(9) implementing alternative manure application techniques; and

(10) additional soil erosion reduction practices.

(b) Funding available under section 4827 of this title for nutrient
management planning may be used to fund practices under this section.

Sec. 4. 10 V.S.A. § 321(d) is amended to read:

(d) On behalf of the state of Vermont, the board shall seek and administer
federal farmland protection funds to facilitate the acquisition of interests in
land to protect and preserve in perpetuity important farmland for future
agricultural use. Such funds shall be used to implement and effectuate the
policies and purposes of this chapter. In seeking federal farmland protection
funds under this subsection, the board shall seek to maximize state
participation in the federal wetlands reserve program in order to allow for
increased or additional implementation of conservation practices on farmland
protected or preserved under this chapter.

Sec. 5. 10 V.S.A. § 1002 is amended to read:

§ 1002. DEFINITIONS

Wherever used or referred to in this chapter, unless a different meaning
clearly appears from the context:

* * *

(10) “Watercourse” means any depression two feet or more below the
elevation of surrounding land serving to give direction to a current or flow of
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water having a bed and well defined bank perennial stream. “Watercourse”
shall not include ditches or other constructed channels primarily associated
with land drainage or water conveyance through or around private or public
infrastructure.

Sec. 6. 10 V.S.A. § 1021(a) is amended to read:

(a) A person shall not change, alter, or modify the course, current, or
cross-section of any watercourse with a drainage area greater than ten square
miles at the location of the proposed change, alteration or modification, or of
designated outstanding resource waters, within or along the boundaries of this
state either by movement, fill, or by excavation of ten cubic yards or more in
any year, unless authorized by the secretary.

Sec. 7. 10 V.S.A. § 7501 is amended to read:

§ 7501. GENERAL PERMITS

(a) When the secretary deems it to be appropriate and consistent with the
purpose of this chapter, the secretary may issue a general permit under the
following chapters of this title: chapter 23 (air pollution control) for stationary
source construction permits; chapter 37 (water resources management) for
aquatic nuisance control permits authorizing chemical treatment by the agency
of natural resources, a department within that agency, or an appropriate federal
agency; chapter 56 (public water supply) for construction permits; and chapter
159 (waste management) for solid waste transfer station and recycling
certifications and categorical certifications; and chapter 41 (regulation of
stream flow) for stream alteration permits.

(b) A general permit issued under this chapter shall contain those terms and
conditions necessary to ensure that the category or class subject to the general
permit will comply with the provisions of the statutes and the rules adopted
under those statutes applicable to the category or class. These terms and
conditions may include providing for specific emission or effluent limitations
and levels of treatment technology; monitoring, recording, or reporting; the
right of access for the secretary; and any additional conditions or requirements
the secretary deems necessary to protect human health and the environment.

(c) This chapter is in addition to any other authority granted to the agency
or department.

(d) The secretary may adopt rules to implement this chapter.

(e) The secretary may issue a nonreporting general permit for certain
specific stream alteration activities under chapter 41 of this title.

Sec. 8. ANR REPORT ON GENERAL PERMIT PROGRAM FOR STREAM
ALTERATION
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(a) On or before January 15, 2011, the secretary of natural resources shall
report to the house committee on fish, wildlife and water resources and the
senate committee on natural resources and energy regarding a proposed
general permit program for stream alteration under chapter 41 of Title 10.

(b) The report required under subsection (a) of this section shall:

(1) Define the thresholds, classes of activities, or other categories of
activities that will be regulated under the general permit program.

(2) Summarize the requirements or management practices that stream
alteration activities will be subject to under a general permit, including whether
any activity or class of activities will be subject to a nonreporting general
permit.

(3) Summarize the scientific basis for the thresholds, classes of
activities, or categories of activities regulated under the proposed general
permit program.

Sec. 9. 19 V.S.A. § 996 is added to read:

§ 996. HIGHWAY CONSTRUCTION, MAINTENANCE, AND REPAIR
BEST MANAGEMENT PRACTICES

(a) The agency of transportation shall work with municipal representatives
to revise the agency of transportation’s town and bridge standards in order to
incorporate a suite of practical and cost-effective best management practices,
as approved by the agency of natural resources, for the construction,
maintenance, and repair of all existing and future state and town highways.
These best management practices shall address activities which have a
potential for causing pollutants to enter the groundwater and waters of the
state, including stormwater runoff and direct discharges to state waters. The
best management practices shall not supersede any requirements for
stormwater management already set forth in 10 V.S.A. §§ 1264 and 1264a that
apply to state and town highways. The agency of transportation shall report to
the house and senate committees on transportation, the house committee on
fish, wildlife and water resources, and the senate committee on natural
resources and energy by January 15, 2011, the best management practices to be
incorporated into the agency of transportation’s town and bridge standards.

(b) Beginning January 15, 2013, and every four years thereafter, the
secretary in consultation with municipal representatives and with approval
from the agency of natural resources, shall review and revise, as appropriate,
town road and bridge standards in order to ensure the standards are protective
of water quality.
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Sec. 10. 19 V.S.A. § 309b is amended to read:

§ 309b. LOCAL MATCH; CERTAIN TOWN HIGHWAY PROGRAMS

(a) Notwithstanding subsection 309a(a) of this title, grants provided to
towns under the town highway structures program shall be matched by local
funds sufficient to cover 20 percent of the project costs, unless the town has
adopted road and bridge standards and, has completed a network inventory,
and has submitted an annual certification of compliance for town road and
bridge standards to the secretary, in which event, the local match shall be
sufficient to cover 10 percent of the project costs. The secretary may adopt
rules to implement the town highway structures program. Town highway
structures projects receiving funds pursuant to this subsection shall be the
responsibility of the applicant municipality.

(b) Notwithstanding subsection 309a(a) of this title, grants provided to
towns under the class 2 town highway roadway program shall be matched by
local funds sufficient to cover 30 percent of the project costs, unless the town
has adopted road and bridge standards and, has completed a network inventory,
and has submitted an annual certification of compliance for town road and
bridge standards to the secretary, in which event, the local match shall be
sufficient to cover 20 percent of the project costs. The secretary may adopt
rules to implement the class 2 town highway roadway program. Class 2 town
highway roadway projects receiving funds pursuant to this subsection shall be
the responsibility of the applicant municipality, and a municipality shall not
receive a grant in excess of $175,000.00.

* * *

Sec. 11. REPEAL OF SUNSET OF VERMONT AGRICULTURAL

BUFFER PROGRAM

Sec. 56 of No. 147 of the Acts of the 2005 Adj. Sess. (2006) (sunset on
Vermont agricultural buffer program) is repealed.

Sec. 12. Sec. 14 of No. 31 of the Acts of 2009 is amended to read:

Sec. 14. EFFECTIVE DATE

(a) This section and Secs. 1 (findings), 12 (ANR wetlands report), and 13
(Bristol Pond) of this act shall take effect July 1, 2009.

(b) Secs. 2 (retitling 10 V.S.A. chapter 37), 3 (wetlands definitions),
4 (ANR wetlands authority), 5 (wetlands permitting), 6 (recodification of
aquatic nuisance control authority), 7 (water resources panel rulemaking
authority), 8 (ANR enforcement authority), 9 (appeals), and 10 (marketability
of title), and 11 (transition) of this act shall take effect 45 days after such time
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as the water resources panel has issued both a rule updating the Vermont
significant wetlands inventory maps and a rule updating the Vermont wetland
rules.

(c) Sec. 11 (transition) of this act shall take effect January 1, 2010.

Sec. 13. EFFECTIVE DATES

(a) This section and Secs. 1 (livestock fencing; best management practices),
2 (Vermont agricultural buffer program), 3 (farm agronomic practices
program), 4 (VHCB; agricultural land preservation), 8 (ANR report on general
permit program), 9 (agency of transportation best management practices), 11
(repeal of sunset on Vermont agricultural buffer program), and 12 (effective
date of wetlands transition) of this act shall take effect upon passage.

(b) Secs. 5 (definition of watercourse) and 6 (stream alteration permits) of
this act shall take effect March 31, 2011.

(c) Sec. 7 (ANR general permit authority) of this act shall take effect
February 15, 2011.

(d) Sec. 10 (local match town highway programs) of this act shall take
effect July 1, 2011.

and that after passage the title of the bill be amended to read: “An act relating
to pollution control measures for Lake Champlain and the other waters of the
state”

( Committee Vote: 9-0-0)

H. 528

An act relating to the illegal cutting, removal, or destruction of forest
products

Rep. Conquest of Newbury, for the Committee on Agriculture,
recommends the bill be amended by striking all after the enacting clause and
inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 13 V.S.A. §§ 3601–3604 are added to read:

§ 3601. DEFINITIONS

As used in this chapter:

(1) “Boundary tree” means a tree, the stem or trunk of which straddles
an established property line and is jointly owned by abutting property owners.

(2) “Established property line” means a line demarcated by monuments,
signs, markings, pins, reference points, markers, or other means that denote a
change in ownership between abutting properties.



- 547 -

(3) “Harvest unit” means the area of land from which timber will be
harvested or the area of land on which timber stand improvement will occur.

(4) “Harvester” means a person, firm, company, corporation, or other
legal entity that harvests timber.

(5) “Landowner” means the person, firm, company, corporation, or
other legal entity that owns or controls the land or owns or controls the right to
harvest timber on the land.

(6) “Landowner’s agent” means a person, firm, company, corporation,
or other legal entity representing the landowner in a timber sale, timber
harvest, or land management.

(7) “Line tree” means a boundary tree that is blazed, painted, embedded
with wire fence, or otherwise demarcated to indicate the location of the
established property line.

(8) “Stump diameter” means the diameter of a tree stump remaining or
the diameter of the tree at four and one-half feet from the ground if the stump
remaining after harvest is greater than four and one-half feet high.

§ 3602. UNLAWFUL CUTTING OF TREES

(a) Any person who cuts, fells, destroys to the point of no value, or
substantially damages the potential value of a tree without the consent of the
owner of the property on which the tree stands shall be assessed a civil penalty
in the following amounts for each tree over two inches in diameter that is cut,
felled, or destroyed:

(1) if the tree is no more than six inches in diameter, not more than
$25.00;

(2) if the tree is more than six inches and not more than ten inches in
diameter, not more than $50.00;

(3) if the tree is more than 10 inches and not more than 14 inches in
diameter, not more than $150.00;

(4) if the tree is more than 14 inches and not more than 18 inches in
diameter, not more than $500.00;

(5) if the tree is more than 18 inches and not more than 22 inches in
diameter, not more than $1,000.00;

(6) if the tree is greater than 22 inches in diameter, not more than
$1,500.00.

(b) In calculating an assessment under this section, a law enforcement
officer may rely on a written damage assessment provided by the aggrieved
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landowner or the aggrieved landowner’s agent.

§ 3603. HARVESTING TIMBER NEAR A PROPERTY LINE

(a) A landowner who authorizes timber harvesting or who in fact harvests
timber shall clearly and accurately mark with flagging or other temporary and
visible means the harvest unit or the property line. Each mark of a harvest unit
or property line shall be visible from the next and shall not exceed 100 feet
apart. The marking of a harvest unit or property lines shall be completed prior
to commencement of a timber harvest. If a violation as described in section
3602 of this title occurs due to the failure of a landowner to mark a harvest unit
or property line, the landowner who failed to mark a harvest unit or property
line in accordance with the requirements of this subsection shall be assessed a
civil penalty of not less than $250.00 and not more than $1,000.00.

