No. R-390. House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2018 Mount St. Joseph Academy Mounties on winning a fourth consecutive Division IV girls' basketball championship.

(H.C.R.316)

Offered by: Representatives Howard of Rutland City, Cupoli of Rutland City, Fagan of Rutland City, Gage of Rutland City, Harrison of Chittenden, Terenzini of Rutland Town, Canfield of Fair Haven, Chesnut-Tangerman of Middletown Springs, Devereux of Mount Holly, McCoy of Poultney, Potter of Clarendon, and Shaw of Pittsford

Offered by: Senators Collamore, Flory, and Soucy

Whereas, Mount St. Joseph Academy takes great pride in its girls' basketball team, the Division IV title holders in 2015–2017, and

Whereas, the Mounties opened the 2017–2018 season prepared to extend their impressive championship streak, and

Whereas, the second-seeded Mounties were victorious in each succeeding playoff round, returning to the Barre Auditorium for the season's grand finale and a contest against a surprising opponent, the seventh-seeded Blue Mountain Union High School Bucks, and

Whereas, the Mounties' command of the game was apparent as they employed a powerful defensive strategy that resulted in a 20–11 halftime score, an advantage that secured an impressive 39–21 victory and a fourth consecutive Division IV championship, and

Whereas, Mounties Kristen Elliott, Emily Rappeno, Julia Lee, Sophie Markowski, Tori Tracy, Miracle Wood, Lyndsey Elms, Angela Perry, Sophia Tedesco, Ella Paquin, Lucy Gallo, and Selina Wilbur completed another great basketball season, and

Whereas, Head Coach Bill Bruso and assistant coaches Aaron Eaton, GJ Garrow, Rob Harvey, and Dan Elliott were proud of the team's efforts, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2018 Mount St. Joseph Academy Mounties on winning a fourth consecutive Division IV girls' basketball championship, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Mount St. Joseph Academy.