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Existing youth legislation:

Colorado: Colo. Rev. Stat. §6-1-1301 et seq.
e Enforcement: an increase penalty if the violation involves the personal data of a
consumer who is 15 years old or younger.
o Attorney General can seek up to $50,000 instead of $20,000.
o Private Right can seek up to $500,000 instead of $100,000.

California Consumer Privacy Rights Act: Prop. 24. Approved Nov. 2020, effective Jan. 1, 2023
e Triples maximum penalties for violations concerning consumers under age 16.
o $2,500 per violation or $7,500 for each intentional violation.
o $7,500/$22,500
e “Notwithstanding subdivision (a), a business shall not sell or share the personal
information of consumers if the business has actual knowledge that the consumer is less
than 16 years of age, unless the consumer, in the case of consumers at least 13 years of
age and less than 16 years of age, or the consumer’s parent or guardian, in the case of
consumers who are less than 13 years of age, has affirmatively authorized the sale or
sharing of the consumer’s personal information. A business that willfully disregards the
consumer’s age shall be deemed to have had actual knowledge of the consumer’s age”
(P.7).
e Prop 24 PDF.

Existing legislation implements an increase in the severity of the violation if minors under a
certain age bracket are implicated in the violation.


https://advance.lexis.com/container/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=0c5c4987-ba64-4e68-b902-2458fb3f101a&func=LN.Advance.ContentView.getFullToc&nodeid=AAGAABAABAAO&typeofentry=Breadcrumb&config=0345494EJAA5ZjE0MDIyYy1kNzZkLTRkNzktYTkxMS04YmJhNjBlNWUwYzYKAFBvZENhdGFsb2e4CaPI4cak6laXLCWyLBO9&action=publictoc&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A63JP-6XP3-GXJ9-330K-00008-00&pdtocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Ftableofcontents%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A62D6-BVG3-CH1B-T3RY-00008-00&ecomp=m3vckkk&prid=c3632099-617a-44e0-8849-25d90513d2af
https://vig.cdn.sos.ca.gov/2020/general/pdf/topl-prop24.pdf

