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ORDERS OF THE DAY

ACTION CALENDAR

Committee Bill for Second Reading

H. 232

An act relating to fiscal year 2009 budget adjustment.

(Rep. Heath of Westford will speak for the Committee on
Appropriations.)

Amendment to be offered by Rep. Heath of Westford to H. 232

Moves the bill be amended by inserting a new Sec. 127 to read:

Sec. 127. 10 V.S.A. § 1942(a) and (b) is amended to read:

(a) There is hereby established a licensing fee of one cent per gallon of motor
fuel sold by a distributor or dealer or used by a user in this state, which will be
assessed against every distributor, dealer or user as defined in 23 V.S.A.
chapters 27 and 28, and which will be deposited into the petroleum cleanup
fund. After analysis of the projected unencumbered fund balance, Tthe
secretary, in consultation with the Vermont Petroleum Association and the
Vermont Fuel Dealers Association, Inc. shall may make a recommendation to
the legislature as to annually determine whether or not to assess the one-cent
licensing fee for the upcoming year . If the unencumbered balance of the
motor fuel account of the fund established under subsection 1941(a) of this
title is equal to or greater than $7,000,000.00, then the one-cent licensing
assessment for the upcoming year shall not be assessed. If the unencumbered
balance in the fund is less than $7,000,000, then the annual fee may be
assessed. The secretary shall notify all sellers assessing this fee of the status of
the fee for the upcoming year. This fee will be paid in the same manner, at the
same time, and subject to the same restrictions or limitations as the tax on
motor fuels. The fee will be collected by the commissioner of motor vehicles
and deposited into the petroleum cleanup fund. This fee requirement shall
terminate on April 1, 2011.

(b) There is assessed against every seller receiving more than $10,000.00
annually for the retail sale of heating oil or kerosene, sold in this state and not
used to propel a motor vehicle, a licensing fee of one-half cent per gallon of
such heating oil or kerosene. This fee shall be subject to the collection,
administration, and enforcement provisions of chapter 233 of Title 32, and the
fees collected under this subsection by the commissioner of taxes shall be
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deposited into the petroleum cleanup fund. After analysis of the projected
unencumbered fund balance, Tthe secretary, in consultation with the Vermont
Petroleum Association and the Vermont Fuel Dealers Association, Inc. shall
may make a recommendation to the legislature as to annually determine
whether or not to assess the one-half cent licensing fee for the upcoming year.
If the unencumbered balance of heating fuel account of the fund established
under subsection 1941(a) of this title is equal to or greater than $3,000,000.00,
then the one-half cent licensing assessment for the upcoming year shall not be
assessed. If the unencumbered balance in the fund is less than $3,000,000, then
the annual fee may be assessed. The secretary shall notify all sellers assessing
this fee of the status of the fee for the upcoming year. This fee provision shall
terminate April 1, 2011.

And by renumbering the remaining section be renumbered to be
numerically correct.

Favorable with Amendment

S. 13

An act relating to Vermont’s sexual abuse response system.

Rep. Lippert of Hinesburg, for the Committee on Judiciary, recommends
that the House propose to the Senate that the bill be amended by striking all
after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. LEGISLATIVE INTENT

This act is intended to implement the November 12, 2008 Report of the
Senate Committee on Judiciary’s 34-Point Comprehensive Plan for Vermont’s
Sexual Abuse Response System. The purpose of this act is to increase child
sexual abuse prevention efforts, enhance investigations and prosecutions of
child sexual abuse, provide sentencing courts with the information necessary to
devise appropriate sentences for sex offenders, and improve supervision of sex
offenders.

* * * Prevention * * *

Sec. 2. COMPREHENSIVE STATEWIDE APPROACH TO THE
PREVENTION OF CHILD SEXUAL ABUSE

(a) Prevention is the most important and most often overlooked tool
available to the state to fight sexual violence against children. While there are
a number of programs and organizations devoted to raising awareness about
sexual abuse of children, a coordinated and properly funded statewide
approach is needed to ensure that we are devoting appropriate resources and
programming to stopping abuse before it happens, not just responding to the
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crime. The Vermont Approach, Vermont’s strategic plan for comprehensive,
collaborative sexual violence prevention, should continue to be supported in its
efforts to prevent sexual violence. Proper funding will increase the state’s
ability to fight child sexual abuse and to provide needed services to victims and
communities.

(b) The senate committee on health and welfare, and the house committee
on human services, in consultation with the senate and house committees on
education and on appropriations and the house committee on corrections and
institutions, shall build on the recent work of the senate committee on judiciary
and upon the work of the sexual violence prevention task force, created by the
general assembly in No. 192 of the Acts of the 2005 Adj. Sess.(2006), in an
effort to enhance the comprehensive statewide approach to the prevention of
child sexual abuse. As appropriate, legislation shall be developed for
introduction on January 5, 2010.

Sec. 2a. Sec. 4 of No. 192 of the Acts of the 2005 Adj. Sess.(2006) is amended
to read:

Sec. 4. SEXUAL VIOLENCE PREVENTION TASK FORCE

* * *

(c) On or before January 15, 2007, and on or before January 15 for five
seven years thereafter, the task force shall report on its activities during the
preceding year to the house and senate committees on education and judiciary.
The task force shall cease to exist after it files the report due on January 15,
2012 2014.

Sec. 3. 16 V.S.A. § 131 is amended to read:

§ 131. DEFINITIONS

For the purposes of this subchapter: “Comprehensive , “comprehensive
health education” means a systematic and extensive elementary and secondary
educational program designed to provide a variety of learning experiences
based upon knowledge of the human organism as it functions within its
environment. The term includes, but is not limited to, a the study of:

* * *

(9) Drugs including education about alcohol, caffeine, nicotine and
prescribed drugs; and

(10) Nutrition; and

(11) How to recognize and prevent sexual abuse and sexual violence,
including developmentally appropriate instruction about promoting healthy and
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respectful relationships, developing and maintaining effective communication
with trusted adults, recognizing sexually offending behaviors, and gaining
awareness of available school and community resources.

Sec. 3a. TRANSITIONAL PROVISIONS

(a) On or before September 1, 2009, the commissioner of education, in
consultation with the commissioner for children and families, shall convene a
working group to consist of the following members:

(1) The members of the sexual violence task force created by Sec. 4 of
No. 192 of the Acts of the 2005 Adj. Sess. (2006).

(2) The coordinator of the Vermont network of treatment programs for
juveniles with sexual behavior problems or the coordinator’s designee, who
shall be a psychologist with expertise in the area of counseling sexually abused
children.

(3) One member of the Vermont school counselors association, to be
selected by the board of the association.

(4) One member of the comprehensive health education and wellness
advisory council created by 16 V.S.A. § 132 or an individual who currently
provides health education in public schools, to be selected by the voting
members of the advisory council.

(5) A representative of the early education provider community, to be
selected by the officers of the board of Kids Are Priority One.

(6) Any other person or persons the members of the working group
believe will inform their efforts.

(b) The working group shall prepare technical assistance materials that
support the instruction required by 16 V.S.A. § 131(11). The materials shall be
made available on or before July 1, 2010 to help school districts and
supervisory unions in the creation and implementation of developmentally
appropriate instructional programs.

(c) The working group shall provide training and other support related to
implementing the requirements of 16 V.S.A. § 131(11) to any school district or
supervisory union that requests its assistance.

Sec. 3b. EFFECTIVE DATE

(a) This section and Sec. 3a of this act shall take effect on passage.

(b) Sec. 3 of this act shall take effect on July 1, 2011.

Sec. 4. 16 V.S.A. § 254 is amended to read:
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§ 254. EDUCATOR LICENSURE; EMPLOYMENT OF
SUPERINTENDENTS

(a) The commissioner shall sign and keep a user agreement with the
Vermont criminal information center.

(b) The commissioner shall request and obtain from the Vermont criminal
information center the criminal record for any person applying for an initial
license as a professional educator or for reinstatement of a license that has
lapsed pursuant to subdivision 256(a)(3) of this title, or for any person who is
offered a position as superintendent of schools in Vermont.

(c) A request made under subsection (b) of this section shall be
accompanied by a release signed by the person on a form provided by the
Vermont criminal information center, a set of the person’s fingerprints, and a
fee established by the Vermont criminal information center which shall reflect
the cost of obtaining the record. The fee shall be paid by the applicant. The
release form to be signed by the applicant shall include a statement informing
the applicant of:

(1) the right to challenge the accuracy of the record by appealing to the
Vermont criminal information center pursuant to rules adopted by the
commissioner of public safety; and

(2) the commissioner’s commissioner of education’s policy regarding
maintenance and destruction of records and the person’s right to request that
the record or notice be maintained for purposes of using it to comply with
future criminal record check requests made pursuant to section 256 of this title.

(d) Upon completion of a criminal record check required by subsection (b)
of this section, the Vermont criminal information center shall send to the
commissioner either a notice that no record exists or a copy of the record. If a
copy of a criminal record is received, the commissioner shall forward it to the
person and shall inform the person in writing of:

(1) the right to challenge the accuracy of the record by appealing to the
Vermont criminal information center pursuant to rules adopted by the
commissioner of public safety; and

(2) the commissioner’s commissioner of education’s policy regarding
maintenance and destruction of records and the person’s right to request that
the record or notice be maintained for purposes of using it to comply with
future criminal record check requests made pursuant to section 256 of this title.

(e) The commissioner shall request and obtain information from the child
protection registry maintained by the department for children and families and
from the vulnerable adult abuse, neglect, and exploitation registry maintained
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by the department of disabilities, aging, and independent living (collectively,
the “registries”) for any person for whom a criminal record check is required
under subsection (b) of this section. The department for children and families
and the department of disabilities, aging, and independent living shall adopt
rules governing the process for obtaining information from the registries and
for disseminating and maintaining records of that information under this
subsection. A person denied a license based upon information acquired under
this subsection may appeal the decision pursuant to subsection 1696(f) of this
title.

(f) A person convicted of a sex offense that requires registration pursuant to
chapter 167, subchapter 3 of Title 13 shall not be eligible for an initial license
as a professional educator, renewal of a license, reinstatement of a lapsed
license, or employment as a superintendent of schools in Vermont under this
section.

Sec. 5. 16 V.S.A. § 255 is amended to read:

§ 255. PUBLIC AND INDEPENDENT SCHOOL EMPLOYEES;
CONTRACTORS

(a) Superintendents, headmasters of recognized or approved Vermont
independent schools, and their contractors shall request criminal record
information for the following:

(1) The person a superintendent or headmaster is prepared to
recommend for any full-time, part-time or temporary employment.

(2) Any person directly under contract to an independent school or
school district who may have unsupervised contact with school children.

(3) Any employee of a contractor under contract to an independent
school or school district who is in a position that may result in unsupervised
contact with school children.

(4) Any student working toward a degree in teaching who is a student
teacher in a school within the superintendent’s or headmaster’s jurisdiction.

(b) After signing a user agreement, a superintendent or a headmaster shall
make a request directly to the Vermont criminal information center. A
contractor shall make a request through a superintendent or headmaster.

(c) A request made under subsection (b) of this section shall be
accompanied by a set of the person’s fingerprints and a fee established by the
Vermont criminal information center which shall reflect the cost of obtaining
the record from the FBI. The fee shall be paid in accordance with adopted
school board policy.
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(d) Upon completion of a criminal record check, the Vermont criminal
information center shall send to the superintendent or headmaster a notice that
no record exists or, if a record exists:

(1) a A copy of any criminal record for Vermont convictions, and.

(2) if If the requester is a superintendent, a notice of any criminal record
which that is located in either another state repository or FBI records, but not a
record of the specific convictions except those relating to crimes of a sexual
nature involving children.

(3) if If the requester is a headmaster, a notice of any criminal record
which that is located in either another state repository or FBI records, but not a
record of the specific convictions. However, if there is a record relating to any
crimes of a sexual nature involving children, the Vermont criminal information
center shall send this record to the commissioner who shall notify the
headmaster in writing, with a copy to the person about whom the request was
made, that the record includes one or more convictions for a crime of a sexual
nature involving children.

* * *

(h) A superintendent or headmaster shall request and obtain information
from the child protection registry maintained by the department for children
and families and from the vulnerable adult abuse, neglect, and exploitation
registry maintained by the department of disabilities, aging, and independent
living (collectively, the “registries”) for any person for whom a criminal record
check is required under subsection (a) of this section. The department for
children and families and the department of disabilities, aging, and
independent living shall adopt rules governing the process for obtaining
information from the registries and for disseminating and maintaining records
of that information under this subsection.

(i) A person convicted of a sex offense that requires registration pursuant to
chapter 167, subchapter 3 of Title 13 shall not be eligible for employment
under this section.

(j) The board of trustees of a recognized or approved independent school
shall request a criminal record check and a check of the registries pursuant to
the provisions of this section prior to offering employment to a headmaster.

Sec. 6. 16 V.S.A. § 256 is amended to read:

§ 256. CONTINUED VALIDITY OF CRIMINAL RECORD CHECK;
MAINTENANCE OF RECORDS

(a)(1) Anyone required to request a criminal record check and a check of
the child protection and the vulnerable adult abuse, neglect, and exploitation
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registries under this subchapter about a person who previously has undergone a
check one or both checks, regardless of whether the check was for student
teaching, licensure, or employment purposes, shall comply with that
requirement by acquiring the results of the previous criminal record check
unless:

(1)(A) the person refuses to authorize release of the information;

(2)(B) the record no longer exists; or

(3)(C) since the record check, there has been a period of one year or
more during which the person has not worked for a Vermont school district or
a recognized or an approved independent school; or

(D) as otherwise required by this chapter.

(2) Anyone required to request a criminal record check under this
subchapter about a person who has previously undergone a check may request
a name and date of birth or fingerprint-supported recheck of the criminal
record at any time during the course of the record subject’s employment in the
capacity for which the original check was required. Rechecking criminal
records may be accomplished through a subscription service.

(b) A superintendent or headmaster who receives criminal record or
registry information under this subchapter shall maintain the record or
information pursuant to the user agreement for maintenance of records. At the
end of the time required by the user agreement for maintenance of the
information, the superintendent or headmaster shall destroy the information in
accordance with the user agreement unless the person authorizes maintenance
of the record. If authorized by the person, the superintendent or headmaster
shall:

* * *

Sec. 6a. AGENCY OF HUMAN SERVICES; CHILD PROTECTION
REGISTRY; VULNERABLE ADULT ABUSE, NEGLECT, AND
EXPLOITATION REGISTRY

The agency of human services, the commissioner of the department for
children and families, and the commissioner of the department of disabilities,
aging, and independent living shall implement protocols for sharing and
providing information from the child protection registry and from the
vulnerable adult abuse, neglect, and exploitation registry in a coordinated
manner to those entities authorized by law to receive such information.
Protocols shall focus on the most efficient and timely manner to provide such
information to authorized requestors.

Sec. 6b. 16 V.S.A. § 252(1) is amended to read;
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(1) “Criminal record” means the record of:

* * *

(A) convictions in Vermont, including whether any of the convictions
requires registration pursuant to subchapter 3 of chapter 167 of Title 13; and

* * *

Sec. 6c. EFFECTIVE DATES

(a) This section and Sec. 6a shall take effect on passage.

(b) Sec. 6b shall take effect July 1, 2009.

(c) Secs. 4, 5, and 6 of this act shall take effect on December 31, 2010 and
shall apply solely to criminal record checks or registry checks required after
that date; provided, however, for a person currently licensed as an educator
who has not been the subject of a criminal records check pursuant to 16 V.S.A.
§ 254 or 255, the commissioner shall cause a criminal record check and a
registry check to be conducted pursuant to the procedures outlined in
16 V.S.A. § 254 at the time the educator’s license is next renewed following
the effective date of this section.

Sec. 7. VOLUNTEERS, WORK STUDY STUDENTS, AND

COMMUNITY-BASED LEARNING; STUDY

The commissioner of education shall examine ways to ensure the safety of
students in schools and offsite workplaces without creating barriers that make
it impossible or impractical for volunteers and work study students to assist
school staff or for students to participate in community-based learning
programs. The commissioner shall propose mechanisms for ensuring that
registered sex offenders do not have unsupervised contact with students as
volunteers. On or before January 15, 2010, the commissioner shall submit
recommendations to the house and senate committees on education and on
judiciary.

Sec. 7a. EFFECTIVE DATE

This section and Sec. 7 of this act shall take effect on passage.

Sec. 8. 20 V.S.A. § 2064 is added to read:

§ 2064. SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE

(a) As used in this section:

(1) “State Identification Number (SID)” means a unique number
generated by the center to identify a person in the criminal history database.
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(2) “Subscription service” means a service provided by the center
whereby authorized requestors may be notified when an individual’s criminal
record is updated.

(b) The center shall provide the department for children and families and
education officials authorized under subchapter 4 of chapter 5 of Title 16 to
receive criminal records access to a criminal record subscription service.
Authorized persons may subscribe to an individual’s SID number, provided the
individual has given written authorization on a release form provided by the
center.

(c) The release form shall contain the individual’s name, signature, date of
birth, and place of birth. The release form shall state that the individual has the
right to appeal the findings to the center, pursuant to rules adopted by the
commissioner of public safety.

(d) The center shall provide authorized officials with information regarding
the subscription service offered by the center prior to being authorized to
participate in the subscription service. The materials shall address the
following topics:

(1) Requirements of subscription, renewal, and cancellation with the
service.

(2) How to interpret the criminal conviction records.

(3) How to obtain source documents summarized in the criminal
conviction records.

(4) Misuse of the subscription service.

(e) Authorized officials shall certify on their subscription request that they
have read and understood materials prior to receiving authorization to request a
subscription from the center.

(f) During the subscription period, the center shall notify authorized
officials in writing if new criminal conviction information is added to an
individual’s criminal history record. Notification may be sent electronically.

(g) An authorized official who receives a criminal conviction record
pursuant to this section shall provide a free copy of such record to the subject
of the record within ten days of receipt of the record.

(h) Except insofar as criminal conviction record information must be
retained or made public pursuant to chapter 51 of Title 16 or the state board of
education administrative rules promulgated thereunder, no person shall
confirm the existence or nonexistence of criminal conviction record
information or disclose the contents of a criminal conviction record without the
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individual’s permission to any person other than the individual and properly
designated employees of the authorized education official who have a
documented need to know the contents of the record.

(i) Except insofar as criminal conviction record information must be
retained or made public pursuant to chapter 51 of Title 16 or the state board of
education administrative rules promulgated thereunder, authorized education
officials shall confidentially retain all criminal conviction information received
pursuant to this section for a period of three years. At the end of the retention
period, the criminal conviction information must be shredded.

(j) A person who violates any subsection of this section shall be assessed a
civil penalty of not more than $5,000.00. Each unauthorized disclosure shall
constitute a separate civil violation. The office of the attorney general shall
have authority to enforce this section.

Sec. 9. 16 V.S.A. § 563a is added to read:

§ 563a. SCHOOL BOARDS; PREVENTION, IDENTIFICATION, AND
REPORTING OF CHILD SEXUAL ABUSE AND SEXUAL
VIOLENCE

The school board of a school district shall ensure that adults employed in
the schools maintained by the district receive orientation, information, or
instruction on the prevention, identification, and reporting of child sexual
abuse, as defined in subdivision 4912(8) of Title 33, and sexual violence. The
school board shall also provide opportunities for parents, guardians, and other
interested persons to receive written information regarding child sexual abuse
and sexual violence. The department of education and the agency of human
services shall provide materials and technical support to any school board that
requests assistance in implementing this section.

Sec. 9a. EFFECTIVE DATE AND IMPLEMENTATION

(a) This section shall take effect on passage.

(b) Sec. 9 of this act shall take effect on July 1, 2011.

(c) On or before July 1, 2010, the department of education and the agency
of human services shall prepare the materials that will be required by Sec. 9 of
this act on its effective date.

Sec. 10. 33 V.S.A. § 3502 is amended to read:

§ 3502. CHILD CARE FACILITIES; SCHOOL AGE CARE IN PUBLIC
SCHOOLS; 21ST CENTURY FUND

* * *
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(d)(1) Regulations pertaining to child care facilities and family child care
homes shall be designed to ensure that children in child care facilities and
family child care homes are provided with wholesome growth and educational
experiences, and are not subjected to neglect, mistreatment, or immoral
surroundings.

(2) A licensed child care facility shall ensure that all individuals
working at the facility receive orientation, based on materials recommended by
the agency of human services and the department of education, on the
prevention, identification, and mandatory reporting of child abuse, including
child sexual abuse, signs and symptoms of sexual abuse, sexual violence,
grooming processes, recognizing the dangers of child sexual abuse in and close
to the home, and other predatory behaviors of sex offenders.

* * *

Sec. 11. COMMUNITY OUTREACH PLAN

The agency of human services shall work with the sexual violence
prevention task force and other appropriate groups to raise community
awareness about the nature and extent of child sexual abuse, including the role
of adults in protecting children, and to create and implement a community
outreach plan. The department for children and families is directed to expand
its current outreach program regarding reports of suspected child abuse or
neglect to assure public awareness of the need to report risk of harm. The
agency shall report on its progress by November 15, 2009 to the senate
committee on health and welfare and to the house committee on human
services. The report shall include:

(1) an update of the agency’s ongoing efforts to raise community
awareness of the nature and extent of child sexual abuse in the state, including
the status of the community outreach plan;

(2) a list of the community partners, organizations, and programs that
work with children which the agency has identified as part of the outreach
plan; and

(3) a list of specific strategies that the agency has undertaken or will
undertake in furtherance of implementing the community outreach plan.

Sec. 12. 33 V.S.A. chapter 6 is added to read:

CHAPTER 6. PREVENTION AND TREATMENT OF SEXUAL ABUSE

§ 601. CENTER FOR THE PREVENTION AND TREATMENT OF
SEXUAL ABUSE
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(a) There is established within the agency of human services the Vermont
center for the prevention and treatment of sexual abuse (the center). The
center shall be jointly overseen by the commissioner of the department of
corrections and the commissioner of the department for children and families.

(b) The purpose of the center shall be to protect Vermont’s citizens from
sexual assault and child sexual abuse. The center shall oversee Vermont’s
systematic response to sexual assault and child sexual abuse, while recognizing
that many agencies, organizations, and individuals have their own independent
roles and responsibilities within this system.

(c) The responsibilities of the center shall include:

(1) Coordinating sex offender treatment programs in correctional and
juvenile institutions and in the community.

(2) Coordinating victim and family treatment programs.

(3) Providing support to sexual abuse prevention programs statewide
and in local communities.

(4) Providing training to recognize and prevent sexual abuse in
consultation with the department of corrections, the department for children
and families, the department of mental health, the department of state’s
attorneys and sheriffs, and other agencies, organizations, and individuals as are
desirable and necessary.

(5) Providing a central organization for the acquisition and
dissemination of information regarding best practices for the prevention of
sexual violence; the treatment and supervision of adult and juvenile offenders;
the provision of victims services; judicial practices conducive to public
protection and the supervision of offenders; protocols for coordinated
investigations of allegations of child sexual abuse; and any other information
that may be beneficial in aiding Vermont’s response to sexual abuse.

(6) Making available an array of services to sexually abused children
and their family members.

(7) Providing grants to community agencies to further the center’s
purpose of protecting Vermont’s citizens from sexual assault and child sexual
abuse.

(d) The commissioner of corrections and the commissioner for children and
families shall be responsible for maintaining and providing staffing for the
center and shall report every two years to the corrections oversight committee
on the accomplishments of the center.

Sec. 13. 13 V.S.A. § 3258 is added to read:
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§ 3258. SEXUAL EXPLOITATION OF A MINOR

(a) No person shall engage in a sexual act with a minor if:

(1) the actor is at least 48 months older than the minor; and

(2) the actor is in a position of power, authority, or supervision over the
minor by virtue of the actor’s undertaking the responsibility, professionally or
voluntarily, to provide for the health or welfare of minors, or guidance,
leadership, instruction, or organized recreational activities for minors.

(b) A person who violates subsection (a) of this section shall be imprisoned
for not more than two years or fined not more than $2,000.00, or both.

Sec. 13a. 13 V.S.A. § 5301(7) is amended to read:

(7) For the purpose of this chapter, “listed crime” means any of the
following offenses:

* * *

(AA) the attempt to commit any of the offenses listed in this section;
and

(BB) abuse (section 1376 of this title), abuse by restraint (section
1377 of this title), neglect (section 1378 of this title), sexual abuse (section
1379 of this title), financial exploitation (section 1380 of this title), and
exploitation of services (section 1381 of this title);

(CC) aggravated sexual assault of a child in violation of section
3253a of this title.

Sec. 13b. 13 V.S.A. § 5401(10) is amended to read:

(10) “Sex offender” means:

* * *
(A) A person who is convicted in any jurisdiction of the United

States, including a state, territory, commonwealth, the District of Columbia, or
military, federal, or tribal court of any of the following offenses:

* * *

(vi) kidnapping with intent to commit sexual assault as defined in
13 V.S.A. § 2405(a)(1)(D); and

(vii) aggravated sexual assault of a child in violation of section
3253a of this title; and

(viii) an attempt to commit any offense listed in this subdivision.

Sec. 14. 13 V.S.A. § 5404 is amended to read:
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§ 5404. REPORTING UPON RELEASE FROM CONFINEMENT OR
SUPERVISION

(a) Upon receiving a sex offender from the court on a probationary
sentence or any alternative sentence under community supervision by the
department of corrections, or prior to releasing a sex offender from
confinement or supervision, the department of corrections shall forward to the
department the following information concerning the sex offender:

(1) an update of the information listed in subsection 5403(a) of this title;

(2) the address upon release and whether the offender will be living with
a child under the age of 18;

(3) name, address, and telephone number of the local department of
corrections office in charge of monitoring the sex offender; and

(4) documentation of any treatment or counseling received.

