## PEOPLE IDENTIFYING AS WOMEN IN THE VERMONT LEGISLATURE 1921 – PRESENT

The first woman elected to the Vermont General Assembly was Rep. Edna Beard in 1921, following ratification of the 19<sup>th</sup> Amendment of the U.S. Constitution.

From 1921 through 1965, there were 246 members of the Vermont House of Representatives; and since 1966, there have been 150 House members.

The Vermont Senate was formed by constitutional amendment in 1836 and has had 30 members since its establishment.

Session	<b>Senate</b>	<b>House</b>	Additional Information
1921	0	1	
1923	1	4	
1925	0	11	
1927	0	8	
1929	1	8	
1931	1	14	
1933	2	8	
1935	1	14	
1937	1	15	
1939	1	12	
1941	0	17	
1943	0	31	
1945	1	45	
1947	3	35	
1949	1	24	
1951	2	36	
1953	2	54	
1955	2	46	
1957	2	49	
1959	4	42	
1961	5	44	
1963	3	43	
1965	1	44	
1966	2	16	
1967	2	20	
1969	3	21	
1971	3	18	
1973	3	14	
1975	1	20	

1977	2	23	
1979	3	32	
1981	4	32	
1983	4	27	
1985	4	38	
1987	3	42	
1989	6	51	
1991	7	50	
1993	11	53	
1995	12	43	
1997	12	48	
1999	10	48	
2001	9	44	
2003	9	46 (47)	2004: Heather Shouldice replaced Tom Pelham
2005	10	50	
2007	10	57 (59)	2008: Sandra Grenier replaced David Clark
2009	10	57 (56)	2010: Charles Shaw replaced Margaret Flory
2011	11	58 (59)	2011: Jean O'Sullivan replaced Mark Larson
2013	8	64 (65) (64)	2014: Marjorie Ryerson replaced Lawrence Townsend; Tommy Walz replaced Therese Taylor
2015	9	65	
2017	11	61 (60)	2017: Terry Norris replaced Alyson Eastman
2019	10	62	
2021	10	67 (66)	2022: Larry Labor replaced Lynn Batchelor
2023	12	69	