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“Education is not the filling of a pail, but the lighting of a fire.”
-William Butler Yeats

U.'J

Ik
x skills
= \ndmdua\
nature d—!

v abiity defvered &2

peu

undersl

8/12/2014
Noah Noyes, M. Ed., Licensed Professional Educator
Testimony to the Vermont Legislative Committee on Child Protection

Mandated Reporting Issues & Recommendations

Introduction

Good morning. Before beginning my testimony, | would like to thank the members of this
committee for the opportunity to testify before you about these critically important issues and to
thank you again for the time and energy that you are dedicating to child safety in Vermont.

Background
The concept of mandated reporting for professionals in various fields has existed in Vermont and

nationally for several decades. | believe that it is both an important and necessary tool to help
ensure that Vermont is doing the absolute best job possible with regard to keeping children safe
from abuse and/or neglect and facilitating bright futures for all of Vermont’s young people. |
offer these suggestions with hopes that they will help result in improved training and clarity for
all mandated reporters in Vermont.

It is worth noting that school staffers spend significantly more contact hours with children than
most other mandated reporters. Healthcare professionals or law enforcement officers may only
contact a specific child for brief amounts of time monthly, while school staffers are regularly in
contact with hundreds of students for 8+ hours each day and often 10-12 hours when
transportation and extra-curricular activities are accounted for. This is an important consideration
for this conversation as school staff often spend more waking hours weekly with children than
many family members. This results in school staffers receiving and evaluating a massive amount


http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/quotes/w/williambut101244.html
http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/authors/w/william_butler_yeats.html

of information about child well-being, a far greater volume than in many other professions also
charged with reporting.

Statutory Language

The current statute that establishes the requirements for reporting suspected child abuse and
neglect in Vermont is contained in Title 33. More specifically, 33V.S.A. §4913 is currently
written as:

...Any [list of professionals] who has reasonable cause to believe that any child
has been abused or neglected shall report or cause a report to be made in
accordance with the provisions of section 4914 of this title within 24 hours...

CLICK HERE TO VIEW THIS STATUTE

The current statute contains substantial ambiguity rooted in the use of the undefined term
reasonable cause to believe. What is reasonable to one professional may not be so for another.
This undefined language leads to a lack of clarity and lack of confidence amongst many
mandated reporters working in various fields. Additionally, the statute clearly intends for some
amount of discretionary judgment on the part of the reporter to evaluate facts and circumstances
prior to making a report. The ambiguity of this statute has been recognized by numerous
professionals, attorneys, prosecutors, and courts in Vermont. Media reports of court cases here in
Vermont provide strong evidence in support of the notion that ambiguity exists in the statute as
currently written. Two examples below quote Vermont prosecutors regarding this matter:

Case of State of Vermont vs. Roger Gagne, Richford Elementary School Principal, 2010

“After four hours of deliberations, and several questions, the judge
declared a mistrial. He said the jury seemed unclear about the law and felt
they would not be able to decide if Roger Gagne, the principal at Richford
Elementary, violated Vermont's mandatory reporting law. It's not a statute
that has been looked at by the Supreme Court, it's not a statute that has a
great deal of definition from the legislature,” said Franklin County
Deputy Prosecutor Diane Wheeler.

CLICK HERE TO VIEW THE ARTICLE CONTAINING THIS QUOTE

Case of State of Vermont vs. Martha Tucker, Caledonia Central Supervisory Union
Superintendent, 2014

“Byford, who inherited the case when former Caledonia County Deputy
State’s Attorney Ben Luna left the prosecutor’s office to take another job,
said the statute was not clear on exactly what “reasonable cause” was.


http://www.leg.state.vt.us/statutes/fullsection.cfm?Title=33&Chapter=049&Section=04913
http://www.wcax.com/story/13053293/mistrial-declared-at-principals-trial

Because the legislature hasn’t defined it, we’re all grappling with it,” said
Byford.

CLICK HERE TO VIEW THE ARTICLE CONTAINING THIS QUOTE

While it is difficult to provide a concrete or absolute definition of the legal standard of
reasonable cause to believe, several other states and entities have provided further language and
clarification to assist reporters in fully understanding their duty.

For example, in 12 U.S.C. 84003(c)(1)(1998) the United States Congress specifies that
reasonable cause:

""requires the existence of facts which would cause a well-grounded belief in the
mind of a reasonable person. It is clear that the quantum of evidence needed to
show reasonable cause is more than mere suspicion.”

