R-22 Page 1 of 1 2015

2010

No. R-22. House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2014 Black River High School Presidents' Division IV championship softball team.

(H.C.R.11)

Offered by: Representative Devereux of Mount Holly

Offered by: Senators Nitka, Campbell, and McCormack

Whereas, Black River High School's 2014 softball team was among Vermont's best, and

Whereas, the Presidents played a persistently high caliber of softball all season and continued their winning ways in the playoff competition, and

Whereas, their defeating Poultney High School 9–6, in an exciting, semifinal come-frombehind victory, gained the Presidents admission to the Division IV championship game against Blue Mountain Union High School, and

Whereas, in a thrilling season finale, the Presidents broke a 4–4 tie in the eighth inning to win the game 5–4 and capture the 2014 Division IV softball championship, their fifth State softball title, and

Whereas, the Presidents compiled an overall 15–3 record, and the winning players included Abigail Schmidt, Alice Faenza, Alex Barton, Montana LeTourneau, Paige Wade, Sage Allen, Morgan Collins, Gabrielle Miele, Elsa Eliasson, Brooke Willard, Sarah Rumrill, Holly Goodman, Kateri Collins, and Hannah Van Guilder, and

Whereas, Head Coach Howard Paul and Assistant Coach Bud Trimboli each contributed his wisdom and experience to the Presidents' outstanding 2014 season, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2014 Black River High School Presidents' Division IV championship softball team, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Black River High School.