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ORDERS OF THE DAY

ACTION CALENDAR

Favorable with Amendment

S. 5

An act relating to affordably meeting the mandated greenhouse gas
reductions for the thermal sector through efficiency, weatherization measures,
electrification, and decarbonization

Rep. Sibilia of Dover, for the Committee on Environment and Energy,
recommends that the House propose to the Senate that the bill be amended by
striking out all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the
following:

Sec. 1. SHORT TITLE

This act shall be known and may be cited as the “Affordable Heat Act.”

Sec. 2. FINDINGS

The General Assembly finds:

(1) All of the legislative findings made in 2020 Acts and Resolves
No. 153, Sec. 2, the Vermont Global Warming Solutions Act of 2020
(GWSA), remain true and are incorporated by reference here.

(2) Under the GWSA and 10 V.S.A. § 578, Vermont has a legal
obligation to reduce greenhouse gas emissions to specific levels by 2025,
2030, and 2050.

(3) The Vermont Climate Council was established under the GWSA and
was tasked with, among other things, recommending necessary legislation to
reduce greenhouse gas emissions. The Initial Vermont Climate Action Plan
calls for the General Assembly to adopt legislation authorizing the Public
Utility Commission to administer the Clean Heat Standard consistent with the
recommendations of the Energy Action Network’s Clean Heat Standard
Working Group.

(4) As required by the GWSA, the Vermont Climate Council published
the Initial Vermont Climate Action Plan on December 1, 2021. As noted in
that plan, over one-third of Vermont’s greenhouse gas emissions in 2018 came
from the thermal sector. In that year, approximately 72 percent of Vermont’s
thermal energy use was fossil based, including 29 percent from the burning of
heating oil, 24 percent from fossil gas, and 19 percent from propane.
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(5) To meet the greenhouse gas emission reductions required by the
GWSA, Vermont needs to transition away from its current carbon-intensive
building heating practices to lower-carbon alternatives. It also needs to do this
equitably, recognizing economic effects on energy users, especially energy-
burdened users; on the workforce currently providing these services; and on
the overall economy.

(6) Vermonters have an unprecedented opportunity to invest in eligible
clean heat measures with funding from new federal laws including the
Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act of 2021 and the Inflation Reduction
Act of 2022.

Sec. 3. 30 V.S.A. chapter 94 is added to read:

CHAPTER 94. CLEAN HEAT STANDARD

§ 8121. INTENT

Pursuant to 2 V.S.A. § 205(a), it is the intent of the General Assembly that
the Clean Heat Standard be designed and implemented in a manner that
achieves Vermont’s thermal sector greenhouse gas emissions reductions
necessary to meet the requirements of 10 V.S.A. § 578(a)(2) and (3),
minimizes costs to customers, protects public health, and recognizes that
affordable heating is essential for Vermonters. It shall enhance social equity
by prioritizing customers with low income and moderate income and those
households with the highest energy burdens. The Clean Heat Standard shall,
to the greatest extent possible, maximize the use of available federal funds to
deliver clean heat measures.

§ 8122. CLEAN HEAT STANDARD

(a) The Clean Heat Standard is established. Under this program, obligated
parties shall reduce greenhouse gas emissions attributable to the Vermont
thermal sector by retiring required amounts of clean heat credits to meet the
thermal sector portion of the greenhouse gas emission reduction obligations of
the Global Warming Solutions Act.

(b) By rule or order, the Commission shall establish or adopt a system of
tradeable clean heat credits earned from the delivery of clean heat measures
that reduce greenhouse gas emissions.

(c) An obligated party shall obtain the required amount of clean heat
credits through delivery of eligible clean heat measures by a default delivery
agent, unless the obligated party receives prior approval from the Commission
to use another method as described in section 8125 of this title.
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(d) The Commission shall adopt rules and may issue orders to implement
and enforce the Clean Heat Standard program.

§ 8123. DEFINITIONS

As used in this chapter:

(1) “Carbon intensity value” means the amount of lifecycle greenhouse
gas emissions per unit of energy of fuel expressed in grams of carbon dioxide
equivalent per megajoule (gCO2e/MJ).

(2) “Clean heat credit” means a tradeable, nontangible commodity that
represents the amount of greenhouse gas reduction attributable to a clean heat
measure. The Commission shall establish a system of management for clean
heat credits pursuant to this chapter.

(3) “Clean heat measure” means fuel delivered and technologies
installed to end-use customers in Vermont that reduce greenhouse gas
emissions from the thermal sector. Clean heat measures shall not include
switching from one fossil fuel use to another fossil fuel use. The Commission
may adopt a list of acceptable actions that qualify as clean heat measures.

(4) “Commission” means the Public Utility Commission.

(5) “Customer with low income” means a customer with a household
income of up to 60 percent of the area or statewide median income, whichever
is greater, as published annually by the U.S. Department of Housing and
Urban Development or a customer who qualifies for a government-sponsored,
low-income energy subsidy.

(6) “Customer with moderate income” means a customer with a
household income between 60 percent and 120 percent of the area or statewide
median income, whichever is greater, as published annually by the U.S.
Department of Housing and Urban Development.

(7) “Default delivery agent” means an entity designated by the
Commission to provide services that generate clean heat measures.

(8) “Energy burden” means the annual spending on thermal energy as a
percentage of household income.

(9) “Entity” means any individual, trustee, agency, partnership,
association, corporation, company, municipality, political subdivision, or any
other form of organization.

(10) “Fuel pathway” means a detailed description of all stages of fuel
production and use for any particular fuel, including feedstock generation or
extraction, production, transportation, distribution, and combustion of the fuel
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by the consumer. The fuel pathway is used in the calculation of the carbon
intensity value and lifecycle greenhouse gas emissions of each fuel.

(11) “Heating fuel” means fossil-based heating fuel, including oil,
propane, natural gas, coal, and kerosene.

(12) “Obligated party” means:

(A) A regulated natural gas utility serving customers in Vermont.

(B) For other heating fuels, the entity that imports heating fuel for
ultimate consumption within the State, or the entity that produces, refines,
manufactures, or compounds heating fuel within the State for ultimate
consumption within the State. For the purpose of this section, the entity that
imports heating fuel is the entity that has ownership title to the heating fuel at
the time it is brought into Vermont.

(13) “Thermal sector” has the same meaning as the “Residential,
Commercial and Industrial Fuel Use” sector as used in the Vermont
Greenhouse Gas Emissions Inventory and Forecast and does not include
nonroad diesel or any other transportation or other fuel use categorized
elsewhere in the Vermont Greenhouse Gas Emissions Inventory and Forecast.

§ 8124. CLEAN HEAT STANDARD COMPLIANCE

(a) Required amounts.

(1) The Commission shall establish the number of clean heat credits that
each obligated party is required to retire each calendar year. The size of the
annual requirement shall be set at a pace sufficient for Vermont’s thermal
sector to achieve lifecycle carbon dioxide equivalent (CO2e) emission
reductions consistent with the requirements of 10 V.S.A. § 578(a)(2) and (3)
expressed as lifecycle greenhouse gas emissions pursuant to subsection
8127(g) of this title.

(2) Annual requirements shall be expressed as a percent of each
obligated party’s contribution to the thermal sector’s lifecycle CO2e emissions
in the previous year. The annual percentage reduction shall be the same for all
obligated parties. To ensure understanding among obligated parties, the
Commission shall publicly provide a description of the annual requirements in
plain terms.

(3) To support the ability of the obligated parties to plan for the future,
the Commission shall establish and update annual clean heat credit
requirements for the next 10 years. Every three years, the Commission shall
extend the requirements three years; shall assess emission reductions actually
achieved in the thermal sector; and, if necessary, revise the pace of clean heat
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credit requirements for future years to ensure that the thermal sector portion of
the emission reduction requirements of 10 V.S.A. § 578(a)(2) and (3) for 2030
and 2050 will be achieved.

(4) The Commission may temporarily, for a period not to exceed 36
months, adjust the annual requirements for good cause after notice and
opportunity for public process. Good cause may include a shortage of clean
heat credits, market conditions as identified by the Department’s potential
study conducted pursuant to section 8125 of this title, or undue adverse
financial impacts on particular customers or demographic segments. The
Commission shall ensure that any downward adjustment has the minimum
impact possible on the State’s ability to comply with the thermal sector portion
of the requirements of 10 V.S.A. § 578(a)(2) and (3).

(b) Annual registration.

(1) Each entity that sells heating fuel into or in Vermont shall register
annually with the Commission by an annual deadline established by the
Commission. The first registration deadline is January 31, 2024, and the
annual deadline shall remain January 31 of each year unless a different
deadline is established by the Commission. The form and information
required in the registration shall be determined by the Commission and shall
include all data necessary to establish annual requirements under this chapter.
The Commission shall use the information provided in the registration to
determine whether the entity shall be considered an obligated party and the
amount of its annual requirement.

(2) At a minimum, the Commission shall require registration
information to include legal name; doing business as name, if applicable;
municipality; state; types of heating fuel sold; and the exact amount of gallons
of each type of heating fuels sold into or in the State for final sale or
consumption in the State in the calendar year immediately preceding the
calendar year in which the entity is registering with the Commission, separated
by type, that was purchased by the submitting entity and the name and location
of the entity from which it was purchased.

(3) Each year, and not later than 30 days following the annual
registration deadline established by the Commission, the Commission shall
share complete registration information of obligated parties with the Agency
of Natural Resources and the Department of Public Service for purposes of
updating the Vermont Greenhouse Gas Emissions Inventory and Forecast and
meeting the requirements of 10 V.S.A. § 591(b)(3).
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(4) The Commission shall maintain, and update annually, a list of
registered entities on its website that contains the required registration
information.

(5) For any entity not registered on or before January 31, 2024, the first
registration form shall be due 30 days after the first sale of heating fuel to a
location in Vermont.

(6) Clean heat requirements shall transfer to entities that acquire an
obligated party.

(7) Entities that cease to operate shall retain their clean heat requirement
for their final year of operation.

(c) Early action credits. Beginning on January 1, 2023, clean heat
measures that are installed and provide emission reductions are creditable.
Upon the establishment of the clean heat credit system, entities may register
credits for actions taken starting in 2023.

(d) Equitable distribution of clean heat measures.

(1) The Clean Heat Standard shall be designed and implemented to
enhance social equity by prioritizing customers with low income, moderate
income, those households with the highest energy burdens, and renter
households with tenant-paid energy bills. The design shall ensure all
customers have an equitable opportunity to participate in, and benefit from,
clean heat measures regardless of heating fuel used, income level, geographic
location, residential building type, or homeownership status.

(2) Of their annual requirement, each obligated party shall retire at least
16 percent from customers with low income and an additional 16 percent from
customers with low or moderate income. For each of these groups, at least
one-half of these credits shall be from installed clean heat measures that
require capital investments in homes, have measure lives of 10 years or more,
and are estimated by the Technical Advisory Group to lower annual energy
bills. Examples shall include weatherization improvements and installation of
heat pumps, heat pump water heaters, and advanced wood heating systems.
The Commission may identify additional measures that qualify as installed
measures.

(3) The Commission shall, to the extent reasonably possible, frontload
the credit requirements for customers with low income and moderate income
so that the greatest proportion of clean heat measures reach Vermonters with
low income and moderate income in the earlier years.

(4) With consideration to how to best serve customers with low income
and moderate income, the Commission shall have authority to change the
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percentages established in subdivision (2) of this subsection for good cause
after notice and opportunity for public process. Good cause may include a
shortage of clean heat credits or undue adverse financial impacts on particular
customers or demographic segments.

(5) In determining whether to exceed the minimum percentages of clean
heat measures that must be delivered to customers with low income and
moderate income, the Commission shall take into account participation in
other government-sponsored low-income and moderate-income weatherization
programs. Participation in other government-sponsored low-income and
moderate-income weatherization programs shall not limit the ability of those
households to participate in programs under this chapter.

(6) A clean heat measure delivered to a customer qualifying for a
government-sponsored, low-income energy subsidy shall qualify for clean heat
credits required by subdivision (2) of this subsection.

(7) Customer income data collected shall be kept confidential by the
Commission, the Department of Public Service, the obligated parties, and any
entity that delivers clean heat measures.

(e) Credit banking. The Commission shall allow an obligated party that
has met its annual requirement in a given year to retain clean heat credits in
excess of that amount for future sale or application to the obligated party’s
annual requirements in future compliance periods, as determined by the
Commission.

(f) Enforcement.

(1) The Commission shall have the authority to enforce the
requirements of this chapter and any rules or orders adopted to implement the
provisions of this chapter. The Commission may use its existing authority
under this title. As part of an enforcement order, the Commission may order
penalties and injunctive relief.

(2) The Commission shall order an obligated party that fails to retire the
number of clean heat credits required in a given year, including the required
amounts from customers with low income and moderate income, to make a
noncompliance payment to the default delivery agent for the number of credits
deficient. The per-credit amount of the noncompliance payment shall be two
times the amount established by the Commission for timely per-credit
payments to the default delivery agent.

(3) However, the Commission may waive the noncompliance payment
required by subdivision (2) of this subsection for an obligated party if the
Commission:
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(A) finds that the obligated party made a good faith effort to acquire
the required amount and its failure resulted from market factors beyond its
control; and

(B) directs the obligated party to add the number of credits deficient
to one or more future years.

(4) False or misleading statements or other representations made to the
Commission by obligated parties related to compliance with the Clean Heat
Standard are subject to the Commission’s enforcement authority, including the
power to investigate and assess penalties, under this title.

(5) The Commission’s enforcement authority does not in any way
impede the enforcement authority of other entities such as the Attorney
General’s office.

(6) Failure to register with the Commission as required by this section is
a violation of the Consumer Protection Act in 9 V.S.A. chapter 63.

(g) Records. The Commission shall establish requirements for the types of
records to be submitted by obligated parties, a record retention schedule for
required records, and a process for verification of records and data submitted
in compliance with the requirements of this chapter.

(h) Reports.

(1) As used in this subsection, “standing committees” means the House
Committee on Environment and Energy and the Senate Committees on
Finance and on Natural Resources and Energy.

(2) After the adoption of the rules implementing this chapter, the
Commission shall submit a written report to the standing committees detailing
the efforts undertaken to establish the Clean Heat Standard pursuant to this
chapter.

(3) On or before January 15 of each year following the year in which
the rules are first adopted under this chapter, the Commission shall submit to
the standing committees a written report detailing the implementation and
operation of the Clean Heat Standard. This report shall include an assessment
on the equitable adoption of clean heat measures required by subsection (d) of
this section, along with recommendations to increase participation for the
households with the highest energy burdens. The provisions of 2 V.S.A.
§ 20(d) (expiration of required reports) shall not apply to the report to be made
under this subsection.
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(i) LIHEAP pricing. The Margin Over Rack pricing program for fuel
assistance shall reflect the default delivery agent credit cost established by the
Commission.

§ 8125. DEFAULT DELIVERY AGENT

(a) Default delivery agent designated. In place of obligated-party specific
programs, the Commission shall provide for the development and
implementation of statewide clean heat programs and measures by one or more
default delivery agents appointed by the Commission for these purposes. The
Commission may specify that appointment of a default delivery agent to
deliver clean heat services, on behalf of obligated entities who pay the per-
credit fee to the default delivery agent, satisfies those entities’ corresponding
obligations under this chapter.

(b) Appointment. The default delivery agent shall be one or more
statewide entities capable of providing a variety of clean heat measures. The
Commission shall designate the first default delivery agent on or before June
1, 2024. The designation of an entity under this subsection may be by order of
appointment or contract. A designation, whether by order of appointment or
by contract, may only be issued after notice and opportunity for hearing. An
existing order of appointment issued by the Commission under section 209 of
this title may be amended to include the responsibilities of the default delivery
agent. An order of appointment shall be for a limited duration not to exceed
12 years, although an entity may be reappointed by order or contract. An
order of appointment may include any conditions and requirements that the
Commission deems appropriate to promote the public good. For good cause,
after notice and opportunity for hearing, the Commission may amend or
revoke an order of appointment.

(c) Supervision. Any entity appointed by order of appointment under this
section that is not an electric or gas utility already regulated under this title
shall not be considered to be a company as defined under section 201 of this
title but shall be subject to the provisions of sections 18–21, 30–32, 205–208;
subsection 209(a); sections 219 and 221; and subsection 231(b) of this title, to
the same extent as a company as defined under section 201 of this title. The
Commission and the Department of Public Service shall have jurisdiction
under those sections over the entity, its directors, receivers, trustees, lessees, or
other persons or companies owning or operating the entity and of all plants,
equipment, and property of that entity used in or about the business carried on
by it in this State as covered and included in this section. This jurisdiction
shall be exercised by the Commission and the Department so far as may be
necessary to enable them to perform the duties and exercise the powers
conferred upon them by law. The Commission and the Department each may,
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when they deem the public good requires, examine the plants, equipment, and
property of any entity appointed by order of appointment to serve as a default
delivery agent.

(d) Use of default delivery agent.

(1) An obligated party shall meet its annual requirement through a
designated default delivery agent appointed by the Commission. However, the
obligated party may seek to meet its requirement, in whole or in part, through
one or more of the following ways: by delivering eligible clean heat measures,
by contracting for delivery of eligible clean heat measures, or through the
market purchase of clean heat credits. An obligated party shall be approved by
the Commission to meet its annual requirement using a method other than the
default delivery agent if it provides sufficient details on the party’s capacity
and resources to achieve the emissions reductions. This approval shall not be
unreasonably withheld.

(2) The Commission shall provide a form for an obligated party to
indicate how it intends to meet its requirement, The form shall require
sufficient information to determine the nature of the credits that the default
delivery agent will be responsible to deliver on behalf of the obligated party.
If the Commission approves of a plan for an obligated party to meet its
obligation through a mechanism other than payment to a designated default
delivery agent, then the Commission shall make such approvals known to the
default delivery agent as soon as practicable.

(3) The Commission shall by rule or order establish a standard timeline
under which the default delivery agent credit cost or costs are established and
by which an obligated party must file its form. The default delivery agent’s
schedule of costs shall include sufficient costs to deliver installed measures and
shall specify separately the costs to deliver measures to customers with low
income and customers with moderate income as required by subsection
8124(d) of this title. The Commission shall provide not less than 120 days’
notice of default delivery agent credit cost or costs prior to the deadline for an
obligated party to file its election form so an obligated party can assess options
and inform the Commission of its intent to procure credits in whole or in part
as fulfillment of its requirement.

(4) The default delivery agent shall deliver creditable clean heat
measures either directly or indirectly to end-use customer locations in Vermont
sufficient to meet the total aggregated annual requirement assigned to it, along
with any additional amount achievable through noncompliance payments as
described in subdivision 8124(f)(2) of this title. Clean heat credits generated
through installed measures delivered by the default delivery agent on behalf of
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an obligated party are creditable in future years. Those credits not required to
meet the obligated party’s existing obligations shall be owned by the obligated
party.

(e) Budget.

(1) The Commission shall open a proceeding on or before July 1, 2023
and at least every three years thereafter to establish the default delivery agent
credit cost or costs and the quantity of credits to be generated for the
subsequent three-year period. That proceeding shall include:

(A) a potential study conducted by the Department of Public Service,
the first of which shall be completed not later than September 1, 2024, to
include an assessment and quantification of technically available, maximum
achievable, and program achievable thermal resources. The results shall
include a comparison to the legal obligations of the thermal sector portion of
the requirements of 10 V.S.A. § 578(a)(2) and (3). The potential study shall
consider and evaluate market conditions for delivery of clean heat measures
within the State, including an assessment of workforce characteristics capable
of meeting consumer demand and meeting the obligations of 10 V.S.A.
§ 578(a)(2) and (3);

(B) the development of a three-year plan and associated proposed
budget by the default delivery agent to be informed by the final results of the
Department’s potential study. The default delivery agent may propose a
portion of its budget towards promotion and market uplift, workforce
development, and trainings for clean heat measures; and

(C) opportunity for public participation.

(2) Once the Commission provides the default delivery agent with the
obligated parties’ plan to meet the requirements, the default delivery agent
shall be granted the opportunity to amend its plan and budget before the
Commission.

(f) Compliance funds. All funds received from noncompliance payments
pursuant to subdivision 8124(f)(2) of this title shall be used by the default
delivery agent to provide clean heat measures to customers with low income.

(g) Specific programs. The default delivery agent shall create specific
programs for multiunit dwellings, condominiums, rental properties,
commercial and industrial buildings, and manufactured homes.

§ 8126. RULEMAKING

(a) The Commission shall adopt rules and may issue orders to implement
and enforce the Clean Heat Standard program.
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(b) The requirements to adopt rules and any requirements regarding the
need for legislative approval before any part of the Clean Heat Standard goes
into effect do not in any way impair the Commission’s authority to issue
orders or take any other actions, both before and after final rules take effect, to
implement and enforce the Clean Heat Standard.

(c) The Commission’s rules may include a provision that allows the
Commission to revise its Clean Heat Standard rules by order of the
Commission without the revisions being subject to the rulemaking
requirements of the 3 V.S.A. chapter 25, provided the Commission:

(1) provides notice of any proposed changes;

(2) allows for a 30-day comment period;

(3) responds to all comments received on the proposed change;

(4) provides a notice of language assistance services on all public
outreach materials; and

(5) arranges for language assistance to be provided to members of the
public as requested using professional language services companies.

(d) Any order issued under this chapter shall be subject to appeal to the
Vermont Supreme Court under section 12 of this title, and the Commission
must immediately file any orders, a redline, and clean version of the revised
rules with the Secretary of State, with notice simultaneously provided to the
House Committee on Environment and Energy and the Senate Committees on
Finance and on Natural Resources and Energy.

§ 8127. TRADEABLE CLEAN HEAT CREDITS

(a) Credits established. By rule or order, the Commission shall establish or
adopt a system of tradeable clean heat credits that are earned by reducing
greenhouse gas emissions through the delivery of clean heat measures. While
credit denominations may be in simple terms for public understanding and
ease of use, the underlying value shall be based on units of carbon dioxide
equivalent (CO2e). The system shall provide a process for the recognition,
approval, and monitoring of the clean heat credits. The Department of Public
Service shall perform the verification of clean heat credit claims and submit
results of the verification and evaluation to the Commission annually.

(b) Credit ownership. The Commission, in consultation with the Technical
Advisory Group, shall establish a standard methodology for determining what
party or parties shall be the owner of a clean heat credit upon its creation. The
owner or owners may transfer those credits to a third party or to an obligated
party.
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(c) Credit values. Clean heat credits shall be based on the accurate and
verifiable lifecycle CO2e emission reductions in Vermont’s thermal sector that
result from the delivery of eligible clean heat measures to existing or new end-
use customer locations into or in Vermont.

(1) For clean heat measures that are installed, credits will be created for
each year of the expected life of the installed measure. The annual value of
the clean heat credits for installed measures in each year shall be equal to the
lifecycle CO2e emissions of the fuel use that is avoided in a given year
because of the installation of the measure, minus the lifecycle emissions of the
fuel that is used instead in that year.

(2) For clean heat measures that are fuels, clean heat credits will be
created only for the year the fuel is delivered to the end-use customer. The
value of the clean heat credits for fuels shall be the lifecycle CO2e emissions
of the fuel use that is avoided, minus the lifecycle CO2e emissions of the fuel
that is used instead.

(d) List of eligible measures. Eligible clean heat measures delivered to or
installed in residential, commercial, and industrial buildings in Vermont shall
include:

(1) thermal energy efficiency improvements and weatherization;

(2) cold-climate air, ground source, and other heat pumps, including
district, network, grid, microgrid, and building geothermal systems;

(3) heat pump water heaters;

(4) utility-controlled electric water heaters;

(5) solar hot water systems;

(6) electric appliances providing thermal end uses;

(7) advanced wood heating;

(8) noncombustion or renewable energy-based district heating services;

(9) the supply of sustainably sourced biofuels;

(10) the supply of green hydrogen;

(11) the replacement of a manufactured home with a high efficiency
manufactured home; and

(12) line extensions that connect facilities with thermal loads to the grid.

(e) Renewable natural gas. For pipeline renewable natural gas and other
renewably generated natural gas substitutes to be eligible, an obligated party
shall purchase renewable natural gas and its associated renewable attributes



- 1942 -

and demonstrate that it has secured a contractual pathway for the physical
delivery of the gas from the point of injection into the pipeline to the obligated
party’s delivery system.

(f) Carbon intensity of fuels.

(1) To be eligible as a clean heat measure, a liquid or gaseous clean heat
measure shall have a carbon intensity value as follows:

(A) below 80 in 2025;

(B) below 60 in 2030; and

(C) below 20 in 2050, provided the Commission may allow liquid
and gaseous clean heat measures with a carbon intensity value greater than 20
if excluding them would be impracticable based on the characteristics of
Vermont’s buildings, the workforce available in Vermont to deliver lower
carbon intensity clean heat measures, cost, or the effective administration of
the Clean Heat Standard.

(2) The Commission shall establish and publish the rate at which carbon
intensity values shall decrease annually for liquid and gaseous clean heat
measures consistent with subdivision (1) of this subsection as follows:

(A) on or before January 1, 2025 for 2025 to 2030; and

(B) on or before January 1, 2030 for 2031 to 2050.

(3) For the purpose of this section, the carbon intensity values shall be
understood relative to No. 2 fuel oil delivered into or in Vermont in 2023
having a carbon intensity value of 100. Carbon intensity values shall be
measured based on fuel pathways.

(g) Emissions schedule.

(1) To promote certainty for obligated parties and clean heat providers,
the Commission shall, by rule or order, establish a schedule of lifecycle
emission rates for heating fuels and any fuel that is used in a clean heat
measure, including electricity, or is itself a clean heat measure, including
biofuels. The schedule shall be based on transparent, verifiable, and accurate
emissions accounting adapting the Argonne National Laboratory GREET
Model, Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) modeling, or an
alternative of comparable analytical rigor to fit the Vermont thermal sector
context, and the requirements of 10 V.S.A. § 578(a)(2) and (3).