(b) A landowner or landowner’s agent shall obtain the written permission
of the co-owner of a boundary tree prior to harvesting. A landowner or
landowner’s agent who authorizes the harvest of or who in fact harvests a
boundary tree without first obtaining permission from the abutting landowner
shall be assessed a civil penalty of not less than $250.00 and not more than
$1,000.00.

(c) A landowner or landowner’s agent who authorizes the harvest of or who
in fact harvests a line tree shall be assessed a civil penalty of not less than
$250.00 and not more than $1,000.00.

§ 3604. EXEMPTIONS

The cutting, felling, or destruction of a tree or the harvest of timber by the
following is exempt from the requirements of sections 3602, 3603, and 3606 of
this title:

(1) the agency of transportation conducting brush removal on state
highways or agency maintained trails;

(2) a municipality conducting brush removal subject to the requirements
of 19 V.S.A. § 904;

(3) a utility conducting vegetation maintenance within the boundaries of
the utility’s established right-of-way;

(4) a harvester under the authority or contract with a landowner within a
harvest unit or property that has been marked by a landowner under subsection
3603(a) of this title. A landowner who harvests timber on his or her own
property shall not be a “harvester” for the purposes of this subdivision; or

(5) a railroad conducting vegetation maintenance or brush removal in
the railroad right-of-way.
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Sec. 2. 13 V.S.A. § 3606 is amended to read:

§ 3606. TREBLE DAMAGES FOR CONVERSION OF TREES OR

DEFACING MARKS ON LOGS

If a person cuts down, destroys, or carries away any tree or trees placed or
growing for any use or purpose whatsoever, or timber, wood, or underwood
standing, lying, or growing belonging to another person, without leave from
the owner of such trees, timber, wood, or underwood, or cuts out, alters, or
defaces the mark of a log or other valuable timber, in a river or other place, the
party injured may recover of such person, in an action on this statute, treble
damages in an action on this statute or for each tree the same amount that
would be assessed as a civil penalty under section 3602 of this title. However,
if it appears on trial that the defendant acted through mistake, or had good
reason to believe that the trees, timber, wood, or underwood belonged to him
or her, or that he or she had a legal right to perform the acts complained of, the
plaintiff shall recover single damages only, with costs. For purposes of this
section, “damages” shall include any damage caused to the land or
improvements thereon as a result of a person cutting, felling, destroying to the
point of no value, substantially reducing the potential value, or carrying away a
tree, timber, wood, or underwood without the consent of the owner of the
property on which the tree stands.

Sec. 3. 4 V.S.A. § 1102(b) is amended to read:

(b) The judicial bureau shall have jurisdiction of the following matters:

* * *

(18) Violations of 23 V.S.A. § 3327(d), relating to obeying a law
enforcement officer while operating a vessel.

(19) Violations of 13 V.S.A. §§ 3602 and 3603, relating to the unlawful
cutting of trees and harvesting near a property line.

( Committee Vote: 11-0-0)

H. 540

An act relating to motor vehicles passing vulnerable users on the highway
and to bicycle operation

Rep. Burke of Brattleboro, for the Committee on Transportation,
recommends the bill be amended by striking all after the enacting clause and
inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 23 V.S.A. § 1033 is amended to read:
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§ 1033. PASSING ON THE LEFT MOTOR VEHICLES AND
VULNERABLE USERS

(a) Vehicles Passing motor vehicles. Motor vehicles proceeding in the
same direction may be overtaken and passed only as follows:

(1) The driver of a motor vehicle overtaking another motor vehicle
proceeding in the same direction may pass to its left at a safe distance, and
when so doing shall exercise due care, may shall not pass to the left of the
center of the highway unless the way ahead is clear of approaching traffic, and
shall not again drive to the right side of the roadway until safely clear of the
overtaken vehicle.

(2) Except when overtaking and passing on the right is permitted, the
driver of an overtaken motor vehicle shall give way to the right in favor of the
overtaking motor vehicle on audible signal and shall not increase the speed of
his or her vehicle until completely passed by the overtaking vehicle.

(b) Definition. As used in this chapter, “vulnerable user” means a
pedestrian and a highway worker in highway equipment; a person operating a
wheelchair or other personal mobility device, whether motorized or not; a
person operating a bicycle or other nonmotorized means of transportation
(such as, but not limited to, roller skates, rollerblades, or roller skis); a person
riding, driving, or herding an animal; or a person operating a farm tractor or
implement of husbandry.

(c) Passing vulnerable users. The operator of a motor vehicle approaching
or passing a vulnerable user shall exercise due care, which includes using
every reasonable precaution and increasing clearance from the vulnerable user,
to safely clear the vulnerable user.

Sec. 2. 23 V.S.A. § 1039 is amended to read:

§ 1039. FOLLOWING TOO CLOSELY, CROWDING, AND

HARASSMENT

(a) The driver of a vehicle shall not follow another vehicle more closely
than is reasonable and prudent, having due regard for the speed of the vehicles
and the traffic upon, and the conditions of, the highway. The operator of a
vehicle shall not, in a careless or imprudent manner, approach, pass, or
maintain speed unnecessarily close to a vulnerable user, and an occupant of a
vehicle shall not throw any object or substance at a vulnerable user.

* * *

Sec. 3. 23 V.S.A. § 1065 is amended to read:

§ 1065. HAND SIGNALS
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(a) All A right or left turn shall not be made without first giving a signal of
intention either by hand or by signal in accordance with section 1064 of this
title. Except as provided in subsection (b) of this section, all signals to indicate
change of speed or direction, when given by hand, shall be given from the left
side of the vehicle and in the following manner:

(1) Left turn. – Hand and arm extended horizontally.

(2) Right turn. – Hand and arm extended upward.

(3) Stop or decrease speed. – Hand and arm extended downward.

(b) No turn to right or left may be made without first giving a signal of an
intention to do so either by hand or by signal in accordance with section 1064
of this title A person operating a bicycle may give a right-turn signal by
extending the right hand and arm horizontally and to the right side of the
bicycle.

Sec. 4. 23 V.S.A. § 1127 is amended to read:

§ 1127. CONTROL IN PRESENCE OF HORSES AND CATTLE ANIMALS

(a) Whenever upon a public highway and approaching a vehicle drawn by a
horse or other draft animal, or approaching a horse or other an animal upon
which a person is riding, or animals being herded, the operator of a motor
vehicle shall operate the vehicle in such a manner as to exercise every
reasonable precaution to prevent the frightening of such horse or any animal
and to insure ensure the safety and protection of the animal and the person
riding or, driving, or herding.

(b) The operator of a motor vehicle shall yield to any cattle, sheep, or goats
which are animals being herded on or across a highway.

Sec. 5. 23 V.S.A. § 1139(a) is amended to read:

(a) A person operating a bicycle upon a roadway shall exercise due care
when passing a standing vehicle or one proceeding in the same direction and
generally shall ride as near to the right side of the roadway as practicable
exercising due care when passing a standing vehicle or one proceeding in the
same direction, but shall ride to the left or in a left lane when:

(1) preparing for a left turn at an intersection or into a private roadway
or driveway;

(2) approaching an intersection with a right turn lane if not turning right
at the intersection;

(3) overtaking another highway user; or

(4) taking reasonably necessary precautions to avoid hazards or road
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conditions.

Sec. 6. 23 V.S.A. § 1141(a) is amended to read:

(a) No A person may shall not operate a bicycle at nighttime from one-half
hour after sunset until one-half hour before sunrise unless it is equipped with a
lamp on the front, which emits a white light visible from a distance of at least
500 feet to the front, and with a red reflector on the rear, which shall be visible
at least 300 feet to the rear when directly in front of lawful upper beams of
head lamps on a motor vehicle. Lamps emitting flashing or steady red lights
visible to the rear may be used in addition to the red reflector.

Sec. 7. REPEAL

23 V.S.A. § 1053 (passing pedestrians on a highway) is repealed.

( Committee Vote: 11-0-0)

H. 590

An act relating to mediation in foreclosure proceedings

Rep. Jewett of Ripton, for the Committee on Judiciary, recommends the
bill be amended by striking all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu
thereof the following:

Sec. 1. Rule 80.1 of the Vermont Rules of Civil Procedure is amended to read:

RULE 80.1. FORECLOSURE OF MORTGAGES AND JUDGMENT LIENS

* * *

(b) Complaint; Process.

(1) Complaint. The complaint in an action for foreclosure shall set forth
the name of the mortgagor and mortgagee, the date of the mortgage deed, the
description of the premises, the debt or claim secured by the mortgage, any
attorney’s fees claimed under an agreement in the mortgage or other
instrument evidencing indebtedness, any assignment of the mortgage, the
condition contained in the mortgage deed alleged to have been breached, the
names of all parties in interest and, as to each party in interest, the date of
record of the instrument upon which the interest is based, shall pray that
defendants’ equity of redemption in the premises be foreclosed and explain
that the defendant or defendants must enter their appearance in order to receive
notice of the foreclosure judgment which will set forth the amount of money
they must deposit to redeem the premises and the period of time allowed them
to deposit this amount. The plaintiff shall attach to the complaint copies of the
note and mortgage and proof of ownership thereof, including all assignments
and endorsements of the note and mortgage. All parties in interest shall be
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joined as parties defendant. Failure to join any party in interest shall not
invalidate the action nor any subsequent proceedings as to those joined. A
claim for foreclosure in an action under this paragraph may not be joined with
a claim for a deficiency except when a defendant in the answer has requested
foreclosure pursuant to a power of sale in the mortgage.

* * *

Sec. 2. 12 V.S.A. § 4523(b) is amended to read:

(b) The plaintiff shall file a copy of the complaint, without supporting
attachments, in the town clerk’s office in each town where the mortgaged
property is located. The clerk of the town shall minute on the margin of the
record of the mortgage that a copy of foreclosure proceedings on the mortgage
is filed. The filing shall be sufficient notice of the pendency of the action to all
persons who acquire any interest or lien on the mortgaged premises between
the dates of filing the copy of foreclosure and the recording of the final
judgment in the proceedings. Without further notice or service, those persons
shall be bound by the judgment entered in the cause and be foreclosed from all
rights or equity in the premises as completely as though they had been parties
in the original action.

Sec. 3. 12 V.S.A. § 4531a is amended to read:

§ 4531a. FORECLOSURE; POWER OF SALE

(a) When a power of sale is contained in a mortgage and the plaintiff in the
foreclosure complaint, or the defendant in his or her answer requests a sale, the
court may upon entry of judgment of foreclosure order that if the property is
not redeemed within the time period allowed by the court, the property be sold
pursuant to such power and the court may further determine the time and
manner of the sale. If a sale is ordered with respect to any property other than
farmland or a dwelling house of two four units or less when currently occupied
by the owner as his or her principal residence, the redemption period shall be
eliminated or reduced by the court to no more than 30 days. If the property is
not redeemed, the plaintiff shall thereupon execute the power of sale and do all
things required by it or by the court. No sale of a dwelling house of two four
units or less when currently occupied by the owner as his or her principal
residence may take place within seven months of service of the foreclosure
complaint, unless the court finds that the occupant is making waste of the
property or the parties mutually agree after suit to a shorter period.

(b) When a power of sale is contained in a mortgage relating to any
property except for a dwelling house of two four units or less that is occupied
by the owner as a principal residence, or farmland, instead of a suit and decree
of foreclosure, the mortgagee or assignee may, upon breach of mortgage
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condition, exercise the power of sale without first commencing a foreclosure
action or obtaining a foreclosure decree, and may give notices and do all such
acts as are authorized or required by the power, including the giving of a
foreclosure deed upon the completion of the foreclosure sale; but no sale under
and by virtue of a power of sale shall be valid and effectual to foreclose the
mortgage unless the conditions of sections 4532 and 4533a of this title are
complied with.

