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ACTION CALENDAR
Unfinished Business of March 1, 2018
Favorable with Amendment

H. 684

An act relating to professions and occupations regulated by the Office of
Professional Regulation

Rep. LaClair of Barre Town, for the Committee on Government
Operations, recommends the bill be amended by striking all after the enacting
clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

* # * Office of Professional Regulation * * *
Sec. 1. 3 V.S.A. § 123 is amended to read:
§ 123. DUTIES OF OFFICE

(@) The Office shall provide administrative, secretarial, financial,
investigatory, inspection, and legal services to the boards. The services
provided by the Office shall include:

% %k %k

(9) Standardizing, to the extent feasible and with the advice of the
boards, all applications, licenses, and other related forms and procedures, and
adopting uniform procedural rules governing the investigatory and disciplinary
process for all boards set forth in section 122 of this chapter.

% %k %k

(11)  Assisting the boards in adepting,—amending,—and—repealing
developing rules consistent with the principles set forth in 26 V.S.A.

chapter 57. Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary, the
Secretary of State shall serve as the adopting authority for those rules.

k %k %k

(g) The Office of Professional Regulation shall ereate-a—proeess establish
uniform procedures applicable to all of the professions and boards set forth in
section 122 of this chapter, providing for:

(1) aeeepting appropriate recognition of education, training, or service
completed by a member of the U.S. Armed Forces toward the requirements of
professional licensure er-certification; and

)




B3)—expediting-the expedited issuance of a professional license to a
person who is licensed in good standing in another regulatory jurisdiction and:

(A) whoi fed or i L : :

B) whose spouse is a member of the U.S. Armed Forces and who
has been subject to a military transfer to Vermont; and

&)(B) who left employment to accompany his or her spouse to
Vermont.

k %k %k

Sec. 2. 3 V.S.A. § 125 is amended to read:
§ 125. FEES

k %k %k

(b) Unless otherwise provided by law, the following fees shall apply to all
professions regulated by the Director in consultation with advisor appointees
under Title 26:

(1) Application for registration, $75.00.

(2)  Application for licensure or certification, $100.00, except
application for cosmetology schools and shops, $300.00.

(3) Optician trainee registration, $50.00.
(4) Biennial renewal, $200.00, except:

(A) Biennial renewal for independent clinical social workers and
master’s social workers, $150.00.

(B) Biennial renewal for occupational therapists and assistants,
$150.00.

(C) Biennial renewal for physical therapists and assistants, $100.00.
(D) Biennial renewal for optician trainees, $100.00.

(E) Biennial renewal for barbers, cosmetologists, nail technicians,
and estheticians, $130.00.

(F) Biennial renewal for cosmetology shops, $300.00.

(5) Limited temporary license or work permit, $50.00.

% %k %k
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Sec. 3. 3 V.S.A. § 127 is amended to read:
§ 127. UNAUTHORIZED PRACTICE

(a) When the Office receives a complaint of unauthorized practice, the

Director shall refer the complaint to the-appropriate-boardfor-investigation

Office investigators and prosecutors.

(b)(1) A person practicing a regulated profession without authority or an
employer permitting such practice may, upon the complaint of the Attorney
General or a State’s Attorney or an attorney assigned by the Office of
Professional Regulation, be enjoined there—frem therefrom by the Superior
Court where the violation occurred or the Washington County Superior Court
and may be assessed a civil penalty of not more than $1,000.00.

(2)(A) The Attorney General or an attorney assigned by the Office of
Professional Regulation may elect to bring an action seeking only a civil
penalty of not more than $1,000.00 for practicing or permitting the practice of
a regulated profession without authority before the board having regulatory
authority over the profession or before an administrative law officer.

(B) Hearings shall be conducted in the same manner as disciplinary
hearings.

(3)(A) A civil penalty imposed by a board or administrative law officer
under this subsection (b) shall be deposited in the Professional Regulatory Fee
Fund established in section 124 of this title chapter for the purpose of
providing education and training for board members and advisor appointees.

(B) The Director shall detail in the annual report receipts and
expenses from these civil penalties.

% %k %k

(d)(1) A person whose license has expired for not more than one biennial
period may reinstate the license by meeting renewal requirements for the
profession, paying the profession’s renewal fee, and paying the following
nondisciplinary reinstatement penalty:

(A) if reinstatement occurs within 30 days after the expiration date,
$100.00; or

(B) if reinstatement occurs more than 30 days after the expiration
date, an amount equal to the renewal fee increased by $40.00 for every
additional month or fraction of a month, provided the total penalty shall not
exceed $1,500.00.

(2) Fees assessed under this subsection shall be deposited into the
Regulatory Fee Fund and credited to the appropriate fund for the profession of
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the reinstating licensee.

(3) A licensee seeking reinstatement may submit a petition for relief
from the reinstatement penalty, which a board may grant only upon a finding
of exceptional circumstances or extreme hardship to the licensee; provided,
however, that fees under this subsection shall not be assessed for any period
during which a licensee was a member of the U.S. Armed Forces on

active duty.

k %k %k

Sec. 4. 3 V.S.A. § 128 is amended to read:
§ 128. DISCIPLINARY ACTION TO BE REPORTED TO THE OFFICE

k %k %k

(c) Information provided to the Office under this section shall be
confidential unless the beard Office decides to treat the report as a complaint,
in which case the provisions of section 131 of this title shall apply.

k %k %k

Sec. 5. 3 V.S.A. § 129 is amended to read:
§ 129. POWERS OF BOARDS; DISCIPLINE PROCESS

(a) In addition to any other provisions of law, a board may exercise the
following powers:

(1) Adept—procedural Consistent with other law and State policy,
develop administrative rules governing—the—investigatory—and—disciplinary

process establishing evidence-based standards of practice appropriate to secure
and promote the public health, safety, and welfare; open and fair competition
within the marketplace for professional services; interstate mobility of
professionals; and public confidence in the integrity of professional services.

k %k %k

Sec. 6. 3 V.S.A. § 129a is amended to read:
§ 129a. UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT

(a) In addition to any other provision of law, the following conduct by a
licensee constitutes unprofessional conduct. When that conduct is by an
applicant or person who later becomes an applicant, it may constitute grounds
for denial of a license or other disciplinary action. Any one of the following
items; or any combination of items, whether ernet the conduct at issue was
committed within or outside the State, shall constitute unprofessional conduct:

k %k %k
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(25) For providers of clinical care to patients, failing to have in place a
plan for responsible disposition of patient health records in the event the
licensee should become incapacitated or unexpectedly discontinue practice.

k %k %k

Sec. 7. 3 V.S.A. § 134 is added to read:
§ 134. LICENSE RENEWAL

(a) A license expires if not renewed biennially on a schedule assigned by
the Office, or in the case of a provisional or temporary license, on the date
assigned by the Office.

(b) Practice with an expired license is unlawful and exposes a practitioner
to the penalties set forth in section 127 of this chapter.

Sec. 8. 3 V.S.A. § 135 is added to read:
§ 135. UNIFORM STANDARD FOR RENEWAL FOLLOWING
EXTENDED ABSENCE

(a) Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary, when an
applicant seeks to renew an expired or lapsed license after fewer than five
years of absence from practice, readiness to practice shall be inferred from
completion of any continuing education that would have been required if the
applicant had maintained continuous licensure or by any less burdensome
showing set forth in administrative rules specific to the profession.

(b) When an applicant seeks to renew an expired or lapsed license after
five or more years of absence from practice, the Director may, notwithstanding
any provision of law to the contrary and as appropriate to ensure the continued
competence of the applicant, determine that the applicant has either:

(1) demonstrated retention of required professional competencies and
may obtain an unencumbered license; or

(2) not demonstrated retention of all required professional competencies
and should be reexamined or required to reapply in like manner to a new

applicant.

(c) The Director may consult with a relevant board or advisor appointees
for guidance in assessing continued competence under this section.

Sec. 9. 3 V.S.A. § 136 is added to read:
§ 136. UNIFORM CONTINUING EDUCATION EVALUATION

If continuing education is required by law or rule, the Office shall apply
uniform standards and processes that apply to all professions regulated by the
Office for the assessment and approval or rejection of continuing education
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offerings, informed by profession-specific policies developed in consultation
with relevant boards and advisor appointees.

Sec. 10. LICENSING FOR IMMIGRANTS SETTLING IN VERMONT;
REPORT

The Director of the Office of Professional Regulation, in consultation with
the State Refugee Coordinator, shall examine means of reducing unnecessary
barriers to professional licensure for qualified immigrants to Vermont from
foreign countries. On or before January 15, 2019, the Director shall submit to
the House and Senate Committees on Government Operations a report of his
or her findings and any recommendations for legislative action.

* # * Pollution Abatement Facility Operators * * *
Sec. 11. 10 V.S.A. § 1263 is amended to read:
§ 1263. DISCHARGE PERMITS

(d) A discharge permit shall:

k %k %k

(2) Require proper operation and maintenance of any pollution
abatement facility necessary in the treatment or processing of the waste by
qualified personnel in accordance with standards established by the Secretary
and the Director of the Office of Professional Regulation. The Secretary may
require that a pollution abatement facility be operated by persons licensed
under 26 V.S.A. chapter 97 99 and may prescribe the class of license required.
The Secretary may require a laboratory quality assurance sample program to
ensure qualifications of laboratory analysts.

% sk ok
* * * Barbers and Cosmetologists * * *
Sec. 12. 26 V.S.A. chapter 6 is amended to read:
CHAPTER 6. BARBERS AND COSMETOLOGISTS
Subchapter 1. General Provisions
§ 271. DEFINITIONS
For-the purpeses-of As used in this chapter:

(1) “Barbering” means engaging in the continuing performance, for
compensation, of any of the following activities: cutting, shampooing, or
styling hair; shaving the face, shaving around the vicinity of the ears and
neckline, or trimming facial hair; facials, skin care, or scalp massages, and
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bleaching, coloring, straightening, permanent—waving or permanent-waving
hair, or similar work by any means, with hands or mechanical or electrical
apparatus or appliances. Barbering also includes esthetics.

3) “Cosmetology” means engaging in the continuing performance, for
compensation, of any of the following activities:

(A) Work on the hair of any person, including dressing, curling,
waving, cleansing, cutting, bleaching, coloring, or similar work by any means,
with hands or mechanical or electrical apparatus or appliances.

(B) Esthetics.
(C) Manicuring.

(3) “Director” means the Director of the Office of Professional

Regulation.

5) “Esthetics” means massaging, cleansing, stimulating, manipulating,
beautifying, or otherwise working on the scalp, face, or neck; by using
cosmetic preparations, antiseptics, tonics, lotions, or creams. “Esthetics” does
not include the sale or application of cosmetics to customers in retail stores or
customers’ homes.

13 b b b 2

H(5) “Manicuring” or “nail technician practice” means the nonmedical
treatment of a person’s fingernails or toenails or the skin in the vicinity of the
nails; and includes the use of cosmetic preparations or appliances.

8)(6) “School of barbering or cosmetology” means a facility or
facilities regularly used to train or instruct persons in the practice of barbering
or cosmetology.

(7) “Shop” means a facility or facilities regularly used to offer or
provide barbering or cosmetology.
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§ 272. PROHIBITIONS; OFFENSES

(a) Ne A person shall not practice or attempt to practice barbering or
cosmetology or use in connection with the person’s name any letters, words,
title, or insignia indicating or implying that the person is a barber or
cosmetologist unless the person is licensed in accordance with this chapter.

(b) Ne A person who owns or controls a shop or school of barbering or
cosmetology shall not permit the practice of barbering or cosmetology unless
the shop or school is registered in accordance with this chapter.

(c) A person who violates a provision of this section shall be subject to the
penalties provided in 3 V.S.A. § 127.

§ 273. EXEMPTIONS

The provisions of this chapter regulating barbers and cosmetologists
shall not:

(1) affect or prevent the practice of barbering or cosmetology by a
student at a school recognized by the beard Director;

k %k %k

(3) prohibit a licensee from providing barbering or cosmetology
services outside a licensed shop so long as those services are limited to only:

(A) patients or residents within a hospital, nursing home, community
care home, or any similar facility;

(B) persons who are homebound, disabled, or in a hospice or similar
program, or to deceased persons in a funeral home;

(C) persons as part of a special eccasion event so—long-as—these
services—are-limited-to-hair-styling-and-makeup-and, provided the sanitation

standards expected of licensees in licensed shops are followed;

k %k %k

(5) affect or prevent the practice of barbering or cosmetology outside a
registered shop or school by licensees in accordance with rules adopted by the
beard Director;

(6) affect or prevent the practice of barbering or cosmetology within the
confines of a State correctional facility by a person incarcerated therein, who
has completed training acceptable to the Commissioner of Corrections; or

(7) affect or prevent the practice of natural hair braiding or styling,
provided such practice does not involve cutting; the application of chemicals,
dyes, or heat; or other changes to the structure of hair.

§ 274. PENALFY
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subject-to-the penalties provided-in 3-V.S;A-§-127(c). [Repealed.]
Subchapter 2. Administration

§ 275 CREAHON OF BOARD

§ 276. GENERAL POWERS AND DUTIES OF THE BOARD DIRECTOR

(a) The beard Director shall:

(1) Adept adopt rules that:

(A) Preseribe prescribe sanitary and safety standards for shops,
schools, and other facilities used for the practice of barbering and
cosmetology-;

(B)  Preseribe prescribe safe and sanitary practices for the
performance of activities related to the practice of barbering and cosmetology-;

(C) Establish establish standards for apprenticeships, courses, and
examinations to be completed by an applicant for licensure under this chapter-;

(D) establish qualifications for licensure under this chapter as:

(i) a barber, provided mandated formal training shall not exceed
750 hours;

(i1) a cosmetologist, provided mandated formal training shall not
exceed 1,000 hours;

(ii1) an esthetician, provided mandated formal training shall not
exceed 500 hours; and
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(iv) a nail technician, provided mandated formal training shall not
exceed 200 hours; and

(E)(1) establish criteria for apprenticeships that would enable a
person seeking licensure under this chapter to train under an appropriately
qualified Vermont licensee in order to attain licensure without mandated
formal training; and

(11) limit the duration of a required apprenticeship to not more
than 150 percent of the duration of the corresponding formal training.

(b)(1) The beard Director may inspect shops and schools and other places
used for the practice of barbering and cosmetology.

(2) Ne A fee shall not be charged for initial inspections under this
subsection; however, if the beard Director determines that it is necessary to
inspect the same premises in the same ownership more than once in any two-
year period, the beard Director shall charge a reinspection fee.

(3) The beard Director may waive all or a part of the reinspection fee in
accordance with criteria established by rule.

§ 276a. ADVISOR APPOINTEES

(a)(1) The Secretary of State shall appoint one barber and one
cosmetologist for five-year staggered terms to serve at the Secretary’s pleasure
as advisors in matters relating to barbering and cosmetology. One of the initial
appointments shall be for less than a five-year term.

(2) An appointee shall have not less than three years’ experience as a
barber or cosmetologist immediately preceding appointment; shall be licensed
as a barber or cosmetologist in Vermont; and shall be actively engaged in the
practice of barbering or cosmetology in this State during incumbency.

(b) The Director shall seek the advice of the advisor appointees in carrying
out the provisions of this chapter.

Subchapter 3. Licenses
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deseribed-in-section283-of this-title. [Repealed.]
§ 280a. ELIGIBILITY FOR LICENSURE

An applicant for licensure as a barber, cosmetologist, esthetician, or nail
technician shall meet the qualifications for licensure established by the
Director under the provisions of subchapter 2 of this chapter.

§ 281. POSTSECONDARY SCHOOL OF BARBERING AND
COSMETOLOGY; CERTIFICATE OF APPROVAL

(a) Ne A school of barbering or cosmetology shall not be granted a
certificate of approval unless the school:

% %k %k

(4) Requires a school term of training:

cosmetology consistent with formal training requirements established by rule,
which shall include practical demonstrations and theoretical studies in
sanitation, sterilization, the use of antiseptics, and the use of appliances,

devices, treatments, and preparations relevant to the field of licensure.

(b) Regional vocational centers may offer courses of instruction in
barbering or cosmetology without a certificate of approval from the Beard
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Director, and State correctional facilities may offer courses of instruction in
barbering without a certificate of approval from the Beard Director; however,
credits for licensing will shall only be given for courses that meet the Beard’s
Director’s standards for courses offered in postsecondary schools of barbering
or cosmetology certified by the Beard Director.

k %k %k

§ 282. SHOP; LICENSE

(a) Ne A shop shall not be granted a license unless the shop complies with
the rules of the beard Director and has a designated licensee responsible for
overall cleanliness, sanitation, and safety of the shop.

(b) The practices of barbering and cosmetology shall be permitted only in
shops licensed by the beard Director, except as provided in sections 273 and
281 of this title chapter and the rules of the beard Director.

§ 283. EXAMINATION

(a) An applicant who is otherwise eligible for licensure and has paid the
required fees shall be examined.

(b)(1) The examination for a license shall include both practical
demonstrations and written or oral tests in the area of practices for which a
license is applied and other related studies or subjects as the beard Director
may determine necessary.

(2) The examination shall not be confined to any specific system or
method and shall be consistent with a prescribed curriculum as provided by
this chapter.

(c) The beard Director may limit; by rule; the number of times a person
may take an examination.

§ 284. ISSUANCE OF LICENSE

(a) The beard Director shall issue a license to an applicant who has passed
the examination as determined by the beard Director, has paid the required fee,
and has completed all the requirements for the particular license.

(b) The beard Director shall issue a license to the person who owns or
controls a shop or school of barbering or cosmetology who has paid the
required fee and is in compliance with the rules of the beard Director and the
provisions of this chapter.

(c) The license shall be conspicuously displayed for the customer in the
licensee’s principal office, place of business, or place of employment.

§ 285. LICENSES FROM OTHER JURISDICTIONS
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Without requiring an examination, the beard Director shall issue an
appropriate license to a person who is licensed or certified in good standing
under the laws of another jurisdiction with requirements thatthe board
considers to be:

(1) substantially equal to those of this state State; or

(2) materially less rigorous than those of this State, if the person has had
1,500 documented hours of practice in not less than one year.

§ 280, RENEWAL AND REINSTATEMENT

(F)-School $330.00
[Repealed. ]
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§ 289, HHCENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT

vvvvvvv

year. [Repealed.]
Sec. 13. DIRECTOR OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION; BARBERS
AND COSMETOLOGISTS; RULEMAKING

Prior to the effective date of Sec. 12 of this act, the Director of the Office of
Professional Regulation shall adopt rules in accordance with the amendments
to 26 V.S.A. chapter 6 (barbers and cosmetologists) contained in that section.

* % Dentistry * * *
Sec. 14. 26 V.S.A. chapter 12 is amended to read:

CHAPTER 12. DENTISTS, DENTAL THERAPISTS, DENTAL
HYGIENISTS, AND DENTAL ASSISTANTS

k %k %k

Subchapter 3. Dentists
§ 601. LICENSE BY EXAMINATION

To be eligible for licensure as a dentist, an applicant shall:
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(1) have attained the age of majority;
(2) be a graduate of:

(A) a dental college accredited by the Commission on Dental
Accreditation of the American Dental Association; or

(B) a program of foreign dental training and a postgraduate program
accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental
Association that is acceptable to the Board; and

(3) meet the certificate, examination, and training requirements
established by the beard Board by rule.

k %k %k

Subchapter 6. Renewals, Continuing Education, and Fees

|epaled. |
% sk ok NurSing % sk ok

Sec. 15. 26 V.S.A. chapter 28 is amended to read:

CHAPTER 28. NURSING

Subchapter 1. General Provisions

% %k %k

§ 1573. VERMONT STATE BOARD OF NURSING

(a) There is hereby created a the Vermont State Board of Nursing
consisting of six registered nurses, including at least two licensed as advanced
practice registered nurses;; two practical nurses;; one nursing assistant;; and
two public members. Board members shall be appointed by the Governor
pursuant to 3 V.S.A. §§ 129b and 2004.

k %k %k
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§ 1584. PROHIBITIONS; OFFENSES

(a) It shall be a violation of this chapter for any person, including any
corporation, association, or individual, to:

k %k %k

8)fDeleted-}

(b) Any person violating this section shall be subject to the penalties
provided in 3 V.S.A. § 127(¢).

te){Deleted}

k %k %k

Subchapter 2. Advanced Practice Registered Nurses

[Repealed. ]
§ 1613. TRANSITION TO PRACTICE

(a) Graduates An APRN with fewer than 24 months and 2,400 hours of
licensed active advanced nursing practice in an initial role and population

focus or fewer than 12 months and 1,600 1,200 hours for any additional role
and population focus shall have be required in accordance with Board rule to:
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(2) document that the APRN’s place of employment is a clinic, hospital,

or practice group that employs two or more additional individuals who have
been licensed for four or more years to practice medicine under chapter 23 or
33 of this title or advanced practice registered nursing under this chapter. One
of those more experienced licensees shall be primarily located on site when the
APRN is providing clinical health care services and accessible by phone or
otherwise by alternative means, as defined by Board rule.

(b) An APRN who satisfies the requirements to engage in solo practice
pursuant to subsection (a) of this section shall notify the beard Board that these
requirements have been met.

§ 1614. APRN RENEWAL
An APRN license renewal application shall include:
(1 documentation of completion of the APRN practice requirement;

2) and possession of a current certification by a national APRN

specialty certifying organization;

§ 1615. ADVANCED PRACTICE REGISTERED NURSES;
REGULATORY AUTHORITY; UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT

(a) In addition to the provisions of 3 V.S.A. § 129a and section 1582 of this
chapter, the Board may deny an application for licensure, renewal, or
reinstatement; or may revoke, suspend, or otherwise discipline an advanced
practice registered nurse upon due notice and opportunity for hearing if the
person engages in the following conduct:

(4) Practice beyond those acts and situations that are within the practice
3 h , hin the 11m1ts of the




k %k %k

Subchapter 3. Registered Nurses and Practical Nurses

k %k %k

§ 1622. REGISTERED NURSE LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT

To be eligible for licensure as a registered nurse by endorsement, an
applicant shall:

(1) hold a current license to practice registered nursing in another U.S.
jurisdiction based on education in a U:S: nursing program acceptable to the
Board; and

(2) meet practice requirements set by the Board by rule.

k %k %k

§ 1626. PRACTICAL NURSE LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT

To be eligible for licensure as a practical nurse by endorsement, an
applicant shall:

(1) hold a current license to practice practical nursing in another U.S.
jurisdiction based on education in a U:S: nursing program acceptable to the
Board; and

(2) meet practice requirements set by the Board by rule.

% %k %k

Subchapter 4. Nursing Assistants
% sk ok
§ 1645. RENEWAL

(a) To renew a license, a nursing assistant shall meet active practice
requirements set by the Board by rule.

(b) The Board shall credit as active practice those activities, regardless of
title or obligation to hold a license, that reasonably tend to reinforce the
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training and skills of a licensee.

k %k %k

Sec. 16. NURSING COMPACT ASSESSMENT

(a) The Board of Nursing and the Office of Professional Regulation shall
assess the costs and benefits of participation in licensure compacts for nurses at
various levels of licensure.

(b) On or before March 15, 2019, the Office shall report its assessment to
the House and Senate Committees on Government Operations. The report
may be in verbal form.

* # * Pharmacy * * *
Sec. 17. 26 V.S.A. chapter 36 is amended to read:
CHAPTER 36. PHARMACY
Subchapter 1. General Provisions
% sk ok
§ 2022. DEFINITIONS
As used in this chapter:

k %k %k

(4) “Disciplinary action” or “disciplinary cases” includes any action
taken by the Board against a licensee or others premised upon a finding of
wrongdeing—or unprofessional conduct by the licensee. It includes all
sanctions of any kind, including obtaining injunctions, issuing warnings, and
other similar sanctions.

% %k %k

(7) “Drug outlet” means all pharma(:les nur&ng—hemes—ee;waleseent

ehmes—retar—l—steres—hesp{-talrs— Wholesalers manufacturers an{#autheﬂ-zed
treatment-centers; and mail-order-vendors other entities that are engaged in the

dispensing, delivery, or distribution of prescription drugs.

% %k %k

(10) “Manufacturer means anyene—whe—rs—engaged—m—manufaeturmg—

label—rng—ef—a—preser—rptren—drug a person regardless of form engaged in the

manufacturing of drugs or devices.

(11)(A) “Manufacturing” means the production, preparation,
propagation, conversion, or processing of a drug or device, either directly or
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indirectly, by extraction from substances of natural origin or independently by
means of chemical or biological synthesis.

(B) “Manufacturing” includes the packaging or repackaging of a
drug or device or the labeling or relabeling of the container of a drug or device
for resale by a pharmacy, practitioner, or other person.

(12) “Nonprescription drugs” means nonnarcotic medicines or drugs
that may be sold without a prescription and that are prepackaged for use by the
consumer and labeled in accordance with the requirements of the statutes and
regulations of this State and the federal government.

A2)(13) “Pharmacist” means an individual licensed under this chapter.

“3)(14) “Pharmacy technician” means an individual who performs
tasks relative to dispensing only while assisting; and under the supervision and
control of; a licensed pharmacist.

H4H(15)(A) “Practice of pharmacy” means:

(1) the—interpretation interpreting and evaluation—of evaluating
prescription orders;

(1)) the compounding, dispensing, and labeling of drugs and
legend devices (except labeling by a manufacturer, packer, or distributor of
nonprescription drugs and commercially packaged legend drugs and legend
devices);

(ii1) the—participation participating in drug selection and drug
utilization reviews;

(iv) theproper—and-safe-storage—of properly and safely storing
drugs and legend devices, and the-maintenance-of maintaining proper records

therefor;

(v) the-responsibility for advising, where necessary or where

regulated, of therapeutic values, content, hazards, and use of drugs and legend
devices;

(vi) the providing ef patient care services within the pharmacist’s
authorized scope of practice;

(vii) the optimizing ef drug therapy through the practice of
clinical pharmacy; and

(viii) the-effering-or performing ef or offering to perform those
acts, services, operations, or transactions necessary in the conduct, operation,
management, and control of pharmacy.

(B) “Practice of clinical pharmacy” or “clinical pharmacy” means:
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k %k %k

(i1) theprovision—of providing patient care services within the
pharmacist’s authorized scope of practice, including medication therapy

management, comprehensive medication review, and postdiagnostic disease
state management services; or

(ii1)  the—practice—of pharmacy by a pharmacist practicing
pharmacy pursuant to a collaborative practice agreement.

(C) A-ruleshall notbe-adopted by the The Board under-this-chapter

that shall require not adopt any rule requiring that pharmacists or pharmacies

be mvolved in the sale and dlstrlbutlon of nonprescrlptlon drugs by—a—heensed

mepfeye%ﬂq—the—sale—%d—d}stﬁb%}en—ef—swmﬁed}emes prov1ded however
that nothing in this subdivision (C) shall limit the authority of the Board to
adopt rules applicable to the elective sale or distribution of nonprescription
drugs by pharmacists or pharmacies.

