## State of Vermont House of Representatives



Montpelier, Vermont

## Concurrent House Resolution

H.C.R. 181

House concurrent resolution congratulating the Castleton State College Spartans 2015 North Atlantic Conference championship baseball team

Offered by: Representatives Keenan of St. Albans City, Bancroft of Westford, Beck of St. Johnsbury, Bissonnette of Winooski, Brennan of Colchester, Briglin of Thetford, Burditt of West Rutland, Buxton of Tunbridge, Canfield of Fair Haven, Corcoran of Bennington, Cupoli of Rutland City, Devereux of Mount Holly, Fagan of Rutland City, Fiske of Enosburgh, Gage of Rutland City, Helm of Fair Haven, Higley of Lowell, Hooper of Montpelier, Johnson of South Hero, Juskiewicz of Cambridge, Klein of East Montpelier, Komline of Dorset, Krebs of South Hero, LaClair of Barre Town, Lewis of Berlin, Marcotte of Coventry, McCoy of Poultney, McFaun of Barre Town, Parent of St. Albans City, Pearce of Richford, Poirier of Barre City, Potter of Clarendon, Pugh of South Burlington, Rachelson of Burlington, Ram of Burlington, Scheuermann of Stowe, Shaw of Pittsford, Smith of New Haven, Sweaney of Windsor, Tate of Mendon, Trieber of Rockingham, Turner of Milton, Viens of Newport City, Webb of Shelburne, and Wright of Burlington

Offered by: Senators Balint, Campion, Collamore, Doyle, Flory, Mullin, and Rodgers

<u>Whereas</u>, the baseball prowess of Castleton State College (CSC) was exhibited in the North Atlantic Conference (NAC) when the Spartans won the 2014 conference championship, and

Whereas, CSC returned to the baseball diamond in 2015 ready to prove again its mastery of America's pastime, and

Whereas, having compiled a winning record of 28–10 prior to the start of the NAC playoffs, it was clear that CSC was again a championship contender, and

Whereas, having won a berth in the decisive game against the Thomas College Terriers, the Spartans scored five quick runs in the first inning as CSC proceeded to emerge triumphant on a 14–2 score, clinching the 2015 NAC championship, and earning a slot in the NCAA baseball tournament, and

Whereas, the 2015 baseball Spartans consisted of Dylan Watts, Zach Dichard, Ryan Wadsworth, Taylor Vile, Zac Harrington, Nick Swim, Collin Curler, Aaron Smith, Michael LaBeau, Jim Buckley, Nate Swahn, Luke Salerno, Josiah Benoit, Matt Ravey, Geoff Brisco, Nathan McCormick, Logan Whelton-Pane, Sam Spencer, Scott Michaels, Ethan Hanson, Dan Errico, Joey Gratton, TJ Fearon, Josh Jennato, Tyler Hoare, Steve Jurkiewicz, Conner Johnson, Chris Jurnak, Devin Hayes, Mike Ferro, Wyatt Prue, Zach Bahan, Tyler Lord, Chris Brownell, Nick Patierne, and Soren Pelz-Walsh, and

<u>Whereas</u>, head coach Ted Shipley, assistant coaches Nick Marsh and Charlie Scuba, graduate assistant coach Corey Goeggelman, and athletic trainer Ali Serrani, were the team's great advisors and supporters, now therefore be it

## Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the Castleton State College Spartans 2015 North Atlantic Conference championship baseball team, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to the Department of Athletics at Castleton State College.