(b) The department of corrections shall notify the department within 24
hours of the time a sex offender changes his or her address or place of
employment, or enrolls in or separates from any postsecondary educational
institution, or begins residing with a child under the age of 18. In addition, the
department of corrections shall provide the department with any updated
information requested by the department.

(c) With respect to a sex offender residing with a child under the age of 18
under circumstances enumerated in subsection (a) or (b) of this section, the
department of corrections shall communicate with the department for children
and families. If placement in a home with a child is being considered by the
department of corrections, the department of corrections shall notify the
department for children and families, and the departments shall work together
to determine whether such a placement is appropriate. If the department of
corrections does not have a role in the placement of the offender in the
community, but knows the offender will be residing with a person under the
age of 18, the department of corrections shall notify the department for
children and families at least 24 hours prior to releasing the offender from
confinement.

(d) The information required to be provided by subsection (a) of this
section shall also be provided by the department of corrections to a sex
offender’s parole or probation officer within three days of the time a sex
offender is placed on probation or parole by the court or parole board.

(d)(e) If it has not been previously submitted, upon receipt of the
information to be provided to the department pursuant to subsection (a) of this
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section, the department shall immediately transmit the conviction data and
fingerprints to the Federal Bureau of Investigation.

Sec. 15. 13 V.S.A. § 5407 is amended to read:

§ 5407. SEX OFFENDER’S RESPONSIBILITY TO REPORT

(a) Except as provided in section 5411d of this title, a sex offender shall
report to the department as follows:

* * *

(3) within three days after any change of address, or if a person is
designated as a high-risk sex offender pursuant to section 5411b of this title,
that person shall report to the department within 36 hours, and shall report
whether a child under the age of 18 resides at such address;

* * *

(5) within three days after any change in place of employment; and

(6) within three days of any name change;

(7) within three days of a child under the age of 18 moving into the
residence of the registrant.

* * *

(h) If the department is notified by an offender that he or she is living with
a child under the age of 18, the department shall notify the department for
children and families within three days.

* * * Investigation and Prosecution * * *

Sec. 16. 13 V.S.A. § 5415 is added to read:

§ 5415. ENFORCEMENT; SPECIAL INVESTIGATION UNITS

(a) Special investigation units, created pursuant to 24 V.S.A. § 1940, shall
be responsible for the investigation of violations of this chapter’s registry
requirements and are authorized to conduct in-person registry compliance
checks in a time, place, and manner it deems appropriate in furtherance of the
purposes of this chapter. This section shall not be construed to prohibit local
law enforcement from enforcing the provisions of this chapter.

(b) The department of public safety shall report to the senate and house
committees on judiciary on or before December 15, 2009, and annually
thereafter, regarding its efforts under this section.

Sec. 17. APPROPRIATION; SPECIAL INVESTIGATION UNITS
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(a)(1) The sum of $770,000.00 is appropriated from the general fund for
the department of state’s attorneys and sheriffs for fiscal year 2010 for the
purpose of funding grants for special investigation units pursuant to 24 V.S.A.
§ 1940. The funds shall be allocated to special investigative units created to
ensure equal levels of service in all regions of the state in a manner consistent
with the counties’ geographies.

(2) In fiscal year 2010, the specialized investigative units grant board
may, in its discretion, provide up to five law enforcement grants to county or
municipal agencies, or both, for the purposes of augmenting the investigative
services provided by the Vermont state police.

(b) The sum of $880,000.00 is appropriated from the general fund for the
department of public safety for fiscal year 2010 for the purpose of funding
Vermont state police investigators for special investigation units. The
Vermont state police shall have the authority to coordinate and supervise the
investigative functions of the special investigation units.

Sec. 18. 33 V.S.A. § 4917 is amended to read:

§ 4917. MULTIDISCIPLINARY TEAMS; EMPANELING

(a) The commissioner or his or her designee may empanel a
multidisciplinary team or a special investigative multi-task force team or both
wherever in the state there may be a probable case of child abuse or neglect
which warrants the coordinated use of several professional services. These
teams shall participate and cooperate with the local special investigation unit in
compliance with 13 V.S.A. § 5415.

(b) The commissioner or his or her designee, in conjunction with
professionals and community agencies, shall appoint members to the
multidisciplinary teams which may include persons who are trained and
engaged in work relating to child abuse or neglect such as medicine, mental
health, social work, nursing, child care, education, law, or law enforcement.
The teams shall include a representative of the department of corrections,
unless the team chair determines that participation by the department is not
necessary. Additional persons may be appointed when the services of those
persons are appropriate to any particular case.

* * *

Sec. 19. 20 V.S.A. § 1931 is amended to read:

§ 1931. POLICY

It is the policy of this state to assist federal, state, and local criminal justice
and law enforcement agencies in the identification, detection or exclusion of
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individuals who are subjects of the investigation or prosecution of violent
crimes. Identification, detection, and exclusion may be facilitated by the DNA
analysis of biological evidence left by the perpetrator of a violent crime and
recovered from the crime scene. The DNA analysis of biological evidence can
also be used to identify missing persons.

Sec. 20. 20 V.S.A. § 1932 is amended to read:

§ 1932. DEFINITIONS

As used in this subchapter:

* * *

(5) “DNA sample” means a forensic unknown tissue sample or a tissue
sample provided by any person convicted of violent a designated crime or a
forensic unknown sample. The DNA sample may be blood or other tissue type
specified by the department.

* * *

(10) “State DNA database” means the laboratory DNA identification
record system. The state DNA database is a collection of the DNA records
related to forensic casework, convicted offenders persons required to provide a
DNA sample under this subchapter, and anonymous DNA records used for
protocol development or quality control.

* * *

(12) “Designated crime” means any of the following offenses:

(A) a felony;

(B) 13 V.S.A. § 1042 (domestic assault);

(C) any crime for which a person is required to register as a sex
offender pursuant to subchapter 3 of chapter 167 of Title 13;

(D) an attempt to commit any offense listed in this subdivision; or

(C)(E) any other offense, if, as part of a plea agreement in an action
in which the original charge was a crime listed in this subdivision and probable
cause was found by the court, there is a requirement that the defendant submit
a DNA sample to the DNA data bank.

Sec. 21. 20 V.S.A. § 1933 is amended to read:

§ 1933. DNA SAMPLE REQUIRED

(a) The following persons shall submit a DNA sample:
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(1) every A person convicted in a court in this state of a designated
crime on or after the effective date of this subchapter; and April 29, 1998.

(2) every A person who was convicted in a court in this state of a
designated crime prior to the effective date of this subchapter April 29, 1998,
and, after the effective date of this subchapter such date, is:

(A) in the custody of the commissioner of corrections pursuant to
28 V.S.A. § 701;

(B) on parole for a designated crime;

(C) serving a supervised community sentence for a designated crime;
and or

(D) on probation for a designated crime.

(b) A person required to submit a DNA sample who is serving a sentence
for a designated crime in a correctional facility shall have his or her DNA
samples collected or taken at the receiving correctional facility, or at a place
and time designated by the commissioner of corrections or by a court, if the
person has not previously submitted a DNA sample.

(c) A person serving a sentence for a designated crime not confined to a
correctional facility shall have his or her DNA samples collected or taken at a
place and time designated by the commissioner of corrections, the
commissioner of public safety, or a court if the person has not previously
submitted a DNA sample in connection with the designated crime for which he
or she is serving the sentence.

Sec. 22. 20 V.S.A. § 1940 is amended to read:

§ 1940. EXPUNGEMENT OF RECORDS AND DESTRUCTION OF
SAMPLES

(a) If a person’s conviction of a designated crime is reversed and the case is
nolle prosequi or dismissed or the person is granted a full pardon In accordance
with procedures set forth in subsection (b) of this section, the department shall
destroy the DNA sample and any records of a person related to the sample that
were taken in connection with a particular alleged designated crime in any of
the following circumstances:

(1) A person’s conviction related to an incident that caused the DNA
sample to be taken is reversed, and the case is dismissed.

(2) The person is granted a full pardon related to an incident that caused
the DNA sample to be taken.
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(b) If any of the circumstances in subsection (a) of this section occur, the
court with jurisdiction or, as the case may be, the governor, shall so notify the
department, and the person’s DNA record in the state DNA database and
CODIS and the person’s DNA sample in the state DNA data bank shall be
removed and destroyed. The laboratory shall purge the DNA record and all
other identifiable information from the state DNA database and CODIS and
destroy the DNA sample stored in the state DNA data bank. If the person has
more than one entry in the state DNA database, CODIS, or the state DNA data
bank, only the entry related to the dismissed case shall be deleted. The
department shall notify the person upon completing its responsibilities under
this subsection, by certified mail addressed to the person’s last known address.

(b)(c) If the identity of the subject of a forensic unknown sample becomes
known and that subject is excluded as a suspect in the case, the sample record
shall be removed from the state DNA database upon the conclusion of the
criminal investigation and finalization of any criminal prosecution.

(d) If a DNA sample from the state DNA database, CODIS, or the state
DNA data bank is matched to another DNA sample during the course of a
criminal investigation, the record of the match shall not be expunged even if
the sample itself is expunged in accordance with the provisions of this section.
If a match has been made and any of the circumstances in subsection (a) of this
section occur, the department may confirm the match prior to expunging the
sample.

Sec. 23. 20 V.S.A. § 1932 is amended to read:

§ 1932. DEFINITIONS

As used in this subchapter:

* * *

(5) “DNA sample” means a forensic unknown tissue sample or a tissue
sample provided by any person convicted of a designated crime or for whom
the court has determined at arraignment there is probable cause that the person
has committed a felony. The DNA sample may be blood or other tissue type
specified by the department.

Sec. 24. 20 V.S.A. § 1933 is amended to read:

§ 1933. DNA SAMPLE REQUIRED

(a) The following persons shall submit a DNA sample:

(1) A person convicted in a court in this state of a designated crime on
or after April 29, 1998.
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(2) A person for whom the court has determined at arraignment there is
probable cause that the person has committed a felony in this state on or after
July 1, 2011.

(3) A person who was convicted in a court in this state of a designated
crime prior to April 29, 1998 and, after such date, is:

(A) in the custody of the commissioner of corrections pursuant to
28 V.S.A. § 701;

(B) on parole for a designated crime;

(C) serving a supervised community sentence for a designated crime;
or

(D) on probation for a designated crime.

(b) At the time of arraignment, the court shall set a date and time for the
person to submit a DNA sample.

(c) A person required to submit a DNA sample who is serving a sentence in
a correctional facility shall have his or her DNA samples collected or taken at
the receiving correctional facility, or at a place and time designated by the
commissioner of corrections or by a court, if the person has not previously
submitted a DNA sample.

(c)(d) A person serving a sentence for a designated crime not confined to a
correctional facility shall have his or her DNA samples collected or taken at a
place and time designated by the commissioner of corrections, the
commissioner of public safety, or a court if the person has not previously
submitted a DNA sample in connection with the designated crime for which he
or she is serving the sentence.

Sec. 25. 20 V.S.A. § 1940 is amended to read:

§ 1940. EXPUNGEMENT OF RECORDS AND DESTRUCTION OF
SAMPLES

(a) In accordance with procedures set forth in subsection (b) of this section,
the department shall destroy the DNA sample and any records of a person
related to the sample that were taken in connection with a particular alleged
designated crime in any of the following circumstances:

(1) A person’s conviction related to an incident that caused the DNA
sample to be taken is reversed and the case is dismissed.

(2) The person is granted a full pardon related to an incident that caused
the DNA sample to be taken.
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(3) If the sample was taken post-arraignment, the felony charge which
required the DNA sample is downgraded to a misdemeanor by the prosecuting
attorney upon a plea agreement or the person is convicted of a lesser offense
that is a misdemeanor other than domestic assault pursuant to 13 V.S.A.
§ 1042 or a sex offense for which registration is required pursuant to 13 V.S.A.
§ 5401 et seq.

(4) If the sample was taken post-arraignment, the person is acquitted
after a trial of the charges which required the taking of the DNA sample.

(5) If the sample was taken post-arraignment, the charges which
required the taking of the DNA sample are dismissed by either the court or the
state after arraignment unless the attorney for the state can show good cause
why the sample should not be destroyed.

* * *

Sec. 26. Rule 15 of the Vermont Rules of Criminal Procedure is amended to
read:

RULE 15. DEPOSITIONS

* * *

(e) Limitations.

* * *

(5) Depositions of Minors in Sexual Assault Cases.

(A) No deposition of a victim under the age of 16 shall be taken in a
prosecution under 13 V.S.A. §§ 2601 (lewd and lascivious conduct), 2602
(lewd and lascivious conduct with a child), 3252 (sexual assault), 3253
(aggravated sexual assault), or 3253a (aggravated sexual assault of a child)
except by agreement of the parties or after approval of the court pursuant to
subdivision (B) of this subdivision (5).

(B) The court shall not approve a deposition under this subdivision
unless the court finds that the testimony of the child is necessary to assist the
trial, that the evidence sought is not reasonably available by any other means,
and that the probative value of the testimony outweighs the potential detriment
to the child of being deposed. In determining whether to approve a deposition
under this subdivision, the court shall consider the availability of recorded
statements of the victim and the complexity of the issues involved.

(C)(i) If a deposition is taken pursuant to this subdivision (5), the
court shall issue a protective order to protect the deponent from emotional
harm, unnecessary annoyance, embarrassment, oppression, invasion of
privacy, or undue burden of expense or waste of time. The protective order
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may include, among other remedies, the following: (I) that the deposition may
be taken only on specified terms and conditions, including a designation of the
time, place, and manner of taking the deposition; (II) that the deposition may
be taken only by written questions; (III) that certain matters not be inquired
into, or that the scope of the deposition be limited to certain matters; (IV) that
the deposition be conducted with only such persons present as the court may
designate; or (V) that after the deposition has been taken, the tape or
transcription be sealed until further order of the court. The restrictions of

13 V.S.A. § 3255(a) shall apply to depositions taken pursuant to this
subdivision.

(ii) If a deposition is taken pursuant to this subdivision (5), the court
shall appoint an attorney to represent the child for the purposes of the
deposition.

(f) Protection of Deponents.

(1) Deponent’s Counsel and Victim Advocate. A deponent may have
counsel present at the deposition and may make legal objections to questions.
The deponent shall be treated as a party at hearings on motions pertaining to
the deposition. A victim of an alleged crime may have a victim advocate
present during the deposition. The deponent may apply to the court for a
protective order if the deponent believes that he or she is being subjected to
harassment or intimidation. A subpoena issued pursuant to V.R.Cr.P. 17, or
other notice of the deposition given to the deponent, shall include notice that
the deponent may have the assistance of counsel and the victim advocate as
provided herein and seek a protective order as provided in subdivision (f)(3).

(2) Depositions of Sensitive Witnesses. A person under the age of 16
who is a victim in a prosecution for an offense other than one listed in
subdivision (e)(5) of this section, or any person aged 16 or older who is a
victim in a prosecution under 13 V.S.A. § 2601 (lewd and lascivious conduct),
2602 (lewd and lascivious conduct with a minor), 3252 (sexual assault), or
3253 (aggravated sexual assault) shall be considered a sensitive witness. Prior
to taking the deposition of a sensitive witness, the party seeking to take the
deposition shall consult with the other parties and the deponent in an effort to
reach an agreement on the time, place, manner and scope of the taking of the
deposition. If an agreement cannot be reached, the party seeking to take the
deposition shall so advise the court and specify the matters which are in
dispute. The court shall then issue an order regulating the taking of the
deposition including, in its discretion, a requirement that the deposition be
taken in the presence of a judge or special master. The restrictions of
13 V.S.A. § 3255(a) shall apply to depositions. If a party taking a deposition
proposes to ask about information that falls within 13 V.S.A.
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§ 3255(a)(3)(A)-(C), the party shall notify the other parties and the deponent of
this intent prior to seeking agreement on the scope of the deposition.

(3) Protective Orders. At the request of a party or deponent, and for
good cause shown, the court may make any protective order which justice
requires to protect a party or deponent from emotional harm, unnecessary
annoyance, embarrassment, oppression, invasion of privacy, or undue burden
of expense or waste of time. Such orders may include, among other remedies,
the following: (1) that the deposition may be taken only on specified terms
and conditions, including a designation of the time, place, and manner of
taking the deposition; (2) that the deposition may be taken only by written
questions; (3) that certain matters not be inquired into, or that the scope of the
deposition be limited to certain matters; (4) that the deposition be conducted
with only such persons present as the court may designate; (5) that after the
deposition has been taken, the tape or transcription be sealed until further order
of the court; (6) that the deposition not be taken. In ruling on such request, the
court may consider, among other things, the age, health, level of intellectual
functioning and emotional condition of the witness, whether the witness has
knowledge material to the proof of or defense to any essential element of the
crime, whether the witness has provided a full written, taped or transcribed
account of his or her proposed testimony at trial, whether the witness’s
testimony will relate only to peripheral issue in the case, or whether an
informal interview or telephone conference with the witness will suffice for the
purposes of discovery in the case.

(4) Pro se defendants. A pro se defendant in a prosecution for an
offense listed in subdivision (e)(5) or (f)(2) of this section shall not be
permitted to depose the victim directly. In such a case, the court shall appoint
counsel for the defendant for purposes of the deposition.

Sec. 27. REPORT

The court administrator, the department of state’s attorneys and sheriffs, the
office of the defender general, the center for crime victims services, the
Vermont bar association, and the American Civil Liberties Union of Vermont
shall individually report to the senate and house committees on judiciary in
January 2011 on the impacts of Sec. 26 of this act as it relates to disposition of
the cases addressed in Sec. 26.

Sec. 27a. SUNSET

Section 26 of this act shall be repealed on July 1, 2011.

Sec. 28. Rule 804a of the Vermont Rules of Evidence is amended to read:
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804a. HEARSAY EXCEPTION; PUTATIVE VICTIM AGE TEN 12
OR UNDER; MENTALLY RETARDED OR MENTALLY ILL
PERSON IN NEED OF GUARDIANSHIP

(a) Statements by a person who is a child ten 12 years of age or under or a
mentally retarded or mentally ill person in need of guardianship as defined in
14 V.S.A. § 3061(4) or (5) § 3061 at the time of trial the statements were made
are not excluded by the hearsay rule if the court specifically finds at the time
they are offered that:

(1) the statements are offered in a civil, criminal, or administrative
proceeding in which the child or mentally retarded or mentally ill person in
need of guardianship is a putative victim of sexual assault under 13 V.S.A.
§ 3252, aggravated sexual assault under 13 V.S.A. § 3253, aggravated sexual
assault of a child under 13 V.S.A. § 3253a, lewd or lascivious conduct under
13 V.S.A. § 2601, or lewd or lascivious conduct with a child under 13 V.S.A.
§ 2602, incest under 13 V.S.A. § 205, abuse, neglect, or exploitation under
33 V.S.A. § 6913, sexual abuse of a vulnerable adult under 13 V.S.A. § 1379,
or wrongful sexual activity and the statements concern the alleged crime or the
wrongful sexual activity; or the statements are offered in a juvenile proceeding
under chapter 55 53 of Title 33 involving a delinquent act alleged to have been
committed against a child thirteen 13 years of age or under or a mentally
retarded or mentally ill person in need of guardianship, if the delinquent act
would be an offense listed herein if committed by an adult and the statements
concern the alleged delinquent act; or the child is the subject of a petition
alleging that the child is in need of care or supervision under chapter 55 53 of
Title 33, and the statement relates to the sexual abuse of the child;

(2) the statements were not taken in preparation for a legal proceeding
and, if a criminal or delinquency proceeding has been initiated, the statements
were made prior to the defendant’s initial appearance before a judicial officer
under Rule 5 of the Vermont Rules of Criminal Procedure;

(3) the child or mentally retarded or mentally ill person in need of
guardianship is available to testify in court or under Rule 807; and

(4) the time, content, and circumstances of the statements provide
substantial indicia of trustworthiness.

(b) Upon motion of either party in a criminal or delinquency proceeding,
the court shall require the child or mentally retarded or mentally ill person in
need of guardianship to testify for the state.

Sec. 29. 33 V.S.A. § 4916b is amended to read:

§ 4916b. HUMAN SERVICES BOARD HEARING
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(a) Within 30 days of the date on which the administrative reviewer mailed
notice of placement of a report on the registry, the person who is the subject of
the substantiation may apply in writing to the human services board for relief.
The board shall hold a fair hearing pursuant to 3 V.S.A. § 3091. When the
department receives notice of the appeal, it shall make note in the registry
record that the substantiation has been appealed to the board.

(b)(1) The board shall hold a hearing within 60 days of the receipt of the
request for a hearing and shall issue a decision within 30 days of the hearing.

(2) Priority shall be given to appeals in which there are immediate
employment consequences for the person appealing the decision.

(3) Rule 804a of the Vermont Rules of Evidence (V.R.E) shall apply to
hearings held under this subsection only as follows:

(A) V.R.E. 804a(a)(1) and (4) shall apply.

(B) V.R.E. 804a(a)(2) shall apply, except that any deposition or
testimony given under oath at another proceeding shall be admissible evidence
in a hearing held under this subsection.

(C) V.R.E. 804a(a)(3) shall apply to hearings under this subsection
unless the hearing officer determines, based on a preponderance of the
evidence, that requiring the child to testify will present a substantial risk of
trauma to the child.

(D) V.R.E. 804a(b) shall not apply.

(4) Convictions and adjudications which arose out of the same incident
of abuse or neglect for which the person was substantiated, whether by verdict,
by judgment, or by a plea of any type, including a plea resulting in a deferred
sentence, shall be competent evidence in a hearing held under this subchapter.

(c) A hearing may be stayed upon request of the petitioner if there is a
related criminal or family court case pending in court which arose out of the
same incident of abuse or neglect for which the person was substantiated.

(d) If no review by the board is requested, the department’s decision in the
case shall be final, and the person shall have no further right for review under
this section. The board may grant a waiver and permit such a review upon
good cause shown.

* * * Sentencing * * *

Sec. 30. 13 V.S.A. § 3253a is added to read:

§ 3253a. AGGRAVATED SEXUAL ASSAULT OF A CHILD
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(a) A person commits the crime of aggravated sexual assault of a child if
the actor is at least 18 years of age and commits sexual assault against a child
under the age of 16 in violation of section 3252 of this title and at least one of
the following circumstances exists:

(1) At the time of the sexual assault, the actor causes serious bodily
injury to the victim or to another.

(2) The actor is joined or assisted by one or more persons in physically
restraining, assaulting, or sexually assaulting the victim.

(3) The actor commits the sexual act under circumstances which
constitute the crime of kidnapping.

(4) The actor has previously been convicted in this state of sexual
assault under subsection 3252(a) or (b) of this title, aggravated sexual assault
under section 3253 of this title, or aggravated sexual assault of a child under
this section, or has been convicted in any jurisdiction in the United States or
territories of an offense which would constitute sexual assault under subsection
3252(a) or (b) of this title, aggravated sexual assault under section 3253 of this
title, or aggravated sexual assault of a child under this section if committed in
this state.

(5) At the time of the sexual assault, the actor is armed with a deadly
weapon and uses or threatens to use the deadly weapon on the victim or on
another.

(6) At the time of the sexual assault, the actor threatens to cause
imminent serious bodily injury to the victim or to another, and the victim
reasonably believes that the actor has the present ability to carry out the threat.

(7) At the time of the sexual assault, the actor applies deadly force to the
victim.

(8) The victim is subjected by the actor to repeated nonconsensual
sexual acts as part of the same occurrence or the victim is subjected to repeated
nonconsensual sexual acts as part of the actor’s common scheme and plan.

(b) A person who commits the crime of aggravated sexual assault of a child
shall be imprisoned for not less than 25 years with a maximum term of life,
and, in addition, may be fined not more than $50,000.00. The 25-year term of
imprisonment required by this subsection shall be served and may not be
suspended, deferred, or served as a supervised sentence. The defendant shall
not be eligible for probation, parole, furlough, or any other type of early
release until the expiration of the 25-year term of imprisonment.

Secs. 31 and 32. RESERVED FOR FUTURE USE
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Sec. 33. 13 V.S.A. § 7041 is amended to read:

§ 7041. DEFERRED SENTENCE

(a) Upon an adjudication of guilt and after the filing of a presentence
investigation report, the court may defer sentencing and place the respondent
on probation upon such terms and conditions as it may require if a written
agreement concerning the deferring of sentence is entered into between the
state’s attorney and the respondent and filed with the clerk of the court.

(b) Notwithstanding subsection (a) of this section, the court may defer
sentencing and place the respondent on probation without a written agreement
between the state’s attorney and the respondent if the following conditions are
met:

(1) the respondent is 28 years old or younger;

(2) the crime for which the respondent is being sentenced is not a listed
crime as defined in subdivision 5301(7) of this title;

(3) the court orders a presentence investigation in accordance with the
procedures set forth in Rule 32 of the Vermont Rules of Criminal Procedure,
unless the state’s attorney agrees to waive the presentence investigation;

(4) the court permits the victim to submit a written or oral statement
concerning the consideration of deferment of sentence;

(5) the court reviews the presentence investigation and the victim’s
impact statement with the parties; and

(6) the court determines that deferring sentence is in the interest of
justice.

(c) Notwithstanding subsections (a) and (b) of this section, the court may
not defer a sentence for a violation of section 3253a of this title (aggravated
sexual assault of a child).