5)(16) “Practitioner” means an individual authorized by the laws of
the United States or its jurisdictions or Canada to prescribe and administer
prescription drugs in the course of his or her professional practice and
permitted by that authorization to dispense, conduct research with respect to,
or administer drugs in the course of his or her professional practice or research
in his or her respective state or province.

6)(17) “Prescription drug” means any human drug required by federal
law or regulation to be dispensed only by a prescription, including finished
dosage forms and active ingredients subject to Section 503(b) of the Federal
Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act.

H(18) “Wholesale distribution” means distribution of prescription
drugs to persons other than a consumer or patient, but does not include:

% %k %k

8)(19) “Wholesale drug distributor” means any person who is engaged
in wholesale distribution of prescription drugs, but does not include any fer
hire for-hire carrier or person hired solely to transport prescription drugs.

H9(20) “Collaborative practice agreement” means a written agreement
between a pharmacist and a health care facility or prescribing practitioner that
permits the pharmacist to engage in the practice of clinical pharmacy for the
benefit of the facility’s or practitioner’s patients.

% %k %k

Subchapter 2. Board of Pharmacy
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§ 2031. CREATION; APPOINTMENT; TERMS; ORGANIZATION

(a)(1) There is hereby created the beard-ef pharmaey Board of Pharmacy
to enforce the provisions of this chapter.

(2) The beard Board shall consist of seven members, five of whom shall
be pharmacists licensed under this chapter with five years of experience in the
practice of pharmacy in this state State. Two members shall be members of
the public having no financial interest in the practice of pharmacy.

(b) Members of the beard Board shall be appointed by the geverner
Governor pursuant to 3 V.S.A. §§ 129b and 2004. A—majem-}uef—member-s

Subchapter 3. Licensing
§ 2041. UNLAWFUL PRACTICE

(a) It shall be unlawful for any person to engage in the practice of
pharmacy unless licensed to so practice under the provisions of this chapter;
provided, however, physicians, dentists, veterinarians, osteopaths, or other
practitioners of the healing arts who are licensed under the laws of this State
may dispense and administer prescription drugs to their patients in the practice
of their respective professions where specifically authorized to do so by statute
of this State.

(b)éH Any person wh

mcludmg a busmess entity, Vlolatmg thlS section shall be subject to the
penalties provided in 3 V.S.A. § 127.

k %k %k

§ 2042b. PHARMACY TECHNICIANS; NONDISCRETIONARY TASKS;
SUPERVISION

% %k %k

(f)(1) A pharmacist on duty shall be directly responsible for the conduct of
a pharmacy technician.
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(2) A pharmacist responsible for a pharmacy technician shall be on the
premises at all times, or in the case of a remote pharmacy approved by the
Board, immediately available by a functioning videoconference link.

(3) A pharmacist shall verify a prescription before medication is
provided to the patient.

§ 2045, REINSTATEMENT




Subchapter 5. Registration of Facilities
§ 2061. REGISTRATION AND LICENSURE
(a) All drug outlets shall biennially register with the Board of Pharmacy.

(b) Each drug outlet shall apply for a license in one or more of the
following classifications:
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(1) Retail drug-outlet.

(2) Institutional drug-outlet.

(3) Manufacturing drug-outlet Manufacturer.

(4) Wholesale drug-outlet-or-wholesale-drug distributor.

(5) Investigative and research projects.

(6) Compounding.

(7) Outsourcing.

(8) Home infusion.

(9) Nuclear.
§ 2064. VIOLATIONS AND PENALTIES

(a) Ne A drug outlet designated in section 2061 of this title subchapter
shall not be operated until a hcense has been 1ssued to sa&d that outlet by the

speeéeébwﬂaseeﬁe;ﬁ@é%éb}—ef—thm—ﬁﬂe Unauthorlzed operatlon of a dru

outlet may be penalized as provided in 3 V.S.A. § 127 and shall constitute
unprofessional conduct by the licensees involved.

Subchapter 6. Wholesale Drug Distributors
§ 2067. WHOLESALE DRUG DISTRIBUTOR; LICENSURE REQUIRED

(a) A person who is not licensed under this subchapter shall not engage in
wholesale drug distribution in this State.

(b) [Repealed.]

% %k %k

(d) An agent or employee of any licensed wholesale drug distributor shall
not be required to obtain a license under this subchapter and may lawfully
possess pharmaceutical drugs when that agent or employee is acting in the
usual course of business or employment.

k %k %k

§ 2071. APPLICATION OF FEDERAL GUIDELINES

(a) The requirements set forth in sections 2068 and 2069 of this title
chapter shall conform to wholesale drug distributor licensing guidelines
formally adopted by the United-States U.S. Food and Drug Administration
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(FDA).

(b) In case of conflict between any wholesale drug distributor licensing
requirement imposed by the beard Board under this chapter and any FDA
wholesale drug distributor licensing guideline, the latter shall control.

§ 2073. RULES

(a) The beard Board may adopt rules necessary to carry out the purposes of
the provisions of this subchapter.

(b) All rules adopted under this subchapter shall conform to wholesale drug
distributor licensing guidelines formally adopted by the Eederal Drug
Administration FDA at 21 C.F.R. Part 205.

§ 2074. COMPEAINTS

[Repealed. ]
§ 2076. INSPECTION POWERS; ACCESS TO WHOLESALE DRUG

DISTRIBUTOR RECORDS

(a) A person authorized by the beard Board may enter, during normal
business hours, all open premises purporting or appearing to be used by a
wholesale drug distributor for purposes of inspection.

(b)(1) Wholesale drug distributors may keep records regarding purchase
and sales transactions at a central location apart from the principal office of the
wholesale drug distributor or the location at which the drugs were stored and
from which they were shipped, provided that such records shall be made
available for inspection within two working days of a request by the beard
Board.
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(2) Records may be kept in any form permissible under federal law
applicable to prescription drugs record-keeping record keeping.

k %k %k

Sec. 18. CREATION OF POSITION WITHIN THE OFFICE OF
PROFESSIONAL REGULATION; PHARMACY

(a) There is created within the Secretary of State’s Office of Professional
Regulation one new position: Executive Officer of Pharmacy.

(b) Any funding necessary to support the position created in subsection (a)
of this section shall be derived from the Office’s Professional Regulatory Fee
Fund, with no General Fund dollars.

* * * Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons * * *
Sec. 19. 26 V.S.A. § 2211 is amended to read:
§ 2211. DEFINITIONS

(a) When As used in this chapter, the following definitions shall have the
following meanings except where the context clearly indicates that another
meaning is intended:

% %k %k

(4) “Real estate broker” or “broker” means any person who, for another,
for a fee, commission, salary, or other consideration, or with the intention or
expectation of receiving or collecting such compensation from another,
engages in or offers or attempts to engage in, either directly or indirectly, by a
continuing course of conduct, any of the following acts:

% %k %k

(5) “Real estate salesperson” or “salesperson” means any person who
for a fee, compensation, salary, or other consideration, or in the expectation or
upon the promise thereof, is employed by or associated with a licensed real
estate broker to do any act or deal in any transaction as provided in subdivision
(4) of this subsection (&) for or on behalf of such a licensed real estate broker.

29 ¢

(b) The terms “real estate broker,” “real estate salesperson,” or “broker”

shall not be-heldte include:

(1) Any person, partnership, association, or corporation who as a bona
fide owner performs any of the aferesaid acts set forth in subdivision (a)(4) of
this section with reference to property owned by them, nor shall it apply to
regular employees thereof, where when such acts are performed in the regular
course of or as an incident to the management of such property and the
investment therein. This subdivision (1) shall not apply to licensees.
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* * * Radiologic Technicians * * *
Sec. 20. 26 V.S.A. § 2803 is amended to read:
§ 2803. EXEMPTIONS

The prohibitions in section 2802 of this chapter shall not apply to dentists
licensed under chapter 12 of this title and actions within their scope of practice
nor to:

k %k %k

(5) Any of the following when operating dental radiographic equipment
to conduct intraoral radiographic examinations under the general supervision
of a licensed practitioner; and; any of the following when operating dental
radiographic equipment to conduct specialized radiographic examinations,
including tomographic, cephalometric, or temporomandibular joint
examinations, if the person has completed a course in radiography approved by
the Board of Dental Examiners and practices under the general supervision of
a licensed practitioner:

(A) alicensed dental therapist;

(B) alicensed dental hygienist;

BYC) a registered dental assistant who has completed a course in
radiography approved by the Board of Dental Examiners; or

(&)(D) a student of dental therapy, dental hygiene, or dental assisting
as part of the training program when directly supervised by a licensed dentist,
certified licensed dental therapist, licensed dental hygienist, or a registered
dental assistant.

% %k %k

* * * Private Investigators and Security Guards * * *
Sec. 21. 26 V.S.A. chapter 59 is amended to read:
CHAPTER 59. PRIVATE INVESTIGATIVE AND SECURITY SERVICES
Subchapter 1. General Provisions
§ 3151. DEFINITIONS
As used in this chapter:




§ 3151a. EXEMPTIONS

(a) The term “private investigator” shall not include:

(3) Persons regularly employed as investigators; exclusively by one
employer in connection with the affairs of that employer only, provided that
the employer is not a private investigative agency and the employee is engaged
directly as part of the ordinary payroll for tax, accounting, and insurance

purposes.

k %k %k

(b) The term “security guard” shall not include:

k %k %k

(3) Persons regularly employed as security guards exclusively by one
employer in connection with the affairs of that employer only, provided that
the employer is not a security agency and the employee is engaged directly as
part of the ordinary payroll for tax, accounting, and insurance purposes.

Subchapter 2. State Board of Private Investigative and Security Services

% %k %k

§ 3162. POWERS-AND DUTIES BOARD RULEMAKING AUTHORITY
The Board may:

H—Adept adopt rules necessary for the performance of its duties,
including rules prescribing minimum standards and qualifications for:

(1) security guards who may:

(A) practice independently or head agencies; or

(B) practice within the hierarchy of an agency;

(2) private investigators who may:

(A) practice independently or head agencies; or

(B) practice within the hierarchy of an agency;

(3) agencies; and
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(4) recognized trainers and training programs.




[Repealed. ]

5

k %k %k

Subchapter 3. Licensing

k %k %k

§ 3173. PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR LICENSES

(a) A person shall not engage in the business of private investigation or
provide private investigator services in this State without first obtaining a
license. The Board shall issue a license to a private investigator after obtaining
and approving all of the following:

% %k %k

(4) evidence that the applicant has successfully passed the any
examination required by seetion-3175-of thistitle rule.

% %k %k

(c) The Board shall require that the a person licensed to practice
independently has had appropriate experience in investigative work, for a
period of not less than two years, as determined by the Board. Such
experience may include having been regularly employed as a private detective
licensed in another state or as an investigator for a private detective licensed in
this or another state; or has having been a sworn member of a federal, state, or
municipal law enforcement agency.

(d) An application for a license may be denied upon failure of the applicant
to provide information required;; upon a finding that the applicant does not
meet a high standard as to character, integrity, and reputation;; or for
unprofessional conduct defined in section 3181 of this title chapter.

k %k %k

§ 3174. SECURITY GUARD LICENSES

(a) Ne A person shall not engage in the business of a security guard or
provide guard services in this State without first obtaining a license. The
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Board shall issue a license after obtaining and approving all of the following:

k %k %k

(4) Evidence that the applicant has successfully passed the any
examination required by seetion3175-of thistitle rule.

k %k %k

(c) The Board shall require that the a person licensed to practice
independently has had experience satisfactory to the Board in security work;
for a period of not less than two years. Such experience may include having
been licensed as a security guard in another state or regularly employed as a
security guard for a security agency licensed in this or another state; or having
been a sworn member of a federal, state, or municipal law enforcement
agency.

(d) An application for a license may be denied upon failure of the applicant
to provide information required;; upon a finding that the applicant does not
meet a high standard as to character, integrity, and reputation;; or for
unprofessional conduct defined in section 3181 of this title chapter.

§ 3170c. FEMPORARY EMERGENCY REGISTRAHON




§ 3179. PENALTIES

(a) A person who engages in the practice or business of a private
investigator or security guard without being licensed under te this chapter shall
be subject to the penalties provided in 3 V.S.A § 127(¢).

% %k %k

Subchapter 4. Unprofessional Conduct and Discipline
§ 3181. UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT

* # * Clinical Mental Health Counselors * * *
Sec. 22. 26 V.S.A. chapter 65 is amended to read:
CHAPTER 65. CLINICAL MENTAL HEALTH COUNSELORS

% %k %k

§ 3262a. BOARD OF ALLIED MENTAL HEALTH PRACTITIONERS
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(a) A The Board of Allied Mental Health Practitioners is established.

§ 3265. ELIGIBILITY

To be eligible for licensure as a clinical mental health counselor an

applicant shall satrsﬁyal—l—of—the—fol—io%ng have:
(1) Sha

Received a master’s degree or h1gher degree in counsehng or a related ﬁeld
from an accredited educational institution, after havmg successfully completed
a course of study as-defined by-the e h-included requiring a
minimum number of graduate credit hours estabhshed by the Board by rule
and a supervised practicum, internship, or field experience, as defined by the
beard; Board by rule, in a mental health counseling setting.

(2) Shall-have-decumented Documented a minimum of 3,000 hours of
supervised work in clinical mental health counseling ever during a minimum

of two years of post -master’s experlence—Bersons—engaged—m—supewrsed—work

mrmmum—of 1nclud1ng at least 100 hours of face-to face supervision ever
during a minimum of two years of post -master’ s experlence Clinical-work

appro#ed—bfyuthe—board Persons engaged n superv1sed work shall be reg1stered
on the roster of nonlicensed, noncertified psychotherapists and shall comply

with the laws applicable to registrants.
(3) Shall-pass Passed the examinations required by beard Board rules as




§ 3267. EXAMINATION

§ 3269. RENEWALS

(@) Licenses shall be renewed every two years upon payment of the
required fee s ene

4-0—149&1’-5 fees and proof of such contmumg educatlon—appiaexﬁed—bfyLﬂffe—beard-
e : : ablish ; as the Board

* % Acupuncturists * * *
Sec. 23. 26 V.S.A. chapter 75 is amended to read:
CHAPTER 75. ACUPUNCTURISTS
§ 3401. DEFINITIONS
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As used in this chapter:

i ing treatment by means of mechanical, thermal, or electrical
stimulation effected by the insertion and manipulation of solid or filiform
needles to the human body: evaluation and management to determine a plan of
acupuncture care for the purpose of promoting health and well-being; and
development of a corresponding plan of acupuncture care, which may include
adjunctive therapies such as manual therapy, nonprescription remedies,
nutritional and herbal therapies, thermal therapies, therapeutic massage,
exercises, activities, and lifestyle counseling.

(B) “Acupuncture” or the “practice of acupuncture” does not include
medical diagnosis or medical management of illness.

% %k %k

§ 3408. RENEWALS

(@) Licenses shall be renewed every two years upon payment of the
required fee and furnishing satisfactory evidence of having completed 30 hours
of approved continuing education credit during the preceding two years. The

§ 3410. UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT

(a) A licensed acupuncturist or applicant shall not engage in unprofessional
conduct.
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(b) Unprofessional conduct means any of the conduct listed in this section
and 3 V.S.A. § 129a, whether committed by a licensed acupuncturist or an
applicant:, and inappropriate sexual conduct toward a patient or former patient




Sec. 24. TRANSITIONAL PROVISION; ACTIVE CERTIFIED
ACUPUNCTURE DETOXIFICATION TECHNICIANS; ABILITY

TO RENEW CERTIFICATION

Notwithstanding the repeal of 26 V.S.A. §3412 (acupuncture
detoxification; specialized certification) in Sec. 21 of this act, on the effective
date of this act, a person actively certified by the Office of Professional
Regulation as an acupuncture detoxification technician may renew that
certification biennially upon payment of the required fee and for as long as he
or she maintains continuous certification, may provide auricular acupuncture
consistent with National Acupuncture Detoxification Association protocol
under the supervision of a licensed acupuncturist within an Office-approved
setting as a complement to comprehensive addiction-treatment services.

* * * Effective Dates * * *
Sec. 25. EFFECTIVE DATES
This act shall take effect on July 1, 2018, except:

(1) this section and Sec. 13 (Director of Professional Regulation;
barbers and cosmetologists: rulemaking) shall take effect on passage; and

(2) Secs. 2, amending 3 V.S.A. § 125 (fees), and 12, amending
26 V.S.A. chapter 6 (barbers and cosmetologists), shall take effect on
January 1, 2019, except that in Sec. 2, 3 V.S.A. § 125, subdivision (b)(4)(A)
(social workers) shall take effect on passage.

( Committee Vote: 9-0-2)

Rep. Canfield of Fair Haven, for the Committee on Ways and Means,
recommends the bill ought to pass when amended as recommended by the
Committee on Government Operations and when further amended as follows:

First: In Sec. 2, 3 V.S.A. § 125 (fees), in subdivision (b)(2), following
“except application for” by inserting “barbering or”

Second: In Sec. 2, 3 V.S.A. § 125 (fees), in subdivision (b)(4), by striking
out subdivision (F) and inserting in lieu thereof a new (F) to read:
(F) Biennial renewal for schools of barbering or cosmetology,
$300.00.
( Committee Vote: 10-0-1)
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H. 728
An act relating to bail reform

Rep. Colburn of Burlington, for the Committee on Judiciary, recommends
the bill be amended by striking all after the enacting clause and inserting in
lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 13 V.S.A. § 7551 is amended to read:

§ 7551. IMPOSITION OF BAIL, SECURED APPEARANCE BONDS, AND
APPEARANCE BONDS;-GENERALLY

(a) Bonds; generally. A bond given by a person charged with a criminal
offense or by a witness in a criminal prosecution under section 6605 of this
title, conditioned for the appearance of the person or witness before the court
in cases where the offense is punishable by fine or imprisonment, and in
appealed cases, shall be taken to the Criminal Division of the Superior Court
where the prosecution is pending, and shall remain binding upon parties until
discharged by the court or until sentencing. The person or witness shall appear
at all required court proceedings.

(b) Limitation on imposition of bail, secured appearance bonds, and
appearance bonds. No bail, secured appearance bond, or appearance bond may

be imposed:
(1) Neo-bond-may -be—imposed at the initial appearance of a person

charged with a misdemeanor if the person was cited for the offense in
accordance with Rule 3 of the Vermont Rules of Criminal Procedure; or

(2) upon the temporary release of a person pursuant to Rule 5(b) of the
Vermont Rules of Criminal Procedure, or at the initial appearance of a person
charged with a violation of a misdemeanor offense that is eligible for
expungement pursuant to subdivision 7601(4)(A) of this title.

(3) This subsection shall not be construed to restrict the court’s ability to

impose conditions on such persons to reasonably ensure-his-or-her-appearance
at—future—proceedings mitigate the risk of flight from prosecution or to
reasonably protect the public in accordance with section 7554 of this title.

Sec. 2. Rule 3(k) of the Vermont Rules of Criminal Procedure is amended to
read:

(k) Temporary Release. A law enforcement officer arresting a person shall
consult with the prosecuting attorney, and the prosecuting attorney shall
contact a judicial officer for determination of temporary release pursuant to
Rule 5(b) of these rules without unnecessary delay. The law enforcement
officer or prosecuting attorney shall provide the judicial officer with the
information and affidavit or sworn statement required by Rule 4(a) of these
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rules.
Sec. 3. 13 V.S.A. § 7554 is amended to read:
§ 7554. RELEASE PRIOR TO TRIAL

(a) Release; conditions of release. Any person charged with an offense,
other than a person held without bail under section 7553 or 7553a of this title,
shall at his or her appearance before a judicial officer be ordered released
pending trial in accordance with this section.

(1) The defendant shall be ordered released on personal recognizance or
upon the execution of an unsecured appearance bond in an amount specified
by the judicial officer unless the judicial officer determines that such a release
will not reasonably ensure-the-appearance—of-the-person mitigate the risk of
flight from prosecution as required. In determining whether the defendant
presents a risk of nonappearance flight from prosecution, the judicial officer
shall consider, in addition to any other factors, the seriousness of the offense
charged and the number of offenses with which the person is charged. If the

officer determines that such—a—release—will-neot—reasonably—ensure—the
appearance-of-the-defendant-asrequired the defendant presents a risk of flight

from prosecution, the officer shall, either in lieu of or in addition to the
methods of release in this section, impose the least restrictive of the following
conditions or the least restrictive combination of the following conditions that

will reasonably ensure—the—appearance mitigate the risk of flight of the
defendant as required:

(A) Place the defendant in the custody of a designated person or
organization agreeing to supervise him or her if the defendant is charged with
an offense that is not a nonviolent misdemeanor or nonviolent felony as
defined in 28 V.S.A. § 301.

(B) Place restrictions on the travel; or association;-er-place-of-abode
of the defendant during the period of release.

(C) Require the defendant to participate in an alcohol or drug
treatment program. The judicial officer shall take into consideration the
defendant’s ability to comply with an order of treatment and the availability of
treatment resources.

(D) Regquire Upon consideration of the defendant’s financial means,
require the execution of a secured appearance bond in a specified amount and
the deposit with the clerk of the Ceurt court, in cash or other security as
directed, of a sum not to exceed 10 percent of the amount of the bond, such
deposit to be returned upon the appearance of the defendant as required.

(E) Regquire Upon consideration of the defendant’s financial means,
require the execution of a surety bond with sufficient solvent sureties, or the
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deposit of cash in lieu thereof.

(F) Impose any other condition found reasonably necessary to ensure
appearance mitigate the risk of flight as required, including a condition
requiring that the defendant return to custody after specified hours.

(G) Place the defendant in a program of community-based electronic
monitoring in accordance with section 7554d of this title.

(2) If the judicial officer determines that conditions of release imposed
to ensure-appearance mitigate the risk of flight will not reasonably protect the
public, the judicial officer may impose in addition the least restrictive of the
following conditions or the least restrictive combination of the following
conditions that will reasonably ensure protection of the public:

(A) Place the defendant in the custody of a designated person or
organization agreeing to supervise him or her if the defendant is charged with
an offense that is not a nonviolent misdemeanor or nonviolent felony as
defined in 28 V.S.A. § 301.

(B) Place restrictions on the travel; or association;-er-place-of-abode
of the defendant during the period of release.

(C) Require the defendant to participate in an alcohol or drug
treatment program. The judicial officer shall take into consideration the
defendant’s ability to comply with an order of treatment and the availability of
treatment resources.

(D) Impose any other condition found reasonably necessary to
protect the public, except that a physically restrictive condition may only be
imposed in extraordinary circumstances.

(E)
%&h%el&bmg—seeﬁen—%éﬂ—ef—bhm—ﬁﬂe—me—ee&rkm%bspend Suspend the
officer’s duties in whole or in part; if the defendant is a State, county, or
municipal officer charged with violating section 2537 of this title and the court
finds that it is necessary to protect the public.

(F) Place the defendant in a program of community-based electronic
monitoring in accordance with section 7554d of this title.

(G) Place restrictions on the defendant’s place of abode during the
period of release if the defendant is charged with a listed crime as defined in
subdivision 5301(7) of this title or an offense involving sexual exploitation of
children in violation of chapter 64 of this title.

(3) A judicial officer may order that a defendant not harass or contact or
cause to be harassed or contacted a victim or potential witness. This order
shall take effect immediately, regardless of whether the defendant is
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incarcerated or released.

(b)  Judicial considerations in imposing conditions of release. In
determining which conditions of release to impose under:

(1) In subdivision (a)(1) of this section, the judicial officer, on the basis
of available information, shall take into account the nature and circumstances
of the offense charged; the weight of the evidence against the accused: the
accused’s employment; financial resources, including his or her ability to post
bail; character and mental condition; length of residence in the community;
and record of appearance at court proceedings or of flight to avoid prosecution
or failure to appear at court proceedings.

(2) subsection In subdivision (a)(2) of this section, the judicial officer
shall, on the basis of available information, shall take into account the nature
and circumstances of the offense charged, the weight of the evidence against
the accused, the accused’s family ties, employment, financial-resources;
character and mental condition, the length of residence in the community,
record of convictions, and record of appearance at court proceedings or of
flight to avoid prosecution or failure to appear at court proceedings. Recent
history of actual violence or threats of violence may be considered by the
judicial officer as bearing on the character and mental condition of the
accused.

(c) Order. A judicial officer authorizing the release of a person under this
section shall issue an appropriate order containing a statement of the
conditions imposed, if any;; shall inform such person of the penalties
applicable to violations of the conditions of release; and shall advise him or
her that a warrant for his or her arrest will be issued immediately upon any
such violation.

(d) Review of conditions.

(1) A person for whom conditions of release are imposed and who is
detained as a result of his or her inability to meet the conditions of release or
who is ordered released on a condition that he or she return to custody after
specified hours shall, within 48 hours ef following application, be entitled to
have the conditions reviewed by a judge in the court having original
jurisdiction over the offense charged. A person applying for review shall be
given the opportunity for a hearing. Unless the conditions of release are
amended as requested, the judge shall set forth in writing or orally on the
record a reasonable basis for continuing the conditions imposed. In the event
that a judge in the court having original jurisdiction over the offense charged is
not available, any Superior judge may review such conditions.

(2) A person for whom conditions of release are imposed shall, within
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five working days ef following application, be entitled to have the conditions
reviewed by a judge in the court having original jurisdiction over the offense
charged. A person applying for review shall be given the opportunity for a
hearing. Unless the conditions of release are amended as requested, the judge
shall set forth in writing or orally on the record a reasonable basis for
continuing the conditions imposed. In the event that a judge in the court
having original jurisdiction over the offense charged is not available, any
Superior judge may review such conditions.

(e) Amendment of order. A judicial officer ordering the release of a person
on any condition specified in this section may at any time amend the order to
impose additional or different conditions of release;, provided that the
provisions of subsection (d) of this section shall apply.

(f) Definition. The term “judicial officer” as used in this section and
section 7556 of this title shall mean a clerk of a Superior Court or a Superior
Court judge.

(g) Admissibility of evidence. Information stated in, or offered in
connection with, any order entered pursuant to this section need not conform
to the rules pertaining to the admissibility of evidence in a court of law.

(h) Forfeiture. Nothing contained in this section shall be construed to
prevent the disposition of any case or class of cases by forfeiture of collateral
security where if such disposition is authorized by the court.

(1) Forms. The Court Administrator shall establish forms for appearance
bonds, secured appearance bonds, surety bonds, and for use in the posting of
bail. Each form shall include the following information:

(1) The bond or bail may be forfeited in the event that the defendant or
witness fails to appear at any required court proceeding.

(2) The surety or person posting bond or bail has the right to be released
from the obligations under the bond or bail agreement upon written application
to the judicial officer and detention of the defendant or witness.

(3) The bond will continue through sentencing in the event that bail is
continued after final adjudication.

(j) Juveniles. Any juvenile between 14 and 16 years of age who is charged
with a listed crime as defined in subdivision 5301(7) of this title shall appear
before a judicial officer and be ordered released pending trial in accordance
with this section within 24 hours ef following the juvenile’s arrest.

