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Towing Practices in Vermont:

■ Several nationwide studies of towing regulation have found Vermont “has little or

no requirements for the towing industry to follow, or for consumers to

understand.”

■ Consumer complaints typically are related to non-consensual tows of passenger

vehicles. They point to arbitrary and predatory fees, as well as vehicles and

personal property being “held hostage” by tow companies.

■ Towing operators argue that they face challenges in receiving payment for their

services.

Towing Regulation:

■ Pricing: Towing operators generally set their own rates.
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There are two

exceptions:

● Rates must be “reasonable” when towing from private lots or crash

remediation sites,

● Rates cannot exceed $125 when towing from public spaces.

■ Storage: There is currently no state-wide law regulating storage fees.
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● An anecdote was given of a consumer being charged upwards of $900 for a

seven hour impoundment. The individual was required to pay the full

amount, in cash, to retrieve their vehicle.

■ Removal of Personal Belongings & Cargo: There is no law regulating the

retrieval of personal belongings or cargo from a towed vehicle.

● The Vermont Towing Association has stated that “ it has no interest in

interfering with the retrieval of personal items in towed vehicles.”

● For commercial vehicles, prompt retrieval of cargo is often imperative for

the company.

■ Liens: There is no statutory or common law basis for liens in the context of

towing.

● Most Vermont courts have refused to recognize “a lien that secures

payment for the towing and storage services.”

● The Department of Financial Regulation has urged “caution with any

change to state lien laws with respect to motor vehicles where a lender for

the vehicle, equipment, or cargo may be involved.”
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Burlington limits storage fees to $30/day and $20 for the day of impoundment.
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Some municipal protections do exist. Burlington limits towing charges for parking violations to $95, with

a $50 drop fee



● The Vermont Towing Association has argued that liens on towed vehicles

offer them an “efficient mechanism for payment or holding a vehicle until

payment is made.”

■ Abandonment: Abandoned vehicles may be towed by tow operators.

“Abandoned Vehicle” is defined in Title 23.

● Tow companies may “request and potentially receive title to an abandoned

vehicle to cover the costs of towing and storage-related fees.”

● The DMV notifies vehicle owners if a request is made for the title. There

are currently several hundred vehicles subject to this process.

■ Recommendations:

● Require clear and conspicuous disclosure of rates and fees.

- 14 states require disclosure of rates and fees.

● Standard fixed rates for non-consensual tows (125$ for tow, 25$ for “drop

fees”
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). Municipalities should be able to set their own rates if below the

statewide standard.

- More than 30 states have some form of fixed rates or or

“reasonability” requirement.

- On average, “state limitations for basic nonconsensual passenger

vehicle tows generally range from $65-$240.”

● A fixed storage rate of no more than $25/day.

- Other states’ storage costs can range from $17 to $50/day. 18 states

cap storage fees at $25/day.

● Require access to personal belongings in vehicles.

- 20 states require vehicle owners to be allowed to retrieve their

personal belongings during regular business hours.

● Retrieval of third party cargo from towed commercial vehicles

- 8 states require tow companies to release the cargo of towed

commercial vehicles if the cargo does not belong to the transport

company.

● Required notification that a tow has occurred. This process could involve

informing local law enforcement or the establishment of state-wide

database where consumers can search and locate their vehicle

- 37 states have some form of express notice requirement.

● Require acceptance of all reasonable forms of payment, such as cash,

check, debit card, etc.

- 11 states require towing companies to accept all reasonable forms of

payment.
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A “drop fee” or “decoupling fee” can be defined as “a charge by a towing company for releasing a motor

vehicle to its owner or operator when the vehicle has been, or is about to be, hooked or lifted by a tower,

but prior to the vehicle actually having been moved or removed from the property.”