(d) Entry of deferment of sentence shall constitute an appealable judgment
for purposes of appeal in accordance with section 2383 of Title 12 and Rule 3
of the Vermont Rules of Appellate Procedure. Except as otherwise provided,
entry of deferment of sentence shall constitute imposition of sentence solely
for the purpose of sentence review in accordance with section 7042 of this title.
The court may impose sentence at any time if the respondent violates the
conditions of the deferred sentence during the period of deferment.

(d)(e) Upon violation of the terms of probation or of the deferred sentence
agreement, the court shall impose sentence. Upon fulfillment of the terms of
probation and of the deferred sentence agreement, the court shall strike the
adjudication of guilt and discharge the respondent. Upon discharge Except as
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provided in subsections (g) and (h) of this section, the record of the criminal
proceedings shall be expunged except that the record shall not be expunged
until restitution has been paid in full upon the discharge of the respondent from
probation, absent a finding of good cause by the court. The court shall issue an
order to expunge all records and files related to the arrest, citation,
investigation, charge, adjudication of guilt, criminal proceedings, and
probation related to the deferred sentence. Copies of the order shall be sent to
each agency, department, or official named therein. Thereafter, the court, law
enforcement officers, agencies, and departments shall reply to any request for
information that no record exists with respect to such person upon inquiry in
the matter. Notwithstanding this subsection, the record shall not be expunged
until restitution has been paid in full.

(e)(f) A deferred sentence imposed under subsection (a) or (b) of this
section may include a restitution order issued pursuant to section 7043 of this
title. Nonpayment of restitution shall not constitute grounds for imposition of
the underlying sentence.

(g) Upon discharge of the respondent from probation for a violation of
section 2602 (lewd and lascivious conduct with a child), 3252(c), (d), or (e)
(sexual assault of a child), or 3253(a)(8) (aggravated sexual assault involving a
child under 13) of this title, the court shall issue an order to expunge any
record of the adjudication of guilt related to the deferred sentence. An entity
subject to the expungement order shall be permitted to retain its own records
and files related to the arrest, citation, investigation, and charge which led to
the deferred sentence, and may share such records and files with other
investigating agencies in accordance with state and federal law. Copies of the
order shall be sent to each agency, department, or official named therein. The
court, law enforcement officers, agencies, and departments shall reply to any
request for information that no record of conviction exists with respect to such
person upon inquiry in the matter.

(h) The Vermont criminal information center shall retain a special index of
deferred sentences for sex offenses that require registration pursuant to
subchapter 3 of chapter 167 of this title. This index shall only list the name
and date of birth of the subject of the expunged files and records, the offense
for which the subject was convicted, and the docket number of the proceeding
which was the subject of the expungement. The special index shall be
confidential and may be accessed only by the director of the Vermont criminal
information center and a designated clerical staffperson for the purpose of
providing information to the department of corrections in the preparation of a
presentence investigation in accordance with 28 V.S.A. § 204a.

Sec. 33a. 33 V.S.A. § 5117(b)(1) is amended to read:
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(b)(1) Notwithstanding the foregoing, inspection of such records and files
by the following is not prohibited:

* * *
(G) The commissioner of corrections if the information would be

helpful in preparing a presentence report, in determining placement, or in
developing a treatment plan for a person convicted of a sex offense that
requires registration pursuant to subchapter 3 of chapter 167 of Title 13.

Sec. 34. 33 V.S.A. § 5119 is amended to read:

§ 5119. SEALING OF RECORDS

* * *

(f)(1) Except as provided in subdivisions (2), (3), and (4), and (5) of this
subsection, inspection of the files and records included in the order may
thereafter be permitted by the court only upon petition by the person who is the
subject of such records, and only to those persons named in the record.

* * *

(5) The order unsealing a record pursuant to subdivisions (2), (3), and
(4) of this subsection must state whether the record is unsealed entirely or in
part and the duration of the unsealing. If the court’s order unseals only part of
the record or unseals the record only as to certain persons, the order must
specify the particular records that are unsealed or the particular persons who
may have access to the record, or both.

(6) If a person is convicted of a sex offense that requires registration
pursuant to subchapter 3 of chapter 167 of Title 13, the court in which the
person was convicted:

(A) may inspect its own files and records included in the sealing
order for the purpose of imposing sentence upon or supervising the person for
the registrable offense; and

(B) shall examine court indices developed pursuant to subdivision
(e)(2)(A) of this section. If the offender appears on any of the court indices,
the court shall unseal any court files and records relating to the juvenile
adjudication and shall make them available to the commissioner of corrections
for the purposes of preparing a presentence investigation, determining
placement, or developing a treatment plan. The commissioner shall use only
information relating to adjudications relevant to a sex offense conviction.

Sec. 35. 28 V.S.A. § 204 is amended to read:

§ 204. SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN REPORT; PROTECTION OF
RECORDS
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(a) A court, before which a person is being prosecuted for any crime, may
in its discretion order the commissioner to submit a written report as to the
circumstances of the alleged offense and the character and previous criminal
history record of the person, with recommendation. If the presentence report is
being prepared in connection with a person’s conviction for a sex offense that
requires registration pursuant to chapter 167, subchapter 3 of Title 13, the
commissioner shall obtain information pertaining to the person’s juvenile
record, if any, in accordance with 33 V.S.A. §§ 5117 and 5119(f)(6), and any
deferred sentences received for a registrable sex offense in accordance with 13
V.S.A. § 7041(g), and include such information in the presentence report.

* * *

(d) Any presentence report, pre-parole report, or supervision history
prepared by any employee of the department in the discharge of the
employee’s official duty, except as provided in subdivision 204a(b)(5) and
section 205 of this title, is privileged and shall not be disclosed to anyone
outside the department other than the judge or the parole board, except that the
court or board may in its discretion permit the inspection of the report or parts
thereof by the state’s attorney, the defendant or inmate or his or her attorney,
or other persons having a proper interest therein, whenever the best interest or
welfare of the defendant or inmate makes that action desirable or helpful.

* * *

Sec. 36. 28 V.S.A. § 204a is amended to read:

§ 204a. SEXUAL SEX OFFENDERS; PRE-SENTENCE PRESENTENCE
INVESTIGATIONS; RISK ASSESSMENTS; PSYCHOSEXUAL
EVALUATIONS

(a) The department of corrections shall conduct a presentence investigation
for all persons convicted of:

(1) lewd and lascivious conduct in violation of section 2601 of Title 13;

(2) lewd and lascivious conduct with a child in violation of section 2602
of Title 13;

(3) sexual assault in violation of section 3252 of Title 13;

(4) aggravated sexual assault in violation of section 3253 of Title 13; or

(5) aggravated sexual assault of a child in violation of section 3253a of
Title 13;

(6) kidnapping with intent to commit sexual assault in violation of
subdivision 2405(a)(1)(D) of Title 13; or
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(7) an offense involving sexual exploitation of children in violation of
chapter 64 of Title 13.

(b) A presentence investigation required by this section:

(1) shall include an assessment of the offender’s risk of reoffense and a
determination of whether the person is a high risk offender;

(2) shall include a psychosexual evaluation if so ordered by the court;
and

(3) shall include information regarding the offender’s records
maintained by the department for children and families in the child protection
registry pursuant to 33 V.S.A. § 4916 if the offender was previously
substantiated for child abuse or neglect;

(4) shall include information, if any, regarding any deferred sentences
received by the offender for a registrable sex offense in accordance with
13 V.S.A. § 7041(h); and

(5) shall be completed before the defendant is sentenced. Upon
completion, the department shall submit copies of the presentence
investigation to the court, the state’s attorney, and the defendant’s attorney,
and the department for children and families. Copies of a presentence
investigation authorized by this subdivision shall remain privileged and are not
subject to public inspection.

* * *

(d) The requirement that a presentence investigation be performed pursuant
to subsection (a) of this section:

(1) may be waived if the court finds that a report is not necessary for
purposes of sentencing; and

(2) shall not be interpreted to prohibit the performance of a presentence
investigation, psychosexual evaluation, or risk assessment at any other time
during the proceeding, including prior to the entry of a plea agreement or prior
to sentencing for a violation of probation.

* * *

Sec. 37. 33 V.S.A. § 4919 is amended to read:

§ 4919. DISCLOSURE OF REGISTRY RECORDS

(a) The commissioner may disclose a registry record only as follows:

* * *

(9) To the commissioner of the department of corrections in accordance
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with the provisions of 28 V.S.A. § 204a(b)(3).

* * * Corrections and Supervision * * *

Sec. 38. 28 V.S.A. § 252a is added to read:

§ 252a. REVIEW OF PROBATION CONDITIONS

(a) When the court imposes a sentence upon a defendant who has been
convicted of an offense enumerated in section 204a of this title that includes a
period of incarceration of more than one year to serve to be followed by
probation, the court may make the probation contingent on the offender
fulfilling specific stated conditions, such as taking part in treatment while
incarcerated, and may modify, following a hearing pursuant to subsection (c)
of this section, the conditions of probation if a violation has occurred. The
court shall review the probation conditions imposed at the time of sentencing
after the incarceration portion of the sentence has been served, and prior to the
offender’s release to probation. Such review shall include information about
the offender developed after the date of sentencing, including information
about the offender’s incarceration period.

(b) For an offender whose probation is contingent on fulfilling conditions
pursuant to subsection (a) of this section, the department of corrections shall
prepare a prerelease probation report to the court at least 30 days prior to the
release based upon information available to the department. The prerelease
probation report shall include the offender’s degree of participation in
treatment while incarcerated, whether conditions imposed under subsection (a)
of this section were complied with, and other information relevant to the
offender’s release to the probationary sentence. The department of corrections
shall provide a copy of the prerelease probation report to the attorney for the
offender and the prosecuting attorney at the same time it provides the report to
the court.

(c) If the commissioner of corrections believes the offender has violated a
condition imposed under subsection (a) of this section, he or she may
recommend a change to the original probation order. In this case, the court
shall schedule a modification hearing prior to the release date. The court may
modify the conditions or add further requirements as authorized by section 252
of this title. The offender shall have a reasonable opportunity to contest the
modification prior to its imposition. The prosecuting attorney shall represent
the state in connection with any proceeding held in accordance with this
section.

Sec. 39. 28 V.S.A. § 252 is amended to read:

§ 252. CONDITIONS OF PROBATION
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* * *

(b) When imposing a sentence of probation, the court may, as a condition
of probation, require that the offender:

* * *

(16) Submit to periodic polygraph testing if the offender is being placed
on probation for a sex offense that requires registration pursuant to chapter
167, subchapter 3 of Title 13;

(17) If the probation officer has reasonable grounds to believe the
offender has violated a probation condition, permit a probation officer or
designee to monitor or examine the offender’s activities, communications, and
use of any computer or other digital or electronic media, including cell phone,
smartphone, digital camera, digital video camera, digital music player or
recorder, digital video player or recorder, personal digital assistant, portable
electronic storage device, gaming system, or any other contemporary device
capable of the storage of digital electronic communication or data storage or
access to the Internet or other computer or digital network;

(18) Satisfy any other conditions reasonably related to his or her
rehabilitation. Such conditions may include prohibiting the use of alcohol,
prohibiting having contact with minors, prohibiting or limiting the use of a
computer or other electronic devices, and permitting a probation officer access
to all computers or other digital or electronic media, mail covers, subscription
services, and credit card statements. The court shall not impose a condition
prohibiting the offender from engaging in any legal behavior unless the
condition is reasonably related to the offender’s rehabilitation or necessary to
reduce risk to public safety.

Sec. 40. RESERVED FOR FUTURE USE

Sec. 41. 28 V.S.A. § 255 is amended to read:

§ 255. DISCHARGE

(a) Upon the termination of the period of probation or the earlier discharge
of the probationer in accordance with section 251 of this title, the probationer
shall, unless the court has ordered otherwise under subsection (b) of this
section or under subsection 7043( l ) of Title 13, be relieved of any obligations
imposed by the order of the court and shall have satisfied the sentence for the
crime.

(b) [Deleted.]
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(c) A court hearing shall be held prior to discharging an offender from
probation for a sex offense that requires registration pursuant to chapter 167,
subchapter 3 of Title 13.

Sec. 42. 28 V.S.A. § 106 is added to read:

§ 106. SYSTEMS APPROACH TO COMMUNITY SUPERVISION OF SEX
OFFENDERS

(a) The department of corrections shall establish a comprehensive systems
approach to the management of sex offenders, which employs longer and more
intensive community supervision of high-risk sex offenders. To accomplish
this, the department shall employ probation officers with training in the
management of sex offenders sufficient to provide intensive community
supervision and may use polygraph tests and prerelease and postincarceration
treatment to promote rehabilitation.

(b) The department shall create multidisciplinary case management teams,
each involving as appropriate a probation or parole officer with training in
supervision of sex offenders, a treatment provider, a victim’s advocate, a
representative of the department for children and families, and a forensic
polygraph examiner. These professionals shall collaborate, prioritizing
community safety and the protection of former victims, and shall participate
and cooperate in compliance with 13 V.S.A. § 5415 with the local special
investigation unit. These teams shall address the specific treatment and
supervision needs of a particular offender to enhance protection of the public,
to assist that offender in reintegrating safely into the community, to support
and protect known victims, and to respond to any new concerns about risk of
reoffense.

(c) The department of corrections shall designate and train probation and
parole officers in each district office to supervise sex offenders, to provide
consistent and intensive case management, and to impose and enforce
conditions uniquely suited to aiding the offenders’ reintegration into the
community. These officers shall not have a caseload of more than 45
offenders, except that a mixed caseload shall be managed pursuant to
subdivision 105(d)(5) of this title.

Sec. 43. AUDIT OF DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS’ CASELOADS
PERTAINING TO SEX OFFENDERS

(a) On or before January 15, 2011, the auditor of accounts shall submit to
the house and senate committees on judiciary and the house committee on
corrections and institutions an independent audit of the effectiveness of
probation and parole’s management of current sex offender caseloads.
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(b) The audit shall be conducted in consultation with the center for the
prevention and treatment of sexual abuse.

Sec. 44. 28 V.S.A. § 204b is added to read:

§ 204b. HIGH-RISK SEX OFFENDERS

A person who is sentenced to an incarcerative sentence for a violation of
any of the offenses listed in subsection 204a(a) of this title and who is
designated by the department of corrections as high-risk pursuant to 13 V.S.A.
§ 5411b while serving his or her sentence shall not be eligible for parole,
furlough, or any other type of early release until the expiration of 70 percent of
his or her maximum sentence.

Sec. 45. 33 V.S.A. § 4913 is amended to read:

§ 4913. SUSPECTED CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT; REMEDIAL
ACTION

(a) Any physician, surgeon, osteopath, chiropractor, or physician’s assistant
licensed, certified, or registered under the provisions of Title 26, any resident
physician, intern, or any hospital administrator in any hospital in this state,
whether or not so registered, and any registered nurse, licensed practical nurse,
medical examiner, emergency medical personnel as defined in subdivision
2651(6) of Title 24, dentist, psychologist, pharmacist, any other health care
provider, child care worker, school superintendent, school teacher, school
librarian, school principal, school guidance counselor, and any other individual
who is regularly employed by a school district, or who is contracted and paid
by a school district to provide student services for five or more hours per week
during the school year, mental health professional, social worker, probation
officer, any employee, contractor, and grantee of the agency of human services
who have contact with clients, police officer, camp owner, camp administrator,
camp counselor, or member of the clergy who has reasonable cause to believe
that any child has been abused or neglected shall report or cause a report to be
made in accordance with the provisions of section 4914 of this title within 24
hours. As used in this subsection, “camp” includes any residential or
nonresidential recreational program.

* * *

Sec. 46. TRAINING IN THE REPORTING OF SUSPECTED CHILD
ABUSE; AGENCY OF HUMAN SERVICES

The agency of human services shall develop protocols for determining
which of its employees, contractors, and grantees are mandatory reporters for
purposes of 33 V.S.A. § 4913. The agency of human services shall train its
employees who are mandatory reporters pursuant to 33 V.S.A. § 4913 in the
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identification and reporting of suspected child abuse and neglect, including the
assessment of risk of harm, and report to the senate and house committees on
judiciary, the senate committee on health and welfare, the house committee on
human services, and the house committee on corrections and institutions no
later than September 15, 2009 regarding its efforts to ensure that its employees
are properly trained.

Sec. 47. 28 V.S.A. § 502b is amended to read:

§ 502b. TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF PAROLE

(a) When an inmate is paroled, the parole board shall establish terms and
conditions of parole that it deems reasonably necessary to ensure that the
inmate will lead a law-abiding life and that will assist the inmate to do so.
Such terms and conditions shall be set forth in the parolee’s parole agreement.
Terms and conditions of parole shall be designed to protect the victim,
potential victims, and the public, and to reduce the risk of reoffense. Such
conditions may include prohibiting the use of alcohol; prohibiting having
contact with minors; prohibiting or limiting the use of a computer or other
electronic devices; permitting a probation officer access to all computers or
other digital or electronic media, mail covers, subscription services, and credit
card statements; and if a probation officer has reasonable grounds to believe
the offender has violated a parole condition, permit a probation officer to
monitor or examine the offender’s activities, communications, and use of any
computer or other digital or electronic device, including cell phone,
smartphone, digital camera, digital video camera, digital music player or
recorder, digital video player or recorder, personal digital assistant, portable
electronic storage device, gaming system, or any other contemporary device
capable of the storage of digital electronic communication or data storage or
access to the Internet or other computer or digital network.

* * *

Sec. 48. Rule 32.1 of the Vermont Rules of Criminal Procedure is amended to
read:

RULE 32.1. REVOCATION AND MODIFICATION OF PROBATION

(a) Revocation of Probation.

(1) Preliminary Hearing. Whenever a probationer is held in custody on
the ground that he or she has violated a condition of his probation, he the
probationer shall be afforded a prompt hearing before a judicial officer in order
to determine whether there is probable cause to hold the probationer for a
revocation hearing. The probationer shall be given:
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(A) notice of the preliminary hearing and its purpose and of the
alleged violation of probation;

(B) an opportunity to appear at the hearing and present evidence in
his or her own behalf;

(C) upon request, the opportunity to question opposing witnesses
against him unless, for good cause, the judicial officer decides that justice does
not require the appearance of the witness; and

(D) notice of his the right to be represented by counsel and his the
right to assigned counsel if he or she is unable to obtain counsel.

The proceeding shall be taken down by a court reporter or recording
equipment. If probable cause is found to exist, the probationers shall be held
for a revocation hearing. If probable cause is not found to exist, the
proceeding shall be dismissed.

(2) Revocation Hearing. The revocation hearing, unless waived by the
probationer, shall be held within a reasonable time in the court in which
probation is imposed. The probationer shall be given:

(A) written notice of his the alleged violation of probation;

(B) disclosure of the evidence against him or her;

(C) an opportunity to appear and to present evidence in his own
behalf;

(D) the opportunity to question opposing witnesses against him; and

(E) written notice of his the right to be represented by counsel and his
the right to assigned counsel if he or she is unable to obtain counsel.

(3) Release From Custody.

(A) A probationer held in custody pursuant to a request to revoke
probation may be released by a judicial officer pending hearing or appeal. In
determining conditions of release, the judicial officer shall consider the factors
set forth in 13 V.S.A. § 7554(b). Any denial of or change in the terms of
release shall be reviewable in the manner provided in 13 V.S.A. §§ 7554 and
7556 for pre-trial pretrial release.

(B) A probationer who is serving a sentence for a sex offense that
requires registration pursuant to chapter 167, subchapter 3 of Title 13 who
violates a risk-related condition of probation may be held in custody until the
revocation hearing.

(b) Modification of Probation. A hearing and assistance of counsel are
required before the terms or conditions of probation can be modified, unless
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the relief granted to the probationer upon his or her request or the court’s own
motion is favorable to him the probationer.

* * * Systemwide * * *

Sec. 49. AUDIT OF THE STATE’S SEXUAL ABUSE RESPONSE
SYSTEM

(a) On or before November 15, 2011, and every five years thereafter, the
auditor of accounts shall submit to the house and senate committees on
judiciary, the house committees on corrections and institutions, on
appropriations, on education, and on human services, and the senate committee
on health and welfare an independent audit which assesses the status of the
state’s sexual abuse response system, including prevention, criminal
investigations, presentence investigations and sentencing of offenders,
supervision and treatment of offenders, victim and family assistance and
treatment, and training for those working in the system.

(b) The audit shall be conducted in consultation with the center for the
prevention and treatment of sexual abuse.

Sec. 50. 33 V.S.A. § 306 is amended to read:

§ 306. ADMINISTRATIVE PROVISIONS

* * *

(c) The commissioner may publicly disclose the findings or information
about any case of child abuse or neglect that has resulted in the fatality or near
fatality of a child, including information obtained under chapter 49 of this title,
unless the state’s attorney or attorney general who is investigating or
prosecuting any matter involving the fatality requests the commissioner to
withhold disclosure, in which case the commissioner shall not disclose any
information until completion of any criminal proceedings involving the fatality
or the state’s attorney or attorney general consents to disclosure, whichever
occurs earlier.

Sec. 51. RESERVED FOR FUTURE USE
Sec. 52. REPORT; DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS

On or before November 15, 2009, the department of corrections shall report
to the senate and house committees on judiciary, the senate committee on
health and welfare, the house committee on human services, the senate
committee on corrections; and the house committee on corrections and
institutions regarding the following:

(1) Proposed legislation on protocols for releasing a sex offender from
confinement into a home with children. Such protocols shall address:
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(A) the notification of the department for children and families by the
department of corrections if placement in a home with children is being
considered;

(B) how the department for children and families and the department
of corrections will work together in a coordinated fashion to determine whether
such a placement is appropriate;

(C) the procedure to be followed if the department for children and
families determines that risk of harm exists to a child based on the placement
of the offender in the home and the proposed residence is not approved; and

(D) the procedure by which the decision to place an offender in a
home with a child will be reviewed by the departments to ensure that a risk of
harm to a child does not emerge.

(2) Criteria and centralized review of release recommendations made by
the department with respect to sex offenders. Decisions to release or
recommend release of a sex offender from confinement or discharge from
supervision should be done in consultation with a treatment team of individuals
with expertise in the field of managing sex offenders, and such decisions and
the rationale should be documented in the case record. A decision to release an
offender despite treatment team advice to the contrary should be reviewed by
the commissioner or a designee. The department should operate under the
assumption that sex offenders should be supervised in the community for as
long as possible unless overwhelming information indicates otherwise.

(3) A plan to improve training and oversight of department employees
who work with sex offenders. Training should include orientation and
mentoring for new employees, as well as continuing education for long-term
employees.

(4) An update on the implementation of the provisions of this act.

Sec. 52a. 24 V.S.A. § 1940(c) is amended to read:

(c) A specialized investigative unit grants board is created which shall be
comprised of the attorney general, the secretary of administration, the
executive director of the department of state’s attorneys, the commissioner of
the department of public safety, a representative of the Vermont sheriffs’
association, a representative of the Vermont association of chiefs of police, the
executive director of the center for crime victim services, and the executive
director of the Vermont League of Cities and Towns, Inc. Specialized
investigative units organized and operating under this section for the
investigation of sex crimes, child abuse, elder abuse, domestic violence, or
crimes against those with physical or developmental disabilities may apply to
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the board for a grant or grants covering the costs of salaries and employee
benefits to be expended during a given year for the performance of unit duties
as well as unit operating costs for rent, utilities, equipment, training, and
supplies. Grants under this section shall be approved by a majority of the
entire board and shall not exceed 50 percent of the yearly salary and employee
benefit costs of the unit. Preference shall be given to grant applications which
include the participation of the department of public safety, the department for
children and families, sheriffs’ departments, community victims’ advocacy
organizations, and municipalities within the region.

Sec. 53. EFFECTIVE DATES

(a) This section and Secs. 1 (legislative intent), 2 (comprehensive statewide
approach to the prevention of child sexual abuse), 2a (sexual violence
prevention task force), 11–13b (community outreach; center for the prevention
and treatment of sexual abuse; sexual exploitation of a minor; listed crime
definition; sex offender definition), 16–22 (special investigation units;
multidisciplinary teams; DNA), 30 (aggravated sexual assault of a child), 46
(training AHS employees regarding mandatory reporting) and 49–52a (audit;
child near fatality; DOC report; special investigation units) of this act shall
take effect upon passage.

(b) Secs. 10 (child care facilities), 14–15 (reporting to sex offender
registry), 26–29 (depositions; hearsay exceptions; human services board
hearings), 33–44 (deferred sentences; juvenile records; probation conditions;
discharge from probation audit of DOC sex offender caseloads, high-risk sex
offenders), 47 (parole), and 48 (modification of probation) of this act shall take
effect July 1, 2009.

(c) Secs. 8 (subscription service) and 45 (mandatory reporting of child
abuse and neglect) of this act shall take effect July 1, 2010.

(d) Secs. 23–25 (DNA) of this act shall take effect July 1, 2011.

(e) All other sections of this act shall take effect as explicitly set forth in
Secs. 3b (comprehensive health education), 6c (licensing and employment), 7a
(volunteers, work study students, and community-based learning), and 9a
(information for school employees and the public).

(Committee vote: 10-0-1)

Rep. Acinapura of Brandon, for the Committee on Appropriations,
recommends the bill ought to pass in concurrence when amended as
recommended by the Committee on Judiciary.

