## No. R-232. House concurrent resolution congratulating the Castleton State College Spartans 2015 North Atlantic Conference championship women's lacrosse team.

(H.C.R.178)

Offered by: Representatives Keenan of St. Albans City, Bancroft of Westford, Beck of St. Johnsbury, Bissonnette of Winooski, Brennan of Colchester, Briglin of Thetford, Burditt of West Rutland, Buxton of Tunbridge, Canfield of Fair Haven, Corcoran of Bennington, Cupoli of Rutland City, Devereux of Mount Holly, Fagan of Rutland City, Fiske of Enosburgh, Gage of Rutland City, Higley of Lowell, Hooper of Montpelier, Johnson of South Hero, Juskiewicz of Cambridge, Klein of East Montpelier, Komline of Dorset, Krebs of South Hero, LaClair of Barre Town, Lewis of Berlin, Marcotte of Coventry, McCoy of Poultney, McFaun of Barre Town, Parent of St. Albans City, Pearce of Richford, Poirier of Barre City, Potter of Clarendon, Pugh of South Burlington, Rachelson of Burlington, Ram of Burlington, Scheuermann of Stowe, Shaw of Pittsford, Smith of New Haven, Sweaney of Windsor, Tate of Mendon, Toll of Danville, Trieber of Rockingham, Turner of Milton, Viens of Newport City, Webb of Shelburne, and Wright of Burlington

Offered by: Senators Balint, Campion, Collamore, Doyle, Flory, Mullin, and Rodgers

Whereas, prior to 2015, the Castleton State College (CSC) Spartans had won three consecutive women's lacrosse North Atlantic Conference (NAC) titles, and they began the 2015 season hoping to continue this special winning streak, and

Whereas, the talented 2015 CSC women's lacrosse team played superbly all season, often winning by an overwhelming scoring margin, and

Whereas, CSC reached the NAC championship game played in 2015 at the friendly confines of its Spartan Stadium, and

Whereas, at only one minute and eight seconds into the contest, the Spartans scored the first point on their way to an overwhelming 16–3 victory over the Thomas College Terriers; a well-deserved fourth consecutive NAC championship; a 15th consecutive 2015 victory; and a berth in the 2015 NCAA women's lacrosse post-season tournament, and

Whereas, the fantastic 2015 Spartans include Meghan Els, Rachel Bombardier, Grace Johnson, Mariah Lesure, Hannah Hobbs, Mikayla Cusson, Brandi Whittemore, Chantel Wilkin, Sabrina Hosner, Ashley Pelkey, Hannah Braman, Emilee Maher, Tiffany Danyow, Nadine Downing, Maria Ploof, Brianna MacKay, Maddy DaCosta, Kate Auer, Chelsea Fisher, Taylor Esperti, and Emily Cross, and

Whereas, the mentorship of head coach Hannah Corkery, graduate assistant coach Caroline McManus, volunteer assistant coach Nicole Adams, and the support of athletic trainer Hannah Goeggleman were all essential for the team's great season, now therefore be it

## Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the Castleton State College Spartans 2015 North Atlantic Conference championship women's lacrosse team, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to the Department of Athletics at Castleton State College.