Example 1) Medical Expenses Triggering the Vermont AMT

Jim and Jane have each worked for the State of Vermont for 15 years and have a combined
income of $160,000. Their teenage son had a bad snowboarding accident in early 2022 and
some of the medical expenses the family incurred over the year were not covered by
insurance, totaling $100,000.

AGI: $160,000
2022 Vermont income tax without AMT: $1,121
2022 Vermont AMT tax: $4,800

AMT revenue to state: $3,679

What is “Bonus Depreciation”? A tax feature that allows a business to deduct the cost of new
machinery or equipment in the equipment’s first year of service. The federal Tax Cuts and Jobs
Act increased the deduction amount in the first year from 50% to 100% of the cost of the
item(s). Vermont generally allows a “straight line” 20% per year over five years. In year one,
Vermont makes taxpayers addback the difference between the federal and Vermont schedules
(100% - 20% = 80%), but in years two through five, taxpayers are allowed to subtract the
difference (20% - 0% = 20%) on their Vermont return.

Example 2) Bonus Depreciation Triggering the Vermont AMT

Kate and Ken and their two kids had been running a successful NEK organic dairy farm. But
faced with the loss of their regional milk buyer in 2021, they decided to try to start bottling
and selling their own milk. To help facilitate that transition, they spent $200,000 on new
equipment that year. In tax year 2021 they added back $160,000 of bonus depreciation when
calculating their Vermont taxable income leading to about $10,000 of additional Vermont
income tax because of that addback. But in 2022-2025 they are supposed to get to subtract
$40,000 from their Vermont income each year as their new business format gets going.

AGI: $150,001

2022 Vermont income tax without AMT: $2,921
2022 Vermont income tax with AMT: $4,500
AMT revenue to state: $1,579

*Ken and Kate will continue to trigger the AMT in 2023-2025 if their AGI in those years is like
2022’s



