No. R-121. House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2017 Rutland High School Raiders Division I boys' basketball championship team.

(H.C.R.91)

Offered by: Representatives Fagan of Rutland City, Cupoli of Rutland City, Gage of Rutland City, Howard of Rutland City, Terenzini of Rutland Town, Burditt of West Rutland, Canfield of Fair Haven, Potter of Clarendon, and Tate of Mendon

Offered by: Senators Collamore, Flory, and Mullin

Whereas, half a century had passed since the Rutland High School Raiders boys' basketball team had won a divisional championship, a date long preceding the birth of the current players and that of many faculty members, and

Whereas, after a New Year's Eve loss, the Raiders remained undefeated for the balance of the season, and

Whereas, interestingly, Rutland secured a Division I championship game berth against Champlain Valley Union High School (CVU), the last team to have outscored the Raiders this season, and

Whereas, in the exciting final contest at Patrick Gymnasium in Burlington, CVU opened the scoring, but the Raiders bounced back to a 15–14 halftime lead and patiently commanded a tie-breaking overtime period to emerge with an historic 43–37 game victory and a most memorable Division I championship, and

<u>Whereas</u>, this extraordinary Raider team consisted of Matt Lorman, Jack Morgan, Kyle Cassarino, Noah Tyson, Brendan Crossman, Tyrell Johnson, Jared Miglorie, Jamison Evans, Andrew Ristaino, Jimmy Mee, Keegan Bliss, Nathaniel Kingsley, Ean Kearney, and Jared Nelson, and

Whereas, Head Coach Michael Wood and Assistant Coach TJ Sabotka each earned his place in the school's athletic history book, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2017 Rutland High School Raiders Division I boys' basketball championship team, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Rutland High School.