Sec. 4. 13 V.S.A. § 7575 is amended to read:
§ 7575. REVOCATION OF THE RIGHT TO BAIL
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The right to bail may be revoked entirely if the judicial officer finds that the
accused has:

(1) intimidated or harassed a victim, potential witness, juror, or judicial
officer in violation of a condition of release; or

(2) repeatedly-violated-conditions-of release;-or [Repealed. |

(3) violated a condition or conditions of release which that constitute a
threat to the integrity of the judicial system; or

(4) without just cause, failed to appear at a specified time and place
ordered by a judicial officer; or

(5) 1n violation of a condition of release, been charged with a felony or
a crime against a person or an offense like similar to the underlying charge, for
which, after hearing, probable cause is found.

Sec. 5. EFFECTIVE DATE
This act shall take effect on July 1, 2018.
( Committee Vote: 8-2-1)

Favorable
H. 711
An act relating to employment protections for crime victims

Rep. Stevens of Waterbury, for the Committee on General; Housing; and
Military Affairs, recommends the bill ought to pass.

( Committee Vote: 10-0-1)
H. 901

An act relating to health information technology and health information
exchange.

(Rep. Jickling of Randolph will speak for the Committee on Health Care.)

Rep. Till of Jericho, for the Committee on Ways and Means, recommends
the bill ought to pass.

(Committee Vote: 10-0-1)
Third Reading
H. 237
An act relating to saliva testing
Amendment to be offered by Rep. Rachelson of Burlington to H. 237

In Sec. 2. 23 V.S.A. § 1200 is amended to read:
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§ 1200. DEFINITIONS

As used in this subchapter:

k %k %k

(3) “Evidentiary test” means a breath, saliva, or blood test which
indicates the person’s alcohol concentration or the presence of other drug and
which is intended to be introduced as evidence. A saliva test shall only be
admissible to demonstrate the presence of a drug for which possession is
prohibited under 18 V.S.A. chapter &4.

k %k %k

(11) “Preliminary screening” means a breath or saliva test administered by
a law enforcement officer for the purpose of deciding whether an arrest should
be made and whether to request an evidentiary test. The results of a
preliminary screening shall not be introduced as evidence of impairment in any
court proceeding. A preliminary saliva screening result detecting the presence
of a drug shall not, by itself, constitute erounds for probable cause for an
arrest. A preliminary saliva test shall only be admissible to demonstrate the
presence of a drug for which possession is prohibited under 18 V.S.A. chapter
84.

Amendment to be offered by Rep. Rachelson of Burlington to H. 237

In Sec. 5, in 23 V.S.A. § 1203(i)(1), in the last sentence, following “Any
preliminary alcohol” by inserting “or drug”

H. 675

An act relating to conditions of release prior to trial
Committee Bill for Second Reading
H. 903
An act relating to regenerative farming.

(Rep. Smith of New Haven will speak for the Committee on Agriculture
and Forestry.)

H. 904
An act relating to miscellaneous agricultural subjects.

(Rep. Norris of Shoreham will speak for the Committee on Agriculture
and Forestry.)
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Favorable with Amendment
H. 378
An act relating to the creation of the Artificial Intelligence Commission

Rep. Sibilia of Dover, for the Committee on Energy and Technology,
recommends the bill be amended by striking all after the enacting clause and
inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE TASK FORCE; REPORT

(a) Creation. There is created the Artificial Intelligence Task Force to:

(1) investigate the field of artificial intelligence; and

(2) make recommendations on the responsible growth of Vermont’s
emerging technology markets, use of artificial intellicence in State
government, and State regulation of the artificial intelligence field.

(b) Definition. As used in this section, “artificial intelligence” means
models and systems performing functions generally associated with human
intelligence, such as reasoning and learning.

(¢) Membership. The Task Force shall be composed of the following six
members:

(1) a chair of the Task Force, with expertise in ethics of technology,
who shall be appointed by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court;

(2) the Secretary of Digital Services or designee:

(3) the Secretary of Commerce and Community Development or
designee;
(4) one computer scientist who specializes in artificial intelligence, who

shall be appointed by the President of the University of Vermont and State
Agricultural College;

(5) one social worker with experience in the field of ethics and human
rights, who shall be appointed by the Vermont chapter of the National
Association of Social Workers; and

(6) one member, who shall be appointed by the Vermont Society of
Engineers.

(d) Powers and duties. The Task Force shall study the field of artificial
intelligence, including the following:

(1) an assessment of the development and use of artificial intelligence
technology, including benefits and risks:

(2) whether and how to use artificial intelligence in State government,
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including an analysis of the fiscal impact, if any, on the State; and

(3) whether State regulation of the artificial intelligence field is needed.

(e) Meetings.

(1) The Chair shall call the first meeting of the Task Force to occur on
or before August 1, 2018.

(2) The Task Force shall meet not more than 10 times and shall cease to
exist on June 30, 2019.

() Quorum. Four members shall constitute a quorum of the Task Force.

(2) Staff services. The Task Force shall be entitled to staff services of the
Agency of Commerce and Community Development.

(h) Report. On or before February 15, 2019, the Task Force shall issue a
report to the Senate Committee on Finance and the House Committee on
Energy and Technology that shall include:

(1) a summary of the development and current use of artificial
intelligence in Vermont;

(2) a proposal for a definition of artificial intelligence, if needed;

(3) a proposal for State regulation of artificial intelligence, if needed;

(4) a proposal for the responsible and ethical development of artificial
intelligence in the State, including an identification of the potential risks and
benefits of such development; and

(5) a recommendation on whether the General Assembly should
establish a permanent commission to study the artificial intelligence field.

(1) The report described in subsection (h) of this section shall be submitted
electronically to the Senate Committee on Finance and the House Committee
on Energy and Technology, unless otherwise requested.

Sec. 3. EFFECTIVE DATE
This act shall take effect on July 1, 2018.

and that after passage the title of the bill be amended to read: “An act relating
to creation of the Artificial Intelligence Task Force”

( Committee Vote: 8-0-0)

H. 615
An act relating to prohibiting the use of drones near correctional facilities

Rep. Belaski of Windsor, for the Committee on Corrections and
Institutions, recommends the bill be amended by striking all after the enacting
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clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:
Sec. 1. 4 V.S.A. § 1102 is amended to read:
§ 1102. JUDICIAL BUREAU; JURISDICTION

k %k %k

(b) The Judicial Bureau shall have jurisdiction of the following matters:

k %k %k

(28) Violations of 20 V.S.A. § 4625, relating to the use of drones near
correctional facilities.

k %k %k

Sec. 2. 20 V.S.A. § 4621 is amended to read:
§ 4621. DEFINITIONS
As used in this chapter:

(1) “Correctional facility” shall have the same meaning as in 28 V.S.A.

§3.

(2) “Drone” means a powered aerial vehicle that does not carry a human
operator and is able to fly autonomously or to be piloted remotely.

2)(3) “Law enforcement agency” means:
(A) the Vermont State Police;
(B) a municipal police department;
(C) a sheriff’s department;
(D) the Office of the Attorney General;
(E) a State’s Attorney’s office;
(F) the Capitol Police Department;
(G) the Department of Liquor Control;
(H) the Department of Fish and Wildlife;
(I) the Department of Motor Vehicles;
(J) a State investigator; or

(K) a person or entity acting on behalf of an agency listed in this
subdivision 2)(3).

(4) “Public safety agency” shall have the same meaning as in
section 1841 of this title.
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Sec. 3. 20 V.S.A. § 4625 is added to read:
§ 4625. CORRECTIONAL FACILITIES; USE OF DRONES PROHIBITED;
CIVIL PENALTY

(a) A person shall not knowingly operate a drone over a correctional
facility or surrounding property that is readily recognizable to a reasonable
person as being correctional facility property or is reasonably identified as
such by fencing or appropriate signs.

(b) A person who violates subsection (a) of this section shall be assessed a
civil penalty of not more than $500.00.

(c)(1) Subsection (a) of this section shall not apply to the use of a drone by:

(A) the Department of Corrections;

(B) a person operating a drone with the written consent of the
correctional facility’s supervising officer; or

(C) a person operating a drone that is being used for a commercial
purpose, if the person is operating in compliance with any authorization, rule,
or exemption granted by the Federal Aviation Administration.

(2) With prior notice to the correctional facility, subsection (a) of this
section shall not apply to the use of a drone by:

(A) the Department of Buildings and General Services or its
contractors working on behalf of the Department;

(B) alaw enforcement agency: or

(C) a public safety agency responding to an emergency or a person
engaged in emergency functions or emergency management pursuant to
chapter 1 of this title (emergency management).

Sec. 4. EFFECTIVE DATE

This act shall take effect on passage.
( Committee Vote: 10-0-1)

H. 726

An act relating to creating a voluntary pollinator-friendly standard for solar
arrays

Rep. Chesnut-Tangerman of Middletown Springs, for the Committee on
Energy and Technology, recommends the bill be amended by striking all after
the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 6 V.S.A. chapter 217 is added to read:
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CHAPTER 217. POLLINATOR-FRIENDLY SOLAR GENERATION
STANDARD

§ 5101. DEFINITIONS
As used in this chapter:

(1) “Agency” means the Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets.

(2) “Native perennial vegetation” means Vermont native wildflowers,
forbs, and grasses that serve as habitat, forage, and migratory way stations for
pollinators and shall not include any invasive species on the Agency’s Noxious
Weed Rule under chapter 84 of this title, on the Vermont Invasive Exotic Plant
Committee Quarantine and Watch List, or as determined by the Agency of
Natural Resources.

(3) “Owner” means a public or private entity that has a controlling
interest in the solar site.

(4) “Pollinator” means bees, birds, bats, and other insects or wildlife
that pollinate flowering plants, and includes wild and managed insects.

(5) “Solar site” means a ground-mounted solar system for generating
electricity and the area surrounding that system under the control of the owner.

(6) “Vegetation management plan” means a written document that
includes short- and long-term site management practices that will provide and
maintain native perennial vegetation.

§ 5102. BENEFICIAL HABITAT STANDARD

(a) This section establishes a standard for owners that intend to claim that,
through the voluntary planting and management of vegetation, a solar site
provides greater benefits to pollinators and shrub-dependent birds than are
provided by solar sites not so managed.

(b) In order for the solar site to meet the beneficial habitat standard and for
the owner of a solar site to claim that the solar site is beneficial to those
species or is pollinator-friendly, all the following shall apply:

(1) The owner adheres to guidance set forth by the Pollinator-Friendly
Scorecard published by the University of Vermont (UVM) Extension.

(2) The owner shall make the solar site’s completed Pollinator-Friendly
Scorecard available to the public and provide a copy of the completed
Scorecard to the UVM Extension.

(3) If the site has a vegetation management plan:

(A) The plan shall maximize the use of native perennial vegetation
and native foraging habitat beneficial to pollinators consistent with the solar
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site’s scorecard.

(B) The owner shall make the vegetation management plan available
to the public and provide a copy of the plan to the UVM Extension.

(4) When establishing perennial vegetation and beneficial foraging
habitat, the solar site shall use native plant species and seed mixes whenever

practicable.

(¢) Nothing in this chapter affects any findings that must be made in order
to issue a State permit or other approval for a solar site or the duty to comply
with any conditions in such a permit or approval.

Sec. 2. EFFECTIVE DATE
This act shall take effect on July 1, 2018.
( Committee Vote: 8-0-0)

H. 806

An act relating to the Southeast State Correctional Facility Study
Committee

Rep. Connor of Fairfield, for the Committee on Corrections and
Institutions, recommends the bill be amended by striking all after the enacting
clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. SOUTHEAST STATE CORRECTIONAL FACILITY; REQUEST
FOR INFORMATION

(a) On or before August 1, 2018, the Commissioner of Buildings and
General Services shall issue a request for information for recommendations on
the future use and development of the Southeast State Correctional Facility
and the surrounding 118.57 acres of land owned by the Department of
Buildings and General Services. The General Assembly intends that the
responses to the request for information would include recommendations for
both public and private uses, including a State-owned facility, and would allow
for consultation with the Town of Windsor.

(b) On or before January 15, 2019, the Commissioner of Buildings and
General Services shall submit a report to the House Committee on Corrections
and Institutions, the Senate Committee on Institutions, and the Selectboard for
the Town of Windsor with the results of the request for information described
in subsection (a) of this section and recommendations for the use of the
Southeast State Correctional Facility based on these results.

Sec. 2. EFFECTIVE DATE
This act shall take effect on passage.
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and that after passage the title of the bill be amended to read: “An act relating
to the Southeast State Correctional Facility”

( Committee Vote: 10-0-1)
H. 859

An act relating to requiring municipal corporations to affirmatively vote to
retain ownership of lease lands

Rep. Gannon of Wilmington, for the Committee on Government
Operations, recommends the bill be amended by striking all after the enacting
clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 24 V.S.A. § 2409 is added to read:
§ 2409. RETENTION OF MUNICIPAL OWNERSHIP OF LEASE LANDS

(a) As used in this section:

(1) “Legislative body” means the officer or officers of a municipal
corporation who are charged with the care of the municipal corporation’s lease
lands.

(2) “Lessee” means the person entitled to possess, enjoy, and use land
subject to a perpetual lease and shall include the person’s heirs, executors,
administrators, and assigns.

3) “Municipal corporation” shall have the same meaning as
“municipality” in 1 V.S.A. § 126 and shall also include every municipal
corporation identified in subdivision 1751(1) of this title, county grammar
schools, any unorganized towns and gores in the State, and any of the unified
towns and gores of Essex County. “Municipal corporation” shall not include
the University of Vermont and State Agricultural College.

(4) “Perpetual lease” means any leasehold interest in Vermont land, and
every estate in Vermont land other than fee simple absolute, the title to which
1s held by a municipal corporation according to section 2401 of this title,
arising out of or created by an instrument of lease that conveys to a person
designated as lessee the right to possess, enjoy, and use the land in perpetuity
or substantially in perpetuity. “Perpetual lease” shall include leasehold
interests that are subject to restrictions on the lessee’s use of the land and shall
include lands that the municipal corporation may repossess for nonpayment of
rent or other default under the terms of the lease.

(5) “Perpetual lease land” means all land described in a perpetual lease
that is owned in fee simple by a municipal corporation. “Perpetual lease land”
does not include land described in a perpetual lease that is held in title by any
person other than a municipal corporation, or any land described in a perpetual
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lease over which the municipal corporation acts exclusively as trustee.

(b)(1) On January 1, 2020, title to perpetual lease lands shall vest in the
current lessee of record, free and clear of any interest of a municipal
corporation but subject to any other encumbrances of record, unless the
legislative body of the municipal corporation votes in the affirmative to retain
ownership of the perpetual lease land.

(2) Notwithstanding subdivision (b)(1) of this section, lease lands that
do not have a current lessee of record, or that are abandoned, unused, or
unoccupied, shall be deemed to vest in the municipal corporation as public
lands.

(c) Nothing in this section shall prevent a municipal corporation that has
retained ownership of perpetual lease land from later conveying the land
according to section 2406 of this title.

Sec. 2. 24 V.S.A. § 1061 is amended to read:
§ 1061. CONVEYANCE OF REAL ESTATE

k %k %k

(c) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsections (a) and (b) of this
section, the legislative body of a town or village may authorize the conveyance
of municipal real estate if the conveyance:

% %k %k

(3) Involves real estate used for housing or urban renewal projects under
chapter 113 of this title.

(4) Involves lease land pursuant to chapter 65, subchapter 1 of this title.

k %k %k

Sec. 3. EFFECTIVE DATE
This act shall take effect on July 1, 2018.
( Committee Vote: 10-0-1)

H. 881
An act relating to corrective action plans under Act 250

Rep. McCullough of Williston, for the Committee on Natural Resources;
Fish and Wildlife, recommends the bill be amended by striking all after the
enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 10 V.S.A. § 6081 is amended to read:
§ 6081. PERMITS REQUIRED; EXEMPTIONS
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(x)(1) No permit or permit amendment is required for the construction of
improvements for any one of the actions or abatements authorized in this
subdivision:

(A) aremedial or removal action for which the Secretary of Natural
Resources has authorized disbursement under section 1283 of this title;

(B) abating a release or threatened release, as directed by the
Secretary of Natural Resources under section 6615 of this title;

(C) aremedial or removal action directed by the Secretary of Natural
Resources under section 6615 of this title;

(D) a corrective action authorized in a corrective action plan
approved by the Secretary of Natural Resources under section 6615b of this
title;

(E) a corrective action authorized in a corrective action plan
approved by the Secretary of Natural Resources under chapter 159,
subchapter 3 of this title; or

(F) the management of “development soils,” as that term is defined
in subdivision 6602(39) of this title, under a plan approved by the Secretary of
Natural Resources under section 6604c of this title.

(2) Any development subsequent to the construction of improvements
for any one of the actions or abatements authorized in subdivision (1) of this
subsection shall not be exempt from the provisions of this chapter.

Sec. 2. EFFECTIVE DATE

This act shall take effect on passage.
( Committee Vote: 8-0-1)

S. 267
An act relating to timing of a decree nisi in a divorce proceeding

Rep. Lalonde of South Burlington, for the Committee on Judiciary,
recommends that the House propose to the Senate that the bill be amended by
striking all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 13 V.S.A. chapter 85 is amended to read:
CHAPTER 85. WEAPONS
Subchapter 1. Generally

k %k %k
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Subchapter 2. Extreme Risk Protection Orders
§ 4051. DEFINITIONS

As used in this subchapter:

(1) “Court” means the Family Division of the Superior Court.

(2) “Dangerous weapon” means an explosive or a firearm.

(3) “Explosive” means dynamite, or any explosive compound of which
nitroglycerin forms a part, or fulminate in bulk or dry condition, or blasting
caps, or detonating fuses, or blasting powder or any other similar explosive.
The term does not include a firearm or ammunition therefor or any
components of ammunition for a firearm, including primers, smokeless
powder, or black gunpowder.

(4) “Federally licensed firearms dealer” means a licensed importer,
licensed manufacturer, or licensed dealer required to conduct national instant
criminal background checks under 18 U.S.C. § 922(%).

(5) “Firearm” shall have the same meaning as in subsection 4017(d)
of this title.

(6) “Law enforcement agency” means the Vermont State Police, a
municipal police department, or a sheriff’s department.

§ 4052. JURISDICTION AND VENUE

(a) The Family Division of the Superior Court shall have jurisdiction over
proceedings under this subchapter.

(b) Emergency orders under section 4054 of this title may be issued by a
judge of the Criminal, Civil, or Family Division of the Superior Court.

(¢) Proceedings under this chapter shall be commenced in the county where
the law enforcement agency is located, the county where the respondent
resides, or the county where the events giving rise to the petition occur.

§ 4053. PETITION FOR EXTREME RISK PROTECTION ORDER

(a) A State’s Attorney or the Office of the Attorney General may file a
petition requesting that the court issue an extreme risk protection order
prohibiting a person from purchasing, possessing, or receiving a dangerous
weapon or having a dangerous weapon within the person’s custody or control.
The petitioner shall submit an affidavit in support of the petition.

(b) Except as provided in section 4054 of this title, the court shall grant
relief only after notice to the respondent and a hearing. The petitioner shall
have the burden of proof by a preponderance of the evidence.

(c)(1) A petition filed pursuant to this section shall allege that the
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respondent poses an extreme risk of causing harm to himself or herself or
another person by purchasing, possessing, or receiving a dangerous weapon or
by having a dangerous weapon within the respondent’s custody or control.

(2)(A) An extreme risk of harm to others may be shown by
establishing that:

(1) the respondent has inflicted or attempted to inflict bodily harm
on another; or

(i1)) by his or her threats or actions the respondent has placed
others in reasonable fear of physical harm to themselves: or

(111) by his or her actions or inactions the respondent has presented
a danger to persons in his or her care.

(B) An extreme risk of harm to himself or herself may be shown by
establishing that the respondent has threatened or attempted suicide or serious

bodily harm.
(3) The affidavit in support of the petition shall state:

(A) the specific facts supporting the allegations in the petition;

(B) any dangerous weapons the petitioner believes to be in the
respondent’s possession, custody, or control; and

(C) whether the petitioner knows of an existing order with respect to
the respondent under 15 V.S.A. chapter 21 (abuse prevention orders) or
12 V.S.A. chapter 178 (orders against stalking or sexual assault).

(d) The court shall hold a hearing within 14 days after a petition is filed
under this section. Notice of the hearing shall be served pursuant to section
4056 of this title concurrently with the petition and any ex parte order issued
under section 4054 of this title.

(e)(1) The court shall erant the petition and issue an extreme risk
protection order if it finds by a preponderance of the evidence that the
respondent poses an extreme risk of causing harm to himself or herself or
another person by purchasing, possessing, or receiving a dangerous weapon or
by having a dangerous weapon within the respondent’s custody or control.

(2) An order issued under this subsection shall prohibit a person from
purchasing, possessing, or receiving a dangerous weapon or having a
dangerous weapon within the person’s custody or control for a period of up to
one vear. The order shall be siegned by the judge and include the following

provisions:

(A) A statement of the grounds for issuance of the order.
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(B) The name and address of the court where any filings should be
made, the names of the parties, the date of the petition, the date and time of the
order, and the date and time the order expires.

(C) A description of how to appeal the order.

(D) A description of the requirements for relinquishment of
dangerous weapons under section 4059 of this title.

(E) A description of how to request termination of the order under
section 4055 of this title. The court shall include with the order a form for a
motion to terminate the order.

(F) A statement directing the law enforcement agency, approved
federally licensed firearms dealer, or other person in possession of the firearm
to release it to the owner upon expiration of the order.

(G) A statement in substantially the following form:

“To the subject of this protection order: This order shall be in effect until
the date and time stated above. If you have not done so already, you are
required to surrender all dangerous weapons in your custody, control, or
possession to [insert name of law enforcement agency], a federally licensed
firearms dealer, or a person approved by the court. While this order is in
effect, you are not allowed to purchase, possess, or receive a dangerous
weapon; attempt to purchase, possess, or receive a dangerous weapon; or have
a dangerous weapon in your custody or control. You have the right to request
one hearing to terminate this order during the period that this order is in effect,
starting from the date of this order. You may seek the advice of an attorney
regarding any matter connected with this order.”

() If the court denies a petition filed under this section, the court shall state
the particular reasons for the denial in its decision.

(2) No filing fee shall be required for a petition filed under this section.

(h) Form petitions and form orders shall be provided by the Court
Administrator and shall be maintained by the clerks of the courts.

(i) When findings are required under this section, the court shall make
either written findings of fact or oral findings of fact on the record.

(i) Every final order issued under this section shall bear the following
language: “VIOLATION OF THIS ORDER IS A CRIME SUBJECT TO A
TERM OF IMPRISONMENT OR A FINE, OR BOTH, AS PROVIDED BY
13 V.S.A. § 4058, AND MAY ALSO BE PROSECUTED AS CRIMINAL
CONTEMPT PUNISHABLE BY FINE OR IMPRISONMENT, OR BOTH.”

(k) Affidavit forms required pursuant to this section shall bear the
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following language: “MAKING A FALSE STATEMENT IN THIS
AFFIDAVIT IS A CRIME SUBJECT TO A TERM OF IMPRISONMENT
OR A FINE, OR BOTH, AS PROVIDED BY 13 V.S.A. § 4058.”

§ 4054. EMERGENCY RELIEF; TEMPORARY EX PARTE ORDER

(a)(1) A State’s Attorney or the Office of the Attorney General may file a
motion requesting that the court issue an extreme risk protection order ex
parte, without notice to the respondent. A law enforcement officer may notify
the court that an ex parte extreme risk protection order is being requested
pursuant to this section, but the court shall not issue the order until after the
motion is submitted.

(2) The petitioner shall submit an affidavit in support of the motion
alleging that the respondent poses an imminent and extreme risk of causing
harm to himself or herself or another person by purchasing, possessing, or
receiving a dangerous weapon or by having a dangerous weapon within the
respondent’s custody or control. The affidavit shall state:

(A) the specific facts supporting the allegations in the motion,
including the imminent danger posed by the respondent; and

(B) any dangerous weapons the petitioner believes to be in the
respondent’s possession, custody, or control.

(b)(1) The court shall grant the motion and issue a temporary ex parte
extreme risk protection order if it finds by a preponderance of the evidence
that at the time the order is requested the respondent poses an imminent and
extreme risk of causing harm to himself or herself or another person by
purchasing, possessing, or receiving a dangerous weapon or by having a
dangerous weapon within the respondent’s custody or control. The petitioner
shall cause a copy of the order to be served on the respondent pursuant to
section 4056 of this title, and the court shall deliver a copy to the holding
station.

(2)(A) An extreme risk of harm to others may be shown by
establishing that:

(1) the respondent has inflicted or attempted to inflict bodily harm
on another; or

(i1)) by his or her threats or actions the respondent has placed
others in reasonable fear of physical harm to themselves: or

(ii1) by his or her actions or inactions the respondent has presented
a danger to persons in his or her care.

(B) An extreme risk of harm to himself or herself may be shown by
establishing that the respondent has threatened or attempted suicide or serious
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bodily harm.

(c)(1) Unless the petition is voluntarily dismissed pursuant to subdivision
(2) of this subsection, the court shall hold a hearing within 14 days after the
1ssuance of a temporary ex parte extreme risk protection order to determine if
a final extreme risk protection order should be issued. If not voluntarily
dismissed, the temporary ex parte extreme risk protection order shall expire
when the court grants or denies a motion for an extreme risk protection order
under section 4053 of this title.

(2) The prosecutor may voluntarily dismiss a motion filed under this
section at any time prior to the hearing if the prosecutor determines that the
respondent no longer poses an extreme risk of causing harm to himself or
herself or another person by purchasing, possessing, or receiving a dangerous
weapon or by having a dangerous weapon within the respondent’s custody or
control. If the prosecutor voluntarily dismisses the motion pursuant to this
subdivision, the court shall vacate the temporary ex parte extreme risk
protection order and direct the person in possession of the dangerous weapon
to return it to the respondent consistent with section 4059 of this title.

(d)(1) An order issued under this section shall prohibit a person from
purchasing, possessing, or receiving a dangerous weapon or having a
dangerous weapon within the person’s custody or control for a period of up to
14 days. The order shall be in writing and signed by the judge and shall
include the following provisions:

(A) A statement of the grounds for issuance of the order.

(B) The name and address of the court where any filings should be
made, the names of the parties, the date of the petition, the date and time of the
order, and the date and time the order expires.

(C) The date and time of the hearing when the respondent may
appear to contest the order before the court. This opportunity to contest shall
be scheduled as soon as reasonably possible, which in no event shall be more
than 14 days after the date of issuance of the order.

(D) A description of the requirements for relinquishment of
dangerous weapons under section 4059 of this title.

