2017

Page 1 of 1

No. R-128. House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2017 Vermont Comcast Scholars.

(H.C.R.98)

Offered by: Representatives Johnson of South Hero, Beyor of Highgate, Bock of Chester, Brennan of Colchester, Browning of Arlington, Condon of Colchester, Dakin of Colchester, Emmons of Springfield, Forguites of Springfield, Frenier of Chelsea, Graham of Williamstown, Jessup of Middlesex, Keefe of Manchester, Kimbell of Woodstock, Nolan of Morristown, Pearce of Richford, Potter of Clarendon, Tate of Mendon, Taylor of Colchester, and Yacovone of Morristown

Whereas, the Comcast Corporation annually sponsors the Leaders and Achievers Scholarship program (Comcast Scholarships), and

Whereas, the philosophy of this scholarship program is to provide high school seniors every opportunity to prepare for the future and to engage in their local communities, and

Whereas, in financing these scholarships, the Comcast Corporation is emphasizing the importance of civic participation and its importance for the business community, and

Whereas, these scholarships are designed to help support the academic aspirations of students who are striving to achieve their full potential and are catalysts for positive changes in their communities, and

Whereas, each of the award recipients is actively involved in curriculum-based and extracurricular activities offered at their local schools, and

Whereas, these students serve as outstanding models for their peers, and

Whereas, since 2007, the Comcast Corporation has awarded nearly \$200,000.00 worth of Comcast Scholarships to 145 Vermont students, and

Whereas, in 2017, Comcast Scholarships nationally will total more than \$2 million, and over 2,000 students will benefit from these distinguished awards, and

Whereas, the 2017 scholarship recipients and their respective high schools are Reia Ashikawa (Arlington Memorial High School), Brieonna Bassette (Randolph Technical Career Center), Jason Drebber (Woodstock Union High School), Reilly Duggan (Proctor High School), Jillian Flanders (Otter Valley Union High School), Rachel Gervais (Colchester High School), Danielle Marasa (Springfield High School), McKenna Montminy (Peoples Academy), Lauren Morse (U-32 High School), Brooke Raiche (West Rutland School), Haeli Warren (South Burlington High School), and Megan Wetherby (Richford High School), and

Whereas, all of these outstanding high school seniors are worthy recipients of this special honor and will be recognized in a ceremony to be held on March 30, 2017 at the State House, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2017 Vermont Comcast Scholars, and be it further

Resolved: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to each student honored in this resolution.