* * *

Sec. 4. 12 V.S.A. chapter 163, subchapter 9 is added to read:

Subchapter 9. Mediation in Foreclosure Actions

§ 4701. MEDIATION PROGRAM ESTABLISHED

(a) This subchapter establishes a program to assure the availability of
mediation and compliance with the federal Home Affordable Modification
Program (“HAMP”) requirements, if applicable, in actions for foreclosure of a
mortgage on any dwelling house of four units or less that is occupied by the
owner as a principal residence.

(b) To be qualified to act as a mediator under this subchapter, an individual
shall be licensed to practice law in the state and shall be required to have taken
a specialized, continuing legal education training course on foreclosure
prevention or loss mitigation approved by the Vermont Bar Association.

§ 4702. OPPORTUNITY TO MEDIATE

(a) Prior to commencing an action for foreclosure of a mortgage on any
dwelling house of four units or less that is occupied by the owner as a principal
residence, Vermont counsel for the mortgagee shall notify the mortgagor that
an action for foreclosure is imminent, and that mediation is available in order
to consider alternatives to foreclosure. The notice shall be given by any
method capable of showing proof of delivery of two copies thereof, with a
self-addressed, stamped envelope, to the mortgagor personally, or by leaving
copies thereof at the mortgagor’s dwelling with a person of suitable age and
discretion then residing therein. Mortgagee’s counsel shall simultaneously
send notice to the department of banking, insurance, securities, and health care
administration’s mortgage assistance program, which shall maintain a list of all
mortgagors who have been sent a notice of the opportunity to mediate.

(b) The notice shall be in substantially the following form:

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO HOMEOWNER

To: _[Name(s) of homeowner(s)]__

! YOU ARE AT RISK OF LOSING YOUR HOME !
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A foreclosure case is about to be filed against you in court. If foreclosure is
approved by the court, you may lose your home!

Before any foreclosure case is filed, you have the right to meet with your
lender or mortgage servicer and a neutral third person (a “mediator”) to
explore ways to stay in your home, including possible modification of the
terms of your existing mortgage. To do this, you must ask for a meeting
within 20 days of receiving this notice. Simply fill in your name, address,
telephone number, and e-mail address, if any, below, sign and date one copy of
this notice and mail it back to your lender’s lawyer who is the person who sent
you this notice and whose name and address is:

___________[Name]______________

__________[Address]_____________

_______________________________

If you request a meeting, you will be contacted by a mediator.

You have the right to be represented at the meeting by an attorney of your
choice.

There may also be ways you can get free help in trying to prevent a
foreclosure. Here are some names and numbers you can call to ask about free
help:

[List names and numbers here.]

You should still request a meeting even if you are already talking to your
lender or mortgage servicer because those conversations will not necessarily
stop foreclosure. You will not have to pay the mediator.

I REQUEST A MEETING WITH MY LENDER OR
MORTGAGE SERVICER AND A NEUTRAL THIRD PARTY.

Printed name:_____________________________________

Your street address or P.O. box:______________________

Your town/city and zip code:_________________________

Your telephone number:_____________________________

Your e-mail address, if any:__________________________

Signature:______________ Date:______________

(c) If no request for mediation is received by mortgagee’s attorney within
20 days of receipt of the notice by the mortgagor, or if mediation is held but is
not successful, the mortgagee shall allege in any complaint, and mortgagee’s
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attorney shall certify on personal knowledge, that notice of the availability of
mediation was properly given, that the mortgagor did or did not request
mediation, and, if requested, that mediation occurred but was not successful.
Mortgagee shall attach to the complaint proof of delivery of the notice and the
mediator’s report, if mediation occurred.

(d) After an action for foreclosure is commenced, and until the expiration
of 20 days from the date of service of the summons and complaint, the court,
on motion or request of a party, shall order mediation even if mediation has
previously been attempted. Thereafter, on its own motion or on the motion of
a party for good cause, the court may order mediation. All mediation shall be
completed prior to the expiration of the redemption period, and the redemption
period shall not be stayed on account of pending mediation. If a mortgagor
requests mediation after judgment has been entered, the court may grant the
request only if the mortgagor has returned a request for mediation in an amount
of time sufficient to allow for a proper mediation to occur, and the court
determines that the mortgagor is not attempting to delay the case. The
mediator shall report the results of the process, as described in subsection
4704(b) of this subchapter, to the court and both parties in writing.

(e) The court may, on motion of a party, find that the requirements of this
subchapter have been met, and that the parties are not required to participate in
mediation under this subchapter because they participated in a proceeding
providing the substantive protections of mediation under this subchapter.

§ 4703. MEDIATION

(a) Prior to or during all mediations under this subchapter:

(1) The mortgagee shall consider all available foreclosure prevention
tools, including reinstatement, loan modification, forbearance, and short sale;

(2) The participants shall use all applicable federal and state laws,
regulations, and guidelines on loan modification, including the federal Home
Affordable Modification Program (“HAMP”) guidelines, and employ all
related “net present value” calculations in considering a loan modification; and

(3) The mortgagee shall produce for the mortgagor and mediator
documentation of its consideration of each applicable foreclosure prevention
tool, including the data used in and the outcome of any “net present value”
calculation.

(b) In all mediations under this subchapter, the mortgagor shall produce
information on his or her household income and any other information required
by HAMP.

(c)(1) The following persons shall participate in any mediation under this
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subchapter:

(A) the mortgagee, or any other person, including the mortgagee’s
servicing agent, who shall have:

(i) authority to agree to a proposed settlement, loan modification,
or dismissal of the foreclosure action;

(ii) real time access during the mediation to the mortgagor’s
account information and to the records relating to consideration of each
available foreclosure prevention tool relating to the mortgagor, including the
data and factors considered in evaluating each such foreclosure prevention
tool; and

(iii) the ability and authority to perform necessary “net present
value” and other foreclosure avoidance tool calculations during the mediation;

(B) counsel for the mortgagee; and

(C) the mortgagor, and counsel for the mortgagor, if represented.

(2) The mediator may permit a party identified in subdivision (1) of this
subsection to participate in mediation by telephone or videoconferencing.

(d) The mediator shall include in the mediation process under this
subchapter any other person the mediator determines is necessary for effective
mediation.

§ 4704. MEDIATION REPORT

(a) Within seven days of the conclusion of any prelitigation mediation, the
mediator shall report the results of the process to both parties in writing. If
prelitigation mediation does not result in a settlement or if the court orders
mediation after an action for foreclosure has commenced, within seven days of
the conclusion of the mediation, the mediator shall report the results of the
process to the court and both parties in writing.

(b) The report shall not disclose the mediator’s assessment of any aspect of
the case or substantive matters discussed during the mediation, except as is
required to report the information required by this section. The report shall
contain the following items:

(1) The date on which the mediation was held, including the starting and
finishing times.

(2) The names and addresses of all persons attending, showing their role
in the mediation and specifically identifying the representative of each party
who had decision-making authority.

(3) A summary of any substitute arrangement made regarding
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attendance at the mediation.

(4) All “net present value” and other foreclosure avoidance tool
calculations performed prior to or during the mediation and all information
related to the requirements in subsection 4703(a) of this subchapter.

(5) The results of the mediation, stating whether full or partial
settlement was reached and appending any agreement of the parties.

§ 4705. COMPLIANCE WITH OBLIGATIONS

Upon receipt of the mediator’s report, pursuant to subsection 4704(a) of this
subchapter, the court shall promptly and without hearing determine whether
the servicer has complied with all of its obligations under subsection
4703(a) of this subchapter.

§ 4706. EFFECT OF MEDIATION PROGRAM ON FORECLOSURE
ACTIONS FILED PRIOR TO EFFECTIVE DATE

The court shall, on request of a party, require mediation in any foreclosure
action on a mortgage on any dwelling house of four units or less that is
occupied by the owner as a principal residence that was commenced prior to
the effective date of this subchapter but only up to 30 days prior to the end of
the redemption period.

§ 4707. NO WAIVER OF RIGHTS; COSTS OF MEDIATION;
EXEMPTIONS

(a) The parties’ rights in a foreclosure action are not waived by their
participation in mediation under this subchapter.

(b) The mortgagee shall pay the required costs for any mediation under this
subchapter.

(c) No mortgagee may shift to the mortgagor the costs of the mortgagee’s
or the servicing agent’s attorney’s fees or travel costs related to mediation.

(d) The requirements of this subchapter shall apply only to foreclosure
actions involving loans that are serviced by a bank or servicer subject to the
federal HAMP guidelines.

Sec. 5. REPEAL

12 V.S.A. § 4532a (notice to commissioner of banking, insurance,
securities, and health care administration) is repealed.

Sec. 6. EFFECTIVE DATE

This act shall take effect 45 days after passage but no later than July 1,
2010.
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Sec. 7. SUNSET

This act shall be repealed on the same day as the expiration date of the
federal Home Affordability Modification Program (“HAMP”).

( Committee Vote: 8-2-1)

H. 594

An act relating to access to restroom facilities

Rep. Bissonnette of Winooski, for the Committee on Commerce and
Economic Development, recommends the bill be amended by striking all after
the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 9 V.S.A. chapter 140 is added to read:

CHAPTER 140. RESTROOM ACCESS

IN RETAIL ESTABLISHMENTS

§ 4511. DEFINITIONS

For purposes of this chapter:

(1) “Customer” means an individual who is lawfully on the premises of
a retail establishment.

(2) “Eligible medical condition” means Crohn’s disease, ulcerative
colitis, irritable bowel syndrome, any other inflammatory bowel disease, or any
medical condition that requires immediate access to a toilet facility.

(3) “Retail establishment” means a place of business open to the general
public for the sale of goods or services.

§ 4512. RETAIL ESTABLISHMENTS; RESTROOM ACCESS; LIABILITY

(a) A retail establishment that provides a toilet facility for its employees
shall allow a customer to use the facility during normal business hours if all of
the following conditions are met:

(1) The customer requesting the use of the employee toilet facility
suffers from an eligible medical condition or uses an ostomy device and
provides a statement signed by a physician which indicates that the customer
suffers from an eligible medical condition or uses an ostomy device.

(2) Two or more employees of the retail establishment are working at
the time the customer requests use of the employee toilet facility.

(3) The employee toilet facility is not located in an area where providing
access would create an obvious health or safety risk or a security risk to the
retail establishment.
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(4) A public restroom is not immediately accessible to the customer.

(b) A retail establishment or an employee of a retail establishment is not
civilly liable for the injury or death of a customer resulting from any act or
omission in allowing a customer to use an employee toilet facility pursuant to
this section, unless the act or omission is willful or grossly negligent.

(c) A retail establishment is not required to make any physical changes to
an employee toilet facility under this section.

(d) A retail establishment shall not be in violation of chapter 139 of this
title solely by reason of allowing a customer to use an employee toilet facility
pursuant to this section.

( Committee Vote: 10-1-0)

H. 639

An act relating to motor vehicle insurance for volunteer drivers

Rep. Smith of Mendon, for the Committee on Commerce and Economic
Development, recommends the bill be amended by striking all after the
enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 8 V.S.A. § 4211 is added to read:

§ 4211. VOLUNTEER DRIVERS

(a) An insurer may not refuse to issue motor vehicle liability insurance to
an applicant solely because the applicant is a volunteer driver. An insurer may
not impose a surcharge or otherwise increase the rate for a motor vehicle
policy solely on the basis that the named insured, a member of the insured’s
household, or a person who customarily operates the insured’s vehicle is a
volunteer driver.