CLICK HERE TO VIEW THIS STATUTE

Several other states have adopted the same reasonable cause to believe standard in their
reporting statutes and have also included additional clarifying language. 110 Massachusetts
Code Regs. § 4.32 (2009) defines reasonable cause to believe as:

“a collection of facts, knowledge, or observations which tend to support or are
consistent with the allegations, and when viewed in light of the surrounding
circumstances and credibility of persons providing information, would lead one
to conclude that a child has been abused or neglected.”

CLICK HERE TO VIEW THIS STATUTE

Additionally, the Nevada legislature, through Nev. Rev. Stat. § 200.5093(1) (2011), defines
reasonable cause to believe as:

“in light of all the surrounding facts and circumstances which are known or
which reasonably should be known to the person at the time, a reasonable

person would believe, under those facts and circumstances that an act...has
occurred.”

CLICK HERE TO VIEW THIS STATUTE
The Vermont Department for Children and Families, Family Services Division, Policy #56

outlines the process and requirements for substantiating or unsubstantiating a report of possible
child abuse and/or neglect. The policy reads as follows:


http://vtdigger.org/2014/04/03/charges-dropped-case-involving-school-superintendent/
http://www.fairhousing.com/index.cfm?method=page.display&pagename=HUD_resources_reasonable_cause_memo
http://www.lawlib.state.ma.us/source/mass/cmr/cmrtext/110CMR4.pdf
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/nrs/nrs-200.htm

“In order to substantiate an allegation of child abuse or neglect, the division
must determine that a reasonable person would conclude that...zhe child is an
abused or neglected child as defined in 33 V. S. A. 4912(2).”

“The decision to substantiate a report of child maltreatment shall be based on
accurate and reliable information. The decision shall be based on pertinent
information gathered during an investigation. Hearsay information from a
reliable source may be considered. All information shall be weighed with other

supporting or conflicting data”

CLICK HERE TO VIEW THIS POLICY

| strongly urge the Committee on Child Protection to recommend more extensive and clear
statutory language, such as the above examples, to the Vermont legislature for consideration.
This additional clarity would be very helpful for Vermont’s thousands of mandated reporters and
various state agencies. This situation is well summarized in the 2011 publication “Finding a
Common Language” by Levi & Portwood®.

CLICK HERE TO VIEW THIS ARTICLE


http://dcf.vermont.gov/sites/dcf/files/pdf/fsd/policies/56%20%28Substantiating_Child_Maltreatment%29%207-1-09%20FINAL.pdf
http://lookoutforchildabuse.files.wordpress.com/2011/08/finding-a-common-language-levi-portwood-20112.pdf

Levi and Portwood also included a proposed framework for guiding mandated reporting
decisions:

Figure |

Proposed Framework for Whether to Report Possible Abuse

(Note that at present there is no legal threshold that defines reasonable suspicion in terms of numerical
probability.)

When should you report?

Report

Are you certain abuse occurred? > Yes

No
Do you have reasenable suspicion
that abuse occurred?

> No Report J

Components to help answer the question: De you have reasonable suspicion?

FEELINGS
— You have confidence in the soundness of your observations, based on
* the time you have spent observing
« familiarity with the object of your observations
« the pature of the evidence you examine
- non-ambigucus uterances
- you observed it first-hand
— You have confidence in your judgment, based on
= similar or related experience in the past
« the “fit" of the explanation

CONDITIONS

— The child is vulnerable

— You have information and/or insight that others do not have
— Noone else b5 going to report

ASSESSMENTS OF PROBABILITY

— You think its likely the child was abused

— You think its likely something bad 1s going to happen if you dont report
— You think its likely abuse will aceur in the future

— You think it5 likely reporting will cause mare good than harm




Field Training of Mandated Reporters

The current extent of regular, formal, and systematic training programs for mandated reporters
provided by the Department for Children and Families consists of a 2-page pamphlet that can be
viewed on the state website. The result of lacking a regular, formal, and systematic training
program is that knowledge of mandated reporting requirements varies drastically geographically
and across various professional fields in Vermont. If the state intends for mandated reporting to
be a critical component of child protection, it seems as though a regular, formal and systematic
training program should be implemented and monitored. The following is an excerpt from the
pamphlet provided for mandated reporters:

What if I'm not sure it's abuse?
Please call us for advice, if you:
+« Are not sure a report is warranted; or

« Are considering telling the parents about vour report. In some
cases, this could endanger the child and hinder the response.

CLICK HERE TO VIEW THIS PAMPHLET

In testimony to this committee on 7/29/14, Attorney General Sorrell shared anecdotes from
similar cases in which the Department for Children and Families seemingly responded
differently. My personal experiences have indicated a similar response when following the above
direction to call for advice. | have, on multiple occasions, conferred with Department for
Children and Families staff on nearly identical situations and received differing advice regarding
reporting. In a most extreme example, | conferred with a Department for Children and Families
supervisor about specific circumstances, was advised that | did not need to report, and was later
charged criminally for failing to report the exact same allegation. This type of experience does
incredible damage to trust and confidence that other professionals have in the Department for
Children and Families. Additionally, I have had multiple personal experiences in which reports
were either accepted or not accepted in a manner that is seemingly inconsistent with DCF Policy
#51, which governs screening reports of child mistreatment.