(Committee vote: 8-0-3)
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Amendment to proposal of amendment of the Committee on Judiciary
to be offered by Rep. Lippert of Hinesburg to S. 13

Moves the proposal of amendment be amended as follows:

First: In Sec. 3a (Transitional provisions), in subdivision (a)(1), after the
word “violence” by adding the word “prevention”

Second: In Sec. 6b, 16 V.S.A. § 252(1), in subdivision (A), by striking
“requires registration pursuant to subchapter 3 of chapter 167 of Title 13” and
inserting in lieu thereof “is an offense listed in 13 V.S.A. § 5401(10) (sex
offender definition for registration purposes)”

Third: In Sec. 12, by striking Sec. 12 through

§ 601. CENTER FOR THE PREVENTION AND TREATMENT OF
SEXUAL ABUSE

and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 12. 28 V.S.A. § 122 is added to read:

§ 122. CENTER FOR THE PREVENTION AND TREATMENT OF
SEXUAL ABUSE

Fourth: In Sec. 28, Rule 804a of the Vermont Rules of Evidence, in
subdivision (a)(1), after the words “or the statements are offered in a juvenile
proceeding under chapter” by striking “53” and inserting in lieu thereof “52”

Amendment to be offered by Rep. Crawford of Burke to S. 13

Moves to amend the proposal of amendment of the Committee on Judiciary
as follows:

First: In Sec. 3a, subsection (a), by striking the date “September 1, 2009”
and inserting in lieu thereof the date “July 1, 2009”

Second: In Sec. 3a, subsection (b), by striking the date “July 1, 2010” and
inserting in lieu thereof the date “October 31, 2009”

Third: In Sec. 3b, subsection (b), by striking the date “July 1, 2011” and
inserting in lieu thereof the date “July 1, 2010”

Amendment to be offered by Rep. Canfield of Fair Haven to S. 13

Moves to amend the proposal of amendment of the Committee on Judiciary
by adding a new Sec. 15 a to read:

Sec. 15a to read:

Sec. 15a. 13 V.S.A. § 5411a is amended to read:

§ 5411a. ELECTRONIC POSTING OF THE SEX OFFENDER REGISTRY
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(a) Notwithstanding sections 2056a-2056e of Title 20, the department shall
electronically post information on the Internet in accordance with subsection
(b) of this section regarding the following sex offenders, upon their release
from confinement:

(1) Sex offenders who have been convicted of a violation of section
3253 of this title (aggravated sexual assault), section 2602 of this title (lewd or
lascivious conduct with child) if the offender has been designated as high risk
by the department of corrections pursuant to section 5411b of this title, or
subdivision 2405(a)(1)(D) of this title if a registrable offense (kidnapping and
sexual assault of a child) for all sex offenders who are required to register
pursuant to subdivision 5401(10) of this title.

(2) Sex offenders who have at least one prior conviction for an offense
described in subdivision 5401(10) of this subchapter.

(3) Sex offenders who have failed to comply with sex offender
registration requirements and for whose arrest there is an outstanding warrant
for such noncompliance. Information on offenders shall remain on the Internet
only while the warrant is outstanding.

(4) Sex offenders who have been designated as sexual predators pursuant
to section 5405 of this title.

(5)(A) Sex offenders who have not complied with sex offender treatment
recommended by the department of corrections or who are ineligible for sex
offender treatment. The department of corrections shall establish rules for the
administration of this subdivision and shall specify what circumstances
constitute noncompliance with treatment and criteria for ineligibility to
participate in treatment. Offenders subject to this provision shall have the right
to appeal the department of corrections' determination in superior court in
accordance with Rule 75 of the Vermont Rules of Civil Procedure. This
subdivision shall apply prospectively and shall not apply to those sex offenders
who did not comply with treatment or were ineligible for treatment prior to
March 1, 2005.

(B) The department of corrections shall notify the department if a sex
offender who is compliant with sex offender treatment completes his or her
sentence but has not completed sex offender treatment. As long as the offender
complies with treatment, the offender shall not be considered noncompliant
under this subdivision and shall not be placed on the Internet registry in
accordance with this subdivision alone. However, the offender shall submit to
the department proof of continuing treatment compliance every three months.
Proof of compliance shall be a form provided by the department that the
offender's treatment provider shall sign, attesting to the offender's continuing
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compliance with recommended treatment. Failure to submit such proof as
required under this subdivision (B) shall result in the offender's placement on
the Internet registry in accordance with subdivision (A) of this subdivision (5).

(6) Sex offenders who have been designated by the department of
corrections, pursuant to section 5411b of this title, as high-risk.

(b) The department shall electronically post the following information on
sex offenders designated in subsection (a) of this section:

(1) the offender's name and any known aliases;

(2) the offender's date of birth;

(3) a general physical description of the offender;

(4) a digital photograph of the offender;

(5) the offender's town of residence address;

(6) the date and nature of the offender's conviction;

(7) if the offender is under the supervision of the department of
corrections, the name and telephone number of the local department of
corrections office in charge of monitoring the sex offender;

(8) whether the offender complied with treatment recommended by the
department of corrections;

(9) a statement that there is an outstanding warrant for the offender's
arrest, if applicable; and

(10) the reason for which the offender information is accessible under
this section.

(c) The department shall have the authority to take necessary steps to
obtain digital photographs of offenders whose information is required to be
posted on the Internet and to update photographs as necessary. An offender
who is requested by the department to report to the department or a local law
enforcement agency for the purpose of being photographed for the Internet
shall comply with the request within 30 days.

(d) An offender's street address shall not be posted electronically. The
identity of a victim of an offense that requires registration shall not be released.

* * *

(l) The Internet registry maintained pursuant to this section shall be
searchable by either the offender’s name or address.
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Special Committee Report

The Committee on Government Operations, to which has been referred
the request of Leo Valliere for the House to judge the election and
qualifications of its member in house district Washington 3-1 submits the
following report:

Matter of Contested Election of Mr. Poirier of Barre City

Rep. Sweaney of Windsor, for the Committee on Government
Operations, respectfully reports that it has considered the matter of
qualification and election of Rep. Paul Poirier in District Washington 3-1 and
finds that Representative Paul Poirier was duly elected and is qualified to
represent Washington District 3-1 as a member of the Vermont House of
Representatives.

NOTICE CALENDAR
Favorable with Amendment

H. 62
An act relating to an exemption from municipal dog-control ordinances for

working farm dogs.

Rep. Conquest of Newbury, for the Committee on Agriculture,
recommends the bill be amended by striking all after the enacting clause and
inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 20 V.S.A. § 3541(9) is added to read:

(9) “Working farm dog” means a dog that is bred or trained to herd or
protect livestock or poultry or to protect crops and that is used for those
purposes and that is registered as a working farm dog pursuant to subsection
3581(a) of this title.

Sec. 2. 20 V.S.A. §3549 is amended to read:

§ 3549. DOMESTIC PETS OR WOLF-HYBRIDS, REGULATION BY
TOWNS

The legislative body of a city or town by ordinance may regulate the
keeping, leashing, muzzling, restraint, impoundment, and destruction of
domestic pets or wolf-hybrids and their running at large except that a
legislative body of a city or town shall not prohibit or regulate the barking or
running at large of a working farm dog when it is on the property being farmed
by the person who registered the working farm dog, pursuant to subsection
3581(a) of this title, in the following circumstances:

(1) If the working farm dog is barking in order to herd or protect
livestock or poultry or to protect crops.
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(2) If the working farm dog is running at large in order to herd or protect
livestock or poultry or to protect crops.

Sec 3. 20 V.S.A. § 3581(a) is amended to read:

§ 3581. GENERAL REQUIREMENTS

(a) A person who is the owner of a dog or wolf-hybrid more than six
months old shall annually on or before April 1 cause it to be registered,
numbered, described, and licensed on a form approved by the secretary for one
year from that day in the office of the clerk of the municipality wherein the dog
or wolf-hybrid is kept. A person who owns a working farm dog and who
intends to use that dog on a farm pursuant to the exemptions in section 3549 of
this title shall cause the working farm dog to be registered as a working farm
dog and shall, in addition to all other fees required by this section, pay $5.00
for a working farm dog license. The owner of a dog or wolf-hybrid shall cause
it to wear a collar, and attach thereto a license tag issued by the municipal
clerk. Dog or wolf-hybrid owners shall pay for the license $4.00 for each
neutered dog or wolf-hybrid, and $8.00 for each unneutered dog or wolf-
hybrid. If the license fee for any dog or wolf-hybrid is not paid by April 1, its
owner or keeper may thereafter procure a license for that license year by
paying a fee of fifty percent in excess of that otherwise required.

(Committee vote: 11-0-0)

H. 109

An act relating to uniform limited cooperative association act.

Rep. Dickinson of St. Albans Town, for the Committee on Commerce
and Economic Development, recommends the bill be amended by striking all
after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. Title 11C is added to read:

TITLE 11C. UNIFORM LIMITED COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATIONS

Article 1. General Provisions

§ 101. SHORT TITLE

This title may be cited as the Uniform Limited Cooperative Association
Act.

§ 102. DEFINITIONS

For purposes of this title the following words have the following meanings:
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(1) “Articles of organization” means the articles of organization of a
limited cooperative association required by section 302 of this title. The term
includes the articles as amended or restated.

(2) “Board of directors” means the board of directors of a limited
cooperative association.

(3) “Bylaws” means the bylaws of a limited cooperative association.
The term includes the bylaws as amended or restated.

(4) “Certificate of authority” means a certificate issued by the secretary
of state for a foreign cooperative to transact business in this state.

(5) “Contribution,” except as used in subsection 1008(c) of this title,
means a benefit that a person provides to a limited cooperative association to
become or remain a member or in the person’s capacity as a member.

(6) “Cooperative” means a limited cooperative association or an entity
organized under any cooperative law of any jurisdiction.

(7) “Designated office” means the office that a limited cooperative
association or a foreign cooperative is required to designate and maintain under
subdivision 117(a)(1) of this title.

(8) “Director” means a director of a limited cooperative association.

(9) “Distribution,” except as used in subsection 1007(e) of this title,
means a transfer of money or other property from a limited cooperative
association to a member because of the member’s financial rights or to a
transferee of a member’s financial rights.

(10) “Entity” means a person other than an individual.

(11) “Financial rights” means the right to participate in allocations and
distributions as provided in Articles 10 and 12 of this title but does not include
rights or obligations under a marketing contract governed by Article 7 of this
title.

(12) “Foreign cooperative” means an entity organized in a jurisdiction
other than this state under a law similar to this title.

(13) “Governance rights” means the right to participate in governance of
a limited cooperative association.

(14) “Investor member” means a member that has made a contribution
to a limited cooperative association and:

(A) is not required by the organic rules to conduct patronage with the
association in the member’s capacity as an investor member in order to receive
the member’s interest; or
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(B) is not permitted by the organic rules to conduct patronage with
the association in the member’s capacity as an investor member in order to
receive the member’s interest.

(15) “Limited cooperative association” means an association organized
under this title.

(16) “Member” means a person that is admitted as a patron member or
investor member, or both, in a limited cooperative association. The term does
not include a person that has dissociated as a member.

(17) “Member’s interest” means the interest of a patron member or
investor member under section 601 of this title.

(18) “Members meeting” means an annual members meeting or special
meeting of members.

(19) “Organic law” means the statute providing for the creation of an
entity or principally governing its internal affairs.

(20) “Organic rules” means the articles of organization and bylaws of a
limited cooperative association.

(21) “Organizer” means an individual who signs the initial articles of
organization.

(22) “Patron member” means a member that has made a contribution to
a limited cooperative association and:

(A) is required by the organic rules to conduct patronage with the
association in the member’s capacity as a patron member in order to receive
the member’s interest; or

(B) is permitted by the organic rules to conduct patronage with the
association in the member’s capacity as a patron member in order to receive
the member’s interest.

(23) “Patronage” means business transactions between a limited
cooperative association and a person which entitle the person to receive
financial rights based on the value or quantity of business done between the
association and the person.

(24) “Person” means an individual, corporation, business trust,
cooperative, estate, trust, partnership, limited partnership, limited liability
company, limited cooperative association, joint venture, association, public
corporation, government or governmental subdivision, agency, or
instrumentality, or any other legal or commercial entity.
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(25) “Principal office” means the principal executive office of a limited
cooperative association or foreign cooperative, whether or not in this state.

(26) “Record,” used as a noun, means information that is inscribed on a
tangible medium or that is stored in an electronic or other medium and is
retrievable in perceivable form.

(27) “Required information” means the information a limited
cooperative association is required to maintain under section 114 of this title.

(28) “Sign” means, with present intent to authenticate or adopt a record:

(A) to execute or adopt a tangible symbol; or

(B) to attach to or logically associate with the record an electronic
symbol, sound, or process.

(29) “State” means a state of the United States, the District of Columbia,
Puerto Rico, the United States Virgin Islands, or any territory or insular
possession subject to the jurisdiction of the United States.

(30) “Transfer” includes an assignment, conveyance, deed, bill of sale,
lease, mortgage, security interest, encumbrance, gift, and transfer by operation
of law.

(31) “Voting group” means any combination of one or more voting
members in one or more districts or classes that under the organic rules or this
title are entitled to vote and can be counted together collectively on a matter at
a members meeting.

(32) “Voting member” means a member that, under the organic law or
organic rules, has a right to vote on matters subject to vote by members under
the organic law or organic rules.

(33) “Voting power” means the total current power of members to vote
on a particular matter for which a vote may or is to be taken.

§ 103. LIMITED COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATION SUBJECT TO
AMENDMENT OR REPEAL

A limited cooperative association governed by this title is subject to any
amendment or repeal.

§ 104. NATURE OF LIMITED COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATION

(a) A limited cooperative association organized under this title is an
autonomous, unincorporated association of persons united to meet their mutual
interests through a jointly owned enterprise primarily controlled by those
persons, which permits combining:
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(1) ownership, financing, and receipt of benefits by the members for
whose interests the association is formed; and

(2) separate investments in the association by members who may
receive returns on their investments and a share of control.

(b) The fact that a limited cooperative association does not have one or
more of the characteristics described in subsection (a) of this section does not
alone prevent the association from being formed under and governed by this
title nor does it alone provide a basis for an action against the association.

§ 105. PURPOSE AND DURATION OF LIMITED COOPERATIVE

ASSOCIATION

(a) A limited cooperative association is an entity distinct from its members.

(b) A limited cooperative association may be organized for any lawful
purpose, whether or not for profit.

(c) Unless the articles of organization state a term for a limited cooperative
association’s existence, the association has perpetual duration.

§ 106. POWERS

A limited cooperative association may sue and be sued in its own name and
do all things necessary or convenient to carry on its activities. An association
may maintain an action against a member for harm caused to the association by
the member’s violation of a duty to the association or of the organic law or
organic rules.

§ 107. GOVERNING LAW

The law of this state governs:

(1) the internal affairs of a limited cooperative association; and

(2) the liability of a member as member and a director as director for the
debts, obligations, or other liabilities of a limited cooperative association.

§ 108. SUPPLEMENTAL PRINCIPLES OF LAW

Unless displaced by particular provisions, the principles of law and equity
supplement this title.

§ 109. REQUIREMENTS OF OTHER LAWS

(a) This title does not alter or amend any law that governs the licensing and
regulation of an individual or entity in carrying on a specific business or
profession even if that law permits the business or profession to be conducted
by a limited cooperative association, a foreign cooperative, or its members.
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(b) A limited cooperative association may not conduct an activity that,
under law of this state other than this title, may be conducted only by an entity
that meets specific requirements for the internal affairs of that entity unless the
organic rules of the association conform to those requirements.

(c) If an activity of a limited cooperative association is within the scope of
the Uniform Common Interest Ownership Act, the requirements of the
Uniform Common Interest Ownership Act apply, even if there is a conflicting
provision in this title.

§ 110. RELATION TO RESTRAINT OF TRADE AND ANTITRUST LAWS

To the extent a limited cooperative association or activities conducted by
the association in this state meet the material requirements for other
cooperatives entitled to an exemption from or immunity under any provision of
the restraint of trade or antitrust laws of this state, the association and its
activities are entitled to the exemption or immunity. This section does not
create any new exemption or immunity for an association or affect any
exemption or immunity provided to a cooperative organized under any other
law.

§ 111. NAME

(a) Use of the term “cooperative” or its abbreviation under this title is not a
violation of the provisions restricting the use of the term under section 992 of
Title 11.

(b) The name of a limited cooperative association must contain the words
“limited cooperative association” or “limited cooperative” or the abbreviation
“L.C.A.” or “LCA.” “Limited” may be abbreviated as “Ltd.” “Cooperative”
may be abbreviated as “Co-op” or “Coop.” “Association” may be abbreviated
as “Assoc.” or “Assn.”

(c) Unless otherwise provided in this title, a limited cooperative
association may apply to the secretary of state for authorization to use a name
under the procedures and subject to the rules for associations of individuals set
forth in Chapter 15 of Title 11.

§ 112. RESERVATION OF NAME

(a) A person may reserve the exclusive use of the name of a limited
cooperative association, including a fictitious name for a foreign cooperative
whose name is not available under section 111 of this title, by delivering an
application to the secretary of state for filing. The application must set forth
the name and address of the applicant and the name proposed to be reserved.
If the secretary of state finds that the name applied for is available under
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section 111 of this title, the secretary of state shall reserve the name for the
applicant’s exclusive use for a nonrenewable period of 120 days.

(b) A person that has reserved a name for a limited cooperative association
may transfer the reservation to another person by delivering to the secretary of
state a signed notice of the transfer which states the name, street address, and,
if different, the mailing address of the transferee. If the person is an organizer
of the association and the name of the association is the same as the reserved
name, the delivery of articles of organization for filing by the secretary of state
is a transfer by the person to the association.

§ 113. EFFECT OF ORGANIC RULES

(a) The relations between a limited cooperative association and its
members are consensual. Unless required, limited, or prohibited by this title,
the organic rules may provide for any matter concerning the relations among
the members of the association and between the members and the association,
the activities of the association, and the conduct of its activities.

(b) The matters referred to in subdivisions (1) through (12) of this
subsection may be varied only in the articles of organization. The articles
may:

(1) state a term of existence for the association under subsection 105(c)
of this title;

(2) limit or eliminate the acceptance of new or additional members by
the initial board of directors under subsection 303(b) of this title;

(3) vary the limitations on the obligations and liability of members for
association obligations under section 504 of this title;

(4) require a notice of an annual members meeting to state a purpose of
the meeting under subsection 508(b) of this title;

(5) vary the board of directors meeting quorum under subsection 815(a)
of this title;

(6) vary the matters the board of directors may consider in making a
decision under section 820 of this title;

(7) specify causes of dissolution under subsection 1202(1) of this title;

(8) delegate amendment of the bylaws to the board of directors pursuant
to subsection 405(f) of this title;

(9) provide for member approval of asset dispositions under section
1501 of this title; and
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(10) subject to section 820 of this title, provide for the elimination or
limitation of liability of a director to the association or its members for money
damages pursuant to section 818 of this title;

(11) provide for permitting or making obligatory indemnification under
subsection 901(a) of this title; and

(12) provide for any matters that may be contained in the organic rules,
including those under subsection (c) of this section.

(c) The matters referred to in subdivisions (1) through (25) of this
subsection may be varied only in the organic rules. The organic rules may:

(1) require more information to be maintained under section 114 of this
title or provided to members under subsection 505(k) of this title;

(2) provide restrictions on transactions between a member and an
association under section 115 of this title;

(3) provide for the percentage and manner of voting on amendments to
the organic rules by district, class, or voting group under subsection 404(a) of
this title;

(4) provide for the percentage vote required to amend the bylaws
concerning the admission of new members under subdivision 405(e)(5) of this
title;

(5) provide for terms and conditions to become a member under section
502 of this title;

(6) restrict the manner of conducting members’ meetings under
subsections 506(c) and 507(e) of this title;

(7) designate the presiding officer of members’ meetings under
subsections 506(e) and 507(g) of this title;

(8) require a statement of purposes in the annual meeting notice under
subsection 508(b) of this title;

(9) increase quorum requirements for members’ meetings under section
510 of this title and board of directors meetings under section 815 of this title;

(10) allocate voting power among members, including patron members
and investor members, and provide for the manner of member voting and
action as permitted by sections 511 through 517 of this title;

(11) authorize investor members and expand or restrict the
transferability of members’ interests to the extent provided in sections 602
through 604 of this title;



- 197 -

(12) provide for enforcement of a marketing contract under subsection
704(a) of this title;

(13) provide for qualification, election, terms, removal, filling
vacancies, and member approval for compensation of directors in accordance
with sections 803 through 805, 807, 809, and 810 of this title;

(14) restrict the manner of conducting board meetings and taking action
without a meeting under sections 811 and 812 of this title;

(15) provide for frequency, location, notice and waivers of notice for
board meetings under sections 813 and 814 of this title;

(16) increase the percentage of votes necessary for board action under
subsection 816(b) of this title;

(17) provide for the creation of committees of the board of directors and
matters related to the committees in accordance with section 817 of this title;

(18) provide for officers and their appointment, designation, and
authority under section 822 of this title;

(19) provide for forms and values of contributions under section 1002 of
this title;

(20) provide for remedies for failure to make a contribution under
subsection 1003(b) of this title;

(21) provide for the allocation of profits and losses of the association,
distributions, and the redemption or repurchase of distributed property other
than money in accordance with sections 1004 through 1007 of this title;

(22) specify when a member’s dissociation is wrongful and the liability
incurred by the dissociating member for damage to the association under
subsections 1101(b) and (c) of this title;

(23) provide the personal representative, or other legal representative of,
a deceased member or a member adjudged incompetent with additional rights
under section 1103 of this title;

(24) increase the percentage of votes required for board of director
approval of:

(A) a resolution to dissolve under subdivision 1205(a)(1) of this title;

(B) a proposed amendment to the organic rules under subdivision
402(a)(1) of this title;

(C) a plan of conversion under subsection 1603(a) of this title;

(D) a plan of merger under subsection 1607(a) of this title; and
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(E) a proposed disposition of assets under subsection 1503(1) of this
title; and

(25) vary the percentage of votes required for members approval of:

(A) a resolution to dissolve under section 1205 of this title;

(B) an amendment to the organic rules under section 405 of this title;

(C) a plan of conversion under section 1603 of this title;

(D) a plan of merger under section 1608 of this title; and

(E) a disposition of assets under section 1504 of this title.

(d) The organic rules must address members’ contributions pursuant to
section 1001 of this title.

§ 114. REQUIRED INFORMATION

(a) Subject to subsection (b) of this section, a limited cooperative
association shall maintain in a record available at its principal office:

(1) a list containing the name, last known street address and, if different,
mailing address, and term of office of each director and officer;

(2) the initial articles of organization and all amendments to and
restatements of the articles, together with a signed copy of any power of
attorney under which any article, amendment, or restatement has been signed;

(3) the initial bylaws and all amendments to and restatements of the
bylaws;

(4) all filed articles of merger and statements of conversion;

(5) all financial statements of the association for the six most recent
years;

(6) the six most recent annual reports delivered by the association to the
secretary of state;

(7) the minutes of members’ meetings for the six most recent years;

(8) evidence of all actions taken by members without a meeting for the
six most recent years;

(9) a list containing:

(A) the name, in alphabetical order, and last known street address
and, if different, mailing address of each patron member and each investor
member; and
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(B) if the association has districts or classes of members, information
from which each current member in a district or class may be identified;

(10) the federal income tax returns, any state and local income tax
returns, and any tax reports of the association for the six most recent years;

(11) accounting records maintained by the association in the ordinary
course of its operations for the six most recent years;

(12) the minutes of directors’ meetings for the six most recent years;

(13) evidence of all actions taken by directors without a meeting for the
six most recent years;

(14) the amount of money contributed and agreed to be contributed by
each member;

(15) a description and statement of the agreed value of contributions
other than money made and agreed to be made by each member;

(16) the times at which, or events on the happening of which, any
additional contribution is to be made by each member;

(17) for each member, a description and statement of the member’s
interest or information from which the description and statement can be
derived; and

(18) all communications concerning the association made in a record to
all members, or to all members in a district or class, for the six most recent
years.

(b) If a limited cooperative association has existed for less than the period
for which records must be maintained under subsection (a) of this section, the
period records must be kept is the period of the association’s existence.

(c) The organic rules may require that more information be maintained.

§ 115. BUSINESS TRANSACTIONS OF MEMBER WITH LIMITED
COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATION

Subject to sections 818 and 819 of this title and except as otherwise
provided in the organic rules or a specific contract relating to a transaction, a
member may lend money to and transact other business with a limited
cooperative association in the same manner as a person that is not a member.

§ 116. DUAL CAPACITY

A person may have a patron member’s interest and an investor member’s
interest. When such person acts as a patron member, the person is subject to
this title and the organic rules governing patron members. When such person
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acts as an investor member, the person is subject to this title and the organic
rules governing investor members.

§ 117. DESIGNATED OFFICE AND AGENT FOR SERVICE OF

PROCESS

(a) A limited cooperative association, or a foreign cooperative that has a
certificate of authority under section 1404 of this title, shall designate and
continuously maintain in this state:

(1) an office, as its designated office, which need not be a place of the
association’s or foreign cooperative’s activity in this state; and

(2) an agent for service of process at the designated office.

(b) An agent for service of process of a limited cooperative association or
foreign cooperative must be an individual who is a resident of this state or an
entity that is authorized to do business in this state.

§ 118. CHANGE OF DESIGNATED OFFICE OR AGENT FOR SERVICE
OF PROCESS

(a) Except as otherwise provided in subsection 207(e) of this title, to
change its designated office, its agent for service of process, or the street
address or, if different, mailing address of its principal office, a limited
cooperative association must deliver to the secretary of state for filing a
statement of change containing:

(1) the name of the limited cooperative association;

(2) the street address and, if different, mailing address of its designated
office;

(3) if the designated office is to be changed, the street address and, if
different, mailing address of the new designated office;

(4) the name of its agent for service of process; and

(5) if the agent for service of process is to be changed, the name of the
new agent.

