## Summary of the Attorney General's "Report to the Vermont Legislature On Towing Practices in Vermont In Accordance with Act 41."

Wiley Barzelay, UVM Legislative Intern for the House Committee on Commerce and Economic Development.

2/9/24

## **Towing Practices in Vermont:**

- Several nationwide studies of towing regulation have found Vermont "has little or no requirements for the towing industry to follow, or for consumers to understand."
- Consumer complaints typically are related to <u>non-consensual tows of passenger vehicles</u>. They point to arbitrary and predatory fees, as well as vehicles and personal property being "held hostage" by tow companies.
- Towing operators argue that they face challenges in receiving payment for their services.

## **Towing Regulation:**

- **Pricing:** Towing operators generally set their own rates.¹ There are two exceptions:
  - Rates must be "reasonable" when towing from private lots or crash remediation sites,
  - Rates cannot exceed \$125 when towing from public spaces.
- **Storage:** There is currently no state-wide law regulating storage fees.²
  - An anecdote was given of a consumer being charged upwards of \$900 for a seven hour impoundment. The individual was required to pay the full amount, in cash, to retrieve their vehicle.
- **Removal of Personal Belongings & Cargo:** There is no law regulating the retrieval of personal belongings or cargo from a towed vehicle.
  - The Vermont Towing Association has stated that "it has no interest in interfering with the retrieval of personal items in towed vehicles."
  - For commercial vehicles, prompt retrieval of cargo is often imperative for the company.
- **Liens:** There is no statutory or common law basis for liens in the context of towing.
  - Most Vermont courts have refused to recognize "a lien that secures payment for the towing and storage services."
  - The Department of Financial Regulation has urged "caution with any change to state lien laws with respect to motor vehicles where a lender for the vehicle, equipment, or cargo may be involved."

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>Some municipal protections do exist. Burlington limits towing charges for parking violations to \$95, with a \$50 drop fee

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Burlington limits storage fees to \$30/day and \$20 for the day of impoundment.

- The Vermont Towing Association has argued that liens on towed vehicles offer them an "efficient mechanism for payment or holding a vehicle until payment is made."
- **Abandonment:** Abandoned vehicles may be towed by tow operators. "Abandoned Vehicle" is defined in Title 23.
  - Tow companies may "request and potentially receive title to an abandoned vehicle to cover the costs of towing and storage-related fees."
  - The DMV notifies vehicle owners if a request is made for the title. There are currently several hundred vehicles subject to this process.

## **■** Recommendations:

- Require clear and conspicuous disclosure of rates and fees.
  - 14 states require disclosure of rates and fees.
- Standard fixed rates for non-consensual tows (125\$ for tow, 25\$ for "drop fees"3). Municipalities should be able to set their own rates if below the statewide standard.
  - More than 30 states have some form of fixed rates or or "reasonability" requirement.
  - On average, "state limitations for basic nonconsensual passenger vehicle tows generally range from \$65-\$240."
- A fixed storage rate of no more than \$25/day.
  - Other states' storage costs can range from \$17 to \$50/day. 18 states cap storage fees at \$25/day.
- Require access to personal belongings in vehicles.
  - 20 states require vehicle owners to be allowed to retrieve their personal belongings during regular business hours.
- Retrieval of third party cargo from towed commercial vehicles
  - 8 states require tow companies to release the cargo of towed commercial vehicles if the cargo does not belong to the transport company.
- Required notification that a tow has occurred. This process could involve informing local law enforcement or the establishment of state-wide database where consumers can search and locate their vehicle
  - 37 states have some form of express notice requirement.
- Require acceptance of all reasonable forms of payment, such as cash, check, debit card, etc.
  - 11 states require towing companies to accept all reasonable forms of payment.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> A "drop fee" or "decoupling fee" can be defined as "a charge by a towing company for releasing a motor vehicle to its owner or operator when the vehicle has been, or is about to be, hooked or lifted by a tower, but prior to the vehicle actually having been moved or removed from the property."