(2) For each fuel pathway, the schedule shall account for greenhouse gas
emissions from biogenic and geologic sources, including fugitive emissions
and loss of stored carbon. In determining the baseline emission rates for clean
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heat measures that are fuels, emissions baselines shall fully account for
methane emissions reductions or captures already occurring, or expected to
occur, for each fuel pathway as a result of local, State, or federal legal
requirements that have been enacted or adopted that reduce greenhouse gas
emissions.

(3) The schedule may be amended based upon changes in technology or
evidence on emissions, but clean heat credits previously awarded or already
under contract to be produced shall not be adjusted retroactively.

(h) Review of consequences. The Commission shall biennially assess
harmful consequences that may arise in Vermont or elsewhere from the
implementation of specific types of clean heat measures and shall set standards
or limits to prevent those consequences. Such consequences shall include
environmental burdens as defined in 3 V.S.A. § 6002, public health,
deforestation or forest degradation, conversion of grasslands, increased
emissions of criteria pollutants, damage to watersheds, or the creation of new
methane to meet fuel demand.

(i) Time stamp. Clean heat credits shall be “time stamped” for the year in
which the clean heat measure delivered emission reductions. For each
subsequent year during which the measure produces emission reductions,
credits shall be generated for that year. Only clean heat credits that have not
been retired shall be eligible to satisfy the current year obligation.

(j) Delivery in Vermont. Clean heat credits shall be earned only in
proportion to the deemed or measured thermal sector greenhouse gas emission
reductions achieved by a clean heat measure delivered in Vermont. Other
emissions offsets, wherever located, shall not be eligible measures.

(k) Credit eligibility.

(1) All eligible clean heat measures that are delivered in Vermont
beginning on January 1, 2023 shall be eligible for clean heat credits and may
be retired and count towards an obligated party’s emission reduction
obligations, regardless of who creates or delivers them and regardless of
whether their creation or delivery was required or funded in whole or in part
by other federal or State policies and programs. This includes individual
initiatives, emission reductions resulting from the State’s energy efficiency
programs, the low-income weatherization program, and the Renewable Energy
Standard Tier 3 program. Clean heat measures delivered or installed pursuant
to any local, State, or federal program or policy may count both towards goals
or requirements of such programs and policies and be eligible clean heat
measures that count towards the emission reduction obligations of this chapter.
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(2) The owner or owners of a clean heat credit are not required to sell
the credit.

(3) Regardless of the programs or pathways contributing to clean heat
credits being earned, an individual credit may be counted only once towards
satisfying an obligated party’s emission reduction obligation.

(l) Credit registration.

(1) The Commission shall create an administrative system to register,
sell, transfer, and trade credits to obligated parties. The Commission may hire
a third-party consultant to evaluate, develop, implement, maintain, and support
a database or other means for tracking clean heat credits and compliance with
the annual requirements of obligated parties.

(2) The system shall require entities to submit the following information
to receive the credit: the location of the clean heat measure, whether the
customer or tenant has a low or moderate income, the type of property where
the clean heat measure was installed or sold, the type of clean heat measure,
and any other information as required by the Commission. Customer income
data collected shall be kept confidential by the Commission, the Department of
Public Service, the obligated parties, and any entity that delivers clean heat
measures.

(m) Greenhouse Gas Emissions Inventory and Forecast. Nothing in this
chapter shall limit the authority of the Secretary of Natural Resources to
compile and publish the Vermont Greenhouse Gas Emissions Inventory and
Forecast in accordance with 10 V.S.A. § 582.

§ 8128. CLEAN HEAT STANDARD TECHNICAL ADVISORY GROUP

(a) The Commission shall establish the Clean Heat Standard Technical
Advisory Group (TAG) to assist the Commission in the ongoing management
of the Clean Heat Standard. Its duties shall include:

(1) establishing and revising the lifecycle carbon dioxide equivalent
(CO2e) emissions accounting methodology to be used to determine each
obligated party’s annual requirement pursuant to subdivision 8124(a)(2) of this
chapter;

(2) establishing and revising the clean heat credit value for different
clean heat measures;

(3) periodically assessing and reporting to the Commission on the
sustainability of the production of clean heat measures by considering factors
including greenhouse gas emissions; carbon sequestration and storage; human
health impacts; land use changes; ecological and biodiversity impacts;
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groundwater and surface water impacts; air, water, and soil pollution; and
impacts on food costs;

(4) setting the expected life length of clean heat measures for the
purpose of calculating credit amounts;

(5) establishing credit values for each year over a clean heat measure’s
expected life, including adjustments to account for increasing interactions
between clean heat measures over time so as to not double-count emission
reductions;

(6) facilitating the program’s coordination with other energy programs;

(7) calculating the impact of the cost of clean heat credits and the cost
savings associated with delivered clean heat measures on per-unit heating fuel
prices;

(8) calculating the savings associated with public health benefits due to
clean heat measures;

(9) coordinating with the Agency of Natural Resources to ensure that
greenhouse gas emissions reductions achieved in another sector through the
implementation of the Clean Heat Standard are not double-counted in the
Vermont Greenhouse Gas Emissions Inventory and Forecast;

(10) advising the Commission on the periodic assessment and revision
requirement established in subdivision 8124(a)(3) of this chapter; and

(11) any other matters referred to the TAG by the Commission.

(b) Members of the TAG shall be appointed by the Commission and shall
include the Department of Public Service, the Agency of Natural Resources,
the Department of Health, and parties who have, or whose representatives
have, expertise in one or more of the following areas: technical and analytical
expertise in measuring lifecycle greenhouse gas emissions, energy modeling
and data analysis, clean heat measures and energy technologies, sustainability
and non-greenhouse gas emissions strategies designed to reduce and avoid
impacts to the environment, mitigating environmental burdens as defined in 3
V.S.A. § 6002, public health impacts of air quality and climate change,
delivery of heating fuels, land use changes, deforestation and forest
degradation, and climate change mitigation policy and law. The Commission
shall accept and review motions to join the TAG from interested parties who
have, or whose representatives have, expertise in one or more of the areas
listed in this subsection. Members who are not otherwise compensated by
their employer shall be entitled to per diem compensation and reimbursement
for expenses under 32 V.S.A. § 1010.
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(c) The Commission shall hire a third-party consultant responsible for
developing clean heat measure characterizations and relevant assumptions,
including CO2e lifecycle emissions analyses. The TAG shall provide input
and feedback on the consultant’s work. The Commission may use
appropriated funds to hire the consultant.

(d) Emission analyses and associated assumptions developed by the
consultant shall be reviewed and approved annually by the Commission. In
reviewing the consultant’s work, the Commission shall provide a public
comment period on the work. The Commission may approve or adjust the
consultant’s work as it deems necessary based on its review and the public
comments received.

§ 8129. CLEAN HEAT STANDARD EQUITY ADVISORY GROUP

(a) The Commission shall establish the Clean Heat Standard Equity
Advisory Group to assist the Commission in developing and implementing the
Clean Heat Standard in a manner that ensures an equitable share of clean heat
measures are delivered to Vermonters with low income and moderate income
and that Vermonters with low income and moderate income who are not early
participants in clean heat measures are not negatively impacted in their ability
to afford heating fuel. Its duties shall include:

(1) providing feedback to the Commission on strategies for engaging
Vermonters with low income and moderate income in the public process for
developing the Clean Heat Standard program;

(2) supporting the Commission in assessing whether customers are
equitably served by clean heat measures and how to increase equity;

(3) identifying actions needed to provide customers with low income
and moderate income with better service and to mitigate the fuel price impacts
calculated in section 8128 of this title;

(4) recommending any additional programs, incentives, or funding
needed to support customers with low income and moderate income and
organizations that provide social services to Vermonters in affording heating
fuel and other heating expenses;

(5) providing feedback to the Commission on the impact of the Clean
Heat Standard on the experience of Vermonters with low income and moderate
income; and

(6) providing information to the Commission on the challenges renters
face in equitably accessing clean heat measures and recommendations to
ensure that renters have equitable access to clean heat measures.
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(b) The Clean Heat Standard Equity Advisory Group shall consist of up to
10 members appointed by the Commission and at a minimum shall include at
least one representative from each of the following groups: the Department of
Public Service; the Department for Children and Families’ Office of Economic
Opportunity; community action agencies; Efficiency Vermont; individuals with
socioeconomically, racially, and geographically diverse backgrounds; renters;
rental property owners; the Vermont Housing Finance Agency; and a member
of the Vermont Fuel Dealers Association. Members who are not otherwise
compensated by their employer shall be entitled to per diem compensation and
reimbursement for expenses under 32 V.S.A. § 1010.

(c) The Equity Advisory Group shall cease to exist when the initial Clean
Heat Standard rules are adopted. Thereafter, the issues described in subsection
(a) of this section shall be reviewed by the Commission, in compliance with 3
V.S.A. chapter 72.

§ 8130. SEVERABILITY

If any provision of this chapter or its application to any person or
circumstance is held invalid or in violation of the Constitution or laws of the
United States or in violation of the Constitution or laws of Vermont, the
invalidity or the violation shall not affect other provisions of this chapter that
can be given effect without the invalid provision or application, and to this
end, the provisions of this chapter are severable.

§ 8131. RULEMAKING AUTHORITY

Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary, the
Commission shall not file proposed rules with the Secretary of State
implementing the Clean Heat Standard without specific authorization enacted
by the General Assembly.

Sec. 4. 10 V.S.A. § 582 is amended to read:

§ 582. GREENHOUSE GAS INVENTORIES; REGISTRY

(a) Inventory and forecasting. The Secretary shall work, in conjunction
with other states or a regional consortium, to establish a periodic and
consistent inventory of greenhouse gas emissions. The Secretary shall publish
the Vermont Greenhouse Gas Emission Inventory and Forecast by no not later
than June 1, 2010, and updates shall be published annually until 2028, until a
regional or national inventory and registry program is established in which
Vermont participates, or until the federal National Emissions Inventory
includes mandatory greenhouse gas reporting. The Secretary of Natural
Resources shall include a supplemental accounting in the Vermont Greenhouse
Gas Emissions Inventory and Forecast that measures the upstream and
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lifecycle greenhouse gas emissions of liquid, gaseous, solid geologic and
biogenic fuels combusted in Vermont.

* * *

Sec. 5. CONFIDENTIALITY OF FUEL TAX RETURNS; 2024

(a) Notwithstanding 32 V.S.A. § 3102(a), from January 1, 2024 until
December 31, 2024, the Commissioner of Taxes shall disclose to the Public
Utility Commission and the Department of Public Service a return or return
information related to the fuel tax imposed under 33 V.S.A. § 2503, provided
the return or return information provided is necessary to verify the identity,
fuel tax liability, and registration status of an entity that sells heating fuel into
Vermont for purposes of administering the Clean Heat Standard established in
30 V.S.A. chapter 94.

(b) Pursuant to 32 V.S.A. § 3102(h), the person or persons receiving return
or return information under this section shall be subject to the penalty
provisions of 32 V.S.A. § 3102(a) for unauthorized disclosure of return or
return information as if such person were the agent of the Commissioner.
Pursuant to 32 V.S.A. § 3102(g), nothing in this section shall be construed to
prohibit the publication of statistical information, rulings, determinations,
reports, opinions, policies, or other information, provided the data is disclosed
in a form that cannot identify or be associated with a particular person.

(c) Pursuant to 1 V.S.A. § 317(c)(6), a fuel tax return and related
documents, correspondence, and certain types of substantiating forms that
include the same type of information as in the tax return itself filed with or
maintained by the Vermont Department of Taxes disclosed to the Public Utility
Commission and the Department of Public Service under this section shall be
exempt from public inspection and copying.

Sec. 6. PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION IMPLEMENTATION

(a) Commencement. On or before August 31, 2023, the Public Utility
Commission shall commence a proceeding to implement Sec. 3 (Clean Heat
Standard) of this act.

(b) Facilitator. The Commission shall hire a third-party consultant with
expertise in equity, justice, and diversity to design and conduct public
engagement. The Commission and the facilitator shall incorporate the Guiding
Principles for a Just Transition into the public engagement process. The
Commission may use funds appropriated under this act on hiring the
consultant. Public engagement shall be conducted by the facilitator for the
purposes of:
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(1) supporting the Commission in assessing whether customers will be
equitably served by clean heat measures and how to increase equity in the
delivery of clean heat measures;

(2) identifying actions needed to provide customers with low income
and moderate income with better service and to mitigate the fuel price impacts
calculated in 30 V.S.A. § 8128;

(3) recommending any additional programs, incentives, or funding
needed to support customers with low income and moderate income and
organizations that provide social services to Vermonters in affording heating
fuel and other heating expenses; and

(4) providing information to the Commission on the challenges renters
face in equitably accessing clean heat measures and recommendations to
ensure that renters have equitable access to clean heat measures.

(c) Public engagement process. Before commencing rulemaking, the
Commission shall use the forms of public engagement described in this
subsection to inform the design and implementation of the Clean Heat
Standard. Any failure by the Commission to meet the specific procedural
requirements of this section shall not affect the validity of the Commission’s
actions.

(1) The Commission shall allow any person to register at any time in the
Commission’s online case management system, ePUC, as a participant in the
Clean Heat Standard proceeding. All members of the Equity Advisory Group
shall be made automatic participants to that proceeding. All registered
participants in the proceeding, including all members of the Equity Advisory
Group, shall receive all notices of public meetings and all notices of
opportunities to comment in that proceeding.

(2) The Commission shall hold at least six public hearings or workshops
that shall be recorded and publicly posted on the Commission’s website or on
ePUC. These meetings shall be open to everyone, including all stakeholders,
members of the public, and all other potentially affected parties, with
translation services available to those attending.

(3) The Commission also shall provide at least three opportunities for
the submission of written comments. Any person may submit written
comments to the Commission.

(d) Advertising. The Commission shall use funding appropriated in this
act on advertising the public meetings in order to provide notice to a wide
variety of segments of the public. All advertisements of public meetings shall
include a notice of language assistance services. The Commission shall
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arrange for language assistance to be provided to members of the public as
requested using the services of professional language services companies.

(e) Draft proposed rules. The Commission shall publish draft proposed
rules publicly and provide notice of them through the Commission’s online
case management system, ePUC, to the stakeholders in this rulemaking who
registered their names and e-mail addresses with the Commission through
ePUC. The Commission shall provide a 30-day comment period on the draft
and accept written comments from the public and stakeholders. The
Commission shall consider changes in response to the public comments before
filing the proposed rules with the Secretary of State and the Legislative
Committee on Administrative Rules.

(f) Final rules.

(1) On or before January 15, 2025, the Commission shall submit to the
General Assembly final proposed rules to implement the Clean Heat Standard.
The Commission shall not file the final proposed rules with the Secretary of
State until specific authorization is enacted by the General Assembly to do so.

(2) Notwithstanding 3 V.S.A. §§ 820, 831, 836–840, and 841(a), upon
affirmative authorization enacted by the General Assembly authorizing the
adoption of rules implementing the Clean Heat Standard, the Commission
shall file, as the final proposed rule, the rules implementing the Clean Heat
Standard approved by the General Assembly with the Secretary of State and
Legislative Committee on Administrative Rules pursuant to 3 V.S.A. § 841.
The filing shall include everything that is required under 3 V.S.A. §§
838(a)(1)–(5), (8)–(13), (15), and (16), (b), (c), and 841(b)(1).

(3) The review, adoption, and effect of the rules implementing the Clean
Heat Standard shall be governed by 3 V.S.A. §§ 841(c); 842, exclusive of
subdivision (b)(4); 843; 845; and 846, exclusive of subdivision (a)(3).

(4) Once adopted and effective, any amendments to the rules
implementing the Clean Heat Standard shall be made in accordance with the
Administrative Procedure Act, 3 V.S.A. chapter 25, unless the adopted rules
allow for amendments through a different process in accordance with
30 V.S.A. § 8126(c) and (d).

(g) Consultant. The Commission may contract with a consultant to assist
with implementation of 30 V.S.A. § 8127 (clean heat credits).

(h) Funding. On or before February 15, 2024, the Commission shall report
to the General Assembly on suggested revenue streams that may be used or
created to fund the Commission’s administration of the Clean Heat Standard
program and shall include programs to support market transformation such as
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workforce development, market uplift, and training that may be administered
by a third party.

(i) Check-back reports. On or before February 15, 2024 and January 15,
2025, the Commission shall submit a written report to and be available to
provide oral testimony to the House Committee on Environment and Energy
and the Senate Committees on Finance and on Natural Resources and Energy
detailing the efforts undertaken to establish the Clean Heat Standard. The
reports shall include, to the extent available, estimates of the impact of the
Clean Heat Standard on customers, including impacts to customer rates and
fuel bills for participating and nonparticipating customers, net impacts on total
spending on energy for thermal sector end uses, fossil fuel reductions,
greenhouse gas emission reductions, and, if possible, impacts on economic
activity and employment. The modeled impacts shall estimate high-, medium-
, and low-price impacts. The reports shall recommend any legislative action
needed to address enforcement or other aspects of the Clean Heat Standard,
including how to ensure fuel use that occurs outside the thermal sector is not
impacted under the program.

(j) Assistance. The Agency of Commerce and Community Development,
the Department of Public Service, and other State agencies and departments
shall assist the Commission with economic modeling for the required reports
and rulemaking process.

Sec. 7. PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION AND DEPARTMENT OF

PUBLIC SERVICE POSITIONS; APPROPRIATION

(a) The following new positions are created in the Public Utility
Commission for the purpose of carrying out this act:

(1) one permanent exempt Staff Attorney;

(2) one permanent exempt Analyst; and

(3) one limited-service exempt Analyst.

(b) The sum of $825,000.00 is appropriated to the Public Utility
Commission from the General Fund in fiscal year 2024 for the positions
established in subsection (a) of this section; for all consultants required by this
act; and for additional operating costs required to implement the Clean Heat
Standard, including marketing and public outreach for Sec. 6 of this act.

(c) The following new positions are created in the Department of Public
Service for the purpose of carrying out this act:

(1) one permanent exempt Staff Attorney; and
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(2) two permanent classified Program Analysts.

(d) The sum of $900,000.00 is appropriated to the Department of Public
Service from the General Fund in fiscal year 2024 for the positions established
in subsection (c) of this section, to retain consultants that may be required to
support verification and evaluation required by 30 V.S.A. § 8127(a), for
conducting the potential study, and for associated operating costs related to the
implementation of the Clean Heat Standard.

Sec. 8. EFFECTIVE DATE

This act shall take effect on passage.

(Committee vote: 8-3-0)

Rep. Dolan of Waitsfield, for the Committee on Appropriations,
recommends that the report of the Committee on Environment and Energy be
amended as follows:

First: In Sec. 3, 30 V.S.A. chapter 94, in section 8128, in subsection (b), by
adding a new first sentence to read as follows:

The Clean Heat Standard Technical Advisory Group shall consist of up to
15 members appointed by the Commission. The Commission shall establish
the procedure for the TAG, including member term lengths and meeting
procedures.

Second: In Sec. 3, 30 V.S.A. chapter 94, in section 8129, in subsection (b),
after “Efficiency Vermont,” by inserting “the Vermont Association of Area
Agencies on Aging,”

Third: In Sec. 6, Public Utility Commission implementation, by inserting a
new subsection (k) to read as follows:

(k) Report on equity issues. On or before January 15, 2025, the Equity
Advisory Group shall report to the General Assembly on the Group’s findings
from the review of issues under 30 V.S.A. § 8129(a).

(Committee Vote: 8-3-1)

Amendment to be offered by Reps. James of Manchester, Kornheiser of
Brattleboro, Sibilia of Dover, Carpenter of Hyde Park, Farlice-Rubio of
Barnet, Leavitt of Grand Isle, Noyes of Wolcott, Sims of Craftsbury, and
Taylor of Colchester to the report of the Committee on Environment and
Energy on S. 5

First: In Sec. 3, 30 V.S.A. chapter 94, in section 8124, in subdivision
(d)(1), after “highest energy burdens,” by inserting “residents of manufactured
homes,”
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Second: In Sec. 3, 30 V.S.A. chapter 94, in section 8127, in subdivision
(d)(11), after “high efficiency manufactured home” by inserting “and
weatherization or other efficiency or electrification measures in manufactured
homes”

Third: In Sec. 3, 30 V.S.A. chapter 94, in section 8129, by striking out
subdivision (a)(6) in its entirety and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

(6) providing information to the Commission on the challenges renters
and residents of manufactured homes face in equitably accessing clean heat
measures and recommendations to ensure that renters and residents of
manufactured homes have equitable access to clean heat measures.

Fourth: In Sec. 3, 30 V.S.A. chapter 94, in section 8129, in subsection (b),
by striking out “community action agencies” and inserting in lieu thereof “a
community action agency with expertise in low-income weatherization; a
community action agency with expertise in serving residents of manufactured
homes”

Fifth: In Sec. 6, Public Utility Commission implementation, in subsection
(f), by inserting a new subdivision (5) to read as follows:

(5) The final proposed rules shall contain the first set of annual required
amounts for obligated parties as described in 30 V.S.A. § 8124(a)(1). The first
set of annual required amounts shall only be adopted through the rulemaking
process established in this section, not through an order.

Amendment to be offered by Reps. Harrison of Chittenden, Arrison of
Weathersfield, Brownell of Pownal, Lipsky of Stowe, and Morris of
Springfield to the report of the Committee on Environment and Energy
on S. 5

In Sec. 3, 30 V.S.A. chapter 94, section 8124, in subsection (a), by striking
subdivision (4) in its entirety and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

(4) The Commission shall temporarily, for a period not to exceed 36
months, adjust the annual requirements for good cause after notice and
opportunity for public process. Good cause shall include a shortage of clean
heat credits, market conditions as identified by the Department’s potential
study conducted pursuant to section 8125 of this title, undue adverse financial
impacts on particular customers or demographic segments, or if the average
price of heating fuel in Vermont increases to more than 20 cents above the
average fuel price in New England. The Commission shall ensure that any
downward adjustment has the minimum impact possible on the State’s ability
to comply with the thermal sector portion of the requirements of 10 V.S.A.
§ 578(a)(2) and (3). The Commission shall determine how the long the
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average Vermont fuel price needs to be increased before taking action required
under this subdivision.

Amendment to be offered by Rep. Higley of Lowell to S. 5

Sec. 4a. REPEAL

10 V.S.A. § 594 (cause of action) is repealed.

S. 37

An act relating to access to legally protected health care activity and
regulation of health care providers

Rep. Goldman of Rockingham, for the Committee on Health Care,
recommends that the House propose to the Senate that the bill be amended by
striking out all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the
following:

Sec. 1. 1 V.S.A. § 150 is added to read:

§ 150. LEGALLY PROTECTED HEALTH CARE ACTIVITY

(a) “Gender-affirming health care services” means all supplies, care, and
services of a medical, behavioral health, mental health, surgical, psychiatric,
therapeutic, diagnostic, preventative, rehabilitative, or supportive nature,
including medication, relating to the treatment of gender dysphoria and gender
incongruence. “Gender-affirming health care services” does not include
conversion therapy as defined by 18 V.S.A. § 8351.

(b)(1) “Legally protected health care activity” means:

(A) the exercise and enjoyment, or attempted exercise and
enjoyment, by any person of rights to reproductive health care services or
gender-affirming health care services secured by this State;

(B) any act or omission undertaken to aid or encourage, or attempt to
aid or encourage, any person in the exercise and enjoyment, or attempted
exercise and enjoyment, of rights to reproductive health care services or
gender-affirming health care services secured by this State, provided that the
provision of such a health care service by a person duly licensed under the
laws of this State and physically present in this State shall be legally protected
if the service is permitted under the laws of this State, regardless of the
patient’s location; or

(C) the provision, issuance, or use of, or enrollment in, insurance or
other health coverage for reproductive health care services or gender-affirming
health care services that are legal in this State, or any act to aid or encourage,
or attempt to aid or encourage, any person in the provision, issuance, or use of,
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or enrollment in, insurance or other health coverage for those services,
regardless of the location of the insured or individual seeking insurance or
health coverage, if the insurance or health coverage is permitted under the laws
of this State.

(2) Except as provided in subdivision (3) of this subsection, the
protections applicable to “legally protected health care activity” shall not apply
to a lawsuit, judgment, or civil, criminal, or administrative action that is based
on conduct for which an action would exist under the laws of this State if the
course of conduct that forms the basis for liability had occurred entirely in this
State.

(3) Notwithstanding subdivision (2) of this subsection, the provision of
a health care service by a person duly licensed under the laws of this State and
physically present in this State shall be legally protected if the service is
permitted under the laws of this State, regardless of the patient’s location or
whether the health care provider is licensed in the state where the patient is
located at the time the service is rendered.

(c) “Reproductive health care services” means all supplies, care, and
services of a medical, behavioral health, mental health, surgical, psychiatric,
therapeutic, diagnostic, preventative, rehabilitative, or supportive nature,
including medication, relating to pregnancy, contraception, assisted
reproduction, pregnancy loss management, or the termination of a pregnancy.

* * * Medical Malpractice * * *

Sec. 2. 8 V.S.A. chapter 129 is amended to read:

CHAPTER 129. INSURANCE TRADE PRACTICES

* * *

§ 4722. DEFINITIONS

* * *

(4)(A) “Abusive litigation” means litigation or other legal action to
deter, prevent, sanction, or punish any person engaging in legally protected
health care activity by:

(i) filing or prosecuting any action in any other state where
liability, in whole or part, directly or indirectly, is based on legally protected
health care activity that occurred in this State, including any action in which
liability is based on any theory of vicarious, joint, or several liability derived
therefrom; or

(ii) attempting to enforce any order or judgment issued in
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connection with any such action by any party to the action or any person
acting on behalf of a party to the action.