(E) A statement in substantially the following form:

“To the subject of this protection order: This order shall be in effect
until the date and time stated above. If you have not done so already, you are
required to surrender all dangerous weapons in your custody, control, or
possession to [insert name of law enforcement agency], a federally licensed
firearms dealer, or a person approved by the court. While this order is in
effect, you are not allowed to purchase, possess, or receive a dangerous
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weapon; attempt to purchase, possess, or receive a dangerous weapon; or have
a dangerous weapon in vour custody or control. A hearing will be held on the
date and time noted above to determine if a final extreme risk prevention order
should be issued. Failure to appear at that hearing may result in a court
making an order against you that is valid for up to 60 days. You may seek the
advice of an attorney regarding any matter connected with this order.”

(2)(A) The court may issue an ex parte extreme risk protection order by
telephone or by reliable electronic means pursuant to this subdivision if
requested by the petitioner.

(B) Upon receipt of a request for electronic issuance of an ex parte
extreme risk protection order, the judicial officer shall inform the petitioner
that a signed or unsigned motion and affidavit may be submitted electronically.
The affidavit shall be sworn to or affirmed by administration of the oath over
the telephone to the petitioner by the judicial officer. The administration of the
oath need not be made part of the affidavit or recorded, but the judicial officer
shall note on the affidavit that the oath was administered.

(C) The judicial officer shall decide whether to grant or deny the
motion and issue the order solely on the basis of the contents of the motion and
the affidavit or affidavits provided. If the motion is granted, the judicial
officer shall immediately sign the original order, enter on its face the exact
date and time it is issued, and transmit a copy to the petitioner by reliable
electronic means. The petitioner shall cause a copy of the order to be served
on the respondent pursuant to section 4056 of this title.

(D) On or before the next business day after the order is issued:

(1) the petitioner shall file the original motion and affidavit with
the court; and

(i1) the judicial officer shall file the signed order, the motion, and
the affidavit with the clerk. The clerk shall enter the documents on the docket
immediately after filing.

(¢) Form motions and form orders shall be provided by the Court
Administrator and shall be maintained by the clerks of the courts.

(f) Every order issued under this section shall bear the following language:
“VIOLATION OF THIS ORDER IS A CRIME SUBJECT TO A TERM OF
IMPRISONMENT OR A FINE, OR BOTH, AS PROVIDED BY 13 V.S.A.
§ 4058, AND MAY ALSO BE PROSECUTED AS CRIMINAL CONTEMPT
PUNISHABLE BY FINE OR IMPRISONMENT, OR BOTH.”

(g) Affidavit forms required pursuant to this section shall bear the
following language: “MAKING A FALSE STATEMENT IN THIS
AFFIDAVIT IS A CRIME SUBJECT TO A TERM OF IMPRISONMENT
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OR A FINE, OR BOTH, AS PROVIDED BY 13 V.S.A. § 4058.”

(h) If the court denies a petition filed under this section, the court shall
state the particular reasons for the denial in its decision.

§ 4055. TERMINATION AND RENEWAL MOTIONS

(a)(1) The respondent may file a motion to terminate an extreme risk
protection order issued under section 4053 of this title or an order renewed
under subsection (b) of this section. A motion to terminate shall not be filed
more than once during the effective period of the order. The State shall have
the burden of proof by a preponderance of the evidence.

(2) The court shall grant the motion and terminate the extreme risk
protection order unless it finds by a preponderance of the evidence that the
respondent continues to pose an extreme risk of causing harm to himself or
herself or another person by purchasing, possessing, or receiving a dangerous
weapon or by having a dangerous weapon within the respondent’s custody or
control.

(b)(1) A State’s Attorney or the Office of the Attorney General may file a
motion requesting that the court renew an extreme risk protection order issued
under this section or section 4053 of this title for an additional period of up to
one vear. The motion shall be accompanied by an affidavit and shall be filed
not more than 30 days and not less than 14 days before the expiration date of
the order. The motion and affidavit shall comply with the requirements of
subsection 4053(c) of this title, and the moving party shall have the burden of
proof by a preponderance of the evidence.

(2) The court shall grant the motion and renew the extreme risk
protection order for an additional period of up to one vyear if it finds by a
preponderance of the evidence that the respondent continues to pose an
extreme risk of causing harm to himself or herself or another person by
purchasing, possessing, or receiving a dangerous weapon or by having a
dangerous weapon within the respondent’s custody or control. The order shall
comply with the requirements of subdivision 4053(f)(2) and subsections
4053(3) and (k) of this title.

(¢) The court shall hold a hearing within 14 days after a motion to
terminate or a motion to renew is filed under this section. Notice of the
hearing shall be served pursuant to section 4056 of this title concurrently with
the motion.

(d) If the court denies a motion filed under this section, the court shall state
the particular reasons for the denial in its decision.

(e) Form termination and form renewal motions shall be provided by the
Court Administrator and shall be maintained by the clerks of the courts.
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() When findings are required under this section, the court shall make
either written findings of fact or oral findings of fact on the record.

§ 4056. SERVICE

(a) A petition, ex parte temporary order, or final order issued under this
subchapter shall be served in accordance with the Vermont Rules of Civil
Procedure and may be served by any law enforcement officer. A court that
1ssues an order under this chapter during court hours shall promptly transmit
the order electronically or by other means to a law enforcement agency for
service, and shall deliver a copy to the holding station.

(b) A respondent who attends a hearing held under section 4053, 4054, or
4055 of this title at which a temporary or final order under this subchapter is
issued and who receives notice from the court on the record that the order has
been issued shall be deemed to have been served. A respondent notified by the
court on the record shall be required to adhere immediately to the provisions
of the order. However, even when the court has previously notified the
respondent of the order, the court shall transmit the order for additional service
by a law enforcement agency.

(c) Extreme risk protection orders shall be served by the law enforcement
agency at the earliest possible time and shall take precedence over other
summonses and orders. Orders shall be served in a manner calculated to
ensure the safety of the parties. Methods of service that include advance
notification to the respondent shall not be used. The person making service
shall file a return of service with the court stating the date, time, and place at
which the order was delivered personally to the respondent.

(d) If service of a notice of hearing issued under section 4053 or 4055 of
this title cannot be made before the scheduled hearing, the court shall continue
the hearing and extend the terms of the order upon request of the petitioner for
such additional time as it deems necessary to achieve service on the

respondent.
§ 4057. PROCEDURE

(a) Except as otherwise specified, proceedings commenced under this
subchapter shall be in accordance with the Vermont Rules for Family
Proceedings and shall be in addition to any other available civil or criminal
remedies.

(b) The Court Administrator shall establish procedures to ensure access to
relief after regular court hours or on weekends and holidays. The Court
Administrator is authorized to contract with public or private agencies to assist
petitioners to seek relief and to gain access to Superior Courts. Law
enforcement agencies shall assist in carrying out the intent of this section.
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(¢) The Court Administrator shall ensure that the Superior Court has
procedures in place so that the contents of orders and pendency of other
proceedings can be known to all courts for cases in which an extreme risk
protection order proceeding is related to a criminal proceeding.

§ 4058. ENFORCEMENT; CRIMINAL PENALTIES

(a) Law enforcement officers are authorized to enforce orders issued under
this chapter. Enforcement may include collecting and disposing of dangerous
weapons pursuant to section 4059 of this title and making an arrest in
accordance with the provisions of Rule 3 of the Vermont Rules of Criminal
Procedure.

(b)(1) A person who intentionally commits an act prohibited by a court or
fails to perform an act ordered by a court, in violation of an extreme risk
protection order issued pursuant to section 4053, 4054, or 4055 of this title,
after the person has been served with notice of the contents of the order as
provided for in this subchapter, shall be imprisoned not more than one year or
fined not more than $1,000.00, or both.

(2) A person who files a petition for an extreme risk protection order
under this subchapter knowing that information in the petition is false or with
the intent to harass the respondent shall be imprisoned not more than one year
or fined not more than $1,000.00, or both.

(¢) In addition to the provisions of subsections (a) and (b) of this section,
violation of an order issued under this subchapter may be prosecuted as
criminal contempt under Rule 42 of Vermont Rules of Criminal Procedure.
The prosecution for criminal contempt may be initiated by the State’s Attorney
in the county in which the violation occurred. The maximum penalty that may
be imposed under this subsection shall be a fine of $1,000.00 or imprisonment
for six months, or both. A sentence of imprisonment upon conviction for
criminal contempt may be stayed, in the discretion of the court, pending the
expiration of the time allowed for filing notice of appeal or pending appeal if
any appeal is taken.

§ 4059. RELINQUISHMENT, STORAGE, AND RETURN OF
DANGEROUS WEAPONS

(a) A person who is required to relinquish a dangerous weapon other than a
firearm in the person’s possession, custody, or control by an extreme risk
protection order issued under section 4053, 4054, or 4055 of this title shall
upon service of the order immediately relinquish the dangerous weapon to a
cooperating law enforcement agency. The law enforcement agency shall
transfer the weapon to the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and
Explosives for proper disposition.
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(b)(1) A person who is required to relinquish a firearm in the person’s
possession, custody, or control by an extreme risk protection order issued
under section 4053, 4054, or 4055 of this title shall, unless the court orders an
alternative relinquishment pursuant to subdivision (2) of this subsection, upon
service of the order immediately relinquish the firearm to a cooperating law
enforcement agency or an approved federally licensed firearms dealer.

(2)(A) The court may order that the person relinquish a firearm to a
person other than a cooperating law enforcement agency or an approved
federally licensed firearms dealer unless the court finds that relinquishment to
the other person will not adequately protect the safety of any person.

(B) A person to whom a firearm is relinquished pursuant to
subdivision (A) of this subdivision (2) shall execute an affidavit on a form
approved by the Court Administrator stating that the person:

(1) acknowledges receipt of the firearm;

(i1) assumes responsibility for storage of the firearm until further
order of the court and specifies the manner in which he or she will provide

secure storage;

(ii1) is not prohibited from owning or possessing firearms under
State or federal law; and

(iv) understands the obligations and requirements of the court
order, including the potential for the person to be subject to civil contempt
proceedings pursuant to subdivision (C) of this subdivision (2) if the person
permits the firearm to be possessed, accessed, or used by the person who
relinquished the item or by any other person not authorized by law to do so.

(C) A person to whom a firearm is relinquished pursuant to
subdivision (A) of this subdivision (2) shall be subject to civil contempt
proceedings under 12 V.S.A. chapter 5 if the person permits the firearm to be
possessed, accessed, or used by the person who relinquished the item or by any
other person not authorized by law to do so. In the event that the person
required to relinquish the firearm or any other person not authorized by law to
possess the relinquished item obtains access to, possession of, or use of a
relinquished item, all relinquished items shall be immediately transferred to
the possession of a law enforcement agency or approved federally licensed
firearms dealer pursuant to subdivision (b)(1) of this section.

(b) A law enforcement agency or an approved federally licensed firearms
dealer that takes possession of a firearm pursuant to subdivision (b)(1) of this
section shall photograph, catalogue, and store the item in accordance with
standards and guidelines established by the Department of Public Safety
pursuant to 20 V.S.A. § 2307@G1)(3).
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(¢) Nothing in this section shall be construed to prohibit the lawful sale of
firearms or other items.

(d) An extreme risk protection order issued pursuant to section 4053 of this
title or renewed pursuant to section 4055 of this title shall direct the law
enforcement agency, approved federally licensed firearms dealer, or other
person in possession of a firearm under subsection (b) of this section to release
it to the owner upon expiration of the order.

(e)(1) A law enforcement agency, an approved federally licensed firearms
dealer, or any other person who takes possession of a firearm for storage
purposes pursuant to this section shall not release it to the owner without a
court order unless the firearm is to be sold pursuant to subdivision (2)(A) of
this subsection. If a court orders the release of a firearm stored under this
section, the law enforcement agency or firearms dealer in possession of the
firearm shall make it available to the owner within three business days after
receipt of the order and in a manner consistent with federal law.

(2)(A)(1) If the owner fails to retrieve the firearm within 90 days after
the court order releasing it, the firearm may be sold for fair market value.
Title to the firearm shall pass to the law enforcement agency or firearms dealer
for the purpose of transferring ownership.

(i1)) The law enforcement agency or firearms dealer shall make a
reasonable effort to notify the owner of the sale before it occurs. In no event
shall the sale occur until after the court issues a final extreme risk protection
order pursuant to section 4053 of this title.

(ii1) As used in this subdivision (2)(A), “reasonable effort” shall
mean notice shall be served as provided for by Rule 4 of the Vermont Rules of
Civil Procedure.

(B) Proceeds from the sale of a firearm pursuant to subdivision (A)
of this subdivision (2) shall be apportioned as follows:

(1) associated costs, including the costs of sale and of locating and
serving the owner, shall be paid to the law enforcement agency or firearms
dealer that incurred the cost; and

(i1) any proceeds remaining after payment is made to the law
enforcement agency or firearms dealer pursuant to subdivision (1) of this
subdivision (2)(B) shall be paid to the original owner.

() A law enforcement agency shall be immune from civil or criminal
liability for any damage or deterioration of a firearm stored or transported
pursuant to this section. This subsection shall not apply if the damage or
deterioration occurred as a result of recklessness, gross negligence, or
intentional misconduct by the law enforcement agency.
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(2) This section shall be implemented consistent with the standards and
ouidelines established by the Department of Public Safety under 20 V.S.A.

§ 2307(1).

(h) Notwithstanding any other provision of this chapter:

(1) A dangerous weapon shall not be returned to the respondent if the
respondent’s possession of the weapon would be prohibited by state or federal
law.

(2) A dangerous weapon shall not be taken into possession pursuant to
this section if it is being or may be used as evidence in a pending criminal
matter.

§ 4060. APPEALS

An extreme risk protection order issued by the court under section 4053 or
4055 of this title shall be treated as a final order for the purposes of appeal.
Appeal may be taken by either party to the Supreme Court under the Vermont
Rules of Appellate Procedure, and the appeal shall be determined forthwith.

§4061. EFFECT ON OTHER LAWS

This chapter shall not be construed to prevent a court from prohibiting a
person from possessing firearms under any other provision of law.

Sec. 2. FINDINGS
The General Assembly finds:

(1) The State of Vermont has a compelling interest in preventing
domestic abuse.

(2) Domestic violence is often volatile, escalates rapidly, and is possibly
fatal. The victim has a substantial interest in obtaining immediate relief
because any delay may result in further injury or death. The State’s
compelling interest in protecting domestic violence victims from actual or
threatened harm and safeguarding children from the effects of exposure to
domestic violence justifies providing law enforcement officers with the
authority to undertake immediate measures to stop the violence. For these
reasons the State has a special need to remove firearms from a home where
law enforcement has probable cause to believe domestic violence has occurred.

(3) The General Assembly recognizes that it is current practice for law
enforcement to remove firearms from a domestic violence scene if the firearms
are contraband or evidence of the offense. However, given the potential harm
of delay during a domestic violence incident, this legislation authorizes law
enforcement officers to temporarily remove other dangerous firearms from
persons arrested or cited for domestic violence, while protecting rights
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guaranteed by the Vermont and U.S. Constitutions, and insuring that those
firearms are returned to the owner as soon as doing so would be safe and
lawful.

Sec. 3. 13 V.S.A. § 1048 is added to read:
§ 1048. REMOVAL OF FIREARMS

(a)(1) When a law enforcement officer arrests, cites, or obtains an arrest
warrant for a person for domestic assault in violation of this subchapter, the
officer may remove any firearm obtained pursuant to a search warrant or a
judicially recognized exception to the warrant requirement if the removal is
necessary for the protection of the officer or any other person.

(2) As used in this section, “judicially recognized exception to the
warrant requirement” includes a search incident to a lawful arrest, a search
with consent, a search under exigent circumstances, a search of objects in plain
view, and a search pursuant to a regulatory statute.

(b) A person cited for domestic assault shall be arraigned on the next
business day after the citation is issued except for good cause shown.

(c)(1) At arraienment, the court shall issue a written order releasing any
firearms removed pursuant to subsection (a) of this section unless:

(A) the firearm is being or may be used as evidence in a pending
criminal or civil proceeding;

(B) a court orders relinquishment of the firearm pursuant to
15 V.S.A. chapter 21 (abuse prevention) or any other provision of law
consistent with 18 U.S.C. § 922(2)(8), in which case the weapon shall be
stored pursuant to 20 V.S.A. § 2307;

(C) the person requesting the return is prohibited by law from
possessing a firearm; or

(D) the court imposes a condition requiring the defendant not to
possess a firearm.

(2) If the court under subdivision (1) of this subsection orders the
release of a firearm removed under subsection (a) of this section, the law
enforcement agency in possession of the firearm shall make it available to the
owner within three business days after receipt of the written order and in a
manner consistent with federal law.

(d)(1) A law enforcement officer shall not be subject to civil or criminal
liability for acts or omissions made in reliance on the provisions of this
section. This section shall not be construed to create a legal duty to a victim or
to any other person, and no action may be filed based upon a claim that a law
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enforcement officer removed or did not remove a firearm as authorized by this
section.

(2) A law enforcement agency shall be immune from civil or criminal
liability for any damage or deterioration of firearms removed, stored, or
transported pursuant to this section. This subdivision shall not apply if the
damage or deterioration occurred as a result of recklessness, gross negligence,
or intentional misconduct by the law enforcement agency.

(3) This section shall not be construed to limit the authority of a law
enforcement agency to take any necessary and appropriate action, including
disciplinary action, regarding an officer’s performance in connection with this
section.

Sec. 4. 15 V.S.A. § 554 is amended to read:
§ 554. DECREES NISI

(a) A decree of divorce from the bonds of matrimony in the first instance;
shall be a decree nisi and shall become absolute at the expiration of three
months 90 days from the entry thereof but, in its discretion, the court which
that grants the divorce may fix an earlier date upon which the decree shall
become absolute. If one of the parties dies prior to the expiration of the nisi
period, the decree shall be deemed absolute immediately prior to death.

(b) Either party may file any post-trial motions under the Vermont Rules of
Civil Procedure. The time within which any such motion shall be filed shall
run from the date of entry of the decree of divorce and not from the date the
nisi period expires. The court shall retain jurisdiction to hear and decide the
motion after expiration of the nisi period. A decree of divorce shall constitute
a civil judgment under the Vermont Rules of Civil Procedure.

(c) If the stated term at which the decree nisi was entered has adjourned
when a motion is filed, the presiding judge of the stated term shall have power
to hear and determine the matter and make new decree therein as fully as the
court might have done in term time; but, in the judge’s discretion, the judge
may strike off the decree and continue the cause to the next stated term.

Sec. 5. EFFECTIVE DATE

This act shall take effect on passage, except that Sec. 4 shall take effect on
July 1, 2018.
(Committee vote: 7-0-4)

(For text see Senate Journal no Senate Amendments )
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NOTICE CALENDAR
Committee Bill for Second Reading
H. 906
An act relating to professional licensing for service members and veterans.

(Rep. Christie of Hartford will speak for the Committee on General;
Housing; and Military Affairs.)

H. 907
An act relating to improving rental housing safety.

(Rep. Stevens of Waterbury will speak for the Committee on General;
Housing; and Military Affairs.)

H. 908
An act relating to the Administrative Procedure Act.

(Rep. Kitzmiller of Montpelier will speak for the Committee on
Government Operations.)

H. 909

An act relating to technical and clarifying changes in transportation-related
laws.

(Rep. Brennan of Colchester will speak for the Committee on
Transportation.)

H. 910
An act relating to the Open Meeting Law and the Public Records Act.

(Rep. Harrison of Chittenden will speak for the Committee on
Government Operations.)

H. 911

An act relating to changes in Vermont’s personal income tax and education
financing system.

(Rep. Ancel of Calais will speak for the Committee on Ways and Means.)
Favorable with Amendment
H. 599
An act relating to games of chance organized by nonprofit organizations

Rep. Smith of Derby, for the Committee on General; Housing; and
Military Affairs, recommends the bill be amended as follows:
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First: In Sec. 1, 13 V.S.A. § 2143, by striking out subdivision (a)(1)(B) in
its entirety and inserting in lieu thereof a new subdivision (a)(1)(B) to read:

(B) A nonprofit organization, as defined in 31 V.S.A. § 1201(5), may
organize and execute and a member of that organization may participate in
lotteries, raffles, and other games of chance in which all of the proceeds are
awarded as prizes to the members that participated. An individual who is not a
member of the nonprofit organization shall not be allowed to participate in a
lottery, raffle, or other game of chance organized under this subdivision (B).

Second: In Sec. 1, 13 V.S.A. § 2143, after subdivision (d)(4) and prior to
the ellipsis, by inserting the following:

(e) Games of chance shall be limited as follows:

(1) AH Except as otherwise provided pursuant to subdivision (a)(1)(B)
of this section, all proceeds raised by a game of chance shall be used
exclusively for charitable, religious, educational, and civic undertakings after
deducting:

( Committee Vote: 9-0-2)

H. 620
An act relating to State-owned airports and economic development

Rep. Kimbell of Woodstock, for the Committee on Commerce and
Economic Development, recommends the bill be amended by striking all after
the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. STATE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT MARKETING PLAN;
MARKETING OF STATE-OWNED AIRPORTS

(a)(1) On or before January 15, 2019, the Secretary of Commerce and
Community Development (Secretary), in consultation with the Secretary of
Transportation, the legislative body of the municipality in which the airport is
located, regional development corporations, regional planning commissions,
the Vermont Chamber of Commerce, the Vermont Aviation Council, State
airport committees, and any other interested persons, shall update the State’s
Economic Development Marketing Plan to incorporate the marketing of State-
owned airports.

(2) In updating the Marketing Plan, the Secretary shall consider the
State Aviation Systems Plan and shall address economic development
opportunities with respect to each State-owned airport, including the
recruitment and expansion of businesses involved in the development and
commercialization of next-generation aeronautics technologies.

(b) On or before January 15, 2019, the Secretary shall submit the updated
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Marketing Plan to the House Committee on Commerce and Economic
Development, the Senate Committee on Economic Development, Housing and
General Affairs, and the House and Senate Committees on Transportation.

Sec. 2. CHARGING STATIONS AND RENEWABLE ENERGY PLANTS
AT STATE-OWNED AIRPORTS; FEASIBILITY EVALUATION

(a) As used in this section:

(1) “Renewable energy” shall have the same meaning as in 30 V.S.A.

§ 8002.

(2) “Renewable energy generating plant” means real and personal
property, including any equipment, structure, or facility, used for or directly
related to the generation of electricity from renewable energy.

(b) On or before January 15, 2019, for each State-owned airport, the
Agency of Transportation shall evaluate the feasibility of:

(1) the installation of electric vehicle charging stations at the airport;

(2) the installation of electric aircraft charging stations at the airport;

and

(3) the siting of one or more renewable energy generating plants at the
airport.
Sec. 3. 5 V.S.A. § 807 is amended to read:
§ 807. LEASE FOR AIRCRAFT HANGARS AND OTHER STRUCTURES;
LEASE TO BUSINESS ENTITIES

(a) A designated area or areas on the airport may be leased to a person for
the purpose of constructing aircraft hangars, repair shops, or other structures
compatible with the use and operation of the airport.

(b) A designated area or areas on the airport may also be leased to any
business entity consistent with Federal Aviation Administration requirements.

Sec. 4. DEVELOPMENT OF AEROSPACE SECTOR IN VERMONT;
APPROPRIATION

(a) In fiscal year 2019, the amount of $25,000.00 is appropriated from the
General Fund to the Vermont Chamber of Commerce to continue its activities
to promote development of the Vermont aerospace sector and associated
supply chain throughout the State.

(b) The General Assembly intends that both the appropriation in subsection
(a) of this section as well as the 2017 extension of the aviation sales and use
tax exemption in 32 V.S.A. § 9741(29) promote development of the Vermont
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aerospace sector and associated supply chain throughout the State.
Sec. 5. EFFECTIVE DATES

(a) This section and Secs. 1-3 shall take effect on passage.
(b) Sec. 4 shall take effect on July 1, 2018.
( Committee Vote: 10-0-1)

Rep. Dakin of Colchester, for the Committee on Appropriations,
recommends the bill ought to pass when amended as recommended by the
Committee on Commerce and Economic Development and when further
amended as follows:

By striking out Secs. 4-5 in their entirety and inserting in lieu thereof the
following:

Sec. 4. EFFECTIVE DATE
This act shall take effect on passage.
( Committee Vote: 11-0-0)

H. 660

An act relating to establishing the Geographic Justice Criminal Code
Reclassification Commission

Rep. Lalonde of South Burlington, for the Committee on Judiciary,
recommends the bill be amended by striking all after the enacting clause and
inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. COMMISSION ON SENTENCING DISPARITIES AND CRIMINAL
CODE RECLASSIFICATION
(a) Findings. The General Assembly finds:

(1) Vermont lacks a structured criminal offense system that organizes
criminal penalties in a manner that appropriately and effectively reflects levels
of culpability and maximizes the uniform application of criminal law
throughout the State. Contrary to most states and the Model Penal Code,
Vermont does not have a classification system that places every crime into a
category that attempts to correlate its severity with the appropriate punishment.
Rather, each offense is distinct for purposes of imprisonment and fine amount,
and most offenses have a statutory maximum term of imprisonment but no
minimum or recommended average. Nor has Vermont ever comprehensively
reviewed its criminal statutes in order to ensure that statutory sentences reflect
current knowledge and do not perpetuate archaic crimes.

(2) This structure has resulted in a lack of uniformity in Vermont’s
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sentencing practices. Comparable crimes in different regions of the State
result in very different sentences, leading to a perception that geographic
justice is a systemic problem. Because of the broad sentencing range, many
sentences fall far outside statewide averages without any particular
circumstances that would explain the departure. Overincarceration often
results, with too many offenders sentenced for overly lengthy periods for
crimes for which such punishments have not been shown to produce efficient
results.

(3) The circumstances are ripe for a thorough review of Vermont’s
criminal sentencing law and practice in order to ensure that the justice system
efficiently deploys limited resources to protect public safety, reduce
recidivism, and promote geographic consistency.

(b) Creation. There is created the Commission on Sentencing Disparities
and Criminal Code Reclassification to improve the consistent and uniform
application of criminal justice throughout Vermont by reviewing Vermont’s
criminal offenses and placing each one in a standardized penalty classification

system.

(¢c) Membership. The Commission shall be composed of the following 12
members:

(1) three current members of the House of Representatives, not all from
the same political party, who shall be appointed by the Speaker of the House;

(2) three current members of the Senate, not all from the same political
party, who shall be appointed by the Committee on Committees;

(3) the Attorney General or designee;

(4) the Defender General or designee;

(5) aretired judge appointed by the Chief Superior Judge;

(6) the Executive Director of the Department of State’s Attorneys and
Sheriffs or designee:

(7) the Executive Director of the Vermont Center for Crime Victim
Services or designee; and

(8) the Executive Director of the Vermont Crime Research Group or
designee.

(d) Powers and duties.

(1) The Commission shall develop a classification system that creates
categories of criminal offenses on the basis of the maximum potential period
of imprisonment and the maximum potential fine. The Commission shall
propose legislation that places each of Vermont’s criminal statutes into one of
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the classification offense categories it identifies.

