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Transportation Fund Revenue MNCSL
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By Revenue Source

Motor Fuel
Motor Fuel Taxes Tax, 37.6%
made up 37.6% of
state transportation
revenue in 2023,
compared to 41.1% Tolls, 1.4% G
in 2016.

License &

Vehicle Sales
& Use Tax,
11.2%

Registration
Source: National Association Fees, 19.7%

of State Budget Officers
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State Gas Tax Changes

State Actions

e Since 2013, 34 states & D.C. have
increased their gas tax.

o VTraised in 2013.

e 24 states & D.C. have indexed or

variable-rate gas taxes.
o VT indexed in 2015.

e 2023: Utah legislature lowered
gas tax in short term. The rate
will increase again starting in
2028. Minnesota raised gas tax
and indexed to Highway
Construction Cost Index.
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Percentage of state transportation MNCSL
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State-by-state percentages for New England States

* Connecticut: 12.3%
* Maine: 63.4%
e Massachusetts: 31.5%
e New Hampshire: 55.1%
 Rhode Island: 56.6%
e Vermont: 23%

Source: National Association
of State Budget Officers, 2023
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States with Fees on Plug-In Hybrid and/or Electric Vehicles MMNCSL

State Actions
* 34 states have EV registration

fees. 18 states plug-in hybrid fee
o NH created in 2023: fee is
$50 (Plug-in hybrids); $100

(EVs).

* EV fees range from S50 to $225.

Source: NCSL (2024)
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ME States without EV or Hybrid Fees
States with Special Fees on EVs or
vi NH Hybrids
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Road Usage Charges (RUC)
’.-
.

Research and Planning

Multi-state Research
Participants

- Pilot Conducted

Setup

- Ongoing Operations /
Transitioning & Growing

Updated: February 7, 2024

* The pilot project in Connecticut was conducted by TETC, not the state

Source: CDM Smith
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State RUC Programs (i NCSL
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Utanh Oregon

e Created by Utah’s Legislature: SB 136 established a voluntary « Created by Oregon’s Legislature: SB 810 (2013) directed
RUC program. ODOT to establish the nation’s first fully operational RUC

. program.

» Effective Date: January 2020.

* Eligible Vehicles: Alternative fuel vehicles including full electric * Effective Date: OReGO, the RUC program, went live in July
vehicles, plug-in hybrid and gasoline hybrid vehicles. 2015.

* Payment and Vendor Options: One firm—DriveSync—offers * Eligible Vehicles: Electric, plug-in, compressed natural gas
reporting and payment services. Smartphone required. Device and propane vehicles
required if vehicle has On Board Diagnostic (OBD) technology. It is
NOT reqUired if vehicle has embedded telematics teChnO|Ogy. * Payment and Vendor Options: Three firms_Azuga' Emovis

o and ODOT—offer reporting and payment services.
e Other Provisions:
* OnlJan. 1, 2023, the RUC rate is one-cent per mile. The RUC * Other Provisions:
cap is $130.25 for an annual and $100.75 for a six-month

registration. The RUC rate increases incrementally in * Vehicles achieving at least 40 mpg, as well as electric
subsequent years. vehicles, are exempt from paying supplemental
registration fees by enrolling (533 for vehicles with fuel
e RUC participants can never be charged more than the annual efficiency at or above 40 mpg and $110 for electric
registration fee and receive monthly invoices. vehicles).
* Vehicle owners with privacy concerns may opt for short-term * The per-mile rate is set at 5% of the per-gallon license
data retention or choose instead to pay the flat EV registration tax (currently 1.9 cents per mile). OReGO participants
fee. receive a credit for fuel tax they pay.




State RUC Programs Cont. e
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Virginia
» Created by Virginia’s Legislature: SB 890 (2020) established a voluntary RUC program.

e Effective Date: Virginia’s voluntary mileage choice program went live on July 1, 2022.
 Eligible Vehicles: Fuel efficient (25 mpg average) and electric vehicles.

* Payment and Vendor Options: One firm—Emovis—offers reporting and payment services.

e Other Provisions:

* Drivers with eligible vehicles may choose to participate in the mileage use fee program instead of paying an annual flat
highway use fee.

* Mileage choice program participants have option to choose a mileage reporting device with or without GPS capability.