(b) For purposes of this section, “volunteer driver” means a person who
provides services, including transporting individuals or goods, without
compensation above mileage expenses to a charitable organization or nonprofit
corporation established under Title 11B, pursuant to a written agreement.

(c) This section does not prohibit an insurer from refusing to renew,
imposing a surcharge on, or otherwise raising the rate for a motor vehicle
liability insurance policy based upon factors other than the volunteer status of
the insured driver.

Sec. 2. EFFECTIVE DATE

Sec. 1 of this act shall apply to all policies and contracts offered, issued, or
renewed on and after September 1, 2010.
( Committee Vote: 11-0-0)
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H. 680

An act relating to termination of occupancy of farm employee housing

Rep. Toll of Danville, for the Committee on Agriculture, recommends the
bill be amended by striking all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu
thereof the following:

Sec. 1. LEGISLATIVE FINDINGS AND RECOMMENDATIONS

The general assembly finds:

(1) Vermont farmers frequently provide housing to their employees as a
benefit of agricultural work performed.

(2) Farmers and their employees have a reasonable expectation that
where housing is provided as a benefit of employment, each party has certain
rights and responsibilities that should be mutually understood.

(3) The purpose of this act is to provide a clear and consistent
framework for the rights and responsibilities of farmers and their employees
where housing is provided, including due process protections for the farm
employee.

(4) With the increasing presence of a mobile workforce, the general
assembly recognizes that English may not be the primary language for a
number of farm employees in Vermont.

(5) The general assembly therefore recommends that the agency of
agriculture, food and markets, the department of health, the department of
labor, the department of economic, housing and community affairs, and other
appropriate agencies make available on their websites the notice provisions set
forth in 9 V.S.A. § 4469a(c) in the languages most commonly used by farm
employees in Vermont.

(6) The general assembly further recommends that state agencies
providing guidance on farm employer-employee relations direct farmers who
provide housing to their employees:

(A) upon commencement of farm employment, to inform a farm
employee in the employee’s native language that, unless otherwise provided by
contract, the right to occupy farm housing will end upon termination of farm
employment; and

(B) upon termination of farm employment, to provide the notice
provisions set forth in 9 V.S.A. § 4469a(c) to the farm employee in the farm
employee’s native language.

Sec. 2. 9 V.S.A. § 4469a is added to read:
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4469a. TERMINATION OF OCCUPANCY OF FARM EMPLOYEE
HOUSING

(a) For the purposes of this section:

(1) “Farm employee” means an individual employed by a farm
employer for farming operations.

(2) “Farm employer” means a person earning at least one-half of his or
her annual gross income from the business of farming as that term is defined in
Section 1.175-3 of the regulations issued by the United States Department of
the Treasury under the Internal Revenue Code of the United States, as
amended.

(3) “Housing provided as a benefit of farm employment” means housing
owned or controlled by the farm employer, whether located on or off the farm
premises, and provided for the occupancy of the farm employee and the farm
employee’s family or household members for no payment other than the farm
employee’s labor. Payment of utility and fuel charges paid by the farm
employee does not affect the designation of housing provided as a benefit of
farm employment.

(b) Unless otherwise provided in a written employment contract, a farm
employer who provides housing to a farm employee and the farm employee’s
family or household members as a benefit of the employment may terminate
that benefit and all rights of the employee and the employee’s family or
household members to occupy the housing when the employee’s employment
is terminated.

(c) The termination of the housing benefit shall be by written notice served
upon the former farm employee by a law enforcement officer in accordance
with Rule 4 of the Vermont Rules of Civil Procedure. The notice shall be
served together with a summons and complaint seeking a writ of possession
under this section to remove the former farm employee from occupancy of the
farm housing. The notice shall include the following statements, in boldface
print:

“Your employment and housing benefit have been terminated.

“Your employer has filed a legal proceeding in County superior
court to obtain a court order directing you and any family or household
member cohabitating in the dwelling to vacate and leave the dwelling and
remove all of your possessions. The address and telephone number of the
court are as follows: .

“The court will hold a hearing on your former employer’s request for a
court order directing you to leave and vacate the dwelling. The hearing will be
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held on at in the am/pm at the
courthouse at the address listed above. You have the right to be served with
notice of the hearing at least ten days prior to the hearing date. You have the
right to appear at this hearing. At the hearing, your former employer must
prove that the dwelling is needed for housing a replacement employee, and that
your failure to vacate is causing actual hardship.

“If you believe that your employment was terminated wrongfully, that your
dwelling house was not habitable, or if you have any other claim against your
former employer, you may file a counterclaim against your former employer as
explained in the summons and complaint that are being served upon you with
this notice.

“Filing a counterclaim against your former employer will not delay or stop
the court from ordering you to leave and vacate the dwelling.

“You may wish to seek legal advice from a licensed attorney. If you
believe you cannot afford an attorney, you may contact the clerk of the court
listed above for information about the availability of an attorney at public
expense, although you may not be entitled to an attorney at public expense.”

(d) A farm employer shall be entitled to a show cause hearing on an
expedited basis for the purpose of demonstrating that the failure of the former
farm employee to vacate the farm housing is causing an actual hardship to the
farm employer. The show cause hearing shall be held not less than 10 calendar
days after service on the former employee of the notice described in subsection
(c) of this section. The issue before the court at the hearing shall be whether
the farm employer has suffered actual hardship because of the unavailability of
the farm housing for a replacement employee.

(e) If the court finds that the farm employer has suffered actual hardship
because of the unavailability of the farm housing for a replacement employee,
the court shall enter an order approving a writ of possession, which shall be
executed no sooner than five days nor later than 30 days after the writ is
served, to put the plaintiff into possession.

(f) If the court does not make a finding on behalf of the farm employer, the
farm employer may seek an eviction pursuant to sections 4467 and 4468 of this
chapter and subchapter 3 of chapter 169 of Title 12. In any action pursuant to
this section, the farm employer may file a motion for payment of the
reasonable rental value of the premises into court pursuant to 12 V.S.A.
§ 4853a.

(g) The right of a former farm employee to pursue any claim that he or she
may have against the former farm employer by way of a counterclaim in a civil
action brought pursuant to this section is expressly preserved. The assertion of
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a counterclaim shall not have the effect of delaying or preventing the removal
of the employee from the housing, nor shall the employee be entitled to obtain
injunctive relief in the form of repossession of farm housing. A former
employee who prevails on a counterclaim shall be entitled to relief as provided
by applicable law.

(h) Sections 4455, 4461, and 4467 of this chapter shall not apply to housing
provided to a farm employee as a benefit of the employment.

Sec. 3. EFFECTIVE DATE

This act shall take effect upon passage.

( Committee Vote: 11-0-0)

H. 698

An act relating to services for Vermont seniors

Rep. McFaun of Barre Town, for the Committee on Human Services,
recommends the bill be amended by striking all after the enacting clause and
inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 33 V.S.A. § 7108(f) and (g) are added to read:

(f) Except as otherwise required by federal law, until June 30, 2013, the
licensing agency shall conduct an unannounced inspection of one-third of the
residential care home and assisted living residences licensed pursuant to this
chapter per year. The agency shall give priority in its inspections to those
facilities that have not been inspected for the longest period of time.

(g)(1) Except as otherwise required by federal law, beginning July 1, 2013,
the licensing agency shall conduct an unannounced inspection of each
residential care home and assisted living residence licensed pursuant to this
chapter at least annually.

(2) Notwithstanding the provisions of subdivision (1) of this subsection,
beginning July 1, 2013, the licensing agency may authorize a residential care
home or assisted living residence that was found at its most recent inspection
to have met criteria specified by the department of disabilities, aging, and
independent living by rule to conduct a self-inspection in lieu of an inspection
by the licensing agency in the following year. This provision shall apply only
to facilities inspected on or after July 1, 2012.

(3) A residential care home or assisted living residence that conducts a
self-inspection pursuant to subdivision (2) of this subsection shall be inspected
by the licensing agency in the year following the self-inspection. In no event
shall a residential care home or assisted living residence licensed pursuant to
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this chapter be inspected by the licensing agency less frequently than every
other year after July 1, 2013.

Sec. 2. FUNDING FOR ADULT PROTECTIVE SERVICES EVALUATION

(a) In the event that an interested party identifies sources of funding for the
adult protective services evaluation authorized by Sec. 3 of this act and
prepares the documents necessary to obtain the funds, the agency of human
services shall cooperate with the interested party to take such steps as are
needed to secure the funds.

(b) In the event that the agency of human services receives federal funds
for the purposes of protecting vulnerable adults, such funds shall be used to
conduct the evaluation authorized by Sec. 3 of this act, up to the full cost of the
evaluation.

(c) No later than March 15 of each year, the agency of human services shall
provide an update to the house committee on human services and the senate
committee on health and welfare regarding the status of efforts to secure
funding for the evaluation authorized by Sec. 3 of this act and the issuance of a
request for proposals to conduct the evaluation.

Sec. 3. ADULT PROTECTIVE SERVICES EVALUATION

(a) Upon securing appropriate funding as provided in Sec. 2 of this act, the
agency of human services shall issue a request for proposals to conduct an
independent evaluation of the adult protective services provided by the
department of disabilities, aging, and independent living’s division of licensing
and protection.

(b) The evaluation shall examine:

(1) the effectiveness of the adult protective services provided;

(2) the division’s responsiveness to complaints;

(3) the appropriateness of the level of investigation into complaints;

(4) the adequacy of training for adult protective services staff;

(5) the ability of vulnerable adults to access adult protective services;

(6) the division’s rules, protocols, and practices for prioritizing,
responding to, and investigating complaints;

(7) the sufficiency of adult protective services staffing levels in the
division;

(8) the number of reports, substantiations, and reversals by the
commissioner or the human services board;
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(9) the role that the division does or should play in assessing and
providing emergency protective services to vulnerable adults;

(10) best practices from other states that would improve the division’s
ability to protect vulnerable adults from abuse and exploitation;

(11) the scope and effectiveness of current adult protective services
public education efforts;

(12) public perception of and satisfaction with adult protective services;

(13) the relationship between the units of survey and certification and
adult protective services in the division of licensing and protection in the
department of disabilities, aging, and independent living with respect to
investigations of abuse, exploitation and neglect; and

(14) such other areas as the entity conducting the evaluation deems
appropriate.

(c) Upon completion of the evaluation authorized by this section but in no
event later than January 15, 2015, the entity conducting the evaluation shall
report its findings and recommendations to the house committee on human
services and the senate committee on health and welfare.

Sec. 4. RULEMAKING

The department of disabilities, aging, and independent living shall adopt
rules pursuant to chapter 25 of Title 3 to establish high-standard criteria by
which a residential care home or assisted living residence may be authorized to
conduct a self-inspection and the required elements of such self-inspection.

Sec. 5. EFFECTIVE DATE

This act shall take effect upon passage.

and by changing the name of the bill to read “An act relating to vulnerable
adults”

( Committee Vote: 9-0-2)

S. 288

An act relating to the Vermont recovery and reinvestment act of 2010

Rep. Botzow of Pownal, for the Committee on Commerce and Economic
Development, recommends that the House propose to the Senate that the bill
be amended by striking all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu
thereof the following:

* * * VRRA 2010 Legislative Intent * * *
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Sec. 1. LEGISLATIVE INTENT

(a) This act is intended to supplement and support the programs and
policies established in No. 54 (H.313) of the Acts of 2009, the Vermont
Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009, and to provide other economic
incentives.