(B) A lawsuit shall be considered to be based on conduct that
occurred in this State if any part of any act or omission involved in the course
of conduct that forms the basis for liability in the lawsuit occurs or is initiated
in this State, whether or not such act or omission is alleged or included in any
pleading or other filing in the lawsuit.

(5) “Legally protected health care activity” has the same meaning as in
1 V.S.A. § 150.

* * *

§ 4724. UNFAIR METHODS OF COMPETITION OR UNFAIR OR

DECEPTIVE ACTS OR PRACTICES DEFINED

The following are hereby defined as unfair methods of competition or
unfair or deceptive acts or practices in the business of insurance:

* * *

(7) Unfair discrimination; arbitrary underwriting action.

(A) Making or permitting any unfair discrimination between insureds
of the same class and equal risk in the rates charged for any contract of
insurance, or in the dividends or other benefits payable thereon, or in any other
of the terms and conditions of such contracts.

* * *

(F)(i) Discriminating against a health care provider, as defined by
18 V.S.A. § 9496, or adjusting or otherwise calculating a health care provider’s
risk classification or premium charges on the basis that:

(I) the health care provider provides or assists in the provision
of legally protected health care activity that is unlawful in another state;

(II) another state’s laws create potential or actual liability for
that activity;

(III) abusive litigation against a provider concerning legally
protected health care activity resulted in a claim, settlement, or judgement
against the provider; or

(IV) the license of the provider has been disciplined in any way
by another state based solely on the provider’s provision of legally protected
health care activity.

(ii) For purposes of this subdivision (F), it shall not be unfairly
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discriminatory nor an arbitrary underwriting action against a health care
provider if the risk classifications, premium charges, or other underwriting
considerations are based on factors other than those listed in subdivision (i) of
this subdivision (F).

* * *

* * * Insurance Coverage * * *

Sec. 3. 8 V.S.A. § 4088m is added to read:

§ 4088m. COVERAGE FOR GENDER-AFFIRMING HEALTH CARE

SERVICES

(a) Definitions. As used in this section:

(1) “Gender-affirming health care services” has the same meaning as in
1 V.S.A. § 150.

(2) “Health insurance plan” means Medicaid and any other public health
care assistance program, any individual or group health insurance policy, any
hospital or medical service corporation or health maintenance organization
subscriber contract, or any other health benefit plan offered, issued, or
renewed for any person in this State by a health insurer as defined by 18
V.S.A. § 9402. For purposes of this section, health insurance plan includes
any health benefit plan offered or administered by the State or any subdivision
or instrumentality of the State. The term does not include benefit plans
providing coverage for a specific disease or other limited benefit coverage,
except that it includes any accident and sickness health plan.

(b) Coverage.

(1) A health insurance plan shall provide coverage for gender-affirming
health care services that:

(A) are medically necessary and clinically appropriate for the
individual’s diagnosis or health condition; and

(B) are included in the State’s essential health benefits benchmark
plan.

(2) Coverage provided pursuant to this section by Medicaid or any other
public health care assistance program shall comply with all federal
requirements imposed by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.

(3) Nothing in this section shall prohibit a health insurance plan from
providing greater coverage for gender-affirming health care services than is
required under this section.
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(c) Cost sharing. A health insurance plan shall not impose greater
coinsurance, co-payment, deductible, or other cost-sharing requirements for
coverage of gender-affirming health care services than apply to the diagnosis
and treatment of any other physical or mental condition under the plan.

Sec. 4. 8 V.S.A. § 4099e is added to read:

§ 4099e. COVERAGE FOR ABORTION AND ABORTION-RELATED

SERVICES

(a) Definitions. As used in this section:

(1) “Abortion” means any medical treatment intended to induce the
termination of, or to terminate, a clinically diagnosable pregnancy except for
the purpose of producing a live birth.

(2) “Health insurance plan” means Medicaid and any other public health
care assistance program, any individual or group health insurance policy, any
hospital or medical service corporation or health maintenance organization
subscriber contract, or any other health benefit plan offered, issued, or
renewed for any person in this State by a health insurer as defined by 18
V.S.A. § 9402. For purposes of this section, health insurance plan shall
include any health benefit plan offered or administered by the State or any
subdivision or instrumentality of the State. The term shall not include benefit
plans providing coverage for a specific disease or other limited benefit
coverage, except that it shall include any accident and sickness health plan.

(b) Coverage. A health insurance plan shall provide coverage for abortion
and abortion-related care.

(c) Cost sharing. The coverage required by this section shall not be subject
to any co-payment, deductible, coinsurance, or other cost-sharing requirement
or additional charge, except:

(1) to the extent such coverage would disqualify a high-deductible
health plan from eligibility for a health savings account pursuant to 26 U.S.C.
§ 223; and

(2) for coverage provided by Medicaid.

Sec. 5. STATE PLAN AMENDMENT

The Agency of Human Services shall seek a state plan amendment from the
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services or federal authorities if needed to
allow Vermont’s Medicaid program to provide coverage consistent with this
act.

* * * Professional Regulation * * *
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Sec. 6. 3 V.S.A. § 129a is amended to read:

§ 129a. UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT

(a) In addition to any other provision of law, the following conduct by a
licensee constitutes unprofessional conduct. When that conduct is by an
applicant or person who later becomes an applicant, it may constitute grounds
for denial of a license or other disciplinary action. Any one of the following
items or any combination of items, whether the conduct at issue was
committed within or outside the State, shall constitute unprofessional conduct:

* * *

(7) Willfully making or filing false reports or records in the practice of
the profession, willfully impeding or obstructing the proper making or filing of
reports or records, or willfully failing to file the proper reports or records, or
willfully providing inaccurate health or medical information to a patient,
including purposeful misrepresentation of a patient’s health status.

* * *

(29) Providing or claiming to provide services or medications that are
purported to reverse the effects of a medication abortion.

* * *

(f)(1) Health care providers. Notwithstanding subsection (e) of this section
or any other law to the contrary, no health care provider who is certified,
registered, or licensed in Vermont shall be subject to professional disciplinary
action by a board or the Director, nor shall a board or the Director take adverse
action on an application for certification, registration, or licensure of a
qualified health care provider, based solely on:

(A) the health care provider providing or assisting in the provision of
legally protected health care activity; or

(B) a criminal, or civil, action or disciplinary action in another state
against the health care provider by a licensing board of another state, that is
based solely on the provider providing or assisting in the provision of legally
protected health care activity.

(2) Definitions. As used in this subsection:

(A) “Health care provider” has the same meaning as in 18 V.S.A.
§ 9496 means a person who provides professional health care services to an
individual during that individual’s medical care, treatment, or confinement.

(B) “Health care services” means services for the diagnosis,
prevention, treatment, cure, or relief of a physical or mental health condition,
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including procedures, products, devices, and medications.

(C) “Legally protected health care activity” has the same meaning as
in 1 V.S.A. § 150.

Sec. 7. 26 V.S.A. § 1354 is amended to read:

§ 1354. UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT

* * *

(d)(1) Health care providers. Notwithstanding any other law to the
contrary, no health care provider who is certified, registered, or licensed in
Vermont shall be subject to professional disciplinary action by the Board, nor
shall the Board take adverse action on an application for certification,
registration, or licensure of a qualified health care provider, based solely on:

(A) the health care provider providing or assisting in the provision of
legally protected health care activity; or

(B) a criminal, or civil, action or disciplinary action in another state
against the health care provider by a licensing board of another state, that is
based solely on the provider providing or assisting in the provision of legally
protected health care activity.

(2) Definitions. As used in this subsection:

(A) “Health care provider” has the same meaning as in 18 V.S.A.
§ 9496 means a person who provides professional health care services to an
individual during that individual’s medical care, treatment, or confinement.

(B) “Health care services” means services for the diagnosis,
prevention, treatment, cure, or relief of a physical or mental health condition,
including procedures, products, devices, and medications.

(C) “Legally protected health care activity” has the same meaning as
in 1 V.S.A. § 150.

* * * Pregnancy Centers * * *

Sec. 8. 9 V.S.A. chapter 63, subchapter 11 is added to read:

Subchapter 11. Pregnancy Services Centers

§ 2491. FINDINGS; LEGISLATIVE INTENT

(a) Findings. The General Assembly finds that:

(1) Centers that seek to counsel clients against abortion, often referred
to as crisis pregnancy centers or limited-services pregnancy centers, have
become common across the country, including in Vermont. Accurate



- 1961 -

information about the services that a limited-services pregnancy center
performs, in addition to forthright acknowledgement of its limitations, is
essential to enable individuals in this State to make informed decisions about
their care. This includes individuals being informed of whether they are
receiving services from a licensed and qualified health care provider at a
limited-services pregnancy center, as this allows individuals to determine if
they need to seek medical care elsewhere in order to continue or terminate a
pregnancy.

(2) Although some limited-services pregnancy centers openly
acknowledge in their advertising, on their websites, and at their facilities that
they neither provide abortions nor refer clients to other providers of abortion
services, others provide confusing and misleading information to pregnant
individuals contemplating abortion by leading those individuals to believe that
their facilities offer abortion services and unbiased counseling. Some limited-
services pregnancy centers have promoted patently false or biased medical
claims about abortion, pregnancy, contraception, and reproductive health care
providers.

(3) False and misleading advertising by centers that do not offer or refer
clients for abortion is of special concern to the State because of the time-
sensitive and constitutionally protected nature of the decision to continue or
terminate a pregnancy. When a pregnant individual is misled into believing
that a center offers services that it does not in fact offer or receives false or
misleading information regarding health care options, the individual loses time
crucial to the decision whether to terminate a pregnancy and may lose the
option to choose a particular method or to terminate a pregnancy at all.

(4) Telling the truth is how trained health care providers demonstrate
respect for patients, foster trust, promote self-determination, and cultivate an
environment where best practices in shared decision-making can flourish.
Without veracity in information and communication, it is difficult for
individuals to make informed, voluntary choices that are essential to one’s
sense of personal agency and autonomy.

(5) Advertising strategies and educational information about health care
options that lack transparency, use misleading or ambiguous terminology,
misrepresent or obfuscate services provided, or provide factually inaccurate
information are a form of manipulation that disrespects individuals,
undermines trust, broadens health disparity, and can result in patient harm.

(b) Intent.

(1) It is the intent of the General Assembly to ensure that the public is
provided with accurate, factual information about the types of health care
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services that are available to pregnant individuals in this State. The General
Assembly respects the constitutionally protected right of each individual to
personal reproductive autonomy, which includes the right to receive clear,
honest, and nonmisleading information about the individual’s options and to
make informed, voluntary choices after considering all relevant information.

(2) The General Assembly respects the right of limited-services
pregnancy centers to counsel individuals against abortion, and nothing in this
subchapter should be construed to regulate, limit, or curtail such advocacy.

§ 2492. DEFINITIONS

As used in this subchapter:

(1) “Abortion” means any medical treatment intended to induce the
termination of, or to terminate, a clinically diagnosable pregnancy except for
the purpose of producing a live birth.

(2) “Client” means an individual who is inquiring about or seeking
services at a pregnancy services center.

(3) “Emergency contraception” means any drug approved by the U.S.
Food and Drug Administration as a contraceptive method for use after sexual
intercourse, whether provided over the counter or by prescription.

(4) “Health information” means any oral or written information in any
form or medium that relates to health insurance or the past, present, or future
physical or mental health or condition of a client.

(5) “Limited-services pregnancy center” means a pregnancy services
center that does not directly provide, or provide referrals to clients for,
abortions or emergency contraception.

(6) “Pregnancy services center” means a facility, including a mobile
facility, where the primary purpose is to provide services to individuals who
are or may be pregnant and that either offers obstetric ultrasounds, obstetric
sonograms, or prenatal care to pregnant individuals or has the appearance of a
medical facility. A pregnancy services center has the appearance of a medical
facility if two or more of the following factors are present:

(A) The center offers pregnancy testing or pregnancy diagnosis, or
both.

(B) The center has staff or volunteers who wear medical attire or
uniforms.

(C) The center contains one or more examination tables.

(D) The center contains a private or semiprivate room or area
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containing medical supplies or medical instruments.

(E) The center has staff or volunteers who collect health information
from clients.

(F) The center is located on the same premises as a State-licensed
medical facility or provider or shares facility space with a State-licensed
medical provider.

(7) “Premises” means land and improvements or appurtenances or any
part thereof.

§ 2493. UNFAIR AND DECEPTIVE ACT

(a) It is an unfair and deceptive act and practice in commerce and a
violation of section 2453 of this title for any limited-services pregnancy center
to disseminate or cause to be disseminated to the public any advertising about
the services or proposed services performed at that center that is untrue or
clearly designed to mislead the public about the nature of services provided.
Advertising includes representations made directly to consumers; marketing
practices; communication in any print medium, such as newspapers,
magazines, mailers, or handouts; and any broadcast medium, such as television
or radio, telephone marketing, or advertising over the Internet such as through
websites and web ads. For purposes of this chapter, advertising or the
provision of services by a limited-services pregnancy center is an act in
commerce.

(b) Health care providers certified, registered, or licensed under Title 26 of
the Vermont Statutes Annotated who are employed by, contracted to provide
services for or on behalf of, or volunteer to provide services at a limited-
services pregnancy center shall be responsible for conducting and providing
health care services, information, and counseling at the center.  The failure of a
health care professional certified, registered, or licensed under Title 26 of the
Vermont Statutes Annotated to conduct or to ensure that health care services,
information, and counseling at the limited-services pregnancy services center
are conducted in accordance with State law and professional standards of
practice may constitute unprofessional conduct under 3 V.S.A. § 129a and 26
V.S.A. § 1354.

(c) The Attorney General has the same authority to make rules, conduct
civil investigations, and bring civil actions with respect to violations of
subsection (a) of this section as provided under subchapter 1 of this chapter.

* * * Reports; Interstate Compacts * * *

Sec. 9. 18 V.S.A. § 9405 is amended to read:
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§ 9405. STATE HEALTH IMPROVEMENT PLAN; HEALTH RESOURCE

ALLOCATION PLAN

* * *

(b) The Green Mountain Care Board, in consultation with the Secretary of
Human Services or designee, shall publish on its website the Health Resource
Allocation Plan identifying Vermont’s critical health needs, goods, services,
and resources, which shall be used to inform the Board’s regulatory processes,
cost containment and statewide quality of care efforts, health care payment and
delivery system reform initiatives, and any allocation of health resources
within the State. The Plan shall identify Vermont residents’ needs for health
care services, programs, and facilities; the resources available and the
additional resources that would be required to realistically meet those needs
and to make access to those services, programs, and facilities affordable for
consumers; and the priorities for addressing those needs on a statewide basis.
The Board may expand the Plan to include resources, needs, and priorities
related to the social determinants of health. The Plan shall be revised
periodically, but not less frequently than once every four years.

* * *

(3) The Board shall receive and consider public input on the Plan at a
minimum of one Board meeting and one meeting of the Advisory Committee
and shall give interested persons an opportunity to submit their views orally
and in writing.

(4) The Board shall include reproductive health care services and
gender-affirming health care services, as those terms are defined in 1 V.S.A.
§ 150, in its Plan analysis.

(5) As used in this section:

(A) “Health resources” means investments into the State’s health care
system, including investments in personnel, equipment, and infrastructure
necessary to deliver:

* * *

Sec. 9a. AGENCY OF HUMAN SERVICES; STATE HEALTH

ASSESSMENT; COMMUNITY PROFILES

The Agency of Human Services shall work with LGBTQA+ community
stakeholders and health care providers during the upcoming State Health
Assessment and Community Profiles community engagement processes to
explore barriers to equitable access to gender-affirming health care services, as
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defined in 1 V.S.A. § 150.

Sec. 10. BOARD OF MEDICAL PRACTICE; OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL

REGULATION; INTERSTATE COMPACTS; REPORT

On or before November 1, 2025, the Office of Professional Regulation, in
consultation with the Board of Medical Practice, shall submit a report to the
House Committee on Health Care and the Senate Committee on Health and
Welfare with findings and recommendations for legislative action to address
any concerns regarding the State’s participation, or contemplated participation,
in interstate licensure compacts as a result of the provisions of this act,
including the State’s participation in the Nurse Licensure Compact pursuant to
26 V.S.A. chapter 28, subchapter 5 and the Interstate Medical Licensure
Compact pursuant to 26 V.S.A. chapter 23, subchapter 3A.

Sec. 10a. 26 V.S.A. chapter 56 is amended to read:

CHAPTER 56. OUT-OF-STATE TELEHEALTH LICENSURE &
REGISTRATION AND INTERSTATE COMPACTS

Subchapter 1. Out-of-State Telehealth Licensure And Registration

* * *

Subchapter 2. Interstate Compacts; Health Care Provider Compacts

§ 3071. HEALTH CARE PROVIDER COMPACTS; DIRECTION TO

VERMONT REPRESENTATIVES

(a) The General Assembly finds that a state’s prohibition of or limitation
on the provision of gender-affirming health care services or reproductive
health care services, or both, as defined by 1 V.S.A. § 150, prohibits health
care providers from following health care best practices and is a failure on the
part of the state to provide health care services that are medically necessary
and clinically appropriate for its residents. Therefore, it is the General
Assembly’s intent to protect the ability of professionals licensed, certified, or
registered in Vermont, and professionals from other member states seeking to
practice a profession in Vermont pursuant to an interstate compact or
agreement, to have the benefit of compacts and agreements while at the same
time engaging in, providing, or otherwise facilitating, personally or
professionally, gender-affirming health care and reproductive health care
services.

(b) Vermont’s representative or delegate for an interstate compact or
agreement related to health care shall seek an amendment or exception to the
language, rules, directives, or bylaws of the compact or agreement, as
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necessary, so that if a licensee is disciplined by another state solely for
providing or assisting in the provision of gender-affirming health care services
or reproductive health care services that would be legal and meet professional
standards of care if provided in Vermont, the compact or agreement does not
require that Vermont take professional disciplinary action against the licensee.

* * * Emergency Contraception * * *

Sec. 11. 26 V.S.A. chapter 36, subchapter 1 is amended to read:

Subchapter 1. General Provisions

* * *

§ 2022. DEFINITIONS

As used in this chapter:

* * *

(22) “Emergency contraception” means any drug approved by the U.S.
Food and Drug Administration as a contraceptive method for use after sexual
intercourse, whether provided over the counter or by prescription.

§ 2023. CLINICAL PHARMACY; PRESCRIBING

* * *

(b) A pharmacist may prescribe in the following contexts:

* * *

(2) State protocol.

(A) A pharmacist may prescribe, order, or administer in a manner
consistent with valid State protocols that are approved by the Commissioner of
Health after consultation with the Director of Professional Regulation and the
Board and the ability for public comment:

* * *

(ix) emergency prescribing of albuterol or glucagon while
contemporaneously contacting emergency services; and

(x) tests for SARS-CoV for asymptomatic individuals or related
serology for individuals by entities holding a Certificate of Waiver pursuant to
the Clinical Laboratory Amendments of 1988 (42 U.S.C. § 263a); and

(xi) emergency contraception.

* * *

Sec. 11a. 26 V.S.A. § 2077 is added to read:
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§ 2077. EMERGENCY CONTRACEPTION; VENDING MACHINES

(a) A retail or institutional drug outlet licensed under this chapter or a
postsecondary school, as defined in and subject to 16 V.S.A. § 176, may make
over-the-counter emergency contraception and other nonprescription drugs or
articles for the prevention of pregnancy or conception available through a
vending machine or similar device.

(b) Notwithstanding any provision of subsection 2032(h) of this chapter to
the contrary, the Board may adopt rules in accordance with 3 V.S.A. chapter
25 to regulate the location, operation, utilization, and oversight of the vending
machines and similar devices described in subsection (a) of this section in a
manner that balances consumer access with appropriate safeguards for theft
prevention and safety.

* * * Higher Education; Health Care Services * * *

Sec. 12. 16 V.S.A. chapter 78 is added to read:

CHAPTER 78. ACCESS TO REPRODUCTIVE AND GENDER-
AFFIRMING HEALTH CARE SERVICES

§ 2501. DEFINITIONS

As used in this chapter:

(1) “Gender-affirming health care readiness” means each institution’s
preparedness to provide gender-affirming health care services to students or
assist students in obtaining gender-affirming health care services, including
having in place equipment, protocols, patient educational materials,
informational websites, and training for staff; provided, however, that gender-
affirming health care readiness may include the provision of gender-affirming
health care services.

(2) “Gender-affirming health care services” has the same meaning as in
1 V.S.A. § 150.

(3) “Institution” means the University of Vermont or a college in the
Vermont State College system.

(4) “Medication abortion” means an abortion provided by medication
techniques.

(5) “Reproductive health care services” has the same meaning as in
1 V.S.A. § 150 and includes medication abortion.

(6) “Reproductive health care readiness” means each institution’s
preparedness to provide reproductive health care services to students or assist
students in obtaining reproductive health care services, including having in
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place equipment, protocols, patient educational materials, informational
websites, and training for staff; provided, however, that reproductive health
care readiness may include the provision of reproductive health care services.

(7) “Telehealth” has the same meaning as in 26 V.S.A. § 3052.

§ 2502. GENDER-AFFIRMING HEALTH CARE AND REPRODUCTIVE

HEALTH CARE READINESS; REPORTS

(a) Each institution shall report to the Agency of Human Services annually,
on or before November 1, on the current status of its gender-affirming health
care and reproductive health care readiness, including:

(1) whether the institution has an operational health center on campus;

(2) whether the institution employs health care providers on campus;

(3) the types of gender-affirming health care services and reproductive
health care services that the institution offers to its students on campus and the
supports that the institution provides to students who receive those services;

(4) the institution’s efforts to assist students with obtaining gender-
affirming health care services and reproductive health care services from
licensed health care professionals through telehealth;

(5) the institution’s proximity to a hospital, clinic, or other facility that
provides gender-affirming health care services or reproductive health care
services, or both, that are not available to students on campus;

(6) the information that the institution provides regarding facilities that
offer gender-affirming health care services and reproductive health care
services that are not available to students on campus, including information
regarding the scope of the services that are available at each such facility; and

(7) the availability, convenience, and cost of public transportation
between the institution and the closest facility that provides gender-affirming
health care services or reproductive health care services, or both, and whether
the institution provides transportation.

(b) On or before January 31 of each year, the Agency of Human Services
shall compile the materials submitted pursuant to subsection (a) of this section
and report to the House Committees on Education, on Health Care, and on
Human Services and the Senate Committees on Education and on Health and
Welfare on the status of gender-affirming health care and reproductive health
care readiness at Vermont’s institutions.

Sec. 13. GENDER-AFFIRMING HEALTH CARE AND REPRODUCTIVE
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HEALTH CARE READINESS; IMPLEMENTATION

Each institution shall submit its first report on the status of its gender-
affirming health care and reproductive health care readiness as required under
16 V.S.A. § 2502(a) to the Agency of Human Services on or before November
1, 2023, and the Agency shall provide its first legislative report on or before
January 31, 2024.

* * * Prohibition on Disclosure of Protected Health Information * * *

Sec. 14. 18 V.S.A. § 1881 is amended to read:

§ 1881. DISCLOSURE OF PROTECTED HEALTH INFORMATION

PROHIBITED

(a) As used in this section:

(1) “Business associate” has the same meaning as in 45 C.F.R.
§ 160.103.

(2) “Covered entity” shall have has the same meaning as in 45 C.F.R.
§ 160.103.

(3) “Legally protected health care activity” has the same meaning as in
1 V.S.A. § 150.

(2)(4) “Protected health information” shall have has the same meaning
as in 45 C.F.R. § 160.103.

(5) “Telehealth” has the same meaning as in 26 V.S.A. § 3052.

(b) A covered entity or business associate shall not disclose protected
health information unless the disclosure is permitted under the Health
Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA).

(c) In order to protect patients and providers who engage in legally
protected health care activity, a covered entity or business associate shall not
disclose protected health information related to a legally protected health care
activity for use in a civil or criminal action; a proceeding preliminary to a civil
or criminal action; or a probate, legislative, or administrative proceeding
unless the disclosure meets one or more of the following conditions:

(1) The disclosure is authorized by the patient or the patient’s
conservator, guardian, or other authorized legal representative.

(2) The disclosure is specifically required by federal law, Vermont law,
or rules adopted by the Vermont Supreme Court.

(3) The disclosure is ordered by a court of competent jurisdiction
pursuant to federal law, Vermont law, or rules adopted by the Vermont
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Supreme Court. An order compelling disclosure under this subdivision shall
include the court’s determination that good cause exists to require disclosure of
the information related to legally protected health care activity.

(4) The disclosure is to be made to a person designated by the covered
entity or business associate and will be used solely in the defense of the
covered entity or business associate against a claim that has been made, or
there is a reasonable belief will be made, against the covered entity or business
associate in a civil or criminal action, a proceeding preliminary to a civil or
criminal action, or a probate, legislative, or administrative proceeding.

(5) The disclosure is to Vermont’s Board of Medical Practice or Office
of Professional Regulation, as applicable, in connection with a bona fide
investigation in Vermont of a licensed, certified, or registered health care
provider or a bona fide investigation of whether an individual who is not
licensed, certified, or registered to practice a health care profession in Vermont
engaged in unauthorized practice in this State, whether in person or through
telehealth.

(6) The disclosure is to the Vermont Department of Health or the
Vermont Department of Disabilities, Aging, and Independent Living, or both,
in connection with a bona fide investigation of a licensed health care facility in
Vermont.