(b) Except as otherwise provided in subsection 207(e) of this title, to
change its agent for service of process, the address of its designated office, or
the street address or, if different, mailing address of its principal office, a
foreign cooperative shall deliver to the secretary of state for filing a statement
of change containing:

(1) the name of the foreign cooperative;
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(2) the name, street address and, if different, mailing address of its
designated office;

(3) if the current agent for service of process or an address of the
designated office is to be changed, the new information;

(4) the street address and, if different, the mailing address of its
principal office; and

(5) if the street address or, if different, the mailing address of its
principal office is to be changed, the street address and, if different, the mailing
address of the new principal office.

(c) Except as otherwise provided in section 204 of this title, a statement of
change is effective when filed by the secretary of state.

§ 119. RESIGNATION OF AGENT FOR SERVICE OF PROCESS

(a) To resign as an agent for service of process of a limited cooperative
association or foreign cooperative, the agent must deliver to the secretary of
state for filing a statement of resignation containing the name of the agent and
the name of the association or foreign cooperative.

(b) After receiving a statement of resignation under subsection (a) of this
section, the secretary of state shall file it and mail or otherwise provide or
deliver a copy to the limited cooperative association or foreign cooperative at
its principal office.

(c) An agency for service of process of a limited cooperative association or
foreign cooperative terminates on the earlier of:

(1) the 31st day after the secretary of state files a statement of
resignation under subsection (b) of this section; or

(2) when a record designating a new agent for service of process is
delivered to the secretary of state for filing on behalf of the association or
foreign cooperative and becomes effective.

§ 120. SERVICE OF PROCESS

(a) An agent for service of process appointed by a limited cooperative
association or foreign cooperative is an agent of the association or foreign
cooperative for service of process, notice, or a demand required or permitted
by law to be served upon the association or foreign cooperative.

(b) If a limited cooperative association or foreign cooperative does not
appoint or maintain an agent for service of process in this state or the agent for
service of process cannot with reasonable diligence be found at the address of
the designated office on file with the secretary of state, the secretary of state is
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an agent of the association or foreign cooperative upon which process, notice,
or a demand may be served.

(c) Service of process, notice, or a demand on the secretary of state as agent
of a limited cooperative association or foreign cooperative may be made by
delivering to the secretary of state two copies of the process, notice, or
demand. The secretary of state shall forward one copy by registered or
certified mail, return receipt requested, to the association or foreign
cooperative at its principal office.

(d) Service is effected under subsection (c) of this section on the earliest of:

(1) the date the limited cooperative association or foreign cooperative
receives the process, notice, or demand;

(2) the date shown on the return receipt, if signed on behalf of the
association or foreign cooperative; or

(3) five days after the process, notice, or demand is deposited by the
secretary of state for delivery by the United States Postal Service, if postage is
prepaid to the address of the principal office on file with the secretary of state.

(e) The secretary of state shall keep a record of each process, notice, and
demand served pursuant to this section and record the time of, and the action
taken regarding, the service.

(f) This section does not affect the right to serve process, notice, or a
demand in any other manner provided by law.

Article 2. Filing and Annual Reports

§ 201. SIGNING OF RECORDS DELIVERED FOR FILING TO
SECRETARY OF STATE

(a) A record delivered to the secretary of state for filing pursuant to this
title must be signed as follows:

(1) The initial articles of organization must be signed by at least one
organizer.

(2) A statement of cancellation under subsection 302(d) of this title must
be signed by at least one organizer.

(3) Except as otherwise provided in subdivision (4) of this subsection, a
record signed on behalf of an existing limited cooperative association must be
signed by an officer.

(4) A record filed on behalf of a dissolved association must be signed by
a person winding up activities under section 1206 of this title or a person
appointed under section 1206 to wind up those activities.
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(5) Any other record must be signed by the person on whose behalf the
record is delivered to the secretary of state.

(b) Any record to be signed under this title may be signed by an authorized
agent.

§ 202. SIGNING AND FILING OF RECORDS PURSUANT TO JUDICIAL

ORDER

(a) If a person required by this title to sign or deliver a record to the
secretary of state for filing does not do so, the superior court of the county of
the limited cooperative association’s principal office, or the foreign
cooperative’s registered office, upon petition of an aggrieved person, may
order:

(1) the person to sign the record and deliver it to the secretary of state
for filing; or

(2) delivery of the unsigned record to the secretary of state for filing.

(b) An aggrieved person under subsection (a) of this section, other than the
limited cooperative association or foreign cooperative to which the record
pertains, shall make the association or foreign cooperative a party to the action
brought to obtain the order.

(c) An unsigned record filed pursuant to this section is effective.

§ 203. DELIVERY TO AND FILING OF RECORDS BY SECRETARY OF
STATE; EFFECTIVE TIME AND DATE

(a) A record authorized or required by this title to be delivered to the
secretary of state for filing must be captioned to describe the record’s purpose,
be in a medium and format permitted by the secretary of state, and be delivered
to the secretary of state. If the filing fees have been paid, and unless the
secretary of state determines that the record does not comply with the filing
requirements , the secretary of state shall file the record and send a copy of the
filed record and a receipt for the fees to the person on whose behalf the record
was filed.

(b) The secretary of state, upon request and payment of the required fee,
shall furnish a certified copy of any record filed by the secretary of state under
this title to the person making the request.

(c) Except as otherwise provided in sections 118 and 204 of this title, a
record delivered to the secretary of state for filing under this title may specify
an effective time and a delayed effective date that may include an effective
time on that date. Except as otherwise provided in sections 118 and 204 of this
title, a record filed by the secretary of state under this title is effective:
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(1) if the record does not specify an effective time and does not specify
a delayed effective date, on the date and at the time the record is filed as
evidenced by the secretary of state’s endorsement of the date and time on the
record;

(2) if the record specifies an effective time but not a delayed effective
date, on the date the record is filed at the time specified in the record;

(3) if the record specifies a delayed effective date but not an effective
time, at 12:01 a.m. on the earlier of:

(A) the specified date; or

(B) the 90th day after the record is filed; or

(4) if the record specifies an effective time and a delayed effective date,
at the specified time on the earlier of:

(A) the specified date; or

(B) the 90th day after the record is filed.

§ 204. CORRECTING FILED RECORD

(a) A limited cooperative association or foreign cooperative may deliver to
the secretary of state for filing a statement of correction to correct a record
previously delivered by the association or foreign cooperative to the secretary
of state and filed by the secretary of state if, at the time of filing, the record
contained inaccurate information or was defectively signed.

(b) A statement of correction may not state a delayed effective date and
must:

(1) describe the record to be corrected, including its filing date, or have
attached a copy of the record as filed;

(2) specify the inaccurate information and the reason it is inaccurate or
the manner in which the signing was defective; and

(3) correct the inaccurate information or defective signature.

(c) When filed by the secretary of state, a statement of correction is
effective:

(1) when filed as to persons relying on the inaccurate information or
defective signature before its correction and adversely affected by the
correction; and

(2) as to all other persons, retroactively as of the effective date and time
of the record the statement corrects.
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§ 205. LIABILITY FOR INACCURATE INFORMATION IN FILED

RECORD

If a record delivered to the secretary of state for filing under this title and
filed by the secretary of state contains inaccurate information, a person that
suffers a loss by reliance on the information may recover damages for the loss
from a person that signed the record or caused another to sign it on the
person’s behalf and knew at the time the record was signed that the
information was inaccurate.

§ 206. CERTIFICATE OF GOOD STANDING OR AUTHORIZATION

(a) The secretary of state, upon request and payment of the required fee,
shall furnish any person that requests it a certificate of good standing for a
limited cooperative association if the records filed in the office of the secretary
of state show that the secretary of state has filed the association’s articles of
organization, that the association is in good standing, and that the secretary of
state has not filed a statement of termination.

(b) The secretary of state, upon request and payment of the required fee,
shall furnish to any person that requests it a certificate of authority for a
foreign cooperative if the records filed in the office of the secretary of state
show that the secretary of state has filed the foreign cooperative’s certificate of
authority, has not revoked nor has reason to revoke the certificate of authority,
and has not filed a notice of cancellation.

(c) Subject to any exceptions stated in the certificate, a certificate of good
standing or authority issued by the secretary of state establishes conclusively
that the limited cooperative association or foreign cooperative is in good
standing or is authorized to transact business in this state.

§ 207. ANNUAL REPORT FOR SECRETARY OF STATE

(a) A limited cooperative association or foreign cooperative authorized to
transact business in this state shall deliver to the secretary of state for filing an
annual report that states:

(1) the name of the association or foreign cooperative;

(2) the street address and, if different, mailing address of the
association’s or foreign cooperative’s designated office and the name of its
agent for service of process at the designated office;

(3) the street address and, if different, mailing address of the
association’s or foreign cooperative’s principal office; and
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(4) in the case of a foreign cooperative, the state or other jurisdiction
under whose law the foreign cooperative is formed and any alternative name
adopted under section 1405 of this title.

(b) Information in an annual report must be current as of the date the report
is delivered to the secretary of state.

(c) The first annual report must be delivered to the secretary of state
between January 1 and April 1 of the year following the calendar year in which
the limited cooperative association is formed or the foreign cooperative is
authorized to transact business in this state. An annual report shall be
delivered to the secretary of state within two and one-half months after the
expiration of the limited cooperative association’s fiscal year.

(d) If an annual report does not contain the information required by
subsection (a) of this section, the secretary of state shall promptly notify the
reporting limited cooperative association or foreign cooperative and return the
report for correction. If the report is corrected to contain the information
required by subsection (a) of this section and delivered to the secretary of state
not later than 30 days after the date of the notice from the secretary of state, it
is timely delivered.

(e) If a filed annual report contains an address of the designated office, the
name of the agent for service of process, or address of the principal office
which differs from the information shown in the records of the secretary of
state immediately before the filing, the differing information in the annual
report is considered a statement of change.

(f) If a limited cooperative association fails to deliver an annual report
under this section, the secretary of state may proceed under section 1211 of
this title to dissolve the association administratively.

(g) If a foreign cooperative fails to deliver an annual report under this
section, the secretary of state may revoke the certificate of authority of the
cooperative.

§ 208. FILING FEES

The filing fees for records filed under this article by the secretary of state
are the same as those set forth for a limited liability company under section
3013 of Title 11.

Article 3. Formation and Initial Articles of Organization of Limited
Cooperative Association

§ 301. ORGANIZERS
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A limited cooperative association must be organized by one or more
organizers.

§ 302. FORMATION OF LIMITED COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATION;
ARTICLES OF ORGANIZATION

(a) To form a limited cooperative association, an organizer of the
association must deliver articles of organization to the secretary of state for
filing. The articles must state:

(1) the name of the association;

(2) the purposes for which the association is formed;

(3) the street address and, if different, mailing address of the
association’s initial designated office and the name of the association’s initial
agent for service of process at the designated office;

(4) the street address and, if different, mailing address of the initial
principal office;

(5) the name and street address and, if different, mailing address of each
organizer; and

(6) the term for which the association is to exist if other than perpetual.

(b) Subject to subsection 113(a) of this title, articles of organization may
contain any other provisions in addition to those required by subsection (a) of
this section.

(c) A limited cooperative association is formed after articles of
organization that substantially comply with subsection (a) of this section are
delivered to the secretary of state, are filed, and become effective under
subsection 203(c) of this title.

(d) If articles of organization filed by the secretary of state provide for a
delayed effective date, a limited cooperative association is not formed if,
before the articles take effect, an organizer signs and delivers to the secretary
of state for filing a statement of cancellation.

§ 303. ORGANIZATION OF LIMITED COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATION

(a) After a limited cooperative association is formed:

(1) if initial directors are named in the articles of organization, the initial
directors shall hold an organizational meeting to adopt initial bylaws and carry
on any other business necessary or proper to complete the organization of the
association; or
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(2) if initial directors are not named in the articles of organization, the
organizers shall designate the initial directors and call a meeting of the initial
directors to adopt initial bylaws and carry on any other business necessary or
proper to complete the organization of the association.

(b) Unless the articles of organization otherwise provide, the initial
directors may cause the limited cooperative association to accept members,
including those necessary for the association to begin business.

(c) Initial directors need not be members.

(d) An initial director serves until a successor is elected and qualified at a
members meeting or the director is removed, resigns, is adjudged incompetent,
or dies.

§ 304. BYLAWS

(a) Bylaws must be in a record and, if not stated in the articles of
organization, must include:

(1) a statement of the capital structure of the limited cooperative
association, including:

(A) the classes or other types of members’ interests and relative
rights, preferences, and restrictions granted to or imposed upon each class or
other type of member’s interest; and

(B) the rights to share in profits or distributions of the association;

(2) a statement of the method for admission of members;

(3) a statement designating voting and other governance rights,
including which members have voting power and any restriction on voting
power;

(4) a statement that a member’s interest is transferable if it is to be
transferable and a statement of the conditions upon which it may be
transferred;

(5) a statement concerning the manner in which profits and losses are
allocated and distributions are made among patron members and, if investor
members are authorized, the manner in which profits and losses are allocated
and how distributions are made among investor members and between patron
members and investor members;

(6) a statement concerning:

(A) whether persons that are not members but conduct business with
the association may be permitted to share in allocations of profits and losses
and receive distributions; and
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(B) the manner in which profits and losses are allocated and
distributions are made with respect to those persons; and

(7) a statement of the number and terms of directors or the method by
which the number and terms are determined.

(b) Subject to subsection 113(c) of this title and the articles of organization,
bylaws may contain any other provision for managing and regulating the
affairs of the association.

(c) In addition to amendments permitted under Article 4 of this title, the
initial board of directors may amend the bylaws by a majority vote of the
directors at any time before the admission of members.

Article 4. Amendment of Organic Rules of Limited Cooperative Association

§ 401. AUTHORITY TO AMEND ORGANIC RULES

(a) A limited cooperative association may amend its organic rules under
this article for any lawful purpose. In addition, the initial board of directors
may amend the bylaws of an association under section 304 of this title.

(b) Unless the organic rules otherwise provide, a member does not have a
vested property right resulting from any provision in the organic rules,
including a provision relating to the management, control, capital structure,
distribution, entitlement, purpose, or duration of the limited cooperative
association.

§ 402. NOTICE AND ACTION ON AMENDMENT OF ORGANIC RULES

(a) Except as provided in subsections 401(a) and 405(f) of this title, the
organic rules of a limited cooperative association may be amended only at a
members meeting. An amendment may be proposed by either:

(1) a majority of the board of directors, or a greater percentage if
required by the organic rules; or

(2) one or more petitions signed by at least 10 percent of the patron
members or at least 10 percent of the investor members.

(b) The board of directors shall call a members meeting to consider an
amendment proposed pursuant to subsection (a) of this section. The meeting
must be held not later than 90 days following the proposal of the amendment
by the board or receipt of a petition. The board must mail or otherwise
transmit or deliver in a record to each member:

(1) the proposed amendment, or a summary of the proposed amendment
and a statement of the manner in which a copy of the amendment in a record
may be reasonably obtained by a member;
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(2) a recommendation that the members approve the amendment, or if
the board determines that because of conflict of interest or other special
circumstances it should not make a favorable recommendation, the basis for
that determination;

(3) a statement of any condition of the board’s submission of the
amendment to the members; and

(4) notice of the meeting at which the proposed amendment will be
considered, which must be given in the same manner as notice for a special
meeting of members.

§ 403. METHOD OF VOTING ON AMENDMENT OF ORGANIC RULES

(a) A substantive change to a proposed amendment of the organic rules
may not be made at the members meeting at which a vote on the amendment
occurs.

(b) A nonsubstantive change to a proposed amendment of the organic rules
may be made at the members meeting at which the vote on the amendment
occurs and need not be separately voted upon by the board of directors.

(c) A vote to adopt a nonsubstantive change to a proposed amendment to
the organic rules must be by the same percentage of votes required to pass a
proposed amendment.

§ 404. VOTING BY DISTRICT, CLASS, OR VOTING GROUP

(a) This section applies if the organic rules provide for voting by district or
class, or if there is one or more identifiable voting groups that a proposed
amendment to the organic rules would affect differently from other members
with respect to matters identified in subdivisions 405(e)(1) through (5) of this
title. Approval of the amendment requires the same percentage of votes of the
members of that district, class, or voting group required in sections 405 and
514 of this title.

(b) If a proposed amendment to the organic rules would affect members in
two or more districts or classes entitled to vote separately under subsection (a)
of this section in the same or a substantially similar way, the districts or classes
affected must vote as a single voting group unless the organic rules otherwise
provide for separate voting.

§ 405. APPROVAL OF AMENDMENT

(a) Subject to section 404 of this title and subsections (c) and (d) of this
section, an amendment to the articles of organization must be approved by:

(1) at least two-thirds of the voting power of members present at a
members meeting called under section 402 of this title; and
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(2) if the limited cooperative association has investor members, at least
a majority of the votes cast by patron members, unless the organic rules require
a greater percentage vote by patron members.

(b) Subject to section 404 of this title and subsections (c), (d), (e) and (f) of
this section, an amendment to the bylaws must be approved by:

(1) at least a majority vote of the voting power of all members present at
a members meeting called under section 402 of this title, unless the organic
rules require a greater percentage; and

(2) if a limited cooperative association has investor members, a majority
of the votes cast by patron members, unless the organic rules require a larger
affirmative vote by patron members.

(c) The organic rules may require that the percentage of votes under
subdivision (a)(1) or (b)(1) of this section be:

(1) a different percentage that is not less than a majority of members
voting at the meeting;

(2) measured against the voting power of all members; or

(3) a combination of subdivisions (1) and (2) of this subsection.

(d) Consent in a record by a member must be delivered to a limited
cooperative association before delivery of an amendment to the articles of
organization or restated articles of organization for filing pursuant to section
407 of this title, if as a result of the amendment the member will have:

(1) personal liability for an obligation of the association; or

(2) an obligation or liability for an additional contribution.

(e) The vote required to amend bylaws must satisfy the requirements of
subsection (a) of this section if the proposed amendment modifies:

(1) the equity capital structure of the limited cooperative association,
including the rights of the association’s members to share in profits or
distributions, or the relative rights, preferences, and restrictions granted to or
imposed upon one or more districts, classes, or voting groups of similarly
situated members;

(2) the transferability of a member’s interest;

(3) the manner or method of allocation of profits or losses among
members;

(4) the quorum for a meeting and the rights of voting and governance; or
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(5) unless otherwise provided in the organic rules, the terms for
admission of new members.

(f) Except for the matters described in subsection (e) of this section, the
articles of organization may delegate amendment of all or a part of the bylaws
to the board of directors without requiring member approval.

(g) If the articles of organization delegate amendment of bylaws to the
board of directors, the board shall provide a description of any amendment of
the bylaws made by the board to the members in a record not later than 30 days
after the amendment, but the description may be provided at the next annual
members’ meeting if the meeting is held within the 30-day period.

§ 406. RESTATED ARTICLES OF ORGANIZATION

A limited cooperative association, by the affirmative vote of a majority of
the board of directors taken at a meeting for which the purpose is stated in the
notice of the meeting, may adopt restated articles of organization that contain
the original articles as previously amended. Restated articles may contain
amendments if the restated articles are adopted in the same manner and with
the same vote as required for amendments to the articles under subsection
405(a) of this title. Upon filing, restated articles supersede the existing articles
and all amendments.

§ 407. AMENDMENT OR RESTATEMENT OF ARTICLES OF
ORGANIZATION; FILING

(a) To amend its articles of organization, a limited cooperative association
must deliver to the secretary of state for filing an amendment of the articles, or
restated articles of organization or articles of conversion or merger pursuant to
Article 16 of this title, which contain one or more amendments of the articles
of organization, stating:

(1) the name of the association;

(2) the date of filing of the association’s initial articles; and

(3) the changes the amendment makes to the articles as most recently
amended or restated.

(b) Before the beginning of the initial meeting of the board of directors, an
organizer who knows that information in the filed articles of organization was
inaccurate when the articles were filed or has become inaccurate due to
changed circumstances shall promptly:

(1) cause the articles to be amended; or

(2) if appropriate, deliver an amendment to the secretary of state for
filing pursuant to section 203 of this title.
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(c) If restated articles of organization are adopted, the restated articles may
be delivered to the secretary of state for filing in the same manner as an
amendment.

(d) Upon filing, an amendment of the articles of organization or other
record containing an amendment of the articles which has been properly
adopted by the members is effective as provided in subsection 203(c) of this
title.

Article 5. Members

§ 501. MEMBERS

To begin business, a limited cooperative association must have at least two
patron members unless the sole member is a cooperative.

§ 502. BECOMING A MEMBER

A person becomes a member:

(1) as provided in the organic rules;

(2) as the result of a merger or conversion under Article 16 of this title;
or

(3) with the consent of all the members.

§ 503. NO POWER AS MEMBER TO BIND ASSOCIATION

A member, solely by reason of being a member, may not act for or bind the
limited cooperative association.

§ 504. NO LIABILITY AS MEMBER FOR ASSOCIATION’S

OBLIGATIONS

Unless the articles of organization otherwise provide, a debt, obligation, or
other liability of a limited cooperative association is solely that of the
association and is not the debt, obligation, or liability of a member solely by
reason of being a member.

§ 505. RIGHT OF MEMBER AND FORMER MEMBER TO

INFORMATION

(a) Not later than 10 business days after receipt of a demand made in a
record, a limited cooperative association shall permit a member to obtain,
inspect, and copy in the association’s principal office required information
listed in subdivisions 114(a)(1) through (8) of this title during regular business
hours. A member need not have any particular purpose for seeking the
information. The association is not required to provide the same information
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listed in subdivisions 114(a)(2) through (8) of this title to the same member
more than once during a six-month period.

(b) On demand made in a record received by the limited cooperative
association, a member may obtain, inspect, and copy in the association’s
principal office required information listed in subdivisions 114(a)(9), (10),
(12), (13), (16), and (18) of this title during regular business hours, if:

(1) the member seeks the information in good faith and for a proper
purpose reasonably related to the member’s interest;

(2) the demand includes a description with reasonable particularity of
the information sought and the purpose for seeking the information;

(3) the information sought is directly connected to the member’s
purpose; and

(4) the demand is reasonable.

(c) Not later than 10 business days after receipt of a demand pursuant to
subsection (b) of this section, a limited cooperative association shall provide,
in a record, the following information to the member that made the demand:

(1) if the association agrees to provide the demanded information:

(A) what information the association will provide in response to the
demand; and

(B) a reasonable time and place at which the association will provide
the information; or

(2) if the association declines to provide some or all of the demanded
information, the association’s reasons for declining.

(d) A person dissociated as a member may obtain, inspect, and copy
information available to a member under subsection (a) or (b) of this section by
delivering a demand in a record to the limited cooperative association in the
same manner and subject to the same conditions applicable to a member under
subsection (b) of this section if:

(1) the information pertains to the period during which the person was a
member in the association; and

(2) the person seeks the information in good faith.

(e) A limited cooperative association shall respond to a demand made
pursuant to subsection (d) of this section in the manner provided in subsection
(c) of this section.
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(f) Not later than 10 business days after receipt by a limited cooperative
association of a demand made by a member in a record, but not more often
than once in a six-month period, the association shall deliver to the member a
record stating the information with respect to the member required by
subdivision 114(a)(17) of this title.

(g) A limited cooperative association may impose reasonable restrictions,
including nondisclosure restrictions, on the use of information obtained under
this section. In a dispute concerning the reasonableness of a restriction under
this subsection, the association has the burden of proving reasonableness.

(h) A limited cooperative association may charge a person that makes a
demand under this section reasonable costs of copying, limited to the costs of
labor and material.

(i) A person that may obtain information under this section may obtain the
information through an attorney or other agent. A restriction imposed on the
person under subsection (g) of this section or by the organic rules applies to the
attorney or other agent.

(j) The rights stated in this section do not extend to a person as transferee.

(k) The organic rules may require a limited cooperative association to
provide more information than required by this section and may establish
conditions and procedures for providing the information.

§ 506. ANNUAL MEETING OF MEMBERS

(a) Members shall meet annually at a time provided in the organic rules or
set by the board of directors not inconsistent with the organic rules.

(b) An annual members meeting may be held inside or outside this state at
the place stated in the organic rules or selected by the board of directors not
inconsistent with the organic rules.

(c) Unless the organic rules otherwise provide, members may attend or
conduct an annual members meeting through any means of communication if
all members attending the meeting can communicate with each other during
the meeting.

(d) The board of directors shall report, or cause to be reported, at the
association’s annual members meeting the association’s business and financial
condition as of the close of the most recent fiscal year.

(e) Unless the organic rules otherwise provide, the board of directors shall
designate the presiding officer of the association’s annual members meeting.

(f) Failure to hold an annual members meeting does not affect the validity
of any action by the limited cooperative association.
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§ 507. SPECIAL MEETING OF MEMBERS

(a) A special meeting of members may be called only:

(1) as provided in the organic rules;

(2) by a majority vote of the board of directors on a proposal stating the
purpose of the meeting;

(3) by demand in a record signed by members holding at least 20
percent of the voting power of the persons in any district or class entitled to
vote on the matter that is the purpose of the meeting stated in the demand; or

(4) by demand in a record signed by members holding at least 10
percent of the total voting power of all the persons entitled to vote on the
matter that is the purpose of the meeting stated in the demand.

(b) A demand under subdivision (a)(3) or (4) of this section must be
submitted to the officer of the limited cooperative association charged with
keeping its records.

(c) Any voting member may withdraw its demand under subdivision (a)(3)
or (4) of this section before receipt by the limited cooperative association of
demands sufficient to require a special meeting of members.

(d) A special meeting of members may be held inside or outside this state
at the place stated in the organic rules or selected by the board of directors not
inconsistent with the organic rules.