(b) The provisions of this act provide short-term economic stimulus to
certain sectors of the Vermont economy, and invest in long-term strategies that
are consistent with the four principal goals of economic development identified
by the commission on the future of economic development and codified in
10 V.S.A. § 3(b) as follows:

(1) Vermont’s businesses, educators, nongovernmental organizations,
and government form a collaborative partnership that results in a highly skilled
multigenerational workforce to support and enhance business vitality and
individual prosperity.

(2) Vermont invests in its digital, physical, and human infrastructure as
the foundation for all economic development.

(3) Vermont state government takes advantage of its small scale to
create nimble, efficient, and effective policies and regulations that support
business growth and the economic prosperity of all Vermonters.

(4) Vermont leverages its brand and scale to encourage a diverse
economy that reflects and capitalizes on our rural character, entrepreneurial
people, and reputation for environmental quality.

(c) The programs identified in this act shall strive to meet the challenge of
improving their economic development results by taking steps to meet the two
outcomes for economic development stated in Sec. 8(b) of an Act Relating to
Challenges for Change, No. 68 (S.286) of the Acts of the 2009 Adj. Sess.
(2010): (1) Vermont achieves a sustainable annual increase in nonpublic
sector employment and in median household income; and (2) Vermont attains
a statewide, state-of-the-art telecommunications infrastructure. As also
identified in the Challenges for Change Act, Sec. 8(a)(3) in S.286, such steps
shall include:

(1) identifying measurable results of improvement;

(2) designing evidence-based economic development strategies to
achieve these improvements and the four goals of economic development
identified in 10 V.S.A. § 3;

(3) directing available state funds to these strategies; and

(4) using objective, data-based indicators to measure performance of
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these strategies.

* * * SFSF General Services Fund Appropriations * * *

Sec. 2. STATE FISCAL STABILIZATION FUND; GENERAL SERVICES
FUND; APPROPRIATIONS

(a) In fiscal year 2010, $8,665,000.00 from the state fiscal stabilization
fund general services fund that remains available to Vermont under the
American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (ARRA), Pub.L.
No. 111-5, is hereby appropriated as prescribed in Secs. 3–10 of this act.

(b) For the specific purpose of ensuring SFSF funds are expended in a
timely fashion and in accordance with the deadlines and restrictions
established under ARRA, and also to ensure that the objectives of the
appropriations contained herein are accomplished, the secretary of
administration is authorized to substitute general fund appropriations for the
SFSF appropriations in this section, and in such an event, the secretary is
authorized to expend the SFSF funds on any other authorized general fund
expenditure.

(c) It is the intent of the general assembly that, unless otherwise stated, the
appropriations of SFSF funds made pursuant to this act are expended as
quickly as possible so as to have an immediate stimulative impact on
Vermont’s economy. However, to the extent it is not feasible or prudent for a
program to expend all funds in fiscal year 2010, the funds may be carried
forward to fiscal year 2011 and otherwise expended in accordance with the
provisions of this act.

(d) It is the intent of the general assembly that any program receiving SFSF
funds pursuant to this act make all reasonable and practicable efforts to ensure
that such funds are evenly and equitably distributed throughout the entire state
of Vermont.

Sec. 3. ENTREPRENEURS’ SEED CAPITAL FUND

The amount of $400,000.00 is appropriated to the entrepreneurs’ seed
capital fund established under chapter 14A of Title 10.

Sec. 4. RURAL BROADBAND; VTA

The amount of $3,165,00.00 is appropriated to the Vermont
telecommunications authority (VTA) for the purpose of making broadband
services available to at least 12,000 households or businesses in locations
where such services are not currently available, as provided in 30 V.S.A.
§ 8079, as established in Sec. 11 of this act.

Sec. 5. VERMONT EMPLOYMENT TRAINING PROGRAM



- 569 -

The amount of $1,200,000.00 is appropriated to the department of
economic, housing, and community development for the program operations of
the Vermont employment training program established under 10 V.S.A. § 531.

Sec. 6. TOURISM AND MARKETING; MEDIA ADVERTISING

The amount of $400,000.00 is appropriated to the department of tourism
and marketing to increase the frequency of and expand the media buys in the
state’s key regional markets for Vermont’s recreation and hospitality
operations. These funds shall be expended in calendar year 2010 with the goal
of increasing the number of visitors throughout all regions of the state this
year.

Sec. 7. AGRICULTURE; VERMONT FARMERS

(a) The amount of $778,000.00 is appropriated to the Vermont economic
development authority (VEDA) to be used by the Vermont agricultural credit
corporation for the Vermont agricultural credit program established under
10 V.S.A. § 374a to assist Vermont farmers with capital to meet operating and
related needs.

(b) The amount of $100,000.00 is appropriated to the Vermont sustainable
jobs fund program established in 10 V.S.A. § 328 to further the initiatives of
the farm-to-plate investment program established in 10 V.S.A. § 330, as
provided in Sec. 13 of this act.

(c) The amount of $122,000.00 is appropriated to the secretary of
agriculture to be transferred as follows:

(1) $100,000.00 the farm-to-school program established under 6 V.S.A.
§ 4721.

(2) $22,000.00 to the farms 2 + 2 program offered by the University of
Vermont and the Vermont Technical Colleges.

Sec. 8. CHAMPLAIN BRIDGE CLOSURE; GRANTS AND LOANS

(a) The amount of $500,000.00 is appropriated to the agency of commerce
and community development for a grant to the Addison County economic
development corporation (ACEDC) for the purpose of providing grants and
loans to businesses and organizations that have incurred economic losses as a
direct result of the closure of the Lake Champlain bridge at Crown Point, with
oversight and reporting provided by the Vermont office of economic stimulus
and recovery.

(b) Grants for loss in revenue. The ACEDC shall award grants to any
business or organization that, due to the bridge closure, suffered revenue losses
of at least 20 percent during the fourth quarter of calendar year 2009 as
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compared with the same period in 2008. Awards under this subsection shall
compensate up to 50 percent of uninsured losses.

(c) Grants for increased expenses. The ACEDC shall award grants to any
business or organization for the purpose of compensating losses incurred
during the fourth quarter of calendar year 2009 directly attributable to the
closure of the bridge as follows:

(1) up to 75 percent of a documented, uninsured increase in
transportation costs.

(2) up to 75 percent of documented, uninsured costs incurred in paying
employee per diems to cover increased commuting time and expenses.

(3) up to 75 percent of documented, uninsured costs incurred for
equipment rentals or the hiring of custom haulers necessary to continue
business operations.

(d) Any grant made pursuant to subsections (b) and (c) of this section shall
not exceed $20,000.00. No business or organization shall be eligible for more
than one grant. ACEDC shall not award more than $150,000.00 in grants
under this section.

(e) Loans. The ACEDC shall establish criteria for making
low-or-no-interest loans to businesses and organizations negatively impacted
by the closure of the Champlain Bridge. The loans shall be to assist such
entities with maintaining payroll, ordering inventory, and covering operational
expenses. The ACEDC shall establish underwriting criteria, and any other
terms and conditions deemed necessary to carry out the purposes of this
subsection. The ACEDC shall issue up to $350,000.00 in aggregated loans.

(f) The Addison County economic development corporation may use
0.5 percent of the appropriation made under this section for administrative
costs.

(g) On November 1, 2010, all unexpended funds shall be transferred to the
Vermont economic development authority (VEDA). In addition, all loan
repayments shall be transferred to VEDA. Any funds received by VEDA
pursuant to this subsection shall be transferred to the entrepreneurs’ seed
capital fund established under chapter 14A of Title 10. ACEDC may retain
any interest.

Sec. 9. VEDA; VERMONT JOBS FUND

The amount of $1,700,000.00 is appropriated to the Vermont economic
development authority to provide interest-rate subsidies on loans approved
under the Vermont jobs fund established in 10 V.S.A. § 234.
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Sec. 10. MICROBUSINESS DEVELOPMENT; INDIVIDUAL
DEVELOPMENT ACCOUNTS

(a) The amount of $100,000.00 is appropriated to community capital of
Vermont for the job start loan fund to support low and moderate income
business owners who do not have access to conventional bank loans.

(b) The amount of $200,000.00 is appropriated to the office of economic
opportunity within the Vermont department for children and families. These
funds shall not be used to secure a federal match. Of this appropriation:

(1) $100,000.00 shall be transferred to the individual development
account (IDA) program; and

(2) $100,000.00 shall be transferred to the micro-business development
program.

* * * VTA Broadband Infrastructure * * *

Sec. 11. 30 V.S.A. § 8079 is added to read:

§ 8079. BROADBAND ADOPTION PROGRAM

(a) There is established the Vermont broadband adoption program to be
administered by the Vermont telecommunications authority for the purposes of
accelerating the subscription to and use of broadband Internet access by the
public and increasing the sustainability of broadband networks in Vermont,
especially in rural and underserved communities. Through this program, the
authority shall insure that broadband service is provided to at least 12,000
households and businesses left unserved by private entities.

(b) The authority shall expend monies appropriated to the Vermont
broadband adoption program consistent with this section.

(c) For purposes of this section, a “community” shall be a local geographic
area of the state defined by the authority and consisting of one or more
geographic areas with a defined boundary, including municipalities, telephone
exchanges, ZIP codes, or census blocks.

(d) For purposes of this section, “broadband” service shall mean Internet
access services which provide download speeds not less than 1.5 megabits per
second and upload speeds not less than 200 kilobits per second. Service
provided by satellite shall not qualify as “broadband.” In addition, the
authority shall give priority to broadband services which meet or exceed the
minimum technical service characteristic objectives established pursuant to
section 8077 of this title, and may adopt any new such objectives established
pursuant to section 8077 of this title in place of the definition provided in this
subsection.
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(e) In each fiscal year in which funding is available for the program, the
authority shall establish target communities in which it will offer incentives to
broadband service providers. In selecting the target communities, the authority
shall consider, to the extent possible:

(1) the proportion of homes and businesses in those communities
without access to broadband service and without access to broadband service
meeting the minimum technical service characteristic objectives established
under section 8077 of this title;

(2) the level of adoption of broadband services by residential and
business users within the community;

(3) opportunities to leverage or support other sources of federal, state, or
local funding for the expansion or adoption of broadband service;

(4) the number of potential new subscribers in each community and the
total level of funding available for the program; and

(5) the geographic location of selected communities and whether new
target communities would further the goal of bringing broadband services to all
regions of the state.

(f) For each target community, the authority shall seek proposals through a
competitive process from broadband service providers who agree to improve,
expand, or introduce broadband service in the community. The authority shall
consider in its selection of broadband service providers the factors used in
selecting the target communities, and also the quality of the proposed
broadband services and the plans of applicants to market and promote the
adoption of its broadband services in the target communities. Based on the
number and quality of proposals received, the authority may seek additional
proposals, adjust the boundaries of the communities it has defined, or elect to
not provide assistance in some target communities.

(g) Broadband service providers that agree to receive assistance under this
program for a target community shall within 18 months make broadband
service available to all occupied nonseasonal home and business locations
within the community at upload and download speeds which shall be specified
in a grant agreement with the authority, which shall not be less than speeds
commonly offered by the broadband service provider in other areas it serves in
the state.