* The mileage choice fee is calculated by dividing the highway use fee by the average number of miles traveled by a
passenger vehicle (11,600 miles) in the Commonwealth to determine a per-mile fee. Mileage choice participants will
never pay more than their annual highway use fee.




State RUC Programs Cont. MNCSL
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Hawaii
* Created by Hawaii’s Legislature: SB 1534 (2023) established a mandatory RUC program.
* Effective Date: July 1, 2025.

* Eligible Vehicles: Only electric vehicles.

* Payment and Vendor Options: Fee is calculated based on the vehicle's two most recent odometer
readings, which are done during annual vehicle safety inspection. Road user fee must be paid concurrent
with annual registration renewal. Fee is capped at S50 annually.

e Other Provisions:
* Mileage Rate is .08 cents a mile.

* Until June 30, 2028, electric vehicle owners may pay a $50 registration surcharge as opposed to
participating in the RUC program.

* Revenue collected will be deposited into the state highway fund.

* Hawaii DOT must submit plan to the Legislature by Dec. 2025 for transitioning all vehicles in Hawaii to a
road usage charge.



Transportation Network Company (TNC) Fees MNCSL
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Delivery Fees

Colorado (SB 260, 2021)

o Enacted 27 cent fee on all retail and food deliveries at
point of sale. Projected to raise $1.2 billion in revenue.

* Fees are collected by the retailer.

* Generated funds for Highway Users Tax Fund (HUTF)
for use by local governments.

* Generated funds for Statewide Bridge and Tunnel
Enterprise

* Generated funds for Clean Transit Enterprise.

MNCSL
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Minnesota (HF 2887, 2023)

o Enacted 50 cent fee for each retail delivery purchases
over $100 that includes at least one taxable item.

Exempts baby products, medical devices, prepared
food, food and food ingredients.

Exemptions for small businesses, MnDOT
permitted delivery vehicles and food and beverage
service providers.

Proceeds deposited into Transportation
Advancement Account and Food Delivery Support
Account.

Transportation Advancement Account provides
road and project funding for local jurisdictions.
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Kilowatt Hour Charges i.e. EV Public Charging Station Fees ~ #MNCSL
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Seven states—Georgia, lowa, Kentucky, Montana, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania and Utah—have laws taxing electricity
consumed at public EV charging stations. Revenue is mostly dedicated to transportation infrastructure.

Kentucky (HB 8, 2022) Oklahoma (HB 2234, 2021)

o Creates a $.03 per kWh excise tax and a $.03 surtax on o Creates a new 3-cents-per-kWh tax on electricity used
power used to charge electric vehicles, beginning in for EV charging at public charging stations beginning
2023. The tax rate will then be adjusted each year January 1, 2024. The tax does not apply to private
based on changes in the National Highway Construction residential charging.

Cost Index (NHCCI), and funds from the tax will be o The new law provides for the state’s EV fees to be
deposited into the state’s road fund. deposited into a new Driving on Road Infrastructure
with Vehicles of Electricity (DRIVE) Revolving Fund until
lowa (HF 767, 2019) 2027, after which 15% of these revenues will be

o Created a 2.6-cents-per-kWh tax on energy delivered diverted directly to county governments. The fund will

outside of a private residence beginning July 1, 2023. be used for road and bridge infrastructure.

o Credits revenue to two separate funds, both of which
improve and maintain roads in the state.
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NCSL Transportation Funding Resources MNCSL
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» State Road Usage Charge Toolkit- https://www.ncsl.org/research/transportation/state-road-user-charge-
pilot-results-and-legislative-action.aspx

* Recent Legislative Actions Likely to Change Gas Taxes-
https://www.ncsl.org/research/transportation/2013-and-2014-legislative-actions-likely-to-change-gas-
taxes.aspx

* Variable Rate Gas Taxes- https://www.ncsl.org/research/transportation/variable-rate-gas-taxes.aspx

* Electric Vehicle and Plug-in Hybrid Fees - https://www.ncsl.org/research/energy/new-fees-on-hybrid-
and-electric-vehicles.aspx

e Transportation Funding and Finance State Bill Tracking Database-
https://www.ncsl.org/research/transportation/ncsl-transportation-funding-finance-legis-database.aspx
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MNCSL
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o Questions re: State Transportation and
Traffic Safety Issues?

Contact

Douglas.Shinkle @NCSL.ORG

303-521-6359
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