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Federal Child Tax Credit

• Federal law provides a child tax credit for taxpayers who 
have a qualifying child or other dependents and whose 
adjusted gross income is under a certain threshold. See, 
I.R.C. §§ 24 and 152.
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Other States’ Child Tax Credits

• As of Jan. 1, 2023, 9 states also provide a state-level child tax 
credit. 
• California, Colorado, Idaho, Maine, New York, New Jersey,* New 

Mexico (until 2027),* Oklahoma, and Vermont*

*State that enacted a CTC in 2022

• Maryland had a temporary CTC from 2020-2022
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Federal Child Tax Credit

• Who is a qualifying taxpayer?
• U.S. citizen, national, or resident

• Has a taxpayer identification number (TIN) by tax return due date
• Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN) or Social Security Number (SSN)

• Income eligibility 
• Maximum credit when taxpayers have modified AGI of:

• $400,000 or less for married filing jointly; or 

• $200,000 or less for all other filers.

• When modified AGI exceeds thresholds, amount of credit phases out.

• AGI threshold amounts only for taxable years 2018-2025 under Tax Cuts 
and Jobs Act (TCJA)
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Federal Child Tax Credit

• Who is a qualifying child?
• Child claimed as a dependent by taxpayer. Required relationship:

• Child (including adopted child or child lawfully placed for adoption), stepchild, foster 
child placed by an authorized agency or court

• A sibling, half sibling, step-sibling, or their descendant

• U.S. citizen, national, or resident

• 16 years of age or younger 

• Support
• Qualifying child must live in same household as taxpayer for more than half 

the tax year and cannot be self-supporting. Child generally cannot have filed a 
joint return.
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Federal Child Tax Credit

• Who is a qualifying child? (cont.)
• Taxpayer identification number

• Child must have a SSN to qualify.

• If child does not have a SSN, but another TIN, child may qualify for the 
other dependent credit.

• $2,000 per qualifying child

• Only available tax years 2018-2025 under TCJA
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Federal Child Tax Credit

• Who is a qualifying other dependent?
• Any other qualifying relative claimed as a dependent by taxpayer

• Dependent cannot also be used to claim child tax credit

• U.S. citizen, national, or resident

• Support
• Relative is not required to live with taxpayer claiming exemption, but relative cannot be 

self-supporting.

• Taxpayer must provide more than half of relative’s support. 

• Other dependent must have a TIN (not necessarily SSN)

• $500 per qualifying relative

• Only available tax years 2018-2025 under TCJA
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Federal Child Tax Credit

Recent history

• American Taxpayer Relief Act of 2012
• $1,000 per child and increased income threshold to correspond with EITC.  

• Tax Cuts and Jobs Act of 2017  
• $2,000 per child and limited refundable amount of credit to $1,400 per child.  

• Created $500 nonrefundable credit for other qualifying dependents.

• Imposed income phaseout thresholds and rates for higher-income taxpayers.  

• TCJA changes are temporary and sunset on December 31, 2025.

• American Rescue Plan Act of 2021 (taxable year 2021 only)
• Increased maximum credit 

• Made credit fully refundable

• Paid out half of credit in advance monthly payments from July-December 2021
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Vermont Child Tax Credit

•Act 138 of 2022: Vermont enacted its own Child Tax
Credit in 32 V.S.A. § 5830f
•Refundable
• For children who are: 

• 5 years of age and younger at end of taxable year
• who qualify under federal CTC

• Support, relationship, SSN, etc.
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Vermont Child Tax Credit

•Credit amount is $1,000 per qualifying child
• Phases out for taxpayers with adjusted gross income over 

$125,000 
• $0 at $175,000 AGI

• Same threshold for both joint and single filers

• Phases out for part-year residents by a percentage of the 
amount of total income that is Vermont income
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Vermont Child Tax Credit

• CTC deemed like Earned Income Tax Credit and does not 
affect State or local benefit program determinations 
(eligibility or amount of assistance)

• CTC excluded from any State program, including:
• Child Care Financial Assistance Program,  Reach Up,  SNAP,  

General Assistance,  Home Weatherization Assistance Program,  
and Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program
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Vermont Child Tax Credit

• Exclusion is both intent and acknowledgement of supremacy 
of federal law.

• Exclusion from benefit determinations only applies to the 
extent that:
• (1) it does not conflict with federal law relating to the 

benefit or assistance program, such as SNAP; and 
• (2) any required federal approval or waiver is first 

obtained for the program.
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Vermont Child Tax Credit

• CTC declared not to be assets, income, or resources to the 
same extent the credit would be disregarded pursuant to 26 
U.S.C. § 6409 and the general welfare doctrine. 
• Federal statute excludes federal income tax refunds (or 

advance payments of refunds) from federal benefit programs 
for a period of 12 months from receipt of refund.
• No blanket exclusion of state refunds, however.

• General welfare doctrine states that certain refundable tax 
credits that promote the general welfare are not taxable 
income.
• Not a clear exclusion from federal benefit programs, however.
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