(2) When determining the appropriate category for each offense, the
Commission shall consider whether the existing statutory penalties for the
offense are appropriate or in need of adjustment better to reflect prevailing
average sentencing practices and the effective uses of criminal punishment.
For purposes of this analysis, the Commission shall for each offense consider
the average sentence and the average amount of time actually served. If the
Commission is unable to determine an appropriate classification for a
particular offense, the Commission shall indicate multiple classification
possibilities for that offense. Unless there is a compelling rationale, the
Commission shall not propose establishing new mandatory minimum sentences
or increasing existing minimum Or maximum sentences.

(3) For purposes of the classification system developed pursuant to this
section, the Commission shall consider the recommendations of the Criminal
Code Reclassification Study Committee and may consider whether to propose:

(A) rules of statutory interpretation specifically for criminal
provisions;

(B) the consistent use of mental element terminology in all criminal
provisions;

(C) a comprehensive section of definitions applicable to all criminal
provisions; and

(D) the decriminalization of some or all fine-only offenses and the
transferal of them to the Judicial Bureau for consideration as civil offenses.

(e) Assistance. The Commission shall have the administrative, technical,
and legal assistance of the Office of Legislative Council and the Joint Fiscal
Office and may consult with the Vermont Crime Research Group, the Vermont
Law School Center for Justice Reform, formerly incarcerated Vermonters, and
any other person who would be of assistance to the Commission.

(f) Report. On or before November 30, 2019, the Commission shall submit
a report consisting of proposed legislation to the House and Senate
Committees on Judiciary.

(g) Meetings.

(1) The Commission shall select a chair and a vice chair from among its
members at the first meeting.

(2) A majority of the membership shall constitute a quorum.

(3) The Commission shall cease to exist on July 15, 2020.

(h) Reimbursement. For attendance at meetings during adjournment of the
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General Assembly, legislative members of the Commission shall be entitled to
per diem compensation and reimbursement of expenses pursuant to 2 V.S.A.
§ 406. Other members of the Commission who are not employees of the State
of Vermont and who are not otherwise compensated or reimbursed for their
attendance shall be entitled to reimbursement of expenses pursuant to
32 V.S.A. § 1010.

Sec. 2. EFFECTIVE DATE

This act shall take effect on passage.

and that after passage the title of the bill be amended to read: “An act relating
to establishing the Commission on Sentencing Disparities and Criminal Code
Reclassification”

( Committee Vote: 11-0-0)

Rep. Hooper of Montpelier, for the Committee on Appropriations,
recommends the bill ought to pass when amended as recommended by the
Committee on Judiciary and when further amended as follows:

First: In Sec.1, subsection (c), by striking subdivisions (1) and (2) in their
entirety and inserting in lieu thereof new subdivisions (1) and (2) to read as
follows:

(1) two current members of the House of Representatives, one who is a
member of the Committee on Judiciary and one who is a member of the
Committee on Corrections and Institutions, who shall be appointed by the
Speaker of the House;

(2) two current members of the Senate, one who is a member of the
Committee on Judiciary and one who is a member of the Committee
Institutions, who shall be appointed by the Committee on Committees;

Second: In Sec. 1, subsection (g), by striking subdivision (3)) in its entirety
and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

(3) The Commission shall cease to exist on July 15, 2020.

(4) The Commission shall meet no more than 8 times when the General
Assembly is not in session.

( Committee Vote: 11-0-0)

H. 707
An act relating to the prevention of sexual harassment

Rep. Head of South Burlington, for the Committee on General; Housing;
and Military Affairs, recommends the bill be amended by striking all after the
enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:
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Sec. 1. 21 V.S.A. § 495h is amended to read:
§ 495h. SEXUAL HARASSMENT

(a)(1) All employers, employment agencies, and labor organizations have
an obligation to ensure a workplace free of sexual harassment.

(2) All persons who engage a person to perform work or services have
an obligation to ensure a working relationship with that person that is free
from sexual harassment.

(c)(_) Employers shall prov1de individual cop1es of their written policies to
3 an an to new employees

(2) If an employer makes changes to its policy against sexual

harassment, it shall provide to all employees a written copy of the updated
policy.

% %k %k

()(1) Employers and labor organizations are encouraged to conduct an

education and training program within-one-year-after-September-30,1993 for
all—earrent—employees—and—members—and for all new employees and members

: ; that includes at a
minimum all the 1nformat1on outlmed n th1s sect1on within one year after
commencement of employment.

(2) Emplovers and labor organizations are encouraged to conduct an
annual education and training program for all employees and members that
includes at a minimum all the information outlined in this section.

(_) Employers are encouraged to conduct additional tra1n1ng for current

Septemberé(—)—l—Q—%—and for new supervisory and manager1al employees and
members within one year of after commencement of employment or

membership, which should include at a minimum the information outlined in
subsection—{(b)-of this section and, the specific responsibilities of supervisory
and managerial employees, and the metheds actions that these employees must
take to ensure immediate and appropriate corrective action in addressing
sexual harassment complaints.

(4) Employers, labor organizations, and appropriate State agencies are
encouraged to cooperate in making this training available.
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(2)(1) An emplover shall not require any employee or prospective
employee, as a condition of employment, to sign an agreement or waiver that
does either of the following:

(A) prohibits, prevents, or otherwise restricts the employee or
prospective employee from opposing, disclosing, reporting, or participating in
an investigation of sexual harassment; or

(B) except as otherwise permitted by State or federal law, purports to
waive a substantive or procedural right or remedy available to the employee
with respect to a claim of sexual harassment.

(2) Any provision of an agreement that violates subdivision (1) of this
subsection shall be void and unenforceable.

(h)(1) An agreement to settle a claim of sexual harassment shall not
prohibit, prevent, or otherwise restrict the employee from working for the
employer or any parent company, subsidiary, division, or affiliate of the

employer.

(2) An agreement to settle a sexual harassment claim shall expressly
state that:

(A) it does not prohibit, prevent, or otherwise restrict the employee
from doing either of the following:

(1) lodging a complaint of sexual harassment committed by any
person with the Attorney General, a State’s Attorney, the Human Rights
Commission, the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, or any other
State or federal agency: or

(i1) testifying, assisting, or participating in any manner with an
investigation related to a claim of sexual harassment conducted by the
Attorney General, a State’s Attorney, the Human Rights Commission, the
Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, or any other State or federal
agency; and

(B) it does not waive any rights or claims that may arise after the
date the settlement agreement is executed.

(3) Any provision of an agreement to settle a sexual harassment claim
that violates subdivision (1) or (2) of this subsection shall be void and
unenforceable.

(4) Nothing in subdivision (2) of this subsection shall be construed to
prevent an agreement to settle a sexual harassment claim from waiving or
releasing the claimant’s right to seek or obtain any remedies relating to sexual
harassment of the claimant by another party to the agreement that occurred
before the date on which the agreement is executed.
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(1)(1)(A) For the purpose of assessing compliance with the provisions of
this section, the Attorney General or designee, or, if the emplover is the State,
the Human Rights Commission or designee, may, with 48 hours’ notice, at
reasonable times and without unduly disrupting business operations enter and
inspect any place of business or employment, question any person who is
authorized by the employer to receive or investigate complaints of sexual
harassment, and examine an employer’s records, policies, procedures, and
training materials related to the prevention of sexual harassment and the
requirements of this section. As used in this subsection, the term “records”
includes de-identified data regarding the number of complaints of sexual
harassment received and the resolution of each complaint.

(B) The emplover shall at reasonable times and without unduly
disrupting business operations make any persons who are authorized by the
employer to receive or investigate complaints of sexual harassment and any
records, policies, procedures, and training materials related to the prevention
of sexual harassment and the requirements of this section available to the
Attorney General or designee or, if the employer is the State, the Human
Rights Commission or designee.

(2) Following an inspection and examination pursuant to subdivision (1)
of this subsection, the Attorney General or the Human Rights Commission
shall notify the employer of the results of the inspection and examination,
including any issues or deficiencies identified, provide resources regarding
practices and procedures for the prevention of sexual harassment that the
employer may wish to adopt or utilize, and identify any technical assistance
that the Attorney General or the Human Rights Commission may be able to
provide to help the emplovyer address any identified issues or deficiencies. If
the Attorney General or the Human Rights Commission determines that it is
necessary to ensure the employer’s workplace is free from sexual harassment,
the employer may be required, for a period of up to three vears, to provide an
annual education and training program that satisfies the provisions of
subsection (f) of this section to all employees or to conduct an annual,
anonymous working-climate survey, or both.

(i) The Attorney General shall adopt rules as necessary to implement the
provisions of this section.

Sec. 2. 21 V.S.A. § 495b is amended to read:
§ 495b. PENALTIES AND ENFORCEMENT

(a)(1) The Attorney General or a State’s Attorney may enforce the
provisions of this subchapter by restraining prohibited acts, seeking civil
penalties, obtaining assurances of discontinuance, and conducting civil
investigations in accordance with the procedures established in 9 V.S.A.
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§§ 2458-2461 as though an unlawful employment practice were an unfair act
in commerce. Any employer, employment agency, or labor organization
complained against shall have the same rights and remedies as specified
therein. The Superior Courts are authorized to impose the same civil penalties
and investigation costs and to order other relief to the State of Vermont or an
aggrieved employee for violations of this subchapter as they are authorized to
impose or order under the provisions of 9 V.S.A. §§ 2458 and 2461 in an
unfair act in commerce. In addition, the Superior Courts may order restitution
of wages or other benefits on behalf of an employee and may order
reinstatement and other appropriate relief on behalf of an employee.

(2) Any charge or formal complaint filed by the Attorney General or a
State’s Attorney against a person for unlawful discrimination or sexual
harassment in violation of the provisions of this chapter shall include a
statement setting forth the prohibition against retaliation pursuant to
subdivision 495(a)(8) of this title.

k %k %k

Sec. 3. 9 V.S.A. § 4552 is amended to read:
§ 4552. DUTIES; JURISDICTION

k %k %k

(b)(1) The Commission shall have jurisdiction to investigate and enforce
complaints of unlawful discrimination in violation of chapter 139 of this title,
discrimination in public accommodations and rental and sale of real estate.
The Commission shall also have jurisdiction when the party complained
against is a State agency in matters for which the Attorney General would
otherwise have jurisdiction under subsection (c) of this section.

(2) In any case relating to unlawful discrimination or sexual harassment
in violation of 21 V.S.A. § 495 et seq. that the Commission has jurisdiction
over pursuant to this subsection, it shall include a statement setting forth the
prohibition against retaliation pursuant to 21 V.S.A. § 495(a)(8) with any
formal complaint that is sent to a respondent.

(c) All complaints of unlawful discrimination in violation of 21 V.S.A.
§§ 495 et seq. and 710, the Fair Employment Practices Act and the provisions
for workers’ compensation discrimination, respectively, and of 21 V.S.A.
§ 471 et seq. shall be referred to the Attorney General’s office; for
investigation and enforcement.

Sec. 4. ATTORNEY GENERAL; HUMAN RIGHTS COMMISSION;
ENHANCED REPORTING OF DISCRIMINATION AND SEXUAL

HARASSMENT
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(a) On or before December 15, 2018, the Attorney General and the Human
Rights Commission shall develop and implement enhanced mechanisms for
employees and members of the public to submit complaints of discrimination
and sexual harassment in employment or in the course of a working

relationship.

(b) The methods shall include, at a minimum, an easy-to-use portal on the
Attorney General’s or Human Rights Commission’s website and a telephone
hotline. Each method shall provide a clear statement that information
submitted may be referred to the Office of the Attorney General, a State’s
Attorney, the Vermont Human Rights Commission, the Equal Employment
Opportunity Commission, or another State or federal agency that has
jurisdiction over the complaint.

Sec. 5. OUTREACH REGARDING ENHANCED REPORTING
MECHANISMS

On or before December 15, 2018, the Vermont Commission on Women, in
consultation with the Attorney General and the Human Rights Commission,
shall develop and implement an outreach and education program designed to
make Vermont employees, employers, businesses, and members of the public
aware of:

(D) the methods for reporting employment and work-related
discrimination and sexual harassment; and

(2) where to find information regarding:

(A) the laws related to employment and work-related discrimination
and sexual harassment; and

(B) Dbest practices for preventing employment and work-related
discrimination and sexual harassment.

Sec. 6. REPORT REGARDING ENHANCED REPORTING MECHANISMS

On or before January 15, 2020, the Attorney General, in consultation with
the Human Rights Commission and the Vermont Commission on Women, shall
submit to the House Committee on General, Housing, and Military Affairs and
the Senate Committee on Economic Development, Housing and General
Affairs a report regarding the implementation of the enhanced reporting
mechanisms for instances of employment and work-related discrimination and
sexual harassment. The report shall include:

(1) a detailed description of how any existing reporting mechanisms
were enhanced and any new reporting mechanisms that were implemented;

(2) a summary of changes, if any, in the annual number of complaints of
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employment and work-related discrimination and sexual harassment received
and the number of complaints resulting in an investigation, settlement, or State
court action during calendar years 2018 and 2019 in comparison to calendar
years 2016 and 2017;

(3) the number of employees and other persons that reported
employment or work-related discrimination or sexual harassment to their
employer, supervisor, or the person for whom they were working prior to
making a complaint in comparison to the number that did not, and the reasons
that employees and other persons gave for not reporting the discrimination or
sexual harassment to their employer, supervisor, or the person for whom they
were working prior to making a complaint; and

(4) any suggestion for legislative action to enhance further the reporting
mechanisms or to reduce the amount of employment and work-related
discrimination and sexual harassment.

Sec. 7. 21 V.S.A. § 495n is added to read:

§ 495n. SEXUAL HARASSMENT COMPLAINTS FILED IN SUPERIOR
COURT; NOTICE TO ATTORNEY GENERAL AND HUMAN
RIGHTS COMMISSION

(a) A person that files a claim of sexual harassment pursuant to section
495b of this subchapter in which neither the Attorney General nor the Human
Rights Commission is a party shall provide notice of the action to the Attorney
General and the Human Rights Commission within 14 days after filing the
complaint. The notice may be submitted electronically and shall include a
copy of the filed complaint.

(b)(1) Upon receiving notice of a complaint in which the State is a party,
the Human Rights Commission may elect to:

(A) intervene in the action to seek remedies pursuant to section 495b
of this subchapter; or

(B) without becoming a party to the action, file a statement with the
court addressing questions of law related to the provisions of this subchapter.

(2) Upon receiving notice of a complaint in which the State is not a
party, the Attorney General may elect to:

(A) intervene in the action to seek remedies pursuant to section 495b
of this subchapter; or

(B) without becoming a party to the action, file a statement with the
court addressing questions of law related to the provisions of this subchapter.
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Sec. 8. COMMISSIONER OF LABOR; POSTER

On or before September 15, 2018, the Commissioner of Labor shall update
the model policy and model poster created pursuant to 21 V.S.A. § 495h(d) to
reflect the provisions of this act.

Sec. 9. EFFECTIVE DATE
This act shall take effect on July 1, 2018.
( Committee Vote: 10-0-1)

H. 736
An act relating to lead poisoning prevention

Rep. Rosenquist of Georgia, for the Committee on Human Services,
recommends the bill be amended by striking all after the enacting clause and
inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 18 V.S.A. chapter 38 is amended as follows:
CHAPTER 38. LEAD POISONING PREVENTION
§ 1751. DEFINITIONS

(a) Words and phrases used in this chapter shall have the same definitions
meaning as provided in the Federal federal Residential Lead-Based Paint
Hazard Reduction Act of 1992 unless there is an inconsistency, in which case
any definition provided in this section that narrows, limits, or restricts shall
control.

(b) As used in this chapter:

(1) “Abatement” means any set of measures designed to permanently
eliminate lead-based—paint lead hazards permanently in accordance with
standards established by appropriate State and federal agencies. The term
includes:

(A) removal of lead-based paint and lead-contaminated dust,
permanent containment or encapsulation of lead-based paint, replacement of
lead-painted surfaces or fixtures components, and removal or covering of lead-
contaminated soil; and

(B) all preparation, cleanup, disposal, and post-abatement clearance
testing activities associated with such measures.

(2) “Accredited training program” means a training program that has
been approved by the Commissioner of Health to provide training for
individuals engaged in lead-based paint activities or RRPM activities.
Training program accreditation is issued to a specific training provider who
shall receive accreditation for each training discipline that the accredited

- 802 -




training program offers as a course.

(3) “Certified” means completion of an accredited training program by
an individual.

(4) “Child” or “children” means an individual or individuals under the
age-of 18 years of age, except where specified as a child or children six years
of age or younger.

3)(5) “Child care facility” means a child care facility or family child
care home as defined in 33 V.S.A. § 3511 that was constructed prior to 1978.

(6) “Child-occupied facility” means a building or portion of a building
constructed prior to 1978, visited regularly by the same child, six years of age
or under, on at least two different days within any week, provided that each
day’s visit lasts at least three hours and the combined weekly visits last at least
six hours and the combined annual visits last at least 60 hours. Child-occupied
facilities include child care facilities, preschools, and kindergarten classrooms.

(7)  “Commercial facility” means any building constructed for the
purposes of commercial or industrial activity and not primarily intended for
use by the general public, including office complexes, industrial buildings,
warehouses, factories, and storage facilities.

(8) “Component” or “building component” means specific design or
structural elements or fixtures of a facility or residential dwelling that are
distinguished from each other by form, function, and location. These include
interior components such as ceilings; crown moldings; walls; chair rails; doors:
door trim: floors:; fireplaces; radiators and other heating units; shelves; shelf
supports; stair treads:; stair risers; stair stringers: newel posts:; railing caps:
balustrades; windows and trim, including sashes, window heads, jambs, sills,
or stools and troughs; built-in cabinets; columns; beams; bathroom vanities;
countertops; air conditioners; and exterior components such as painting:
roofing: chimneys; flashing: gutters and downspouts; ceilings; soffits; fascias;
rake boards; cornerboards; bulkheads; doors and door trim: fences; floors;
joists: lattice work; railings and railing caps; siding: handrails; stair risers and
treads; stair stringers; columns; balustrades; windowsills or stools and troughs;
casings: sashes and wells; and air conditioners.

(9) “Contractor” means any firm, partnership, association, corporation,
sole proprietorship, or other business concern as well as any governmental,
religious, or social organization or union that agrees to perform services.

4)(10) “Deteriorated paint” means any interior or exterior lead-based
paint or other coating that is peeling, chipping, chalking, or cracking or any
paint or other coating located on an interior or exterior surface or fixture
component that is otherwise damaged or separated from the substrate.
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35)(11) “Due date” means the date by which an owner of rental target
housing or a child care facility shall file with the Department the EMP RRPM
compliance statement required by section 1759 of this title. The due date shall
be one of the following:

(A) not later than 366 365 days after the most recent EMP RRPM
compliance statement er- EMP-affidavit was received by the Department;

(B) within 60 days after the closing of the purchase of the property if
no EMP RRPM compliance statement was filed with the Department within
the past 12 months;

(C) any other date agreed to by the owner and the Department; or
(D) any other date set by the Department.

©)(12) “Dwelling” means any residential unit, including attached
structures such as porches and stoops, used as the home or residence of one or
more persons.

H(13) “Elevated blood lead level” means having a blood lead level of
at least five micrograms per deciliter of human blood, or a lower threshold as
determined by the Commissioner.

(14) “Facility” means any institutional, commercial, public, private, or
industrial structure, installation, or building or private residence and its

grounds.
(15) “Firm” means a company, partnership, corporation, sole

proprietorship, or individual doing business; an association or business entity;
a State or local government agency: or a nonprofit organization.

©(16) “Independent dust clearance” means a visual examination and
collection of dust samples, by a lead lead-based paint inspector or lead-risk
assessor lead-based paint inspector-risk assessor who has no financial interest
in either the work being performed or the property to be inspected; and is
independent of both the persons performing the work and the owner of the
property. The lead lead-based paint inspector or lead-risk-assessor lead-based
paint inspector-risk assessor shall use methods specified by the Department
and analysis by an accredited laboratory to determine that lead exposures do

not exceed limits set by the Department &Hh-z—mg—emcpem—mfe%m&&en—ﬁem—the

A0)(17) “Inspection” means a surface-by-surface investigation to
determine the presence of lead-based paint and other lead hazards and the
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provision of a report explaining the results of the investigation.

ABH(18) “Interim controls” means a set of measures designed teo
temporarily to reduce human exposure or likely exposure to lead-based paint
hazards, including specialized cleaning, repairs, maintenance, painting,
temporary containment, ongoing monitoring of lead-based-paint lead hazards
or potential hazards, and the establishment of management and resident
education programs.

“2)(19) “Lead- based pamt means pamt or other surface coatmgs that
contain lead in exe m ) .

Lead—Based—B&mt—Bmsm;mg—Bre%n&gnAet an amount:
(A) equal to 1.0 mg/cm? or 0.5 percent by weight or greater;

(B) lower than that described in subdivision (A) of this subdivision
(19) as may be established by the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Housing
and Urban Development pursuant to Section 302(c) of the Lead-Based Paint
Poisoning Prevention Act; or

(C) lower than that described in subdivision (A) of this subdivision
(19) as may be established by the Administrator of the U.S. Environmental
Protection Agency.

(20) “Lead-based paint abatement supervisor” means any individual

who has satisfactorily completed an accredited training program approved by
the Commissioner and has a current license issued by the Department to
perform abatement work supervision.

d4(21) “Lead Lead-based paint abatement worker” means any
individual who has satisfactorily completed an accredited training program
approved by the Department Commissioner and has a current license issued by
the Department to perform abatements abatement work.

(22) “Lead-based paint activities” means:

(A) with regard to target housing or a child care facility: risk
assessment, inspection, visual inspection for risk assessment, project design,
abatement, visual inspection for clearance, dust clearance after an abatement
project, and lab analysis of paint chip or dust wipe samples collected for the
purpose of an inspection or risk assessment; and

(B) with regard to a public facility constructed before 1978, a
commercial building, bridge, or other structure: inspection, risk assessment,
project design, abatement, de-leading, removal of lead from bridges and other
superstructures, visual inspection for clearance, dust clearance after an
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abatement project, and lab analysis of paint chip or dust wipe samples
collected for the purposes of an inspection or risk assessment. As used in this
subdivision (B), “de-leading” means activities conducted by a person who
offers to eliminate or plan for the elimination of lead-based paint or lead-based

paint hazards.

(23) “Lead-based paint contractor’” means an entity that employs one or
more individuals licensed by the Department under this chapter and has a
current license issued by the Department to conduct lead-based paint activities
or RRPM activities.

(24) “Lead hazard” means a condition that causes exposure to lead from
contaminated dust, lead-contaminated soil, lead-containing coatings, or lead-
contaminated paint that is deteriorated or present in accessible surfaces,
friction surfaces, or impact surfaces that would result in adverse human health
effects.

(25) “Lead-based paint inspector” means an individual who has
satisfactorily completed an accredited training program approved by the
Commissioner and has a current license issued by the Department to conduct
lead-based paint inspections.

18)(26) “Leadrisk Lead-based paint inspector-risk assessor” means any
an individual who has satisfactorily completed an accredited training program
approved by the Department Commissioner and has a current license issued by
the Department to conduct lead-based paint inspections and risk assessments.




(27) “Lead-based paint project designer” means an individual who has

satisfactorily completed an accredited training program approved by the
Commissioner and has a current license issued by the Department to prepare
lead abatement project designs, occupant protection plans, and abatement
reports.

(28) “Lead-safe RRPM supervisor” means an individual who has
completed an accredited RRPM training program approved by the
Commissioner and, if performing services for compensation, has a current
license issued by the Department. This individual is authorized to perform or
supervise RRPM activities in target housing or a child-occupied facility in
which interior or exterior lead-based paint will be disturbed.

(29) “License” means the document issued to an individual, entity, or
firm indicating that the standards for licensure for each discipline, category of
entity, or firm established in this chapter have been met.

(30) “Licensee” means a person who engages in lead-based paint
activities or RRPM activities and has obtained a license to perform such
activities for compensation.

(31) “Maintenance” means work intended to maintain and preserve
target housing, a child-occupied facility, a pre-1978 facility, a commercial
facility, bridge, or other superstructure. It does not include minor RRPM
activities.

(32) “Minor RRPM activities” means maintenance and repair activities
that disturb less than one square foot of painted surface for interior activities or
20 square feet or less of painted surface for exterior activities if the work does
not involve window replacement or demolition of painted surface areas. With
regard to removing painted components or portions of painted components, the
entire surface area removed is the amount of painted surface disturbed. Work,
other than emergency renovations, performed in the same room within the
same 30-day period shall be considered the same work for the purposes of
determining whether the work is a minor RRPM activity.

2DH(33) “Occupant” means any person who resides in, or regularly
uses, a dwelling, mobile dwelling, or structure.

22)(34) “Owner” means any person who, alone or jointly or severally
with others:
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(A) Has legal title to any dwelling or child care facility with or
without actual possession of the property.

D) Is the Chief Executive Officer of the municipal or State agency
that owns, leases, or controls the use of publicly owned target housing or a
child care facility.

E)C) Is aperson who has taken full legal title of a dwelling or child
care facility through foreclosure, deed in lieu of foreclosure, or otherwise.
“Owner” does not include a person who holds indicia of ownership given by
the person in lawful possession for the primary purpose of assuring repayment
of a financial obligation. Indicia of ownership includes interests in real or
personal property held as security or collateral for repayment of a financial
obligation such as a mortgage, lien, security interest, assignment, pledge,
surety bond, or guarantee and includes participation rights of a financial
institution used for legitimate commercial purposes in making or servicing
the loan.

(35) “Owner’s representative” means a person who has charge, care, or
control of a dwelling or child care facility as property manager, agent, or
guardian of the estate.

(36) “Public facility” means a house of worship:; courthouse; jail;
municipal room; State or county institution; railroad station; school building;
social hall; hotel, restaurant, or building used or rented to boarders or roomers:;
place of amusement; factory; mill; workshop or building in which persons are
employed; building used as a nursery, convalescent home, or home for the
aged: tent or outdoor structure used for public assembly: and barn, shed, office
building, store, shop, shop other than a workshop, or space where goods are
offered for sale, wholesale, or retail. It does not include a family residence
registered as a child care facility.

(37) “Renovation” means the modification of any existing structure or
portion of an existing structure that results in the disturbance of a painted
surface unless the activity is performed as part of a lead-based paint abatement
activity or is a minor RRPM activity. Renovation includes the following when
it results in the disturbance of a painted surface: the removal, modification, re-
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coating, or repair of a painted surface or painted component of a surface: the
removal of building components; a weatherization project; and interim
controls that disturb painted surfaces. “Renovation” includes the performance
of activities for the purpose of converting a building or part of a building into
target housing or a child-occupied facility when it results in the disturbance of
a painted surface.

(38) “RRPM” means the Renovation, Repair, Painting, and Maintenance
Program that pertains to projects that disturb lead-based paint on target
housing and child-occupied facilities.

(39) “RRPM activities” means lead-safe renovation, repair, painting,
and maintenance practices as required by section 1759 of this chapter and as
adopted by rule by the Commissioner by rule. It does not include minor
RRPM activities.