(h) The authority shall provide a broadband service provider selected to
receive assistance for a target community with a grant per new broadband
subscriber in the target community. The amount of the grant shall be equal to
a monthly refund level established by the authority. Prior to July 1, 2013, the
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authority shall not establish a monthly refund level exceeding $20.00 per
month. Grants shall be sufficient to provide the monthly refund level for a
period of 12 months. The broadband service provider shall apply the amount
of the monthly refund level as a credit to the amount owed by a subscriber for
service. The authority may require new subscribers to claim the credit on line,
which may include initiating one or more on-line transactions with state
services offered on line. To the extent possible and consistent with the
cost-effective administration of the program, the authority shall limit grants
awarded such that they are awarded for subscribers who have not previously
had broadband service available in the target community.

(i) Prior to distribution of grant funding, the authority shall seek and obtain
a reasonable demonstration that a selected broadband service provider has
adequate capital funding available to complete the expansion of service
required by subsection (g) of this section.

(j) Broadband service providers that agree to receive assistance under this
program shall offer a broadband service on at least one tier of service at a price
that shall not exceed the amount of the monthly refund level for one year after
the subscriber initiates service. Broadband providers may offer additional tiers
of broadband service or bundles of broadband service and other services
without limit on price due to participation in this program.

(k) For good cause, if no satisfactory proposals to provide service in a
target community are received, the authority may provide partial or full
refunds for reasonable nonrecurring charges associated with initiation of
service and may either establish for a target community a monthly grant level
higher than otherwise allowed by subsection (h) of this section, or modify the
price limitations of subsection (j) of this section, or both. In no case shall the
monthly refund level exceed the price of the lowest tier of broadband service
offered in a target community.

(l) During any quarter it receives assistance under this program, a
broadband service provider shall provide information regarding broadband
service availability, adoption, speed, and price to the entity selected by the
National Telecommunications and Information Administration to receive
funding for broadband data collection in Vermont under the state broadband
data and development grant program established under the American Recovery
and Reinvestment Act of 2009, Pub.L. No. 111-5 and the Broadband Data
Improvement Act of 2008, P.L. No. 110-385.

(m) The authority may use up to 10 percent of the funds appropriated to the
program to provide financial incentives for new subscribers in target
communities to conduct transactions with state government on line instead of
in person or in paper form, not to exceed $50.00 per new subscriber.
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Notwithstanding any other provision of this section, the authority may use up
to 50 percent of the funds appropriated to the program to provide any state
match which may be required if Congress extends the federal telephone lifeline
program to include broadband service, or if Congress enacts any other program
to provide financial assistance for low income consumers of broadband service
as it may be defined under federal law. If the authority acts pursuant to this
subsection, it shall send notice to the commissioner of public service, the
speaker of the house, and the president pro tempore of the senate. Upon
receipt of such notice, the commissioner of public service shall make a
recommendation to the general assembly within six months regarding changes
to Vermont statutes or rules regarding the telephone lifeline program and
changes which may be required to provide ongoing support for a similar
program for broadband.

(n) Of the funds appropriated to the broadband adoption program, the
authority may use up to five percent for administration of the funds received.

(o) On or before January 1, 2011, the authority shall submit a report to the
house committee on commerce and community development and the senate
committee on economic development, housing and general affairs that details
the progress it has made in reaching the goals of the broadband adoption
program established by this section, specifically in terms of reaching the
12,000 unserved Vermonters.

* * * Agreements Pertaining to Telecommunications Facilities * * *

Sec. 12. 30 V.S.A. § 8079 is added to read:

§ 8079. AGREEMENTS; TELECOMMUNICATIONS FACILITIES

In awarding loans or grants to entities as permitted under subdivision
§ 8062(a)(6) of this title, the authority shall develop terms and conditions
applicable to agreements covering telecommunications infrastructure that
ensure payments accrue in reasonable installments and at reasonable intervals,
particularly with respect to the time period commencing after an agreement is
entered into but before the telecommunications facility that is the subject of the
agreement is ready for commercial use.

* * * Farm-to-Plate Investment Program * * *

Sec. 13. FARM-TO-PLATE INVESTMENT PROGRAM

The funds received pursuant to Sec. 7(b) of this act shall be used to further
the initiatives of the farm-to-plate investment program established in 10 V.S.A.
§ 330 and support entities that will enhance the production, storage,
processing, and distribution infrastructure of the Vermont food system. The
funds shall be competitively awarded by the program director, in consultation
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with the secretary of agriculture, food and markets and the Vermont
sustainable agriculture council, in the form of grants to nonprofit farmers’
markets and like entities that are ready to implement their business plans or
expand their existing operations to provide additional capacity and services
within the food system. The funds also may be used for the coordination and
implementation of the recommendations contained in the strategic plan of the
farm-to-plate investment program.

* * * Audit Strategy for Job Creation * * *

Sec. 14. AUDIT STRATEGY; JOB CREATION

On or before January 1, 2011, the state auditor of accounts shall develop
and recommend to the house committee on commerce and economic
development and the senate committee on economic development, housing and
general affairs an audit strategy designed to comprehensively validate
job-creation programs in Vermont. The audit strategy shall seek to incorporate
design elements that take into account possible “job inflation” caused by
multiple economic development programs claiming creation of the same job.

* * * Increased Moral Obligation for Vermont Jobs Fund * * *

Sec. 15. 10 V.S.A. § 219(d) is amended to read:

(d) In order to assure the maintenance of the debt service reserve
requirement in each debt service reserve fund established by the authority,
there may be appropriated annually and paid to the authority for deposit in
each such fund, such sum as shall be certified by the chair of the authority, to
the governor or the governor-elect, the president of the senate, and the speaker
of the house, as is necessary to restore each such debt service reserve fund to
an amount equal to the debt service reserve requirement for such fund. The
chair shall annually, on or about February 1, make, execute, and deliver to the
governor or the governor-elect, the president of the senate, and the speaker of
the house, a certificate stating the sum required to restore each such debt
service reserve fund to the amount aforesaid, and the sum so certified may be
appropriated, and if appropriated, shall be paid to the authority during the then
current state fiscal year. The principal amount of bonds or notes outstanding at
any one time and secured in whole or in part by a debt service reserve fund to
which state funds may be appropriated pursuant to this subsection shall not
exceed $70,000,000.00 $100,000,000.00, provided that the foregoing shall not
impair the obligation of any contract or contracts entered into by the authority
in contravention of the Constitution of the United States.

* * * VEDA: Increased Flexibility for Inter-Fund Lending Transfers * * *

Sec. 16. 10 V.S.A. § 234 is amended to read:
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§ 234. THE VERMONT JOBS FUND

* * *

(c) Monies in the fund may be loaned to the Vermont agricultural credit
program to support its lending operations as established in chapter 16A of this
title at interest rates and on terms and conditions to be set by the authority to
establish a line of credit in an amount not to exceed $30,000,000.00 to be
advanced to the Vermont agricultural credit program to support its lending
operations as established in chapter 16A of this title.

(d) Monies in the fund may be loaned to the Vermont small business
development corporation to support its lending operations as established
pursuant to subdivision 216(14) of this title at interest rates and on terms and
conditions to be set by the authority to establish a line of credit in an amount
not to exceed $3,000,000.00 to be advanced to the Vermont small business
development corporation to support its lending operations as established
pursuant to subdivision 216(14) of this title.

(e) Monies in the fund may be loaned to the Vermont 504 corporation to
support its lending operations as established pursuant to subdivision 216(13) of
this title at interest rates and on terms and conditions to be set by the authority.

* * * VEDA: Extension of Time for Economic Recovery and

Opportunity Program * * *

Sec. 17. Sec. 5.507 of No. 192 of the Acts of the 2007 Adj. Sess. (2008) shall
be amended to read:

Sec. 5.507. VEDA – ECONOMIC RECOVERY AND OPPORTUNITY
PROGRAM

(a) The state treasurer in consultation with the secretary of administration
shall negotiate an agreement to advance up to $1,250,000 to the Vermont
economic development authority (“VEDA”) in fiscal year 2009.

(b) In fiscal 2009, a write-down of the advance in the amount of $257,000
shall be made as an estimate of subsidy costs to be incurred by VEDA in 2009.
Any difference between the actual subsidy costs incurred by VEDA in any
fiscal year 2009 through 2013 shall be adjusted in the following year’s
write-down amount.

(c) VEDA shall submit the advance agreement to the state treasurer and
secretary of administration; said agreement shall include the following:

(1) The agreement shall be structured to allow a structure that allows
VEDA flexibility to use the subsidy funds in the most effective way to
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generate new loan volume as quickly as possible to act as a stimulant to the
Vermont economy.; and

(2) Terms terms of repayment or write-down of the advance in years
2010 through 2013 shall be contingent on VEDA’s demonstrated use of the
advance proceeds, and any interest earned thereon, to offset the revenue lost by
VEDA over the same period as a result of subsidies made by VEDA to its
borrowers.

(3) The subsidies to VEDA borrowers will be for a maximum of three
years from the date of closing of each enrolled loan.

(4) A maximum of $18 million in VEDA loans can be made under the
program over a 24 month period commencing on the effective date of the
legislation.

(5) The program will terminate when all VEDA borrowers enrolled in
the program have completed their respective three-year subsidy periods.

(d)(c) Upon termination of the program any amount of the advance, or the
interest earned thereon, not used for the subsidy program shall be repaid by
VEDA to the state.

* * * Recovery Zone Facility Bond (RZFB) Program * * *

Sec. 18. RZFB PROGRAM; PUBLIC OUTREACH

(a) The American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (ARRA),
Pub.L. No. 111-5, allocates authority for the issuance of $135,000,000.00 of
recovery zone facility (private activity) bonds to Vermont, which must be
issued before the end of calendar year 2010.

(b) The federal government issued the bonding authorizations to 11 of
Vermont’s 14 counties; however, in the opinion of the Vermont attorney
general, Vermont counties do not have the necessary authority to issue or
authorize others to issue facility bonds. ARRA allows the counties to waive
their allocations to state government, which they did. In October 2009, the
emergency board approved a plan designating the Vermont economic
development authority (VEDA) as the entity responsible for issuing the bonds.

(c) The recovery zone facility bond (RZFB) program is designed to aid
certain businesses through the issuance of tax-exempt bonds. Tax-exempt
bonds traditionally carry lower interest rates than conventional bank loans
because income earned by purchasers of these bonds is exempt from federal
and, in some cases, state tax. VEDA is encouraged to take any steps necessary
to increase public awareness of the RZFB program.

(d) VEDA is authorized to increase the current $25,000,000.00 cap per
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project to $50,000,000.00.

* * * Recovery Zone Economic Development Bond (RZEDB) Program * * *

Sec. 19. RZEDB; PUBLIC OUTREACH

(a) The American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (ARRA),
Pub.L. No. 111-5, allocates authority for the issuance of $90,000,000.00 of
recovery economic development bonds to Vermont. The Vermont municipal
bond bank is responsible for issuing the bonds, which must be issued before
the end of calendar year 2010.

(b) The recovery zone economic development bonds (RZEDBs) are a
category of Build America Bonds (BABs), and sometimes referred to as “super
BABs.” They reduce by 45 percent the cost of the kind of tax-exempt bonding
normally done by towns, counties, school districts, and the state. They may be
used to fund capital expenditures for real and personal property; public
infrastructure and facilities; and expenditures for job training and education
programs.

(c) The Vermont municipal bond bank, in consultation with the Vermont
League of Cities and Towns, shall make all reasonable efforts to inform public
entities in Vermont about the availability, terms, and conditions of REZDBs to
Ensure that Vermont, as a whole, is able to maximize the use of these
favorable instruments of economic development.