* * * Effective Dates * * *

Sec. 15. EFFECTIVE DATES

(a) This section, Sec. 1 (definitions), Sec. 2 (medical malpractice), Secs. 6
and 7 (unprofessional conduct), Sec. 8 (pregnancy services centers), Secs. 9,
9a, and 10 (reports and analyses), Sec. 11a (emergency contraception; vending
machines), Secs. 12 and 13 (gender-affirming health care and reproductive
health care readiness; reports), and Sec. 14 (prohibition on disclosure of
protected health information) shall take effect on passage.

(b) Secs. 3 and 4 (insurance coverage) shall take effect on January 1, 2024
and shall apply to all health insurance plans issued on and after January 1,
2024 on such date as a health insurer offers, issues, or renews the health
insurance plan, but in no event later than January 1, 2025.

(c) Sec. 5 (state plan amendment) shall take effect on January 1, 2024,
except that the Agency of Human Services shall submit its request for approval
of Medicaid coverage of the services prescribed in Sec. 4 of this act, if needed,
to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services on or before July 1, 2023,
and the Medicaid coverage shall begin on the later of the date of approval or
January 1, 2024.
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(d) Sec. 10a (interstate compacts; state representatives) shall take effect on
July 1, 2023.

(e) Sec. 11 (emergency contraception) shall take effect on or before
September 1, 2023, on such date as the Commissioner of Health approves the
State protocol.

(Committee vote: 9-2-0)

Rep. Scheu of Middlebury, for the Committee on Appropriations,
recommends the bill ought to pass in concurrence with proposal of amendment
as recommended by the Committee on Health Care.

(Committee Vote: 10-2-0)

Amendment to be offered by Reps. Houghton of Essex Junction,
Berbeco of Winooski, Black of Essex, Carpenter of Hyde Park, Cina of
Burlington, Cordes of Lincoln, Farlice-Rubio of Barnet, Goldman of
Rockingham, and McFaun of Barre Town to the report of the Committee
on Health Care on S. 37

In Sec. 1, 1 V.S.A. § 150, by striking out subsection (c) in its entirety and
inserting in lieu thereof a new subsection (c) to read as follows:

(c)(1) “Reproductive health care services” means all supplies, care, and
services of a medical, behavioral health, mental health, surgical, psychiatric,
therapeutic, diagnostic, preventative, rehabilitative, or supportive nature,
including medication, relating to pregnancy, contraception, assisted
reproduction, pregnancy loss management, or the termination of a pregnancy.

(2) “Reproductive health care services” includes medication that was
approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for termination of
a pregnancy as of January 1, 2023, regardless of the medication’s current FDA
approval status:

(A) when such medication is procured, ordered, stored, distributed,
prescribed, dispensed, or administered, or a combination thereof, by a person
duly licensed under the laws of this State, as long as the licensee’s actions
conform to the essential standards of acceptable and prevailing practice for the
licensee’s profession; or

(B) when such medication is used by an individual.

Amendment to be offered by Rep. Higley of Lowell to the report of the
Committee on Health Care on S. 37

First: In Sec. 8, 9 V.S.A. chapter 63, subchapter 11, in section 2491, in
subsection (a), in subdivision (1), following “counsel clients against abortion”,
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by striking out “, often referred to as crisis pregnancy centers or limited-
services pregnancy centers,”

Second: In Sec. 8, 9 V.S.A. chapter 63, subchapter 11, in section 2491, in
subsection (a), by adding a new subdivision (6) to read as follows:

(6) Some individuals may be intimidated in receiving services to
support the exercise of their right to choose to bear a child at a pregnancy
services center where abortion services are provided.

Third: In Sec. 8, 9 V.S.A. chapter 63, subchapter 11, by striking out the
phrase “limited-services pregnancy center” each time it appears and inserting
in lieu thereof “pregnancy services center”

Fourth: In Sec. 8, 9 V.S.A. chapter 63, subchapter 11, by striking out the
phrase “limited-services pregnancy centers” each time it appears and inserting
in lieu thereof “pregnancy services centers”

Fifth: In Sec. 8, 9 V.S.A. chapter 63, subchapter 11, in section 2492, by
striking out subdivision (5) in its entirety and by renumbering the remaining
subdivisions to be numerically correct.

Amendment to be offered by Rep. Morgan of Milton to the report of
the Committee on Health Care on S. 37

In Sec. 12, 16 V.S.A. chapter 78, in § 2501, in subdivision (5), by inserting
before the period “and support for the choice to carry a pregnancy to term”

Amendment to be offered by Rep. Williams of Granby to the report of
the Committee on Health Care on S. 37

By amending Sec. 4, 8 V.S.A. § 4099e, as follows:

First: By striking out the section heading in its entirety and inserting in lieu
thereof a new section heading to read as follows:

§ 4099e. COVERAGE FOR REPRODUCTIVE HEALTH CARE SERVICES

Second: In subsection (a), by striking out subdivision (1) in its entirety, by
redesignating subdivision (2) to be subdivision (1), and by adding a new
subdivision (2) to read as follows:

(2) “Reproductive health care services” has the same meaning as in 1
V.S.A. § 150.

Third: By striking out subsection (b) in its entirety and inserting in lieu
thereof a new subsection (b) to read as follows:

(b) Coverage. A health insurance plan shall provide coverage for
reproductive health care services.
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Amendment to be offered by Rep. Donahue of Northfield to the report
of the Committee on Health Care on S. 37

In Sec. 6, 3 V.S.A. § 129a, in subsection (a), in subdivision (29), following
“effects of a medication abortion”, by adding “, except that it shall not
constitute unprofessional conduct if the licensee, acting within the licensee’s
scope of practice and meeting existing standards of care in the prescription or
administration of a medication for an off-label use, provides a medication for
the purpose of assisting an individual in the attempt to exercise the right to
choose to bear a child after the individual has initiated but not completed the
process of having a medication abortion”

Senate Proposal of Amendment

H. 41

An act relating to referral of domestic and sexual violence cases to
community justice centers

The Senate proposes to the House to amend the bill as follows:

First: In Sec. 3, 24 V.S.A. §§ 1968 and 1969, in section 1968, in
subdivision (c)(4), after the word “volunteers” by inserting the words and
relevant law enforcement and prosecutors

Second: By striking out Sec. 4, report; Community Justice Unit of the
Office of the Attorney General, in its entirety and inserting in lieu thereof a
new Sec. 4 to read as follows:

Sec. 4. REPORT; COMMUNITY JUSTICE UNIT OF THE OFFICE OF
THE ATTORNEY GENERAL

(a) On or before December 1, 2025, the Community Justice Unit, in
collaboration with the Vermont Network, and the participating community
justice centers shall submit an interim report to the House and Senate
Committees on Judiciary regarding the establishment of memorandums of
understanding pursuant to 24 V.S.A. § 1968, the status of implementation of
programming, referral sources, available data on effectiveness, and the
available resources and capacity for such programming.

(b) On or before July 1, 2028, the Community Justice Unit, in
collaboration with the Vermont Network, and the participating community
justice centers shall submit a final report to the House and Senate Committees
on Judiciary regarding the establishment of memorandums of understanding
pursuant to 24 V.S.A. § 1968, the status of implementation of programming,
referral sources, available data on effectiveness, and the available resources
and capacity for such programming.
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H. 53

An act relating to driver’s license suspensions

The Senate proposes to the House to amend the bill as follows:

By striking out Sec. 2, effective date, in its entirety and inserting in lieu
thereof the following:

Sec. 2. IMPLEMENTATION

The Commissioner of Motor Vehicles shall not suspend any driver’s
licenses or privileges to operate that are not already suspended as of the
effective date of this act solely for the nonpayment of a civil penalty for a
traffic violation committed prior to the effective date of this act.

Sec. 3. EFFECTIVE DATE

This act shall take effect 30 calendar days after passage.

Action Under Rule 52

J.R.H. 5

Joint resolution authorizing the Green Mountain Girls State educational
program to use the facilities of the State House on a mutually agreed upon day
and for a designated time span during the week of June 18, 2023

(For text see House Journal April 19, 2023)

NOTICE CALENDAR

Favorable with Amendment

H. 504

An act relating to approval of amendments to the charter of the Town of
Berlin

Rep. Morgan of Milton, for the Committee on Government Operations
and Military Affairs, recommends the bill be amended as follows:

In Sec. 2, 24 App. V.S.A. chapter 105 (Town of Berlin), in section 73, in
subsection (c), following the words “value of personal property or inventory”
by striking out the word “taxation”

(Committee Vote: 12-0-0)

Rep. Branagan of Georgia, for the Committee on Ways and Means,
recommends the bill ought to pass when amended as recommended by the
Committee on Government Operations and Military Affairs.
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(Committee Vote: 11-1-0)

H. 505

An act relating to approval of an amendment to the charter of the City of
Rutland

Rep. Waters Evans of Charlotte, for the Committee on Government
Operations and Military Affairs, recommends the bill be amended as follows:

In Sec. 2, 24 App. V.S.A. chapter 9 (City of Rutland), in section 8.9, by
striking out subsection (d) in its entirety and inserting in lieu thereof the
following:

(d) Revenues received through a tax imposed under this section shall be
used for any of the following:

(1) deposit in any capital improvement reserve fund established in
accordance with 24 V.S.A. § 2804;

(2) reducing the deficit in any underfunded pension; or

(3) financing the construction, reconstruction, or repair of City
buildings, streets, sidewalks, or other infrastructure.

(Committee Vote: 12-0-0)

Rep. Branagan of Georgia, for the Committee on Ways and Means,
recommends the bill ought to pass when amended as recommended by the
Committee on Government Operations and Military Affairs.

(Committee Vote: 12-0-0)

S. 36

An act relating to permitting an arrest without a warrant for assaults and
threats against health care workers and disorderly conduct at health care
facilities

Rep. Burditt of West Rutland, for the Committee on Judiciary,
recommends that the House propose to the Senate that the bill be amended by
striking out all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the
following:

Sec. 1. Rule 3 of the Vermont Rules of Criminal Procedure is amended to
read:

Rule 3. Arrest Without a Warrant; Citation to Appear

* * *
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(c) Nonwitnessed Misdemeanor Offenses. If an officer has probable cause
to believe a person has committed or is committing a misdemeanor outside the
presence of the officer, the officer may issue a citation to appear before a
judicial officer in lieu of arrest. The officer may arrest the person without a
warrant if the officer has probable cause to believe:

* * *

(8) The person has committed a misdemeanor which involves an assault
against a family member, or against a household member, as defined in 15
V.S.A. § 1101(2), or a child of such a family or household member.

* * *

(14) The person has violated 13 V.S.A. § 1023 (simple assault).

* * *

(18) The person has committed a misdemeanor that involves an assault
against:

(A) a health care worker in a hospital as those terms are defined in 13
V.S.A. § 1028(d)(3) and 18 V.S.A. § 1902(1); or

(B) a person providing emergency medical treatment as defined in 24
V.S.A. § 2651(9).

(19) The person has violated 13 V.S.A. § 1702 (criminal threatening)
against:

(A) a health care worker in a hospital as those terms are defined in 13
V.S.A. § 1028(d)(3) and 18 V.S.A. § 1902(1); or

(B) a person providing emergency medical treatment as defined in 24
V.S.A. § 2651(9).

(20) The person has committed a violation of 13 V.S.A. § 1026(a)(1)
(disorderly conduct for engaging in fighting or in violent or threatening
behavior) that interfered with the provision of medically necessary health care
services:

(A) in a hospital as defined in 18 V.S.A. § 1902(1); or

(B) by a person providing emergency medical treatment as defined in
24 V.S.A. § 2651(9).

* * *

Sec. 2. 13 V.S.A. § 1702 is amended to read:

§ 1702. CRIMINAL THREATENING
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(a) A person shall not by words or conduct knowingly:

(1) threaten another person or a group of particular persons; and

(2) as a result of the threat, place the other person in reasonable
apprehension of death, serious bodily injury, or sexual assault to the other
person, a person in the group of particular persons, or any other person.

(b) A person who violates subsection (a) of this section shall be imprisoned
not more than one year or fined not more than $1,000.00, or both.

* * *

(f) A person who violates subsection (a) of this section with the intent to
terrify, intimidate, or unlawfully influence the conduct of a candidate for
public office, a public servant, an election official, or a public employee in any
decision, opinion, recommendation, vote, or other exercise of discretion taken
in capacity as a candidate for public office, a public servant, an election
official, or a public employee, or with the intent to retaliate against a candidate
for public office, a public servant, an election official, or a public employee for
any previous action taken in capacity as a candidate for public office, a public
servant, an election official, or a public employee, shall be imprisoned not
more than two years or fined not more than $2,000.00, or both.

(g) A person who violates subsection (a) of this section with the intent to
terrify or intimidate a health care worker or an emergency medical personnel
member because of the worker’s or member’s action or inaction taken in the
provision of health care services shall be imprisoned not more than two years
or fined not more than $2,000.00, or both.

(h) As used in this section:

(1) “Serious bodily injury” has the same meaning as in section 1021 of
this title.

(2) “Threat” and “threaten” do not include constitutionally protected
activity.

(3) “Candidate” has the same meaning as in 17 V.S.A. § 2103.

(4) “Election official” has the same meaning as in 17 V.S.A. § 2455.

(5) “Public employee” means a classified employee within the
Legislative, Executive, or Judicial Branch of the State and any of its political
subdivisions and any employee within a county or local government and any
of the county’s or local government’s political subdivisions.

(6) “Public servant” has the same meaning as in 17 V.S.A. § 2103.
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(7) “Polling place” has the same meaning as described in 17 V.S.A.
chapter 51, subchapter 4.

(8) “Sexual assault” has the same meaning as sexual assault as described
in section 3252 of this title.

(9) “Emergency medical personnel” has the same meaning as in 24
V.S.A. § 2651(6).

(h)(i) Any person charged under this section who is younger than the age
identified in 33 V.S.A. § 5201(d) shall be subject to a juvenile proceeding.

(10) “Health care services” means services for the diagnosis, prevention,
treatment, cure, or relief of a health condition, illness, injury, or disease.

(11) “Health care worker” has the same meaning as in section 1028 of
this title.

Sec. 3. 18 V.S.A. § 1883 is added to read:

§ 1883. DISCLOSURE OF PROTECTED HEALTH INFORMATION

REQUIRED

(a) When a law enforcement officer responds to an alleged crime
committed by a patient at a hospital:

(1) an authorized representative of the hospital shall disclose to the law
enforcement officer the following information before the officer removes the
patient from the hospital:

(A) information that is sufficient to confirm whether the patient is
stabilized, has been evaluated, or is awaiting inpatient care; and

(B) any other information that will be necessary for purposes of
safely taking custody of the patient; and

(2) the law enforcement officer shall not remove the patient from the
hospital if an authorized representative of the hospital informs the officer that
the patient is not stabilized, has not yet been evaluated, or is awaiting inpatient
care.

(b) When a law enforcement officer responds to an alleged crime
committed by a patient at a scene where emergency medical treatment was or
is being provided:

(1) a member of the emergency medical personnel who provided the
treatment shall disclose to the law enforcement officer the following
information before the officer removes the patient from the emergency medical
treatment scene:
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(A) information that is sufficient to confirm whether the patient is
stabilized, has been evaluated, or is awaiting transport for health care; and

(B) any other information that will be necessary for purposes of
safely taking custody of the patient; and

(2) the law enforcement officer shall not remove the patient from the
emergency medical treatment scene if a member of the emergency medical
personnel who provided the treatment informs the officer that the patient is not
stabilized, has not yet been evaluated, or is awaiting transport for health care.

(c) As used in this section:

(1) “Emergency medical personnel” has the same meaning as in 24
V.S.A. § 2651(6).

(2) “Emergency medical treatment” has the same meaning as in 24
V.S.A. § 2651(9).

(3) “Hospital” has the same meaning as in subdivision 1902(1) of this
title.

(4) “Stabilized” means that no material deterioration of the patient’s
medical condition is likely, within reasonable medical probability, to result
from or occur during the transport of the patient from the hospital or the
emergency medical treatment scene.

Sec. 4. REPORT ON DE-ESCALATION

On or before January 15, 2024, the Vermont Program for Quality in Health
Care, in consultation with stakeholders, including hospital employee
stakeholders, shall provide a report to the Senate Committee on Health and
Welfare and the House Committee on Health Care regarding adequate training,
including de-escalation of potentially violent situations in hospitals, sufficient
staffing levels, ongoing assessment of visitors and patients for aggressive
behavior, indicators to adapt care interventions and environments
appropriately, centralized reporting, and factors related to physical
environments. With a health equity impact informed lens, the report shall
include best practices, barriers to best practices, and recommendations for
appropriate policy improvements.

Sec. 5. DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY REPORT ON ARRESTS

WITHOUT WARRANT

On or before January 15, 2024, the Department of Public Safety shall report
to the House and Senate Committees on Judiciary on any systemic or statutory
changes needed to permit the Department to collect data on responses and
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arrests pursuant to Vermont Rules of Criminal Procedure 3(c)(18), (19), and
(20). The report shall include changes necessary to collect data on the number
and demographics of persons arrested; the town, county, and type of health
care facility where the arrest occurred; and the number and types of charges
filed after the arrest.

Sec. 6. EFFECTIVE DATE

This act shall take effect on passage.

and that after passage the title of the bill be amended to read: “An act relating
to crimes against health care workers at hospitals and against emergency
medical treatment providers”

(Committee vote: 10-0-1)

S. 48

An act relating to regulating the sale of catalytic converters

Rep. White of Bethel, for the Committee on Commerce and Economic
Development, recommends that the House propose to the Senate that the bill
be amended by striking out all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu
thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 9 V.S.A. chapter 82 is amended to read:

CHAPTER 82. SCRAP METAL PROCESSORS

* * *

§ 3022. PURCHASE OF NONFERROUS SCRAP, METAL ARTICLES,

PROPRIETARY ARTICLES, AND RAILROAD SCRAP

(a) Catalytic converters.

(1) A scrap metal processor shall not purchase more than one used and
detached catalytic converter per day from any person, other than a motor
vehicle recycler or motor vehicle repair shop.

(2) A person, other than a motor vehicle recycler or motor vehicle repair
shop, shall not transport simultaneously two or more used and detached
catalytic converters unless:

(A) each catalytic converter is engraved or otherwise permanently
marked with the vehicle identification number of the vehicle from which it
was removed; and
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(B) the person transporting the catalytic converter has in the person’s
possession documentation demonstrating proof of lawful ownership as
specified in subdivision (b)(1) of this section.

(b) Documentation required for sale. A scrap metal processor may
purchase nonferrous scrap, metal articles, proprietary articles, and railroad
scrap only if the scrap metal processor complies with all the following
procedures:

(1) At the time of sale, the processor:

(A) requires the seller to provide a current government-issued
photographic identification that indicates the seller’s full name, current
address, and date of birth, and records in a permanent ledger the identification
information of the seller, the time and date of the transaction, the license
number of the seller’s vehicle, and a description of the items received from the
seller; and

(B) requests and, if available, collects:

(i) third-party documentation from the seller of the items offered
for sale, that establishes that the seller lawfully owns the items to be sold, such
as a bill of sale, itemized receipt, or letter of authorization, signed by the
person from whom the seller purchased the item; or similar evidence

(ii) a written affidavit of ownership that establishes states that the
seller lawfully owns the items to be sold.

(2) After purchasing an item from a person who fails to does not
provide documentation a bill of sale, itemized receipt, or letter of authorization
signed by the person from whom the seller purchased the item pursuant to
subdivision (1)(B)(i) of this subsection, the processor:

(A) submits to the Department of Public Safety no not later than the
close of the following business day a report that describes the item and the
seller’s identifying information required in subdivision (1)(A) of this
subsection; and

(B) holds the item for at least 10 days following purchase.

(c) Retention of records. The information collected by a scrap metal
processor pursuant to this section shall be retained for at least five years at the
processor’s normal place of business or other readily accessible and secure
location. On request, this information shall be made available to any law
enforcement official or authorized security agent of a governmental entity who
provides official credentials at the scrap metal processor’s business location
during regular business hours.
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§ 3023. PENALTIES

(a) A scrap metal processor person who violates any provision of this
chapter for the first time may be assessed a civil penalty not to exceed
$1,000.00 for each transaction.

(b) A scrap metal processor person who violates any provision of this
chapter for a second or subsequent time shall be fined not more than
$25,000.00 for each transaction.

Sec. 2. 24 V.S.A. § 2242 is amended to read:

§ 2242. REQUIREMENT FOR OPERATION OR MAINTENANCE

(a) A person shall not operate, establish, or maintain a salvage yard unless
he or she the person:

(1) holds a certificate of approval for the location of the salvage yard;
and

(2) holds a certificate of registration issued by the Secretary to operate,
establish, or maintain a salvage yard.

(b) The issuance of a certificate of registration under subsection (a) of this
section shall not relieve a salvage yard from the obligation to comply with
existing State and federal environmental laws and to obtain all permits
required under State or federal environmental law.

(c) The Secretary may require a person to obtain a salvage yard certificate
of registration under this section upon a determination, based on available
information, that the person has taken action to circumvent the requirements of
this subchapter.

(d) Prior to issuing a certificate of registration, the Secretary shall obtain
written acknowledgment that the person seeking the certificate is aware of, and
will comply with, the requirements for buying, selling, transporting, and
keeping records concerning nonferrous scrap, metal articles, proprietary
articles, and railroad scrap pursuant to 9 V.S.A. chapter 82.

Sec. 3. 24 V.S.A. § 2244 is added to read:

§ 2244. PERIODIC INSPECTIONS

(a) The Secretary shall conduct an unannounced inspection of the physical
operation, record-keeping practices, and regulatory compliance practices of
salvage yards to ensure compliance with applicable provisions of this
subchapter.
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(b) As part of the inspection program, the Secretary shall annually inspect
at least one facility to ensure compliance with 9 V.S.A. chapter 82.

Sec. 4. ADOPTION OF FORMS; PUBLIC OUTREACH

(a) The Department of Public Safety shall adopt and make available on its
public website sample forms for an affidavit or other proof of ownership, for
collection and retention of records, and for other record-keeping purposes that
persons may use to comply with the requirements for buying, selling,
transporting, and keeping records concerning nonferrous scrap, metal articles,
proprietary articles, and railroad scrap pursuant to 9 V.S.A. chapter 82.

(b) The Department of Public Safety and the Agency of Natural Resources
shall coordinate to design and implement a public outreach campaign to
educate sellers of scrap metal and proprietary articles, including catalytic
converters; scrap metal processors; and law enforcement on the requirements
for buying, selling, transporting, and keeping records concerning nonferrous
scrap, metal articles, proprietary articles, and railroad scrap pursuant to
9 V.S.A. chapter 82 and other relevant provisions of law.

Sec. 5. 20 V.S.A. § 2355 is amended to read:

§ 2355. COUNCIL POWERS AND DUTIES

* * *

(b)(1) The Council shall conduct and administer training schools and offer
courses of instruction for law enforcement officers and other criminal justice
personnel. The Council shall offer courses of instruction for law enforcement
officers in different areas of the State and shall strive to offer nonovernight
courses whenever possible.

(2) The Council may also offer the basic officer’s course for preservice
students and educational outreach courses for the public, including firearms
safety and use of force.

(3) Following the conclusion of each session of the General Assembly,
the Council shall prepare and make available to law enforcement agencies
throughout the State and constables exercising law enforcement authority
pursuant to 24 V.S.A. § 1936 materials or training concerning new or amended
State law that affects law enforcement activities, including changes to civil,
criminal, and administrative violations, procedures, penalties, and
enforcement.

* * *

Sec. 6. EFFECTIVE DATE
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This act shall take effect on July 1, 2023.

(Committee vote: 11-0-0)

S. 56

An act relating to child care and early childhood education

Rep. Brumsted of Shelburne, for the Committee on Human Services,
recommends that the House propose to the Senate that the bill be amended by
striking out all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the
following:

* * * Legislative Intent * * *

Sec. 1. LEGISLATIVE INTENT

It is the intent of the General Assembly that investments in and policy
changes to Vermont’s child care and early learning system shall:

(1) increase access to and the quality of child care services and
afterschool and summer care programs throughout the State;

(2) increase equitable access to and quality of prekindergarten education
for children four years of age;

(3) provide financial stability to child care programs;

(4) stabilize Vermont’s talented child care workforce;

(5) address the workforce needs of the State’s employers;

(6) maintain a mixed-delivery system for prekindergarten, child care,
and afterschool and summer care; and

(7) assign school districts with the responsibility of ensuring equitable
prekindergarten access for children who are four years of age on the date by
which the child’s school district requires kindergarten students to have attained
five years of age or who are five years of age and not yet enrolled in
kindergarten.

* * * Prekindergarten * * *

Sec. 2. PREKINDERGARTEN EDUCATION IMPLEMENTATION

COMMITTEE; PLAN

(a) Creation. There is created the Prekindergarten Education
Implementation Committee to assist the Agency of Education in improving
and expanding accessible, affordable, and high-quality prekindergarten
education for children on a full-day basis on or before July 1, 2026. The
prekindergarten program under consideration would require a school district to
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provide prekindergarten education to all children within the district in either a
public school or by contract with private providers, or both. As used in this
section, “child” or “children” means a child or children who are four years of
age on the date by which the child’s school district requires kindergarten
students to have attained five years of age or who are five years of age and not
yet enrolled in kindergarten, unless otherwise specified.

