
State Statute Liability Intoxication  Defendants Caps SOL Other comments

Vermont Current 7 VSA §501 et seq

Strict liability for sales to minors, after hours, to those 
apparently under the influence and to a person who it 
would be reasonable to expect would be under the 
influence as a result of the amount of alcohol served

Apparently under the influence means a state of 
intoxication accompanied by a perceptable act or series of 
actions which present signs of intoxication.  Also, those it 
would be reasonable to expect are under the influence 
based on the amount of liquor served.

Person or persons who have caused, in 
whole or in part, the intoxication and 
Landlords who may be joined for 
activities at their rental properties. none 2 years

Vermont Proposed 8 VSA §501 et seq

Strict liability for sales to minors and after hours. 
Negligence standard for those apparently under the 
influence and those it would be reasonable to expect 
would be under the influence as a result of the 
amount of alcohol served. No proximate cause 
requirement identified. No definition of damages or 
apportionment of fault specified. 

Apparently under the influence means a state of 
intoxication accompanied by a perceptable act or series of 
actions which present signs of intoxication.  Also, those it 
would be reasonable to expect are under the influence 
based on the amount of liquor served.

Servers who include certain liquor 
licensees and their employees none 2 years

Liability insurance mandate to be 
determined by DFR. 

Connecticut CGS 30‐02

As defined by the courts, a form of strict liability for 
sale of an intoxicating liquid to an intoxicated person 
who causes injury to another as a result of the 
intoxication. The law also prohibits any separate 
negligence cause of action for sales to persons over 
age 21. 

Intoxication is not defined by statute, only by case law. It 
essentially equates to something similar to the "visible 
intoxication" standards used in other states.                           

Must be sales by "person or persons 
agent".  $250,000 1 year

Maine 28‐A § 2501 et seq

Negligent/Recklessness to a minor or visibly 
intoxicated person, based on proximate cause. Several 
liability/based on % fault

Visibly intoxicated means a state of intoxication 
accompanied by a perceptible act, a series of acts or the 
appearance of an individual which clearly demonstrates a 
state of intoxication.  Intoxication means substantial 
impairment of an individual's mental or physical faculties 
as a result of drug or liquor use.

Server includes licensee, employee or 
agent of licensee and nonlicensees in 
some cases. 

$350,000 cap 
for non medical 
expenses 2 year Based on the model act

Rhode Island R.I. Gen. Laws §3‐14‐1, et seq

Negligent or reckless service of liquor to a minor or a 
visibly intoxicated individual. Proximate cause. Joint 
and several liability with contribution in negligence or 
with indemnification or contribution in recklessness.

Visible intoxication standard defined as a “state of 
intoxication accompanied by a perceptible act or a series 
of acts presenting an apparent sign or signs of 
intoxication.”

Licensees, employees and agents of 
licensees, anyone who should be 
licensed. Servers are not held 
responsible for consumption of alcohol 
or drugs off premises unless a 
reasonably prudent person would be 
aware.   none 3 years Based on the model act

New Hampshire N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. §507‐F:1, et seq

Negligent or reckless service of alcohol to a minor or 
intoxicated individual. Defendent is liable for resulting 
damages, with contributory negligence defense.

Intoxication" means an impairment of a person's mental 
or physical faculties as a result of drug or alcoholic 
beverage use so as to diminish that person's ability to 
think and act in a manner in which an ordinary prudent 
and cautious person, in full possession of his faculties and 
using reasonable care, would act under like 
circumstances.

Licensees, employees and agents of 
licensees, anyone who should be 
licensed. Servers are not held 
responsible for consumption of alcohol 
or drugs off premises if the person 
misrepresents that consumption.  none 3 years Based on the model act



New Jersey N.J.S.A. 2A:22A‐1, et seq

Damages can be recovered when a server is negligent, 
the injury or damages are proximately caused by the 
negligence and the injury or damage was a 
foreseeable consequence of the negligence.  A server 
is negligent if they serve a visibly intoxicated person 
or a minor, if they knew or reasonably should have 
known it was a minor. Damages are assessed based 
on the percentage of negligence attributable to the 
person. 

Visibly intoxicated” means a state of intoxication 
accompanied by a perceptible act or series of acts which 
present clear signs of intoxication. Licensed beverage servers none 2 years

Alcoholic Beverage Servers Liability Act 
was designed to be exclusive civil 
remedy for negligent service of alcohol 
by a licensed server. 

Massachusetts Title 20 Chapter 138 § 69

No specific dram shop law outlining liability. Based on 
civil negligence. Need to show person was intoxicated 
and continued to serve.                           Law reads: 
Section 69. No alcoholic beverage shall be sold or 
delivered on any premises licensed under this chapter 
to an intoxicated person. not defined in the statute

not defined in the statute. Statute is 
based on sale or delivery on any 
premises licensed to sell liquor.   none 3 year

Liquor liability insurance mandate 
$250/$500k in the liquor licensing 
statutes

New York

General Obligations Laws 11‐100 and 
11‐101 and Alcohol Beverage Control 
§65

There is liability for sale, delivery, give, or cause or 
permit or procure to be sold delivered or given away 
to minors, persons visibly intoxicated or a habitual 
drunkard known to the person. Case law dictates that 
a plaintiff must prove that the vendor unlawfully sold 
or procured alcohol for the intoxicant while the 
intoxicant was “visibly intoxicated” and that there was 
a reasonable connection between the intoxication 
and the injury. Visible intoxication standard

Law includes those who sell, deliver, 
give away or cause/permit/procure the 
sale, delivery or give away.  none 3 years