(40) “RRPM firm” means a company, partnership, corporation, sole
proprietorship, or individual doing business; association; or other business
entity that regularly engages in RRPM activities for compensation and that
employs or contracts with persons to perform RRPM activities as determined
by the Department.

23)(41) “Rental target housing” means target housing offered for lease
or rental under a rental agreement as defined in 9 V.S.A. § 4451. “Rental
target housing” does not include a rented single room located within a
dwelling in which the owner of the dwelling resides unless a child six years of
age or younger resides in or is expected to reside in that dwelling.

(42) “Repair” means the restoration of paint or other coatings that have
been damaged, including the repair of permanent containment around lead-
based paint materials in a facility. Repair of previously encapsulated lead-
based paint may involve filling damaged areas with non-lead paint substitutes
and reencapsulating. It shall not include minor RRPM activities.

24)(43) “Risk assessment” means an on-site investigation by a lead-risk
assessor lead-based paint inspector-risk assessor to determine and report the
existence, nature, severity, and location of lead hazards, including information
gathering about the age and history of the property and occupancy by children
six years of age or younger, visual inspection, limited wipe sampling, or other
environmental sampling techniques, other appropriate risk assessment
activities, and a report on the results of the investigation.

25)(44) “Screen,” “screened,” or “screening” relating to blood lead
levels, means the initial blood test to determine the presence of lead in a
human.

(45) “Superstructure” means a large steel or other industrial structure,
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such as a bridge or water tower, that may contain lead-based paint.

26)(46) “Target housing” means any dwelling constructed prior to
1978, except any 0-bedroom dwelling or any dwelling located in multiple-unit
buildings or projects reserved for the exclusive use of elders or persons with
disabilities, unless a child six years of age or younger resides in or is expected
to reside in that dwelling. “Target housing” does not include units in a hotel,
motel, or other lodging, including condominiums that are rented for transient
occupancy for 30 days or less.

§ 1752. ACCREDITATION OF TRAINING PROGRAMS;
CERTIFICATION AND LICENSURE OF ENVIRONMENTAL
SUPERVISORS - AND-WORKERS INDIVIDUALS, ENTITIES, OR
FIRMS INVOLVED IN LEAD-BASED PAINT OR RRPM
ACTIVITIES

/§—260—1—et—seq—the The Department shall develop a program to admlmster and
enforce the lead-based paint activities and RRPM activities with regard to

training and eertification licensing standards, regulations rules, or other
requirements established by the Administrator-of-thefederal Environmental
Protection-Agency Commissioner, which are at least as protective of human
health and the environment as the applicable federal programs, for persons
engaged in lead-based paint activities and RRPM activities performed on target
housing, child-occupied facilities, pre-1978 facilities, commercial facilities,
and bridges or other superstructures.

(b) The Secretaryshall-adopt-emergency rules,-and-no : :
4—1—9—94—the—See¥et&gLsh‘aH—adept—pe1tmanem—Pules— Commlssmner shall adopt
rules pursuant to 3 V.S.A. chapter 25 establishing standards and specifications
for the accreditation of training programs beth-within-and-outside Vermeont for
lead-based paint activities and RRPM activities, including the mandatory
topics of instruction, the knowledge and performance standards that must be
demonstrated by graduates in order to be certified or licensed, and required
accreditation qualifications for training programs and instructors. Such The
standards shall be designed to protect children, their families, and workers
from improperly conducted lead-based paint activities and RRPM activities,
and shall be at least as protective of human health and the environment as the
federal pregram programs. Hands-on instruction and instruction for
identification and proper handling of historic fabric and materials shall be
components of the required training.
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(c) The Commissioner shall

N CO
0 -,
ad

lead-based paint abatement supervisors, lead-based pamt abatement Workers,
project designers, inspector-risk assessors, RRPM firms, and RRPM
supervisors, who have successfully completed an accredited training program
and met suech other requirements as the Seeretary Commissioner may, by rule,
impose.

(d) The Commissioner shall certify individuals engaged in RRPM activities
for no compensation and who have successfully completed an accredited
training program and met all other requirements as the Commissioner may
impose by rule.

(e) After the adoption of rules pursuant to subsection{b)-of this section, ne
a person shall not perform lead-based paint activities or RRPM activities for
compensation without first obtaining a license from the Commissioner. The
Commissioner may grant a license to a person who holds a valid license from
another state.

¢e)(f) Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to limit the authority of the
Secretary; or the Commissioner of Health, the-Commissioner of Labor, or the
Commissioner of Environmental Conservation under the provisions of any
other law.

§ 1753. ACCREDITATION, REGISTRAHON,-CERTHICAHON, - AND
LICENSE, PERMIT, NOTIFICATION, REGISTRATION, AND
ADMINISTRATIVE FEES

(a) The Commissioner shall assess fees for accrediting training programs
and-for-certifications;registrations, licenses, and license renewals, and permits
issued in accordance with this chapter. Fees shall not be imposed on any state
State or local government, agent of the State, or nonprofit training program
and may be waived for the purpose of training State employees.

(b) Each accredited training program,—registrant; and licensee shall be
subject to the following annual fees, except where otherwise noted:

Training Lead-based paint training courses $480.00 per year
Lead contractors Lead-based paint contractor

entity license $600.00 per year
Lead workers [Lead-based paint abatement

worker license $60.00 per year
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Lead-supervisors Lead-based paint abatement

supervisor license $120.00 per year
Leadinspectors Lead-based paint inspector

license $180.00 per year
Lead riskassessors Lead-based paint

inspector-risk assessor license $180.00 per year
Lead-designers Lead-based paint project

designer license $180.00 per year
Labeoratories $600.00-per-year
Lead-safe RRPM training course accreditation $560.00 initial,

$340.00 renewal
every four years

Lead-safe RRPM firm license $300.00 every five

years
Lead-safe renovators RRPM supervisor license $50.00 per year

(c) Each lead licensee seeking to complete a lead-based paint abatement
project or RRPM activities project involving prohibited or unsafe work
practices shall be subject to the following permit fees:

(1) Lead-abatementprojeect Project permit fee $50.00-

(2) Lead-abatementprojeet Project permit
revision fee $25.00-

(d) Fees imposed by this section and monies collected under section 1766
of this chapter shall be deposited into the Lead Lead-Based Paint Abatement
Accreditation and Licensing Special Fund. Monies in the Fund may be used
by the Commissioner only to support departmental Departmental accreditation,
registration; certification, and licensing, education, and training activities
related to this chapter. The Fund shall be subject to the provisions of
32 V.S.A. chapter 7, subchapter 5.

§ 1754. PUBLIC EDUCATION

(a) BeginningJanuary—1,-1994, the The Commissioner of-Health shall
prepare and distribute clear and simple printed materials describing the

dangers of lead poisoning, the need for parents to have their child screened,
how to have a child tested, and recommended nutrition and housekeeping
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practices. The Commissioner shall work with persons and organizations
involved in occupations that may involve lead-based—paint lead hazards or
childhood lead poisoning to distribute the materials to their tenants, clients,
patients, students, or customers, such as realtors, subcontractors, apartment
owners, public housing authorities, pediatricians, family practitioners, nurse
clinics, child clinics, other health care providers, child care and preschool
operators, and kindergarten teachers. The Commissioner shall also identify
those points in time or specific occasions when members of the public are in
contact with public agencies and lead might be an issue, such as building
permits, home renovations, the WIC program, and programs established under
33 V.S.A. chapters 10, 11, and 12, and make the materials available on these
occasions.

(b) The Commissioner shall prepare an appropriate media campaign to
educate the pubhc on lead p01son1ng preventlon T—he—@enm&s&ener—shal—l




begmmng—l&mt&gul—zO—I—L All health care prov1ders Who prov1de prlmary

health care to children shall test children one and two years of age for elevated
blood lead levels in accordance with rules adopted by the Commissioner.

§ 1757. CHILDREN WITH ELEVATED BLOOD LEAD LEVELS

that-the child-obtains-a-confirmationtest The Commissioner shall adopt rules

pursuant to 3 V.S.A. chapter 25 regarding:

(1) the method and frequency with which children shall be tested for
elevated blood lead levels:

(2) the reporting requirements for the lead test result; and

(3) the action required for children found to have elevated blood lead
levels.

(b) If the child has an elevated blood lead level, the Commissioner shall
provide information on lead hazards to the parents or guardians of the child.

(c) If a child six years of age or younger has a confirmed blood lead level

at or above 10-micrograms-of-lead-per-deciliter-of blooed the level determined

by the Commissioner, and if resources permit, the Commissioner:

(1) Shall, with the consent of the parent or guardian, provide an
inspection of the dwelling occupied by the child or the ehild—eare child-
occupied facility the child attends by a state State or private lead-risk-assessor
lead-based paint inspector-risk assessor, and develop a plan in consultation
with the parents, owner, physician, and others involved with the child to
minimize the exposure of the child to lead. The plan developed under this
subdivision shall require that any lead hazards identified through the
inspection be addressed. The owner of rental target housing or a child care
facility shall address those lead hazards within the owner’s control, and shall
not be required to abate lead hazards if interim controls are effective.

(2) May inspect and evaluate other dwelling units in the building in
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which the child is living if it is reasonable to believe that a child six years of
age or younger occupies, receives care in, or otherwise regularly frequents the
other dwellings in that building.

(d) Nothing in this section shall be construed to limit the Commissioner’s
authority under any other provision of Vermont law.

§ 1758, HOUSING REGISTRY

annually. [Repealed.]
§ 1759. ESSENTIAL-MAINTENANCE PRACTICES RRPM
ACTIVITIES

(a)(1) RRPM activities include activities that disturb lead-based paint on
target housing and child-occupied facilities, unless the property has been
certified as lead-free pursuant to subsection (e) of this section. RRPM
practices for target rental housing and child care facilities shall minimally
include regular inspection of painted surfaces for deterioration, prompt and
safe repairs to deteriorated paint, and specialized cleaning after any work that
disturbs painted surfaces and at tenant turnover.

(2) Essential-maintenance-practices{EMP) RRPM activities, including

worksite preparation and cleanup of work areas, in rental target housing and
child-eare child-occupied facilities shall be performed only by a person who
has successfully completed an EMP accredited RRPM training program

approved-by-the-Commissioner or a person who works under the direct, on-site

supervision of a person who has successfully completed sueh the training,




RRPM activities shall comply Wlth section 1760 of this chapter and related
rules adopted by the Commissioner.

A person engaging in RRPM act1v1t1es shall take all reasonable precautlons to
avoid creating lead hazards during any RRPM project that is not a minor
RRPM activity.

activities performed for compensatlon shall be conducted only by a licensed
RRPM supervisor or under the direct, on-site supervision of a licensed RRPM
Supervisor.




damage A homeowner residing in and intending to perform RRPM activities i
his or her own private residence:

(1) is exempt from this section;

(2) shall comply with section 1760 of this chapter; and

(3) shall dispose of all lead-based paint in accordance with the rules
adopted by the Department of Environmental Conservation.
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ilies; i Hity An owner of rental target
housing or a child care facility or the owner’s representative shall:

(1) file with the Department an RRPM compliance statement pursuant
to rules adopted by the Commissioner, unless the property is exempt pursuant
to subsection (e) of this section; and

(2) abide by any rules pertaining to the maintenance of lead-based paint
and provision of notice to tenants as may be prescribed by the Commissioner.

grant-or-deny-an-extension Prior to entering into a lease agreement, an owner
or owner'’s representative shall provide approved tenants with written materials
approved by the Department regarding lead hazards and a copy of the owner’s
most recent RRPM compliance statement. The written materials approved by
the Department pursuant to this subsection shall include information indicating
that lead is highly toxic to humans, particularly young children, and may cause
permanent neurological damage, even at low exposure levels.

(2) An owner of a facility, or owner’s representative, shall fully inform
a tenant who intends to operate a child care facility on the premises of the
requirements of this section.

(e)(1) A property is exempt from this section if a written inspection report
from a licensed lead-based paint inspector-risk assessor states that all
accessible surfaces are free of lead-based paint and the owner and person
performing RRPM activities have been provided with a copy of the report.

(2) An owner of rental target housing or a child care facility or owner’s
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representative shall provide a copy of the written inspection report to the
Department for review and determination of exempt status.

(3) A new written inspection report shall be required to maintain exempt
status if lead hazards are created as a result of RRPM activities performed or if
previously inaccessible components are exposed after the date of the original
written inspection report.

(4) If a property has been remodeled, it is not exempt from this section
unless the full requirements of this section have been met.

(f) The Commissioner may adopt rules pursuant to 3 V.S.A. chapter 25 as
necessary for the implantation, administration, and enforcement of this section.

§ 1760. PRESUMPTION OF LEAD-BASED PAINT; PROHIBITED AND
UNSAFE WORK PRACTICES

(a) All paint in target housing and-child-eare, child-occupied facilities, and
pre-1978 public facilities, commercial facilities, and bridges or other
superstructures is presumed to be lead-based unless a-lead-inspector-orlead
risk-assessor-has-determined-thatitisnotlead-based the component affected by
the RRPM activity is exempt pursuant to subsection (c) of this section. Unsafe

work practices are prohibited and include the following, unless specifically
authorized by-permit by the Department:

(1) Removing lead-based paint by:

(A) open flame burning or torching;

(B) use of heat guns operated above 1,100 degrees Fahrenheit;

(C) dry scraping or dry sanding;

(D) machine-sanding-or-grinding powered tools;

(E) unceontained—hydro-blasting hydro-blasting or high-pressure

washing;

(F) abrasive blasting or sandblasting witheut-containment-and-high-
efficiency particulate-exhaustcontrols; and

(G) chemical stripping using-methylene-chlorideproduets.

(2) Failing to employ one or more of the fellewing lead-safe work
practices: practice standards that the Commissioner shall adopt by rule.




(b) Ne A person shall not disturb mere-than one square foot or more of
interior or exterior lead-based paint using unsafe work practices in target
housing er-in—childcare, child-occupied facilities, pre-1978 public facilities,
commercial facilities, and bridges or other superstructures.

(c) A component is exempt from this section if a written inspection report
by a licensed lead-based paint inspector or lead-based paint inspector-risk
assessor states that the component affected by an RRPM activity is free of
lead-based paint, and the owner or firm, or both, conducting the activity has
been provided with a copy of the report. Removal of all paint from a
component does not exempt the component from the requirements of this
section.

§ 1760a. ENFORCEMENT; ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER; PENALTIES

i - [Repealed. ]
§ 1761. DUTY OF REASONABLE CARE; NEGLIGENCE; LIABILITY

(a) Owners An owner of rental target housing and-ewners-of or a child care
facilities facility or an owner’s representative shall take reasonable care to
prevent exposure to, and the creation of, lead hazards. In an action brought
under this section, evidence of actions taken or not taken to satisfy the
requirements of this chapter, including performing EMP RRPM activities, may
be admissible evidence of reasonable care or negligence.
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(b) Any person who suffers an injury proximately caused by an owner’s
breach of this duty of reasonable care shall have a cause of action to recover
damages and for all other appropriate relief.

(c) The owner of rental target housing or a child care facility or the
owner’s representative shall not be liable to a tenant of the housing or facility

in an individual action for habitability under common law or pursuant to
9 V.S.A. chapter 63 or chapter 137, 10 V.S.A. chapter 153, or 12 V.S.A.
chapter 169 for injury or other relief claimed to be caused by exposure to lead
if, during the relevant time period, the owner is in compliance with section
1759 of this title chapter and any of the following, should they exist:

test specific recommendations of a lead-based paint risk assessment report
provided by a lead-based paint inspector-risk assessor;

(2) any plan issued pursuant to section 1757 of this title chapter; or

(3) any assurance of discontinuance, order of the Commissioner, or
court order regarding lead hazards.

(d) The immunity under subsection (c) of this section shall not be
available if:

(1) there was fraud in the ecertification—process RRPM compliance

statement under section 1759 of this chapter; or

(2) the owner wiolated—conditions—ofthe—certification or owner’s
representative did not follow the recommendations of a lead-based paint risk
assessment report provided by a licensed lead-based paint inspector-risk
assessor; or

(3) the owner or owner’s representative created or allowed for the
creation of lead hazards during renovation, remodeling, maintenance, or repair
afterthecertification; or

(4) the owner or the owner’s representative failed to respond in a timely
fashion to notification that lead hazards may have recurred on the premises.

(e) A defendant in an action brought under this section or at common law
has a right to seek contribution from any other person who may be responsible,
in whole or in part, for the child’s blood lead level.

(f) Nothing in this section shall be construed to limit the right of the
Commissioner or any agency or instrumentality of the State of Vermont to
seek remedies available under any other provision of Vermont statutory law.
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§ 1762. SECURED LENDERS AND FIDUCIARIES; LIABILITY

(a) A person who holds indicia of ownership in rental target housing or a
child care facility furnished by the owner or person in lawful possession, for
the primary purpose of assuring repayment of a financial obligation, and who
takes full legal title through foreclosure or deed in lieu of foreclosure or
otherwise shall not be liable as an owner of the property for injury or loss
claimed to be caused by exposure to lead of a child on the premises, provided
that, on or before the 120th day after the date of possession, the person:

(1) performs essential-maintenance—practices RRPM activities as
required by section 1759 of this title chapter; and

(2) fully discloses to all potential purchasers, operators, or tenants of the
property any information in the possession of such person or the person’s
agents, regarding the presence of lead-basedpaint lead hazards or a lead-
poisoned child on the property and, upon request, provides copies of all
written reports on lead-based—paint lead hazards to potential purchasers,
operators, or tenants.

(b) The immunity provided in subsection (a) of this section shall expire
365 days after the secured lender or fiduciary takes full legal title.

(c) A person who holds legal title to rental target housing or a child care
facility as an executor, administrator, trustee, or the guardian of the estate of
the owner and demonstrates that in that fiduciary capacity the person does not
have either the legal authority or the financial resources to fund capital or
major property rehabilitation necessary to conduct essential-maintenance
practices RRPM activities shall not be personally liable as an owner for injury
or loss caused by exposure to—lead-by of a child on the premises to lead.
However, nothing in this section shall limit the liability of the trust estate for
such claims and those claims may be asserted against the trustee as a fiduciary
of the trust estate.

§ 1763. PUBLIC FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE; RENTAL TARGET
HOUSING AND CHILD CARE FACILITIES

Every State agency or instrumentality that makes a commitment to provide
public financial assistance for the purchase or rehabilitation of rental target
housing or child care facilities shall give priority to projects in which the
property is lead-free; exempt pursuant to subsection 1759(e) of this chapter or
lead-based paint hazards have been or will be identified and controlled and
have passed or will pass an independent dust clearance test that determines that
the property contains no lead-contaminated dust prior to occupancy or use.
Priority rental target housing projects may include units occupied by severely
lead-poisoned children and units in a building that are likely to contain lead-

- 822 -




based-paint lead hazards. Fer-purpeses—of As used in this section, “public

financial assistance” means any grant, loan, or allocation of tax credits funded
by the State or the federal government; or any of their agencies or
instrumentalities.

§ 1764. LEAD INSPECTORS; FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY

The Commissioner may shall require that a licensee or an applicant for a
license under subsection 1752(d) of this title chapter provide evidence of
ability to preperly indemnify properly a person who suffers damage from lead-
based paint activities or RRPM activities such as proof of effective liability
insurance coverage or a surety bond in an amount to be determined by the
Commissioner, which shall not be less than $300,000.00. This section shall
not restrict or enlarge the liability of any person under any applicable law.

§ 1765. LIABILITY INSURANCE

(a) If the Commissioner of Financial Regulation determines that lead-based
paint hazards have substantially diminished the availability of liability
insurance for owners of rental target property or child care facilities and that a
voluntary market assistance plan will not adequately restore availability, the
Commissioner shall order liability insurers to provide or continue to provide
liability coverage or to participate in any other appropriate remedial program
as determined by the Commissioner, provided the prospective insured is
otherwise in compliance with the provisions of this chapter.

% %k %k

§ 1766. ENFORCEMENT; ADMINISTRATIVE PENALTIES

(a) A person who violates this chapter may be subject to an administrative
penalty not to exceed $5,000.00 for each determination of a separate violation.
If the Commissioner determines that a violation is continuing, each day’s
continuance may be deemed a separate offense beginning from the date the
violator is served with notice of the violation.

(b) The Commissioner may use the enforcement powers as set forth in
chapter 3 of this title to enforce any violations of this chapter or of any related
rules, permits, or orders issued.

§ 1767. TRANSFER OF OWNERSHIP OF TARGET HOUSING; RISK
ASSESSMENT-EMP RRPM COMPLIANCE

(a) Prior to the time a purchase and sale agreement for target housing is
executed, the seller shall provide the buyer with materials approved by the
Commissioner, including a lead paint hazard brochure and materials on other
lead hazards in housing. The seller shall also provide a disclosure form that
shall include any lead-based paint inspection or risk assessment report or letter
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of exemption, assurance of discontinuance, administrative order, or court order
the terms of which are not completed and, if the property is rental target
housing, verification that the EMP-have beencompleted; RRPM was utilized
pursuant to this chapter and that a current EMP. RRPM compliance statement
has been filed with the Department.

(b) At the time of sale purchase of target housing, sellers and other
transferors shall provide the buyer or transferee with any materials delineated
in subsection (a) of this section not previously disclosed and a lead-safe
renovation practices packet approved by the Commissioner and shall disclose
any lead-based paint inspection or risk assessment report or letter of
exemption, assurance of discontinuance, administrative order, or court order
not disclosed pursuant to subsection (a) of this section the terms of which are
not completed.

k %k %k

(d) Prior to the time of sale purchase of rental target housing, the real estate
agents, sellers, and other transferors of title shall provide the buyer or
transferee with information approved by the Commissioner explaining EMP
RRPM obligations.

(e) A buyer or other transferee of title of rental target housing shall at the
time of sale or transfer of ownership, or both, disclose this transfer to the

Department.

(f) A buyer or other transferee of title to rental target housing who has
purchased or received a building or unit that is not in full compliance with
section 1759 of this title chapter shall bring the rental target housing into
compliance with section 1759 of this title chapter within 60 days after the
closing. Within the 60-day period, the buyer or transferee may submit a
written request for an extension of time for compliance, which the
Commissioner may grant in writing for a stated period of time for good cause
only. Failure to comply with this subsection shall result in a-mandatory-eivil
an admlmstratlve penalty in accordance with sectlon 1766 of this chapter.

(g) Noncompliance with this section shall not affect marketability of title.
Sec. 2. EFFECTIVE DATE

This act shall take effect upon the Commissioner of Health’s written
confirmation to the Speaker of the House and the Senate President Pro
Tempore, which shall be posted on the General Assembly’s website, that the
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency has issued a state certification to
Vermont.

( Committee Vote: 11-0-0)
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H. 766
An act relating to creating a homeowner’s rehabilitation tax credit

Rep. Kimbell of Woodstock, for the Committee on Commerce and
Economic Development, recommends the bill be amended by striking all after
the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

* * * Homeowner Rehabilitation Tax Credit * * *
Sec. 1. HOMEOWNER’S REHABILITATION TAX CREDIT

(a) Definitions. As used in this section:

(1) “Qualified applicant” means an owner of a qualified building, or a
holder of a legally enforceable contract or option to purchase a qualified
building, who is in good standing on any State and local taxes.

(2) ““Qualified building” means a one- to four-unit building, including
the primary residence and accessory buildings such as a barn or garage, that:

(A) is occupied by a qualified applicant at the time of application or
that the qualified applicant intends to occupy upon completion of the qualified

project;

(B) 1is located within a neighborhood planning area, as defined in
24 V.S.A. § 2793e; and

(C) is assessed at or below the State median home value.

(3)  “Qualified project” means a construction project for which a
qualified applicant makes qualified rehabilitation expenditures for the
rehabilitation of a qualified building.

(4) ‘“Qualified rehabilitation expenditure” means a construction-related
expense for the rehabilitation of a qualified building, including design fees,
labor, materials, capital improvements, and the rehabilitation or construction of
an accessory dwelling unit as defined in 24 V.S.A. § 4412(1)(E).

(5) “State Board” means the Vermont Downtown Development Board
established pursuant to 24 V.S.A. chapter 76A.

(b) Application and eligibility.

(1) In fiscal year 2019, Vermont municipalities may apply to the State
Board to compete for a portion of a $625,000.00 allocation of homeowner’s
rehabilitation tax credits, which the Board may award to not more than three

municipalities.

(2) The State Board shall adopt approval criteria and minimum
application requirements, including:
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(A) information specifying the applicable neighborhood planning
area and the addresses and grand list values for potential qualified projects;

(B) information concerning municipal staff capacity to support
review and implementation of projects; banks and insurance companies
interested in purchasing tax certificates; and local partner organizations
committed to supporting projects; and

(C) requirements concerning energy audits and participation in
energy rebates and incentive programs.

(¢) Homeowner’s rehabilitation tax credit. The qualified applicant of a
completed qualified project who occupies the qualified building shall be
entitled, upon inspection and certification of compliance by the municipality:

(1) to claim against the income tax imposed under 32 V.S.A. § 5822 for
the taxable year a credit of 30 percent of qualified rehabilitation expenditures
for a qualified project completed during the taxable year, not to exceed
$20,000.00 per qualified project or $25,000.00 per qualified project that
creates one or more accessory dwelling units; or

(2) to claim a tax credit certificate in the amount of 30 percent of
qualified rehabilitation expenditures for a qualified project completed during
the taxable year, not to exceed $20,000.00 per qualified project or $25,000.00
per qualified project that creates one or more accessory dwelling units, which
certificate the applicant may transfer to a bank, an insurance company, or a
captive insurance company to apply against the bank franchise tax imposed
under 32 V.S.A. § 5836 for the taxable year, insurance premium tax imposed
under 32 V.S.A. § 8551 for the taxable year, or captive insurance premium tax
imposed under 8 V.S.A. § 6014 for the taxable year.

(d) Claims; availability.

(1) On or before the date prescribed for filing the relevant return, a
taxpavyer claiming a credit under this section shall submit to the Department of
Taxes a copy of the certification of compliance issued by the municipality, and
for a credit approved under subdivision (c)(2) of this section, a copy of the tax
credit certificate.

(2) A credit available under this section is nonrefundable.

(3) If no claim for a credit has been filed within five years after the date
of the certification of compliance by the municipality, the tax credit shall

expire.
(4) The State Board may award one or more new credits pursuant to

this section that are of equal or lesser value to the amount of any credits that
are expired pursuant to subdivision (3) of this subsection, or that are
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recaptured pursuant to subsection (€) of this section.

(5) A taxpayer may carry forward an unused credit for not more than
nine tax years following the first taxable year for which a portion of the credit
1s first claimed.

(e) Recapture.

(1) A credit claimed under this section is subject to recapture if within
five years after completion of a qualified project the State Board finds:

(A) rehabilitation work performed on the qualified project is
inconsistent with a local permit or the approved application;

(B) a qualified applicant knowingly failed to supply information, or
supplied incorrect or untrue information required by the State Board, or failed
to comply with an award condition required by the State Board: or

(C) the qualified applicant has not continuously owned or occupied
the qualified building as his or her primary residence since completion of the
qualified project.