(e) Unless the organic rules otherwise provide, members may attend or
conduct a special meeting of members through the use of any means of
communication if all members attending the meeting can communicate with
each other during the meeting.

(f) Only business within the purpose or purposes stated in the notice of a
special meeting of members may be conducted at the meeting.

(g) Unless the organic rules otherwise provide, the presiding officer of a
special meeting of members shall be designated by the board of directors.

§ 508. NOTICE OF MEMBERS MEETING

(a) A limited cooperative association shall notify each member of the time,
date, and place of a members meeting at least 15 and not more than 60 days
before the meeting.

(b) Unless the articles of organization otherwise provide, notice of an
annual members meeting need not include any purpose of the meeting.
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(c) Notice of a special meeting of members must include each purpose of
the meeting as contained in the demand under subdivision 507(a)(3) or (4) of
this title or as voted upon by the board of directors under subdivision 507(a)(2)
of this title.

(d) Notice of a members meeting must be given in a record unless oral
notice is reasonable under the circumstances.

§ 509. WAIVER OF MEMBERS MEETING NOTICE

(a) A member may waive notice of a members meeting before, during, or
after the meeting.

(b) A member’s participation in a members meeting is a waiver of notice of
that meeting unless the member objects to the meeting at the beginning of the
meeting or promptly upon the member’s arrival at the meeting and does not
thereafter vote for or assent to action taken at the meeting.

§ 510. QUORUM OF MEMBERS

Unless the organic rules otherwise require a greater number of members or
percentage of the voting power, the voting member or members present at a
members meeting constitute a quorum.

§ 511. VOTING BY PATRON MEMBERS

Except as provided by subsection 512(a) of this title, each patron member
has one vote. The organic rules may allocate voting power among patron
members as provided in subsection 512(a) of this title.

§ 512. DETERMINATION OF VOTING POWER OF PATRON MEMBER

(a) The organic rules may allocate voting power among patron members on
the basis of one or a combination of the following:

(1) one member, one vote;

(2) use or patronage;

(3) equity; or

(4) if a patron member is a cooperative, the number of its patron
members.

(b) The organic rules may provide for the allocation of patron member
voting power by districts or class, or any combination thereof.

§ 513. VOTING BY INVESTOR MEMBERS

If the organic rules provide for investor members, each investor member
has one vote, unless the organic rules otherwise provide. The organic rules
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may provide for the allocation of investor member voting power by class,
classes, or any combination of classes.

§ 514. VOTING REQUIREMENTS FOR MEMBERS

If a limited cooperative association has both patron and investor members,
the following rules apply:

(1) the total voting power of all patron members may not be less than a
majority of the entire voting power entitled to vote.

(2) action on any matter is approved only upon the affirmative vote of at
least a majority of:

(A) all members voting at the meeting unless more than a majority is
required by Articles 4, 12, 15, and 16 of this title or the organic rules; and

(B) votes cast by patron members unless the organic rules require a
larger affirmative vote by patron members.

(3) The organic rules may provide for the percentage of the affirmative
votes that must be cast by investor members to approve the matter.

§ 515. MANNER OF VOTING

(a) Unless the organic rules otherwise provide, voting by a proxy at a
members meeting is prohibited. This subsection does not prohibit delegate
voting based on district or class.

(b) If voting by a proxy is permitted, a patron member may appoint only
another patron member as a proxy and, if investor members are permitted, an
investor member may appoint only another investor member as a proxy.

(c) The organic rules may provide for the manner of and provisions
governing the appointment of a proxy.

(d) The organic rules may provide for voting on any question by ballot
delivered by mail or voting by other means on questions that are subject to
vote by members.

§ 516. ACTION WITHOUT A MEETING

(a) Unless the organic rules require that action be taken only at a members
meeting, any action that may be taken by the members may be taken without a
meeting if each member entitled to vote on the action consents in a record to
the action.

(b) Consent under subsection (a) of this section may be withdrawn by a
member in a record at any time before the limited cooperative association
receives a consent from each member entitled to vote.



- 219 -

(c) Consent to any action may specify the effective date or time of the
action.

§ 517. DISTRICTS AND DELEGATES; CLASSES OF MEMBERS

(a) The organic rules may provide for the formation of geographic districts
of patron members and:

(1) for the conduct of patron member meetings by districts and the
election of directors at the meetings; or

(2) that districts may elect district delegates to represent and vote for the
district at members meetings.

(b) A delegate elected under subdivision (a)(2) of this section has one vote
unless voting power is otherwise allocated by the organic rules.

(c) The organic rules may provide for the establishment of classes of
members, for the preferences, rights, and limitations of the classes, and:

(1) for the conduct of members meetings by classes and the election of
directors at the meetings; or

(2) that classes may elect class delegates to represent and vote for the
class in members meetings.

(d) A delegate elected under subdivision (c)(2) of this section has one vote
unless voting power is otherwise allocated by the organic rules.

Article 6. Member’s Interest in Limited Cooperative Association

§ 601. MEMBER’S INTEREST

A member’s interest:

(1) is personal property;

(2) consists of:

(A) governance rights;

(B) financial rights; and

(C) the right or obligation, if any, to do business with the limited
cooperative association; and

(3) may be in certificated or uncertificated form.

§ 602. PATRON AND INVESTOR MEMBERS’ INTERESTS

(a) Unless the organic rules establish investor members’ interests, a
member’s interest is a patron member’s interest.
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(b) Unless the organic rules otherwise provide, if a limited cooperative
association has investor members, while a person is a member of the
association, the person:

(1) if admitted as a patron member, remains a patron member;

(2) if admitted as an investor member, remains an investor member; and

(3) if admitted as a patron member and investor member remains a
patron and investor member if not dissociated in one of the capacities.

§ 603. TRANSFERABILITY OF MEMBER’S INTEREST

(a) The provisions relating to the transferability of a member’s interest are
subject to Title 9A.

(b) Unless the organic rules otherwise provide, a member’s interest other
than financial rights is not transferable.

(c) Unless a transfer is restricted or prohibited by the organic rules, a
member may transfer its financial rights in the limited cooperative association.

(d) The terms of any restriction on transferability of financial rights must
be:

(1) set forth in the organic rules and the member records of the
association; and

(2) conspicuously noted on any certificates evidencing a member’s
interest.

(e) A transferee of a member’s financial rights, to the extent the rights are
transferred, has the right to share in the allocation of profits or losses and to
receive the distributions to the member transferring the interest to the same
extent as the transferring member.

(f) A transferee of a member’s financial rights does not become a member
upon transfer of the rights unless the transferee is admitted as a member by the
limited cooperative association.

(g) A limited cooperative association need not give effect to a transfer
under this section until the association has notice of the transfer.

(h) A transfer of a member’s financial rights in violation of a restriction on
transfer contained in the organic rules is ineffective as to a person having
notice of the restriction at the time of transfer.

§ 604. SECURITY INTEREST AND SET-OFF

(a) A member or transferee may create an enforceable security interest in
its financial rights in a limited cooperative association.
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(b) Unless the organic rules otherwise provide, a member may not create an
enforceable security interest in the member’s governance rights in a limited
cooperative association.

(c) The organic rules may provide that a limited cooperative association
has a security interest in the financial rights of a member to secure payment of
any indebtedness or other obligation of the member to the association. A
security interest provided for in the organic rules is enforceable under, and
governed by, Article 9 of Title 9A.

(d) Unless the organic rules otherwise provide, a member may not compel
the limited cooperative association to offset financial rights against any
indebtedness or obligation owed to the association.

§ 605. CHARGING ORDERS FOR JUDGMENT CREDITOR OF MEMBER
OR TRANSFEREE

(a) On application by a judgment creditor of a member or transferee, a
court may enter a charging order against the financial rights of the judgment
debtor for the unsatisfied amount of the judgment. A charging order issued
under this subsection constitutes a lien on the judgment debtor’s financial
rights and requires the limited cooperative association to pay over to the
creditor or receiver, to the extent necessary to satisfy the judgment, any
distribution that would otherwise be paid to the judgment debtor.

(b) To the extent necessary to effectuate the collection of distributions
pursuant to a charging order under subsection (a) of this section, the court may:

(1) appoint a receiver of the share of the distributions due or to become
due to the judgment debtor under the judgment debtor’s financial rights, with
the power to make all inquiries the judgment debtor might have made; and

(2) make all other orders that the circumstances of the case may require
to give effect to the charging order.

(c) Upon a showing that distributions under a charging order will not pay
the judgment debt within a reasonable time, the court may foreclose the lien
and order the sale of the financial rights. The purchaser at the foreclosure sale
obtains only the financial rights that are subject to the charging order, does not
thereby become a member, and is subject to section 603 of this title.

(d) At any time before a sale pursuant to a foreclosure, a member or
transferee whose financial rights are subject to a charging order under
subsection (a) of this section may extinguish the charging order by satisfying
the judgment and filing a certified copy of the satisfaction with the court that
issued the charging order.
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(e) At any time before sale pursuant to a foreclosure, the limited
cooperative association or one or more members whose financial rights are not
subject to the charging order may pay to the judgment creditor the full amount
due under the judgment and succeed to the rights of the judgment creditor,
including the charging order. Unless the organic rules otherwise provide, the
association may act under this subsection only with the consent of all members
whose financial rights are not subject to the charging order.

(f) This title does not deprive any member or transferee of the benefit of
any exemption laws applicable to the member’s or transferee’s financial rights.

(g) This section provides the exclusive remedy by which a judgment
creditor of a member or transferee may satisfy the judgment from the
member’s or transferee’s financial rights.

Article 7. Marketing Contracts

§ 701. AUTHORITY

In this article, “marketing contract” means a contract between a limited
cooperative association and another person, that need not be a patron member:

(1) requiring the other person to sell, or deliver for sale or marketing on
the person’s behalf, a specified part of the person’s products, commodities, or
goods exclusively to or through the association or any facilities furnished by
the association; or

(2) authorizing the association to act for the person in any manner with
respect to the products, commodities, or goods.

§ 702. MARKETING CONTRACTS

(a) If a marketing contract provides for the sale of products, commodities,
or goods to a limited cooperative association, the sale transfers title to the
association upon delivery or at any other specific time expressly provided by
the contract.

(b) A marketing contract may:

(1) authorize a limited cooperative association to create an enforceable
security interest in the products, commodities, or goods delivered; and

(2) allow the association to sell the products, commodities, or goods
delivered and pay the sales price on a pooled or other basis after deducting
selling costs, processing costs, overhead, expenses, and other charges.

(c) Some or all of the provisions of a marketing contract between a patron
member and a limited cooperative association may be contained in the organic
rules.
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§ 703. DURATION OF MARKETING CONTRACT

The initial duration of a marketing contract may not exceed 10 years, but
the contract may be self-renewing for additional periods not exceeding five
years each. Unless the contract provides for another manner or time for
termination, either party may terminate the contract by giving notice in a
record at least 90 days before the end of the current term.

§ 704. REMEDIES FOR BREACH OF CONTRACT

(a) Damages to be paid to a limited cooperative association for breach or
anticipatory repudiation of a marketing contract may be liquidated, but only at
an amount or under a formula that is reasonable in light of the actual or
anticipated harm caused by the breach or repudiation. A provision that so
provides is not a penalty.

(b) Upon a breach of a marketing contract, whether by anticipatory
repudiation or otherwise, a limited cooperative association may seek:

(1) an injunction to prevent further breach; and

(2) specific performance.

(c) The remedies in this section are in addition to any other remedies
available to an association under law other than this title.

Article 8. Directors and Officers

§ 801. BOARD OF DIRECTORS

(a) A limited cooperative association must have a board of directors of at
least three individuals, unless the association has fewer than three members. If
the association has fewer than three members, the number of directors may not
be fewer than the number of members.

(b) The affairs of a limited cooperative association must be managed by, or
under the direction of, the board of directors. The board may adopt policies
and procedures that do not conflict with the organic rules or this title.

(c) An individual is not an agent for a limited cooperative association
solely by being a director.

§ 802. NO LIABILITY AS DIRECTOR FOR LIMITED COOPERATIVE
ASSOCIATION’S OBLIGATIONS

A debt, obligation, or other liability of a limited cooperative association is
solely that of the association and is not a debt, obligation, or liability of a
director solely by reason of being a director. An individual is not personally
liable, directly or indirectly, for an obligation of an association solely by
reason of being a director.
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§ 803. QUALIFICATIONS OF DIRECTORS

(a) Unless the organic rules otherwise provide, and subject to subsection (c)
of this section, each director of a limited cooperative association must be an
individual who is a member of the association or an individual who is
designated by a member that is not an individual for purposes of qualifying and
serving as a director. Initial directors need not be members.

(b) Unless the organic rules otherwise provide, a director may be an officer
or employee of the limited cooperative association.

(c) If the organic rules provide for nonmember directors, the number of
nonmember directors may not exceed:

(1) one, if there are two through four directors;

(2) two, if there are five through eight directors; or

(3) one-third of the total number of directors if there are at least nine
directors.

(d) The organic rules may provide qualifications for directors in addition to
those in this section.

§ 804. ELECTION OF DIRECTORS AND COMPOSITION OF BOARD

(a) Unless the organic rules require a greater number:

(1) the number of directors that must be patron members may not be
fewer than:

(A) one, if there are two or three directors;

(B) two, if there are four or five directors;

(C) three, if there are six through eight directors; or

(D) one-third of the directors if there are at least nine directors; and

(2) a majority of the board of directors must be elected exclusively by
patron members.

(b) Unless the organic rules otherwise provide, if a limited cooperative
association has investor members, the directors who are not elected exclusively
by patron members are elected by the investor members.

(c) Subject to subsection (a) of this section, the organic rules may provide
for the election of all or a specified number of directors by one or more
districts or classes of members.
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(d) Subject to subsection (a) of this section, the organic rules may provide
for the nomination or election of directors by districts or classes, directly or by
district delegates.

(e) If a class of members consists of a single member, the organic rules
may provide for the member to appoint a director or directors.

(f) Unless the organic rules otherwise provide, cumulative voting for
directors is prohibited.

(g) Except as otherwise provided by the organic rules, subsection (e) of this
section, or sections 303, 516, 517, and 809 of this title, member directors must
be elected at an annual members meeting.

§ 805. TERM OF DIRECTOR

(a) Unless the organic rules otherwise provide, and subject to subsections
(c) and (d) of this section and subsection 303(c) of this title, the term of a
director expires at the annual members meeting following the director’s
election or appointment. The term of a director may not exceed three years.

(b) Unless the organic rules otherwise provide, a director may be reelected.

(c) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (d) of this section, a director
continues to serve until a successor director is elected or appointed and
qualifies or the director is removed, resigns, is adjudged incompetent, or dies.

(d) Unless the organic rules otherwise provide, a director does not serve the
remainder of the director’s term if the director ceases to qualify to be a
director.

§ 806. RESIGNATION OF DIRECTOR

A director may resign at any time by giving notice in a record to the limited
cooperative association. Unless the notice states a later effective date, a
resignation is effective when the notice is received by the association.

§ 807. REMOVAL OF DIRECTOR

Unless the organic rules otherwise provide, the following rules apply:

(1) Members may remove a director with or without cause.

(2) A member or members holding at least 10 percent of the total voting
power entitled to be voted in the election of a director may demand removal of
the director by one or more signed petitions submitted to the officer of the
limited cooperative association charged with keeping its records.

(3) Upon receipt of a petition for removal of a director, an officer of the
association or the board of directors shall:
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(A) call a special meeting of members to be held not later than 90
days after receipt of the petition by the association; and

(B) mail or otherwise transmit or deliver in a record to the members
entitled to vote on the removal, and to the director to be removed, notice of the
meeting which complies with section 508 of this title.

(4) A director is removed if the votes in favor of removal are equal to or
greater than the votes required to elect the director.

§ 808. SUSPENSION OF DIRECTOR BY BOARD

(a) A board of directors may suspend a director if, considering the
director’s course of conduct and the inadequacy of other available remedies,
immediate suspension is necessary for the best interests of the association and
the director is engaging, or has engaged, in:

(1) fraudulent conduct with respect to the association or its members;

(2) gross abuse of the position of director;

(3) intentional or reckless infliction of harm on the association; or

(4) any other behavior, act, or omission as provided by the organic rules.

(b) A suspension under subsection (a) is effective for 30 days unless the
board of directors calls and gives notice of a special meeting of members for
removal of the director before the end of the 30-day period in which case the
suspension is effective until adjournment of the meeting or the director is
removed.

§ 809. VACANCY ON BOARD

(a) Unless the organic rules otherwise provide, a vacancy on the board of
directors must be filled:

(1) within a reasonable time by majority vote of the remaining directors
until the next annual members meeting or a special meeting of members called
to fill the vacancy; and

(2) for the unexpired term by members at the next annual members
meeting or a special meeting of members called to fill the vacancy.

(b) Unless the organic rules otherwise provide, if a vacating director was
elected or appointed by a class of members or a district:

(1) the new director must be of that class or district; and

(2) the selection of the director for the unexpired term must be
conducted in the same manner as would the selection for that position without
a vacancy.
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(c) If a member appointed a vacating director, the organic rules may
provide for that member to appoint a director to fill the vacancy.

§ 810. REMUNERATION OF DIRECTORS

Unless the organic rules otherwise provide, the board of directors may set
the remuneration of directors and of nondirector committee members
appointed under subsection 817(a) of this title.

§ 811. MEETINGS

(a) A board of directors shall meet at least annually and may hold meetings
inside or outside this state.

(b) Unless the organic rules otherwise provide, a board of directors may
permit directors to attend or conduct board meetings through the use of any
means of communication, if all directors attending the meeting can
communicate with each other during the meeting.

§ 812. ACTION WITHOUT MEETING

(a) Unless prohibited by the organic rules, any action that may be taken by
a board of directors may be taken without a meeting if each director consents
in a record to the action.

(b) Consent under subsection (a) of this section may be withdrawn by a
director in a record at any time before the limited cooperative association
receives consent from all directors.

(c) A record of consent for any action under subsection (a) of this section
may specify the effective date or time of the action.

§ 813. MEETINGS AND NOTICE

(a) Unless the organic rules otherwise provide, a board of directors may
establish a time, date, and place for regular board meetings, and notice of the
time, date, place, or purpose of those meetings is not required.

(b) Unless the organic rules otherwise provide, notice of the time, date, and
place of a special meeting of a board of directors must be given to all directors
at least three days before the meeting, the notice must contain a statement of
the purpose of the meeting, and the meeting is limited to the matters contained
in the statement.

§ 814. WAIVER OF NOTICE OF MEETING

(a) Unless the organic rules otherwise provide, a director may waive any
required notice of a meeting of the board of directors in a record before,
during, or after the meeting.
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(b) Unless the organic rules otherwise provide, a director’s participation in
a meeting is a waiver of notice of that meeting unless:

(1) the director objects to the meeting at the beginning of the meeting or
promptly upon the director’s arrival at the meeting and does not thereafter vote
in favor of or otherwise assent to the action taken at the meeting; or

(2) the director promptly objects upon the introduction of any matter for
which notice under section 813 of this title has not been given and does not
thereafter vote in favor of or otherwise assent to the action taken on the matter.

§ 815. QUORUM

(a) Unless the articles of organization provide for a greater number, a
majority of the total number of directors specified by the organic rules
constitutes a quorum for a meeting of the directors.

(b) If a quorum of the board of directors is present at the beginning of a
meeting, any action taken by the directors present is valid even if withdrawal
of directors originally present results in the number of directors being fewer
than the number required for a quorum.

(c) A director present at a meeting but objecting to notice under subdivision
814(b)(1) or (2) of this title does not count toward a quorum.

§ 816. VOTING

(a) Each director shall have one vote for purposes of decisions made by the
board of directors.

(b) Unless the organic rules otherwise provide, the affirmative vote of a
majority of directors present at a meeting is required for action by the board of
directors.

§ 817. COMMITTEES

(a) Unless the organic rules otherwise provide, a board of directors may
create one or more committees and appoint one or more individuals to serve on
a committee.

(b) Unless the organic rules otherwise provide, an individual appointed to
serve on a committee of a limited cooperative association need not be a
director or member.

(c) An individual who is not a director and is serving on a committee has
the same rights, duties, and obligations as a director serving on the committee.

(d) Unless the organic rules otherwise provide, each committee of a limited
cooperative association may exercise the powers delegated to it by the board of
directors, but a committee may not:
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(1) approve allocations or distributions except according to a formula or
method prescribed by the board of directors;

(2) approve or propose to members action requiring approval of
members; or

(3) fill vacancies on the board of directors or any of its committees.

§ 818. STANDARDS OF CONDUCT AND LIABILITY

Except as otherwise provided in section 820 of this title:

(1) the discharge of the duties of a director or member of a committee of
the board of directors is governed by the law applicable to directors of entities
organized under Title 11A; and

(2) the liability of a director or member of a committee of the board of
directors is governed by the law applicable to directors of entities organized
under Title 11A.

§ 819. CONFLICT OF INTEREST

(a) The law applicable to conflicts of interest between a director of an
entity organized under Title 11A governs conflicts of interest between a
limited cooperative association and a director or member of a committee of the
board of directors.

(b) A director does not have a conflict of interest under this title or the
organic rules solely because the director’s conduct relating to the duties of the
director may further the director’s own interest.

§ 820. OTHER CONSIDERATIONS OF DIRECTORS

Unless the articles of organization otherwise provide, in considering the
best interests of a limited cooperative association, a director of the association
in discharging the duties of director, in conjunction with considering the long
and short term interest of the association and its patron members, may
consider:

(1) the interest of employees, customers, and suppliers of the
association;

(2) the interest of the community in which the association operates; and

(3) other cooperative principles and values that may be applied in the
context of the decision.
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§ 821. RIGHT OF DIRECTOR OR COMMITTEE MEMBER TO

INFORMATION

A director or a member of a committee appointed under section 817 of this
title may obtain, inspect, and copy all information regarding the state of
activities and financial condition of the limited cooperative association and
other information regarding the activities of the association if the information
is reasonably related to the performance of the director’s duties as director or
the committee member’s duties as a member of the committee. Information
obtained in accordance with this section may not be used in any manner that
would violate any duty of or to the association.

§ 822. APPOINTMENT AND AUTHORITY OF OFFICERS

(a) A limited cooperative association has the officers:

(1) provided in the organic rules; or

(2) established by the board of directors in a manner not inconsistent
with the organic rules.

(b) The organic rules may designate or, if the rules do not designate, the
board of directors shall designate, one of the association’s officers for
preparing all records required by section 114 of this title and for the
authentication of records.

(c) Unless the organic rules otherwise provide, the board of directors shall
appoint the officers of the limited cooperative association.

(d) Officers of a limited cooperative association shall perform the duties
the organic rules prescribe or as authorized by the board of directors not in a
manner inconsistent with the organic rules.

(e) The election or appointment of an officer of a limited cooperative
association does not of itself create a contract between the association and the
officer.

(f) Unless the organic rules otherwise provide, an individual may
simultaneously hold more than one office in a limited cooperative association.

§ 823. RESIGNATION AND REMOVAL OF OFFICERS

(a) The board of directors may remove an officer at any time with or
without cause.

(b) An officer of a limited cooperative association may resign at any time
by giving notice in a record to the association. Unless the notice specifies a
later time, the resignation is effective when the notice is given.
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Article 9. Indemnification

§ 901. INDEMNIFICATION

(a) Indemnification of an individual who has incurred liability or is a party,
or is threatened to be made a party, to litigation because of the performance of
a duty to, or activity on behalf of, a limited cooperative association is governed
by Title 11A.

(b) A limited cooperative association may purchase and maintain insurance
on behalf of any individual against liability asserted against or incurred by the
individual to the same extent and subject to the same conditions as provided by
Title 11A.

Article 10. Contributions, Allocations, and Distributions

§ 1001. MEMBERS’ CONTRIBUTIONS

The organic rules must establish the amount, manner, or method of
determining any contribution requirements for members or must authorize the
board of directors to establish the amount, manner, or other method of
determining any contribution requirements for members.

§ 1002. CONTRIBUTION AND VALUATION

(a) Unless the organic rules otherwise provide, the contributions of a
member to a limited cooperative association may consist of tangible or
intangible property or other benefit to the association, including money, labor
or other services performed or to be performed, promissory notes, other
agreements to contribute money or property, and contracts to be performed.

(b) The receipt and acceptance of contributions and the valuation of
contributions must be reflected in a limited cooperative association’s records.

(c) Unless the organic rules otherwise provide, the board of directors shall
determine the value of a member’s contributions received or to be received and
the determination by the board of directors of valuation is conclusive for
purposes of determining whether the member’s contribution obligation has
been met.

§ 1003. CONTRIBUTION AGREEMENTS

(a) Except as otherwise provided in the agreement, the following rules
apply to an agreement made by a person before formation of a limited
cooperative association to make a contribution to the association:

(1) The agreement is irrevocable for six months after the agreement is
signed by the person unless all parties to the agreement consent to the
revocation.
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(2) If a person does not make a required contribution:

(A) the person is obligated, at the option of the association, once
formed, to contribute money equal to the value of that part of the contribution
that has not been made, and the obligation may be enforced as a debt to the
association; or

(B) the association, once formed, may rescind the agreement if the
debt remains unpaid more than 20 days after the association demands payment
from the person, and upon rescission the person has no further rights or
obligations with respect to the association.

(b) Unless the organic rules or an agreement to make a contribution to a
limited cooperative association otherwise provide, if a person does not make a
required contribution to an association, the person or the person’s estate is
obligated, at the option of the association, to contribute money equal to the
value of the part of the contribution which has not been made.