(b)(1) Membership. The Committee shall be composed of the following
members:

(A) the Secretary of Education or designee, who shall serve as co-
chair;

(B) the Secretary of Human Services or designee, who shall serve as
co-chair;

(C) the Executive Director of the Vermont Principals’ Association or
designee;

(D) the Executive Director of the Vermont Superintendents
Association or designee;

(E) the Executive Director of the Vermont School Board Association
or designee;

(F) the Executive Director of the Vermont National Education
Association or designee;

(G) the Chair of the Vermont Council of Special Education
Administrators or designee;

(H) the Executive Director of the Vermont Curriculum Leaders
Association or designee;

(I) the Executive Director of Building Bright Futures or designee;

(J) a representative of a prequalified private provider as defined in 16
V.S.A. § 829, operating a licensed center-based child care and preschool
program, appointed by the Speaker of the House;

(K) a representative of a prequalified private provider as defined in
16 V.S.A. § 829, providing prekindergarten education at a regulated family
child care home, appointed by the Committee on Committees;

(L) the Head Start Collaboration Office Director or designee;

(M) the Executive Officer of Let’s Grow Kids or designee;

(N) a representative, appointed by Vermont Afterschool, Inc.; and
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(O) two family representatives, one with a child three years of age or
younger when the Committee initially convenes and the second with a
prekindergarten-age child when the Committee initially convenes, appointed
by the Building Bright Futures Council.

(2) The Committee shall consult with any stakeholder necessary to
accomplish the purposes of this section, including stakeholders with
perspectives specific to diversity, equity, and inclusion.

(c) Powers and duties. The Committee shall examine the delivery of
prekindergarten education in Vermont and make recommendations to expand
access for children through the public school system or private providers under
contract with the school district, or both. The Committee shall examine and
make recommendations on the changes necessary to provide prekindergarten
education to all children by or through the public school system on or before
July 1, 2026, including transitioning children who are three years of age from
the 10-hour prekindergarten benefit to child care and early education. The
Committee’s recommendation shall consider the needs of both the State and
local education agencies.

(d) Assistance. The Committee shall have the administrative, technical,
fiscal, and legal assistance of the Agencies of Education and of Human
Services. If the Agencies are unable to provide the Committee with adequate
support to assist with its administrative, technical, fiscal, or legal needs, then
the Agency of Education shall retain a contractor with the necessary expertise
to assist the Committee.

(e) Report. On or before December 1, 2024, the Committee shall submit a
written report to the House Committees on Education and on Human Services
and the Senate Committees on Education and on Health and Welfare with its
implementation plan based on the analysis conducted pursuant to subsection
(c) of this section. The report shall include draft legislative language to
support the Committee’s plan.

(f) Meetings.

(1) The Secretary of Education or designee shall call the first meeting of
the Committee to occur on or before July 15, 2023.

(2) A majority of the membership shall constitute a quorum.

(3) The Committee shall cease to exist on February 1, 2025.

(g) Compensation and reimbursement. Members of the Committee who
are not employees of the State of Vermont and who are not otherwise
compensated or reimbursed for their attendance shall be entitled to per diem
compensation and reimbursement of expenses pursuant to 32 V.S.A. § 1010 for
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not more than 18 meetings. These payments shall be made from monies
appropriated to the Agency of Education.

(h) Appropriations.

(1) The sum of $7,500.00 is appropriated to the Agency of Education
from the General Fund in fiscal year 2024 for per diem compensation and
reimbursement of expenses for members of the Committee.

(2) The sum of $100,000.00 is appropriated to the Agency of Education
from the General Fund in fiscal year 2024 for the cost of retaining a contractor
as provided under subsection (d) of this section.

(3) Any unused portion of these appropriations shall, as of July 1, 2025,
revert to the General Fund.

Sec. 3. 16 V.S.A. § 4010 is amended to read:

§ 4010. DETERMINATION OF WEIGHTED LONG-TERM MEMBERSHIP

AND PER PUPIL EDUCATION SPENDING

* * *

(d) Determination of weighted long-term membership. For each weighting
category except the small schools weighting category under subdivision (b)(3)
of this section, the Secretary shall compute the weighting count by using the
long-term membership, as defined in subdivision 4001(7) of this title, in that
category.

(1) The Secretary shall first apply grade level weights. Each pupil
included in long-term membership from subsection (b) of this section shall
count as one, multiplied by the following amounts:

(A) prekindergarten—negative 0.54; [Repealed.]

(B) grades six through eight—0.36; and

(C) grades nine through 12—0.39.

* * *

* * * Agency of Education * * *

Sec. 4. PLAN; AGENCY OF EDUCATION LEADERSHIP

On or before November 1, 2025, the Agency of Education shall submit a
plan to the House Committees on Education and on Human Services and to the
Senate Committees on Education and on Health and Welfare to implement a
second deputy secretary or commissioner position within the Agency of
Education for the purpose of elevating the status of early education and special
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education within the Agency in accordance with the report produced pursuant
to 2021 Acts and Resolves No, 45, Sec. 13. The plan shall achieve greater
parity in decision-making authority, roles and responsibilities, and reporting
structure related to early care and learning across the Agency and Department
for Children and Families.

* * * Child Care and Child Care Subsidies * * *

Sec. 5. 33 V.S.A. § 3512 is amended to read:

§ 3512. CHILD CARE FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM;

ELIGIBILITY

(a)(1) The Child Care Financial Assistance Program is established to
subsidize, to the extent that funds permit, the costs of child care for families
that need child care services in order to obtain employment, to retain
employment, or to obtain training leading to employment. Families seeking
employment shall be entitled to participate in the Program for up to three
months and the Commissioner may further extend that period.

(2) The subsidy authorized by this subsection and the corresponding
family contribution shall be established by the Commissioner, by rule, and
shall bear a reasonable relationship to income and family size. The
Commissioner may adjust the subsidy and family contribution by rule to
account for increasing child care costs not to exceed 1.5 times the most recent
annual increase in the NAICS code 611, Educational Services. Families shall
be found eligible using an income eligibility scale based on the current federal
poverty level and adjusted for the size of the family. Co-payments shall be
assigned to the whole family and shall not increase if more than one eligible
child is enrolled in child care. Families with an annual gross income of less
than or equal to 150 percent of the current federal poverty guidelines shall not
have a family co-payment. Families with an annual gross income up to and
including 350 550 percent of current federal poverty guidelines, adjusted for
family size, shall be eligible for a subsidy authorized by the subsection. The
scale shall be structured so that it encourages employment. If the federal
poverty guidelines decrease in a given year, the Division shall maintain the
previous year’s federal poverty guidelines for the purpose of determining
eligibility and benefit amount under this subsection.

(3) Earnings deposited in a qualified child education savings account,
such as the Vermont Higher Education Investment Plan, established in
16 V.S.A. § 2877, or any similar plan qualified under 26 U.S.C. § 529, shall be
disregarded in determining the amount of a family’s income for the purpose of
determining continuing eligibility.
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(4) After September 30, 2021, a A regulated center-based child care
program or family child care home as defined by the Department in rule shall
not receive funds pursuant to this subsection that are in excess of the usual and
customary rate for services at the center-based child care program or family
child care home.

* * *

Sec. 5a. 33 V.S.A. § 3512 is amended to read:

§ 3512. CHILD CARE FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM;

ELIGIBILITY

(a)(1) The Child Care Financial Assistance Program is established to
subsidize, to the extent that funds permit, the costs of child care for families
that need child care services in order to obtain employment, to retain
employment, or to obtain training leading to employment. Families seeking
employment shall be entitled to participate in the Program for up to three
months and the Commissioner may further extend that period.

* * *

(5) The Department shall ensure that applications for the Child Care
Financial Assistance Program use a simple, plain-language format.
Applications shall be available in both electronic and paper formats and shall
comply with the Office of Racial Equity’s most recent Language Access
Report.

(6) A Vermont resident who has a citizenship status that would
otherwise exclude the resident from participating in the Child Care Financial
Assistance Program shall be served under this Program, provided that the
benefit for these residents is solely State-funded. The Department shall not
retain data on the citizenship status of any applicant or participant once a child
is no longer participating in the program, and it shall not request the
citizenship status of any members of the applicant’s or participant’s family.
Any records created pursuant to this subsection shall be exempt from public
inspection and copying under the Public Records Act.

* * *

Sec. 5b. FISCAL YEAR 2024; FAMILY CONTRIBUTION

In fiscal year 2024, a weekly family contribution for participants in the
Child Care Financial Assistance Program established in 33 V.S.A. §§ 3512 and
3513 shall begin at $27.00 for families at 151 percent of the federal poverty
level and increase progressively for families at a higher percentage of the
federal poverty level as determined by the Department.
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Sec. 6. PROVIDER RATE ADJUSTMENT; CHILD CARE FINANCIAL

ASSISTANCE PROGRAM

(a) It is the intent of the General Assembly that the provider rate
adjustment established in this section shall be utilized to begin implementing
the recommendations for a professional pay scale as examined in Sec. 15 of
this act.

(b)(1) On January 1, 2024, the Department for Children and Families shall
provide an adjustment to the base child care provider reimbursement rates in
the Child Care Financial Assistance Program for child care services provided
by center-based child care and preschool programs, family child care homes,
and afterschool and summer care programs. The adjusted reimbursement rate
shall account for the age of the children served and be 38.5 percent higher than
the fiscal year 2023 five-STAR reimbursement rate in the Vermont STARS
system. The adjusted reimbursement rate shall then be adjusted to account for
the differential between family child care homes and center-based child care
and preschool programs by 50 percent. All providers in the same child care
setting category shall receive an identical reimbursement rate payment, which
shall be dependent upon whether the provider operates a regulated child care
center and preschool program, regulated family child care home, or afterschool
or summer care program.

(2) The provider rate adjustment established in this section shall become
part of the base budget in future fiscal years.

Sec. 7. APPROPRIATION; CHILD CARE FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE

PROGRAM

(a) In addition to fiscal year 2024 funds appropriated for the Child Care
Financial Assistance Program in other acts, in fiscal year 2024,
$48,699,264.00 is appropriated from the General Fund to the Department for
Children and Families’ Child Development Division for:

(1) the program eligibility expansion in Sec. 5 of this act; and

(2) the fiscal year 2024 provider rate adjustment in Sec. 6 of this act.

(b)(1) In addition to fiscal year 2024 funds appropriated for the
administration of the Department for Children and Families’ Child
Development Division in other acts, in fiscal year 2024, $4,000,000.00 is
appropriated from the General Fund to the Division to administer adjustments
to the Child Care Financial Assistance Program required by this act through
the authorization of the following six new permanent classified positions
within the Division:
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(A) business applications support manager;

(B) licensing field specialist;

(C) child care business technician;

(D) administrative service coordinator II;

(E) program integrity investigator; and

(F) grants and contracts manager—compliance.

(2) The Division shall allocate at least $2,000,000.00 of the amount
appropriated in this subsection to the Community Child Care Support
Agencies.

Sec. 8. READINESS PAYMENTS; CHILD CARE FINANCIAL
ASSISTANCE PROGRAM

(a)(1) In fiscal year 2024, $18,873,235.00 is appropriated one time from
the General Fund to the Department for Children and Families’ Child
Development Division for the purpose of providing payments to child care
providers, as defined in 33 V.S.A. § 3511, delivering child care services to
children, in preparation of the Child Care Financial Assistance Program
eligibility expansion in Sec. 5 of this act and for the fiscal year 2024 provider
rate adjustment in Sec. 6 of this act. Readiness payments may be used for the
following:

(A) increasing capacity for infants and toddlers;

(B) expanding the number of family child care homes;

(C) improving child care facilities;

(D) preparing private prequalified providers for future changes in the
prekindergarten system;

(E) expanding hours of operation to provide full-day, full-week child
care services;

(F) increasing workforce capacity, including signing and retention
bonuses; and

(G) any other uses approved by the Commissioner.

(2) Of the funds appropriated in subdivision (1) of this subsection, up to
five percent may be used to contract with a third party to provide technical
assistance to child care providers to build or maintain capacity and to provide
information on the opportunities and requirements of this act.
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(b) In administering the readiness payment program established by this
section, the Division may either use the same distribution framework used to
distribute Child Care Development Block Grant funds in accordance with the
American Rescue Plan Act of 2021 or it may utilize an alternative distribution
framework.

(c) The Commissioner shall provide a status report on the distribution of
readiness payments to the Joint Fiscal Committee at its November 2023
meeting.

Sec. 9. 33 V.S.A. § 3514 is amended to read:

§ 3514. PAYMENT TO PROVIDERS

(a)(1) The Commissioner shall establish a payment schedule for purposes
of reimbursing providers for full- or part-time child care services rendered to
families who participate in the programs established under section 3512 or
3513 of this title. Payments established under this section shall reflect the
following considerations: whether the provider operates a licensed child care
facility or a registered family child care home, type of service provided, cost
of providing the service, and the prevailing market rate for comparable
service.

The payment schedule shall account for the age of the children served, and all
providers in the same child care setting category shall receive a reimbursement
rate payment, which shall be dependent upon whether the provider operates a
child care center and preschool program, family child care home, or
afterschool or summer care program. The rate used to reimburse providers
shall be increased over the previous year’s rate annually in alignment with the
most recent annual average wage growth for NAICS code 611, Educational
Services, not to exceed five percent.

(2) Payments shall be based on enrollment status or any other basis
agreed to by the provider and the Division. The Department, in consultation
with the Office of Racial Equity and stakeholders, shall adopt rules pursuant to
3 V.S.A. chapter 25 that define “enrollment” and the total number of allowable
absences to continue participating in the Child Care Financial Assistance
Program. The Department shall minimize itemization of absence categories.

(b) The Commissioner may establish a separate payment schedule for child
care providers who have received specialized training, approved by the
Commissioner, relating to protective or family support services.

(c)(1) The payment schedule established by the Commissioner may
reimburse providers in accordance with the results of the most recent Vermont
Child Care Market Rate Survey.
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(2) The payment schedule shall include reimbursement rate caps tiered
in relation to provider ratings in the Vermont STARS program. The lower limit
of the reimbursement rate caps shall be not less than the 50th percentile of all
reported rates for the same provider setting in each rate category. [Repealed.]

Sec. 10. 33 V.S.A. § 3515 is added to read:

§ 3515. CHILD CARE QUALITY AND CAPACITY INCENTIVE

PROGRAM

(a) The Commissioner shall establish a child care quality and capacity
incentive program for child care providers participating in the Child Care
Financial Assistance Program pursuant to 33 V.S.A. §§ 3512 and 3513.
Annually, consistent with funds appropriated for this purpose, the
Commissioner may provide a child care provider with an incentive payment
for the following achievements:

(1) achieving a higher level in the quality rating and improvement
system, including increasing access to and provision of culturally competent
care and multilingual programming and providing other family support
services similar to those provided in approved Head Start programs;

(2) increasing infant and toddler capacity;

(3) maintaining existing infant and toddler capacity;

(4) establishing capacity in regions of the State that are identified by the
Commissioner as underserved;

(5) providing nonstandard hours of child care services;

(6) completing a Commissioner-approved training on protective or
family support services; and

(7) other quality- or capacity-specific criteria identified by the
Commissioner.

(b) The Commissioner shall maintain a current incentive payment schedule
on the Department’s website.

Sec. 10a. LEGISLATIVE INTENT; CHILD CARE QUALITY AND

CAPACITY INCENTIVE PROGRAM

It is the intent of the General Assembly that in fiscal year 2025 and in
future fiscal years, at least $10,000,000.00 is appropriated for the child care
quality and capacity incentive program established in 33 V.S.A. § 3515.

Sec. 11. 33 V.S.A. § 3516 is added to read:
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§ 3516. CHILD CARE WAITLIST AND APPLICATION FEES

A child care provider shall not charge an application or waitlist fee for child
care services where the applying child qualifies for the Child Care Financial
Assistance Program pursuant to section 3512 or 3513 of this title. A child care
provider shall reimburse an individual who is charged an application or
waitlist fee for child care services if it is later determined that the applying
child qualified for the Child Care Financial Assistance Program at the time the
fee or fees were paid.

Sec. 12. 33 V.S.A. § 3517 is added to read:

§ 3517. CHILD CARE TUITION RATES

A child care provider shall not impose an increase on annual child care
tuition that exceeds 1.5 times the most recent annual increase in the NAICS
code 611, Educational Services. This amount shall be posted on the
Department’s website annually.

Sec. 12a. 33 V.S.A. § 3518 is added to read:

§ 3518. DIVERSITY, EQUITY, AND INCLUSION

The Department shall consult with the Office of Racial Equity in preparing
all public materials and trainings related to the Child Care Financial Assistance
Program.

Sec. 13. RULEMAKING; CHILD CARE DIRECTORS

(a) The Department for Children and Families shall amend the following
rules pursuant to 3 V.S.A. chapter 25 to require that a child care director is
present at the child care facility that the director operates at least 40 percent of
the time that children are present:

(1) Department for Children and Families, Licensing Regulations for
Afterschool and Child Care Programs (CVR 13-171-003); and

(2) Department for Children and Families, Licensing Regulations for
Center-Based Child Care and Preschool Programs (CVR 13-171-004).

(b) The Department shall consider amending its rule prohibiting a
person or entity registered or licensed to operate a family child care home
from concurrently operating a center-based child care and preschool program
or afterschool and summer care program.

* * * Reports * * *

Sec. 14. REPORT; BACKGROUND CHECKS
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On or before January 15, 2024, the Vermont Crime Information Center, in
collaboration with the Agency of Education and the Department for Children
and Families, shall submit a report to the House Committee on Human
Services and to the Senate Committee on Health and Welfare providing a
recommendation to streamline and improve the timeliness of the background
check process for child care and early education providers who are required to
complete two separate background checks.

Sec. 15. PROVIDER COMPENSATION; ESTIMATE AND ANALYSIS

(a) On or before November 1, 2024, the Joint Fiscal Office, in consultation
with the Department for Children and Families and the Vermont Association
for the Education of Young Children, shall submit a report to the House
Committee on Human Services and to the Senate Committee on Health and
Welfare containing a fiscal estimate of the cost of implementing a professional
tiered system of compensation for the child care workforce using total costs of
care estimates.

(b) On or before November 1, 2024, the Office of Legislative Counsel shall
submit a report to the House Committee on Human Services and to the Senate
Committee on Health and Welfare concerning the extent to which the State is
authorized to impose a compensation scale on private child care providers for
professionals providing child care services.

* * * Special Accommodations Grant * * *

Sec. 16. PLAN; SPECIAL ACCOMMODATIONS GRANT

On or before July 1, 2024, the Department for Children and Families’ Child
Development Division, in consultation with stakeholders, shall develop and
submit an implementation plan to the House Committee on Human Services
and to the Senate Committee on Health and Welfare to streamline and improve
the responsiveness and effectiveness of the application process for special
accommodation grants, including:

(1) implementing a 12-month or longer grant cycle option for eligible
populations;

(2) improving support and training for providing inclusive care for
children with special needs;

(3) determining how to better meet the early learning needs of children
with disabilities within a child care setting; and

(4) any other considerations the Department deems essential to the goal
of streamlining the application process for special accommodation grants.

* * * Afterschool and Summer Care Grant Program * * *
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Sec. 17. 33 V.S.A. chapter 38 is added to read:

CHAPTER 38. AFTERSCHOOL AND SUMMER CARE GRANT
PROGRAM

§ 3801. AFTERSCHOOL AND SUMMER CARE GRANT PROGRAM

(a) There is created the Afterschool and Summer Care Grant Program for
the purpose of providing grants for child and youth programming operated in
public or private settings outside of the school day and over the summer,
including before and after school, teacher in-service days, and school vacation
weeks. Grants may be used by an afterschool and summer care operator for
technical assistance, program implementation, program expansion, program
sustainability, and related costs.

(b) In selecting from among eligible grant applicants, the Agency of
Education and the Department for Children and Families shall prioritize
applications that serve children and youth in underserved communities.

(c)(1) The Agency and Department shall jointly adopt policies, procedures,
and guidelines necessary for the implementation of the Program established
pursuant to this section.

(2) The Agency and Department may jointly contract for the
administration of the Program. Administrative costs and technical assistance
related to the Afterschool and Summer Care Grant Program shall not exceed
$500,000.00 annually.

§ 3802. AFTERSCHOOL AND SUMMER CARE SPECIAL FUND

(a) There is established a special fund to be known as the Afterschool and
Summer Care Special Fund, which shall be used for the purpose of funding the
Afterschool and Summer Care Grant Program established pursuant to section
3801 of this title.

(b) The Fund shall be established and held separate and apart from any
other funds or monies of the State and shall be used and administered
exclusively for the purpose of this section. The money in the Fund shall be
invested in the same manner as permitted for the investment of funds
belonging to the State or held in the Treasury. The Fund shall consist of any
combination of the following:

(1) cannabis sales tax revenue pursuant to 32 V.S.A. § 7910;

(2) such sums as may be appropriated or transferred thereto from time
to time by the General Assembly, the State Emergency Board, or the Joint
Fiscal Committee during such times as the General Assembly is not in session;
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(3) interest earned from the investment of Fund balances; and

(4) any other money from any other source accepted for the benefit of
the Fund.

(c) The Fund shall be administered by the Afterschool and Summer Care
Special Fund Advisory Committee established pursuant to section 3803 of this
title.

(d) The Advisory Committee shall administer awards in such a way as to
comply with the requirements of Section 108(f) of the Internal Revenue Code.

§ 3803. AFTERSCHOOL AND SUMMER CARE SPECIAL FUND

ADVISORY COMMITTEE

(a) There is created the Afterschool and Summer Care Special Fund
Advisory Committee jointly managed by the Agency of Education and the
Department for Children and Families to:

(1) provide recommendations to the Secretary of Education and the
Commissioner for Children and Families regarding the Afterschool and
Summer Care Grant Program established pursuant to section 3801 of this title;
and

(2) administer the Afterschool and Summer Care Special Fund
established pursuant to section 3802 of this title.

(b) The Advisory Committee shall comprise the following:

(1) the Chief Prevention Officer established in 3 V.S.A. § 2321, who
shall serve as chair;

(2) the Commissioner of Mental Health or designee;

(3) the Commissioner of Health or designee;

(4) the Commissioner for Children and Families or designee;

(5) the Secretary of Education or designee;

(6) the executive director of Building Bright Futures or designee;

(7) a representative, appointed by Vermont Afterschool, Inc;

(8) a representative of a municipality that operates an afterschool or
summer care program, appointed by the Vermont League of Cities and Towns;
and

(9) two parents whose children participate in an afterschool or summer
care program, appointed by Vermont Afterschool, Inc.
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(c)(1) The Chief Prevention Officer shall call the first meeting of the
Advisory Committee to occur on or before September 1, 2023.

(2) The Advisory Committee shall meet at such times as may reasonably
be necessary to carry out its duties but at least once in each calendar quarter.

(3) The Agency of Education and Department for Children and Families
shall provide technical, legal, and administrative assistance to the Advisory
Committee.

(d) Notwithstanding 2 V.S.A. § 20(d), on or before November 15 of each
year, the Advisory Committee shall submit a report containing a summary of
its activities and any recommendations to the House Committees on
Appropriations and on Human Services and to the Senate Committees on
Appropriations and on Health and Welfare. The report shall address outcomes
data on grants awarded pursuant to section 3801 of this title during the
previous year, including:

(1) the number of afterschool and summer care operators receiving a
grant under section 3801 of this title;

(2) the number of children and youth served and hours of care provided
by afterschool and summer care operators receiving a grant under section 3801
of this title;

(3) the geographic distribution of afterschool and summer care operators
receiving a grant under section 3801 of this title; and

(4) the extent to which family costs are reduced for the care of children
and youth served by afterschool and summer care operators receiving a grant
under section 3801 of this title.

(e) For attendance at meetings, members of the Advisory Committee not
otherwise paid for participating in the meetings shall be entitled to per diem
compensation and reimbursement of expenses as permitted under 32 V.S.A.
§ 1010. These payments shall be made from the Afterschool and Summer
Care Special Fund.

Sec. 18. 32 V.S.A. chapter 207 is amended to read:

CHAPTER 207. CANNABIS EXCISE TAX AND SALES TAX REVENUE

* * *

§ 7910. CANNABIS SALES TAX REVENUE; AFTERSCHOOL AND

SUMMER CARE PROGRAMMING
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Notwithstanding 16 V.S.A. § 4025, revenue from the sales and use tax
imposed by chapter 233 of this title on retail sales of cannabis or cannabis
products in this State shall be deposited into the Afterschool and Summer Care
Special Fund established pursuant to 33 V.S.A. § 3802.

* * * Workforce Supports * * *

Sec. 19. 2021 Acts and Resolves No. 45, Sec. 8 is amended to read:

Sec. 8. REPEALS

(a) 33 V.S.A. § 3541(d) (reference to student loan repayment assistance
program) is repealed on July 1, 2026. [Repealed.]

(b) 33 V.S.A. § 3542 (scholarships for prospective early childhood
providers) is repealed on July 1, 2026.

(c) 33 V.S.A. § 3543 (student loan repayment assistance program) is
repealed on July 1, 2026. [Repealed.]

* * * Transitional Assistance and Governance * * *

Sec. 20. CHILD CARE; ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICE ORGANIZATIONS

On or before February 15, 2024, the Department for Children and Families
shall provide a presentation to the House Committee on Human Services and
to the Senate Committee on Health and Welfare regarding the feasibility of and
any progress towards establishing administrative service organizations for
child care providers.

Sec. 21. 33 V.S.A. § 4605 is added to read:

§ 4605. TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE; ACCOUNTABILITY

In order to ensure the successful implementation of expanded child care,
prekindergarten, and afterschool and summer care, Building Bright Futures
shall be responsible for monitoring accountability, supporting stakeholders in
collectively defining and measuring success, maximizing stakeholder
engagement, and providing technical assistance to build capacity for the
Department for Children and Families’ Child Development Division and the
Agency of Education. Specifically, Building Bright Futures shall:

(1) ensure accountability through monitoring transitions over time and
submitting a report with the results of this work on January 15 of each year to
the House Committee on Human Services and to the Senate Committee on
Health and Welfare;

(2) define and measure success of expanded child care, prekindergarten,
and afterschool and summer care related to process, implementation, and
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outcomes using a continuous quality improvement framework and engage
public, private, legislative, and family partners to develop benchmarks
pertaining to:

(A) equitable access to high-quality child care;

(B) equitable access to high-quality prekindergarten;

(C) equitable access to high-quality afterschool and summer care;

(D) stability of the early child care education workforce;

(E) workforce capacity and needs of the child care, prekindergarten,
afterschool and summer care systems; and

(F) the impact of this act on a mixed-delivery system for
prekindergarten, child care, and afterschool and summer care.

