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ORDERSOF THE DAY

ACTION CALENDAR
Third Reading
H. 498
An act relating to maintenance of private roads
H. 578

An act relating to requiring all state law enforcement officers to serve under
the direction and control of the commissioner of public safety

Favor able with amendment
H. 88

An act relating to adding a dental assistant to the state board of dental
examiners

Rep. Townsend of Randolph, for the Committee on Gover nment
Operations, recommends the bill be amended by striking all after the enacting
clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 26 V.SA. § 761 is amended to read:

§ 761. STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS; CREATION;
QUALIFICATIONS

The state board of dental examiners is created and shall consist of five six
denta practitioners of good standing, who have practiced in this state for a
period of five years or more, are in active practice, and are legal residents of
the state of Vermont, two registered dental hygienists certified pursuant to
subchapter 4 of this chapter, who have practiced in the state of Vermont for a
period of three years immediately preceding the appointment, are in active
practice and are lega residents of the state of Vermont, one dental assistant
registered pursuant to section 863 of this title who has practiced in the state of
Vermont for a period of three years immediately preceding the appointment, is
in active practice and is a legal resident of the state of Vermont, and two
members of the public not associated with the practice of dentistry. Board
members shall be appointed by the governor pursuant to sections 129b and
2004 of Title 3. No member of the board may be an officer or serve on a
committee of his or her respective state or local professiona dental or dental
hygienist organization nor shall any member of the board be on the faculty of a
school of dentistry or dental hygiene.
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and that after passage the title of the bill be amended to read: "An act relating
to adding one more dentist and one dental assistant to the state board of dental
examiners".

( Committee Vote: 10-0-1)
H. 647

An act relating to misclassification of employees to lower premiums for
workers' compensation and unemployment compensation

Rep. Kitzmiller of Montpélier, for the Committee on Commerce and
Economic Development, recommends the bill be amended by striking all after
the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 21 V.S.A. §692 is amended to read:
8§692. PENALTIES

(@) If after a hearing under section 688 of this title, the commissioner
determines that an employer has failed to comply with the provisions of
section 687 of this title, the employer shall be assessed an administrative
penaty of not more than $100.00 for every day for the first seven days the

employer neglected to secure liability, and not more than $150.00 for every

workers—compensation—nsurance—is—secured: I, after investigation, the
commissioner determines that an employer has failed to comply with the
provisions of section 687 of thistitle, the commissioner shall issue a stop-work
order requiring the immediate cessation of all operations of that employer at
every site on which thereis a violation. An employer that is issued an initial
stop-work order shall be assessed an administrative penalty of $250.00 for
each employee for each day of noncompliance, beginning one business day
after the order is issued. An employer that is issued a second or subsequent
stop-work order shal be assessed an administrative penalty of $250.00 for
each employee for each day of noncompliance, beginning when the order is
issued. Except as provided in subsection (€) of this section, the order is
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effective on service on the employer and shall be posted upon receipt at each
affected work site.  The stop-work order shall remain in effect until the
commissioner determines that the employer is no longer in violation and is in
compliance with the requirements of this chapter, and the commissioner issues

an order lifting the stop-work order. Upon making the determination, the
commissioner shall issue the order without delay.

An employer subject to a stop-work order may appeal the order to the
commissioner after securing workers compensation insurance. The appedl
must_be made within ten days after service of the order. The commissioner
shall hold a hearing and render a decision no later than five days after the
appeal isfiled. The stop-work order shall not be in effect during the pendency
of the appeal. No administrative pendties shall be assessed from the time of
the hearing until a decision is rendered. The stop-work order shall be lifted,
and any administrative penalty assessed under subsection (b) of this section
shall be rescinded if the commissioner finds that the employer was not in
violation of section 687 of thistitle.

(d) Pursuant to 29 V.SA. 8161, an employer against whom a valid
stop-work order has been issued is prohibited from contracting, directly or
indirectly, with the state or any of its subdivisions for up to three years
following the date of the issuance of the valid stop-work order.

(e) When there are multiple employers at a worksite, the stop-work order
shall bein effect only against the employer that was issued the order, and shall
take effect 24 hours after it is served.

(f) A stop-work order issued under this section may be served by an agent
of the commissioner, who shall make return in the same manner as sheriffs,
deputy sheriffs, or constables make after serving a summons.

Sec. 2. 21 V.SA. § 708 isamended to read:
8§708. PENALTY FOR FALSE REPRESENTATIONS

(@) Action by the commissioner of labor. A person who willfully makes a
false statement or representation, for the purpose of obtaining any benefit or
payment under the provisions of this chapter, either for her—or himself or
herself or for any other person, after notice and opportunity for hearing, may
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be assessed an administrative penaty of not more than $5,000.00 $20,000.00
total, and shall forfeit all or a portion of any right to compensation under the
provisions of this chapter, as determined to be appropriate by the
commissioner after a determination by the commissioner that the person has
willfully made a false statement or representation of amaterial fact.

(b) When the department of labor has sufficient reason to believe that an
employer has made a false statement or representation for the purpose of
obtaining a lower workers' compensation premium, the department shall refer
the alleged violation to the commissioner of banking, insurance, securities, and
health care administration for the commissioner’s consideration of
enforcement pursuant to 8 V.S.A. 8 3661(c).

(c) Any penalty assessed or order issued under this chapter or 8 V.S.A.
8 3661 shall continue in effect against any successor employer that has one or
more of the same principals or corporate officers as the employer against
which the penalties were assessed or order issued and is engaged in the same
or similar business.

(d) Notwithstanding the assessment of an administrative penaty under this
section, a person may be prosecuted under 13 V.S.A. § 2024.

Sec. 3. 21 V.S A. § 710 isamended to read:
8§ 710. UNLAWFUL DISCRIMINATION

* * %

(c) At the request of an individua who has alleged that an employer has
made a false statement or misclassified employees, the department shall not
include the individual's name or contact information in any publication or
public report, unless required by law.

(d) _An employer shall not retaliate or take any other negative employment
action against an individual because the employer knows or suspects that the
individual has filed a complaint with the department or other authority, or
reported a violation of this chapter, or cooperated in an investigation of
mi sclassification, discrimination, or other violation of this chapter.

