Statutory Reference Fee Type

8 VSA
§4800(2)(A)(iii)

9 VSA 5302(e)

9 VSA 5302(f)

9 VSA 5302(f)

9 VSA §5410(b)
Total

Insurance
Appointments
Rule D/ Regulation A,

Tier 2 Notification and

Renewal

Investment Company
Act Offerings -
Notification
Investment Company
Act Offerings -
Renewal

Broker Dealer Agent -

Application, Renewal
and Change of
Registration

Fund Name
Insurance
Regulatory &
Supervision

General Fund

General Fund

General Fund

Securities

Regulatory &
Supervision

Changes to Department of Financial Regulation Fees — UPDATED ESTIMATES

Ted Barnett, Joint Fiscal Office

Senate Committee on Finance, 4/12/2025

Year
Approximate Last Current New Fee Current Law -
Number of Filings  Changed Fee Amount FY23 Revenue
394,337 2019 60 80 23,660,215
1,172 2008 600 820 703,200
2,418 2022 2,000 2,250 4,836,000
21,799 2022 1,650 2,000 35,968,350
140,000 2019 120 140 16,800,000
81,967,765
Revenue Summary
Estimated FY 2025
Revenue
Securities Registrations 8,491,990
Other DFR Fees 8,715,054
Total 17,207,044

Estimated FY25
Revenue with Fee
Adjustment

31,546,953

961,040

5,440,500

43,598,000

19,600,000
101,146,493

Difference -
FY25

5,915,054

257,840

604,500

7,629,650

2,800,000
17,207,044

Difference - Full
Year

7,886,738

257,840

604,500

7,629,650

2,800,000
19,178,728
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Fee Types and Background Information:

Insurance Appointments:
e Appointment fees are paid by carriers
e Appointment fees were converted from biennial to annual fees in FY 2022. This change conformed with how the majority of states process registrations.!
e This adjustment would make Vermont’s fees the highest in the country. Current Maine charges $70 to nonresident carriers and Massachusetts charges $75.
Securities Registrations:
e Regulation D, Rule 506 and Regulation A, Tier 2
o Regulation D, Rule 506 Fee filings come from private equity offerings
o Vermont’s fee is among the highest nationwide (New York and Delaware have sliding fees that could charge more than $600 on large offerings)
o Fee paid upon actual sale as opposed to solicitation
e Regulation A, Tier 2
o Designed for mid-cap issuers on the path to potential offerings on public stock exchanges
o Many states have sliding scale fees connected with the size of the maximum offering
e Fees for these types of registration were last changed in 2008
e Investment Company Act Offerings
o Apply to both mutual funds and unit investment trusts
= Managers of a unit investment trust buy a fixed portfolio of investments and hold that investment until a given date. Unit investment trusts have a fixed number of
shared that cannot be merged or split?
o Fees are due at solicitation of the investment, rather than the sale of the security
o Fees are assessed according to share class. Share classes often differ on how they charge investor fees
o Proposed increases would likely make Vermont the highest in the country
Broker-Dealer Agent:
e A brokeris “any person engaged in the business of buying or selling securities for the account of others” a dealer is any person engaged in the buying or selling of securities but
for their own account.”?
e Last changed in 2019

! https://legislature.vermont.gov/Documents/2020/WorkGroups/House%20Ways%20and%20Means/Bills/H.527/W~Michael%20Pieciak~DFR%200v erview%200f%20Proposal~2-8-2019.pdf
2 https://www.investor.gov/introduction-investing/investing-basics/glossary/unit-investment-trusts-uits
3 https://www.sec.gov/files/oash-broker-dealer-building-block.pdf
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