Sec. 21a. APPROPRIATION; BUILDING BRIGHT FUTURES

Of the funds appropriated in Sec. 7(b) (appropriation; child care financial
assistance program) of this act, the Department for Children and Families shall
allocate $266,707.00 to Building Bright Futures for the purpose of
implementing its duties under 33 V.S.A. § 4605. This amount shall become
part of the Department’s base for the purpose of supporting Building Bright
Future’s work pursuant to 33 V.S.A. § 4605.

Sec. 22. PLAN; DEPARTMENT FOR CHILDREN AND FAMILIES;

GOVERNANCE

(a) On or before November 1, 2025, the Secretary of Human Services shall
submit an implementation plan to the House Committees on Appropriations,
on Government Operations and Military Affairs, and on Human Services and
to the Senate Committees on Appropriations, on Government Operations, and
on Health and Welfare regarding the reorganization of the Department for
Children and Families to increase responsiveness to Vermonters and elevate
the status of child care and early education within the Agency of Human
Services. The implementation plan shall be consistent with the goals of the
report produced pursuant to 2021 Acts and Resolves No. 45, Sec. 13. It shall
achieve greater parity in decision-making authority, roles and responsibilities,
and reporting structure related to early care and learning across the Agency of
Education and Agency of Human Services.

(b) The implementation plan required pursuant to this section shall contain
any legislative language required for the division of the Department.

* * * Effective Dates * * *
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Sec. 23. EFFECTIVE DATES

(a) Except as provided in subsection (b) of this section, this act shall take
effect on July 1, 2023.

(b)(1) Sec. 3 (determination of weighted long-term membership and per
pupil education spending) shall take effect on July 1, 2026.

(2) Sec. 5 (Child Care Financial Assistance Program; eligibility), Sec.
5b (fiscal year 2024; family contribution), Sec. 6 (provider rate adjustment;
Child Care Financial Assistance Program), and Sec. 9 (payment to providers)
shall take effect on January 1, 2024, except that the Commissioner for
Children and Families shall initiate any rulemaking necessary prior to that date
in order to perform the Commissioner’s duties under this act.

(3) Sec. 5a (Child Care Financial Assistance Program; eligibility) and
Sec. 10 (child care quality and capacity incentive program) shall take effect on
July 1, 2024.

(Committee vote: 10-1-0)

S. 73

An act relating to workers’ compensation coverage for firefighters with
cancer

Rep. Sammis of Castleton, for the Committee on Commerce and
Economic Development, recommends that the House propose to the Senate
that the bill be amended as follows:

First: In Sec. 1, 21 V.S.A. § 601, definitions, in subdivision (11)(E)(iii),
after “liver,” by inserting “lung,”

Second: By striking out Secs. 2 and 3 in their entireties and inserting in
lieu thereof Secs. 2, 3, and 4 to read as follows:

Sec. 2. ANNUAL CANCER SCREENINGS; PERSONAL PROTECTIVE

EQUIPMENT UPGRADES; REPORT

(a) On or before January 15, 2024, the Director of the Division of Fire
Safety shall submit a written report to the House Committees on
Appropriations, on Commerce and Economic Development, and on
Government Operations and Military Affairs and the Senate Committees on
Appropriations; on Economic Development, Housing and General Affairs; and
on Government Operations regarding the following topics:

(1) the projected cost for the State to fund annual or biennial cancer
screenings for all career and volunteer firefighters in Vermont;
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(2) the projected cost for the State to fund cancer screenings for all
enrollees in the Vermont Fire Academy Firefighter I certification program
prior to the commencement of training;

(3) potential opportunities for the State to reduce the cost for fire
departments to provide annual cancer screenings for their firefighters;

(4) the projected cost for the State to fund the replacement of personal
protective equipment for all volunteer and career firefighters on a rolling basis
so that all personal protective equipment is replaced within 10 years after
being acquired; and

(5) potential opportunities for the State to reduce the cost to fire
departments for the replacement of personal protective equipment.

(b) The report may include recommendations for legislative action to
facilitate:

(1) the early identification of cancer in firefighters;

(2) the acquisition of personal protective equipment by fire departments;
and

(3) the elimination of PFAS and other carcinogens in firefighting
equipment.

Sec. 3. WORKERS’ COMPENSATION FOR FIREFIGHTERS WITH

CANCER; ELIGIBILITY

(a) On or before January 15, 2024, the Commissioners of Labor and of
Financial Regulation, in consultation with the Director of the Division of Fire
Safety, shall submit a written report to the House Committee on Commerce
and Economic Development and the Senate Committee on Economic
Development, Housing and General Affairs regarding the following topics:

(1) the potential impacts on workers’ compensation claims, premiums,
and loss costs of amending or repealing the provisions of 21 V.S.A.
§ 601(11)(E) that bar a firefighter from the presumption that the firefighter’s
cancer resulted from work-related exposure if the firefighter:

(A) is over 65 years of age; or

(B) has used tobacco products within the last 10 years;

(2) the potential impacts on workers’ compensation claims, premiums,
and loss costs of amending 21 V.S.A. § 601(11)(E)(iii) to expand the list of
cancers presumed to have been caused by exposure to working conditions as a
firefighter, including:
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(A) additional types of cancer:

(i) that occur more frequently in firefighters than the general
public;

(ii) that are caused by carcinogens to which firefighters are
exposed in the line of duty; or

(iii) both; or

(B) all forms of cancer; and

(3) potential methods for apportioning liability for workers’
compensation in instances where a firefighter has been employed by more than
one fire department, including when a firefighter is employed as a career
firefighter by one department and a volunteer firefighter by another
department.

(b) The report may include recommendations for legislative action to:

(1) amend or repeal the provisions of 21 V.S.A. § 601(11)(E) that bar a
firefighter from the presumption that the firefighter’s cancer resulted from
work-related exposure if the firefighter is over 65 years of age or has used
tobacco products within the last 10 years; and

(2) amend 21 V.S.A. § 601(11)(E)(iii) to expand the list of cancers
presumed to have been caused by exposure to working conditions as a
firefighter to include either:

(A) additional specific cancers for which firefighters have a
significantly increased risk in comparison to the general public; or

(B) all forms of cancer.

Sec. 4. EFFECTIVE DATE

This act shall take effect on July 1, 2023.

(Committee vote: 11-0-0)

S. 99

An act relating to miscellaneous changes to laws related to vehicles

Rep. Shaw of Pittsford, for the Committee on Transportation,
recommends that the House propose to the Senate that the bill be amended by
striking out all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the
following:

* * * New Motor Vehicle Arbitration * * *

Sec. 1. 9 V.S.A. § 4173(d) is amended to read:
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(d) Within the 45-day period set forth in subsection (c) of this section but
at least five days prior to hearing, the manufacturer shall have one final
opportunity to correct and repair the defect that the consumer claims entitles
him or her the consumer to a refund or replacement vehicle. Any right to a
final repair attempt is waived if the manufacturer does not complete it at least
five days prior to hearing. If the consumer is satisfied with the corrective
work done by the manufacturer or his or her the manufacturer’s delegate, the
arbitration proceedings shall be terminated without prejudice to the
consumer’s right to request arbitration be recommenced if the repair proves
unsatisfactory for the duration of the within one year following the expiration
of the express warranty term in accordance with subsection 4179(a) of this
title.

* * * Definition of Mail * * *

Sec. 2. 23 V.S.A. § 4(87) is added to read:

(87) “Mail,” “mail or deliver,” “mails,” “mails or delivers,” “mailing,”
“mailing or delivering,” “mailed,” and “mailed or delivered” mean any method
of delivery authorized by the Commissioner, which may include by hand, U.S.
mail, and electronic transmission.

* * * Mobile Identification * * *

Sec. 3. 23 V.S.A. § 116 is added to read:

§ 116. ISSUANCE OF MOBILE IDENTIFICATION

(a) Definitions. As used in this section:

(1) “Data field” means a discrete piece of information that appears on a
mobile identification.

(2) “Full profile” means all the information provided on a mobile
identification.

(3) “Limited profile” means a portion of the information provided on a
mobile identification.

(4) “Mobile identification” means an electronic representation of the
information contained on a nonmobile credential.

(5) “Mobile identification holder” means an individual to whom a
mobile identification has been issued.

(6) “Nonmobile credential” means a nondriver identification card issued
under section 115 of this title, a driver’s license issued under section 603 of
this title, a junior operator’s license issued under section 602 of this title, a
learner’s permit issued under section 617 of this title, a commercial driver’s
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license issued under section 4111 of this title, or a commercial learner’s permit
issued under section 4112 of this title.

(b) Issuance. The Commissioner of Motor Vehicles may issue a mobile
identification to an individual in addition to, and not instead of, a nonmobile
credential. If issued, the mobile identification shall:

(1) be capable of producing both a full profile and a limited profile;

(2) satisfy the purpose for which the profile is presented;

(3) allow the mobile identification holder to maintain physical
possession of the device on which the mobile identification is accessed during
verification; and

(4) not be a substitute for an individual producing a nonmobile
credential upon request.

(c) Agreements with other entities. The Commissioner may enter into
agreements to facilitate the issuance, use, and verification of a mobile
identification or other electronic credentials issued by the Commissioner or
another state.

(d) Administration.

(1) The Commissioner may operate, or may operate through a third-
party administrator, a verification system for mobile identifications.

(2) Access to the verification system and any data field by a person
presented with a mobile identification requires the credential holder’s consent,
and, if consent is granted, the Commissioner may release the following
through the verification system:

(A) for a full profile, all data fields that appear on the mobile
identification; and

(B) for a limited profile, only the data fields represented in the
limited profile for the mobile identification.

* * * License Plate Stickers; Validation Stickers * * *

Sec. 4. 23 V.S.A. § 305 is amended to read:

§ 305. REGISTRATION PERIODS

(a) The Commissioner of Motor Vehicles shall issue registration
certificates, validation stickers, and number plates upon initial registration, and
registration certificates and validation stickers for each succeeding renewal
period of registration upon payment of the registration fee. Number plates so
issued will become void one year from the first day of the month following the
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month of issue, unless a longer initial registration period is authorized by law
or unless this period is extended through renewal. Registrations issued for
motor trucks shall become void one year from the first day of the month
following the month of issue.

(b) The Commissioner shall issue a registration certificate, validation
sticker, and a number plate or number plates for each motor vehicle owned by
the State, which shall be valid for a period of five years. Such motor vehicle
shall be considered properly registered while the issued number plate or
number plates are attached to the motor vehicle. The Commissioner may
replace such number plate or number plates when in his or her the
Commissioner’s discretion their condition requires.

(c) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (d) of this section, no plate
is valid unless the validation sticker is affixed to the rear plate in the manner
prescribed by the Commissioner in section 511 of this title. [Repealed.]

(d) When a registration for a motor vehicle, snowmobile, motorboat, or all-
terrain vehicle is processed electronically, a receipt shall be available
electronically and for printing. An electronic or printed receipt shall serve as a
temporary registration for 10 days after the date of the transaction. An
electronic receipt may be shown to an enforcement officer using a portable
electronic device. Use of a portable electronic device to display the receipt
does not in itself constitute consent for an officer to access other contents of
the device.

Sec. 5. 23 V.S.A. § 326 is amended to read:

§ 326. REFUND UPON LOSS OF VEHICLE

The Commissioner may cancel the registration of a motor vehicle when the
owner thereof of the motor vehicle proves to his or her the Commissioner’s
satisfaction that it the motor vehicle has been totally destroyed by fire or,
through crash or wear, has become wholly unfit for use and has been
dismantled. After the Commissioner cancels the registration and the owner
returns to the Commissioner either the registration certificate, or the number
plate or number plates and the validation sticker, the Commissioner shall
certify to the Commissioner of Finance and Management the fact of the
cancellation, giving the name of the owner of the motor vehicle, his or her the
owner’s address, the amount of the registration fee paid, and the date of
cancellation. The Commissioner of Finance and Management shall issue his
or her the Commissioner of Finance and Management’s warrant in favor of the
owner for such percent of the registration fee paid as the unexpired term of the
registration bears to the entire registration period, but in no case shall the
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Commissioner of Finance and Management retain less than $5.00 of the fee
paid.

Sec. 6. 23 V.S.A. § 364b is amended to read:

§ 364b. ALL-SURFACE VEHICLES; REGISTRATION

(a) The annual fee for registration of an all-surface vehicle (ASV) shall be
the sum of the fees established by sections 3305 and 3504 of this title, plus
$26.00.

(b) Evidence of the registration shall be a sticker, as determined by the
Commissioner, affixed to registration certificate and the number plate issued
pursuant to chapter 31 of this title.

Sec. 7. 23 V.S.A. § 453(f) is amended to read:

(f) In any year that number plates are reused and validation stickers are
issued, the Commissioner shall not be required to issue new number plates to
persons renewing registrations under this section.

Sec. 8. 23 V.S.A. § 457 is amended to read:

§ 457. TEMPORARY PLATES

At the time of the issuance of a registration certificate to a dealer as
provided in this chapter, the Commissioner shall furnish the dealer with a
sufficient number of number plates and temporary validation stickers,
temporary number plates, or temporary decals for use during the 60-day period
immediately following sale of a vehicle or motorboat by the dealer. The plates
and decals shall have the same general design as the plates or decals furnished
individual owners, but the plates and decals may be of a material and color as
the Commissioner may determine. The Commissioner shall collect a fee of
$5.00 for each temporary plate issued.

Sec. 9. 23 V.S.A. § 458 is amended to read:

§ 458. TEMPORARY PLATE ON SOLD OR EXCHANGED VEHICLES

On the day of the sale or exchange of a motor vehicle, motorboat,
snowmobile, or all-terrain vehicle to be registered in this State, a dealer may
issue to the purchaser, for attachment to the motor vehicle, snowmobile, or all-
terrain vehicle, or to be carried in or on the motorboat, a number plate with
temporary validation stickers, a temporary number plate, or a temporary decal,
provided that the purchaser deposits with such dealer, for transmission to the
Commissioner, a properly executed application for the registration of such
motor vehicle, motorboat, snowmobile, or all-terrain vehicle and the required
fee. If a properly licensed purchaser either attaches to the motor vehicle,
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snowmobile, or all-terrain vehicle or carries in the motorboat such number
plate or decal, he or she the purchaser may operate the same for a period not to
exceed 60 consecutive days immediately following the purchase. An
individual shall not operate a motor vehicle, motorboat, snowmobile, or all-
terrain vehicle with a number plate with temporary validation stickers, a
temporary number plate, or a temporary decal attached to the motor vehicle or
carried in the motorboat except as provided in this section.

Sec. 10. 23 V.S.A. § 459 is amended to read:

§ 459. NOTICE, APPLICATION, AND FEES TO COMMISSIONER

(a) Upon issuing a number plate with temporary validation stickers, a
temporary number plate, or a temporary decal to a purchaser, a dealer shall
have 15 calendar days, or up to 30 calendar days as applicable pursuant to
subsection 2015(b) of this title, to forward to the Commissioner the application
and fee, deposited with him or her the dealer by the purchaser, together with
notice of such issue and such other information as the Commissioner may
require.

(b) If a number plate with temporary validation stickers, a temporary
registration plate, or a temporary decal is not issued by a dealer in connection
with the sale or exchange of a vehicle or motorboat, the dealer may accept
from the purchaser a properly executed registration, tax, and title application
and the required fees for transmission to the Commissioner. The dealer shall
have 15 calendar days, or up to 30 calendar days as applicable pursuant to
subsection 2015(b) of this title, to forward to the Commissioner the application
and fee together with such other information as the Commissioner may
require.

Sec. 11. 23 V.S.A. § 465 is amended to read:

§ 465. LOANING OF PLATES, VEHICLES, OR MOTORBOATS

PROHIBITED

A dealer shall not lend or lease registration certificates, validation stickers,
numbers, decals, or number plates that have been assigned to him or her the
dealer under the provisions of this chapter, nor shall he or she the dealer lend
or lease a vehicle or motorboat to which his or her the dealer’s decals,
numbers, or number plates have been attached, nor lend or lease his or her the
dealer’s decals, numbers, or number plates to a subagent.

Sec. 12. 23 V.S.A. § 494 is amended to read:

§ 494. FEES
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The annual fee for a transporter’s registration certificate, or number plate,
or validation sticker is $123.00.

Sec. 13. 23 V.S.A. § 511 is amended to read:

§ 511. MANNER OF DISPLAY

(a) Number plates. A motor vehicle operated on any highway shall have
displayed in a conspicuous place either one or two number plates as the
Commissioner may require. Such number plates shall be furnished by the
Commissioner and shall show the number assigned to such vehicle by the
Commissioner. If only one number plate is furnished, the same shall be
securely attached to the rear of the vehicle. If two are furnished, one shall be
securely attached to the rear and one to the front of the vehicle. The number
plates shall be kept entirely unobscured, and the numerals and letters thereon
shall be plainly legible at all times. They shall be kept horizontal, shall be so
fastened as not to swing, excepting, however, there may be installed on a
motor truck or truck tractor a device that would, upon contact with a
substantial object, permit the rear number plate to swing toward the front of
the vehicle, provided such device automatically returns the number plate to its
original rigid position after contact is released, and the ground clearance of the
lower edges thereof shall be established by the Commissioner pursuant to the
provisions of 3 V.S.A. chapter 25.

(b) Validation sticker. A registration validation sticker shall be
unobstructed and shall be affixed as follows:

(1) for vehicles issued registration plates with dimensions of
approximately 12 x 6 inches, in the lower right corner of the rear registration
plate; and

(2) for vehicles issued a registration plate with a dimension of
approximately 7 x 4 inches, in the upper right corner of the rear registration
plate. [Repealed.]

(c) Violation. A person shall not operate a motor vehicle unless a number
plate or number plates and a validation sticker are displayed as provided in this
section.

(d) Failure to display a validation sticker. An operator cited for violating
subsection (c) of this section with respect to failure to display a validation
sticker on a pleasure car, motorcycle, or truck that could be registered for less
than 26,001 pounds shall be subject to a civil penalty of not more than $5.00,
which penalty shall be exempt from surcharges under 13 V.S.A. § 7282(a), if
he or she is cited within the 14 days following the expiration of the motor
vehicle’s registration. [Repealed.]
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* * *

Sec. 14. VALIDATION STICKER REQUIREMENTS IN RULE

(a) Registration and Operation of Snowmobiles, Approved Helmets and
VAST Snowmobile Registrations.

(1) Notwithstanding Department of Motor Vehicles, Registration and
Operation of Snowmobiles, Approved Helmets and VAST Snowmobile
Registrations (CVR 14-050-027), Secs. I(3)(a) and III:

(A) the Department of Motor Vehicles shall not issue temporary and
permanent validation stickers, temporary and permanent validating stickers, or
“S” stickers;

(B) operators of snowmobiles shall not be required to display
temporary or permanent validation stickers, temporary or permanent validating
stickers, or “S” stickers; and

(C) the Vermont Association of Snow Travelers (VAST) shall not be
required to maintain a log of “S” stickers or have unused registration “S”
stickers available for inspection in Department of Motor Vehicles audits, nor
shall VAST agents be eligible to issue “S” stickers.

(2) The Department of Motor Vehicles shall amend the Approved
Helmets and VAST Snowmobile Registrations rule to eliminate requirements
related to temporary and permanent validation stickers, temporary and
permanent validating stickers, and “S” stickers the next time the rule is
amended pursuant to 3 V.S.A. chapter 25.

(b) Vermont Dealer Licensing and Schedule of Penalties and Suspension.

(1) Notwithstanding Department of Motor Vehicles, Vermont Dealer
Licensing and Schedule of Penalties and Suspension (CVR 14-050-050), Sec.
VI(j), there shall not be an administrative penalty assessed for a dealer failing
to display a validation sticker on a dealer’s registration plate.

(2) The Department of Motor Vehicles shall amend the Vermont Dealer
Licensing and Schedule of Penalties and Suspension rule to eliminate the
administrative penalty for a dealer failing to display a validation sticker on a
dealer’s registration plate the next time the rule is amended pursuant to 3
V.S.A. chapter 25.

* * * Electronic Proof of Registration * * *

Sec. 15. 23 V.S.A. § 307 is amended to read:

§ 307. CARRYING OF REGISTRATION CERTIFICATE; REPLACEMENT
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AND CORRECTED CERTIFICATES

(a) A person An individual shall not operate a motor vehicle nor draw a
trailer or semi-trailer unless all required registration certificates are carried in
some easily accessible place in the motor vehicle or electronically on a
portable electronic device; however, use of a device for this purpose does not
in itself constitute consent for an enforcement officer to access other contents
of the device.

* * *

(d)(1) An operator cited for violating subsection (a) of this section shall not
be convicted if the operator sends a copy of or produces to the issuing
enforcement agency within seven business days after the traffic stop proof of a
valid registration certificate that was in effect at the time of the traffic stop.

(2) An operator cited for violating subsection (a) of this section with
respect to a pleasure car, motorcycle, or truck that could be registered for less
than 26,001 pounds shall be subject to a civil penalty of not more than $5.00,
which penalty shall be exempt from surcharges under 13 V.S.A. § 7282(a), if
he or she the operator is cited within the 14 days following the expiration of
the motor vehicle’s registration.

* * * Registration Fees; Plug-In Electric Vehicles * * *

Sec. 16. 23 V.S.A. § 361 is amended to read:

§ 361. PLEASURE CARS

The annual registration fee for registration of any motor vehicle of the a
pleasure car type, and all vehicles powered by electricity as defined in
subdivision 4(28) of this title, and including a pleasure car that is a plug-in
electric vehicle, as defined in subdivision 4(85) of this title, shall be $74.00,
and the biennial fee shall be $136.00.

Sec. 17. 23 V.S.A. § 362 is amended to read:

§ 362. SPECIALIZED FUEL MOTOR VEHICLES AND MOTOR BUSES

(a) The annual registration fee for the registration of any “specialized fuel
driven motor vehicle”, as defined in section subdivision 4(22) of this title, and
of motor buses, as defined in section 3002 of this title, shall be one and three-
quarters times the amount of the annual fee provided for a motor vehicle of the
classification and weight under the terms of this chapter.

(b) Notwithstanding subsection (a) of this section, the annual and biennial
registration fees for a pleasure car, as defined in subdivision 4(28) of this title,
that is a plug-in electric vehicle, as defined in subdivision 4(85) of this title,
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shall be determined pursuant to section 361 of this chapter, and the annual
registration fee for a motorcycle, as defined in subdivision 4(18)(A) of this
title, that is a plug-in electric vehicle, as defined in subdivision 4(85) of this
title, shall be determined pursuant to section 364 of this chapter.

* * * Distracted Driving; Hands-Free Use * * *

Sec. 18. 23 V.S.A. § 1095b is amended to read:

§ 1095b. HANDHELD USE OF PORTABLE ELECTRONIC DEVICE

PROHIBITED

(a) Definition Definitions. As used in this section, “hands-free:

(1) “Hands-free use” means the use of a portable electronic device
without use of utilizing either hand by employing an internal feature of, or an
attachment to, the device or a motor vehicle.

(2) “Public highway” means a State or municipal highway as defined in
19 V.S.A. § 1(12).

(3) “Securely mounted” means the portable electronic device is placed
in an accessory specifically designed or built to support the hands-free use of a
portable electronic device that is not affixed to the windshield in violation of
section 1125 of this title and either:

(A) is utilized in accordance with manufacturer specifications; or

(B) causes the portable electronic device to remain completely
stationary under typical driving conditions.

(4) “Use” means the use of a portable electronic device in any way that
is not a hands-free use, including an operator of a motor vehicle holding a
portable electronic device in the operator’s hand or hands while operating a
motor vehicle.

(b) Use of handheld portable electronic device prohibited.

(1) An individual shall not use a portable electronic device while
operating:

(A) a moving motor vehicle in a place open temporarily or
permanently to public or general circulation of vehicles.; or

(2) In addition, an individual shall not use a portable electronic device
while operating

(B) a motor vehicle on a public highway in Vermont, including while
the vehicle is stationary, unless otherwise provided in this section. As used in
this subdivision (b)(2):
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(A) “Public highway” means a State or municipal highway as
defined in 19 V.S.A. § 1(12).

(B) “Operating” means operating a motor vehicle on a public
highway, including while temporarily stationary because of traffic, a traffic
control device, or other temporary delays. “Operating” does not include
operating a motor vehicle with or without the motor running when the operator
has moved the vehicle to the side of or off the public highway and has halted
in a location where the vehicle can safely and lawfully remain stationary
including while temporarily stationary because of traffic, a traffic control
device, or other temporary delays.

(3)(2) The prohibitions of this subsection shall not apply:

(A) To to hands-free use.;

(B) To to activation or deactivation of hands-free use, as long as any
accessory for securely mounting the device is not affixed to the windshield in
violation of section 1125 of this title. provided the portable electronic device is
securely mounted or the activation or deactivation is done through an internal
feature of the device or the motor vehicle being operated and without the
operator utilizing either hand to hold the portable electronic device;

(C) When when use of a portable electronic device is necessary for
an individual to communicate with law enforcement or emergency service
personnel under emergency circumstances or in response to a direction or
order from law enforcement.;

(D) To to use of an ignition interlock device, as defined in section
1200 of this title.;

(E) To to use of a global positioning or navigation system if it is
installed by the manufacturer or securely mounted in the vehicle in a manner
that does not violate section 1125 of this title. As used in this subdivision
(b)(3)(E), “securely mounted” means the device is placed in an accessory or
location in the vehicle, other than the operator’s hands, where the device will
remain stationary under typical driving conditions; or

(F) when the operator has moved the motor vehicle to the side of or
off the public highway and has halted, with or without the motor running, in a
location where the vehicle can safely and lawfully remain stationary.