(e) The attorney general or a state' s attorney may enforce the provisions of
this section by restraining prohibited acts, seeking civil penalties, obtaining
assurance, and conducting civil investigations in accordance with the
procedures established in sections 2458-2461 of Title 9 as though
discrimination under this section were an unfair act in commerce.
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Sec. 4. 8V.S.A. §3661 isamended to read:

§ 3661. CEASE AND DESIST POWERS; PROSECUTIONS AND
PENALTIES

(8 When the commissioner believes that an insurer or an officer or agent
thereof of the insurer, or any other person, has violated the law, an
administrative rule of the department, or an order of the commissioner relating
to insurance, or has not complied with its requirements, he—er—she the
commissioner may take any or all of the following actions:

(1) mray-tssue-an-order Order the person to cease and desist sueh the
violation or activity. Sueh-an The order shal-be is subject to de novo judicial
review in the Washington superior court, but sdeh the review shall not stay the
enforcement of the commissioner’s order while under review, unless the court
shall so determine after a preliminary hearing that a stay of enforcement will
not unduly injure the interests of the people of the state, in which case a stay of
execution may be granted;.

(2) may-repert Report each violation with any related information he-er
she-has—relating—thereto to the attorney general who shall may prosecute
therefer—kf—heeesheeeemsrn—adwaebte The offender shaII be flned not more
than $2,000.00 as-a+es g . . |-—an
for a conviction.

(3) may—after After notice and opportunity for hearing, impose a civil
administrative penalty of not more than $1,000.00 for each violation, and not
more than $10,000.00 for each willful violation.

(b) The powers vested in the commissioner by this section shall be in
addition to any other powers to enforce pendlties, fines, or forfeitures
authorized by law with respect to violations of the law relating to insurance,
except that the commissioner shall not impose an administrative penalty under
subdivision (a)(3) of this section if the commissioner may impose another
administrative penaty authorized by law for the same violation.

(c) An employer who makes a false statement or representation that results
in a lower workers compensation premium, after notice and opportunity for
hearing before the commissioner, may be assessed an administrative penalty of
not more than $20,000.00 in addition to any other appropriate penalty.

* * x
Sec. 5. 29 V.S.A. § 161 isamended to read:
§161. REQUIREMENTS ON STATE CONSTRUCTION PROJECTS
(a) Bids; selection.
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* * %

(b) Each contract awarded under this section for any state project with a
construction cost exceeding $100,000.00 and which is authorized or funded in
whole or in part by a capital construction act pursuant to section 70la of
Title 32, including such a project of the University of Vermont and State
Agricultural College and of the Vermont State Colleges, shall provide that all
construction employees working on the project shall be paid no less than the
mean prevailing wage published periodically by the department of labor in its
occupational employment and wage survey.

(c) In the construction of any state project, local capable labor shall be
utilized whenever practicable, but this section shall not be construed to compel
any person to discharge or lay off any regular employee.

(d) Fhis Subsections (a) through (c) of this section shall not apply to
maintenance or construction projects carried out by the agency of
transportation and of the department of forests, parks and recreation.

(e) An employer who violates 13 V.SA. §2024, 21 V.S.A. 8708, or
8 V.S.A. §3661, who fails to accurately classify one or more individuals as
employees or otherwise misclassifies or omits an employee for the purposes of
avoiding the requirements of chapter 5, 9, or 17 of Title 21, or has been issued
a valid stop-work order pursuant to 21 V.SA. 8692, is prohibited from
contracting, directly or indirectly, with the state or any of its subdivisions for a
period of up to three years from the date of the violation. The duration of the
prohibition shall be determined based on the seriousness of the violation in
consideration of any or all of the following:

(1) Thesize of the employer’s business.

(2) Thelength of time the contractor was not in compliance with chapter
5,9, 0or 17 of Title 21.

(3) _The number of individuals who were inaccurately classified.

(4) Whether the employer paid any penaty for failure to be in
compliance with chapter 5, 9, or 17 of Title 21.

(5) Whether the employer is in good standing with an agreed-upon
payment plan.

(6) The number of times the contractor was not in compliance with
chapter 5, 9, or 17 of Title 21 or has been subject to stop-work orders.

(f) The agencies of administration and of transportation shall publish on
their websites the name of any employer that has been barred from being
awarded state contracts under subsection (€) of this section.
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Sec. 6. 21 V.S A. 8 1314 isamended to read:
8§ 1314. -REPORTS AND RECORDS

* * %

(h) Any employing unit which fails to report employment and separation
information with respect to a claimant and wages paid to a claimant required
under subsection (b) of this section shall be subject to a penalty of $35.00
$100.00 for each sueh report not received by the prescribed due date, which
penaty shal be collected in the manner provided for the collection of
contributions in section 1329 of this title and shall be paid into the contingent
fund provided in section 1365 of thistitle. If the employing unit demonstrates
that its failure was due to a reasonable cause, the commissioner may, in his or
her discretion, waive the penalty.

Sec. 7. 21 V.SA. 8 1314ais amended to read:
§1314a. -QUARTERLY WAGE REPORTING REQUIRED

* * %

(@) Any employing unit or employer which fails to file any report
required by this section shall be subject to a penalty of $35.:00 $100.00 for each
sdeh report not received by the prescribed due dates, which shall be collected
in the manner provided for the collection of contributions in section 1329 of
thistitle and shall be paid into the contingent fund provided in section 1365 of
this title. If the employing unit demonstrates that its failure was due to a
reasonabl e cause, the commissioner may waive or reduce the penalty.

(2) Any employing unit or employer that fails to properly classify an
individual regarding the status of employment is subject to a penalty of not
more than $5,000.00 for each improperly classified employee which shal be
collected in the manner provided for the collection of contributions in section
1329 of thistitle and shall be paid into the contingent fund provided in section
1365 of thistitle. If the employing unit demonstrates that its failure was due to
areasonable cause, the commissioner may waive the penalty.