(2) If the State Board finds any of the conditions specified in
subdivision (1) of this subsection, the Board shall submit its findings to the
Department of Taxes, which shall recapture from the qualified applicant a
proportional share of the credit for each vear he or she was noncompliant.

* # * Downtown and Village Center Tax Credit * * *
Sec. 2. 32 V.S.A. § 5930ee is amended to read:
§ 5930ee. LIMITATIONS

Beginning in fiscal year 2010 and thereafter, the State Board may award tax
credits to all qualified applicants under this subchapter, provided that:

(1) the total amount of tax credits awarded annually, together with sales
tax reallocated under section 9819 of this title, does not exceed $2;400,000-00
$2,650,000.00;

(2) a total annual allocation of ae not more than 30 percent of these tax
credits in combination with sales tax reallocation may be awarded in
connection with all of the projects in a single municipality;

(3) fagade tax credits shall not be available for projects that qualify for
the federal rehabilitation tax credit;

(4) no credit shall be allowed under this subchapter for the cost of
acquiring any building or interest in a building;

(5) credit under any one subsection of 5930cc of this subchapter may
not be allocated more often than once every two years with respect to the same
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building; and

(6) credit awarded under section 5930cc of this subchapter that is
rescinded or recaptured by the State Board shall be available for the State
Board to award to applicants in any subsequent year, in addition to the total
amount of tax credits authorized under this section.

* #* Tax Credit for Affordable Housing;
First Time Homebuyer Program * * *
Sec. 3. 32 V.S.A. § 5930u is amended to read:
§ 5930u. TAX CREDIT FOR AFFORDABLE HOUSING
(a) As used in this section:
(1) “Affordable housing project” or “project” means:
(A) arental housing project identified in 26 U.S.C. § 42(g); or

(B) owner-occupied housing identified in 26 U.S.C. § 143(c)(1) or
that qualifies under Vermont Housing Finance Agency criteria governing
owner-occupied housing.

(2) “Affordable housing tax credits” means the tax credit provided by
this subchapter.

2

(3) “Allocating agency” or “Agency” means the Vermont Housing
Finance Agency.

(4) “Committee” means the Joint Committee on Tax Credits consisting
of five members: a representative from the Department of Housing and
Community Affairs Development, the Vermont Housing and Conservation
Board, the Vermont Housing Finance Agency, the Vermont State Housing
Authority, and the Office of the Governor.

(5) “Credit certificate” means a certificate issued by the allocating
agency to a taxpayer that specifies the amount of affordable housing tax credits
that can be applied against the taxpayer’s individual or corporate income tax,
or franchise, captive insurance premium, or insurance premium tax liability as
provided in this subchapter.

(6)  “Eligible applicant” means any municipality, private—seetor
developer; State agency as defined in 10 V.S.A. § 6301a, the Vermont Housing
Finance Agency, er a for-profit organization, a nonprofit organization
qualifying under 26 U.S.C. § 501(c)(3), or a cooperative housing organization;




with-lower-income-on-a-perpetual-basis that meets the application requirements

of the allocation plan.

(7) “Eligible cash contribution” means an amount of cash:

(A) contributed to the owner, developer, or sponsor of an affordable
housing project and determined by the allocating agency as eligible for
affordable housing tax credits; or

(B) paid to the Agency in connection with the purchase of affordable
housing tax credits pursuant to subdivision (b)(2) or (3) of this section.

(8) “Section 42 credits” means tax credit provided by 26 U.S.C.
§§ 38 and 42.

(9) “Allocation plan” means the plan recommended by the Committee
and approved by the Vermont Housing Finance Agency, which sets forth the
eligibility requirements and process for selection of eligible multifamily rental
housing projects to receive affordable housing tax credits, and eligible owner-
occupied housing projects to receive loans, under this section. The allocation
plan shall include:

(A) requirements for creation and retention of affordable housing for
persons with low income; and

(B) requirements to ensure that eligible multifamily rental housing is
maintained as affordable by subsidy covenant, as defined in 27 V.S.A. § 610
on a perpetual basis, and that eligible owner-occupied housing or program
funds for owner-occupied housing remain as an affordable housing source for
future owners or buyers, and meets all other requirements of the Vermont
Housing Finance Agency related to affordable housing.

(10) “Taxpaver” means a taxpayver who makes an eligible cash
contribution or the assignee or transferee of, or successor to, the taxpayer as
determined by the Department of Taxes.

(b) Eligible tax credit allocations.

(1) Affordable housing credit allocation for multifamily rental housing.

(A) An eligible applicant may apply to the allocating agency for an
allocation of affordable housing tax credits under this section related to an
affordable multifamily rental housing project authorized by the allocating
agency under the allocation plan. In the case of a specific affordable
multifamily rental housing project, the eligible applicant shall also be the
owner or a person having the right to acquire ownership of the building and
shall apply prior to placement of the affordable housing project in service. In




forfuture-owners. The allocating agency shall issue a letter of approval if it
finds that the applicant meets the priorities, criteria, and other provisions of
subdivision (B) of this subdivision (b)(1). The burden of proof shall be on the
applicant.

(B) Upon receipt of a completed application, the allocating agency
shall award an allocation of affordable housing tax credits with respect to a
project to an applicant, provided the applicant demonstrates to the satisfaction
of the allocating agency all of the following:

(1) The owner of the project has received from the allocating
agency a binding commitment for, a reservation or allocation of, or an out-of-
cap determination letter for; Section 42 credits, or meets the requirements of
the allocation plan for development or financing of units to be owner-
occupied.

(i1) The project has received community support.

(2) Affordable housing credit allocation for loans or grants for owner-
occupied housing.

(A) The Vermont Housing Finance Agency shall have the authority
to allocate affordable housing tax credits to provide funds to make loans or
orants to eligible applicants for affordable owner-occupied housing. An
eligible applicant may apply to the allocating agency for a loan or grant under
this section related to an affordable owner-occupied housing project authorized
by the allocating agency under the allocation plan. In the case of a specific
affordable owner-occupied housing project, the eligible applicant shall also be
the owner or a person having the right to acquire ownership of the unit and
shall apply prior to the sale of the unit to the homeowner.

(B) The Agency shall require that the loan or grant recipient use such
funds to maintain the unit as an affordable owner-occupied unit or as an
affordable housing source for future owners or buyers.

(C) The Agency shall use the proceeds of loans or grants made under
subdivision (A) of this subdivision (b)(2) for future loans or grants to eligible
applicants for affordable owner-occupied housing projects.

(D) The Agency may assign its rights under any loan or grant made
under subdivision (A) of this subdivision (b)(2) to the Vermont Housing and
Conservation Board or any nonprofit organization qualifying under 26 U.S.C.
§ 501(c)(3) as long as such assignee acknowledges and agrees to comply with
the provisions of this subdivision (b)(2).

(3) Down Payment Assistance Program.

(A) The Vermont Housing Finance Agency shall have the authority
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to allocate affordable housing tax credits to finance down payment assistance
loans that meet the following requirements:

(1) the loan is made in connection with a mortgage through an
Agency program;

(i1) the borrower is a first-time homebuyer of an owner-occupied
primary residence; and

(ii1) the borrower uses the loan for the borrower’s down payment
or closing costs, or both.

(B) The Agency shall require the borrower to repay the loan upon the
transfer or refinance of the residence.

(C) The Agency shall use the proceeds of loans made under the
Program for future down payment assistance.

(c) Amount of credit. A taxpayer who-makes-an-eligible-cash-contribution

shall be entitled to claim against the taxpayer’s individual income, corporate,
franchise, captive insurance premium, or insurance premium tax liability a
credit in an amount specified on the taxpayer’s credit certificate. The first-
year allocation of a credit amount to a taxpayer shall also be deemed an
allocation of the same amount in each of the following four years.

(d) Availability of credit. The amount of affordable housing tax credit
allocated-with-respect-to-a-project provided on the taxpayer’s credit certificate
shall be available to the taxpayer every year for five consecutive tax years,
beginning with the tax year in which the eligible cash contribution is made.
Total tax credits available to the taxpayer shall be the amount of the first-year
allocation plus the succeeding four years’ deemed allocations.

(e) Claim for credit. A taxpayer claiming affordable housing tax credits
shall submit with each return on which such credit is claimed

aYals 0 oo ed ocat1io o—the ordable ho O nrole the

taxpayer’s credit certificate, and for credits issued under subdivision (b)(1) of
this section, a copy of the allocating agency’s credit allocation to the
affordable housing project. Any unused affordable housing tax credit may be
carried forward to reduce the taxpayer’s tax liability for ne not more than
14 succeeding tax years, following the first year the affordable housing tax
credit is allowed.

(f) [Repealed.]
(g)(1) In any fiscal year, the allocating agency may award up to:

(A) $400,000.00 in total first-year credit allocations to all applicants
for rental housing projects, for an aggregate limit of $2,000,000.00 over any
given five-year period that credits are available under this subdivision (A);
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(B) $300,000.00 in total first-year credit allocations for loans or
grants for owner-occupied unit financing or down payment loans as provided
in_subdivision (b)(2) of this section, consistent with the allocation plan,
including for new construction and manufactured housing, for an aggregate
limit of $1,500,000.00 over any given five-year period that credits are
available under this subdivision (B).

(2) In any fiscal year, total first-year credit allocations under subdivision
(1) of this subsection plus succeeding-year deemed allocations shall not exceed
$3,500,000.00.

(h)(1)(A) In fiscal year 2016 through fiscal year 2022 2018, the allocating
agency may award up to $125,000.00 in total first-year credit allocations for
loans through the Down Payment Assistance Program created in subdivision
(b))(3) of this section.

(B) In fiscal year 2019 through fiscal year 2022. the allocating
agency may award up to $250,000.00 in total first-year credit allocations for

loans through the Down Payment Assistance Program created in subdivision
(b)(3) of this section.

(C) In fiscal year 2023 through fiscal year 2025, the allocating
agency may award up to $125.000.00 in total first-year credit allocations for

loans through the Down Payment Assistance Program created in subdivision
(b)(3) of this section.

(2)(A) In any fiscal year 2016 through fiscal year 2018, total first-year
credit allocations under subdivision (1) of this subsection (h) plus succeeding-
year deemed allocations shall not exceed $625,000.00.

(B) In fiscal year 2019 through fiscal year 2022, total first-year credit
allocations under subdivision (1) of this subsection (h) plus succeeding-year
deemed allocations shall not exceed $1,250,000.00.

(C) In fiscal year 2023 through fiscal year 2025, total first-year credit
allocations under subdivision (1) of this subsection (h) plus succeeding-year
deemed allocations shall not exceed $625,000.00.

Sec. 4. EFFECTIVE DATE
This act shall take effect on July 1, 2018.
( Committee Vote: 11-0-0)

H. 780
An act relating to the inspection of amusement rides

Rep. Lawrence of Lyndon, for the Committee on Agriculture and
Forestry, recommends the bill be amended by striking all after the enacting
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clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:
Sec. 1. FINDINGS
The General Assembly finds that:

(1) Fairs are essential to the character, community life, and economy of
Vermont, and amusement rides help to increase fair attendance.

(2) Attendance at Vermont fairs exceeds 375,000 people a vear, and the
total budget for all Vermont fairs exceeds $7 million a year. Vermont fairs
generate over $85,000.00 of sales tax revenue per year.

(3) An inspection regime for amusement rides based upon standards that
are nationally recognized and used in other states will increase the safety of
fair rides and help ensure the continued popularity of Vermont fairs.

Sec. 2. 31 V.S.A. § 721 is amended to read:
§ 721. DEFINITIONS
As used in this chapter:

(1) “Amusement ride” means a portable mechanical device that carries
or conveys passengers along, around, or over a fixed or restricted route or
course for the purpose of giving the passengers amusement, pleasure, thrills, or
excitement. ition h is ¢h i he

(2) “Operator” or “owner” means a person who owns or controls or has
the duty to control the operation of amusement rides.

Sec. 3. 31 V.S.A. § 722 is amended to read:
§ 722. CERTIFICATE OF OPERATION

(a) An amusement ride may not be operated in this State unless the
Secretary—of-State Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets has issued a
certificate of operation to the owner or operator within the preceding
12 months.

(b) An application for a certificate of operation shall be submitted to the
Agency not fewer than 30 business days before an amusement ride is operated

- 833 -




in this State.

(c) The Seeretary-of State Agency shall issue a “certificate of operation”ne
not fewer later than 15 business days before the amusement ride is first

operated in the State, if the owner or operator submits all the following:

k %k %k

te)X(d) The certificate of operation shall be valid for one year from the date
of issue and shall be in a manner and format to be prescribed by the Agency.
A certificate of operation shall identify the ride’s:

(1) name and model;

(2) serial number;

(3) passenger capacity; and

(4) recommended maximum speed.

éd}(_) A copy of the certificate of operatlon shall be pested—en—er—near—eaeh

ttmes—dupmg—the—eperaﬁen—ef—the—ﬂde kept at the ofﬁce of the amusement r1de

operator.
(f) The Agency shall:

(1) determine the manner and format of the certificate of operation and
any forms to be used to apply for the certificate of operation;

(2) make any forms available on the Agency website;

(3) allow an owner or operator to apply for certificates of operation for
multiple rides at one time, using one form;

(4) charge one fee for the filing of each application form, regardless of
the number of rides listed on the application.

Sec. 4. 31 V.S.A. § 723a is added to read:
§ 723a. SAFETY INSPECTIONS

(a) A portable amusement ride shall not be operated in this State unless:

(1) The ride has been inspected in the State within the preceding
12 months by a person who is:

(A) certified:

(i) by the National Association of Amusement Ride Safety
Officials as a Level 11 Inspector;

(ii)) by the Amusement Industry Manufacturers and Suppliers
International at a level that is equivalent to the certification pursuant to
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subdivision (i) of this subsection (a); or

(ii1) in a manner that the Agency of Agriculture, Food and
Markets determines is equivalent to the certifications pursuant to subdivision
(1) or (i1) of this subsection (a); and

(B) not the owner or operator of the ride or an emplovee or agent of
the owner or operator.

2) The inspection complied with the applicable standards
determined by:

(A) the National Association of Amusement Ride Safety Officials;

(B) the Amusement Industry Manufacturers and Suppliers
International; or

(C) another organization that the Agency determines is equivalent to
the National Association of Amusement Ride Safety Officials or the
Amusement Industry Manufacturers and Suppliers International.

(3) A valid certificate of operation has been issued for the ride pursuant
to section 722 of this title.

(b) After a ride has been inspected pursuant to subsection (a) of this
section:

(1) The owner or operator shall submit the certificate or other record of
inspection to the Agency within 15 business days following the date of

inspection.

(2) An adhesive sticker shall be affixed to the ride or the ride shall be
stamped or otherwise marked in a manner that indicates:

(A) the date and location the inspection was completed; and

(B) the name of the inspector.

(¢) A ride shall be inspected by the owner or operator:

(1) after the ride has been set up but before being used to carry or
convey passengers; and

(2) every day thereafter that the ride is used to carry or convey
passengers.
(d) The owner or operator of an amusement ride shall:

(1) keep records of all safety inspections;

(2) make those records available to the Agency promptly upon
request; and
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(3) keep a paper or electronic copy of all safety inspections conducted
by the owner or operator during the preceding 12 months for each ride:

(A) on or near that ride; or

(B) at the office of the amusement ride operator.
Sec. 5. 31 V.S.A. § 723 is amended to read:
§ 723. OPERATIONS OPERATOR AND PATRON RESPONSIBILITIES

(a) An operator of an amusement ride shall:

(1) be at least 18 years of age;
(2) operate only one amusement ride at a time; and
(3) be in attendance at all times that the ride is operating; and

(4) exercise good judgement and act in a responsible and safe manner
while operating an amusement ride.

(b) An operator of an amusement ride may deny any person entrance to an
amusement ride if the operator believes that entrance by that person may
jeopardize the safety of the person or other persons.

(¢) A patron shall:

(1) understand that there are risks in riding an amusement ride;

(2) exercise good judgement and act in a responsible and safe manner
while riding an amusement ride; and

(3) obey all written and verbal warnings and directions from ride
operators or owners.

Sec. 6. EFFECTIVE DATE
This act shall take effect on July 1, 2019.
( Committee Vote: 11-0-0)

H. 802
An act relating to rural economic development infrastructure districts

Rep. Sheldon of Middlebury, for the Committee on Commerce and
Economic Development, recommends the bill be amended as follows:

Sec. 1. 24 V.S.A. § 5704 is amended to read:
§ 5704. GOVERNING BOARD; COMPOSITION; MEETINGS; REPORT

(a) Governing board. The legislative power and authority of a district and
the administration and the general supervision of all fiscal, prudential, and
governmental affairs of a district shall be vested in a governing board, except
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as otherwise specifically provided in this chapter.

(b) Composition. The first governing board of the district shall consist of
four-to-eight members appointed in equal numbers by the legislative bodies of
the underlying municipalities. It The board shall draft the district’s bylaws
specifying the size, composition, quorum requirements, and manner of
appointing and removing members to the permanent governing board,
including nonvoting, at-large board members. The bylaws shall require that a

¥ : h : § annually-by the legislative bodies of
the underlymg mumclpahtles appoint board members and fill board member
vacancies. Board members appointed by the underlying municipalities may
appoint additional, nonvoting, at-larege board members and fill at-large board
member vacancies. Board members, including at-laree members, are not
required to be residents of an underlying municipality. However, a majority of
the board shall be residents of an underlying municipality. Board members
shall serve staggered three-year terms; and shall be e11g1b1e to serve success1ve

large board members shall serve one-year terms, and shall be e11g1b1e to serve

successive terms. Any bylaws developed by the governing board under this
subsection shall be submitted for approval to the legislative bodies of the
municipalities within the district and shall be considered duly adopted 45 days
from after the date of submission, provided none of the legislative bodies
disapprove of the bylaws.

(c) First meeting. The first meeting of the district shall be called upon
30 days’ posted and published notice by a presiding officer of a legislative

body in Wthh the d1strlct is located. %ters%n—a—mm%em%m—wd&eh—the

1ts members a chair, vice chalr clerk, and treasurer. The board shall establish

the fiscal year of the district and shall adopt rules of parliamentary procedure.
Prior to assuming their offices, officers may be required to post bond in such
amounts as determined by resolution of the board. The cost of such bond shall
be borne by the district.

(d) Annual and special meetings. Unless otherwise established by the
voters, the annual district meeting shall be held on the second Monday in
January and shall be warned by the clerk or, in the clerk’s absence or neglect,
by a member of the board. Special meetings shall be warned in the same
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manner on application in writing by five percent of the voters of the district.
A warning for a district meeting shall state the business to be transacted. The
time and place of holding the meeting shall be posted in two or more public
places in the district not more than 40 days nor less than 30 days before the
meeting and recorded in the office of the clerk before the same is posted.

(e) Annual report. The district shall report annually to the legislative
bodies and the citizens of the municipalities in which the district is located on
the results of its activities in support of economic growth, job creation,
improved community efficiency, and any other benefits incident to its
activities.

(f) Definition. For purposes of this section and section 5709 of this
chapter, after a district has been established pursuant to section 5702 of this
chapter, “voter” means a board member or subscriber or customer of a service
provided by the district. “Voter” does not mean an at-large board member
unless the vote is taken at an annual or special meeting and the at-large board
member is a subscriber or customer of a service provided by the district.

Sec. 2. 24 V.S.A. § 5705 is amended to read:
§ 5705. OFFICERS

(a) Generally. The distriet board shall elect at its first meeting and at each
annual meeting thereafter a chair, vice chair, clerk, and treasurer, who shall
hold office until the next annual meeting and until others are elected. The
board may fill a vacancy in any office.

(b) Chair. The chair shall preside at all meetings of the board and make
and sign all contracts on behalf of the district upon approval by the board. The
chair shall perform all duties incident to the position and office as required by
the general laws of the State.

(c) Vice chair. During the absence of or inability of the chair to render or
perform his or her duties or exercise his or her powers, the same shall be
performed and exercised by the vice chair, and when so acting, the vice chair
shall have all the powers and be subject to all the responsibilities given to or
imposed upon the chair. During the absence or inability of the vice chair to
render or perform his or her duties or exercise his or her powers, the board
shall elect from among its members an acting vice chair who shall have the
powers and be subject to all the responsibilities given to or imposed upon the
vice chair.

(d) Clerk. The clerk shall keep a record of the meetings, votes, and
proceedings of the district for the inspection of its inhabitants.

(e) Treasurer. The treasurer of the district shall be appeinted elected by the
board; and shall serve at its pleasure. The treasurer shall have the exclusive
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charge and custody of the funds of the district and shall be the disbursing
officer of the district. When warrants are authorized by the board, the
treasurer may sign, make, or endorse in the name of the district all checks and
orders for the payment of money and pay out and disburse the same and
receipt therefor. The treasurer shall keep a record of every obligation issued
and contract entered into by the district and of every payment made. The
treasurer shall keep correct books of account of all the business and
transactions of the district and such other books and accounts as the board may
require. The treasurer shall render a statement of the condition of the finances
of the district at each regular meeting of the board and at such other times as
required of the treasurer. The treasurer shall prepare the annual financial
statement and the budget of the district for distribution, upon approval of the
board, to the legislative bodies of district members. Upon the treasurer’s
termination from office by virtue of removal or resignation, the treasurer shall
immediately pay over to his or her successor all of the funds belonging to the
district and at the same time deliver to the successor all official books and
papers.

Sec. 3. EFFECTIVE DATE
This act shall take effect on passage.
( Committee Vote: 11-0-0)

H. 831
An act relating to funding for an accelerated weatherization program

Rep. Howard of Rutland City, for the Committee on General; Housing;
and Military Affairs, recommends the bill be amended by striking all after the
enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. ACCELERATED WEATHERIZATION PROGRAM; STATE
TREASURER; FUNDING

(a) The General Assembly finds that, in addition to the weatherization
efforts provided under the Home Weatherization Assistance Program
established in 33 V.S.A. chapter 25, an increased pace of weatherization would
result in both environmental and economic benefits to the State. Accelerated
weatherization efforts will:

(1) decrease the emission of greenhouse gases: and

(2) increase job opportunities in the field of weatherization.

(b) In fiscal years 2019 and 2020, the State Treasurer is authorized to
invest up to $5,000,000.00 of funds from the credit facility established in 10
V.S.A. § 10 for an accelerated weatherization program, provided that the funds
shall be used to support weatherization efforts for households with a median
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family income that is not more than 120 percent of the statewide median
family income as reported by the Vermont Department of Taxes for the most
recent year for which data are available.

Sec. 2. EFFECTIVE DATE
This act shall take effect on July 1, 2018.
( Committee Vote: 9-0-2)

H. 854
An act relating to promoting television and film production

Rep. Sullivan of Dorset, for the Committee on Commerce and Economic
Development, recommends the bill be amended by striking all after the
enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT OPPORTUNITIES;
TELEVISION AND FILM PRODUCTION

The Department of Labor, in partnership with the Agency of Commerce
and Community Development and the Career Pathways Coordinator within the
Agency of Education, shall have the authority to explore means to expand and
encourage apprenticeship, CTE, Career Pathways, and continuing education
opportunities in television and film production. The Department and its
partners shall have the further authority to conduct outreach to middle school,
high school, and postsecondary students to gauge interest and need for
opportunities in this field.

Sec. 2. TELEVISION AND FILM PRODUCTION; RECRUITMENT
STRATEGY; IMPACT STATEMENT

On or before January 15, 2019, the Agency of Commerce and Community
Development shall consider and report to the House Committee on Commerce
and Economic Development and the Senate Committee on Economic
Development, Housing and General Affairs on a recommended strategy for
attracting television and film production activities to Vermont and include an
economic impact statement specifying potential revenues from increased
activities.

Sec. 3. EFFECTIVE DATE

This act shall take effect on passage.
( Committee Vote: 11-0-1)
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H. 856
An act relating to miscellaneous amendments to municipal law

Rep. LaClair of Barre Town, for the Committee on Government
Operations, recommends the bill be amended by striking all after the enacting
clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

* # * Municipal Elections and Appointments * * *
Sec. 1. 17 V.S.A. § 2651a is amended to read:
§ 2651a. CONSTABLES; APPOINTMENT; REMOVAL

(a)(1) A town may vote by Australian ballot at an annual meeting to
authorize the selectmen selectboard to appoint a first constable, and if needed a
second constable, in which case at least a first constable shall be appointed.

(2) A constable so appointed may be removed by the selectmen
selectboard for just cause after notice and hearing.

(3) When a town votes to authorize the selectmen selectboard to appoint
constables, the selectmen’s selectboard’s authority to make such appointments
shall remain in effect until the town rescinds that authority by the majority
vote of the legal registered voters present and voting at an annual meeting,
duly warned for that purpose.

(b) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (a) to the contrary, a vote
to authorize the selectmen selectboard to appoint constables shall become
effective only upon a two-thirds vote of those present and voting, if a written
protest against the authorization is filed with the legislative-body selectboard at
least 15 days before the vote by at least five percent of the voters of the

municipality town.

(c) The authority to authorize the selectboard to appoint the constable as
provided in this section shall extend to all towns except those that have a
charter that specifically provides for the election or appointment of the office
of constable.

Sec. 2. 17 V.S.A. § 2651b is amended to read:

§ 2651b. ELIMINATION OF OFFICE OF AUDITOR; APPOINTMENT OF
PUBLIC ACCOUNTANT

(a)(1) A town may vote by ballot at an annual meeting to eliminate the
office of town auditor.

(2)(A) If a town votes to eliminate the office of town auditor, the
selectboard shall contract with a public accountant; licensed in this State; to
perform an annual financial audit of all funds of the town except the funds
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audited pursuant to 16 V.S.A. § 323.

(B) Unless otherwise provided by law, the selectboard shall provide
for all other auditor auditor’s duties to be performed.

(3) A vote to eliminate the office of town auditor shall remain in effect
until rescinded by majority vote of the legal registered voters present and
voting, by ballot, at an annual meeting duly warned for that purpose.

(b) The term of office of any auditor in office on the date a town votes to
eliminate that office shall expire on the 45th day after such vote or on the date
upon which the selectboard enters into a contract with a public accountant
under this section, whichever occurs first.

(c) The authority to vote to eliminate the office of town auditor as provided
in this section shall extend to all towns except those towns that have a charter
that specifically provides for the election or appointment of the office of town
auditor.

Sec. 3. 17 V.S.A. § 2651c¢ is amended to  read:
§ 2651c. LACK OF ELECTED LISTER; APPOINTMENT OF LISTER;
ELIMINATION OF OFFICE

(a)(1) Notwithstanding any other provisions of law to the contrary and
except as provided in subsection (b) of this section, in the event the board of
listers of a munieipality town falls below a majority and the selectboard is
unable to find a person or persons to appoint as a lister or listers under the
provisions of 24 V.S.A. § 963, the selectboard may appoint an assessor to
perform the duties of a lister as set forth in Title 32 V.S-A-—chapter121;

subehapter2 until the next annual meeting.