* * *

* * * Total Abstinence Program * * *

Sec. 19. 23 V.S.A. § 1209a is amended to read:
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§ 1209a. CONDITIONS OF REINSTATEMENT; ALCOHOL AND

DRIVING EDUCATION; SCREENING; THERAPY PROGRAMS

(a) Conditions of reinstatement. No license or privilege to operate
suspended or revoked under this subchapter, except a license or privilege to
operate suspended under section 1216 of this title, shall be reinstated except as
follows:

(1) In the case of a first suspension, a license or privilege to operate
shall be reinstated only:

(A) after the person individual has successfully completed the
Alcohol and Driving Education Program, at the person’s individual’s own
expense, followed by an assessment of the need for further treatment by a
State-designated counselor, at the person’s individual’s own expense, to
determine whether reinstatement should be further conditioned on satisfactory
completion of a therapy program agreed to by the person individual and the
Drinking Driver Rehabilitation Program Director;

(B) if the screening indicates that therapy is needed, after the person
individual has satisfactorily completed or shown substantial progress in
completing a therapy program at the person’s individual’s own expense agreed
to by the person individual and the Driver Rehabilitation Program Director;

(C) if the person individual elects to operate under an ignition
interlock RDL or ignition interlock certificate, after the person individual
operates under the RDL or certificate for the applicable period set forth in
subsection 1205(a) or section 1206 of this title, plus any extension of this
period arising from a violation of section 1213 of this title; and

(D) if the person individual has no pending criminal charges, civil
citations, or unpaid fines or penalties for a violation under this chapter.

(2) In the case of a second suspension, a license or privilege to operate
shall not be reinstated until:

(A) the person individual has successfully completed an alcohol and
driving rehabilitation program;

(B) the person individual has completed or shown substantial
progress in completing a therapy program at the person’s individual’s own
expense agreed to by the person individual and the Driver Rehabilitation
Program Director;

(C) after the person individual operates under an ignition interlock
RDL or ignition interlock certificate for 18 months or, in the case of a person
someone subject to the one-year hard suspension prescribed in subdivision
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1213(a)(1)(C) of this title, for one year, plus any extension of the relevant
period arising from a violation of section 1213 of this title, except if otherwise
provided in subdivision (4) of this subsection (a); and

(D) the person individual has no pending criminal charges, civil
citations, or unpaid fines or penalties for a violation under this chapter.

(3) In the case of a third or subsequent suspension or a revocation, a
license or privilege to operate shall not be reinstated until:

(A) the person individual has successfully completed an alcohol and
driving rehabilitation program;

(B) the person individual has completed or shown substantial
progress in completing a therapy program at the person’s individual’s own
expense agreed to by the person individual and the Driver Rehabilitation
Program Director;

(C) the person individual has satisfied the requirements of subsection
(b) of this section; and

(D) the person individual has no pending criminal charges, civil
citations, or unpaid fines or penalties for a violation under this chapter.

(4) The Commissioner shall waive a requirement under subdivision (2)
of this subsection or subsection (b) of this section that a person an individual
operate under an ignition interlock RDL or certificate prior to eligibility for
reinstatement if:

(A) the person individual furnishes sufficient proof as prescribed by
the Commissioner that he or she the individual is incapable of using an
ignition interlock device because of a medical condition that will persist
permanently or at least for the term of the suspension or, in the case of
suspensions or revocations for life, for a period of at least three years; or

(B) the underlying offenses arose solely from being under the
influence of a drug other than alcohol.

(b) Total Abstinence Program.

(1) As used in this subsection:

(A) “Drug” means:

(i) a regulated drug, as defined in 18 V.S.A. § 4201, that is used in
any way other than as prescribed for a legitimate medical use in conformity
with instructions from the prescriber; or
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(ii) any substance or combination of substances, other than
alcohol or a regulated drug, that potentially affects the nervous system, brain,
or muscles of an individual so as to impair an individual’s ability to drive a
vehicle safely to the slightest degree.

(B) “Total abstinence” means refraining from consuming any amount
of alcohol or drugs at any time, regardless of whether the alcohol or drugs are
consumed by an individual when attempting to operate, operating, or in actual
physical control of a vehicle.

(2)(A) Notwithstanding any other provision of this subchapter, a person
an individual whose license or privilege to operate has been suspended or
revoked for life under this subchapter may apply to the Commissioner for
reinstatement of his or her the individual’s driving privilege if the individual
satisfies the requirements set forth in subdivision (3) of this subsection (b).
The person shall have completed three years of total abstinence from
consumption of alcohol and nonprescription regulated drugs. The use of a
regulated drug in accordance with a valid prescription shall not disqualify an
applicant for reinstatement of his or her driving privileges unless the applicant
used the regulated drug in a manner inconsistent with the prescription label.

(B) The beginning date for the period of total abstinence shall be not
earlier than the effective date of the suspension or revocation from which the
person individual is requesting reinstatement and shall not include any period
during which the person individual is serving a sentence of incarceration to
include furlough. The application shall include the applicant’s authorization
for a urinalysis examination, or another examination if it is approved as a
preliminary screening test under this subchapter, to be conducted prior to
reinstatement under this subdivision (2). The application to the Commissioner
shall be accompanied by a fee of $500.00. The Commissioner shall have the
discretion to waive the application fee if the Commissioner determines that
payment of the fee would present a hardship to the applicant.

(2)(3) If the Commissioner or a medical review board convened by the
Commissioner is satisfied by a preponderance of the evidence that the
applicant has abstained for the required number of years maintained total
abstinence for the three years immediately preceding the application, has
successfully completed a therapy program as required under this section, and
has operated under a valid ignition interlock RDL or under an ignition
interlock certificate for at least three years following the suspension or
revocation, and the person applicant provides a written acknowledgment that
he or she cannot drink any amount of alcohol at all and cannot consume
nonprescription regulated drugs under any circumstances the applicant must
maintain total abstinence at all times while participating in the Total
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Abstinence Program, the person’s applicant’s license or privilege to operate
shall be reinstated immediately, subject to the condition that the person’s
applicant’s suspension or revocation will be put back in effect in the event any
further investigation reveals a return to the consumption of alcohol or drugs
failure to maintain total abstinence and to such any additional conditions as the
Commissioner may impose to advance the public interest in public safety. The
requirement to operate under an ignition interlock RDL or ignition interlock
certificate shall not apply if the person applicant is exempt under subdivision
(a)(4) of this section.

(3)(4) If after notice and an opportunity for a hearing the Commissioner
later finds that the person individual was violating the conditions of the
person’s individual’s reinstatement under this subsection, the person’s
individual’s operating license or privilege to operate shall be immediately
suspended or revoked for life.

(4)(5) If the Commissioner finds that a person an individual reinstated
under this subsection is suspended pursuant to section 1205 of this title or is
convicted of a violation of section 1201 of this title subsequent to
reinstatement under this subsection, the person individual shall be conclusively
presumed to be in violation of the conditions of his or her the reinstatement.

(5)(6) A person An individual shall be eligible for reinstatement under
this subsection only once following a suspension or revocation for life.

(6)(7)(A) If an applicant for reinstatement under this subsection (b)
resides in a jurisdiction other than Vermont, the Commissioner may elect not
to conduct an investigation. If the Commissioner elects not to conduct an
investigation, he or she the Commissioner shall provide a letter to the
applicant’s jurisdiction of residence stating that Vermont does not object to the
jurisdiction issuing the applicant a license if the applicant is required to operate
only vehicles equipped with an ignition interlock device for at least a three-
year period, unless exempt under subdivision (a)(4) of this section, and is
required to complete any alcohol rehabilitation or treatment requirements of
the licensing jurisdiction.

(B) If the applicant’s jurisdiction of residence is prepared to issue or
has issued a license in accordance with subdivision (A) of this subdivision (6)
and the applicant satisfies the requirements of section 675 of this title, the
Commissioner shall update relevant State and federal databases to reflect that
the applicant’s lifetime suspension or revocation in Vermont under chapter 13,
subchapter 13 of this title has terminated.

(c) Screening and therapy programs. In the case of a second or subsequent
suspension, the Commissioner shall notify the person that he or she is required
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individual of the requirement to enroll in the alcohol and driving education
screening and therapy program provided for in this section within 30 days of
after license suspension. If the person individual fails to enroll or fails to
remain so enrolled until completion, the Drinking Driver Rehabilitation
Program shall report such failure to the sentencing court. The court may order
the person individual to appear and show cause why he or she the individual
failed to comply.

(d) Judicial review. A person An individual aggrieved by a decision of a
designated counselor under this section may seek review of that decision
pursuant to Rule 75 of the Vermont Rules of Civil Procedure.

* * *

Sec. 20. CURRENT TOTAL ABSTINENCE PROGRAM PARTICIPANTS

(a) Not later than September 1, 2023, the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles
shall provide written notice to all individuals participating in or applying to
participate in the Total Abstinence Program as of the effective date of this
section of amendments to 23 V.S.A. § 1209a and that, as of the effective date
of this section, they must maintain total abstinence, as defined in 23 V.S.A.
§ 1209a(b)(1) as amended by Sec. 19 of this act, at all times while
participating in or applying to participate in the Total Abstinence Program.
Notice shall be mailed to an individual’s residence or mailing address as
currently listed with the Department of Motor Vehicles.

(b) Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary, the license or
privilege to operate of an individual participating in the Total Abstinence
Program on the effective date of this section may be suspended or revoked for
life in accordance with 23 V.S.A. § 1209a(b)(3), as amended by Sec. 19 of this
act, in the event that any further investigation reveals a failure to maintain total
abstinence, as defined in 23 V.S.A. § 1209a(b)(1) as amended by Sec. 19 of
this act.

* * * Overweight Permits * * *

Sec. 21. 23 V.S.A. § 1392 is amended to read:

§ 1392. GROSS WEIGHT LIMITS ON HIGHWAYS

Except as provided in section 1400 of this title, a person or corporation
shall not operate or cause to be operated a motor vehicle in excess of the total
weight, including vehicle, object, or contrivance and load, of:

* * *
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(3) No vehicle may exceed a gross weight in excess of 80,000 pounds
unless the operator or owner of the vehicle has complied with the provisions of
section 1400 of this title or except as otherwise provided in this section.

* * *

(13) Despite the axle-load provisions of section 1391 of this title and the
maximum gross load of subdivision (4) of this section, a special annual permit,
which shall expire with the vehicle’s registration, except for vehicles not
registered in Vermont in which case the permit shall become void on January 1
following date of issue, may be issued to a person or corporation operating on
designated routes on the State Highway System for a fee of $415.00 $382.00
for each vehicle that must be registered for a weight of 80,000 pounds. This
special permit shall be issued only for a combination of vehicle and semi-
trailer or trailer equipped with five or more axles, with a distance between
axles that meets the minimum requirements of registering the vehicle to 80,000
pounds as allowed under subdivision (4) of this section. The maximum gross
load under this special permit shall be 90,000 pounds. Unless authorized by
federal law, this subdivision shall not apply to operation on the Dwight D.
Eisenhower National System of Interstate and Defense Highways.

(14) Despite the axle-load provisions of section 1391 of this title and the
axle spacing and maximum gross load provisions of subdivision (4) of this
section, a special annual permit, which shall expire with the vehicle’s
registration, except for vehicles not registered in Vermont in which case the
permit shall become void on January 1 following date of issue, may be issued
to a person or corporation transporting loads on vehicles on designated routes
on the State Highway System for the following fees for each vehicle unit.
Unless authorized by federal law, the provisions of this subdivision regarding
weight limits, or tolerances, or both, shall not apply to operation on the
Dwight D. Eisenhower National System of Interstate and Defense Highways.
This special permit shall be issued for the following vehicles and conditions:

* * *

(16) Notwithstanding the axle load provisions of section 1391 of this
title and the maximum gross load of subdivision (4) of this section, a five or
more axle truck tractor, semi-trailer combination, or truck trailer combination,
when the load consists solely of unprocessed milk products as defined in
subdivision 4(55) of this title, may be registered for and operated with a
maximum gross weight of 90,000 pounds on State highways without permit
and upon posted State and town highways and those highways designated as
the Dwight D. Eisenhower National System of Interstate and Defense
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Highways when the vehicle has been issued a permit in compliance with the
provisions of section 1400 of this title; however:

(A) Vehicles operated pursuant to this subdivision (16) shall be
subject to the same axle spacing restrictions as are applied to five or more axle
vehicles registered to 80,000 pounds as set forth in subdivision (4) of this
section.

(B) On those highways designated as the Dwight D. Eisenhower
National System of Interstate and Defense Highways, the provisions of
subsection 1391(c) of this title shall apply unless other axle load limits,
tolerances, or both, are authorized under federal law. Unless prohibited by
federal law, the provisions of this subdivision (16) shall apply to operation on
the Dwight D. Eisenhower National System of Interstate and Defense
Highways.

(C) The fee for the annual permit as provided in this subdivision (16)
shall be $10.00 when the fee has been paid to register the vehicle for 90,000
pounds or $382.00 when the vehicle is registered for 80,000 pounds.
[Repealed.]

(17) Notwithstanding the gross vehicle weight provisions of subdivision
(4) of this section, a truck trailer combination or truck tractor, semi-trailer
combination with six or more load-bearing axles registered for 80,000 pounds
shall be allowed to bear a maximum of 99,000 pounds by special annual
permit, which shall expire with the vehicle’s registration, except for vehicles
not registered in Vermont in which case the permit shall become void on
January 1 following the date of issue, for operating on designated routes on
State and town highways, subject to the following:

(A) The combination of vehicles must have, as a minimum, a
distance of 51 feet between extreme axles.

(B) The axle weight provisions of section 1391 of this title and
subdivision 1392 the axle weight provisions of subdivisions (6)(A)–(D) of this
section shall also apply to vehicles permitted under this subdivision (17).

(C) When determining the fine civil penalty for a gross overweight
violation of this subdivision (17), the fine civil penalty for any portion of the
first 10,000 pounds over the permitted weight shall be the same as provided in
section 1391a of this title, and for overweight violations 10,001 pounds or
more over the permitted weight, the fine civil penalty schedule provided in
section 1391a shall be doubled.

(D) The weight permitted by this subdivision (17) shall be allowed
for foreign trucks that are registered or permitted for 99,000 pounds in a state
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or province that recognizes Vermont vehicles for weights consistent with this
subdivision (17).

(E) Unless authorized by federal law, the provisions of this
subdivision (17) shall not apply to operation on the Dwight D. Eisenhower
National System of Interstate and Defense Highways.

(F) The fee for the annual permit as provided in this subdivision (17)
shall be $415.00 $382.00 for vehicles bearing up to 90,000 pounds and
$560.00 for vehicles bearing up to 99,000 pounds.

* * *

(19)(A) A person issued a permit under the provisions of subdivision
(13), (14), (16), or (17) of this section, and upon payment of a $10.00
administrative fee for each additional permit, may obtain additional permits
for the same vehicle, provided the additional permit is for a lesser weight and
provided the vehicle or combination of vehicles meets the minimum
requirements for the permit sought as set forth in this section.

* * *

Sec. 22. [Deleted.]

* * * Electronic Permits * * *

Sec. 23. 23 V.S.A. § 1392 is amended to read:

§ 1392. GROSS WEIGHT LIMITS ON HIGHWAYS

Except as provided in section 1400 of this title, a person or corporation
shall not operate or cause to be operated a motor vehicle in excess of the total
weight, including vehicle, object, or contrivance and load, of:

* * *

(21) All permits issued pursuant to this section shall be carried in the
vehicle. The fine for violation of this subdivision shall be $150.00. A
violation of this subdivision shall be considered an offense separate from an
overweight violation. [Repealed.]

Sec. 24. 23 V.S.A. § 1455 is added to read:

§ 1455. CARRYING OF PERMITS IN THE PERMITTED MOTOR

VEHICLE

All permits issued pursuant to this subchapter shall be carried in the motor
vehicle in either paper or electronic form. Use of a portable electronic device
to display an electronic permit does not in itself constitute consent for an
enforcement officer to access other contents of the device. The civil penalty
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for violation of this section shall be $150.00. A violation of this section shall
be considered an offense separate from any other related violations.

* * * Title * * *

* * * Prospective Elimination of 15-Year Limitation; Electronic Title * * *

Sec. 25. 23 V.S.A. § 2012 is amended to read:

§ 2012. EXEMPTED VEHICLES

No certificate of title need be obtained for:

* * *

(10) a vehicle that is more than 15 years old on January 1, 2024.

Sec. 26. 23 V.S.A. § 2013 is amended to read:

§ 2013. WHEN CERTIFICATE REQUIRED; ISSUANCE OF EXEMPT

VEHICLE TITLE UPON REQUEST

(a)(1) Except as provided in section 2012 of this title, the provisions of this
chapter shall apply to and a title must be obtained for all motor vehicles at the
time of first registration or when a change of registration is required under the
provisions of section 321 of this title by reason of a sale for consideration.

(2) In addition, a Vermont resident may apply at any time to the
Commissioner to obtain an “exempt vehicle title” for a vehicle that is more
than 15 years old. Such titles shall be in a form prescribed by the
Commissioner and shall include a legend indicating that the title is issued
under the authority of this subdivision. The Commissioner shall issue an
exempt vehicle title if the applicant pays the applicable fee and fulfills the
requirements of this section, and if the Commissioner is satisfied that:

(A) the applicant is the owner of the vehicle;

(B) the applicant is a Vermont resident; and

(C) the vehicle is not subject to any liens or encumbrances.
[Repealed.]

(3) Prior to issuing an exempt vehicle title pursuant to subdivision (2) of
this subsection, the Commissioner shall require all of the following:

(A) The applicant to furnish one of the following proofs of
ownership, in order of preference:

(i) a previous Vermont or out-of-state title indicating the
applicant’s ownership;
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(ii) an original or a certified copy of a previous Vermont or out-of-
state registration indicating the applicant’s ownership;

(iii) sufficient evidence of ownership as determined by the
Commissioner, including bills of sale or original receipts for major
components of homebuilt vehicles; or

(iv) a notarized affidavit certifying that the applicant is the owner
of the vehicle and is unable to produce the proofs listed in subdivisions (i)–(iii)
of this subdivision (3)(A) despite reasonable efforts to do so.

(B) A notarized affidavit certifying:

(i) the date the applicant purchased or otherwise took ownership
of the vehicle;

(ii) the name and address of the seller or transferor, if known;

(iii) that the applicant is a Vermont resident; and

(iv) that the vehicle is not subject to any liens or encumbrances.

(C) Assignment of a new vehicle identification number pursuant to
section 2003 of this title, if the vehicle does not have one. [Repealed.]

* * *

Sec. 27. 23 V.S.A. § 2017 is amended to read:

§ 2017. ISSUANCE OF CERTIFICATE; RECORDS

(a) The Commissioner shall file each application received and, when
satisfied as to its genuineness and regularity and that the applicant is entitled to
the issuance of a certificate of title, shall issue a certificate of title of the
vehicle, without regard to the age of the vehicle.

(b) The Commissioner may issue an electronic certificate of title, provided
that the applicant is entitled to the issuance of the certificate of title pursuant to
subsection (a) of this section.

(c) The Commissioner shall maintain at his or her central office a record of
all certificates of title issued by him or her for vehicles 15 years old and newer,
and of all exempt vehicle titles issued by him or her, under a distinctive title
number assigned to the vehicle; under the identification number of the vehicle;
alphabetically, under the name of the owner; and, in the discretion of the
Commissioner, by any other method he or she the Commissioner determines.
The original records may be maintained on microfilm or electronic imaging.
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Sec. 28. 23 V.S.A. § 2091(a) is amended to read:

(a) Except for vehicles for which no certificate of title is required pursuant
to section 2012 of this title and for vehicles that are more than 15 years old,
any person who purchases or in any manner acquires a vehicle as salvage; any
person who scraps, dismantles, or destroys a motor vehicle; or any insurance
company or representative thereof who declares a motor vehicle to be a total
loss, shall apply to the Commissioner for a salvage certificate of title within 15
days of after the time the vehicle is purchased or otherwise acquired as
salvage; is scrapped, dismantled, or destroyed; or is declared a total loss.
However, an insurance company or representative thereof proceeding under
subsection (c) of this section may apply outside this 15-day window to the
extent necessary to comply with the requirements of that subsection.

* * * Nonresident Title * * *

Sec. 29. 23 V.S.A. § 2020 is amended to read:

§ 2020. WITHHOLDING OF CERTIFICATE; BOND REQUIRED

If the Commissioner is not satisfied as to the ownership of the vehicle or
that there are no undisclosed security interests in it, the Commissioner may
register the vehicle but shall either:

(1) Withhold issuance of a certificate of title until the applicant presents
documents reasonably sufficient to satisfy the Commissioner as to the
applicant’s ownership of the vehicle and that there are no undisclosed security
interests in it; or.

(2) As a condition of issuing a certificate of title, require the an
applicant who is a Vermont resident to file with the Commissioner a bond in
the form prescribed by the Commissioner and executed by the applicant, and
either accompanied by the deposit of cash with the Commissioner or also
executed by a person authorized to conduct a surety business in this State. The
bond shall be in an amount equal to one and one-half times the value of the
vehicle as determined by the Commissioner and conditioned to indemnify any
prior owner and lienholder and any subsequent purchaser of the vehicle or
person acquiring any security interest in it, and their respective successors in
interest, against any expense, loss, or damage, including reasonable attorney’s
fees, by reason of the issuance of the certificate of title of the vehicle or on
account of any defect in or undisclosed security interest upon the right, title,
and interest of the applicant in and to the vehicle. Any such interested person
has a right of action to recover on the bond for any breach of its conditions,
but the aggregate liability of the surety to all persons shall not exceed the
amount of the bond. The bond, and any deposit accompanying it, shall be
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returned at the end of three years or earlier if the vehicle is no longer
registered in this State and the currently valid certificate of title is surrendered
to the Commissioner, unless the Commissioner has been notified of the
pendency of an action to recover on the bond. The Commissioner shall not
issue titles to nonresidents under the provisions of this subdivision.

* * * Towing; Abandoned Vehicles * * *

Sec. 30. 23 V.S.A. § 4(88) is added to read:

(88) “Towing business” means a person that regularly engages in one or
more of the following: recovery, impoundment, transport, storage, or disposal
of motor vehicles.

Sec. 31. 23 V.S.A. § 2151 is amended to read:

§ 2151. DEFINITIONS

As used in this subchapter:

(1)(A) “Abandoned motor vehicle” means:

(i) a motor vehicle that has remained on public or private property
or on or along a highway for more than 48 hours without the consent of the
owner or person in control of the property and has a valid registration plate or
public vehicle identification number that has not been removed, destroyed, or
altered; or

(ii) a motor vehicle that has remained on public or private
property or on or along a highway without the consent of the owner or person
in control of the property for any period of time if:

(I) the vehicle does not have a valid registration plate or the
public vehicle identification number has been removed, destroyed, or altered;
or

(II) a law enforcement officer has requested that the vehicle be
removed by a towing business.

(B) “Abandoned motor vehicle” does not include a vehicle or other
equipment used or to be used in construction or in the operation or
maintenance of highways or public utility facilities, which is left in a manner
that does not interfere with the normal movement of traffic.

(2) “Landowner” means a person who owns or leases or otherwise has
authority to control use of real property.

(3) “Law enforcement officer” means a State Police officer, municipal
police officer, motor vehicle inspector, Capitol Police officer, constable,
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sheriff, or deputy sheriff certified by the Vermont Criminal Justice Council
under 20 V.S.A. § 2358.

(4) “Motor vehicle” means all vehicles propelled or drawn by power
other than muscular power that have, or could have, one or more of the
following:

(A) a registration plate, registration decal, or certificate of number;

(B) a public vehicle identification number; or

(C) a certificate of title.

(3)(5) “Public vehicle identification number” means the public vehicle
identification number that is usually visible through the windshield and
attached to the driver’s side of the dashboard, instrument panel, or windshield
pillar post or on the doorjamb on the driver’s side of the vehicle.

Sec. 32. 23 V.S.A. § 2153(a) is amended to read:

(a) A landowner on whose property an abandoned motor vehicle is located
was discovered or has been relocated to shall apply to the Department for an
abandoned motor vehicle certification on forms supplied by the Department
within 30 90 days of after the date the vehicle was discovered on or brought to
the property unless the vehicle has been removed from the property or
relocated. An abandoned motor vehicle certification form shall indicate the
date that the abandoned motor vehicle was discovered or brought to the
property relocated; the make, color, model, and location of the vehicle; the
name, address, and telephone number of the landowner of the property where
the vehicle is currently located; and a certification of the public vehicle
identification number, if any, to be recorded prepared by a law enforcement
officer, licensed dealer, or inspection station designated by the Commissioner
of Motor Vehicles. This subsection shall not be construed as creating a private
right of action against the landowner of the property where an abandoned
motor vehicle is located.

Sec. 33. 23 V.S.A. § 2158 is amended to read:

§ 2158. FEES FOR TOWING; PUBLIC PROPERTY; FUNDING

(a) A towing service may charge a fee of up to $40.00 $125.00 for towing
an abandoned motor vehicle from public property under the provisions of
sections 2151–2157 of this title subchapter. This fee shall be paid to the
towing service upon the issuance by the Department of Motor Vehicles of a
certificate of abandoned motor vehicles under section 2156 of this title. The
Commissioner of Motor Vehicles shall notify the Commissioner of Finance
and Management who shall issue payment to the towing service for vehicles
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removed from public property. Payments under this section shall terminate
upon the payment of a total of $16,000.00 for towing abandoned motor
vehicles from public property in any fiscal year. A towing company shall not
be eligible for more than 50 percent of this annual allocation.