* * *

Sec. 8. 21 V.S.A. § 1328 is amended to read:
§1328. FILING REPORTS; FAILURE

The commissioner shall impose a penalty of $35:00 $250.00 for each failure
by an employer to file any contribution report required under section 1322 of
this title on or before the date on which the report is due, which shall be
collected in the manner provided for the collection of contributions in section
1329 of thistitle and shall be paid into the contingent fund provided in section

- 375-



1365 of this title. If the employer demonstrates that its failure was due to a
reasonabl e cause, the commissioner may waive or reduce the penalty.

Sec. 9. 21 V.S.A. § 1369 is amended to read:
8§1369. FALSE STATEMENTSTO AVOID CHAPTER

A person shall not wilfully and-Htentionalhy-make make a fal se statement or
representation to avoid becoming or remaining subject to this chapter, or to
avoid or reduce a contribution or other payment required of an employer under
this chapter.

Sec. 10. 21 V.S.A. 8 1373 isamended to read:
8§ 1373. GENERAL PENALTY

A person who violates a provision of this chapter or any lawful rule or
regulation of the board, for which no other penalty is provided, shall be fined
not more than $56.00 $5,000.00 or be imprisoned not more than 30 days, or
both.

Sec. 11. EMPLOYEE MISCLASSIFICATION; INTERAGENCY
COOPERATION; REPORT

(a) The agency of administration shall ensure that all state agencies and
departments share information concerning any employer that appears to have
misclassified one or more employees as independent contractors.

(b) Upon determining that an employer misclassified one or more
employees as independent contractors, the commissioner of the department of
labor shall notify the division administering unemployment insurance Services,
the division of workers' compensation, the department of taxes, and the
attorney general, each of which shall investigate the employer’s compliance
with applicable state laws.

(c) The commissioner of the department of [abor, the commissioner of the
department of taxes, and the attorney general shall develop memoranda of
understanding regarding the employee misclassification provisions of this
section. The memoranda shall describe procedures regarding the investigation
of employee misclassification, information sharing, enforcement, and any other
subject necessary to implement the provisions of this section.

(d) The department of labor shall conduct public education and outreach
concerning empl oyee misclassification.

(e) The department of banking, insurance, securities, and health care
administration and the department of labor shall make an annual report on or
before January 15th to the house committee on commerce and economic
development and the senate committee on economic development, housing and
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general affairs regarding their investigation and enforcement efforts as they
relate to employee misclassification and the enforcement of Vermont labor
standards more generdly, including all the following:

(1) The number and outcome of departmental audits and investigations.

(2) An assessment of the efficacy of the new workers compensation
fraud staff positions created in Sec. 106 of No. 54 of the Acts of 2009.

(3) Thefinancia costs of misclassification and miscoding.

(4) The success of employee misclassification public education and
outreach.

Sec. 12. DEPARTMENT OF LABOR EMPLOYEE MISCLASSIFICATION
REPORTING SYSTEM

The department of labor shall create and maintain an online employee
misclassification reporting system. The system shall be designed to alow
citizens to make reports of suspected cases of employee misclassification to the
department. The department shall ensure that the name of a citizen making a
report is kept confidential.

Sec. 13. INSURANCE COMPLIANCE AND FRAUD TASK FORCE

(&) There is created an insurance compliance and fraud task force to be
composed of nine members to include the following:

(1) The commissioner of banking, insurance, securities, and hedth care
administration or designee.

(2) The commissioner of the department of labor or designee.

(3) The commissioner of the department of public safety or designee.

(4) The attorney genera or designee.

(5) Two members of the house to be appointed by the speaker.

(6) Two members of the senate to be appointed by the committee on
committees.

(7) A member of the insurance industry appointed by the American
Insurance A ssoci ation.

(b) The speaker of the house of representatives and the president pro
tempore of the senate, in consultation, shall select achair of the task force from
amongq its appointed members.

(c) The task force shall meet as needed. Legislative council and the joint
fiscal office shall provide administrative support.
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(d) Thetask force shall:

(1) Solicit broad-based input from insurers and members of law
enforcement on the development of an insurance compliance and fraud bureau
similar to the Massachusetts model and analyze the following issues and make
recommendations regarding:

(A) The feasibility of creating an insurance compliance and fraud
bureau in Vermont, including the costs to the state to implement, administer,
and oversee the bureau.

(B) The likely impact of an insurance compliance and fraud bureau
on the incidence of insurance fraud in the state.

(C)  The structure of an insurance compliance and fraud bureau,
including how it would be created, how it would operate, and its relationship to
state agencies, law enforcement, and private insurers.

(D) Thetypes of insurance fraud that the bureau would investigate.

(E) The costs and benefits of creating a tri-state insurance and
compliance fraud bureau with New Hampshire and Maine.

(F) Thetimdine for the creation and implementation of an insurance
compliance and fraud bureau.

(G) The fines and pendlties for insurance fraud, including debarment,
and whether they should be changed.

(H) Any other relevant issues regarding the creation and operation of
an insurance compliance and fraud bureau.

(2) Issue afinal report on or before January 15, 2011. The final report
shal be provided to the house committee on commerce and economic
development and the senate committee on economic development, housing and
generd affairs and shall outline the task force's findings and recommendations.

Sec. 14. EFFECTIVE DATES

This section and Secs. 11, 12, and 13 shall take effect July 1, 2010. The
remaining sections shall take effect on January 1, 2011.

( Committee Vote: 11-0-0)

H. 695
An act relating to definition of premises for award of liquor license

Rep. Baker of West Rutland, for the Committee on General, Housing
and Military Affairs, recommends the bill be amended by striking all after the
enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:
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Sec. 1. 7V.SA. 82(15) isamended to read:

(15) “Manufacturer’s or rectifier's license”: a license granted by the
liquor control board that permits the holder to manufacture or rectify, as the
case may be, malt beverages and vinous beverages for export and for sale to
bottlers or wholesale dealers, or spirituous liquors for export and for sale to the
liquor control board, upon application of a manufacturer or rectifier and the
payment to the liquor control board of the license fee as required by
subdivision 231(1) of thistitle for either license. The liquor control board may
grant to a licensed manufacturer or rectifier a first class restaurant or cabaret
license or first and third class restaurant or cabaret license permitting the
licensee to sdll acoholic beverages to the public only at the manufacturer’s
premises. A manufacturer of malt beverages who also holds a first class
restaurant or cabaret license may serve to a customer malt beverages by the
glass, not to exceed eight glasses at one time and not to exceed four ounces in
each glass. The liquor control board may grant to a licensed manufacturer or a
rectifier of malt or vinous beverages a second class license permitting the
licensee to sell acoholic beverages to the public only at the manufacturer’s or
rectifier’s premises, which for the purposes of a manufacturer of malt
beverages, includes any licensed establishment that is located on the
contiguous real estate of the holder of the manufacturer’s license, provided the
manufacturer owns or has direct control over those establishments. A licensed
manufacturer or rectifier of vinous beverages may serve, with or without
charge, at an event held on premises of the licensee or the vineyard property
vinous and malt beverages, provided the licensee gives the department written
notice of the event, including details required by the department, at least 15
days before the event. Any beverages not manufactured by the licensee and
served at the event shall be purchased on invoice from a licensed manufacturer
or wholesale dealer. Upon application and payment of the license fee as
required by subdivision 231(11) of thistitle, the liquor control board may grant
to a licensed manufacturer or rectifier of vinous beverages fourth class or
farmers’ market licenses permitting the licensee to sell fortified wines and
vinous beverages by the bottle to the public at the licensed premises or a a
farmers market, provided that the beverages were produced by the
manufacturer or rectifier. No more than a combined total of ten fourth class
and farmers market licenses may be granted to any licensed manufacturer or
rectifier. An application for a farmers’ market license shall include copies of
the farmers’ market regulations, the agreement between the farmers' market
and the applicant, and the location and dates of operation of the farmers
market. A farmers market license shall be valid for all dates of operation for a
specific farmers’ market location. However, in no case may a person with an
interest in more than one manufacturer’s or rectifier's license have an interest
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in more than four fourth class licenses. The manufacturer or rectifier shall pay
directly to the commissioner of taxes the sum of $0.265 cents per galon for
every gallon of malt beverage and the sum of $0.55 cents per galon for each
galon of vinous beverage manufactured by the manufacturer or rectifier and
provided for sale pursuant to the first class license or the second class license
or the fourth class license or combination thereof held by the manufacturer or
rectifier. Holders of a manufacturer’s or rectifier's second class license for
malt beverages may distribute, with or without charge, malt beverages by the
glass, not to exceed two ounces per product and eight ounces in total, to all
persons of legal drinking age. The malt beverages must be consumed upon the
premises of the holder of the license. At the request of a person holding afirst
class or second class license, a holder of a manufacturer’s or rectifier’s license
for malt beverages may distribute without charge to the management and staff
of the license holder, provided they are of legal drinking age, no more than
four ounces per person of a malt beverage for the purpose of promoting the
beverage. Written notice shall be provided to the department of liquor control
at least 10 days prior to the date of the tasting. A licensed manufacturer or
rectifier of spirits may do either or both of the following only on the
manufacturer’s or rectifier’ s premises:

(A) Sl by the glass or bottle to the public spirits manufactured by the
licensee.

(B) Dispense by the glass, with or without charge, spirits
manufactured by the licensee, provided that no more than one quarter ounce
per product and no more than one ounce in total is dispensed to each individual

of legal age.
Sec. 2. EFFECTIVE DATE
This bill shall take effect on passage.
( Committee Vote: 8-0-0)
Action Postponed Until May 28, 2010
GovernorsVeto
H. 436

An act relating to decommissioning funds of nuclear energy generation
plants.

Pending Question: Shall the House sustain the Governor's veto?
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NOTICE CALENDAR
Committee Bill for Second Reading
H. 769
An act relating to the licensing and inspection of plant and tree nurseries.
(Rep. Taylor of Barre City will speak for the Committee on Agriculture.)
Favorable with Amendment
H. 614
An act relating to the regulation of composting

Rep. McCullough of Williston, for the Committee on Fish, Wildlife &
Water Resources, recommends the bill be amended by striking all after the
enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 10 V.S.A. § 6001(3)(D) is amended to read:
(D) Theword “development” does not include:

* * %

(vii) The construction of improvements below the elevation of
2,500 feet for the onsite storage, preparation, and sale of compost, provided
that the chair of the district commission does not determine, in hisor her
discretion, that action has been taken to circumvent the requirements of this

chapter and:

(1) The compost is produced from no more than 100 cubic
yards of material per year; or

(11) The compost is principally produced from inputs grown or
produced on the farm; or

(111) The compost is principally used on the farm where it was

produced; or

(1V) The compost is produced on afarm primarily used for the
raising, feeding, or management of livestock, only from:

(aa) manure produced on the farm; and

(bb) unlimited clean, dry, high-carbon bulking agents from

any source; or

(V) The compost is produced on afarm primarily used for the
raising, feeding, or management of livestock, only from:

(aa) manure produced on the farm:;
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(bb) upto 2,000 cubic yards per year of organic inputs
alowed under the agency of natural resources acceptable management
practices, including food residuals or manure from off the farm, or both; and

(cc) unlimited clean, dry, high-carbon bulking agents from

any source; or

(V1) The compost is produced on afarm primarily used for the
cultivation or growing of food, fiber, horticultural, or orchard crops, that
complies with the agency of natural resources’ solid waste management rules,
only from up to 5,000 cubic yards per year of total organic inputs allowed
under the agency of natural resources acceptable management practices,
including up to 2,000 cubic yards per year of food residuals.

Sec. 2. 10 V.S.A. 8 6001(3)(E) is amended to read:

(E) When development is proposed to occur on a parcel or tract of
land that is devoted to farming activity as defined in subdivision 6001(22) of
this section, only those portions of the parcel or the tract that support the
development shall be subject to regulation under this chapter. Permits issued
under this chapter shall not impose conditions on other portions of the parcel or
tract of land which do not support the development and that restrict or conflict
with accepted agricultural practices adopted by the secretary of agriculture,
food and markets. Any portion of the tract that is used to produce compost
ingredients for a composting facility located el sewhere on the tract shall not
constitute land which supports the development unlessit is also used for some
other purpose that supports the development.