(2) The appointed person need not be a resident of the municipality
town and shall have the same powers and be subject to the same duties and
penalties as a duly elected lister for the munieipality town.

(b)(1) A town may vote by ballot at an annual meeting to eliminate the
office of lister.

(2)(A) If a town votes to eliminate the office of lister, the selectboard
shall contract with or employ a professionally qualified assessor, who need not
be a resident of the town.

(B) The assessor shall have the same powers, discharge the same
duties, proceed in the discharge thereof in the same manner, and be subject to
the same liabilities as are prescribed for listers or the board of listers under the
provisions of Title 32.

2)(3) A vote to eliminate the office of lister shall remain in effect until
rescinded by majority vote of the legal registered voters present and voting at
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an annual meeting warned for that purpose.

3)(c) The term of office of any lister in office on the date a town votes
to eliminate that office shall expire on the 45th day after the vote or on the date
upon which the selectboard appoints an assessor under this subsection,
whichever occurs first.

4)(d) The authority to vote to eliminate the office of lister as provided
in this subsection section shall extend to all towns except those towns that have
a charter that specifically provides for the election or appointment of the office
of lister.

Sec. 4. 17 V.S.A. § 2651d is amended to read:

§ 2651d. COLLECTOR OF DELINQUENT TAXES; APPOINTMENT;
REMOVAL

(a)(1) A municipality may vote at an annual or special municipal meeting
to authorize the legislative body to appoint a collector of delinquent taxes, who
may be the municipal treasurer.

(2) A collector of delinquent taxes so appointed may be removed by the
legislative body for just cause after notice and hearing.

(b) When a municipality votes to authorize the legislative body to appoint a
collector of delinquent taxes, the legislative body’s authority to make such
appointment shall remain in effect until the municipality rescinds that authority
by the majority vote of the legal registered voters present and voting at an
annual or special meeting, duly warned for that purpose.

Sec. 5. 17 V.S.A. § 2651e is amended to read:
§ 2651e. MUNICIPAL CLERK; APPOINTMENT; REMOVAL

(a)(1) A municipality may vote at an annual meeting to authorize the
legislative body to appoint the municipal clerk.

(2) A municipal clerk so appointed may be removed by the legislative
body for just cause after notice and hearing.

(b) A vote to authorize the legislative body to appoint the municipal clerk
shall remain in effect until rescinded by the majority vote of the legal
registered voters present and voting at an annual or special meeting, duly
warned for that purpose.

(c) The term of office of a municipal clerk in office on the date a
municipality votes to allow the legislative body to appoint a municipal clerk
shall expire 45 calendar days after the vote or on the date upon which the
legislative body appoints a municipal clerk under this section, whichever
occurs first, unless a petition for reconsideration or rescission is filed in
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accordance with section 2661 of this title.

(d) The authority to authorize the legislative body to appoint the municipal
clerk as provided in this section shall extend to all municipalities except those
that have a charter that specifically provides for the election or appointment of
the office of municipal clerk.

Sec. 6. 17 V.S.A. § 2651f is amended to read:
§ 2651f. MUNICIPAL TREASURER; APPOINTMENT; REMOVAL

(a)(1) A municipality may vote at an annual meeting to authorize the
legislative body to appoint the municipal treasurer.

(2) A treasurer so appointed may be removed by the legislative body for
just cause after notice and hearing.

(b) A vote to authorize the legislative body to appoint the treasurer shall
remain in effect until rescinded by the majority vote of the legal registered
voters present and voting at an annual or special meeting, duly warned for that

purpose.

(c) The term of office of a treasurer in office on the date a municipality
votes to allow the legislative body to appoint a treasurer shall expire 45
calendar days after the vote or on the date upon which the legislative body
appoints a treasurer under this section, whichever occurs first, unless a petition
for reconsideration or rescission is filed in accordance with section 2661 of
this title.

(d) The authority to authorize the legislative body to appoint the treasurer
as provided in this section shall extend to all municipalities except those that
have a charter that specifically provides for the election or appointment of the
office of municipal treasurer.

* * * Local Incompatible Offices * * *
Sec. 7. 17 V.S.A. § 2647 is amended to read:
§ 2647. INCOMPATIBLE OFFICES

(a)(1) An auditor shall not be town clerk, town treasurer, selectboard
member, first constable, collector of current or delinquent taxes, trustee of
public funds, town manager, road commissioner, water commissioner, sewage
system commissioner, sewage disposal commissioner, cemetery commissioner,
or town district school director; nor shall a spouse of or any person assisting
any of these officers in the discharge of official duties be eligible to hold office
as auditor.

(2) A selectboard member or school director shall not be first constable,
collector of taxes, town treasurer, assistant town treasurer, auditor, or town
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agent. A selectboard member shall not be lister or assessor.

(3) A cemetery commissioner or library trustee shall not be town
treasurer, assistant town treasurer, or auditor.

(4) A town manager shall not hold any elective office in the that town or
town school district.

(5) Election officers at local elections shall be disqualified as provided
in section 2456 of this title.

% sk ok
* # * Smoking on Municipal Grounds * * *
Sec. 8. 18 V.S.A. § 1742 is amended to read:
§ 1742. RESTRICTIONS ON SMOKING IN PUBLIC PLACES

(a) The possession of lighted tobacco products or use of tobacco substitutes
in any form is prohibited in:
(1) the common areas of all enclosed indoor places of public access and
publicly owned buildings and offices;

(2) all enclosed indoor places in lodging establishments used for
transient traveling or public vacationing, such as resorts, hotels, and motels,
including sleeping quarters and adjoining rooms rented to guests;

(3) designated smoke-free areas of property or grounds owned by or
leased to the State or a municipality; and

(4) any other area within 25 feet of State-owned buildings and offices,
except that to the extent that any portion of the 25-foot zone is not on State
property, smoking is prohibited only in that portion of the zone that is on State
property unless the owner of the adjoining property chooses to designate his or
her property smoke-free.

k %k %k

* % * Animal Pounds * * *
Sec. 9. 20 V.S.A. chapter 191, subchapter 2 is amended to read:
Subchapter 2. Pounds and Impounding
Article 1. General Provisions
§ 3381. MAINTENANCE OF POUNDS

(a)(1) Each organized town shall maintain as many good and sufficient
pounds as it may need for the impounding of beasts animals liable to be
impounded.
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(2) The pound may be kept in an adjacent town if the adjacent town
consents and the poundkeeper may be a resident of an adjacent town.

(b) Each town may regulate the operation of its pounds except as to matters
regulated by statute law.

shall be fined $30.00. [Repealed.]

Sec. 10. LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL; CONFORMING REVISIONS;
20 V.S.A. CHAPTER 191, SUBCHAPTER 2; REPLACE “BEAST”

WITH “ANIMAL”

When preparing the Vermont Statutes Annotated for publication, the Office
of Legislative Council shall replace “beast” with “animal” and “beasts” with
“animals” throughout 20 V.S.A. chapter 191, subchapter 2 (pounds and
impounding), provided the revisions have no other effect on the meaning of
the affected statutes.

* % * Agsistant Town Clerks * * *
Sec. 11. 24 V.S.A. § 1171 is amended to read:
§ 1171. DUTIES OF ASSISTANT CLERK

(a) Sueh The assistant clerk shall be sworn and is authorized to perform the
recording and filing duties of the town clerk, to issue licenses and certified
copies of records, and, in the absence, death, or disability of the town clerk, is
further authorized to perform all other duties of such the clerk.

(b) If the there is a vacancy in the office of town clerk dies, the authority of
the assistant town clerk to perform the duties of the town clerk shall continue
until a successor is appointed by the selectboard under section 963 of this title.

* # * Municipal Managers * * *
Sec. 12. 24 V.S.A. § 1236 is amended to read:
§ 1236. POWERS AND DUTIES IN PARTICULAR
The manager shall have authority and it shall be his or her duty:

(4) To have charge and superv151on of all pubhc town bulldlngs- and
repairs thereon, an o

%qms;—&en—ef—the—seheel—d—n&ee&eﬁs— and all bulldlng dene undertaken by the
town er-town-schoel-district, unless otherwise speeially—wvoted provided for by
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the selectboard, shall be done under his or her charge and supervision.

k %k %k

(8) To supervise and expend all special appropriations of the town, as if
the same were a separate department of the town, unless otherwise wvoted
provided for by the tewn selectboard.

% sk ok
* # * Municipal Finances * * *
Sec. 13. 24 V.S.A. chapter 51 is amended to read:
CHAPTER 51. FINANCES; ACCOUNTS AND AUDITS
Subchapter 1. Taxes
% sk ok
§ 1533. TOWN BOARD FOR THE ABATEMENT OF TAXES

(a) The board of civil authority, with the listers and the town treasurer,
shall constitute a board for the abatement of town;,—tewn-school-distriet; and
current-use property taxes and water and sewer charges.

(b) The act of a majority of a quorum at a meeting shall be treated as the
act of the board. This quorum requirement need not be met if the town
treasurer, a majority of the listers, and a majority of the selectboard are present
at the meeting.

§ 1535. ABATEMENT

(a) The board may abate in whole or part taxes, water charges, sewer
charges, interest, or and collection fees, other than those arising out of a
corrected classification of homestead or nonresidential property, accruing to
the town in the following cases:

(1) taxes or charges of persons who have died insolvent;
(2) taxes or charges of persons who have removed from the State;

(3) taxes or charges of persons who are unable to pay their taxes or
charges, interest, and collection fees;

(4) taxes in which there is manifest error or a mistake of the listers;

(5) taxes or charges upon real or personal property lost or destroyed
during the tax year;

(6) the exemption amount available under 32 V.S.A. § 3802(11) to
persons otherwise eligible for exemption who file a claim on or after May 1
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but before October 1 due to the claimant’s sickness or disability or other good
cause as determined by the board of abatement; but that exemption amount
shall be reduced by 20 percent of the total exemption for each month or
portion of a month the claim is late filed;

(7), (8) [Repealed.]

(9) taxes or charges upon a mobile home moved from the town during
the tax year as a result of a change in use of the mobile home park land or
parts thereof; or closure of the mobile home park in which the mobile home
was sited, pursuant to 10 V.S.A. § 6237.

(b) The board’s abatement of an amount of tax or charge shall
automatically abate any uncollected interest and fees relating to that amount.

(c) The board shall, in any case in which it abates taxes or charges, interest,
or collection fees accruing to the town; or denies an application for abatement,
state in detail in writing the reasons for its decision.

(d)(1) The board may order that any abatement as to an amount or amounts
already paid be in the form of a refund or in the form of a credit against the tax
or charge for the next ensuing tax year; or charge billing cycle and for
succeeding tax years or billing cycles if required to use up the amount of the
credit.

(2) Whenever a municipality votes to collect interest on overdue taxes
pursuant to 32 V.S.A. § 5136, interest in a like amount shall be paid by the
municipality to any person for whom an abatement has been ordered.

(3) Interest on taxes or charges paid and subsequently abated shall
accrue from the date payment was due or made, whichever is later. However,
abatements issued pursuant to subdivision (a)(5) of this section need not
include the payment of interest.

(4) When a refund has been ordered, the board shall draw an order on
the town treasurer for sueh payment of the refund.

% %k %k

Subchapter 3. Orders Drawn by Seleetboard Municipal Bodies

k %k %k

§ 1622. TOWN ORDERS; RECORD

(a)(1) The chair of the selectboard shall keep or cause to be kept a single
record of all orders drawn by the board showing the number, date, to whom
payable, for what purpose, and the amount of each such order.

(2) All other officers authorized by law to draw orders upon the town
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treasurer shall keep or cause to be kept a like record.

(b) Such records shall be submitted to the town auditors annually on or
before February 1.

(c) If the records of orders named in this section are made by an assistant
clerk, the assistant clerk shall not be the town treasurer; or the wife-or-husband
spouse of such the town treasurer; or any person acting in the capacity of clerk
for the town treasurer.

§ 1623. SIGNING ORDERS
(a) The selectboard may do either of the following:

(1) Authorize one or more members of the board to examine and allow
claims against the town for town expenses and draw orders for such claims to
the party entitled to payment.

(A) Orders shall state definitely the purpose for which they-are each
is drawn and shall serve as full authority to the treasurer to make the payments.

(B) The selectboard shall be provided with a record of orders drawn
under this subdivision (1) whenever orders are signed by less than a majority
of the board;-er.

(2) Submit to the town treasurer a certified copy of those portions of the
selectboard minutes, properly signed by the clerk and chair or by a majority of
the board, showing to whom and for what purpose each payment is to be made
by the treasurer. The certified copy of the minutes shall serve as full authority
to the treasurer to make the approved payments.

(b) This section shall apply to all municipal public bodies authorized by
law to draw orders on the municipal treasurer.

% %k %k

Subchapter. 5. Auditors and Audits
% sk ok
§ 1684. TRUST ASSETS; INDEBTEDNESS
The auditors shall make a detailed statement showing:

(1) The the condition of all trust funds in which the town is interested
with and a list of the assets of such funds, including the account of receipts and
disbursements for the preceding year;

(2) What what bonds of the town ertewn-school-district are outstanding
with and the rate of interest and the amount thereof; and

(3) What-interest-bearing what interest-bearing notes or orders of the
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town er-town-school-distriet are outstanding with and the serial number, date,
amount, payee, and rate of interest of each; and the total amount thereof.

* # * Penalties for Municipal Violations * * *
Sec. 14. 24 V.S.A. § 1974 is amended to read:
§ 1974. ENFORCEMENT OF CRIMINAL ORDINANCES

(a)(1) The violation of a criminal ordinance or rule adopted by a
municipality under this chapter shall be a misdemeanor.

(2) The criminal ordinance or rule may provide for a fine or
imprisonment, but no fine may shall exceed $500-00 $800.00, nor may any
term of imprisonment exceed one year.

(3) Each day the violation continues shall constitute a separate offense.

k %k %k

Sec. 15. 24 V.S.A. § 2201 is amended to read:

§ 2201. THROWING, DEPOSITING, BURNING, AND DUMPING
REFUSE; PENALTY; SUMMONS AND COMPLAINT

(a)(1) Prohibition. Every person shall be responsible for proper disposal of
his or her own solid waste. A person shall not throw, dump, deposit, or cause;
or permit to be thrown, dumped, or deposited any solid waste as defined in
10 V.S.A. § 6602, refuse of whatever nature, or any noxious thing in or on
lands or waters of the State outside a solid waste management facility certified
by the Agency of Natural Resources.

% %k %k

(b) Prosecution of violations. A person who violates a provision of this
section commits a civil violation and shall be subject to a civil penalty of not
more than $500.00 $800.00.

(1) This violation shall be enforceable in the Judicial Bureau pursuant to
the provisions of 4 V.S.A. chapter 29 in an action that may be brought by a
municipal attorney, a solid waste management district attorney, an
environmental enforcement officer employed by the Agency of Natural
Resources, a grand juror, er a designee of the legislative body of the
municipality, or by any duly authorized law enforcement officer.

(2) If the throwing, placing, or depositing was done from a snowmobile,
vessel, or motor vehicle, except a motor bus, there shall be a rebuttable
presumption that the throwing, placing, or depositing was done by the operator
of such the snowmobile, vessel, or motor vehicle.

(3) Nothing in this section shall be construed as affecting the operation
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of an automobile graveyard or salvage yard as defined in section 2241 of this
title, nor shall anything in this section be construed as prohibiting the
installation and use of appropriate receptacles for solid waste provided by the
State or towns.

k %k %k

Sec. 16. 24 V.S.A. § 2297a is amended to read:

§ 2297a. ENFORCEMENT OF SOLID WASTE ORDINANCE BY TOWN,
CITY, OR INCORPORATED VILLAGE

(a) Solid waste order. A legislative body may issue and enforce a solid
waste order in accordance with this section. A solid waste order may include a
directive that the respondent take actions necessary to achieve compliance with
the ordinance, to abate hazards created as a result of noncompliance, or to
restore the environment to the condition existing before the violation and may
include a civil penalty of not more than $500-00 $800.00 for each violation
and in the case of a continuing violation, not more than $100.00 for each
succeeding day. In determining the amount of civil penalty to be ordered, the
legislative body shall consider the following:

(1) the degree of actual or potential impact on public health, safety,
welfare, and the environment resulting from the violation;

(2) whether the respondent has cured the violation;
(3) the presence of mitigating circumstances;

(4) whether the respondent knew or had reason to know the violation
existed;

(5) the respondent’s record of compliance;

(6) the economic benefit gained from the violation;
(7) the deterrent effect of the penalty;

(8) the costs of enforcement;

(9) the length of time the violation has existed.

% %k %k

(e) Contents of proposed order. A proposed order shall include:

k %k %k

(5) if applicable, a civil penalty of not more than $500.00 $800.00 for
each violation and in the case of a continuing violation, not more than $100.00
for each succeeding day.

* # * Road Commissioner Compensation * * *
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Sec. 17. 32 V.S.A. § 1225 is amended to read:
§ 1225. TOWN ROAD COMMISSIONER

The compensation of a town road commissioner shall be fixed by the

* * * Property Appraisal Appeals * * *
Sec. 18. 32 V.S.A. § 4404 is amended to read:

§ 4404. APPEALS FROM LISTERS AS TO GRAND LIST

(a) Within 14 days after the date of notice thereof, a person aggrieved by
the final decision of the listers under the provisions of section 4221 of this
title; may appeal in writing therefrom to the board of civil authority, by
lodging his or her appeal with the town clerk, who shall record the same in the
book containing the abstract of individual lists. The grounds upon which such
the appeal is based shall therein be briefly set forth.

(b)(1) The town clerk forthwith shall call a meeting of the board to hear
and determine such appeals, which shall be held at such a time, not later than
14 days after the last date allowed for notice of appeal, and at such a place
within the town as that he or she shall designate.

(2) Notice of such the time and place shall be given by posting a
warning therefor in three or more public places in sueh the town; and by
mailing a copy of such the warning, postage prepaid, to each member of the
board, the agent of the town to prosecute and defend suits, the chair of the
board of listers, and te all persons so appealing.

(c)(1) The Beard board shall meet at the time and place so designated, and
on that day and from day to day thereafter shall hear and determine sueh the
appeals until all questions and objections are heard and decided.

(2)(A) Each property, the appraisal of which is being appealed, shall be
inspected by a committee of not less than three members of the board whe. At
least one lister shall be allowed to attend the inspection. The committee shall
report to the board within 30 days from the hearing on the appeal and before
the final decision pertaining to the property is given.

(B) If, after notice, the appellant refuses to allow an inspection of the
property or attendance of at least one lister as required under this subsection,
including the interior and exterior of any structure on the property, the appeal
shall be deemed withdrawn.

(3) The board shall, within 15 days from the time of the report, certify
in writing its notice of decision, with reasons, in the premises, and shall file
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suech the notice with the town clerk, who shall thereupon record the same in the
book wherein the appeal was recorded and forthwith notify the appellant in
writing of the action of such the board, by certified mail.

(4)(A) If the board does not substantially comply with the requirements
of this subsection and if the appeal is not withdrawn by filing written notice of
withdrawal with the board or deemed withdrawn as provided in this
subsection, the grand list of the appellant for the year for which appeal is being
made shall remain at the amount set before the appealed change was made by
the listers; except, if there has been a complete reappraisal, the grand list of the
appellant for the year for which appeal is being made shall be set at a value
which that will produce a tax liability equal to the tax liability for the
preceding year.

(B) The town clerk shall immediately record the same in the book
wherein the appeal was recorded and forthwith notify the appellant in writing
of sueh the action, by certified mail. Thereupon the appraisal so determined
pursuant to this subsection shall become a part of the grand list of such person.

(d) Listers and agents to prosecute and defend suits wherein a town is
interested shall not be eligible to serve as members of the board while
convened to hear and determine such those appeals nor shall an appellant; or
his or her servant, agent, or attorney be eligible to serve as a member of the
Beard board while convened to hear and determine any appeals. However,
listers and agents to prosecute and defend suits wherein a town is interested
shall be given the opportunity to defend the appraisals in question.

* # * State Holidays * * *
Sec. 19. 1 V.S.A. § 371 is amended to read:
§ 371. LEGAL HOLIDAYS
(a) The following shall be legal holidays:
New Year’s Day, January 1;
Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Birthday, the third Monday in January;

> .
5 >

Washington’s-Birthday Presidents’ Day, the third Monday in February;
Town Meeting Day, the first Tuesday in March;

Memorial Day, the last Monday in May;
Independence Day, July 4;
Bennington Battle Day, August 16;

Labor Day, the first Monday in September;
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Columbus Day, the second Monday in October;
Veterans’ Day, November 11;
Thanksgiving Day, the fourth Thursday in November;
Christmas Day, December 25.
% sk ok
* * * Effective Date * * *
Sec. 20. EFFECTIVE DATE
This act shall take effect on July 1, 2018.
( Committee Vote: 10-0-1)

H. 874
An act relating to inmate access to prescription drugs

Rep. Taylor of Colchester, for the Committee on Corrections and
Institutions, recommends the bill be amended by striking all after the enacting
clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 28 V.S.A. § 801 is amended to read:
§ 801. MEDICAL CARE OF INMATES

k %k %k

(e)(1) Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, an offender who is
admitted to a correctional facility while under the medical care of a licensed
physician, a licensed physician assistant, or a licensed advanced practice
registered nurse;-or-a-licensed-nurse-practitioner and who is taking medication
at the time of admission pursuant to a valid prescription as verified by the
inmate’s pharmacy of record, primary care provider, other licensed care
provider, or as verified by the Vermont Prescription Monitoring System or
other prescription monitoring or information system shall be entitled to
continue that medication and to be provided that medication by the
Department pending an evaluation by a licensed physician, a licensed

physician assistant, a—licensed-—nurse—practitioner; or a licensed advanced

practice registered nurse.

(2) Hewever; Notwithstanding subdivision (e)(1) of this section, the
Department may defer provision of a validly prescribed medication in
accordance with this subsection if, in the clinical judgment of a licensed
physician, a physician assistant,—a-nurse-practitioner, or an advanced practice
registered nurse, it is not in the inmate’s best interest interests to continue the
medication at that time.
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(3) The licensed practitioner who makes the clinical judgment to
discontinue a medication shall enter cause the reason for the discontinuance to
be entered into the inmate’s permanent medical record, specifically stating the
reason for the discontinuance. If the inmate provides a signed release of
information, the Department shall follow up in writing with the practitioner
who prescribed the medication to notify him or her of the decision. The
inmate shall also be provided with a specific explanation of the decision, both
orally and in writing.

(4) It is not the intent of the General Assembly that this subsection shall
create a new or additional private right of action.

k %k %k

Sec. 2. DATA COLLECTION

(a) The Department of Corrections shall collect information on: how often
a medication for which an inmate has a valid prescription is continued or
discontinued upon incarceration at each correctional facility, the name of the
medication, and the reason for discontinuance.

(b) The Department shall collect this information for a period of at least six
months and provide a written report of its findings based on the data collected,
including a breakdown by correctional facility of record, to the House
Committee on Corrections and Institutions and the Senate Committee on
Institutions on or before January 31, 2019. Prior to finalizing the report, the
Department shall consult with the Prisoners’ Rights Office and Disability
Rights Vermont.

(¢) Nothing in this section shall require the Department to reveal
individually identifiable health information in violation of State or federal law.

Sec. 3. EFFECTIVE DATES

(a) This section and Sec. 2 shall take effect on passage.
(b) Sec. 1 shall take effect on July 1, 2018.
( Committee Vote: 9-0-2)

Favorable
H. 771
An act relating to the Vermont National Guard

Rep. Fields of Bennington, for the Committee on General; Housing; and
Military Affairs, recommends the bill ought to pass.

( Committee Vote: 9-0-2)
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H. 894

An act relating to pensions, retirement, and setting the contribution rates for
municipal employees.

(Rep. Devereux of Mount Holly will speak for the Committee on
Government Operations.)

Rep. Lucke of Hartford, for the Committee on Ways and Means,
recommends the bill ought to pass.

(Committee Vote: 11-0-0)
Senate Proposal of Amendment
H. 150
An act relating to parole eligibility
The Senate proposes to the House to amend the bill as follows:

In Sec. 3 (EFFECTIVE DATE), by striking out the following: “2017” and
inserting in lieu thereof the following: 2018

(For text see House Journal April 18, 2017)
Ordered to Lie
H. 167

An act relating to alternative approaches to addressing low-level illicit drug
use.

Pending Question: Shall the House concur in the Senate Proposal of
Amendment?

H. 219
An act relating to the Vermont spaying and neutering program.

Pending Question: Shall the House concur in the Senate Proposal of
Amendment?

S. 103

An act relating to the regulation of toxic substances and hazardous
materials.

Pending Question: Shall the House concur in the Senate proposal of
amendment to the House proposal of amendment??

Consent Calendar
Concurrent Resolutions

The following concurrent resolutions have been introduced for approval by
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the Senate and House and will be adopted automatically unless a Senator or
Representative requests floor consideration before the end of the session of the
next legislative day. Requests for floor consideration in either chamber should
be communicated to the Secretary’s office and/or the House Clerk’s office,
respectively. For text of resolutions, see Addendum to House Calendar and
Senate Calendar.

H.C.R. 261

House concurrent resolution in memory of Guildhall civic leader Richard
William Martin

H.C.R. 262

House concurrent resolution honoring Ludlow Municipal Manager Francis J.
Heald

H.C.R. 263

House concurrent resolution congratulating the Mount Holly Community
Historical Museum on celebrating its 50th Anniversary

H.C.R. 264

House concurrent resolution designating the week of May 612, 2018 as
Teacher Appreciation Week in Vermont

H.C.R. 265

House concurrent resolution designating Thursday, March 1, 2018 as Vermont
Coalition of Runaway and Homeless Youth Programs and Vermont Youth
Development Program Awareness Day

H.C.R. 266

House concurrent resolution congratulating the Robb Family Farm in West
Brattleboro on its 110th anniversary

H.C.R. 267

House concurrent resolution honoring Donna Fitch for her outstanding
municipal public service in the Town of Calais

H.C.R. 268

House concurrent resolution honoring H. Kent Wright III for his civic
engagement in the town of Bridport

H.C.R. 269

House concurrent resolution in memory of former Representative and
Rockingham Town Moderator Michael P. Harty
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H.C.R. 270

House concurrent resolution honoring Alan Curler of New Haven for his
outstanding civic service

H.C.R. 271

House concurrent resolution in memory of former Mendon Town Clerk Helen
Ruth Johnson Lawrence

Information Notice
CROSS OVER DATES

The Joint Rules Committee established the following Crossover deadlines:

(1) All House bills must be reported out of the last committee of reference
including the Committees on Appropriations and Ways and Means, except as
provided below in (2) on or before Friday, March 2, 2018, and filed with the
Clerk so they may be placed on the Calendar for Notice the next legislative
day.

(2) All House bills referred pursuant to House Rule 35(a) to the
Committees on Appropriations and Ways and Means must be reported out by
the last of those committees on or before Friday, March 16, 2018, and filed
with the Clerk so they may be placed on the Calendar for Notice the next
legislative day.
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