No. R-80. House concurrent resolution congratulating the undefeated 2023 Georgia Middle School Chargers girls' basketball team.

(H.C.R.61)

Offered by: Representatives Taylor of Milton, Bartley of Fairfax, Branagan of Georgia, and Mattos of Milton

Offered by: Senators Brock and Norris

<u>Whereas</u>, the nickname of all Georgia Middle School teams is the Chargers, an appellation most fitting for this year's girls' basketball squad, and

<u>Whereas</u>, these highly focused seventh and eighth grade hoopsters proved adept at offensive play, shooting frequently accurate bull's-eyes through the basket, while displaying a defensive strategy that minimized their Middle School Athletics opponents' scores, and

<u>Whereas</u>, in fact, the Chargers were so bullish on winning games, reflecting their team mascot, that they concluded the 2022–2023 season with a perfect 12–0 record of victories on the hardwood floor, and

<u>Whereas</u>, the athletically talented girls who achieved this mark of distinction were Adele Stubbs, Amelia Munger, Audreena Sullivan, Ava Reynolds, Ellie Yates, Emma Harrison, Hannah Chagnon, Julia Larson, Julia Hungerford, Lanae Buford, Madison Parah, and Shaylyn Stevens, and Head Coach Joe Buford served as the perfect team mentor, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the undefeated 2023 Georgia Middle School Chargers girls' basketball team, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Georgia Middle School.