Sec. 3. 10V.S.A. § 6001(31) and (32) are added to read:

(31) “Farm,” for purposes of subdivisions (3)(D)(vii)(V) and (V1) of this
section, means a parcel of land devoted primarily to farming, asfarming is
defined in subdivision (22)(A) or (B) of this section, and from which parcel,
annual gross income from farming, as defined in subdivision 6001(22) of this
title, exceeds the annual gross income from a composting operation on that
parcel; and

(A) for purposes of subdivision 6001(3)(D)(vii)(V) of thistitle, uses
no more than 10 acres or 10 percent of the parcel, whichever is smaller, for
commercia compost management, not including land used for liquid nutrients

management;

(B) for purposes of subdivision 6001(3)(D)(vii)(VI) of thistitle, uses
no more than four acres or 10 percent of the parcel, whichever is smaler, for
commercia compost management, not including land used for liquid nutrients

management.
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(32) “Livestock” means cattle, sheep, goats, equines, fallow deer, red
deer, American bison, swine, water buffa o, poultry, pheasant, chukar
partridge, courtnix quail, camelids, ratites (ostriches, rheas, and emus), |lamas,
apacas, yaks, rabbits, cultured trout propagated by commercial trout farmers,
or other animal types designated by the secretary of agriculture, food and
markets by procedure.

Sec. 4. EFFECTIVE DATE
This act shall take effect upon passage.
( Committee Vote: 9-0-0)

H. 709
An act relating to creating a prekindergarten—16 council

Rep. Peltz of Woodbury, for the Committee on Education, recommends
the bill be amended by striking al after the enacting clause and inserting in
lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. POLICY

It isthe policy of the state of Vermont to encourage and enable all
Vermonters to acquire the postsecondary education and training necessary for
the state to develop and maintain a highly educated and engaged citizenry and
a competitive workforce.

Sec. 2. 16 V.S.A. § 2905 is added to read:

§ 2905. PREKINDERGARTEN-16 COUNCIL

(a) A prekindergarten—16 council (the “council”) is created to help
coordinate and better align the efforts of the prekindergarten—12 educational
system with the higher education community in order to increase:

(1) postsecondary aspirations,

(2) the enrollment of Vermont high school graduates in higher education
programs,

(3) the postsecondary degree completion rates of Vermont students; and

(4) public awareness of the economic, intellectual, and societal benefits
of higher education.

(b) The council shall be composed of:
(1) the commissioner of education or designee;

(2) the commissioner of labor or designee;

(3) the president of the University of Vermont or designee;
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(4) the chancdllor of the Vermont State Colleges or designee;

(5) the president of the Vermont Student A ssistance Corporation or
designee;

(6) the president of the Association of Vermont |ndependent Colleges or
designee;

(7) aprincipal of asecondary school selected by the Vermont
Principals Association;

(8) amember of a school board selected by the Vermont School Boards
Association;

(9) asuperintendent selected by the Vermont Superintendents
Association;

(10) ateacher selected by the Vermont-National Education Association;
(11) amember of the Building Bright Futures Council or designee;

(12) atechnical education director selected by the Vermont Association
of Career and Technica Center Directors;

(13) arepresentative from the business and industry community selected
by the Vermont Business Roundtable;

(14) an advocate for low income children sdl ected by Voices for
Vermont's Children;

(15) amember of the house of representatives, who shall be selected by
the speaker and shall serve until the beginning of the biennium immediately
after the one in which the member is appointed;

(16) amember of the senate, who shall be selected by the committee on
committees and shall serve until the beginning of the biennium immediately
after the one in which the member is appointed; and

(17) amember of the faculty of the Vermont State Colleges, the
University of Vermont, or aVermont independent college selected by United
Professions AFT Vermont, Inc.

(c) The council shall develop and regularly update a statewide plan to
increase postsecondary aspirations among students of all ages and otherwise
advance the purposes for which the council is created, which shall include

strategies to:

(1) increase the percentage of Vermonters who earn an associate' s or
higher level degree or a postsecondary certification;
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(2) identify and address areas of educator preparation that could benefit
from improved collaboration between the prekindergarten—12 educational
system and the higher education community;

(3) promote early career awareness and nurture postsecondary
aspirations;

(4) develop programs that guarantee college admission and financial aid
for low income students who successfully complete early commitment
reguirements;

(5) enhance student engagement in secondary school, ensuring that
|earning opportunities are relevant, rigorous, and personalized and that all
students aspire to and prepare for success in postsecondary learning
opportunities,

(6) expand access to dual enrollment programsin order to serve students
of varying interests and abilities, including those who are likely to attend
college, those who are from groups that attend college at disproportionately
low rates, and those who are prepared for a postsecondary curriculum prior to
graduation from secondary school;

(7) _develop proposals for statewide college and career readiness
standards and assessments,

(8) create incentives for adults to begin or continue their postsecondary
education that consider, in part, emerging labor markets; and

(9) ensure implementation of a prekindergarten—16 longitudinal data
system, which it shall use to assess the success of the plan required by this
subsection.

(d) Together with the secretary of administration or the secretary’s
designee, a higher education subcommittee of the council shall perform any
statutory duties required of it in connection with the higher education
endowment trust fund. The following members of the council shall be the
members of the higher education subcommittee: the president of the
University of Vermont, the chancellor of the Vermont State Colleges, the
president of the Vermont Student Assistance Corporation, the president of the
Association of Vermont Independent Colleges, the representative from the
business and industry community, the member of the house of representatives,
and the member of the senate.

(e) Thelegidative and higher education staff shall provide support to the
council as appropriate to accomplish its tasks. Primary administrative support
shall be provided by the legidative council.

(f) For attendance at meetings during adjournment of the general assembly,
legislative members of the council shall be entitled to compensation and
reimbursement for expenses as provided in 2 V.S.A. § 406, which shall be paid
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for by the general assembly. Members of the council identified in subdivisions
(b)(7)—(14) of this section who are not state employees and whose participation
is not otherwise reimbursed shall be entitled to compensation and
reimbursement for expenses for attending meetings at the per-diem rate
established in 32 V.S.A. § 1010, which shall be paid on a pro-rata basis by the
University of Vermont, the Vermont State Colleges, the Vermont Student
Assistance Corporation, and the Association of Vermont |ndependent

Colleges.

