## Act No. 191 (H.735). Executive Branch; Judicial Branch; fees

# An act relating to Executive Branch and Judiciary fees

## Department of Taxes

Sec 1. Insufficient fund check charges

Adjusts the penalty for insufficient funds on payments to Executive Branch departments from \$13.00 to \$20.00 and applies the penalty to online payments in addition to paper checks. All penalties now go directly to the department from which the charge originated and a portion will no longer be dedicated to the General Fund.

Sec. 2. Use value appraisal filing

Raises the fee for a use value appraisal filing from \$30.00 to \$70.00.

Sec. 3. Lottery agent license fees

Increases the cap on the licensing fee for lottery ticket sales agents from \$15.00 annually to a one-time \$50.00 fee.

### Agency of Commerce and Community Development

Sec. 4. Market Vermont

Authorizes annual fee of not more than \$150.00 per enrolled product line to pay for the costs of administering the Market Vermont Logo program.

Sec. 5. Mobile home park registration fee

Raises the fee that mobile park owners must pay for each leased and occupied lot from \$9.00 to \$12.00 annually.

Sec. 6. Historic site admission fee and archeology collection fee

Raises the maximum fee that may be charged for entry to State historic sites from \$8.00 to \$12.00. The fee cap excludes admission for special events.

Raises the one-time fee for archival boxes for the storage and maintenance of archeological items from \$400.00 to \$500.00.

Department of Labor

Sec. 7. Workers' compensation fund

The workers' compensation premium assessment will remain at 1.45 percent. The assessment for self-insured workers will remain at one percent.

Sec. 8. Tramways

Removes the \$25.00 per hour cap that Department of Labor may charge to tramway operators for any special outside assistance for tramway inspections or repairs.

### Secretary of State

Secs. 9–11. Lobbyist registration fees

Increases registration fees and late registration and late disclosure fees for lobbyists and employers. Establishes an initial lobbying firm listing fee of \$150.00.

Secs. 12–18a. Professional regulation fees

Lowers the annual professional fees for chiropractors and optometrists and increases the fees for engineers, funeral directors, embalmers, crematory establishments, removal personnel, registered nurses, advanced practice registered nurses, licensed nursing assistants, real estate brokers, and real estate offices. Creates two new licenses for crematory personnel and limited services establishments. Removes license fees for psychological trainees.

Department of Public Safety

Secs. 19-20

Establishes a fee schedule for the storage of firearms and other weapons surrendered pursuant to a final relief from abuse order. Requires Department of Public Safety to report annually to the Legislature regarding the implementation of the program.

Sec. 21. Uniform dispatch fees

Sets a requirement in statute that the Department of Public Safety shall institute public safety storage fees.

Department of Finance and Management

Sec. 22. Technical correction

State of Vermont Judiciary

Secs. 23-25. Judicial fees

Increases judicial fees, including fees in Supreme and Superior Courts, probate cases, and directs the Judiciary to submit to the Legislature a plan for electronic filing fees.

Vermont Web Portal

Secs. 26–27. Fees for credit card payments

Increases the fees levied upon credit card payments to the Department of Tax and the Department of Motor Vehicles to three percent.

**Dispensaries** 

Sec. 28. Dispensary registration fee

Reduces the annual dispensary registration fee to \$25,000.00 annually.

Universal Service Fund: Prepaid Wireless Providers; Provider Assessment

Sec. 29. Universal service fund

Assesses two percent of retail prepaid wireless telecommunications service fee on service providers.

Sec. 30. Payment to fiscal agent

Directs fiscal agent to ensure universal service charge (USC) is assessed on all telecom services and includes a claw-back provision so fiscal agent may collect improperly assessed USC from providers up to three years back.

Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets

Secs. 31–32. Apiary fee

Establishes a \$10.00 per hive location fee. Revenue goes to the Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets to fund inspection services and technical assistance to beekeepers in the State. Directs revenue to existing Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets fund.

Fiscal Agent

Secs. 33–35. Fiscal agent authority

Broadens authority of fiscal agent to distribute universal service funds to support the cost of Executive Branch activities.

Multiple effective dates, beginning on June 16, 2014