§ 1004. ALLOCATIONS OF PROFITS AND LOSSES

(a) The organic rules may provide for allocating profits of a limited
cooperative association among members, among persons that are not members
but conduct business with the association, to an unallocated account, or to any
combination thereof. Unless the organic rules otherwise provide, losses of the
association must be allocated in the same proportion as profits.

(b) Unless the organic rules otherwise provide, all profits and losses of a
limited cooperative association must be allocated to patron members.

(c) If a limited cooperative association has investor members, the organic
rules may not reduce the allocation to patron members to less than 50 percent
of profits. For purposes of this subsection, the following rules apply:

(1) amounts paid or due on contracts for the delivery to the association
by patron members of products, goods, or services are not considered amounts
allocated to patron members.

(2) amounts paid, due, or allocated to investor members as a stated fixed
return on equity are not considered amounts allocated to investor members.

(d) Unless prohibited by the organic rules, in determining the profits for
allocation under subsections (a), (b), and (c) of this section, the board of
directors may first deduct and set aside a part of the profits to create or
accumulate:

(1) an unallocated capital reserve; and

(2) reasonable unallocated reserves for specific purposes, including
expansion and replacement of capital assets; education, training, cooperative
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development; creation and distribution of information concerning principles of
cooperation; and community responsibility.

(e) Subject to subsections (b) and (f) of this section and the organic rules,
the board of directors shall allocate the amount remaining after any deduction
or setting aside of profits for unallocated reserves under subsection (d) of this
section:

(1) to patron members in the ratio of each member’s patronage to the
total patronage of all patron members during the period for which allocations
are to be made; and

(2) to investor members, if any, in the ratio of each investor member’s
contributions to the total contributions of all investor members.

(f) For purposes of allocation of profits and losses or specific items of
profits or losses of a limited cooperative association to members, the organic
rules may establish allocation units or methods based on separate classes of
members or, for patron members, on class, function, division, district,
department, allocation units, pooling arrangements, members’ contributions, or
other equitable methods.

§ 1005. DISTRIBUTIONS

(a) Unless the organic rules otherwise provide and subject to section 1007
of this title, the board of directors may authorize, and the limited cooperative
association may make, distributions to members.

(b) Unless the organic rules otherwise provide, distributions to members
may be made in any form, including money, capital credits, allocated
patronage equities, revolving fund certificates, and the limited cooperative
association’s own or other securities.

§ 1006. REDEMPTION OR REPURCHASE

Property distributed to a member by a limited cooperative association, other
than money, may be redeemed or repurchased as provided in the organic rules
but a redemption or repurchase may not be made without authorization by the
board of directors. The board may withhold authorization for any reason in its
sole discretion. A redemption or repurchase is treated as a distribution for
purposes of section 1007 of this title.

§ 1007. LIMITATIONS ON DISTRIBUTIONS

(a) A limited cooperative association may not make a distribution if, after
the distribution:

(1) the association would not be able to pay its debts as they become due
in the ordinary course of the association’s activities; or
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(2) the association’s assets would be less than the sum of its total
liabilities.

(b) A limited cooperative association may base a determination that a
distribution is not prohibited under subsection (a) of this section on financial
statements prepared on the basis of accounting practices and principles that are
reasonable in the circumstances or on a fair valuation or other method that is
reasonable in the circumstances.

(c) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (d) of this section, the effect
of a distribution allowed under subsection (b) of this section is measured:

(1) in the case of distribution by purchase, redemption, or other
acquisition of financial rights in the limited cooperative association, as of the
date money or other property is transferred or debt is incurred by the
association; and

(2) in all other cases, as of the date:

(A) the distribution is authorized, if the payment occurs not later than
120 days after that date; or

(B) the payment is made, if payment occurs more than 120 days after
the distribution is authorized.

(d) If indebtedness is issued as a distribution, each payment of principal or
interest on the indebtedness is treated as a distribution, the effect of which is
measured on the date the payment is made.

(e) For purposes of this section, “distribution” does not include reasonable
amounts paid to a member in the ordinary course of business as payment or
compensation for commodities, goods, past or present services, or reasonable
payments made in the ordinary course of business under a bona fide retirement
or other benefits program.

§ 1008. LIABILITY FOR IMPROPER DISTRIBUTIONS; LIMITATION OF

ACTION

(a) A director who consents to a distribution that violates section 1007 of
this title is personally liable to the limited cooperative association for the
amount of the distribution which exceeds the amount that could have been
distributed without the violation if it is established that in consenting to the
distribution the director failed to comply with section 818 or 819 of this title.

(b) A member or transferee of financial rights which received a distribution
knowing that the distribution was made in violation of section 1007 of this title
is personally liable to the limited cooperative association to the extent the
distribution exceeded the amount that could have been properly paid.
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(c) A director against whom an action is commenced under subsection (a)
of this section may:

(1) implead in the action any other director who is liable under
subsection (a) of this section and compel contribution from the person; and

(2) implead in the action any person that is liable under subsection (b)
this section and compel contribution from the person in the amount the person
received as described in subsection (b) of this section.

(d) An action under this section is barred if it is commenced later than two
years after the distribution.

Article 11. Dissociation

§ 1101. MEMBER’S DISSOCIATION

(a) A person has the power to dissociate as a member at any time, rightfully
or wrongfully, by express will.

(b) Unless the organic rules otherwise provide, a member’s dissociation
from a limited cooperative association is wrongful only if the dissociation:

(1) breaches an express provision of the organic rules; or

(2) occurs before the termination of the limited cooperative association
and:

(A) the person is expelled as a member under subdivision (d)(3) or
(4) of this section; or

(B) in the case of a person that is not an individual, trust other than a
business trust, or estate, the person is expelled or otherwise dissociated as a
member because it dissolved or terminated in bad faith.

(c) Unless the organic rules otherwise provide, a person that wrongfully
dissociates as a member is liable to the limited cooperative association for
damages caused by the dissociation. The liability is in addition to any other
debt, obligation, or liability of the person to the association.

(d) A member is dissociated from the limited cooperative association as a
member when:

(1) the association receives notice in a record of the member’s express
will to dissociate as a member, or if the member specifies in the notice an
effective date later than the date the association received notice, on that later
date;

(2) an event stated in the organic rules as causing the member’s
dissociation as a member occurs;
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(3) the member is expelled as a member under the organic rules;

(4) the member is expelled as a member by the board of directors
because:

(A) it is unlawful to carry on the association’s activities with the
member as a member;

(B) there has been a transfer of all the member’s financial rights in
the association, other than:

(i) a creation or perfection of a security interest; or

(ii) a charging order in effect under section 605 of this title which
has not been foreclosed;

(C) the member is a limited liability company, association, or
partnership, which has been dissolved, and its business is being wound up; or

(D) the member is a corporation or cooperative and:

(i) the member filed a certificate of dissolution or the equivalent,
or the jurisdiction of formation revoked the association’s charter or right to
conduct business;

(ii) the association sends a notice to the member that it will be
expelled as a member for a reason described in subdivision (4)(D)(i) of this
subsection; and

(iii) not later than 90 days after the notice was sent under
subdivision (4)(D)(ii) of this subsection, the member did not revoke its
certificate of dissolution or the equivalent, or the jurisdiction of formation did
not reinstate the association’s charter or right to conduct business; or

(E) the member is an individual and is adjudged incompetent;

(5) in the case of a member who is an individual, the individual dies;

(6) in the case of a member that is a trust or is acting as a member by
virtue of being a trustee of a trust, all the trust’s financial rights in the
association are distributed;

(7) in the case of a member that is an estate, the estate’s entire financial
interest in the association is distributed;

(8) in the case of a member that is not an individual, partnership, limited
liability company, cooperative, corporation, trust, or estate, the member is
terminated; or
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(9) the association’s participation in a merger if, under the plan of
merger as approved under Article 16 of this title, the member ceases to be a
member.

§ 1102. EFFECT OF DISSOCIATION AS MEMBER

(a) Upon a member’s dissociation:

(1) subject to section 1103 of this title, the person has no further rights
as a member; and

(2) subject to section 1103 of this title and Article 16 of this title, any
financial rights owned by the person in the person’s capacity as a member
immediately before dissociation are owned by the person as a transferee.

(b) A person’s dissociation as a member does not of itself discharge the
person from any debt, obligation, or liability to the limited cooperative
association which the person incurred under the organic rules, by contract, or
by other means while a member.

§ 1103. POWER OF ESTATE OF MEMBER

Unless the organic rules provide for greater rights, if a member is
dissociated because of death, dies or is expelled by reason of being adjudged
incompetent, the member’s personal representative or other legal
representative may exercise the rights of a transferee of the member’s financial
rights and, for purposes of settling the estate of a deceased member, may
exercise the informational rights of a current member to obtain information
under section 505 of this title.

Article 12. Dissolution

§ 1201. DISSOLUTION AND WINDING UP

A limited cooperative association is dissolved only as provided in this
article and upon dissolution winds up in accordance with this article.

§ 1202. NONJUDICIAL DISSOLUTION

Except as otherwise provided in sections 1203 and 1211 of this title, a
limited cooperative association is dissolved and its activities must be wound
up:

(1) upon the occurrence of an event or at a time specified in the articles
of organization;

(2) upon the action of the association’s organizers, board of directors, or
members under section 1204 or 1205 of this title; or
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(3) 90 days after the dissociation of a member, which results in the
association having one patron member and no other members, unless the
association:

(A) has a sole member that is a cooperative; or

(B) not later than the end of the 90-day period, admits at least one
member in accordance with the organic rules and has at least two members, at
least one of which is a patron member.

§ 1203. JUDICIAL DISSOLUTION

The superior court may dissolve a limited cooperative association or order
any action that under the circumstances is appropriate and equitable:

(1) in a proceeding initiated by the attorney general, if:

(A) the association obtained its articles of organization through fraud;
or

(B) the association has continued to exceed or abuse the authority
conferred upon it by law; or

(2) in a proceeding initiated by a member, if:

(A) the directors are deadlocked in the management of the
association’s affairs, the members are unable to break the deadlock, and
irreparable injury to the association is occurring or is threatened because of the
deadlock;

(B) the directors or those in control of the association have acted, are
acting, or will act in a manner that is illegal, oppressive, or fraudulent;

(C) the members are deadlocked in voting power and have failed to
elect successors to directors whose terms have expired for two consecutive
periods during which annual members’ meetings were held or were to be held;
or

(D) the assets of the association are being misapplied or wasted.

§ 1204. VOLUNTARY DISSOLUTION BEFORE COMMENCEMENT OF

ACTIVITY

A majority of the organizers or initial directors of a limited cooperative
association that has not yet begun business activity or the conduct of its affairs
may dissolve the association.

§ 1205. VOLUNTARY DISSOLUTION BY THE BOARD AND MEMBERS
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(a) Except as otherwise provided in section 1204 of this title, for a limited
cooperative association to voluntarily dissolve:

(1) a resolution to dissolve must be approved by a majority vote of the
board of directors unless a greater percentage is required by the organic rules;

(2) the board of directors must call a members meeting to consider the
resolution, to be held not later than 90 days after adoption of the resolution;
and

(3) the board of directors must mail or otherwise transmit or deliver to
each member in a record that complies with section 508 of this title:

(A) the resolution required by subdivision (1) of this subsection;

(B) a recommendation that the members vote in favor of the
resolution or, if the board determines that because of conflict of interest or
other special circumstances it should not make a favorable recommendation,
the basis of that determination; and

(C) notice of the members meeting, which must be given in the same
manner as notice of a special meeting of members.

(b) Subject to subsection (c) of this section, a resolution to dissolve must be
approved by:

(1) at least two-thirds of the voting power of members present at a
members meeting called under subdivision (a)(2) of this section; and

(2) if the limited cooperative association has investor members, at least
a majority of the votes cast by patron members, unless the organic rules require
a greater percentage.

(c) The organic rules may require that the percentage of votes under
subdivision (b)(1) of this section is:

(1) a different percentage that is not less than a majority of members
voting at the meeting; or

(2) measured against the voting power of all members; or

(3) a combination of subdivisions (1) and (2) of this subsection.

§ 1206. WINDING UP

(a) A limited cooperative association continues after dissolution only for
purposes of winding up its activities.

(b) In winding up a limited cooperative association’s activities, the board of
directors shall cause the association to:
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(1) discharge its liabilities, settle and close its activities, and marshal and
distribute its assets;

(2) preserve the association or its property as a going concern for no
more than a reasonable time;

(3) prosecute and defend actions and proceedings;

(4) transfer association property; and

(5) perform other necessary acts.

(c) After dissolution and upon application of a limited cooperative
association, a member, or a holder of financial rights, the superior court may
order judicial supervision of the winding up of the association, including the
appointment of a person to wind up the association’s activities, if:

(1) after a reasonable time, the association has not wound up its
activities; or

(2) the applicant establishes other good cause.

(d) If a person is appointed pursuant to subsection (c) of this section to
wind up the activities of a limited cooperative association, the association shall
promptly deliver to the secretary of state for filing an amendment to the articles
of organization to reflect the appointment.

§ 1207. DISTRIBUTION OF ASSETS IN WINDING UP LIMITED
COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATION

(a) In winding up a limited cooperative association’s business, the
association shall apply its assets to discharge its obligations to creditors,
including members that are creditors. The association shall apply any
remaining assets to pay in money the net amount distributable to members in
accordance with their right to distributions under subsection (b) of this section.

(b) Unless the organic rules otherwise provide, in this subsection “financial
interests” means the amounts recorded in the names of members in the records
of a limited cooperative association at the time a distribution is made,
including amounts paid to become a member, amounts allocated but not
distributed to members, and amounts of distributions authorized but not yet
paid to members. Unless the organic rules otherwise provide, each member is
entitled to a distribution from the association of any remaining assets in the
proportion of the member’s financial interests to the total financial interests of
the members after all other obligations are satisfied.

§ 1208. KNOWN CLAIMS AGAINST DISSOLVED LIMITED
COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATION
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(a) Subject to subsection (d) of this section, a dissolved limited cooperative
association may dispose of the known claims against it by following the
procedure in subsections (b) and (c) of this section.

(b) A dissolved limited cooperative association may notify its known
claimants of the dissolution in a record. The notice must:

(1) specify that a claim be in a record;

(2) specify the information required to be included in the claim;

(3) provide an address to which the claim must be sent;

(4) state the deadline for receipt of the claim, which may not be less than
120 days after the date the notice is received by the claimant; and

(5) state that the claim will be barred if not received by the deadline.

(c) A claim against a dissolved limited cooperative association is barred if
the requirements of subsection (b) of this section are met, and:

(1) the association is not notified of the claimant’s claim, in a record, by
the deadline specified in the notice under subdivision (b)(4) of this section;

(2) in the case of a claim that is timely received but rejected by the
association, the claimant does not commence an action to enforce the claim
against the association within 90 days after receipt of the notice of the
rejection; or

(3) if a claim is timely received but is neither accepted nor rejected by
the association within 120 days after the deadline for receipt of claims, the
claimant does not commence an action to enforce the claim against the
association:

(A) after the 120-day period; and

(B) within 90 days after the 120-day period.

(d) This section does not apply to a claim based on an event occurring after
the date of dissolution or a liability that is contingent on that date.

§ 1209. OTHER CLAIMS AGAINST DISSOLVED LIMITED
COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATION

(a) A dissolved limited cooperative association may publish notice of its
dissolution and request persons having claims against the association to present
them in accordance with the notice.

(b) A notice under subsection (a) of this section must:
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(1) be published at least once in a newspaper of general circulation in
the county in which the dissolved limited cooperative association’s principal
office is located or, if the association does not have a principal office in this
state, in the county in which the association’s designated office is or was last
located;

(2) describe the information required to be contained in a claim and
provide an address to which the claim is to be sent; and

(3) state that a claim against the association is barred unless an action to
enforce the claim is commenced not later than three years after publication of
the notice.

(c) If a dissolved limited cooperative association publishes a notice in
accordance with subsection (b) of this section, the claim of each of the
following claimants is barred unless the claimant commences an action to
enforce the claim not later than three years after the first publication date of the
notice:

(1) a claimant that is entitled to but did not receive notice in a record
under section 1208 of this title; and

(2) a claimant whose claim is contingent or based on an event occurring
after the effective date of dissolution.

(d) A claim not barred under this section may be enforced:

(1) against a dissolved limited cooperative association, to the extent of
its undistributed assets; or

(2) if the association’s assets have been distributed in connection with
winding up the association’s activities against a member or holder of financial
rights to the extent of that person’s proportionate share of the claim or the
association’s assets distributed to the person in connection with the winding
up, whichever is less. The person’s total liability for all claims under this
paragraph shall not exceed the total amount of assets distributed to the person
as part of the winding up of the association.

§ 1210. COURT PROCEEDING

(a) Upon application by a dissolved limited cooperative association that has
published a notice under section 1209 of this title, the superior court in the
county where the association’s principal office is located or, if the association
does not have a principal office in this state where its designated office in this
state is located, may determine the amount and form of security to be provided
for payment of claims against the association that are contingent, have not been
made known to the association, or are based on an event occurring after the
effective date of dissolution but that, based on the facts known to the
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association, are reasonably anticipated to arise after the effective date of
dissolution.

(b) Not later than 10 days after filing an application under subsection (a) of
this section, a dissolved limited cooperative association shall give notice of the
proceeding to each known claimant holding a contingent claim.

(c) The court may appoint a representative in a proceeding brought under
this section to represent all claimants whose identities are unknown. The
dissolved limited cooperative association shall pay reasonable fees and
expenses of the representative, including all reasonable attorney’s and expert
witness fees.

(d) Provision by the dissolved limited cooperative association for security
in the amount and the form ordered by the court satisfies the association’s
obligations with respect to claims that are contingent, have not been made
known to the association, or are based on an event occurring after the effective
date of dissolution, and the claims may not be enforced against a member that
received a distribution.

§ 1211. ADMINISTRATIVE DISSOLUTION

(a) The secretary of state may dissolve a limited cooperative association
administratively if the association does not:

(1) pay, not later than 60 days after the due date, any fee, tax, or penalty
due to the secretary of state under this title; or

(2) deliver not later than 60 days after the due date its annual report to
the secretary of state.

(b) If the secretary of state determines that a ground exists for dissolving a
limited cooperative association administratively, the secretary of state shall file
a record of the determination and serve the association with a copy of the
record.

(c) If, not later than 60 days after service of a copy of the secretary of
state’s determination under subsection (b) of this section, the association does
not correct each ground for dissolution or demonstrate to the satisfaction of the
secretary of state that each uncorrected ground determined by the secretary of
state does not exist, the secretary of state shall dissolve the association
administratively by preparing and filing a declaration of dissolution which
states the grounds for dissolution. The secretary of state shall serve the
association with a copy of the declaration.

(d) A limited cooperative association that has been dissolved
administratively continues its existence only for purposes of winding up its
activities.
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(e) The administrative dissolution of a limited cooperative association does
not terminate the authority of its agent for service of process.

§ 1212. REINSTATEMENT FOLLOWING ADMINISTRATIVE

DISSOLUTION

(a) A limited cooperative association that has been dissolved
administratively may apply to the secretary of state for reinstatement not later
than two years after the effective date of dissolution. The application must be
delivered to the secretary of state for filing and state:

(1) the name of the association and the effective date of its
administrative dissolution;

(2) that the grounds for dissolution either did not exist or have been
eliminated; and

(3) that the association’s name satisfies the requirements of section 111
of this title.

(b) If the secretary of state determines that an application contains the
information required by subsection (a) of this section and that the information
is correct, the secretary of state shall:

(1) prepare a declaration of reinstatement;

(2) file the original of the declaration; and

(3) serve a copy of the declaration on the association.

(c) When reinstatement under this section becomes effective, it relates back
to and takes effect as of the effective date of the administrative dissolution, and
the limited cooperative association may resume or continue its activities as if
the administrative dissolution had not occurred.

§ 1213. DENIAL OF REINSTATEMENT; APPEAL

(a) If the secretary of state denies a limited cooperative association’s
application for reinstatement following administrative dissolution, the
secretary of state shall prepare and file a notice that explains the reason for
denial and serve the association with a copy of the notice.

(b) Not later than 30 days after service of a notice of denial of
reinstatement by the secretary of state, a limited cooperative association may
appeal the denial by petitioning the superior court to set aside the dissolution.
The petition must be served on the secretary of state and contain a copy of the
secretary of state’s declaration of dissolution, the association’s application for
reinstatement, and the secretary of state’s notice of denial.



- 245 -

(c) The court may summarily order the secretary of state to reinstate the
dissolved cooperative association or may take other action the court considers
appropriate.

§ 1214. STATEMENT OF DISSOLUTION

(a) A limited cooperative association that has dissolved or is about to
dissolve may deliver to the secretary of state for filing a statement of
dissolution that states:

(1) the name of the association;

(2) the date the association dissolved or will dissolve; and

(3) any other information the association considers relevant.

(b) A person has notice of a limited cooperative association’s dissolution
on the later of:

(1) 90 days after a statement of dissolution is filed; or

(2) the effective date stated in the statement of dissolution.

§ 1215. STATEMENT OF TERMINATION

(a) A dissolved limited cooperative association that has completed winding
up may deliver to the secretary of state for filing a statement of termination
that states:

(1) the name of the association;

(2) the date of filing of its initial articles of organization; and

(3) that the association is terminated.

(b) The filing of a statement of termination does not itself terminate the
limited cooperative association.

Article 13. Action By Member

§ 1301. DERIVATIVE ACTION

A member may maintain a derivative action to enforce a right of a limited
cooperative association if:

(1) the member demands that the association bring an action to enforce
the right; and

(2) any of the following occur:

(A) the association does not, within 90 days after the member makes
the demand, agree to bring the action;
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(B) the association notifies the member that it has rejected the
demand;

(C) irreparable harm to the association would result by waiting 90
days after the member makes the demand; or

(D) the association agrees to bring an action demanded and fails to
bring the action within a reasonable time.

§ 1302. PROPER PLAINTIFF

(a) A derivative action to enforce a right of a limited cooperative
association may be maintained only by a person that:

(1) is a member or a dissociated member at the time the action is
commenced and:

(A) was a member when the conduct giving rise to the action
occurred; or

(B) whose status as a member devolved upon the person by operation
of law or the organic rules from a person that was a member at the time of the
conduct; and

(2) adequately represents the interests of the association.

(b) If the sole plaintiff in a derivative action dies while the action is
pending, the court may permit another member who meets the requirements of
subsection (a) of this section to be substituted as plaintiff.

§ 1303. PLEADING

In a derivative action to enforce a right of a limited cooperative association,
the complaint must state:

(1) the date and content of the plaintiff’s demand under subdivision
1301(1) of this title and the association’s response;

(2) if 90 days have not expired since the demand, how irreparable harm
to the association would result by waiting for the expiration of 90 days; and

(3) if the association agreed to bring an action demanded, that the action
has not been brought within a reasonable time.

§ 1304. APPROVAL FOR DISCONTINUANCE OR SETTLEMENT

A derivative action to enforce a right of a limited cooperative association
may not be discontinued or settled without the court’s approval.

§ 1305. PROCEEDS AND EXPENSES

(a) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (b) of this section:
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(1) any proceeds or other benefits of a derivative action to enforce a
right of a limited cooperative association, whether by judgment, compromise,
or settlement, belong to the association and not to the plaintiff; and

(2) if the plaintiff in the derivative action receives any proceeds, the
plaintiff shall immediately remit them to the association.

(b) If a derivative action to enforce a right of a limited cooperative
association is successful in whole or in part, the court may award the plaintiff
reasonable expenses, including reasonable attorney’s fees and costs, from the
recovery of the association.

Article 14. Foreign Cooperatives

§ 1401. GOVERNING LAW

(a) The law of the state or other jurisdiction under which a foreign
cooperative is organized governs relations among the members of the foreign
cooperative and between the members and the foreign cooperative.

(b) A foreign cooperative may not be denied a certificate of authority
because of any difference between the law of the jurisdiction under which the
foreign cooperative is organized and the law of this state.

(c) A certificate of authority does not authorize a foreign cooperative to
engage in any activity or exercise any power that a limited cooperative
association may not engage in or exercise in this state.

§ 1402. APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORITY

(a) A foreign cooperative may apply for a certificate of authority by
delivering an application to the secretary of state for filing. The application
must state:

(1) the name of the foreign cooperative and, if the name does not
comply with section 111 of this title, an alternative name adopted pursuant to
section 1405 of this title;

(2) the name of the state or other jurisdiction under whose law the
foreign cooperative is organized;

(3) the street address and, if different, mailing address of the principal
office and, if the law of the jurisdiction under which the foreign cooperative is
organized requires the foreign cooperative to maintain another office in that
jurisdiction, the street address and, if different, mailing address of the required
office;
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(4) the street address and, if different, mailing address of the foreign
cooperative’s designated office in this state, and the name of the foreign
cooperative’s agent for service of process at the designated office; and

(5) the name, street address and, if different, mailing address of each of
the foreign cooperative’s current directors and officers.

(b) A foreign cooperative shall deliver with a completed application under
subsection (a) of this section a certificate of good standing or existence or a
similar record signed by the secretary of state or other official having custody
of the foreign cooperative’s publicly filed records in the state or other
jurisdiction under whose law the foreign cooperative is organized.

