R-8 (Special Session) 2018

No. R-8 (Special Session). House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2018 Essex High School Hornets Division I championship softball team.

(H.C.R.7)

Offered by: Representatives Myers of Essex, Bancroft of Westford, Dunn of Essex, Giambatista of Essex, and Houghton of Essex

<u>Whereas</u>, having rotated Division I softball championships over the prior two years, the top-seeded and undefeated Essex High School Hornets were hardly surprised to be facing the second-ranked and defending champion Division I Mount Anthony Union High School Patriots at Castleton University's Spartan Stadium for the 2018 title, and

<u>Whereas</u>, the game featured strong defensive play and outstanding pitching, including the Hornets pitcher's completion of the entire game, and

<u>Whereas</u>, the Hornets broke a 1–all tie with a fifth-inning, two-run homer; the Patriots narrowed the score to 3-2 in the seventh inning, but Essex persevered to win the game and bring home the 2018 championship, and

<u>Whereas</u>, the victorious Hornets' roster featured Erin Mulcahy, Molly Bruyns, Rachel Yandow, Madison Catella, Ainsley Thorne, Makenna Thorne, Caitlin Toth, Molly Kenny, Kaitlyn Butkus, Jamie Morin, Sarah Knickerbocker, Logan Pollard, Emily Harvey, Regan Day, and Kaylan Ferrira, and

<u>Whereas</u>, Head Coach Ashley Stebbins and assistant coaches Eric Rutz, Brent Farnham, Bernie Couture, and Lindsay Falby offered the team timely advice, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2018 Essex High School Hornets Division I championship softball team, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Essex High School.