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Homestead Property Tax Credit Amendment 

December 29, 2022 
Summary 

Each year, many Vermonters, especially low-income Vermonters, miss out 

on the homestead property tax credit. In order help them, we proposed 

amending the homestead property tax credit statute by (1) extending the 

deadline to file a homestead property tax credit claim and (2) prescribing a notice 

to all residential property owners. This would help Vermonters by providing 

additional time to file a claim and provide notice to homeowners who may be 

eligible for the credit.  

 

Charts created the Vermont Taxpayer Advocate, Jeffrey M. Dooley, 2022.  

First, the amendment would extend the filing deadline from October 15 to 

March 15. The Vermont Taxpayer advocate stated that the Department of 

Revenue can process the late claims without changes to the homestead 

declaration statute. Claims filed after October 15 would not alter town’s 

homestead lists, nor require towns to adjust property tax bills. The Vermont 

Department of Revenue could process the claims filed during this period and issue 

the credit via check directly to the eligible claimant. If a claimant files after 

October 15, but by March 15, there would be a $150 penalty. The $150 penalty 

means that $150 of the homeowner’s available credit would remain in the State’s 

Education Fund.  
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Second, the amendment requires that towns mail a prescribed, plain 

language notice about the property tax credit and claim preparation assistance to 

all residential property owners. Currently, the statute only requires towns to send 

a notice to people who already filed a homestead declaration. Under the current 

system, an eligible homeowner who is unaware that they must file a homestead 

declaration each year wouldn’t be notified about the property tax credit. Many 

extremely low-income homeowners who don’t have an income tax filing 

requirement, don’t know about the property tax credit program, nor that they 

should file a homestead declaration each year. The prescribed, plain language 

notice would inform more Vermonters whom the State wants to help with this 

homestead property tax credit.  

 

 

 

Current Property Tax Credit Claim Timeline

April 18: Deadline to 

timely file Property 

Tax Credit Claim

Jan. Feb. Mar. Apr. May Jun. Jul. Aug. Sep. Oct. 

Oct. 15:  Deadline to file late 

Property Tax Claim with $15 reduction 

Proposed Property Tax Credit Claim Timeline

April 18: Deadline to March 15: Deadline to late file 

timely file Property Property Tax Credit Claim

Tax Credit Claim with $150 penalty

Jan. Feb. Mar. Apr. May Jun. Jul. Aug. Sep. Oct. Nov. Dec. Jan. Feb. Mar.

Oct. 15:  Deadline to file late 

Property Tax Claim with $15 reduction 
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Part 1. Extension of Deadline to File Homestead Tax Credit Claim 

VLA’s Proposed Amendment to 32 V.S.A. section 6068(b) [Note: (b)(i) and (iii) 

parallel current law and (b)(ii) is new.] 

(b) (i) If the claimant fails to file a timely claim but files on or before October 15, 

the amount of the property tax credit under this chapter shall be reduced by 

$15.00, but not below $0.00, which shall be paid to the municipality for the cost 

of issuing an adjusted homestead property tax bill.  

(ii) If the claimant files a claim after October 15 but on or before March 15 of the 

following calendar year, the amount of the property tax credit under this chapter 

shall be reduced by $150.00, but not below $0.00, which shall remain in State 

funds.  Any property tax credit issued under this chapter after October 15 will be 

issued directly to the claimant and will not alter the grand list of the municipality 

in which the claimant’s property lies. 

(iii) No property tax credit shall be allowed unless a claim is filed with the 

Commissioner on or before March 15 of the calendar year following the 

assessment of taxes.  

 

Part 2: Notice of Property Tax Credit to All Residential Property Owners 

Proposed Amended 32 V.S.A. § 6065. Forms; tables; notices [Note: current law 
with proposed amendments.] 
 
(a) In administering this chapter, the Commissioner shall provide suitable claim 
forms with tables of allowable claims, instructions, and worksheets for claiming a 
homestead property tax credit. 
 
(b) Prior to June 1, the Commissioner shall also prepare and supply to each town 
in the State notices describing the homestead property tax credit, for inclusion in 
property tax bills. Also, a town shall send a notice describing the homestead 
property tax credit under subsection 6065 (c) of this section. A town shall include 
such notice in each tax bill and notice of delinquent taxes that it mails to 
taxpayers who own residential property in that town a homestead as defined in 
subdivision 5401(7) of this title. 
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(c) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (b) of this section, towns that 
use envelopes or mailers not able to accommodate notices describing the 
homestead tax credit may distribute such notices in an alternative manner. 
 
(c) A town shall include a notice in each tax bill and in each notice of delinquent 
taxes in the following, or substantially similar, form: 
 

Do You Need Help Paying Your Property Taxes for Your Primary 
Residence? 

 
The State of Vermont may be able to help you pay your property taxes. Even if 

you don’t file an income tax return, you may qualify for help. You need to meet 

income and residency rules. 

For the largest possible benefit, file a Property Tax Credit Claim by the normal 

income tax filing deadline. However, you can file late — by March 15 of next year. 

The state will subtract a fee for filing late. 

Free help with tax forms is available for low-to-middle-income Vermonters and 
seniors who qualify. Visit https://tax.vermont.gov/individuals/free-tax-
preparation-assistance. For information on how to file for a property tax credit 
that could lower your taxes, go to: https://tax.vermont.gov/property/tax-credit. 

Free tax preparation assistance is available for eligible low-to-middle-
income Vermonters and senior Vermonters. Look on the Department of 
Taxes website at https://tax.vermont.gov/individuals/free-tax-preparation-
assistance. 
 
 
 

 

[END] 

https://tax.vermont.gov/individuals/free-tax-preparation-assistance
https://tax.vermont.gov/individuals/free-tax-preparation-assistance