(q) The council shall annually elect one of its membersto be chair.
(h) The council shall meet at least six times yearly.
(i) The council shall report on its activities to the house and senate
committees on education each year in January.
Sec. 3. 16 V.S.A. § 2885 is amended to read:

§2885. VERMONT HIGHER EDUCATION ENDOWMENT TRUST FUND

* * %

(d) During thefirst quarter of each fiscal year, beginingHa-theyear2000;
the eermmission-on-higher-education-funding secretary of administration or the

secretary’ s designee and the higher education subcommittee of the
prekindergarten—16 council created in section 2905 of this title may authorize
the state treasurer to make an amount equal to up to two percent of the assets
available to Vermont public institutions for the purpose of creating or
increasing a permanent endowment. In this subsection, “assets’ means the
average of the fund’'s market values at the end of each quarter for the most
recent 12 quarters, or al quarters of operation, whichever isless. Therefore,
up to two percent of the fund assets are hereby annually allocated pursuant to
this section, provided that the amount alocated shall not exceed an amount
which would bring the fund balance below the initial funding made in fiscal
year 2000 plus any additional contributionsto the principal. One-haf of the
amount allocated shall be available to the University of Vermont and one-half
shall be available to the Vermont state-eeHeges State Colleges. The University
of Vermont or Vermont state-ceHeges State Colleges may withdraw funds
upon certification by the withdrawing institution to the commissioner of
finance and management that it has received private donations which are
double the amount it plans to withdraw.

(e) Annualy, by September 30, the state treasurer shall render afinancial
report on the receipts, disbursements and earnings of the fund for the preceding
fiscal year to the commission-on-highereducationfunding secretary of
administration or the secretary’ s designee and the higher education
subcommittee.
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(f) All balancesin the fund at the end of any fiscal year shall be carried
forward and used only for the purposes set forth in this section. Earnings of
the fund which are not withdrawn pursuant to this section shall remain in the
fund.

() _The University of Vermont, the Vermont State Colleges, and the
Vermont Student Assistance Corporation shall review expenditures made from
the fund, evaluate the impact of the expenditures on higher education in
Vermont, and report this information to the state treasurer each year in

January.
Sec. 4. REPEAL

16 V.S.A. § 2886 (commission on higher education funding) is repealed,
and the commission shall cease to exist on the effective date of this act.

Sec. 5. IMPLEMENTATION

(a) All members of the prekindergarten—16 council created in Sec. 2 of this
act shall be selected before August 1, 2010.

(b) The commissioner of education shall convene the first meeting of the
prekindergarten—16 council before September 1, 2010.

(c) The strategies devel oped by the prekindergarten—16 council pursuant to
subdivision 2(c)(1) of this act shall include the goal of ensuring that at |east 60
percent of the adult population will have earned an associate's or higher-leve
degree by 2020.

Sec. 6. EFFECTIVE DATE
This act shall take effect on passage.
(Committee Vote: 9-1-1)

S. 280
An act relating to prohibiting texting while operating on a highway

Rep. Grad of Moretown, for the Committee on Judiciary, recommends
the bill be amended by striking al after the enacting clause and inserting in
lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. SHORT TITLE

This act shall be known as and may be cited as the “Highway Traffic Safety
Act of 2010.”

* * * | egidative Findings* * *
Sec. 2. LEGISLATIVE FINDINGS
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The genera assembly finds that:
* * * General Findings™* * *

(1) In December 2006, the governor transmitted to the Division
Administrator of the Federal Highway Administration the Strategic Highway
Plan for Vermont that stated “The first half of 2006 was trending toward a near
record-breaking year for highway deaths and incapacitating injuries.” In
response to this trend, the Strategic Highway Safety Plan for Vermont was
created with the mission to “minimize the occurrence and severity of crashes,
related human suffering, and economic losses on the Vermont transportation
network.”

(2) According to the governor’'s highway safety office, traffic crashes
cost the nation about $230 hillion each year in medical expenses, lost
productivity, property damage, and related costs. Vermont pays $221 million
of those costs. In 2008, workplace traffic crash injuries cost Vermonters more
than $39 million.

(3) According to the governor’s highway safety program, each highway
fatality cost the state of Vermont more than $900,000.00.

(4) In recognition of the terrible toll in terms of human suffering and
financial loss resulting from motor vehicle crashes, on July 6, 2006, the
Vermont department of health's injury prevention program hosted the 2006
Symposium on Preventing Crashes Among Y oung Drivers at the Inn at Essex,
Vermont. The symposium brought together key leaders in highway safety,
transportation, public heath, and youth development for an in-depth
multidisciplinary exploration of the causes of crashes among young drivers and
opportunities for prevention.

* * * Teen Driving Safety * * *

(1) The Strategic Highway Safety Plan for Vermont of 2006, signed by
the governor and endorsed by state agencies, stated that “new language”
should be added to the existing graduated driver license legisation to achieve:

(A) Restrictions on passengersin cars driven by young drivers.

(B) Nighttime limitations for younqg drivers.
(C) Primary safety belt enforcement to the age of 18.
(D) No cell phone or electronic device use by junior operators.

(2) From apublic health perspective, “motor vehicle crashes are among
the most serious problems facing teenagers.” (Anatomy of Crashes Involving
Y oung Drivers—Preventing Teen Motor Crashes.) According to the Centers for
Disease Control and Prevention, highway injuries and deaths constitute the
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largest reason for youth injuries and deaths, and therefore constitute a public
health risk warranting remedial action.

(3) According to these sources, the 2002 cost of crashes involving
drivers ages 20 through 25 was $40.8 billion (National Center for Injury
Prevention and Control, 2006).

(4) According to the Vermont Safety Education Center (VSEC), junior
operator passenger restrictions are essential _components of graduated
licensing. Crash risks for teenage drivers increase incrementally with one,
two, three, or more passengers. With three or more passengers, fatal crash risk
is about three times higher than if abeginner were driving alone.

(5) According to VSEC, the presence of passengers is a major
contributor to the teenage death toll. About two-thirds of al crash deaths of
teens that involve 16-year-old drivers occur when the beginners were driving
with teen passengers. Studies indicate that passenger restrictions can reduce

this problem.