* * * Legislative Priorities for ARRA Funds * * *

Sec. 20. LEGISLATIVE PRIORITIES FOR ARRA FUNDS

With respect to federal funds potentially available to the state of Vermont as
competitive funds under the ARRA and in addition to any other legislatively
identified priorities established with regard to ARRA funds, the general
assembly establishes the following equal priorities as outlined in this section.

(1) Railroad projects determined by the Vermont office of economic
stimulus and recovery as being consistent with Vermont’s transportation plan.

(2) With respect to passenger rail funds requested by the state, funds for
making upgrades to passenger rail service along the western corridor, such as
the Ethan Allen Express improvements and extension corridor program. This
corridor program consists of track and crossing improvements and a bridge
project along the existing Ethan Allen Express Amtrak route as well as an
extension of that service from Hoosick, NY to Bennington, from Bennington
to Rutland and from Rutland to Burlington. The program will serve to support
intercity passenger rail service through the most populous area of the state and
further connect vital economic regions of the state to each other and to the state
of New York.



- 579 -

(3) Telecommunications projects determined by Vermont’s chief
technology officer as being consistent with the goals and policies established
under chapter 91 of Title 30.

Sec. 21. REPEAL; PRIORITIES FOR MUNICIPAL
TELECOMMUNICATIONS

Sec. 17(d) of No. 54 of the Acts of 2009 (municipal priorities for municipal
communications services) is repealed.

Sec. 22. COORDINATION OF FARM-TO-PLATE, FARM-TO-SCHOOL,

AND FARM-TO-INSTITUTIONS PROGRAMS

For the purposes of avoiding duplication of administration and better
coordinating resources, the Vermont farm-to-plate investment program, in
consultation with the secretary of agriculture, shall include in its strategic plan
for agricultural economic development required by 10 V.S.A. § 330(c)(1), a
recommendation for the oversight and coordination of the farm-to-plate
investment program established under 10 V.S.A. § 330, the farm-to-school
program established under 6 V.S.A. § 4721, and any other farm-to-institutions
partnerships designed to increase institutional purchases of fresh, locally
grown food.

* * * Public Service Board: Smart Grid; Notice * * *

Sec. 23. 30 V.S.A. § 218(b)(3) is added to read:

(3) If the board approves or requires a utility to adopt a rate design that
includes dynamic pricing, the board may alter or waive the notice and filing
provisions that would otherwise apply under section 225 of this title for such
real-time pricing rate plan, provided the board insures that each customer
receives notice of the price of electricity the customer will be charged in
advance of the time at which the customer uses the electricity.

* * * Study: Buy Local * * *

Sec. 24. STUDY ON STATE PURCHASE OF LOCAL GOODS AND

SERVICES

The secretary of administration shall conduct a study to evaluate the
opportunities and feasibility of increasing the volume of state purchases of
both goods and services from local suppliers. The secretary shall report his or
her findings to the house committee on commerce and economic development
and the senate committee on economic development, housing and general
affairs on or before January 15, 2011.

* * * Digital Nonprofit Corporations * * *
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Sec. 25. 11B V.S.A. § 1.20 is amended to read:

§ 1.20 FILING REQUIREMENTS

* * *

(c) The document must be typewritten or printed or, if electronically
transmitted, it must be in a format that can be retrieved or reproduced in
typewritten or printed form or in an electronic format prescribed by the
secretary of state.

* * *

(g) If the secretary of state has prescribed a mandatory form or electronic
format for a document under section 1.21 of this title, the document must be in
or on the prescribed form.

* * *

Sec. 26. 11B V.S.A. § 1.21(a) is amended to read:

(a) The secretary of state may prescribe the form or electronic format of
and furnish on request, forms or specifications for formats for:

(1) an application for a certificate of existence;

(2) a foreign corporation’s application for a certificate of authority to
transact business in this state;

(3) a foreign corporation’s application for a certificate of withdrawal;
and

(4) the biennial report.

Sec. 27. 11B V.S.A. § 1.23 is amended to read:

§ 1.23. EFFECTIVE DATE OF DOCUMENT

(a) Except as provided in subsection (b) of this section, section subsection
1.24(c) of this title, and section 2.03 of this title, a document is effective:

(1) at the time of filing on the date it is filed, as evidenced by the
secretary of state’s endorsement on the original document any means the
secretary of state may use for the purpose of recording the date and time of
filing; or

(2) at the time specified in the document as its effective time on the date
it is filed.

* * *

Sec. 28. 11B V.S.A. § 1.24(a) is amended to read:
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(a) A domestic or foreign corporation may correct a document filed by the
secretary of state if the document:

(1) contains an incorrect statement; or

(2) was defectively executed, attested, sealed, verified, or
acknowledged; or

(3) was undeliverable because the electronic transmission was defective.

Sec. 29. 11B V.S.A. § 1.25(b) is amended to read:

(b) The secretary of state files a document by stamping or otherwise
endorsing recording it as “Filed,” together with the secretary of state’s name
and official title and on the date and the time of receipt, on both the original
and copy of the document and on the record of the receipt for the filing fee.
After filing a document, except as provided in sections 5.03 and 15.10 of this
title, the secretary of state shall deliver a copy of the document copy to the
domestic or foreign corporation or its representative.

Sec. 30. 11B V.S.A. § 1.27 is amended to read:

§ 1.27. EVIDENTIARY EFFECT OF COPY OF FILED DOCUMENT

(a) A certificate attached to a copy of a document bearing the secretary of
state’s signature (which may be in facsimile) and the seal of this state or a
certificate as to the nonexistence of records relating to a corporation is
conclusive evidence as to whether or not the original is on file with the
secretary of state.

(b) A certificate by the secretary of state that a diligent search has failed to
locate documents claimed to be filed with the secretary of state shall be taken
and received in all courts, public offices, and official bodies as prima facie
evidence of the existence or nonexistence of the records in the custody of the
secretary of state.

(c) The secretary of state’s filing of the articles of incorporation is
conclusive proof that the incorporators satisfied all conditions precedent to
incorporation except in a proceeding by the state to cancel or revoke the
incorporation or involuntarily dissolve the corporation.

A certificate from the secretary of state delivered with a copy of a document
filed with the secretary of state is conclusive evidence that the document is on
file with the secretary of state.

Sec. 31. 11B V.S.A. § 1.40 is amended to read:

§ 1.40. DEFINITIONS

* * *
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(4) “Bylaws” means the code or codes of rules (other than the articles)
adopted pursuant to this title for the regulation or management of the affairs of
the corporation, stored or depicted in any tangible or electronic medium, and
irrespective of the name or names by which such rules are designated.

* * *

(8) “Deliver” includes mail or “delivery” means any method of delivery
used in conventional commercial practice, including delivery by hand, mail,
commercial delivery, and electronic transmission.

* * *

(35) “Electronic transmission” or “electronically transmitted” means a
process of communication not directly involving the physical transfer of paper
that is suitable for the retention, retrieval, and reproduction of information by
the recipient.

(36) “Meeting” means any structured communications conducted by
participants in person or through the use of an electronic or
telecommunications medium permitting simultaneous or sequentially
structured communications.

(37) “Sign” or “signature” includes any manual, facsimile, conformed,
or electronic signature.

Sec. 32. 11B V.S.A. § 1.41(b) and (c) are amended to read:

(b) Notice may be communicated in person; by telephone, voice mail,
telegraph, teletype, facsimile, or other form of wire or, wireless, or electronic
communication; or by mail or private carrier, or other method of delivery. If
these forms of personal notice are impracticable, notice may be communicated
by a newspaper of general circulation in the area where published; or by radio,
television, or other form of public broadcast communication.

(c) Notice to members. Written notice by a domestic or foreign
corporation to its members, if in a comprehensible form, is effective when:

(1) mailed first class postpaid and correctly addressed to the members
address as shown in the corporation’s current record of members; or

(2) electronically transmitted to the member in a manner authorized by
the member.

Sec. 33. 11B V.S.A. § 7.01(f) is amended to read:

(f) An annual or regular meeting may be conducted by means of any
electronic or telecommunications mechanism, including video-conferencing
telecommunication.
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Sec. 34. 11B V.S.A. § 7.02(f) is amended to read:

(f) A special meeting may be conducted by means of any electronic or
telecommunications mechanism, including video-conferencing
telecommunication.

Sec. 35. 11B V.S.A. § 7.04(e) is added to read:

(e) For purposes of this section, written consent may be evidenced by an
electronic communication or an electronic record.

Sec. 36. 11B V.S.A. § 8.20(c) is amended to read:

(c) Unless the articles of incorporation or bylaws provide otherwise, a
board may permit any or all directors to participate in a regular or special
meeting by, or conduct the meeting through the use of, any means of
communication, including an electronic, telecommunications, and video- or
audio-conferencing conference telephone call, by which all directors
participating may simultaneously hear communicate with each other during the
meeting. A director participating in a meeting by this means is deemed to be
present in person at the meeting.

Sec. 37. 11B V.S.A. § 16.01(d) and (e) are amended to read:

(d) A corporation shall maintain its records in written form or in another
form, including electronic form, capable of conversion into written form within
a reasonable time.

(e) A corporation shall keep a copy of the following records at its principal
office (or, if none in this state, then the registered office):

* * *

(5) all written or electronic communications to members generally
within the past three years, including the financial statements furnished for the
past three years under section 16.20 of this title;

* * *

Sec. 38. 11A V.S.A. § 2.06(b) is amended to read:

(b) The bylaws of a corporation may contain any provisions for managing
the business and regulating the affairs of the corporation that are not
inconsistent with law or the articles of incorporation, and may be stored or
depicted in any tangible or electronic medium.

* * * Vermont Public Power Supply Authority * * *

Sec. 39. 30 V.S.A. § 5012 is amended to read:

§ 5012. GENERAL POWERS AND DUTIES
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The authority shall have all of the powers necessary and convenient to carry
out this chapter, including without limitation those general powers provided a
business corporation by section 1852 of Title 11, and including, without
limiting the generality of the foregoing, the power:

* * *

(12) jointly or jointly with utilities or on its own to plan, finance,
acquire, construct, improve, purchase, operate, maintain, use, share costs of,
own, lease, sell, dispose of, or otherwise participate in projects or portions of
projects, the product or service from them, securities or obligations issued or
incurred in connection with the financing of them, or research and
development relating to them, within or outside the state. It may also enter
into and perform contracts with any person with respect to the foregoing. If
the authority acquires or owns an interest as a tenant in common with others in
any projects within the state, the surrender or waiver by the other property
owner of its right to partition the property for a period not exceeding the period
for which the property is used or useful for electric utility purposes shall not be
invalid and unenforceable by reason of length of the period, or as unduly
restricting the alienation of such property;

* * *

(17) to make and execute all contracts and agreements and other
instruments necessary or convenient in the exercise of the powers and
functions of the authority under this chapter; and

(18) to enter into contracts determined by the authority to be useful for
the prudent management of its assets, purchases, funds, debts, or fuels,
including interest rate or other swaps, option contracts, future contracts,
forward purchase contracts, hedging contracts, and leases or other risk
management instruments to the full extent that a business corporation is
authorized to enter into such contracts;

(19) to acquire stock, shares, securities, membership units, or other
equity or participation interests in entities that directly or indirectly construct,
own, or operate electric generation or transmission facilities within or outside
the state to the full extent that a business corporation is authorized to acquire
such interests; and

(18)(20) to do all things necessary, convenient or desirable to carry out
the purposes of this chapter or the powers expressly granted or necessarily
implied in this chapter.