§ 1403. ACTIVITIES NOT CONSTITUTING TRANSACTING BUSINESS

(a) Activities of a foreign cooperative which do not constitute transacting
business in this state under this article include:

(1) maintaining, defending, and settling an action or proceeding;

(2) holding meetings of the foreign cooperative’s members or directors
or carrying on any other activity concerning the foreign cooperative’s internal
affairs;

(3) maintaining accounts in financial institutions;

(4) maintaining offices or agencies for the transfer, exchange, and
registration of the foreign cooperative’s own securities or maintaining trustees
or depositories with respect to those securities;

(5) selling through independent contractors;

(6) soliciting or obtaining orders, whether by mail or electronic means,
through employees, agents, or otherwise, if the orders require acceptance
outside this state before they become contracts;

(7) creating or acquiring indebtedness, mortgages, or security interests
in real or personal property;

(8) securing or collecting debts or enforcing mortgages or other security
interests in property securing the debts, and holding, protecting, and
maintaining property so acquired;

(9) conducting an isolated transaction that is completed within 30 days
and is not one in the course of similar transactions; and

(10) transacting business in interstate commerce.

(b) For purposes of this article, the ownership in this state of
income-producing real property or tangible personal property, other than
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property excluded under subsection (a) of this section, constitutes transacting
business in this state.

(c) This section does not apply in determining the contacts or activities that
may subject a foreign cooperative to service of process, taxation, or regulation
under the laws of this state other than this title.

§ 1404. ISSUANCE OF CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORITY

Unless the secretary of state determines that an application for a certificate
of authority does not comply with the filing requirements of this title, the
secretary of state, upon payment by the foreign cooperative of all filing fees,
shall file the application, issue a certificate of authority, and send a copy of the
filed certificate, together with a receipt for the fees, to the foreign cooperative
or its representative.

§ 1405. NONCOMPLYING NAME OF FOREIGN COOPERATIVE

(a) A foreign cooperative whose name does not comply with section 111 of
this title may not obtain a certificate of authority until it adopts, for the purpose
of transacting business in this state, an alternative name that complies with
section 111. A foreign cooperative that adopts an alternative name under this
subsection and then obtains a certificate of authority with that name need not
also comply with chapter 15 of Title 11. After obtaining a certificate of
authority with an alternative name, a foreign cooperative’s business in this
state must be transacted under that name unless the foreign cooperative is
authorized under chapter 15 of Title 11 to transact business in this state under
another name.

(b) If a foreign cooperative authorized to transact business in this state
changes its name to one that does not comply with section 111 of this title, it
may not thereafter transact business in this state until it complies with
subsection (a) of this section and obtains an amended certificate of authority.

§ 1406. REVOCATION OF CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORITY

(a) A certificate of authority may be revoked by the secretary of state in the
manner provided in subsection (b) of this section if the foreign cooperative
does not:

(1) pay, not later than 60 days after the due date, any fee, tax, or penalty
due to the secretary of state under this title;

(2) deliver, not later than 60 days after the due date, its annual report;

(3) appoint and maintain an agent for service of process; or
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(4) deliver for filing a statement of change not later than 30 days after a
change has occurred in the name of the agent or the address of the foreign
cooperative’s designated office.

(b) To revoke a certificate of authority, the secretary of state must file a
notice of revocation and send a copy to the foreign cooperative’s registered
agent for service of process in this state or, if the foreign cooperative does not
appoint and maintain an agent for service of process in this state, to the foreign
cooperative’s principal office. The notice must state:

(1) the revocation’s effective date, which must be at least 60 days after
the date the secretary of state sends the copy; and

(2) the foreign cooperative’s noncompliance that is the reason for the
revocation.

(c) The authority of a foreign cooperative to transact business in this state
ceases on the effective date of the notice of revocation unless before that date
the foreign cooperative cures each failure to comply stated in the notice. If the
foreign cooperative cures the failures, the secretary of state shall so indicate on
the filed notice.

§ 1407. CANCELLATION OF CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORITY; EFFECT
OF FAILURE TO HAVE CERTIFICATE

(a) To cancel its certificate of authority, a foreign cooperative must deliver
to the secretary of state for filing a notice of cancellation. The certificate is
canceled when the notice becomes effective under section 203 of this title.

(b) A foreign cooperative transacting business in this state may not
maintain an action or proceeding in this state unless it has a certificate of
authority.

(c) The failure of a foreign cooperative to have a certificate of authority
does not impair the validity of a contract or act of the foreign cooperative or
prevent the foreign cooperative from defending an action or proceeding in this
state.

(d) A member of a foreign cooperative is not liable for the obligations of
the foreign cooperative solely by reason of the foreign cooperative’s having
transacted business in this state without a certificate of authority.

(e) If a foreign cooperative transacts business in this state without a
certificate of authority or cancels its certificate, it appoints the secretary of
state as its agent for service of process for an action arising out of the
transaction of business in this state.

§ 1408. ACTION BY ATTORNEY GENERAL
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The attorney general may maintain an action to restrain a foreign
cooperative from transacting business in this state in violation of this article.

Article 15. Disposition of Assets

§ 1501. DISPOSITION OF ASSETS NOT REQUIRING MEMBER
APPROVAL

Unless the articles of organization otherwise provide, member approval
under section 1502 of this title is not required for a limited cooperative
association to:

(1) sell, lease, exchange, license, or otherwise dispose of all or any part
of the assets of the association in the usual and regular course of business; or

(2) mortgage, pledge, dedicate to the repayment of indebtedness, or
encumber in any way all or any part of the assets of the association whether or
not in the usual and regular course of business.

§ 1502. MEMBER APPROVAL OF OTHER DISPOSITION OF ASSETS

A sale, lease, exchange, license, or other disposition of assets of a limited
cooperative association, other than a disposition described in section 1501 of
this title, requires approval of the association’s members under sections 1503
and 1504 of this title if the disposition leaves the association without
significant continuing business activity.

§ 1503. NOTICE AND ACTION ON DISPOSITION OF ASSETS

For a limited cooperative association to dispose of assets under section 1502
of this title:

(1) a majority of the board of directors, or a greater percentage if
required by the organic rules, must approve the proposed disposition; and

(2) the board of directors must call a members meeting to consider the
proposed disposition, hold the meeting not later than 90 days after approval of
the proposed disposition by the board, and mail or otherwise transmit or
deliver in a record to each member:

(A) the terms of the proposed disposition;

(B) a recommendation that the members approve the disposition, or if
the board determines that because of conflict of interest or other special
circumstances it should not make a favorable recommendation, the basis for
that determination;

(C) a statement of any condition of the board’s submission of the
proposed disposition to the members; and



- 252 -

(D) notice of the meeting at which the proposed disposition will be
considered, which must be given in the same manner as notice of a special
meeting of members.

§ 1504. DISPOSITION OF ASSETS

(a) Subject to subsection (b) of this section, a disposition of assets under
section 1502 of this title must be approved by:

(1) at least two-thirds of the voting power of members present at a
members meeting called under subdivision 1503(2) of this title; and

(2) if the limited cooperative association has investor members, at least
a majority of the votes cast by patron members, unless the organic rules require
a greater percentage vote by patron members.

(b) The organic rules may require that the percentage of votes under
subdivision (a)(1) of this title is:

(1) a different percentage that is not less than a majority of members
voting at the meeting;

(2) measured against the voting power of all members; or

(3) a combination of subdivisions (1) and (2) of this subsection.

(c) Subject to any contractual obligations, after a disposition of assets is
approved and at any time before the consummation of the disposition, a limited
cooperative association may approve an amendment to the contract for
disposition or the resolution authorizing the disposition or approve
abandonment of the disposition:

(1) as provided in the contract or the resolution; and

(2) except as prohibited by the resolution, with the same affirmative
vote of the board of directors and of the members as was required to approve
the disposition.

(d) The voting requirements for districts, classes, or voting groups under
section 404 of this title apply to approval of a disposition of assets under this
article.

Article 16. Conversion and Merger

§ 1601. DEFINITIONS

In this article:

(1) “Constituent entity” means an entity that is a party to a merger.
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(2) “Constituent limited cooperative association” means a limited
cooperative association that is a party to a merger.

(3) “Converted entity” means the organization into which a converting
entity converts pursuant to sections 1602 through 1605 of this title.

(4) “Converting entity” means an entity that converts into another entity
pursuant to sections 1602 through 1605 of this title.

(5) “Converting limited cooperative association” means a converting
entity that is a limited cooperative association.

(6) “Organizational documents” means articles of incorporation, bylaws,
articles of organization, operating agreements, partnership agreements, or other
documents serving a similar function in the creation and governance of an
entity.

(7) “Personal liability” means personal liability for a debt, liability, or
other obligation of an entity imposed, by operation of law or otherwise, on a
person that co-owns or has an interest in the entity:

(A) by the entity’s organic law solely because of the person
co-owning or having an interest in the entity; or

(B) by the entity’s organizational documents under a provision of the
entity’s organic law authorizing those documents to make one or more
specified persons liable for all or specified parts of the entity’s debts,
liabilities, and other obligations solely because the person co-owns or has an
interest in the entity.

(8) “Surviving entity” means an entity into which one or more other
entities are merged, whether the entity existed before the merger or is created
by the merger.

§ 1602. CONVERSION

(a) An entity that is not a limited cooperative association may convert to a
limited cooperative association and a limited cooperative association may
convert to an entity that is not a limited cooperative association pursuant to this
section, sections 1603 through 1605 of this title, and a plan of conversion, if:

(1) the other entity’s organic law authorizes the conversion;

(2) the conversion is not prohibited by the law of the jurisdiction that
enacted the other entity’s organic law; and

(3) the other entity complies with its organic law in effecting the
conversion.

(b) A plan of conversion must be in a record and must include:
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(1) the name and form of the entity before conversion;

(2) the name and form of the entity after conversion;

(3) the terms and conditions of the conversion, including the manner and
basis for converting interests in the converting entity into any combination of
money, interests in the converted entity, and other consideration; and

(4) the organizational documents of the proposed converted entity.

§ 1603. ACTION ON PLAN OF CONVERSION BY CONVERTING
LIMITED COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATION

(a) For a limited cooperative association to convert to another entity, a plan
of conversion must be approved by a majority of the board of directors, or a
greater percentage if required by the organic rules, and the board of directors
must call a members meeting to consider the plan of conversion, hold the
meeting not later than 90 days after approval of the plan by the board, and mail
or otherwise transmit or deliver in a record to each member:

(1) the plan, or a summary of the plan and a statement of the manner in
which a copy of the plan in a record may be reasonably obtained by a member;

(2) a recommendation that the members approve the plan of conversion,
or if the board determines that because of a conflict of interest or other
circumstances it should not make a favorable recommendation, the basis for
that determination;

(3) a statement of any condition of the board’s submission of the plan of
conversion to the members; and

(4) notice of the meeting at which the plan of conversion will be
considered, which must be given in the same manner as notice of a special
meeting of members.

(b) Subject to subsections (c) and (d) of this section, a plan of conversion
must be approved by:

(1) at least two-thirds of the voting power of members present at a
members meeting called under subsection (a) of this section; and

(2) if the limited cooperative association has investor members, at least
a majority of the votes cast by patron members, unless the organic rules require
a greater percentage vote by patron members.

(c) The organic rules may require that the percentage of votes under
subdivision (b)(1) of this section is:

(1) a different percentage that is not less than a majority of members
voting at the meeting;



- 255 -

(2) measured against the voting power of all members; or

(3) a combination of subdivisions (1) and (2) of this subsection.

(d) The vote required to approve a plan of conversion may not be less than
the vote required for the members of the limited cooperative association to
amend the articles of organization.

(e) Consent in a record to a plan of conversion by a member must be
delivered to the limited cooperative association before delivery of articles of
conversion for filing if as a result of the conversion the member will have:

(1) personal liability for an obligation of the association; or

(2) an obligation or liability for an additional contribution.

(f) Subject to subsection (e) of this section and any contractual rights, after
a conversion is approved and at any time before the effective date of the
conversion, a converting limited cooperative association may amend a plan of
conversion or abandon the planned conversion:

(1) as provided in the plan; and

(2) except as prohibited by the plan, by the same affirmative vote of the
board of directors and of the members as was required to approve the plan.

(g) The voting requirements for districts, classes, or voting groups under
section 404 of this title apply to approval of a conversion under this article.

§ 1604. FILINGS REQUIRED FOR CONVERSION; EFFECTIVE DATE

(a) After a plan of conversion is approved:

(1) a converting limited cooperative association shall deliver to the
secretary of state for filing articles of conversion, which must include:

(A) a statement that the limited cooperative association has been
converted into another entity;

(B) the name and form of the converted entity and the jurisdiction of
its governing statute;

(C) the date the conversion is effective under the governing statute of
the converted entity;

(D) a statement that the conversion was approved as required by this
title;

(E) a statement that the conversion was approved as required by the
governing statute of the converted entity; and
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(F) if the converted entity is an entity organized in a jurisdiction other
than this state and is not authorized to transact business in this state, the street
address and, if different, mailing address of an office which the secretary of
state may use for purposes of section 120 of this title; and

(2) if the converting entity is not a converting limited cooperative
association, the converting entity shall deliver to the secretary of state for filing
articles of organization, which must include, in addition to the information
required by section 302 of this title:

(A) a statement that the association was converted from another
entity;

(B) the name and form of the converting entity and the jurisdiction of
its governing statute; and

(C) a statement that the conversion was approved in a manner that
complied with the converting entity’s governing statute.

(b) A conversion becomes effective:

(1) if the converted entity is a limited cooperative association, when the
articles of conversion take effect pursuant to subsection 203(c) of this title; or

(2) if the converted entity is not a limited cooperative association, as
provided by the governing statute of the converted entity.

§ 1605. EFFECT OF CONVERSION

(a) An entity that has been converted pursuant to this article is for all
purposes the same entity that existed before the conversion and is not a new
entity but, after conversion, is organized under the organic law of the
converted entity and is subject to that law and other law as it applies to the
converted entity.

(b) When a conversion takes effect under this article:

(1) all property owned by the converting entity remains vested in the
converted entity;

(2) all debts, liabilities, and other obligations of the converting entity
continue as obligations of the converted entity;

(3) an action or proceeding pending by or against the converting entity
may be continued as if the conversion had not occurred;

(4) except as prohibited by other law, all the rights, privileges,
immunities, powers, and purposes of the converting entity remain vested in the
converted entity;
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(5) except as otherwise provided in the plan of conversion, the terms and
conditions of the plan of conversion take effect; and

(6) except as otherwise provided in the plan of conversion, the
conversion does not dissolve a converting limited cooperative association for
purposes of Article 12 of this title.

(c) A converted entity that is an entity organized under the laws of a
jurisdiction other than this state consents to the jurisdiction of the courts of this
state to enforce any obligation owed by the converting limited cooperative
association if, before the conversion, the converting limited cooperative
association was subject to suit in this state on the obligation. A converted
entity that is an entity organized under the laws of a jurisdiction other than this
state and not authorized to transact business in this state appoints the secretary
of state as its agent for service of process for purposes of enforcing an
obligation under this subsection. Service on the secretary of state under this
subsection is made in the same manner and with the same consequences as
under subsections 120(c) and (d) of this title.

§ 1606. MERGER

(a) One or more limited cooperative associations may merge with one or
more other entities pursuant to this article and a plan of merger if:

(1) the governing statute of each of the other entities authorizes the
merger;

(2) the merger is not prohibited by the law of a jurisdiction that enacted
any of those governing statutes; and

(3) each of the other entities complies with its governing statute in
effecting the merger.

(b) A plan of merger must be in a record and must include:

(1) the name and form of each constituent entity;

(2) the name and form of the surviving entity and, if the surviving entity
is to be created by the merger, a statement to that effect;

(3) the terms and conditions of the merger, including the manner and
basis for converting the interests in each constituent entity into any
combination of money, interests in the surviving entity, and other
consideration;

(4) if the surviving entity is to be created by the merger, the surviving
entity’s organizational documents;
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(5) if the surviving entity is not to be created by the merger, any
amendments to be made by the merger to the surviving entity’s organizational
documents; and

(6) if a member of a constituent limited cooperative association will
have personal liability with respect to a surviving entity, the identity of the
member by descriptive class or other reasonable manner.

§ 1607. NOTICE AND ACTION ON PLAN OF MERGER BY

CONSTITUENT LIMITED COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATION

(a) For a limited cooperative association to merge with another entity, a
plan of merger must be approved by a majority vote of the board of directors or
a greater percentage if required by the association’s organic rules.

(b) The board of directors shall call a members meeting to consider a plan
of merger approved by the board, hold the meeting not later than 90 days after
approval of the plan by the board, and mail or otherwise transmit or deliver in
a record to each member:

(1) the plan of merger, or a summary of the plan and a statement of the
manner in which a copy of the plan in a record may be reasonably obtained by
a member;

(2) a recommendation that the members approve the plan of merger, or
if the board determines that because of conflict of interest or other special
circumstances it should not make a favorable recommendation, the basis for
that determination;

(3) a statement of any condition of the board’s submission of the plan of
merger to the members; and

(4) notice of the meeting at which the plan of merger will be considered,
which must be given in the same manner as notice of a special meeting of
members.

§ 1608. APPROVAL OR ABANDONMENT OF MERGER BY MEMBERS

(a) Subject to subsections (b) and (c) of this section, a plan of merger must
be approved by:

(1) at least two-thirds of the voting power of members present at a
members meeting called under subsection 1607(b) of this title; and

(2) if the limited cooperative association has investor members, at least
a majority of the votes cast by patron members, unless the organic rules require
a greater percentage vote by patron members.
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(b) The organic rules may provide that the percentage of votes under
subdivision (a)(1) of this section is:

(1) a different percentage that is not less than a majority of members
voting at the meeting;

(2) measured against the voting power of all members; or

(3) a combination of subdivisions (1) and (2) of this subsection.

(c) The vote required to approve a plan of merger may not be less than the
vote required for the members of the limited cooperative association to amend
the articles of organization.

(d) Consent in a record to a plan of merger by a member must be delivered
to the limited cooperative association before delivery of articles of merger for
filing pursuant to section 1609 of this title if as a result of the merger the
member will have:

(1) personal liability for an obligation of the association; or

(2) an obligation or liability for an additional contribution.

(e) Subject to subsection (d) of this section and any contractual rights, after
a merger is approved, and at any time before the effective date of the merger, a
limited cooperative association that is a party to the merger may approve an
amendment to the plan of merger or approve abandonment of the planned
merger:

(1) as provided in the plan; and

(2) except as prohibited by the plan, with the same affirmative vote of
the board of directors and of the members as was required to approve the plan.

(f) The voting requirements for districts, classes, or voting groups under
section 404 of this title apply to approval of a merger under this article.

§ 1609. FILINGS REQUIRED FOR MERGER; EFFECTIVE DATE

(a) After each constituent entity has approved a merger, articles of merger
must be signed on behalf of each constituent entity by an authorized
representative.

(b) The articles of merger must include:

(1) the name and form of each constituent entity and the jurisdiction of
its governing statute;

(2) the name and form of the surviving entity, the jurisdiction of its
governing statute, and, if the surviving entity is created by the merger, a
statement to that effect;
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(3) the date the merger is effective under the governing statute of the
surviving entity;

(4) if the surviving entity is to be created by the merger and:

(A) will be a limited cooperative association, the limited cooperative
association’s articles of organization; or

(B) will be an entity other than a limited cooperative association, the
organizational document that creates the entity;

(5) if the surviving entity is not created by the merger, any amendments
provided for in the plan of merger to the organizational document that created
the entity;

(6) a statement as to each constituent entity that the merger was
approved as required by the entity’s governing statute;

(7) if the surviving entity is a foreign organization not authorized to
transact business in this state, the street address and, if different, mailing
address of an office which the secretary of state may use for the purposes of
section 120 of this title; and

(8) any additional information required by the governing statute of any
constituent entity.

(c) Each limited cooperative association that is a party to a merger shall
deliver the articles of merger to the secretary of state for filing.

(d) A merger becomes effective under this article:

(1) if the surviving entity is a limited cooperative association, upon the
later of:

(A) compliance with subsection (c) of this section; or

(B) subject to subsection 203(c) of this title, as specified in the
articles of merger; or

(2) if the surviving entity is not a limited cooperative association, as
provided by the governing statute of the surviving entity.

§ 1610. EFFECT OF MERGER

(a) When a merger becomes effective:

(1) the surviving entity continues or comes into existence;

(2) each constituent entity that merges into the surviving entity ceases to
exist as a separate entity;
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(3) all property owned by each constituent entity that ceases to exist
vests in the surviving entity;

(4) all debts, liabilities, and other obligations of each constituent entity
that ceases to exist continue as obligations of the surviving entity;

(5) an action or proceeding pending by or against any constituent entity
that ceases to exist may be continued as if the merger had not occurred;

(6) except as prohibited by law other than this title, all rights, privileges,
immunities, powers, and purposes of each constituent entity that ceases to exist
vest in the surviving entity;

(7) except as otherwise provided in the plan of merger, the terms and
conditions of the plan take effect;

(8) except as otherwise provided in the plan of merger, if a merging
limited cooperative association ceases to exist, the merger does not dissolve
the association for purposes of Article 12 of this title;

(9) if the surviving entity is created by the merger and:

(A) is a limited cooperative association, the articles of organization
become effective; or

(B) is an entity other than a limited cooperative association, the
organizational document that creates the entity becomes effective; and

(10) if the surviving entity is not created by the merger, any
amendments made by the articles of merger for the organizational documents
of the surviving entity become effective.

(b) A surviving entity that is an entity organized under the laws of a
jurisdiction other than this state consents to the jurisdiction of the courts of this
state to enforce any obligation owed by the constituent entity if, before the
merger, the constituent entity was subject to suit in this state on the obligation.
A surviving entity that is an entity organized under the laws of a jurisdiction
other than this state and not authorized to transact business in this state
appoints the secretary of state as its agent for service of process for purposes of
enforcing an obligation under this subsection. Service on the secretary of state
under this subsection is made in the same manner and with the same
consequences as in subsections 120(c) and (d) of this title.

§ 1611. CONSOLIDATION

(a) Constituent entities that are limited cooperative associations or foreign
cooperatives may agree to call a merger a consolidation under this article.
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(b) All provisions governing mergers or using the term merger in this title
apply equally to mergers that the constituent entities choose to call
consolidations under subsection (a) of this section.

§ 1612. ARTICLE NOT EXCLUSIVE

This article does not prohibit a limited cooperative association from being
converted or merged under law other than this title.

Article 17. Miscellaneous Provisions

§ 1701. UNIFORMITY OF APPLICATION AND CONSTRUCTION

In applying and construing this uniform act, consideration must be given to
the need to promote uniformity of the law with respect to its subject matter
among states that enact it.

§ 1702. RELATION TO ELECTRONIC SIGNATURES IN GLOBAL AND
NATIONAL COMMERCE ACT

This title modifies, limits, or supersedes the federal Electronic Signatures in
Global and National Commerce Act, 15 U.S.C. Section 7001 et seq., but does
not modify, limit, or supersede Section 101(c) of that act, 15 U.S.C. Section
7001(c) or authorize electronic delivery of any of the notices described in
Section 103(b) of that act, 15 U.S.C. Section 7003(b).

§ 1703. SAVINGS CLAUSE

This title does not affect an action or proceeding commenced, or right
accrued, before the effective date.

§ 1704. EFFECTIVE DATE

This title takes effect upon passage.

(Committee vote: 11-0-0)

Favorable

H. 3

An act relating to technical corrections to the public institutions and
corrections statutes.

Rep. Macaig of Williston, for the Committee on Corrections and
Institutions, recommends the bill ought to pass.

( Committee Vote: 11-0-0)

H. 95

An act relating to approval of amendment to the charter of the city of
Burlington.
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Rep. Atkins of Winooski, for the Committee on Government Operations,
recommends the bill ought to pass.

( Committee Vote: 11-0-0)

HOUSE DEADLINES

To All House Members:

During the first year of the biennium, a member may request introduction
of a bill drafted in short form and submitted to the Legislative Council anytime
during the session.

Introduction Deadline - Except with prior consent of the Committee on
Rules, all bills drafted in standard form, shall be introduced by February 27,
2009.

During the first year of the biennium Committee bills may be introduced at
anytime.

House Appropriations Committee
Members’ amendments to Fiscal Year 2009

Budget Adjustment Bill

The House Appropriations Committee invites all members of the House who
intend to introduce amendments to the FY 2009 budget adjustment bill to meet
with the committee on Thursday, February 19, at 8:45 a.m., OR for third
reading, Friday, February 20, at 8:45 a.m., in Room 42. If possible, please talk
to Theresa Utton-Jerman in Room 40
(ext. 5970) to schedule a time.

PUBLIC HEARINGS

Thursday, February 19, 2009 – Room 11 – 7:00 – 8:00 P. M. – Joint
Judicial Retention – Judges: Hon. Geoffrey Crawford, Hon. Brian Grearson,
Hon. Mary Teachout and Hon. Howard Van Beuthuysen

Tuesday, February 24, 2009 – Room 11 – 9:00 A.M. – 12 Noon – House
Committee on Appropriations – FY 2010 State Budget

Wednesday, February 25, 2009 - Room 11 – 2:30 P.M. – 4:30 P.M. –
House Committee on Appropriations – FY 2010 State Budget

JOINT ASSEMBLY

Thursday, February 19, 2009 – 10:30 A.M. – House Chamber –Election of a
Sergeant at Arms, of an Adjutant and Inspector General, and of three (3) trustees
for the University of Vermont, and Vermont and State Agricultural College.
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Candidates for the positions of Sergeant at Arms and of Adjutant and
Inspector General, and legislative candidates for UVM trustees must notify the
Secretary of State in writing of their candidacies not later than Thursday,
February 12, 2009, by 5:00 P.M., pursuant to the provisions of 2 V.S.A. §12(b).
Otherwise their names will not appear on the ballots for these positions.

The following rules shall apply to the conduct of these elections:

First: All nominations for these offices will be presented in alphabetical
order prior to voting.

Second: There will be only one nominating speech of not more than three
(3) minutes and not more than two seconding speeches of not more than one (1)
minute each for each nominee.