(6) According to VSEC, four out of every 10 deaths of teens in motor
vehicles occur between 9:00 p.m. and 6:00 am. Nighttime is one of the
riskiest times of day for junior operators due to DUI, darkness, and sleep
deprivation in teens. Midnight to 2:00 am. is the most dangerous nighttime

period.

* * * Cgl| Phones and Electronic Devices* * *

(1) The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration policy on cell
phones states, “The primary responsibility of the driver is to operate a motor
vehicle safely. The task of driving requires full attention and focus. Cdll
phone use can distract drivers from this task, risking harm to themselves and
others. Therefore, the safest course of action is to refrain from using a cell
phone while driving.”

(2) Teens, driving, and cell phones are a dangerous mix due to teens
vulnerability to distractions and accidents (“Most Wanted Transportation
Safety Improvements,” National Transportation Safety Board, November

2008).

(3) In 2008, the National Safety Council called for a ban on cell phones
while driving, stating that “drivers talking on a cell phone are four times as
likely to have an accident as drivers who are not.”

* % % Sgfety Belts* * *

(1) States with primary enforcement average 10-percent higher usage
than states with secondary enforcement.
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(2) A crash involving an unrestrained person costs 55 percent more than
one involving someone who was restrained.

(3) Approximately 74 percent of the costs associated with crashes are
paid for by society; the victim pays the balance.

(4) Traffic crashes are not just an enforcement issue.
* * * Nighttime Restrictions * * *
Sec. 3. 23V.SA. §614(c) and (d) are added to read:

(c) A person operating with a junior operator’s license shall not operate a
motor vehicle between midnight and 5:00 am. except when accompanied by a
parent or guardian or when carrying the signed and dated written permission of
a parent or guardian that contains the parent’s or guardian’s home and work
addresses and tel ephone numbers.

(d) A person in violation of subsection (c) of this section shall be allowed
to drive home, on a direct route, following issuance of atraffic ticket by alaw
enforcement officer.

* * * Safety Restriction on the Use of Wireless Telephones and Handheld
Electronic Devices* * *

Sec. 4. 23V.S.A. § 1095ais added to read:

§ 1095a USE OF WIRELESS TELEPHONES AND HANDHELD
ELECTRONIC DEVICES

(a)(1) For the purposes of this section, “wireless telephone” shall mean a
telephone that is:

(A) capable of sending or receiving telephone communications
without being physically connected to atelephone wire or cord; and

(B) used pursuant to a subscription with a commercial entity that
provides wirel ess tel ephone service.

(2) “Wireless telephone” shall not be construed to include:

(A) atwo-way radio that is operated by using a push-to-talk feature
and does not reguire proximity to the ear of the user; or

(B) a communication feature of a voice-activated global positioning
or navigation system that is affixed within the passenger compartment of a
motor vehicle.

(b) For the purposes of this section, “hands-free use” shall refer to the use
of a mobile telephone or electronic communication device that has an internal
feature or function, or that is equipped with an attachment or addition, whether
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or _not permanently part of the mobile telephone or eectronic communication
device, by which a user engages in a conversation without the use of either
hand; provided, however, this definition shall not preclude the use of either
hand to activate, deactivate, or initiate a function of the telephone or device.

(c) Subject to the exceptions set forth in subsection (b) of this section, for
the purposes of this section, the term “use,” when referring to the utilization of
a wireless telephone or handheld electronic device, shall include telephone
calls, texting, and all other functions.

(d) A person under 18 years of age shall not use any wireless telephone or
handheld eectronic device while operating a moving motor vehicle on a
highway. This prohibition shall not apply if it is necessary to place an
emergency 911 call.

(e) A person 18 years of age or older shall not use a wireless telephone or
electronic communication device while operating a moving motor vehicle on a
highway. This prohibition shall not apply to:

(1) hands-free use;

(2) placement of an emergency 911 cal; or

(3) use by the following persons for the purpose of and during the
course of performing their officia duties:

(A) law enforcement officers;
(B) firefighters;

(C) operators of authorized emergency vehicles as defined in section
4 of thistitle; and

(D) state or municipal employees and their contractors who are
actively engaged in road mai ntenance activities.

Sec. 5. WIRELESS TELEPHONE AND HANDHELD ELECTRONIC
DEVICE REPORT

By July 1, 2012, the Vermont League of Cities and Towns, Inc., the
Vermont state firefighters association, and the Vermont department of public
safety, after consulting with their constituents and other appropriate entities
whether or not under their direct control, shall submit to the house committee
on judiciary areport regarding their constituents' progress toward utilization of
hands-free  communications technology in the course of motor vehicle

operation.
* * * Texting Prohibition, Penalties, and Educationa Campaign * * *
Sec. 6. 23V.SA. 81099 is added to read:
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§1099. TEXTING PROHIBITED

(&) As used in this section, “texting” means the composing, reading, or
sending of electronic _communications including text messages, instant
messages, or e-mails using a portable electronic device. As used in this
section, “portable electronic device” means a portable electronic or computing
device including a cellular telephone, personal digital assistant (PDA), or
|aptop computer.

(b) A person operating a moving motor vehicle, electric personal mobility
device, or farm tractor on a highway; or operating a moving snowmobile,
al-terrain vehicle (as defined in section 3501 of this title), or all-surface
vehicle on or off a highway; or operating a moving motorboat (as defined in
section 3302 of thistitle) shall not engage in texting.

(c) A person who violates this section commits a traffic violation as defined
in section 2302 of this title and shall be subject to a penaty of $100.00 upon
adjudication of a first violation and $250.00 upon adjudication of a second or
subseguent violation within any two-year period.