CLICK HERE TO VIEW THIS POLICY
This inconsistency in response leads to additional confusion and frustration amongst mandated

reports about their duties and their perception of action or inaction from the Department for
Children and Families.


http://dcf.vermont.gov/fsd/reporting_child_abuse
http://dcf.vermont.gov/sites/dcf/files/pdf/fsd/policies/51%20%28Screening%20Reports%20%20CAN%29%208-12-2011%20-%20Final.pdf

Criminal Penalty

Under current Vermont Statute 33V.S.A. §4913(f)(1), mandated reporters who fail to meet their
obligation to report are subject to a criminal penalty ($500.00 fine). In my opinion, the penalty
attached to 33V.S.A. 84913 is fundamentally misguided given that there is ambiguity in the
statute, no universal formalized training program provided to mandated reports, and the process
is currently designed to include some degree of discretionary judgement on the part of the
reporter. These circumstances have created, and perpetuated, a culture in which many
professionals file reports that are motivated by fear of consequence and not by genuine concern
for the welfare of children. In testimony to this committee on 7/29/14 Commissioner Yacovone
expressed the significant current lack of capacity in the Department for Children and Families,
particularly in the Centralized Intake Unit. That unit is currently receiving hundreds, if not
thousands, of unnecessary reports annually because of the above referenced fear of prosecution.
Not only does this type of reporting not help protect children in any discernible way, a strong
argument can be made that it may actually harm children by placing unnecessary burden on
already over-taxed units within the Department for Children and Families.

This situation can be clearly demonstrated by the following transcript from a report that was
called in to the Centralized Intake Unit in July of 2013:

“Reporter does not think that this needs to be a report or that any abuse or
neglect has occurred. Reporter states that reporter is only making this report
because reporter is afraid due to recent media reports of school officials being
arrested for not reporting.”

| am confident that there are many other reports of a similar nature, particularly in the last 13
months. This is demonstrative of a reporting system this is clearly not functioning as intended, at
times is not serving to protect children in any meaningful way, and further still is utilizing
valuable and limited resources in unproductive ways. In my opinion, it is a direct result of the
criminal penalty currently stipulated in 33V.S.A. §4913(f)(1) and the manner in which this
statute has been administered by law enforcement. Lastly, case history would indicate that this
criminal charge has been brought very rarely in Vermont, and has been brought in cases with no
documented abuse or neglect. I strongly urge the Committee on Child Protection to evaluate the
necessity and effectiveness of the criminal penalty stipulated in 33V.S.A. 84913(f)(1), and to
examine other methods for ensuring compliance and emphasizing the importance of mandated
reporting.

Conclusion

Reports and investigations into potential child abuse and neglect are of greatest importance.
However, recent events have uncovered several systemic flaws with current practices. It is
critical that we address these flaws in order to keep kids safe to the best of our ability and ensure
consistent response. | raise these issues in hopes that it will lead to more clarity for mandated
reporters, better use of our precious limited resources, and improved coordination between
agencies of education, child protection, and law enforcement. It is time to give mandated



reporters better tools to do this important work with clarity, confidence, and recognition of good
faith.

Respectfully submitted,

Mok D). Moy



Summary of Recommendations

. The Committee on Child Protection considers recommending
revisions to 33V.S.A. 84913 which include more extensive and
clear statutory language. Additionally, that the Committee on
Child Protection consider recommending the development of a
framework or other means to assist mandated reporters.

. The Committee on Child Protection considers recommending
that the Commissioner implement a regular, formal, and
systemic training program for mandated reporters in all fields.

. The Committee on Child Protection considers recommending a
comprehensive review of policy #51 and recommend a rigorous
system for ongoing monitoring of policy compliance within the
Department for Children and Families.

. The Committee on Child Protection considers recommending
that the Commissioner design and implement revised systems
for following up with reporters that are more acceptable to
reporters in the field and that develop trust and confidence in the
Department for Children and Families and reinforce
understanding of mandated reporting duties.

. The Committee on Child Protection considers evaluating the
necessity and effectiveness of the criminal penalty stipulated in
33V.S.A. 84913(f)(1), and potentially examine other methods
for ensuring compliance and emphasizing the importance of
mandated reporting that do not result in fear, confusion, and the
inadvertent squandering of resources.
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