(b) The Commissioner of Motor Vehicles is authorized to expend up to
$16,000.00 of the Department’s annual appropriation for the purpose of this
section. [Repealed.]

Sec. 34. REPORTS ON AMOUNT PAID BY STATE FOR TOWING

ABANDONED MOTOR VEHICLES FROM PUBLIC PROPERTY

(a) The Department of Motor Vehicles shall provide an oral report on the
following to the House and Senate Committees on Transportation on or before
February 15, 2024:

(1) the amount paid by the State pursuant to 23 V.S.A. § 2158 during
the first six months of fiscal year 2024; and

(2) a summary of any changes to Department processes related to the
payment for the towing of abandoned motor vehicles from public property that
were implemented after May 1, 2023.

(b) The Department of Motor Vehicles shall file a written report on the
following with the House and Senate Committees on Transportation on or
before December 15, 2025:

(1) the amount paid by the State pursuant to 23 V.S.A. § 2158 during
fiscal year 2024;

(2) the amount paid by the State pursuant to 23 V.S.A. § 2158 during
fiscal year 2025;

(3) a summary of any changes to Department processes related to the
payment for the towing of abandoned motor vehicles from public property that
were implemented after May 1, 2023; and

(4) any recommendations on changes to State statute related to the
towing of abandoned motor vehicles from public property.

Sec. 35. TOWING WORKING GROUP; REPORT

(a) The Office of the Attorney General, in consultation with the
Department of Financial Regulation, the Department of Motor Vehicles, the
Office of Professional Regulation, and the Office of the Vermont State
Treasurer, shall engage in a working group process to study vehicle towing
practices in the State of Vermont.
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(b) The working group process shall include stakeholder engagement and
at least one public hearing. The following shall be invited to participate as a
stakeholder:

(1) AAA Northern New England;

(2) Associated General Contractors of Vermont;

(3) Association of Vermont Credit Unions;

(4) Vermont Bankers Association;

(5) Vermont Insurance Agents Association;

(6) Vermont League of Cities and Towns;

(7) Vermont Legal Aid;

(8) Vermont Towing Association;

(9) Vermont Truck and Bus Association;

(10) Vermont Public Interest Research Group; and

(11) any other persons identified by the Office of the Attorney General.

(c) The study shall, at a minimum, address:

(1) pricing of pleasure car and commercial vehicle towing and recovery,
including from State and town highways that are restricted based on motor
vehicle size;

(2) crash site remediation, including costs borne by towing companies;

(3) storage practices, including:

(A) pricing;

(B) vehicle access for removal of personal belongings; and

(C) vehicle access for removal of cargo;

(4) practices relating to abandonment or suspected abandonment when
necessary or appropriate;

(5) any applicable recommendations for amendments to State statute;

(6) best practices from other states; and

(7) any other information that the Office of the Attorney General deems
pertinent to the study.

(d) The Attorney General shall file a written report on the study, including
any recommendations it deems appropriate, with the House Committees on
Commerce and Economic Development, on Government Operations and
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Military Affairs, and on Transportation and the Senate Committees on
Economic Development, Housing and General Affairs, on Finance, on
Government Operations, and on Transportation on or before December 15,
2023.

* * * Proof of Liability Insurance; Snowmobiles * * *

Sec. 36. 23 V.S.A. § 3206(b) is amended to read:

(b) A snowmobile shall not be operated:

* * *

(19) Without carrying proof of liability insurance as described in this
subdivision.  No owner or operator of a snowmobile shall operate or permit the
operation of the snowmobile on the Statewide Snowmobile Trail System or
public right of way, except on the property of the owner, without having in
effect a liability policy or bond in the amounts of at least $25,000.00 for one
person and $50,000.00 for two or more persons killed or injured and
$10,000.00 for damages to property in any one crash.  In lieu thereof, evidence
of self-insurance in the amount of $115,000.00 must be filed with the
Commissioner.  Such financial responsibility shall be maintained and
evidenced in a form prescribed by the Commissioner.  The standards and
process established in subsection 801(c) of this title shall be adopted. An
operator may prove financial responsibility using a portable electronic device;
however, use of a device for this purpose does not in itself constitute consent
for an enforcement officer to access other contents of the device.  An operator
cited for violating this subsection shall not be convicted if the operator sends
or produces to the issuing enforcement agency within seven business days after
the traffic stop proof of financial responsibility that was in effect at the time of
the traffic stop.

* * *

* * * Commercial Driver’s License; Federal Motor Carrier Safety
Administration Drug and Alcohol Clearinghouse * * *

Sec. 37. 23 V.S.A. § 4108 is amended to read:

§ 4108. COMMERCIAL DRIVER’S LICENSE, COMMERCIAL

LEARNER’S PERMIT QUALIFICATION STANDARDS

(a) Before issuing a commercial driver’s license or commercial learner’s
permit, the Commissioner shall request the applicant’s complete operating
record from any state in which the applicant was previously licensed to operate
any type of motor vehicle in the past 10 years and conduct a check of the
applicant’s operating record by querying the National Driver Register
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established under 49 U.S.C. § 30302 and, the Commercial Driver’s License
Information System established under 49 U.S.C. § 31309, and the Commercial
Driver’s License Drug and Alcohol Clearinghouse established under 49 C.F.R.
Part 382, Subpart G and required pursuant to 49 C.F.R. § 382.725 to determine
if:

(1) the applicant has already been issued a commercial driver’s license;

(2) the applicant’s commercial driver’s license has been suspended,
revoked, or canceled; or

(3) the applicant has been convicted of any offense listed in 49 U.S.C.
§ 30304(a)(3); or

(4) the applicant has a verified positive, adulterated, or substituted
controlled substances test result; has an alcohol confirmation test with a
concentration of 0.04 or higher; has refused to submit to a test in violation of
49 C.F.R. § 382.211; or the applicant’s employer has reported actual
knowledge, as defined at 49 C.F.R. § 382.107, that the applicant used alcohol
on duty in violation of 49 C.F.R. § 382.205, used alcohol before duty in
violation of 49 C.F.R. § 382.207, used alcohol following an accident in
violation of 49 C.F.R. § 382.209, or used a controlled substance in violation of
49 C.F.R. § 382.213.

(b) The Commissioner shall not issue a commercial driver’s license or
commercial learner’s permit to any individual:

* * *

(4) Who has a verified positive, adulterated, or substituted controlled
substances test result; has an alcohol confirmation test with a concentration of
0.04 or higher; has refused to submit to a test in violation of 49 C.F.R.
§ 382.211; or for whom an employer has reported actual knowledge, as
defined in 49 C.F.R. § 382.107, that the applicant used alcohol on duty in
violation of 49 C.F.R. § 382.205, used alcohol before duty in violation of 49
C.F.R. § 382.207, used alcohol following an accident in violation of 49 C.F.R.
§ 382.209, or used a controlled substance in violation of 49 C.F.R. § 382.213.

* * *

* * * Purchase and Use Tax * * *

Sec. 38. 32 V.S.A. § 8902(5) is amended to read:

(5) “Taxable cost” means the purchase price as defined in subdivision
(4) of this section or the taxable cost as determined under section 8907 of this
title. For any purchaser who has paid tax on the purchase or use of a motor
vehicle that was sold or traded by the purchaser or for which the purchaser
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received payment under a contract of insurance, the taxable cost of the
replacement motor vehicle other than a leased vehicle shall exclude:

(A) The value allowed by the seller on any motor vehicle accepted
by him or her the seller as part of the consideration of the motor vehicle,
provided the motor vehicle accepted by the seller is owned and previously or
currently registered or titled by the purchaser, with no change of ownership
since registration or titling, except for motor vehicles for which registration is
not required under the provisions of Title 23 or motor vehicles received under
the provisions of subdivision 8911(8) of this title.

(B) The amount received from the sale of a motor vehicle last
registered or titled in his or her the seller’s name, the amount not to exceed the
clean trade-in value of the same make, type, model, and year of manufacture
as designated by the manufacturer and as shown in the NADA Official Used
Car Guide (New England edition), or any comparable publication, provided
such sale occurs within three months of after the taxable purchase. However,
this three-month period shall be extended day-for-day for any time that a
member of a guard unit or of the U.S. Armed Forces, as defined in 38 U.S.C. §
101(10), spends outside Vermont due to activation or deployment, and an
additional 60 days following the person’s individual’s return from activation
or deployment. Such amount shall be reported on forms supplied by the
Commissioner of Motor Vehicles.

* * *

Sec. 39. 32 V.S.A. § 8911 is amended to read:

§ 8911. EXCEPTIONS

The tax imposed by this chapter shall not apply to:

* * *

(22) Motor vehicles that have been registered to the applicant for a
period of at least three years in a jurisdiction that imposes a state sales or use
tax on motor vehicles. An applicant for exemption under this subdivision shall
bear the burden of establishing to the satisfaction of the Commissioner that the
vehicle was registered in a qualifying jurisdiction for the requisite period.

* * *

* * * Gross Weight Limits on Highways; Report * * *

Sec. 40. REPORT ON INCREASING GROSS WEIGHT LIMITS ON

HIGHWAYS THROUGH SPECIAL ANNUAL PERMIT
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(a) The Secretary of Transportation or designee, in collaboration with the
Commissioner of Forests, Parks and Recreation or designee; the Executive
Director of the Vermont League of Cities and Towns or designee; and the
President of the Vermont Forest Products Association or designee and with the
assistance of the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles or designee, shall examine
adding one or more additional special annual permits to 23 V.S.A. § 1392 to
allow for the operation of motor vehicles at a gross vehicle weight over 99,000
pounds and shall file a written report on the examination and any
recommendations with the House and Senate Committees on Transportation on
or before January 15, 2024.

(b) At a minimum, the examination shall address:

(1) allowing for a truck trailer combination or truck tractor, semi-trailer
combination transporting cargo of legal dimensions that can be separated into
units of legal weight without affecting the physical integrity of the load to bear
a maximum of 107,000 pounds on six axles or a maximum of 117,000 pounds
on seven axles by special annual permit;

(2) limitations for any additional special annual gross vehicle weight
permits based on highway type, including limited access State highway, non-
limited-access State highway, class 1 town highway, and class 2 town
highway;

(3) limitations for any additional special annual gross vehicle weight
permits based on axle spacing and axle-weight provisions;

(4) reciprocity treatment for foreign trucks from a state or province that
recognizes Vermont vehicles permitted at increased gross weights;

(5) permit fees for any additional special annual gross vehicle weight
permits;

(6) additional penalties, including civil penalties and permit revocation,
for gross vehicle weight violations; and

(7) impacts of any additional special annual gross vehicle permits on the
forest economy and on the management and forest cover of Vermont’s
landscape.

* * * Implementation of DMV Modernization Project; Driver Services * * *

Sec. 41. IMPLEMENTATION OF DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES

MODERNIZATION PROJECT; GENERAL ASSEMBLY

OVERSIGHT

(a) Findings. The General Assembly finds that:
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(1) The Department of Motor Vehicles provides services to almost all
Vermonters, including, in fiscal year 2022, engaging in more than a million
transactions, with almost half of all transactions being conducted online.

(2) The Department is in the middle of the DMV Core System
Modernization project, with an estimated launch date for the vehicle services
module in November 2023 and with the driver services module expected to
launch approximately 18 months after it commences in February 2024.

(3) As part of its design and implementation of the vehicle services
module, the Department has discovered that one of the barriers to modernizing
Department operations is certain outdated statutes. In order to best modernize
and optimize Department processes for the future during the months-long
module design and development process, the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles
has had to make business decisions based on the needs of the Department to
modernize processes to best meet the needs of Vermonters. These business
decisions will, upon future implementation, conflict with statute if certain
statutes are not amended through the legislative process.

(4) The driver services module of the DMV Core System Modernization
project will design and implement processes to issue and maintain driver’s
licenses and other credentials; support fraud detection and investigation;
administer hearings; and administer, manage, and report driver restrictions,
convictions, and other information related to driver improvement.

(5) Driver services processes are regulated by statute in 23 V.S.A.
chapters 1, 3, 5, 9, 11, 24, 25, and 39, as well as more than 15 rules adopted
pursuant to authority under Title 23.

(6) It is anticipated that in designing and implementing the driver
services module, the Commissioner will, in order to modernize and optimize
Department processes to best serve Vermonters, need to make additional
business decisions that will, upon future implementation, conflict with statute
if certain statutes are not amended through the legislative process.

(7) Of the modernization projects in which the State is currently
engaged, the DMV Core System Modernization Project will likely have the
most significant impact on existing statutory language, but it is anticipated that
other modernization projects, such as the one that the Department of Labor
will undertake related to unemployment insurance, will raise similar tensions
between promoting efficiencies as part of modernization and contending with
outdated statutory provisions.

(8) A collaborative partnership between the Department and the General
Assembly throughout the driver services module, monitored during legislative
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adjournment by the Joint Transportation Oversight Committee, the Joint Fiscal
Committee, and members of the House and Senate Committees on
Transportation, provides the best opportunity to save money, promote
transparency, streamline the process of amending statute to optimize potential
efficiencies for Vermonters, and serve as a model for collaboration between
branches of State government in future modernization projects.

(b) Reports.

(1) The Commissioner of Motor Vehicles shall file three written reports
on the design and implementation of the driver services module of the DMV
Core System Modernization project with the Joint Transportation Oversight
Committee, the Joint Fiscal Committee, and the House and Senate Committees
on Transportation. The first shall be due on or before July 31, 2024, the
second shall be due on or before October 15, 2024, and the third shall be due
on or before January 15, 2025.

(2) To the extent practicable, at the time each written report is filed, the
Department shall include recommendations on which provisions of statute and
rule the Department anticipates will need to be amended or repealed in order to
best modernize and optimize Department processes related to the provision of
driver services.

(c) General Assembly oversight. To the extent practicable, the Joint
Transportation Oversight Committee, the Joint Fiscal Committee, and the
House and Senate Committees on Transportation shall promptly express any
concerns to the Department regarding any Department recommendations
contained in any written report filed pursuant to subsection (b) of this section.

* * * Excessive Motor Vehicle Noise Report * * *

Sec. 42. EXCESSIVE MOTOR VEHICLE NOISE REPORT

(a) The Commissioner of Motor Vehicles, in consultation with the
Commissioner of Public Safety and the Vermont League of Cities and Towns,
shall study and report on current and potential enforcement practices around
excessive motor vehicle noise and make recommendations on ways to limit
excessive motor vehicle noise in Vermont.

(b) The study and report shall, at a minimum, address:

(1) if there should be a noise standard in statute or the Periodic
Inspection Manual, or both, and, if so, what that standard should be;

(2) costs to incorporate noise testing into the State motor vehicle
inspection required under 23 V.S.A. § 1222 and the State’s Periodic Inspection
Manual;
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(3) costs to train law enforcement officers on noise testing;

(4) possible options to address excessive motor vehicle noise that do not
involve noise testing such as visual inspections for modifications to a motor
vehicle’s exhaust system, whether as part of enforcement of the State motor
vehicle inspection, and labeling on one or more components of a motor
vehicle’s exhaust system; and

(5) approaches to minimize excessive motor vehicle noise that have
been taken in other states, including increased enforcement by law
enforcement coupled with an objective noise standard defense.

(c) On or before January 1, 2025, the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles
shall submit a written report to the House and Senate Committees on Judiciary
and on Transportation with the Commissioner’s findings and any
recommendations for legislative action.

* * * Outreach to Municipalities on Speed Limits * * *

Sec. 43. OUTREACH TO MUNICIPALITIES ON SPEED LIMITS

The Agency of Transportation, in consultation with the Vermont League of
Cities and Towns and regional planning commissions, shall design and
implement a program to provide outreach to municipalities on the setting,
posting, and enforcement of speed limits on town highways.  The outreach
materials shall, at a minimum, provide information on applicable State
statutes, applicable portions of the Manual on Uniform Traffic Control
Devices, and best practices when it comes to setting and posting speed limits
on town highways.

* * * ATV Fees and Penalties * * *

Sec. 44. REPEALS

(a) 2018 Acts and Resolves No. 158, Secs. 29 (July 1, 2023 amendment to
23 V.S.A. § 3513(a)) and 43(c) (effective date) are repealed.

(b) 2022 Acts and Resolves No. 185, Sec. E.702 (July 1, 2023 amendment
to 23 V.S.A. § 3513) is repealed.

Sec. 45. 2022 Acts and Resolves No. 185, Sec. H.100(d) is amended to read:

(d) Secs. E.240.1 (7 V.S.A. § 845); E.240.2 (32 V.S.A. § 7909); E.702
(Fish and Wildlife); F.100(b), F.101(b), F.102(b) and F.103 (Executive Branch;
Exempt Employees, Misc. Statutory Salaries; Fiscal Year 2024); F.104–106
(Judicial Branch; Statutory Salaries, Fiscal Year 2024); F.107 (Sheriffs,
Statutory Salaries, Fiscal Year 2024); F.108 (State’s Attorney’s; Statutory
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Salaries; Fiscal Year 2024); and Secs. F.109(a)(2), F.109(b)(3), and F.109(c)(2)
(Appropriations; Fiscal Year 2024) shall take effect on July 1, 2023.

Sec. 46. 23 V.S.A. § 3513(a) is amended to read:

(a) The amount of 90 percent of the fees and penalties collected under this
chapter, except interest, is allocated to the Agency of Natural Resources
Department of Forests, Parks and Recreation for use by the Vermont ATV
Sportsman’s Association (VASA) for development and maintenance of a
Statewide ATV Trail Program, for trail liability insurance, and to contract for
law enforcement services with any constable, sheriff’s department, municipal
police department, the Department of Public Safety, and the Department of
Fish and Wildlife for purposes of trail compliance pursuant to this chapter.
The Departments of Public Safety and of Fish and Wildlife are authorized to
contract with VASA to provide these law enforcement services. The Agency
of Natural Resources Department of Forests, Parks and Recreation shall retain
for its use up to $7,000.00 during each fiscal year to be used for administration
of the State grant that supports this program Program.

* * * Effective Dates * * *

Sec. 47. EFFECTIVE DATES

(a) This section and Secs. 1 (new motor vehicle arbitration; 9 V.S.A.
§ 4173(d)), 2 (definition of mail; 23 V.S.A. § 4(87)), 14 (validation sticker
requirements in rule), 15 (electronic proof of registration; 23 V.S.A. § 307), 16
and 17 (plug-in electric vehicle registration fees; 23 V.S.A. §§ 361 and 362),
20 (current Total Abstinence Program participants), and 23 and 24 (electronic
permits; 23 V.S.A. §§ 1392(21) and 1455) shall take effect on passage.

(b) Sec. 19 (Total Abstinence Program; 23 V.S.A. § 1209a) shall take
effect on passage and apply to all individuals participating in or in the process
of applying to participate in the Total Abstinence Program as of the effective
date of this section without regard to when the individual’s license was
reinstated under the Total Abstinence Program.

(c) Secs. 4–13 (license plate stickers; validation stickers) shall take effect
on November 1, 2023.

(d) Secs. 25–28 (title; 23 V.S.A. §§ 2012, 2013, 2017, and 2091(a)) shall
take effect upon completion of the vehicle services module of the DMV Core
System Modernization project.

(e) Sec. 37 (commercial driver’s license clearinghouse; 23 V.S.A. § 4108)
shall take effect on November 18, 2024.

(f) All other sections shall take effect on July 1, 2023.
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(Committee vote: 11-0-0)

CONSENT CALENDAR

Concurrent Resolutions for Adoption Under Joint Rules 16a - 16d

The following concurrent resolutions have been introduced for approval by
the Senate and House and will be adopted automatically unless a Senator or
Representative requests floor consideration in that member’s chamber prior to
adjournment of the next legislative day. Requests for floor consideration in
either chamber should be communicated to the Senate Secretary’s Office or
the House Clerk’s Office, as applicable. For text of resolutions, see
Addendum to House Calendar.

H.C.R. 92

House concurrent resolution in memory of Vergennes Fire Chief James M.
Breur

H.C.R. 93

House concurrent resolution recognizing April 2023 as Donate Life
Awareness Month in Vermont

H.C.R. 94

House concurrent resolution congratulating the National Wild Turkey
Federation on its 50th anniversary

H.C.R. 95

House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2022 Green Mountain
Council Class of Eagle Scouts and the recipient of the Summit Award

H.C.R. 96

House concurrent resolution congratulating The Wilson House on its 35th
anniversary

H.C.R. 97

House concurrent resolution honoring Boy Scout Troop 1 in Barre on
becoming the official descendant of America’s first Boy Scout troop

H.C.R. 98

House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2023 Vermont finalists for
the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching
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H.C.R. 99

House concurrent resolution recognizing July 2023 as Self-Care Awareness
Month in Vermont

For Informational Purposes

NOTICE OF JFO GRANTS AND POSITIONS

Grants and Positions that have been submitted to the Joint Fiscal Committee
by the Administration, under 32 V.S.A. §5(b)(3)(D):

JFO #3146: $737,685.00 to the Vermont Department of Corrections from the
U.S. Department of Justice. This grant was awarded to Vermont State Colleges
who will sub-grant to the VT Department of Corrections. This grant includes
two (2) limited-service positions, Post-Secondary Program Coordinators, to
engage Vermont's correctional facility staff in post-secondary educational
opportunities and improved employment opportunities, both within and
without the Department and State government. Positions are fully funded
through 8/31/2025 with a potential one-year extension. [Received April 3,
2023]

JFO #3145: $250,000.00 to the Vermont Agency of Human Services
Department of Mental Health from the National Association of State Mental
Health Program Directors. Funds will support direct services to be provided to
the public through the Crisis Assistance Helping Out on the Street
(CAHOOTS) program. The VT Department of Health will collaborate with the
City of Burlington, Burlington Police Department and local area health
providers to support this pilot. The goal is to establish a trauma-informed
approach that will only utilize system components that are necessary for
individual situations. [Received April 3, 2023]

JFO #3144: $173,973.00 to the Vermont Attorney General’s Office from the
Vermont Network Against Domestic and Sexual Violence. The Firearm
Technical Assistant Project serves to improve Vermont's statewide responses to
the intersection of firearms and domestic violence. The Attorney General's
office will lead the management team and provide project oversight including
communication with the project partners: Vermont Network, Defender
General's Office, Vermont State Police, Vermont Judiciary, Disability Rights
Vermont, AALV-VT and the Abenaki Nation. [Received April 3, 2023]
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JFO #3143: $514,694.00 to the Agency of Human Services, Department of
Vermont Health Access from the DHHS/ONC via Passthrough from the
Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. Funds will be used to
support Vermont's participation in the COVID-19 Immunization Data
Exchange, Advancement and Sharing learning community with the aim of
advancing immunization information and health information exchange sharing.
[Received March 23, 2023]

JFO #3142: $15,000.00 to Agency of Natural Resources, Department of
Environmental Conservation from the Maine Geological Society. Funds will
be used to identify contradictions in mapped geological formations across state
lines in New England. [Received March 23, 2023]

JFO #3141: Donation of Alexander Twilight portrait, commissioned from
artist Katie Runde to the Vermont State Curator’s Office from the Friends of
the Vermont State House. The donation is valued at $32,923.27. Twilight was
the first person of African descent to be elected to a state legislature and served
one term in Vermont. The portrait is currently displayed in the main lobby of
the Vermont State House. [Received March 23, 2023]

JFO #3140: $241,208.00 to Building and General Services, Vermont State
Curator’s Office from the Institute of Museum and Library Services. The
FY2020 Save America's Treasures grant will restore and conserve Sculpture
on the Highway, an outdoor collection of sixteen monumental marble and
concrete sculptures created at two international sculpture symposia held in
Vermont during the summers of 1968 and 1971. [Received March 23, 2023]

JFO #3139: $644,469.00 to the Vermont Judiciary, Court Administrator’s
Office from the U.S. Department of Justice. The grant will support the VT
Judiciary Commission on Mental Health, established in July 2022. The
Commission is focused on addressing the needs of court-involved individuals
with behavioral health issues. Funds will help develop training activities and
materials for VT Judiciary staff. [Received March 22, 2023]

JFO #3138: One (1) limited-service position, Statewide Grants Administrator,
to the Agency of Administration, Department of Finance and Management to
cover increased grant activity due to the Covid-19 pandemic. The position is
funded through Act 185 of 2022. Sec G.801of the Act appropriates ARPA
funds for administrative costs related to the pandemic. This position is funded
through 12/31/2026. The grant packet can be found at:
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https://ljfo.vermont.gov/assets/grants-documents/ec01b0bea7/JFO-3138-
packet.pdf
[Received February 9, 2023]

JFO #3137: One (1) limited-service position to the Vermont Department of
Health, Senior Health Asbestos and Lead Engineer, to perform senior
professional level work to educate, advise on and enforce Vermont asbestos
and lead control regulations.  The position is funded through 9/30/2024
through an existing Environmental Protection Agency grant. The grant packet
can be found at: https://ljfo.vermont.gov/assets/grants-
documents/a44b7c8cac/JFO-3137-packet-v2.pdf
[Received 1/23/2023]

JFO #3136: $5,000,000.00 to the Agency of Administration, Public Service
Department, VT Community Broadband Board (VCBB) from the National
Telecommunications and Information Administration, Broadband Equity,
Access and Deployment Program to deliver broadband to unserved and
underserved areas in Vermont. This is a 5-year grant and will fill in the
technical gaps existing in the VCBB’s program of broadband deployment. The
grant packet can be found at: https://ljfo.vermont.gov/assets/grants-
documents/3d7b96fcb1/JFO-3136-packet.pdf
[Received 1/23/2023]