Sec. 7. 23V.SA. §607ais amended to read:

§ 607a. RECALL OF LEARNER’'S PERMIT OR JUNIOR OPERATOR'S
LICENSE

(@ A learner's permit or junior operator’s license shall contain an
admonition that it is recallable and that the later procurement of an operator’s
license is conditional on the establishment of a record which is satisfactory to
the commissioner and showing compliance with the motor vehicle laws of this
and other states. The commissioner may recall any license issued to a minor
whenever he or sheis satisfied, from information provided by a credible person
and upon investigation, that the operator is mentally or physically unfit or,
because of his or her habits or record as to accidents or convictions, is unsafe
to be trusted with the operation of motor vehicles. On recommendation of a
diversion or reparative board, the commissioner may recall the learner’ s permit
or junior operator’s license of aperson in adiversion or reparative program for
up to 30 days. The commissioner shall also recall any learner’s permit or
junior operator’s license for 30 days when an operator is adjudicated of a
single texting violation under section 1099 of this title, 90 days following
adjudication of a single speeding violation resulting in a three-point assessment
or, 90 days when atotal of six points has been accumulated, or 90 days when
an operator is eenvicted-for adjudicated of a violation of section 678 of this
titte. When alearner’s permit or junior operator’s licenseis so recalled, it shall
be reinstated upon expiration of a specific term, and, if required by the
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commissioner, when the person has passed a reexamination approved by the
commissione.

* % %
Sec. 8. 23V.S.A. § 2502 are amended to read:
§2502. POINT ASSESSMENT; SCHEDULE

(8 Any person operating a motor vehicle shall have points assessed against
his or her driving record for convictions for moving violations of the indicated
motor vehicle statutes in accord with the following schedule: (All references
areto Title 23 of the Vermont Statutes Annotated.)

(1) Two points assessed for:

(LL) § 1095. Operating with television set installed,;

(MM) 8§ 1099. Texting prohibited—first offense;

MMY(NN) 81113 Illegal backing;

NNYOO)  §1114. Illegd riding on motorcycles,

{o0)(PP) § 1115. Illegal operation of motorcycles on
roadways laned for traffic;

PR(QQ) §1116. Clinging to other vehicles,

Q)RR) 81117. Illegd footrests and handlebars,

{RR)(SS) §1118. Obstructing the driver's view;

SS(TT) §1119. Improper opening and closing vehicle
doors,

FhHuu)  §1121. Coasting prohibited;

LuU)vv) 81122 Following fire apparatus prohibited;

AAHWW)  §1123. Driving over fire hose;

MAA(XX)  §1124. Position of operator;

(YY)  §1127. Unsafe control in presence of horses and
cattle;

hH(Z22) § 1131 Failure to give warning signal;

ZLH(AAA) 81132 [llegal driving on sidewalk;

AAAYBBB) §1243. Lighting requirements,
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BBB)(CCC) §1256. Motorcycle headgear;

{ccc)(DDD) §1257. Face protection;

(Bbb)(EEE) § 800. Operating without financial
responsibility;

(EEE)(FFF) All other moving violations which have
no specified points;

(4) Five points assessed for:

(A) § 1050. Failure to yield to emergency vehicles;

(B) 8 1075. Illegal passing of school bus;

© 8 1099. Texting prohibited—second and
subsequent offenses;

©(D) 8§ 676. Operating after suspension, revocation or
refusal—civil violation;

Sec. 9. EDUCATIONAL CAMPAIGN

The commissioner of motor vehicles, in consultation with the commissioner
of education, shall formulate a plan to educate operators as to the dangers of
operating while texting and the penalties that may be imposed pursuant to this
act.

* * * Primary Enforcement of Safety Belt Law; Federal Funds* * *

Sec. 10. REPEAL; PRIMARY ENFORCEMENT OF SAFETY BELT LAW;
ACCEPTANCE OF FEDERAL FUNDS
(a) 23 V.SA. 8§ 1259(e) (secondary enforcement of safety belt law) is
repeal ed.

(b) The state is authorized to accept any additional funding available from
the federal government attributable to the passage of this section.
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* * * Operation by a Junior Operator after Recall isaCivil Violation * * *
Sec. 11. 23 V.S.A. § 676 isamended to read:

§ 676. OPERATION AFTER SUSPENSION, REVOCATION, O©R
REFUSAL, OR RECALL - CIVIL VIOLATION

(a) A person whose license or privilege to operate a motor vehicle has been
revoked, suspended er, refused, or recalled by the commissioner of motor
vehicles for any reason other than a violation of sections 1091(b), 1094(b),
1128(b) or (c), or 1201 or a suspension under section 1205 of this title and who
operates or attempts to operate a motor vehicle upon a public highway before
the license or privilege of the person to operate a motor vehicle has been
reinstated by the commissioner commits a civil traffic violation.

(b) In establishing a prima facie case against a person accused of violating
this section, the judicial bureau shall accept as evidence, a printout attested to
by the law enforcement officer as the person’s motor vehicle record showing
convictions and resulting license suspensions. The admitted motor vehicle
record shal establish a permissive inference that the person was under
suspension or had his or her license revoked or recalled on the dates and time
periods set forth in the record. The judicial bureau shall not require a certified
copy of the person’s motor vehicle record from the department of motor
vehicles to establish the permissive inference.

Sec. 12. EFFECTIVE DATE
This act shall take effect on July 1, 2010.

and that after passage, thetitle of the bill be amended to read: “An act relating
to the operation of motor vehicles by junior operators, operating with wireless
or handheld devices, prohibiting texting, and primary safety belt enforcement”

(Committee Vote: 10-0-1)

OrderedtoLie
H.R. 19

House resolution urging the agency of natural resources to retain delegated
authority to administer the federal Clean Water Act in Vermont.

Pending Question: Shall the House adopt the resolution?
Public Hearings
Wednesday, March 10, 2010 - Room 11 - - 5:00 - 8:00 PM - House and
Senate Education Committees - S. 252 Consolidation - School Districts
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Thursday, March 11, 2010 — Room 11 — 3:30 — 5:00 PM and 6:00 — 8:00 PM —
House Ways and Means — Tax Expenditure Bill

Infor mation Notice
CROSSOVER GUIDELINES
The following are the guidelines concerning cross over :

1. All bills should be reported out of committee and brought into the
Clerk’s office by Friday March 12, 2010. This does not apply to the
Appropriations bill, the Capital Construction bill or the Transportation
Construction bill.

2. The Appropriations and Ways & Means committees need to have their
bills reported out and brought into the Clerk’ s office by Friday, March
19, 2010.
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