Sec. 40. 30 V.S.A. § 5013 is amended to read:

§ 5013. SPECIAL POWERS
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* * *

(c) A municipality or cooperative shall be obligated to fix, revise and
collect fees and charges for electric power and energy and other services,
facilities and commodities furnished or supplied through its electric department
or system at least sufficient to provide revenues adequate to meet its
obligations under any such output and capacity contract and to pay all other
amounts payable from or constituting a charge and lien upon those revenues.

* * *

(e) The authority and any member municipality or cooperative or other
utility (whether or not such utility is a member of the authority) that is acting
pursuant to a contract with the authority may expend its funds, including
without limitation the proceeds of its notes, bonds, or other obligations, for the
purposes of modifying demand for electric capacity or energy through
conservation or load management by participation in such facilities, projects,
and programs as the board of the authority or the legislative body or other
governing body or the governing board of the member municipality or
cooperative or other utility, as the case may be, determines will effectively
accomplish such purposes. Such facilities, projects, and programs may
include, but shall not be limited to, providing or financing facilities or projects
for conservation or load management, which may be: (i) owned or operated by
the authority or any member municipality or cooperative or other utility or by
others; (ii) leased or licensed by the authority or any member municipality or
cooperative or other utility to others, or financed by laons loans by the
authority or any member municipality or cooperative or other utility to others,
in either case on such terms and conditions as the board of the authority or the
legislative body or other governing body or the governing board of the member
municipality or cooperative or other utility, as the case may be, may determine.
Any member municipality or cooperative or other utility may issue its notes,
bonds or other obligations pursuant to any statutory authority conferring such
power for carrying out the purposes of this subsection.

Sec. 41. 30 V.S.A. § 5017 is amended to read:

§ 5017. POWERS OF MUNICIPALITIES

A municipality, after an affirmative vote of the qualified voters at any duly
warned annual or special meeting to be held for that purpose, may by
resolution of its legislative body enter into contracts with the authority for the
purchase, sale, exchange, or transmission of electric energy and other services,
on such terms and for such period of time as the resolution may provide. A
municipality may by resolution of its legislative body enter into a contract with
the authority related to the issuance of bonds and notes as authorized by
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section 5031 of this title only after an affirmative vote of the qualified voters at
any duly warned annual or special meeting held for that purpose. The required
vote may either approve a specific contract with the authority or it may
approve generally the right for the municipality to enter into all such contracts
with the authority by resolution of its legislative body. A municipality may
appropriate electricity-derived revenues received in any year to make payments
due during that year under any contract made by the municipality with the
authority. Nothing in this section shall be construed to repeal any charter
provision or law requiring an election or other condition precedent to the
establishment of a municipal electric plant.

Sec. 42. 30 V.S.A. § 5031 is amended to read:

§ 5031. BONDS AND NOTES

(a)(1) The authority may issue its negotiable notes and bonds in such
principal amount as the authority determines to be necessary to provide
sufficient funds for achieving any of its corporate purposes, including the
payment of interest on notes and bonds of the authority, establishment of
reserves to secure the notes and bonds, and all other expenditures of the
authority incident to and necessary or convenient to carry out its corporate
purposes and powers. Without limiting the generality of the foregoing, such
bonds and notes may be issued for project costs, or the authority’s share of
costs of projects which may include:

* * *

(5) The notes and bonds shall be authorized by resolution or resolutions
of the authority, shall bear such date or dates and shall mature at such time or
times as the resolution or resolutions may provide. The bonds may be issued
as serial bonds payable in annual installments or as term bonds or as a
combination of them. The resolution or resolutions may provide that the notes
and bonds bear interest at a given rate or rates, be in certain denominations, be
in temporary, coupon or registered form, carry certain registration privileges,
be executed in a given manner, be payable in a given medium of payment, at a
place or places within or without the state, and be subject to specified terms of
redemption. The authority may participate in any state or federally created or
supported bond programs. The notes and bonds of the authority may be sold
by the authority, at public or private sale, at such price or prices as the
authority shall determine.

* * *

* * * International Trade Agreements: Prior Approval * * *

Sec. 43. 9 V.S.A. chapter 111A is added to read:
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CHAPTER 111A. APPROVAL OF INTERNATIONAL TRADE
AGREEMENTS

§ 4125. FINDINGS AND PURPOSE

The general assembly makes the following findings of fact:

(1) Today’s international trade agreements have impacts which extend
significantly beyond the bounds of traditional trade matters such as tariffs and
quotas. Restrictive government procurement rules, for example, may
undermine state purchasing laws and preferences that are designed to promote
good jobs and a healthy environment.

(2) Economic development and environmental policies that might be
constrained by government procurement provisions in international trade
agreements include buy-local laws, recycled-content laws, and renewable
energy purchasing requirements. Measures that conflict with obligations in
one or more international trade agreements could be challenged as potential
barriers to trade.

(3) Currently, the Office of the United States Trade Representative asks
state governors, without input from state legislatures, whether they will
commit state purchasing to trade rules. States, through their governors, may
opt into or out of trade rules dealing with government procurement.

(4) Historically, the general assembly and the governor have worked
together to adopt and implement state procurement policies. The decision to
consent to the coverage of Vermont under procurement provisions of
international trade agreements should also include consultation with the
legislative branch.

(5) If new trade rules permit states to opt into or out of trade rules
dealing with investment and services, in addition to procurement, then the
general assembly intends for the procedures in this chapter to apply to those
provisions as well.

§ 4126. DEFINITIONS

As used in this chapter:

(1) “Commission” means the commission on international trade and
state sovereignty established in 3 V.S.A. § 23.

(2) “International trade agreement” or “trade agreement” means a trade
agreement between the federal government and a foreign country. It does not
include a trade agreement between the state and a foreign country to which the
federal government is not a party.

§ 4127. APPROVAL OF TRADE AGREEMENTS
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(a) If the United States government provides the state with the opportunity
to consent to or reject binding the state to a trade agreement, or a provision
within a trade agreement, then an official of the state, including the governor,
may not bind the state or give consent to the United States government to bind
the state in those circumstances, except as provided in this section.

(b) When a communication from the United States trade representative
concerning a trade agreement provision is received by the state, the governor
shall submit a copy of the communication and the proposed trade agreement,
or relevant provisions of the trade agreement, to the chairs of the commission,
the president pro tempore of the senate, the speaker of the house of
representatives, and the relevant legislative standing committees of
jurisdiction.

(c) The commission shall review and analyze the trade agreement and issue
a recommendation on the potential impact of the trade agreement to the
governor.

(d) Prior to binding the state to the trade agreement, the governor shall
consider the commission’s recommendation and then shall report his or her
intended action on the trade agreement to the members of the emergency
board. A majority of the emergency board may request an opportunity to
consider the issue at a meeting and make a recommendation to the governor
prior to the governor binding the state.

(e) Upon completion of the consultation process provided for in this
section, the governor may bind the state to the trade agreement.

Sec. 44. 3 V.S.A. § 23(b) is amended to read:

(b) Membership. There is created a commission on international trade and
state sovereignty consisting of:

(1) the chair of the house committee on commerce or his or her designee
two legislators appointed by the speaker of the house;

(2) the chair of the senate committee on economic development, housing
and general affairs or his or her designee two legislators appointed by the
committee on committees;

(3) a representative of a nonprofit environmental organization,
appointed by the governor from a list provided by the Vermont Natural
Resources Council;

(4) a representative of organized labor, appointed by the governor from
a list provided by Vermont AFL-CIO, Vermont NEA, and the Vermont state
employees’ association;
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(5) the secretary of commerce and community development or his or her
designee;

(6) the attorney general or his or her designee;

(7) a representative of an exporting Vermont business, appointed by the
governor; and

(8) a representative of a Vermont business actively involved in
international trade, appointed by the governor;

(9) the secretary of agriculture or his or her designee;

(10) a representative of a human rights organization, appointed by the
governor; and

(11) a representative of a Vermont chamber of commerce, appointed by
the governor.

* * * Effective Date * * *

Sec. 45. EFFECTIVE DATE

This act shall take effect on passage.

(Committee vote: 11-0-0 )

(For text see Senate Journal 2/25/2010 )

Ordered to Lie

H.R. 19

House resolution urging the agency of natural resources to retain delegated
authority to administer the federal Clean Water Act in Vermont.

Pending Question: Shall the House adopt the resolution?

Consent Calendar

Concurrent Resolutions for Adoption Under Joint Rule 16a

The following concurrent resolutions have been introduced for approval by
the Senate and House and will be adopted automatically unless a Senator or
Representative requests floor consideration before today’s adjournment.
Requests for floor consideration in either chamber should be communicated to
the Secretary’s office and/or the House Clerk’s office, respectively. For text of
resolutions, see Addendum to House Calendar and Senate Calendar of
3/12/2010.

H.C.R. 271
House concurrent resolution commemorating the Green Mountain Club on

its centennial anniversary
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H.C.R. 272
House concurrent resolution honoring the South Burlington Community
Library children’s librarian Marje Von Ohlsen

S.C.R. 41
Senate concurrent resolution in memory of former Representative and Senator
Nancy Chard

S.C.R. 42
Senate concurrent resolution congratulating Ruth (Riddick) McLaine of St.
Johnsbury on her 100th birthday

S.C.R. 43
Senate concurrent resolution congratulating Julie Brill on her confirmation as a
member of the Federal Trade Commission

Information Notice

CROSS OVER GUIDELINES

The following are the guidelines concerning cross over :

1. All bills should be reported out of committee and brought into the
Clerk’s office by Friday March 12, 2010. This does not apply to the
Appropriations bill, the Capital Construction bill or the Transportation
Construction bill.

2. The Appropriations and Ways & Means committees need to have their
bills reported out and brought into the Clerk’s office by Friday, March
19, 2010.

INFORMATION NOTICE

The following items were recently received by the Joint Fiscal Committee:

JFO #2433 –– $3,999,923 grant from the U.S. Department of Labor to
the Vermont Department of Labor. These funds will be used to study the
demand for Green Jobs in Vermont and the northeast. Vermont will act as the
lead administrative state for this collaboration with Massachusetts,
Connecticut, Maine, New York, New Hampshire, and the District of Columbia.
Vermont's share of this award is approximately $530,000. The establishment of
two (2) limited service positions are associated with this request, as is the
retention of two existing positions. This grant is awarded under the American
Recovery and Reinvestment Act.

[JFO received 3/4/10]

JFO #2434 –– $10,466 grant from the University of Vermont to
Agriculture, Food & Markets. These funds will be used to provide oversight of
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the voluntary Johne's disease program, review risk assessment and
management plans, and process invoices for participating veterinarians.

[JFO received 3/4/10]

JFO #2435 –– $40,000 donation from the Watershed Center (Bristol,
Vermont) to the Department of Fish & Wildlife. This funding represents 25%
of the of the purchase price for a conservation easement in the Town of Bristol.

[JFO received 3/09/10]

JFO #2436 –– $951,000 grant from the U.S. Department of Labor to
the Department of Disabilities, Aging and Independent Living. This grant will
be used to further develop a statewide employment-focused Neuro-Resource
Facilitation (NRF) System for disabled veterans with Traumatic Brain Injury in
Vermont. This grant includes a request for two limited service positions.

[JFO received 3/09/10]

JFO #2437 –– $293,998 grant from the U.S. Department of Health &
Human Services to the Office of Vermont Health Access. This grant will be
used to support the development of a State Medicaid Health Information
Technology Plan (SMHP). The establishment of two (2) limited service
positions are associated with this request. This grant is awarded under the
American Recovery and Reinvestment Act.

[JFO received 3/09/10]


